Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 05:55:04 AM

Title: Brazil v Côte d'Ivoire
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 05:55:04 AM
Like allyuh forget dis game is today. I shamelessly banditing dis from somewhere else.

(http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/492/brazilcotedivoire.png)
(http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/1180/brazilcotedivoiresquads.png)

Brazil-Côte d’Ivoire preview

Throughout their glittering FIFA World Cup™ history, Brazil have never lost to a team from outside South America or Europe, a record they will put to the test against Côte d'Ivoire in Johannesburg on Sunday evening. Victory for Dunga's side will secure them a place in the next round, but with Didier Drogba having recovered from his elbow injury, achieving that will be easier said than done. After drawing 0-0 with Portugal in their Group G opener, the Elephants can ill afford to lose.

The match
Brazil-Côte d’Ivoire, Group G, Soccer City, Johannesburg, Sunday 20 June, 20.30

Much vaunted for their attacking firepower, Brazil and Côte d’Ivoire were both involved in largely low-key opening games. Brazil spent most of their meeting with Korea DPR trying to find their way through the well-drilled Chollima defence, while the Ivorians were frustrated by Portugal in a match in which the defences held sway throughout. Having worked off their debut nerves, however, and with the Round of 16 beckoning, the two sides ought to serve up an entertaining encounter. With the likes of Drogba, Luis Fabiano, Salomon Kalou and Robinho on duty, another defensive spectacle is unlikely.

Players to watch
Lucio v Didier Drogba

The Elephants' centre-forward had an excellent season with club side Chelsea, playing a leading role in their English Premier League and FA Cup double success by hitting a total of 44 goals in 52 games. The only blemish on the Blues' season came when they were eliminated by Inter Milan in the last 16 of the UEFA Champions League. That tie featured a fascinating duel between the inspirational Drogba and Inter bulwark Lucio, one that was edged by the Brazilian and that will be renewed on Sunday night. Inter's 3-1 aggregate win was one of the high points of their run to the continental club title but. having enjoyed a late run-out against the Portuguese, Drogba will be relishing the chance to exact revenge.

The stat
6 - The number of consecutive wins that Brazil have strung together, just one short of Argentina's current run of seven straight victories. The last time they failed to win was in October 2009 when, having already secured qualification, they fielded a weakened side in a qualifier against Bolivia and lost 2-1. Prior to that match, Dunga's charges had won 11 on the trot.

What they said
"Côte d'Ivoire are physically very strong but I think the fact they drew their first game will work in our favour. They need to go out and get a result and it will be a totally different game to our opening match against Korea DPR, who just wanted to defend and hit on the counter. I think Côte d’Ivoire will come out and play more," Julio Cesar, Brazil goalkeeper.

"I have a lot of respect for Brazil. They are one of the best teams in the world without question, but I'm not scared of them. I have some top-class players who bear comparison with any team in the world. Discipline and cohesion will be vital. That's the way to beat Brazil," Sven-Goran Eriksson, Côte d’Ivoire coach.

Voice of the fans
"Côte d’Ivoire have their strengths and they're a team with plenty of pedigree. Even though Drogba isn't fully fit, they'll have their chances. I'm banking on them. May the best team win," RasLeo, FIFA.com user.

Have your say
Can Brazil book their place in the next round at the expense of the Ivorians?

Source: FIFA.com (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061488/preview.html)

Title: Re: Brazil v Côte d'Ivoire
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 05:55:47 AM
Perfect game for Fathers Day.

Last few times Drogba and Lucio met....Drogba had to call Lucio Daddy. I wonder if he walked with a card for him?

Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 06:04:47 AM

Last few times Drogba and Lucio met....Drogba had to call Lucio Daddy. I wonder if he walked with a card for him?

Allyuh men doh bite nice boy!
Post by: boss on June 20, 2010, 06:22:43 AM

BOOM!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :beermug:
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 06:28:25 AM
Like allyuh forget dis game is today. I shamelessly banditing dis from somewhere else.

(http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/492/brazilcotedivoire.png)
(http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/1180/brazilcotedivoiresquads.png)

Brazil-Côte d’Ivoire preview

Throughout their glittering FIFA World Cup™ history, Brazil have never lost to a team from outside South America or Europe, a record they will put to the test against Côte d'Ivoire in Johannesburg on Sunday evening. Victory for Dunga's side will secure them a place in the next round, but with Didier Drogba having recovered from his elbow injury, achieving that will be easier said than done. After drawing 0-0 with Portugal in their Group G opener, the Elephants can ill afford to lose.

The match
Brazil-Côte d’Ivoire, Group G, Soccer City, Johannesburg, Sunday 20 June, 20.30

Much vaunted for their attacking firepower, Brazil and Côte d’Ivoire were both involved in largely low-key opening games. Brazil spent most of their meeting with Korea DPR trying to find their way through the well-drilled Chollima defence, while the Ivorians were frustrated by Portugal in a match in which the defences held sway throughout. Having worked off their debut nerves, however, and with the Round of 16 beckoning, the two sides ought to serve up an entertaining encounter. With the likes of Drogba, Luis Fabiano, Salomon Kalou and Robinho on duty, another defensive spectacle is unlikely.

Players to watch
Lucio v Didier Drogba

The Elephants' centre-forward had an excellent season with club side Chelsea, playing a leading role in their English Premier League and FA Cup double success by hitting a total of 44 goals in 52 games. The only blemish on the Blues' season came when they were eliminated by Inter Milan in the last 16 of the UEFA Champions League. That tie featured a fascinating duel between the inspirational Drogba and Inter bulwark Lucio, one that was edged by the Brazilian and that will be renewed on Sunday night. Inter's 3-1 aggregate win was one of the high points of their run to the continental club title but. having enjoyed a late run-out against the Portuguese, Drogba will be relishing the chance to exact revenge.

The stat
6 - The number of consecutive wins that Brazil have strung together, just one short of Argentina's current run of seven straight victories. The last time they failed to win was in October 2009 when, having already secured qualification, they fielded a weakened side in a qualifier against Bolivia and lost 2-1. Prior to that match, Dunga's charges had won 11 on the trot.

What they said
"Côte d'Ivoire are physically very strong but I think the fact they drew their first game will work in our favour. They need to go out and get a result and it will be a totally different game to our opening match against Korea DPR, who just wanted to defend and hit on the counter. I think Côte d’Ivoire will come out and play more," Julio Cesar, Brazil goalkeeper.

"I have a lot of respect for Brazil. They are one of the best teams in the world without question, but I'm not scared of them. I have some top-class players who bear comparison with any team in the world. Discipline and cohesion will be vital. That's the way to beat Brazil," Sven-Goran Eriksson, Côte d’Ivoire coach.

Voice of the fans
"Côte d’Ivoire have their strengths and they're a team with plenty of pedigree. Even though Drogba isn't fully fit, they'll have their chances. I'm banking on them. May the best team win," RasLeo, FIFA.com user.

Have your say
Can Brazil book their place in the next round at the expense of the Ivorians?

Source: FIFA.com (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061488/preview.html)

is only FIFA, de ultimate setta tief, yuh tief it from.....no shame in dat!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 06:46:17 AM

Ah boy Bourbon yuh in ripping form this morning....

On another but related note, I backing the Ivory Coast....ah will be the only one on here apparently, but the worse Brazil do the better for mih Orange men.... ;D

GO IVORY COAST!!!....
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 07:00:27 AM

On another but related note, I backing the Ivory Coast....ah will be the only one on here apparently, but the worse Brazil do the better for mih Orange men.... ;D

GO IVORY COAST!!!....

....so lewwe get this right:  Yuh want Ivory Coast to win, but yuh gone and put yuh mout' on dem?  BrownSugar?.....yuh have me and all confused!  :devil:
Post by: nunu on June 20, 2010, 07:20:44 AM
I am just hoping the 1st half ends 0-0 , with that its possible for an upset .

Go Ivory Coast !
Post by: Touches on June 20, 2010, 07:28:34 AM
I still find watching that Brazil squad a man coulda get drop for Ronaldinho.

Kleberson and Julio Baptisita come to mind.

Is only so much Robinho could do....when they need more magic dust "teets" coulda comeon and share toolum and tru ball for a 20min.

Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 07:46:31 AM
I still find watching that Brazil squad a man coulda get drop for Ronaldinho.

Kleberson and Julio Baptisita come to mind.

Is only so much Robinho could do....when they need more magic dust "teets" coulda comeon and share toolum and tru ball for a 20min.

Long time i saying dat..buh Dunga want it so..so yuh hadda trust de coach. What ever happen he hadda take de credit or blame for it.

I eh sure how i want dis game to go. A Brazil win go make it hard for Ivory Coast. A draw go make it lil tricky. If i hadda chose between Ivory Coast and Portugal..i go lean towards Ivory Coast. Buh we go see.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 07:48:30 AM

GO IVORY COAST!!!....

....so lewwe get this right:  Yuh want Ivory Coast to win, but yuh gone and put yuh mout' on dem?  BrownSugar?.....yuh have me and all confused!  :devil:

Oh shucks, ah forget mih role in this tournament....GO BRAZIL!!!
 :devil: ;D ;D
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 08:34:30 AM

Lol, good one ant-chelsea humor notwithstanding.. Ah backing de elephants for this one, Go Ivory Coast!!
Post by: lefty on June 20, 2010, 08:57:29 AM
dis is ah hard one boy ah like both go take draw but wont mind ah IC win, ah tink brazil could handle dey stories against portugal, but ah frighten for ivory coast against North Korea, dem ain't no whippin post
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 08:58:26 AM
This is the only game in the World Cup I want to draw. Brazil is my side and want Ivory Coast to advance.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 09:07:02 AM
dis is ah hard one boy ah like both go take draw but wont mind ah IC win, ah tink brazil could handle dey stories against portugal, but ah frighten for ivory coast against North Korea, dem ain't no whippin post

We seein' it de same way boy, lefty, I rel agree wit yuh.  We need a draw this afternoon (a high-scoring, entertaining draw would suit me just fine!!) and a N. Korea upset tomorrow and fuh Brazil to mash-up josie and the pussycyats and Ivory Coast to mash-up N. Korea.
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 09:10:17 AM
I cud see dis game being real dull. I really hope I'm wrong :)
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 09:12:11 AM

Nah man it eh go be dull.  This group too tight fuh anybody to slack offf.  EVERYBODY still have to play to win to advance because anything sould still go on wit dis group.  :beermug:
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 10:51:31 AM
Yuh mad ? Brazil just beat North Korea 2-1. They coming out to win this one and qualify one time.
Post by: warmonga on June 20, 2010, 11:27:46 AM
brazil cutarse book
Post by: fari on June 20, 2010, 12:02:49 PM
30 mins to go...i going to have a father's day beer and take in this game.  i like brazil but i ent go mind if the black man wine on dem today, portugal cant beat brazil plain and simple
Post by: JDB on June 20, 2010, 12:06:05 PM

Nah man it eh go be dull.  This group too tight fuh anybody to slack offf.  EVERYBODY still have to play to win to advance because anything sould still go on wit dis group.  :beermug:

Brazil is a counter attacking side and Ivory Coast have Sven. It could very well be tight.
Post by: Observer on June 20, 2010, 12:11:21 PM
Brazilian media reporting kaka not at 100%. We will see if he starts!
IVC are the best African team and has a strong possibility to advance. However, Brazil already have a win and can afford to be patient, knowing IVC has to get a win or tie.
Post by: JDB on June 20, 2010, 12:29:47 PM
Brazilian media reporting kaka not at 100%. We will see if he starts!
IVC are the best African team and has a strong possibility to advance. However, Brazil already have a win and can afford to be patient, knowing IVC has to get a win or tie.

I actually feel that IC have less to lose. Even if they lose or draw to Brazil they could still wait and see if Portugal mess up against NKorea i.e. lose, draw or win small.

If they beat Brazil though they will be favourites to win the group
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 12:39:43 PM

Already yuh wrong... game start lively man.

Go Ivory Coast!
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 12:47:29 PM

Go Ivory Coast!

What i really mean was that I think it will finish 0-0....I am fed up of these low-scoring matches. I was bored even in de Italy-NZ game...I am dying to see more goals.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 12:55:27 PM
Goal boy
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 12:55:39 PM

Go Ivory Coast!

What i really mean was that I think it will finish 0-0....I am fed up of these low-scoring matches. I was bored even in de Italy-NZ game...I am dying to see more goals.

dis my first game fuh de day since ah decide tuh wake and play Christian... maybe I more hyped than anything but game lively.

As ah type... Luis Fabiano pull ah Donovan and score.
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 01:01:15 PM
Wish Dani Alves could play left back...not feeling Bastos at the moment.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 01:09:36 PM
IVORY COAST!!!

But they playing in green and not the usual Orange so today mighten be their day.....Orange is a good colour... ;D ;D
Post by: Blue on June 20, 2010, 01:17:59 PM
halftime....personally i find dis game pretty grim so far
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 01:18:19 PM
Toppa will call me a hater but....geez this Kaka fella dread- so unimpressive!!

I hadda wonder if he's not 100% fit.    
Post by: Marcos on June 20, 2010, 01:19:04 PM
This brazil team sucks
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 01:20:43 PM
I sure he could do a good job. And Brazil would be unstoppable attacking down both flanks.
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 01:22:18 PM
Toppa will call me a hater but....geez this Kaka fella dread- so unimpressive!!

I hadda wonder if he's not 100% fit.    

I hoping it is.

Kaka never really had my liking....he plays best in a counter attacking sense. But...even in a team that built for that style...he far below his best. It obvious. Plus the pressure.

But.....it hadda work so.

I sure he could do a good job. And Brazil would be unstoppable attacking down both flanks.

And i wasnt going and take that chance. Ivory Coast coming in hard. To throw alves off his game...all you have to do is tackle him hard. He go loss he head too easy and play shit or get booked unnecessarily. I could live with Bastos holding down the left.
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 01:24:06 PM
halftime....personally i find dis game pretty grim so far

very cagey affair.  Both teams more concerned with containing each other.  Even after Brazil scored, CIV is still sitting all players behind the ball...

CIV is too physical for Brazil in the middle of the field and Brazil has no individual spark....so every thing in the middle is getting broken up.  

So I agree- so far not a visual spectacle...

Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 01:30:02 PM
Kaka never really had my liking....he plays best in a counter attacking sense. But...even in a team that built for that style...he far below his best. It obvious. Plus the pressure.

Yeah speed on the break and a decent passer of the ball (not a visionary, but good technique)....but now no speed, and one setta sh*t passes...

I was never the biggest Kaka fan, but I've seen him do damage and had alotta respect for his game... Not seeing it lately though...

Post by: richpy on June 20, 2010, 01:31:09 PM
Nice finish from Fabiano, every time I see him play I am more and more impressed. Fluid player

But that was a hard-luck goal for CIV. It happened at a time in which they were dominating the midfield while trying to build a rhythm in attack. They need to play quicker  in and around the box, because Brazil always has 5-6 in defence.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 01:36:15 PM
What to say about Kaka ?
Post by: richpy on June 20, 2010, 01:38:19 PM
Wonderful finish!

He hands it though
Post by: FF on June 20, 2010, 01:39:10 PM
What to say about Kaka ?

He playing Kaka
Post by: D.H.W on June 20, 2010, 01:40:19 PM
oh gawd  :o :o two men get cap
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 01:41:41 PM
gervinho and dis hairstyle
ah cah understand it  ???
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 01:42:10 PM

Was that before or after he ketch de ball and bring it down?
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 01:44:05 PM

he handled it twice from what i see
unfortunate
Post by: richpy on June 20, 2010, 01:44:53 PM
And the frigging referee laughing and asking Fabiano if he bring it down with his chest
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 01:46:52 PM

he handled it twice from what i see
unfortunate

WTF???  Is what de ass I juss see dey?  The blasted ref juss joking with Luis Fabiano about the handball.  De man tap he arm then laugh with Luis Fabiano then tap he chest... as if tuh say "dat was close boy, it almost look like it come off yuh hand".

STEUPS yuh absolutely right, on second look he hands it twice.  Ah hate shit like that... dem woulda probably still win de game w/o having tuh cheat tuh do it.
Post by: Marcos on June 20, 2010, 01:47:59 PM
funny thing is that brazil look that they fraid this side   :devil:
Post by: richpy on June 20, 2010, 01:49:23 PM
Game over
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 01:49:58 PM
funny thing is that brazil look that they fraid this side   :devil:

They have ah funny way of showing it... dey juss poach de Elephants and take dey tusks.
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 01:51:17 PM
Gervinho is rel pain dread.

And....de first one was incidental..de second one when he bring it down was a lil more suspect. Doh i would understand if it was called back...buh it was incidental due to the technique when he was bringing it down.

Hard luck. Sure it kinda shocked dem and lead to the lapse of concentration to cause the third goal. Steups.

Dis messing up ivory coast goal difference too..making it easier for portugal.

:-\
Post by: FF on June 20, 2010, 01:54:19 PM
Gervinho is rel pain dread.

And....de first one was incidental..de second one when he bring it down was a lil more suspect. Doh i would understand if it was called back...buh it was incidental due to the technique when he was bringing it down.

Hard luck. Sure it kinda shocked dem and lead to the lapse of concentration to cause the third goal. Steups.

Dis messing up ivory coast goal difference too..making it easier for portugal.

:-\

yeah dat incidental man... yuh cyah expect de man to say yeah hard luck ah hands it..

but lemmeh hear all dem men who was vex with henry... doh mind he own was much more premeditated
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 01:54:41 PM
Ok Kaka thanks fuh that- I eh go bad talk yuh fuh the rest of the game.
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 01:58:45 PM
Steups. At least get one. De goal difference go be a lil better. Cuz it may very well come down to dat depending on how de rest of games go.

Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 01:59:14 PM
Brazil in total control.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:00:04 PM
Oh lawd boy, dey Samba dancing all over the Elephants...pressure...
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:04:51 PM
ole
Post by: D.H.W on June 20, 2010, 02:05:15 PM
some footballers does wear some small shin pads dread
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:06:45 PM
Oh lawd man this thing embarrassing now....de Ivorians looking like cones....

And as I type....Drogba score!!
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 02:07:55 PM
Good.
Beating Korea by 2? Much better dan having to beat them by 3.

Good lawd gervinho is worries.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 02:09:17 PM
gervinho rippin
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:09:51 PM
gervinho rippin

Why he didn't come on sooner, only Sven knows....
Post by: FF on June 20, 2010, 02:12:32 PM
Ha ha Zidane now tell Figo, "aye boy we riding leaving"
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 02:13:11 PM
gervinho rippin

Typical Sven. Although i seeing de sense....hold dem out..den run at dem when dey tired. Last game doh...didnt make no sense. Take out Kalou....Gervinho..and put on drogba.

And kaka needlessly gone and get heself in unnecessary dotishness.....and get two dotish dotish yellows.
He real sour. Normally he wouldnt be so buh....fustration.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:16:32 PM
But what the arse really going on here??!!....Kaka get sent off....
Post by: FF on June 20, 2010, 02:17:03 PM
dem men real shameless boy... dey ent know cameras on everything dese days...

he get ah forearm in he chest and drop down holding he face...

Kaka ent do nothing
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 02:17:44 PM
And kaka needlessly gone and get heself in unnecessary dotishness.....and get two dotish dotish yellows.

Shit call... Keita need tuh get kick up fuh dat, and I actually rooting fuh he squad.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 02:18:14 PM
dem men real shameless boy... dey ent know cameras on everything dese days...

he get ah forearm in he chest and drop down holding he face...

real assholeness.  dat does just spoil d game
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:19:39 PM

Shit call... Keita need tuh get kick up fuh dat, and I actually rooting fuh he squad.

only kick?  hopefully karma take care off keita....too much players real acting in dis world cup...especially the italians.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:21:35 PM
The game get real bummy in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:22:25 PM
Lucio had great game.
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 02:22:47 PM
only kick?  hopefully karma take care off keita....too much players real acting in dis world cup...especially the italians.

Imagine one ah he teammates coulda be rocking dat Brazil #10 all now...
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 02:23:34 PM

Still..doh give dem nuttin to embellish.

Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 02:24:19 PM
gervinho rippin

Typical Sven. Although i seeing de sense....hold dem out..den run at dem when dey tired. Last game doh...didnt make no sense. Take out Kalou....Gervinho..and put on drogba.

Sven is a fool and like big name ting..

First game Kalou eh do ah thing, and Gervinho was the man causing all the trouble. You come back and start with Kalou and leave Gervinho on de bench?

Steups, baldhead rasta was giving dem brazilians fits in de back.
Post by: Spursy on June 20, 2010, 02:24:44 PM
 ::) ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? wtf... should be 2-2 .. keita vs kaka  :rotfl: :rotfl: kaka get real man handled this game.

Lets jus say Cote de Ivory eh winning fair play award this world cup  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 02:24:49 PM
Stinkin ivory coast!!!
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 02:25:13 PM

Still..doh give dem nuttin to embellish.

Buh all he do is brace heself fuh de impact doh... Keita de one who run into him.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:27:24 PM
regarding kaka performance, i think he will improve as the world cup goes one, he had thigh and groin injuries dis season and he didnt play much so he is lacking match fitness...he really needed to play the portugal game to help with his match fitness.

as for sven, leaving gervinho on the bench was a big mistake but he probably taking coaching tips from capello, domenech and lippi.
Post by: Observer on June 20, 2010, 02:27:28 PM
Watch FIFA do nothing on that simulation. All the talk about Fair Play is BS.
reminds me of Bilic on Blanc in the 98 Semi final. Cost Blanc to miss the final
yet FIFA eh do nothing to overturn the card.
Post by: Spursy on June 20, 2010, 02:28:37 PM
KAKA deserved to get sent off.. correct decision by ref.. but keita omg.. 
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2010, 02:29:42 PM
There was a Trini flag hanging from the terraces at this game, sweet!  We represent
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:30:00 PM
gervinho rippin

Sven is a fool and like big name ting..

First game Kalou eh do ah thing, and Gervinho was the man causing all the trouble. You come back and start with Kalou and leave Gervinho on de bench?

Steups, baldhead rasta was giving dem brazilians fits in de back.
An overrated shitsnake of a coach.
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 02:31:23 PM
Brazil out played dem and they got nasty , real nasty too! ah was rooting for them against portugal and korea (of course not against the samba boys , no way) but now, fork them now, they doh deserve tuh play in the WC acting like that wanting tuh break man foot and all kinda forkup ting.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 02:31:48 PM
There was a Trini flag hanging from the terraces at this game, sweet!  We represent

yuh know we like salt. we in everything
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:32:25 PM
regarding kaka performance, i think he will improve as the world cup goes one, he had thigh and groin injuries dis season and he didnt play much so he is lacking match fitness...he really needed to play the portugal game to help with his match fitness.

as for sven, leaving gervinho on the bench was a big mistake but he probably taking coaching tips from capello, domenech and lippi.
So Dunga call a man who wasn't fit for the World Cup ?
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 02:32:46 PM
Got kinda sour on CIV in the the late stages of the game... chippy fouls and play acting kinda sour what was a good game up to then.

Brazil stuttered for most of it but when they turned up the style and pace in spurts they looked good.  

CIV showed them too much respect, and paid for it...

Kaka wasn't very special for me- let's see how Brazil plays without him.                                                                                            
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:33:58 PM
Hear nah, I kept wondering why Ivory Coast look so dead in the first half....then ah see Gervinho coming on, and he eh even come on at the start of the 2nd half...steups!!...the man singlehandedly created the opportunity that resulted in the goal...

Sven really is a kakahole coach...
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:34:20 PM
Brazil out played dem and they got nasty , real nasty too! ah was rooting for them against portugal and korea (of course not against the samba boys , no way) but now, fork them now, they doh deserve tuh play in the WC acting like that wanting tuh break man foot and all kinda forkup ting.
A few of the challenges were studs up ,looked like they wasn't trying to get the ball.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:34:55 PM

So Dunga call a man who wasn't fit for the World Cup ?

yeah u hit de nail on de head....he prefer ah unfit kaka versus a fit ronaldinho.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:35:23 PM
KAKA deserved to get sent off.. correct decision by ref.. but keita omg.. 

i see u like to post kaka.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:37:21 PM
klinsman say fabiano score a real beautiful goal although it was a handball.... :rotfl:
Post by: Spursy on June 20, 2010, 02:38:43 PM
klinsman say fabiano score a real beautiful goal although it was a handball.... :rotfl:
LOL ... It's soo funny.. Brazil won but without kaka and elano they are sooo screwed!@!!! Portugal will run over them :/
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 02:41:03 PM
A few of the challenges were studs up ,looked like they wasn't trying to get the ball.
No they wasn't!! and they apparently shamed themselves in the eyes of the world.

ah have tuh applaud the brazilians though, they kept their heads and in the end didn't take it personal.  kudos to the brazilians.   :applause:
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 02:45:41 PM
No they wasn't!! and they apparently shamed themselves in the eyes of the world.

ah have tuh applaud the brazilians though, they kept their heads and in the end didn't take it personal.  kudos to the brazilians.   :applause:

What game allyuh was watching boy?

Why nobody eh talk about the Brazilians diving and faking injury, namely Fabiano on about 3 or 4 separate occasions to waste time. Or Robinho down by the corner rolling around in agony, then just spring up fast fast like ah slinky? Why nobody talking about 2 handball to score a goal then lying about it to the ref on camera?

Kaka frankoment elbow the man in his chest, so what if he make more of it than it was to get the ref attention, i eh see nobody ratting on the Greek player that did the exact same thing when the Nigerian give him the soft stamp.

Steupss, allyuh outside with that yes.
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 02:47:42 PM
Brazil don't need kaka for the next game! and he will only get ah one game suspension. as for elano, they have ample replacements for him. hope he's OK though. that dude shoulda got ah straight red for that stinkin foul a$$ tackle on elano!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 02:51:15 PM
every team faking, that is part of football which is real shit these days, every player in the world acts...it is just some do it more than others.
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 02:51:32 PM

Why nobody eh talk about the Brazilians diving and faking injury, namely Fabiano on about 3 or 4 separate occasions to waste time. Or Robinho down by the corner rolling around in agony, then just spring up fast fast like ah slinky? Why nobody talking about 2 handball to score a goal then lying about it to the ref on camera?

Kaka frankoment elbow the man in his chest, so what if he make more of it than it was to get the ref attention, i eh see nobody ratting on the Greek player that did the exact same thing when the Nigerian give him the soft stamp.

You need tuh upgrade and buy ah high-def TV... because yuh clearly seeing thing that didn't happen.  If anything he throw he shoulder as the man come running into him.  Shoulder mighta... MIGHTA.. scrape Keita left jawbone.  Man fall down like Tyson hit him.
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 02:52:36 PM

How you soooo contrary man!! like you just like to go against the grain like palos or what? we eh talkin bout the goal or the fakin, we talking bout the way dem ivorians was trying tuh BREAK UP MAN  BC they was being out played!

yuh think that was RIGHT???!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 20, 2010, 02:54:33 PM
......uuuummmm we going to talk bout the handle ball??   The man handle ball at least twice...doh tell mih is because is Brazil dey get a pass....

The thing that might save them is that the goal wasn't on that decided game, they were going to win anyway but a wrong thing cyar be right....
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 02:55:16 PM
Brazil don't need kaka for the next game! and he will only get ah one game suspension. as for elano, they have ample replacements for him. hope he's OK though. that dude shoulda got ah straight red for that stinkin foul a$$ tackle on elano!

that was unintentional jc
Post by: Jah Gol on June 20, 2010, 02:56:37 PM
......uuuummmm we going to talk bout the handle ball??   The man handle ball at least twice...doh tell mih is because is Brazil dey get a pass....

The thing that might save them is that the goal wasn't on that decided game, they were going to win anyway but a wrong thing cyar be right....
That goal changed the game.
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 02:57:28 PM

exactly. if was any other team dat that did dat, we wouldna hear d end of it
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 02:58:18 PM
Brazil eh no slouches when it comes to play acting- In fact Rivaldo (WC 2002 against Turkey) and Dida (Champions League) provide the most memorable moments of faking injury in an unsportsmanlike manner.  Like everything else, sometimes it works for you, sometimes against you....  

That said, Ivory Coast definitely let the frustration get to them, and their tackles were reckless in the latter part of the game...lots of studs up and late challenges- so it go.  Elano is the only one who really suffered having to be taken off after a stamp on the shin.  Kaka was a little unlucky to get a red but he was kinda flirting with trouble so in part yuh could say he look fuh it.  

I cool with the human element of officiating, but the kinda rolling and faking that goes on in these games is really too much now...giving the sport a terrible reputation.  I would be in favor of reviewing those sorts of plays and retroactively carding player for that crap- it real embarrassing.      
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:00:29 PM

How you soooo contrary man!! like you just like to go against the grain like palos or what? we eh talkin bout the goal or the fakin, we talking bout the way dem ivorians was trying tuh BREAK UP MAN  BC they was being out played!

Contrary? I talking wha i see.

What man they try to break up?? If yuh talking about Elano that was purely unintentional, the Ivorian was trying to get the ball and Elano come skating in and reach first.

If yuh talking about Robinho when he push it thru the man legs, well if that was me he wasn't getting a free pass there either and Robinho make it seem much worse. On the replay it wasn't that hard of a foul in fact there was minimal contact. So exactly what you referring to? I saw the Brazilians and there bench making much more of the contact to waste time.

Furthermore, how does 3 Ivorian subs, Elano's injury, Kaka's red card and all the off the ball incidents that went on equate to only 3 minutes of injury time?
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 03:03:48 PM

The man went wid his studs up! allyuh seem tuh forget this game have rules, whether it was intentional or unintentional, yuhs ah professional! and yuh suppose tuh abide by the rules! yuh know how much man cyar play football again BC some wildman UNintentionally tackle dem and end they career??

i say yuhs ah professional player, not no sunday evening big belly league player. i say "curb your enthusiasm!!" BC yuh playing wid man bread and butter!
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:04:58 PM

The man went wid his studs up! allyuh seem tuh forget this game have rules, whether it was intentional or unintentional, yuhs ah professional! and yuh suppose tuh abide by the rules! yuh know how much man cyar play football again BC some wildman UNintentionally tackle dem and end they career??

i say yuhs ah professional player, not no sunday evening big belly league player. i say "curb your enthusiasm!!" BC yuh playing wid man bread and butter!

hoss the man was stretching for the ball is Elano skate in wid he wild self and initiate the contact.. He wasn't tackling Elano studs up he was going for the ball!
Post by: willi on June 20, 2010, 03:06:22 PM
Dinho,

You completely correct on every point.

Kaka was supremely foolish to be involved in anything after picking up a first soft yellow.
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:06:28 PM

You need tuh upgrade and buy ah high-def TV... because yuh clearly seeing thing that didn't happen.  If anything he throw he shoulder as the man come running into him.  Shoulder mighta... MIGHTA.. scrape Keita left jawbone.  Man fall down like Tyson hit him.

Firstly HD-TV not helping TV6 coverage.

Secondly, forget the reaction after the play and just answer me this did Kaka elbow the man away from the play or not? And if so was it deserving of a yellow card?
Post by: palos on June 20, 2010, 03:10:48 PM

That goal changed the game.

Changed de game how?

Ivory Coast was leading or level?

Brazil was ALWAYS IN CONTROL of this game.
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 03:12:33 PM

What man they try to break up?? If yuh talking about Elano that was purely unintentional, the Ivorian was trying to get the ball and Elano come skating in and reach first.

If yuh talking about Robinho when he push it thru the man legs, well if that was me he wasn't getting a free pass there either and Robinho make it seem much worse. On the replay it wasn't that hard of a foul in fact there was minimal contact. So exactly what you referring to? I saw the Brazilians and there bench making much more of the contact to waste time.

Furthermore, how does 3 Ivorian subs, Elano's injury, Kaka's red card and all the off the ball incidents that went on equate to only 3 minutes of injury time?
Now yuh talking bout time wasting and extra time, where yuh going wid all this? as for elano's injury, don't trivialize that nah boss, the tackle was wreckless.

the man miss the ball and stamp in the man chin like ah forkin kickin mule, i'll be suprise if elano doesn't suffer ah serious injury from that!  and like yuh forgetting keita's bad tackle in bastos or what?? the man literally went in studs up and almost take off the man's ankle! what game you watch star??
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 20, 2010, 03:15:01 PM

u must be talkin bout something else. what i saw, d ivorian player was running with d ball, elano gave a sliding tackle like a cacahole an happened to get his leg caught under d ivorian player tugs. if is anybody to blame, is elano
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 03:17:29 PM
Doh study Omar...He just vex Italy needed a bogus penalty to get a point from the New Zealand match...

Under all the ole talk, after all is said and done, Ivory Coast eh do nuttin' tuh win the match- they were timid, unadventurous, and very disappointing.  Brazil was clearly the superior of the two teams in pure footballing terms... All 3 of Brazil's goals were quality- Luis Fabiano get away with some dodgy ball control but neither ball to hand contact was easy to spot (especially not the first)...and if yuh that wicked tuh begrudge a man a double cap and slap volley over marginal hand ball contact which in live play was pretty impossible to spot, then you are just a hater....

Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 03:17:50 PM
Dinho right about Elano rushing in for ah tackle but dat does not make the IC player right for making ah bad tackle.

also one could argue that kaka should of avoided any kinda drama since he was on a card but to be honest kaka didnt do anything to get the second card...actually i blame dunga for leaving kaka on the field after the card especially with the game getting rough.
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 03:18:02 PM
Men cyah be complaining now about the diving and rolling around on the ground......cronaldo made it globally popular to be a diver and be successful at it in more ways than one.  Nobody in the football world does it more than him and people quick to call 'im the best player in the world.  Players around the world seeing the success the he and a few others are having at being cheaters on the field and the epidemic is spreading.  Dida do shit and Rivaldo do shit but at least in Rivaldo's defense, the Turkish player needed to be penalized for blasting him with the ball.  cronaldo don't even have to get touch (as he proved in the first game against Ivory Coast) and he falling on the ground like a over ripe breadfruit.  Before the Brazilians get call out on play-acting, lewwe call out the italins, portuguese and argentinians nuh.
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:19:12 PM

Now yuh talking bout time wasting and extra time, where yuh going wid all this? as for elano's injury, don't trivialize that nah boss, the tackle was wreckless.

the man miss the ball and stamp in the man chin like ah forkin kickin mule, i'll be suprise if elano doesn't suffer ah serious injury from that!  and like yuh forgetting keita's bad tackle in bastos or what?? the man literally went in studs up and almost take off the man's ankle! what game you watch star??

The extra time thing was besides the point.

The time wasting is to show that i'm saying that the Brazilians was diving and faking to make more of the tackles, and the Ivorians wasn't nowhere as nasty as being suggested here. You serious about that tackle on Bastos?? Come nuh man JC, Bastos was clearing the ball and the man was challenging, that is no intentional wild play that does always happen when a man feel he could reach first before a defender trying to clear the ball. The man get a deserved yellows.

I eh trying to endorse wildness, but come on man the way allyuh making it sound is like the Ivorians deliberately went out to maim, when the Brazilians was diving at every opportunity. Fabiano gone down holding he knee and a man had to drag him to his feet and he laughing and skinning. Robinho on the ground holding he face and as soon as free kick taken he fly up. That's cheating fellas, why allyuh dont address that.

Post by: doc on June 20, 2010, 03:20:43 PM

Secondly, forget the reaction after the play and just answer me this did Kaka elbow the man away from the play or not? And if so was it deserving of a yellow card?
No he did not elbow him. No card
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:21:10 PM
Men cyah be complaining now about the diving and rolling around on the ground......cronaldo made it globally popular to be a diver and be successful at it in more ways than one.  Nobody in the football world does it more than him and people quick to call 'im the best player in the world.  Players around the world seeing the success the he and a few others are having at being cheaters on the field and the epidemic is spreading.  Dida do shit and Rivaldo do shit but at least in Rivaldo's defense, the Turkish player needed to be penalized for blasting him with the ball.  cronaldo don't even have to get touch (as he proved in the first game against Ivory Coast) and he falling on the ground like a over ripe breadfruit.  Before the Brazilians get call out on play-acting, lewwe call out the italins, portuguese and argentinians nuh.

so Kaka didn't need to be penalized for raising his elbow to the man?
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 03:30:12 PM

me eh even talkin' 'bot Kaka right now, but the situation is not quite the same.  The Turkish player initiated the aggression against Rivaldo, so he look fuh he punishment, even if Rivaldo embellish the act some  The Ivorian today, sett Kaka up even if Kaka should a try better to avoid the bait.....I just not sure what else he coulda do because me eh know what his frustration level might have been at the time. 
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 03:31:41 PM

hahaha nah Mango you self... I's a Brazil fan tuh the core, but I cyar defend Rivaldo on that play.  The player eh blast nuttin' at him.  It was a toe poke to him to hurry up and take the corner/throw....  Rivaldo coulda trap that and volley wid all the skill he had...doh try that lol
Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 03:34:20 PM
Dinho, like it told steups, these eh no fete match players, these men is highly payed pro's and tuh involve yuh self in wreckless plays shows how unprofessional they were and their intent was vengeful!! 

every thing i brought to your attention was totally ignored or trivialized, so all i could say is take win, ah guess we would have tuh agree tuh disagree on this one.

PS: drogba was the biggest diver on the pitch today, he atleast dove like three times in the first half, even the caster said " drogba falls to the slightest of touch" but i suspect you wouldn't admit to dat either.
Post by: dinho on June 20, 2010, 03:36:39 PM
Dinho, like it told steups, these eh no fete match players, these men is highly payed pro's and tuh involve yuh self in wreckless plays shows how unprofessional they was and their intent was vengeful!! 

every thing i brought to your attention was totally ignored or trivialized, so all i could say is take win, ah guess we would have tuh agree tuh disagree on this one.

PS: drogba was the biggest diver on the pitch today, he atleast dove like three times in the first half, even the caster said " drogbe falls to the slightest of touch" but i suspect you wouldn't admit to dat either.

ok bro, u see the game one way i see it ah next way.. lets agree to disagree. :beermug:
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 20, 2010, 03:39:40 PM

hahaha nah Mango you self... I's a Brazil fan tuh the core, but I cyar defend Rivaldo on that play.  The player eh blast nuttin' at him.  It was a toe poke to him to hurry up and take the corner/throw....  Rivaldo coulda trap that and volley wid all the skill he had...doh try that lol

:rotfl:  :rotfl: Every one is entitled to a "lawyer".  I takin' up Rivaldo cause! (it wasn't no to poke neither, your honour!) 
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 03:52:01 PM
Everybody could try to justify anyting.

I wouldnt feel bad if de second goal did get call back. Buh oh well.

Elano tackle was hard luck.

Everyting else was utter wileness.

And Kaka went looking for trouble for the first card...and loss he head for de second. Stupid.

And Rivaldo is a duttiness fuh dah over faking and rolling.

Dahs how i see it.

Post by: Observer on June 20, 2010, 03:54:18 PM

dino watch the incident again. The IVC player ran directly at Kaka who was standing still. Its human nature to put up your forearm up to protect yourself. He did not elbow the player. As a matter of fact the IVC player initated the contact.
Post by: doc on June 20, 2010, 03:58:48 PM

dino watch the incident again. The IVC player ran directly at Kaka who was standing still. Its human nature to put up your forearm up to protect yourself. He did not elbow the player. As a matter of fact the IVC player initated the contact.
The man run into a pick
Post by: kicker on June 20, 2010, 04:15:05 PM
BRA 3 CIV 1

That's what's most important.

Anyone dispute that that was a fair scoreline? 

I think Brazil never really got a consistent flow, and it was in part due to CIV's stubborn holding midfield- They are really tough to penetrate.  Also Brazil really lacks that player who can create freely and consistently....  That said Brazil's goals were pretty brilliant- just like in the first game.  Fabiano could have been called back for hand ball, but I could see how that coulda gone unnoticed at full speed- especially the first one which was surely accidental.  And CIV never really got started to be honest- not sure why they played so timid.  Drogba's header was well taken but it was defensive gift- nobody picked up his run which wasn't really that great of a run- he kinda just waltzed into the box...CIV's other attempts on goal all seemed kinda speculative and lacking conviction.

I hope Brazil beats Portugal and CIV does the business against N. Korea because I think they have alot more to offer than what they've shown so far at this World Cup. 
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 04:21:14 PM

You will notice that Keita sprint across the field (three of four clear paces) to catch up to him when the ball wasn't even in play. He raised his forearm to brace against someone running into him. I not sure where the foul is/was.
Post by: Bakes on June 20, 2010, 04:43:04 PM

I answer dat long time...

...that didn't happen.  If anything he throw he shoulder as the man come running into him.  Shoulder mighta... MIGHTA.. scrape Keita left jawbone.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 20, 2010, 04:48:46 PM
Ivory Coast was playin just as stink against Portugal. If they taking issues with people showing skills or with play acting, well Drogba is their captain and is as bad as Ronaldo so kick him up too. Kaloue should always come off the bench. Kaka running like he still growing into his body and he acting frustrated. Kaka was stupid for gettin caught up after already being booked, he would have gotten a yellow for the 2nd incident even if it had been his first offense. He Elano exposed himself to that kind of end result by exposing him self like that but the IC player came in studs up which is still dirty.
Brazil dissapointed me with their play acting.
Post by: Jumbie on June 20, 2010, 05:25:51 PM
brazil sorf and kaka is an ass.

Post by: just cool on June 20, 2010, 05:57:58 PM

Don't forget extremely skillful.  :devil:  ivory coast played like jamaica today, they totally forgot that these players have some of the biggest contract$$$ in europe. yuh think them men want tuh risk getting ah career ending injury just tuh prove that they is the best @ playing football? i say dive as soon as yuh see ah man coming any where close tuh mashing yuh down yes.
Post by: palos on June 20, 2010, 06:15:17 PM
pure hate and ackin normal

dinho should change he name to general grant  :devil:
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 06:28:49 PM
Well..he admit it.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/story/_/id/799562/ce/uk/&cc=3888?ver=global

The striker, who looped the ball over two defenders before finishing his second goal, said: "It's true, the ball really touched my hand and then my shoulder. But it was involuntary. It was one of the greatest goals I've scored in my career."

Post by: spideybuff on June 20, 2010, 07:02:23 PM
After the Elano incident, Brazil start faking. Probly only one 'foul' after that they actually touch the brazilian. And Kaka deserve the red, whther the man embellish or not. I remember  in past world cups Kliuvert get a red for less than that, Zola get red for less than that, the turkish man that Rivaldo get sent off was less than what kaka did.
Post by: elan on June 20, 2010, 07:22:08 PM
Brazil in this too? Anti football. What a coward approach until their 2nd goal. Shame. I am glad the Ivory Coast came to play and actually tried to play some football.

Germany will destroy everyone and win the WC. The only team to show flair and organization. Brazil not going anywhere with that boring football and Ivory Coast showed how other teams can get it done.
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 07:23:38 PM
After the Elano incident, Brazil start faking. Probly only one 'foul' after that they actually touch the brazilian. And Kaka deserve the red, whther the man embellish or not. I remember  in past world cups Kliuvert get a red for less than that, Zola get red for less than that, the turkish man that Rivaldo get sent off was less than what kaka did.

If you want to go there, I could argue that the man who get him send off should not have been on the field
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 07:24:05 PM

yuh talking ah real pack ah shit about kaka deserve ah red card...if de other refs in yuh examples did crap that does not justify what happened to kaka...if yuh doh like Brazil just say so instead of posting rubbish.
Post by: Midknight on June 20, 2010, 07:26:01 PM
Brazil in this too? Anti football. What a coward approach until their 2nd goal. Shame. I am glad the Ivory Coast came to play and actually tried to play some football.

What game were you watching?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 20, 2010, 07:45:55 PM

i feel plenty ppl tv screen either too small or they watch a different game....ivory coast came to play football?...they came to not lose too bad.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 20, 2010, 07:52:23 PM
Ok, neutral man commenting now, don't really care who win the WC, want to watch good football

Ivory Coast gave Brazil way too much respect, began the game way too timid, though in flashes at times showed what they were capable of.  Sven is an overrated coach IMO, his days (if they were ever around) have way passed him, CIV would do better w/someone who can take advtg of their attacking flair while keeping them solid at the back, Sven has done niether IMO, albeit being in charge for 3 months.

Play acting occurred on both sides, difficult to debate.  Elano's injury did not seem at first to be intentional on the part of the CIV player, difficult to judge even based on slow motion replay, others at times definitely tried to be cheeky on their tackles on Brazilian players.

Kaka did elbow the CIV player in his chest, did not seem as an attempt to intentionally harm him, more gamesmanship than anything else, the CIV player definitely milked it, Kaka was foolish to flirt w/such gamesmanship being on a yellow, and Dunga is a dunce for leaving him on after he got the first and Brazil were well in command.

Fabiano frankomen handled the ball on two occasions for the 2nd goal after being 1-0 up, was extremely difficult to see in real time, was only vividly apparent on slow motion replay, that being said the officials are in charge and should have caught at least one handball, after the goal the ref seemed to joke around w/Fabiano pointing to his arm and chest, suggesting that he (the ref) knew what happened but did not call, which would be unimaginable.  Interestingly, no protest whatsoever from the Ivorians.  Men who claiming that 2nd goal did not change the course of the game are not only arm chair coaches (as we all are), but have never played the game at a competitve level or have quickly forgotten, big difference being 1-0 down in the 2nd half to Brazil where some iota of you thinks you have a chance of equallizing to mighty Brazil vs 2-0 down where that iota has slipped to negligible, you could see the shoulders of most (if not all) Ivorian players dropping thereafter

Better side def won on the day, not sure how football (FIFA etc) addreeses play acting, it's a seeming norm in the game today, and will continue for a while until some prudent measure becomes part of officiating.  Hopefully, both Brazil and CIV get through, the latter def have more to offer to the WC and could count themselves unlucky being in groups of deaths at consectutive WCs (2006 and now 2010).....
Post by: Bourbon on June 20, 2010, 07:59:39 PM
Ivory Coast paying for getting rid of de coach dey had all de time and replacing him with SVEN.

End talk.

And yeh dat goal change de game. But put yuhself in de ref position. Bout 10 meters away from de action...see two cap share...chest down and volley into de goal......you eh go see all dat. Worse yet dey supposed to give de benefit of de doubt to the attacker.

And going and asking him...."aye..hear nah..when yuh trap dat..where it hit yuh? Yuh use yuh arm?" and Fabiano saying..nah nah..i use my chest..i didnt try to use my hand....to me while it looked bad..eh as malicious as people trying to make it be. Fabiano afterward say yeh it hit he hand.buh was unintentional..no doubt after seeing the replay.

Contrast dat to...."yes i handle it..buh ask de ref why he eh call it."

No doubt doh..dat second goal kill de game. De third goal was proof of that. You seeing a man sizing up for a cross..nobody in front you...obviously de threat go be coming behind you...stop de ball...yuh cant turn around to see where de threat is...just cut out the ball. No...elano was able to sneak in behind you and get to the ball before you.

Steups.

Post by: ribbit on June 20, 2010, 09:29:39 PM
ah notice even maicon and lucio, when they get caught upfield out of position slip and fall and put on a pro wrestling cry-face. steups.

too bad for elano. somewhat ironic, after he score de goal and display his favourite saints on he shinpads, he get the worse end of the studs-up tackle on those self-same pads. ah hope he doh turn heathen  ;)
Post by: elan on June 20, 2010, 09:32:39 PM

i feel plenty ppl tv screen either too small or they watch a different game....ivory coast came to play football?...they came to not lose too bad.

Alyuh taking chain up talk from the TV commentator man, watch the spanish station they won't influence your thoughts. Ivory Coast don't have the technical ability of the Brazilians, therefore their speed of play is much slower than Brazil and breaks down quicker. Leading up to the first goal and even the 2nd goal Ivory Coast was defending with 3 player on the bacl line.
How many times did the Brazilian full backs get involved in the final 1/3? Where was Kaka receiving the ball consistently, even Robinho? That 1st goal was against the run of play.

Ivory Coast did not show more respect than Brazil showed that they were cowards.
Post by: elan on June 20, 2010, 09:34:05 PM

A more organize and discipline team will show that Brazil don't have the players to solve the same game they are trying to  play.
Post by: richpy on June 20, 2010, 11:40:27 PM
I like both teams but was more disappointed with their performances today. I personally think a draw would have been a fair result. BOTH teams showed way too much respect to each other.

Brazil won simply because they are more clinical, and got goals at crucial times.

To beat Brazil, you have to have a go at them, like France with Zidane.

The CIV of the 2006 WC moved the ball more quickly and were much more terrifying than this team.

Fabiano and Yaya Toure were the outstanding players for both teams.

Kolo Toure does trip off when he ready

Unfortunate to see the game degenerate in the end, but if a side ole-ing on me, I was rushing in hard too.
Post by: JDB on June 21, 2010, 02:28:44 AM
I actually agree with Omar and, to an extent, Elan.

Brazil was just as responsible for the chippiness at the end. Kaka get penalized becuase the ref didn't see the actual contact but it could have happened to any of the CIV players when the Brazilians went down with minimal contact.

Also this Brazil team isn't anti-football but it is about waiting for the other team to lapse more thanreally going at teams. At the time of the 1st goal CIV was making most of the running and the goal was against the run of play. As per this Brazil that open them up more and Brazil take control. CIV was not that defensive they start with three strikers and was probing. To their credit because if they had come with 10 men behind the ball his game woulda been a 0-0 because this Brazil struggles in those situations for obvious reasons, i.e. the desire to play Melo and Gilberto.
Post by: willi on June 21, 2010, 04:34:26 AM

Don't forget extremely skillful.  :devil:  ivory coast played like jamaica today, they totally forgot that these players have some of the biggest contract$$$ in europe. yuh think them men want tuh risk getting ah career ending injury just tuh prove that they is the best @ playing football? i say dive as soon as yuh see ah man coming any where close tuh mashing yuh down yes.

But see yah faadah,

How our name come into this?
Post by: just cool on June 21, 2010, 06:03:22 AM

But see yah faadah,

Wham, yuh have the copy write on the name jamaica or what? so what if i mention JA. you know as well as everyone in the caribbean who does follow football knows, that jamaica does play hard hard hard, as in break foot football, doh pretend yuh eh know.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2010, 06:59:58 AM
Ivory Coast paying for getting rid of de coach dey had all de time and replacing him with SVEN.

End talk.

what was d story behind this anyway because ah hear d fella dat get dem there had ah winning record ??? ??? ???
Post by: Bourbon on June 21, 2010, 07:06:45 AM

End talk.

what was d story behind this anyway because ah hear d fella dat get dem there had ah winning record ??? ??? ???

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/jun/08/vahid-halilhodzic-ivory-coast

Gone and replace de man with a man who cant even speak french a few months before the tournament.

Post by: lefty on June 21, 2010, 07:15:00 AM

End talk.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2010/jun/08/vahid-halilhodzic-ivory-coast

Gone and replace de man with a man who cant even speak french a few months before the tournament.

greed an' self interest will always be a killer
Post by: Observer on June 21, 2010, 07:28:26 AM
Player Power. It seems it's rampant now. So the players pull their cord and end up in a situation of "be careful you get what you wish for!"
Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 07:31:52 AM

Brazil was just as responsible for the chippiness at the end. Kaka get penalized becuase the ref didn't see the actual contact but it could have happened to any of the CIV players when the Brazilians went down with minimal contact.

Also this Brazil team isn't anti-football but it is about waiting for the other team to lapse more thanreally going at teams. At the time of the 1st goal CIV was making most of the running and the goal was against the run of play. As per this Brazil that open them up more and Brazil take control. CIV was not that defensive they start with three strikers and was probing. To their credit because if they had come with 10 men behind the ball his game woulda been a 0-0 because this Brazil struggles in those situations for obvious reasons, i.e. the desire to play Melo and Gilberto.

Disagree.  CIV had everyone behind the ball for large parts of the 1st half, which is what made the game so static in the beginning, because as you say Brazil doesn't have their usual creative punch going forward.  The goal was barely against the run of play because there was no definite run of play.  Brazil made the first attacking forays in the game, and CIV had just started to come into their own before Brazil scored.  Neither g-keeper was really tested before Brazil scored first.  Brazil had some shots off target, and CIV had a cross and a long range effor that went straight to JC....  
Post by: Toppa on June 21, 2010, 08:06:16 AM
Doh study Omar...He just vex Italy needed a bogus penalty to get a point from the New Zealand match...

Under all the ole talk, after all is said and done, Ivory Coast eh do nuttin' tuh win the match- they were timid, unadventurous, and very disappointing.  Brazil was clearly the superior of the two teams in pure footballing terms... All 3 of Brazil's goals were quality- Luis Fabiano get away with some dodgy ball control but neither ball to hand contact was easy to spot (especially not the first)...and if yuh that wicked tuh begrudge a man a double cap and slap volley over marginal hand ball contact which in live play was pretty impossible to spot, then you are just a hater....

If it was Kaka yuh wouldna be saying that though.  :D
Post by: slates on June 21, 2010, 08:28:10 AM
Men criticizing Brazil because they not playin de way they want to see them play. Meanwhile, they have 2 wins and comfortably moving on to the next rounds.

How many times in the past, yuh see Brazil come to the world cup to entertain and get their ass sent home early. Dunga objective it to get # 6. And so far, he is on course to do that.

Sure up your defense, hold them out, and put away the chances when they come. I guarantee every team in this tournament has that as their mission. Not go out and entertain men thousande of mile away in their living room. And so far, nobody eh doing that better than this Brazil team.

Eh... even New Zealand on board with that. LOL
Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 08:38:59 AM

If it was Kaka yuh wouldna be saying that though.  :D

;D ;D
Post by: Observer on June 21, 2010, 08:44:16 AM
Men criticizing Brazil because they not playin de way they want to see them play. Meanwhile, they have 2 wins and comfortably moving on to the next rounds.

How many times in the past, yuh see Brazil come to the world cup to entertain and get their ass sent home early. Dunga objective it to get # 6. And so far, he is on course to do that.

Sure up your defense, hold them out, and put away the chances when they come. I guarantee every team in this tournament has that as their mission. Not go out and entertain men thousande of mile away in their living room. And so far, nobody eh doing that better than this Brazil team.

Eh... even New Zealand on board with that. LOL

Never! When has Brazil ever failed to get out the first rounds? you have to go back to 1990 to find Brazil eliminated in the round of 16 and that was the most un-entertaining Brazil side in History.

Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 08:47:33 AM
Never! When has Brazil ever failed to get out the first rounds? you have to go back to 1990 to find Brazil eliminated in the round of 16 and that was the most un-entertaining Brazil side in History.

And as unentertaining as that side was, they ran rings around Argentina in the round of 16 match, hit the woodwork 3 times, and eventually fell to one moment of brilliance from Maradona. 

Post by: Observer on June 21, 2010, 08:51:26 AM

And as unentertaining as that side was, they ran rings around Argentina in the round of 16 match, hit the woodwork 3 times, and eventually fell to one moment of brilliance from Maradona. 

Kicker yuh missing the point. Check the thread I am addressing. I will agree with you on the fact, that they got knocked out on the best game the played in that tournament
Post by: Jah Gol on June 21, 2010, 08:58:07 AM
Brazil showed that they are the best team in the tournament and can still entertain.
Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 09:03:19 AM

Kicker yuh missing the point. Check the thread I am addressing. I will agree with you on the fact, that they got knocked out on the best game the played in that tournament

Nah I'm agreeing with you... just following up on your point. 
Post by: elan on June 21, 2010, 09:23:31 AM

Thank you JDB, I was being a little to strong with my words. You summed it there.  :beermug:
Post by: Marcos on June 21, 2010, 10:15:57 AM
This thread is real tears.

On the real it was a decent game which could have been better had CIV attacked with the purpose and flair that they are capable of.

They were timid but hear d ting, Sven, Beenie and dese coaches know what they doing. Brazil coulda score 5 if CIV attacked with reckless abandon. See wha happen to NK today? These big sides doh make joke on the counter against a stretched defense.

D game start to get extra wild after Brazil try to gallery and do a set a prettiness and fan. Dem Africans wasn't takin dat. Even Harkes (I think it was him) say it was a good tackle when Robinho was tryin to gallery by the line and get jam...HARD. Yuh cyah try to embarass ppl so.

Dis Brazil side lookin good...for about 4 from Portugal and CR7.
Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 10:36:29 AM

That man crush clouding yuh brain jed...

Last time Brazil played Portugal, Portugal colleck de same 7 they dished out today....
Post by: Marcos on June 21, 2010, 10:41:30 AM
LOL.

Sad ting is Brazil might actually look better without Kaka. Would have been a nice game to experiment with Dinho
Post by: kicker on June 21, 2010, 10:49:59 AM
LOL.

Sad ting is Brazil might actually look better without Kaka. Would have been a nice game to experiment with Dinho

Every Brazil game I watch, I hoping for Dinho tuh just somehow appear off the bench...

I think they will play to a friendly draw... 

From what I understand, Brazil & Portugal have a kinda friend friend vibe between them...
Post by: elan on June 21, 2010, 10:52:34 AM
Brazil showed that they are the best team in the tournament and can still entertain.

Apparently you missed Germany games.  What was entertaining about Brazil game. Basic football like everybody else.
Post by: Bourbon on June 21, 2010, 11:27:32 AM
LOL.

Every Brazil game I watch, I hoping for Dinho tuh just somehow appear off the bench...

From what I understand, Brazil & Portugal have a kinda friend friend vibe between them...

Yeah and i realise that with how they went to score as much as possible. Me eh surprised doh.

Dinho woulda make mass. Ah well.

Post by: Jah Gol on June 21, 2010, 11:31:09 AM
I think Brazil and Portugal will go for the win. If by about 60 mins nobody ahead I think they will close up shop.
Post by: FF on June 21, 2010, 11:35:16 AM

(http://otonly.com/May/stopposting.jpg)
Post by: willi on June 21, 2010, 04:14:52 PM

But see yah faadah,

Wham, yuh have the copy write on the name jamaica or what? so what if i mention JA. you know as well as everyone in the caribbean who does follow football knows, that jamaica does play hard hard hard, as in break foot football, doh pretend yuh eh know.

Yuh have copyright pon the TNT name?

Yuh clearly 20+ years out of date. Jamaica plays decent ball now fi a long time.
Post by: Spursy on June 21, 2010, 04:53:22 PM

But see yah faadah,

Yuh clearly 20+ years out of date. Jamaica plays decent ball now fi a long time.

shit... JA does only look good because we does play utter crap
we played 3 good games in the qualifiers big six, the first game away to el salvador and home against costa rica and mexico.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 21, 2010, 09:01:06 PM
LOL.

spain might still win their group so brazil and portugal dont want to finish 2nd
Post by: just cool on June 22, 2010, 03:11:29 AM

But see yah faadah,

Why yuh so contrary?? no body eh talking bout trini jamiaca tribal rivelry. all i was saying is JA does play wreckless, just like the ivorians, hence the reason i used yuhs as ah reference.

so please doh take this too far nah fardder, is ah basic comparison and we could agree tuh dis agree, but i may have the edge based on historical factual data.
Post by: willi on June 22, 2010, 03:54:24 AM

But see yah faadah,

Why yuh so contrary?? no body eh talking bout trini jamiaca tribal rivelry. all i was saying is JA does play wreckless, just like the ivorians, hence the reason i used yuhs as ah reference.

so please doh take this too far nah fardder, is ah basic comparison and we could agree tuh dis agree, but i may have the edge based on historical factual data.

I contrary cause you outta date!

Jamaica USED to play like that...not nuh more.  Not talking bout nuh rivalry eidah! LoL