General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 05:18:41 PM

Title: PNM interim leader
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 05:18:41 PM
its official, Rowley is interim opposition leader of the PNM. Manning resigned today
Title: Re: PNM interim leader
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:20:28 PM
Congrats to him..I look forward to see what type of relationship will Rowley and Imbert have. Also what is the political future of Ms Beckles ?..and I heard Conrad Enill also resigned..
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 05:23:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/K3MF2rs8HwA
leh we get a NEW mold

more Rowley videos here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLXSjp6ud-A&feature=related)
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 05:24:12 PM
Congrats to him..I look forward to see what type of relationship will Rowley and Imbert have. Also what is the political future of Ms Beckles ?..and I heard Conrad Enill also resigned..
Penny not in parliment remember? I think her future is in doubt.

I think rowley will have problems with this current crop of MPs. Remember, no one stood with him, and i think they may ultimately blame rowley and not manning for the predicament that they are in.
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:27:17 PM
sammy i know Beckles is not in the House of representatives (of Parliament)..

because she is not a constituency rep does not = political end
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 05:28:32 PM
I think rowley will have problems with this current crop of MPs. Remember, no one stood with him, and i think they may ultimately blame rowley and not manning for the predicament that they are in.
Lets hope that Common Sense prevails and they realise that the future of the party is at stake and puts their support behind him
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:29:57 PM

but these are the ame reps who must have wanted him to be interim leader..right ?..How else can he become interim leader without a majority support from the reps ?..(just thinking ahead here for a moment)
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 05:32:37 PM

but these are the ame reps who must have wanted him to be interim leader..right ?..How else can he become interim leader without a majority support from the reps ?..(just thinking ahead here for a moment)

manning's resignation
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 05:36:14 PM

manning's resignation
"PNM Party Chairman Conrad Enill has informed the media that the General Council of the PNM has declared Dr. Keith Rowley as the interim Opposition Leader after former Prime Minister Patrick Manning resigned from the post at Balisier House today."
http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:36:58 PM

manning's resignation

hmmm I always thought Manning Chief deputy in the House was Imbert and (Beckles prior to him sacking her)
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:40:00 PM

link.. http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=3438

PNM Party Chairman Conrad Enill has informed the media that the General Council of the PNM has declared Dr. Keith Rowley as the interim Opposition Leader after former Prime Minister Patrick Manning resigned from the post at Balisier House today.

He further stated that a PNM Special Convention would be held for the specific purpose of selecting the party leader on June 27th, 2010.
Post by: AirMan on May 27, 2010, 05:41:26 PM
West Coast wah yuh say ?..this was a good move ?..
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 05:44:42 PM
I think that it is a Great move and I hope that he is successful on June 27th
From what he says he seems to have the best intentions for the country
His heart is in the right place
Is the "Status Quo" he will have to convince to bring about change
I wish him well
Post by: The_Ice on May 27, 2010, 05:56:43 PM
I wish him well

uhh. with all respect to dr. rowley, he did say that himself as well as others knew about the alleged corruption on UDECOTT since 2002. that's quite some time to be holding a secret from the public. he kept his mouth shut in the public domain up to the time he was relieved of his post. what would have happened if he was never fired? i would really like it if beckles decides to run for political leader. even thought rowley burst the government's files i havent gained much respect for him due to the circumstances in which he did it.
Post by: D.H.W on May 27, 2010, 06:16:19 PM
let the fighting begin
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 06:24:45 PM
i feel only penny may have appeal to rival kamla.

If u check it, PNM dont really have much options right now. Rowley can pull the party core base, but what about wooing other voters - i dont think he can- and core bases are no longer sufficient in winning elections. T&T ppl maturing slowly but surely.
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 06:25:30 PM
I wish him well

uhh. with all respect to dr. rowley, he did say that himself as well as others knew about the alleged corruption on UDECOTT since 2002. that's quite some time to be holding a secret from the public. he kept his mouth shut in the public domain up to the time he was relieved of his post. what would have happened if he was never fired? i would really like it if beckles decides to run for political leader. even thought rowley burst the government's files i havent gained much respect for him due to the circumstances in which he did it.
That would be an excelent question for a reporter to pose to him
But i believe that is probably why he was fired after he worked from within the party for change
but as they sometimes say
"better late than never"
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 06:30:12 PM
i feel only penny may have appeal to rival kamla.

If u check it, PNM dont really have much options right now. Rowley can pull the party core base, but what about wooing other voters - i dont think he can- and core bases are no longer sufficient in winning elections. T&T ppl maturing slowly but surely.
yeah
what is it going to take to raise the overall EI of the general public after so many years of the "same old same old" types of political garbage that the leaders throw at us.
Post by: Trinione on May 27, 2010, 06:35:30 PM

uhh... all dem UNC people sit through the airport tiefing, including Kamla, and they still ent say nutting to today (and dont fool yourself into thinking she did not know what was going on!)
At least Rowley fight corruption internally for a while now before going public. That is better than most politicians.
Post by: D.H.W on May 27, 2010, 06:36:47 PM
(and dont fool yourself into thinking she did not know what was going on!)

true talk
Post by: davyjenny1 on May 27, 2010, 06:37:13 PM
I wish him well

trust and credibility is major in making decisions that involve an ethical component called conscience.
Post by: STEUPS!! on May 27, 2010, 06:41:29 PM

i feel behind d scenes d whole pnm crew wanted rowley there, but were just afraid to go against manning
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 07:20:00 PM

i feel behind d scenes d whole pnm crew wanted rowley there, but were just afraid to go against manning

but didnt they have the power to remove him? remember he went unopposed to be party leader last time. Thats y i think that the team is to blame and not manning alone.
Post by: D.H.W on May 27, 2010, 07:29:00 PM
and not manning alone.

Sammy u aint get the memo , is ALWAYS Manning fault, shame on u  :devil:
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 07:31:08 PM
and not manning alone.

Sammy u aint get the memo , is ALWAYS Manning fault, shame on u  :devil:
:devil: is not my fault i kinda slow.
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 07:59:54 PM

uhh... all dem UNC people sit through the airport tiefing, including Kamla, and they still ent say nutting to today (and dont fool yourself into thinking she did not know what was going on!)
At least Rowley fight corruption internally for a while now before going public. That is better than most politicians.
very well said

why ya think warner join up with them?
Birds of a feather, perhaps :devil:
Post by: sammy on May 27, 2010, 08:17:40 PM

what are your thoughts on ramesh?
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 08:26:12 PM

what are your thoughts on ramesh?
now that you say that
I wonder when warner going to produce that "File" on Kamla that he showed ramesh?
Post by: truetrini on May 27, 2010, 09:30:10 PM
none ah allyuh know nutten about de PNM.

leh meh rest ah education on allyuh!

Manning was removed after numerous signatures were put on a petition of sorts.  He was told he ahd to resign, it eh come from he.  He eh fall on he own sword!  the party may say he resign because it is a very disclipined party.  it was Manning's plan to stay until the party voted, the party wanted none ah dat excpet ah few.  Dey were INFORMED that the interim leader was Rowley and Manning resigned.

Rowley was asked to be interim leader, and he accepted.  Party has to vote, his appointment is thus temporary!

thanks, hope this clears up the confusion!
Post by: WestCoast on May 27, 2010, 10:39:57 PM

Manning was removed after numerous signatures were put on a petition of sorts.  He was told he ahd to resign, it eh come from he.  He eh fall on he own sword!  the party may say he resign because it is a very disclipined party.  it was Manning's plan to stay until the party voted, the party wanted none ah dat excpet ah few.  Dey were INFORMED that the interim leader was Rowley and Manning resigned.

Rowley was asked to be interim leader, and he accepted.  Party has to vote, his appointment is thus temporary!

yes, the article I quoted above says that he was forced out
http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/
Post by: truetrini on May 27, 2010, 10:47:34 PM
while rowley is now political leader, he dey until he ratified by the General council.

is plenty signatures get gathered yesterday.  I feel sorry for Manning the way he get run out.....tough times for the father of the nation! ;)
Post by: sammy on May 28, 2010, 04:00:33 AM

and that is why manning alone is not to blame for pnm losing so bad, cause they coulda do this long time.
Post by: Brownsugar on May 28, 2010, 05:17:33 AM
while rowley is now political leader, he dey until he ratified by the General council.

is plenty signatures get gathered yesterday.  I feel sorry for Manning the way he get run out.....tough times for the father of the nation! ;)

uuuuuummmmm True Trini, according to Jerry and Conrad in the press conference last night, Rowley is Opposition Leader and the role of Political Leader will be carried out by the Chairman (Enill) and others around him (I'm assuming by that they meant the General Council). 

Even before the press conference, a gentleman (didn't catch his name, but he seemed very knowledgeable about the workings of the party), was on I95.5fm discussing this issue.  He said that the constitution does not allow for an "interim" political leader.  In the event of a vacancy for that position, the Chairman takes over that role until a special convention can be called....

I'm just trying to clarify in forumites' minds that the opposition leader and political leader are two different positions but usually carried out by the same person, unless yuh in the UNC.... :devil:

Overall, I hope the party gets rid of Enill, Narace, Martin Joseph and the whole gang of yes men who dragged the party down......
Post by: sammy on May 28, 2010, 07:00:33 AM

uuuuuummmmm True Trini, according to Jerry and Conrad in the press conference last night, Rowley is Opposition Leader and the role of Political Leader will be carried out by the Chairman (Enill) and others around him (I'm assuming by that they meant the General Council). 

Even before the press conference, a gentleman (didn't catch his name, but he seemed very knowledgeable about the workings of the party), was on I95.5fm discussing this issue.  He said that the constitution does not allow for an "interim" political leader.  In the event of a vacancy for that position, the Chairman takes over that role until a special convention can be called....

I'm just trying to clarify in forumites' minds that the opposition leader and political leader are two different positions but usually carried out by the same person, unless yuh in the UNC.... :devil:

Overall, I hope the party gets rid of Enill, Narace, Martin Joseph and the whole gang of yes men who dragged the party down......

.......thats what i been saying. PNM has to modernize and those men have to go.
Post by: truetrini on May 28, 2010, 07:26:07 AM
when in the PNM has the Opposition leader or PM NOT been the Political leader?

jerry and dem eh have ah leg to stand on.  The general council already make dey decision based on the will of the PNM members!

let them bray all dey want, dey soon gone!

I hold no real anger against Martin Joseph, he is an honorable man in my estimation, he did what he could and wanted to walk away but the PM would not let him.

he has already tendered his resigantion to the general council.