Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Sando prince on June 10, 2010, 06:52:16 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2010, 06:52:16 PM
I predict an exciting game with Uncle Sam coming out on top..

first upset for World Cup 2010
Title: Re: Thread for England vs USA
Post by: Brownsugar on June 10, 2010, 06:55:34 PM
I predict an exciting game with Uncle Sam coming out on top..
first upset for World up 2010

:puking:
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 10, 2010, 07:00:26 PM
U.S.A: 2   England:1

Uncle Sam has done a lot work to get to the level they are at currently and it has a name, it's called project 2018 or 2022.

Modern high tech sporting science and decisions by the U.S technical staff is a major player throughout this tournament once the players follow directions of the staff and taking into consideration that 13 of them play in Europe. One concern, how far in the tournament can Oguchi Onyewu play? but on the other hand it will not be a walk in the park for the colonial masters on Saturday.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 10, 2010, 07:01:20 PM
3-1 england
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2010, 07:02:58 PM
Plus England play enough shit football the last two months to convince me USA could win this game
Post by: Bakes on June 10, 2010, 07:45:57 PM
3-0 Engle-lund  :beermug:

Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2010, 10:21:04 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/P_jTrG83U_Q&playnext_from=TL&videos=SJrYpi2lvY4&feature=featured
Post by: just cool on June 11, 2010, 02:10:08 AM
If makeshift TNT almost beat inglan, and the USA master we from top tuh bottom, then i belieive that england could katch ah suprise beating, plain and simple.
Post by: Arimaman on June 11, 2010, 06:07:59 AM
3-0 Engle-lund  :beermug:

Nah sah....we revoking yuh residency.... Upset 1-0 USA
Post by: WestCoast on June 11, 2010, 06:17:44 AM
USA
USA
Post by: DeSoWa on June 11, 2010, 07:56:43 AM
BooSA going down  :devil:

3-1 Rooney  :devil:

Post by: lefty on June 11, 2010, 08:03:47 AM
 :puking: :notlistening: :puking: :flamethrower: do even want to watch diss, goh take ah draw doh, might help d odder 2 team get out d group
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 11, 2010, 08:06:25 AM
this time the colonials will lose.4 nil for the breteesh.
Post by: chelsealife on June 11, 2010, 10:21:03 AM
My money on USA, not a fan of the team but have a few good players and repping for CONCACAF.... USA 3-1, dempsey with 2
Post by: Socapro on June 11, 2010, 10:33:15 AM
:puking: :notlistening: :puking: :flamethrower: do even want to watch diss, goh take ah draw doh, might help d odder 2 team get out d group

Ah like yuh attitude! Yuh hate both ah dem!  8)  :thumbsup:
Post by: giggsy11 on June 11, 2010, 11:48:52 AM
Anybody but Usa! Will never hear the end of it if dey actually win! Lord I might have tuh leave the country!
Post by: davidephraim on June 11, 2010, 11:49:55 AM
3-1 england
3-1 England
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 11:54:10 AM

WELL SAIDDDDD
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 11, 2010, 01:16:55 PM
this time the colonials will lose.4 nil for the breteesh.
buh wah de arse, whey yuh been?
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 11, 2010, 01:50:14 PM
(http://www.orange-studios.com/nieuws/files/rooneynike2006.jpg.jpeg)
Post by: Sando prince on June 11, 2010, 06:28:35 PM
VIDEO of Bob Bradley saying "We do not fear England"..(Scroll to the bottom of the

page)...http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/8723182.stm
Post by: StoreBayLimer on June 11, 2010, 07:07:09 PM

One of the greatest upsets in sports history was the US defeat of England in the 1950 World Cup, and the hero of the story was the Haitian Joe Gaetjens.  A version of the story is attached below.  Jozy Altidore has been playing very good ball for Hull, and  before his recent injury, I thought that he could shine at this world.  Still hoping that the soccer gods smile on him!

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

A little story about:
Joe Gaetjens

The "american" who scored the goal against England in the 1950 World Cup for USA.

The following story is made by:
By Patricia Zengerle
Reuters

Haitian made U.S. sport history, vanished in prison

MIAMI, April 28, 1998
- As U.S. soccer players prepare for this summer's World Cup, they may spare a thought for a little-known Haitian who scored a goal nearly 50 years ago that gave them what is still their greatest victory ever.

Soccer has soared in popularity in the United States since those days, but
its hero, Joe Gaetjens, was destined for a tragic end in a dictator's dungeon in his homeland. On June 29, 1950, 39 minutes into what was supposed to have been England's World Cup blowout of the United States, Gaetjens dove an estimated 12 feet (4 metres) to strike a shot from teammate Walter Bahr with his head, changing its direction enough to catch English goalkeeper Bert Williams wrongfooted.

Gaetjens did not see the result of his header -- his headlong leap left him
lying face down in the turf at Brazil's Belo Horizonte stadium -- but it got
past Williams and gave the Americans a 1-0 lead over the team that had been the world leader of the sport. The slim lead held up, to the raucous delight of 30,000 Brazilians packing the stadium. At the end, the English team congratulated the Americans as spectators carried Gaetjens and his teammates shoulder-high. "It was a big upset. We knew it was an upset. Of course we were excited about it," Bahr told Reuters in a telephone interview, recalling that day nearly 48 years ago. "Things went our way, and in the run of play they (the English) should have won the game, (but) they didn't score. As the game went on, we got a little bit better and they got a little bit more panicky. Nine times out of 10 they would have beaten us. But that game was our game."

GREATEST WORLD CUP UPSET OF ALL TIME
The game would be considered the greatest World Cup soccer upset of all
time. The English side included greats such as Tom Finney and Billy Wright
and was expected to beat the U.S. eleven by at least seven goals. Only one American player, halfback Ed McIlenny, was a full-time professional. The others were semipros -- Gaetjens an accounting student and dishwasher, Bahr a teacher, and goalie Frank Borghi a hearse driver for his uncle's funeral home.

The team had lost to Italy 9-0, Northern Ireland 5-0 and Scotland 4-0 before
the World Cup. When the first teleprinter reports on the game's outcome
reached London editors threw them out, assuming it was a misprint for a 10-1 English victory.

"Before World War II, England was the unquestioned leader of the sport in
the world. This game might have been said to be the first nail in the coffin
of that superiority," said Roger Allaway, president of the Society for
American Soccer History. But the victory, which coincided with the U.S. entry into the Korea War, went almost unnoticed in the United States. The Americans did not return to play in the World Cup until 1990.

Gaetjens, playing as an American under the era's loose eligibility rules,
never became a U.S. citizen and was virtually forgotten in the United
States. In Britain, an erroneous press report called him "Larry" Gaetjens,
and he remains misnamed in many record books.

RETURNED TO HAITI IN 1954
He played in France for the first division Paris Racing Club after the World
Cup, returning to Haiti in 1954 to run a dry cleaning business, play weekend
soccer and coach youth teams, Jean-Pierre Gaetjens, his younger brother,
said. "He was still active and well-known in the sport area in Haiti," Gaetjens told Reuters. "Joe is the kind of person that he arrived in a group of people talking, they've never seen him before, and after 10 minutes it looks like he had been friends with them for the past 20 years."

Joe Gaetjens was not political but his family worked for Louis Dejoie, a
rival to Haitian dictator Francois "Papa Doc" Duvalier in his 1957 run for
the presidency. Gaetjens' mother and a brother were arrested after
Duvalier's victory and most of the family fled the country. But Joe stayed in Haiti, said his brother, who now lives in Spain. "Joe did not care much about the politics and things like that," Jean-Pierre Gaetjens said.

Other members of the family campaigned outside of Haiti against Duvalier,
who made himself president for life in 1964. The last time Joe Gaetjens was seen by any friend or relative was on July 8, 1964, when he was arrested at work by Duvalier's gangster militia, the Tonton Macoute, which his family considered retaliation for their political activism.

"When he arrived, they rushed to his car, put a gun on his head, got in his
car and drove to ... the Port-au-Prince police station," Jean-Pierre
Gaetjens said. "His wife, who lives in Florida now, received the
authorization to get the car three or four days after ... and from there we
have no trace from him." Gaetjens' family tried for years to determine his fate but heard nothing from Haiti or from U.S. officials they asked to intercede. But Jean-Pierre Gaetjens returned to Haiti after Duvalier's son, Jean-Claude, fell from power in 1986 and met a man who had been at the notorious Fort Dimanche prison with his brother but was transferred shortly afterward.

"Three or four days later one of the prison guards told him ... you were
lucky because last night they had killed everybody at Fort Dimanche,"
Gaetjens said. "That's when, we think, that he must have been killed, around mid-July. But we never knew. They had destroyed any evidence on everybody that was killed at the time under Duvalier, they burned or destroyed everything."

Some did not forget Joe Gaetjens. He was honored at a New York Cosmos game in 1972 and enshrined in the U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame in 1976, the same year the Organization of American States condemned Haiti's government for his arrest.

Last year, Haiti authorized the issue of a stamp in his honor. Jean-Pierre
Gaetjens, who continues to campaign so his brother will be more widely
remembered, described his joy during a visit to Belo Horizonte in April when he was featured in the local newspaper and met people who remembered the game. "I was overwhelmed," he said.

Post by: PantherX on June 11, 2010, 07:17:23 PM
If makeshift TNT almost beat inglan, and the USA master we from top tuh bottom, then i belieive that england could katch ah suprise beating, plain and simple.

In what universe did we almost beat England?
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 07:23:28 PM
Papa Doc and dem fellas was real demon and Baby Doc still livin in he Chateau in France. LOUDEST OF STEUPS
Post by: kicker on June 11, 2010, 07:35:59 PM
It have real Trinis out there wishing there was a way that two teams could lose a match against eachother
Post by: weary1969 on June 11, 2010, 07:51:58 PM
It have real Trinis out there wishing there was a way that two teams could lose a match against eachother

1ST ON DAT LIST
Post by: Babalawo on June 11, 2010, 11:20:22 PM
too much people falling for the power of the US media and the hype around their team. I'm schooled in media and know it's power to conveys people's minds.  So no USA hype here. 3-0 England
Post by: AirMan on June 11, 2010, 11:24:13 PM
too much people falling for the power of the US media and the hype around their team. I'm schooled in media and know it's power to conveys people's minds.  So no USA hype here. 3-0 England

I think it has more to do with how both teams have played in recent games..people who follow football could care less about what the american media say regarding football but they have SEEN the teams play recently..and England has look shady and not convincing recently
Post by: E-man on June 11, 2010, 11:37:54 PM

I think it has more to do with how both teams have played in recent games..people who follow football could care less about what the american media say regarding football but they have SEEN the teams play recently..and England has look shady and not convincing recently

And there's never any hype around the England team.
Post by: just cool on June 12, 2010, 01:08:10 AM

In what universe did we almost beat England?
Sar, doh read to much into slack talk nah man. it's ah cyber lime, not to be taken sooooo seriously. relax we limin. :beermug:
Post by: warmonga on June 12, 2010, 01:20:02 AM
GO USA !!!!!!!!!!!!!
 callmi a mad man USA winning this game
Mi live a bloodclawt USA suh mi nuh support no f**kin England USA all di freekin way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: just cool on June 12, 2010, 01:55:32 AM
Can't believe ESPN not bringing the USA inglan game, it will be on channel 7 abc on regular net work tv. 130 pm est.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 12, 2010, 05:22:11 AM
Can't believe ESPN not bringing the USA inglan game, it will be on channel 7 abc on regular net work tv. 130 pm est.

Yuh see why I cyar stand dem....one of the biggest games in their history and this morning ESPN showing baseball and fishing!!!....steups!!!....

Mih eh really care either way cuz mih eh really like Engerland, but ah prefer dem to win....

Hey Zeppo, yuh sleep last night??   :devil:
Post by: FF on June 12, 2010, 05:22:42 AM

ABC owns ESPN... and that is dey prime time channel... plenty more viewers on ABC

de will also play de final on ABC and maybe even de semis...
Post by: Brownsugar on June 12, 2010, 05:33:58 AM
Zeppo this is why all yuh go lose today, all yuh too disrespectful!!!!....

http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/312113/june-10-2010/sport-report---soccer-debate---marc-fisher---mark-starr (http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/312113/june-10-2010/sport-report---soccer-debate---marc-fisher---mark-starr)

Post by: FF on June 12, 2010, 05:51:52 AM

http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/312113/june-10-2010/sport-report---soccer-debate---marc-fisher---mark-starr (http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/312113/june-10-2010/sport-report---soccer-debate---marc-fisher---mark-starr)

its satire, family... satire
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 05:56:13 AM

Anybody but d US i woulda CO_SIGN but eh eh dat is how dey field all dem comics last nite big joke dat d games end up as a draw. Imagine d gyul on Miami news eh even know what a goaless draw mean.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 12, 2010, 06:07:42 AM

I know FF........will you just leave me to have my fun with the Yank..... ;D
Post by: dinho on June 12, 2010, 06:21:42 AM
i dont like england, but i would back even afghanistan before usa.. so torch dem England!!
Post by: Trinimassive on June 12, 2010, 06:22:19 AM

Anybody but d US i woulda CO_SIGN but eh eh dat is how dey field all dem comics last nite big joke dat d games end up as a draw. Imagine d gyul on Miami news eh even know what a goaless draw mean.

COSIGN.

Even though it's satire it's the way too many Americans particularly the media feel about the sport.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 12, 2010, 06:55:54 AM
i dont like england, but i would back even afghanistan before usa.. so torch dem England!!

:cheers: :cheers:
My sentiments exactly!!!....

(lord I never thought I would live to see the day when I would be backing England.... ::) ::))
Post by: Trinimassive on June 12, 2010, 07:38:28 AM
If USA score 1st they could win the game. England would need to score early to really take command of the game and not get anxious.

USA really has nothing to lose the pressure is on England so the longer they go without being scored on the better for them. England could end up losing this game if they don't play well.
Post by: morvant on June 12, 2010, 07:42:15 AM
Usa usa usa
Post by: giggsy11 on June 12, 2010, 09:01:43 AM
I will have tuh switch to the Spanish channel for the match, just heard Harkes will be commenting with Martin Tyler on abc.
Post by: spideybuff on June 12, 2010, 09:16:31 AM
If "tiny" Trinidad and Tobago could hold England to 0-0 til the 83rd minute...the USA could beat them.

But I backing England !!
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 10:04:19 AM
so torch dem England!!

:flamethrower:
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 10:08:30 AM
I will have tuh switch to the Spanish channel for the match, just heard Harkes will be commenting with Martin Tyler on abc.

Oh NNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOO, not john harkes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :puking:

Spanish channel fuh me, too!!
Post by: mwanasoka on June 12, 2010, 10:27:48 AM
As much as de americans iz ugly,Ah still want them to chowe de three lions een ah shredder.Ah cyar stood dem ! De lesser of two evils iz my frenn. Remember wha dey do to Spain eh ! Besides,USA is CONCACAF.
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2010, 10:46:34 AM
 :puking:
Post by: ribbit on June 12, 2010, 11:11:37 AM
ah hope bradley remember to ax for capello autograph...
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 11:39:33 AM
Wow... Findley gets the start up front with Altidore.  Surprising Bradley went with him over Buddle, especially given the form which Buddle is in.
Post by: AirMan on June 12, 2010, 11:39:44 AM
lol I have no reason to support England over the country I live in..so lets go USA !..

..and Ruud Gullit just predicted a 1-1 draw..he said England defence looks weak with Johnson in the back and James in goal..
Post by: richpy on June 12, 2010, 11:43:43 AM
They show a clip form an interview with Jozy Altidore ealier today. They went to his house and showed where he grew up in Boca Raton, FL. Man have real Caribbean roots (both parents are Haitian) and friends too.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 12, 2010, 11:45:08 AM
Put Concacaf first. U.S.A All the way
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 11:45:59 AM
lol I have no reason to support England over the country I live in..so lets go USA !..

..and Ruud Gullit just predicted a 1-1 draw..he said England defence looks weak with Johnson in the back and James in goal..

Robert Green is in goal... and not sure what Gullit talking about with Glen Johnson.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 12, 2010, 11:55:02 AM
I doh like England and the USA so this is a tough one...so i hope England win 1-0 with an own goal in the last minute.  Honestly i think England will win 2-1 with a good display by the US but not good enough to handle rooney.
Post by: FireBrand on June 12, 2010, 12:01:41 PM
2-1 to Inglun.
Post by: AirMan on June 12, 2010, 12:05:00 PM
Nice   ;D

http://www.youtube.com/v/E-QM_zEWM74&feature=player_embedded
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 12:19:25 PM
two teams i absolutely hate. dis is one game i will be watchin with utter disgust.   :puking:
Post by: Socafan on June 12, 2010, 12:29:08 PM
Aight..game about to start. Cyar back England. Have no kinda connection to dem other than language. Backing USA since they in Concacaf, but don't know if they could pull it off.
Post by: JDB on June 12, 2010, 12:30:14 PM
Any number could play in this one. Like has been said if TnT could almost hold them, US could beat them.

The only thing is under Capello England put teams like US to the sword and Rooney and Heskey so much better than onyewu and demerit At least with the US you know what yuh getting. England could go either way.

Wow... Findley gets the start up front with Altidore.  Surprising Bradley went with him over Buddle, especially given the form which Buddle is in.

Findley in there for his pace. Bradley hoping that Donovan and Findley will poison England
Post by: richpy on June 12, 2010, 12:32:14 PM
US have to watch out for England wingbacks, Cole and Johnson. Cyar let them overlap
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 12:35:02 PM
HAAAAAAAA!!!!!!
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 12:35:27 PM

Findley in there for his pace. Bradley hoping that Donovan and Findley will poison England

I know he in there for his pace... but Buddle have pace too.  Besides yuh'd expect Findley to come on later in the game against tired defenders.

As I type... Captain Fantastic in the 4'

Heskey already validating his selection... and on an interesting note, since Gerrard pushing forward it remains to be seen if Lampard will be disciplined to sit back in mid.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 12:37:59 PM
somebody give zeppo some pepto dey  :devil:
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2010, 12:39:07 PM
drop some more in they c**t.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 12:41:05 PM

A-A, welcome back capo
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 12:42:30 PM

Tell dem again... US and dey rent-a-squad, lol

Great... GREAT camera work.  Not sure who's sending the feed but the production and super-slomo replays in the matches thus far are top notch.
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 12:44:11 PM
ABC showing all kinda super slo-mo closeup.
I wonder what this look like in 3d?
Post by: Trinidogg on June 12, 2010, 12:53:38 PM
ABC coverage real nice. Am torn who to back for though I live in USA so i guess them, But them fellas here really think they better than they really are. And glad to see Findley get the start ahead of Buddle...
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2010, 12:54:32 PM
them vuvuzuela real annoyin boy....soundin like a fukkin bubble bee constantly in yuh ears
Post by: Cantona007 on June 12, 2010, 12:55:54 PM
Rooney not really seing the ball. Typical English play; no real midfield presence. USA will score it seems. They are stroking it confidently.
Post by: JDB on June 12, 2010, 12:59:55 PM

I know he in there for his pace... but Buddle have pace too.  Besides yuh'd expect Findley to come on later in the game against tired defenders.

As I type... Captain Fantastic in the 4'

Heskey already validating his selection... and on an interesting note, since Gerrard pushing forward it remains to be seen if Lampard will be disciplined to sit back in mid.

Buddle could just as easily be used as fresh legs but Findley is still the faster player. Starting or subbing is all about whether you want him to have a 90 minutes to steal a chance as opposed to a shorter period as a sub.

Also don't think that Gerard is playing more advanced. They playing very square. If anything Lampard is a little more advanced. Gerrard just happened to be up there for the throw.
Title: Wait nah, Robbie Findley starting for the US
Post by: Controversial on June 12, 2010, 01:01:40 PM
well well well, nice to see him finally playing sr football, tt should have drafted him a long time ago when i spoted him years ago, look forward to see him doing well for the red white and blue.

tt lapse bad oui
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 01:06:49 PM

Buddle could just as easily be used as fresh legs but Findley is still the faster player. Starting or subbing is all about whether you want him to have a 90 minutes to steal a chance as opposed to a shorter period as a sub.

Also don't think that Gerard is playing more advanced. They playing very square. If anything Lampard is a little more advanced. Gerrard just happened to be up there for the throw.

Buddle gives you more as a player than does Findley... over the course of 90 mins that is, to say the least, better than the one dimension Findley gives you.  It's surprising to me, but it's not like Buddle is head and shoulders better, so I suppose it's neither here nor there.

As for Gerrard, I disagree.  They are playing flat in terms of the tactical formation, but Gerrard has been active on every England foray towards the US goal.  I think it's inaccurate to say that Gerrard score only because he happen to be forward.  He happen to be forward because he's pushing forward.
Post by: capodetutticapi on June 12, 2010, 01:11:09 PM
fukery
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 01:11:16 PM
Steups.

WTF Green?
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 01:11:25 PM
Sweet Jesus.... ugh!
Post by: Trinidogg on June 12, 2010, 01:11:38 PM
O wow  :rotfl:
Post by: pecan on June 12, 2010, 01:12:02 PM
what the arse was Green doing?
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 01:13:42 PM
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Post by: richpy on June 12, 2010, 01:15:00 PM
The US working the ball nicely. They deserve to be level, even if the keeper make a mistake. They just need to shore up the back. They looking suspect in the back there
Title: Re: Wait nah, Robbie Findley starting for the US
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 12, 2010, 01:17:03 PM
well well well, nice to see him finally playing sr football, tt should have drafted him a long time ago when i spoted him years ago, look forward to see him doing well for the red white and blue.

tt lapse bad oui

YOU A SCOUT NOW EH
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2010, 01:21:53 PM
ah fuuckin pooff pooff goal pui ;D................keep dat score level fellas allyuh doin good :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ;D
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 12, 2010, 01:23:10 PM
usa deserved de equaliser...green better enjoy the rest of game cause he may not play in dis world cup again.
Post by: Socafan on June 12, 2010, 01:26:17 PM
Green better hope England win this game. That sort ah thing does de-moralize yuh fuh life yes. Man go just be clouting he in de street jess so.

Nice game still.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 01:26:35 PM
usa deserved de equaliser...green better enjoy the rest of game cause he may not play in dis world cup again.

d man like he was dreamin oui. he must be gettin it wet in dat dressin room. poor thing  :-\
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 01:28:48 PM
simple mistake he didnt put his body behind d ball
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 01:30:29 PM
That was no one-off either... earlier Donovan had a shot and Green was caught wrong-footed, before making a desperate dive to his right, fortunately watching the shot go wide.  Frankly, I wouldn't be surprised if James takes his place in the second half.  Given the sub of Milner and the risk of injury though that is unlikely.  Had Milner not had to come off it might have made it a hair more likely.  He deserve to sit though... fuh all the talk of 'calamity' James... that is Paul Robinson territory there, or even worse.

-----------------

DHW... correct!  Harkes with he dotish self say he did everything right... put his body behind the ball... not sure which game he watching.
Post by: Tallman on June 12, 2010, 01:32:09 PM
Rooney not really seing the ball. Typical English play; no real midfield presence. USA will score it seems. They are stroking it confidently.

Dat sound like someting Sam would say  :devil:
Post by: fari on June 12, 2010, 01:38:25 PM
men come out guns blazing 2nd half...lennon and swp need to run at de defence more
Post by: richpy on June 12, 2010, 01:42:07 PM
Big save by Howard. England have picked it up.

US need to pepper Green with shots. He confidence low
Post by: Trinidogg on June 12, 2010, 01:44:21 PM
Hesky shoulda score that Zamora would of gotten that goal.
Post by: JDB on June 12, 2010, 01:46:38 PM
As for Gerrard, I disagree.  They are playing flat in terms of the tactical formation, but Gerrard has been active on every England foray towards the US goal.  I think it's inaccurate to say that Gerrard score only because he happen to be forward.  He happen to be forward because he's pushing forward.

playing flat means that when one goes the other stays and vice versa. On the goal Lampard receive the throw and Gerrard break forward. On several plays Lampard s well advanced of Gerrard. On the first chance of the 2nd half Lampard was living n the box and Gerrard was in front the back 4.

It also makes sense to have Gerrad hold backmore since is more athletic and a better defender in general l.

Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 01:48:05 PM
I would have to call that USA goal an own goal oui. I know Dempsey take the shot, but for real. That was 100% Green
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 01:51:59 PM
USA's Onyewu defending outta he skin.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 01:54:35 PM

You are absolutely right.  Me eh know what shit harkes talking.  His left leg that he had his knee on the grond is the leg was supposed to be behind the ball,not his right leg.  He did it at least once before and is the goalkeeping coach have to take some blame for hat because if he doing it in big WC game, he doing it on the training ground, too.

Big save by Howard. England have picked it up.

US need to pepper Green with shots. He confidence low

that was more a terrible miss by heskey.  He hit the ball straight at Howard and yuh could see in the replay he tried to parry the ball but it went past his hands and stick in he stomach.
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:01:29 PM
Crouch to replace Heskey for the final 15.

England playing real shit... all them forwards kicking the ball right at Howard instead of picking they spots.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 02:11:28 PM

Good frikkin riddance!

England playing real shit... all them forwards kicking the ball right at Howard instead of picking they spots.

....not according to harkes.  Howard is displaying heroic goalkeeping!

Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 02:15:04 PM

Good frikkin riddance!

A little bit of both. England want to sour my day...
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:15:54 PM

Good frikkin riddance!

Howard make about two nice saves... everything else was either muffed, missed, miskicked or kicked right at Howard.

Heskey played well... despite persistent fouling by Onyewu.  Crouch ended up replacing him in the 79' but he shoulda come on at least 10 mins earlier.
Post by: JDB on June 12, 2010, 02:18:32 PM
Capello loss real points with me today. Carragher is an accident waiting to happen. Solid and hard working but can't handle even the slightest bit of skill. Just like Gary Neville the slightest bit feint or trick and he get best
Post by: Brownsugar on June 12, 2010, 02:22:51 PM
Steups...I fall asleep during this game.  I eh enjoy this one bit......and then to make matters worse, ah seeing Crouch on mih TV screen....double steups!!
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 02:23:49 PM
Long wet steups
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:24:57 PM
Very shaky officiating.  The assistant on the far side got three offside calls wrong in the US favor... once on Heskey when he was a hair onside... once on Rooney when Heskey was offside but inactive... once on Crouch late.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 02:26:08 PM
Steups...I fall asleep during this game.  I eh enjoy this one bit......and then to make matters worse, ah seeing Crouch on mih TV screen....double steups!!

i totally lock off dis game after i saw dis fool.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 02:27:29 PM

Good frikkin riddance!

Howard make about two nice saves... everything else was either muffed, missed, miskicked or kicked right at Howard.

Heskey played well... despite persistent fouling by Onyewu.  Crouch ended up replacing him in the 79' but he shoulda come on at least 10 mins earlier.

...and the one or two saves that he make wasn't really anything challenging, yet they biggin' him up like if he put in a performance akin to what the South African and Nigerian 'keepers did against their respective opponents.

onyewu is and always been a fair defender that uses more physicality than anything else (he's a thug) as far as I'm concerned.  heskey was supposed to retaliate and step on he toes throughout the game.  For REAL.
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2010, 02:30:43 PM
Let me go check the Windies score so I could feel better....

102 all out! WTF?  Somebody getting kick down in my indoor game tonight!
Post by: Socafan on June 12, 2010, 02:34:25 PM
Nice game. Proud of the USA. Keep the flag flying for Concacaf. Predict they going through to the next rounds easy, easy.
England need church or something. Game was theirs to win.

Aight...This WC nice so far. Only Greece look clueless so far and Nigeria is the only real disappointment fuh me.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 12, 2010, 02:34:43 PM

go easy bitter, go easy
Post by: truetrini on June 12, 2010, 02:39:56 PM
Crouch got called for a foul not off sides, but hengland is a shit side.

ENGLAND is shit!
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:40:07 PM
Macca... bless his heart, says that the other two teams (Slovenia and Algeria) have a chance tomorrow to go out and take the group by the bull of the horns.

LOL
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:41:19 PM

ENGLAND is shit!

Really... you see the assistant raise his flag for an infraction and the ref award a free kick and which magic button tell yuh it was a foul?
Post by: grimm01 on June 12, 2010, 02:41:38 PM
Capello loss real points with me today. Carragher is an accident waiting to happen. Solid and hard working but can't handle even the slightest bit of skill. Just like Gary Neville the slightest bit feint or trick and he get best

Yeah, doh forget the Milner and King selections. Ah looking to see what the excuse is for putting them on in the first plac eand then taking them off.
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 02:42:34 PM
poor positioning, bad technique

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__7/ept_sports_sow_experts-793432426-1276373077.jpg?ymVxXSDDAS7H8SD5)
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 02:43:38 PM

U not serious u lookin 4 WI as a source of comfort
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:46:14 PM
...and the one or two saves that he make wasn't really anything challenging, yet they biggin' him up like if he put in a performance akin to what the South African and Nigerian 'keepers did against their respective opponents.

onyewu is and always been a fair defender that uses more physicality than anything else (he's a thug) as far as I'm concerned.  heskey was supposed to retaliate and step on he toes throughout the game.  For REAL.

Only people bigging him up is Harkes and Lalas... big surprises there.  He did what he was supposed tuh do.  Lampard test him from far... but any pro supposed tuh be able to palm that over the top as he did.  That Brazilian ref allow Onyewu tuh ride up Heskey spine whole game, but it shows how strong Heskey is... he held his ground and held up the ball well.  Let that have been ah Argentinian or ah Mexican and they woulda fall down grabbing they back long time.

Lennon did well early, but reverted to his clueless Theo Walcott alter ego in the second half.  Dribble... dribble... pass to no one in particular.

SWP come on and add pace but was ineffective... over dribbling or playing to the strength of the defense, drive to the corner/endline and turn it over.
Post by: biga84 on June 12, 2010, 02:48:46 PM

ENGLAND is shit!

Really... you see the assistant raise his flag for an infraction and the ref award a free kick and which magic button tell yuh it was a foul?

TC was right, it was a foul not offside...if you watch, the assistant raised his flag and pointed it in favor of the US...If it was offside he would of pointed it to the field.
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 02:49:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/hHouWHUVipg
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 02:54:57 PM
TC was right, it was a foul not offside...if you watch, the assistant raised his flag and pointed it in favor of the US...If it was offside he would of pointed it to the field.

You're right... I guess that's why they dwelled on the fact that Crouch was not offsides after the call.
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 02:57:07 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/hHouWHUVipg

He have 2 take dat 2 he grave. It go have a picture on he headstone.  :rotfl:
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2010, 02:57:17 PM
what ah tell alyuh part ah mih prediction come through now for d nex part :beermug: ;D
Post by: AirMan on June 12, 2010, 03:00:55 PM
Good result for the Americans..let the English men start with ther excuses AGAIN..
Post by: Observer on June 12, 2010, 03:03:51 PM
this game was SHIT
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 12, 2010, 03:04:40 PM

tt lapse bad oui

YOU A SCOUT NOW EH

a scout among other things... ;D
Post by: kicker on June 12, 2010, 03:07:00 PM
Neither team looked really good.  WC quality has been pretty low so far in my opinion. 

1-1 was a fair result. 

Robert Green will not sleep tonight.

On to the rest of the cup.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 12, 2010, 03:07:53 PM
Bakes whey u see Heskey play well? ....he had a clean shot at goal and he kick it tuh Howard...
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 12, 2010, 03:09:11 PM
Whey Freddi Adu? 
Post by: giggsy11 on June 12, 2010, 03:10:24 PM
England confirmed what I thought-shit side. I only lowered my standards today because they were playing USA.

They should have given the ball to Lennon more.

They lack creativity in the midfield which USA controlled.

Green continues to display poor goal tending technique- same shit he did when he first got picked.

Capello look desperate by choosing Milner and King in the first place.

Carrager should have stayed retired.

Rooney got zero service and England reverted back tuh highball football.

Lampard gets exposed again without the talent he usually has at Chelski.

Gerrad started off great and then he faded.

Hesky needs to stick tuh knockin down balls and pass the ball tuh people who know how tuh score.

SWP-continues to perfect the skill of dribblin then having to chase the ball because he run it out of play.

And because I livin in the states doesn't mean I have tuh root for them-we both using each other!
Post by: morvant on June 12, 2010, 03:10:45 PM
Usa usa usa
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 03:24:12 PM
England confirmed what I thought-shit side. I only lowered my standards today because they were playing USA.

They should have given the ball to Lennon more.

They lack creativity in the midfield which USA controlled.

Green continues to display poor goal tending technique- same shit he did when he first got picked.

Capello look desperate by choosing Milner and King in the first place.

Carrager should have stayed retired.

Rooney got zero service and England reverted back tuh highball football.

Lampard gets exposed again without the talent he usually has at Chelski.

Gerrad started off great and then he faded.

Hesky needs to stick tuh knockin down balls and pass the ball tuh people who know how tuh score.

SWP-continues to perfect the skill of dribblin then having to chase the ball because he run it out of play.

And because I livin in the states doesn't mean I have tuh root for them-we both using each other!

LUV D LAST LINE
Post by: Socafan on June 12, 2010, 03:35:47 PM
Macca... bless his heart, says that the other two teams (Slovenia and Algeria) have a chance tomorrow to go out and take the group by the bull of the horns.

LOL

LOL....we were cracking up at that...is somerhing else he wanted to say, but realize he couldn't say it on big international TV, and stumble into "take the group by the bull of the horns"
Post by: Socafan on June 12, 2010, 03:42:02 PM
Neither team looked really good.  WC quality has been pretty low so far in my opinion. 

1-1 was a fair result. 

Robert Green will not sleep tonight.

On to the rest of the cup.

True that, but the games competitive so is all good. This game had plenty hustle so that kinda make up for the football. Besides, when you and the people yuh with drinking beers fuh breakfast while watching WC, things does always be good from then on.

Next.....
Post by: fari on June 12, 2010, 03:47:26 PM
ruud gullit and all say 1-1 on abc b4 the game...u know the funny thing now, i feel slovenia going to beat up algeria and make de group interesting hahaa...it good for england, i remember seeing the headlines when they see the group...now they have to fight to qualify hahaha...babylonnnnn ur kingdom is falling!!
Post by: truetrini on June 12, 2010, 04:01:09 PM

ENGLAND is shit!

well he was verty clearly onsides, not even close and he did bungle the defender...logical surmise.
Post by: boss on June 12, 2010, 04:01:40 PM
Kevin Keegan's prediction pre-match was 4-0 England.

I love Keegan, but  :rotfl:

I thoroughly enjoyed that match as a neutral, and I think you write off Algeria and Slovenia at your peril, as neither of these teams tonight (or any team in this tournament so far actually) were impressive.

And Gerrard's yellow card might come back to haunt him...
Post by: dinho on June 12, 2010, 04:09:37 PM
how allyuh saying this game was shit? Brownsugar you fall asleep??

I find this was the best game of the tournament to date.
Post by: boss on June 12, 2010, 04:11:32 PM
(http://a.yfrog.com/img248/2273/xg2.jpg)
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 12, 2010, 04:15:04 PM
Aight..game about to start. Cyar back England. Have no kinda connection to dem other than language. Backing USA since they in Concacaf, but don't know if they could pull it off.

Yep! they did, it ended 1-1. U.S.A all the way bro.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 04:17:16 PM

Only people bigging him up is Harkes and Lalas... big surprises there.  He did what he was supposed tuh do.  Lampard test him from far... but any pro supposed tuh be able to palm that over the top as he did.  That Brazilian ref allow Onyewu tuh ride up Heskey spine whole game, but it shows how strong Heskey is... he held his ground and held up the ball well.  Let that have been ah Argentinian or ah Mexican and they woulda fall down grabbing they back long time.

Lennon did well early, but reverted to his clueless Theo Walcott alter ego in the second half.  Dribble... dribble... pass to no one in particular.

SWP come on and add pace but was ineffective... over dribbling or playing to the strength of the defense, drive to the corner/endline and turn it over.

Martin Tyler jumped on the wagon, too.   Heskey is still a waste of time, IMHO.  You cannot fight off all this physical football with all your might and then miss the sitter that he did.  Labourer!!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 12, 2010, 04:19:16 PM
i expect changes in that lineup next game..james in for green, joe cole for milner, somebody for ledley king, carragher was a mess....heskey did not do much except set up the goal but rooney likes playing with him and apparently capello likes him as well.
Post by: WestCoast on June 12, 2010, 04:24:19 PM
good one Boss  :D
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 05:07:47 PM
LOL....we were cracking up at that...is somerhing else he wanted to say, but realize he couldn't say it on big international TV, and stumble into "take the group by the bull of the horns"

Poor fella I think he get caught betwixt and between.  He wanted to say "seize the group by the scruff of the neck", but get tie up and on the second try "seize the bull by the horns" pop in he head... so he mix them up and add ah dash ah salt  :rotfl:
Post by: willi on June 12, 2010, 05:09:43 PM

Thank you Sir.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 12, 2010, 05:25:16 PM
England woulda come out better if they had a wicket keeper in the goal.
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 05:33:51 PM

Post by: Jah Gol on June 12, 2010, 06:24:41 PM

Agreed

Only 7 goals in 5 games.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on June 12, 2010, 07:27:38 PM
iz d bawl fault
Post by: Zeppo on June 12, 2010, 07:45:24 PM
(http://i48.tinypic.com/2wfpoqu.jpg)
Post by: WestCoast on June 12, 2010, 07:52:29 PM
good one :rotfl:

(http://i48.tinypic.com/2wfpoqu.jpg)
what
allya win the world cup :devil:

good match....was pullin for allya
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 08:04:35 PM
was not impress with either team. i waiting to too the rest of teams, but i find teams under performing. Argentina pulls stones , England pull stones , Mexico Pull stones. who next? stueps South Korea actually look very potent. 
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 12, 2010, 08:10:07 PM

Post by: elan on June 12, 2010, 08:12:01 PM

You are absolutely right.  Me eh know what shit harkes talking.  His left leg that he had his knee on the grond is the leg was supposed to be behind the ball,not his right leg.  He did it at least once before and is the goalkeeping coach have to take some blame for hat because if he doing it in big WC game, he doing it on the training ground, too.

He had great position and everything, that technique he using to collect the ball is just a different school of thought. His main problem was taking his eyes off the ball. He apparently felt he had secured that ball and tried to get up too quickly. All he had to do was see the ball into his arms. This is similar to what Freidel did in the DC United vs Seattle game. You cannot take your eyes off that ball before it is secure.
Post by: elan on June 12, 2010, 08:13:30 PM
Robbie Findley coulda well be in a better place. Big sweat vs Calidonia and he at the WC, not smart at all.
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2010, 08:13:31 PM

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__7/ept_sports_sow_experts-793432426-1276373077.jpg?ymVxXSDDAS7H8SD5)

I heard he is now d spokesman 4 Anchor Butter
Post by: elan on June 12, 2010, 08:21:17 PM

How is that poor positioning and bad technique?
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 08:22:12 PM
@ Weary hahahaha.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:. I use to goal keep back in the day, for a professional keeper who playing in EPL, NOT to put yuh body behind the ball just wrong! that is like the first thing a coach will tell you, if it slip yuh body go stop it.
His whole body language going to the ball was slow, so he was out of position , added on to the fact he aint make a effort to cover the ball properly.

let me find the video ill be back.

edit look at the vid, the only thing behind the ball was one leg, but everyone makes mistakes

http://www.youtube.com/v/cvyKmffnRXc
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 08:28:42 PM

Because that photo is from straight on... he never got his body behind the ball but was just off to the left (right in the picture).  He then proceeded to spill it to his right and into the net, as the video should show.
Post by: D.H.W on June 12, 2010, 08:44:16 PM
Not good PR for the glove maker  :devil: http://www.sellsgoalkeeperproducts.com/

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/00v4gMM3LQ88N/x610.jpg)
Post by: redtrinigirl on June 12, 2010, 08:48:05 PM
Typical England WC performance. Good on paper, level shyte on the field.  :devil:

As for the keeper, isn't he he same dude Shaka kept on the bench at West Ham?  ;D
Post by: elan on June 12, 2010, 09:05:20 PM

Because that photo is from straight on... he never got his body behind the ball but was just off to the left (right in the picture).  He then proceeded to spill it to his right and into the net, as the video should show.

As I said different school of thought on the gathering on the ball. Just like the W grip/O grip/ diamond grip. The most used save last world cup was the forward diving save. His technique would should allowing him to make that forward dive if he determines that he cannot handle the ball upright. That was a routine save.

The technique you all talking about that he should be using is the "k" stance that gets your body behind the ball, he did not attempt to use that technique. He just used a different technique that he is more comfortable with. Many Gks use this technique to gather that ball.
Post by: Bakes on June 12, 2010, 09:29:57 PM
As I said different school of thought on the gathering on the ball. Just like the W grip/O grip/ diamond grip. The most used save last world cup was the forward diving save. His technique would should allowing him to make that forward dive if he determines that he cannot handle the ball upright. That was a routine save.

The technique you all talking about that he should be using is the "k" stance that gets your body behind the ball, he did not attempt to use that technique. He just used a different technique that he is more comfortable with. Many Gks use this technique to gather that ball.

Okay... he failed to use the technique that kept the ball out the back of the net then.

Typical England WC performance. Good on paper, level shyte on the field.  :devil:

As for the keeper, isn't he he same dude Shaka kept on the bench at West Ham?  ;D

That would be the keeper that this keeper kept on the bench this game.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 12, 2010, 09:32:01 PM

Okay... he failed to use the technique that kept the ball out the back of the net then.

:rotfl:  They were real abusing this man on Sky sports news, one Englishman flat out say, "Me mother can save better than that, time to replace him w/David James", was piss poor boy, truly hard to believe, rookie goalkeeping error
Post by: Babalawo on June 12, 2010, 10:06:05 PM

And there's never any hype around the England team.

:devil: England right behind with that overrated Rooney n midfielders.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 12, 2010, 10:27:29 PM
@ Weary hahahaha.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:. I use to goal keep back in the day, for a professional keeper who playing in EPL, NOT to put yuh body behind the ball just wrong! that is like the first thing a coach will tell you, if it slip yuh body go stop it.
His whole body language going to the ball was slow, so he was out of position , added on to the fact he aint make a effort to cover the ball properly.

let me find the video ill be back.

edit look at the vid, the only thing behind the ball was one leg, but everyone makes mistakes

Once again, DieHard, you are absolutely correck! Everything about what Green did here was wrong, including the decision to use that particular technique in the first place.  He coulda simply shuffle across one step, bend down from a standing position and scoop up the ball.  From there he coulda stand up straight or dive forward with the ball in his arms (like so many 'keepers like to do to kill time off the clock).   Hell, in fact, he coulda even simply trap de dam ball wit he foot and wiat 'til an american run up on 'im before he pick it up!  The technique he did actually use is better suited for a ball that is rolling all along the ground and not moving with so much pace because it takes a tad bit longer, by maybe a split second or two, to get your body in the proper position to receive the ball. His left leg is what was supposed to be directly behind the ball and from the still photo you can see even his hands were poorly positioned to gather the ball.  I fell this is the same thing he does on the training ground and I can only blame his coaches for not picking up on that, no pun intended.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2010, 11:12:47 PM
Robbie Findley coulda well be in a better place. Big sweat vs Calidonia and he at the WC, not smart at all.

;D ...

What's the story behind his non-inclusion during qualifying?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2010, 11:34:57 PM
Capello din want to waste a sub on him or destroy him mentally ... but it must have taken all of Fabio's resolve not to pull him da bleep off the field.
Post by: DeSoWa on June 13, 2010, 01:09:02 AM

He had great position and everything, that technique he using to collect the ball is just a different school of thought. His main problem was taking his eyes off the ball. He apparently felt he had secured that ball and tried to get up too quickly. All he had to do was see the ball into his arms. This is similar to what Freidel did in the DC United vs Seattle game. You cannot take your eyes off that ball before it is secure.

You mean Keller....yeah that was painful to watch  >:(

Post by: Zeppo on June 13, 2010, 04:12:52 AM
(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/telegraph/multimedia/archive/01656/wayne_rooney_1656595c.jpg)

Wayne Rooney left frustrated as Americans keep striker subdued

As the seconds ticked by before England’s World Cup started, before the release of weeks of tension, build-up, expectation and desire, Wayne Rooney gave a little indication he was feeling the pressure. He licked his lips in that dry-mouthed, edgy way that showed the enormity of what he was about to embark upon was hitting home. His eyes darted. He was feeling it.

This could still be Rooney’s World Cup. He is 24, he has 61 caps, it is six years since he threatened to overwhelm all-comers at Euro 2004 before injury which was the only thing that appeared capable of stopping him, denied him.

He is England’s main man. One of the world’s best. They talk of the Big Five when it comes to safaris in these parts but Rooney is part of the Big Four - along with Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka (with a doff of deference to that talented little Spanish quartet of Villa, Torres, Xavi, Iniesta).

(continue) (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/world-cup-2010/teams/england/7823893/England-v-USA-Wayne-Rooney-left-frustrated-as-Americans-keep-striker-subdued.html)
Post by: Blue on June 13, 2010, 04:21:33 AM
World Cup 2006 - USA draw 1-1 with Italy in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Italy win the World Cup

World Cup 2010 - USA draw 1-1 with England in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Come on England!  ;D
Post by: Zeppo on June 13, 2010, 04:29:30 AM
World Cup 2006 - USA draw 1-1 with Italy in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Italy win the World Cup

World Cup 2010 - USA draw 1-1 with England in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Come on England!  ;D

Last night's wasn't an own-goal. Dempsey scored.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061466/index.html
Post by: lefty on June 13, 2010, 04:45:24 AM

Last night's wasn't an own-goal. Dempsey scored.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061466/index.html

ah know alyuh americans does have trouble  wit "technical" humor eh, but dis borders on ridiculous  :D :D
Post by: Observer on June 13, 2010, 05:19:26 AM
Heskey hit straight at the keeper, ok it happens. We hae already seen Haiguain, Gouvou and Forlan miss a far easier chances. As a matter of fact they did not even hit the target.
Heskey to his credit set up the goal nicely for Gerrard. Far to many England players went missing. Rooney, Lampard, Lennon were all out of the game for far too long.
Post by: Observer on June 13, 2010, 05:26:26 AM
Sorry forget to add look out for a Rooney Gerrard combination for the next game. Heskey will be out and Capell will push Gerrard close to Rooney>
Post by: Brownsugar on June 13, 2010, 05:26:58 AM

That must be his favourite way of picking up the ball cuz he did the exact same thing earlier in the game but I guess it may have been correct positioning on his part at that point.....or he just too clueless to know when to change body position......whatever.....on to the next game.....
Post by: College on June 13, 2010, 06:50:43 AM

That must be his favourite way of picking up the ball cuz he did the exact same thing earlier in the game but I guess it may have been correct positioning on his part at that point.....or he just too clueless to know when to change body position......whatever.....on to the next game.....

:rotfl:I remember him picking up the ball same way earlier in the game and was saying to myself  'is cricket the man playing'  But as you say, on to the next game
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 07:00:58 AM
Heskey hit straight at the keeper, ok it happens. We hae already seen Haiguain, Gouvou and Forlan miss a far easier chances. As a matter of fact they did not even hit the target.
Heskey to his credit set up the goal nicely for Gerrard. Far to many England players went missing. Rooney, Lampard, Lennon were all out of the game for far too long.

Yeah, but Higuain and Forlan have scored and will continue to score goals at an acceptable rate for their position.  Heskey is just a big, useless labourer.  He is lacking in technical ability (damned near every ball played to him becomes an event) He is big and supposedly strong but he only seems to be advantage smaller opponents and as far as him setting up the goal, the ball was basically put on a platter for him to set up gerrard.  If he woulda mess dat up then he couldn't butter a slice of bread.  (Let we not even include gouvou in this nuh?)
Post by: D.H.W on June 13, 2010, 07:08:55 AM

:rotfl:I remember him picking up the ball same way earlier in the game and was saying to myself  'is cricket the man playing'  But as you say, on to the next game

hhhhahahaha would you believe i was saying the same thing during d game, i thought i as alone in noticing that
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 07:17:13 AM

hhhhahahaha would you believe i was saying the same thing during d game, i thought i as alone in noticing that

Nah man, I think all ah we see it, I saw it too......is just, as the game being played nobody eh expecting it would play out in the result.....poor fella......poor henglund!
Post by: giggsy11 on June 13, 2010, 07:33:58 AM
Capello should have used Defoe instead of  Peter f*ckin Crouch-because even more so than with Heskey is highballs to his lengay arse for him tuh knock down. So predictable. Defoe would have made USA's defence work a little with his movement. I waitin tuh see which team will give them the cutarse that will finally shatter the myth that dey are a quality side. Should be great to watch!
Post by: Richard G. on June 13, 2010, 07:48:14 AM
Gentlemen as bad as dat goal was, Green is a PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALLER. He's been there done that. He pretty much saved England's backside with that shot off the post in the 2nd half.

Gaf.....absolutely. Gift.....as good as a dozen roses. He'll survive and most likely start next match. What happens in that match we'll only know when the whistle blows.

Blessings and enjoy de day
Richard G.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 07:54:52 AM
Capello should have used Defoe instead of  Peter f*ckin Crouch-because even more so than with Heskey is highballs to his lengay arse for him tuh knock down. So predictable. Defoe would have made USA's defence work a little with his movement. I waitin tuh see which team will give them the cutarse that will finally shatter the myth that dey are a quality side. Should be great to watch!

Defoe was never coming on in this game, especially not the way the English midfield was stifled yesterday, forcing England to resort to long balls.  Additionally, the US have two big strong center backs in Onyewu and Bocanegra to a lesser degree, that made the choice of Heskey near automatic... Crouch was never starting.

Next game Defoe will start alongside Rooney.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 13, 2010, 08:03:35 AM

Defoe was never coming on in this game, especially not the way the English midfield was stifled yesterday, forcing England to resort to long balls.  Additionally, the US have two big strong center backs in Onyewu and Bocanegra to a lesser degree, that made the choice of Heskey near automatic... Crouch was never starting.

Lennon had some success out wide when he did get the ball, England did a poor job of getting him the ball. Adding Defoe to the mix would have forced the "big strong center backs" to move around a little more after having to battle Heskey most of the game. Plus he and Lennon are familiar with how each other plays.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 08:07:09 AM

Lennon had some success out wide when he did get the ball, England did a poor job of getting him the ball. Adding Defoe to the mix would have forced the "big strong center backs" to move around a little more after having to battle Heskey most of the game. Plus he and Lennon are familiar with how each other plays.

not to mention that, since onyewu is fresh off of recovering from injury, yuh WANT to put his mobility to test.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 08:10:32 AM

;D ...

What's the story behind his non-inclusion during qualifying?

Charlie Davies.
Post by: Zeppo on June 13, 2010, 08:31:57 AM
(http://img641.imageshack.us/img641/1139/tumblrl3x34btiyx1qz6l95.jpg)
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 13, 2010, 08:53:58 AM

Good one
Post by: Preacher on June 13, 2010, 08:59:49 AM
If England gets out of there group who might they play?  Any body have a guess?  I need something to look forward to.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:09:25 AM
If England gets out of there group who might they play?  Any body have a guess?  I need something to look forward to.

According to MY prediction.....they should (have) be(en) playing the second-place team in Group D.....who I have listed as Ghana!
Post by: kicker on June 13, 2010, 09:11:59 AM
Too much talk about technique on the goalkeeping error... I don't think this had much to do with technique- sure he coulda chosen a better way to gather the ball but the shot was so weak and it came straight at him, that even slightly flawed technique should have been enough to keep it out of the net- heck he could have used his feet to trap it... All over the field players are controlling more difficult passes with their feet...I think he had a simple lapse in concentration- If we were able to watch his eye to ball contact all the way through in slow motion, we might see that he took his eye off the ball for a brief micro second...or if not, if we could read minds we could possibly see that he switched off before the ball was safely in his grip.  

Algeria's goalkeeper arguably made a technical error today- the ball was whipped at him at speed, and from an angle, it took one hop, and he didn't get behind it.  That shot required some technique.  Green in my opinion, had a mental lapse...the ball trickled through to him, bounced two or three times, and from straight on- can't blame technique- If he focused on the ball all the way until it was safely in his grip, it would not have gone past him.

Rewind to WC '94- Pagliuca dropped a shot from Mauro Silva on to the post in the final...Slow motion saw that he shifted his eye contact for a brief fraction of a second, and that made the difference.  Pagliuca was one of the best I've seen in the business- luckily the ball hit the post on that effort...It can happen to anyone.

England's problem is the inability to create through the middle of the field- They were poor yesterday. Green's mistake is overshadowing the real problem...
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:45:38 AM
Too much talk about technique on the goalkeeping error... I don't think this had much to do with technique- sure he coulda chosen a better way to gather the ball but the shot was so weak and it came straight at him, that even slightly flawed technique should have been enough to keep it out of the net- heck he could have used his feet to trap it... All over the field players are controlling more difficult passes with their feet...I think he had a simple lapse in concentration- If we were able to watch his eye to ball contact all the way through in slow motion, we might see that he took his eye off the ball for a brief micro second...or if not, if we could read minds we could possibly see that he switched off before the ball was safely in his grip.  

Algeria's goalkeeper arguably made a technical error today- the ball was whipped at him at speed, and from an angle, it took one hop, and he didn't get behind it.  That shot required some technique.  Green in my opinion, had a mental lapse...the ball trickled through to him, bounced two or three times, and from straight on- can't blame technique- If he focused on the ball all the way until it was safely in his grip, it would not have gone past him.

Rewind to WC '94- Pagliuca dropped a shot from Mauro Silva on to the post in the final...Slow motion saw that he shifted his eye contact for a brief fraction of a second, and that made the difference.  Pagliuca was one of the best I've seen in the business- luckily the ball hit the post on that effort...It can happen to anyone.

England's problem is the inability to create through the middle of the field- They were poor yesterday. Green's mistake is overshadowing the real problem...

Yuh wrong dey, Kicker.  It IS all about technique, and especially in Robert Green's case.  His body positioning behind the ball was ALL wrong.  His hand position was wrong and the comparison to what Gianluca Pagliuca did back in '94 is not the one to use.  I'm sure it was a different shot on a different pitch with the ball taking a different path and the goalkeeper having his body in a totally different position.  TRUST when I tell you that the ball that Green screwed up last night, had he positioned himself properly, he might even have afforded to take his eye off the ball and it wasn't getting past his body no matter what his hands did.
I don't know how there could be too much talk about technique when his technique is what ultimately cost england two valuable points.  For all the ineptitude that england were showing all over the pitch, they still had the lead and given the hype and media surrounding this particular game, I don't know what else you expect would dominate headlines and talking points but Green's error....   
Post by: Preacher on June 13, 2010, 09:57:08 AM

According to MY prediction.....they should (have) be(en) playing the second-place team in Group D.....who I have listed as Ghana!

Thanks Ghana does do somethings great then all of a sudden you wonder why they making certain decisions.
Post by: kicker on June 13, 2010, 10:05:41 AM

Yuh wrong dey, Kicker.  It IS all about technique, and especially in Robert Green's case.  His body positioning behind the ball was ALL wrong.  His hand position was wrong and the comparison to what Gianluca Pagliuca did back in '94 is not the one to use.  I'm sure it was a different shot on a different pitch with the ball taking a different path and the goalkeeper having his body in a totally different position.  TRUST when I tell you that the ball that Green screwed up last night, had he positioned himself properly, he might even have afforded to take his eye off the ball and it wasn't getting past his body no matter what his hands did.
I don't know how there could be too much talk about technique when his technique is what ultimately cost england two valuable points.  For all the ineptitude that england were showing all over the pitch, they still had the lead and given the hype and media surrounding this particular game, I don't know what else you expect would dominate headlines and talking points but Green's error....   

I don't agree...

Mistakes happen in football- and that's all that was.  There are amateur keepers all over the world making more difficult saves than that with flawed technique.  For a shot that weak, I blame concentration over technique because yuh doh need to be a technically sound keeper to save that...Allyuh gettin' on Robert Green never put on a pair of gloves in his life and he needs some kinda goalkeeping 101 lesson...It was a mistake- pure and simple.  Now if he sh*ts the bed in the next game, then the conversation ought to take a different tone...

I also think Green is being made a scapegoat for an England team that underperformed really badly in many areas of the field.  On paper with a big coach like Capello at the helm, England should be able to afford an error and still beat the U.S...They could stay there and focus on Green- that isn't their problem....David James mighta saved that shot (though when it comes to Gaffes he's the frickin' president)... but may not have saved the shot from Altidore that Green deflected off the post....yuh never know.

Green could have a mistake free World Cup but if Capello can't get that midfield working, and can't figure out a better attacking combo, England eh winnin' nuttin'....

Six of one, half dozen of the other I suppose.  
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 10:27:14 AM

I don't agree...

Mistakes happen in football- and that's all that was.  There are amateur keepers all over the world making more difficult saves than that with flawed technique.  For a shot that weak, I blame concentration over technique because yuh doh need to be a technically sound keeper to save that...Allyuh gettin' on Robert Green never put on a pair of gloves in his life and he needs some kinda goalkeeping 101 lesson...It was a mistake- pure and simple.  Now if he sh*ts the bed in the next game, then the conversation ought to take a different tone...

I also think Green is being made a scapegoat for an England team that underperformed really badly in many areas of the field.  On paper with a big coach like Capello at the helm, England should be able to afford an error and still beat the U.S...They could stay there and focus on Green- that isn't their problem....David James mighta saved that shot (though when it comes to Gaffes he's the frickin' president)... but may not have saved the shot from Altidore that Green deflected off the post....yuh never know.

Green could have a mistake free World Cup but if Capello can't get that midfield working, and can't figure out a better attacking combo, England eh winnin' nuttin'....

Six of one, half dozen of the other I suppose.  

We will agree to disagree.  I do agree that goalkeepers the world over make saves with flawed technique and GK coaches are encouraged to allow flawed technique with certain things like "which leg you should use to jump with when going up for crosses and how you should position your body" once it doesn't affect your ability to catch the ball cleanly...because for certain things, you can get overly technical and some people just don't have the coordination to do them but can still be great 'keepers.....but for the position that Green chose to use to receive that clint dempsey back pass there is a proper technique to be used. Green didn't use it and it cost him a goal and loads of embarrassment, england two points and it possibly saved the usa's skin.  EVERY GK that makes a terrible error gets analyzed, humiliated and talked about.  Green is playing on the biggest stage in the world and made an error that schoolboys in Under-14 can't afford to make.  He is a professional that should be way past that type of error.  I don't see that too much is being made of it.   
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 10:32:44 AM

Nah, you missing the boat on this one.  The main reason why you drill the fundamentals is that you execute them without having to think about them.  This means that when the mind shuts down the body still executes subconsciously.  We ALL know that Green suffered a lapse in concentration, but the fact remains that had he properly position his body behind the ball then lapse in concentration or not that positioning would have been his second line of defense.  It's the same reasoning when fielding a ground ball in cricket, the hands are the first line of defense, the body positioning second.  Mistakes happen in football, yes... but they are amplified when simple execution of technique could prevent them.  Lampard missing a penalty because he slip is an excusable mistake.  Lampard missing because he hit de ball ah toepee instead of striking with the side of his foot or instep is not.  That's not the proper way to strike the ball, nor is Green's positioning the proper way to field the ball.

As for the error masking other English deficiencies that goes without saying and is totally besides the point.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 10:43:10 AM
I'm sure GK coaches etc. will highlight something I noticed on watching the goal again. When the ball moved away from his gloves he lost any possibility of retrieving it when he made contact with the ground twice before making an attempt at retrieving the ball ... we talking nanoseconds here ... the first contact with the ground (his left hand) din kill him ... it was fuh sure the second contact with the ground with his right hand that definitely did him in ...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 11:12:42 AM
Interesting. So Bradley didn't have another understudy to Davies prior to opting for Findley?
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 11:16:04 AM
I'm sure GK coaches etc. will highlight something I noticed on watching the goal again. When the ball moved away from his gloves he lost any possibility of retrieving it when he made contact with the ground twice before making an attempt at retrieving the ball ... we talking nanoseconds here ... the first contact with the ground (his left hand) din kill him ... it was fuh sure the second contact with the ground with his right hand that definitely did him in ...

....'Seeker boy.....it really wasn't as much his hands as it was his whole body to begin with.  If he had lined up himself behind the ball properly, it really wouldn'ta matter what his hands did.  The ball wouldn'ta get past him.  :beermug:
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 11:33:21 AM
Interesting. So Bradley didn't have another understudy to Davies prior to opting for Findley?

Davies himself was an understudy before emerging late... Ching had been the long time starter, fending off challenges by Eddie Johnson among others.  Davies' pace was a revelation last summer, then he got hurt in October(?)  So it's not like he was there long enough to have an understudy.  Plus it happened late after the team qualified.  Findley only distinguished himself since the MLS season started in March... so understandably he's been new to the mix.
Post by: palos on June 13, 2010, 11:41:07 AM

tt lapse bad oui

YOU A SCOUT SCOUNT NOW EH

Post by: dinho on June 13, 2010, 11:42:58 AM
i eh go lie, ah do nuff shit in goal when i used to keep but i eh think ah put down one like that.

for all the talk about flawed positioning, the technical problem was in the way he try to gather the ball and not where he positioned himself.

EVEN IF he had gotten his whole body behind the ball it wasn't saving him the way he tried to stop it and not gather it.. he let the ball deflect off his hands and off to the right away from his body. The problem was he tried stopping the ball with two hands instead of scooping it and misjudged the ball completely so it end up on his right hand alone. Poor goalkeeping.

Casillas was right, goalkeeping is a big problem for the English. Not one of their players has played in Europe this year or been in a top 10 EPL side and no team with title credentials should be going into a tournament unsure of who the number 1 is.

Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 12:11:52 PM
i eh go lie, ah do nuff shit in goal when i used to keep but i eh think ah put down one like that.

for all the talk about flawed positioning, the technical problem was in the way he try to gather the ball and not where he positioned himself.

EVEN IF he had gotten his whole body behind the ball it wasn't saving him the way he tried to stop it and not gather it.. he let the ball deflect off his hands and off to the right away from his body. The problem was he tried stopping the ball with two hands instead of scooping it and misjudged the ball completely so it end up on his right hand alone. Poor goalkeeping.

Casillas was right, goalkeeping is a big problem for the English. Not one of their players has played in Europe this year or been in a top 10 EPL side and no team with title credentials should be going into a tournament unsure of who the number 1 is.

Sorry, dinho, yuh talkin shit dey.
Post by: kicker on June 13, 2010, 01:17:21 PM

Nah, you missing the boat on this one.  The main reason why you drill the fundamentals is that you execute them without having to think about them.  This means that when the mind shuts down the body still executes subconsciously.  We ALL know that Green suffered a lapse in concentration, but the fact remains that had he properly position his body behind the ball then lapse in concentration or not that positioning would have been his second line of defense.  It's the same reasoning when fielding a ground ball in cricket, the hands are the first line of defense, the body positioning second.  Mistakes happen in football, yes... but they are amplified when simple execution of technique could prevent them.  Lampard missing a penalty because he slip is an excusable mistake.  Lampard missing because he hit de ball ah toepee instead of striking with the side of his foot or instep is not.  That's not the proper way to strike the ball, nor is Green's positioning the proper way to field the ball.

As for the error masking other English deficiencies that goes without saying and is totally besides the point.

Disagree...technique and concentration are not mutually exclusive nor is technique a fool-proof back up for mental lapses.  I agree that yuh drill technique over and over and over so that yuh don't need to focus as hard in order to execute what are the simplest of techniques- but if yuh mind switches off, yuh technique will or can go as well- that's why fatigue is factor that affects execution.  Concentration will always be an x-factor in execution even in the simplest execution.  Anyways, all I'm saying is that all this fuss in the thread over what he did wrong technically is a waste unless one realistically thinks Green is that technically deficient, which I think is ludicrous- He's a professional at the highest level who will make that save 99 out of 100 times...it was a bad mistake- end of story... Allyuh feel Capello and the coaching staff looking at that goal on repeat to figure out where Green went wrong technically?  It was a mere f*ck up that gave the headline makers some cheap shot opportunities (and there were some funny ones).  In the realm of football discussions, England has other knots to untie in my opinion. 

I dunno how you could say that what I'm saying is besides the point.... besides who's point?  It's a point that I've decided to raise- which I think is more worthwhile to talk about than a silly fluke error, but that's just me...

Then again the whole USA -ENG match was overhyped to begin with... 
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 01:55:52 PM
Disagree...technique and concentration are not mutually exclusive nor is technique a fool-proof back up for mental lapses.  I agree that yuh drill technique over and over and over so that yuh don't need to focus as hard in order to execute what are the simplest of techniques- but if yuh mind switches off, yuh technique will or can go as well- that's why fatigue is factor that affects execution.  Concentration will always be an x-factor in execution even in the simplest execution.

Check out this quote from an article on the Ajax approach to training youths (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=49609.msg664654#msg664654)..."Jongkind had been working with this player for several weeks and said he had progressed to “consciously able but not subconsciously able” to run with the desired form, meaning that in the heat of competition, he reverted to his old form."

Consciously able meaning that when the player thinks about it he can execute it, but when his focus is gone so too is the execution.  Yes we all know that when concentration is lacking that form can deteriorate, but again... and this goes to something Mango Chow been saying, it's apparent that the poor technique is a part of his practice habits especially since others observed him scooping up the ball the same way earlier (I didn't see it, probably wouldn't have noticed it either).  If you get into the habit of doing things the right way then you don't have to think about them... you execute, lapse in concentration or not.

Anyways, all I'm saying is that all this fuss in the thread over what he did wrong technically is a waste unless one realistically thinks Green is that technically deficient, which I think is ludicrous- He's a professional at the highest level who will make that save 99 out of 100 times...it was a bad mistake- end of story...

Nah, you's ah fella does normally make a lot of sense but you on some high grade here.  Nobody saying the man "technically deficient" as a keeper (okay Mango Chow comes closest), but yes... he make a bad mistake... in displaying proper technique.  I dunno why you splitting hairs on that.  This isn't Paul Robinson having bad luck with the turf against Croatia, this was a fundamental lapse on Green's part.

Allyuh feel Capello and the coaching staff looking at that goal on repeat to figure out where Green went wrong technically?  It was a mere f*ck up that gave the headline makers some cheap shot opportunities (and there were some funny ones).  In the realm of football discussions, England has other knots to untie in my opinion. 

I dunno how you could say that what I'm saying is besides the point.... besides who's point?  It's a point that I've decided to raise- which I think is more worthwhile to talk about than a silly fluke error, but that's just me...

Then again the whole USA -ENG match was overhyped to begin with... 

It's besides the point of the discussion... maybe that's the problem.  You don't jump in the conversation late and vex with man fuh focusing on something you don't feel it important to you.  The other problems dogging England is a separate discussion entirely, whether overhyped or not, this issue legitimately dominates the talk because of the size of the blunder.  Simple.
Post by: kicker on June 13, 2010, 02:16:15 PM
High grade? lol Yuh misunderstanding what I said...I didn't say that anyone claimed that he's that technically deficient.  I said that in my opinion, what appears to be a fluke error is only worth the fuss if one really thinks he's really that technically deficient- which is ludicrous. (i.e. his lack of technical execution is a big deal worth pondering if he's really that sh*tty...otherwise it's just an unfortunate fluke)... and the hype surrounding this match DOES have an effect on how much attention this mistake has gotten...

Anyhow my bad, I eh mean tuh tell allyuh goalkeeping pundits not to analyze Green's technique and how many inches more to the right his chest and knee shoulda been tuh save the powder puff yadda yadda...was just raising what I thought was a more critical point regarding England based on observations of the match...and this thread is about the match so I thought it was fair game in this thread...

anyhow, on to the other matches...
Post by: E-man on June 13, 2010, 02:35:44 PM
people complaining about ESPN talking group C, but this thread is 7 pages long  :rotfl:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2010, 02:52:02 PM
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 03:05:22 PM
people complaining about ESPN talking group C, but this thread is 7 pages long  :rotfl:

Nah, the difference is that this thread is about the USA and by extension group 3.

We watching group D and them talking about who the Us might face in the next rounds.
I doh mind if you do a lil something, but this weekend had 6 pregame, 6 halftime and 6 post game shows and ALL of them talk more about the US than the teams actually playing. If you calling Slovenia vs Algeria, then at least in the play-by-play, stick with the teams on the pitch. Is not like they talking about Brazil or Italy, or anyone else as a comparison or reference.

Yes, is a US audience, but damn, you giving the teams that on the field short shrift. There was more than enough time in the 18 studio segments to talk about the USA team.
Post by: FF on June 13, 2010, 03:07:47 PM

steups...

dey forget to photoshop the reflection the table!

Post by: E-man on June 13, 2010, 03:10:33 PM
(http://bbsimg.ngfiles.com/1/21300000/ngbbs4c14c76f88e72.jpg)

WTF :rotfl:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2010, 03:14:19 PM

steups...

dey forget to photoshop the reflection the table!

oh shit  :rotfl:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 13, 2010, 03:15:14 PM
(http://bbsimg.ngfiles.com/1/21300000/ngbbs4c14c76f88e72.jpg)

Whey !
Post by: davidephraim on June 13, 2010, 04:22:28 PM
Findley looked no better than Cornell Glenn to me. He didnt seem as interested as Baptist, he doesnt have the vision of Darryl Roberts and ah not getting rid of meh big man KJ for a little guy like Robbie.

Ill pass!
Post by: D.H.W on June 13, 2010, 04:30:40 PM
Findley looked no better than Cornell Glenn to me. He didnt seem as interested as Baptist, he doesnt have the vision of Darryl Roberts and ah not getting rid of meh big man KJ for a little guy like Robbie.

Ill pass!

Post by: Tallman on June 13, 2010, 04:47:08 PM

Ill pass!

1. Findley is 5 years younger than Glen
2. Findley has scored more goals (24 vs 14) in MLS than Glen
3. KJ has not been exactly in stellar international form in ah long while if ever
4. With Stern out or on his way out nobody eh show any signs of picking up the slack
5. We eh relly have depth, so we cyar afford tuh pass up on nobody. We should at least be giving people like him a comprehensive evaluation especially since we were aware of him 5/6 years ago. We need to have good competition for every available position.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 05:09:26 PM

Whey !

I think that was intentional... the Post just having a little fun with the situation.  Especially given the "Bunker Hill" reference.
Post by: kicker on June 13, 2010, 05:15:35 PM

I think that was intentional... the Post just having a little fun with the situation.  Especially given the "Bunker Hill" reference.

Dem fellas eh know the Post...  That's actually kinda tame by Post standards...
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 05:18:41 PM

Dem fellas eh know the Post...  That's actually kinda tame by Post standards...

I have tuh admit I kinda chuckled when ah see the headline on the Pre-game show.  It fit perfectly because the way all the US fans were carrying on you'd think they actually won something... Post just add ah li'l bit ah bombast to the situation.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 06:53:15 PM
High grade? lol Yuh misunderstanding what I said...I didn't say that anyone claimed that he's that technically deficient.  I said that in my opinion, what appears to be a fluke error is only worth the fuss if one really thinks he's really that technically deficient- which is ludicrous. (i.e. his lack of technical execution is a big deal worth pondering if he's really that sh*tty...otherwise it's just an unfortunate fluke)... and the hype surrounding this match DOES have an effect on how much attention this mistake has gotten...

Anyhow my bad, I eh mean tuh tell allyuh goalkeeping pundits not to analyze Green's technique and how many inches more to the right his chest and knee shoulda been tuh save the powder puff yadda yadda...was just raising what I thought was a more critical point regarding England based on observations of the match...and this thread is about the match so I thought it was fair game in this thread...

anyhow, on to the other matches...

The thread/forum is for people to talk about whatever they feel like talking about regarding anything and everything pertaining to anything and everything the forum covers.  Whatever point you feel is more critical you are entitled to bring it up and carry it on in whatever capacity you feel to and take it where you want to (and I assure you nobody is going to mistake you for any pundit of any position) and who ever wants to contribute to your critical point will do so to their leisure.  I doh see why it bothering you so much.   
Post by: fari on June 13, 2010, 08:03:31 PM
now to make tings work...ledley king ruled out...u cyah tell me them didnt know the man knee wasnt going and last for this tourney
Post by: weary1969 on June 13, 2010, 08:24:33 PM
Though the jokes, harsh tabloid headlines, and misspelled comments on YouTube keep coming, England goalkeeper Rob Green was immediately over his mistake that allowed the U.S. to take a 1-1 draw from what turned out to be a friendly competition between the favorites of Group C. Because he is 30. And he is a man.

Says Green via the Guardian:

"It is regrettable and not what you want to happen but that's life and you move on. You hold your head up high and get to work in training. It won't affect me psychologically. I'm 30, I'm a man, and you have hardships in life and prepare for them."

So have your chuckles about how "it's not easy being Green" and call it the "Hand of Clod" if you like, but Green isn't bothered. He told BBC Radio:

"Dempsey hit one and it's one I should have saved. Full stop.
"It's very disappointing, but it's happened.

"The most important thing is not to let it affect myself.

"I had 50-odd minutes to play in the game [after that] and represent my country and I did that I didn't let if affect me mentally.

"I didn't let it affect my performance. It's about mental strength and worse things have happened to people."

Impressive resolve. And he's right. Think of the people who have actual hardships and wish their biggest problem in life was goofing up in football match and how Green's error really shouldn't impact England's chances at advancing to the knockout stage. After you finish redubbing the Kermit song with humorous lyrics about Green's mistake, of course.   

Post by: Spursy on June 13, 2010, 10:15:19 PM
i am surprised to see so many haters on usa.. cmon rep ur confederation... it will help us to get more wc spots...

anyways green didnt see the shot all the way and deuce hit that with some power.. not sure if anyone knows deuce but he has scored some really unorthodox goals in the past, like first goal against brazil in confed for eg.
or the one against spain..
U GUYS CAN SAY the shot or the goal was soft but the run threw the middle was really pretty to watch, a couple turns and boom, something out of nothing. dempsey has been usa magicman esp against us... in particular.
point is usa earned that draw and did something tnt couldnt which was score against them. if stern did score  and not let terry clear that would of been a soff goal as well.

Interesting ghana is probably going to be second but something tells me usa gonna win this group. ghana is the only african team that can beat the US.
Post by: Spursy on June 13, 2010, 10:37:46 PM
I thought Kerry Baptiste showed promise thou... but stern john.. a gem for us
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 10:53:53 PM
i am surprised to see so many haters on usa.. cmon rep ur confederation... it will help us to get more wc spots...

anyways green didnt see the shot all the way and deuce hit that with some power.. not sure if anyone knows deuce but he has scored some really unorthodox goals in the past, like first goal against brazil in confed for eg.
U GUYS CAN SAY the shot or the goal was soft but the run threw the middle was really pretty to watch, a couple turns and boom, something out of nothing. dempsey has been usa magicman esp against us... in particular.
point is usa earned that draw and did something tnt couldnt which was score against them. if stern did score  and not let terry clear that would of been a soff goal as well.

Interesting ghana is probably going to be second but something tells me usa gonna win this group. ghana is the only african team that can beat the US.

Isn't there a way to check and make sure that cocaine you sniffin' doh have no baking soda in it?
Post by: spideybuff on June 14, 2010, 08:18:04 AM
Yeah we can afford to pass on him.

That is why he playing a World Cup and we home watching on tv.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 14, 2010, 09:54:19 AM

Ill pass!

u cant be serious...glen, baptiste and roberts over findley?
Post by: Bitter on June 14, 2010, 03:18:35 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/video/2010/jun/14/world-cup-2010-england-usa-brick
Post by: Spursy on June 14, 2010, 04:03:56 PM

Isn't there a way to check and make sure that cocaine you sniffin' doh have no baking soda in it?

I would be mad to if I was you, no need to take it out on people. Ugly, bad mannered, stupid are your qualities. You must be a pro league player.

sry guys if he made a reasonable post with accordance with op and not flame he would of gotten a different reply.

anyways enough time wasted on garbage. moving on..
Post by: sammy on June 14, 2010, 04:35:19 PM

nah man, ppl should earn their way into the WC, not beg for handouts.  Most of the matches boring as heck so far already, cyah do with seeing more bogus play.
Post by: Spursy on June 14, 2010, 05:15:59 PM
all i have to say is the best 3 teams from our region at the world cup, if they look bad our region looks bad.

I would rather have the three best teams there with the exception of Honduras(for crc), because they played positive football. Tnt didnt deserve to be in 2010 sa, sry it hurts but we need to improve defensively first as a start.

Think about it, our region can surprise anyone except maybe our south american counterparts. anyways i say we second best in terms of regions in the world bc of mex usa and crc this time around.
start been solid, grind out the 0-0 results, stay consistant and instead of Honduras/CRC we might be there next time.
Post by: Babalawo on June 14, 2010, 10:52:09 PM
I thought Kerry Baptiste showed promise thou... but stern john.. a gem for us
Maga men cyah make it far in In'tl football. He have to eat ah food and hit the weights first
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 15, 2010, 03:47:47 AM
all i have to say is the best 3 teams from our region at the world cup, if they look bad our region looks bad.

I would rather have the three best teams there with the exception of Honduras(for crc), because they played positive football. Tnt didnt deserve to be in 2010 sa, sry it hurts but we need to improve defensively first as a start.

Think about it, our region can surprise anyone except maybe our south american counterparts. anyways i say we second best in terms of regions in the world bc of mex usa and crc this time around.
start been solid, grind out the 0-0 results, stay consistant and instead of Honduras/CRC we might be there next time.

....dat cocaine and baking soda still ridin' yuh brain.  Yuh should admit yuh problem and check yuh self in.
Title: The goals from England vs. the U.S. recreated with Legos
Post by: D.H.W on June 15, 2010, 02:56:11 PM
LOL  :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/v/WUnU3B6WsJ4

http://g.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup/blog/dirty-tackle/post/The-goals-from-England-vs-the-U-S-recreated-wi?urn=sow,248528
Title: Re: The goals from England vs. the U.S. recreated with Legos
Post by: pecan on June 15, 2010, 04:22:52 PM
Post by: Spursy on June 15, 2010, 04:30:04 PM

....dat cocaine and baking soda still ridin' yuh brain.  Yuh should admit yuh problem and check yuh self in.

you wish that they sell this kinda baking soda in trini ent?
Post by: soccerman on June 15, 2010, 04:31:06 PM
dat funny :rotfl:
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 15, 2010, 06:15:52 PM

people have nuttin to do dread
Post by: weary1969 on June 15, 2010, 09:04:09 PM

people have nuttin to do dread

ENTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Zeppo on June 16, 2010, 07:41:21 AM
Robbie Findley provides speed for U.S. soccer team at World Cup

Famous faces filled the players' tunnel of Rustenburg's Royal Bafokeng Stadium on Saturday night. Forward Robbie Findley, nervously awaiting his U.S. World Cup debut, scanned the row of white-shirted English players and spotted Wayne Rooney and Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard and Ashley Cole.

"I saw a whole bunch of guys that I have been watching" on TV play in the English Premier League, Findley recalled Tuesday. "I took it all in."

He was thoroughly familiar with them. They undoubtedly wondered about him.

(continue) (http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/06/15/AR2010061504816.html)
Post by: Controversial on June 16, 2010, 09:32:08 AM

Ill pass!

1. Findley is 5 years younger than Glen
2. Findley has scored more goals (24 vs 14) in MLS than Glen
3. KJ has not been exactly in stellar international form in ah long while if ever
4. With Stern out or on his way out nobody eh show any signs of picking up the slack
5. We eh relly have depth, so we cyar afford tuh pass up on nobody. We should at least be giving people like him a comprehensive evaluation especially since we were aware of him 5/6 years ago. We need to have good competition for every available position.

exactly :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on June 16, 2010, 09:37:03 AM

Ill pass!

u cant be serious...glen, baptiste and roberts over findley?

roberts get shaft for the entire campaign so i dont know why people talking about him, you couldnt see roberts for qualifying.

tt selection of players could be the worse in the region, our football has regressed
Post by: Storeboy on June 16, 2010, 04:41:27 PM
We are totally inept and unready for International football.  What we need is a good, experienced, international coach. When the largest  and most football-developed countries in the world look for coaches with international experience, some know-it-alls on this site still believe that we have local coaches up to the challenge.  Until we get that, we will never even be competitive with CONCACAF.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 16, 2010, 06:19:59 PM
We are totally inept and unready for International football.  What we need is a good, experienced, international coach. When the largest  and most football-developed countries in the world look for coaches with international experience, some know-it-alls on this site still believe that we have local coaches up to the challenge.  Until we get that, we will never even be competitive with CONCACAF.

and
(2) a comprehensive national football development programme at all levels
(3) improved professionalism/marketing in our domestic league
(4) a general committment to the development of the game as a whole throughout the entire twin-island republic
(5) increased transparency in our football admin
(6) improvement in attitude on the part of our national footballers who believe "they have made it" cannot hurt either

Until then "Samba boyz all de way" will be the motto of the man on de street every WC
Title: It's a good possibility both england & USA Wont advance to the knock out Round
Post by: nunu on June 18, 2010, 05:10:21 PM
If Algeria beat USA and Slovenia tie England , they are both out . Did anyone saw Lalas belittled the english
dude today ? LOL ! :rotfl:
Title: Re: It's a good possibility both england & USA Wont advance to the knock out Round
Post by: giggsy11 on June 18, 2010, 05:24:03 PM
Steuuupppssssssssss! I could live wit dat.
Title: Re: It's a good possibility both england & USA Wont advance to the knock out Round
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 18, 2010, 05:46:40 PM
I think the us have it more in them to fight for a result against Algeria than the Brits against Slovenia at this point. 
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 19, 2010, 12:43:55 AM
I think the us have it more in them to fight for a result against Algeria than the Brits against Slovenia at this point. 

Cause they like to fight for everything dey want! Wey bin laden!?
Post by: truetrini on June 19, 2010, 03:14:35 PM
maybe Trinidad and Tobago can learn from the USA how to represent their country with pride, how to fight and be determined?  Wey Calder Hart???
Post by: D.H.W on June 19, 2010, 03:17:50 PM
maybe Trinidad and Tobago can learn from the USA how to represent their country with pride, how to fight and be determined?  Wey Calder Hart???

Post by: Spursy on June 19, 2010, 03:27:17 PM
Meh.. the real story will be written in history, South Africa the first host to get knocked out in group stages and in eleven games only one victory for an african nation that came via penalty spot kick. Not to mention a Mali referee failing to make it to the knock out round.

Dissapointed, why not, i'm fantastic.

You guys wanna talk shit? Lets!
Post by: warmonga on June 20, 2010, 11:26:32 AM

nice I like yu saying dey bredda...

go usa
Post by: Storeboy on June 22, 2010, 07:00:33 PM

and
(4) a general committment to the development of the game as a whole throughout the entire twin-island republic
(6) improvement in attitude on the part of our national footballers who believe "they have made it" cannot hurt either

Until then "Samba boyz all de way" will be the motto of the man on de street every WC

100% Barataria:  Never more truth was spoken!  I agree with you 100 %
Post by: just cool on June 22, 2010, 07:19:55 PM
Ah really really forkin hate tuh agree wid you yuh know fella, but ever so often yuh does turn in ah preacherman and preach the gospel truth!  right you are.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 22, 2010, 07:25:18 PM

A fighting spirit is not enough when yuh cyah master at least the fundamentals of the game......which leads to:

and

100% Barataria:  Never more truth was spoken!  I agree with you 100 %

.....but ent we tired beat dis dead horse on this forum?