Sports => Football => Topic started by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 29, 2010, 07:37:16 AM

Title: 1/4 1L UEFA CL • Arsenal FC v FC Barcelona • Both-Legs
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 29, 2010, 07:37:16 AM
Wednesday, 31 March 2010, 3:45, Trinidad Time

(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/emirates_stadium1.jpg)
Capacity: 60,355

Arsenal Football Club (often simply known as Arsenal or The Arsenal, or by their nickname The Gunners) are an English professional football club based in Holloway, North London. They play in the Premier League and are one of the most successful clubs in English football, having won 13 First Division and Premier League titles and 10 FA Cups. They hold the record for the longest uninterrupted period in the English top flight and are the only side to have completed a Premier League season unbeaten.

Current Form
(in the Champions League ONLY)

FC Barcelona
Away DDDWD

Arsenal FC
Home WWWWW

Notables:
• In addition to their meetings during the 1999/2000 season, the rival coaches also lined up against each other when Wenger was coach of AS Monaco FC and Guardiola was a player at Barcelona.• Guardiola came out on top with Barcelona beating Monaco both home (2-0) and away (1-0) in the 1993/94 UEFA Champions League group stage. Both clubs subsequently lost to AC Milan, Monaco in the semi-final, Barcelona in the final.
• Guardiola held aloft the European Champion Clubs' Cup on English soil as a player when the Blaugrana beat UC Sampdoria at Wembley in 1992. But he won only once in five attempts away to English opponents during his playing days.
• Henry is Arsenal's record league scorer. He hit 174 goals in 254 Premier League appearances, and 226 in 369 matches overall between 1999 and 2007.
• The French international won two league titles and three FA Cups during his time in north London. His first coach when he joined Monaco as a teenager was Wenger.
• Fΰbregas travelled in the opposite direction as Henry when he left Barcelona's youth ranks to join Arsenal as a 16-year-old in September 2003.
• Thomas Vermaelen was a colleague of Maxwell and Zlatan Ibrahimović at AFC Ajax, playing with the latter from 2001 to 2004 and the former for another two years until 2006.
• William Gallas played in the Chelsea team that eliminated Barcelona from the 2004/05 UEFA Champions League but then lost to them at the same last-16 stage the next season.
• Mikaλl Silvestre appeared as a last-minute substitute for former club Manchester United in their 2008 semi-final win against Barcelona at Old Trafford.
• Andrei Arshavin was in the Russia side beaten 3-0 by Spain in the UEFA EURO 2008 semi-final. Puyol, Xavi Hernαndez and Iniesta were in the Spain lineup along with Fΰbregas.
• Gerard Piquι played once against Arsenal during his four years at Manchester United from 2004 to 2008. That appearance against Arsenal in a 2-1 win at Old Trafford in April 2008 was his last in a United shirt.
• Seydou Keita scored the opening goal for Sevilla FC when they beat Arsenal 3-1 in the UEFA Champions League group stage in November 2007. Daniel Alves also played for Sevilla that night and the future Barcelona pair were involved too in Sevilla's 3-0 reverse at Arsenal two months earlier.
• Carlos Vela is a team-mate of Rafael Mαrquez with Mexico.
• The second leg takes place on 6 April. The victors will take on the winner of the quarter-final between FC Internazionale Milano and PFC CSKA Moskva in the semi-finals.

Some players who played for both teams:
Petit, Overmars, Henry, Gio Van bronkhorst and Sylvinho

Previous meetings:
Barcelona came from behind to defeat Arsenal 2-1 in the 2006 UEFA Champions League final at the Stade de France. Samuel Eto'o (76) and substitute Juliano Belletti (81) scored in quick succession to overturn Sol Campbell's 37th-minute opener for an Arsenal side reduced to ten men by goalkeeper Jens Lehmann's 18th-minute dismissal.

(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/Barcelona-Arsenal2005-06.jpg)
(http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd91/elguerosinfe/article-0-049089C80000044D-694_468x.jpg)
(http://i222.photobucket.com/albums/dd91/elguerosinfe/_41656528_belleti220.jpg)
Title: Re: 1/4 1L UEFA CL • Arsenal FC v FC Barcelona • 31 Mar 2010
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 29, 2010, 10:47:52 AM
actually kick off is 2:45pm TT Time...

Time went back an hour on Sunday 28th...

Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on March 30, 2010, 04:18:07 PM
(http://www.elmundodeportivo.es/gif/20100330/previafcb%20(19).jpg)
(http://www.elmundodeportivo.es/gif/20100330/previafcb%20(1).jpg)
(http://www.elmundodeportivo.es/gif/20100330/previafcb%20(22).jpg)

Mes Que Un Club
Post by: D.H.W on March 30, 2010, 05:10:39 PM
GO ARSENAL !!!
Post by: Cowen on March 30, 2010, 07:44:11 PM
GO ARSENAL !!!

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: sammy on March 30, 2010, 08:50:28 PM
GO ARSENAL !!!
:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Post by: Peong on March 30, 2010, 09:37:20 PM
I feel real sorry for Arsenal, they keep blowin chances to make up points in the EPL, then they get drawn against Barca.
Post by: Bourbon on March 31, 2010, 07:16:12 AM
Wonder if it go be de same ting like last time:
Winner get Henry.
Now Cesc on de line.
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 12:26:25 PM
ARSENAL ARSENAL ARSENAL !!!!!
Post by: fari on March 31, 2010, 12:27:54 PM
i ent bumping meh gum too much. barca is a very good side. i just hoping we pressure them high, create and finish we chances and don't defend like a U-14 side and we go be good. oh and let's hope almunia have de game of his life...why wenger persists with this idiot idk
Post by: dinho on March 31, 2010, 12:33:49 PM
Fabregas starting for Arsenal..

Henry benching for Barca..
Post by: Bourbon on March 31, 2010, 12:35:49 PM
Fabregas starting for Arsenal..

Henry benching for Barca..

Wenger learn some gamesmanship. All de talk was bout how he injured and in doubt.
Post by: fari on March 31, 2010, 12:51:32 PM
damn...barca realll knocking...ibra now miss a sitter...it look ike it go be a longgg night
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 12:52:05 PM
This looking like a cutass in the making...
Post by: Blue on March 31, 2010, 12:54:42 PM
This looking like a cutass in the making...

For real, dis looking like an epic blowout
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:00:18 PM
Almunia might be earn his entire contract in the last 15 minutes
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 01:00:51 PM
If Arsenal eh geh 3 in deh hole dis game sumting rell wrong!  Almunia gettin on today!!
Post by: gothic on March 31, 2010, 01:01:18 PM
i ent bumping meh gum too much. barca is a very good side. i just hoping we pressure them high, create and finish we chances and don't defend like a U-14 side and we go be good. oh and let's hope almunia have de game of his life...why wenger persists with this idiot idk

lol, almunia is having the game of his life, this could be very ugly for Arsenal
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 01:01:45 PM
Fack me! If this game was boxing Referee stop the fight.  Alumina  playing Dr Octopus DAM!
Post by: Blue on March 31, 2010, 01:02:38 PM
how many shots barca had so far? 17 minutes...at least 15 shots right?
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:03:33 PM
Match Stats
Arsenal    Barcelona

0(0)    Shots (on Goal)   9(4)
4    Fouls                   1
0    Corner Kicks   3
0    Offsides           1
24%    Time of Possession   76%
0    Yellow Cards   0
0    Red Cards           0
4    Saves           0
Post by: Cantona007 on March 31, 2010, 01:03:56 PM
For all that, no goals yet...
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:07:01 PM
For all that, no goals yet...

Yeah, Eto'o woulda have a hattrick already
Post by: Blue on March 31, 2010, 01:11:41 PM
men pretending to be injured just to escape  :rotfl:
Post by: Cantona007 on March 31, 2010, 01:14:12 PM
Every time Arse attacks with purpose, it looks like they could score. Barca needs to bury them early or it could be dicey for them
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 01:15:23 PM

ent! My thought exactly
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:15:46 PM

lol. Fellas, it was 0-0 when I had to come off...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 01:29:47 PM
shit call by de ref
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 01:34:11 PM
Excellent first half. How it remains 0-0 is beyond me. Everybody is Barca best players. Nasri Arsenal best player.
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:34:48 PM
The most amazing thing about that half is that the score is still 0-0
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 01:36:15 PM
When you consider Arsenal is one of the EPL's most technical teams. The gap looks pretty glaring in this opening 45min
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 01:38:30 PM
Apology to Alumina! Arsenals best player without doubt. I felt it was a given.
Post by: Andre on March 31, 2010, 01:39:24 PM
comes nah man...alyuh know barca from a different planet.

i cyah stream @ work but looking at the stats, arsenal go be lucky to get away with a draw.

maybe they could pull a 1-0 on a counter or a penalty?

i say they should start treating barca how the smaller prem sides is treat them...studs in the air!
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 01:44:19 PM
studs in d air , i like that game plan for Arsenal
Post by: big dawg on March 31, 2010, 01:50:01 PM
oh well...it didnt take long
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 01:50:18 PM
The cutass has officially begun
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 01:51:19 PM
dat keeper is shit
Post by: Daft Trini on March 31, 2010, 02:02:38 PM
assanal need to subdue Ibra... may be sancho available  :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:03:41 PM
Remember when Ibra couldn't hit the side of a barn and they had to let him take a penalty to get out the slump?
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:04:45 PM
aye hard luck eh arsenal but i jumping ship now. barca raping alyuh
Post by: Andre on March 31, 2010, 02:06:47 PM
sound like is with no vaseline.
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2010, 02:11:11 PM
dat keeper is shit

Shitsnake– noun /shit sneɪk/  Show Spelled [shit sneyk]
1. A person, usually an athlete of poor quality, deficient in talent or abilities
2. Alt. Shithound

See also: Manuel Almunia Rivero (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manuel_Almunia)

(http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/Manuel-Almunia.jpg)
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:11:54 PM
I wondering about Arsene thinking

Gallas go down, he pull Song back and put in Denilson.
Now he take of Sagna who was having a decent game I think and put in Walcott.

I suppose at this point (or at any point in the game), a goal is needed. He just hoping Barca keep throwing away?

and as i say that, Walcott score!
Post by: Daft Trini on March 31, 2010, 02:12:06 PM
Walcott... game on Barca look shook now... :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:24:38 PM
This might be the most fight we see from Arsenal in years. They might be losing, but they not beaten.
This might also be the most cards they collect in years, 5 so far and counting...
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:24:58 PM
Arsenal eh gettin no respect from de ref home at all jedd
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:26:27 PM
Penal!!!! ...and a red card for Puyol!
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:26:32 PM
hahaha red for puyal , penalty for arsenal  :rotfl:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:26:59 PM
Guess he tryin to make up fuh dem asshole calls
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:27:31 PM
Wow!

Who woulda thunk?

2-2!
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:27:42 PM
la liga my ass
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:28:07 PM
Rell sorf red card doh!!
Post by: Daft Trini on March 31, 2010, 02:28:55 PM
Red Card... a bit of the redemption for that lucky win against Chelski last year.. :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:31:17 PM
Rell sorf red card doh!!

De ref see a red jersey and thought it was Man U...  ;D
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2010, 02:32:41 PM

Rell sorf red card doh!!

How yuh story changing so?

btw... Puyol know full well what he was doing, lol
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:35:47 PM
LA LIGA  :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Daft Trini on March 31, 2010, 02:36:41 PM
Messi eh show up... big player is big player doh... :beermug:
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:36:58 PM
Ha to gih Jack he jacket, Well Done Arsenal.  Gunners show some good fight and Walcott made a tremendous difference the moment he came on!
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 31, 2010, 02:38:00 PM
you laughin at la liga and they going back with 2 away goals? allyuh fellas good yes
well done arsenal for the comeback tho! didn't think they had it in them
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 31, 2010, 02:39:52 PM
great response..I think Arsenal let the occasion and Barca's status get to the pre game... but credit to Arsenal for a great response which deserved the draw... and f**k Puyol..all them shit calls the ref was giving Barca

Second leg is going to be a cracker ... shame Cesc isnt going to be there..thanks to the ref and his bullshit
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:40:25 PM

Rell sorf red card doh!!

How yuh story changing so?

btw... Puyol know full well what he was doing, lol

Is a progression so doh make it look so.  Overall he call plenty shit on Arsenal IMO.  A few unnecessary cards.  De red on Puyol was soft but he feel he had to give it if he call a penalty so I understand it.  I ha to watch it again but it wasn't a clear cut penalty in my eyes, daiz why ah say is ah make up call and de red was sorf!!  Eh even kno why ah explainin cause ah sure yuh kno wha ah mean.
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:42:30 PM
you laughin at la liga and they going back with 2 away goals? allyuh fellas good yes

i is hater , that is what haters do!.  :devil: :)
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:43:16 PM

You ketching kicks, as if your side didn't just collect 2 at the death from Bayern.  

If Ibra had take 1/2 his chances in the first half, 2nd half woulda be garbage time.
As it is, goals win matches and Arsenal rise to the challenge. Still 2 away goals, 5 yellow cards, 3 injuries. The gunners not in the best shape for the return leg.  Barca will be missing Puyol and Pique but we might see Iniesta.

Hell of a game though, remind me in a way of the 2005 Liverpool - Milan final.

From the soccernet gamecast:
At this stage of the competition every game is hyped to within an inch of its life, and very few deliver. This one, I'm convinced, is going to be an absolute belter. How can it not be?
:beermug: :beermug:

I doh know why Fabregas was hobbling around. I guess he figure season done is only to rehab for South Africa so he might as well finish the game.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on March 31, 2010, 02:43:56 PM
OK ah see de replay, Good call on de red!!  Puyol feel he f**kin smart lol.  And I still maintain de ref eh show Arsenal no respect with the calls overall.  That yellow he show Cesc was utter bullshit!
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 31, 2010, 02:44:19 PM

i is hater , that is what haters do!.  :devil: :)

hahaha well yuh honest!
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 02:47:04 PM

You ketching kicks, as if your side didn't just collect 2 at the death from Bayern.  

:devil: :devil: :devil:  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: yeh i drink hatorade today
Post by: Bakes on March 31, 2010, 02:49:17 PM
Is a progression so doh make it look so.  Overall he call plenty shit on Arsenal IMO.  A few unnecessary cards.  De red on Puyol was soft but he feel he had to give it if he call a penalty so I understand it.  I ha to watch it again but it wasn't a clear cut penalty in my eyes, daiz why ah say is ah make up call and de red was sorf!!  Eh even kno why ah explainin cause ah sure yuh kno wha ah mean.

I jess facking wid yuh... Barca play all over Arsenal and shoulda win by 2 clear goals.  I think the red was deserved if you look at it by the book... clear goal-scoring opportunity and Puyol was the last defender... intent doh even matter.  Although, again... to me it seem like Puyol was deliberately trying to break up the half-volley by bumping Fabregas as he was in motion.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 31, 2010, 02:49:56 PM
Advantage Barcelona...

Man U still have a chance... yuh will see the return of the Berba and Nani whine...

Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 31, 2010, 02:51:14 PM
Advantage Barcelona...

Man U still have a chance... yuh will see the return of the Berba and Nani whine...

2nd legs are going to be awesome...all are shaped perfectly
Post by: Bitter on March 31, 2010, 02:52:01 PM
Advantage Barcelona...

Yuh really mean all, or just the ones with EPL teams?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 31, 2010, 03:00:05 PM
Advantage Barcelona...

Yuh really mean all, or just the ones with EPL teams?

all 4... I watching double headers on Tuesday and Wednesday

Btw..I hate Barca and their fans..but I'll admit they are the best team on the planet... But the real key to their football success to me is Xavi.. He is insane

I was trying to figure out how to stop their play but they are really a fantastic tecnical team..everyone could play ..

I love Fletch..and I think he's perfect for the EPL but his technical ability alongside Barca's CM's are totally different... I would like more of a mix at United... I think Carrick is poor..too slow..like Diaby

I think Hargreaves is a better version of Fletcher technically but he'll take a while to get back to his best...Rooney is technically brilliant... Nani has loads of technique .. Scholes Giggs class but old

Time for Fergie to invest in some technical players to mix with Fletch Hargo Valencia Park etc

Lahm or Maicon are a must..Vidic Rio Evra all brilliant ... but I'll take Villa and Xavi in summer please lol..If not Xavi I'll settle with Modric
Post by: fish on March 31, 2010, 03:11:01 PM
I find dem cards was rel not deserved. Only Song cuz he rel foul unnecessarily.
Post by: Observer on March 31, 2010, 03:38:04 PM
Arsenal deserve to loss bad bad, but thanks to Alumina and determination to get in front of shots & block them kept them in the game. Ok Alumina made a bad judgement call on the first goal, but say wha! His only mistake today. Bendtner and Diaby technical limitations showed, nice ball by Bendtner though for the goal.
Wenger bringing in Walcott stretched Barca for the goal, but more importantly it stopped Maxwell's raids down the left and forced him to defend. Maxwell looked suspect and uncomfortable with his defending from then on.
Football gods were with Arsenal today, but Barca would not be worried going back to the big yard.
Post by: Blue on March 31, 2010, 04:00:17 PM
great response..I think Arsenal let the occasion and Barca's status get to the pre game... but credit to Arsenal for a great response which deserved the draw... and f**k Puyol..all them shit calls the ref was giving Barca

Second leg is going to be a cracker ... shame Cesc isnt going to be there..thanks to the ref and his bullshit

Sorry, but I cah see second leg being anything other than a demolition. Especially wid no Fabregas and possibly no Gallas/Arshavin. Arsenal shoulda take dey cutarse today and get it over wid.

That first half was the best 0-0 I have ever seen (no credit to Arsenal). Still, as a wise Brazilian once said...."There's no such thing as an ugly goal. Ugly is to not score one."....Barca will be 3 up by half time in de Camp Nou
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 31, 2010, 04:14:58 PM

Sorry, but I cah see second leg being anything other than a demolition. Especially wid no Fabregas and possibly no Gallas/Arshavin. Arsenal shoulda take dey cutarse today and get it over wid.

That first half was the best 0-0 I have ever seen (no credit to Arsenal). Still, as a wise Brazilian once said...."There's no such thing as an ugly goal. Ugly is to not score one."....Barca will be 3 up by half time in de Camp Nou

Do you know Barca hasnt scored against an English team at the Nou Camp for 4 years... I think the last time was vs Liverpool when Bellamy and Riise scored in a 2-1 win

Home pressure gets to them?  When Chelsea and United went there it wasn't incredibly uncomfortable and as I said Liverpool beat them

If Arshavin can get the ball he will cause some damage...Diaby is a goat... Mid will have to be Rosicky Denilson Arshavin with Nasri and Walcott supporting Bednter ... Eboue,Song,Verm,Clichy and Almunia

Should be a great game

Post by: Blue on March 31, 2010, 04:24:25 PM

Do you know Barca hasnt scored against an English team at the Nou Camp for 4 years... I think the last time was vs Liverpool when Bellamy and Riise scored in a 2-1 win

Home pressure gets to them?  When Chelsea and United went there it wasn't incredibly uncomfortable and as I said Liverpool beat them

If Arshavin can get the ball he will cause some damage...Diaby is a goat... Mid will have to be Rosicky Denilson Arshavin with Nasri and Walcott supporting Bednter ... Eboue,Song,Verm,Clichy and Almunia

Should be a great game

Stats like that are meaningless when they only played 3 or 4 games against English opposition over that period. And Chelsea and United were/are both miles better than this Arsenal side (if Arsenal win the title this year it will be the first time in the history of England that a team has come first while losing all their games against the second and third placed teams).

And imagine they will now be missing their captain, their former captain and their best attacker (remember Arshavin may be injured). The only way they will win is if Henry offers to sweat for dem.
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 05:24:46 PM
pressure does make man do strange things on a pitch
Post by: jai john on March 31, 2010, 05:38:13 PM

Should be a great game

Surely you jest ... with those names you called there you are expecting a good game in Barcelona ? Why do I feel you are hoping that Barcelona gets eliminated so things could be a lot easier for your team ? I dont see arsenal getting away again ...not this time.
Post by: Bourbon on March 31, 2010, 05:45:55 PM
Like arsenal players really have crix for bones oui

http://www.eveningstar.co.uk/content/eveningstar/news/story.aspx?brand=ESTOnline&category=News&tBrand=ESTOnline&tCategory=xDefault&itemid=IPED31+Mar+2010+23%3A26%3A44%3A760

Man break he foot.
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 05:50:59 PM
HUH  :o WTF, i remember reading today someone say he leg get caught up in puyol tackle, the penalty must be finish off the break
Post by: Big Magician on March 31, 2010, 06:58:22 PM
how much times ah does have to come here and remind allyuh that football have no "if" "shoulda' "woulda" " coulda"... it have goal..mistake..pass...

eg.. dennis lawrence "scored" a header vz Bharain..
Don Leo " dropped" Latapy for the world cup
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 31, 2010, 07:59:02 PM
Dat penalty was a lame call. The ball was played across the path of both players and Puyol had every right to position himself to either win the ball or let it run out for a goal kick...which is what he did.  Man does shield the ball out of play and use their body to prevent an attacker from getting to the ball and it is not considered a foul so how was Puyol's positioning any different? man saying Puyol "..know what he was doing..." Dam right he know what he was doing and it was totally legit. In any event, ass 'n all ain't coming up with the goalfest it would take for them to win in Barcelona.

ent "La Liga" buss allyuh ass and make allyuh look REL bad in de Final last year?
Post by: D.H.W on March 31, 2010, 08:22:37 PM
small thing barca just pay we back for d cutass d year before. why yuh doh study how to beat them italians  :devil:
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 31, 2010, 08:25:07 PM
small thing barca just pay we back for d cutass d year before. why yuh doh study how to beat them italians  :devil:

Yeah but allyuh din't make Barca look bad the year before like they make allyuh look bad last year.  Dey make allyuh look REL BAD!
Post by: Jah Gol on March 31, 2010, 08:27:45 PM
EPL fanboys is the worst. It just impossible to reason with them. I feel they don't even watch other leagues at all.
Post by: Mango Chow! on March 31, 2010, 08:40:33 PM
EPL fanboys is the worst. It just impossible to reason with them. I feel they don't even watch other leagues at all.

Try discussing the theory of relativity with a 5 year-old instead. You would be more fruitful in your endeavours.
Post by: kicker on March 31, 2010, 08:56:16 PM
Still confused about this match.  Arsenal was poor and punching way above their weight in terms of quality for all but about 10 minutes of this match...but yet it's 2-2 and everything to play for... I guess that's the beautiful game for yuh...

Barca weaknesses are 1) mental (they shut down into training ground mode), and 2) Despite being a great ball wining/defensive unit around the pitch, they are kinda light weight at the back when it counts sometimes.

Arsenal will have to either play ALOT better or put on a tactical masterpiece at the Nou Camp, because in pure footballing terms, based on this game they are way way inferior to Barca, and "should" be on their way out of this one....as much as I respect Barca, I was very surprised to see the footballing gap between the two teams especially at the Emirates...Tie still wide open though...somehow

Interesting quote from Wenger via soccernet.com:

"We are lucky to escape with the draw, I cannot deny that," conceded the Arsenal boss. "We gave them too much room to play their football and we have to say Barcelona are an exceptional side. The annoyance for me is we gave them two cheap goals, but you have to say we were lucky to be still in the tie before those goals arrived.

"It's not easy to accept it when your team are outplayed, but it certainly feels less upsetting than when we are kicked by teams and drop points in the Premier League. What we saw from Barcelona was art and it added up to a great night for football in many ways. I still feel we have a chance in the second leg, but clearly they are a fantastic team."

Good to hear a coach be honest and respectful...
Post by: g on March 31, 2010, 09:03:58 PM
Barca's real potency is not when they are in possession but when they aren't.

Remarkable to be honest
Post by: mukumsplau on March 31, 2010, 09:09:13 PM

i concur
Post by: kicker on March 31, 2010, 09:09:46 PM

Remarkable to be honest

Yup- they pressure the ball like no other...

They were mentally weak today though- started playing at walking pace like it was a training ground exercise when they thought they had it all wrapped up...and when Arsenal got a little life in their veins, Barca couldn't wake back up....
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 31, 2010, 09:18:37 PM

Remarkable to be honest

Yup- they pressure the ball like no other...

They were mentally weak today though- started playing at walking pace like it was a training ground exercise when they thought they had it all wrapped up...and when Arsenal got a little life in their veins, Barca couldn't wake back up....

Exactly, that's it in a nutshell, onto the Nou Camp
Post by: dinho on March 31, 2010, 09:35:23 PM
would have to say that was one of the best games of the season...

first half, i think thats one of the most dominant spells of football i've seen for a long time. Two clear cut chances for Barca within the 1st minute and wave after wave of attack..

but have to give Arsenal side credit, because they showing something this season that was non-existant in the last few.. fight.

Man for man I think every single player on that Arsenal side is inferior to Barca with the exception of maybe Maxwell. Even Fabregas would not start on that Barca side, but to plug away and bring it back to 2-2 was borderline miraculous.

Now hearing that Fabregas break his leg.. and imagine that man soldier on when they had no more subs to fight the game. A legendary performance.

Final note talking as a trini..

That breed Messi give Song in the first half, my lawd man that was just uncalled for.. lolol
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 31, 2010, 09:39:13 PM
would have to say that was one of the best games of the season...

first half, i think thats one of the most dominant spells of football i've seen for a long time. Two clear cut chances for Barca within the 1st minute and wave after wave of attack..

but have to give Arsenal side credit, because they showing something this season that was non-existant in the last few.. fight.

Man for man I think every single player on that Arsenal side is inferior to Barca with the exception of maybe Maxwell. Even Fabregas would not start on that Barca side, but to plug away and bring it back to 2-2 was borderline miraculous.

Now hearing that Fabregas break his leg.. and imagine that man soldier on when they had no more subs to fight the game. A legendary performance.

Final note talking as a trini..

That breed Messi give Song in the first half, my lawd man that was just uncalled for.. lolol

In my opinion it was the best game of the season...it had everything

And yea study he broke it when he kicked Puyol...so he slam home the penalty with a broken leg... Adrenaline is a hell of a thing
Post by: Mango Chow! on April 01, 2010, 03:17:00 AM
Still confused about this match.  Arsenal was poor and punching way above their weight in terms of quality for all but about 10 minutes of this match...but yet it's 2-2 and everything to play for... I guess that's the beautiful game for yuh...

Barca weaknesses are 1) mental (they shut down into training ground mode), and 2) Despite being a great ball wining/defensive unit around the pitch, they are kinda light weight at the back when it counts sometimes.

Arsenal will have to either play ALOT better or put on a tactical masterpiece at the Nou Camp, because in pure footballing terms, based on this game they are way way inferior to Barca, and "should" be on their way out of this one....as much as I respect Barca, I was very surprised to see the footballing gap between the two teams especially at the Emirates...Tie still wide open though...somehow

"We are lucky to escape with the draw, I cannot deny that," conceded the Arsenal boss. "We gave them too much room to play their football and we have to say Barcelona are an exceptional side. The annoyance for me is we gave them two cheap goals, but you have to say we were lucky to be still in the tie before those goals arrived.

"It's not easy to accept it when your team are outplayed, but it certainly feels less upsetting than when we are kicked by teams and drop points in the Premier League. What we saw from Barcelona was art and it added up to a great night for football in many ways. I still feel we have a chance in the second leg, but clearly they are a fantastic team."

...especially coming from this coach...but I guess when it's a side like Barca yuh talkin' 'bout, what choice did he really have?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 01, 2010, 08:00:19 AM
Arsenal FC 2-2 FC Barcelona
0-1 : Ibrahimovic 46'
0-2 : Ibrahimovic 60'
1-2 : Walcott 69'
2-2 : Fΰbregas (pen) 85'

(http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/5065/barcaarsenalclqf1b.jpg)
(http://d.yimg.com/a/p/ap/20100331/capt.4bf18e3794694d639197a8fb13713561-4bf18e3794694d639197a8fb13713561-0.jpg)
(http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4747/barcaarsenalclqf1c.jpg)
(http://img410.imageshack.us/img410/2471/barcaarsenalclqf1a.jpg)
(http://img641.imageshack.us/img641/5387/barcaarsenalclqf1e.jpg)

Valdιs
Alves -- Piquι -- Puyol -- Maxwell
                 Tourι
             Xavi -- Keita
  Messi -- Ibrahimovic -- Pedro

76' Henry for Ibrahimovic
86' Milito for Messi

Referee: Massimo Busacca (Switzerland)
BOOKINGS
21' Arshavin (foul on Busquets)
40' Song (unsporting conduct)
44' Fΰbregas (foul on Busquets) 3rd
72' Piquι (foul on Fΰbregas) 3rd
74' Ebouι (foul on Puyol)
79' Diaby (foul on Keita)
84' Puyol (foul on Fΰbregas) direct sending off
Post by: Jah Gol on April 01, 2010, 08:12:32 AM
Didn't see the game yet. Any full match download links ?
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 01, 2010, 09:05:31 AM
Gunners left to admire Barca's brilliance:

The advent of the 2-2 thrashing arrived on an extraordinary night of Champions League football at Emirates Stadium.

After 69 pulsating minutes of football so dominated by Barcelona that you were left to wonder whether Arsenal were, in fact, enjoying their role as a punch bag for the European champions, damage limitation appeared to be the limit of their ambition.

Outclassed from the off by a team who turned on a display that left all present in no doubt that we were witnessing something very special, Arsenal looked like minnows from a lower league in comparison as the brilliant Xavi orchestrated a side whose passing and movement was a sight to behold.

However, somehow, Arsenal escaped with a 2-2 draw as the late introduction of Theo Walcott turned the course of a tie that appeared over after Zlatan Ibrahimovic scored two away goals for a Barca side that could and should have taken their goal tally into double figures on a chilled north London evening.

Before the "In Arsene We Trust" brigade rush to point out their side missed a host of presentable chances in a tie that will live long in the memory, let's not try to disguise the reality that this was a mismatch of seismic proportions and the statistics of the game confirmed as much.

Barca's 22 shots compared to Arsenal's meagre six should have meant they were in a position to treat the second leg as little more than a practice match and, to his credit, Wenger didn't try to provide an alternative picture as he met the press after the greatest escape of his managerial career.

Wenger's honest words were delivered with a tone that suggested he fears the worst in the return leg, but this was not a night to start dismantling the ethics he has stood by for so long.

Instead, it was a night to toast a Barcelona side who played the sort of football Arsenal would dearly love to produce and their coach Pep Guardiola was oozing with delight, even after his side conceded two late goals. "I am proud of my team and a performance that was the best we have produced away from home in the Champions League," he said.

"Even last season when we won every trophy, we never played as well as this away from the Nou Camp. We kept the ball so well, didn't give Arsenal a chance to play and all that was lacking was the focus at the end as the tie could be over now. Still, we are happy with 2-2 because this is always a good result in an away leg."

The opening hour of this quarter-final could easily have been mistaken for a game between Barcelona's first team and a bunch of kids who had been offered a chance to take on their heroes for the day. Arsenal fans are used to seeing silky flowing football at the Emirates Stadium, but it is generally their own team producing such eye candy against Premier League minnows who are all too willing to offer themselves up for sacrifice.

However, this was a very different experience as an Arsenal side were on the end of a pummelling in what had been billed as their biggest game of the season. Barca's ball control and passing ability was making a side who pride themselves on such attributes look like amateurs and a humiliation could have been on the cards had the visitors taken even a percentage of the chances they created.

They may have been thrashed by Premier League rivals Manchester United and Chelsea on home soil this season, but this experience threatened to be all the more horrifying, with only their much maligned keeper Manuel Almunia keeping the Gunners in the game as he pulled off stunning saves from Ibrahimovic and the somewhat disappointing Leo Messi.

With the increasingly diluted chants of the home fans losing conviction even though their side were still on level terms, those of us without a bias either way were left to marvel at the team performing so majestically before us. Barca were playing a tune that was as sweet as you could come across on a football field. Every member of Guardiola's side looked so composed on the ball, with their swift and incisive passing impossible for Arsenal to stop and by half-time the possession count read 71% against 29%.

The weight of pressure simply had to tell and so it proved a matter of seconds into the second half as Ibrahimovic broke clear to score and when the big Swede added his second after 59 minutes, it seemed as if this one-sided tie had taken its decisive turn.

Arsenal fans did their best to distract attentions by offering Barca substitute Thierry Henry a hearty ovation as he warmed up on the touchline, yet it was the introduction of Walcott that revived Arsenal's hopes. He played his part in the equaliser and the home side then relied on a poor refereeing decision to give them a penalty that gave them an undeserved equaliser.

It left Arsenal toasting an unlikely escape, yet those who trust in Arsene may have to turn to an even greater power if they retain any hopes of plotting a route to the semi-finals at the Nou Camp next week.

Miracles are rarely bestowed on a team so comprehensively outplayed and only divine intervention will be enough to save Arsenal when they run into this magnificent, beautiful Barcelona team once again next Tuesday night.

MAN OF THE MATCH: Xavi - Ibrahimovic may have stolen the headlines with his two goals, but Xavi was the architect of this Barca triumph. His midfield invention was enough to see him outshine the great Messi.

FABREGAS MISERY: The yellow card he picked up rules him out of the second leg of this quarter-final, but his troublesome knee appeared to give way as he converted Arsenal's unlikely equaliser late on. He is out of Saturday's game against Wolves and Wenger fears the damage may be more serious.

BARCA VERDICT: Brilliant for an hour, they will march through on home soil next week. Arsenal should feel no shame losing to opponents this good.

ARSENAL VERDICT: Heroism may prove costly for Arsenal as the damaged caused by their dramatic late comeback in this tie will leave a lasting mark. Fabregas, William Gallas and their pride will all have taken a battering after this lesson in football. Wenger told French TV that Gallas will be out for the season with a leg injury.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=764501&sec=uefachampionsleague&root=uefachampionsleague&cc=3888
Post by: dinho on April 01, 2010, 09:46:57 AM
this one make me laugh....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Theo - Watching Barca was like a PS3 game

http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/theo-watching-barca-was-like-a-ps3-game (http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/theo-watching-barca-was-like-a-ps3-game)

By Nick Teale

Theo Walcott says Barcelona played as though a Playstation gamer was controlling them on Wednesday night.

The European champions went two goals up at Emirates Stadium before Arsenal scored twice to earn a draw in the Champions League Quarter-Final first leg.

The Englishman watched the first 66 minutes of the match from the bench and compared Barcelona's performance to something you’ll normally see on a video game.

“For me as a young player growing up and learning the game it was a fantastic experience just to watch some world-class players," said Walcott.

“It was like someone was controlling them on a PS3 at times. It was fantastic to watch."
... (http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/theo-watching-barca-was-like-a-ps3-game)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 01, 2010, 10:32:14 AM
this one make me laugh....  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Theo - Watching Barca was like a PS3 game

This is the best I see so far.

If Barcelona are a Ferrari, Arsenal is the guy who wears the Ferrari baseball cap, the jacket, and has the key-ring, but doesn't actually own a Ferrari.
Post by: JDB on April 01, 2010, 12:10:41 PM
Said it last week that all those who defende Arsenal “pretty football” because Barca does play “pretty football too” was doing Barcelona a huge disservice. Barcelona is a much better unit and every man runs hard. The only danger is lapses at centre back like when they set up Scholes two years ago or when they had Chelsea jamming them up the center last year. Also after men was doubting the wisdom of Ibrahimovich he show what he get buy for, to poison the English teams with more direct play.

Very sad to see that Fabregas might miss the WC. It seems that the stakes for club football too high these days. That is the only reason I could think of for these semi-injured players being risked I these high intensity games.
Post by: trinikev on April 01, 2010, 01:22:23 PM

Best post in this thread. I mean, all credit to Arsenal for not giving up and playing right to the end, but really they were nowhere near Barcelona's level last night. Barcelona only have themselves (and Almunia as well) to blame for not ending this tie last night. I really can't see Arsenal doing much in the second leg.
Post by: kicker on April 01, 2010, 02:15:34 PM
Said it last week that all those who defende Arsenal “pretty football” because Barca does play “pretty football too” was doing Barcelona a huge disservice. Barcelona is a much better unit and every man runs hard. The only danger is lapses at centre back like when they set up Scholes two years ago or when they had Chelsea jamming them up the center last year. Also after men was doubting the wisdom of Ibrahimovich he show what he get buy for, to poison the English teams with more direct play.

Very sad to see that Fabregas might miss the WC. It seems that the stakes for club football too high these days. That is the only reason I could think of for these semi-injured players being risked I these high intensity games.

I think it's more the philosophies that are comparable....but in terms of the actual execution, Barca is on a different level. 

But let's be honest, last night's performance by Barca until they tired out/shut down was ridiculous even by Barca's standards...Pep and all conceded that last season when they won everything, they'd never put it together away from home like they did yesterday...

And the award for the best non-winning performance by a club team in a European competition goes to......
Post by: Jah Gol on April 01, 2010, 02:33:39 PM
1st half

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0UH9I1ES

2nd half

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=40WPP8H6
Title: 1/4 2L UEFA CL • FC Barcelona vs Arsenal FC • 06 April 2010
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 03, 2010, 04:57:59 PM
Tuesday, 06 April 2010, 2:45, Trinidad Time

Nou Camp
(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/camp_nou_0.jpg)

UEFA Champions League - Quarterfinal, 1st Leg
London - Emirates (59.572)

Arsenal FC 2-2 FC Barcelona
0-1 : Ibrahimovic 46'
0-2 : Ibrahimovic 60'
1-2 : Walcott 69'
2-2 : Fΰbregas (pen) 85'

(http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y191/kammourewa/Zlatan-Ibrahimovic-001.jpg)

(http://www.zonalmarking.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/03/arsenal-2-2-barcelona-passing-2.jpg)

Zlatan injured his leg during the warm-up today against Bilbao, major doubt for Tuesday.
Title: Re: 1/4 2L UEFA CL • FC Barcelona vs Arsenal FC • 06 April 2010
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 03, 2010, 10:30:59 PM
Zlatan to miss Arsenal return after calf injury.

Barcelona striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been ruled out of Tuesday's Champions League quarter-final second leg against Arsenal through injury.

Ibrahimovic scored two goals against Arsenal in the first leg
The Sweden international suffered a calf injury whilst warming-up for Saturday's Primera Division clash with Athletic Bilbao and, after being replaced in the line-up by Bojan Krkic, underwent initial tests this evening.

(http://soccernet-assets.espn.go.com/design05/images/2010/0326/zlatanibrahimovic20100326feat_275x155.jpg)

According to the Barca website, those tests confirmed that Ibrahimovic has suffered a small tear in his right calf and is out of the return meeting with Arsenal and is a doubt for next weekend's 'Clasico' with Real Madrid at the Bernabeu.

Ibrahimovic scored both goals as Barca drew the first leg of their quarter-final tie with Arsenal 2-2 at the Emirates Stadium last Wednesday, taking his tally to five goals in four games.

Centre-back Gerard Pique, who is suspended for the Arsenal match, is also a question mark for the match against Madrid as he suffered a thigh injury that could keep him sidelined for up to seven days.
Post by: Peong on April 03, 2010, 10:39:23 PM
Unleash Bojan.
Post by: Jahyouth on April 04, 2010, 06:03:27 PM
Talk big, Alves.  Talk big.  We will beat Barca on Tuesday  :flamethrower:

Alves: "El Arsenal necesitarα un gran milagro para pasar" (Arsenal will need a big miracle to progress)

El brasileρo Dani Alves estα totalmente convencido de las opciones del Barηa de batir al Arsenal y acceder a las semifinales de la Champions League y por eso habla de "milagro" cuando se refiere a las opciones de clasificaciσn de los londinenses.

En unas declaraciones que recogen los medios ingleses, Alves apunta que "nada estα decidido, pero el Arsenal necesitarα un gran milagro para llegar a las semifinales". Para apoyar su argumentaciσn, Alves apunta que en el 2-2 de la ida "sσlo Almunia y la suerte" salvaron al Arsenal de caer ante un gran Barηa.

La diferencia entre Barηa y Arsenal

El lateral brasileρo habla de "exhibiciσn" en el Emirates y dice que es "increνble" pensar que el Barηa se tuvo que conformar con las tablas definitivas. "El resultado final nos dejσ un mal sabor de boca, pero sabemos que la diferencia que hay entre nosotros y ellos es enorme y estamos dispuestos a confirmarlo en el partido de vuelta".

Para el duelo del Camp Nou ambos equipos tienen bajas notables, pero quizα la mαs importante sea la del catalαn Cesc. "Fαbregas es un jugador decisivo para el Arsenal y su ausencia podrνa ser decisiva", indicσ Alves. El jugador azulgrana cree ademαs que el Barηa solventarα con "mayor facilidad" sus bajas que el equipo que entrena Arsθne Wenger.
Post by: dinho on April 05, 2010, 09:07:56 AM
Song out for Arsenal..

I watched the 1st leg over yesterday because i miss pieces under work vibes. and i have to say i real shocked that people saying Messi play shit...

The man real get on I fine.. Ok so he didnt run through 5 men and score like people probably expecting but he was on point.. the man passing, he set up real plays, he running off the ball in space and playing smart. Not because he eh score he eh get on. steups
Post by: kicker on April 05, 2010, 09:38:12 AM
Song out for Arsenal..

I watched the 1st leg over yesterday because i miss pieces under work vibes. and i have to say i real shocked that people saying Messi play shit...
The man real get on I fine.. Ok so he didnt run through 5 men and score like people probably expecting but he was on point.. the man passing, he set up real plays, he running off the ball in space and playing smart. Not because he eh score he eh get on. steups

He was quieter in the 2nd half- played a more withdrawn supporting role... tore them to shreds in the 1st 45
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 05, 2010, 11:36:40 AM
Song out of Barca trip, Campbell doubtful
By Chris Harris

Arsθne Wenger had a "bad surprise" on Monday morning - Alex Song has been ruled out of the Champions League trip to Barcelona.

The Cameroon midfielder was substituted with 19 minutes remaining against Wolves on Saturday with a groin problem but his manager expected him to be OK for the Quarter-Final second leg at the Nou Camp. But Song's injury is worse than first feared.

"It was a bad surprise this morning because he had a scan yesterday afternoon on his knee and he has an inflamed cartilage," said Wenger before leaving for Spain. "We have to wait and see how bad it is but he is completely out for the squad for tomorrow's game."

Sol Campbell was Arsenal's other doubt ahead of the second leg. The 35-year-old completed 90 minutes against Wolves but fatigue was always going to be a factor with two high-intensity games in just three days. Wenger will wait until matchday before deciding whether to pick Campbell.

"That is a decision I have to make after speaking to him tomorrow," said the manager. "Today he was still not completely available although he managed to get a warm-up. To go into such a game you must be completely fit or not play at all."
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 05, 2010, 11:39:29 AM
Arsenal's squad list announced:

Manuel Almunia
Lukasz Fabianski
Nicklas Bendtner
Eduardo
Abou Diaby
Samir Nasri
Denilson
Fran Merida
Theo Walcott
Craig Eastmond
Tomas Rosicky
Armand Traore
Emmanuel Eboue
Gael Clichy
Bacary Sagna
Thomas Vermaelen
Sol Campbell
Mikael Silvestre
Post by: sammy on April 05, 2010, 12:21:50 PM
Arsenal to win 2-1
Post by: D.H.W on April 05, 2010, 12:28:10 PM
GO ARSENAL !!!
Post by: Jah Gol on April 05, 2010, 12:52:15 PM
Arsenal good for 3 in the Nou Camp.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 05, 2010, 02:45:30 PM
Massive blow with Song out for the Arsenal

I'm sure Campbell will play alongside Vermaleen ... or he could put Sagna in and Eboue as the Right Back?
Post by: Bitter on April 05, 2010, 03:33:33 PM
When Silvestre and Eastmond making the squad list, yuh know yuh in a bad way.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 05, 2010, 03:59:15 PM
I hope Dos Santos get some time to like heself against Arsenal.
Post by: xixgon on April 05, 2010, 10:19:00 PM
Here's how I think they will line up - give or take...

BARCA:-                       

Valdes

Alves   Milito  Chygrinsky/Marquez   Maxwell/Abidal

Pedro    Xavi     Busquets     Keita

Messi     

Bojan

ARSENAL:-

Almunia

Sagna   Campbell/Silvestre   Vermalaen    Clichy

Walcott         Diaby     Denilson             Nasri

Eboue
                                Bentner               
Post by: kicker on April 06, 2010, 07:33:30 AM
Here's how I think they will line up - give or take...

BARCA:-                       

Valdes

Alves   Milito  Chygrinsky/Marquez   Maxwell/Abidal

Pedro    Xavi     Busquets     Keita

Messi     

Bojan

ARSENAL:-

Almunia

Sagna   Campbell/Silvestre   Vermalaen    Clichy

Walcott         Diaby     Denilson             Nasri

Eboue
                                Bentner               

Chygrinski is not eligible for CL.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 06, 2010, 08:07:15 AM
(http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b28/strenkt/timthumbphp.jpg)

In the french accent:
I don't know what to do, every morning I get up someone else is injured. There is not enough placenta juice in zee whole world to put on everyone's injuries.

Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 09:44:08 AM
Read today that both Campbell and Rosiky may be out. Late fitness test. At this rate
Wenger might dress
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 06, 2010, 09:59:15 AM
Arsenal luck to field a 11 right now!!
Post by: Bourbon on April 06, 2010, 10:03:48 AM
Read today that both Campbell and Rosiky may be out. Late fitness test. At this rate
Wenger might dress

(http://www.studs-up.com/comics/2010-03-08.jpg)
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 06, 2010, 10:44:47 AM
Wenger might dress

(http://www.studs-up.com/comics/2010-03-08.jpg)

Heavy corn curls and chubby sweet jink that side ingesting.

Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 11:23:41 AM
Meanwhile the real big team is beating CSKA right now.
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 11:27:33 AM
Meanwhile the real big team is beating CSKA right now.

They should be  ::)
Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 06, 2010, 12:18:26 PM
"Let's be clear, Walcott was not the determining factor, the determining factor was [Manuel] Almunia, who saved 12,000 balls."   Pep Guiardiola, Barcelona FC Coach
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2010, 12:19:00 PM
Line Ups

Barcelona team: Valdes, Dani Alves, Abidal, Marquez, Milito, Busquets, Keita, Xavi, Pedro, Messi, Bojan.

Arsenal team: Almunial, Sagna, Clichy, Silvestre, Vermaelen, Diaby, Denilson, Nasri, Rosicky, Walcott, Bendtner.
Post by: Bourbon on April 06, 2010, 12:22:14 PM
Line Ups

Barcelona team: Valdes, Dani Alves, Abidal, Marquez, Milito, Busquets, Keita, Xavi, Pedro, Messi, Bojan.

Arsenal team: Almunial, Sagna, Clichy, Silvestre, Vermaelen, Diaby, Denilson, Nasri, Rosicky, Walcott, Bendtner.

Well dat sucks. Silvestre? Oh my. And walcott starting...when he speed most effective against men when dey bun.
Post by: elan on April 06, 2010, 12:39:27 PM
5-0 Barcelona.

Case ah Chubby.
Post by: DeSoWa on April 06, 2010, 12:42:27 PM
2-1 to Arsenal

Case ah tallboy  ;D

Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 12:49:27 PM
Arsenal not one striker on the subs bench  ::)
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2010, 12:51:39 PM
Line Ups

Well dat sucks. Silvestre? Oh my. And walcott starting...when he speed most effective against men when dey bun.

I single out SIlvestre but I on kicks. I doubt he will be the difference maker. Silvestre problem was always concentration and I sure he real focussed on this game.

I could see an upset. Barcelona to dominate possession and Arsenal to flukes them with breakaway goal and a penalty.
Post by: Sando prince on April 06, 2010, 12:51:51 PM
1-0 Barcelona..

Ah Case of Apple J    :D
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 01:05:47 PM
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :rotfl: 1 nil arsenal game on!
Post by: DeSoWa on April 06, 2010, 01:07:13 PM
1-1 messi  >:(

Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 01:19:40 PM
Barca divin like real bitches and the ref eatin every single one.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 06, 2010, 01:21:06 PM
Denilson just pelt a blade get the ball and clip Messi leg same time. Andy Gray say is a good tackle. British version of tackling. If yuh break a man leg and happen to get the ball is not no scene.
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 01:27:29 PM
The tackle was good, he got the ball first.
After that he tried to pin Messi's leg between his legs which was really unnecessary.
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 01:28:08 PM
GOOD LORD!!!!!!
King Leo on fire!!!
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 01:28:35 PM
hard luck arsenal  :-\
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2010, 01:33:24 PM
Lord have mercy Messi 3 Arsenal 1

Barcelona cruising

Game over.
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 01:33:52 PM
inter vs barca semi
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2010, 01:35:53 PM
No more adjectives left for Messi! Just  :notworthy: a say thank god yuh alive to witness him in action
Post by: elan on April 06, 2010, 01:36:30 PM
I wonder if people taking notes  ???

Is just not gol the man scoring yuh know, is some golas (not quite golasos) the man banging yes.

The board gone quite? Where the Messi detractors?
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 06, 2010, 01:45:20 PM
I wonder if people taking notes  ???

Is just not gol the man scoring yuh know, is some golas (not quite golasos) the man banging yes.

The board gone quite? Where the Messi detractors?

They crying
Post by: Bourbon on April 06, 2010, 01:46:12 PM
Damn advantageous.
Post by: sammy on April 06, 2010, 02:05:22 PM
FSC not showing the game? or any game ?"
Post by: Bitter on April 06, 2010, 02:09:12 PM
No more adjectives left for Messi! Just  :notworthy: a say thank god yuh alive to witness him in action

Nah man, that is only vs Arsenal.

If yuh cyah score a hattrick vs the #3 team in the "best league in the world" then you ent worth nutten.
I mean to say!
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 02:20:44 PM

5 pm delayed on FSC
Post by: Sando prince on April 06, 2010, 02:22:49 PM
Imagine if Messi play dis same type of ball at de world cup..is pressha !
Post by: Peong on April 06, 2010, 02:31:03 PM
Quatro
Post by: Jah Gol on April 06, 2010, 02:31:26 PM
oh shit. Almunia get rape.
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 02:31:29 PM
f**king poison messi is yes, mudder f**k  :o
Post by: Big Magician on April 06, 2010, 02:53:14 PM
Brilliant... rather they just call him Messi
Post by: Daft Trini on April 06, 2010, 03:00:52 PM
ah trinidadian gyul should seduce messi and produce ah chile... :beermug:
Post by: SOBRIQUET on April 06, 2010, 03:09:57 PM

wouldn't that only make the chile a half-good footballer?  :beermug:
Post by: AirMan on April 06, 2010, 03:10:16 PM

..so we will send the child to Patos obeah woman to convince him to play for T&T instead of Argentina ?  :D
Post by: gothic on April 06, 2010, 03:15:35 PM

5 pm delayed on FSC

is it just me or is the delayed game on fsc blocked?
Post by: D.H.W on April 06, 2010, 03:16:49 PM

5 pm delayed on FSC

is it just me or is the delayed game on fsc blocked?

waay they block the game yes, flow rel sad dread. is a good thing i see it on internet yes
Post by: Bourbon on April 06, 2010, 06:37:09 PM
(http://www.zonalmarking.net/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/barcelona-arsenal-passing-stats-xavi.jpg)
Post by: Ponnoxx on April 06, 2010, 07:09:21 PM
Messi outclass dem lol
Post by: kicker on April 06, 2010, 08:36:36 PM
Well Wenger actually got it right tactically today...afterall it doesn't take a genius to park the bus, try to close the spaces and play on the counter- but it does take good preparation, discipline and capable players to execute it... that was Arsenal's plan, and for the most part they prevented another exhibition of target practice on Almunia...apart from the individual brilliance, Arsenal seemed like they did what they came out to do...and they got the first goal too.....but like they say- there are somethings you can't coach, or coach against.....Lionel Messi is one of those things...holy sh*t...
Post by: xixgon on April 06, 2010, 09:15:24 PM
Well Wenger actually got it right tactically today...afterall it doesn't take a genius to park the bus, try to close the spaces and play on the counter- but it does take good preparation, discipline and capable players to execute it... that was Arsenal's plan, and for the most part they prevented another exhibition of target practice on Almunia...apart from the individual brilliance, Arsenal seemed like they did what they came out to do...and they got the first goal too.....but like they say- there are somethings you can't coach, or coach against.....Lionel Messi is one of those things...holy sh*t...

Na well honestly some of Arsenal's defending was quite poor. They played way too high on occasion and left too much space for Barca to operate.

The final goal where Messi was left wide open was just a prime example.

Arsenal just don't have the players (at the best of times) to play the type of game plan that the likes of Utd, Chelsea and Rubin Kazan have been successful with at the Nou Camp. So with a weakened defense - they were never really likely to contain Barca for 90 mins.

Indeed Bendtner's early goal just served to light a fire under Barca, and they never looked back.
Post by: kicker on April 07, 2010, 07:15:09 AM

Na well honestly some of Arsenal's defending was quite poor. They played way too high on occasion and left too much space for Barca to operate.

The final goal where Messi was left wide open was just a prime example.

Arsenal just don't have the players (at the best of times) to play the type of game plan that the likes of Utd, Chelsea and Rubin Kazan have been successful with at the Nou Camp. So with a weakened defense - they were never really likely to contain Barca for 90 mins.

Indeed Bendtner's early goal just served to light a fire under Barca, and they never looked back.

Tue- the execution wasn't spot on...they had their lapses, but remember they needed to score 2wice....It was tough to tell by the flow of the game that they were the team that needed to press for a result, but that was the case, so when they got the ball they had to push players forward and actually try to create, as opposed to the traditional park the bus, and hoof it out to safety...

So yeah in the end there were gaps, and one on one, they (Silvestre in particular) couldn't keep up at critical points...Point is, compared to the 1st outing, you can tell they did their homework and had a plan- they stayed compact for most of it and were no where near the chasing and scambling team that played a week ago.  By missing some key players, and being the weaker of the two teams even if at full strength, it was always going to be an uphill battle...Messi's individual performance just made the hill even steeper...you can't coach against that.
Title: Re: 1/4 1L UEFA CL • Arsenal FC v FC Barcelona • Both-Legs
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on April 07, 2010, 07:31:10 AM
UEFA Champions League - Quarterfinal, 2nd Leg
Barcelona - Camp Nou (93.330)

FC Barcelona 4-1 Arsenal FC
0-1 : Bendtner 18'
1-1 : Messi 21'
2-1 : Messi 37'
3-1 : Messi 42'
4-1 : Messi 88'

Barcelona advance 6-3 on aggregate.

(http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/6219/barcaarsenalclqf2b.jpg)
(http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/1897/barcaarsenalclqf2c.jpg)
(http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/8216/barcaarsenalclqf2f.jpg)
(http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9194/barcaarsenalclqf2a.jpg)
(http://estaticos.marca.com/marcador/futbol/2009_10/champions/cuartos/vuelta/bar_ars/img/5_300x175.jpg)
(http://estaticos.marca.com/marcador/futbol/2009_10/champions/cuartos/vuelta/bar_ars/img/7_300x206.jpg)
(http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/4346/barcaarsenalclqf2e.jpg)

(http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/2112/marquezo.jpg)

Seven players have scored 4 goals in one European Cup/UEFA Champions League match:
Marco van Basten (Milan), Simone Inzaghi (Lazio), Dado Prso (Monaco), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United), Andriy Shevchenko (Milan), Ferenc Puskas (Madrid) and Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)

Pique pelting salt prune seed behind Fabregas:
(http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/2531/barcaarsenalclqf2g.jpg)
(http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/7953/barcaarsenalclqf2h.jpg)
Post by: onlikecorn on April 07, 2010, 08:12:29 AM
i am an arsenal supporter through and through . . and well i will say again . . . you cant mark a man with mutant powers. . . having said that . .we lost to a much better team and i cyah geh vex .. . messi is the best right now. . . and we couldnt stop him . .  next up inter and the battle of the special ones (mourinho vs messi). . if mourinho could figure out how to stop him . .then he will jes get a bigger ego . .haha . . .we will have to see. . . wenger will now be forced to buy as he finally will realize that he needs some more confident mature players if he wants to compete. . .
Post by: sammy on April 07, 2010, 08:38:18 AM
i am an arsenal supporter through and through . . and well i will say again . . . you cant mark a man with mutant powers. . . having said that . .we lost to a much better team and i cyah geh vex .. . messi is the best right now. . . and we couldnt stop him . .  next up inter and the battle of the special ones (mourinho vs messi). . if mourinho could figure out how to stop him . .then he will jes get a bigger ego . .haha . . .we will have to see. . . wenger will now be forced to buy as he finally will realize that he needs some more confident mature players if he wants to compete. . .

how long allyuh going and keep wenger there? and, ow much players (fabergas. RVP?) going to ask for transfer in the summer?
Post by: dinho on April 07, 2010, 09:00:46 AM
anybody have links to download the game?
Post by: Peong on April 07, 2010, 09:26:28 AM
anybody have links to download the game?

Check fbtz.com.  Yuh have to register.
Post by: Peong on April 07, 2010, 09:29:02 AM
wenger will now be forced to buy as he finally will realize that he needs some more confident mature players if he wants to compete. . .

What he needs is for his players to not get injured.
Does Wenger buy weak players or do they get weak at Arsenal?
Post by: Observer on April 07, 2010, 11:13:12 AM
wenger will now be forced to buy as he finally will realize that he needs some more confident mature players if he wants to compete. . .

What he needs is for his players to not get injured.
Does Wenger buy weak players or do they get weak at Arsenal?

You serious or on kicks? Players get injured its the nature of sport. Every team has injuries. Look at Torres, Defoe, Lennon, Rooney, Hargraves, Carvalho, Essien, Bosingwa, Cole, Drogba just returned the list goes on.
Broken bones and twist will hapen in a contact sport. When players are competing on so many levels those risk increase. Its just that squads with more depth compete better
Post by: Peong on April 07, 2010, 11:50:22 AM
Too many Arsenal players get injuries, and long term injuries at that.
Arsenal players sorf like butter.
Post by: Jah Gol on April 07, 2010, 11:51:54 AM
Too many Arsenal players get injuries, and long term injuries at that.
Arsenal players sorf like butter.

It does help not to get kick down too.
Post by: Marcos on April 07, 2010, 11:53:57 AM

how long allyuh going and keep wenger there? and, ow much players (fabergas. RVP?) going to ask for transfer in the summer?

Good talk Sammy. Feel Wenger needs to move on. You can't keep banging your head against a wall unless you are satisfied with mediocrity.