Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: soccerman on June 19, 2010, 12:00:11 PM

Title: Anelka sent packing & other French news.
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2010, 12:00:11 PM
KNYSNA, South Africa -- French star Nicolas Anelka has been thrown off his nation's World Cup team after getting into a heated exchange with coach Raymond Domenech and refusing to apologize.

The Chelsea forward reportedly made obscene comments to Domenech at halftime of France's 2-0 loss to Mexico on Thursday. He was asked to make amends by FFF president Jean-Pierre Escalettes.

"Faced by the refusal of the player to publicly apologize, he [Escalettes] took the decision in total agreement with the coach and the official members of the delegation present in Knysna to exclude Nicolas Anelka from the squad," the FFF said in a statement. "He will leave the French team camp this evening."

Anelka confirmed he had an argument with Domenech -- but said that it was meant to stay within the team.

France's team page
For more about Les Bleus and their chances in South Africa this summer, click here.
"I indeed had a heated conversation with the coach, but it happened within the confines of the changing rooms, between the coach and me, in front of my teammates and the staff," Anelka told the website of France Soir newspaper. "That should never have come out of the changing rooms. I don't know who can benefit from that, but repeating these kind of things certainly doesn't help [the team]."

The episode is another blow to a French team that made the World Cup finals in 2006 but is on the verge of being eliminated from the 2010 tournament after a listless draw with Uruguay and the Mexico loss.

The FFF said that France captain Patrice Evra was also present with Escalettes when the decision was taken, adding that Anelka's comments are "totally unacceptable for the FFF, French football and the values it defends."

Anelka said he regrets having upset his teammates. Previous reports said he had fallen out with France midfielder Yoann Gourcuff, demanding that Domenech drop Gourcuff from the Mexico game.

"My aim was never to destabilize the French team, an institution I respect. I accept my exclusion from the France team and I wish them good luck," Anelka said. "I have a lot of respect for the France team, I equally have a lot of respect for all of my teammates without exception, I insist on that point."

Evra said a "traitor" among France's World Cup staff must have leaked details of Anelka's rant.

It "came from someone in this group, who wishes the French team harm," Evra said. "The problem isn't Anelka, it's the traitor among us, you have to say it.

"How can this come out?"

Two unconvincing performances in the 0-0 draw with Uruguay and against Mexico had observers like former France defender Bixente Lizarazu furious at Anelka's casual attitude.

"What bothers me is Nicolas Anelka's performance in the first half. I saw a player strolling ... strolling in the World Cup!" Lizarazu said. "He wasn't aggressive, wasn't interested in the game. Domenech took him off at the break, but should have done so before. You shouldn't play in a selfish manner, you have to show you're up for it."

Winner of the Premier League's Golden Boot in 2008-09, Anelka has long been an enigmatic player for France. He scored twice in a stunning performance against England way back in 1999, but then refused to play under coach Jacques Santini. He spent three years off the national team until Domenech called him back up in November 2005.

Six months later, Domenech snubbed him for the 2006 squad. But Anelka seemed to have put that all of that behind him when he scored a deflected goal against Ireland in a World Cup playoff last November.

Anelka's abrupt nature has made him few friends over a topsy-turvy career during which he has always spoken his mind.

But his unselfish attitude for Chelsea this season won him many admirers, and his reputation had greatly improved since the days English soccer fans mockingly nicknamed him "Le Sulk" for his surly attitude.

Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press

Title: Re: Anelka sent packing
Post by: big dawg on June 19, 2010, 12:36:33 PM
no worries....

the rest of the team will join him on the 22nd..
Post by: triniairman on June 19, 2010, 01:39:47 PM
I also heard the ref from Mali was sent home too.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 19, 2010, 01:47:26 PM

If he going home then  the one who ref the germany v serbia game yesterday need to be sitting next to him. I doubt the Mali ref would have gotten so much stick if it wasn't USA and ESPN wasn't covering the WC.
Post by: Trinidogg on June 19, 2010, 01:55:31 PM

If he going home then  the one who ref the germany v serbia game yesterday need to be sitting next to him. I doubt the Mali ref would have gotten so much stick if it wasn't USA and ESPN wasn't covering the WC.
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: everybody know you cah mess with the USA.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 19, 2010, 01:59:16 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: everybody know you cah mess with the USA.

Ah waiting for obama to get involve forget BP.
Post by: truetrini on June 19, 2010, 03:12:29 PM

nonsense, even the Mexican stations stated the man did shit and should NOT rf again.  It was a very, very horrible call, come on man....USA did not deserve to lose 2 points like that.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 19, 2010, 03:37:39 PM

nonsense, even the Mexican stations stated the man did shit and should NOT rf again.  It was a very, very horrible call, come on man....USA did not deserve to lose 2 points like that.

And Rep of Ireland did not deserve to miss out qualifying  due to Henry's hand ball. It was a horrible non call at least USA still have a chance. Shite happens!
Post by: elan on June 19, 2010, 03:50:30 PM

Why did they not deserve to lose? You give up 2 goals in a must win game and expect to win. Jokers.
Post by: soccerman on June 19, 2010, 06:07:44 PM
IRENE, South Africa -- FIFA will not address the performance of referee Koman Coulibaly, the embattled official from the Americans' 2-2 draw with Slovenia, before Monday, a spokesman has said.

Coulibaly was given a poor rating in an expedited performance review Saturday, according to a Yahoo! Sports report, which cited an unnamed FIFA source.

FIFA's Nicolas Maingot said the governing body would not discuss Coulibaly before a scheduled session, when the 30 World Cup officials and members of the FIFA Referees Committee will meet with the media.

Coulibaly, of Mali, has been criticized for disallowing what could have been the winning goal for the U.S. off a free kick in Friday's match.

Second-half sub Maurice Edu appeared to put the U.S. ahead in the 86th minute, poking in a close-range shot after Landon Donovan's free kick to him. But the goal was waved off by Coulibaly, though it was not clear on whom the foul was called or what the foul was.

FIFA refereeing rules state: "The referee shall hand over to the FIFA general coordinator a match report at the stadium immediately after the match. On the report form the referee shall note all occurrences such as misconduct of players leading to caution or expulsion, unsporting behavior by supporters and/or by officials or any other person acting on behalf of an association at the match and any other incident happening before, during and after the match in as much detail as possible."

Coulibaly could still appear as a line judge or other supporting role, but is unlikely to be given assignments to referee further matches, according to a Friday report from Yahoo! Sports, which cited unnamed sources.

"If he is found to have made a serious mistake, especially one that affected the outcome, then he would be highly unlikely to play any further part in the tournament," Yahoo! Sports quoted a source Friday as saying. "FIFA is determined to keep refereeing standards high and does not want high-profile mistakes."

For its part, the U.S. is moving on, with no way to appeal the disallowed goal.

"There is no process for appeals for a decision on the field," team spokesman Michael Kammarman said Saturday. "We have not asked for any official comment from FIFA in regards to the call."

Replays show that more Slovenes were holding Americans than vice versa. Aleksandar Radosavljevic held Michael Bradley in a bear hug,

Bradley had his own theory: Coulibaly might have regretted his decision to award the free kick. Valter Birsa had been called for a foul on Steve Cherundolo.

"I think it's a good goal, first. I think the only things really that could be called would be penalty kicks for us," coach Bob Bradley said. "There are times when a referee, for whatever reason, blows a foul and now thinks either he didn't make the correct call on the foul or from a previous play, and then literally as soon as the free kick's taken, he blows his whistle, OK?

"So you can speculate all you want about which guy and everything, I think it's a waste of time. All right? I think there was nothing there. I think it's a good goal. And that's that."

The U.S. team has been besieged with questions why soccer referees don't publicly explain controversial decisions, as umpires and referees do in U.S. sports.

"We're all accustomed to the fact that if it's an NFL playoff game and there's a call that's in question, there will be a statement by the league from the referees, but FIFA operates differently," Bradley said. "There are some aspects of it that are not made 100 percent clear. That seems to add to the discussion about the game. So from our end we get used to that. And we all have friends and family who ask us the same questions that most of you ask, and you end up saying that's just how it is sometimes, and then you move on and you get ready for the next game."

Post by: truetrini on June 19, 2010, 06:25:17 PM

Why did they not deserve to lose? You give up 2 goals in a must win game and expect to win. Jokers.

somwtimes yuh does talk high grade shit.  You know why they did not deserve to lose the two points, cause they scored more goals that the opponents..dais why!
Post by: palos on June 19, 2010, 07:41:31 PM

somwtimes yuh does talk high grade shit.  You know why they did not deserve to lose the two points, cause they scored more goals that the opponents..dais why!

When did they score more goals than the opponents in this competition?
Post by: Bourbon on June 19, 2010, 07:53:42 PM
Wait nah.

How long Anelka playing football now?
Ent dis is he first world cup?

*Edit: I now reading he retire from international football.
Post by: D.H.W on June 19, 2010, 08:04:45 PM
Anelka had discipline problems from way back
Post by: Jumbie on June 19, 2010, 08:16:06 PM
That excuse for a coach that France have dey deserve more that ah rinse-out with cuss.

GO USA! (cokey eye facker blowing when he should be sucking) U   S  A  !
Post by: Bourbon on June 19, 2010, 08:46:57 PM
Anelka had discipline problems from way back

Exactly one of the reasons why this was his first world cup.
Title: Marcel Desailly Column
Post by: truetrini on June 19, 2010, 09:19:14 PM
Here are some very interesting comments from Desailly, take from a column that he is writing for a South African paper during the Cup. There is food for thought in many of his observations.

Pressure gets to home team
Jun 19, 2010

It's never happened before that the host country has not qualified for the second round of the World Cup, so let's try not think about the possibility.

I talked about the pressure of expectation Bafana Bafana were under and how they could use that to inspire them in the tournament.

They did in the first game against Mexico, but when they were a little more tired in the second game the pressure became a negative thing.

Looking ahead to their game against France on Tuesday, the French should win if you look at the individuals of both sides. In their loss to Uruguay, South Africa looked like they had more problems than France.

The players struggle with tactics; then there's the pressure.

As for the French, Raymond Domenech got his tactics wrong again. Yes, we asked for Florent Malouda to start, but the coach changed the whole system. This is a good generation of players, but they were playing in a new system in which they can't play. Franck Ribery is a winger, not a playmaker. He relies on taking his man on and dribbling. A playmaker needs to find himself in good positions and put others away. Anyone but Ribery should have played in that position.

Still, France are in a better situation because they have better players.

If South Africa are eliminated, people will keep on going. They might struggle to fill the big stadiums and there will be less passion, but the people in the streets will still be curious to see what happens with the likes of Ronaldo and their teams.

It is now left to Ghana and Ivory Coast to succeed for the African continent.

Of the two, I believe Ivory Coast have what it takes, physically and psychologically because their players play in the big leagues in Europe, to go all the way to the final.

They have not won but they showed an ability to play well as a team and showed potential against the Portuguese.

A lot has been made of the ball. It's trickiness has added another element, but these are professional players so that should not be an excuse.

I think the main reason not too many goals have been scored is that 80% of the teams are playing 4-5-1. Nobody can counterattack because everyone is in the midfield.

Teams such as Argentina and Chile are not playing that system, and you can see it.

I've already said I believe Argentina can win it, but I've been very impressed with Chile. But I'm not sure they can handle the physical battles that lie ahead.

Portugal, France and England have disappointed. So much was expected of Deco, but he is no longer what he used to be, and Cristiano Ronaldo can't play by himself.

The surprising thing about England is the mistakes made by Fabio Capello. He chose the wrong goalkeeper for the first game and played Steven Gerrard as a second defensive midfielder when he can't play like that anymore.

Gerrard should be playing as a second striker behind Wayne Rooney.
Title: Re: Marcel Desailly Column
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 01:31:38 AM
Desailly's goal celebration when Ghana scored against Serbia  ;D  :beermug:

http://www.youtube.com/v/lQZadh4ByVc
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 06:39:03 AM
The next headline should read...

France sent packing......

God doh sleep and he doh like Thierry "hand of God" Henry....
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 06:44:29 AM
He eh mention Holland in he analysis??!!. :o :o  Fire bun Desailly!!!.... :devil: :devil: ;D

On a serious note, good read Truetrini... :beermug:
Post by: Toppa on June 20, 2010, 07:21:11 AM
As a former US hater, allyuh need to stop the hate.  :D No, j/k but at least hate with integrity.  :D It was a good goal, allyuh know that. If allyuh want to say allyuh still glad it was disallowed cos the US mustn't advance, well that's different.
Post by: Jumbie on June 20, 2010, 08:40:43 AM
team refusing to train now... look thing
Post by: YoursTruly on June 20, 2010, 08:44:29 AM
Fitness coach walks out of French training

By JEROME PUGMIRE, AP Sports Writer 7 minutes ago

KNYSNA, South Africa (AP)—France team director Jean-Louis Valentin says the national team is refusing to train following a dispute on the practice field.

Valentin also says he has resigned from the French football federation, shouting that he was “ashamed” of the team.

The team arrived at training Sunday but a few minutes after taking the field, fitness coach Robert Duverne stormed away from an argument with coach Raymond Domenech. Duverne threw his accreditation badge to the ground after the heated discussion and walked away.

The players then boarded the team bus.

The French team is in disarray after striker Nicolas Anelka was sent home for insulting Domenech, whose tactics and management skills have been called into question.
Post by: elan on June 20, 2010, 08:48:31 AM

Don't be a ninnny. You do not leave your fate in the hands of others. You score and do not allow goals. You said they DESERVED to win, no they did not. Should they have probably. The refereee decision on the field is final, whetehre some thinks it wrong. The onl;y thing that the ref could be wrong about is not applying the laws of the game properly, can you say he did not? His view was that it's not a goal and that's all that matters.

At this level you cannot give up 2 early goals and say you deserve to win. Get off it.
Post by: elan on June 20, 2010, 08:50:42 AM
As a former US hater, allyuh need to stop the hate.  :D No, j/k but at least hate with integrity.  :D It was a good goal, allyuh know that. If allyuh want to say allyuh still glad it was disallowed cos the US mustn't advance, well that's different.

Why is ESPN not showing the runs into the box from the start? All they keep showing is from where Edu scored. I want to see how Edu got free.
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 08:54:17 AM
New French drama....

French team seemingly refusing to train today...BBC (aka BBC commentators Vieira and Desailly) got on the phone to find out what was going on...they are reporting that the team director has been sent home now (probably for leaking the Anelka story).
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 08:56:36 AM

KNYSNA, South Africa (AP)—France team director Jean-Louis Valentin says the national team is refusing to train following a dispute on the practice field.

Valentin also says he has resigned from the French football federation, shouting that he was “ashamed” of the team.

The team arrived at training Sunday but a few minutes after taking the field, fitness coach Robert Duverne stormed away from an argument with coach Raymond Domenech. Duverne threw his accreditation badge to the ground after the heated discussion and walked away.

The French team is in disarray after striker Nicolas Anelka was sent home for insulting Domenech, whose tactics and management skills have been called into question.

........yes man, dem Irish must be let go some kinda bad luck Leprechauns in dey arse....God doh sleep!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 09:10:34 AM

........yes man, dem Irish must be let go some kinda bad luck Leprechauns in dey arse....God doh sleep!!!

Is not only dat nuh!  Is you and yuh "God doh sleep" mantra....yuh ressit on dem good, BrownSugar!!  (just leave my Brazil out yuh mout');D
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 09:19:06 AM
  Is not only dat nuh!  Is you and yuh "God doh sleep" mantra....yuh ressit on dem good, BrownSugar!!  (just leave my Brazil out yuh mout');D

BRAZIL
BRAZIL
BRAZIL.... :devil: :devil: ;D
Post by: sammy on June 20, 2010, 09:57:54 AM

exactly ;D
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 10:20:23 AM
The video of today's events is kix. BBC and Sky Sports have shown it. The fitness coach was rel, rel vex and the team director was crying :rotfl:

The fact that the players  turned up to an impromptu open training session knowing that they were going to boycott (i.e. - putting on a show for the cameras), shows that their camp is complete chaos.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 10:42:14 AM
The video of today's events is kix. BBC and Sky Sports have shown it. The fitness coach was rel, rel vex and the team director was crying :rotfl:

The fact that the players  turned up to an impromptu open training session knowing that they were going to boycott (i.e. - putting on a show for the cameras), shows that their camp is complete chaos.

http://www.youtube.com/v/ghPGMM9psqc
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 10:42:50 AM
Oh the luck of the Irish.
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 10:53:20 AM
Wait nah. If dis so bad...next ting dey forfeit de next game against South Africa......

Ent yuh does get 3-0 against yuh if yuh forfeit?

So......if mexico carve up Uruguay.......like say 3 or 4 nil....

Post by: fari on June 20, 2010, 11:01:10 AM
Wait nah. If dis so bad...next ting dey forfeit de next game against South Africa......

Ent yuh does get 3-0 against yuh if yuh forfeit?

So......if mexico carve up Uruguay.......like say 3 or 4 nil....

just now on tv lalas or klinsi (cant remember which) was saying maybe the fff should let blanc take over for the 3rd game....sounds crazy but it just might work.

if the french team really love their fans they will try to put on a decent showing against SA (unlikely).
Post by: D.H.W on June 20, 2010, 11:12:54 AM
don't cheat the leprechaun
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 11:14:38 AM
That real shameful.
Post by: Bitter on June 20, 2010, 11:18:07 AM
They will all get blacklisted.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 11:30:23 AM
Here is the statement:

"All the players in the French squad without exception wish to affirm their opposition to the decision taken by the French Football Federation (FFF) to exclude Nicolas Anelka.

"We regret the incident at half-time of the France vs Mexico match, but we regret even more the divulging of an event which was only the squad's business and was part and parcel of the life of a top-level team.

"At the squad's request, the player tried to engage in a dialogue. We regret that his move was wilfully ignored.

"The FFF did not at any point try to protect the squad. It took a decision based solely on facts reported by the press, without consulting the players.

"As a consequence, and to signal their opposition to the attitude adopted by the most senior officials, all of the players decided not to participate in the training session scheduled for today."
Post by: soccerman on June 20, 2010, 11:41:43 AM
For real, the team made a stand for their player but it's a pity this had to happen in the midst of WC.
Post by: fari on June 20, 2010, 12:05:17 PM
he right about gerrard.  for a big coach that is one decision i can't fathom.  ashley cole ent making his usual runs forward b/c he fraid to get leave out on the counter attack.

he right also about argentina and chile, but he should have mentioned uruguay (in the game against SA at least)...them fellas come to express themselves
Title: France squad refuse to train after bust-up between Evra and Fitness Coach
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 20, 2010, 12:11:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ghPGMM9psqc
Title: Re: France squad refuse to train after bust-up between Evra and Fitness Coach
Post by: Observer on June 20, 2010, 12:12:11 PM
Well all the training eh work so far so they have to try a ting  ;D
Post by: fari on June 20, 2010, 12:24:37 PM
Here is the statement:

"All the players in the French squad without exception wish to affirm their opposition to the decision taken by the French Football Federation (FFF) to exclude Nicolas Anelka.

"We regret the incident at half-time of the France vs Mexico match, but we regret even more the divulging of an event which was only the squad's business and was part and parcel of the life of a top-level team.

"At the squad's request, the player tried to engage in a dialogue. We regret that his move was wilfully ignored.

"The FFF did not at any point try to protect the squad. It took a decision based solely on facts reported by the press, without consulting the players.

"As a consequence, and to signal their opposition to the attitude adopted by the most senior officials, all of the players decided not to participate in the training session scheduled for today."

when i read that statement i say who the heck write dat...most of dem players is some blasted dunce.  apparently i was not the only one say that...here is what somebody wrote on l'equipe:

"Genre c'est Evra qui a pondu ce communiqué!!! Alors qu'il n'aligne pas deux phrases en bon français...."   (basically it saying it couldnt be evra who write that since he cant say 10 words in good french)
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 12:27:30 PM
I respect his opinion a lot.Desailly knows his stuff.
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 12:43:56 PM
I don't see how anyone here can criticize the players... the FFF is shit and the team was led by a shit coach.  It was only a matter of time.
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 12:45:26 PM
I don't see how anyone here can criticize the players... the FFF is shit and the team was led by a shit coach.  It was only a matter of time.

even so, the french media is absolutely livid with the players, the coaching staff and the FFF. noone has been excused.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 12:47:33 PM
 We go see on Tuesday if dis bring de team togedda or tear dem apart..
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 12:54:29 PM

even so, the french media is absolutely livid with the players, the coaching staff and the FFF. noone has been excused.

No one has ever accused the French media of being even-keeled and rational.
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 03:21:32 PM
Ah know some ah allyuh will drink gramahsone when the french team advance to the 2nd round, like allyuh almost drink poison when the US pull it of in the confederations cup tuh make it to the finals. keep on hating haters!
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 03:47:42 PM
I hearing that Ribery and Gorcuff fight...as in physical fight after the first game on the bus home.

And people still under the delusion that they going and magically appear in the second round?
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 03:54:32 PM
I hearing that Ribery and Gorcuff fight...as in physical fight after the first game on the bus home.

And people still under the delusion that they going and magically appear in the second round?

Why not? stranger things has happened in the world of football. and T&T made it to ah world cup ?  :devil:
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 04:17:13 PM

Why not? stranger things has happened in the world of football. and T&T made it to ah world cup ?  :devil:

Despite all de problems....T&T never had issues of this magnitude. What could be done to motivate the players at this stage?

Buh anyhow..fix up...dreams are free.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 04:38:58 PM
Ah know some ah allyuh will drink gramahsone when the french team advance to the 2nd round, like allyuh almost drink poison when the US pull it of in the confederations cup tuh make it to the finals. keep on hating haters!

Just cool, seriously....drink Gramaxsone??  steups!!  Its just a game!!...geez.... ::) ::)
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 04:42:23 PM

Don't be a ninnny. You do not leave your fate in the hands of others. You score and do not allow goals. You said they DESERVED to win, no they did not. Should they have probably. The refereee decision on the field is final, whetehre some thinks it wrong. The onl;y thing that the ref could be wrong about is not applying the laws of the game properly, can you say he did not? His view was that it's not a goal and that's all that matters.

At this level you cannot give up 2 early goals and say you deserve to win. Get off it.

So Brazil didn't deserve to win the Confed Cup final?

The aim of the game is to score more than you opponent. A 10-9 win is still a win. What are you on about?
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 04:46:11 PM

I think its pretty safe to say that it won't be a surprise if Anelka, Evra, Gallas, and possibly Ribery don't ever play for Les Bleus again after this WC. Real nonsense going on in that team. Ginola get freeze out for less.
Title: Re: France squad refuse to train after bust-up between Evra and Fitness Coach
Post by: Jumbie on June 20, 2010, 05:26:32 PM

ah geeed!   :rotfl:  :rotfl:   :rotfl:  :rotfl:
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 05:44:06 PM

Just cool, seriously....drink Gramaxsone??  steups!!  Its just a game!!...geez.... ::) ::)
Like it have ah reality check virus spreading on this site or what?? since when allyuh cyar differentiate between ole talk and reality?
Post by: spideybuff on June 20, 2010, 07:07:00 PM
Domenech is a waste and "a son of a whore" according to Anelka. all the french past players know that already. When Blanc take over he not going to let anybody get ban because they just say what the whole of france know except for the FFF. Like Evra say, this happens all the time. The problem is that it get leaked. That is the real problem.

I sure Laurent Blanc will understand that and all will be forgiven. Anelka will probably be a hero by then for trying to save the world cup campaign.
Post by: maxg on June 20, 2010, 07:42:09 PM
sound like ah job for "The Jackal"  ;D
Post by: Trinimassive on June 20, 2010, 08:09:38 PM
The players wanted to embarass the FitnessTrainer/Traitor so they did it in public in plain view of everybody.

Evra say they knew who run they mouth and they go handle him, so that is exactly what they do.

Cyah blame the players fuh that
Post by: asylumseeker on June 20, 2010, 08:41:20 PM
Players left out of this squad must be gloating at this point. They outta de foolishness.
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 09:30:45 PM
Anelka: I have this great idea to improve team spirit.

Dommenech: Good. When are you leaving?
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 11:22:36 PM
Anelka will probably be a hero by then for trying to save the world cup campaign.

You obviously didn't see him "play" for 90 + 45 minutes.

The man has antecedents; there's a reason why this is his first world cup. Bad apple is joke...
Post by: giggsy11 on June 21, 2010, 04:43:52 AM
France lacked strong leadership from the players down to the coach. When you have malcontents like Anelka and Ribery tryin tuh pick the team and even though he is my boy Evra as captain you are in trouble. Evera could be captain if he has quality and strong people alonside him. Anelka never made the national team before and instead of trying tuh fit in he stirring it up. If the team had strong leadership, someone they respect that type of shite would have possibly been avoided. The coach was dead man walking in the first place so what do the FFF expect, still don't know why they keep the man on the job. irish eyes are smiling! I will support the next generation of french players, this lot, no way!
Post by: ribbit on June 21, 2010, 08:05:29 AM
Anelka: I have this great idea to improve team spirit.

Dommenech: Good. When are you leaving?

Post by: Trinimassive on June 21, 2010, 10:13:38 AM
France lacked strong leadership from the players down to the coach. When you have malcontents like Anelka and Ribery tryin tuh pick the team and even though he is my boy Evra as captain you are in trouble. Evera could be captain if he has quality and strong people alonside him. Anelka never made the national team before and instead of trying tuh fit in he stirring it up. If the team had strong leadership, someone they respect that type of shite would have possibly been avoided. The coach was dead man walking in the first place so what do the FFF expect, still don't know why they keep the man on the job. irish eyes are smiling! I will support the next generation of french players, this lot, no way!

They all respected Henry but with all the hoopla with the hand ball and his bit part with Barca I think the coach lost faith in him, then Gallas thought he should be captain, Evra get it (don't know why). All of a sudden nobody is in charge, so here steps up Anelka.....
Post by: spideybuff on June 21, 2010, 10:31:45 AM
Anelka will probably be a hero by then for trying to save the world cup campaign.

You obviously didn't see him "play" for 90 + 45 minutes.

The man has antecedents; there's a reason why this is his first world cup. Bad apple is joke...

The man was on strike since then. The point of him being a hero is that he end up standing up to Domenech who sabotaging the country's national campaign. I not saying I support the man...i was just responding to people who say he will be banned forever and reminding them that Laurent Blanc closer to the current players than the administration is and may sympathise.
Post by: Dutty on June 21, 2010, 10:42:05 AM
don't cheat the leprechaun
Ent!!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 21, 2010, 10:45:10 AM
Well we will see tomorrow if Irish obeah really that good... :devil:  ;D

The next team to self-destruct is England.  Dem had a crisis meeting yesterday and one of the things that came out was that the coach will announce his player selections earlier.  Now all yuh men more knowledgeable than me bout the game, back room shenanigans etc. but how does knowing who will play say 12 hours before as  compared to 2 hours before will help if the team shitty??.... ??? :-\

Post by: palos on June 21, 2010, 11:06:34 AM

The next team to self-destruct is England.  Dem had a crisis meeting yesterday and one of the things that came out was that the coach will announce his player selections earlier.  Now all yuh men more knowledgeable than me bout the game, back room shenanigans etc. but how does knowing who will play say 12 hours before as  compared to 2 hours before will help if the team shitty??.... ??? :-\

Netherlands playin Italy in de 2nd rounds

Bye Bye Oranje  8)
Post by: richpy on June 21, 2010, 11:16:45 AM

That is just a big excuse. You usually have a pretty good idea of who starting, and where men playing.

I cyar believe big hard-back professionals trying to push this.

Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2010, 11:35:37 AM
Nah man Anelka playing with France since the late 90's, just this is his first WC but he's played in Euro Cup, friendlies and such. Throughout his career he's been known to have an attitude problem that often gets him into problems anywhere he plays. It's always a risk with him on your team but if he's in the right frame of mind there can be high reward because the fella have talent just inconsistient.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 21, 2010, 12:03:28 PM
Nah man Anelka playing with France since the late 90's, just this is his first WC but he's played in Euro Cup, friendlies and such. Throughout his career he's been known to have an attitude problem that often gets him into problems anywhere he plays. It's always a risk with him on your team but if he's in the right frame of mind there can be high reward because the fella have talent just inconsistient.

Yuh are correct-that is what I meant to post.  :beermug:
Post by: spideybuff on June 21, 2010, 12:48:22 PM

Netherlands playin Italy in de 2nd rounds

Bye Bye Oranje  8)
Italy making second rounds? Them doing a France 2002 and leaving 1st rounds as defending champs. Oh wait nah...they making second rounds with 3 draws? Wheeeey...that is a lucky side.

Yeah boy Palos, they will go ahead and make the semis after that. Wow. Typical italian performance.

Post by: Blue on June 21, 2010, 01:19:59 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/world_cup_2010/8752637.stm

World Cup 2010: France stars 'may boycott match'  

France coach Raymond Domenech has said some of his players may refuse to face South Africa because of Nicolas Anelka's expulsion from the squad.

The Chelsea striker was sent home for verbally abusing Domenech during last week's 2-0 defeat by Mexico.

When asked whether some of his squad may not play against the hosts, the coach said: "It is a possibility".

Domenech also labelled the players' decision to boycott Sunday's training session as "an aberration".

They refused to take part in protest at Anelka's expulsion.

The forward was said to have abused Domenech at half-time during France's second group game.

Anelka later refused to apologise when asked to by French Football Federation president Jean-Pierre Escalettes.

As a consequence, a statement was issued by the FFF stating that Anelka had been excluded from the squad.

Domenech supported the federation's actions.

"Nobody can behave in such a way in the dressing room or elsewhere and high-level sportsmen and women have to lead by example through football," he said.

The boycott of training led to FFF's managing director Jean-Louis Valentin quitting his post.

France captain Evra was also was involved in a heated argument with fitness coach Robert Duverne prior to the scheduled session, which required the intervention of Domenech.

Later on Sunday, the French coach read on a statement on behalf of the players, but was keen to add that he had not supported the boycott.

"We had to do something - the French people had a right to know," added Domenech.

"What I should have said at the end of the message was that I did not support this action.

"With the FFF president and staff members we tried to convince them it was stupid. I disagreed with the document. What they were doing was unthinkable.

"We've wasted a lot of energy. There are no words to explain what has happened. I'm hoping we will now have action on the pitch rather than off it."

France are on the verge of making an early World Cup exit, having picked up just one point from two games.

They need to beat South Africa on Tuesday by a large score and hope that Uruguay and Mexico do not draw their match.

Meanwhile, in France politicians and the national media have largely condemned the players' actions.

French sports paper L'Equipe wrote: "A rebellion? No, a caprice. A strike? No, cowardliness. Don't deceive yourself. The republican solidarity that our players showed the world yesterday is an illusion.

"Evra has once and for all shown that he has muddled up the role of captain with that of a gang leader.

"Domenech, by lending a hand to this masquerade and reading out himself the players' statement, has missed his final opportunity to show some style and courage."

Newspaper Le Figaro added: "It is collective suicide... the French team has heaped ridicule on itself in front of the whole world at Knysna.

"It was almost hallucinatory. This is a psychodrama that will go down in the history of the World Cup. The French team has been reduced to ashes."
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2010, 01:32:48 PM

They all respected Henry but with all the hoopla with the hand ball and his bit part with Barca I think the coach lost faith in him, then Gallas thought he should be captain, Evra get it (don't know why). All of a sudden nobody is in charge, so here steps up Anelka.....

Prophetic article?

France needs a leader at the World Cup

Officially, it was a slipped disc that prevented France coach Raymond Domenech from travelling to Manchester City on the last day of the English Premiership season to check up on the form and fitness of Patrick Vieira.

But it now appears that Domenech had already decided Vieira, who was nominally still France's captain despite not playing a competitive game for Les Bleus for over two years, would not be part of the World Cup team going to South Africa.

Domenech had a chance to reverse that decision when Lassana Diarra pulled out of the 30-man initial squad with a stomach injury, but he chose not to, despite previously saying: "Pat brings a lot to the team. Even just by his presence, he is very important to have around the place for the other players."

The double-snub for Vieira has left France with no obvious leader either on or off the pitch for its World Cup campaign.

"They miss a real leader, a screamer, a guy capable of talking and putting his mates back in their place," said former France defender Willy Sagnol. "In 1998 there was Laurent Blanc, in 2006 we had Lilian Thuram.  :salute: Today no one has embraced this role."

Domenech as much as admitted he had a problem when he checked if Claude Makelele, 37, would come out of international retirement for the tournament. He said no.

In the 30 internationals since Vieira last captained the side in a competitive match, France have had seven different captains (Thierry Henry 16 times; Thuram seven; William Gallas, Eric Abidal and Patrice Evra all twice; and Sidney Govou once).

The man who has taken Vieira's place in the side, Jeremy Toulalan, has admitted that he does not share his predecessor's skills at inspiring his teammates.

"I've always been told that I should talk more on the pitch, but I am not someone who speaks much off the pitch either," the Lyon midfielder said. "Patrick is a leader, whether it's on the pitch or when he speaks."

Henry wore the armband during qualifying, but he has another problem: as a result of his wretched season at Barcelona, he has lost his place in the France side. In the team's two pre-World Cup friendlies against Costa Rica and Tunisia, Henry was only on the bench.

That has left Evra captaining the side, and the Manchester United defender has impressed everyone with his leadership skills. His club coach, Alex Ferguson, had already given him the responsibility as captain earlier in the season and has ear-marked him as a leader of United in the future.

"He has the force of personality to command the dressing-room," Ferguson said.

Evra is certainly passionate about this France team: he boycotted the colour green before the playoff match against Ireland (going weeks without a can of his beloved Sprite) and has spoken movingly about the importance of this tournament.

"It's a World Cup, it's in Africa, where many players in our team have their roots; it's in the country of Nelson Mandela, to whom the black community owes so much. All of that adds up," Evra stated.

But that does not change the fact he is a rookie at this level, and the French media are still concerned at the lack of natural leaders in the side.

'Still looking for a leader'
RMC radio recently hosted in a phone-in show entitled, "Who will emerge as the new leader of this France team?" while a recent edition of France Football magazine ran a feature headed, "Still looking for a leader," in which it asked whether Franck Ribery was ready to take charge.

It pointed out that though he has scored six decisive goals for France, his regular complaints when he was playing on the right wing, as opposed to his preferred left, showed his unwillingness to sacrifice himself for the team (unlike Thuram, who spent years playing at right-back, a position he hated.) :salute:

"I want to be the captain of France," Ribery said earlier this year. "I feel mature enough to wear the captain's armband now."

But the terrible headlines that accompanied Ribery's misdemeanours in the recent sex scandal that stunned France, and cost the player a move to Real Madrid, look set to count against him.

Of the other options, William Gallas showed how captaincy negatively affects his performances at Arsenal, while the fact that he is often playing alongside a new partner at the back does not help. He was reportedly upset to be overlooked as captain for the recent friendly matches.

Nicolas Anelka is one of the most experienced players but his quiet personality does not make him a natural choice. When Eric Abidal was captain against Turkey last year, he also played it down, saying, "What counts is the collective, it doesn't matter who wears the armband."

Henry expressed similar sentiments this week.

This is the key difference between this France side and the successful ones of the past: in 1998 the clear-cut leaders were Didier Deschamps and Laurent Blanc (now both successful coaches) while more recently, Zinedine Zidane, Claude Makelele and Patrick Vieira have donned the mantle.

Throughout his six years in charge, Domenech has struggled with the historically hierarchical system of the French camp. During the glory years of 1998 and 2000, young players were not encouraged to speak up but rather to wait their turn. When Domenech tried to change this at Euro 2008, it flopped spectacularly. Samir Nasri and Karim Benzema reportedly upset older players with comments that showed a lack of respect, and a generation clash dogged them during the tournament.

Neither player has been called up this time around, and the implication is clear: with no natural leader in the group, Domenech is not prepared to risk any potential dissenter rocking the boat. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

The problem he may discover is that having no trouble-makers does not necessarily mean there will be no trouble. It's only when France find themselves up against it in South Africa that we will know if Domenech's risky strategy has paid off.

Ben Lyttleton writes about French football for guardian.co.uk, the Sunday Telegraph, Irish Examiner, Champions magazine and the Sports Illustrated website. He edited an oral history of the European Cup, Match of My Life: European Cup Finals, which was published in 2006.

http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/fifaworldcup/features/story/2010/06/03/spf-france-leader.html
Post by: weary1969 on June 21, 2010, 03:07:38 PM
A lil church retreat and all dat drama I miss. D French real emotional boi.
Post by: weary1969 on June 21, 2010, 03:51:16 PM

:beermug: U might b on 2 sumting.
Post by: maxg on June 21, 2010, 07:12:26 PM
To France with dem..and they could take the fellas from cross the channel with dem too :devil:
Post by: AirMan on June 21, 2010, 09:20:59 PM

Boy dis ting rhel interesting oui..link to full article..http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/europe/10370449.stm

'Traitor' mole

The players are demanding to know who in the French camp leaked the details of the bust-up.

Getting shirty: The players boycotted training after Anelka's expulsion They suspect someone within the federation. Captain Patrice Evra has described the mole as a "traitor".

On Sunday the open training session - which was supposed to heal some of the rift between players and supporters - turned into farce.

Evra was filmed in a stand-up row with the fitness coach and the players refused to train.

From the team bus they sent out a written statement protesting against Anelka's expulsion.

For team director Jean-Louis Valentin it was a "scandal"; he later resigned in disgust.

'Mess'

French President Nicolas Sarkozy has condemned the scenes as "unacceptable".

Before this tournament, the French side had brought the country together His advisor Henri Guaino said it was "distressing".

"It's no longer football; it's no longer sport," he said. "In fact, it's no longer a team".

The president has since asked his sports minister to stay on in South Africa to sort the mess out

Continue http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/europe/10370449.stm
Post by: Bourbon on June 21, 2010, 10:03:09 PM
I just want dem forfeit...and South Africa go get 3-0...and den mexico carve up Uruguay 4-0.

Post by: Deeks on June 21, 2010, 10:05:35 PM
I just want dem forfeit...and South Africa go get 3-0...and den mexico carve up Uruguay 4-0.

Don't underestimate Uragauay
Post by: weary1969 on June 21, 2010, 10:30:59 PM
To France with dem..and they could take the fellas from cross the channel with dem too :devil:

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: E-man on June 21, 2010, 10:32:40 PM

Mex and Uruguay could collude for a draw and both go through
Post by: weary1969 on June 21, 2010, 10:33:02 PM
I respect his opinion a lot.Desailly knows his stuff.

CO-SIGNNN
Post by: Bourbon on June 21, 2010, 10:47:53 PM

I not underestimating them. I know damn well dat hardly likely. Buh..once it have a chance for both Mexico and South Africa to go through..i hoping for it.
Post by: JDB on June 22, 2010, 03:33:05 AM
I don't know why Evra even take that captaincy wuk. I know it is an honour but he shoulda realize that getting appointed by Dmmmenech would give him problems with his team-mates. As it turns out his team-mates supporting him but he getting into all kinda drama that he doesn't need.

Apparently the trainer was the one who leak the story to L'equipe and Anelka was determined to find out who it was. Imagine you at a World CUp and you have to waste your time playing Inspector Clouseau, looking for moles and drafting statements and all that kinda shit.
Post by: spideybuff on June 22, 2010, 06:32:49 AM

Mex and Uruguay could collude for a draw and both go through

Nah, I think both would prefer to avoid Argentina and would be gunning for top spot
Title: Re: Anelka sent packing & other French news.
Post by: dinho on June 22, 2010, 07:06:41 AM
them fellas good yes..

all this drama at the day and at the end of the day like they forget they representing a whole country. What about the fan who take out he life savings to trek halfway across the planet to have to suffer through all this nonsense? It is a slap in the face of the nation.

not surprised from reading airman's article that the race element coming to the surface either.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 22, 2010, 07:13:13 AM

There is a real possibility that some of the players will refuse to play.

Beleaguered France coach Raymond Domenech admitted on Monday night that he fears some of his mutinous team may refuse to play in their final Group A game against South Africa on Tuesday.

As the 2006 finalists’ embarrassing World Cup campaign went from bad to worse on Monday, there was a suggestion in France that captain Patrice Evra may be considering his stance ahead of the game at the Free State Stadium.

Asked if some players would refuse to play, Domenech said: ‘It is a possibility.’

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/06/21/article-0-0A2160B0000005DC-4_468x215.jpg)

Evra was thought to have been one of the ringleaders when Domenech’s players refused to train on Sunday in protest at the French Football Federation’s decision to send home Nicolas Anelka in the wake of the 2-0 defeat to Mexico.

Other players known to have endorsed the striker are William Gallas, Thierry Henry, Eric Abidal and Franck Ribery.

The French trained as planned on Monday ahead of a game they must win well if they are to have any chance of qualifying for the next stage.

Domenech said: ‘To say the least, this game has been difficult to prepare for.

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/06/21/article-0-0A216DC3000005DC-493_468x444.jpg)

‘On Sunday I tried to convince the players of the unprecedented stupidity of what they were about to do. I completely support the expulsion of Nicolas Anelka.’

In another blow to France, two major sponsors have pulled out of deals with the FFF. The players trained without their sponsor’s name on their shirts.

Bank Credit Agricole cancelled its TV campaign while fast-food company Quick have stopped using an advertising film featuring Anelka.

Legend Zinedine Zidane, who is known to dislike Domenech, denied he had encouraged the strike.

He said: ‘Thinking I can call the players to put pressure on the coach four years after I have retired is serious.’

France president Nicolas Sarkozy sent sports minister Roselyne Bachelot to confront the players saying: ‘I told the players they had tarnished the image of France and they could no longer be heroes for our children.’

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2010/article-1288510/WORLD-CUP-2010-Raymond-Domenech-fears-French-squad-refuse-play-South-Africa.html#
Post by: Trinimassive on June 22, 2010, 07:18:24 AM
It go be interesting to see when EPL time how Evra tackle Anelka after all this.

If he go say yuh MuthaF yuh f&*Kup meh captaincy. Take Jammin  :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on June 22, 2010, 07:26:17 AM
I read the leaders of the discord are Henry, Gallas, Abydal, and Anelka. Apparently they will never be selected to play for France again.
Post by: Bourbon on June 22, 2010, 07:30:57 AM
I read the leaders of the discord are Henry, Gallas, Abydal, and Anelka. Apparently they will never be selected to play for France again.

Big surprise. Henry done. Gallas might as well. Anelka too. Abidal is de only player with time...buh...no real loss.

Sad ting is doh...dah all ah dem black.
Post by: Midknight on June 22, 2010, 07:36:25 AM

3 out of 4 ent bad. Henry nowhere there.
You need to add in Evra and Frank Ribery. Malouda's a maybe.
Post by: spideybuff on June 22, 2010, 09:02:41 AM
It go be interesting to see when EPL time how Evra tackle Anelka after all this.

Nah man...obviously Evra backing Anelka. I feel the coach say the team playing shite and blame Anelka and Anelka turn round and tell him "well what u expect me to do with the nonsense tactics and selection u choose?" And Domenech probly tell him he off and then he cuss d man. The players who all find Domenech is shite will understand Anelka frustration.
Post by: Dutty on June 22, 2010, 09:22:08 AM

I was wondering why ah fellah like Henry on de bench to start

Jeez what a long long fall from grace
Post by: Midknight on June 22, 2010, 09:26:49 AM

Nah man...obviously Evra backing Anelka. I feel the coach say the team playing shite and blame Anelka and Anelka turn round and tell him "well what u expect me to do with the nonsense tactics and selection u choose?" And Domenech probly tell him he off and then he cuss d man. The players who all find Domenech is shite will understand Anelka frustration.

One version of the story has him telling Domenech, "go f--- yourself, you and your shite tactics"

but I don't know how much of that is wish fulfillment and how much is truth.
Post by: Midknight on June 22, 2010, 09:28:01 AM

I was wondering why ah fellah like Henry on de bench to start

Jeez what a long long fall from grace

Henry on the bench because he's barely fit and can't play 90 minutes of high intensity football anymore, simply put.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 22, 2010, 10:16:02 AM
GOD DOH SLEEP AND HE DOH LIKE THIERRY "HAND OF GOD" HENRY!!!....

Go home cheaters!!!....you didn't deserve to be in this tournament!!!!
Post by: palos on June 22, 2010, 10:38:46 AM

De same way you take liberty to brand people cheaters...life have a funny way of playing cruel jokes. 

Careful dem words doh come back to bite yuh in dat delicious.... 8)
Post by: Trinimassive on June 22, 2010, 10:47:23 AM

Yeah buh on reflection ah feel he go think about it some more.

Personally ah like Anelka but the fella is one ah dem people that if he get mash in ah party. Watch out :devil: :devil:
Post by: Tallman on June 22, 2010, 10:53:31 AM

De same way you take liberty to brand people cheaters...life have a funny way of playing cruel jokes. 

Ah doh understand dat last sentence. Like yuh fuhget out ah word. What it is yuh relly want tuh say?
Post by: DeSoWa on June 22, 2010, 10:57:03 AM

Ah doh understand dat last sentence. Like yuh fuhget out ah word. What it is yuh relly want tuh say?

::)  :rotfl:

Speaking about God, Tallman ah think you does jus appear out of no where at just the right time, just when you are needed lol...ah sure somewhere in the General Section you are probably putting someone in dey place at this very moment  :)

Post by: Brownsugar on June 22, 2010, 11:52:22 AM

Eh heh....Do tell Palos..... :-\  :devil:
Post by: Dutty on June 22, 2010, 12:28:06 PM

and if yuh eh feelin articulate today...by all means post ah picture...in HHD
Post by: palos on June 22, 2010, 02:00:51 PM

Ah could post de pichures from Carnival Tuesday gettin on bad on de people dem protective services  8)
Post by: palos on June 22, 2010, 02:01:27 PM

Go ahead and play like you eh know  8)
Post by: Brownsugar on June 22, 2010, 05:20:44 PM

Ah could post de pichures from Carnival Tuesday gettin on bad on de people dem protective services  8)

sssshhhhh...what the hell wrong wid yuh??.... ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on June 23, 2010, 07:00:36 AM
France captain Patrice Evra has vowed to tell the French people the truth about what has happened this week, announcing he plans to hold a press conference in the coming days.

"I think this is not the time to give our accounts, but the time to apologise. This apology is for millions of French [people],” Evra told TF1.

“I wanted to do it yesterday but the coach [Raymond Domenech] would not let me,” continued Evra, possibly revealing the reason for his absence from yesterday’s press conference.

“I'll do a press conference this week. The French people need to know the truth because the team of France belongs to the French."

Evra, who informed Domenech that the team would not be training on Saturday following the exclusion of Nicolas Anelka, went on to confirm that the squad was unhappy with the treatment of their team-mate and that he will hold his press conference later this week.

“We were unhappy about the decision made for Nicolas Anelka, but you'll know everything very soon,” he said.

“I will detail everything in a press conference... You will know during the week.”

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2890/world-cup-2010/2010/06/22/1990001/world-cup-2010-france-captain-patrice-evra-vows-to-reveal
Post by: weary1969 on June 23, 2010, 08:07:02 AM
Stay tune 4 As the French Turns
Post by: Mr Fix-it on June 23, 2010, 08:28:58 AM
Stay tune 4 As the French Turns

Girl dis one is ah roti and ah red solo kinda news
Post by: spideybuff on June 23, 2010, 11:52:33 AM
Henry call Sarkozy for a meeting. When u big, u big. I sure Domenech can't do that.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 23, 2010, 11:57:26 AM
Henry call Sarkozy for a meeting. When u big, u big. I sure Domenech can't do that.
more than a game
Post by: dinho on June 23, 2010, 01:28:12 PM

Actually i think Sarkozy summoned Henry for a meeting to explain. big difference..

level bouf going and pass.
Post by: spideybuff on June 24, 2010, 07:37:14 AM
Article said Henry requested the meeting to explain the player side of things.

"Henry called the president from South Africa to tell him that he wanted to see him on his return," read a statement from the presidential palace. - BBC

"French media say that Henry flew home in his own chartered plane for a meeting with President Sarkozy."
Post by: fari on June 24, 2010, 09:33:06 AM
Racial Tinge Stains World Cup Exit in France
Franck Fife/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images

The French soccer team on Sunday before an aborted practice session in South Africa. Some in France have questioned the players' lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor.
By STEVEN ERLANGER
Published: June 23, 2010

PARIS — After France was booted from this year’s World Cup on Tuesday without winning a match — amid scenes of selfishness, indifference and indiscipline — the French news media piled on about the humiliation to the country and the misbehavior of its players. There were calls for a complete restructuring of the French team: its management, its method for choosing players, its training.

But there is a more troubling aspect to the reaction to the defeat, which has focused on lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor on a team with many members who are black or brown and descended from immigrants.

The philosopher Alain Finkielkraut, who has often criticized the failures of French assimilation, compared the players to youths rioting in the banlieues, France’s suburban ghettos. “We now have proof that the French team is not a team at all, but a gang of hooligans that knows only the morals of the mafia,” he said in a radio interview.

While most politicians have talked carefully of values and patriotism, rather than immigration and race, some legislators blasted the players as “scum,” “little troublemakers” and “guys with chickpeas in their heads instead of a brain,” according to news reports.

Fadela Amara, the junior minister for the racially charged suburbs who was born to Algerian parents, warned on Tuesday that the reaction to the team’s loss had become racially charged.

“There is a tendency to ethnicize what has happened,” she told a gathering of President Nicolas Sarkozy’s governing party, according to news reports. “Everyone condemns the lower-class neighborhoods. People doubt that those of immigrant backgrounds are capable of respecting the nation.”

She criticized Mr. Sarkozy’s handling of a debate on “national identity,” warning that “all democrats and all republicans will be lost” in this ethnically tinged criticism about Les Bleus, the French team. “We’re building a highway for the National Front,” she said, in a reference to the far-right, anti-immigrant, anti-Muslim party founded by Jean-Marie Le Pen.

Philippe Tétart, a sport historian at the Institut d’Études Politiques, said that the undercurrent of racism was “very unhealthy, but one of the predictable negative outcomes of the World Cup defeat.”

France is confused about its identity and uncomfortable with the growing numbers and sometimes the attitudes of its immigrants and their children, he said. “What is certain is that we are going through in France questions of disobedience, of incivility, of loss of bearings, and this group of irritated young kids is an excessive reflection of those questions.”

In 1998, the French team that won the World Cup was widely praised for its multiethnic nature — black, white and Arab, and seen as a symbol of a more diverse nation. But today, Mr. Tétart said, the talk is the opposite.

Today’s players, he said, “come from a generation who come from the banlieues, and they don’t necessarily have the cultural background to understand what they did.”

Luc Chatel, the education minister, said on television Wednesday that he was “terribly angry” and shocked that Raymond Domenech, the team’s coach, who is blamed for some of the team’s disunity and apologized to the nation for the failures, refused to shake hands with the South African manager after the team’s final game.

“But I’m going to go farther,” he added. “A captain of the French team who does not sing ‘The Marseillaise,’ ” the national anthem, “shocks me, there it is. When one wears the jersey, one should be proud to wear the colors, you’re an example.”

He was speaking of Patrice Evra, who was born in Senegal and who found himself caught between players and managers as the team refused to practice after another black player, Nicolas Anelka, swore at Mr. Domenech and was removed from the team.

Mr. Sarkozy himself called a meeting on the disastrous result on Wednesday, summoning Prime Minister François Fillon, Sports Minister Roselyne Bachelot and Rama Yade, the junior sports minister. In a statement, he said he had ordered them “to rapidly draw the lessons of this disaster.”

The racial makeup of the French team has long been an issue on the far right, even in a country where all the French are “citizens” and are supposed to have equal rights. Of the 22-man squad, 13 are men of color, with two born in French territories.

This month, Marine Le Pen, the vice president of the National Front and daughter of its founder, said that she did not see herself in the makeup of the team, whose players behaved as individuals, not as a team, and who were “fighting for advertising contracts more than for their country.”

“Most of these guys,” she added, “consider at one moment that they represent France at the World Cup, and at another they are a part of another nation or have another nationality in their heart.”

In her contempt, which carefully did not mention the factors of race and ethnicity but implied them, she was echoing her father, who in June 2006 criticized the team for containing too many nonwhite players and failing to accurately reflect society. He also went on to scold players for not singing “La Marseillaise,” saying they were not French.

On Tuesday, Mr. Le Pen said that “the myth of antiracism is a sacred myth in France.” He added, apparently with no irony, that he hated politicians who turned the national soccer team into “a flag of antiracism instead of sport.”

Now, the language of Mr. Chatel, the education minister, resonates with the themes of the Le Pens. That reflects, critics say, the general effort of Mr. Sarkozy and his party, over the last few years, to weaken the far right by playing on the same themes of patriotism, nationhood and identity.
Post by: soccerman on June 24, 2010, 10:19:15 AM
Now these people blaming their failure on race? ???
Post by: Brownsugar on June 24, 2010, 10:25:47 AM
Well, well, well. It's the black man's fault now.....my how times have changed.... ::)
Post by: Socafan on June 24, 2010, 10:36:47 AM
Racial Tinge Stains World Cup Exit in France
Franck Fife/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images

The French soccer team on Sunday before an aborted practice session in South Africa. Some in France have questioned the players' lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor.
By STEVEN ERLANGER
Published: June 23, 2010

PARIS — After France was booted from this year’s World Cup on Tuesday without winning a match — amid scenes of selfishness, indifference and indiscipline — the French news media piled on about the humiliation to the country and the misbehavior of its players. There were calls for a complete restructuring of the French team: its management, its method for choosing players, its training.

But there is a more troubling aspect to the reaction to the defeat, which has focused on lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor on a team with many members who are black or brown and descended from immigrants.

The philosopher Alain Finkielkraut, who has often criticized the failures of French assimilation, compared the players to youths rioting in the banlieues, France’s suburban ghettos. “We now have proof that the French team is not a team at all, but a gang of hooligans that knows only the morals of the mafia,” he said in a radio interview.

While most politicians have talked carefully of values and patriotism, rather than immigration and race, some legislators blasted the players as “scum,” “little troublemakers” and “guys with chickpeas in their heads instead of a brain,” according to news reports.

Fadela Amara, the junior minister for the racially charged suburbs who was born to Algerian parents, warned on Tuesday that the reaction to the team’s loss had become racially charged.

“There is a tendency to ethnicize what has happened,” she told a gathering of President Nicolas Sarkozy’s governing party, according to news reports. “Everyone condemns the lower-class neighborhoods. People doubt that those of immigrant backgrounds are capable of respecting the nation.”

She criticized Mr. Sarkozy’s handling of a debate on “national identity,” warning that “all democrats and all republicans will be lost” in this ethnically tinged criticism about Les Bleus, the French team. “We’re building a highway for the National Front,” she said, in a reference to the far-right, anti-immigrant, anti-Muslim party founded by Jean-Marie Le Pen.

Philippe Tétart, a sport historian at the Institut d’Études Politiques, said that the undercurrent of racism was “very unhealthy, but one of the predictable negative outcomes of the World Cup defeat.”

France is confused about its identity and uncomfortable with the growing numbers and sometimes the attitudes of its immigrants and their children, he said. “What is certain is that we are going through in France questions of disobedience, of incivility, of loss of bearings, and this group of irritated young kids is an excessive reflection of those questions.”

In 1998, the French team that won the World Cup was widely praised for its multiethnic nature — black, white and Arab, and seen as a symbol of a more diverse nation. But today, Mr. Tétart said, the talk is the opposite.

Today’s players, he said, “come from a generation who come from the banlieues, and they don’t necessarily have the cultural background to understand what they did.”

Luc Chatel, the education minister, said on television Wednesday that he was “terribly angry” and shocked that Raymond Domenech, the team’s coach, who is blamed for some of the team’s disunity and apologized to the nation for the failures, refused to shake hands with the South African manager after the team’s final game.

“But I’m going to go farther,” he added. “A captain of the French team who does not sing ‘The Marseillaise,’ ” the national anthem, “shocks me, there it is. When one wears the jersey, one should be proud to wear the colors, you’re an example.”

He was speaking of Patrice Evra, who was born in Senegal and who found himself caught between players and managers as the team refused to practice after another black player, Nicolas Anelka, swore at Mr. Domenech and was removed from the team.

Mr. Sarkozy himself called a meeting on the disastrous result on Wednesday, summoning Prime Minister François Fillon, Sports Minister Roselyne Bachelot and Rama Yade, the junior sports minister. In a statement, he said he had ordered them “to rapidly draw the lessons of this disaster.”

The racial makeup of the French team has long been an issue on the far right, even in a country where all the French are “citizens” and are supposed to have equal rights. Of the 22-man squad, 13 are men of color, with two born in French territories.

This month, Marine Le Pen, the vice president of the National Front and daughter of its founder, said that she did not see herself in the makeup of the team, whose players behaved as individuals, not as a team, and who were “fighting for advertising contracts more than for their country.”

“Most of these guys,” she added, “consider at one moment that they represent France at the World Cup, and at another they are a part of another nation or have another nationality in their heart.”

In her contempt, which carefully did not mention the factors of race and ethnicity but implied them, she was echoing her father, who in June 2006 criticized the team for containing too many nonwhite players and failing to accurately reflect society. He also went on to scold players for not singing “La Marseillaise,” saying they were not French.

On Tuesday, Mr. Le Pen said that “the myth of antiracism is a sacred myth in France.” He added, apparently with no irony, that he hated politicians who turned the national soccer team into “a flag of antiracism instead of sport.”

Now, the language of Mr. Chatel, the education minister, resonates with the themes of the Le Pens. That reflects, critics say, the general effort of Mr. Sarkozy and his party, over the last few years, to weaken the far right by playing on the same themes of patriotism, nationhood and identity.

More lessons from the greed and hypocrisy of colonialism. Yes you do reap what you sow.
Post by: dwolfman on June 24, 2010, 11:07:25 AM
Domenech refusing to shake Parreira's hand after the Fra-RSA match.

http://www.youtube.com/v/EDrq1SM9f_o

I love the Englishman's quote: so the World Cup ended up like World War II... French surrender pathetically early, Americans come in last minute to steal the glory an we are left to fight off the Germans!
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2010, 11:29:39 AM
not surprised at all that they woulda pin this one on the black man, it was only a matter of the time. What all ah dem want to say, but won't say in clear terms is them black men come on the team and causing trouble and shaming we country. steups..

Like they forget Zidane black too.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 24, 2010, 11:38:04 AM
Arrogant Frenchmen !
Post by: Dutty on June 24, 2010, 11:52:01 AM
not surprised at all that they woulda pin this one on the black man, it was only a matter of the time. What all ah dem want to say, but won't say in clear terms is them black men come on the team and causing trouble and shaming we country. steups..

but dais exactly what conservatives sayin in de french papers...dem eh holin water on dey tongue

ah tort yuh say zidane an dem is "designer" blacks :D
Post by: dinho on June 24, 2010, 11:53:58 AM

but dais exactly what conservatives sayin in de french papers...dem eh holin water on dey tongue

designer 'african'.. ah mean at de end of de day what tribe he from?? steups  :D
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 12:39:02 PM
Henry and co could always say dey eh running underage hoes like d caucasian counterparts.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 24, 2010, 12:49:12 PM
It finally came to a head; because I remembered a few years ago there were rumblings about the french team being to black.
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 12:51:47 PM
It finally came to a head; because I remembered a few years ago there were rumblings about the french team being to black.

CO-SIGN dey was only being PC B4
Post by: Trinimassive on June 24, 2010, 01:16:02 PM
Henry and co could always say dey eh running underage hoes like d caucasian counterparts.

Like you would say

ENTTTTTTTTTT  :devil:
Post by: Midknight on June 24, 2010, 03:48:19 PM

The hoe business was very equal opportunity if I remember well.

You had Ribery (white) Benzema (Arab) and Govou (black) all involved in it...

I don't really want to get too much into the race debate in France, but I could guarantee you one thing:

Nowhere in France is Zidane considered a "black" man. Descendants of Arab immigrants have their own category "Beur", and they (and no white man, or black man for that matter) will ever get themselves in trouble by calling them Black.

As smart Alec as dinho was being with his "designer Africans" crack, he was much closer to the mark than you'd believe.

If I read well, one of the minor controversies surrounding Domenech's selection was how by leaving out Benzema, Nasri and Ben Arfa, he had coincidentally eliminated the Beur element from the Black, Blanc, Beur equation that had done so well for them in both 98-00 and 06.
Post by: Midknight on June 24, 2010, 03:52:34 PM

designer 'african'.. ah mean at de end of de day what tribe he from?? steups  :D

Kabyle essentially
Post by: palos on June 24, 2010, 04:06:11 PM
Nowhere in France is Zidane considered a "black" man. Descendants of Arab immigrants have their own category "Beur", and they (and no white man, or black man for that matter) will ever get themselves in trouble by calling them Black.

As smart Alec as dinho was being with his "designer Africans" crack, he was much closer to the mark than you'd believe.

If I read well, one of the minor controversies surrounding Domenech's selection was how by leaving out Benzema, Nasri and Ben Arfa, he had coincidentally eliminated the Beur element from the Black, Blanc, Beur equation that had done so well for them in both 98-00 and 06.

It would be interesting to find out what the literal translation of "Beur" is in English.

Googled it....

Who are les Beurs?
The 1980s then saw the emergence then of la génération Beur, a generation of young men and women with their own specific cultural identity at once different from that of their North African parents and from that of their peers of European descent. The term Beur expresses a bi-cultural identity experienced as either plenitude - both Arab and French and belonging to both cultures - or as alienation neither French nor Arab and belonging fully to neither culture. I shall return to this idea later.

The term Beur itself does, in fact, mean Arabe and is an example of a form of slang known as le verlan. Le verlan is based on inversion of the letters of a word or of its syllables. For example the word femme becomes would become meuf and the word café would become féca and so on.

The Beurs are children of North African immigrants (primarily Algerian but also Tunisian and Moroccan) who were born in France or who have spent most of their life in France. Many, if not the majority, are the children or even grandchildren of the North African immigrants who settled in France during the economic boom years of les trente glorieuses. The term Beur then, designates a second- or third-generation Maghrebian. By dint of being born on French soil or by a colonial situation which recognized Algeria as part of France, Beurs hold French nationality (people born before 1962 were not automatically accorded French nationality but had to request it). More important still, they have been educated within the French school system, the main agent of assimilation since the early days of the Third Republic (1870-1940) where boys and girls traditionally `learnt' to become French men and women.

The term Beur does signify a crucial difference, serving to stress the gap between a younger generation born in France of North African origin and their parents. This cultural difference or separation from culture of the parents is a defining characteristic of the Beur generation as the following extract from Leïla Sebbar's novel Parle mon fils parle à ta mère suggests:

Je sais pas pourquoi ils disent Radio Beur, pourquoi ça beur, c'est le beurre des Français qu'on mange sur le pain? Je comprends pas. Pour la couleur? Ils sont pas comme ça, c'est pas la couleur des Arabes ... Les jeunes savent, moi je ne sais pas, j'ose pas demander ... Peut-être c'est le Pays ... El Ber, chez nous en arabe ça veut dire le pays tu le sais, mon fils, c'est ça ou non? - Le fils apprit à la mère que le mot Beur avait été fabriqué à partir du mot Arabe, à l'envers. Il eut du mal à la convaincre que Arabe à l'envers, en partant de la dernière syllabe, donnait Beur; où étaient passés les a, on ne les entendait plus alors qu'il y en avait deux ... Le fils ajouta que Beur n'avait rien à voir avec le mot pays. On disait aussi Rebeu pour Arabe ... là il n'y avait plus de a et à l'envers, on obtenait facilement Beur. Elle ne croyait pas qu'on retrouvait pas le pays dans Beur ...
Leïla Sebbar, Parle mon fils parle à ta mère (pp.27-28)

FULL ARTICLE (http://seacoast.sunderland.ac.uk/~os0tmc/contemp1/beur.htm)

Interesting stuff.
Post by: weary1969 on June 24, 2010, 08:48:57 PM

The hoe business was very equal opportunity if I remember well.

You had Ribery (white) Benzema (Arab) and Govou (black) all involved in it...

I don't really want to get too much into the race debate in France, but I could guarantee you one thing:

Ribery was d poster boi 4 d scandal.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 26, 2010, 11:06:52 AM
Fri Jun 25 03:53pm EDT

The root of France's problems: hatred of Yoann Gourcuff

By Brooks Peck

After weeks of rumors and a stupendous crash and burn effort in their short World Cup stay, it seems France's problems can be drilled down to the rampant jealousy and ill-will for one man -- Yoann Gourcuff.

Through no fault of his own, the 23-year-old former Ligue 1 player of the year and French Player of the Year, apparently became the main source of division within the squad that would spiral completely out of control in just a matter of days. Senior members of the team like Nicolas Anelka, Franck Ribery, Eric Abidal and William Gallas, who grew up much less well-off than the son of French club Lorient's manager, tried to make Yoann an outcast and destroyed their team in the process. The, ahem, Irish Times explains:

It is no coincidence these are the players who have frozen Gourcuff out in South Africa. They resent the way the French press builds Gourcuff up as Zinedine Zidane’s successor. They envy the positive attention he receives from the media. They regard him as arrogant and pretentious because he reads books and expresses himself eloquently when analysing a game.

Raymond Domenech wanted to build his attack around the 2008/09 French Player of the Year, but several senior players objected, pressurising the coach to restore Henry or Florent Malouda to the line-up. In the opening game against Uruguay, Anelka and Ribery made their stance abundantly clear by refusing to pass to Gourcuff. [...]

Yet Domenech did not feel he had the authority to sanction them, and instead dropped Gourcuff for the second game against Mexico.

Reports of Anelka and Ribery refusing to pass to Gourcuff first leaked out after that match against Uruguay but seemed far too unbelievable to give any thought. What top professionals would sabotage themselves by letting petty infighting and jealousies get it in the way of who they pass to on the pitch? Of course, these rational thoughts came before training sessions were boycotted and traitors were accused. 

So when you shake your head and wag your finger or unleash a hearty laugh in the direction of this French team, be sure aim away from Yoann Gourcuff. Even though his red card in their final match against South Africa failed to help an already doomed cause. 

Photo: Reuters

Yahoo Sports-
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2010, 11:10:50 AM
With the s**t Gorgouff was playing, I wouldn't have passed to him either.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 26, 2010, 11:15:57 AM
The stage they are at right now.. they only have 3 mins to hold on to it then evacuate what's left in de hole, What total mess of that team
Post by: Observer on June 26, 2010, 12:11:17 PM

Maybe you just got a potential reason for him playing poorly. Just from an outsider point of view, Gallas seems to me to be poison. Almost always something with him, at Chelsea, Arsenal (against Kolo, Van persie and Nasri), now with the French team mates.
Post by: weary1969 on June 26, 2010, 12:40:02 PM

Maybe you just got a potential reason for him playing poorly. Just from an outsider point of view, Gallas seems to me to be poison. Almost always something with him, at Chelsea, Arsenal (against Kolo, Van persie and Nasri), now with the French team mates.

Doh insult poison
Post by: Trinimassive on June 26, 2010, 01:19:22 PM

I wouldn't say the man poison though. Some people could take sh*t and some can't. He seems to be one who just don't take it. There was a reason he was made Captain at Arsenal (same way he was removed lol) but he stand up for what he believe. Cyah fault him for that. At Arsenal Bendtner been known to walk around like he is royalty (apparently he dating royalty) and refuses to take off he shoes like everybody does when told to, Adebayor say rightly that he disrespectful cause nobody else at the club does that and was gonna make him do it. Arsenal decide to get rid of Adebayor.                 

That fella Gourcuff seem to be the real problem. When yuh ah rookie on ah team yuh show yuh respect, the fella seem to not have to grow up showing certain people respect so he wasn't about to start and I don't think it's jealousy because Ribery was at one time touted as possible heir apparent to Zidane in the last World Cup but he didn't get the backlash that fella getting cause he work he way up in the team ranking.

Ah lot ah times the so called trouble makers like Anelka and Gallas get the blame fuh stuff but by people like them standing up for stuff is why change happen even if the "trouble makers" doh benefit from it.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 26, 2010, 01:31:17 PM
I wonder if this is the racism that has been referred to? I was reading somewhere where Henry was even saying that karma hit the side because of the handball!
Post by: elan on June 26, 2010, 01:47:23 PM
FIFA warn the French Governement not to dismiss or careful how they ineterfere.
Post by: Midknight on June 26, 2010, 05:41:43 PM

I wouldn't say the man poison though. Some people could take sh*t and some can't. He seems to be one who just don't take it. There was a reason he was made Captain at Arsenal (same way he was removed lol) but he stand up for what he believe. Cyah fault him for that. At Arsenal Bendtner been known to walk around like he is royalty (apparently he dating royalty) and refuses to take off he shoes like everybody does when told to, Adebayor say rightly that he disrespectful cause nobody else at the club does that and was gonna make him do it. Arsenal decide to get rid of Adebayor.                 

That fella Gourcuff seem to be the real problem. When yuh ah rookie on ah team yuh show yuh respect, the fella seem to not have to grow up showing certain people respect so he wasn't about to start and I don't think it's jealousy because Ribery was at one time touted as possible heir apparent to Zidane in the last World Cup but he didn't get the backlash that fella getting cause he work he way up in the team ranking.

Ah lot ah times the so called trouble makers like Anelka and Gallas get the blame fuh stuff but by people like them standing up for stuff is why change happen even if the "trouble makers" doh benefit from it.

I don't agree with your take on Ribery because, he wasn't called up to the French squad until very late (i think he made his debut in the last warm up match before the World Cup), as he was engaged in the middle of a campaign with the Under 21s. To say that he worked his way up the ranking and Gourcuff didn't is totally skewed, considering that Gourcuff played the entire qualification campaign for his World Cup.

Not sure where you got from the article that Gourcuff didn't show respect where it was due, but if you getting it from outside sources, I have those too.

Fact of the matter, Gourcuff comes from a completely different social background than most of the "leaders" on the French team, and that's where the problem lies.

I've heard him speak, and he's never come across arrogant or dismissive, both of which all of Ribery, Anelka and Gallas have been at some point or another. Unlike those three, when he speaks he actually shows a capacity to analyse games and doesn't deal in banalities like "we weren't strong enough blah blah blah.

Ribery on the other hand is the class clown who pulls pranks and makes joked behind the coaches' back etc. Also, if intelligence was his strong point, we would know about it by now.

More importantly, all of the three "trouble makers " mentioned have antecedents in one form or another. For most of the qualification campaign where he was fit to play, Ribery refused to play on the side of the field that he was requested to, and even engaged in a public dispute with his captain (Henry) when he came on as he wanted Henry's side.

Anelka was a basket case long before his fallout with Domenech, and that can be seen how quickly clubs were willing to ship him out, and in his failure at Real Madrid (where he was suspended for refusing to train incidentally)

Gallas displayed his "motivational skills" as recently as season before last at Arsenal when he was relieved of the captaincy after throwing a tantrum in the middle of the penalty area.

That said, Gourcuff's form dropped drastically since the french league came off the winter break in January, and this was one of the main reasons for Bordeaux throwing away a 13 point lead to not even making the Uefa Cup.
I think where Domenech fouled it up was by maintaining him as an automatic starter through thick and think. That would have definitely cemented his "teacher's pet" reputation among the others...
Post by: Trinimassive on June 26, 2010, 07:53:46 PM

I don't agree with your take on Ribery because, he wasn't called up to the French squad until very late (i think he made his debut in the last warm up match before the World Cup), as he was engaged in the middle of a campaign with the Under 21s. To say that he worked his way up the ranking and Gourcuff didn't is totally skewed, considering that Gourcuff played the entire qualification campaign for his World Cup.

Not sure where you got from the article that Gourcuff didn't show respect where it was due, but if you getting it from outside sources, I have those too.

Fact of the matter, Gourcuff comes from a completely different social background than most of the "leaders" on the French team, and that's where the problem lies.

I've heard him speak, and he's never come across arrogant or dismissive, both of which all of Ribery, Anelka and Gallas have been at some point or another. Unlike those three, when he speaks he actually shows a capacity to analyse games and doesn't deal in banalities like "we weren't strong enough blah blah blah.

Ribery on the other hand is the class clown who pulls pranks and makes joked behind the coaches' back etc. Also, if intelligence was his strong point, we would know about it by now.

More importantly, all of the three "trouble makers " mentioned have antecedents in one form or another. For most of the qualification campaign where he was fit to play, Ribery refused to play on the side of the field that he was requested to, and even engaged in a public dispute with his captain (Henry) when he came on as he wanted Henry's side.

Anelka was a basket case long before his fallout with Domenech, and that can be seen how quickly clubs were willing to ship him out, and in his failure at Real Madrid (where he was suspended for refusing to train incidentally)

Gallas displayed his "motivational skills" as recently as season before last at Arsenal when he was relieved of the captaincy after throwing a tantrum in the middle of the penalty area.

That said, Gourcuff's form dropped drastically since the french league came off the winter break in January, and this was one of the main reasons for Bordeaux throwing away a 13 point lead to not even making the Uefa Cup.
I think where Domenech fouled it up was by maintaining him as an automatic starter through thick and think. That would have definitely cemented his "teacher's pet" reputation among the others...

I'm sure you do know this was Ribery's 2nd World Cup. He was there in 2006 and actually had a good tournament which is why they were saying he was going to be the heir to Zidane (Well that was during the World Cup anyway especially after he scored that first goal (against Spain I believe).

So that is why I say he worked his way through the team. He been there for a while and was pretty much close to the same age as Gourcuff is now. So none of them were "jealous" when he was compared to Zidane then so it I don't see it as that logically. Those three just speak up and don't take sh*t doesn't make them wrong.

It happen in many sports. In the NBA Kobe was ah asshole everybody know that, he compared or sorry, he tell he self and others he better than Jordan. Doesn't make him a bad player but he did help to get Shaq shipped out. Destabalize the team for a while now it's "HIS" team. That fella coulda been doing the same thing I don't doubt it.

Don't think it only have to do with how well he speaks...Kobe don't only speak well but he also speak fluent Italian. (By the way I do think Kobe is a great player but he's every bit what they say about him)
Post by: Midknight on June 26, 2010, 11:07:03 PM

I'm sure you do know this was Ribery's 2nd World Cup. He was there in 2006 and actually had a good tournament which is why they were saying he was going to be the heir to Zidane (Well that was during the World Cup anyway especially after he scored that first goal (against Spain I believe).

So that is why I say he worked his way through the team. He been there for a while and was pretty much close to the same age as Gourcuff is now. So none of them were "jealous" when he was compared to Zidane then so it I don't see it as that logically. Those three just speak up and don't take sh*t doesn't make them wrong.

The part that I bolded was referring to WC06, so yea I'm aware this is Ribery's 2nd Cup. What i was getting at is that he hadn't worked his way through the team to earn his "Zidane successor" tag, (which came even before the WC was finished) simply because he was parachuted into the team at the last moment.
In other words, I think Gourcuff did a lot more to "go through the ranks of the team" before earning his "next Zidane" label, than Ribery ever did.

The rest might be true, but I was just giving my (what i consider to be) informed take on the subject.

I'll definitely take your word on Kobe, I haven't watched baskeball since Jordan retired the second time. :/
Post by: Observer on June 27, 2010, 08:05:03 AM
This France team was a disaster before Goucruff was even a big part of it, that is all shit talk.

In Euro 2008 they finished dead last in their group (out in the group stage). They had all dem same men except Gourcruff. They eh win a dam game, scoring only one goal.
Ribery, Henry, Gouvou Anelka, Makelele, Gallas all of them. Ribery had a good WC in 2006, but has been very poor for France since.
People use to say Henry could not play with Zidane. So Zidane retire and France was struggling, they beg him to come back and France rise again. He retired so the team should have gone to the new leaders and none of them showed they had the quality to step up. Gallas and them using Goucruff as an is just looking to blame a young player for everything that is wrong with France.
Post by: Richard G. on June 27, 2010, 08:30:13 AM
FIFA warn the French Governement not to dismiss or careful how they ineterfere.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/5330696/ce/us/france-watch-barred-government-action?cc=5901&ver=us

FIFA watching France for interferenceEmail Print Associated Press

JOHANNESBURG -- FIFA is monitoring the fallout in France over Les Bleus' World Cup failure, warning that it won't hesitate to suspend the 1998 champions if it discovers government interference with the team.

France President Nicolas Sarkozy has vowed to personally investigate the squad's meltdown, and met with Prime Minister Francois Fillon and Sports Minister Roselyne Bachelot on Wednesday to discuss ways to reform French soccer.

France was eliminated from the first round of the tournament after going on strike, failing to win a match and having striker Nicolas Anelka thrown off the squad for insulting the coach.

France's team page
For more about Les Bleus and their chances in South Africa this summer, click here.
FIFA statutes prohibit governments from interfering with the independence of FIFA members.

Iraq was suspended for such interference in 2008 and FIFA secretary general Jerome Valcke, who is French, said Saturday that there's "no reason to have a different approach for a European country."

Valcke said he had already spoken with Bachelot over the matter.

"I told them to be very careful, because every time there is interference FIFA will react like any country," Valcke said. "We will definitely look at what France is doing, and that's not just because I am French.

"No [government official] can ask for someone to resign. There is a system in place to run football around the world and that system is under FIFA. We are always warning people about how this pyramid is working. I hope to avoid having to send an interference letter for this situation."

In FIFA's official rule book, Article 13.1.(g) states that national federations are obliged "to manage their affairs independently and ensure that their own affairs are not influenced by any third parties."

At its 2009 congress in the Bahamas, FIFA members agreed to take a tougher stance against federations whose work was interfered with by third parties -- namely "politicians, governments, states, media, etc."

FIFA agreed then that federations should be punished even if they were not at fault for the third-party interference.

Greece was European champion when it was suspended from world soccer for several days in 2006 because its parliament tried to change a law regulating professional sports organizations.

Spain was threatened with expulsion just weeks before Euro 2008 because the incoming national government wanted sports federations to hold elections before the Beijing Olympics later that year.

Iraq was suspended for several days in May 2008 after its government disbanded all national sports bodies. The dispute threatened Iraq's place in the World Cup, and was resolved three days before it was scheduled to play a qualifier against Australia.

When countries are suspended, national and club teams plus referees cannot take part in international matches and officials are barred from attending soccer meetings.

A suspension would affect France's preparations to organize the 2016 European Championship. It was awarded the hosting rights last month by UEFA.

If FIFA makes this statement, shouldn't Jack Warner be relieved of his duties as FIFA Vice President instead of accepting a 'less influential' status within FIFA? Sounds like double speak to me.

Enjoy de day.
Richard G.
Post by: Tallman on July 01, 2010, 04:13:46 PM
Anelka brother sent packing too
http://www.ac-stlouis.com/?q=node/111