Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: kicker on June 18, 2010, 11:45:01 AM

Title: A complete flip
Post by: kicker on June 18, 2010, 11:45:01 AM
I dunno, but what started out as an unenterprising cup, seems to have made a complete flip as far as excitement & drama goes... from Argentina steam-rolling, to Spain tightening the noose on their own neck, to France losing the plot, to the hosts being on the brink of elimination, to Serbia re-writing the script, and the U.S. putting on a display of feel good, old-fashioned, ugly to watch, never say die football with the controversy of a botched call in the dying seconds, I have to say that this WC has taken a turn for one of the better ones in the excitement and anticipation department.  Even the vuvuzelas seem stunned by the way they have quieted down a bit...

Enough to give Algeria some inspiration to keep the trend going....

For the sake of the African continent, I want this WC to go down in history as one of the best...Starting to regain some hope....
Title: Re: A complete flip
Post by: JDB on June 18, 2010, 11:49:03 AM
The games turn around. Plenty credit to the non-European teams though. Brazil, Mexico, Chile, Argentina and even Uruguay doing it.

From Europe Slovenia show some verve this morning and I feel we ent see the best from Holland in their first game. Spain and Portugal might come alive in this 2nd round too.

My fear is that once the knockout stage start good football will become scarce again.
Title: Re: A complete flip
Post by: kicker on June 18, 2010, 11:53:52 AM

My fear is that once the knockout stage start good football will become scarce again.

Yeah that is always a possibility.