Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 04:15:07 AM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 46 - Group G : Korea DPR vs Côte d'Ivoire
Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 04:15:07 AM
Korea DPR-Côte d'Ivoire preview (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061486/preview.html)

Korea DPR and Côte d'Ivoire will bring their Group G campaigns to an end hoping for vastly different rewards, with the former aiming to bid the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ farewell with a pride-inducing win and the latter eyeing a miracle qualification for the knockout stage.

Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit will be the venue as the Elephants attempt to record the thumping victory they require to have any chance of reaching the last 16, with Sven Goran Eriksson’s men also needing already-qualified Brazil to defeat Portugal elsewhere in the section. Their exit assured, meanwhile, the challenge for Korea DPR will be to salvage their honour and bow out of their first FIFA World Cup finals since 1966 on a positive note.

The match
Korea DPR-Côte d'Ivoire, Group G, Nelspruit, 16.00 (local time)

The Elephants go into this match capable of progressing, but for that to occur they will probably need to better Portugal’s 7-0 triumph over Korea DPR, while requiring Brazil to do them a favour by overcoming the European side. Nine strikes separate Portugal and Côte d'Ivoire in goal-difference terms, so Didier Drogba and Co will be hoping Brazil can help them out by racking up a few efforts of their own.

Eriksson’s team will rely on their power and technical prowess to gain ground going forward, with Yaya Toure, Siaka Tiene and Emmanuel Eboue entrusted with getting moves started and both Salomon Kalou and Aruna Dindane charged with feeding chief marksman Drogba from the wings. If those players click, the North Koreans can expect to come under relentless pressure.

Kim Jong-Hun’s troops have nonetheless shown some positive signs during their tournament so far, with their two defeats mostly reflecting inexperience at the back. His side will now go all out to obtain one or even three morale-boosting points to end their stay with something to show for their efforts, and captain Hong Yong-Jo will be vital to their game plan along with Pak Nam-Chol and Mun In-Guk. As for Jong Tae-Se, he will hope to pounce on any counter-attacking opportunities, with the AFC team again relying on their pace and ability to press opponents.

Players to watch
Didier Drogba v Ji Yun-Nam

Côte d’Ivoire fans were plunged into despair when star striker Drogba fractured his arm a few days before the action got started, but the legend in his homeland defied injury to take part in the festivities. His contributions have been noteworthy so far and it was he who reduced the deficit against Brazil with his team’s only goal in two games. The Chelsea predator also found the net for the Elephants at the 2006 FIFA World Cup, making him the player an entire country will be looking to in the hunt for goals.

As for Korea DPR, it was their ironclad defence that guided them to South Africa and they kept a string of clean sheets until the final round of qualifiers. Boasting an excellent ability to read the game and organise his partners, Ji has emerged as a leader at the heart of that rearguard and will thus shoulder the lion’s share of the responsibility for keeping Drogba quiet.

The stat
2 – This is the second time at a FIFA World Cup finals for both Korea DPR and Côte d'Ivoire. In 1966, the east Asians made their way through to the quarter-finals, where they lost 5-3 to Portugal, while the Elephants bowed out after the group stage at Germany 2006 following one win and two reverses.

What they said
"We wanted to qualify. We’ve still got a chance, but it’s complicated. We’ll go out on the pitch with the sole ambition of winning and scoring as many goals as possible – between seven and nine. We’ll give everything we have and perhaps we’ll end up making it. In football, you never know,” Didier Zokora, Côte d’Ivoire defender.

"Our last defeat was painful. What went against us in the Portugal game was our lack of concentration. We’ve tried to stay positive. We need to be ready against Côte d'Ivoire, even if we haven’t had much time to prepare as we’d like,” An Yong Hak, Korea DPR midfielder.

Voice of the fans
"In football, anything is possible. Even if Côte d’Ivoire have to win 8-0, we won’t give up hope," FIFA.com user Messi-Ben (Côte d’Ivoire).

The question
Will Côte d'Ivoire succeed in posting a monumental win or will Korea DPR exit the tournament with their pride restored?
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 46 - Group G : Korea DPR vs Côte d'Ivoire
Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 07:49:19 AM
No love for the Ivory Coast.

They probably going home but it would be nice if Drogba beat up Korea and put himself in the runnig for the golden boot.

I remember when Salenko score 5 against Cameroon in one game and end up top scorer with 6 without even advancing from the group
Post by: real madness on June 25, 2010, 07:55:02 AM
I don't like IC but I don't like Portugal as well especially Ronaldo so I hope a miracle happens and IC goes through.  However that is beyond a big dream/fantasy.
Post by: Dutty on June 25, 2010, 07:55:43 AM

I remember when Salenko score 5 against Cameroon in one game and end up top scorer with 6 without even advancing from the group

How allyuh me does remember dem ting boy....I barely remember what I had for lunch last tuesday
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 08:13:03 AM
Ivory Coast look like they can pull of a 8 nil victory  ;D

Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 08:13:09 AM

How allyuh me does remember dem ting boy....I barely remember what I had for lunch last tuesday

Sweat rice?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2010, 08:14:21 AM
N. Korean kpr is a near post liability ... Gervinho thread de needle and beat him near post ... how many will be in the firing squad?
Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 08:14:45 AM
1-0

The onslaught begins.
The invisible phones getting jammed again.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 25, 2010, 08:15:14 AM
1-0

The onslaught begins.
The invisible phones getting jammed again.

Missed it :(
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 08:15:29 AM
1 down...7 more to go!

Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 08:17:33 AM
DPR look like they good for 8 for real.

C. Ronaldo could be crying sooner than I thought
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 08:20:40 AM
2 down 6 to go  ;D

Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 08:20:56 AM
2-0

Drogba rock the bar. Romaric follow up.
Post by: lefty on June 25, 2010, 08:22:14 AM
not seeing this boy >:( :(
Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 08:23:47 AM
None of the links in the links thread wukkin? Not even univision?
Post by: lefty on June 25, 2010, 08:31:13 AM
None of the links in the links thread wukkin? Not even univision?

dem IT people in d work place castrating al dem stream an dem boy :( >:(
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 08:37:25 AM
Drogba...lawdd  ;D If only he had help

Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 08:39:08 AM
man...it coulda be 5-nil by now  >:(

Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 09:38:18 AM
3 down 5 to go lol

Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 09:53:29 AM
Oh well, alls well that ends well  :-\

Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 10:26:39 AM
ivory coast played a good tournament, i enjoyed watching them play. it just sucks getting put in a group of death 2 world cups in a row...
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 25, 2010, 10:27:52 AM
ivory coast played a good tournament, i enjoyed watching them play. it just sucks getting put in a group of death 2 world cups in a row...

True dat, but so de cookie crumble
Post by: palos on June 25, 2010, 11:11:13 AM

Dey shoulda beat Portugal.  Den all dis angst wouldn't have been necessary.

Dey have nobody to blame but deyself.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 12:52:35 PM

yuh absolutely right.
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 01:10:33 PM

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 25, 2010, 02:02:02 PM
It kinda harsh to blame them for not beating Portugal....remember Drogba din't play the whole game and Portugal ain't all that easy to beat (as much as ah cyah stand dem).  I think it is tough to ask any side to play two WC's in a row and be in the toughest group both times.  I hope we see them in Brazil. By then, Kalou might have to be leading the team from Drogba's departure. 
Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 02:32:59 PM
It kinda harsh to blame them for not beating Portugal....remember Drogba din't play the whole game and Portugal ain't all that easy to beat (as much as ah cyah stand dem).  I think it is tough to ask any side to play two WC's in a row and be in the toughest group both times.  I hope we see them in Brazil. By then, Kalou might have to be leading the team from Drogba's departure. 

nah palos is right. ivory coast had the chance but decided to show respect and back off a bit. play some damn football!! when drogba came on i felt that was more of a morale boost for the team, i knew he was gonna play cautious. portugal isnt that strong. people think they are strong because they have the "almighty" ronaldo. so what? they arent going far. i believe ivory coast had the better team and played the better game. and sven....never had 100% faith in the man...i knew he was going to make some bad choices. the best ivorian player in this WC was gervinho hands down....and u bench him for the brasil game?? come on now. dindane didnt impress me one bit. i wish they had chosen this one striker bakari kone. decent player, small and fast as hell (scored that goal against netherlands in 06), id rather him than dindane. kolo might get the armband when drogba rides out.

hmm imagine ghana is the whole of africa right now...added pressure?
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 25, 2010, 04:48:14 PM

nah palos is right. ivory coast had the chance but decided to show respect and back off a bit. play some damn football!! when drogba came on i felt that was more of a morale boost for the team, i knew he was gonna play cautious. portugal isnt that strong. people think they are strong because they have the "almighty" ronaldo. so what? they arent going far. i believe ivory coast had the better team and played the better game. and sven....never had 100% faith in the man...i knew he was going to make some bad choices. the best ivorian player in this WC was gervinho hands down....and u bench him for the brasil game?? come on now. dindane didnt impress me one bit. i wish they had chosen this one striker bakari kone. decent player, small and fast as hell (scored that goal against netherlands in 06), id rather him than dindane. kolo might get the armband when drogba rides out.

....so is really sven who fack up de scenes then? Because dat sound like a failing tactical approach more than anything else.  I agree they maybe coulda come harder at portugal but I could also understand a team being cautious in their first game, it seems to be the standard in a World Cup these days.  I don't think the last-minute appointment of sven helped Ivory Coast at all.  I didn't like it and I really couldn't see much good coming out of it on top of the fact that they were in such a tough group. .  :beermug:
Post by: Deeks on June 25, 2010, 06:29:45 PM
CI should have tied with Brazil. The second goal took the wind out of their sails. They were playing good until the 2nd goal. If they had tied Brazil, it would have been real blood and sand between Brazil and Port. DPR was a real up and down team. Played brillant against Brazil and then capitualated to CR and them and put a fight against CI. But I was glad for them despite theat weirdo Kim who controls them.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 06:44:30 PM

....so is really sven who fack up de scenes then? Because dat sound like a failing tactical approach more than anything else.  I agree they maybe coulda come harder at portugal but I could also understand a team being cautious in their first game, it seems to be the standard in a World Cup these days.  I don't think the last-minute appointment of sven helped Ivory Coast at all.  I didn't like it and I really couldn't see much good coming out of it on top of the fact that they were in such a tough group. .  :beermug:

i would say so...sven did stick with the 4-3-3 which is what ivory coast plays..just didnt make the right moves in my opinion. i wouldve gone with a 4-2-4 and just put a full out assault on north korea,  maybe couldve scored 8 or 9 but say wha, everything pass and gone now. for me its the World Cup, its either go hard or go home....France and Italy got a taste of that  :beermug: