Sports => Football => Topic started by: D.H.W on March 14, 2010, 05:28:41 PM

Title: Beckham 'tears Achilles tendon'
Post by: D.H.W on March 14, 2010, 05:28:41 PM
England's David Beckham is injured playing for AC Milan

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/47472000/jpg/_47472595_becks466ap.jpg)

David Beckham's dream of playing in a fourth World Cup looks over after he tore an Achilles tendon in AC Milan's 1-0 win over Chievo on Sunday.

Beckham was unchallenged when he suffered the injury and hobbled off in pain before being stretchered away.

The 34-year-old was hoping to be part of England's World Cup squad in June.

But he will now fly to Finland on Monday to have surgery on the Achilles, according to AC Milan club physician Jean Pierre Meersseman.

Beckham, who is in his second loan stint with Milan from the Los Angeles Galaxy in a bid to make England boss Fabio Capello's squad, will now almost certainly not be fit for the tournament in South Africa which starts on 11 June.

"Beckham's injury makes us feel terrible. He understood immediately that he had torn his Achilles tendon," said AC Milan coach Leonardo.

"He is an extraordinary guy and today's game proves it yet again.

"I cannot enjoy this evening considering this serious injury.

"David understood immediately that he had torn his Achilles tendon."

Former Manchester United star Beckham was bidding to become the first England player to feature in four successive World Cup finals. He shares the record of three with Bobby Moore and Peter Shilton

With Tottenham's Aaron Lennon still suffering from a groin problem, Capello may now turn to both Theo Walcott and Shaun Wright-Phillips to cover the right side of midfield, with James Milner, Joe Cole, Stewart Downing and Adam Johnson also in the reckoning.

Beckham's sending off against Argentina in the quarter-finals was widely blamed for costing England their chance in the 1998 World Cup, while four years later he played in the team knocked out by 10-man Brazil.

The 2006 tournament ended with Beckham announcing tearfully he was resigning the captaincy.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/8567353.stm
Title: Re: Beckham 'tears Achilles tendon'
Post by: Babalawo on March 14, 2010, 05:34:58 PM
BECKHAM OUT OF WORLD CUP,.  Owens too.  the US plot continues, Rooney watch out :devil:

Post by: Small Change on March 14, 2010, 06:33:59 PM
Tough! Real tough luck. In 2002, he got injured before the WC and he recovered; with this kind of injury, is real pressure, plus he 8 yrs older. Tough boy Becks........
Post by: Bourbon on March 14, 2010, 06:37:47 PM
Hard luck dey. If is one man who deserves rel respect is him. If he make it...would be deserving.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 14, 2010, 07:10:12 PM
Cruel Cruel game... A true Gentleman and role model of the game...I'm absolutely gutted for him
Post by: Observer on March 14, 2010, 07:31:14 PM
Really really hard. Wish him well! That injury is not easy and could take a very long time to get it right. Unfortunately at his age it will be very dificult.
Post by: sammy on March 14, 2010, 07:50:10 PM
doh worry, he go come back in time
Post by: Zeppo on March 15, 2010, 03:32:43 AM
doh worry, he go come back in time

Not if it is truly a ruptured Achilles tendon, he won't.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 15, 2010, 08:06:45 AM
Was watching the game and it looked like he rolled his ankle, he called for the sub immediately.

Real sad to hear this though, throughout it all he was a consummate professional I hope he recovers from this.

Post by: fordy on March 15, 2010, 08:12:37 AM
this is really sad for becks. he sacrifice his family time in what suppose to be his off season to play at milan just so he can be fit for England to play in the World Cup and then this happens. ive been reading some of the english blogs and some of the postings is downright ridiculous. they actually pounding the man saying he just a media mogul and he wasnt going to to nothing for england in SA. thats madness!! anybody watching becks play at milan know what he has to offer. he aint 22 again and wont be tormenting left back for a full 90 mins but his technique and expereince on the pitch is stuff that no other england player has currently. this is truly a sad day for genuine football fans! :beermug:
Post by: Andre on March 15, 2010, 08:46:24 AM
hard luck. de man try yes.
Post by: Tallman on March 15, 2010, 10:13:39 AM
When understandable sentiment and sympathy is set on on one side, what are we left with in the footballing context?

We are actually left with the brutal reality that England have actually lost a fringe squad player, someone who - barring exceptional circumstances - would not have started any game at the World Cup. This should not be forgotten should anyone wish to portray Beckham's injury as a serious wound to England's aspirations.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/philmcnulty/2010/03/sad_for_beckham_but_not_englan.html
Post by: fordy on March 15, 2010, 10:19:32 AM
When understandable sentiment and sympathy is set on on one side, what are we left with in the footballing context?

We are actually left with the brutal reality that England have actually lost a fringe squad player, someone who - barring exceptional circumstances - would not have started any game at the World Cup. This should not be forgotten should anyone wish to portray Beckham's injury as a serious wound to England's aspirations.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/philmcnulty/2010/03/sad_for_beckham_but_not_englan.html

yeh thats the foolishness i was talking about. the game 2-2 and a free kick on top the box who on that england team yuh want kicking it? england down and yuh need a player to deliver a telling cross who yuh want doing that? the team is up and under pressure from the opponents, who yuh have that will help the other younger players on the pitch to show composure and skill under that kinda pressure to see out the win?
Post by: trinikev on March 15, 2010, 11:00:02 AM

yeh thats the foolishness i was talking about. the game 2-2 and a free kick on top the box who on that england team yuh want kicking it? england down and yuh need a player to deliver a telling cross who yuh want doing that? the team is up and under pressure from the opponents, who yuh have that will help the other younger players on the pitch to show composure and skill under that kinda pressure to see out the win?

Fordy, I hear where u coming from. But be honest. Beckham was really gonna be starting ANY game in the world cup? What Tallman posted may have been a bit harsh, but it's the truth.
Post by: supporter on March 15, 2010, 11:49:14 AM
Very sad
Post by: fordy on March 15, 2010, 12:07:23 PM

Fordy, I hear where u coming from. But be honest. Beckham was really gonna be starting ANY game in the world cup? What Tallman posted may have been a bit harsh, but it's the truth.

TriniKev i agree with you. becks probably wasnt going to start no game, but when on the field, and i promise you he wud of featured in all possible games, his influence is priceless. i agree, its not like rooney got injured but becks not being in the squad is huge. i wont jump on the bandwagon of the people who talking like the ones Tallman posted about though. take the 4 potential right wingers who might of started in front of him...Theo Walcott, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, SW Phillips. Of those which one has the class becks has in terms of technique, skill and experience? of those 4 i my choice wud be milner because he seems to be the most consistent of the bunch. at this point i might even put gerard out there. but trust when i say england going to hurt a little because becks not there...unlike how some of them talking now. :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on March 15, 2010, 12:15:15 PM
Very sad

COSIGNNNNNN and eh like d Brits
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 15, 2010, 01:01:30 PM

TriniKev i agree with you. becks probably wasnt going to start no game, but when on the field, and i promise you he wud of featured in all possible games, his influence is priceless. i agree, its not like rooney got injured but becks not being in the squad is huge. i wont jump on the bandwagon of the people who talking like the ones Tallman posted about though. take the 4 potential right wingers who might of started in front of him...Theo Walcott, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, SW Phillips. Of those which one has the class becks has in terms of technique, skill and experience? of those 4 i my choice wud be milner because he seems to be the most consistent of the bunch. at this point i might even put gerard out there. but trust when i say england going to hurt a little because becks not there...unlike how some of them talking now. :beermug:

Agreed.

When he came on against ManU in the CL he did alot of running and put in some telling crosses, but no one was there on the other end to meet them.

On top of which he unleash a sweet volley that nearly put the keep in the back of the net.
Post by: Marcos on March 15, 2010, 01:14:13 PM

Agreed.

When he came on against ManU in the CL he did alot of running and put in some telling crosses, but no one was there on the other end to meet them.

On top of which he unleash a sweet volley that nearly put the keep in the back of the net.

Disagree completely. Beckham as great as he once was, is a weak link in the English and Milan side.
His technique is still excellent however his lack of pace makes him a liability. He gets an "A" for his effort in every game though
Title: Allyuh is de worst oui!!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 01:54:08 PM
So yuh mean to say more ah allyuh concerned about Beckham dan KJ?  An den allyuh does wanta talk bout who playin like dey eh care?!!  If we here supposed to be de hardcore fans (or a micrcosm of that), wha message we sending to our players?
Title: Re: Allyuh is de worst oui!!!
Post by: Peong on March 15, 2010, 02:01:15 PM
Minor groin injury, no WC games to play, no need for alarm.
Post by: Andre on March 15, 2010, 02:03:42 PM
we fall for the media hype.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:04:45 PM

Beckham see 3 friggin world cup so me eh see de need for ah wake in his honor.  Ah mean ah sorry fuh de man buh my country players deserve just as much attention if I is to call myself ah fan/ supporter.
Post by: Bitter on March 15, 2010, 02:07:46 PM

Beckham see 3 friggin world cup so me eh see de need for ah wake in his honor.  Ah mean ah sorry fuh de man buh my country players deserve just as much attention if I is to call myself ah fan/ supporter.

I was waiting for this post...
Post by: Quags on March 15, 2010, 02:12:07 PM
Hes be playing to much football IMHO ,does he ever have an offseason ? he must start to break down .He should start a youtube project like Judah to unwind .
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:17:53 PM
I was waiting for this post...

I readin da shit and wonderin wha make friggin Beckham so important to "Soca Warrior" supporters?  He career almost done, KJ despite his lack of production so far (and barring injury) should have a lot of football left.  He playing on a team that have ah shit manager dat ridin he back all season like he lookin fuh ah whippin boy, which causes alarm as to what his spot on the team is going to be in the future.  Since Bruce come I feel like he take KJ value down a notch with he constant horrangin so I very concerned. Nothing to be concerned about?  Nah I rell concern because like him or not teams still have to fear him when he on the pitch.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 02:20:05 PM
because Beckham care about his country... ans KJ care about himself

Viva Beckham
Post by: Sando prince on March 15, 2010, 02:28:08 PM

Viva Beckham

I would take this as sarcasm..I know you dont believe KJ dont care about his country..
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:30:16 PM

Viva Beckham

I hope dis is some dry english humor yuh attemptin eh fella
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 02:35:10 PM
An unnamed forumite ask KJ during the Qualifiers

"What you hadda say to them fans questioning your loyalty and effort when you play for T&T"

"I doe care about them..I doe Business"

And allyuh bashing Stern when the man would fly from wherever he is to play for the red black and white

Becks did everything to prolong his International Career.... f**k Kenwyne
Post by: Peong on March 15, 2010, 02:36:13 PM
  Nah I rell concern because like him or not teams still have to fear him when he on the pitch.

His injury does not change this in any way.
Is a short term injury yuh workin yuhself up for yuh know.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:39:03 PM

"What you hadda say to them fans questioning your loyalty and effort when you play for T&T"

And allyuh bashing Stern when the man would fly from wherever he is to play for the red black and white

So he need to care about people who questionin he loyalty?  Allyuh lucky I eh KJ cause dat woulda be laced with ah few mudda cont an fack away wid dem too.  Some ah allyuh like allyuh on drugs oui, always ha something negative to say bout de fella but he supposed to care bout wha allyuh tink?  Well yesss!!!
Post by: elan on March 15, 2010, 02:41:39 PM

I always know is England over T&T for you. What a shyte first reply and even more shyte rationalization of that first reply. Somebody ask the man that question and you expect him to be PC about he reply. Alyuh need to get serious.
Post by: dinho on March 15, 2010, 02:43:13 PM

Misguided youth.

And yuh think beckham care one ass about you?

wha de fork yuh want de man to say to a question like that from some unnamed nobody fan bracing him without a press pass? When did KJ turn down a call up?

hear what... i bounce up latas some months ago and we rapping in a long talk under some drink.. and in his words, "i does wonder why fans does feel dey could have an opinion on who should get pick. i doh tell dem what to do in their career etc". After which i tell him if he have any coaching aspirations, he better understand that fans buttering he bread.

now that doh change de price ah milk at the end of the day, but ah bet daz yuh hero.

joker.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:45:49 PM
  Nah I rell concern because like him or not teams still have to fear him when he on the pitch.

Fella yuh gettin tie up,  I not so worried bout the injury by itself, I concerned with what de result will be when he come back.  Was he somehow out of form when Bruce bench him fuh Frazier Campbell after he return from international duty?  I like FC eh but how de f**k he get to start ahead of a healthy KJ?  So if they win and draw de next 2-3 with either Benjani or FC upfront, yuh believe KJ gettin back he spot wit de way how Bruce been managing?
Post by: dinho on March 15, 2010, 02:47:48 PM

Fella yuh gettin tie up,  I not so worried bout the injury by itself, I concerned with what de result will be when he come back.  Was he somehow out of form when Bruce bench him fuh Frazier Campbell after he return from international duty?  I like FC eh but how de f**k he get to start ahead of a healthy KJ?  So if they win and draw de next 2-3 with either Benjani or FC upfront, yuh believe KJ gettin back he spot wit de way how Bruce been managing?

Yuh notice Bruce was on that train early in the season when Sunderland was beating sides (with lazy KJ starting). But as soon as the points dry up, he hush he ass with that nonsense and KJ starting week in week out and yuh cant hear a peep.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 15, 2010, 02:53:14 PM
I really wonder what the acceptable answer to that question would've been.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 02:57:52 PM

"Nah jedd, dem really sayin day bout me?!!  After I gettin f**k up in my club to come and play fuh we NT?""  *Den he rub he forrid an wit ah sad face say "maybe I need some time away from dis game to re-evaluate my life and dedication to country oui! Ah ha to find ah way to prove my loyalty"
Post by: Tallman on March 15, 2010, 03:00:05 PM

"Nah man, dey gettin tie up. I does always give 100% for de Warriors".
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 03:04:12 PM

"Nah man, dey gettin tie up. I does always give 100% for de Warriors".

Den man woulda come an cuss him up an say "KJ is ah rell stinkin liar jedd!!  Wha f**kin 100%, he feel we is ah setta asshole who eh kno football aought?!! Ony way I go believe he givin ah 100% is if he learn to trap ah mudda cont ball!!"

Tell meh ah lie nah?!!!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 03:17:19 PM

Misguided youth.

And yuh think beckham care one ass about you?

wha de fork yuh want de man to say to a question like that from some unnamed nobody fan bracing him without a press pass? When did KJ turn down a call up?

hear what... i bounce up latas some months ago and we rapping in a long talk under some drink.. and in his words, "i does wonder why fans does feel dey could have an opinion on who should get pick. i doh tell dem what to do in their career etc". After which i tell him if he have any coaching aspirations, he better understand that fans buttering he bread.

now that doh change de price ah milk at the end of the day, but ah bet daz yuh hero.

joker.

What you getting all worked up for... I just answered the 1st post in my honest opinion

I know for a fact KJ dont give a flying f**k about giving any effort for T&T... all his performances prove it

I dont know Becks, I dont support Becks club teams, I just know his effort and pride he plays with for England..Something every national player should strive to do

I not worried about a minor groin strain KJ have .. he have no World Cup to play in.. He have no TNT games to play in

I like England the national team..I want them to do well.. I feel worse for Becks because he deserve a shot at glory for his hard work with the national team..he has earned my respect

KJ has not

If you wanna battle me on all my opinions..fix up

f**k you
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 03:21:04 PM

I always know is England over T&T for you. What a shyte first reply and even more shyte rationalization of that first reply. Somebody ask the man that question and you expect him to be PC about he reply. Alyuh need to get serious.

ok Elan..you keep thinking that... I will never support England over TnT... I dont give a f**k what you think..alot of people dont

I dont have to like every single T&T player..I will support KJ 100% once he on the pitch wearing the red shirt...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 03:26:09 PM

ok Elan..you keep thinking that... I will never support England over TnT... I dont give a f**k what you think..alot of people dont

I dont have to like every single T&T player..I will support KJ 100% once he on the pitch wearing the red shirt...

So den why all de vitriol?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 03:29:11 PM

It was to answer your question... my personal opinion on why I'm more saddened by Becks injury than KJ's
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 03:45:29 PM

It was to answer your question... my personal opinion on why I'm more saddened by Becks injury than KJ's

cool scenes it just seem like yuh tear dong KJ as part ah yuh justification IMO
Post by: Ngozi on March 15, 2010, 03:48:53 PM

[/quote]

I feel sometimes that you does act a lil obsessed over United and this england thing but everybody have their thing but Ill go with the last part of what yuh say because at the end of the day good , bad or ugly Trini have to support trini over them others because I dam sure them not supporting trini over any other ...doh forget that!
Small mag yuh aint no small man no more yuh is a big man .... think bout what yuh say before yuh say it...... if a ship sinking a trini have to pull for a trini first....... KJ know the criticism he does get when he playing so basically he say f**k the hating  cyah vex with the man Stern say that too ......but if he wasn't committed he didn't have to come....but he does come ...playing a bag full of shit still but he coming... lewwe maintain some perspective on this.
Post by: Dinner Mints on March 15, 2010, 04:00:50 PM
ok Elan..you keep thinking that... I will never support England over TnT... I dont give a f**k what you think
Lol. How ironic, this response.

Replace "never support England" with "give 100%."
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 04:10:17 PM
ok Elan..you keep thinking that... I will never support England over TnT... I dont give a f**k what you think

I dont get it... but it seems like your questioning my loyalty to T&T football

I've been to every T&T home game since 2000' (I remember missing that game because I broke my leg).. and not just World Cup qualifiers..every game..friendly, digicel qualifiers, digicel cup, shell cup, Caribbean cup you name it

Went Miami 05 to the Gold Cup from Trinidad...Went Tobago to see TnT vs Ireland and the recent qualifier to see TnT Costa Rica

and of course the big dance in Germany where I was close to tears after the England game.. gutted with the result

Jack Warner know my name..I have his email address..The TTFF know my name... I get 8 tickets each T&T World Cup game for my loyalty..not my Dad... Me...right there on collection date.. 8 tickets each for me..I have the letter in my room...... all my dad's friends with their millions..blanked.. who they get their ticket from? me

I've seen it all.. been to it all... Everyone locally know the Mags are the biggest TnT fans... once that 90 mins start it could be 11 Akeil Edwards... 100% support

yea I rile yall up.. fair enough...I speak my mind and I dont like Kenwyne Jones attitude...Ivcould be face to face with him right now and tell him I think his lack of effort for TnT is disgusting but listen when that game start do your best mate, I might get cuff but at least he will hear the truth.... I support Manchester United and England too... but dont ever doubt my love for TnT Football..ever
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 15, 2010, 04:16:41 PM

I've been to every T&T home game since 2000' (I remember missing that game because I broke my leg).. and not just World Cup qualifiers..every game..friendly, digicel qualifiers, digicel cup, shell cup, Caribbean cup you name it

Went Miami 05 to the Gold Cup from Trinidad...Went Tobago to see TnT vs Ireland and the recent qualifier to see TnT Costa Rica

and of course the big dance in Germany where I was close to tears after the England game.. gutted with the result

Jack Warner know my name..I have his email address..The TTFF know my name... I get 8 tickets each T&T World Cup game for my loyalty..not my Dad... Me...right there on collection date.. 8 tickets each for me..I have the letter in my room...... all my dad's friends with their millions..blanked.. who they get their ticket from? me

I've seen it all.. been to it all... Everyone locally know the Mags are the biggest TnT fans... once that 90 mins start it could be 11 Akeil Edwards... 100% support

yea I rile yall up.. fair enough...I speak my mind and I dont like Kenwyne Jones attitude...Ivcould be face to face with him right now and tell him I think his lack of effort for TnT is disgusting but listen when that game start do your best mate, I might get cuff but at least he will hear the truth.... I support Manchester United and England too... but dont ever doubt my love for TnT Football..ever

yuh miss de point.  Jus how you eh care wha Elan think cause you kno where yuh heart is, daiz how KJ answer de question that you used as part of your reasoning to say f**k him.  I doubt you can find an England supporter that will say f**k any of their players while biggin up one of ours or any other national for that matter in the same breath.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 15, 2010, 04:22:48 PM

yuh miss de point.  Jus how you eh care wha Elan think cause you kno where yuh heart is, daiz how KJ answer de question that you used as part of your reasoning to say f**k him.  I doubt you can find an England supporter that will say f**k any of their players while biggin up one of ours or any other national for that matter in the same breath.

lol trust me their worst than us in that way... its way more personal for them... If Gerrard plays a shit ball.. scouse c**t is the reply.. If Lampard misses a sitter.. that Chelsea twat... Many English fans constantly degrade a few players... Only Rooney seems to be loved by everyone English.. and Becks in a way as well

And me telling Elan to f**k off is different to KJ telling the Fans f**k off...

anyway.. lets move along now... this thread has reached its popcorn level... hard lucks for those offended
Post by: Big Magician on March 15, 2010, 05:54:20 PM
ask me... i eh fraid to tell allyuh a national coach was going to drop and dropped him because he did not care about tnt campaign...ask me
Post by: just cool on March 15, 2010, 08:22:59 PM

YEH SMALLS, I know yuhs ah diehard fan, i've seen yuh in ah few games, and yuh kinda right about KJ, but i feel KJ ill performance iz not based on his lack of effort, but out of frustration, that's BC the fellas he plays wid don't understand the level of football he plays.

i could only think KJ was frustrated with the fans getting on his case, so he gave ah rash reply, but i doubt he meant it.

BTW iz ah england and big france fan. had it not been for england, most of our players would be playing in the MLS or PFL . england is good to our players, so on that note i will support them , plus i love the EPL.                                                        positive.
Post by: elan on March 15, 2010, 08:37:02 PM

How typical. NO one has to care about what I say, as much as KJ don't have to care about what some random person ask him.

Yo have mmuch to learn and understand. YOur main concerns is with Becks, not KJ. A player we should all be concerned about because we need him. But hey, as yo said what do I know? You're the DIE T&T SUPPORTER WORRIED ABOUT BECKHAM OVER KJ.
How silly of me ole chap.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 15, 2010, 08:48:46 PM
Forq Beckham yes Forque him... he had his forquing team LA Galaxy playing preseason and he left them so he could get a 10-15 min sweat with Hengland and possibly rake in an additional 20 mil because he is the REAL face of english football... this campaign was all about tickets and tee shirts my friends... tickets and tee shirts... he only cared about the endorsements as usual...

Do forquing talk about KJ so nah.... I go say it flat... dem man did not want to play for Jackular last campaign...!
Post by: Bitter on March 15, 2010, 08:54:03 PM
You is the first man to mention the Galaxy oui. Is them who should be upset.
Post by: WestCoast on March 15, 2010, 08:58:20 PM
campaign in campaign out Jackula does 4cup all kinda players and allya only want to CUSS out the SAME players
GET REAL
geezanages people

Out ah one side of allya mout allya cussin Jackula then out de odder side of allya mout allya cussin WE FOOTBALL HEROS......................GET REAL
Post by: Daft Trini on March 15, 2010, 09:04:44 PM
campaign in campaign out Jackula does 4cup all kinda players and allya only want to CUSS out the SAME players
GET REAL
geezanages people

Out ah one side of allya mout allya cussin Jackula then out de odder side of allya mout allya cussin WE FOOTBALL HEROS......................GET REAL

:applause: :applause: :applause:

Welcome back... (ah see de north west melt  ;D)

Post by: Daft Trini on March 15, 2010, 09:07:30 PM

If I was Arena I would ban his arse for that shyte he does be doing.... has to be one of the worse investments I have seen for a team... yeah he was their poster boy... but in the past, present and now in the future they will yield nothing because of this nonsense... I go give Milner, SWP and Lennon ah bligh...
Post by: WestCoast on March 15, 2010, 09:09:40 PM
GET REAL
geezanages people

:applause: :applause: :applause:

Welcome back... (ah see de north west melt  ;D)

aye, ever since the Olympics did not have snow, well who tell dem say that
Snow start to fall like crazy for the Para-olympics
Post by: just cool on March 15, 2010, 10:02:56 PM
Forq Beckham yes Forque him... he had his forquing team LA Galaxy playing preseason and he left them so he could get a 10-15 min sweat with Hengland and possibly rake in an additional 20 mil because he is the REAL face of english football... this campaign was all about tickets and tee shirts my friends... tickets and tee shirts... he only cared about the endorsements as usual...

Do forquing talk about KJ so nah.... I go say it flat... dem man did not want to play for Jackular last campaign...!
And you know this for ah fact, or this is mare speculation ?
Post by: fordy on March 15, 2010, 10:06:39 PM
lol...this whole foolishness of comparing KJ injuries and Becks injuries is laughable. if you go to the Kj injured thread you will see support for him. i thought this thread was for becks so i responded in kind.

sometimes i really wonder if some of you guys have a clue about this game. i see someone post bout becks aint doing nothing now and he aint have no more pace and he not influential. ok. when has he ever been quick? thats not wat he's known for. his technique and ability on dead ball situations make him a cut above the rest. add his experience and knowledge of the game and you will see his influence. look back on the last three world cups and see england performances. if he didnt score he had a hand in the goal. u going to take that kinda influence out of your team and still say its nothing? granted he wasnt going to start but u cant replace what he brings. sometimes people need to stop watching players on the ball and watch them off the ball. becks covers ah hell of alot of ground and covers well as a midfielder, which compensates for his lack of quickness.
Post by: just cool on March 15, 2010, 10:08:33 PM

If I was Arena I would ban his arse for that shyte he does be doing.... has to be one of the worse investments I have seen for a team... yeah he was their poster boy... but in the past, present and now in the future they will yield nothing because of this nonsense... I go give Milner, SWP and Lennon ah bligh...
Breds, the galaxy dun make back the money they spend , and iz turning ah profit right about now on becks acquisition. his coming here was never about the game, but rather the financial aspect.
Post by: fordy on March 15, 2010, 10:11:18 PM

Breds, the galaxy dun make back the money they spend , and iz turning ah profit right about now on becks acquisition. his coming here was never about the game, but rather the financial aspect.

exactly hence why he is at milan. how many players you know will sacrifice their off season just to maintain their fitness so that they can make the team to go to the world cup? well said just cool.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 15, 2010, 10:16:00 PM

Leh me clear it up for all yuh before all yuh dissect every line... I admire that he want to keep fit for the WC...

Me eh questioning this profitability aspect but since becks has arrived in LA... they have not won any real silverware... this is my real beef with him.

and yes a few players did not want to get into mixing it up with Jack... as for your boy DR... deh never give him a call or text or even an update
Post by: sammy on March 16, 2010, 04:26:11 AM
i doh understand allyuh. ent it have a kj thread? why allyuh spamming this one?

I never see no one in the Dihno highlights thread talking shit bout all the ppl calling for him to play in the brazil squad. I never see no specific DR highlights thread or collin samuel thread. Wham allyuh love ronaldihno more than them?

If kj put in half the effort that becks give, then more men woulda care bout he. You ever see any of becks coaches calling for him to earn his salary?
After last qualifying campaign, KJ start back from ZERO in my book.

KJ have a small injury, so what? how it affect TnT right now?

Post by: sammy on March 16, 2010, 04:36:22 AM

Leh me clear it up for all yuh before all yuh dissect every line... I admire that he want to keep fit for the WC...

Me eh questioning this profitability aspect but since becks has arrived in LA... they have not won any real silverware... this is my real beef with him.

and yes a few players did not want to get into mixing it up with Jack... as for your boy DR... deh never give him a call or text or even an update

u expect becks alone to win silver ware for them?
what silver ware ronaldino bring to Milan>?
Post by: Daft Trini on March 16, 2010, 05:16:49 AM
Unlike Ronaldino, Brcks was supposed to transform a league... he has not done that in full, he made a lot of money but LA was supposed to win CUPs... but they have failed in that dept..

I personally did not want to see him in SA :beermug:
Post by: sammy on March 16, 2010, 06:04:38 AM

I personally did not want to see him in SA :beermug:

obeah?  ??? ;D
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 16, 2010, 08:31:12 AM

I never see no one in the Dihno highlights thread talking shit bout all the ppl calling for him to play in the brazil squad. I never see no specific DR highlights thread or collin samuel thread. Wham allyuh love ronaldihno more than them?

If kj put in half the effort that becks give, then more men woulda care bout he. You ever see any of becks coaches calling for him to earn his salary?

One of our brilliant mods merged my thread into Beckhams which makes no sense to me considering it was more about KJ than Becks.  Unless you is ah retarded asshole yuh cah tell me you seriously puttin stock in all de head games dat shit coach Steve Bruce been trying with KJ.  Steve bruce is ah desperate and incompetent cont of a coach fella.  But then again allyuh will always use any opportunity to tear down ah fella like KJ (maybe because he doh care wha his dissenters ha to say).  Yuh is ah Man U fan, yuh think Berba earnin he salary, why yuh eh discuss dat?!!

Fordy I is de one start de thread bout KJ and it wasn't for comparison of injuries.  It was based on the fact that a post about Beckhams injury generated more than 4 times the attention compared to our most promising and best recognized currently active player.  With all de bullshit Bruce has done with that team I find it strange dat man eh even concern about KJ potentially not gettin back in the lineup (especially now that they have a similar type of player in Benjani).  The injuries are not even remotely comparable so I eh really see how yuh come to be talking bout man comparing injuries.
Post by: fordy on March 16, 2010, 08:53:18 AM

One of our brilliant mods merged my thread into Beckhams which makes no sense to me considering it was more about KJ than Becks.  Unless you is ah retarded asshole yuh cah tell me you seriously puttin stock in all de head games dat shit coach Steve Bruce been trying with KJ.  Steve bruce is ah desperate and incompetent cont of a coach fella.  But then again allyuh will always use any opportunity to tear down ah fella like KJ (maybe because he doh care wha his dissenters ha to say).  Yuh is ah Man U fan, yuh think Berba earnin he salary, why yuh eh discuss dat?!!

Fordy I is de one start de thread bout KJ and it wasn't for comparison of injuries.  It was based on the fact that a post about Beckhams injury generated more than 4 times the attention compared to our most promising and best recognized currently active player.  With all de bullshit Bruce has done with that team I find it strange dat man eh even concern about KJ potentially not gettin back in the lineup (especially now that they have a similar type of player in Benjani).  The injuries are not even remotely comparable so I eh really see how yuh come to be talking bout man comparing injuries.

Well if yuh read previous post i seeing men saying how one injury more important than the other and all kinda nonsense. i went to your KJ injured thread and said what i had to say. i came here and said what i had to say. i dont understand how the two reach here! both players are miles apart in any case so they should be kept seperately, injured or otherwise.
Post by: Sando on March 16, 2010, 09:09:35 AM
Sorry to hear this Becks....

Get well soon brother...
Post by: kicker on March 16, 2010, 09:52:48 AM

"It's a shame that they feel that way because I love my country and my national team.  I give 100% for the warriors everytime I step on to the field, and that's the best I can do.  Football can be a thankless business when things are working out ideally, and the fans are passionate so I guess I could understand their frustration.  At the end of the day I'm a professional so I'll keep on playing to the best of my ability, and I can only hope that the fans continue to support me"

The "f**k the world" attitude to life is kinda distasteful in my opinion.  The true class acts from generation to generation don't fall into that trap and they are the ones who don't need to be supremely gifted in order to get timeless respect for their contribution to the game.   
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 16, 2010, 10:10:02 AM

"It's a shame that they feel that way because I love my country and my national team.  I give 100% for the warriors everytime I step on to the field, and that's the best I can do.  Football can be a thankless business when things are working out ideally, and the fans are passionate so I guess I could understand their frustration.  At the end of the day I'm a professional so I'll keep on playing to the best of my ability, and I can only hope that the fans continue to support me"

The "f**k the world" attitude to life is kinda distasteful in my opinion.  The true class acts from generation to generation don't fall into that trap and they are the ones who don't need to be supremely gifted in order to get timeless respect for their contribution to the game.   

Seriously kicker?!!  How many people from TnT you know so composed that when being criticized will take that mountain road?  Back in the days it might have been easier to say something like that because the players weren't instantly exposed to the critics, haters and dissenters.  But in this day of the internet where these same players are browsing these very forums and seeing some of the overboard statements about their dedication as well as the destructive criticisms of their skill and performance, it's a wonder that some of them don't just avoid NT duty alltogether.  I can't speak for others but early to mid twenties if i was any of these players and was asked that question it would have likely been laced with expletives.  As you grow older you evaluate and see things different, but I find it's asking a lot of our players to continuosly give the best effort they can on the day and then be berated by us (the diehards) and yet have the poise and composure to give such a response.  I know they expect criticisms because of the nature of what they do, buh when man callin players "wuss ting in ah tugs" an sayin ting like "first toch of ah rapist" yuh eh tink dat go bother dem?  TnT is de land of lambaste but not everybody could take it de way how some of us does give it. 
Post by: dinho on March 16, 2010, 10:15:03 AM

that is a response that would be worthy of a question from the press.. Not some fan running up outta timing with that question. Bet yuh bottom dollar dey board him with that after they lost a game too.

put the same becks allyuh lauding in the exact same situation and variables as KJ and ah sure he wasn't offering a dignified response like that.

come on guys, really?
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 16, 2010, 10:36:59 AM

that is a response that would be worthy of a question from the press.. Not some fan running up outta timing with that question. Bet yuh bottom dollar dey board him with that after they lost a game too.

put the same becks allyuh lauding in the exact same situation and variables as KJ and ah sure he wasn't offering a dignified response like that.

come on guys, really?

Jedd daiz some PR written statement dat dem fellaz will memorize to give SKY or some other football broadcasting media giant.  9 outta 10 times something like that being said it was well rehearsed.
Post by: kicker on March 16, 2010, 10:38:56 AM

Seriously kicker?!!  How many people from TnT you know so composed that when being criticized will take that mountain road?  Back in the days it might have been easier to say something like that because the players weren't instantly exposed to the critics, haters and dissenters.  But in this day of the internet where these same players are browsing these very forums and seeing some of the overboard statements about their dedication as well as the destructive criticisms of their skill and performance, it's a wonder that some of them don't just avoid NT duty alltogether.  I can't speak for others but early to mid twenties if i was any of these players and was asked that question it would have likely been laced with expletives.  As you grow older you evaluate and see things different, but I find it's asking a lot of our players to continuosly give the best effort they can on the day and then be berated by us (the diehards) and yet have the poise and composure to give such a response.  I know they expect criticisms because of the nature of what they do, buh when man callin players "wuss ting in ah tugs" an sayin ting like "first toch of ah rapist" yuh eh tink dat go bother dem?  TnT is de land of lambaste but not everybody could take it de way how some of us does give it. 

Hey if he gave that response I admit I'd be shocked.  But the question was what would an acceptable response have been.  I'm pretty sure that the fan asking the question would have accepted that response.  If in the heat of the moment an annoying fan asked that question, and he responded in that manner, yuh would have no choice but tuh hush yuh arse, and cool yuhself....

So yes I AM serious.  These guys are getting paid alot of money at a young age, and they are in a position to make a big impact on their followers.  They are very very fortunate to be in the position in which they are because there are many before them and after them who were/are/will be equally gifted and not still not get that shot.  Graciousness is always acceptable and it's never a bad thing to rise above normal expectations.  That's class.  
Post by: dinho on March 16, 2010, 10:44:19 AM

Hey if he gave that response I admit I'd be shocked.  But the question was what would an acceptable response have been.  I'm pretty sure that the fan asking the question would have accepted that response.  If in the heat of the moment an annoying fan asked that question, and he responded in that manner, yuh would have no choice but tuh hush yuh arse, and cool yuhself....

So yes I AM serious.  These guys are getting paid alot of money at a young age, and they are in a position to make a big impact on their followers.  They are very very fortunate to be in the position in which they are because there are many before them and after them who were/are/will be equally gifted and not still not get that shot.  Graciousness is always acceptable and it's never a bad thing to rise above normal expectations.  That's class.  

desirable equal acceptable.
Post by: JDB on March 16, 2010, 10:51:06 AM

come on guys, really?

My first thought was that Beckham would give the boiler-plate inoffensive response because he is obsessed with image and will sit on the fence every time. His response to the Donovan criticism last year was a good example. He handle it diplomatically, but everybody sees beckham as being disingenuous. After 1998 when them London-based fans was on his case he probably had a different response.

I have no problem with KJ response and would not call his attitude “F--- the world”. When KJ give that response he is not talking about fans in general but a specific group that you could find right on here. Just look at them KJ threads and the kind of abuse the man does get. The best thing he could do is not take on that level of shit talk.
Post by: kicker on March 16, 2010, 10:56:11 AM

come on guys, really?

I eh saying Becks woulda responded like that, and I eh part of the "allyuh" who lauding up Becks either....and I not saying something like that would easily roll off KJ's tongue (especially not those exact words- seriously ah mean I had the luxury of time and a delete button to come up with that)....but the point is, he could have responded in a classy manner...just because it was some random fan doesn't mean that he's not worthy of respect or a respectful response.  I dunno the circumstances, and I'm admittedly not emotional one way or the other about how KJ responded to the fan...that's the first thought that came to his mind, and I'm sure he had his reasons for responding that way...I was just answering the question as to what an acceptable response would have been.  

If a response somewhere in the realm of respect and class is soooooo outrageous waaaaay beyond the thinkable simply because it's not in the setting of an official press conference then arrite, no scene.....I was just answering the question.
Post by: kicker on March 16, 2010, 11:10:24 AM

desirable equal acceptable.

lol here we go- taking the semantics to another level just to make a point.

hey what "equals" acceptable to you, will not always "equal" acceptable to all...that's life....

Just goes to show yuh can't please everybody.  If KJ says "screw dem, I doh business", some men vex, if he honestly says, "it's a shame because I give my all, but I understand their frustration" some men go bawl he too composed, that cyah be genuine, he probably just concerned about his image, and that he just tell them to haul dey so and so because they not worthy...

Good luck boy KJ  :D

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 16, 2010, 11:17:22 AM
If a response somewhere in the realm of respect and class is soooooo outrageous waaaaay beyond the thinkable simply because it's not in the setting of an official press conference then arrite, no scene.....I was just answering the question.

Is not that it unthinkable, but should he really care enough to give that kind of response pertaining to the people on the forum (unless the person was talking about another set of detractors) who constantly berate and cuss him every chance they have?  He really owe the likes of some of the people who talk shit on here constantly about him a truly dignified response?  I totally satisfied with how he responded in that instance.
Title: Scroll down the page to the Beckham video
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 20, 2010, 07:29:19 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8577736.stm

Pure kicks
Title: Re: Scroll down to page to the Beckham video
Post by: andre samuel on March 20, 2010, 08:00:25 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8577736.stm

Pure kicks

This is one of the funniest things i have ever seen...........LOL.

How is he able to get Beckham, Rooney, Flintoff, Andy Murray etc to do that........lol.
Title: Re: Scroll down to page to the Beckham video
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 20, 2010, 08:13:58 AM
How is he able to get Beckham, Rooney, Flintoff, Andy Murray etc to do that........lol.

Apparently it was done for a sport relief benefit....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sportrelief/

Post by: andre samuel on March 20, 2010, 09:06:14 AM
MODS?? why was this merged??  :(
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 20, 2010, 10:14:07 AM
MODS?? why was this merged??

Agreed Andre....I dont see the connection here  ???

Sounds like gasping at straws....
Post by: onlikecorn on March 29, 2010, 06:01:12 AM
what de jail is dis i readin here. . .

A spiritual healer has claimed he can get David Beckham fit "within three days" despite medical experts ruling him out of action for around six months.

Sri Lanka president Mahinda Rajapakse has offered Beckham his personal physician, Dr Eliyantha Lindsay White, who claims he can get Beckham back on the pitch in time for the finals in South Africa.

"I am ready to treat him," Eliyantha Lindsay White told AFP. "His condition can be easily treated and within three days he will be able to go back to playing. His case is simple. I can treat him. He can play again."

Beckham has been invited to travel to Sri Lanka for treatment.

Dr White recently received praise from Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar after treatment on a knee injury.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=762188&cc=5901 (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=762188&cc=5901)

see .. dat is probably why capello had say he would still take beckham to the world cup . . .

Post by: Babalawo on March 30, 2010, 07:57:31 PM
BECKHAM OUT OF WORLD CUP,.  Owens too.  the US plot continues, Rooney watch out :devil:

John Terry next  :devil:  The US gonna beat the England B team.  :rotfl:
Post by: sammy on March 30, 2010, 08:49:09 PM

i dunno how man laughing at men getting injured yes.
Post by: Babalawo on March 30, 2010, 10:02:03 PM

i dunno how man laughing at men getting injured yes.
Im laughing at the fact i bet a prominant US Soccer official the only chance US go win is if all the UK stars injured. and the by the way things going. it looks so. the US plot continues