Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: E-man on June 12, 2010, 10:42:55 AM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 8 - Group D: Serbia vs Ghana
Post by: E-man on June 12, 2010, 10:42:55 AM
Serbia-Ghana preview

Group D rivals Serbia and Ghana will take to the pitch at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Tshwane/Pretoria knowing their qualification hopes for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™'s Round of 16 could well hinge on this encounter. The venue will be filled to the rafters and there is likely to be heavy support for Ghana in the African side's second consecutive appearance at the global showcase. As for Serbia, they will look to replicate the performances of their venerated predecessors who lit up the world stage under the flag of the former Yugoslavia.

The match
Serbia-Ghana, Group D, Pretoria, Sunday 13 June, 16.00 (local time)

Ghana will not need reminding of their FIFA World Cup debut four years ago, when a loss to Italy left them with an uphill struggle to advance. The Black Stars did that with two subsequent wins but they will hope for a brighter start this time. The side coached by Serbian tactician Milovan Rajevac had a brief preparation phase ahead of the main event that included just two friendlies. The first yielded a 4-1 defeat by the Netherlands, but Ghana bounced back to down Latvia 1-0 in their second dress rehearsal. They look to be blessed above all with a fine team ethic, particularly since Rajevac opted to integrate a number of players from the U-20 side that won last year's world title. That decision quickly paid off as they reached the final of the CAF Africa Cup of Nations earlier this year.

Despite the notable absence of injured midfielder Michael Essien, the west Africans can count on several gifted individuals capable of filling the void. Up front, Asamoah Gyan will be eager to impress, while midfield trio Sulley Muntari, Kwadwo Asamoah and Andre Ayew can provide support in numbers going forward. Serbia will nonetheless start the game as favourites and desperate to justify that billing, given the famous names sprinkled through their line-up and their impressive showing in qualifying when they topped a group that featured France, Austria and Romania.

From the sidelines, coach Radomir Antic will be expecting big things from a side populated by players who have emerged as first-team stalwarts at some major clubs. Heading that list is Manchester United centre-back Nemanja Vidic, who will line up alongside Chelsea right-back Branislav Ivanovic, while their midfield includes Inter Milan's Dejan Stankovic and Stuttgart's Zdravko Kuzmanovic. Further forward, striker Nikola Zigic will look to wreak havoc using his height, just as he will for Birmingham City next term after joining from Valencia.

Key duel
Asamoah Gyan v Nemanja Vidic

Ghana will forever be grateful to Asamoah for registering their first ever goal at a FIFA World Cup finals. His star continues to shine brightly and he found the net on several occasions during this year's CAN to help his side finish runners-up. Four years on from his history-making strike against the Czech Republic, much is expected of the 24-year-old on South African soil yet he will doubtless need to be at his very best to get anything out of Vidic, the man charged with stifling any Ghanaian attacks. Vidic's extraordinary mastery of the defensive arts has really come to the fore in the last two seasons, allowing him to triumph in the UEFA Champions League with United while earning him respect and admiration throughout the game.

The stat
1 - As part of Yugoslavia, Serbian players met Ghana once, for a 1997 friendly that the Balkan side won 3-1.

What they said
"We have players in our side who took part in the 2006 World Cup. I think we'll need to prepare better this time. There won't be any easy opponents as each team has good players and everyone wants to appear in this event. The task won't be easy, but we're confident and think we can do ourselves justice," Nemanja Vidic, Serbia defender.

"I'm confident and full of hope. I hope the players will give the best of themselves. We want to do great things with this team. We're going to concentrate on the next game and we hope to leave the World Cup having achieved some good results," Milovan Rajevac, Ghana coach.

The question
Can Ghana spring a surprise or will Serbia live up to their standing as favourites?
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 8 - Group D: Serbia vs Ghana
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 08:00:00 AM
....rel sad to see this Ghanaian side without Essien....Ah going with them no matter WHAT!
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 08:03:34 AM
This game done looking 100% better than the last one.
Men testing the ball early.
With all the talk about how the ball will swerve and give keepers trouble. Nobody eh connect on a real bullet yet.
Free kicks have been poor so far as well.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 13, 2010, 08:04:13 AM
without muntari and appiah on the bench as well, ghana will be in trouble...i predict a serbia win.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 08:05:26 AM
without muntari and appiah on the bench as well, ghana will be in trouble...i predict a serbia win.

maybe vidic and co. will continue fouling....that will bode well for Ghana.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 13, 2010, 08:05:53 AM
LET'S GO GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 08:14:45 AM

maybe vidic and co. will continue fouling....that will bode well for Ghana.

...maybe not! The ref lettin' serbia play physical.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 08:30:54 AM
Damn these f**king vuvuzelas...
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 08:43:25 AM

I zone them ting out since the confederations cup.
Background noise.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 08:48:22 AM

I zone them ting out since the confederations cup.
Background noise.

When it have plenty action on the field they not as noticeable... whenever there's a lull is like yuh cyah hear nutten else.
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 08:59:07 AM
How much times they go talk about group C?
Steups. Allyuh done beat this dead horse until it come back to life and beating it to death again.
Post by: Observer on June 13, 2010, 09:01:58 AM
Another snoozer jezanages this WC so far is pure ZZzzzzzzzzz  :sleepy: :sleepy:

very little individual or collective initiative to inspire
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:03:03 AM
Steups. Allyuh done beat this dead horse until it come back to life and beating it to death again.

....hard luck, Bitter....we live in the americans' backyard and are receiving "their" feed.  Sadly, we are going to be hearing about Group C up until the final game!.....but regarding the current game...is it me or is the ref letting serbia play?  Wasn't Ghana supposed to get a penalty on the so-called foul called on Ghana in the box near the end of the half?
Post by: giggsy11 on June 13, 2010, 09:06:41 AM
Another snoozer jezanages this WC so far is pure ZZzzzzzzzzz  :sleepy: :sleepy:

very little individual or collective initiative to inspire

Dise because Brasil or Holland  hasn't played yet! I am waiting for one decent free kick!
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 09:06:49 AM

....hard luck, Bitter....we live in the americans' backyard and are receiving "their" feed.  Sadly, we are going to be hearing about Group C up until the final game!.....but regarding the current game...is it me or is the ref letting serbia play?  Wasn't Ghana supposed to get a penalty on the so-called foul called on Ghana in the box near the end of the half?

Agreed... that and Zigic should have about three yellow card by now.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:15:33 AM
I don't find that this game is as boring as some ah y'all saying it is.  Ghana is showing promise in this game, they are controlling the pace, defending very well and their forwards just need to be a little more industrious and have better finishing.  That, and the prospect of Serbia scoring at any time, they ARE a very good and very dangerous side, after all, have me on the edge of my seat.
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 09:17:30 AM
I don't find that this game is as boring as some ah y'all saying it is.  Ghana is showing promise in this game, they are controlling the pace, defending very well and their forwards just need to be a little more industrious and have better finishing.  That, and the prospect of Serbia scoring at any time, they ARE a very good and very dangerous side, after all, have me on the edge of my seat.

Yeah, this is an entertaining game.
Could have 2 or 3 goals in it yet.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 09:21:44 AM
This Argentine ref is a muddac**t.  I swear African teams have so much bias to overcome when it comes to some ah these officials.
Post by: richpy on June 13, 2010, 09:22:25 AM
Ghana's youngsters have amazing skill.

They pressure the ball well in defence too

Ah hope their finishing can improve.

This referee tiefing
Post by: mwanasoka on June 13, 2010, 09:31:18 AM
Amazing ! Watch out now.
Is now de reff have license
to F**k w/Ghana.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 13, 2010, 09:31:47 AM
Potential game changer here now, Serbs down to 10
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:33:07 AM
This Argentine ref is a muddac**t.  I swear African teams have so much bias to overcome when it comes to some ah these officials.

I glad to know is not only me cussin' so on dis early Sunday mawnin!  I was willing to give the lil argentine f**ker the benefit of the doubt, but after some of them non/reverse-calls, he could hang for all I care!

Ghana's youngsters have amazing skill.

They pressure the ball well in defence too

Ah hope their finishing can improve.

This referee tiefing

Everyting yuh say dey is on point!  I fully agree wit yuh!!
Post by: Socafan on June 13, 2010, 09:34:21 AM
I thought it was me alone who notice the ref. from early on the the first half.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 13, 2010, 09:34:37 AM
is there anyone in serbia whose name does not end in the letters 'ic' (itch)?
Post by: mwanasoka on June 13, 2010, 09:39:17 AM
Now is de time to bring on ah fresh Attacking MF

or a Forward to keep dem busy defending.
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 09:39:49 AM
Ref Tiefing for who now?
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 13, 2010, 09:40:10 AM
PENALTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111
Post by: Socafan on June 13, 2010, 09:40:54 AM
What a clumsy unfortunate handball. That just as bad as Green effup
Post by: richpy on June 13, 2010, 09:41:05 AM
goooooooolllll!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 09:41:22 AM
Blow yuh vuvuzela!
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 09:41:57 AM
I thought it was me alone who notice the ref. from early on the the first half.

Nah I notice from earlies... but when he hit Zigic with the yellow ah say "nice", but since then is call after call in favor of Serbia.  I doh think he necessarily trying to tief fuh dem but plenty still see African teams the way they used to see Rigoberto Song from Cameroon... athletic and out of control.

As ah say dat de ref makes a big call on the penal... great call too because I di'n even see the hands the first time.

Ref Tiefing for who now?

He certainly ent tiefing fuh Ghana...

What a clumsy unfortunate handball. That just as bad as Green effup

What unfortunate?  Fuh de rest of he teammates perhaps... that was a clear handball, di'n even look accidental.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 13, 2010, 09:43:36 AM
     GHANA!!!!!  
Post by: richpy on June 13, 2010, 09:44:44 AM
Come on Ghana. Hold out for de win

Post by: STEUPS!! on June 13, 2010, 09:46:01 AM
     GHANA!!!!!  

:wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: richpy on June 13, 2010, 09:48:15 AM
Ah have to give a hand to K-P Boateng. Wonderful 1st cap for Ghana
Post by: richpy on June 13, 2010, 09:49:12 AM
ORF DE POST!!!!!
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2010, 09:49:38 AM
Yellow card against Tagoe for a phantom hand ball.

The Ghana goalie, Kingson club owner @ Birmingham call him a waste of space. I have him as a MOM contender.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:52:25 AM

The Ghana goalie, Kingson club owner @ Birmingham call him a waste of space. I have him as a MOM contender.

Now yuh know who de ref tiefin' for!!  ;D Kinson could win MOM....as can the goalscorer.  He played a brilliant game throughout.

Allyuh see de coach fuh Ghana (serbian) seemed annoyed at his (African) staff for seeming to be too eager to celebrate their victory with him?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 13, 2010, 09:52:43 AM
ghana played a lot better than i expected...it sad they without essien, might have been able to make a decent run to at least de quarterfinals.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 13, 2010, 09:52:58 AM
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :whip: :whip: :whip: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 09:53:08 AM

Either fuh de phantom handball or fuh playing on after the whistle.  How he supposed to hear that with all that facking ole noise in de stands?  Ref lucky he got the big calls right because he bungled a lot of lesser calls.

I think MOM go be Gyan... but Prince Boateng and Askew should be in the mix.  Kingson played well but was called on only late whereas them three outfield players played well throughout.

Ghana lucky to escape with the win... they deserve the victory but they real lapse in the second half, and particularly after the goal.  They played like they already had it won when in fact there was still nearly 20 mins still to play.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 13, 2010, 09:54:12 AM
ghana played a lot better than i expected...it sad they without essien, might have been able to make a decent run to at least de quarterfinals.

what is the story with Muntari??  He was just rested for this game or is he out entirely??
Post by: mwanasoka on June 13, 2010, 09:54:55 AM
Is it that every team raise there defensive abilities ?

Nice win.Subbed ah Defender & ah Forward ah little

too late.Shoulda be do earlier to kill de clock.

But Sweet Win.This team wasn't no slouch.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 09:55:31 AM

I think MOM go be Gyan... but Prince Boateng and Askew should be in the mix.  Kingson played well but was called on only late whereas them three outfield players played well throughout.

Ghana lucky to escape with the win... they deserve the victory but they real lapse in the second half, and particularly after the goal.  They played like they already had it won when in fact there was still nearly 20 mins still to play.

They really lost focus after the goal......a bit understandable under the circumstances....
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 09:58:02 AM

Now yuh know who de ref tiefin' for!!  ;D Kinson could win MOM....as can the goalscorer.  He played a brilliant game throughout.

Allyuh see de coach fuh Ghana (serbian) seemed annoyed at his (African) staff for seeming to be too eager to celebrate their victory with him?

Even before the goal scored he din seem too ecstatic ... when Asamoah Gyan was about to take the PK. Professional ethics is one thing ... showing respect to yuh country and not wanting to be disrespectful by celebrating extraordinarily is another. Ah find he din show the proper balance. In fact, he seemed TOO annoyed.
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 09:58:20 AM

They really lost focus after the goal......a bit understandable under the circumstances....

Only circumstance I could understand is their youth... because the reality is you playing for the biggest prize in yuh sport and plenty time left to play.  Maybe that is where they missed a figure like Essien.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 13, 2010, 09:58:29 AM
This really pisses me off, what does Ghana's poverty rate have to do w/them winning this match, what's the relevance? and on top of that you are an African-American announcer, have to put such a statement down to pure stupidity
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 13, 2010, 10:01:30 AM

what is the story with Muntari??  He was just rested for this game or is he out entirely??

recovering from injury so he is not match fit, might play in next game
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 10:01:55 AM
Ah have to give a hand to K-P Boateng. Wonderful 1st cap for Ghana

I would have taken him off earlier. I was disappointed. In fact, I found plenty evidence supporting why the Germans turned their back on him. He was more assertive than Odemwingie (thus, less disappointing by far) but I thought he made poor decisons.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 10:03:43 AM

Only circumstance I could understand is their youth... because the reality is you playing for the biggest prize in yuh sport and plenty time left to play.  Maybe that is where they missed a figure like Essien.

Well, being African, playing and winning or leading a game to a potential win for the first WC on African soil, I could imagine that there are/were all kinds of emotions running through them fellas heads and hearts that I think might have affected even the most mature players.  I don't think I could even imagine how them fellas were feeling after they scored or how they must be feeling now.  I willing to giddem a lil' slack.

Jurgen Klinsmann just got through basically saying the same thing.....
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 10:03:57 AM

No, this is where they missed their #$%$# coach. The silent bastard was too wrapped up in nationalism to give a ^&^%$ to transmit obvious info. I was watching in complete amazement as dem men tried to carry the game to Serbia in extra time.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 13, 2010, 10:09:04 AM

i think gyan should win MOM
Post by: Bakes on June 13, 2010, 10:10:07 AM
  Well, being African, playing and winning or leading a game to a potential win for the first WC on African soil, I could imagine that there are/were all kinds of emotions running through them fellas heads and hearts that I think might have affected even the most mature players.  I don't think I could even imagine how them fellas were feeling after they scored or how they must be feeling now.  I willing to giddem a lil' slack.

Well I never have, never will walk in their shoes so I not going to belabor the point, but it nearly cost them 2 points.

No, this is where they missed their #$%$# coach. The silent bastard was too wrapped up in nationalism to give a ^&^%$ to transmit obvious info. I was watching in complete amazement as dem men tried to carry the game to Serbia in extra time.

I dunno nutten about the coach so I don't know if his reserve is just his natural personality, or whether he was torn over the victory.  I DID think to myself at the outset that it must be odd for him... but my personal feeling is that he's happier for the win than sad for his native country.  They knew the draw 6 mos ago, I'm sure that was more than enough time to wrestle with his emotions... and I'm sure Ghana winning was one of the circumstances he envisioned.

As for transmitting the info... not to bring up the vuvuzelas again, but the players having a hard time communicating among themselves, how much communication yuh think could come from the sidelines?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 10:10:57 AM

I was disappointed tactically. Between Serbia's back line and midfield line there was significant space to be exploited and Ghana never attempted to take it. Ah mean, it's not like their play on the flanks was stellar such that it provided a viable alternative. Just not impressed with the commitment shown by coachman.

Leh we examine basics: after going a man up due to the sending off, who could tell they were a man up? This lasted long minutes until the intervention of the PK. Tactically coachman was riding out the scene, coz he hadda know better.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2010, 10:15:21 AM
Chow, to initiate calm ... yuh doh need to talk ... we see it ALL the time ... the hand signals are well-known. On top of that, yuh use the players closest to the technical area to relay that info. It doh take much. I watched as fouls (or other interruptions of play) were committed right on the touchline and the man said not a damn word in the dying minutes.

He's a good friend of Radomir Antic. Antic was at the edge of his technical area urging Serbia fwd. De man's behavior was suspect. It was too visceral fuh me to dismiss. This man waved off one of his staffers? wtf?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 13, 2010, 10:17:11 AM

I was disappointed tactically. Between Serbia's back line and midfield line there was significant space to be exploited and Ghana never attempted to take it. Ah mean, it's not like their play on the flanks was stellar such that it provided a viable alternative. Just not impressed with the commitment shown by coachman.

Leh we examine basics: after going a man up due to the sending off, who could tell they were a man up? This lasted long minutes until the intervention of the PK. Tactically coachman was riding out the scene, coz he hadda know better.

good points and those are my concerns, thier midfield without essien and muntari until he returns will struggle but teams like serbia will struggle to beat them (teams that just sit back and wait)
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 13, 2010, 10:19:57 AM
I had the opportunity to meet the former Kotoko Public relations officer and coordinator when i visited that country and during  that time i found out about Essien and what i saw was amazing, they love the game like the sea have sand and they have a huge talent pool. Watch them!
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 13, 2010, 10:33:36 AM

Well I never have, never will walk in their shoes so I not going to belabor the point, but it nearly cost them 2 points.

Well, boss I have never walked in their particular shoes, either, nor has Jurgen Klinsmann, I'm sure. But he understood it very well and so do I.  Besides, "nearly" only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades.  They "nearly" cost themselves two or three points but they left the field with three.  Africa is partying now.
Post by: dinho on June 13, 2010, 11:48:22 AM
Ay Nigeria, as an African team in a world cup in Africa this is how you supposed to play the game.

Defenders look composed and had poise. Midfielders comfortable on the ball and not giving away possession too easily. I was happy with what I saw from Ghana..

But..

Same problem as what kill them last world cup. This team lacks a true finisher up front. Gyan is not clinical and need to put away the chances when they come to him. Also that hopeful cross ball thing not working against them European teams with bigger defenders. Press them thru the middle.
Title: Ghana's Coach
Post by: Jumbie on June 14, 2010, 01:31:23 PM
I'm all for being patriotic and I really feel for the position the Ghanaian coach was in. but his reaction to the what seemed like assistant coaches after the final whistle was in poor taste. Did you all see when the whistle blew and the assistant coaches went over to him jumping and hugging, he chuck them off with ah facking sour face? At least be happy for the people who signing you friggin paycheck nah!

Title: Re: Ghana's Coach
Post by: spideybuff on June 14, 2010, 01:33:02 PM
Is all about respect. He could celebrate behind closed doors, not when the camera rolling. I feel he do the right thing by showing no emotion.

Besides, any of we will have mixed emotions if we realise we play a part in preventing our country from progressing or winning the world cup.
Post by: Jumbie on June 14, 2010, 01:36:13 PM
spidey.. I was saying the same thing to mehself eh.. but why chuck off the men.
Post by: Arimaman on June 14, 2010, 02:51:00 PM
I'm all for being patriotic and I really feel for the position the Ghanaian coach was in. but his reaction to the what seemed like assistant coaches after the final whistle was in poor taste. Did you all see when the whistle blew and the assistant coaches went over to him jumping and hugging, he chuck them off with ah facking sour face? At least be happy for the people who signing you friggin paycheck nah!

That is a terrible assumption to make.  We have no idea why the man acted that way?  Fuh all we know the man was stressed to capacity and just wanted to shake the opposing coach's hand and get to the locker room and celebrate.  I don't know about poor taste.  Only until we know his reasons would I choose to make an issue.
Post by: dinho on June 14, 2010, 03:26:14 PM
anybody got a video clip?
Post by: Trini Madness on June 14, 2010, 03:30:42 PM
yea i remember that, at first i thought why is he acting like that, but if you think about it he isnt the only coach to have a straight face after a victory. i think that he was just being professional, after all its the first game. ghana still has plenty of work to do.
Post by: DeSoWa on June 14, 2010, 03:36:59 PM
I saw that, it looked kinda iffy, but I understand that he just coached angainst and beat his home country, not a nice position to be in  :-\

Post by: Jumbie on June 14, 2010, 03:44:15 PM
wish I had a clip to share. As mentioned, my problem is the way he shrugged off the assistant coaches..kinda peel dem off him with haste.

I fully understand that he was in a 4cup position, just done beating his homeland.

Post by: Daft Trini on June 14, 2010, 03:52:17 PM
De coach is a Serbian.... He has had some managerial roles with some of the players
Post by: Deeks on June 14, 2010, 03:55:06 PM
It comes with the territory. If you have issues  playing or coahing against your birth place, don't take the job. Although you don't want to jump to conclusions about his reaction, it makes you wonder. I don't like some of the overexuberant celebration, but I think players and coaches should celebrate a victory. The WC is a once in a lifetime for most teams and people. So why the heck they should not celebrate.
Post by: FF on June 14, 2010, 04:21:56 PM
what if it was the other way around?
Post by: DeSoWa on June 14, 2010, 05:28:28 PM

yuh lost me there ??? Like if Serbia had won instead? or if the serbs had a Ghanian coach?  :-\

Post by: FF on June 14, 2010, 05:34:02 PM

yuh lost me there ??? Like if Serbia had won instead? or if the serbs had a Ghanian coach?  :-\

If de serbs had a ghanaian coach and dey beat ghana and he refuse to celebrate..

it have men does score against they old teams and doh celebrate...

look kenwyne do it against stoke... and shrug off men de same way... is respect
Post by: DeSoWa on June 14, 2010, 05:36:14 PM

If de serbs had a ghanaian coach and dey beat ghana and he refuse to celebrate..

Oh ok, yeah that is my take too...but it just looked funny the way he did it...like he was mad vex  ;D

Post by: Bakes on June 14, 2010, 08:39:46 PM
I really dunno what all the to do is about... maybe the man just expected more out of his team than tuh eke out ah win against this Serbian squad.  No disrespect to them but Ghana could have played much better and destroy them. 

Or maybe the man realize that this is the first step... come like some ah deez black Americans holding all kinda big block party and thing fuh dey chirren when dey graduate... high school.
Post by: Babalawo on June 14, 2010, 10:37:09 PM

Man im with the Ghanian coach and do the same.  Its was not like when Terry Fenwick clout one of his players . He wants them to act professional and like you been there before and expected to win.  I know it was historic but them was acting like they won the entire world cup or beat Italy 5-0. Come on it was one game won by a penalty.  He's putting in discipline into the African culture, which they fail to adapt to for decades. Thats the reason why them African associations always have to go out and get a discipline non-african coach.  They eh know how to be have at all.
Post by: DeSoWa on June 14, 2010, 11:21:24 PM
Bakes and Bab, did you guys see the reaction that is in question? I agree that over celebrating is uncalled for, but the players are entitled to enjoy their victory don't matter how it came about...but this is not about them, it's about the coaches reaction, we just debating and assuming the reasons why he reacted the way he did, weather right or wrong..and I think the people who saw it have a good reason to question his actions...even if we are reading too much into it.

Post by: Bourbon on June 15, 2010, 05:30:11 AM
Look some second half highlights.....down to de end yuh see part of de reaction.

http://www.d1g.com/video/space/sports/show/?id=3789107

Post by: ribbit on June 15, 2010, 09:19:47 AM

is a hypothetical yuh looking at. dem ting doh happen in real life. steups.
Post by: palos on June 15, 2010, 10:07:51 AM
Allyuh feel Capello go be sour if England beat Italy?  ::)