Sports => Football => Topic started by: PATRIOT on May 21, 2010, 01:58:30 PM

Title: Press Conference Re 2006 Soca Warriors players Dispute...UPDATE as at Friday 21s
Post by: PATRIOT on May 21, 2010, 01:58:30 PM
First off, as I arrived, I must commend the organizers as their signage, giving directions, was EXCELLENT, particularly as I'd arrived at 5 mins before the proposed 10:00am start of the Press Conference, and had never been to the President Box West before (Since being refurbished some years ago, the administrative part of the Oval building is one giant maze, where one wrong turn can take you FAR away from your intended destination!)
Upon enterin the room, I recognised Otis Whitley, Kelvin Jack, Cyd Gray, Kenwyne Jones, Brent Sancho and David Attiba Charles (Anthony Wolfe would join the Press Conference later). Also present was Mike Townley the British attorney and Kevin Harrison (who did NOT take part in the proceedings but sat among us the Audience).  I was immediately surprised by the ABSENCE of MEDIA Personnel tho! In fact it was the media who delayed the start of the Press Conference until about 10:15am. And even then other than a few faces familiar to me, and the station ID mikes at the podium, I can say that the media (Print/Radio/Television) was extremely UNDER-represented! One of the players even remarked that "...iz election time, allyuh fellas only have all them lil cottage meetings to study now eh"

Once the Press Conference started, Mike Townley traced the origins of the conflict and immediately sought to distance the TIMING of the PC from the General Elections on Monday. In fact he said that the MAIN reason, besides updating the Public, was that the group of players felt they needed to RESPOND to Jack Warner's claim on an election platform that the issue was settled, and the players ALL paid, which in fact is untrue. To support this, he read JW's Press Release on the matter, from 2 years ago, stating same. He then read copies of letters written by him, in his capacity of legal representative of the 13 players (TECHNICALLY STILL 16, as there was NO proof of payment to the other 3 who have since distanced themseles from the legal action) to the TTFF and the Chief Justice of T&T/Ministry of Legal Affairs regarding the length of time the matter has been seemingly stalled in the T&T legal system. He also indicated that the Ministry of Sports had provided appox 82 million TT$ to the 2006 campaign, while the PRIVATE sector added a further TT$88 million (companies such as ADIDAS,Atlantic LNG,CARIB and BG/BP) Townley then clarified that the players were NOT even adddressing their claims to the Ministry's contribution, but rather 50% of the PRIVATE SPONSORS. contributions. Then it was time for Q&A.

While I don't remember all the questions asked, I will fill you in on the ones I think are MOST relevant. I asked about the most recent correspondence received from the local Courts..and was told, NONE has ever been received, tho the case is pending since October 2009 when a judgement was promised! One reporter then asked if the possibility of Jack Warner getting into the next Gov't was a concern to the players... the response was that given the fact that Jack has a former Judge now campaigning with him, it raises questions in their (the players) minds as to whether or not this has contributed to the unusual delay in the local courts and going forward, whether they can expect fair treatment should the People's partnership win. Another journalist asked whether the timing of the Press Conference 3 days before the General elections wouldn't be seen as Politically motivated...which I felt was already addressed by the players' attorney already, but Kelvin Jack replied that even at the airport coming in Mike Townly when questioned by Immigration authorities as to his reason for coming to T&T, told the officer for the Soca Warriors presence, the officer replied "Ent they get pay already?"...further proof that a lot of people in the country are  or had been misled, AND the guys needed to bring it up at a time when they would get noticed, as it has been almost 4 years now (and he pointed to a sign on the wall behind which had printed on it "$ years later and STill the Soca Warriors have not yet been paid". On the question as to whether it could be seen as a sign of dwindling fortunes on their part that of the 23 players who went to the World Cup, it's now down to 13 who are actively pusuing the matter, Brent Sancho said that if even only ONE continues the struggle, it's STILL a worthy cause. Another question came as to the lack of support from SENIOR players (ie Dwight Yorke and Russell Latapy), and K. Jack threw it back at the media and asked them to go ask Latapy WHY he never supported the cause... and diito go find Dwight Yorke and ask him too, in fact Dwight got special mention, hear Kelvin Jack "As someone who I looked up to as both a player and my Captain, I was very disappointed in him having written a book last year, and NOT ONE WORD about this issue, but only talking about his various escapades, it's almost laughable...". When asked what is the players last option, as it's been 4 years wih seemingly no end in sight, didn't the players feel that they were jeopardizing their International careers and chance of ever representig T&T again, brent Sancho said that their situation was NOT a unique one, but dated back years, even decades as players and the TTFA/TTFF have had numerous run-ins, but THIS group of players marked the FIRST time a UNIT has banded and stayed together. The issue of FPATT was also raised and again the lack of support by guys like Russell and Dwight was mentioned. Sancho claimed that young players now getting into the National team, were being threatened by their Club managers if they joined! Another question related to this was the blacklisting of players and it's impact on the failed 2010 WC campaign, and Sancho, Jack and Kenwyne Jones all shared their own feelings on how disappointed they were, Brent Sancho especially since he noted that his LAST game for T&T was actually against Paraguay in the World Cup four years ago! He said he didn't want future players to go through what they were experiencing and was taking a stand for the future of football in T&T. there were some other issues raised, but thats basically what I can recall, so there you have it...nothing NEW per se, but for me it was an opportunity to be among some of the guys who contributed to two of the HAPPIEST days of my life... November 16th 2005 and June 10th 2006.
Title: Re: Press Conference Re 2006 Soca Warriors players Dispute...UPDATE as at Friday 21s
Post by: Coop's on May 21, 2010, 02:20:24 PM
Patriot,thanks Breds,this is what i want to hear,not what some man say but you was there,i guess it's another Conference with no results. :applause: :applause: :beermug:
Title: Re: Press Conference Re 2006 Soca Warriors players Dispute...UPDATE as at Friday
Post by: vb on May 21, 2010, 02:25:19 PM
Thanks Patriot.

Title: Re: Press Conference Re 2006 Soca Warriors players Dispute...UPDATE as at Friday 21s
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 02:31:19 PM
Patriot,thanks Breds,this is what i want to hear,not what some man say but you was there,i guess it's another Conference with no results. :applause: :applause: :beermug:

No it was carried live on I95 so hopefully some ah d peeps would b betta informed. Cosign Patriot it was nice to b wit dem peeps who make dem2 days d best days of my life. It is good that it happened 2day 10 yrs since my mom passed at least some good come on this day. 13 players say we eh get paid and the man who want we do vote 4 he is a LIARRRRRRRRRRRRR 
Post by: Babalawo on May 21, 2010, 03:05:27 PM
 :applause: :applause: :applause: wish i could see some video
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2010, 04:36:35 PM
Patriot... thanks for the thorough report, I don't know if you were taking notes or if your memory juss that good but I really appreciate the level of detail yuh provide. 

As a former Holy Cross man myself I have always been partial to Kelvin Jack... but pardna, between this press conference today and the fortright answers you gave Flex in his interview, I have an immense amount of respect for you and the uncompromising stance you have taken on this and other matters (suit against your former agent, Mike Berry for one).  I like the brand of leadership that you, Sancho and even Shaka in absentia are providing and God-willing the younger players will stand up and take note.  It must start somewhere.

Nice to hear that Kevin Harrison still in the mix... another tireless soldier in a thankless job.  In the other thread Weary mentioned that Mike Townley and Jack flew in just for this... I'm sure Kevin did as well, thanks for your selfless efforts the past 4 years  :beermug: :beermug:

As for Jack... it seriously boggles the mind how downright schupid and misinformed Trinidadians can be.  I can't believe people seriously thinking that what this crook saying about the players getting paid is true.  In fact I can't believe that people take anything coming out both sides of that man mouth as truth.  The thought that this man is seriously contending for a senior political/government position in the next couple days tells me all I need to know about the sophistication of the TnT populace. 

That some on here want to make the argument that things cannot POSSIBLY get worse if Jack Warner is placed anywhere near the national Treasury compared to the current administration... is as alarming as it is disappointing.  I hold no quarters for Manning, but there is incompetence/arrogance/corruption... and then there is evil/arrogance/corruption.  I don't know Jack Warner's soul so it may be presumptuous of me to call him evil... but one cannot possibly be as boldfaced a liar and as defiantly mean-spirited towards others... for no good reason...  and yet know the fear of God in your heart.  It just can't happen.

His coziness with Volney has rightly been highlighted by Mr. Townley as a cause for concern... partisan politics aside, would that the voting populace would take note of this as well, and ask the question whether they trust either of these two men in a position of leadership, control and influence in TnT.
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 04:40:38 PM
Patriot... thanks for the thorough report, I don't know if you were taking notes or if your memory juss that good but I really appreciate the level of detail yuh provide. 

As a former Holy Cross man myself I have always been partial to Kelvin Jack... but pardna, between this press conference today and the fortright answers you gave Flex in his interview, I have an immense amount of respect for you and the uncompromising stance you have taken on this and other matters (suit against your former agent, Mike Berry for one).  I like the brand of leadership that you, Sancho and even Shaka in absentia are providing and God-willing the younger players will stand up and take note.  It must start somewhere.

Nice to hear that Kevin Harrison still in the mix... another tireless soldier in a thankless job.  In the other thread Weary mentioned that Mike Townley and Jack flew in just for this... I'm sure Kevin did as well, thanks for your selfless efforts the past 4 years  :beermug: :beermug:

As for Jack... it seriously boggles the mind how downright schupid and misinformed Trinidadians can be.  I can't believe people seriously thinking that what this crook saying about the players getting paid is true.  In fact I can't believe that people take anything coming out both sides of that man mouth as truth.  The thought that this man is seriously contending for a senior political/government position in the next couple days tells me all I need to know about the sophistication of the TnT populace. 

That some on here want to make the argument that things cannot POSSIBLY get worse if Jack Warner is placed anywhere near the national Treasury compared to the current administration... is as alarming as it is disappointing.  I hold no quarters for Manning, but there is incompetence/arrogance/corruption... and then there is evil/arrogance/corruption.  I don't know Jack Warner's soul so it may be presumptuous of me to call him evil... but one cannot possibly be as boldfaced a liar and as defiantly mean-spirited towards others... for no good reason...  and yet know the fear of God in your heart.  It just can't happen.

His coziness with Volney has rightly been highlighted by Mr. Townley as a cause for concern... partisan politics aside, would that the voting populace would take note of this as well, and ask the question whether they trust either of these two men in a position of leadership, control and influence in TnT.

Kevin is now based in TNT wit North East Stars
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 21, 2010, 04:52:00 PM
People in TnT have short memory they forget "ticket or leave it" scandal and the  overpricing of tickets for farewell game against Peru. It is mind boggling why Warner is at  forefront of unc election campaign .
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 04:54:06 PM
People in TnT have short memory they forget "ticket or leave it" scandal and the  overpricing of tickets for farewell game against Peru. It is mind boggling why Warner is at  forefront of unc election campaign .

Because Manning is a dictator
Post by: WestCoast on May 21, 2010, 04:54:51 PM
Patriot, as always, Thanks Man
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 21, 2010, 04:58:14 PM

Yeah well people go have to really desperate to vote for UNC
Post by: dreamer on May 21, 2010, 05:00:38 PM
Nuff respect  :salute: :salute:  to the players who sacrificed big time for what they perceive as a just cause worth the persecution. Patriot, yuh in top top form breds, so big up for the report that several of the mainstream news outlets seem uninterested in carrying. Also, refreshing on-point, non-abusive comments by Bake and Shark. Coop's doh jump to the conclusion too quickly that the effort is wasted. Be strong.

Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 05:27:29 PM

Yeah well people go have to really desperate to vote for UNC

Boi I goin 4 d 1-0 defeat wit d PNM than d 6-0 wit d UNC.
Post by: Deeks on May 21, 2010, 05:36:24 PM
Thanx Patriot!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on May 21, 2010, 05:37:53 PM
I just caught a bit of it on the news......*sigh* four years.....four years ago I preparing to go to Germany.....four years later Jack going into government.....my what a difference four years makes....*sigh*
Post by: WestCoast on May 21, 2010, 05:42:19 PM
I just caught a bit of it on the news......*sigh* four years.....four years ago I preparing to go to Germany.....four years later Jack going into government.....my what a difference four years makes....*sigh*
But
THINK of ALL the money the TTFF will have to bring in BIG sides to play us in friendlies :devil: :devil:

oh wait
Jack go tief the money den say the TTFF STILL brokes :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 05:44:01 PM

CO-SIGNNN EXCEPT I REFUSE 2 SAY THAT JACK GOIN INTO GOVT. I WILL SWIM ACROSS DAT BRIDGE WHEN I GET 2 IT AND I CYAH SWIM.
Post by: gothic on May 21, 2010, 06:02:52 PM

I am not sure if it's the "sophistication of the TnT populace" that is to blame but more so the media. If this exact same situation was in the US JW woulda been crucified by the constant media attention highlighting all these issues from when he was in charge of the TTFA and in his stint as special advisor, but in Trinidad if it didn't happen last week the media doesn't focus on it.

When i tell people I cannot vote for the UNC/Cop because of JW and list the troubling issues that arose over the years most vaguely remember that something was wrong with the final qualification game in 1989 and there was something with the moneys after the 2006 WC. The problem is they all think it's just a government issue, i.e. the TTFF is run by the government and not as a private enterprise run by JW and friends.
Post by: Football supporter on May 21, 2010, 06:19:07 PM
The question I would like answered is why isn't the PNM using this to attack Warner? Warners quite happy to support his friend, ex judge Volney (I wonder how much persuasion he has with the judge sitting on the ruling?) digging up 7 year old facts and accusing Volneys opponent of financial improprieties. So why doesn't Manning challenge Warner? More to the point, if Kamla is preaching financial propriety and investigations into corruption, the PNM should be asking her if she will order an investigation of Warner. Also, why didn't UNC order Warner to settle this case before he could become party chairman? Surely they knew this subject would come up?

Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 06:23:13 PM
The question I would like answered is why isn't the PNM using this to attack Warner? Warners quite happy to support his friend, ex judge Volney (I wonder how much persuasion he has with the judge sitting on the ruling?) digging up 7 year old facts and accusing Volneys opponent of financial improprieties. So why doesn't Manning challenge Warner? More to the point, if Kamla is preaching financial propriety and investigations into corruption, the PNM should be asking her if she will order an investigation of Warner. Also, why didn't UNC order Warner to settle this case before he could become party chairman? Surely they knew this subject would come up?

PNM know peeps dotish and blieve dat d players get paid. UNC know d peeps dotish and feel d players get paid. I ah sure u d average Joe after 2day go feel dat d players get paid. Y because d peeps dotish. As I say b4 when Aloes say Robbie take down d cock and put a dragon and peeps blieve and Manning in d death of nite take down d dragon and put upa dove I gave up on my people. So d players have 2 stand firm and fight to the end and hope the court rule in their favour and as d lawyer say if d TTFF/TTFA eh have no assets and dey eh get nutten so b it but evil only prevails when peeps do nutten.
Post by: Trini _2026 on May 21, 2010, 07:15:55 PM

well Warner bawl PNM digging up dirt on him
http://www.youtube.com/v/Z-P2BN9pwRE
Post by: mukumsplau on May 21, 2010, 08:50:29 PM
allyuh see d video? well shaka jack and d res ah dem men betta go campaignin for COP dey mite get dey money there...warner handlin men!
Post by: Babalawo on May 21, 2010, 08:59:35 PM
Jack Warner caught bribing poor people in San Fernando West.  So we know why the people in Chaguanas West does vote for this nasty man...
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1337125460886&ref=nf
Post by: weary1969 on May 21, 2010, 09:37:30 PM
Jack Warner caught bribing poor people in San Fernando West.  So we know why the people in Chaguanas West does vote for this nasty man...
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1337125460886&ref=nf

Dog bites man where d news?
Post by: Bakes on May 21, 2010, 10:50:15 PM
I am not sure if it's the "sophistication of the TnT populace" that is to blame but more so the media. If this exact same situation was in the US JW woulda been crucified by the constant media attention highlighting all these issues from when he was in charge of the TTFA and in his stint as special advisor, but in Trinidad if it didn't happen last week the media doesn't focus on it.

When i tell people I cannot vote for the UNC/Cop because of JW and list the troubling issues that arose over the years most vaguely remember that something was wrong with the final qualification game in 1989 and there was something with the moneys after the 2006 WC. The problem is they all think it's just a government issue, i.e. the TTFF is run by the government and not as a private enterprise run by JW and friends.

Yuh see dat is whey I different... ignorance is no excuse.  Yes media sitting on de story is partly tuh blame, but is how much expose Lasana write?  He write so much 'til he write heself outta ah wuk wid de Express.  How much information out there on the internet?  And doh tell mih voters doh have access tuh internet... in dis day and age every man jack in TnT have direct or indirect access tuh de internet.  Not that you need internet to tell yuh dat Jack Warner corrupted.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 21, 2010, 11:07:24 PM
JW,Kamla et al were given a free ride by the media throughout the campaign. I'm not surprised.
Post by: Big Magician on May 22, 2010, 02:09:47 AM
dem iz warriors
Post by: Flex on May 22, 2010, 05:02:46 AM
Soca Warriors say payment issue not settled.
By: Kern De Freitas (T&T Express).

NO BONUS YET

The ’Soca Warriors’ are making it clear that they have not settled the matter of World Cup 2006 bonuses, currently before the local courts, and they are not going to give up.

Seven of the 13 players embroiled in the four-year legal battle held a press conference yesterday at the President’s Box of the Queen’s Park Oval- along with their London-based lawyer Mike Townley-to address what they claim are statements by Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) special adviser Jack Warner on the hustings that the matter has been settled.

Present yesterday at the press conference were goalkeeper Darlington FC goalkeeper Kelvin Jack, Sunderland FC striker Kenwyne Jones, USL First Division defender Atiba Charles, North East Stars FC CEO Brent Sancho, Anthony Wolfe, Aurtis Whitley and Cyd Gray.

Of the original 16 players taking legal action against the Federation, 13 are still awaiting a judgement on the matter. The UK-based arbitration body Sports Dispute Resolution Panel handed down a ruling two years ago Wednesday, that awarded the players 50 per cent of corporate receipts from the World Cup, after they took legal action against the TTFF for unpaid bonuses promised by Warner.

A day later, the Trinidad Guardian reported the results of the arbitration, which had been placed under gag order. Since September 2008, that matter has been in the local courts. The players said that after two delays, a judgement on it was expected in November last year. So far, none has been forthcoming.

’There’s a phrase ’justice delayed is justice denied’. Well we have no justice. We can delay this forever (but) that means we get no justice,’ Townley told the media. Townley added that he has had no update on the case since October 2009, and has written a letter to the Chief Justice’s office. A lack of response to his letter in the coming weeks, he feels, will send the signal that ’something’s up’.

The players deny the press conference yesterday was politically motivated, despite its timing right in the heart of a heated election campaign. Townley described this as an ’appropriate’ time.

’This press conference is not about the elections,’ he stated. ’It is about us not getting paid. It has been called at this time because statements have been made that we’ve been paid and we haven’t been paid.’ The players also denied that the People’s National Movement (PNM), who are contesting the elections against Warner’s UNC coalition, are behind the conference.

But Warner has dismissed their claims as PNM tricks, and nothing more than a political tactic.

’I am in the middle of campaigning for an election, (and) if the players think they can distract me from that they are mistaken,’ Warner told the Express yesterday.

He said they had the option to settle out of court, and that ’some players accepted, some did not’.

’But I have no problem with that, I expect to see more problems than that,’ the UNC chairman added. ’That’s a PNM trick. I heard they’re bringing (Andrew) Jennings too.’

’Let them go ahead, I wish all of them luck if they believe they could politicise this and drag it into the gutter.’

Jennings is a British journalist who has on a number of occasions confronted Warner, accusing him of backroom financial dealings inside and outside of FIFA, of which Warner is a vice-president.

The players say the TTFF got $82,245,113.15 from government and $88,165,000 from corporate sponsors, and the latter is the sum they are contesting. This, they said, would amount to $1.9-$3.4 million per player.

Jack (Kelvin) called on Warner to be accountable for the World Cup funds and accused him of being ’greedy’ and ’arrogant’.

’ Mr Warner has been trying to discredit us,’ the ex-T&T custodian said. ’He has been saying we are greedy, but you tell me: who is the greedy party here. Who’s the greedy person?’ He added that Warner ’probably thinks he is above the law.’

He accused senior national coach Russell Latapy and ex-captain Dwight Yorke of abandoning the team, who had played as a ’unit’ in Germany, pointing out that they were two of the more vocal players at the beginning of the standoff.

’Why didn’t they stand up with us as senior players?’ he asked.

Sancho also said the players’ current stand has become about more than money. He related that in his time as a footballer, he had heard a lot of ’shocking’ stories about players being victimised in the 1970s and 1980s.

’If we have to be the martyrs for this then so be it. But at the end of the day, this (intimidation) has to stop.’
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 06:28:43 AM
JW,Kamla et al were given a free ride by the media throughout the campaign. I'm not surprised.

Jah dat mean u agreein wit Patos dat d media bias. Dat cyah b correck
dem iz warriors

COSIGNNNNNNNNN
ENTTTTTTTTTTTT
2 D BITTER END
Title: Media's take on the socawarriors
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 10:21:44 AM
Trinidad Guardian story today on "Election picong" ranging from Jack Warner calling Marlene McDonald a "mampee" to Patrick Manning labelling a UNC jingle as a "viagra ad": 412 words
Guardian story about MP Junia Regrello's failure to chat when Warner when they passed each other on the hustings: 335 words

Guardian story on MA Pau VIP party: 324 words

Guardian story on UNC chairman and financier Jack Warner's failure to honour promise to national sporting heroes and quite possibly committing fraud with corporate and State funds: 186 words with one quote
My take on the current state of the vast majority of the local media? One word: Dishonest

Guardian still did better than the Newsday who felt it was not worth covering at all. But, just to ensure that no one thought them unbalanced, rather than attend the press conference they called Jack Warner's lawyer, Om Lalla, and just used a quote from him--thus ensuring that they covered the only side that matters to them.

Only Express at least attempted to cover the conference although they did not send a political or news reporter.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 22, 2010, 05:15:30 PM

aaaarrrrrrmmm the PNM has been showing ads about Mr. Warner and his deeds at their meetings.  I saw the same ads maybe once or twice on TV but after that for some strange reason I've only seen them being shown during the meetings.  Which to me doesn't make sense.  If you are trying to reach the widest audience with this message then why not show them over and over the way the UNC has been with the Rowley vs. PM ads??.  Lord knows I can reapeat them ads by heart by now...... ::) ::)

Also, you wanted the UNC to ask Jack to clear this up before he became Chairman??  You serious??  How else they were going to get money??   Make no mistake about it, the ONLY reason Jack was brought into the UNC was because he had money....END OF STORY........well that is IMHO.......
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 05:38:51 PM

aaaarrrrrrmmm the PNM has been showing ads about Mr. Warner and his deeds at their meetings.  I saw the same ads maybe once or twice on TV but after that for some strange reason I've only seen them being shown during the meetings.  Which to me doesn't make sense.  If you are trying to reach the widest audience with this message then why not show them over and over the way the UNC has been with the Rowley vs. PM ads??.  Lord knows I can reapeat them ads by heart by now...... ::) ::)

Also, you wanted the UNC to ask Jack to clear this up before he became Chairman??  You serious??  How else they were going to get money??   Make no mistake about it, the ONLY reason Jack was brought into the UNC was because he had money....END OF STORY........well that is IMHO.......

If he pay d players dat go mean less money 4 d campaign.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 22, 2010, 06:26:27 PM
T&T players reject Warner offer
Friday, 21 November 2008 08:02 Lasana Liburd (T&T Express)

English barrister Michael Townley and several "Soca Warriors" yesterday rubbished suggestions from FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special adviser Jack Warner that financial settlements were reached with the "majority" of 2006 World Cup players regarding their bonus dispute. The Express can confirm that the TTFF will make payments to World Cup team captain Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Dennis Lawrence, Carlos Edwards, Clayton Ince, Jason Scotland and Densill Theobald, who were not a part of the legal action taken against the body.

Thirty-two-year-old Scotland-based defender Marvin Andrews, who has been without a club since May, has broken ranks with the rebels and would settle, while there is speculation that Scotland First Division winger Collin Samuel will do likewise.

But the remaining 14 squad members, according to Townley, are "prepared to stand the course" and rejected a sum understood to be $186,000 (US$30,000) per player.

Townley's clients are Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Ian Cox, Cyd Gray, Atiba Charles, Brent Sancho, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen, Kenwyne Jones and Stern John.

The TTFF have been at odds with 16 players from their 23-man World Cup squad since October 2006 when they offered $5,644.08 each to the players, who were verbally promised half of all revenue from the country's Germany adventure.

Most of the Warriors refused and hired Townley who led them to a victory over the TTFF in the London-based Sports Dispute Resolution Panel in May 2008.

The arbitration body ordered the TTFF to open their accounts for scrutiny, so as to ascertain what the players are owed, but Warner attempted to offset their judgment as he met with several World Cup players at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Port of Spain on Monday and told the media, two days later, that the dispute was over.

"We have come to the dawn of a new era through the initiative of Peter O' Connor...to settle the outstanding dispute since 2006," said Warner, on Wednesday. "Today we have done just that and we have agreed to a settlement out-of-court figure, which the majority of players have agreed to and which sum we shall pay today or in a couple days time."
Post by: YoursTruly on May 22, 2010, 06:48:29 PM
Govt pumps in $3.25m into FPATT
Wednesday, 07 January 2009 08:43 Kern De Freitas (T&T Express)

Having fumbled for a way through after humble beginnings, the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) can finally afford to stand on their feet. FPATT will benefit from a $3.25 million infusion from the Sport and Youth Affairs Ministry to get operations up and running, FPATT president Shaka Hislop revealed yesterday during a press conference at the Nealco Training Centre on Edward Street, Port of Spain.

The financial boost will pump some life back into the Players Association, which has been dormant due to a lack of funds. It involves annual contributions over the next three year periods, after which Sport Minister Gary Hunt said FPATT must become "self-sufficient and self-reliant".

Hislop, the ex-national goal-keeper, who left the country yesterday after flying in the day before for the press conference, thanked Hunt for, "his support, his vision" and the "financial input from his Ministry".

"Every penny will go back into the game," was Hislop's assurance.

The monies promised for the final two years will be granted to FPATT, "predicated upon the receipt of audited statements", a major criterion Hunt has repeatedly demanded from sport organisations benefitting from the Ministry's generosity.

Yesterday, Hunt paid out the first installment, the sum of $1,500,000 to the players association. For the second year they will receive $1 million, and the final payout will be $750,000.

Among FPATT's immediate agenda will be player mobilisation, "to get the Players Association off the ground" according to Hislop.

"We will be focussing on starting a membership drive and establishing a voice for the players," he said, adding that, "...the only tangible assets in football are the players, so the players must have a voice".

FPATT was formed in 2003, and have been at odds with the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) over players issues for some time. Still, Hislop said FPATT are not "against" the T&TFF, despite "broad and slanderous statements" being made against the Association:

"FPATT is not against the TTFF. We are just here to give the players a voice in the game. I don't know how that translates to being against the T&TFF. I didn't get that translation."

Asked about the money they received from the Ministry last year, Hislop reported that the sum of $99,000 they got was only a loan, and will be repaid from the funds they received yesterday "with some accrued interest, of course".

He also described as "absolute fallacy" claims that the ongoing arbitration involving members of the 2006 World Cup squad and the T&TFF over World Cup bonuses was being paid for by funds provided by the Government.

Hislop said that FPATT will continue to look after players' interests, and referred to insurance for national players at all levels as an important issue. He pointed to an incident where he claimed the T&TFF had given verbal assurance that there would be insurance for senior national players in February last year.

"Lo and behold, when Kenwyne Jones got injured (in June last year versus England), there was a rather embarrassing exchange of words between Roy Keane and Jack Warner over the lack of insurance for Kenwyne Jones."

FPATT are also planning their AGM, which Hislop said is high on their agenda.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on May 22, 2010, 08:07:13 PM
Pity these players are being used a scapegoats and politicizing this just before the election.

Not sure if this was the appropriate time for them to do this and who is behind them to do this now...
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 08:17:33 PM
Pity these players are being used a scapegoats and politicizing this just before the election.

Not sure if this was the appropriate time for them to do this and who is behind them to do this now...

When would it b appropriate? Nobody eh behind dem is JW who on d platform dat they get dey money. So dey not suppose 2 say he LIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

Is 4 yrs dis goin on when dey suppose 2 talk bout it?
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 08:19:53 PM

Having fumbled for a way through after humble beginnings, the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) can finally afford to stand on their feet. FPATT will benefit from a $3.25 million infusion from the Sport and Youth Affairs Ministry to get operations up and running, FPATT president Shaka Hislop revealed yesterday during a press conference at the Nealco Training Centre on Edward Street, Port of Spain.

The financial boost will pump some life back into the Players Association, which has been dormant due to a lack of funds. It involves annual contributions over the next three year periods, after which Sport Minister Gary Hunt said FPATT must become "self-sufficient and self-reliant".

Hislop, the ex-national goal-keeper, who left the country yesterday after flying in the day before for the press conference, thanked Hunt for, "his support, his vision" and the "financial input from his Ministry".

The monies promised for the final two years will be granted to FPATT, "predicated upon the receipt of audited statements", a major criterion Hunt has repeatedly demanded from sport organisations benefitting from the Ministry's generosity.

Yesterday, Hunt paid out the first installment, the sum of $1,500,000 to the players association. For the second year they will receive $1 million, and the final payout will be $750,000.

Among FPATT's immediate agenda will be player mobilisation, "to get the Players Association off the ground" according to Hislop.

"We will be focussing on starting a membership drive and establishing a voice for the players," he said, adding that, "...the only tangible assets in football are the players, so the players must have a voice".

FPATT was formed in 2003, and have been at odds with the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) over players issues for some time. Still, Hislop said FPATT are not "against" the T&TFF, despite "broad and slanderous statements" being made against the Association:

"FPATT is not against the TTFF. We are just here to give the players a voice in the game. I don't know how that translates to being against the T&TFF. I didn't get that translation."

Asked about the money they received from the Ministry last year, Hislop reported that the sum of $99,000 they got was only a loan, and will be repaid from the funds they received yesterday "with some accrued interest, of course".

He also described as "absolute fallacy" claims that the ongoing arbitration involving members of the 2006 World Cup squad and the T&TFF over World Cup bonuses was being paid for by funds provided by the Government.

Hislop said that FPATT will continue to look after players' interests, and referred to insurance for national players at all levels as an important issue. He pointed to an incident where he claimed the T&TFF had given verbal assurance that there would be insurance for senior national players in February last year.

"Lo and behold, when Kenwyne Jones got injured (in June last year versus England), there was a rather embarrassing exchange of words between Roy Keane and Jack Warner over the lack of insurance for Kenwyne Jones."

FPATT like WIPA does get money from d govt. FPATT however, did not meet the requirements 4 disbursment.
Post by: elan on May 22, 2010, 08:21:18 PM

You cannot be serious with a statement like that. What a joke.
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 08:24:40 PM

You cannot be serious with a statement like that. What a joke.

As a heart attack dat is Y JW have d upper hand dem set a dotish statements.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on May 22, 2010, 09:57:14 PM
So wait nah...allyuh saying dat it aint have ah inch ah politics in dem fellas coming out now to publicize this money issue now...?? ....now self Jack might be more badmind not to even entertain d thought...

Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 10:10:07 PM
So wait nah...allyuh saying dat it aint have ah inch ah politics in dem fellas coming out now to publicize this money issue now...?? ....now self Jack might be more badmind not to even entertain d thought...

What make u tink dat Jack was entertainin a thought b4. Dey agree 2 arbitration he eh go. Dj udge rule 4 d players he get it leak in d papers and file a bogus lawsuit. At evry turn d man sayin d majority settle even wit my bad math if 16 peeps sue and 3 agree 2 settle dat eh no majority.

JW have no intention 2 pay a black cent d TTFF go get levy on and no assets would b found but dat go b aok. U must make a stand.
Post by: dinho on May 22, 2010, 10:26:14 PM
Now first of all, let me say that I am firmly on the side of the players in this matter.

But come on guys!!

objectively speaking, if the timing of this wasn't politically motivated then what is? Man sparing no expense to fly back from England for a press conference that just so happen to fall the week before elections?

Imo, there is a real worry in this election time with Jack coming into power that it could have an effect on their case, and thats fully understandable. But that's political motivation isn't it?
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 10:36:31 PM
Now first of all, let me say that I am firmly on the side of the players in this matter.

But come on guys!!

objectively speaking, if the timing of this wasn't politically motivated then what is? Man sparing no expense to fly back from England for a press conference that just so happen to fall the week before elections?

Imo, there is a real worry in this election time with Jack coming into power that it could have an effect on their case, and thats fully understandable. But that's political motivation isn't it?

So if JW sayin all ovah dat all is well dey should not respond. He eh in govt and dey cyah get a judgment.
Post by: dinho on May 22, 2010, 10:38:29 PM

But come on guys!!

So if JW sayin all ovah dat all is well dey should not respond. He eh in govt and dey cyah get a judgment.

Honestly, i can't read what you just wrote.
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 10:50:33 PM

But come on guys!!

On the platform the Hon incumbent for Chaguanas West is making prononcements that the players have been paid. Is it not the players right to correct the inaccuracies. As for fearing that they will not get a judgment if he gets into power he is not in power and since october 2009 they are waiing on a judgement.
Post by: dinho on May 22, 2010, 11:08:27 PM

But come on guys!!

On the platform the Hon incumbent for Chaguanas West is making prononcements that the players have been paid. Is it not the players right to correct the inaccuracies. As for fearing that they will not get a judgment if he gets into power he is not in power and since october 2009 they are waiing on a judgement.

scene and i agree that is their right.. but with the timing you don't find it political?
Post by: weary1969 on May 22, 2010, 11:15:04 PM

But come on guys!!

scene and i agree that is their right.. but with the timing you don't find it political?

Since I have gotten to know a couple of the guys during this ordeal the answer is no. All they want is what is entitled to them. The decision to fly in was a last last minute decision if they were being political it would have been a more strategic decision.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 09:21:53 AM

Dem fellas only taking advantage of the li'l window of opportunity to bring light to the situation.  Right when Jack campaigning they know people likely to pay attention to anything related to the candidates.  Reading into the implications of your statement... PNM wasn't supporting the players before, is all of a sudden now the players will be put up by them to have this press conference?  PNM paying Townley tuh get involve too?

Allyuh need to think a bit more critically before posting man.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 09:23:43 AM

But come on guys!!

No it isn't.

Political motivation would be "we want the PNM to win and so we go do whatever we can to make sure their opponents lose".  As I said... allyuh need to think more critically before allyuh post.
Post by: Babalawo on May 23, 2010, 09:30:10 AM

FPATT like WIPA does get money from d govt. FPATT however, did not meet the requirements 4 disbursment.

doh study he YoursTruly probably=Shaun Fuentes.  Another of Warner's puppets
Post by: spideybuff on May 23, 2010, 09:55:38 AM

But come on guys!!

Them men back home on holidays, plus Carlos wedding is next weekend so i sure the UK based invited to that too. They probably had the press conference cause they knew them men would be around.

Plus, I know real ppl fly in to make sure they vote in this elections.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 10:21:46 AM

The TTFF have been at odds with 16 players from their 23-man World Cup squad since October 2006 when they offered $5,644.08 each to the players, who were verbally promised half of all revenue from the country's Germany adventure.

You posted this long article only to highlight this one isolated phrase... exactly what is the purpose of the highlight... or the article for that matter?

In case you're trying to emphasize that this was a verbal promise and not some genuine type of agreement you may want to familiarize yourself with the law of Contracts.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 10:24:43 AM
To Babalawo, please get yourself a f**kING proper name; I am a practising journalist, not a TTFF employee, so get your f**kING facts straight. Hear that name, Babalawo, not a name worthy of a chimpanzee, far less for a human!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 10:28:48 AM
Wheyyyy... all ah dat fella/lady?  Like yuh need familiarization with Shango/Orisha/Yoruba as well?  And yuh say yuh's ah journalist too?  Ah hope yuh not 'posing' as we intrepid "Media Officer" so memorably put it.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 11:01:16 AM
Well, I am a fella who like ladies, but I don't deal with witchcraft stuff, but thanks for your clarification as well okay. When you get involved in the news sector, give me a holla. Blessings....

Wheyyyy... all ah dat fella/lady?  Like yuh need familiarization with Shango/Orisha/Yoruba as well?  And yuh say yuh's ah journalist too?  Ah hope yuh not 'posing' as we intrepid "Media Officer" so memorably put it.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 23, 2010, 11:02:26 AM

But come on guys!!

I don't know if I'm misinterpreting this ,should they have waited weeks after Warner's statements to respond ? I suppose by that time political ramifications would have subsided. I don't rule out a political element in all of this, but one could also easily decipher the rationale that the heightened interest derived from the election season could have been used as the catalyst to sensitize the public to their grievances, especially as Jack Warner deliberately misled the public while on the hustings.

Tit for Tat , that is all.

Judging from Patriot's report it seems distinguished members of the media weren't interested in the dealings of a senior UNC candidate and chief party financier. I don't know if the press conference achieved the desired goal.

Post by: soccerrama on May 23, 2010, 11:04:56 AM
I can't believe some posters on this subject. Life is politics, every thing we do is political. Jack Warner was the one who brought this into the politics by going on the platforms stating that he had paid the players. So are these posters saying that the players should have just kept quiet and left all with the impression that they had been paid when they had in fact not been paid. Why do you think Jack said that on the platform it was to increase his political stocks, because he knew alot of people had questions on this issue & by saying he had paid them, these questions would have been answered and if they were not going to vote Jack they probably would now.
Why would a teacher strike during the school vacation, would that make sense, it makes sense for a teacher to strike during school hours because that is when it would be most effective. Likewise Jack made the statement on the platform at this time & therefore it made sense for the players to respond at this time.
He opened the door & the players just walked in.  
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 11:10:22 AM
I agree with you Jah Gol and that was the reason why I made those successive posts - contrary to what Babalawo (what a name, not even a corbeaux will smile if called that) and Bake n Shark are misled to believe.

I wonder if the players know that, as a verbal contract, it may not hold up in court (unless they tapped Warner making such promises).
But, on the flipside, what were the sums offered to those who took the 'out-of-court' settlements. Both angles need to be known before final stances are taken.

Also, I don't know if people are aware but the sum that FPATT got from the Ministry of Sport, what has become of that.

I hope it's not a WIPA style approach the players are taking - asking for loads of money while the team they represent falters....
Post by: Jah Gol on May 23, 2010, 11:54:14 AM
I agree with you Jah Gol and that was the reason why I made those successive posts - contrary to what Babalawo (what a name, not even a corbeaux will smile if called that) and Bake n Shark are misled to believe.

I wonder if the players know that, as a verbal contract, it may not hold up in court (unless they tapped Warner making such promises).
But, on the flipside, what were the sums offered to those who took the 'out-of-court' settlements. Both angles need to be known before final stances are taken.

Also, I don't know if people are aware but the sum that FPATT got from the Ministry of Sport, what has become of that.

I hope it's not a WIPA style approach the players are taking - asking for loads of money while the team they represent falters....
A verbal contract is still a contract btw.

The matter went to arbitration first. Warner did not comply with the order. That is when legal proceedings began. I share the players fears over a favourable decision given the degree of UNC infiltration in the legal system.
Post by: Jah Gol on May 23, 2010, 12:03:14 PM

FYI the players were banned from representing T&T. A journalist  should be aware of the blacklist that affected our World Cup qualifying campaign. Many of these players were simply never given the chance to represent their country. FPATT does not have a fraction of the power of WIPA.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 12:29:02 PM
I am aware of the blacklist, no doubting that, but I couldn't really see the same aging players we had in 2006 carrying us to another World Cup, especially when the younger crop are still lacking in a lot of areas. By the way, the crowds really came out (during the 2006 qualifiers) when Latapy made his comeback against Guatemala; to me that says a lot. I am not discrediting your view Jah Gol, but I still believe that our talent pool is bare, and that is an area that FPATT should be focussing on as well.
I agree that they should be compensated for their efforts in Germany, but it shouldn't be a 'me-me' syndrome.
Post by: elan on May 23, 2010, 12:57:59 PM
To Babalawo, please get yourself a f**kING proper name; I am a practising journalist, not a TTFF employee, so get your f**kING facts straight. Hear that name, Babalawo, not a name worthy of a chimpanzee, far less for a human!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I really hope I don't read/listen to any media/print that you  publish. Whey sah.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 01:32:41 PM
Well, I am a fella who like ladies, but I don't deal with witchcraft stuff, but thanks for your clarification as well okay. When you get involved in the news sector, give me a holla. Blessings....

"Fella" both you and what passes for 'journalism' in TnT is a joke... one appreciated by all who are blessed enough to distance themselves from it.  Having confirmed that you are yet another poseur, it would do you well as a 'journalist' to not conflate indigenous African religions with "witchcraft", that reflects the ignorant stereotypes handed down by the former colonial masters, rather than anything indicative of intellect or learning.

I wonder if the players know that, as a verbal contract, it may not hold up in court (unless they tapped Warner making such promises). [/quote]

How would you know what I was "misled to believe" when I revealed nothing of my belief.  I asked you what the purpose of posting the article was.  I then asked you if it was for the purpose of pointing out that the promise was verbal.  You claim I was misled, while at the same time confirming my suspicions by uttering the highlighted.  As Jah Gol has already said, a contract need not be in writing, nor does it need to be accompanied by consideration (a financial quid pro quo)... simple reliance on that promise is sufficient to make it binding. 

btw... it really would have been nice had the players indeed tapped Jack, and cuff him up behind he head too.

What team do the players in question represent Mr. Journalist?  Blacklist United?
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 02:08:29 PM
Well, if you don't like what passes for TT journalism, just don't read the local papers, watch the news or even listen to the news, that's all. You don't pay my salary anyway, so if you have your issues with me, no probs (not as if I want a man to like me anyway, the Lord is enough for me  ;D )
Post by: Deeks on May 23, 2010, 02:30:04 PM
I think the players responded appropriately by having a press conference to make sure that amnesiac Trinis know the truth. And what if it is politically motivated. Jack playing all sides of the game. He owns the TTFF. He controls CFU with a leach. He partially control Concacaf(He don't mess with the Mex and USA). He is a FIFA VP. And most of all he is a politician in TT. He  and his people proclaim in their political meetings that eveyone has been paid, when that is not true. What do you want the players to do.
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 04:41:23 PM
Well, if you don't like what passes for TT journalism, just don't read the local papers, watch the news or even listen to the news, that's all. You don't pay my salary anyway, so if you have your issues with me, no probs (not as if I want a man to like me anyway, the Lord is enough for me  ;D )

You growing sillier with each response... your solution regarding the shambolic state of journalism is essentially for me to cut off my nose in order to spit my face.  It is a solution that is impractical as it is illogical... but you can only be yourself.  And then there is the inherent silliness of the whole "me liking/not liking you" thing.  All I did was ask you the purpose as to why you posted the article... I'd like to think that most people here are wise enough to know not to take criticism here personal.  Hope springs eternal as they say.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 06:41:10 PM
Okay, hear this, the reason I put the post is none of your business. Contented now?

You growing sillier with each response... your solution regarding the shambolic state of journalism is essentially for me to cut off my nose in order to spit my face.  It is a solution that is impractical as it is illogical... but you can only be yourself.  And then there is the inherent silliness of the whole "me liking/not liking you" thing.  All I did was ask you the purpose as to why you posted the article... I'd like to think that most people here are wise enough to know not to take criticism here personal.  Hope springs eternal as they say.
[/quote]
Post by: royal on May 23, 2010, 06:53:11 PM
Jack is de biggest tief in the history of Trinidad and Tobago.No one can compare !!!!!! PAY DE PLAYERS DEY MONEY JACK !!! talk done
Post by: Football supporter on May 23, 2010, 08:43:07 PM

But come on guys!!

Hero Warrior...I think your question is a fair one. As I see it, it is very difficult to remain non political at a time like this....but this is not saying that the players are necessarily supporting PNM.
You have to remember the following:
1. The TTFF Special Adviser during the 2006 World Cup agreed to pay 50% of profits from World Cup revenues. This man was Jack Warner.
2. This figure did not, as Om Lalla (Yours Truly...that is truly a silly name and the guy was born with it!) tried to mislead the public, include the TT$82 million from the govt. Townley specifically omitted this from the claim, but did say that TTFF should produce audited accounts to show how the money was spent.
3. Mr Warner, while aware he was fighting a very public battle with the players over these bonuses, decided to enter politics.
4. Mr Warner refused to comply with the Court of Arbitration rulings.
5. The Guardian have refused, not only not to reveal the source of the leak, but also to confirm it wasn't the players or their lawyers (Yours Truly, as a journalist, can you explain why they cannot confirm that the players didn't leak the story?)
6. The case has been delayed for 7 months waiting for the judiciary to make a very simple, straightforward decision.
7. Justice Volney resigns and next day is the UNC candidate for St Joseph and receives consistent support from Jack Warner, insisting the PNM standing MPs finances be investigated, while Kamla has not mentioned any investigation of Warner who has several financial irregularities still unresolved. (The words Pot and Black come to mind)
8. UNC decided to make Mr Warner party chairman, despite knowing this case was unresolved, thereby, by association, approving Mr Warners evasion of the court order to produce accounts and pay the players. Therefore, they cannot complain that the matter has arisen.
9. Mr Warner chose of his own free will to lie about the case as part of his election campaign 
10. The players could not launch a press conference until the end of the English season so that players could attend. Kenwyne & Stern (who wanted to attend, but was unable) are here for Carlos' wedding and Kelvin Jack flew in just for this conference. The fact that Warner lied in his election interview meant that Warner had now made this a political matter and the players felt they should respond in kind.

And finally, this case has nothing to do with FPATT, other than some members of FPATT are also involved in the case, but FPATT has always maintained that although they would support any attempt by players to enforce contracts, this case was brought before FPATT was formed and therefore FPATT cannot be involved.
Post by: WestCoast on May 23, 2010, 08:54:18 PM
Bravo Football supporter, Bravo :applause: :applause:
Thanks for that list
Post by: dinho on May 23, 2010, 09:15:35 PM
yeah supporter thanks..

to be honest, i agree with everything that's being said, trust me yuh dont need to tell me the facts. i think where people disagree with me is that i probably have a different definition for something being political..

i not doubting that the players might be noble in their intentions or saying that there is an ulterior motive for the press conference. I'm saying that the issue of the players bonuses has been used on the campaign trail and has been an election issue. A press conference called by the players the Friday before an election can be construed as nothing other than political no matter how hard they try to distance themselves from it.

Its usually not about how u offer something, its how its perceived.

Post by: YoursTruly on May 23, 2010, 09:20:44 PM
To Football Supporter,

Just to let you know, I am not close to Francis Joseph, the writer of the infamous Guardian story, so I can't tell you how the leak came about. I worked with him though, and I can tell you straight up that he is a gullible person, in the sense that he will write whatever someone tells him to, just to get a bligh/money/free trip. That is common knowledge in the LOCAL media, which Bake N Shark and Babalawo (that name is good to say, so when I laugh the lump of cold in my throat can come out) disrespects (but still listen, and watch, and read).
Post by: Football supporter on May 23, 2010, 09:28:48 PM
yeah supporter thanks..

to be honest, i agree with everything that's being said, trust me yuh dont need to tell me the facts. i think where people disagree with me is that i probably have a different definition for something being political..

i not doubting that the players might be noble in their intentions or saying that there is an ulterior motive for the press conference. I'm saying that the issue of the players bonuses has been used on the campaign trail and has been an election issue. A press conference called by the players the Friday before an election can be construed as nothing other than political no matter how hard they try to distance themselves from it.

Thats my point! Of course its political, but the players didn't introduce this into the election, Warner did. Also, UNC could have avoided it by insisting Warner settle before he became party leader. It is very unlikely that all 13 players are PNM supporters, but I'm willing to bet that they don't want Jacks party to win! Maybe some of them would usually support UNC/COP/TOP, but how could they help put Warner into power? Saying that, maybe they don't like Manning either. So, they are not being political in the sense that they want either party to win, but rather that they want to remind voters of Jacks lies and financial irregularities and if that damages the UNC, well, they chose Jack!
Post by: Football supporter on May 23, 2010, 09:34:07 PM
Thanks Yours Truly. I wasn't assuming that you knew about the story, per se, but wanted your insight and views about the naming of sources, or in this case, the naming of non sources!

It is a shame that journalists such as Mr Joseph do a disservice to the profession. Journalists are supposed to be defenders of the truth, so its no wonder that some people have lost respect for journos. I sincerely hope that you are shining a torch for truth.
Post by: Deeks on May 23, 2010, 10:39:44 PM
Football Supporter,
                            Thank for laying out the issues in a comprehensive  and chronological way. What is so hard for people to understand. That is why I say them people home does suffer for convenient amnesia.The discussions and points of view by Y. Truly, Bakes and yourselve is really incitefully.

Now I was on the players side from the begging and I will remain on their side even if they were to lose their case, because I know what Warner gives. I have followed TT football closely and nobody can convince me that Jack has TT football it is best interest.

If I was home, I would have seriously tempted to vote for the alternative, not because I am anti-PNM. But to get rid of Patrick, PNM has to lose. Unfortunately that is the way the system is set up. We can't have it both ways. That is why I strongly recommended that we have term limits. 2 terms and f--king out!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 10:54:09 PM
Okay, hear this, the reason I put the post is none of your business. Contented now?

You think your childish petulance supposed tuh make me feel ah how? Your motives were pretty transparent so the question was merely rhetorical, in which case a non-answer serves the same purpose as an answer.  Ducking the question does nothing to hide the obvious lack of partiality on your part, or the fact that you lack sufficient intellectual curiousity to sift thru the many lies woven by Jack Warner and his cabal over the course of the past 4 years. 

You say that I "disrespect" journalism in TnT which is laughable... fault the messenger if you want but I merely hold the mirror.  "Journalists" such as yourself frequently display bias in your reporting, or a simple inability to get basic facts straight... or are too intellectually lazy to do proper research (such as insisting that an oral contract isn't binding unless the players "tapped" Jack) before posting.  Then have the cheek to bawl "disrespect" when the glaring lack of professionalism is held up to scrutiny.  And the funniest thing of all is that with Shaun Fuentes, Anil Roberts and the same Francis Joseph you mention, the evidence of the vaille que vaille mentality permeating the profession is there for all to see.  But as they say, none so blind...
Post by: Bakes on May 23, 2010, 10:56:10 PM
That is why I strongly recommended that we have term limits. 2 terms and f--king out!!!!!!!!

Yeah... yuh have to wonder if term limits wouldna improve the situation in TnT.

btw... I was juss on your side dis weekend, ah juss reach back.
Post by: Deeks on May 23, 2010, 11:14:24 PM
Aye Bakes,
              Well boy I might be pulling at straws with the term limits thing. But at least we would not this "cult of personality" syndrome, where the PM or leader of the party does manipulate the system and high jack the party.

Glad to know you visited your old haunting ground. Today was not too bad. a bit over cast. Was driving my moms around.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on May 24, 2010, 02:58:21 AM

Good point Dinho...as you know my stance is that its politically motivated to an extent and I stick with that belief.. If ah bright Flambo shining in yuh face....yuh could either say you could see light or dark.....I guess some of us like to open our eyes for what we want to see while for other things we shrug it off....Again its how things are perceived by the individual or the group
Post by: Deeks on May 24, 2010, 06:05:46 AM

Good point Dinho...as you know my stance is that its politically motivated to an extent and I stick with that belief.. If ah bright Flambo shining in yuh face....yuh could either say you could see light or dark.....I guess some of us like to open our eyes for what we want to see while for other things we shrug it off....Again its how things are perceived by the individual or the group

Fellas,
              It is political. It has always been political. Jack is a politician. So it has to be political.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 06:17:16 AM
If my motives were transparent, that's my business, not yours. As I said, you don't pay my salary nor my bills so don't make me an issue to you.... unless I am an issue to you (poor fella), but if you hold a mirror, keep looking at it, since it may be more appealing than looking to find someone who will curry favour your views.

BTW, thanks Football Supporter for your impartial view, seems like you look at issues from both sides, unless Maracas Bay recipes (bake and shark - hehehehe)!!! :rotfl:
Post by: Football supporter on May 24, 2010, 07:22:35 AM
"BTW, thanks Football Supporter for your impartial view, seems like you look at issues from both sides"

"Good point Dinho...as you know my stance is that its politically motivated to an extent and I stick with that belief.. If ah bright Flambo shining in yuh face....yuh could either say you could see light or dark.....I guess some of us like to open our eyes for what we want to see while for other things we shrug it off....Again its how things are perceived by the individual or the group"

"It is political. It has always been political. Jack is a politician. So it has to be political."

Y.T....I try to see both sides, but to be fair, in this instance I understand why the players did this and the response by Warner confirms to me that people such as lawyers and journalists will do anything Warner tells them. I guess theres nothing new here, but it is upsetting to see Lalla and Spalk actually tell lies in order to win votes. Yes, it happens elsewhere, but usually, the media would immediately expose those lies. As I said before, journalists should be guardians of the truth, yet I haven't seen any journo ask hard questions, such as: Why are you lying?

Rotato & Deeks....as I agreed there is an element of political motivation on behalf of the players, both of your points are moot. But do you understand the difference between the players using the political opportunity rather than supporting or opposing political parties??
Post by: spideybuff on May 24, 2010, 09:39:46 AM

Yourstruly,

I notice many posts from you and I say lemme bring u uptodate on the whole scenario cause u talking plenty but I not sure if you saying much.

The players already won that part of the issue that u mention above. They had to prove their was a contract in place and this was done. However, then Jack only offer them around $500 US a man as their 50% of the profits, under the books he produced stating the total income and expenditure.

Based on the reports of what came in through private sponsorship, these figures were disputed. That's where we are now but Jack refuse to open the real books to determine how much of what the players are owed.

We already past the point about IF Jack have to pay. That is why the new tactic by the TTFF is to claim breach of confidentiality in the hope that it will delay or derail the entire process. However, it would be up to the TTFF to prove that it was FPATT who leaked the verdict to the Guardian.

Post by: Socapro on May 24, 2010, 09:47:43 AM

Yourstruly,

I notice many posts from you and I say lemme bring u uptodate on the whole scenario cause u talking plenty but I not sure if you saying much.

The players already won that part of the issue that u mention above. They had to prove their was a contract in place and this was done. However, then Jack only offer them around $500 US a man as their 50% of the profits, under the books he produced stating the total income and expenditure.

Based on the reports of what came in through private sponsorship, these figures were disputed. That's where we are now but Jack refuse to open the real books to determine how much of what the players are owed.

We already past the point about IF Jack have to pay. That is why the new tactic by the TTFF is to claim breach of confidentiality in the hope that it will delay or derail the entire process. However, it would be up to the TTFF to prove that it was FPATT who leaked the verdict to the Guardian.

By YT raising the point highlighted at this juncture shows how little he has been following or understands the legality of the proceedings thus far.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 09:57:00 AM
I understand what you are saying Mr; what I can tell you, or should I say disclose, is that Mr Joseph is VERY, VERY and should I say VERY close to Ramesh Lawrence-Maharaj. At the time the story was published, Ramesh was part of RamJack (with Warner), so it leads me to speculate (I wouldn't say believe) that either Mr Warner or someone close to him (Warner) leaked the story to Mr Joseph, who took it hook line and sinker.

Despite the Bake and Shark and Babalawo folks who feel I'm a media 'now-come' (I've been in the media before Y2K), I honestly believe the players should be fully compensated for their Germany exploits, but I don't think they should attack Latapy, Yorke etc who settled out of court. If Latapy and Yorke etc wanted to settle out-of-court, that's their business; the players who took the stand since September 2006, if they want to wait till the end, it's up to them to get a successful and acceptable resolution to the matter.
Post by: Football supporter on May 24, 2010, 11:00:40 AM
Y.T.   regarding your comment ...."I honestly believe the players should be fully compensated for their Germany exploits, but I don't think they should attack Latapy, Yorke etc who settled out of court. If Latapy and Yorke etc wanted to settle out-of-court, that's their business; the players who took the stand since September 2006, if they want to wait till the end, it's up to them to get a successful and acceptable resolution to the matter."

The reason the 13 are upset with Dwight and Russel is very understandable. They were senior players and should help to protect their younger colleagues. They literally sold their souls to the devil. They knew that the case would lose impact if they sold out. Whatever they were offered, they will always be tainted by this treason.

Carlos, Dennis, Clayton and Jason were all clients of Mike Berry and we can only surmise that they were advised to settle. It may be that Jack influenced Berry, after all he was working for TTFF as player liaison so there was a conflict of interest, but on the other hand, it could be seen that he advised his clients correctly because they were not blacklisted and have had no disruption to their careers, so perhaps he advised them correctly.

But in all industrial disputes, the employees only have power if they stick together. Those who don't stand with their colleagues and walk over a picket line lose all integrity and respect. In many cases this results in assault of even death, so the players calling out the names of Dwight and Russell seems a very tame reaction. This is not about money any more its about justice, loyalty and respect.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 11:15:17 AM
Hear this nah breds, let me tell you as it is..... you have a decent angle to this situation and I just remembered....
Before I joined the media fraternity, in fact up till the early 2000s, it is NO SECRET that Latapy and Yorke will book rooms at the Hilton while the rest of the players were at Holiday Inn (now Crowne Plaza). Seems like leopards don't change their spots.
The Mike Berry thing is true, come to think about it; but, back to Latapy and Yorke, I guess they wanted to stay in the TTFF's good books so they can, or should I say could've, gotten the chance to coach the TT team.
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 12:22:00 PM
Despite the Bake and Shark and Babalawo folks who feel I'm a media 'now-come' (I've been in the media before Y2K)...

Nobody ent say yuh's ah "media 'now-come' " man telling yuh yuh talking shit.  Nobody doh care how long yuh wukking journalist... that only mean that for the past 10 years yuh displaying the same poor journalistic standards as yuh did here in this thread.  Bias, inattention to detail, poor fact-checking and zero critical analysis. 

No matter how yuh try and change yuh tune now or how much yuh "just remembered" that ent changing the fact that yuh run een talking ah pack ah shit about the merits of the players claim or whether they should be asking fuh how much.  Not until man set yuh straight that yuh suddenly start bawling how the "the players should be fully compensated for their Germany exploits" but shouldn't be attacking Latapy and Yorke.  Is only now yuh bringing up the Latapy and Yorke talk. 

As fuh Latas and Yorke this ent India and we eh have no sacred cows.  Them needed the money least of all yet was de first ones to line up at the trough.  As Kelvin Jack say... they make ah setta noise about the Germany money then settle quiet quiet because they know where they bread was buttered.  I have no respect for that kinda thing.
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2010, 12:45:07 PM
Every once in a while, an unfamiliar poster will come on the forum and bowl over after over of medium pace full toss and have eager batsmen (e.g. Bake n Shark) licking their chops and hitting the boundary with every shot... Makes for some entertaining browsing...

Good stuff Yours Truly- thanks for giving us the latest installment, but seriously it's time to sell that losing stock and look for another investment tuh bounce back with....

Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 01:08:42 PM
Displaying the poor journalistic standards and I'm still employed in the media, as I said you don't pay my salary nor my bills so I don't know why you keep dwelling on you own agendas.
If I'm talking shit, flush it. Wham, WASA neglecting you or wha?????

Anyway, I'm free to say what I feel to say, and POST WHAT THE f**k I FEEL TO POST, and if you don't like it, you can simply plait the hair up your bottom. Geez...........
Post by: FF on May 24, 2010, 01:58:47 PM
Displaying the poor journalistic standards and I'm still employed in the media, as I said you don't pay my salary nor my bills so I don't know why you keep dwelling on you own agendas.

Anyway, I'm free to say what I feel to say, and POST WHAT THE f**k I FEEL TO POST, and if you don't like it, you can simply plait the hair up your bottom. Geez...........

ah sorry to say eh... but this don't mean a damn thing if you really familiar with what passes for journalism in TnT.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 24, 2010, 02:25:42 PM
I beginning to feel Yours Truly is Francis Joseph.....steups!!!....ah setta fancy footwork that eventually comes to nought.....

Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 02:37:51 PM
Nice try but that is an incorrect guess....
Last year I did regular Pro League updates (check the 2009 Pro League results and see), if you call the Guardian office and ask for Super Fran (his Guardian calypso sobriquet), he will be unable to tell you three current Pro League teams.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 24, 2010, 02:59:49 PM
Yours Truly,
I was being sarcastic....the point I was trying to make is that you are coming across as just as useless as most of the "journalists" we have in T&T.....
Post by: FF on May 24, 2010, 03:06:02 PM
Nice try but that is an incorrect guess....
Last year I did regular Pro League updates (check the 2009 Pro League results and see), if you call the Guardian office and ask for Super Fran (his Guardian calypso sobriquet), he will be unable to tell you three current Pro League teams.

well I really hope you is not Randy Bando... because he is de worst..

All credibility gone dey one time if so!!

I appreciate Randy's efforts eh... but he needs to strive to get better... I ent seeing no evidence of that yet
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 03:06:48 PM
Well, I maybe useless in some ways, but I respect your view.

I really brought up some old articles on the issue, from another angle, and it was cool until two chaps decided to label me as a TTFF stooge, which I took umbrage to.

But I have already stated my view on this topic, not everyone will like it, but I'm entitled to my views, and so are you.... and I'll respect your view nonetheless.
Post by: asylumseeker on May 24, 2010, 03:23:49 PM
Every once in a while, an unfamiliar poster will come on the forum and bowl over after over of medium pace full toss and have eager batsmen (e.g. Bake n Shark) licking their chops and hitting the boundary with every shot... Makes for some entertaining browsing...

Good stuff Yours Truly- thanks for giving us the latest installment, but seriously it's time to sell that losing stock and look for another investment tuh bounce back with....

Are you using 'eager' as a pejorative?

Either way ... Yours Truly playing for a tame draw on the final day of the Test, buh he eh getting it.
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2010, 03:26:15 PM

Are you using 'eager' as a pejorative?

Either way ... Yours Truly playing for a tame draw on the final day of the Test, buh he eh getting it.

haha Nah purely literal
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 03:35:32 PM

ah sorry to say eh... but this don't mean a damn thing if you really familiar with what passes for journalism in TnT.

Yours Truly,
I was being sarcastic....the point I was trying to make is that you are coming across as just as useless as most of the "journalists" we have in T&T.....

Hush nah... how allyuh "disrespecting" Trini journalism so?

To paraphrase the saying... better to remain idle and have the nation think your profession is shambolic, than log on to the internet and remove all doubt.
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 03:39:26 PM
Well, I maybe useless in some ways, but I respect your view.

I really brought up some old articles on the issue, from another angle, and it was cool until two chaps decided to label me as a TTFF stooge, which I took umbrage to.

But I have already stated my view on this topic, not everyone will like it, but I'm entitled to my views, and so are you.... and I'll respect your view nonetheless.

Hate tuh beat ah dead horse... but the whole "inattention to detail" thing again.  I believe Babalawo was the only man accused yuh of being Shaun Fuentes... but thanks for playing all the same.
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 03:39:53 PM
Bake and Shark is talking to ONE person and saying ALLYUH... which means more than one, plural. Is this is what passes for academics? Dunce aplenty.

Anyway, I will hush when I want, it's my mouth and I can say what I please, and write what I please, and picture what I please, and be paid for it; and get access to the same newsmakers you have to pay to see (if your pittance allow you to).
Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 03:55:04 PM
Bake and Shark is talking to ONE person and saying ALLYUH... which means more than one, plural. Is this is what passes for academics? Dunce aplenty.

Anyway, I will hush when I want, it's my mouth and I can say what I please, and write what I please, and picture what I please, and be paid for it; and get access to the same newsmakers you have to pay to see (if your pittance allow you to).

Wheyy... lol.  You more dotish than I tort fella... but anyways, doh let me get in the way of you revelling in your mediocrity.
Post by: Marcos on May 24, 2010, 03:57:25 PM
LOL

Horse if you can't keep up, no need to resort to petty insults.
Post by: WestCoast on May 24, 2010, 05:05:28 PM
Hush nah... how allyuh "disrespecting" Trini journalism so?

To paraphrase the saying... better to remain idle and have the nation think your profession is shambolic, than log on to the internet and remove all doubt.
YoutsTruly, I never see ah bowler get lash like this  :devil:
ball lorse, match dun dun dun

just the basics, reporters in TnT cant get right
spelling man name wrong
listing their team wrongly
and giving just blatant WRONG information

just to name a few deficiencies
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 06:30:53 PM
Allyuh, one person, more dotish? Revel in mediocrity? Ah boy, as I said, you're not in the media, you know no better, but say what yes, people globally read what I write, on a daily basis, can't say you get such exposure. Anyway, learn to spell, go back and learn Penmanship, and we'll talk. (Still couldn't respond to the allyuh in reference to me, but say what yes).

By the way, I know men eat bake and shark (referring to you), men does eat you? I thought men does eat saltfish (women)?
Post by: kicker on May 24, 2010, 06:34:16 PM
Dis soldier still bowlin' dem kinda full toss this hour of the day....lawd...

Post by: Bakes on May 24, 2010, 07:00:23 PM
Allyuh, one person, more dotish? Revel in mediocrity? Ah boy, as I said, you're not in the media, you know no better, but say what yes, people globally read what I write, on a daily basis, can't say you get such exposure. Anyway, learn to spell, go back and learn Penmanship, and we'll talk. (Still couldn't respond to the allyuh in reference to me, but say what yes).

By the way, I know men eat bake and shark (referring to you), men does eat you? I thought men does eat saltfish (women)?

Jackass... the "allyuh" in question was in response and reference to FF (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49464.msg662107#msg662107) and brownsugar (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49464.msg662135#msg662135) and their comments (supporting my own) about journalism in TnT.  I tried to make the point with sublety but apparently that is lost on you and you need to have it beaten over yuh head in order fuh yuh to understand.  Simple English really, but no wonder yuh struggling with it.

btw... how can I demonstrate my Penmanship on the computer... any ideas?
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 07:01:10 PM
Come and beat it for me nah, I waiting patiently. Oh I'm so scared  :rotfl: ;D

English barrister Michael Townley and several "Soca Warriors" yesterday rubbished suggestions from FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) special adviser Jack Warner that financial settlements were reached with the "majority" of 2006 World Cup players regarding their bonus dispute. The Express can confirm that the TTFF will make payments to World Cup team captain Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy, Dennis Lawrence, Carlos Edwards, Clayton Ince, Jason Scotland and Densill Theobald, who were not a part of the legal action taken against the body.

Thirty-two-year-old Scotland-based defender Marvin Andrews, who has been without a club since May, has broken ranks with the rebels and would settle, while there is speculation that Scotland First Division winger Collin Samuel will do likewise.

But the remaining 14 squad members, according to Townley, are "prepared to stand the course" and rejected a sum understood to be $186,000 (US$30,000) per player.

Townley's clients are Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Ian Cox, Cyd Gray, Atiba Charles, Brent Sancho, Avery John, Chris Birchall, Aurtis Whitley, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen, Kenwyne Jones and Stern John.

Most of the Warriors refused and hired Townley who led them to a victory over the TTFF in the London-based Sports Dispute Resolution Panel in May 2008.

The arbitration body ordered the TTFF to open their accounts for scrutiny, so as to ascertain what the players are owed, but Warner attempted to offset their judgment as he met with several World Cup players at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Port of Spain on Monday and told the media, two days later, that the dispute was over.

"We have come to the dawn of a new era through the initiative of Peter O' Connor...to settle the outstanding dispute since 2006," said Warner, on Wednesday. "Today we have done just that and we have agreed to a settlement out-of-court figure, which the majority of players have agreed to and which sum we shall pay today or in a couple days time."

Post by: dinho on May 24, 2010, 07:12:45 PM
Yours Truly doh study dem fellahs boy.. dem just hating, lash dem hard!
Post by: YoursTruly on May 24, 2010, 07:19:35 PM
Dinho, I cool you know, as I said, men eat Bake and Shark, so I don't know if he admitting that his orientation is in question (Like Gladiator - Ricarda Welch) so, to camouflage it, he just have to lash out at people (like me, who don't benefit by his funding to survive).

I making a dollar now by the way, he maybe worrying if he'll get a CEPEP contract in a few hours time (looking at the election trends).
Post by: Dutty on May 24, 2010, 08:38:37 PM
Dis soldier still bowlin' dem kinda full toss this hour of the day....lawd...

I waitin for SLIM & DiamondTrim to come troo for the 3 day test match
Post by: Socafan on May 25, 2010, 09:46:44 AM
Weey sah...I eh think ah see anybody get beatdown like this before....all kinda how..and still persisting. Talk bout kicks.
Post by: Mango Chow! on September 02, 2010, 06:18:57 AM
Weey sah...I eh think ah see anybody get beatdown like this before....all kinda how..and still persisting. Talk bout kicks.

De an truly make sHotta12 look like a quitter.. 
Title: Re: TTFF APPEAL AGAIN
Post by: truetrini on September 11, 2010, 02:18:20 AM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/TTFF_APPEAL_AGAIN-102681019.html

Warner tackles judge over World Cup bonus payments
By Lasana Liburd

Story Created: Sep 11, 2010 at 2:28 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Sep 11, 2010 at 2:28 AM ECT )

Undeterred by legal defeats before the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel (SDRP) and the Port of Spain High Court, the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF), guided by special adviser, Minister of Works and FIFA vice-president Jack Warner, is attempting to use the courts for a third time to deny bonuses to 13 of their 2006 World Cup players.

On Monday morning, the TTFF served notice of appeal to the High Court. The three lawyers listed for the TTFF are British Queen's Counsel William McCormick, Kelvin Ramkissoon and Om Lalla.

The appeal seeks to nullify the judgment of Acting Justice Devindra Rampersad who, on July 29 ordered the TTFF to honour their bonus agreement to the "Soca Warriors" and also pay legal costs for the players, which is expected to be in excess of $3 million. The TTFF are also obliged to allow independent audit of their financial books for the period related to the 2006 World Cup.

The TTFF and president Oliver Camps are formally listed as the defendants. However, Warner is inextricably linked to the case as he personally negotiated World Cup bonuses with the players in November 2005 and financial settlements, years later, while he publicly insisted upon a right to continue the legal battle in the light of Rampersad's judgment in July.

McCormick and Lalla both also represented Warner in May when he was sued by former UNC financier Krishna Lalla for an alleged debt of $13,531,095.

In the case of the running legal battle with the footballers—all Chaconia Medal gold winners—McCormick, Lalla and Ramkissoon are challenging Rampersad's ruling on findings of fact and law.

On May 19, 2008, the TTFF were ordered by SDRP arbitrator Ian Mill QC to pay the Warriors "50 per cent of the revenues derived from the 'Road to Germany 2006' campaign". However, the TTFF attempted to block the judgment on the grounds that a Trinidad Guardian article written by Francis Joseph and published on May 20, 2008 was in breach of the arbitration's confidentiality agreement.

The TTFF and the players accused each other of the leak and the source remains undetermined. Joseph is now Warner's employee at the Ministry of Works, while the Trinidad Guardian repeatedly refused to clarify the matter.

Rampersad did not believe it mattered much.

"The post-award disclosures of the award itself would not raise the mischief against which the confidentiality provisions were directed," stated Rampersad. "The surrounding circumstances of the confidentiality obligation very strongly indicate just how otiose the Defendants' claim to confidentiality is at this point."

He ordered both parties to meet again on September 23 to determine legal costs.

But the TTFF's legal team refuses to concede and listed eight grounds of appeal, including that Rampersad "was wrong in law to order that the Defendants' application be dismissed and that the High Court proceed to take an account as to any sum due to the Claimants" and "the Learned Judge misdirected himself as to the law applicable to deciding whether the breaches complained of were repudiatory".

Michael Townley, the players' London-based solicitor, felt it instructive that the TTFF are no longer debating whether they owes their players.

"It's easy to lose sight of what the TTFF is not saying," said Townley. "Ever since Mr Mill, the arbitrator, found that there had been a binding contract to pay the players, the TTFF has never disputed this finding… The TTFF are not disputing that it made the agreement but just saying that arbitration no longer suits them.

"It's shocking that any national football federation can behave like this. FIFA members are governed by a code of ethics and not paying your debts is generally considered unethical… Yet all they have ever done since they made that commitment is avoided paying, using every delay tactic they can think of."

Townley is trying to determine whether the TTFF have a right of appeal. The players are represented locally by George Hislop—father of World Cup player and ESPN analyst Shaka Hislop—and Dave De Peiza.

"I am investigating with my T&T colleagues whether the appeal is admissible at all," Townley told the Express. "It would be out of time in the English courts and also they would need permission from a judge to even make an appeal here. I don't know the exact procedural requirements of the T&T courts and we are looking first into that aspect."

Ramkissoon, attorney for the TTFF, refused to discuss the appeal or even confirm its existence, while Lalla and Warner could not be reached for comment.

TTFF president Camps said he was in no position to discuss the case.

Five years since a bonus agreement was reached between Warner and the Warriors and two court judgments later, the TTFF are expected to pay more than $3 million in legal costs to their former star players and, almost certainly, an even larger figure to their own army of lawyers as well as to satisfy the bonus agreement. The football body is funded in large part by the Trinidad and Tobago government, while it is also aided by a few local and international sponsors and a FIFA grant.

Camps refused to be specific when asked how the organisation could afford such a prolonged and expensive case.

"Whatever funds we have, we use from it," said Camps. "We don't enjoy having something like this. It doesn't make sense and it is costly. We made an offer (to the players) which we thought was reasonable.

"We, as a football federation, do not like this and wish it never happened but there is nothing we can do about it."

Two judges—one British and one Trinidad and Tobago citizen—have already ordered the TTFF to pay up and open their accounting books. The football body, advised by Warner, is seeking a third opinion.
Post by: Football supporter on September 13, 2010, 05:10:36 AM
I'm just really interested in what they're trying to achieve. Lets say the judge upholds the appeal. Yes there was a breach in confidentiality. But who by? If TTFF have evidence its the players, why didn't they bring it forward? If there is no evidence, then there is no case. But even if there is evidence (which there won't be), it doesn't effect the ruling. So all that can be done is to rebuke the players and maybe even fine them for contempt. And TTFF will still have to pay. Remember, they are not arguing about the judgement.

Its like a guy scores a goal with a possibility of offside with the last kick of the game. The player takes off his shirt to celebrate. The opposition surround the ref and demand that the player is booked for taking off his shirt. Ref says it doesn't matter coz final whistle has blown. They're not arguing about the offside!! So the scorer may get booked, but what difference does it make to the result??  (Ok, technically in this scenario the game would have to restart before the final whistle...but you get my point?)

TTFFs case is further weakened because the guy who wrote the article and refuses to reveal his source now works for Jack! I am trusting that the judge will just see this as what it is. A malicious delaying tactic that will resolve nothing. The ruling has been made. Show us the money!
Post by: Touches on September 13, 2010, 12:22:25 PM
Its a delay until the TTFF get money from the under 17 WC.

Then they go use that money to pay the players.

and hopefully....with the change remaining.....get a decent coach in time for the Digi Cup.

Post by: weary1969 on September 13, 2010, 01:09:23 PM
Its a delay until the TTFF get money from the under 17 WC.

Then they go use that money to pay the players.

and hopefully....with the change remaining.....get a decent coach in time for the Digi Cup.

Wish it was so eazyyyy.
Title: UPDATE RE: WARRIORS LAWSUIT
Post by: weary1969 on September 23, 2010, 01:18:39 PM
D TTFF say they did not have time to walk with documents re: funds. The judge will be making a final decison in Nov 26th I tink. D jokey appeal they file has not stop this judge from doing his job. When I speak directly 2 d attorney I will confirm d date re final decision.

Moderators please merge 2morrow
Title: Re: UPDATE RE: WARRIORS LAWSUIT
Post by: Brownsugar on September 23, 2010, 11:41:22 PM
World Cup bonus dispute adjourned again.
By Lasana Liburd (T&T Express).

Players put spotlight on Warner, Camps.

Thirteen aggrieved "Soca Warriors" face another delay in the local courts after the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) were yesterday granted an extension in the ongoing 2006 World Cup bonus dispute at a closed-door hearing at the Port of Spain High Court.

Acting Justice Devindra Rampersad gave the local football body until October 15, 2010 to respond to the players' submissions, while he will rule on the way forward on November 26, 2010.

The footballers, who are represented by English lawyer Michael Townley and locals George Hislop and Dave De Peiza, filed submissions on August 30, 2010 as the first step in receiving judgment for World Cup bonuses which were awarded to them by the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel (SDRP) in May 2008. The arbitration body's decision was upheld by the local High Court in July 2010.

TTFF special adviser and Minister of Works and Transport Jack Warner promised the Warriors 50 per cent of all revenues derived from the team's qualification for the 2006 World Cup but, four years on, they are yet to agree on a figure and the players have demanded an independent audit.

The World Cup players involved in the legal action are Kenwyne Jones, Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Jack, Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Avery John, Brent Sancho, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise, Anthony Wolfe, Cornell Glen and Stern John.

Townley alleged that the legal team for the defendants came to yesterday's hearing unprepared to respond to the submissions, while the issue is further complicated by an appeal lodged by the TTFF on September 6, 2010.

Although there is still no ruling from the Court of Appeal or a stay of proceedings, Rampersad appears to have chosen a cautious approach in granting an extension to the defendants.

"(Lawyers for the TTFF) said they wanted time to appeal the High Court's decision so the Judge felt it would be futile to deal with it now and then possibly have the matter overturned," Hislop (G) told the Express. "We are going to go to the Court of Appeal now to have the matter expedited."

Townley, who flew in from London for yesterday's hearing, described the legal maneuverings as "messy".

"The current situation is procedurally complex," said Townley. "They haven't been given leave to appeal. They have simply appealed… So there is still a question as to whether that appeal is even permissible. In the end, they will run out of procedural tactics."

The TTFF are represented by British barrister William McCormick QC and the local duo of Kelvin Ramkissoon and Om Lalla. Ramkissoon's secretary told the Express that the attorney was "unauthorised" to discuss "the matter with Warner".

The players' submission consists of four main points.

They are requesting access to "a full set of accounts" regarding the 2006 World Cup, as granted by the SDRP. This includes not only access to the TTFF's accounts but also to accounts of "every company that Warner or (TTFF president Oliver) Camps controlled or had any influence over" during that period.

The players also want Warner and the TTFF to disclose "all contracts relating to the items that are entered on the accounts".

In July, Rampersad awarded legal costs to the World Cup players for the TTFF's High Court action and they have also submitted a bill for an estimated $500,000.

More significantly, the Warriors requested an interim payment of US$3 million (TT$19.3 million) from the TTFF while the High Court determines exactly what the players are owed.

The interim figure is based on a Freedom of Information Act request, in 2007, which revealed that the TTFF earned in excess of $180 million from World Cup qualification, exclusive of gate receipts and broadcast and television rights.

"When you ask for an interim payment before there has been a final look at the accounts, you are always asking for the court to indulge you," said Townley. "But by all accounts, we are going to receive a sum well above this. Still, in order to make it easier for the court, we want to make the requested figure so completely reasonable that their argument will have no basis at all.

"Because we know they will argue everything."

Sancho, who is now the CEO of T&T Pro League outfit DirecTV North East Stars, was at yesterday's court proceedings, along with Ma Pau defender Cyd Gray and ex-WConnection defender Atiba Charles. The players remain frustrated but optimistic.

"Obviously I am a little bit disappointed because it keeps continuing on," said Sancho. "But I think there is not much room for them to continue to delay this because the Judge seems adamant that this will end on November 26."
Post by: Football supporter on September 24, 2010, 03:47:57 AM
HMMMM......The governments slogan is.......Justice on time. Guess 4 years and counting is on time????
Post by: weary1969 on September 24, 2010, 06:51:14 AM
HMMMM......The governments slogan is.......Justice on time. Guess 4 years and counting is on time????

Yuh not hear long enuff 2 understand that mean gettin d prisoners 2 court on time.
Post by: elan on September 24, 2010, 07:41:58 AM
Justice on Time is Almalgamated Security Company Slogan. They have the contract to transport prisoners to court.  Just saying  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on September 24, 2010, 07:58:06 AM
Justice on Time is Almalgamated Security Company Slogan. They have the contract to transport prisoners to court.  Just saying  ;D

EXACTLYYYYYYYYYYY
Post by: Football supporter on September 24, 2010, 11:52:33 AM

Whoa guys!!! Just being sarcastic!!

EXACTLYYYYYYYYYYY