Sports => Football => Topic started by: dreamer on March 11, 2010, 02:42:41 PM

Title: Cornell Glen Thread.
Post by: dreamer on March 11, 2010, 02:42:41 PM
... Any news since the morale crushing injury to his knee again several months ago?
 :'(
Title: Re: Cornell Glen ....
Post by: weary1969 on March 11, 2010, 02:48:55 PM
... Any news since the morale crushing injury to his knee again several months ago?
 :'(

COSIGN
Post by: Tallman on March 11, 2010, 02:53:17 PM
He is with the San Jose Earthquakes on a pre-season tour of England. So far dey play West Ham and Tottenham Hotspur's development side. He played de full game against Tottenham yesterday.

(http://sjearthquakes.mlsnet.com/images/2010/03/05/fCJokabT.jpg)

(http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com//uploads/assets/637x335/match_action_res/sj_match_team_637.jpg)
Post by: dreamer on March 11, 2010, 03:22:11 PM
Yes!!!!!!!
Latas .... Keep following these threads please.
Post by: weary1969 on March 11, 2010, 03:31:31 PM
Yes!!!!!!!
Latas .... Keep following these threads please.

COSIGNNNNN
Post by: Deeks on March 11, 2010, 08:18:19 PM
Let Cornell play an attacking mid-field!!!
Post by: Babalawo on March 11, 2010, 11:49:44 PM
Let Cornell play an attacking mid-field!!!
smh . where you get this idea from?  The man is a pure forward
Post by: Deeks on March 12, 2010, 10:24:22 AM
Bab,
           He has skill, he has ball control and speed. He may not have the vision of Latas, but I will like to see them try him at that position. We have a little time to experiment. In the last WC campaign, which mid-field was able to consistently(with confidence)  take the  ball outside our area to the opposing team area and make dangerous passes or create unease. ZERO.
Post by: KND2 on March 12, 2010, 12:19:54 PM
men still talking about cornell

was not good enough to deliver the goods in qualification

we need different players
Post by: just cool on March 12, 2010, 04:25:34 PM

What you smoking fella??? FYI cornell was the only forward tuh score in the hex, with the exception of kerry baptiste who scored in the final game against mexico!

cornell scored 4 goals in the semis and one in the hex, of which he only played two hex games. and i'll tell yuh this much, if cornell glenn was the one who was playing for wigan athletic , instead of another striker we know, he woulda have @ least 4 goals in the prem by now, as oppossed to none.
Post by: saga pinto on March 12, 2010, 05:27:57 PM

What you smoking fella??? FYI cornell was the only forward tuh score in the hex, with the exception of kerry baptiste who scored in the final game against mexico!

cornell scored 4 goals in the semis and one in the hex, of which he only played two hex games. and i'll tell yuh this much, if cornell glenn was the one who was playing for wigan athletic , instead of another striker we know, he woulda have @ least 4 goals in the prem by now, as oppossed to none.

Yuh preach they brother well said he should be in the premiership tearing it up....
Post by: davidephraim on March 12, 2010, 06:57:50 PM

i agree here however he is no attackin mid. and as for control and the ability to pass thats reaching. run like a mad man at a defense... now thats our boy.
Post by: just cool on March 12, 2010, 09:27:46 PM

i agree here however he is no attackin mid. and as for control and the ability to pass thats reaching. run like a mad man at a defense... now thats our boy.
Did you watch the game against england? the fella passin and ball controll was impeccable! and i'll go further to say, if stern had ah little patience on that play, he would've been the first trini tuh score ah goal in the world cup, that's BC he got ah boss pass from cornell glenn and was caught off side.
Post by: Ngozi on March 13, 2010, 09:06:54 AM
I wouldn't say his control is impeccable but he is a lil greedy and he def aint no attacking mid.... we does get so desperate that anytime we have any kinda attacking player we wanna put him in the attacking mid position so he can be our next midfield general .... we say so about  scotty , kj , stern, carlos as well as cornell.
The man aint no attacking mid none of these guys are .... but knee injury or not he is the best attacking option we have aggressive , quick and hungry and based on what we have he is the first option we have to look to when we start searching for forwards for whatever our next campaign will be.... since leonson and nixon we have not had a quick forward..... we have to go to him!
Post by: jai john on March 13, 2010, 01:37:53 PM
is this for the next world cup ??? Cornel Glen ??? well yes ! all yuh good oui ...men still trying to fix broken houses instead ah building new ones .... His time has passed ..... time to build a new house
Post by: just cool on March 13, 2010, 02:56:10 PM
is this for the next world cup ??? Cornel Glen ??? well yes ! all yuh good oui ...men still trying to fix broken houses instead ah building new ones .... His time has passed ..... time to build a new house

Breds , cornell glenn iz only 28.
Post by: Spursy on March 13, 2010, 04:32:17 PM
Which means he will be 32 come Brazil 2014...

Love Glen... He aint no midfielder.. maybe a good right wing man.
Post by: Babalawo on March 14, 2010, 02:04:58 PM
Bab,
           He has skill, he has ball control and speed. He may not have the vision of Latas, but I will like to see them try him at that position. We have a little time to experiment. In the last WC campaign, which mid-field was able to consistently(with confidence)  take the  ball outside our area to the opposing team area and make dangerous passes or create unease. ZERO.

If its like a Kieran Richardson type, you cant do that in the National team level. Cornell will have to change his game entirely to be a looking to be intinctive is whether to pass or attack, run back to play help defense, be able to knock bigger attackers off the ball, etc.  You have to train for that daily like you in a club but International football you only meeting for a few days then play. That's too much to expect from him.
Post by: E-man on March 19, 2010, 02:24:20 PM
In preseason action March 17

http://www.youtube.com/v/ri2rXpDzoxw
Post by: Deeks on March 19, 2010, 04:00:39 PM
That look like a fowl on Glenn when he take on that man on the line.
Post by: Ngozi on March 19, 2010, 08:47:18 PM
Is a spanner he ketch dey yes lol
Post by: SHOTTA on March 20, 2010, 02:38:51 PM
ahhhhhh yes d proverbial spanner d beat of a champion 18 secs is a nice time to wait to see it lol
Post by: Pointman on March 20, 2010, 09:56:04 PM

ah fowl or ah foul?  ;D :beermug:
Post by: elan on March 20, 2010, 10:13:36 PM

Daiz Glen? I don't think so. Glen is #17.
Title: Glen scores against Timbers
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2010, 07:00:01 AM
Thompson helps Timbers to 1-1 draw with MLS' San Jose
portlandtimbers.com

A late equalizer by defender Scot Thompson helped the Portland Timbers to a 1-1 draw against Major League Soccer’s San Jose Earthquakes in preseason play Saturday at Buck Shaw Stadium. The exhibition concluded Portland’s third week of preseason.

With the Timbers down 1-0, Thompson entered the match in the 75th minute as a substitute. Five minutes later, he netted his first goal of the preseason in the 80th minute to level the score and deliver the first goal against the Earthquakes in six preseason matches.

Forward Cornell Glen scored for San Jose, who opens its MLS regular-season schedule next week against defending-champion Real Salt Lake. Glen converted a 25-yard shot in the 71st minute to land the first goal against the Timbers in preseason.

Facing their second MLS opponent in consecutive weeks, the Timbers battled back from a one-goal deficit in the second half. Substitute midfielder Rodrigo Lopez served the free kick which found Thompson at the top of the six-yard box. Thompson, who gained the advantage on his marker, was able to knock the ball into the back of the net, and preserve the Timbers’ unbeaten preseason record.

Portland held strong defensively in the first half. Goalkeeper Steve Cronin, who played his collegiate career at Santa Clara University and at Buck Shaw Stadium, recorded two key saves in the opening period. In the 42nd minute, he punched away a dangerous 25-yard shot by Earthquakes midfielder Bobby Convey aimed at the top corner of the frame.

Forward George Josten, who assisted the Timbers’ game-winning goal last week against the Seattle Sounders FC, provided Portland’s best scoring chance in the first stanza. A throw-in by defender Quavas Kirk in the 13th minute found Josten inside the box, and Josten headed a shot just wide of the near post.

Midfielder Ryan Pore forced San Jose goalkeeper Andrew Weber into a timely save in the opening minutes of the second half.

For the second straight game, the Timbers fought off a late push by their opponent in the second half. Much like the preseason match against Seattle on March 11, the Earthquakes had the last chance just before the final whistle; Convey’s free kick into the box was headed just over the cross bar.

The Timbers resume preseason training camp Monday in Portland and will face the Vancouver Whitecaps in their next preseason test on Friday, March 26, in Tukwila, Wash. The team begins its regular-season slate Saturday, April 17, at PGE Park against the Rochester Rhinos.

Notes: The Timbers improve to 2-0-1 in preseason, including a 1-0-1 mark against MLS sides … Midfielder Tony McManus made his preseason debut for the Timbers Saturday, entering the match as a sub in the second half. He had missed the first two preseason matches while recovering from offseason surgery … Defender Ian Joy wore the captain’s armband for the Timbers against San Jose.

Lineups:
POR: GK Cronin (Pyzdrowski, 80), D Kirk, D Keel, D Danso (Thompson, 75), D Joy, M Nimo (Lopez, 56), M Marcelin, M Gaudet (McManus, 45), M Pore, F Josten (DeMartin, 69), F Obatola (Cameron, 82)

SJ: GK Weber, D Beitashour, D Corrales, D Hernandez, D Opara, M Convey, M Luiz (McDonald, 75), M Robles (Sanchez, 75), M Gjertsen (Jesse, 63), F Alvarez (Glen, 45), F Johnson (Amarikwa, 78)

Scoring Summary:
SJ: Glen, 71
POR: Thompson (Lopez), 80
Post by: dreamer on March 21, 2010, 10:03:47 AM
Keep it up Glen. Stay healthy and keep in touch with Latas.  :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on March 21, 2010, 10:33:41 AM

ah fowl or ah foul?  ;D :beermug:

I click the video looking for a yard bird
Post by: E-man on March 21, 2010, 12:24:57 PM
Apparently he netted twice, one was disallowed

here's his post game interview

http://www.youtube.com/v/W9Tcw_wtMaU
Post by: Brownsugar on March 21, 2010, 05:14:03 PM

Isn't he part of the 16 that took Jack/TTFF to court??  Keeping in touch with Latapy wouldn't help him.... :whistling:
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2010, 06:53:34 AM

Isn't he part of the 16 that took Jack/TTFF to court??  Keeping in touch with Latapy wouldn't help him.... :whistling:

Preach sista dey need a lil reminder.
Post by: spideybuff on March 22, 2010, 10:35:37 AM

Preach sista dey need a lil reminder.

Nah I doh think it was Jack. I think he question why Stern starting in front of him. Stern, along with Latas and Yorke, is the holy trinity so after that he was kinda persona non-grata amon g the coaching staff.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 22, 2010, 11:02:05 AM
Spidey,
In an interview on Andre's programme late last year, the players stated that an offer was made to the players when they came back for the Costa Rica game and when they refused the offer (to take a sum of money and cancel the court action), they were not invited back.  Two that come to mind are Colin Samuel (who scored in the game) and Birchall. 

This is why I called Jack's name.....
Post by: spideybuff on March 22, 2010, 12:16:01 PM
I thought Samuel case was that he ride out before the game after he went for some friendly and when he reach we had no uniforms and he say fire bun this nonsense?
Too much thing, cah keep it straight in my head anymore
Post by: Brownsugar on March 22, 2010, 12:39:56 PM
I thought Samuel case was that he ride out before the game after he went for some friendly and when he reach we had no uniforms and he say fire bun this nonsense?

That was Jloyd Samuel....which is another kettle of fish....yuh right is just too much to keep straight....
Post by: weary1969 on March 22, 2010, 06:58:01 PM

Spidey yuh ducks not line up in a row. Colin Samuel ticket game in d name of Glenroy Samuel and he neva reach. Colin score v CR in bag dem disappear.
Post by: che on March 22, 2010, 08:11:11 PM

Spidey yuh ducks not line up in a row. Colin Samuel ticket game in d name of Glenroy Samuel and he neva reach. Colin score v CR in bag dem disappear.

Three men name Samuel on T&T team, that is too much for a first class organization like the TTFF to handle .
Post by: Brownsugar on March 23, 2010, 04:46:14 AM

Lord and it looks like I mix up the Samuels too.....Jloyd's bachanal was that he wanted to exchange a juzzy with a player from the opposing team and was told he couldn't cuz we eh have enough.....
Post by: weary1969 on March 23, 2010, 07:05:58 AM

Lord and it looks like I mix up the Samuels too.....Jloyd's bachanal was that he wanted to exchange a juzzy with a player from the opposing team and was told he couldn't cuz we eh have enough.....

U get it correck.
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2010, 04:25:08 PM
Official Cornell Glen thread on bigsoccer
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1052297

Starts of good, but then becomes unpleasant. It's mostly borne out of frustration.
Title: Cornell Glen status?
Post by: R45 on February 03, 2011, 02:14:03 AM
Anyone know where Cornell Glen is playing... or what he's doing. I remember he got released by San Jose at the end of the last MLS season.
Title: Re: Cornell Glen status?
Post by: Tallman on February 03, 2011, 06:20:23 AM
Meantime, senior team striker Cornell Glen is exploring options outside of the MLS. He recently returned from a trial in Iran. “I’ve just got back from Iran and I’m looking at a couple other options in Europe. I’ve had interest from a club in Germany and Sweden and I should be heading out shortly,” Glen said.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2011/02/03/gnc-welcomes-warriors
Post by: handsanointed on February 03, 2011, 06:23:12 AM
I was told Cornell Glen is training with Jabloteh presently.
Title: Re: Cornell Glen thread....
Post by: Ngozi on February 03, 2011, 07:36:46 AM
He has to get fit ... I'm concerned he hasn't been fit in a long time.
Post by: weary1969 on February 03, 2011, 12:03:13 PM
Meantime, senior team striker Cornell Glen is exploring options outside of the MLS. He recently returned from a trial in Iran. “I’ve just got back from Iran and I’m looking at a couple other options in Europe. I’ve had interest from a club in Germany and Sweden and I should be heading out shortly,” Glen said.

IRAN lawd fadderrrrrrrrrrr
Post by: fitzinho on February 03, 2011, 06:04:47 PM

If they payin good and ball runnin by all means...just lay low when the shootin start. Go be good practice for when he passin thru Morvant/Laventille
Post by: weary1969 on February 03, 2011, 07:12:38 PM

If they payin good and ball runnin by all means...just lay low when the shootin start. Go be good practice for when he passin thru Morvant/Laventille

NOT NICE
Post by: saga pinto on February 03, 2011, 07:15:37 PM

Oh lawwwwd yuh killing meh  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: fish on February 03, 2011, 07:18:30 PM
all yuh not easy nuh
Title: Cornell Glen scores a brace for Sông Lam Nghệ An in friendly
Post by: Tallman on October 22, 2011, 09:59:05 PM
Cornell Glen scored a brace for Sông Lam Nghệ An in friendly
vietfootball.blogspot.com

Trinidad & Tobago striker Cornell Glen, who has been capped 59 times with T&T national team including 3 appearances in World Cup 2006, impressively scored a double as SLNA trounced Thanh Hoa 4-0 in a pre-season friendly. Alongside Glen, two more T&T internationals Clyde Leon and Devorn Jorsling are having trial at SLNA.

After having great success with three Jamaican players last season, SLNA is leading the way in the trend of transfering players from Caribbean region to Vietnam. This week, Peter Byers, an Antigua & Barbuda international, will also travel to Nghe An.
Post by: Peong on October 22, 2011, 10:20:34 PM
Pretty soon it will be a Caribbean all-star side.  I backin Glen to revive his career.
Post by: Tallman on January 29, 2015, 02:22:15 PM
WATCH Cornell Glen score his first goal of the 2015 I-League season in Shillong Lajong’s 5-2 loss to Pune FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/LHEzkC2y9gg?start=174
Post by: frico on February 01, 2015, 05:31:34 PM

Oh lawwwwd yuh killing meh  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
What a bloody response,it's brilliant. ;D
Post by: Tallman on February 02, 2015, 05:23:43 AM
WATCH Cornell Glen score with this magnificent bicycle kick goal to register his second goal of the season. FINAL East Bengal 2-1 Shillong Lajong.
https://www.youtube.com/v/8lAo_7wDtgk?start=31
Post by: dreamer on February 02, 2015, 07:13:17 AM
Mr BraveHart,
I think Cornell trying yuh tell yuh "one last rodeo".
Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2015, 12:57:29 PM
WATCH Cornell Glen score the second goal in Shillong Lajong’s 2-0 win over Dempo SC

https://www.youtube.com/v/pnA8-TfIOQg?start=177
Post by: Tallman on February 27, 2015, 12:38:35 PM
WATCH Cornell Glen score a brace and provide an assist in Shillong Lajong’s 3-4 loss to Mohun Bagan. Glen is now joint top-scorer in the I-League with 5 goals in 7 games. Goals are at 1:50 (header) and 3:15 (penalty). The assist can be seen at 6:55.

https://www.youtube.com/v/A_ZpmgmO52s?start=110
Post by: dreamer on February 27, 2015, 01:04:45 PM
Good going Cornell
Show how to take no-chance-of-saving penalties and headers
You will always be remembered as a great player. Secretly I wish BraveHart would give you one last chance if you're healthy enough and match fit flor a high intensity game and especially if Peltier is unavailable.
Post by: Tallman on April 03, 2015, 04:50:39 PM
Lajong breach Mumbai FC fortress with 6-0 win; Glen shines
dnaindia.com

Led by mercurial Trinidad and Tobago striker Cornell Glen, Shillong Lajong trounced Mumbai FC 6-0 to stop the losers' five-match unbeaten run at home this season in stunning fashion in the I-League clash at the Cooperage Ground here today.

The 33-year-old Trinidadian world cupper fired home the north easterners' first and fourth goals, once in either half, while Penn Orji and Zodingliana Ralte scored once each in regular time.

To add insult to injury, Brazilian Ulliams Souza Silva and Milan Singh came off the substitutes bench in the second half to fire home a goal each in added on time to complete Mumbai FC's total humiliation.

Port of Spain-born Glen notched his goals in the 21st and 51st minutes of the game and in between Orji (25th) scored to help the visitors take a 2-0 half time lead which was increased to 3-0 two minutes after resumption by Ralte.

The last two goals were notched in the 2nd and 3rd minutes of added on time.

The humiliating defeat left Mumbai FC - who dearly missed their Japanese midfielder Taisuke Matsugane who could not play because of a calf injury - in seventh spot on the table with 12 points, a rung above Lajong which moved up from the 10th spot to 8th following their spectacular display here.

Mumbai FC goalie Nidhin Lal brought off two good saves late in the match.

This was the first defeat of the season at home, and fifth overall from 11 games, for Mumbai FC after two victories and three draws. This is also the home team's second successive defeat.

For the visitors, the win was only their third win from ten matches.

The Shillong team outclassed Mumbai with their quick passing game and sharpness up front which flummoxed their opponents.

Mumbai were forced to make a couple of changes to their starting line-up, with Climax Lawrence returning in the midfield in place of Taisuke and Lal replacing Kunal Sawant as goalkeeper.

The first goal came off a defensive error by Lal whose feeble save off a Robin Gurung attempt was relayed to Cornell by a teammate and the experienced West Indian neatly tapped it in to make it 1-0.

Four minutes later Mumbai's citadel fell again. Seiminlen Doungel made a run down the right and passed to Orji from the byline. The latter's first-time effort went in off Mumbai defender Justin Stephen.

Any hopes of a Mumbai comeback were nipped early in the second half by the visitors, who scored two more goals with good approach work.

In the 47th minute, Doungel essayed the ball to overlapping back Aibor Khongjee who, in turn, crossed the ball towards an unmarked Ralte who found the mark off a rebounded shot off rival goalie Lal.

Cornell and Orji later combined forces inside the box before the former beat Lal to make it 4-0 before Ulliams and Milan scored once each in injury time to complete the total rout.
Post by: Tallman on May 17, 2015, 07:21:51 PM
WATCH Cornell Glen score his second I-League hat-trick in Shillong Lajong’s 3-1 win over Bharat FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/QI3h1B7FdVE
Post by: dreamer on May 17, 2015, 09:23:06 PM
Well done Cornell
BraveHart, Cornell is trying to tell you something. Fit, playing lots of minutes, hungry, scoring with confidence high.
Post by: Peong on May 17, 2015, 11:34:19 PM
Nice hat trick. The third was special.
Title: Hat-trick hero Cornell Glen saves Shillong Lajong from relegation
Post by: Tallman on May 30, 2015, 12:56:46 PM
Hat-trick hero Cornell Glen saves Shillong Lajong from relegation
http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/shillong-lajong-vs-east-bengal/1981074/report

WATCH Cornell Glen score his second hat-trick of the season in Shillong Lajong’s 5-1 thrashing of East Bengal which helped them to avoid relegation. He also had an assist on the first goal. Glen finished the season with 16 goals in 19 appearances.

https://www.youtube.com/v/JXB5jNBlajI
Title: Glen close to signing for Bharat
Post by: Tallman on June 09, 2015, 12:29:50 PM
Glen close to signing for Bharat
By Rahul Bali (goal.com)

The 34-year-old striker will be the Pune-based club’s marquee signing for the 2015-16 season…

Shillong Lajong’s Cornell Glen is all set to join Bharat FC, Goal can reveal.

The former LA Galaxy striker was one of the most lethal strikers in the just concluded I-League, having scored 16 goals in 19 appearances. He was also the joint top scorer last season with 14 strikes in 19 matches.

“Glen has already undergone a medical last week,” informed a source close to the club.

Glen's addition would certainly bolster Bharat FC's attack who finished at the bottom of the table and had an unenviable record of scoring the least number of goals in the league - 13.

Meanwhile, Bharat FC have roped in Mumbai FC duo of Sampath Kuttymani and Ashutosh Mehta.

The Lions of Pune have also added Chinta Chandrashekhar on their roster for the next season. The club was also said to be in talks with Royal Wahingdoh defender Chhakchhuak Lallawmzuala.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 08, 2015, 04:20:25 PM
Bharat FC's temerity in finalizing transfers troubling
By Rahul Bali (goal.com)

The Lions of Pune have been timid in closing out the deals they had agreed at least a month ago.

Bharat FC are yet to sign a player for the 2015-16 season as the club has delayed handing out contracts.

The Pune-based outfit had agreed deals with several players, including the likes of Cornell Glen, Fulganco Cardozo, Justin Stephen, Ashutosh Mehta, Chinta Chandrashekhar, Sampath Kuttymani, Darren Caldeira and Chhakchhuak Lallawmzuala. Offer letters were dispatched back in the first week of June after the said players passed their medical tests.

However, since then there has been no development whatsoever.

“We were informed that the club’s owner Amit Kalyani would return to Pune on June 11th and thereby, the contracts would be signed on June 12th or 13th. But there has been no communication from the club as to when the contracts would be offered as their club management has suddenly gone mum,” informed one of the agents whose player’s future is in limbo.

“The club’s management haven’t told us when Amit Kalyani would decide to sign a contract. It seems for the last 20 days or so, the owner hasn’t spoken to the club’s management. If the issue isn’t resolved in the next couple of days or so, we would look to sign our players elsewhere,” alleged another agent.

At the end of 2014-15 season, the club informed their players who are expected to play in the Indian Super League (ISL) that their futures would be resolved after the second season of the tournament.

"Players who weren't going to be a part of the ISL, were informed by Bharat management that their future is open ended," validated a player who was on Bharat FC's roster last season.

It is also reliably learnt that the All India Football Federation’s (AIFF) senior management are aware of the current issue and their president Praful Patel having a dialogue with Kalyani isn’t ruled out.

The ISL listed five players, namely Mehta, Chandrashekhar, Stephen, Kuttymani and Cardozo, amongst those loaned from Bharat FC from the draft scheduled for July 10. However, none of the above mentioned players are yet to sign a contract with the Pune club.

Meanwhile, Bharat FC’s CEO Suvrat Thatte informed that they are in the process of identifying targets for the coming season.

“At the moment we are zeroing in on our targets for the coming season. While some have been identified, we are also awaiting the ISL draft, future targets will be discussed then,” he told Goal.

Thatte stated that the club’s legal team are very much in negotiations with the said parties as opposed to what the agents and players have claimed.

“Our legal team is in negotiation with the players/agents and a few things (clauses) regarding the contracts are being discussed. We are awaiting for these to be ironed out. Also our technical team (coach Stuart Watkiss) is currently out of India but is monitoring the potential players and future targets will be determined in consultation with them,” Thatte explained.
Title: Mohun Bagan strikes a deal with Cornell Glen
Post by: Tallman on October 02, 2015, 11:41:28 AM
Mohun Bagan strikes a deal with Cornell Glen
By Atanu Mitra (goal.com)

The Mariners have decided to rope in the experienced striker, who is expected to arrive in Kolkata in a fortnight.

I-League defending champions Mohun Bagan have finally struck a deal with former Trinidad and Tobago World Cupper Cornell Glen to strengthen their squad after a disastrous Calcutta Football League (CFL) campaign, Goal can reveal.

The two parties have been in talks for the last few weeks and coach Sanjoy Sen had informed of the club's desire to get his prized signature. On the other hand, Glen had signed an agreement with Bharat FC in the summer but with the club choosing not to participate in the I-League, the deal collapsed.

Mohun Bagan had to request for a release from Shillong Lajong, the last team the player represented. According to sources in the know of things, this proved to be a major roadblock.

Glen has been one of the most prolific stirkers in Indian football, scoring 30 goals in the last two seasons for Lajong.

Mohun Bagan have released Gustavo and Dudu Omagbemi after the CFL, while Sony Norde's reluctance to sign on the dotted line has been a cause of concern for the officials. Judelin Aveska, the Haiti defender has also left Kolkata to represent his national team.
Title: Glen lifts the lid on his T&T career secrets and W/Cup injury.
Post by: Flex on November 09, 2015, 03:43:56 AM
Look trouble now: Glen lifts the lid on his T&T career secrets and W/Cup injury.
By Lasana Liburd (wired868).

“Up to this day, people still label me as a troublemaker,” ex-Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup attacker Cornell Glen told Wired868. “But if standing up for what you believe is right and what you believe you are worth is being a troublemaker, then I will be a troublemaker for the rest of my life…

“Since I started playing for the national team, there was no (health) insurance. So when a player gets injured, which has happened to me on numerous occasions, you get nothing from the national team.”

The 35-year-old Glen, who now earns his living playing professionally in India, has never been one to mince words. He spoke to Wired868 recently in a wide-ranging interview that covered his club and international career.

In Part One, the gifted former St Agnes Anglican Primary School and Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive student discussed the birth of his football career and his troubles on and off the field:

Wired868: How did you get started in football?

Cornell Glen: I started playing from about 5 or 6 years old. I was just playing on the streets with my brothers or against the bigger guys on the basketball court in Cocorite. I never went to any coaching school.

I have seven siblings; it was four boys and four girls. We all played sports, whether it was football, basketball or netball, and there was always competition. I was the second to last child and third boy. (His younger brother, Cyrano Glen, plays for Saddle Hill Hotspur and is a former Pro League player with San Juan Jabloteh)…

Then, I used to see it as every minute playing was a minute out of trouble… Later on, you start to see your potential and realise you can make a living out of it. And it can be a way out of the ghetto and to have a good life.

Wired868: Can you tell us about when you turned professional?

Glen: I had played with the Trinidad and Tobago National Under-17 Team for the deceased Arthur “Jap” Brown and he brought me into (then Pro League team) Futgof straight after I finished school (at Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive)…

The idea they sold me on was great because it was all about developing youth players to move them overseas, which is why so many young players at the time migrated to Futgof. But financially it didn’t work out (for the club).

I got the chance to go to Portugal then when I was just 19 but I came back after two years. It didn’t work out. I found out that my Portuguese agent (named) was (allegedly) taking money from the club to keep me there (in the Second Division) rather than looking for opportunities for me to go on to bigger and better.

Wired868: What do you mean? And how did you find out?

Glen: I was playing for AD Sanjoanense in the Second Division at the time. And, after about two years, I had started to understand Portuguese. So I was reading an article and saw that a club in the First Division was interested in me. And I started asking around to see why nothing was happening.

And I started getting news that he was taking money from the club. So I called my manager, Michael Awai, back home and we eventually found out from someone inside the club that it was true. They were (allegedly) paying him under the table to keep me there as long as possible.

I got upset and I just wanted to go home. Awai organised a trial for me with Peterborough (then in the equivalent of England League One) and they liked me but I had no national caps. They were asking if I had any family ties or so to England (that might help get a work permit) but I didn’t have any.

Wired868: So you returned home?

Glen: Yeah. I decided to come home and play with San Juan Jabloteh. I played for a year under (then coach) Terry (Fenwick) and a year under Ricky (Hill). In my second year under Ricky, I got an offer from China. At the time, (ex-Trinidad and Tobago internationals) Gary (Glasgow) and Arnold (Dwarika) were in China.

They were offering a lot of money there. It was around US$10,000 a month. And at the same time, I got the offer from the MLS (US Major League Soccer) and they were offering around US$38,000 a year.

So I had a big decision to make. Whether I would take the money and run and probably get lost in China. Or go to the MLS and it could probably help my career in the future.

I went to the MLS. I didn’t make a lot of money but it helped me in terms of learning and gaining exposure and being seen by the national coach.

I think it helped me a lot and it was the right decision.

Wired868: So how did your senior international career get started?

Glen: I played my first game against St Kitts in November 2002. I think it was either Stuart Charles (Fevrier) or (Hannibal) Najjar. Actually, I don’t think I played any game under Najjar. That was when I was blacklisted.

(In fact, Glen made his debut under Najjar and won two senior international caps in the Caribbean Cup qualifying round before he was among 19 players, including World Cup 2006 players Kelvin Jack and Brent Sancho and then team captain Travis Mulraine and vice-captain Gary Glasgow, who were banned from the national team on the eve of a friendly against Finland).

Wired868: How did you manage to be blacklisted from the national team before your international career had even properly begun?

Glen: The conditions were rough then. They were offering about US$200 a game and we were eating bread and cheese after practise. Literally! A few of the senior players spoke to us and we decided to stand up for what was right.

But then someone from within the team went back and told the coach and word got out. And, the day before the game, they brought in a whole new team with mostly players from the Army (who are forbidden from industrial action) and blacklisted everyone who was going to strike…

I wouldn’t say I was a rebel back then… But the conditions were really bad and we had no one to stand up for us. The coaches weren’t going to stand up for us. As a young player, I was 21, I told Kelvin (Jack) and Travis (Mulraine) and the other senior guys that if you’re striking, I’m supporting you guys 110 percent.

But they just brought in 15 soldiers and some other players and played the game (against Finland) and we were blacklisted.

(Najjar called up 10 overseas players for the subsequent Caribbean qualifying round for the 2003 Gold Cup. But Trinidad and Tobago were eliminated and the coach was sacked).

Wired868: How did that incident, so early in your international career, shape your future as a Trinidad and Tobago player?

Glen: Up to this day, people still label me as a troublemaker. But if standing up for what you believe is right and what you believe you are worth is being a troublemaker, then I will be a troublemaker for the rest of my life.

I don’t think players should be playing under those kinds of conditions… We have to respect a player’s worth. Since I started playing for the national team, there was no (health) insurance. So when a player gets injured, which has happened to me on numerous occasions, you get nothing from the national team.

I have lost (job) contracts, I have lost my playing position, I have lost so much from playing with the national team and getting injured. And when you stand up you are victimised for it. I think it is totally wrong and unfair to the players.

And the younger players will never understand it until they go through that.

Wired868: Can you give us examples of times when you were injured and suffered those things?

Glen: The first time that I got injured on national duty that really affected me was in 2004. We were playing against Guatemala (on August 10) and Gary Glasgow broke his foot in that same game.

I was playing for (MLS team, New York/New Jersey) MetroStars at the time. I joined the team (in March 2004) about five or six games into their season. I worked my way into the starting team after two or three games and I scored three goals from four games with the MetroStars and then left after the fourth game to play with the national team.

And I totally messed up my ankle against Guatemala and ended up with torn ligaments. I totally struggled through the season and eventually finished with six goals and I didn’t get any compensation. The second time was at the (2006) World Cup.

Wired868: Well, at least you would have been taken care of after the World Cup injury…

(FIFA provides insurance for players who are injured at the World Cup, which the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation had access to).

Glen: Definitely not. I didn’t get so much as a phone call (after the World Cup) and I didn’t get a cent… I lost my contract at the (MLS club) LA Galaxy because I had a one-year option and they didn’t pick it up since I didn’t play again for the rest of that season.

I got absolutely nothing from the national team after that injury… There is a lot of stuff people don’t know and don’t understand. (The TTFF/TTFA) doesn’t care about the players. A lot of this stuff happens on a regular basis.

You look at the situation with Dwight (Yorke who broke his leg while representing Trinidad and Tobago as a 19-year-old) and people wondered why he didn’t want to play for the national team and give 100 percent.

It is a sort of risk versus reward situation. The risks are high playing with the national team but the reward is not there other than pride. And when you ask to be compensated properly, you are victimised.

Wired868: How long did it take you before you recovered from your knee injury at the 2006 World Cup?

Glen: It took me a year before I started training and a year and a half before I was back to full fitness. And I had to spend my own money!

Galaxy paid to do my surgery and my rehab until the end of my season, so I was thankful for that. After that, I had to come home and pay for my own rehab. I spent at least TT$40,000 on rehab here in Trinidad.

The third time it happened was (on 9 September 2009) when we played the US here (in a 2010 World Cup qualifier). We lost 1-0 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and I played the whole game, played well, went to Zen, had a good time, woke up in the morning and couldn’t walk.

When I went back to San Jose (and yet another MLS club, San Jose Earthquakes), my MCL was torn…

(Glen pauses, exhales and appears to compose himself).

The national team has helped me a lot, so I don’t want to be ungrateful or complain. I’ve gotten a lot of opportunities as a national player. But it cost me a lot too, especially in 2006 when I thought if I went back to Galaxy fit, I might still be in the MLS making a lot of money and enjoying what I do.

It is something when I think about it I get emotional sometimes. Because you give so much to the national team physically and emotionally. And then at times like now when the national team abandons you and says you are too old. It hurts.

Title: Re: Glen lifts the lid on his T&T career secrets and W/Cup injury.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 09, 2015, 07:25:40 AM
Talk yuh talk, baller. It might motivate other former NT players to share their experiences.
Post by: Sam on November 09, 2015, 07:41:04 AM
It hurts.

It hurts !!!!!...... O, O

Man crying like a f00cking virgin.

When Jack had them busy, you couldn't hear a peep, now they get mouth, how this helping anyone now?

All these men use T&T to get contract, now they want to talk.

In New York them Italian woulda buss lead on him. Yuh dong all de time, now yuh T&T career over so you talking.

A next sour f00cker who vex he never get pick, trying to unsettle de team a few days before we games.

All these guys do was always a problem, him, Sancho, Kelvin, etc and when Sancho was MOS he had de chance to fight for players rights etc and never did, so I eh want to hear shit now from these assholes.

Suck on this Glen, you score 10 goals for T&T in your life time, you eh no star.

(http://www.cfah.org/hbns/images/031611pacifiers.jpg)
Suck on this like how Controversial does suck Jemmot eggs.

Post by: dreamer on November 09, 2015, 07:51:51 AM
Glen boy  .... I feel your pain and knew alot of your trials & tribulations but we too feel we cyah say nutten due to the Uncle Jackulito, Scampito & Uncle Tim loyalists.
What they did to you, they have no qualms doing now and in the future to other football dreamers.
Very sad. You will always be a great baller and one of the greatest and most potent strikers that T&T ever had.

Lasana, great stuff again! You will be hated by a twisted few for doing this but press on.
We need more personal stories like this as players gradually lose the fear of talking & as the threat of persecution and blackmail ever so slightly recedes.
Post by: Deeks on November 09, 2015, 09:28:08 AM
Cornel is right to expose the issues that plagued him and the national team when he was playing. Unfortunately this was under the you know  who regime.

And this a reason why the players association never got of the ground or probably will never come into fruition.

But then someone from within the team went back and told the coach and word got out. And, the day before the game, they brought in a whole new team with mostly players from the Army (who are forbidden from industrial action) and blacklisted everyone who was going to strike…

I wouldn’t say I was a rebel back then… But the conditions were really bad and we had no one to stand up for us. The coaches weren’t going to stand up for us. As a young player, I was 21, I told Kelvin (Jack) and Travis (Mulraine) and the other senior guys that if you’re striking, I’m supporting you guys 110 percent.

But they just brought in 15 soldiers and some other players and played the game (against Finland) and we were blacklisted.

(Najjar called up 10 overseas players for the subsequent Caribbean qualifying round for the 2003 Gold Cup. But Trinidad and Tobago were eliminated and the coach was sacked).
Post by: Sam on November 09, 2015, 10:05:14 AM
Allyuh is a bunch of punks, all ah allyuh.

What is de purpose of this article 4 days before we important WC game?

We should only be hearing positive news.

Not ah bunch of tabacca music from ah imps who never make it on de big stage or stand up for anything good.

He went on strike and came back a month after playing under de same terms, so what was de purpose.

Deek, allyuh men good we.

Come on T&T, bull them hard !!!!

Time for Russia.

Post by: Deeks on November 09, 2015, 10:38:00 AM
We should only be hearing positive news.

True dat! I will not argue with you on that.  We want positive news going into the game this week. But the situation about players' fears where it concerns compensations and their rights are legitimate and are still outstanding. When is it the "right" time to explain to the public your side of the story. He paid his dues and has a right to speak out.
Post by: Sam on November 09, 2015, 10:46:55 AM
De timing, I am not interested in.

He could tell he story walking.

Now when de players in camp read this shit ent it go vex them.

Now I eh saying, they deserve de treatment or it not happening. But will this do anything to help?

But come nah, election coming soon, leh we get over these 2 games and then we could talk.

Jack Warner mash them fellas up let Glen get he story publish on de Sun and de Punch.

Post by: Sam on November 09, 2015, 10:55:10 AM
Lasana is an next one, writing for hits, somebody should hit him ah hard calpat on he head one ah these days.

We have an important game in 4 days, he cah write about something better?

Glen should be learning to train cobras in indian now as a back up, because he love to get injured.

Post by: andre samuel on November 10, 2015, 12:43:29 PM
Lasana is an next one, writing for hits, somebody should hit him ah hard calpat on he head one ah these days.

Glen should be learning to train cobras in indian now as a back up, because he love to get injured.

Do you take a read of what you type before you click "post"?

Sam, or whatever your real name is, you are the most negative, antagonistic and disrespectful poster on this site.

You attack players, coaches, managers and posters whole day and night.

A player decides to give insight into his experience with the national team and before you look to see the validity of his claims, you choose to cuss him and cuss all those who show support for him.

It's funny that you think that this would unsettle a team, but the countless times you berate our players based on your own personal opinion before, after and during games/tournaments is allowed.

I know that your 'role' is that of the site watchdog, but sometimes you overdo the nonsense.

Post by: Sam on November 10, 2015, 01:33:24 PM

Do you take a read of what you type before you click "post"?

Sam, or whatever your real name is, you are the most negative, antagonistic and disrespectful poster on this site.

You attack players, coaches, managers and posters whole day and night.

A player decides to give insight into his experience with the national team and before you look to see the validity of his claims, you choose to cuss him and cuss all those who show support for him.

It's funny that you think that this would unsettle a team, but the countless times you berate our players based on your own personal opinion before, after and during games/tournaments is allowed.

I know that your 'role' is that of the site watchdog, but sometimes you overdo the nonsense.

I say it as it is, just like when ah cuss them for dissing yuh family Jlloyd, yuh didn't mind then.

And I does be on kicks to, so take yuh panty out yuh ass and loosen up nah..

Yuh is ah Trini, you could take ole talk.

Hear de funny thing nah, we here supporting de team all de time, all of a sudden de waggonist appear and correcting people, like we have a game coming up?

Wait, Patriot and Big Mac and them go show up just now.

Post by: socalion on November 10, 2015, 03:17:01 PM
Cornell Glen  have every right to speak up on the issues he raised... keep yuh head up cornell .!
Post by: vb on November 10, 2015, 04:09:24 PM
Imagine, post 2000 and no insurance for men who get injured?

SMH.
Post by: Big Magician on November 10, 2015, 06:43:52 PM
im here Sam...right on cue...
Post by: sweetiepaper on November 10, 2015, 09:00:03 PM
I agree the timing of the article really off. (Not just before two big games). But it's sad what our players have had to go through over the years and still going through.
Post by: Jumbie on November 10, 2015, 11:15:44 PM
I agree the timing of the article really off. (Not just before two big games). But it's sad what our players have had to go through over the years and still going through.

wait wait! you're a campaign manager and you think the timing is off. What better time for both the player/s and the author of the article to get some press. Football is the talk of the town, so no better time to piggy back on the wave.
Post by: Flex on November 11, 2015, 03:15:58 AM
Glen: The thrill and agony of the 2006 World Cup; and why Beenhakker’s the best.

“I didn’t expect to play (against Sweden at the 2006 World Cup) and, when the red card occurred,” former Trinidad and Tobago World Cup player and stand-out Cornell Glen told Wired868, “I thought we would go on to lose by about four or five goals because they were bombarding us. So I was shocked when (coach Leo Beenhakker) called me.

“I went over and I was expecting him to give me a lot of tactical instructions. You know, run back, mark this one, do this… Instead, he said: Go on and do what you do best.”

In part two of his exclusive chat with Wired868, Glen remembers the 2006 World Cup and working with former Trinidad and Tobago, Netherlands and Real Madrid coach Leo Beenhakker.

Wired868: What can you remember about that third 2006 World Cup group game against Paraguay when you were injured?

Cornell Glen: I remember it as if it was yesterday. It all happened so simply. I skipped a tackle and the turf shifted and all my bodyweight came down on my knee and snapped the ACL.

I heard a pop in my knee and I knew something wasn’t right. I was in a lot of pain. They rushed me straight to the hospital and did the MRI. I cried and I cried. It was not only the pain was agonising but I felt I could have scored in that game. It is one of those games where you feel it because I was doing everything right in that game.

After that, I didn’t get a call (from anyone from the TTFF). Not even from the doctor. Nothing at all…

Wired868: What would you say was your worst time as a national player?

Glen: [Pauses for a minute] I think under (Hannibal) Najjar was the worst time for me. The conditions were terrible and I wasn’t comfortable at all… One of the craziest things I’ve ever seen is when he called 91 men out to train (in a massive screening exercise). [He Laughs]

Wired868: And what was the best time?

Glen: I think my time under (Leo) Beenhakker and at the 2006 World Cup was the best time. But under Bertille St Clair I was the fittest and sharpest that I’ve been as a player. Under (Francisco) Maturana too.

I remember we went to Argentina (under Maturana in January 2009) and played three or four practice matches and I scored in about everyone. [Glen did score in every game. There was a 1-1 draw with Argentinos Juniors B team, a 3-0 win over second division Quilmes and a 3-2 win over Tigres]. And then we came back and they played Stern (John)…

Looking back, I think I got a raw deal so many times because you might be playing and fit and they select someone who is at a bigger club but not playing for the bigger club.

That is the workings of the national team with third world countries. Guys with bigger clubs but not playing will be selected in front of guys who are playing (with smaller teams).

Wired868: Your last game for Trinidad and Tobago was two years ago at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup against Mexico. Do you think you have played your last game for the “Soca Warriors?”

Glen: First of all, let me say that people said they needed to bring in young players into the team. But I was 32 when I played my last game for Trinidad and Tobago. Because that is when coach (Stephen) Hart stopped selecting me in 2013. If a player is too old at age 32, I feel sorry for all the 32-year-olds in Trinidad…

Even at age 32, I think from the national team strikers available I was the one who was playing the most with my club and in-form and fit and ready to play. Even now, I think I have played more football than anyone else on the national team.

Wired868: Have you ever discussed your international career with Hart?

Glen: We spoke recently and he basically said the reason for me not being selected was because he wasn’t getting enough games on the FIFA dates to rotate his squad. So he didn’t want certain players to lose confidence when not selected (to bring me in).

As much as I don’t agree with his explanation, I just want to say that I respect his decision and support the team 100 percent. (But) I’m not retired and no one will force me into retirement. All I can do right now is continue performing and scoring goals for my club.

I understand he is looking to go for younger players but in my opinion—and I have a US B’ coaching license—I don’t think we have such a large pool of players like Brazil and Germany to just phase out experienced players for fresh legs. I think you need to integrate the younger players with the experienced players over a period of time.

You can’t have a team with no leaders and I think that is the biggest problem with the team today. There are a lot of egos in the team and no one to lead.

Another problem I think he will face in the World Cup qualifiers is the fact that (a lot) of his players are not playing with their respective clubs and he won’t have as much time to work with them as he did before the Gold Cup to get them fit.

Wired868: But can your body handle the rigours of international and club football at this stage in your career? Didn’t you need special provisions for training due to niggling injuries when you trained with co-coaches Jamaal Shabazz and Hutson Charles?

Glen: That is the first time I am hearing about that. I have never missed a training session under Hart or Jamaal Shabazz. I have never missed a training session or asked to be sat out or complained about a knee injury or anything with the national team. Never.

The only problem I had with Jamaal Shabazz and them going into the (2013) Gold Cup was match fees. I spoke up about it in a (team) meeting and some player went back and told the coaches and again the label was put on me that I was being disruptive within the camp.

But how can a coach sit back and ask players to play for pride? You are trying to secure your own job but the players are playing for nothing.

I know the two assistant coaches (Hutson Charles and Derek King) had a problem with me before because I had no problem with coach Hart. So I don’t know if it stemmed from that why they don’t want me in the camp. But I’m the kind of person, Lasana, if there are money problems, I will speak up about it. Because if I am not satisfied, I am not going to play. Because I know what it is to lose a lot for the national team.

Wired868: Okay. Can you tell us more about your happiest moments with the national team?

Glen: The World Cup was my happiest time. And this is going back to a coach who supports his players, which is why we were so happy. From the qualifiers to the end of the World Cup tournament, Beenhakker stood up for us. He made sure we were taken care of properly. He was a coach who fought for his players and that is when you gain respect.

The reason why we were all happy is it was even across the board too. There were no superstars. Not because you were Dwight Yorke, you could just walk in the team. And he made it clear on his first day that if you are not playing for your club he was not going to select you. It put you in a competitive state of mind even when you were with your club. When you came into the national team, you were always match fit and firing.

Wired868: Can you give an example of how Beenhakker managed the team?

Glen: Well, a lot of people still talk about when Dwight came late to one session before a qualifier in Trinidad and he told him right in front of everybody: ‘Don’t ever f**king do that again. I don’t care who you are.’

But there is another story that most people don’t know. If you remember after the (2005) Gold Cup, he didn’t select me for a number of matches leading up to the Bahrain (FIFA Play Off) game. I actually didn’t play any World Cup qualifying games for Beenhakker.

There were problems at Columbus Crew and I was worried about being waived. I joined the national team for the Gold Cup and for the first game I didn’t play and I was totally pissed. Then I came on in the second game against Panama and I scored (a last minute equaliser).

Post by: Flex on November 11, 2015, 03:18:21 AM
Glen: The thrill and agony of the 2006 World Cup; and why Beenhakker’s the best.

“I didn’t expect to play (against Sweden at the 2006 World Cup) and, when the red card occurred,” former Trinidad and Tobago World Cup player and stand-out Cornell Glen told Wired868, “I thought we would go on to lose by about four or five goals because they were bombarding us. So I was shocked when (coach Leo Beenhakker) called me.

“I went over and I was expecting him to give me a lot of tactical instructions. You know, run back, mark this one, do this… Instead, he said: Go on and do what you do best.”

In part two of his exclusive chat with Wired868, Glen remembers the 2006 World Cup and working with former Trinidad and Tobago, Netherlands and Real Madrid coach Leo Beenhakker.

Wired868: What can you remember about that third 2006 World Cup group game against Paraguay when you were injured?

Cornell Glen: I remember it as if it was yesterday. It all happened so simply. I skipped a tackle and the turf shifted and all my bodyweight came down on my knee and snapped the ACL.

I heard a pop in my knee and I knew something wasn’t right. I was in a lot of pain. They rushed me straight to the hospital and did the MRI. I cried and I cried. It was not only the pain was agonising but I felt I could have scored in that game. It is one of those games where you feel it because I was doing everything right in that game.

After that, I didn’t get a call (from anyone from the TTFF). Not even from the doctor. Nothing at all…

Wired868: What would you say was your worst time as a national player?

Glen: [Pauses for a minute] I think under (Hannibal) Najjar was the worst time for me. The conditions were terrible and I wasn’t comfortable at all… One of the craziest things I’ve ever seen is when he called 91 men out to train (in a massive screening exercise). [He Laughs]

Wired868: And what was the best time?

Glen: I think my time under (Leo) Beenhakker and at the 2006 World Cup was the best time. But under Bertille St Clair I was the fittest and sharpest that I’ve been as a player. Under (Francisco) Maturana too.

I remember we went to Argentina (under Maturana in January 2009) and played three or four practice matches and I scored in about everyone. [Glen did score in every game. There was a 1-1 draw with Argentinos Juniors B team, a 3-0 win over second division Quilmes and a 3-2 win over Tigres]. And then we came back and they played Stern (John)…

Looking back, I think I got a raw deal so many times because you might be playing and fit and they select someone who is at a bigger club but not playing for the bigger club.

That is the workings of the national team with third world countries. Guys with bigger clubs but not playing will be selected in front of guys who are playing (with smaller teams).

Wired868: Your last game for Trinidad and Tobago was two years ago at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup against Mexico. Do you think you have played your last game for the “Soca Warriors?”

Glen: First of all, let me say that people said they needed to bring in young players into the team. But I was 32 when I played my last game for Trinidad and Tobago. Because that is when coach (Stephen) Hart stopped selecting me in 2013. If a player is too old at age 32, I feel sorry for all the 32-year-olds in Trinidad…

Even at age 32, I think from the national team strikers available I was the one who was playing the most with my club and in-form and fit and ready to play. Even now, I think I have played more football than anyone else on the national team.

Wired868: Have you ever discussed your international career with Hart?

Glen: We spoke recently and he basically said the reason for me not being selected was because he wasn’t getting enough games on the FIFA dates to rotate his squad. So he didn’t want certain players to lose confidence when not selected (to bring me in).

As much as I don’t agree with his explanation, I just want to say that I respect his decision and support the team 100 percent. (But) I’m not retired and no one will force me into retirement. All I can do right now is continue performing and scoring goals for my club.

I understand he is looking to go for younger players but in my opinion—and I have a US B’ coaching license—I don’t think we have such a large pool of players like Brazil and Germany to just phase out experienced players for fresh legs. I think you need to integrate the younger players with the experienced players over a period of time.

You can’t have a team with no leaders and I think that is the biggest problem with the team today. There are a lot of egos in the team and no one to lead.

Another problem I think he will face in the World Cup qualifiers is the fact that (a lot) of his players are not playing with their respective clubs and he won’t have as much time to work with them as he did before the Gold Cup to get them fit.

Wired868: But can your body handle the rigours of international and club football at this stage in your career? Didn’t you need special provisions for training due to niggling injuries when you trained with co-coaches Jamaal Shabazz and Hutson Charles?

Glen: That is the first time I am hearing about that. I have never missed a training session under Hart or Jamaal Shabazz. I have never missed a training session or asked to be sat out or complained about a knee injury or anything with the national team. Never.

The only problem I had with Jamaal Shabazz and them going into the (2013) Gold Cup was match fees. I spoke up about it in a (team) meeting and some player went back and told the coaches and again the label was put on me that I was being disruptive within the camp.

But how can a coach sit back and ask players to play for pride? You are trying to secure your own job but the players are playing for nothing.

I know the two assistant coaches (Hutson Charles and Derek King) had a problem with me before because I had no problem with coach Hart. So I don’t know if it stemmed from that why they don’t want me in the camp. But I’m the kind of person, Lasana, if there are money problems, I will speak up about it. Because if I am not satisfied, I am not going to play. Because I know what it is to lose a lot for the national team.

Wired868: Okay. Can you tell us more about your happiest moments with the national team?

Glen: The World Cup was my happiest time. And this is going back to a coach who supports his players, which is why we were so happy. From the qualifiers to the end of the World Cup tournament, Beenhakker stood up for us. He made sure we were taken care of properly. He was a coach who fought for his players and that is when you gain respect.

The reason why we were all happy is it was even across the board too. There were no superstars. Not because you were Dwight Yorke, you could just walk in the team. And he made it clear on his first day that if you are not playing for your club he was not going to select you. It put you in a competitive state of mind even when you were with your club. When you came into the national team, you were always match fit and firing.

Wired868: Can you give an example of how Beenhakker managed the team?

Glen: Well, a lot of people still talk about when Dwight came late to one session before a qualifier in Trinidad and he told him right in front of everybody: ‘Don’t ever f**king do that again. I don’t care who you are.’

But there is another story that most people don’t know. If you remember after the (2005) Gold Cup, he didn’t select me for a number of matches leading up to the Bahrain (FIFA Play Off) game. I actually didn’t play any World Cup qualifying games for Beenhakker.

There were problems at Columbus Crew and I was worried about being waived. I joined the national team for the Gold Cup and for the first game I didn’t play and I was totally pissed. Then I came on in the second game against Panama and I scored (a last minute equaliser).

Nov-8

Post by: sweetiepaper on November 11, 2015, 11:44:51 AM

wait wait! you're a campaign manager and you think the timing is off. What better time for both the player/s and the author of the article to get some press. Football is the talk of the town, so no better time to piggy back on the wave.
Lol. Yes I do think the timing is off. Campaign Manager Yes. But T&T supporter to the core first. While it may seem crafty to leverage the current publicity. No one should be distracting the team with off-the-field issues at this time. In fact this is also a horrible time for the elections. This (elections) should have been done before the world cup campaign even started. Over the years we've seen repeatedly where we lose games because of non-footballing matters. Our players are just not that tough mentally.  I was privileged to be part of the recent research into governance of sporting bodies in the Caribbean. And one of the things that the Head Researcher from England mentioned stuck with me. She said in the Caribbean "Your athletes are superior physically and physiologically, but lack the psychological support."
Title: Cornell Glen is honoured to represent Mohun Bagan
Post by: Tallman on November 26, 2015, 09:53:55 PM
Cornell Glen is honoured to represent Mohun Bagan
mohunbaganac.com

Mohun Bagan's new recruit Cornell Glen represented Trinidad and Tobago in the 2006 FIFA World Cup, in which he did play all the group league games against Sweden, England and Paraguay. He was also the second-highest scorer in the I-League last season with 16 goals from 19 matches. He ended last year's I-League campaign on a bang, scoring a hat-trick for Shillong Lajong against East Bengal, with Shillong Lajong thrashing East Bengal 5-1.

Excerpts from Mohun Bagan's new recruit Cornell Glen's press conference:

On playing for Mohun Bagan - It is good to be here. Mohun Bagan is the biggest club in India and I am honored to represent this club and look forward to the challenge. I am here to give my best and help Mohun Bagan win the I-League.

About replacing Dudu Omagbemi - I will give my best for Mohun Bagan and I am not here to outdo what Dudu Omagbemi did.

On his target of winning trophies - I want to win trophies here. With all due respect to Lajong, they were not really contenders for the I-League title. I want to contend and compete for the title. I am eagerly looking forward to playing with Mohun Bagan teammates.

About the chance of Mohun Bagan retaining the I-League - Winning the I-League would be a big challenge for me this season. I love to take challenges and I am looking forward to this challenge. I hope we will be able to clinch the title this season, but for that we will have to play a good team game. It is not about 2-3 players like Yusa, Sony or myself. Football is a team game and we need to play as a unit to become successful.

Regarding the Kolkata derby - Yes, the Kolkata Derby is big, but winning the derby alone will not serve us the purpose of winning the title. Every match is crucial in this tournament.

On the Indian Super League - The ISL is eating into Indian football. A lot of players playing in the ISL tend to feel fatigued by the end of the I-League season. It is really difficult to switch clubs within a season. Last year, I missed the ISL owing to injury. However, that helped me to be fresh for the I-League. I feel the focus should have been on developing the I-League rather than starting a new league.

https://www.youtube.com/v/taZB4PDLS6o
Post by: frico on November 29, 2015, 07:49:38 AM
I'll bet he can teach Trinis a few choice cuss words. ;D
Post by: Tallman on December 03, 2015, 11:53:48 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores his first goal for Mohun Bagan, in a practice match against University of Calcutta
https://www.youtube.com/v/Q2F71pPm8Sg
Post by: Tallman on December 07, 2015, 11:45:02 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores a hat-trick in Mohun Bagan’s 3-1 win over CMC Singur Tarakeswar XI in an exhibition match
https://www.youtube.com/v/d1y1qfYJJ_g
Post by: maxg on December 07, 2015, 01:44:24 PM
like dem didn't know who they dealing with or wha..leaving the MAN open like that..especially on a field like that..in football we born on dem field
Post by: dreamer on December 07, 2015, 02:21:36 PM
He tryin' to tell BraveHart something orwha? ... for the Haiti match possibly without KJ.
BraveHart will notice but will not want to reverse course so easily though.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on December 07, 2015, 02:54:19 PM
exhibition match ha more people than CCL (in Trini) and regular season pro league match
Post by: soccerman on December 07, 2015, 03:00:31 PM
exhibition match ha more people than CCL (in Trini) and regular season pro league match
Same thing I noticed.
Post by: palos on December 07, 2015, 04:44:29 PM

1.2 million people vs 1 billion people....Kolkata alone have 5 million people so maybe not so surprising
Title: Maturana, Fenwick, Eve, Hart? Cornell Glen aims at ex-coaches and his own legacy
Post by: SWF Reporter on December 26, 2015, 07:34:58 PM
Maturana, Fenwick, Eve, Hart? Cornell Glen aims at ex-coaches and his own legacy
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868)

“(Stephen Hart) is a coach who knows what he wants and he goes out and selects the exact players (with the specific characteristics he needs) to build his team,” said Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup attacker Cornell Glen. “There are coaches that select players who are in-form and work around that. But he wants this (specific characteristic for his squad) and he selects his players in order to fit within that system.”

In the third and final part of our exclusive three part series, Glen, who now plays professionally in India with Mohun Bagan, talks candidly and at length with Wired868 about the places he played, coaches he worked with and legacy he hopes to leave behind.

Wired868: So can you tell us about your professional career?

Cornell Glen: I have played in Trinidad, Portugal, United States, India and I spent three months in Vietnam. That was a rough three months.

I think the strength of the Trinidad league is the aggression. It is difficult to play (in the Pro League). You have to be tough physically to play here (with) the tackles and all of that.

In India, it is not as difficult in terms of aggression. But it is difficult because they are technically good Indian players and they are bringing in a lot of good foreign players. And there is a lot at stake for the clubs and for the players.

It is not like Trinidad where you lose a game and you go home and forget about it and come back the next day (as if nothing happened). When you lose a game (in India), the owners are pissed off and stakeholders are pissed off. There is a lot more pressure on you as a player.

Also the schedule itself (is difficult) because India is such a big place. Sometimes you have to travel like 15 or 16 hours to a game, so it is really really demanding on the body physically.

Wired868: Why do you say Vietnam was rough?

Glen: I spent three months there at Song Lam Nghe. I will have to give you that story another time. (He laughs).

Wired868: And the MLS?

Glen: The problem I had in the US was that injuries came at a really bad time for me. The worst one was the (2006) World Cup injury. I think if I had gone back to the LA Galaxy in the form I was in, I would probably have scored a lot of goals and it would have helped my career in the MLS a lot.

It is a really tough league. Travelling again is really demanding because there are five or six hour flights to games and the training sessions are really intense.

Also teams sit down and analyse everything and they are tactically and technically on point. Opponents know your strengths and weaknesses going into the game, so it is difficult to beat defenders. It is a hard league to play in.

Wired868: Trinidad and Tobago players seemed to excel in the MLS before like Stern John, Ansil Elcock, Avery John, Scott Sealy, Evans Wise… Joevin Jones is doing well but why are our players not in demand there anymore?

Glen: It is a really demanding league, physically and mentally, and there is a lot missing in our game (in that sense). The physical aspect (of the game) in the MLS and here is different. Here, it is the tackling but there they are physically strong on the ball.

They look at the technical side of the game as well in terms of your technique and positioning. If we don’t get better coaches here to help the players with that we will always have the problem in (getting players to) the top European and US leagues.

But I think it is also a matter of how bad you want it. I think as a youth, I wanted it really badly and that is what made me survive. I was away from my family and my young kids and I was missing home but I knew I had to stick it out. I had no other option but to stick it out to try and help my family.

Now, you see a lot of players going on trials and then crying to come back home. I think that drive and hunger is missing today.

Wired868: What was it like in Portugal?

Glen: I actually loved it there. (Our team played) a nice, fast passing game. I was playing in the second division and my goal was to move up and have two or three seasons there and then try to make it to the England Premier Division…

I learned a lot in Portugal because it was the first time that I was playing in a league with so many different styles of football. You had teams playing long balls and some with short passes and different paces of the game. So I learnt to adapt as fast as possible.

Wired868: What was responsible for shaping you into the player you became?

Glen: I tried to learn as much as possible from every coach I played under. No matter how bad a coach is you can still learn something, even if it is what not to do. (He laughs).

I also tried to work on my weaknesses. Growing up, one of my biggest weaknesses was playing with my back to the goal. So, I used to spend hours working on that.

Wired868: How did you work on that?

Glen: Well, I focused a lot on it in practise and would spend extra time trying to improve my hold up play against defenders. I would just pay attention to that as much as I could because I knew it was my weakness. I also worked on my upper body strength and my core strength a lot and I spent a lot of money on personal trainers to get fit and get strong, even while I was playing in Trinidad.

A lot of players probably go to the gym but to get specific work from trainers, a lot of them don’t do that. I would personally recommend Gregory Seale. He helped me with a lot of strength work, core stability, balance and so on… The first time I worked with him was when Russell (Latapy) was coach in 2009 or 2010 and we kept in touch (ever since).

(Seale) did a lot of stuff that was new to the players and we laughed at it because there were a lot of weird looking actions. But when we started doing it on a regular basis and seeing the results and feeling it, you start realising it is stuff you really need as a football player.

Over the years, the science of football has changed drastically. So to stick with the old school stuff like sit ups and so on just isn’t enough.

Wired868: You have spoken a lot about your admiration for (ex-Real Madrid and Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup coach) Leo Beenhakker. Can you go over what you saw as the strengths and weaknesses of your other former coaches?

Glen: I think my first real coach was the late Arthur “Jap” Brown (with the Trinidad and Tobago National Under-17 Team and Futgof). He was a serious disciplinarian. It was hard to play under him because he was really strict. He was a school teacher as well. I got in trouble a lot for coming late, jersey out of pants… I got bouffed all the time. But he knew his football and he kept you in line.

He broke it down for you to understand the game. He taught me how to run off the ball. That was one of the most important things (I learned from him). And we did a lot of technical work under him.

Wired868: And what about (then National Under-20 coach) Peter Granville?

Glen: I think Peter was a good coach. But I can’t remember much about playing for him because that team had so many great players like Nigel Pierre and Jason Scotland. So I was on the bench most of the times. But he is a good coach.

Wired868: And Terry Fenwick at San Juan Jabloteh?

Glen: I didn’t learn anything from Fenwick. (He laughs). Fenwick taught me so much. He is just a class act. People are always coming down on Terry because of his attitude and what not but he is definitely one of the best coaches I’ve played under.

The bad is probably his temper. Sometimes he loses it and gets too emotional but that is just his love and passion for the game. The good is that he fights for his players. He is a coach that makes you want to die for him on the field.

Terry is one of those coaches who can get you sharp and fit and get the best out of any of his players. Thinking about it he is just an all-round good coach. Sometimes I ask myself why is he not coaching in a better league abroad. But he is a really good coach.

Wired868: And Ricky Hill at Jabloteh?

Glen: Ricky is a tactician. He is a good coach and a smooth guy. I think his weakness is that he is a bit too quiet and soft on players. He was a bit lenient on players who were playing in minor leagues and so on. But he is one of the smartest coaches I ever played with.

Wired868: And what coaches stood out for you in the MLS?

Glen: I played under Bob Bradley in my first season in the MLS at (New York/New Jersey) MetroStars. The bad is that you can’t get to read him; you never know if he is happy or angry or sad. He has no facial expressions and there are no emotions at all that come out of Bradley. But the good bit is he is a really good coach tactically and I really enjoyed working under him.

I had so many coaches at Columbus, so it is hard to remember much about anyone. I had (Frank) Yallop at LA Galaxy and then at San Jose (Earthquakes). He is a really good coach and big on fitness. I hate to run and he is big on the long runs. (He laughs). But he is a good tactical coach and a really down to earth guy. I remember the first time we saw him get angry in the dressing room and everybody was so surprised. He is one of those guys who is always smiling and outgoing and calm.

Wired868: What do you think works in terms of how a coach interacts with his players? Is it better to be more friendly or more distant?

Glen: It depends on the situation. Even Terry (Fenwick) who I saw lose it a lot of times in the dressing room; but there were times when we lost and he would just leave the dressing room and go home without saying a word.

You have to know your players. You can’t be up under them and pressure them too much. You have to know when to give them space because we are all humans and we all make mistakes…

(Leo) Beenhakker is one of the best coaches at doing that. He is a great man manager. He knows when to get under your skin and when to shout at you or when to pull you aside and have that private discussion with you. It is really hard to find a weakness in Beenhakker. He is a great man manager and tactically he is a genius.

Wired868: And (ex-Holland World Cup defender and Trinidad and Tobago coach) Wim Rijsbergen?

Glen: I didn’t play under him. I was recovering from the knee injury (suffered at the 2006 World Cup).

Wired868: What about (ex-Colombia World Cup coach and former South America Coach of the Year) Francisco Maturana?

Glen: I think the bad thing about Maturana is that he was he not as demanding and commanding as he should have been. I think he was being controlled by people behind the scenes (at the TTFF) and I don’t think he had the opportunity to do what he really wanted.

A big downside as well was he couldn’t speak English. We would get lost with the translator some times and we couldn’t understand him. When Filippo (Alario) came in late (to act as translator), we finally understood some of the things he was trying to get over to us better. We realised that this guy could really coach. But by then it was too late for him because we went to the Caribbean Cup and we didn’t show up and that was that.

Maybe he should have gotten a year or two more. They fired him way too quickly. I think he is a great coach but he didn’t a chance to express himself with the (Trinidad and Tobago) National Team. His hands were tied.

Wired868: Why do you say he was a great coach?

Glen: There was this one time very early after he came in when he put us to sit down and player by player he was breaking down our strengths and weaknesses. To us, he was like a teacher. He was teaching us the game.

Wired868: What did Maturana say about your game?

Glen: He said i was like a thief in the night. I will never forget that. (He laughs). He said: One minute, you are here, the next minute you are there. And the next minute you don’t see him. And the next minute, he scores…

Wired868: And what about Russell Latapy?

Glen: I think Latas’ problem was he took the National Team way too early in his career. I think he wasn’t ready for it. He should have coached at a higher level for a number of years before he took the job… I think he was pressured into making selections because he was a young coach. Russell could probably be a great coach with the National Team one of these days but he needs that experience.

The plus with him is he is a genius on the field and you can learn so much from the guy whether you are an attacker or a defender. He teaches you to have confidence on the ball.

Wired868: What about (former Trinidad and Tobago head coach and present assistant coach) Hutson “Barber” Charles?

Glen: I think he has the potential to be a good coach but I think he has to (work) under some good coaches first. He was willing to learn and listen. But one of his problems is you can’t be a yes man as a coach. You have to have an opinion and be able to get your opinion across.

I think he was too quiet as a coach… He knows the game because he played at a high level a lot. But one of his weaknesses is getting his point across to the team.

Wired868: And Angus Eve at North East Stars?

Glen: I think Angus (Eve) has the potential to be one of the best coaches in Trinidad in the next few years, given the opportunity and the right resources. I think Angus can be a force to be reckoned with. In terms of weaknesses, I think he experiments too much. He is always changing his squad and trying a lot of crazy stuff. But he knows the game.

Some of the best training sessions I have had as a professional player were under Angus… It is always easy for him to bring stuff across to the players and I think tactically he is a really intelligent coach. He can break the game down and break teams down player for player.

He knows what he wants, how he wants it, where he is going to attack, where we are going to defend, how we are going to defend. Those are the kinds of things that you hardly see from local coaches and that is what football is about.

Football is simple. It is how you are going to get behind the other team’s defence and score goals and how you are going to stop them from scoring goals. He knows how to do that.

Wired868: And current national head coach Stephen Hart?

Glen: Hart is an average coach. He is a coach who knows what he wants and he goes out and selects the exact players (with the specific characteristics he needs) to build his team. There are coaches that select players who are in-form and work around that. But he wants this (specific characteristic for his squad) and he selects his players in order to fit within that system.

Tactically, he has an idea of what he is doing and how he wants to go about doing it. In terms of weaknesses, I think his weakness is the people around him. The assistant coaches around Hart right now are of absolutely no help to him. He needs more experience under him.

(Hart has not selected Glen since the 2013 Gold Cup, although the striker insists he has not retired from international football).

Wired868: There have been regular complaints about the fitness levels of the Pro League players when they join national training camps. Do you think there is a problem there?

Glen: Yes. In the Pro League, players have nothing to lose. You can lose a match and go home and it is not a problem. When you play abroad and they are paying you so much money, then you have to be fit otherwise you won’t play and you will eventually lose your contract. That is the big difference between the Pro League and playing abroad.

I always hated to be unfit. It is the worst feeling ever. So I used to do my own personal training after practise. That is where the professionalism comes in. But then I was exposed to it and I knew what it is like abroad.

Until the local players understand that we will continue to have a problem with fitness. And until the League gives you something to play for and something to push and drive the players, you will continue to have that problem.

Wired868: Were there players who would follow your example of extra training at North East Stars?

Glen: There were a few young players who put in extra work after practise… There are always a few who want to go outside and want to make it and you have to have that drive and passion to do that. It is not only about skill and ability… Sometimes clubs just want to see how bad you want it and how much you want to fit into that club. Sometimes, they sign you because of your aura and how you carry about yourself. It is less about football these days and more about business and marketing.

Wired868: So you are faced with a Europe-based player who isn’t playing regularly and a Pro League player who might not be pushing himself: how difficult is that call for a coach?

Glen: That is why i made a reference to a young Russell Latapy being pressured to pick certain players.

Wired868: So you think it is a matter of the coach being strong and not the standard of league the player is competing in?

Glen: Beenhakker played Aurtis Whitley in front of a lot of players who were playing abroad and Aurtis was playing with San Juan Jabloteh. That is why we need coaches with balls to step up and say if you are not playing you are not going to make the national team. Aurtis was a regular player on the national team because he was fit and in-form.

Wired868: What do you think about the state of the Pro League?

Glen: The Pro League needs a revamp. It needs more advertising (and) more money into the clubs to pay the players better and new faces to help market the League a lot more and get the League into communities. If you are passing every day and you are seeing (Pro League) billboards or you turn on the tv and see advertisements and it is stuck in your head constantly, you will want to come and see the games.

We need to advertise the football and not advertise the lime. Right now, they advertise the lime and they tell people to bring their cooler and all that nonsense. We need to push the football and draw more interest into the football. When that happens and they start to pump more money into the football, there will be more at stake for the players.

(When) you pay a player (TT)$2,000 or (TT)$3,000 a month, how much can you get from the player? I was part of the players association and we went around and asked people to join. But you had club owners and coaches and so on at the time threatening players to fire them if they joined us then. I don’t know what is happening (to the players association) now.

Wired868: And what about the health of the national team?

Glen: I think we have an abundance of (talented) players. But until we get more players playing regularly with their respective clubs, I don’t think our chances would be great in qualifying for a World Cup. That was a problem throughout the years that players would come back unfit (to play)…

Once we have 10 or 11 guys who are consistently playing for their clubs then, with the talent we have right now, I think we have a chance qualifying for the World Cup.

Wired868: What do you think about the young strikers coming through? Are there any that caught your eye?

Glen: I have always liked (W Connection attacker) Shahdon (Winchester). He is a really good player, although I haven’t seen him play for a bit.

Wired868: Do you think he works hard enough for his team?

Glen: For me, it isn’t how hard he works but rather if he gives you what you want or not. Do you want a striker to work hard or do you want a striker to put the ball in the back of the net?

Some coaches like strikers to run and tackle and work hard and all of that. I prefer a striker who gets the ball and puts it in the back of the net and, when we don’t have the ball, you rest and save your energy.

Wired868: What advice would you give to young strikers like Shahdon Winchester?

Glen: Keep scoring goals. That is your job. Once you keep scoring goals, they can’t say you are not doing your job and it keeps your name in the coach’s head regularly so they can’t say they are not hearing about you. Keep scoring goals and keep playing.

Wired868: Do you have any regrets looking back at your career?

Glen: Probably my only regret is not taking seriously back then a lot of things that I know now. I might have prevented a lot of injuries with the strength work and stuff we were talking about earlier. As a youth, you think you are fit and you don’t need to do that. But that could have saved me a lot of injuries.

Otherwise, I think I am satisfied. My career could have gone in a much better direction and there were a lot of injuries at the wrong time that hampered my career. But I think God wanted things to happen (this way) and I am definitely satisfied with the way things have gone.

All in all, I cannot complain. I am loving it in India and I am in my third season now. I hope I can stay for another two or three years and then get into the coaching side of things.

Wired868: What is it like in India?

Glen: India is the closest I’ve been to home in anywhere I have been across the world. The culture is a lot more similar to home and the people are free-spirited, open and friendly. The diversity of the place is what I really love about the country… There are so many different races and cultures and languages. You have something like 300 languages and thousands of different tribes and all of that. It is a beautiful thing that you have to experience yourself to understand it.

Wired868: Is your family with you in India? Have they stayed with you at any club?

Glen: No, my family is not here. My family used to visit when I was in the States but they never lived with me. I am single but I have two kids. Zara-Marie who is seven and Darnell who is 11. Zara-Marie is a gymnast and she is doing well in her gymnastics. The boy is into football. Both are going to (school at) Newtown.

Wired868: How would you like to be remembered?

Glen: I would just like to be remembered as someone who loved doing what he did. I want to be remembered as free spirited and someone who always spoke his mind on what was affecting me at the time. I am never someone to sell out. I am always there to support the younger players and speak out for the younger players.

As a player, I hope I did enough to be remembered as one of the better strikers who played for the (Trinidad and Tobago) National Team. I really thought I would have the opportunity to score more goals but coach Hart decided to retire me. So…

I haven’t retired. I will continue to play and do my best wherever I am playing. I am not expecting a call but if it comes, I hope I am fit and ready to represent the national team. Once the conditions are right…

Title: Re: Maturana, Fenwick, Eve, Hart? Cornell Glen aims at ex-coaches and his own legacy
Post by: trini_stallion on December 27, 2015, 01:58:27 AM
Nice lil insight...he sound a lil vex at Hart tho...I'm not a player but I don't think an average coach could get is to knock the brand of ball we've been knocking and being competitive against some very good teams. Our results this far shows that coach Hart is anything but average!
Title: Re: Maturana, Fenwick, Eve, Hart? Cornell Glen aims at ex-coaches and his own legacy
Post by: Sam on December 27, 2015, 05:28:54 AM
You see de problem with Glen is, he walks around with a chip on his shoulder and act like he should just walk into the T&T team first, every coach picks who they want and who will carry out their order, Glen is 34 and playing in India, I prefer go with a youth.

Even with de fans Glen does act like he they towards them.

He complain in his last interview about how de TTFA treat him and it cost him is career in de MLS, why would he care to come back when things is still de same, no insurance? Then if he come back and get injured, he go complain again, and yuh know he injury prone.

So all this interview Lasana trying he best to get Glen on de team eh working., maybe Lasana could pick him and Sancho to play in wired868 yearly sweat.

Hart dont need no player who will disrupt he system and influence de youths in a bad way.

Post by: trini_stallion on December 27, 2015, 07:35:55 AM
Sour grapes Sam!
Post by: Errol on December 27, 2015, 08:00:57 AM
 :yawning:

If Hart team was playing badly and losing every game I wonder if Glen would have cared?

Post by: dreamer on December 28, 2015, 12:16:13 AM
Good journalism by Lasana again.
Some juicy insights, courtesy Cornell. Thank you.
Clearly still smarting from being retired by the coach, as he put it, but good points nevertheless.
Great player you were and still are Cornell.
Post by: weary1969 on December 28, 2015, 08:11:05 AM
Nice lil insight...he sound a lil vex at Hart tho...I'm not a player but I don't think an average coach could get is to knock the brand of ball we've been knocking and being competitive against some very good teams. Our results this far shows that coach Hart is anything but average!

Co-sign
Title: Re: Cornell Glen Thread.
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2016, 12:28:49 PM
Mohun Bagan off to a flying start courtesy Cornell Glen (http://www.goal.com/en-india/match/mohun-bagan-vs-aizawl/2176875/report)

WATCH: Cornell Glen's first half double (Mohun Bagan vs Aizawl)
https://www.youtube.com/v/aRIjHFgdWUY?start=39
Post by: Tallman on January 16, 2016, 10:04:48 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen earns and converts a penalty in Mohun Bagan’s 4-2 win over Salgaocar. That’s Glen’s third goal in two games.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ncvUl1C4GXU?start=114
Post by: Tallman on January 23, 2016, 09:48:25 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores the equalizer in Mohun Bagan’s 1-1 draw with East Bengal

https://www.youtube.com/v/eY1rr84jOKo?start=53
Post by: frico on January 23, 2016, 10:42:16 AM
Time to call Glenn.
Post by: dreamer on January 23, 2016, 12:09:33 PM
Time to call Glenn.

BraveHart,
Frico could have a serious point here. Glen is looking like a hungry animal, with the proverbial "chip on his shoulder" who refuses to be labelled as washed up. He is playing lots of minutes, scoring heavily, confidence is high and could be a good super sub for the Warriors in the last 25 mins in the World Cup Qualifiers. I am not saying longterm as we know he has only afew years left. You are a pragmatist and I know you are going to reconsider all your options. Glen we are watching you, so be on standby with your suitcase always packed for when the phone rings from T&T.
Post by: frico on January 25, 2016, 01:56:04 PM
Time to call Glenn.

BraveHart,
Frico could have a serious point here. Glen is looking like a hungry animal, with the proverbial "chip on his shoulder" who refuses to be labelled as washed up. He is playing lots of minutes, scoring heavily, confidence is high and could be a good super sub for the Warriors in the last 25 mins in the World Cup Qualifiers. I am not saying longterm as we know he has only afew years left. You are a pragmatist and I know you are going to reconsider all your options. Glen we are watching you, so be on standby with your suitcase always packed for when the phone rings from T&T.
I agree with your summing up,I feel he could be a danger to any team in the last 20/25 minutes.
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2016, 11:05:28 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen marks his AFC Champions League debut with a goal in Mohun Bagan’s 3-1 win over Singaporean club, Tampines Rovers. It was a mixed day for Cornell as he also had a penalty saved.

https://www.youtube.com/v/U93VbtWR2R8?start=149
Post by: Peong on January 27, 2016, 11:55:31 AM
He put a move on that defender boy. Too bad he miss.
Glen playing regularly and scoring, why not call him.
We could have Glen and Glenn up top.
Post by: palos on January 27, 2016, 12:48:48 PM

Good point.  While we at it....Theobald tearing up a league in India.  I eh know why Coach Hart doh call he back.

And watch....ent Dwight Yorke jes score in a Legends match at Old Trafford de other day?  Against man like Pirlo and dem.  Peeps sayin Dwight still fitter than most of we present day footballers.  Bring he back too.
Post by: Sam on January 27, 2016, 12:51:39 PM

Good point.  While we at it....Theobald tearing up a league in India.  I eh know why Coach Hart doh call he back.

And watch....ent Dwight Yorke jes score in a Legends match at Old Trafford de other day?  Against man like Pirlo and dem.  Peeps sayin Dwight still fitter than most of we present day footballers.  Bring he back too.

Post by: Coach on January 27, 2016, 01:01:19 PM
In the COPA game vs Haiti with all the top strikers out Glenn could of been an option.
Post by: Quags on January 27, 2016, 01:08:53 PM
Maybe cost like 8 grand  to get him from india then send him back .
Post by: Coach on January 27, 2016, 01:35:56 PM
If we had bring him in and he helped to beat Haiti then that 8 grand would look like peanuts now.

A game of this importance it's hard to go with inexperience especially if you using one on top.
Post by: andre samuel on January 27, 2016, 01:37:11 PM

Doh forget Marvin Andrews...................... :rotfl:
Post by: Peong on January 27, 2016, 01:50:52 PM
If Theobald could run around in that hot sun and score then bring him and all.  ;D
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2016, 02:18:40 PM
Palos being harsh on Glen to make a point. But, Theobald and Yorke are poor references to invoke regarding Glen's future.
Post by: palos on January 27, 2016, 02:29:17 PM
Palos being harsh on Glen to make a point. But, Theobald and Yorke are poor references to invoke regarding Glen's future.

If yuh could bring back Glen....yuh could bring back Jason Scotland.  He playing at a higher level than Glen too..and he scoring goals
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2016, 02:59:02 PM

If yuh could bring back Glen....yuh could bring back Jason Scotland.  He playing at a higher level than Glen too..and he scoring goals

:)

Well! Scotty older than Glen. And, stylistically Glen is more suited to the task. Plus, subject to confirmation, ent Cornell gehhin more minutes than Scotty?

All I saying is allyuh want Part IV of the exposé? :devil: Treat de man with what be wants: respect. How yuh go call Bleeder and Yorke as reference points? :)
Post by: palos on January 27, 2016, 03:26:27 PM

:)

Well! Scotty older than Glen. And, stylistically Glen is more suited to the task. Plus, subject to confirmation, ent Cornell gehhin more minutes than Scotty?

All I saying is allyuh want Part IV of the exposé? :devil: Treat de man with what be wants: respect. How yuh go call Bleeder and Yorke as reference points? :)

Cornell Glen being mentioned in the same sentence as Dwight Yorke and somehow that is a diss?

Yuh tink Cornell coulda score in dah legends game?  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on January 27, 2016, 04:22:57 PM

Cornell Glen being mentioned in the same sentence as Dwight Yorke and somehow that is a diss?

Yuh tink Cornell coulda score in dah legends game?  :devil:

Well, at least we know how yuh feel bout Bleeder. :)

Post by: frico on January 28, 2016, 05:43:54 AM
I don't understand why some ah allyuh fellas making fun of Cornel Glenn,I am sure he could be of help to our TT team,mainly as a sub coming on for the last 20/30 minutes.The Indian League is a higher quality than our PL in TT,and surely his experience could be invaluable.I don't see why both Denzil Theobald and C.Glenn shouldn't be included in a TT squad,especially when we are short of our first choice players,like when we played Haiti and was beaten.
Some posters are having a laugh and trying to be funny,but as Oscar Wilde said,"Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit".
Post by: Sam on January 28, 2016, 06:03:45 AM
I don't understand why some ah allyuh fellas making fun of Cornel Glenn,I am sure he could be of help to our TT team,mainly as a sub coming on for the last 20/30 minutes.The Indian League is a higher quality than our PL in TT,and surely his experience could be invaluable.I don't see why both Denzil Theobald and C.Glenn shouldn't be included in a TT squad,especially when we are short of our first choice players,like when we played Haiti and was beaten.
Some posters are having a laugh and trying to be funny,but as Oscar Wilde said,"Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit".

Nobody questioning Glen on the field, maybe he ok and can still help, but he star boy mentality and his constant attitude around the team and managers is a problem.

Post by: trini supporter on January 28, 2016, 07:54:24 AM
frico correct me if am wrong but is the Indian league really of a better quality than our PL? from my observation i would say its just about the same level or even slightly below. Just my 2cents... :-\
Post by: frico on January 28, 2016, 12:37:26 PM
frico correct me if am wrong but is the Indian league really of a better quality than our PL? from my observation i would say its just about the same level or even slightly below. Just my 2cents... :-\
I am not 100%sure about that,but judging by some of the imports,Europeans,Africans,South Americans,and I am not sure about Central Americans,if they have 2 Trinis then there's a chance of Central Americans.I was basing my statement on,the imports from countries with a higher quality of football than ours.
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2016, 12:38:15 PM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores a brace in Mohun Bagan’s 5-2 win over Maziya in the AFC Cup.

https://www.youtube.com/v/GCt0D5M6Dcw?start=32
Post by: Tallman on February 28, 2016, 10:13:33 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores a brace to give Mohun Bagan a 3-1 win over Salgaocar

https://www.youtube.com/v/7LqA7W_4itc?start=77
Post by: Rastaman on March 02, 2016, 08:58:34 AM
Wait nah.... is 2 goals this man scoring every game ??
Post by: Tallman on March 09, 2016, 01:56:09 PM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores in Mohun Bagan’s 4-0 win over South China in the AFC Cup

https://www.youtube.com/v/10OnQRsxMt8?start=77
Post by: Tallman on April 02, 2016, 02:41:21 PM
Mohun Bagan's Cornell Glen claims East Bengal's Arnab Mondal hurled racial abuses in Siliguri Derby
By Atanu Mitra (goal.com)

The Trinidad and Tobago striker wasn't at his best against East Bengal but his comments on the social media have created huge furore.

East Bengal rode on a Do Dong Hyun brace on Saturday to defeat arch-rivals Mohun Bagan in an I-League clash at Siliguri and boosted their chances of winning the maiden I-League title.

Cornell Glen, the Mohun Bagan striker who had a poor game on Saturday took to a social networking site after the match, alleging that Arnab Mondal had racially abused him during the course of the encounter.

The former Shillong Lajong player has already written a letter to the All India Football Federation (AIFF) informing the governing body about the incident.

"We have heard about the incident. Glen had come to us to complain about it and he is writing a letter to the AIFF as we speak. Mohun Bagan will support the truth," Sanjoy Ghosh, Mohun Bagan's manager told Goal.

This is the second time a player has reported a racial abuse on the ground, after Atletico de Kolkata's Baljit Singh Sahni accused FC Goa's Gregory Arnolin in the second edition of the Indian Super League (ISL).
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2016, 06:45:27 PM
They still vex about Thursday. They hating on him since the WI won.
Post by: Tallman on April 11, 2016, 05:35:22 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen scores a first half brace in Mohun Bagan’s 3-3 draw with DSK Shivajians

https://www.youtube.com/v/E1BzjWTlnyo?start=28
Post by: Peong on April 11, 2016, 09:21:01 AM
Cornell Glen doin this in 100 F/ 39 C weather.  Put him in CONCACAF and he running hard for 120 mins.
Post by: Cocorite on April 11, 2016, 04:50:38 PM
Looking good Glen.

Post by: Tallman on April 13, 2016, 11:35:04 AM
WATCH: Cornell Glen’s goal earns Mohun Bagan a 1-1 draw with Yangon United in the AFC Cup. Also check out the play he makes at 00:18s which results in him shooting the ball just wide of the post.

https://www.youtube.com/v/UyqlQsC4AOg?start=72
Post by: FF on April 13, 2016, 12:01:03 PM
AFC Cup Tallman.

AFC Champions league is another tournament
Post by: Tallman on April 13, 2016, 12:05:07 PM
AFC Cup Tallman.

AFC Champions league is another tournament

Yeh yeh. Noted!
Post by: maxg on April 13, 2016, 12:14:08 PM
the one thing i notice with many of Cornell goals, is his finishing and runs. He somehow seems to be getting the ball in space and open many times. I can only conclude he is not being marked properly, very loosely, and 2, he has free reign to rove. I am only seeing highlights, yet suspect the league defensive coverage of a consistent threat not that good and he's taking good advantage of it. So is it that they have him closely marked and shut down for most of the game, and he only getting loose the one or two times, whereby he punishes them, due to his caliber, and/or is he playing below his ability level. Maybe a bit of both. Would like to observe him during a whole game. Yet to see a crunching tackle. Always liked his form doh, especially when he breaks free, something exciting usually happens.
Post by: frico on April 13, 2016, 12:17:09 PM
Mr.Hart ah begging yuh ,please call de man for the friendlies coming up.
Post by: maxg on April 13, 2016, 02:02:24 PM
Mr.Hart ah begging yuh ,please call de man for the friendlies coming up.
don't it depend on who Mr Hart getting for those friendlies. I don't think Cornell willing to fly round the world to sit on a bench or worse, in the stands. I think Mr Hart already said he's aware and monitoring Cornell from afar. I will trust him and his assistants to determine if Cornell should be called or not. The man not just in Miami yuh know. ;-)

add: ah was going and say "in Tobago ", but Tobago woulda shout dem doh get call either   lol..just kicksin Tobago, not making fun of  no one claim...doh the U 20 Pro league calls kinda register
Post by: Tallman on April 23, 2016, 02:16:13 PM
WATCH: Cornell Glen finishes off the 2015/16 I-League season in style with two goals in Mohun Bagan’s 5-0 win over Bengaluru

https://www.youtube.com/v/XRyHH3gk60o
Post by: Tallman on August 06, 2016, 10:32:41 AM
Cornell Glen signs with Bangalore Super Division club Ozone FC Bengaluru (http://www.india.com/sports/isl-2016-cornell-glen-signs-for-ozone-fc-bengaluru-1378515/)
Post by: Tallman on December 29, 2016, 07:38:34 PM
WATCH: Cornell Glen talks about his return to the national team

https://www.youtube.com/v/1vMQ8_hIihQ
Post by: asylumseeker on December 29, 2016, 09:05:43 PM
Well-delivered, Cornell.

Some plain talk in the mix, and that is always appreciated.

However, those who favoured you getting a look, favoured you getting a look with the squad as it was prior to Hart's departure, not with the team as it is composed on this tour.

I encourage you all to lash Nicaragua some hardlash tomorrow night. Order must be restored.
Post by: palos on December 29, 2016, 11:49:05 PM
Order must be restored.

Can order reside where Bobol and self interest reign supreme?

Oh....and who's order you referring to?
Post by: Controversial on December 30, 2016, 02:19:11 AM
Order must be restored.

The big belly man order he place at the KFC in independence square...
Post by: asylumseeker on December 30, 2016, 05:16:50 AM
Order must be restored.

Pride of place.
Post by: frico on December 30, 2016, 06:15:11 AM
Ever since Glen put 4 goals pass Colorado Rapids I have been his number one fan,it was sad to see how injury affected his career,but the boy is full of fight,and didn't give up.He is now doing the business in India,when really he should have been in England.I hope he is,or will remain part of TT squads for the up-coming matches,I'm sure he is capable of  a good 30 or 40 minutes,he would or also could be a starter.Those Raguans better watch it today.
Post by: Controversial on December 30, 2016, 11:38:06 AM
Ever since Glen put 4 goals pass Colorado Rapids I have been his number one fan,it was sad to see how injury affected his career,but the boy is full of fight,and didn't give up.He is now doing the business in India,when really he should have been in England.I hope he is,or will remain part of TT squads for the up-coming matches,I'm sure he is capable of  a good 30 or 40 minutes,he would or also could be a starter.Those Raguans better watch it today.

How long have you been a SANTHIEF and a dictator fan?
Title: Bengaluru FC rope in Trinidad & Tobago striker Cornell Glen for Federation Cup
Post by: Tallman on May 01, 2017, 11:23:07 AM
Bengaluru FC rope in Trinidad & Tobago striker Cornell Glen for Federation Cup
goal.com

Bengaluru FC announced the signing of Cornell Glen on-loan from 2nd Division side Ozone FC on Monday.

The Blues' inability to find a stable strike partner for skipper Sunil Chhetri this season sees them recruit their third foreign forward in the space of five months.

Marjan Jugovic who was brought halfway into the season post Roby Norales going out on loan to Ozone FC, has been ruled out from the upcoming Federation Cup with an injury and the 2015 champions have registered Glen as their fourth foreigner for the cup competition.

Glen, who was a member of Trinidad and Tobago's 2006 FIFA World Cup squad in Germany has played for the likes of LA Galaxy and San Jose Earthquakes in his earlier days. Glen came to India in 2013 and spent two seasons with Shillong Lajong before securing an Indian Super League (ISL) contract with NorthEast United.

Last season, Glen scored 11 goals for Mohun Bagan in 16 league appearances for Mohun Bagan. He was initially slated to play the 2nd Division I-League for Bengaluru-based Ozone FC but injured his shoulder and had to sit out the whole season.

"It’s an honour to be a part of such a big club. I see Bengaluru FC as arguably the biggest club in India. It’s a club that aspires to win championships and I am happy to be a part of that. Since I’ve been in India, I’ve always played to win games and that’s exactly what I intend to do here. I have a quality team around me with a very good coach and I’m looking forward to it," Glen said after being revealed by the club.

Coincidentally, Honduran striker Roby Norales replaced him in the Ozone squad and now Glen completes the merry-go-round with a short-term loan move to the two-time I-League champions.

The 36-year-old has only been handed a one-month contract for the Federation Cup and will not play in the AFC Cup games. However, Glen will face both his former teams Mohun Bagan and Shillong Lajong as they are clubbed in Group B along with DSK Shivajians.

Bengaluru FC open their campaign on 8th May against Lajong, rounding off the group games four days later against defending champions Mohun Bagan on 12th May.

Meanwhile, the Southern Eagles have arrived in Dhaka to play Abahani Limited in their 2017 AFC Cup Group E matchday four fixture. The 2016 finalists lead the group with nine points, having won all their matches so far.
Post by: amielisadore on September 21, 2017, 08:18:19 AM
World Cup veteran Cornell Glen signs for UTT.
ttsuperleague.com.

Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup veteran striker, Cornell Glen, has committed his foreseeable future to UTT in League One of the Trinidad and Tobago Super League.

In what can only be described as a major coup for the high flyers this season, Glen will now re-unite with his brother, Cyrano Glen, at the O’Meara based team and will be hoping to put his predatory instincts to good use.

UTT head coach Clayton Morris was beaming about his new recruit and believes that he may be the final piece of the puzzle for his team.

“He (Glen) is coming to complete the package, ” stated Morris.

“We have the honor of having former national player and international player Cornell Glen who is coming to add to the whole absence of not having a striker…This year as well we have been competing, playing well but you know not having the physical presence on the field of Jamal Creighton, who was the marksman for the team (was hard)…definitely we missed him.”

Creighton had been a regular supplier of goals for UTT throughout the last few seasons but new signing Cornell Glen arrives with a CV of an entirely different stature.

Boasting 24 international goals for Trinidad and Tobago, Glen appeared in all three of T&T’s group stage matches at the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

The well traveled forward has had spells at numerous MLS clubs such as LA Galaxy and San Jose Earthquakes before returning home to establish himself as one of T&T’s most lethal marksmen.

In 2013, he turned his eyes to the far east and has produced dominating spells for Shillong Lajong and Mohun Bagan in the Indian I-League and North East United in the Indian Super League. In his most recent outing though, he helped Bengaluru FC claim the 2016-17 Indian Federation Cup.

Now at the age of 36, Morris believes that Glen’s motivation for signing is as much on the field as it is off it.

“He really just wants to give back,” Morris told TTSL Media. “I would say that he came and just loved the vibes with the youths. He saw me as a former national player trying to give back and he too would like to give back in the sense of playing now and then eventually fall into coaching.”

He continued, “Cornell Glen coming into the team would definitely give us a bit more comfort.”

“These teams that we met in the first round – the top teams, they just edged us out. We have the confidence that we can match them now and get a good result.”

Glen is expected to make his debut for UTT against Police FC on Wednesday 20 September in the TTSL CFTL League Cup.

Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2017, 02:24:01 PM
Is Glen a student at UTT?
Post by: maxg on September 21, 2017, 07:26:32 PM
Is Glen a student at UTT?
and maybe Ronaldo is really from Madrid. One must be prepared for life after football, although for Cornell at 60 he might still be making the NT. :D
Post by: vb on September 21, 2017, 08:18:30 PM
Should have been in the last two games for TT.

Cornell at 36 with one foot better than Plaza.

Post by: maxg on September 21, 2017, 08:36:00 PM

You do realize he was starting to get loaned out in INDIA and seemingly released. The same India he used to run rampant a la Plaza attempting to now. No..not a one foot glen, not even ah one foot dwen could help we now...cause the forwards can't receive the ball in space..it's not the individuals it's the program. Aprox. How many passes on average do Top forwards with TOP teams receive, and how many goals do they score in 90 minutes of football. We are not a top team nor have top forwards..Do the math. To score our forwards require more passes than that average. How can our coaches make that happen ? Especially while teams trying to prevent that, and it's always easier to mash up than build.
Post by: vb on September 21, 2017, 09:01:17 PM

You do realize he was starting to get loaned out in INDIA and seemingly released. The same India he used to run rampant a la Plaza attempting to now. No..not a one foot glen, not even ah one foot dwen could help we now...cause the forwards can't receive the ball in space..it's not the individuals it's the program. Aprox. How many passes on average do Top forwards with TOP teams receive, and how many goals do they score in 90 minutes of football. We are not a top team nor have top forwards..Do the math. To score our forwards require more passes than that average. How can our coaches make that happen ? Especially while teams trying to prevent that, and it's always easier to mash up than build.

and Old man Glen still better than Plaza.

Not saying we will win big or even qualify for the WC but rather see Glen up front than KJ or Plaza.
Post by: maxg on September 21, 2017, 09:22:33 PM

Not saying we will win big or even qualify for the WC but rather see Glen up front than KJ or Plaza.

Is ah Old man Stern better than ah Glen ? anyway facts, 1. Plaza scored goals in TT before, scored some in El Salvador, currently scoring goals in India. 2. Glen scored goals in India and currently is not scoring anywhere.3. Neither of us on the selection committee, so we can blame someone else, stomp we feet and point finger. 4. Trevin Ceaser haven't got a fair shot yet, maybe don't want one again.
Post by: vb on September 21, 2017, 09:38:49 PM
Agree about Casear, good guy coming off the bench.

Wouldn't hurt to start him on the right with JJ on the left.

But you and  I don't have the luxury of being at the practice or selecting the team.  ;D
Post by: Deeks on September 21, 2017, 10:40:45 PM
How can Cornell play for UTT when he is not a student? Or is UTT a team made up of students, staff and some outsiders. There must be some clarification.
Post by: maxg on September 22, 2017, 06:58:43 AM

How can Cornell play for UTT when he is not a student? Or is UTT a team made up of students, staff and some outsiders. There must be some clarification.
is not a university league. Eg. club universidad de chile
Post by: Tallman on October 02, 2017, 10:51:30 AM
WATCH: Comments from University of Trinidad and Tobago Head Coach Clayton Morris on the signing of Cornell Glen.

https://www.youtube.com/v/B69Ymv9qDgg
Post by: Dutty Love on October 02, 2017, 11:13:26 AM

Is ah Old man Stern better than ah Glen ? anyway facts, 1. Plaza scored goals in TT before, scored some in El Salvador, currently scoring goals in India. 2. Glen scored goals in India and currently is not scoring anywhere.3. Neither of us on the selection committee, so we can blame someone else, stomp we feet and point finger. 4. Trevin Ceaser haven't got a fair shot yet, maybe don't want one again.

Plaza was terrible in El Salvador. He is still the target of jokes on twitter.
Post by: maxg on October 02, 2017, 02:52:44 PM
 :D yuh think Plaza is joke ? start ah talk bout T&T football now ! Central America  :rotfl:  :devil:
Post by: Tallman on August 09, 2018, 09:09:55 PM
Cornell Glen hangs up boots, enters coaching as assistant to Eve at Club Sando
T&T Pro League Media

Former Trinidad and Tobago international and 2006 World Cup striker Cornell Glen has finally decided to unlace his playing boots, for good -- joining Pro League outfit Club Sando as assistant coach to Angus Eve.

Glen, who will turn 38 in October, said with his body now unable to take on the rigors of continuous competitive training, it was finally time to move on after almost two decades on the grind.

The former T&T frontman will walk out the tunnel for the first time as a member of a coaching staff — which includes Michael “Brow” Maurice as goalkeeper coach — on Sunday when Sando host Police FC from 6pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium in their opening Pro League match of the 2018 championship, following a 4pm clash between W Connection and St. Ann’s Rangers.

The opening round of league matches however kicks off with a Super Friday double-header at the same Couva venue when San Juan Jabloteh takes on Point Fortin Civic from 6pm and Defence Force FC and Morvant Caledonia United tangling from 8pm.

On Saturday, defending league champions North East Stars will welcome the recently crowned First Citizens Cup champions Central FC from 4pm at Larry Gomes Stadium.

“It wasn’t a hard decision [in joining Angus Eve],” said Glen, who said it was always his passion to give back to football through coaching.

“There are only a handful of coaches I think I can work under, and Angus Eve is one of them. He is to me probably the best coach in the country.

“Playing with, against, and for him (Angus) was always exciting. Now I can only look forward to good things working alongside him. I like his philosophy as a coach. He likes total football … attractive football and he is always willing to try new things in terms of strategies and formations based on the opponents. It’s a great opportunity for me to learn more as a coach in this environment.”

But Glen, who said he dipped his toes into coaching youth level players during his last two seasons in India, had hoped to take over as coach of his alma mater East Mucurapo (formerly Mucurapo Senior Comprehensive) for the upcoming Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) season.

Mucurapo, though, decided to carry on with another former T&T player and ex-student of the school, Dale Saunders. Eve, on learning of his former teammate and player’s coaching interest, pounced on the opportunity to offer the role of assistant coach, which Glen welcomed.

“He (Glen) has loads of experience having played in leagues all over the world,” said Eve, T&T most-capped player who played alongside Eve at national and club level with Jabloteh. “…and we have loads of youngsters at Club Sando who can benefit from the invaluable experience of Cornell Glen.

“I asked him if he was interested in working with me and learning some more in terms of coaching and here we are today.

“I’ve involved him with the whole team in the sessions so far. But obviously I am going to tap more into him on working with the strikers. It will allow me more time with the midfield and defence,” explained the Sando coach, who worked with Glen at San Juan Jabloteh and the now defunct Ma Pau SC in the past.

Eve last coached Glen at North East Stars in 2013 before the then striker took on a fresh challenge in the India’s I-League.

“I want to help improve the strikers in particular,” Glen said of his new role as Sando assistant. “I want to improve the team’s ability to create and score goals. I also want to do my part as any assistant coach to bring fresh ideas to the team.”

Glen, one of T&T’s top complete strikers of all time, made his first overseas move in 2000, joining Sanjoanense in Portugal after kicking off his career with Futgof. He later swapped continents making the rounds across five Major League Soccer (MLS) teams: Metro Stars (now New York Red Bulls), FC Dallas, Columbus Crew, Colorado Rapids, LA Galaxy and San Jose Earthquakes, during which time during which time he had returned home twice for spells at Jabloteh, the club he first joined following his stint in Portugal.

Glen’s career, which was marred by injury, included late stints in Vietnam with Song Lam Nghe An and in India with Shillong Lajong, North East United, Mohun Bagan, Ozone, and Bengaluru FC. He enjoyed Federation Cup (India) success with Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru in 2015-16 and 2016-17 respectively.

Glen returned home in 2017 and joined University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT) in the second tier of football before representing Central FC, coached and captained by his 2006 World Cup teammates Stern John and Densill Theobald respectively, in the group stage of the 2018 Caribbean Club Championship in February.

Trinidad and Tobago’s participation at the FIFA World Cup in Germany, like most, if not all members of the historic Soca Warriors team, stands the most memorable achievement of his career. “Qualifying for and playing in a World Cup; I don’t think anything else can beat that,” said Glen.

Disappointed in the state of football in T&T at all levels over the years, Glen believes T&T lacks proper infrastructure -- pointing the blame at administrators -- to help with the growth of players. He said that players should not be at fault.
Post by: vb on August 12, 2018, 11:33:28 AM
Are any of the Pro League or Super League matches streamed live on the internet?
Post by: Tallman on August 13, 2018, 06:27:39 AM
Are any of the Pro League or Super League matches streamed live on the internet?

The Super League is streamed on T&T Entertainment Network (https://www.facebook.com/TTEN-122585204822462/). I think they do a Match of the Week.
Post by: Bourbon on December 10, 2021, 09:23:16 AM
Trifactor Podcast got Cornell Glen to sit with us to discuss his experiences. It was nice. Time was limited but he did give us about an hour of undivided attention. Check it out.

https://www.youtube.com/v/J-zNWg0PHzc