Sports => Football => Topic started by: onlikecorn on March 17, 2010, 06:49:57 PM

Title: Forget Rooney, magical Messi is the world's best
Post by: onlikecorn on March 17, 2010, 06:49:57 PM
just came across this article...

The famously insular world of English football has been quick to crown Wayne Rooney as the best player in the world in recent weeks - unsurprisingly perhaps in a World Cup year - but in Barcelona on Wednesday night, Lionel Messi demonstrated exactly why those claims ring hollow with a masterful performance in a 4-0 rout of Stuttgart.

Speculation that Rooney is football's leading light is far from outrageous. It is not, for example, a manifestation of the unjustified national arrogance that was exposed so horribly when Hungary humbled an overconfident England side with a 6-3 victory at Wembley in 1953, shattering illusions of grandeur. But it should be recognised that Messi is on another level - a once-in-a-lifetime talent. There is no excuse for a superiority complex on the part of Rooney or England.

Tormenting the visitors from the Bundesliga with his superior technique and utter genius, Messi was a force of nature. His run and finish for the opening goal was stunning - a mazy dribble followed by a thunderous drive from the edge of the box.

Nine minutes later it was his glorious pass that released Yaya Toure, who squared for Pedro to turn home the second. Messi then made it three in the second half with a quick spin and finish.

Nominally employed in an unorthodox central role in behind Thierry Henry, the reigning FIFA World Player of the Year was given licence to roam the Camp Nou turf and he did not disappoint, exuding threat on either flank or through the middle. But while his masterclass would represent the very peak of excellence for many a professional footballer, for Messi it was not even his best performance in the past week.

On Sunday, he took his league tally to 22 goals in 23 games with a delightful hat-trick against Valencia in a 3-0 win for Barcelona. After Barca's statement of intent on Wednesday night, he now boasts 29 in 32 games in all competitions. And while Rooney compares favourably in this regard - with 32 in 36 games - there is no disputing that in Messi, Barcelona have the world's finest player at present.

Sir Alex Ferguson's protege is in the form of his life though, there is no question about that. Deadly in the box, he has married a collection of predatory strikes with a catalogue of headed efforts. But they are not goals that cause jaws to drop in amazement and fans to forward on YouTube links with childish enthusiasm.

Messi, with his precocious dribbling skills, expert finishing, raw pace and brilliant football brain, scores such goals on a ridiculously regular basis. Moments that engage the imagination are his stock in trade, and he produced another on Wednesday night with that thrilling first goal.

Perhaps Messi is the 21st-century Diego Maradona to Rooney's Pele - a magician to rival a hungry and deadly accumulator of goals. A banner inside Old Trafford oft declares the Manchester United man to be the white incarnation of the Brazilian great while Messi has done so much more than a succession of Argentinean starlets to justify comparisons with a man who remains a deity in his home country.

But prior to kick-off, Barca goalkeeper Victor Valdes just about got it right, saying of Messi: "He's the best in the world. What he contributes with his talent makes him stand out. He could become the best player in history."

Wednesday night's display has only reinforced such a view. Rooney, for all his talent and prolific form, is not in this league.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=757470&sec=uefachampionsleague&root=uefachampionsleague&cc=5901 (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=757470&sec=uefachampionsleague&root=uefachampionsleague&cc=5901)

Title: Re: Forget Rooney, magical Messi is the world's best
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 17, 2010, 07:14:10 PM
Ok so Tom Adams opinion reigns supreme  ::) ::)

Messi was awesome today, I admit .. but the opposition..very suspect and were in awe of the surroundings and were completely shocking today...So when Wazza scores 4 against Hull it is the same as a great performance from the Argentine vs a poor team

I havent seen many Barca games this season...3 tops... and yes Messi is probably the World's best but I really wouldnt be able to tell you who is better this season between the two.

I still think Messi has more flair than Rooney but I think Rooney this season probably edges him on the overall statistics... It's a tough decision but both players are neck and neck... I guess the only way to judge is if United and Barca square off this season

Messi 31 in 37... Rooney 32 in 37... let's not forget Ronaldo..22 in 22  :o

Top 3 players in the world hands down...

For those that watch many Barca and United games..How do you compare Wazza's form vs Messi's?

be fair and honest please...I couldnt be bothered If Messi won all the awards again.. once United win the trophies  ;)
Post by: Spursy on March 17, 2010, 07:43:00 PM
this is milito year :) inter have the right chemistry, with jose it will take a very special team to beat them bad and win at the sir siro
Post by: D.H.W on March 17, 2010, 08:01:01 PM
hello my name is DHW, im a hater  :) Messi sucks  :)
Post by: Andre DosSantos on March 17, 2010, 08:11:00 PM
Ok so Tom Adams opinion reigns supreme  ::) ::)

Messi was awesome today, I admit .. but the opposition..very suspect and were in awe of the surroundings and were completely shocking today...So when Wazza scores 4 against Hull it is the same as a great performance from the Argentine vs a poor team

I havent seen many Barca games this season...3 tops... and yes Messi is probably the World's best but I really wouldnt be able to tell you who is better this season between the two.

I still think Messi has more flair than Rooney but I think Rooney this season probably edges him on the overall statistics... It's a tough decision but both players are neck and neck... I guess the only way to judge is if United and Barca square off this season

Top 3 players in the world hands down...

For those that watch many Barca and United games..How do you compare Wazza's form vs Messi's?

be fair and honest please...I couldnt be bothered If Messi won all the awards again.. once United win the trophies  ;)

Well i was waiting for Rooney to start doing this, i guess he was finally given the freedom to just start banging them in. Well Rooney's Form vs Messi's form stems from the team and personal style of play. Rooney is out right power and pace and some classic goal poaching. Messi is technique, pace and being unpredictable. It all comes down to what warms you up inside. I can't say i like anyone above the other because if you but them both together you have R9 ;D
Post by: kicker on March 17, 2010, 08:19:32 PM

be fair and honest please...

In terms of current form and easily measurable output I'd say they're equal.  Messi is more entertaining, and I think individually he's more capable of creating something out of nothing. From the spectator chair Messi is more electrifying...and I think that aspect of the game is very valuable as it brings alot out of the crowd and the players on the field....both of which go a long way.  

Football is part entertainment- can't ignore that aspect of it...There's a reason why defenders and goalkeepers don't win World Player of the year...Casillas could save the impossible- people want to see Zidane glide up and down the field like he's on skates....Messi is a better entertainer than Rooney.  

If Messi were an English player lighting up the field in the way that he does, making people hold their breath and expect something special everytime he gets the ball, english fans and the english press wouldn't even allow another player to be compared to him.  

Rooney is a scary customer- best pure striker in the game at the moment, but to me Messi is the best football player in the world right now.
Post by: Observer on March 17, 2010, 08:38:24 PM
Messi rounding form. He was brilliant against Valencia and then today's  performance.
Rooney has been sensational as well both players should be  :applause: :applause: for their performances this season, Thoroughly enjoyable
Post by: elan on March 17, 2010, 09:54:33 PM
Nah, Messi is boss. Rooney not in that class. Not hating on Rooney and it's not a Man United Chelsea thing. In that game today what mad e me look at Messi differently was not his goal or dribbles. There was a moment that Barca lost the ball and Messi give chase, the player on the ball cut and turned leaving Messi and without looking around or hesitating Messi ran directly into the path of the pass intercepting the ball. Th epaaser either had to play that pass or hit a long  hopeful ball. That alone opened my eyes to the level of awareness and understanding this fella have in this game.

The guy is not a novelty he is the real deal.
Post by: Small Change on March 17, 2010, 09:55:45 PM
Messi is just UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 17, 2010, 11:40:11 PM
Even I have had to concede (to myself) that rooney is in the best form I have ever seen him in this season and I also give him the world of credit for getting his temperament together as well.  He has come a long way as far as that is concerned and he has lived up to his promise of filling the goal-scoring void that cronaldo left behind.  That being said, rooney is simply not in Messi's class.  Nor will he ever be.  They have two totally different styles and as Kicker so eloquently pointed out, rooney can't make something out of nothing like Messi can, nor can he entertain like Messi can.  Those two points alone is enough to bring all the giddy comparisons to a dead halt......and I also like the added point that:

"....If Messi were an English player lighting up the field in the way that he does, making people hold their breath and expect something special everytime he gets the ball, english fans and the english press wouldn't even allow another player to be compared to him.  ...." 

So true, so true, so true. 

In fact, I don't even get where, according to the article, those folks that are even comparing rooney to Pele, where those folks are watching their football.  That is untreatable insanity.   
Post by: Zeppo on March 18, 2010, 04:10:47 AM
   "....If Messi were an English player lighting up the field in the way that he does, making people hold their breath and expect something special everytime he gets the ball, english fans and the english press wouldn't even allow another player to be compared to him.  ...." 

So true, so true, so true. 

In fact, I don't even get where, according to the article, those folks that are even comparing rooney to Pele, where those folks are watching their football.  That is untreatable insanity.   

Yes, well stated, also by Kicker. Something I realized long ago is the way that many English fans and much of their press tend to reason things:

"The best striker in England = The best striker in the World"

And you can substitute "striker" for team, manager or any other position on the field.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 18, 2010, 07:24:29 AM
Nobody cannot deny that Rooney is in the form of his life.

Putting the Haterade aside, once he is in the box a goal going to score - whether it be a header or goal mouth scramble, when a striker is in that kind of form it is akin to a floodgate being opened. Respect to Nani and Valenica for providing some best crosses. At this point, he must be thinking of breaking the 42 goals scored by C. Ronaldo.

That aside, when it comes to la magia, Messi is head and shoulders above the rest at the moment.

The last 2 games are testament to that (Valencia and Stuttgart). 5 world class, disrespectful goals.

(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20100317/capt.a51b55d11a4b47d4849f0b3536de78e2-a51b55d11a4b47d4849f0b3536de78e2-0.jpg)
Messi poses with a €100,000 cheque from UEFA on behalf of International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) 18/3/10
Post by: dinho on March 18, 2010, 07:34:08 AM
basically following on from what was already said..

Rooney is in form... amazing form.

But Messi been doing that a while now. He is different class.
Post by: Jah Gol on March 18, 2010, 07:37:52 AM
basically following on from what was already said..

Rooney is in form... amazing form.

But Messi been doing that a while now. He is different class.
Yuh have to remember Rooney playing in England eh. Everything better there.
Post by: Marcos on March 18, 2010, 08:43:53 AM
But some of y'all acting like rooney wasn't killing it the past few years too. The man has been incredible for some time now. He just now has the stage to himself to shine.

Messi and Rooney are equal in my opinion, but both are inferior to CRonaldo. CRonaldo is without a doubt the best footballer on the planet. IF he had a better attitude, and was playing for a more likeable team, he would have been more popular.

Post by: jai john on March 18, 2010, 08:52:46 AM
Some folks does take it pussonal when comparisons are made. To say Messi is better than Rooney or anyone else for that matter, is not to belittle Rooney. In fact to rate Rooney as one of the best poachers in football is to rate Messi even higher.
If trophies won or titles or awards were to be considered Messi would win hands down ..... if importance to a team by goalscoring, chances creating, opponents destruction, and demorilisation of opponents were to be considered Rooney would win !! ...ha ha ha ha ...just joking folks.
Messi is the best ...Rooney is excellent, so is Ronaldo ...we have a good bunch ..and Tevez, ferdinand  and Puyol en far behind.
..but is one arena dat does settle tings !!! in that arena you separate the men from de boys ...all dem fellas mentioned go de dey ......is how you perform on de biggest stage dat does matter ...and if we are to be honest ...all dem fellas still et to master dat stage! we dont have long to wait ....I am usually a neat fella but since I see dat 16 year old make he debut for Barca ..well I just gone all Messi !!!
Post by: kicker on March 18, 2010, 09:30:11 AM
I'm curious to see how Messi reinvents himself as he gets older.... His style of play doesn't seem sustainable into his late 20's/30's.  As his feet lose that quickness, and his age affects his ability to be a busy bee buzzing up and down the field, his lack of size could possibly become a telling factor... He def has the football brain to always be a clever player, but physically I'm curious to see how he transforms himself.  Will he drop deeper and become a passing maestro? ...Will he stay in the box more and focus more on goal scoring?   

Rooney's style of play inside the 18 yrd box doesn't seem to depend as heavily on youth. He's not a twisting and turning, cut back and dash kind of forward...He has a great work-rate of course but he gains a great advantage by his keen sense of positioning, and his great technique and execution- something that doesn't fade with age...arguably it gets better...

Just a thought. 
Post by: Marcos on March 18, 2010, 09:43:36 AM
I'm curious to see how Messi reinvents himself as he gets older.... His style of play doesn't seem sustainable into his late 20's/30's.  As his feet lose that quickness, and his age affects his ability to be a busy bee buzzing up and down the field, his lack of size could possibly become a telling factor... He def has the football brain to always be a clever player, but physically I'm curious to see how he transforms himself.  Will he drop deeper and become a passing maestro? ...Will he stay in the box more and focus more on goal scoring?   

Rooney's style of play inside the 18 yrd box doesn't seem to depend as heavily on youth. He's not a twisting and turning, cut back and dash kind of forward...He has a great work-rate of course but he gains a great advantage by his keen sense of positioning, and his great technique and execution- something that doesn't fade with age...arguably it gets better...

Just a thought. 

You are underestimating how much Rooney's speed plays into his game, man.

Football today has become so physical and dependent on physical attributes that I am afraid that all of these players will become obsolete in their early 30s, if not before.

But definitely agree with you about Messi. When that quickness is gone I'm really not sure what he will have left. At least i can see CRonaldo morphing into an all out forward with his height, heading, shooting and free-kick taking ability.
Messi might look like Figo in his late years.

Another key point is the amoutn of football these guys play these days. They just play way, way too much. Iz only so much tread you have on your tyres, plus these guys start so young.

Anywayz lewwe overs this talk cuz it kinda depressing.
Post by: 2cents on March 18, 2010, 10:18:08 AM
These kinda posts anybody could say wha they want, is all opinion. Nobody really right or wrong...but my 2cents  :-[ is tha Ronaldo and Messi d best 2 players in the world. I think what Rooney do this yr is move himself from being a top 10 player to being in d argument to be called top 3 player now.
He in there with Eto'o, Drogba and Torres to be the best forward around. It always gonna come down to who in form at the time of the argument, but honestly u ask 4 people who the best among those 4 and u could easily get 1 vote each. bless
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 18, 2010, 10:29:56 AM
Everyone acting like this is Wayne's 1st good season... he's been a world class talent since his debut season at United... he's just added more goals this season due to his central location on the pitch.. before he would have to play out of position to assist Ronaldo

Every season Rooney get's better..which is scary.. he does everything.....goals..work rate..skill..good passing..good vision...versatile... just pure passion and massive quality

Post by: fordy on March 18, 2010, 10:30:43 AM

Just a thought. 

I agree with yuh but I think Messi's touch is going to play a vital role when he gets older as a player. His touch is one of the best i have ever seen...in terms of knowing where he wants to go on the pitch in tight quarters under pressure. That touch of his makes the game so much easier. He has an additional 3 to 4 seconds to do wat he wants whenever he wants because of that touch. Imagine with experience that touch developing even more. That's scary. Rooney has a great touch as well but I agree, he is more suited for the aging process than Messi.
Post by: dinho on March 18, 2010, 10:40:09 AM
Everyone acting like this is Wayne's 1st good season... he's been a world class talent since his debut season at United... he's just added more goals this season due to his central location on the pitch.. before he would have to play out of position to assist Ronaldo

Every season Rooney get's better..which is scary.. he does everything.....goals..work rate..skill..good passing..good vision...versatile... just pure passion and massive quality

I don't think anybody saying this is his first good season, but moreso this is his first world class season where we could actually mention him in that breath. Is not by surprise that this thread didn't pop up until now.

the key will be if he can carry his side to titles this year and perform on the big stage when its all on him. I still think Messi is different class, because imo a great defender with an assignment on Rooney could stop him.. A great defender could only stop Messi right now with help, and thats because he has unpredictability.. something Rooney doesn't have by virtue of him being English.

PS - I'm seriously worried about Rooney getting injured before the world cup. He's playing too many games and at some point thats not sustainable.

Post by: real madness on March 18, 2010, 10:43:30 AM
I would rate Messi higher than Rooney but I would not be surprised if Rooney wins the Golden Boot at the World Cup.  His current form and England's heavy reliance on him can result in a lot of goals at the World Cup.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 18, 2010, 10:45:25 AM

I don't think anybody saying this is his first good season, but moreso this is his first world class season where we could actually mention him in that breath. Is not by surprise that this thread didn't pop up until now.

the key will be if he can carry his side to titles this year and perform on the big stage when its all on him. I still think Messi is different class, because imo a great defender with an assignment on Rooney could stop him.. A great defender could only stop Messi right now with help, and thats because he has unpredictability.. something Rooney doesn't have by virtue of him being English.

PS - I'm seriously worried about Rooney getting injured before the world cup. He's playing too many games and at some point thats not sustainable.

both Wayne and Messi have played 37 games...I'm less worried for Rooney than little fragile Messi
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 18, 2010, 10:47:47 AM

Just a thought. 

Kicker, later fuh you wit dah talk yuh know!  You eh spoilin' my giddy-ness wit dah chainup talk dis early mawnin.  I crossin' dah bridge (if and) when I reach it!   :D  
Post by: Touches on March 18, 2010, 11:26:47 AM
Drogba and Torres better than Rooney.  :devil:

Take heading ability, shooting, freekick, dribbling and finishing....Rooney ent matching them two fellas.

Drogba side foot shot/pass harder than a Rooney bullet.

C. Ronaldo better than Rooney

In fact I rate Ronaldo higher than Messi....under better freekick ability, bullet and header.

The equation is C. Ronaldo>Messi=Drogba=Torres>Rooney

Watch a player under the range of skills.

Rooney could win under wildness and bad tackle.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 18, 2010, 11:46:56 AM
Drogba and Torres better than Rooney.  :devil:

Take heading ability, shooting, freekick, dribbling and finishing....Rooney ent matching them two fellas.

Drogba side foot shot/pass harder than a Rooney bullet.

In fact I rate Ronaldo higher than Messi....under better freekick ability, bullet and header.

Rooney could win under wildness and bad tackle.

As a Man U fan it hard for me to say but yuh spot on.... sometimes I would even say he's not as clutch as Febregas or Van Persie...
Post by: kicker on March 18, 2010, 12:01:52 PM
As a Man U fan it hard for me to say but yuh spot on.... sometimes I would even say he's not as clutch as Febregas or Van Persie...

Joke is joke but now yuh pushing it. 
Post by: Zeppo on March 18, 2010, 12:36:12 PM

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo beats Lionel Messi in Marca study (http://www.goal.com/en/news/12/spain/2009/12/23/1705913/real-madrid-star-cristiano-ronaldo-beats-lionel-messi-in)
Post by: Zeppo on March 18, 2010, 12:38:38 PM
This comes from Robbo's Blog today on BBC:

"And yet... they were blissful at times on Wednesday night. They have the best conductor going, of course.  Lionel Messi is still half a quicksilver step ahead of Rooney as the world's finest player right now. What I like about both of them is they work their socks off and don't spend too much time prowling around like some over-coiffed model on a Dolce and Gabbana billboard. (I speak here of the third footballing great in our midst at present.)

Rooney is better in the air than Messi, but when young Lionel runs with the ball, the relationship between the two is positively umbilical. I just reckon he pips Rooney for the ability to create something all by himself.

Barca look better with Henry in the team instead of Ibrahimovic. I don't know anyone who actually rates Ibra. Everyone in our boozer just shrugged when asked if he was up to much, like we were talking about, ooh I dunno, Dave Kitson. Except Dave didn't cost £46m from Inter. (Mourinho brought in Milito and Thiago Motta and his team look way better for it.)

Barca do have a couple of jewels beside Messi. Iniesta floats around like a barn owl in footy kit. I never tire of watching the fella. Then there's Puyol, who's kind of what Gary Neville would be like if he had hair and talent. And Dani Alves - a tad prone to moments of utter dross but generally one of them brilliant Brazilian right-backs, but with more of the matador about him. A sort of Cafu Ole, if you will.

But it is Messi, ball at his feet, running at defenders like a clockwork mouse darting between the legs of narcoleptic cats, who makes Barca what they are at the moment."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/robborobson/2010/03/begging_you_for_messi.html
Post by: sammy on March 18, 2010, 01:07:29 PM
wow....when i saw zeppo's name as last post, i instinctively thought he was going to say that donovan better than both of them.  :-\
Post by: Spursy on March 18, 2010, 04:49:37 PM
I am sick of hearing this and dat for this Messi guy... Surely he is the same player for Argentina no? That scraped threw in qualifications? Messi is fun to watch but all the credit should not go his way. give credit to the players that know him well enough in order to find him and put the ball where he wants it. A TEAM EFFORT.

Anyways my point here is Barcalona side have a really good defensive team, Keita, Puyol and company is really hard to break down, this is pep bread an butta. Henry is the man that has recently been pulling the strings in barcalona, give him the credit he opens up so much space for Messi to create room which he makes look easy.

I don't like Rooney either... He didn't score a rocket against barca in the finals last year, I have zero faith in him until he does something better. My side now is as u may have guessed.. Inter. and if they get beat again by Barca that wont change.

Yea barca beat up on Valencia and a cheesy german team.. not like it was bayern  7 yrs ago when german football had ballack. In my opinion Barca scraped threw the CL last time and had alot of luck to win esp in the finals they will not win this time. LYON BEATING BARCA FOR SURE.
Post by: Observer on March 18, 2010, 06:36:05 PM
I am sick of hearing this and dat for this Messi guy... Surely he is the same player for Argentina no? That scraped threw in qualifications? Messi is fun to watch but all the credit should not go his way. give credit to the players that know him well enough in order to find him and put the ball where he wants it. A TEAM EFFORT.

Anyways my point here is Barcalona side have a really good defensive team, Keita, Puyol and company is really hard to break down, this is pep bread an butta. Henry is the man that has recently been pulling the strings in barcalona, give him the credit he opens up so much space for Messi to create room which he makes look easy.

I don't like Rooney either... He didn't score a rocket against barca in the finals last year, I have zero faith in him until he does something better. My side now is as u may have guessed.. Inter. and if they get beat again by Barca that wont change.

Yea barca beat up on Valencia and a cheesy german team.. not like it was bayern  7 yrs ago when german football had ballack. In my opinion Barca scraped threw the CL last time and had alot of luck to win esp in the finals they will not win this time. LYON BEATING BARCA FOR SURE.

Allyuh good we. Barca had the most wins in CL 08-09 and scored the most goals. Then they give Lyon 6-3 on aggregate, then Bayern 5-1 on Aggregate Had a tough one against Chelsea and then give the defending Champions 2  on the trot and they scrape through
Post by: jai john on March 18, 2010, 06:41:49 PM

you should tune in when barca plays ...you are missing something in the plot.
Post by: Marcos on March 19, 2010, 06:47:50 AM

CO-SIGN BRODDA!!!

I saying the same thign real long now.
I remember when everybody was on the Kaka bandwagon too. Curious how his name has dropped off the radar of World's Best.
Messi is in the fortunate situation of palying for a team whose style really complements him and brings out his best.
The boy is genius, no doubt, but he cyah shine CRonaldo's shoes. And I don't even like CR9.
Post by: Peong on March 19, 2010, 07:47:50 AM
Shotta12 you taught me this today:

Barca scrape through the CL last year.
Messi does only look good becuz he gets good passes.

Thanks.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 19, 2010, 08:57:09 AM

In my opinion Barca scraped threw the CL last time and had alot of luck to win esp in the finals they will not win this time. LYON BEATING BARCA FOR SURE.

sHOTTA, you still have Rainbow Cable home by you ah wha, the one das does go directly into the tv?

What sh!t you talking?

A side that was a joy to watch by both the neutral and ardent fans, a side that play the best free flowing football we see in a while, a side that boast the world footballer of the year, a side that win 6 trophies was lucky?

Explain to me how Barca was lucky in the finals against ManU, when they had nearly 70% posession and ManU were literally chasing shadows for large portions of the game.
Post by: kicker on March 19, 2010, 08:59:21 AM

Messi is in the fortunate situation of palying for a team whose style really complements him and brings out his best.
The boy is genius, no doubt, but he cyah shine CRonaldo's shoes. And I don't even like CR9.

Yuh torkin' real sh*t dey hoss... plain and simple

Post by: Marcos on March 19, 2010, 09:34:05 AM
Dred, when someone explains Messi's disappearing act for Argentina, I will rate him.
Post by: kicker on March 19, 2010, 09:52:39 AM
Dred, when someone explains Messi's disappearing act for Argentina, I will rate him.

And what has C.Ronaldo done for Portugal that is sooooo impressive?

Last Copa America Messi tore the opposition to shreds- until Brazil....

Last World Cup, when Messi came on for Arg, he always lifted their attack- he gave a different dimension and different level of unpredictability... It was a mystery why Peckerman preferred to use him (and Tevez) off the bench. 

Reminder: Messi is only 22...He has a fair amount of caps but his senior national career is arguably only just taking off- so far it's always run parallel with his youth team career (an area where he undoubtedly has dominated)

I think they both excel more forclub than for country. 
Post by: FF on March 19, 2010, 09:53:40 AM

Marcos you is a real hater... i taking you in long time!!

We go get along real good! lol  :beermug:
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 19, 2010, 09:56:58 AM

I now telling meh self I surprised to see Marcos typing such garbage.

I went back to review some of the man older posts to see if I was somehow mixing him up with someone else.
Post by: Observer on March 19, 2010, 12:51:58 PM
If anybody say they dont rate Messi or Kaka or CR or Rooney as a footballers.  They don't know football. Punto Finale

Post by: Spursy on March 19, 2010, 01:20:23 PM
A side that was a joy to watch by both the neutral and ardent fans, a side that play the best free flowing football we see in a while, a side that boast the world footballer of the year, a side that win 6 trophies was lucky?

Explain to me how Barca was lucky in the finals against ManU, when they had nearly 70% posession and ManU were literally chasing shadows for large portions of the game.

Man United didn't play to thier potencial it is true Barca played well and had alot of luck, if the reds had scored first it would have been a completely different game against Dunga's Brazil

You are missing my point this same messi guy can't even break threw the middle when playing Brazil, men like Lucio and company keeps him in check.. He can only score from the spot.
Post by: FF on March 19, 2010, 01:27:24 PM

Man United didn't play to thier potencial it is true Barca played well and had alot of luck, if the reds had scored first it would have been a completely different game.

You are missing my point this same messi guy can't even break threw the middle when playing Brazil, men like Lucio and company keeps him in check.. He can only score from the spot.

Hilarious!!  :rotfl:

and on top of that this man talking bout brazil like they is ah fete match side
Post by: Fyzoman on March 19, 2010, 02:05:44 PM

And what has C.Ronaldo done for Portugal that is sooooo impressive?

Last Copa America Messi tore the opposition to shreds- until Brazil....

Last World Cup, when Messi came on for Arg, he always lifted their attack- he gave a different dimension and different level of unpredictability... It was a mystery why Peckerman preferred to use him (and Tevez) off the bench. 
Reminder: Messi is only 22...He has a fair amount of caps but his senior national career is arguably only just taking off- so far it's always run parallel with his youth team career (an area where he undoubtedly has dominated)

I think they both excel more forclub than for country. 

Because Peckerman (just like Dunga) was/is ah damn fool...everytime ah watch Inter (and Zanetti) play dat is confirmed.
Me? I like Messi, Ronaldo, Rooney all ah dem same friggin way!
Post by: Peong on March 19, 2010, 02:32:30 PM
Man United didn't play to thier potencial it is true Barca played well and had alot of luck, if the reds had scored first it would have been a completely different game against Dunga's Brazil

Did somebody dare you to make the most audacious statements u can think up?
That is the only explanation I can think of.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 19, 2010, 03:31:20 PM

(http://www.funnyforumpics.com/forums/I-dont-understand-what-your-saying/1/Understand-Bunny_%28Pancake%29.jpg)
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 19, 2010, 03:48:38 PM
Some people really need to keep a bowl of smelling salts at their desk when they typing up these posts....or better yet.....a bleach and ammonia solution. 
Post by: Marcos on March 20, 2010, 11:36:04 AM

I now telling meh self I surprised to see Marcos typing such garbage.

I went back to review some of the man older posts to see if I was somehow mixing him up with someone else.

Nah man. I eh no hater. And i like Messi as a player. I just think that he's a nice player who gets overrated because of the quality of his team.
CRonaldo was far more impactful in the last WC than Messi. Y'all rating him on a couple of sub performances? How far did his team reach again?
Post by: kicker on March 20, 2010, 11:48:11 AM

Nah man. I eh no hater. And i like Messi as a player. I just think that he's a nice player who gets overrated because of the quality of his team.
CRonaldo was far more impactful in the last WC than Messi. Y'all rating him on a couple of sub performances? How far did his team reach again?

Nobody was dissing C.Ronaldo- As a matter of fact, he wasn't even the topic of discussion...This thread was about Rooney v. Messi...Is you push yuh mouth in de talk and ambush it with talk about C. Ronaldo ... Doh try dat  ;D

That said- Messi wasn't as central to Argentina's plans last W.C. as C. Ronaldo was to Portugal's- We could talk forever about why that was so.  Portugal went one round further than Argentina- so not a a huge disparity there...

I don't think Messi relies on Barca to make him look good- by his style of play alone you could tell that he can create stuff individually.  Of course a good team will prop up your game....It's not like C. Ronaldo plays for Wolves....  You can't tell me that Messi hasn't had great solo performances...Remember his Maradona-esque goal against Getafe?  That's just one example.  I'd say on any given day either he or C. Ronaldo could look like the truth...and it all comes down to the style to which you relate more....
Post by: Marcos on March 20, 2010, 05:35:27 PM
Ah hear yuh.

I just cyah stand it when people go overboard about somebody and I don't think it's truly warranted.
Same thing happened to Kaka a few (one?) years ago. Now ppl going the other way and saying he is shite.
Post by: Peong on March 21, 2010, 08:17:45 AM
A couple years ago Kaka was the best, now he's not.
Nobody stays on top forever.
By your logic if C Ronaldo start playin shit in the next couple years then all the praise he earns now will be unwarranted.
That's not true.

And Messi doh need 5 yards to break away from players.
He will do it with 3 players around him.
C. Ronaldo cah do dat :)

Post by: Bitter on March 21, 2010, 03:34:29 PM
Messi just add another 2 Make that 3 to his account. 2nd Last 2 classics. Strength, Speed, Skill.
Post by: Blue on March 21, 2010, 03:40:49 PM
Messi just add another 2 Make that 3 to his account. 2nd Last 2 classics. Strength, Speed, Skill.

He has scored Barcelona's last 9 goals in La Liga.  :o
Post by: Bitter on March 21, 2010, 03:43:45 PM

He has scored Barcelona's last 9 goals in La Liga.  :o

Ibrahimovic seeing trouble though.
I feel he having flashbacks of Shaka in Dortmund...  ;D
Post by: Bitter on March 21, 2010, 03:49:07 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 21, 2010, 03:54:56 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

De talk shoulda never even start!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 21, 2010, 03:56:52 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

lol vs a relegation bound Zaragoza team...

give me a break
Post by: soccerman on March 21, 2010, 03:58:53 PM

(http://www.funnyforumpics.com/forums/I-dont-understand-what-your-saying/1/Understand-Bunny_%28Pancake%29.jpg)

I and all lost wid da post ???
Post by: sinned on March 21, 2010, 03:59:21 PM
A couple years ago Kaka was the best, now he's not.
Nobody stays on top forever.
By your logic if C Ronaldo start playin shit in the next couple years then all the praise he earns now will be unwarranted.
That's not true.

Exactly. By that logic, Ronaldinho's praise was unwarranted too?

Point is - Ronaldinho was great then, Kaka was the best at a certain point in time and then CR.

Right now however, the best in the world is undoubtedly Messi and the fact that he's only 22 could lead one to believe that his best days are yet to come (as crazy as that sounds).

BTW big props to Rooney this season - to be even considered in a debate with Messi at the moment is a big deal - but Messi's still the best.
Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 04:02:49 PM

I and all lost wid da post ???

Post by: dinho on March 21, 2010, 04:05:38 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

who did rooney score his hat-tricks against?
Post by: sinned on March 21, 2010, 04:06:07 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

ok we'll not count the 3 rooney scored against portsmouth too then.

8 goals in 1 week. yet the haters hate
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 21, 2010, 04:14:26 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United...he scored vs Villa in the Final..so 5 out of the 6) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea on April 3rd... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope..maybe he will on April 10th but who knows... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL
Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 04:16:20 PM
good point.
Post by: sinned on March 21, 2010, 04:21:28 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL

If I recall last year CL final...

I like how Valencia gets a LOL yet spurs and city are "massive" teams. not to mention the hot mess that is liverpool this season.
Post by: dinho on March 21, 2010, 04:23:29 PM
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL

If I recall last year CL final...

I like how Valencia gets a LOL yet spurs and city are "massive" teams. not to mention the hot mess that is liverpool this season.

the man asked which massive team he scored against.. How Manchester United reach in that? lol
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 21, 2010, 04:24:35 PM
good point.

I not looking to chop the man down because he is absolute Class but its a set of shit teams he scoring against...yea Wazza score a hat trick vs Pompey and 4 against Hull but I calling his major goals

4 against AC Milan in 2 games
2 against Arsenal in 2 games
1 against Liverpool today
1 against Spurs in 1 game
1 against Villa in the Carling Cup Final
2 against Manchester City ..one in the prem one in the Carling Cup semis

*and 3 against Fulham and Birmingham who are in the top 10...

Rooney has scored vs everyone in the top 10 except Chelsea

Has "King Leo" done that in La Liga?(I really dont know cuz I dont watch Barca).... And Rooney's done that in the EPL with the meanest defenders and little space to work with...ask the little fragile Messi to do that in EPL.
Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 04:31:44 PM
yeh La liga is shit  :devil: thats the bottom line , i would love to see him in England week in week out or yeh he cah defend either
Post by: sinned on March 21, 2010, 04:33:44 PM
good point.

I not looking to chop the man down because he is absolute Class but its a set of shit teams he scoring against...yea Wazza score a hat trick vs Pompey and 4 against Hull but I calling his major goals

Has "King Leo" done that in La Liga?(I really dont know cuz I dont watch Barca).... And Rooney's done that in the EPL with the meanest defenders and little space to work with...ask the little fragile Messi to do that in EPL.

This is just a EPL vs La Liga argument again and is obvious you biased because you said you don't watch Barca.

Is a wonder Barca and the fragile little Messi won the champions league last year especially against those mean EPL defenders - what a cinderella story
Post by: dinho on March 21, 2010, 04:34:29 PM
:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

Shit spewing out here on a Sunday afternoon.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 21, 2010, 04:37:53 PM
good point.

This is just a EPL vs La Liga argument again and is obvious you biased because you said you don't watch Barca.

Is a wonder Barca and the fragile little Messi won the champions league last year especially against those mean EPL defenders - what a cinderella story

No i'm just pointing out that Rooney's scored vs the top 10 teams in his League...it was for the thread..read the thread title

And I never fought down that Barca didnt deserve the Cup last season..we were poor on the day..tactics were shit and we missed Fletcher... we had no ball winners and we were careless and sloppy...We could have buried them in the first 10 minutes..instead Eto'o scored against the run of play and we couldnt get over it and they grew in confidence

We will set it right this year if we meet again..you could believe that

Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 04:39:03 PM
good point.

well they should not have been in the final if Chelsea didn't get rob , but let me leave that there that is another story
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 21, 2010, 04:39:30 PM
:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

Shit spewing out here on a Sunday afternoon.

just like at Ewood Park...

go and watch El Hadji buss yuh net you Chelsea/Barca/Whoeverelse wagon man...
Post by: D.H.W on March 21, 2010, 04:42:18 PM
hahahahahahahahahaha. lord   :D
Post by: dinho on March 21, 2010, 05:01:30 PM
highlights..

http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ
Post by: Blue on March 21, 2010, 05:09:37 PM
highlights..

http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ

For the second goal...his balance is superhuman. Look how he just skip past dat first challenge as if de fella was a non-issue...didnt even break stride.
Post by: Observer on March 21, 2010, 05:43:02 PM
good point.

Not a ligit argument because both players are playing in different leagues. One may argue that Henry scored 41 goals one season in the EPL and cannot do the same in La Liga. Torres best season in the La Liga was 19 goals etc etc. One may also say when the two teams met in the CL final, Messi did his thing and was the Victor. All rather BS arguments IMHO, they are both great players in form at the moment.
Post by: xixgon on March 21, 2010, 05:53:08 PM
We go see who does more in the World Cup.

As good as Messi is he isn't nearly effective when away from Barca's system with Argentina.

Rooney is the best player on England - and they rely on him almost as much as Utd does.

On both their days, Messi is probably the most unplayable at the moment in club football though.

Let's jus say SAF and Guardiola sayin prayers that them men stay fit - else da cud be d season for both teams yes.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 21, 2010, 06:45:20 PM
messi 2nd goal today was a beauty.
Post by: Marcos on March 21, 2010, 07:48:21 PM
Of course d man go score a hat trick. Steups. i feel he's real check this site
Post by: sinned on March 21, 2010, 09:07:01 PM
Of course d man go score a hat trick. Steups. i feel he's real check this site
messi mustbe "pulling a Richard Thompson"   :)
Post by: Peong on March 21, 2010, 11:03:18 PM
Rooney miss a penalty today, de shit-snake.
Post by: judge101 on March 22, 2010, 04:16:21 AM
not to take any thing away from ronnie but he is just simply in form and form passes as oppossed to messi which is pure class and class is permanent.

to me ronnie cant evan be compared with Messi, if i will give ronnie 1 thing is he has a fighting spirit and will run hard full 90+  evan if his side 5 down but he's not a player that can give a moment of brilliance to entertain or to create a goal scoring chance like messi or evan Cr.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oWvfk8r5UlM
watch how much ppl messi actually passes compared to CR and ppl does want to rate him higher than messi all he doing is dancing
Post by: Zeppo on March 22, 2010, 05:36:45 AM
For the second goal...his balance is superhuman. Look how he just skip past dat first challenge as if de fella was a non-issue...didnt even break stride.

And to win the ball and fight off the defender he sure showed a lot of strength. Especially for a little guy.
Post by: jai john on March 22, 2010, 08:19:12 AM
Did anyone see the Messi show yesterday ? For all that was written I still dont think they did Messi's performance justice. I am now in a doubt as to the best player I have ever seen play football.

Yesterday the spanish commentators were calling for Leo Maradona ! ...and all this from a man on painkillers for a tootache !!

For me Maradona could do anything with a ball and against any opponent So I had him as the best I had seen ..now Messi is forcing me to think again ....for all the previous discussion I have read on this thread folks are bringing the argument down to who scores the most goals ???

Also the impact of Messi on the game of football goes far beyond the argument about which is beter EPL or La Liga.

A world cup without Messi would certainly be tarnished just as in the era of Pele and Maradona. These players have to be there for you to claim that football is the greatest game on earth. The skill and daring of Leo Messi is what draws fans to the game...this is no safe player ...this is a cunning, skillful destroyer whose reputation makes you wary but who you are powerless to stop.

Many decry his size saying that he would not stand up to tough defenders but the Sttutgart defender who boasted that they were not afraid of Messi must have wondered what hit them !
Imagine you study this player , his every move, his every step , his positioning , yet you cant seem to be able to stop him ???

Messi is the michael Jordan of football if you are a basketball fan and the USAIN BOLT , if athletics is your beef.
His performance yesterday showed how much superior he is even to his own Barcelona team mates who are themselves world beaters. There is no doubt in the coach's mind or even in the mind of the Barcelona who rules the roost. The look of disbelief in the face of Keita and others after Mess's second goal yesterday told the tale ...how does he do that ???

Messi could have scored 7 yesterday but being a team player he tried desperately to get Ibra on the scoresheet...he pased off to Ibra when it was much easier to score on many ocassions. It was as if he did not need to score ...He could do that anytime ...goals are the battle the bigger picture is the war . That is the reason I find that discussing who scores more goals between Messi and anybody is just to major in minors.

The penalty that Messi allowed Ibra to take showed how much of a team player he is ....Christiano would not have given that up so easily and with Messi's talent and his mind set would have scored 50 goals already.
Messi smiled as Ibra moved to take the kick calmly stepping aside when he had done everything to get that goal.
I would have done the same thing as the Zaragoza defender ...for if he had not fouled Messi then and there I am afraid the game of football would have had to undergo a serious revision to ensure that no player ever makes it look that easy again.

It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis ! As a spectator in front of my TV I could not sit down.  I felt like I was seeing something special. After so many years of watching football surely nothing could surprise anymore ...but the neighbours must have been wondering if I was going mad...
Sorry for ranting folks but I dont believe Messi and anyone is in the same class right now ....he does not have to prove himself as the world's best he has already been aclaimed as such ...from youth level to seniors ..he has demonstrated his class ..he is now at the level of making others great ....

Leo messi was born to play football ...he could not adapt to the game in such a manner if he wasn't. He  is akin to mohammed Ali , Tiger woods and Michael jordan. To all those who challenge thesse players I say one thing ...Just tell them it cannot be done ! ..as Mesi's header in the champions league final or that Lara could not break the World record twice !
Post by: judge101 on March 22, 2010, 11:22:00 AM
Did anyone see the Messi show yesterday ? For all that was written I still dont think they did Messi's performance justice. I am now in a doubt as to the best player I have ever seen play football.

Yesterday the spanish commentators were calling for Leo Maradona ! ...and all this from a man on painkillers for a tootache !!

For me Maradona could do anything with a ball and against any opponent So I had him as the best I had seen ..now Messi is forcing me to think again ....for all the previous discussion I have read on this thread folks are bringing the argument down to who scores the most goals ???

Also the impact of Messi on the game of football goes far beyond the argument about which is beter EPL or La Liga.

A world cup without Messi would certainly be tarnished just as in the era of Pele and Maradona. These players have to be there for you to claim that football is the greatest game on earth. The skill and daring of Leo Messi is what draws fans to the game...this is no safe player ...this is a cunning, skillful destroyer whose reputation makes you wary but who you are powerless to stop.

Many decry his size saying that he would not stand up to tough defenders but the Sttutgart defender who boasted that they were not afraid of Messi must have wondered what hit them !
Imagine you study this player , his every move, his every step , his positioning , yet you cant seem to be able to stop him ???

Messi is the michael Jordan of football if you are a basketball fan and the USAIN BOLT , if athletics is your beef.
His performance yesterday showed how much superior he is even to his own Barcelona team mates who are themselves world beaters. There is no doubt in the coach's mind or even in the mind of the Barcelona who rules the roost. The look of disbelief in the face of Keita and others after Mess's second goal yesterday told the tale ...how does he do that ???

Messi could have scored 7 yesterday but being a team player he tried desperately to get Ibra on the scoresheet...he pased off to Ibra when it was much easier to score on many ocassions. It was as if he did not need to score ...He could do that anytime ...goals are the battle the bigger picture is the war . That is the reason I find that discussing who scores more goals between Messi and anybody is just to major in minors.

The penalty that Messi allowed Ibra to take showed how much of a team player he is ....Christiano would not have given that up so easily and with Messi's talent and his mind set would have scored 50 goals already.
Messi smiled as Ibra moved to take the kick calmly stepping aside when he had done everything to get that goal.
I would have done the same thing as the Zaragoza defender ...for if he had not fouled Messi then and there I am afraid the game of football would have had to undergo a serious revision to ensure that no player ever makes it look that easy again.

It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis ! As a spectator in front of my TV I could not sit down.  I felt like I was seeing something special. After so many years of watching football surely nothing could surprise anymore ...but the neighbours must have been wondering if I was going mad...
Sorry for ranting folks but I dont believe Messi and anyone is in the same class right now ....he does not have to prove himself as the world's best he has already been aclaimed as such ...from youth level to seniors ..he has demonstrated his class ..he is now at the level of making others great ....

Leo messi was born to play football ...he could not adapt to the game in such a manner if he wasn't. He  is akin to mohammed Ali , Tiger woods and Michael jordan. To all those who challenge thesse players I say one thing ...Just tell them it cannot be done ! ..as Mesi's header in the champions league final or that Lara could not break the World record twice !

beatifully spoken  :'( :'( :'( :'( except 4 d bible better words have neva been put together :applause: :applause:
Post by: Peong on March 22, 2010, 12:06:11 PM
jai john yuh sound like you were moved spiritually, nice speech yuh give dey.

I like this part, this is how his play looks to me too.
It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis !

Over and over again he blows past 2-3 players in a single run.
Nobody else does that today.
Post by: kicker on March 22, 2010, 02:18:10 PM
Good post Jai. 

Messi is it right now... Tomorrow it might be someone else, but Messi is it right now...

Different players along the way have had their time (long or brief) to sit at the top and be the undisputed best:

Maradona
Romario
Ronaldo
Rivaldo
Figo
Zidane
Ronaldinho
C. Ronaldo

....Now it's Messi. 
Post by: Marcos on March 22, 2010, 02:21:06 PM
Not very often a man make me hush my mouth. But I hadda hush my mouth on the subject.
Post by: sammy on March 22, 2010, 02:23:02 PM

hmmmm he may be more like maradonna than we think  ::)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 22, 2010, 03:42:44 PM
Good post Jai. 

Messi is it right now... Tomorrow it might be someone else, but Messi is it right now...

Different players along the way have had their time (long or brief) to sit at the top and be the undisputed best:

Maradona
Romario
Ronaldo
Rivaldo
Figo
Zidane
Ronaldinho
C. Ronaldo

....Now it's Messi. 

Yuh forgetting man like:

George Best
Michael Owen
Wayne Rooney
Emile Heskey
Steven Gerrard
Peter Crouch
Post by: STEUPS!! on March 22, 2010, 04:41:36 PM
Good post Jai. 

Maradona
Romario
Ronaldo
Rivaldo
Figo
Zidane
Ronaldinho
C. Ronaldo

....Now it's Messi. 

Yuh forgetting man like:

George Best
Michael Owen
Wayne Rooney
Emile Heskey
Steven Gerrard
Peter Crouch 

Seriously  ???
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 22, 2010, 04:49:16 PM

Jai John, yuh preach dey..............Farrakhan and all woulda cry speechless!!

I can appreciate that different people like different things about different players and that is why I have to let those that love the razzle-dazzle, shiny-penny football that cronaldo does play, love that.  Everything you describe about Messi, is why I think there is, and won't be for quite some time, no one better.  And this is not just about someone "being on top" for a moment, however, long or short.  This is about recognizing those once-in-a-lifetime/generation types of players that transcends some annual, subjective award.  Even when cronaldo was given the title of "world's best player" it was more a reflection of his form than his class and the title wasn't as "indisputable" as some may like to say it was.  For all that rooney is doing and all the goals he's scoring and all that cronaldo does: the same step over move, over and over again, the diving, the strong man pose to take a free kick (give me a f**king break!) and all the talent he has: you will NEVER see either of them doing what Messi does, on a regular:

Over and over again he blows past 2-3 players in a single run.
Nobody else does that today.

or scoring the kinds of goals that Messi scores(.....on a regular:)

Some may say that rooney has carried manu on his back this season, and to some extent, by living up to his promise of filling cronaldo's goal-scoring void, he has. But rooney can't do most of what he does without lots of good service from his teammates.  One of the great things that separates Messi from rooney is that Messi doesn't need service.  He can create his own chances. (from as far back as his own half!)

Post by: onlikecorn on March 22, 2010, 06:28:16 PM
i think messi is de man to watch at the moment . . according to my pardnah . . doh know how yuh supposed to mark somebody who could teleport. . ahahah .. .  but under all seriousness. . the man just good. . . i am happy to be living in an era to have seen greats like zidane and michael jordan and usain and lara  .. and now messi. . .. . .
Post by: Preacher on March 22, 2010, 09:12:32 PM
Good post Jai. 

Maradona
Romario
Ronaldo
Rivaldo
Figo
Zidane
Ronaldinho
C. Ronaldo

....Now it's Messi. 

Yuh forgetting man like:

George Best
Michael Owen
Wayne Rooney
Emile Heskey
Steven Gerrard
Peter Crouch 

Seriously  ???

Post by: judge101 on March 22, 2010, 09:40:16 PM
i think messi is de man to watch at the moment . . according to my pardnah . . doh know how yuh supposed to mark somebody who could teleport. . ahahah .. .  but under all seriousness. . the man just good. . . i am happy to be living in an era to have seen greats like zidane and michael jordan and usain and lara  .. and now messi. . .. . .

doh 4get tiger, federer, phelps,( josh  ;D)
Title: Dear Diego Maradonna......
Post by: Mock de Dread on March 24, 2010, 08:12:31 PM
Dear Diego

The kid messi has loads of talent, many think he is just as good as you were and even better and he just needs a world cup to have his name forever etched in history as the greatest.

You have one of the most potent strike force on the planet, including Messi, Carlos Tevez, Sergio Aguero, Gonzalo Higuain , Diego Milito and the inform Lucas Barrios from Borussia Dortmund, contributing more than 120 goals in their respective league plays and the season is not yet done, however your midfield is dead!!! and it’s a shame you cant get past your personal differences to include one of the masters of the game  Juan Román Riquelme. We seem to have to live with that decision, so here’s a piece of advice

Try Messi in a center midfield position, you need not worry about the strikers they are more than capable but I think messi has enough quality and creativity to exploit any team from the center of the park and open the spaces for the strikers, partner messi in midfield with holding and defensive mids. I guarantee you he has the passing and creative ability to make and exploit space for the strikers and even go on to contribute goals with some of his mazing runs.

They compare him to you, and think what position did you play ? I think its worth a shot because you need a prayer otherwise.

Dear Dunga

Don’t get me started!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: Dear Diego Maradonna......
Post by: kicker on March 24, 2010, 08:40:45 PM
hahaha good post
Post by: Big Magician on March 24, 2010, 09:24:00 PM
Dear Don Leo

you shoulda pick...........
Post by: che on March 24, 2010, 10:06:50 PM
Dear Don Leo

you shoulda pick...........

.....de little magician coach.
Post by: Andre DosSantos on March 24, 2010, 10:46:03 PM
I want to read the rough sketch for dunga  por favor tambien :beermug:
Post by: Peong on March 25, 2010, 07:14:23 AM

Small Mag bless us with an update on de count nah :)
Post by: Zeppo on March 30, 2010, 10:17:32 AM
Is Messi the greatest ever?

The debate about Lionel Messi, in Spain and around the world, seems to have moved on in recent weeks, and the Barcelona player has gone from being a great to 'the greatest'.

Messi won every player of the year award in 2009, including Fifa's own honour, and at the start of this year looked a good long range bet to do so again, unless Wayne Rooney or Cristiano Ronaldo had hugely spectacular World Cup campaigns.

However, after his widely publicised displays just over a week ago against Stuttgart and Valencia - although his more recent performances in La Liga against Osasuna and Mallorca were a little more modest by his own high standards - there have been headlines and discussion over whether he is actually the best player of all time.

(continue) (http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/philminshull/2010/03/is_messi_the_greatest_ever.html)
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 01:31:50 PM
!!!!!
Post by: elan on April 06, 2010, 01:36:55 PM
Now going to dig this up.
Post by: dinho on April 06, 2010, 02:19:46 PM
Everyone who said Messi was not good... Just leave the f***king room now!
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 02:34:12 PM
He does only look good because he gets good passes lol
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 02:41:18 PM

leaves room, closes door behind them ....
Post by: Jah Gol on April 06, 2010, 02:42:20 PM
I waiting to see somebody do "The Fall" spoof with that line.
Post by: Big Magician on April 06, 2010, 02:44:47 PM
brilliant.. but ah rather when they call him Messi
Post by: sinned on April 06, 2010, 03:10:52 PM
why didn't messi save these goals for when he playing a "massive" side?
Post by: jai john on April 06, 2010, 03:35:34 PM
Palos ...yuh eatin yuh words just so or wid ah little ketchup "?  Is ok yuh know ...You could comment on Messi now ... :devil:
your belly mus be big like mine after all dem words yuh does have to eat...Look at Tevez now .... you could still change your mind on Ar :beermug:gentina yuh know

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 06, 2010, 03:49:58 PM

(http://thecareersgroupreach.files.wordpress.com/2009/12/foot_in_mouth.jpg)
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 04:12:51 PM

Somebody had to come talk some shit! Did he not score in the CL final last year against ManU  ???
Post by: ttcom on April 06, 2010, 04:15:53 PM
MESSI  :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:
Post by: dinho on April 06, 2010, 04:28:05 PM

Somebody had to come talk some shit! Did he not score in the CL final last year against ManU  ???

He said massive side though.
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 04:47:29 PM

Oh ok I get it. next game he go score an own goal  :-\
Post by: sinned on April 06, 2010, 05:17:29 PM

Oh ok I get it. next game he go score an own goal  :-\

Sarcasm meter broken today?

That was something I drop for somebody who say Messi doh score against big side
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 06, 2010, 06:17:38 PM
Well...if men feel he doh score against "big side."  I guess he does make up fuh it by scoring 3 and 4 goals against small side.  :devil:
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 07:59:06 PM
(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/98288510.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F558D36BDFA49F8F85AE8E568AF19EBF5E91F19BDA069F10DC)
(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/98288436.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F57542F66DA2EF4565AE8E568AF19EBF5EBE80C486EFA36850)
(http://cache4.asset-cache.net/xc/98288423.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5EC31C5D1F82D4258AE8E568AF19EBF5EC22CBDB67424513D)
(http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/98289374.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5DEA83AF9DA991E5C0549B6B7F3B10BC25C699891BF535D39)
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 06, 2010, 09:10:26 PM
(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/98288510.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F558D36BDFA49F8F85AE8E568AF19EBF5E91F19BDA069F10DC)
(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/98288436.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F57542F66DA2EF4565AE8E568AF19EBF5EBE80C486EFA36850)
(http://cache4.asset-cache.net/xc/98288423.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5EC31C5D1F82D4258AE8E568AF19EBF5EC22CBDB67424513D)
(http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/98289374.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF878921A343B2C87A49D8F5DEA83AF9DA991E5C0549B6B7F3B10BC25C699891BF535D39)

Clichy nearly show up in as many pictures as Messi.  He musta had a good game, too!  :devil:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 06, 2010, 09:23:55 PM
this site real funny...probably one of the few forums where men will say messi, cronaldo, kaka, ronney, ronaldnho, etc ain't all that....after today i would rate messi as the best player in the world right now with ronaldo a close second...true he hasn't delivered much for argentina but south africa could be venue where he changes that, but i hope not since i am a brazil fan
Post by: Zeppo on April 07, 2010, 03:04:44 AM
'Phenomenal' Messi receives universal acclaim

Barcelona's Argentinian superstar Lionel Messi's extraordinary one man demolition of English side Arsenal in their Champions League quarter-final second leg here on Tuesday earned the player known as 'The Flea' plaudits from friend and foe alike.

The 22-year-old's first ever four goal haul - he had already accrued three hat-tricks in 2010 - in the 4-1 defeat of Arsenal (6-3 on aggregate) gave the Champions League holders a date with Italian champions Inter Milan in the semi-finals.

His performance left all and sundry wide eyed with admiration.

(continue) (http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/news?slug=afp-fbleurc1espengbarcelonaarsenalmessi)
Post by: onlikecorn on April 07, 2010, 05:01:25 AM
yeah . . i dont think it really have a contest . . . . rooney cannot teleport and do all this fairy magic.. .and just embarrass a whole team so. . . .
Post by: Zeppo on April 07, 2010, 08:35:27 AM
(http://www.timesonline.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00705/2_messi_585_705399a.jpg)

Lionel Messi will stand alongside Pele and Maradona in pantheon of greats

There was never any doubt that Lionel Messi had the technique, temperament and desire to become an all-time great; the only reservation concerned his body, or what there is of it.

If he had been born at the time of Pele or Diego Maradona, his waif’s physique would have stood no chance of survival against assassins such as the Portugal posse in the 1966 World Cup or Andoni Goicoechea, the Butcher of Bilbao, whose brand of ankle-crushing tackle from behind was outlawed in the early 1990s while Messi, aged five, was obtaining his first experience of organised football with a team coached by his father in Rosario, Argentina.

Fifa did its job for the game: a little late for Maradona but just in time for Messi to develop, with Barcelona coaching him and paying for his treatment for a growth-hormone deficiency, into the magical performer to whom we thrilled last night.

(continue) (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/article7090303.ece)
Post by: Zeppo on April 07, 2010, 08:41:36 AM
That's The End Of That Argument, Then...

Back in February when Wayne Rooney had scored twice in Milan, the Daily Mail 'experts' all created their list of the best players in the world. Toppermost of the poppermost in most lists was Englishman Wayne Rooney - hardly surprising among those who work for a newspaper that blames all Britain's ills on asylum seekers, single parents and homosexuals.

Mind you, this was the newspaper that used the typically ignorant headline 'The best players of the world (and Xavi): Ronaldo crowned king of football' only last year. Yes, the Xavi who had been the heartbeat of a Spain side recently crowned champions of Europe. Yes, possibly the best central midfielder in the world.

We would like to see those same 'experts' make their lists again as Lionel Messi produces the kind of 'ridiculous' (Thierry Henry's word of choice) form that cannot simply be ignored on the grounds that he's suspiciously small, foreign-looking and for some inexplicable reason shows no interest in playing in glorious Blighty. 

(continue) (http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,13320_6079214,00.html)
Post by: Peong on April 07, 2010, 09:24:43 AM
Yeh the only argument now is about how good Messi really is, which is something determined by club AND international performances.
As it is now, Messi could have a horrible WC and still get World Player of the Year.
A good world cup would launch him into definite "best player ever" contention.

Messi really shat on his detractors in the last few weeks lol.
Shotta12 I talkin about you.
Post by: Observer on April 07, 2010, 11:16:09 AM
When Malcolm Nash was asked about his thoughts on Garfield Sobers six, sixes. He replied " At least my name is in the history record books as well". I could only think that the Arsenal players will think they same way. If you are going to get run over by a car, it may as well be a Ferrari  ;D
Post by: jai john on April 07, 2010, 01:18:20 PM
I just love to see these english reporters eat crow ...how to stop Messi ! Why arsenal will beat Barcelona ... Beckham and Giggs the best wingers in the world ... Rooney best young player in the world ..(he did not win it then)...Rooney best player in the world( he sure eh winning it now ) ..  They never stop.

Anyone remembers last year ? Wasn't Christiano the world's best when he was in England ? you eh hearing peep from them now that he chose Real Madrid over Manchester United. He gone from Hero to zero !

Good thing I learnt my lesson long time ...ever since they attempted to paint Maradona as a fake ..booing him over an entire exhibition game in England after '86 and after they had to relent an pay him his fee after tickets weren't selling fast enough without him.

England has been trying to portray themselves as a big sawatee in football for ages. Their WC victory in '66 remains their only title at all levels and in all competitions...and that was not without controversy.

I look again to next year when someone playing in the premier league in england will be the best in the world but unless they buy Messi it will be for me ..same ole ..same ole ting.

Thanks England for star soccer and for introducing the game to the rest of the world ..but allyuh have lots to learn . I appreciate the effort, suttle though it is, at bringing in foreign players, coaches and even owners , but the horse may have already  bolted.

Over the years they have demonstrated that they knew little about real talent ...not finding time for  Glen Hoddle and Chris Waddle yet rating up Gascoigne and Joe Cole as world beaters.

The country which thought itself above any world Cup competition arranged by " lesser countries " in the early versions of the WC may have, because of its own ego, denied itself the opportunity to put some english names in the history books . They have less chance now of achieving that.

I guess this might explain why they now write as they do ..still believing  their players are better than what the rest the word as to offer.

Sad ..real sad.

Post by: Blue on April 07, 2010, 02:14:26 PM
I just love to see these english reporters eat crow ...how to stop Messi ! Why arsenal will beat Barcelona ... Beckham and Giggs the best wingers in the world ... Rooney best young player in the world ..(he did not win it then)...Rooney best player in the world( he sure eh winning it now ) ..  They never stop.

Anyone remembers last year ? Wasn't Christiano the world's best when he was in England ? you eh hearing peep from them now that he chose Real Madrid over Manchester United. He gone from Hero to zero !

Good thing I learnt my lesson long time ...ever since they attempted to paint Maradona as a fake ..booing him over an entire exhibition game in England after '86 and after they had to relent an pay him his fee after tickets weren't selling fast enough without him.

England has been trying to portray themselves as a big sawatee in football for ages. Their WC victory in '66 remains their only title at all levels and in all competitions...and that was not without controversy.

I look again to next year when someone playing in the premier league in england will be the best in the world but unless they buy Messi it will be for me ..same ole ..same ole ting.

Thanks England for star soccer and for introducing the game to the rest of the world ..but allyuh have lots to learn . I appreciate the effort, suttle though it is, at bringing in foreign players, coaches and even owners , but the horse may have already  bolted.

Over the years they have demonstrated that they knew little about real talent ...not finding time for  Glen Hoddle and Chris Waddle yet rating up Gascoigne and Joe Cole as world beaters.

The country which thought itself above any world Cup competition arranged by " lesser countries " in the early versions of the WC may have, because of its own ego, denied itself the opportunity to put some english names in the history books . They have less chance now of achieving that.

I guess this might explain why they now write as they do ..still believing  their players are better than what the rest the word as to offer.

Sad ..real sad.

Nice story, but no basis in reality. England recognises that Messi is currently the best player in the world. The only "Rooney is the best" hype I've heard recently is on this message board.

There was no criticism of Arsenal in the English press today....only Messi superlatives.
Post by: kicker on April 07, 2010, 03:17:08 PM

Nice story, but no basis in reality. England recognises that Messi is currently the best player in the world. The only "Rooney is the best" hype I've heard recently is on this message board

There was no criticism of Arsenal in the English press today....only Messi superlatives.

Not true- Rooney's profile being raised to "best in the World" discussion is NOT limited or unique to this message board.

And I wouldn't discredit the impact that Messi's performance yesterday had on people's (in the UK) current perception of him...I think this is the first time that the English press really went crazy over Messi on that level, and the press has a big influence on what the general public think....

Jai being a bit dramatic -surprise surprise...but Rooney v Messi (before last night) was a way bigger debate than on this board...doh try that.

Post by: Observer on April 07, 2010, 03:23:09 PM

Sad ..real sad.

Honestly Jai John what do you expect from the British press? They selling their product, the more they sell it the more they stay in business. Its the same in Italy, France, Portugal and Spain.
Post by: Blue on April 07, 2010, 03:45:09 PM

Nice story, but no basis in reality. England recognises that Messi is currently the best player in the world. The only "Rooney is the best" hype I've heard recently is on this message board

Not true- Rooney's profile being raised to "best in the World" discussion is NOT limited or unique to this message board.

And I wouldn't discredit the impact that Messi's performance yesterday had on people's (in the UK) current perception of him...I think this is the first time that the English press really went crazy over Messi on that level, and the press has a big influence on what the general public think....

Jai being a bit dramatic -surprise surprise...but Rooney v Messi (before last night) was a way bigger debate than on this board...doh try that.

The debate died down at the same time as it did everywhere else...around the time this thread was started...ever since Messi started banging in 2 and 3 in every game.

Why everyone tries to ram home the point that the English media is biased towards English teams and players is beyond me. Obviously the English press give more coverage to the English Premier League. The only countries that give any coverage to foreign leagues are those without their own league.

This is the first year in six that there will not be an English team in the CL final. That recent success is because the Premiership is now the best league in the world. We have good reason to be arrogant.

La Liga can rightly claim to have two of the strongest teams in the world (including the world's best team)...but the gap between second and third place is ginormous. The league is not as strong as the Premiership. People like to talk about differences in style between England/Spain/Italy etc....how different brands of football suit different types of players... it is not a different brand of football. It is not more technical. It is just not as good.
Post by: Observer on April 07, 2010, 04:04:13 PM

The debate died down at the same time as it did everywhere else...around the time this thread was started...ever since Messi started banging in 2 and 3 in every game.

Why everyone tries to ram home the point that the English media is biased towards English teams and players is beyond me. Obviously the English press give more coverage to the English Premier League. The only countries that give any coverage to foreign leagues are those without their own league.

This is the first year in six that there will not be an English team in the CL final. That recent success is because the Premiership is now the best league in the world. We have good reason to be arrogant.

La Liga can rightly claim to have two of the strongest teams in the world (including the world's best team)...but the gap between second and third place is ginormous. The league is not as strong as the Premiership. People like to talk about differences in style between England/Spain/Italy etc....how different brands of football suit different types of players... it is not a different brand of football. It is not more technical. It is just not as good.

Ryan that argument went out the window once foreign players and managers entered the EPL. The EPL's top teams are very similar to the continent in style. Now Stoke, Aston Villa, Wolves etc that is another story  ;D Just look at ManU before Cantona and then ManU after/ Sir Alex learned a lot of lessons in that time period
Post by: Peong on April 07, 2010, 05:37:12 PM

Yeh the debate "died down" but the ppl who was backin Rooney (except for 1 fella on this board) eh take back their words yet.
Until they say they were wrong then they deserve to and will get real talk!

Before Messi buss 4 on Arsenal, I didn't see any British media say that Messi was better.
Maybe there were some and (I'd like to see them) but it was only yesterday that they made noise about Messi.
Post by: Coop's on April 07, 2010, 06:11:18 PM
You know w talking about the English press but is the Argentina press saying about Messi,can anyone quote an article from there newspapers.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 07, 2010, 07:55:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/likmxKGG-g0&feature=player_embedded
Translate please . These are his comments on the Arsenal game.
Post by: Deeks on April 07, 2010, 08:08:41 PM
You know w talking about the English press but is the Argentina press saying about Messi,can anyone quote an article from there newspapers.

Coops,
            I can't give you any news paper articles, but a lot of Argentinian still waiting on Messi to perform for the national team the same way he performs for Barcelona. They like him and know he is great but they fustrated when he plays for the national. Sound kind of familiar.
Post by: Blue on April 08, 2010, 12:44:34 AM

Yeh the debate "died down" but the ppl who was backin Rooney (except for 1 fella on this board) eh take back their words yet.

Before Messi buss 4 on Arsenal, I didn't see any British media say that Messi was better.
Maybe there were some and (I'd like to see them) but it was only yesterday that they made noise about Messi.

They weren't "wrong"...it is a legitimate debate, and Messi has tilted the scales heavily in his favour in the last few weeks. For all we know, things may change in a month or two, nothing stays the same in football for very long.

As I said earlier, UK press coverage is of our league, not the Spanish or Italian leagues. When Messi gets a hattrick in Spain, he will get some column inches in the british papers, but not the back page. Why? Because this is England, not Spain. If he does it in the Champions League against a British club, he gets the back and front pages.
Post by: trinikev on April 08, 2010, 08:42:11 AM

They weren't "wrong"...it is a legitimate debate, and Messi has tilted the scales heavily in his favour in the last few weeks. For all we know, things may change in a month or two, nothing stays the same in football for very long.

As I said earlier, UK press coverage is of our league, not the Spanish or Italian leagues. When Messi gets a hattrick in Spain, he will get some column inches in the british papers, but not the back page. Why? Because this is England, not Spain. If he does it in the Champions League against a British club, he gets the back and front pages.

This is where u and the english press have a whole different view to the vast majority of the world: you actually think it's a legitimate debate. Based on pure stats, maybe. But anyone who has watched them both play over the past couple years without any bias can see that they are in 2 different classes.

I not taking anything away from Rooney. Boss player, and he's having a great season. But he cannot singlehandedly dismantle a side the way Messi can. He doesnt have Messi's vision. He doesnt have Messi's control. He doesnt create the same sense of anticipation of something incredible everytime he touches the ball. All respect to Rooney, but he cah shine Messi boots.
Post by: Peong on April 08, 2010, 11:38:41 AM
They weren't "wrong"...it is a legitimate debate

Yes they were wrong.
Messi is better than Rooney.
It's not even close.
And not because he score 4 vs Arsenal, but because of what he does every week.
All that Rooney has is a goal tally.
Messi has that, plus amazing skill, control that you never saw before in your life.

The only people who share your view are either English or fans of English football/clubs.
Everybody else, not just the Spanish or Argentinians, knows who is the better player.
Post by: Spursy on April 08, 2010, 03:14:25 PM
After April is over no one will remember who messi is. Mark my word!

And Argentina going nowhere in South Africa they might as well pack lite, unless el principe is there.

Much adu about Messidonna the "catalan"

mom mom i want a inter replica for xmas with number 10 on it so i can represent the finest in the world this season.
Post by: Blue on April 08, 2010, 03:19:32 PM

Yes they were wrong.
It's not even close.
Messi has that, plus amazing skill, control that you never saw before in your life.

The only people who share your view are either English or fans of English football/clubs.
Everybody else, not just the Spanish or Argentinians, knows who is the better player.

For the record, my view is that Messi is better than Rooney and always has been. I dont even think he's the best in the Premiership, Drogba is better. My point was that it is a legitimate debate.
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 08, 2010, 07:43:36 PM

Yes they were wrong.
It's not even close.

For the record, my view is that Messi is better than Rooney and always has been. I dont even think he's the best in the Premiership, Drogba is better. My point was that it is a legitimate debate.

Nah, Ryan, ah hadda disagree wit yuh dey.  It was never debatable.  Yuh eh see even arsene9 and all say de man is de bess in de world and second place is not even close!
Post by: Bitter on April 09, 2010, 07:57:20 AM
I know, is goal.com but still amusing.

Argentina Coach Diego Maradona Claims Barcelona's Lionel Messi Is Better Than Jesus

By Tim Sturtridge
Apr 8, 2010 4:15:00 PM
http://www.goal.com/en/news/60/south-america/2010/04/08/1868768/argentina-coach-diego-maradona-claims-barcelonas-lionel-messi-is-

After watching Lionel Messi’s four-goal performance for Barcelona against Arsenal, his international boss Diego Maradona has compared him with Jesus.

While the world salivated over Messi’s display against the Gunners in the quarter-finals of the Champions League, the highest praise of all has come from the most famous player to have every played for Barcelona.

“We’re all very happy for him and we also know how lucky we are that he is an Argentine. He is playing his football like Jesus at the moment.”

In an interview with the 'Perros de la Calle' program on Radio Metro, the current head coach of the Argentine national team spoke about a conversation he shared with Messi after the recent 1-0 friendly victory over Germany.

“I told him that my playing days have long been over. I told him that it’s up to him to do as much as he can with his career and then at the end we will see who's the best.”

The relationship between Maradona and Messi has long been big news in Argentina with plenty of people thinking that the 1986 World Cup winner is trying hard to ensure that Barcelona’s striker does not replace him in the hearts of his public. Maradona however spoke of a good relationship between the two.

“Leo is on the right path and is he looking forward to achieving more. We talked for two hours in a hotel in Barcelona after the win against Germany and we solved a lot of problems. I told him what happened to me when I started and how every match is different, each one presents it’s own challenges.”

Maradona also said that he has never been tempted to drop Messi from his national team, despite criticism of the pint-sized forward in Argentina.

“We have been told that Messi does not have the passion to play for Argentina but I have seen him at close quarters and I know I can rely on him.”

Ahead of the trip to South Africa, the Argentine head coach reminded listeners to his interview of the criticism the 1986 squad he was part of received before going to Mexico.

“I want to instill a higher belief in my players because I think there is more talent here than we had in 1986. I have great confidence in the boys and people can’t tell me anything different. If I have to take some risks then I will take those risks.”
Post by: Bitter on April 13, 2010, 12:22:29 PM
Pele: Messi must score 1,000 goals first
Soccernet staff
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/770275/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us

World Cup legend Pele claims that all talk of Lionel Messi being the greatest player in the world must stop until the Argentine scores his 1000th career goal.

Pele is regarded as the best striker to have played the game, but is tired of seeing comparisons with his career and told the Daily Mail that Messi must first be viewed as the best player from his own country, ahead of Diego Maradona.

"They are always trying to compare someone to Pele," he said. "I always joke with my Argentine friends that they must first choose who is the best player from Argentina.

"Then, when one of them scores a thousand goals, then we can start talking."

However, the three-time World Cup winner did lavish praise upon the current FIFA World Player of the Year.

"Messi did not win the World Player award [in 2007], but I remember that I said to him, 'you'll be the next'," he said. "It took a little longer, but he eventually won. He's a great player.

"He plays very well for Barcelona, but has failed to show his talent with the Argentina team. Maybe he can at the World Cup. Let's wait and see.''

Does this mean Romario in the running?  :devil:
Post by: sammy on April 13, 2010, 12:39:15 PM
Pele: Messi must score 1,000 goals first
Soccernet staff
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/770275/ce/uk/?cc=5901&ver=us

World Cup legend Pele claims that all talk of Lionel Messi being the greatest player in the world must stop until the Argentine scores his 1000th career goal.

Pele is regarded as the best striker to have played the game, but is tired of seeing comparisons with his career and told the Daily Mail that Messi must first be viewed as the best player from his own country, ahead of Diego Maradona.

"They are always trying to compare someone to Pele," he said. "I always joke with my Argentine friends that they must first choose who is the best player from Argentina.

"Then, when one of them scores a thousand goals, then we can start talking."

However, the three-time World Cup winner did lavish praise upon the current FIFA World Player of the Year.

"Messi did not win the World Player award [in 2007], but I remember that I said to him, 'you'll be the next'," he said. "It took a little longer, but he eventually won. He's a great player.

"He plays very well for Barcelona, but has failed to show his talent with the Argentina team. Maybe he can at the World Cup. Let's wait and see.''

Does this mean Romario in the running?  :devil:

same thing i now thinking. How much goals Pele scored?
Post by: Spursy on April 20, 2010, 04:27:56 PM

In my opinion Barca scraped threw the CL last time and had alot of luck to win esp in the finals they will not win this time. LYON BEATING BARCA FOR SURE.

sHOTTA, you still have Rainbow Cable home by you ah wha, the one das does go directly into the tv?

What sh!t you talking?

I agree Barca was lots of fun to watch today xD
Post by: Spursy on April 20, 2010, 04:28:41 PM
After April is over no one will remember who messi is. Mark my word!

And Argentina going nowhere in South Africa they might as well pack lite, unless el principe is there.

Much adu about Messidonna the "catalan"

mom mom i want a inter replica for xmas with number 10 on it so i can represent the finest in the world this season.

This. might of been too harsh. :(
Post by: Zeppo on April 25, 2010, 03:22:09 PM
Messi's the best, admits Rooney

Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has named Barcelona forward Lionel Messi as the best player in the world.

Rooney has been virtually ruled out for the rest of the season after picking up a groin injury in training last week, but that will be seen as a blip on an otherwise sterling personal 2010 campaign.

Having scored 34 goals so far for United, Rooney is set to be named the Professional Footballer's Association (PFA) player of the year on Sunday.

(continue) (http://g.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup/news/messis-the-best-admits-rooney--fbintl_afp-fblwc2010engespeurc1rooneymessi.html)
Post by: Observer on May 05, 2010, 06:57:51 PM
Nice little story on the man who found Messi. Truly emotional, he passed away in 2008

http://www.partofthegame.tv/#/videos/national-leagues-cups/1236-the-man-who-gave-us-messi/
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on May 05, 2010, 08:00:38 PM
Messi 2009-10 stats:

League: 31 goals, 15 assists; 46 points in 33 games
Europe: 8 goals, 1 assist; 9 points in 12 games
Other*: 5 goals, 0 assists; 5 points in 6 games
Total: 44 goals, 16 assists; 60 points in 51 games

Perspective:

Messi now has 6 more goals in as many games played as last season (44/51 vs. 38/51) with only 2 fewer assists (16 vs. 18). There are 2 games left in the season.

With 31 goals in La Liga, Messi is 2 goals away from surpassing Forlan's 32 goals last season, which would make him the highest scoring Pichichi winner since Ronaldo (34) in 96-97.

Messi is 3 goals away from tying Ronaldo's Barca record of 47 total goals in a season (96-97). He has 2 games to tie or surpass that record.
Post by: Peong on May 06, 2010, 07:49:46 AM
If this was not a WC year then Messi would have already wrapped up the FIFA world player of the year award.
Wuk hard boy Messi, more greatness awaits.