General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Dutty on June 09, 2010, 07:54:36 AM

Title: Daughter of Sikhs on track to be governor
Post by: Dutty on June 09, 2010, 07:54:36 AM
Bobby Jindal break the mould,,Interesting how the children of immigrants from India makin roads into some of the 'redneckiest' states

(http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/media/ALeqM5iNH59e0mQeDjDKB7jczZZ2GHg_lA?size=l)

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5jVGOp2bl5_prbLYsoPOvD96f55bgD9G7NNL00 (http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5jVGOp2bl5_prbLYsoPOvD96f55bgD9G7NNL00)

they does hadda change up dey name an ting but still.....

Haley weathers tryst accusations in SC gov race
By JIM DAVENPORT (AP) – 2 hours ago

COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina's Nikki Haley entered a runoff for the Republican gubernatorial primary with a substantial edge over her GOP rival, deflecting attacks on her marriage and her ethnicity using an antiestablishment message that resonated with the state's voters.

"We saw us push against the establishment, we saw us push against the power and push against the money and boy did they push back," Haley, a three-term state lawmaker and tea party headliner, said after narrowly failing to win the four-way race outright.

Hoping to become the state's first female nominee for governor from a major party, Haley captured 49 percent of the vote to U.S. Rep. Gresham Barrett's 22 percent. A majority of the vote was needed to avoid the June 22 runoff.

The winner will face state Sen. Vincent Sheheen, a Democrat who won his party's primary over two rivals.

Haley told supporters gathered in the state capital that the label "Republican" isn't good enough and needs to be backed by true conservative action.

"South Carolina was settling for a Republican House, a Republican Senate and a Republican governor, I won't stop until we get a conservative House," she said as supporters cheered.

Within an hour of Haley's speech, the head of the Republican Governors Association proclaimed her the party's nominee in a statement that failed to acknowledge Barrett, a three-term congressman.

"The voters of South Carolina made a clear choice in Nikki Haley, notwithstanding the possibility of a runoff. The outcome is all but certain," said Executive Director Nick Ayers. "Moreover, receiving half of the votes against two other statewide incumbent Republicans and a sitting Congressman speaks volumes of her strength as a candidate and bodes very well for her in the General Election."

The statement was a quick indicator of the pressure Barrett may face to bow out of the contest, but Barrett campaign consultant Terry Sullivan said it was the Washington-based group that should back away from the race.

"As much as people from South Carolina appreciate folks from Washington, D.C., telling us how we need to do things down here, we've got a race to run," Sullivan said. "It's a two-week-long runoff."

"Gresham Barrett is 100 percent geared up and hitting the ground running," he said.

Haley's achievement comes a year after outgoing, term-limited Republican Gov. Mark Sanford embroiled the state in scandal by admitting to skipping out of the country to rendezvous with his mistress in Argentina.

She was unaffected by unproven claims of affairs leveled by a political blogger and by a lobbyist who worked for a rival campaign.

"The one thing we noticed, we were 'Nikki Who' about six weeks ago. And then all of a sudden it showed we had double-digit lead in the polls, and then we had everything but the kitchen sink thrown at us. And our opponents got together, they threw as much distractions as they could, but we stayed very determined," Haley said Wednesday on ABC's "Good Morning America."

Shortly after those accusations, which she denied, the married mother of two also had to face being called a "raghead" — a derogatory term for people of Middle Eastern or Indian descent — by one opponent's backer. The daughter of Sikh immigrants, she would be the nation's second governor of Indian-American descent.

Haley knocked South Carolina's attorney general and lieutenant governor out of a race for which they'd been preparing for years. It was Lt. Gov. Andre Bauer's backer who used the slur.

Haley blamed an entrenched "Good Old Boy" system for conspiring to derail a campaign that gained steam with a slew of television ads and a spirited endorsement by former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin. She pivoted off the claims to underscore an antiestablishment message that has so far resonated.

Haley's politics are familiar to the state's conservative voters. She hews to the Libertarian, limited government policies favored by Sanford, though she distanced herself from him. He backed her candidacy and she won the endorsement of his ex-wife, popular former first lady Jenny Sanford.
[/url]

Title: Re: Daughter of Sikhs on track to be governor
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2010, 08:37:29 AM
Well, one element of the 'formula' is certain: 'change' yuh name and convert to Christianity.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 09, 2010, 08:46:57 AM
Well, one element of the 'formula' is certain: 'change' yuh name and convert to Christianity.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nikki_Haley

Post by: D.H.W on June 09, 2010, 09:03:06 AM
born Nimrata Randhawa
Post by: truetrini on June 09, 2010, 10:04:11 AM

maybe manning shoulda try dat!

instead ah patrick manning he coulda call he self Assholoo Kakaholo
Post by: Andre on June 09, 2010, 02:25:16 PM
and they all selling out and on the republican ticket.

the house n*gger lives on!
Post by: daryn on June 09, 2010, 07:19:17 PM
Indian-Americans are on the move.

Just today I was reading this article (http://www.slate.com/id/2255937/) about their increased presence on television.  and that's not even counting the domination of the spelling bee.
Post by: Bakes on June 09, 2010, 08:21:02 PM
and they all selling out and on the republican ticket.

the house n*gger lives on!

Why they have to be "house n*gger" juss because they vote Republican?  Leh at least try and be intelligent about what we saying nah man.  JC Watts among others was no house n*gger... having black Republicans is a very good thing whether you realize that or not. 
Post by: PantherX on June 09, 2010, 08:33:10 PM
I'm not surprised by the Indians entering the political arena on the Republican side they tend towards the conservative viewpoint.
Post by: congo on June 09, 2010, 11:44:31 PM
But they aren't really achieving anything if they have to change their name religion in order to be successful...They are not really changing mindsets or perceptions if you ask me..!!! Barack Hussein Obama won the election..PPl accepted him in his entirety...what are ppl accepting when someone's name is safe as Nikki Haley? That name whiter than Paris Hilton..!!! She didn't win the election, her name did..!!!
Post by: just cool on June 10, 2010, 03:28:52 AM
But they aren't really achieving anything if they have to change their name religion in order to be successful...They are not really changing mindsets or perceptions if you ask me..!!! Barack Hussein Obama won the election..PPl accepted him in his entirety...what are ppl accepting when someone's name is safe as Nikki Haley? That name whiter than Paris Hilton..!!! She didn't win the election, her name did..!!!

This is my beef !! thank yuh ! :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2010, 04:54:04 AM

The highlighted is nonsense... first off you don't know that the 'have' to change anything.

Secondly, them changing name and religion does in no way negate their accomplishments, they not changing their race which is apparent to all.

Thirdly, even if they change their names/religions... that is their business. 

Fourthly, Barack Husein Obama is a singular personality... you can't say just because Obama did it everybody can do it.  That's akin to saying "there's no more racism anymore... if Obama in de white house what allyuh darker-skinned people have to complain about again?"

I'm sure you see how silly that line of argument goes.  About the only thing sillier is your assertion that people voted for her because of her name... what the other white candidates didn't have white Christian names too?
Post by: trinindian on June 10, 2010, 05:15:55 AM

The highlighted is nonsense... first off you don't know that the 'have' to change anything.

Secondly, them changing name and religion does in no way negate their accomplishments, they not changing their race which is apparent to all.

Thirdly, even if they change their names/religions... that is their business. 

I could not agree with you more.

Bobby is actually Gov. Jindal nickname which dates to his childhood identification with the sitcom character. He has said, "Every day after school, I'd come home and I'd watch The Brady Bunch. And I identified with Bobby, you know? He was about my age, and 'Bobby' stuck." He has been known by his nickname ever since, though his legal name remains Piyush Jindal. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Jindal)

Maybe I should not have doubted hime when during his rebuff to the President's address he spoke of his dad calling him Bobby.
Post by: Dutty on June 10, 2010, 07:44:32 AM
Ah tink yuh playin devils advocate....granted dey mighta call him bobby from small but yuh cyah deny
de people and dem change dey to make the names more palatable or less "furrin"...especially in them banjo playin states
 good ole boys doh like too much ah syllables to twiss up dey tongue

I simply find it interesting that they makin inroads into confederate flag flappin southern states as opposed to northern ones where the indian immigrant populations tend to be more visible
but as usual men does twiss threads to vent out dey own agenda.
Post by: trinindian on June 10, 2010, 08:26:57 AM
Ah tink yuh playin devils advocate....granted dey mighta call him bobby from small but yuh cyah deny
de people and dem change dey to make the names more palatable or less "furrin"...especially in them banjo playin states

For example I have a partner name Satyaveda and over the last 20 years  I seen his name transition to simply Veda because it was easier to say, almost no-one would know who Satyaveda is but then again he spent most of his time in the Carolinas.

So for Jindal case as he works his your way up the political ladder, should he use his birth name or the name everyone know him by. I could see it now.

"Hey remember to vote for Piyush come election."
Pewweee ??? who is that ?
Yuh know  Secretary of the Louisiana Department of Health , Bobby
Oh yeah did some good wrk restoring Meicaid
Yeah i could vote for him."

For practical purposes he would used the name everyone knows him by so they voters can identify the they are voting (Bill Clinton v,s William Jefferson Clinton).
Plus the added benefit of having a more American name. Not sure about mrs haley stories though.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 10, 2010, 10:25:59 AM
So yuh feel he din come up with Bobby out of convenience?
Post by: trinindian on June 10, 2010, 10:52:34 AM

No quite the contrary, he uses Bobby, because it is convient most people knows him as Bobby.

Step back from the political world, in corporate world there are many examples off people going by names other than their birth names simply because communication is easier, or they are simply tired of havng them name butchered by people who cannot pronuce it.  Would we question them as being sell outs. NO because you do what is necessary to get the job. Like the indian guy who picks up the phone when you call the help desk and says with an american accent "hello my name is paul and I will be happy to help you with your PC."
Post by: truetrini on June 10, 2010, 02:14:25 PM
TV, internet, online blogs, rado, papers etc.  All of the banjo players know she is ah damn rag head....dais waht dey call she...regardless of the name!  point moot!
Post by: congo on June 10, 2010, 02:21:29 PM
http://madamenoire.com/3601/is-kamala-harris-the-new-obama/
This woman have a kinda sex appeal boi...Even better that she a dougla...LOL
Post by: asylumseeker on June 10, 2010, 05:19:27 PM
http://madamenoire.com/3601/is-kamala-harris-the-new-obama/
This woman have a kinda sex appeal boi...Even better that she a dougla...LOL

H-UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU!
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2010, 06:15:22 PM

What type of "convenience" we talking about though? Assuming he's being honest about adopting the name "as a child"... one could arguably ascribe only honest intentions behind it.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2010, 06:29:39 PM
What allyuh think about this fella?

http://www.theroot.com/views/alvin-greene-and-strange-politics-south-carolina
Post by: Cantona007 on June 10, 2010, 06:57:05 PM

I simply find it interesting that they makin inroads into confederate flag flappin southern states as opposed to northern ones where the indian immigrant populations tend to be more visible
but as usual men does twiss threads to vent out dey own agenda.

^^^
This.
I live in one of them "banjo playin states". No one with a name like "Piyush" getting anywhere in this part of the world.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on June 10, 2010, 08:20:49 PM
::)

This is my beef !! thank yuh ! :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

can't believe the kinda shite I reading here...
Obama didn't have a white name but he have a white mother!

What's your real beef? Don't compare apples with oranges...

Good for them, make it big and pave roads for your people, kids and everyone else....

Post by: Trinimassive on June 10, 2010, 10:20:45 PM
Everybody so far have some aspect of being right BUT

Lets not pretend that it's not common for people from other parts of the world particularly Asian whether Chinese, Korean, or whoever to change they name deyself or they chirren name. That is common.

Who doh know ah Chinee or he family that come to T&T or US that call heself John
Post by: congo on June 11, 2010, 12:01:46 AM

Good for them, make it big and pave roads for your people, kids and everyone else....

[/quote]

I have no beef here...Pave roads for who?  U have to be joking..She not paving no roads for her people..The only thing that she is doing is leaving a blueprint..That is all..For goodness sake she changed her name and religion..She goes by Nikki...A very safe american name. I am in no way taking away from her achievement, I believe this speaks more about the american mindset.. The same republican party that portrayed Obama as a foreigner and muslim? They still asking to see his birthpaper...But you're right, you can't compare the two cases...Obama married a black woman while Nikki married a white guy..So who's really changing perceptions and paving roads??
Post by: congo on June 11, 2010, 12:09:57 AM
Oh and by the way, I have a friend, an indian lady who sells insurance and she recently married a hindu guy...I don't want to put her name up here but it's very christian and by hearing her name you would believe her to be white..She decided to keep her maiden name and not carry the hindu name as she believed that it would affect business..She has told me that some people are shocked when they enter her office and see the type of person who is behind the desk and she has lost customers because of that..!!!
Post by: just cool on June 11, 2010, 02:35:27 AM

That white mudda shyte only counts in the caribbean and in countries where ppl are color struck!! here in uncle sam, if yuh not white then having white blood is of no consequence!

just ask the black high yellow creoles in luisiana if they could get by on dat! just ask adam clayton powell, thurgoud marshall,lina horne, dorothy dandrige, the delany sisters, james earl jones and many more yellow bone n!ggers who for sure could pass for white in trinidad, but here in foreign , they are just as black as micheal clark duncan!!
Post by: WestCoast on June 11, 2010, 06:27:26 AM
well I know ah chinee fella whose parents had a grocery up in st agustine who changed his name when he came up here and canadians NOT as fickle as some ah them "banjo pickin" states
Post by: Deeks on June 11, 2010, 06:32:56 AM
Once worked in a company in Takoma Park, md. One of my colleague was  a young white lady with last name Mitchell. Thought she was Irish-Amer. But she told me that she is actually Italian Amer. She said that he great grandfather's last name was Michelli, but he changed it to the Anglo, Mitchell. She said that he changed it to assimilate quickly and to get jobs. Italians and Irish use to get lot of "stick" from the Anglo/Protestant Amer. at the turn of the century.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2010, 03:40:35 PM

What type of "convenience" we talking about though? Assuming he's being honest about adopting the name "as a child"... one could arguably ascribe only honest intentions behind it.

He was probably gehhin stick in class fuh having the name Piyush to begin with ... I believe he was honest about adopting the name as a kid; just doh think that's the whole story.
Post by: WestCoast on June 11, 2010, 05:24:57 PM
Plus the added benefit of having a more American name. Not sure about mrs haley stories though.
she married Mr Haley
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 11, 2010, 08:11:01 PM

Niceness
Post by: truetrini on June 12, 2010, 03:29:07 AM

Niceness

Niceness?  Not at all.
Post by: Dutty on June 15, 2010, 07:49:08 AM

Niceness

Niceness?  Not at all.

i see starboy in a couple intervews....I really really hadda aks WDMC??

come to think of it where he even get de $$ to register for the senate race
Post by: truetrini on June 15, 2010, 09:15:01 AM
money and campaign (he did none, obviously done and he did not even know it was being done) most prob done by the republicans.  lol
Post by: trinindian on June 15, 2010, 05:09:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ntlp4fTell4
Post by: asylumseeker on July 30, 2011, 11:19:01 AM
Haley faces flak over “white” listing

Democrats have accused South Carolina's Indian-American Governor Nikki Haley of listing her race as “white” in her voter registration form in 2001 and playing on it for political convenience.

Ms. Haley created history this year when she was sworn in as the first woman Governor of South Carolina.

The 39-year-old Ms. Haley is also the first Indian-American woman Governor and, after Bobby Jindal from Louisiana, is only the second from the community to occupy this post.

The local Post and Courier newspapers reported that the State Democratic Party, which obtained the public record in this regard, is asking whether her inconsistency on the card made her ineligible to vote under a new law.

State Democratic Party chairman Dick Harpootlian said whether Ms. Haley listed her race as white or not did not really matter to him but the issue was that the Governor had shown a pattern of such actions. “Haley has been appearing on television interviews where she calls herself a minority — when it suits her,” Mr. Harpootlian was quoted as saying.

“When she registers to vote she says she is white. She has developed a pattern of saying whatever is beneficial to her at the moment,” he said. “She can't even tell the truth about her racial heritage.” There was no immediate response from Ms. Haley's office.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/international/article2306099.ece

Post by: capodetutticapi on July 30, 2011, 02:23:49 PM

agreed,only people of indian decent,particularly the black ones does be vex they born so,fuss thing they does do in usa is grab the accent fast fast and change they name to michael or richard.they does jealous the fair skin too.
Post by: jahkingdom on July 30, 2011, 02:27:15 PM
Haley faces flak over “white” listing

Democrats have accused South Carolina's Indian-American Governor Nikki Haley of listing her race as “white” in her voter registration form in 2001 and playing on it for political convenience.

Ms. Haley created history this year when she was sworn in as the first woman Governor of South Carolina.

The 39-year-old Ms. Haley is also the first Indian-American woman Governor and, after Bobby Jindal from Louisiana, is only the second from the community to occupy this post.

The local Post and Courier newspapers reported that the State Democratic Party, which obtained the public record in this regard, is asking whether her inconsistency on the card made her ineligible to vote under a new law.

State Democratic Party chairman Dick Harpootlian said whether Ms. Haley listed her race as white or not did not really matter to him but the issue was that the Governor had shown a pattern of such actions. “Haley has been appearing on television interviews where she calls herself a minority — when it suits her,” Mr. Harpootlian was quoted as saying.

“When she registers to vote she says she is white. She has developed a pattern of saying whatever is beneficial to her at the moment,” he said. “She can't even tell the truth about her racial heritage.” There was no immediate response from Ms. Haley's office.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/international/article2306099.ece

Post by: Jah Gol on July 30, 2011, 03:08:55 PM

agreed,only people of indian decent,particularly the black ones does be vex they born so,fuss thing they does do in usa is grab the accent fast fast and change they name to michael or richard.they does jealous the fair skin too.
Let me give my anecdotal account of this fair skin thing.

I remember in school there was a fella who wouldn't play football with us because of 'the sun' he thought he was too dark already.

I have a partner living Couva, real cool fella eh he invited me and some classmates to his home for Divali a time. On the same evening a conversation about a girl came up. I remember him saying that she was a real good girl, good looking too , the only thing is she dark :) (incidentally she was Indian)

This semester one of my lecturers is Indian(nationality).Brilliant guy and very entertaining. He lived in T&T for about 2 years and now visits to conduct classes. In class one day he was conveying the story of date he had with a trini girl in which part of his preparation for the date included very long shower so he would look fair.

There's a girl in my office who visits my desk everyday to 'smalltalk'. One day another girl returned to work from her vacation and she complimented her saying that New York did her skin well and she was looking fair and nice.

I will go out on a limb and say that light skin is a very desirable trait in Indian culture.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40970000/jpg/_40970516_pack.jpg)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4396122.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4396122.stm)
Post by: capodetutticapi on July 30, 2011, 04:41:13 PM
next thing they does forget where they come from,ah gone to buy ah roti on liberty ave,de gyul in front ah me,one black dry thin foot lil indian big shades on she face,lookin like ah cockroach askin fuh the roti with de gold dust.is to see them eatin it with knife and fork.ah really cyar complain nah,because ah meh color ah f**k nuff ah them
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on July 30, 2011, 08:05:54 PM
allyuh rell racist and hypocritical yes.

like some black people doh do the same thing...hiding in shade cuz dem scared of getting "black up" in de sun....
wearing weave and extensions to look like they have straight hair (coming all de way from india)..chris rock do ah whole documentary on it called good hair...

barack heself a light skin, along wit halle berry, beyonce and a lot of all "black" celebs in the US.... and doh start me on vybz kartel.

...light skin is desirable in ALL races

ms haley is a joke, but bobby jindal calling heself bobby is no scene.  its because the whites can't pronounce the name.  ask all dem chinese who change their name too.

soon enough all ah we will look the same in a few generations....then maybe people can get over the race thing.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 30, 2011, 08:21:29 PM

like some black people doh do the same thing...hiding in shade cuz dem scared of getting "black up" in de sun....
wearing weave and extensions to look like they have straight hair (coming all de way from india)..chris rock do ah whole documentary on it called good hair...

barack heself a light skin, along wit halle berry, beyonce and a lot of all "black" celebs in the US.... and doh start me on vybz kartel.

ms haley is a joke, but bobby jindal calling heself bobby is no scene.  its because the whites can't pronounce the name.  ask all dem chinese who change their name too.

soon enough all ah we will look the same in a few generations....then maybe people can get over the race thing.

If you're directing this comment at me I think you're mistaken.  I was articulating my observation. I notice you didn't invalidate my point either.
Post by: Bakes on July 30, 2011, 10:12:26 PM

Do black women wear weaves "to look like they have straight hair"?  Look I never know dat was de reason.  Ah di'n even get that from Chris Rock documentary.  You watch de Canadian "asylum seekers" version or what?

Second... what does Barack, Halle and Beyonce being light skin have to do with anything?  How that mean light skin is "desirable"?

Like when people mash allyuh corn allyuh brain does shut dong.
Post by: lefty on July 30, 2011, 10:47:01 PM

dis sweet  ;D ;D ;D :D ;D 8).................
Post by: warmonga on July 31, 2011, 12:13:43 AM
hmm..
Post by: vb on July 31, 2011, 05:45:48 AM
Some people desire dark skin. Some desire light skin.

If you like yourself looking black or light dat is your business.

However, as an Indian I does shake meh head when I see other Indians talking about dark Indians in a derogatory manner.

But say what - I meet some Kenyans the other day laughing at Nigerians and Gambians because they so dark that if they walk next to you at night, you cah see dem unless dey smile.

It was the first time I see black people laughing at how black ppl  black.

They weren't trying to be rude. It's just that them ppl so black you cah see dem at night if they next to you.

Ahh well, I brown and I like it just so  ;D
Post by: Controversial on July 31, 2011, 02:20:32 PM

Do black women wear weaves "to look like they have straight hair"?  Look I never know dat was de reason.  Ah di'n even get that from Chris Rock documentary.  You watch de Canadian "asylum seekers" version or what?

Second... what does Barack, Halle and Beyonce being light skin have to do with anything?  How that mean light skin is "desirable"?

do you know what proud ethnicity is before yuh talk about mashing people corn ???

who is the allyuh you are referring to?
Post by: Bakes on July 31, 2011, 03:20:06 PM
do you know what proud ethnicity is before yuh talk about mashing people corn ???

You is ProudTrinbagonian jockstrap or he right balls... how yuh drinking med'sin fuh he cough so?  What the f**k is "proud ethnicity"?  Go ask yuh mother who "allyuh" refers to, she probably still wiping yuh ass fuh yuh, just as she was doing in Germany five years ago.
Post by: pecan on July 31, 2011, 05:20:38 PM
My daughter back from India .. she say skin whitening creams are popular.  Went she returned to her host home after a 25 day tour of southern India, she was a few shades darker than before she left.  Her host mom said something to the effect she looked like a "Negro".  She used that has an opportunity to educate her mom about "negroes".

Here is a 2008 link I found

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/skinwhitening-adverts-ignite-race-row-in-india-863936.html (http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/asia/skinwhitening-adverts-ignite-race-row-in-india-863936.html)

(http://www.independent.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00037/whitebeauty1_37524t.jpg)
A scene from the Indian TV advertisement mini-series that promotes the skin cream, White Beauty
Post by: Controversial on July 31, 2011, 06:56:13 PM

You is ProudTrinbagonian jockstrap or he right balls... how yuh drinking med'sin fuh he cough so?  What the f**k is "proud ethnicity"?  Go ask yuh mother who "allyuh" refers to, she probably still wiping yuh ass fuh yuh, just as she was doing in Germany five years ago.

getting defensive :D you almost sound like truetrini, evasive action is your strong suit, answer the question, better yet ask him his mix before you spew nonsense

you have a terrible attention span, you think trying to attack me personally with lies will make you sound more intelligent or boost your inflated ego?  ??? thats the fallacy with insecure individuals like yourself

when you can't answer a question, you resort to cussing and ignorant remarks to cover up how incapable you really are in discussing a topic
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on July 31, 2011, 08:31:37 PM
If you're directing this comment at me I think you're mistaken.  I was articulating my observation. I notice you didn't invalidate my point either.

i didn't invalidate your point, and you didn't invalidate mine either.  If you took offense, nm it.  If I was mistaken, i was mistaken..that would be the best case scenario, however can't say the same for a lot of the others

If black women don't wear weaves, extensions and use relaxers for that reason, then why?  No disrespect but kindly give the reason...I have no problem being wrong but give your opinion

I guess Barack, Halle and Beyonce not desirable?  steups, they all light skin and are viewed more desirable.
it's a discussion forum..so discuss nuh

when you talking about mashing people corn, you should know the people you talking about.
otherwise, empty vessels just making the most noise

and finally, yuh spend yuh whole weekend online every 2 mins it seems.  get out and do something and take it easy!
Post by: ribbit on July 31, 2011, 09:24:17 PM

de whiter de skin, de bigger de smile
Post by: Jah Gol on July 31, 2011, 09:31:01 PM

de whiter de skin, de bigger de smile
I didn't even notice.  ;D
Post by: Bakes on July 31, 2011, 09:36:03 PM
If black women don't wear weaves, extensions and use relaxers for that reason, then why?  No disrespect but kindly give the reason...I have no problem being wrong but give your opinion

Yuh know any black women?  Why yuh don't ask them why they does straighten they hair instead ah coming online and talking shit about them wanting to "look like they have straight hair"?  Didn't it occur to you that for some it makes their hair more manageable?  Same reason why they wear braided extensions?

I guess Barack, Halle and Beyonce not desirable?  steups, they all light skin and are viewed more desirable.

"viewed more desirable" by who, the likes of you?  Which poll yuh conduct to arrive at that conclusion?

when you talking about mashing people corn, you should know the people you talking about.

You must be talking about yuhself with that empty vessel talk, because ever since yuh first post in here is only empty noise yuh making.  I "know" people by the shit they post online, and your post was defensive, like somebody mash yuh corn so doh get mad because I stating de obvious.

and finally, yuh spend yuh whole weekend online every 2 mins it seems.  get out and do something and take it easy!

Doh worry yuhself with my life fella... my life couldn't be better, worry about your own and how yuh could avoid making dotish presumptuous statements online.
Post by: elan on July 31, 2011, 09:56:17 PM

i didn't invalidate your point, and you didn't invalidate mine either.  If you took offense, nm it.  If I was mistaken, i was mistaken..that would be the best case scenario, however can't say the same for a lot of the others

You don't know much about women do you, or you setting bait?
Post by: Jah Gol on July 31, 2011, 10:51:23 PM

I don't get what you're saying here exactly.

I noticed you referred to 'desirability' in your post that began with  condemning racists and hypocrites. I just wanted to let you know I didn't have any malicious or mischievous intent but I was pointing to multiple cases in my experience that led me to conclude that Indian culture generally glorifies lighter skin.

It came as a bit of a shock to me when I first experienced it when I was doing my first degree and most of my classmates were of east indian descent. Maybe I was too naive at the time but I remember this fella ,he used to try to fit in and be friendly with everybody ,he was  as cool as you could be when you socially awkward. One day one of he partners telling him tongue in cheek that he is a girlsman he responded by saying he could never be a girlsman because he too black. They laughed , I didn't. I wasn't offended or anything seeing that I was the only black person around. I had never heard a black person decry their own skin colour no matter how dark they were. It was an insight into the culture that was as good as reading from a text . Numerous other conversations and observations confirmed this to me.

There is a fixation on colour that while not entirely unique is definitely pervasive in Indian culture.
Post by: pecan on August 01, 2011, 06:17:53 AM
what really ironic here is that the weaves that black women use are from Indian people hair.
Post by: elan on August 01, 2011, 07:44:04 AM
If it ain't white, it ain't right   :devil:
Post by: Socafan on August 01, 2011, 08:11:46 AM
If it ain't white, it ain't right   :devil:
If yuh black, get back :devil:
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 01, 2011, 08:13:11 AM

Yuh know any black women?  Why yuh don't ask them why they does straighten they hair instead ah coming online and talking shit about them wanting to "look like they have straight hair"?  Didn't it occur to you that for some it makes their hair more manageable?  Same reason why they wear braided extensions?

"viewed more desirable" by who, the likes of you?  Which poll yuh conduct to arrive at that conclusion?

You must be talking about yuhself with that empty vessel talk, because ever since yuh first post in here is only empty noise yuh making.  I "know" people by the shit they post online, and your post was defensive, like somebody mash yuh corn so doh get mad because I stating de obvious.

Doh worry yuhself with my life fella... my life couldn't be better, worry about your own and how yuh could avoid making dotish presumptuous statements online.

Firstly, Cool yuhself...not trying to argue here.

I know exactly why some black women have weaves, and use certain hair products. thanks for clarifying your opinion though.  I have seen many sides, not just one, black, indian, name it.  My family comes from various backgrounds.  I will defend them all cuz they all family to me.  A mindset that unfortunately, MANY WILL NEVER HAVE OR UNDERSTAND.  I knew you would assume I don't know black women, etc.  You are the presumptuous one, not me, pointing fingers when you know absolutely nothing what you are talking about.

Barack, Halle and Beyonce are desirable by many.  I judge people by what they are worth, not their looks.  Again, why are you being so presumptuous?  I am simply stating that there is a majority out there that finds light skinned people desirable irrespective of their race.  This happens in all races, not just Indian.  This was my initial point.

You know people by what they talk online?  Right....that doesn't even warrant a response.  you psychic now?  You do palm reading too?

A great number of people made statements about Indian people.  Everyone jumped in, had their jokes and laughs.  And what I found out was that, once someone made a statement about blacks, offensive or not, it was war.

I was being defensive.  Nothing wrong with that.  And not because of any corn being mashed up, rather because there were offensive posts.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 01, 2011, 08:17:10 AM

You don't know much about women do you, or you setting bait?

Apparently both???  :D

Truth was I just wanted an answer from Bakes....not another question.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 01, 2011, 08:24:11 AM

I don't get what you're saying here exactly.

I noticed you referred to 'desirability' in your post that began with  condemning racists and hypocrites. I just wanted to let you know I didn't have any malicious or mischievous intent but I was pointing to multiple cases in my experience that led me to conclude that Indian culture generally glorifies lighter skin.

It came as a bit of a shock to me when I first experienced it when I was doing my first degree and most of my classmates were of east indian descent. Maybe I was too naive at the time but I remember this fella ,he used to try to fit in and be friendly with everybody ,he was  as cool as you could be when you socially awkward. One day one of he partners telling him tongue in cheek that he is a girlsman he responded by saying he could never be a girlsman because he too black. They laughed , I didn't. I wasn't offended or anything seeing that I was the only black person around. I had never heard a black person decry their own skin colour no matter how dark they were. It was an insight into the culture that was as good as reading from a text . Numerous other conversations and observations confirmed this to me.

There is a fixation on colour that while not entirely unique is definitely pervasive in Indian culture.

What I meant was I was mistaken, you did not have any malicious intent...you clarified that further.

Fixation on colour is in all races, unfortunately.
Products such as fair and lovely sell very well across Asia, Africa and of course with the respective diaspora in N America
Post by: Socafan on August 01, 2011, 08:27:22 AM

Firstly, Cool yuhself...not trying to argue here.

I know exactly why some black women have weaves, and use certain hair products. thanks for clarifying your opinion though.  I have seen many sides, not just one, black, indian, name it.  My family comes from various backgrounds.  I will defend them all cuz they all family to me.  A mindset that unfortunately, MANY WILL NEVER HAVE OR UNDERSTAND.  I knew you would assume I don't know black women, etc.  You are the presumptuous one, not me, pointing fingers when you know absolutely nothing what you are talking about.

Barack, Halle and Beyonce are desirable by many.  I judge people by what they are worth, not their looks.  Again, why are you being so presumptuous?  I am simply stating that there is a majority out there that finds light skinned people desirable irrespective of their race.  This happens in all races, not just Indian.  This was my initial point.

You know people by what they talk online?  Right....that doesn't even warrant a response.  you psychic now?  You do palm reading too?

A great number of people made statements about Indian people.  Everyone jumped in, had their jokes and laughs.  And what I found out was that, once someone made a statement about blacks, offensive or not, it was war.

I was being defensive.  Nothing wrong with that.  And not because of any corn being mashed up, rather because there were offensive posts.

Not true; and especially among Black people in the US, having lighter skin definitelydoes not automatically make you more desirable. There are similar attitudes, maybe even worse, in South Africa.
Post by: JDB on August 01, 2011, 09:31:19 AM
Barack, Halle and Beyonce are desirable by many.  I judge people by what they are worth, not their looks. Again, why are you being so presumptuous?  I am simply stating that there is a majority out there that finds light skinned people desirable irrespective of their race.  This happens in all races, not just Indian.  This was my initial point.

And you were asked for the relevance of that statement. Unless you are making the point that Barack and Halle have played on their “desirable lightness” or actually tried to lighten their skin, that statement has no bearing on what is being discussed.

Just to remind you th etalk was about the Governor conveniently ignoring her heritage “trying to pass” as we used to say and then people sharing observations about the value of light skin in the indian diaspora.

You put Barack Obama and Halle Berry forward as somehow equivalent to these things.

All part of a failed attempt to tar all races with the brush of desiring lighter skin when that is just not correct. In fact saying that all races desire light skin is very ignorant.
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 10:50:24 AM

Firstly, Cool yuhself...not trying to argue here. 1

I know exactly why some black women have weaves, and use certain hair products. thanks for clarifying your opinion though.2  

I have seen many sides, not just one, black, indian, name it.  My family comes from various backgrounds.  I will defend them all cuz they all family to me.  A mindset that unfortunately, MANY WILL NEVER HAVE OR UNDERSTAND.3  

I knew you would assume I don't know black women, etc.  You are the presumptuous one, not me, pointing fingers when you know absolutely nothing what you are talking about.4

Barack, Halle and Beyonce are desirable by many.5  

I judge people by what they are worth, not their looks.  Again, why are you being so presumptuous?  I am simply stating that there is a majority out there that finds light skinned people desirable irrespective of their race.  This happens in all races, not just Indian.  This was my initial point. 6

You know people by what they talk online?  Right....that doesn't even warrant a response.  you psychic now?  You do palm reading too?7

A great number of people made statements about Indian people.  Everyone jumped in, had their jokes and laughs.  And what I found out was that, once someone made a statement about blacks, offensive or not, it was war. 8

I was being defensive.  Nothing wrong with that.  And not because of any corn being mashed up, rather because there were offensive posts.9

1 Right, yuh not trying to argue, yuh trying and succeeding in talking shit.  I suppose your comment about me being "online every two minutes was part of the thread discussion, right?

2 You "know exactly why some black women have weaves"?  And they tell yuh they did it because they want to "look like they have straight hair"?  Of course yuh didn't say nutten about "some" in yuh initial post, yuh spoke conclusively as though this is why all, most or a majority do it... now yuh backtracking.

3 Wait... lol, so you think yuh special or something that you have a diverse ethnic heritage?  You feel you's de only one here who will "HAVE OR UNDERSTAND" having diversity in they family?  Not everybody will feel it necessary like you to come and fly flag about having "various backgrounds" in dey family... that is half of Trinidad right there, so ease up on de chest beating before yuh hurt yuhself.

4 Where did I assume you didn't know black women?  Yuh's ah kinda dunce or what? (that was rhetorical, no need to answer).  I asked you if you knew any black women, and suggested that you go ask them before making asshole statements about why they do what they do.  How is that an assumption?

5 As desirable as they might be that have nutten to do with the discussion, there are many who similarly don't find them desirable.  Speaking for myself, neither Halle Berry nor Beyonce appeal to me and from my conversations on both of them over the years I know I'm not the only black man who feels that way.  Besides, their desirability is not the issue, the issue is that YOU trying to make it seem that they are ONLY desirable because they are light skinned, which is foolish.  More on that in a second.

6 Again, how am I being presumptuous... I asked a question... which poll did you conduct to arrive at your conclusion that "a majority" who find light-skinned people attractive... and doh shift focus by bawling "irrespective of race" we are talking specifically here about your sweeping generalizations about black people supposedly favoring Halle et al because they are light-skinned.

7 First off you should note that I used "know" in quotes... one cannot absolutely know everything about a person by interacting with them online, but you absolutely can get enough of an insight about a person by what they say and how they say it.  You attempts to mischaracterize my statements fall as flat as the rest of the off-base shit yuh posting in this thread.

8 Who had "laughs"?  I actually went back and checked every post in this thread, and there are two where people were laughing, one was reggae-fan (which speaks for itself) and the other was by lefty, laughing at my "mash corn" comment.  Who was laughing at the expense of Indians?  You either being facetious or a damn ass to try and portray the situation as though ignorant comments about Indians were a) flying left and right; and b) being given a pass without scrutiny.  Back on the first page of this thread I for one responded in opposition to a comment about them being "house n*ggers"... and I wasn't the only one defending the choice of some Indians to adopt anglo names. 

9 Where are all these "offensive" comments you bitching about?
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 10:56:41 AM
What I meant was I was mistaken, you did not have any malicious intent...you clarified that further.

Fixation on colour is in all races, unfortunately.
Products such as fair and lovely sell very well across Asia, Africa and of course with the respective diaspora in N America

That right there is your problem... you rush een posting with yuh blood hot assuming people have malicious intent behind their comments accusing "allyuh" of being racist, when man was just sharing their personal observations.  How yuh going to fight down a man on what he observe and experience?  And then making ignorant comments and unnecessarily defensive comments on top of that.
Post by: kicker on August 01, 2011, 02:55:10 PM
These threads real entertaining boy, I must say.

From my experience I'd say that black women use chemicals to straighten their hair and weaves to make their hair appear longer/straighter because of a long long long history of being made to feel that short tightly curled/african hair is unattractive on a woman.  I doubt that it makes their hair any more manageable because from what I understand, weaves and chemically altered hair require alot of maintenance, and in many cases is also painful to achieve...the chemicals are also really bad for hair.  My wife is white and has very curly hair (for a white person), and even she relaxes her hair from time to time...so the mainstream preference affects not only black women....You'd be surprised to know how many white women have "blow outs" and even chemically straightened hair -something I was oblivious to for a long time.

As far as skin color preferences among indians go, how much of a relationship is there between the preference for light skin, and the old caste system which I understand played (plays) a huge part in the socio-economic dynamic on the Indian sub-continent?  open-ended question. 

Regarding the name change for Nikki - that's a normal scene in many many non english speaking cultures - Look up what Martin Sheen's or Jennifer Anniston's original family names were...

Of the black cultures I am familiar with, American blacks appear to have made the most progress as far as the whole idea of light-skinned being perceived as superior to dark.  I believe that black americans struggled with this for a while, but dark skinned blacks in America seem to have overcome this more so than dark skinned blacks in other cultures. (a common joke among light skinned blacks in the U.S. is that some day they will "come back in style some day") .... I say this based on very casual observation....and I think this observation probably holds for men more so than it holds for women.

Most of the Sikhs I have met are very light skinned and have near caucasian features - I could see them crossing over easier into the American mainstream than other ethnic groups from India...
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 04:08:04 PM
Kicker them Sikhs yuh meet is fellas?  Because all the fellas I know does wear full beards and turbans and none ah dem could pass  for white.

As for the hair thing, ask yuh wife (if you don't already know) whether the perm she puts in her hair makes it more manageable, in terms of being easier to style and comb and having being less prone to 'frizz' from humidity.  I grow up in a house with three "dougla" woman and have dated almost exclusively black women and have an extensive group of black female friends... I'm not stating what I feel, but what they have told me.  Also, if you have any female friends who are athletes you can ask them as well, there's a reason why most black female athletes you see will be wearing braids (mainly extensions)... and I'm not talking about the pros who can afford to have their hair regularly styled, I'm talking about college females here... the demographic I'm most familiar with.  I'm not denying that some process their hair and wear extensions for the 'straight hair' look... particularly true of the perms and relaxers, but as far as extensions and weaves many do so for practical reasons.
Post by: kicker on August 01, 2011, 06:26:28 PM
Kicker them Sikhs yuh meet is fellas?  Because all the fellas I know does wear full beards and turbans and none ah dem could pass  for white.

As for the hair thing, ask yuh wife (if you don't already know) whether the perm she puts in her hair makes it more manageable, in terms of being easier to style and comb and having being less prone to 'frizz' from humidity.  I grow up in a house with three "dougla" woman and have dated almost exclusively black women and have an extensive group of black female friends... I'm not stating what I feel, but what they have told me.  Also, if you have any female friends who are athletes you can ask them as well, there's a reason why most black female athletes you see will be wearing braids (mainly extensions)... and I'm not talking about the pros who can afford to have their hair regularly styled, I'm talking about college females here... the demographic I'm most familiar with.  I'm not denying that some process their hair and wear extensions for the 'straight hair' look... particularly true of the perms and relaxers, but as far as extensions and weaves many do so for practical reasons.

On the hair part, I hear you - makes sense...especially with the whities and the frizz factor lol...

Sikhs - both men & women - not saying they would pass for white, but of the of the indian ethnic groups, I think their features have the most "cross-over appeal" in mainstream America...but I only making that point on the basis of a very small sample..
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 06:35:14 PM
I hear you.  Most of Sikhs I know are brown skinned, rather than light or dark, and I dunno, them nose kinda fat to me, lol.  But the one or two females I know (I can't tell a Sikh woman from a Hindu otherwise) are because they marri'd to pardnas... and yeah, they are very fair skinned.

Another reason why some women wear extensions, believe it or not, is to give their hair a break from the chemicals, or to allow it to grow out.
Post by: Jah Gol on August 01, 2011, 06:48:35 PM
I hear you.  Most of Sikhs I know are brown skinned, rather than light or dark, and I dunno, them nose kinda fat to me, lol.  But the one or two females I know (I can't tell a Sikh woman from a Hindu otherwise) are because they marri'd to pardnas... and yeah, they are very fair skinned.

Another reason why some women wear extensions, believe it or not, is to give their hair a break from the chemicals, or to allow it to grow out.
Like you do real field research.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 01, 2011, 07:39:05 PM
Not all Sikhs wear turbans, the stricter ones do.  The 2nd generation sikhs don't wear the turbans as much as the the ones directly from India.  The reason they are light skinned and have more anglo features is because the religion stems from Punjab, north India where it can get as cold as 0-5 degrees in the winter, unlike the South Indians where it's hot temperatures all year round.

They have assimilated faster because they were the first group of Indians to emigrate to N America and Europe.  I know multiple Sikhs and Punjabis and they make astute businessmen/leaders....I could see why they will be the first group from India (possibly the Gujuratis) to really make a mark on N American politics.
Post by: elan on August 01, 2011, 08:35:29 PM

Bakes spot on. Yuh does pay attention meh boy. The main reason as you stated are manageability, and styling. The weave and braids is just as you said to give their hair a break from the chemical.
Post by: Peong on August 01, 2011, 08:51:09 PM
So she explain why she want to be white yet?
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 08:55:44 PM

Bakes spot on. Yuh does pay attention meh boy. The main reason as you stated are manageability, and styling. The weave and braids is just as you said to give their hair a break from the chemical.

Lol... like ah say, ah grow up in ah house with two older sisters.  That and the fact that I was cool with half the women's basketball team when I was in college... and yeah, paying attention too  :D

ProudTrinbagonian yuh probably right, ah sure mostly the immigrant Sikhs would wear the turban... the fellas I know all born here though, not sure how orthodox they are about the religion itself.  I meet them running ball during undergrad and even then they head was always wrap up.
Post by: Preacher on August 01, 2011, 09:49:26 PM
Great thread fellas.  Good to see ethnicity in the mix. I would like to see more Native Americans in the thing.  Just as a passing note, saw a very funny T-shirt.   It had four Native Americans on it and one of them was the famous Geronimo.   They were all holding rifles and posing.  The shirt read "Homeland Security.....Fighting Terrorism since 1842"     ;D    Not sure if you know but when the whites came there were over 500 nations across America...500!.  Systematic annihilation of a people....It's very important who you put in government. 
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2011, 11:51:21 PM

Most of the Sikhs I have met are very light skinned and have near caucasian features - I could see them crossing over easier into the American mainstream than other ethnic groups from India...
nah man,the sikhs i meet eh no different to the average indian back home,what i could tell yuh,they dutty no ass,stinkest set ah people ah ever meet.

What can I tell you... I could only speak about my experience.  This is mih pardna from undergrad and basketball, Gurbir

(http://abcdlady.com/2009-01/GurbirSinghGrewal.jpg)

Scroll down past the story about Bobby Jindal

http://abcdlady.com/2009-01/art2.php
Post by: Dutty on August 02, 2011, 08:28:16 AM
allyuh fellahs on de weekend shift does be real antsy oui
Post by: Controversial on August 02, 2011, 11:10:46 AM

nah man,the sikhs i meet eh no different to the average indian back home,what i could tell yuh,they dutty no ass,stinkest set ah people ah ever meet.

allyuh entertaining this kinda talk on here?
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 02, 2011, 11:43:00 AM

I am the only ignorant one seeing offensive comments to bitch about.  Also there is no racism here....I was mistaken remember?

Post by: capodetutticapi on August 02, 2011, 11:56:52 AM

What can I tell you... I could only speak about my experience.  This is mih pardna from undergrad and basketball, Gurbir

shave that fuzz and get rid ah the towel,he could b from caroni
Post by: warmonga on August 02, 2011, 12:03:33 PM
Mi eh know wey this topic going eh.. bout sikhs light skin ? .. dem fukas black jes like madrass indians.. anyway all I know is dem indian from India dont like this indian  because I better looking than dem .. N I dont f**king like dem cause dey ugly... dais war two cents on this subject..   allyuh ley we all find sumthing else to argure bout nuh..
Post by: warmonga on August 02, 2011, 12:05:53 PM

have sum respect for the man religion dats not a facking towel . PPL religion is not sumthing to mess wid.. Ok..

Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2011, 12:13:32 PM
I am the only ignorant one seeing offensive comments to bitch about.  Also there is no racism here....I was mistaken remember?

Yes you are.  The man clearly talking about the Sikhs HE meet, saying they are the stinkest... what racist about that?  Call it "ignorant" if yuh want but if that is his experience then that is his experience... yuh want to argue with him that another setta people he meet stinker?  Aside from that yuh clearly doh know anything about Capo.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 02, 2011, 12:28:43 PM

Yes you are.  The man clearly talking about the Sikhs HE meet, saying they are the stinkest... what racist about that?  Call it "ignorant" if yuh want but if that is his experience then that is his experience... yuh want to argue with him that another setta people he meet stinker?  Aside from that yuh clearly doh know anything about Capo.

Thank you Judge Judy

Like you is capo jockstrap or he right balls?  How you taking medicine fuh he cough so?

the man say "the sikhs i meet eh no different to the average indian back home"
then gone on to say they dutty, no ass and stinky?  yuh right! that not racist or offensive! that's his observation!

I don't want or need to know anything about people with those kinda comments, jokingly or not.  see what happen if ppl say those kinda comments around the wrong people.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 02, 2011, 12:35:03 PM
Mi eh know wey this topic going eh.. bout sikhs light skin ? .. dem f**kas black jes like madrass indians.. anyway all I know is dem indian from India dont like this indian  because I better looking than dem .. N I dont f**king like dem cause dey ugly... dais war two cents on this subject..   allyuh ley we all find sumthing else to argure bout nuh..

I find Male Indians from India doh like the W. Indian Indians period.  The women love them though.
Post by: pecan on August 02, 2011, 12:37:16 PM
According to Capo, the average Indian back home is dutty, no ass and stinky.

Hmmm, in addition to ignorant, that statement seems to characterize an entire race of people in a derogatory manner based on generalizations and stereotypes.  Is that not racist?

On the other hand, Capo is known for his BS talk, so it has to be taken in that context.  Which is why I did not take it on.

I wonder if Capo did get bull by a homosexual Indian - that might explain his outlook.  :thinking:
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2011, 12:43:15 PM
Thank you Judge Judy

Like you is capo jockstrap or he right balls?  How you taking medicine fuh he cough so?

then gone on to say they dutty, no ass and stinky?  yuh right! that not racist or offensive! that's his observation!

I don't want or need to know anything about people with those kinda comments, jokingly or not.  see what happen if ppl say those kinda comments around sikhs.

Jackass... "the sikhs i meet eh no different to the average indian back home" was said in reference to the conversation between Kicker and I about how they look, whether Sikhs are light enough to assimilate.  The part about them being "dutty" and "stinkest setta people" was in reference to Sikhs he meet, yuh sensitive cyathole.  You clearly parsing thru the thread cherry picking thing to bitch and moan about.

You implying that man singling you out fuh criticism and giving Capo ah pass...  no yuh dunce... we pointing out to you that yuh carrying on like ah tun tun.  Nobody eh drinking medicine fuh nobody, man juss pointing out yuh cognitive shortcomings... doh vex when is you self putting dem on full display in de forum.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 02, 2011, 12:55:41 PM
Thank you Judge Judy

I don't want or need to know anything about people with those kinda comments, jokingly or not.  see what happen if ppl say those kinda comments around sikhs.

Jackass... "the sikhs i meet eh no different to the average indian back home" was said in reference to the conversation between Kicker and I about how they look, whether Sikhs are light enough to assimilate.  The part about them being "dutty" and "stinkest setta people" was in reference to Sikhs he meet, yuh sensitive cyathole.  You clearly parsing thru the thread cherry picking thing to bitch and moan about.

You implying that man singling you out fuh criticism and giving Capo ah pass...  no yuh dunce... we pointing out to you that yuh carrying on like ah tun tun.  Nobody eh drinking medicine fuh nobody, man juss pointing out yuh cognitive shortcomings... doh vex when is you self putting dem on full display in de forum.

You does real make me laugh...i'm not vex at all.  You're coming off far more sensitive.

by the way smarty pants, it is the conversation between Kicker and "me"
Post by: kicker on August 02, 2011, 01:03:53 PM

That's how it reads, but I don't think that's what he meant.  The part about being no different to the average indian in Trini, I believe had to do with their looks- i.e. responding to my statement about looks....The other characteristics I think referred to the particular Sikhs he met...
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2011, 02:03:26 PM
You does real make me laugh...i'm not vex at all.  You're coming off far more sensitive.

by the way smarty pants, it is the conversation between Kicker and "me"

Thank you for your substantive response on the difference between nominative and objective pronouns... I'm surprised you didn't object to my use of "yuh" as well.  No need to protest that yuh not vex, the fact that yuh seeking comfort in ad hominems is all the proof we need.
Post by: Controversial on August 02, 2011, 03:04:44 PM

Hmmm, in addition to ignorant, that statement seems to characterize an entire race of people in a derogatory manner based on generalizations and stereotypes.  Is that not racist?

On the other hand, Capo is known for his BS talk, so it has to be taken in that context.  Which is why I did not take it on.

I wonder if Capo did get bull by a homosexual Indian - that might explain his outlook.  :thinking:

maybe, maybe not, bake and shark seems fully convinced that there were no racist remarks in his statement

maybe bake and shark is capo defense attorney :D
Post by: Controversial on August 02, 2011, 03:13:42 PM

if capo feel that way, he should excuse himself from the site, because the owner of the site is a person he would not supposedly by his comments associate with, if bake and shark feel so strongly about protecting his client  :D he should also no longer post as well  8)

ps - i have zero tolerance for racism from any race in and out of TT, i relate to proud because we both come from families who are multi ethnic and have zero tolerance for comments like what capo made and also zero tolerance for sympathizers who defend racist remarks  >:(
Post by: elan on August 02, 2011, 04:09:41 PM

if capo feel that way, he should excuse himself from the site, because the owner of the site is a person he would not supposedly by his comments associate with, if bake and shark feel so strongly about protecting his client  :D he should also no longer post as well  8)

ps - i have zero tolerance for racism from any race in and out of TT, i relate to proud because we both come from families who are multi ethnic and have zero tolerance for comments like what capo made and also zero tolerance for sympathizers who defend racist remarks  >:(

Alyuh reading de what the man wrong on purpose I feel. I have been wondering what racist remark alyuh talking about. Capo said "what HE said" in reference to people HE met. He never said All Sikhs are a certain way. Don't muddy the water nah man.
Post by: Bakes on August 02, 2011, 04:33:32 PM

Yuh should shut yuh self-righteous cyathole and take yuh complaints to Flex then... seeing that he and Capo is liming pardnas.  You "relate to proud" because de two are allyuh is two retards stuck on the same short bus.
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 02, 2011, 05:51:43 PM

Yuh should shut yuh self-righteous cyathole and take yuh complaints to Flex then... seeing that he and Capo is liming pardnas.  You "relate to proud" because de two are allyuh is two retards stuck on the same short bus.

see if the bus have room for you too nah. 
One minute he trying to impress with "advanced" linguistics, the next he cussing everyone.
 ???

Post by: pecan on August 02, 2011, 06:14:45 PM

Alyuh reading de what the man wrong on purpose I feel. I have been wondering what racist remark alyuh talking about. Capo said "what HE said" in reference to people HE met. He never said All Sikhs are a certain way. Don't muddy the water nah man.

but he did make a comment about the average Indian.  What he wrote, in the strictness sense and when  taken out of context is racist.  But does that make Capo racist?  I think not.  If that is the case then I must be one of the most racist people I have ever met.

So i suppose these next few jokes must be racist and makes me one as well.

What do you call an Indian Trapeze Artist? Balan Singh

An Indian in a Disco? Dan Singh

An Indian Handyman? Fik Singh

An Indian in the Ballroom? Walt Singh

An Indian D.J ? Mix Singh

An Indian Mechanic? Service Singh

An Indian Hooligan? Menace Singh

An Indian in a Church? Confess Singh

An Indian Gymnast? Bounce Singh

An Indian Driving Backwards? Rever Singh

An Indian F1 Driver? Ray Singh

An Indian Cutting Bread? Sly Singh

An Indian Beautician? Wax Singh

An Indian Priest? Bless Singh

An Indian throwing a Tantrum? Fuss Singh

An Indian working in a Hospital? Nurse Singh

An Indian Falling Down? Collapse Singh

An Indian Golfer? Vijay Singh

I hope I don't get a yellow or red card.

Post by: Deeks on August 03, 2011, 03:53:44 PM
 :rotfl:  okay pecan!!!!
Post by: rotatopoti3 on August 03, 2011, 08:10:32 PM
Deeks you does write like ah QRC boy...ah feel Pecan aint too far behind either
Post by: pecan on August 04, 2011, 05:37:27 AM
Deeks you does write like ah QRC boy...ah feel Pecan aint too far behind either

aye .. I from CIC
Post by: rotatopoti3 on August 04, 2011, 06:01:21 AM
aye .. I from CIC

Pecan yuh see wha ah mean...yuh prove me point...yuh aint too far behind... ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 04, 2011, 09:28:40 AM

pecan wuh yuh doh shut yuh dutty syphillitic c**t,did i say de indian back home dutty and stink,i was sayin the indians from india particularly the sihks are as nasty as they come,like yuh daughter bring back ah indian man,relax yuhself friend.
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 04, 2011, 09:29:57 AM

have sum respect for the man religion dats not a facking towel . PPL religion is not sumthing to mess wid.. Ok..

war u too haul yuh modda c**t,i eh give ah f**k bout no religion,that man made,fuk them and the TOWEL
Post by: capodetutticapi on August 04, 2011, 09:37:15 AM
allyuh sayin i eh like indian,buh wuh trouble is this,all i say people of indian heritage color conscious and the sihks i know are the nastiest f**kers i know,take that however allyuh want it,anally or orally.
Post by: kicker on August 04, 2011, 10:22:35 AM
lol Capo come out swingin'!!!
Post by: lefty on August 04, 2011, 10:27:36 AM
lol Capo come out swingin'!!!

boy :D
Post by: pecan on August 04, 2011, 11:53:55 AM

pecan wuh yuh doh shut yuh dutty syphillitic c**t,did i say de indian back home dutty and stink,i was sayin the indians from india particularly the sihks are as nasty as they come,like yuh daughter bring back ah indian man,relax yuhself friend.

LOL, I only quote what you wrote.  But I went back to see if I was wrong and low and behold, I cyar fine your original post,   :rotfl:  Why you delete it?  To remind you, since you forgot, here is what you wrote

capodetutticapi on August 01, 2011, 11:54:43 PM

and why you have to bring my daughter into this? 
Post by: ProudTrinbagonian on August 04, 2011, 12:10:19 PM
What's up with Sammy Sosa?

Sammy Sosa we know
(http://media-files.gather.com/images/d8/d63/d746/d224/d96/f3/full.jpg)

the new Sammy Sosa
(http://ll-media.essence.com/2011/06/13/sammy-sosa-sound-off-240-240x340.jpg)
Post by: pecan on August 04, 2011, 12:32:52 PM
aye .. I from CIC

Pecan yuh see wha ah mean...yuh prove me point...yuh aint too far behind... ;D

Post by: frico on August 07, 2011, 11:38:14 AM

That name wudda suite Manning dong to de grong, come to think of it why dont you change yours to BIGGO ASSHOLOO KAKAHOLO. ???
Post by: truetrini on August 07, 2011, 01:14:12 PM

That name wudda suite Manning dong to de grong, come to think of it why dont you change yours to BIGGO ASSHOLOO KAKAHOLO. ???

Yow, I coming to London this year...and we should meet for a drink...wha yuh say?
Post by: frico on August 07, 2011, 01:38:51 PM

Yow, I coming to London this year...and we should meet for a drink...wha yuh say?
Unless yuh promise not to hit meh. ;D