Sports => Football => Topic started by: Sam on May 13, 2010, 09:21:42 AM

Title: Do you think we need a good agrent in T&T.
Post by: Sam on May 13, 2010, 09:21:42 AM
Everybody always talking about this and that, but one thing I feel we need to focus on is to get a good players agent for our players base in T&T, there is to many wasted talents. They need some sort of guidance.

Our players need a good agent so they can make good decisions and a long term one and not only want to be the next Dwight Yorke and yet liming all day. Our players just want a big pay day because they feel they have a little talent.....

Dion La Founda have nuff contacts, maybe him ?? I don't know him to well doh.

I woulda say Mike Berry, but he is not base in T&T and he is known for robing our players.

Players like.....

Marvin Phillip, Daneil Cyrus, Kerry Baptiste, Matthew Bartholomew, Hughton Hector, Clyde Leon, Sheldon Bateau, Joevin Jones, Robert Primus, Glenroy Samuel, Trent Lougheed, Akil Clarke, Jevaughn Vance, Theon James, Wesley John, Xavion Navarro, Chad Appoo, Carlyle Mitchell, Nigel Daniel, Jason Marcano, Lester Peltier, Ataullah Guerra, Devon Jorsling, Jason Devenish, Jean-Luc Rochford, Shahdon Winchester, Jerrel Britto, Reshad Wint, Akeem Adams and Leston Paul ....... deserve to be in some foreign league even if its a league in Belgium, Mexico, Scotland, Sweden or Turkey.
Title: Re: Do you think we need a good agrent in T&T.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 13, 2010, 09:29:23 AM
Agree Sam there is no licensed player agent in/from  Trinidad and Tobago check the list. We depend on mike berry and he eh studying us because our rankings are LOW  so no player going to the UK soon..

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/federation/administration/playersagents/list.html

Post by: KND2 on May 13, 2010, 09:33:24 AM
I do not think exposure is the issue.

The world is flat, everyone knows tnt have footballers players get scouted and seen on TV.

Players playing in youth world cup, all games are seen on TV etc.

competition is more intense now

clubs not just looking for talent, you have to be ready. right now.

A lot of our guys are getting trials and short contracts in supporting teams in fact more than in the past.

but they are not cutting the grade to make the big stage

But in the long run our football will improve

In my mind it is better to have 10 Division 3 men in the UK than 1 dwight yorke because the foundation will be their to build on.
Post by: future socawarrior on May 13, 2010, 10:04:29 AM
Everybody always talking about this and that, but one thing I feel we need to focus on is to get a good players agent for our players base in T&T, there is to many wasted talents. They need some sort of guidance.

Our players need a good agent so they can make good decisions and a long term one and not only want to be the next Dwight Yorke and yet liming all day. Our players just want a big pay day because they feel they have a little talent.....

Dion La Founda have nuff contacts, maybe him ?? I don't know him to well doh.

I woulda say Mike Berry, but he is not base in T&T and he is known for robing our players.

Players like.....

Marvin Phillip, Daneil Cyrus, Kerry Baptiste, Matthew Bartholomew, Hughton Hector, Clyde Leon, Sheldon Bateau, Joevin Jones, Robert Primus, Glenroy Samuel, Trent Lougheed, Akil Clarke, Jevaughn Vance, Theon James, Wesley John, Xavion Navarro, Chad Appoo, Carlyle Mitchell, Nigel Daniel, Jason Marcano, Lester Peltier, Ataullah Guerra, Devon Jorsling, Jason Devenish, Jean-Luc Rochford, Shahdon Winchester, Jerrel Britto, Reshad Wint, Akeem Adams and Leston Paul ....... deserve to be in some foreign league even if its a league in Belgium, Mexico, Scotland, Sweden or Turkey.

SAM,'

I feel what you are saying but you have to make more sense to your point. There is "no national Agent". A player could fly to England and hire an agent if they think they are that good. Mike Berry is just an agent for some T&T players. The players are not good enough to play in some of those leagues. One of my teamates who is from Sweden is very good and can easily make Joe Public team if he were to play in Trinidad, and said that he could only play in the Swedish 4th division. That is where Kevon Neaves played.

So the leagues that you are calling are very good. Ask Darryl Roberts about Turkish league. The speed of play is very fast and it takes discipline to play there. The kind that Guerra and Lester Peltier does not have. If you were to leave Trinidad and watch a training session of some other pro teams, you would see that their reserve teams and youth teams have players just as good and in some cases better.

Trinidad and Tobago needs to develop a better youth system and has to be more organized before players can play abroad. In Latapy, Yorke, Stern John times it was less competitive as it is today. Kenwyne Jones is an exception because of his size and speed. But in terms of skill, there are many Kerry Baptiste, Clyde Leons, and Attulah Guerras in every league, why would a coach buy a player when they are in the youth system already?
Post by: Sando on May 13, 2010, 10:13:15 AM
SAM,'

I feel what you are saying but you have to make more sense to your point. There is "no national Agent". A player could fly to England and hire an agent if they think they are that good. Mike Berry is just an agent for some T&T players. The players are not good enough to play in some of those leagues. One of my teamates who is from Sweden is very good and can easily make Joe Public team if he were to play in Trinidad, and said that he could only play in the Swedish 4th division. That is where Kevon Neaves played.

So the leagues that you are calling are very good. Ask Darryl Roberts about Turkish league. The speed of play is very fast and it takes discipline to play there. The kind that Guerra and Lester Peltier does not have. If you were to leave Trinidad and watch a training session of some other pro teams, you would see that their reserve teams and youth teams have players just as good and in some cases better.

Trinidad and Tobago needs to develop a better youth system and has to be more organized before players can play abroad. In Latapy, Yorke, Stern John times it was less competitive as it is today. Kenwyne Jones is an exception because of his size and speed. But in terms of skill, there are many Kerry Baptiste, Clyde Leons, and Attulah Guerras in every league, why would a coach buy a player when they are in the youth system already?

Well, it dont have to be in the top flight in those countries, it could be in a lower division. But Sam have a point here. Look Wrexham in Wales and they have helped our players develop (Ince, Carlos, Hector and Lawrence).

Why would our players fly to a foreign country and hire a man they do not know just because he is an agent. This is why Berry was able to expose our players because they didn't know better.

I am sure what Sam is trying to say is, the players need someone in a position to help them and help them genuinely.

T&T players would also cost a foreign team less that it would cost they own to contract I'm sure.

PS: Kenwyne Jones have speed......  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  wait, he so fast he looks like he will tumble over while running....  :rotfl: :rotfl:  de man have four knees....
Post by: Coop's on May 13, 2010, 10:38:24 AM
We have to understand Agents are not there for players alone,they are in the business for themselves also,they going after talent they can make money with not just get a contract for them.They looking at the country you from,how much caps you got etc etc it's the reason players have to maintain certain levels of performance,it's the reason you see a difference in players who leave home and go abroad it's all about performance,our players always being subbed in games or on the bench,they have to make themselves marketable in order for agents to be attracted to them,we were showcased on the world stage in Football what has it done for our Footballers?did agents come flocking to T&T? 
Post by: future socawarrior on May 13, 2010, 12:34:40 PM
SAM,'

Well, it dont have to be in the top flight in those countries, it could be in a lower division. But Sam have a point here. Look Wrexham in Wales and they have helped our players develop (Ince, Carlos, Hector and Lawrence).

Why would our players fly to a foreign country and hire a man they do not know just because he is an agent. This is why Berry was able to expose our players because they didn't know better.

I am sure what Sam is trying to say is, the players need someone in a position to help them and help them genuinely.

T&T players would also cost a foreign team less that it would cost they own to contract I'm sure.

PS: Kenwyne Jones have speed......  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  wait, he so fast he looks like he will tumble over while running....  :rotfl: :rotfl:  de man have four knees....

It's funny to laugh at KJ speed, but do you realize that he makes more money than all the players mentioned in the thread combined lol.
Post by: maxg on May 13, 2010, 02:48:26 PM
Clayton Ince
Post by: Storeboy on May 13, 2010, 03:47:23 PM
This is not about agent.  This is about TT players getting off their lazy butts, working hard day and night to make it.  Too many of our players have great skills and natural ability to match anybody anywhere, but poor fitness and bad attitudes for professional sports in today's world.
Post by: maxg on May 13, 2010, 03:54:33 PM
This is not about agent.  This is about TT players getting off their lazy butts, working hard day and night to make it.  Too many of our players have great skills and natural ability to match anybody anywhere, but poor fitness and bad attitudes for professional sports in today's world.
yuh think maybe it a reflection of who/what ? or yuh think is just our greatly skilled and natural footballers happen to be born so ?
Post by: Sam on November 18, 2010, 11:56:31 AM
MY 2010 UPDATE

Juma Clarence left Haceteppe SK for what ever reason to play for Avocat United in a dotish league, not de super league, not de pro league or even de division leagues, but de man playing in as bush league now.

Akeem Adams went on a trial with Seattle Sounders FC unfit and he knew about the trial months in advance. And now he not on the under 20 team and he has no club, so when he go back on trial in January what go happen.

Trent Lougheed decided to pick Joe Public over a US Scholarship, now hear de worst, he cant even make Joe Public side and is now playing for Leeds United in the Central Football Association of T&T.

Khaleem Hyland had a opportunity to go to the top leagues in Italy or Holland and play against better teams and maybe a chance to play in the UEFA champion league too but choose to stay in Belgium. Like he fraid to step it up.

Jamal Gay is clubless and is currently getting pick to play for our national team, who is he God Father. What happen to his contract in Germany.

Kevon Neaves left his club in Sweden for what ever reason to play in de super league for T&TEC.
Post by: Peong on November 18, 2010, 12:24:45 PM
Of those I wouldn't criticize Hyland's decision.  He startin for his club.
Post by: KND2 on November 18, 2010, 12:41:37 PM
Sam them men did not chose to leave and go and play bush leave.

they get cut. and have no where else to go.

There is a difference.

But many players who are in the bush league do it just as a sweat because they do not want to sign with a pro team as they think the transfer fee will limit there overseas opportunities.
 As another man on this sit has described.

Once you sign with a pro league club it cost more money to go foreign.

but on the flip side

can you continue to improve stay in form if you are not playing at a high level.

It is a catch 22
Post by: Sam on November 19, 2010, 07:35:57 PM
First time I agree with you.

It good and bad to play pro to keep full fit at a higher level, but it also good to play none contract football, but still they do need better agents to advise them.
Post by: Flex on December 10, 2010, 02:27:14 PM
Kevon Neaves left his club in Sweden for what ever reason to play in de super league for T&TEC.

"T&TEC is based in South, but the players are drawn from throughout the country. They all work for T&TEC at various locations throughout the country and also play football for the company. Kevon (Neaves) has a degree and has been hired in the clerical division while Anthony Noreiga is one of the guys that work in the field," said Mohan.
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2010, 05:49:14 PM
Kevon (Neaves) has a degree and has been hired in the clerical division while Anthony Noreiga is one of the guys that work in the field," said Mohan.

Here are 2 guys who has options. One has a college degree and the other is a field tech. Both of them decided security first and football 2nd. All yuh give them wrong? They probably can make the national team??!!
Post by: Sam on October 14, 2011, 08:04:11 AM
I said it in the past and I will say it again.

Our players are dumb and is hiring any agents they find hustling in T&T.

You cant blame the agents, they only look to make a quick dollar on the shoulder of our stupid local players.

What is amazing is that Yorke, Latapy, Edwards, Jones, Scotland, Kelvin Jack, Sancho, Lawrence... etc etc played in Europe and none of them bastards offering any help to the local players.

They forget where they came from.

Look Lawrence is a assistant coach for Wigan I am sure he could whisper something is somebody ears..
Post by: jusbless on October 14, 2011, 08:24:34 AM
MY 2010 UPDATE

Juma Clarence left Haceteppe SK for what ever reason to play for Avocat United in a dotish league, not de super league, not de pro league or even de division leagues, but de man playing in as bush league now.

Akeem Adams went on a trial with Seattle Sounders FC unfit and he knew about the trial months in advance. And now he not on the under 20 team and he has no club, so when he go back on trial in January what go happen.

Trent Lougheed decided to pick Joe Public over a US Scholarship, now hear de worst, he cant even make Joe Public side and is now playing for Leeds United in the Central Football Association of T&T.

Khaleem Hyland had a opportunity to go to the top leagues in Italy or Holland and play against better teams and maybe a chance to play in the UEFA champion league too but choose to stay in Belgium. Like he fraid to step it up.

Jamal Gay is clubless and is currently getting pick to play for our national team, who is he God Father. What happen to his contract in Germany.

I cant believe the utter rubbish I read sometimes from this forum,criticizing Hylan decision, Wow that was a new low but just to educate the illeterate or the compounded idiots ,It will benefit hyland more to stay in Belgium as he has one more year and he will be granted Belgium citezenship, which nmakes him more viable on the market as he would now be an EU player instead of a foreign player , if he had left belgium for any other of the european states , that process would have to begin all over again. so before you have time to write all that crap , please read before you speak
Post by: Touches on October 14, 2011, 08:45:13 AM

Look Lawrence is a assistant coach for Wigan I am sure he could whisper something is somebody ears..

Lawrence ent chupid...yuh want him lorse the little credibility he have or wha?

He might whisper something and the youth who come up most likely go royally 4k up or pull stones and look like a shithound...who arse to ketch now.

Yuh ent remember the man who went Scotland and say it was a stepping stone  :rotfl: he in Goa now. Poor Latas must be feel like Eddie Phillip.."ah shame"

Be honest...the lil skill and beat them fellas have...what else they have? bullet, speed, size, tackling ability, fitness, football brain?...breds them fellas no where close the the crop of good players of yesteryear who didn't make it.

Let's put it in perspective...Nigel Pierre, Rahim, Chubby...were better than what we have at the moment and could only move around lower level teams or get corbeaux sweat.

Then yuh had the real big players..Rougier, Nahkid, Marcelle, Lewis, Dwarika, Wise, Stern...all went abroad and did well but never make a big big side and reach up there....but watch the skill level these men had.

Only Shaka, Yorke and Latapy make it real big and men might still watch latapy career ahow, porto and rangers aside.

Samuel, Dog, Carlos, Lawrence, Avery John, Sancho and Scotland do damn good to reach where there were and play at that level for a number of years.

Now you want to look at them fellas in pro league and wonder why they can't make it...is because the things they supposedly good at not special enough and the things they deficient in, woefully below the minimum standard of Pro Ball.

Yes luck is involved, but hard work and discipline have a big part to do with success. It ent in our culture to do that...we place a higher value on people who could do ting easy with little effort.
Post by: Sam on October 14, 2011, 08:55:46 AM
I cant believe the utter rubbish I read sometimes from this forum,criticizing Hylan decision, Wow that was a new low but just to educate the illeterate or the compounded idiots ,It will benefit hyland more to stay in Belgium as he has one more year and he will be granted Belgium citezenship, which nmakes him more viable on the market as he would now be an EU player instead of a foreign player , if he had left belgium for any other of the european states , that process would have to begin all over again. so before you have time to write all that crap , please read before you speak

Cunny..

That was ah ole post, read de date nah....
Post by: Controversial on October 14, 2011, 10:40:39 AM
about 4 years ago I was going to write the exam and become a licensed agent, but then other things came up and I decided I wouldn't have time, maybe in the future I will look at doing it

at least I will look out for the player's interest from TT
Post by: madness on October 14, 2011, 10:51:37 AM
i think the current coach may line up some good agent for trinidad and tobago player, cuz in the post conference, it seems like he has connection
Post by: lil damo on October 14, 2011, 11:11:01 AM
This is a really good discussion topic.

One of the keys to getting our players out to good leagues is getting them out early. Most of our players coming out of high school are still young and considered "raw" products by the teams abroad and a good agent can sell his player enough to get a trial if they are under 20yrs old. Clubs look at that player as a potential appreciating investment who they may be able to sell for 5x the amount they paid for him.

So in the end it comes down to having a good agent and getting the opportunity to go abroad before you hit 20yrs old. The only guys that get into the good leagues after they hit 20yrs are the ones who are able to grow enough in the pro league setting to catch the eye of scouts. How often does that happen though?

All of our above average foreign players Yorke, Latapy, Hyland, Jones, Nakhid all left before they hit 20yrs.
The problem we have is a combination of bad agents and players who do not have quite enough talent to really interest clubs in the better leagues.

There is a little bit of luck/timing involved too.
Post by: supporter on October 14, 2011, 11:17:22 AM

Lawrence ent chupid...yuh want him lorse the little credibility he have or wha?

He might whisper something and the youth who come up most likely go royally 4k up or pull stones and look like a shithound...who arse to ketch now.

Yuh ent remember the man who went Scotland and say it was a stepping stone  :rotfl: he in Goa now. Poor Latas must be feel like Eddie Phillip.."ah shame"

Be honest...the lil skill and beat them fellas have...what else they have? bullet, speed, size, tackling ability, fitness, football brain?...breds them fellas no where close the the crop of good players of yesteryear who didn't make it.

Let's put it in perspective...Nigel Pierre, Rahim, Chubby...were better than what we have at the moment and could only move around lower level teams or get corbeaux sweat.

Then yuh had the real big players..Rougier, Nahkid, Marcelle, Lewis, Dwarika, Wise, Stern...all went abroad and did well but never make a big big side and reach up there....but watch the skill level these men had.

Only Shaka, Yorke and Latapy make it real big and men might still watch latapy career ahow, porto and rangers aside.

Samuel, Dog, Carlos, Lawrence, Avery John, Sancho and Scotland do damn good to reach where there were and play at that level for a number of years.

Now you want to look at them fellas in pro league and wonder why they can't make it...is because the things they supposedly good at not special enough and the things they deficient in, woefully below the minimum standard of Pro Ball.

Yes luck is involved, but hard work and discipline have a big part to do with success. It ent in our culture to do that...we place a higher value on people who could do ting easy with little effort.

But Otto says theres millions of dollars in our boy's legs, and that they can be be making $50,000 a day in any European club  :)

But, I agree with what everyone is saying...

1. its the players who need to step up and learn the game
2. we need better agents advising these players
3. we need our alumni giving back. Shaka is the only man serious about moving fpatt forward and advising the youth. But, even he seems to have slowed that down.
Post by: Spursy on October 14, 2011, 12:36:05 PM
 If senior head coach says we have good players then guess what.. we have good players. The question here is do the agents have proper FiFA licenses? Are these agents honest? Are these agents looking out for our players best interest? Are these agents doing thing illegally?

These are the questions I have no answer to. If Otto says transfers are been done during the season.. the transfer window is closed, how can you sell a player etc?? These are important questions because like Otto said, our players are not livestock.

You don't become a great player without proper training..  Yorke wasnt a great player when he signed for Villa, he had talent as do all our boys, he was educated on the game by his "PARENT CLUB" key word here people "PARENT" club before he could win the treble with United.

Don't let these retards on these boards tell you our players are crap, because we have more talents than any other country in this region besides maybe Mexico that live, breath and play football religiously.

Get proper agents tnt players, ask a man with internet to look up agents that may be interested. Google if your bloody friend. Don't settle for what is in Trinidad and what is cheap and what is fast because in the end you might end up like Theobald in India or breaking a limb in South Africa or even worse.. like playing in vietnam.

-sHOTTA
Post by: lil damo on October 14, 2011, 02:49:40 PM
Agents don't have to be from TnT, check out this extensive list of agents our boys could be using:

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/organisation/footballgovernance/playeragents/list.html

and this is a particularly good agency:

http://www.seginternational.com/football/page=site.home
Post by: Spursy on October 14, 2011, 03:25:53 PM
Agents don't have to be from TnT, check out this extensive list of agents our boys could be using:

http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/organisation/footballgovernance/playeragents/list.html

and this is a particularly good agency:

http://www.seginternational.com/football/page=site.home

good find! where is the like button?
Post by: CK1 on October 14, 2011, 03:38:31 PM
There is an agent on the USA list who is a Trinidadian and there are several others who have ties to Trinidad. Proper research is important before making statements that appear to be factual.
As Coops mentioned, the agent is not just responsible for finding a club and contract, but they are also running a business and can't waste time and resources on players who don't have the personal determination to handle the demands of making a living as a professional athlete. What I think most of our players don't quite understand is the global football market relative to "talent" and what it takes to become a player in demand for their services. The other issue is the understanding of what it means to be a "professional" in any field...talent alone is not good enough. The agent has to be careful to protect his name and reputation or his business will fail along with the players who fail to make the grade that he recommends them for.
Post by: Deeks on October 14, 2011, 03:46:32 PM
The is quite confusing to hear some of the responses. When Otto berated players for taking contract to nowhereland, people agree. But yet some blaming players for not being good enough to get contracts. Which side of the fence allyuh on. If the player go to somewhere we don't like he is a fool. If he stay home and weigh his options, he is a typical indiscipline TT'dadian.
Post by: Controversial on October 14, 2011, 04:59:29 PM
There is an agent on the USA list who is a Trinidadian and there are several others who have ties to Trinidad. Proper research is important before making statements that appear to be factual.
As Coops mentioned, the agent is not just responsible for finding a club and contract, but they are also running a business and can't waste time and resources on players who don't have the personal determination to handle the demands of making a living as a professional athlete. What I think most of our players don't quite understand is the global football market relative to "talent" and what it takes to become a player in demand for their services. The other issue is the understanding of what it means to be a "professional" in any field...talent alone is not good enough. The agent has to be careful to protect his name and reputation or his business will fail along with the players who fail to make the grade that he recommends them for.

good talk :beermug:

but not all players are on that vibe, some players are hungry enough to want it internationally
Post by: Controversial on October 14, 2011, 05:00:17 PM
The is quite confusing to hear some of the responses. When Otto berated players for taking contract to nowhereland, people agree. But yet some blaming players for not being good enough to get contracts. Which side of the fence allyuh on. If the player go to somewhere we don't like he is a fool. If he stay home and weigh his options, he is a typical indiscipline TT'dadian.

seems like a double edged sword, nothing wrong with staying at home, problem with that is the level of play and money
Post by: masterblaster on October 14, 2011, 05:15:53 PM
Why doesn't Yorkie become an agent.  Homeboy have links like peas in Europe....Come nah Dwight! think about it....Do coaching and commentating later dred!!!  Dem young talents need exposure out dey!!!
Post by: Controversial on October 14, 2011, 05:50:39 PM
Why doesn't Yorkie become an agent.  Homeboy have links like peas in Europe....Come nah Dwight! think about it....Do coaching and commentating later dred!!!  Dem young talents need exposure out dey!!!

hopefully it is not a blue crab syndrome
Post by: Sam on October 16, 2011, 04:54:34 AM
Shaka Hislop only worried about helping Freddy Hall from Bermuda get a foreign contract.

All these players who was big and respected in Europe (Skaha, Yorke, Latapy, Edwards, etc...) never help not even one of our local players to even a trial. They never even open a door for them....
Post by: Deeks on October 16, 2011, 04:59:28 AM
Sam, how allyuh jumping on Shaka and Dwight now. How you know they are going to be good agents? because they are ex-TT ballers? Everybody hear just pelting wood at past and present ballers in fustration.
Post by: Sam on October 16, 2011, 05:03:33 AM
Sam, how allyuh jumping on Shaka and Dwight now. How you know they are going to be good agents? because they are ex-TT ballers? Everybody hear just pelting wood at past and present ballers in fustration.

I am not saying them men have to be agents.

As I said, they are well respected in de UK and know alot of manangers.

How hard is it to recomend a man for a trial ?

I recomend alot of my friends where I working, some got the job, some didn't.

Its up to them, but atleast open de door.