Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 04:18:25 AM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 47 - Group H : Chile vs Spain
Post by: Bitter on June 25, 2010, 04:18:25 AM
Chile-Spain preview (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061491/preview.html)

Group H leaders Chile go into their crucial game against Spain full of confidence after collecting wins in their first two matches. Vicente Del Bosque's team recovered from their opening defeat by Switzerland with a 2-0 reverse of Honduras, and know that victory in their final outing will definitely take them through.

The match
Chile-Spain, Group H, Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Tshwane/Pretoria, 20:30 (local time)

Spain have won six and drawn one of their seven meetings with Chile, scoring 18 goals and conceding only three in the process. Although that record suggests the Iberians should be confident ahead of this decisive duel, they are sure to be paying the South Americans great respect, especially as they trail the section pacesetters by three points.

Marcelo Bielsa’s charges have been impressive in collecting maximum points so far, playing some enterprising football and creating a host of chances along the way. Stunned by the Swiss, the UEFA EURO 2008 champions recovered some of their poise against Honduras on Monday, and will be hoping to complete their recovery against Chile.

Players to watch
David Villa v Claudio Bravo

The Spanish striker hit both his side’s goals against Los Catrachos, and could have had a hat-trick had he not hit the woodwork and also shot wide from the penalty spot. On top of his game against the central Americans, El Guaje will be looking to add to his tournament goal tally at the Loftus Versfeld, although to do that he will need to find a way past Claudio Bravo in the Chile goal.

The Real Sociedad custodian has yet to be beaten in South Africa and is in buoyant mood after his club colleagues regained their place in the Spanish top flight, where next season he will come up against Villa, who signed for Barcelona before the world finals began.

The stat
3 - The number of Chile players who played their club football in La Liga last year. Claudio Bravo (Real Sociedad), Fabian Orellana (Deportivo Xerez) and Humberto Suazo (Real Zaragoza) will be hoping their in-depth knowledge of the Spanish game will help them sink Vicente del Bosque’s side.

What they said
“We know that a draw will be enough for Chile, and we also know it’s going to be a tricky match, because they are not used to just sitting back and defending. We are confident though,” Fernando Torres, Spain forward.

“We always try to take the game to our opponents but sometimes it depends not on what your intentions are but on what the opposition wants to do. We’ll try to force the pace against Spain because that’s the best way to overcome your opponent in my opinion. And in any case, we are not through yet,” Marcelo Bielsa, Chile coach.

Voice of the fans
“Spain might be everyone’s favourites but I haven’t seen a team with as much commitment, heart and strength as Chile for many years. We have waited a long time for an opportunity like this and I know we will reach the Final,” kcodemon (Chile), FIFA.com user.

The question
Favourites to win the group, Spain now find themselves in danger of going out. Can the European champions rally and claim a place in the last 16?
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 47 - Group H : Chile vs Spain
Post by: Observer on June 25, 2010, 12:17:37 PM
Chile are an exciting team, but I am not sure their Kamakaze approach will work today. Last game they had 3 minutes left and they up 1-0 and were still attacking with 6. They prefere to play a 3-4-3 with a diamond midfield, with two wingers and a striker, which means Spain could out number them in midfield. Besila has played 4 at the back against team that play 3 upfront so maybe he will change.
Really looking forward to this game
Post by: fari on June 25, 2010, 12:24:45 PM
let's go chile...i have a colleague from chile...the oman does be quiet quiet... as i talk to she bout football she does light up oui....the power of futbol
Post by: D.H.W on June 25, 2010, 12:25:54 PM
Spain going home!
Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 12:26:38 PM
In this WC anybody sing their anthem more lustily than the Chileans? Luv it.....
Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 12:31:15 PM
Chile are an exciting team, but I am not sure their Kamakaze approach will work today. Last game they had 3 minutes left and they up 1-0 and were still attacking with 6. They prefere to play a 3-4-3 with a diamond midfield, with two wingers and a striker, which means Spain could out number them in midfield. Besila has played 4 at the back against team that play 3 upfront so maybe he will change.
Really looking forward to this game
ditto
Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 12:42:04 PM
Already Spain looking like they good for a couple...... wow. Could Spain go home too?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 12:42:59 PM
Hark!!!!  What is that I hear??!!  Singing and chanting and beating of drums!!....atmosphere is back!!!.... :devil: ;D
Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 12:44:36 PM
chile is the dark horse in this tourny...theres something about the way they play...its quick and sneaky
Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 12:52:51 PM
chile is the dark horse in this tourny...theres something about the way they play...its quick and sneaky

And fearless
Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 12:53:06 PM
The game living up to expectations but Chile doing all the work.

Right now Spain have to be hoping that Honduras beat Switzerland.

Also Chile is absolutely the HARDEST running side of thie tournament. They attacking with pace with just 3 defenders but as soon as they lose the ball everybody dropping and with just as much pace. And they doing it smart , closing on the ball at the same time.

Is a shame they missing Suazo.

Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 12:55:03 PM
Goalie madness on the loose again! Well done Villa!
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 12:55:16 PM
Classic  :beermug:

Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 12:56:03 PM
Steups Chile get sting.

Goal totally against the run of play.
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 12:57:00 PM
what the arse that keeper was thinking??!!  Ah mean he really needed to run out dey??!!  Steups, steups, steups!!!

:frustrated: :banginghead: :frustrated: :banginghead: :cursing:
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 12:59:03 PM
Villa needs to go Japan for some FK lessons  ;D

Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 12:59:42 PM
common Honduras!
Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 01:08:15 PM
Chile completely fall apart.

Hit on the break again and pick up the inevitable red card.

fi they go home that is a sad end
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 01:09:02 PM
hmmmmm harsh 2nd yellow

Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 01:09:51 PM
F^ck spain and torres! Why is he holding his f^cking face; he hit his head after gettin accidently tripped?
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 01:13:01 PM
Steups....ah eh even taking in this game no more...I sour....
Post by: elan on June 25, 2010, 01:14:56 PM
Tell me that referee not out to get Chile? Tell me that. Italy home, France Home, You cannot send home Spain also. Plus if Spain finish 2nd they meeting Brazil which means one of them going home.
 3 yellow cards in no time for Chile, Spanish player falling like a teenage girl at a Jonas Brothers Concert.

This is absolute  :bs:    right now. The referees and FIFA is making this thing to obvious.
Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 01:22:54 PM
Already Spain looking like they good for a couple...... wow. Could Spain go home too?

LOL..
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 01:24:52 PM

Chile could go home??  Ah going and check the group standings again....
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 01:28:30 PM
Goalie madness on the loose again! Well done Villa!

CO-SIGNNNNN

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 01:30:48 PM

Chile could go home??  Ah going and check the group standings again....

Yep, if the Swiss win, as it stands now Chile would be sent packing  :(

Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 01:35:54 PM
Now dat is ah Golaso  :o

Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 01:36:23 PM
Now dat is ah Golaso  :o

Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 01:37:19 PM
Good goal Chile...

But even with 10 men dem manhandling Spain.
Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 01:37:46 PM

Come back, Chile score!
Post by: DeSoWa on June 25, 2010, 01:37:51 PM

Ah think you would want to take it on now..Chile ent laying down...

Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 01:39:04 PM
#15 for Chile is poison and Ramos gettin ah heavy and consistent dose!
Post by: kicker on June 25, 2010, 01:39:44 PM

Also Chile is absolutely the HARDEST running side of thie tournament. They attacking with pace with just 3 defenders but as soon as they lose the ball everybody dropping and with just as much pace. And they doing it smart , closing on the ball at the same time.

They looking like a Bielsa side- high impact, fast pace, no fear. 
Post by: kicker on June 25, 2010, 01:41:02 PM
Not overwhelmed by Spain... To me they only got a passing game going after Chile lost a man...

That said, David Villa is a beast...
Post by: giggsy11 on June 25, 2010, 01:44:28 PM
Torres look much better with his haircut and natural hair colour! F%ckin diver!
Post by: Socafan on June 25, 2010, 01:50:58 PM
Sanchez on the right for Chile having an amazing game. He need to be able to put in some decent crosses though. Spain cyar contain him. Sometimes 3 - 4 man he taking on and still dey cyar hold him.

Me eh know boy, Spain still eh saying nothing to me. The look kinda like Italy, kinda disinterested.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 25, 2010, 02:08:08 PM

They looking like a Bielsa side- high impact, fast pace, no fear. 

it might sound stupid but do u think trinidad could adapt to that style of play? i could tell yuh if trinidad does get a style of play like that...whey its real poison for de concacaf. hmm i guess this dream will only stay a dream
Post by: kicker on June 25, 2010, 02:11:32 PM

it might sound stupid but do u think trinidad could adapt to that style of play? i could tell yuh if trinidad does get a style of play like that...whey its real poison for de concacaf. hmm i guess this dream will only stay a dream

The conditioning, discipline and organization that you need to play like that is probably something beyond where we've ever been as a team. 
Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 02:15:20 PM

The conditioning, discipline and organization that you need to play like that is probably something beyond where we've ever been as a team. 

Not to mention the technique. Also at the heart of that system is a lot of selfless running, not "pass, run away from the ball and then put your hand on yuh waist and steups"
Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 02:16:15 PM
I don't want to tempt fate but it looks like Honduras doing it yes
Post by: kicker on June 25, 2010, 02:20:32 PM

Not to mention the technique. Also at the heart of that system is a lot of selfless running, not "pass, run away from the ball and then put your hand on yuh waist and steups"

Yeah well yuh know we eh have da technique lol...
Post by: kicker on June 25, 2010, 02:21:38 PM
Observer where yuh? 

Yuh tork Germany Austria in the de Brazil game.  Lemme hear yuh about the last 15 mins of the Spain game...That was as blatant a concession as I've seen...
Post by: Brownsugar on June 25, 2010, 02:26:17 PM
The last 15 mins were so annoying to watch....steups....
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 02:33:40 PM
The last 15 mins were so annoying to watch....steups....

Actually I stop watchin
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 25, 2010, 02:34:00 PM
Barca duo takes Spain into round of 16  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 03:05:36 PM

D only ting from Spain I intrested right about now is Gasol
Post by: Observer on June 25, 2010, 03:15:28 PM
Chile came to take the game to Spain with the hope of scoring early score early, yet were scored on against the run of play. Harsh sending off screw up the game. This referee once again in a controversial sending off. Sanchez had Capdevilla busy all night.
I like how Chile tried and were successful in denying Spain midfield from moving the ball effectively.
Very impressed with Chile, but in the end Spain scored the goals on two counters.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 25, 2010, 03:23:30 PM

;D He from Barca too
Post by: weary1969 on June 25, 2010, 03:58:39 PM

;D He from Barca too

Post by: JDB on June 25, 2010, 04:07:30 PM
Chile came to take the game to Spain with the hope of scoring early score early, yet were scored on against the run of play. Harsh sending off screw up the game. This referee once again in a controversial sending off. Sanchez had Capdevilla busy all night.
I like how Chile tried and were successful in denying Spain midfield from moving the ball effectively.
Very impressed with Chile, but in the end Spain scored the goals on two counters.

Chile play some nice ball this WC. Brazil will pick them apart though just like in qualifying.
Post by: Peong on June 25, 2010, 04:18:34 PM
Chile play nice ball.  Spain were on the back foot for most of the game.
The goalie went mad and run out he goal for de first goal.  Then the 2nd goal and sending off put a dent in Chile's plan.
Most dominant losing effort I see for de WC.
Post by: Sando prince on June 25, 2010, 07:11:13 PM
Spain was the better team and deserve to win
Post by: Bakes on June 25, 2010, 10:16:57 PM
Who knew Torres had dark hair...
Post by: makaveli on June 25, 2010, 11:29:07 PM
The goalie went mad and run out he goal for de first goal.  Then the 2nd goal and sending off put a dent in Chile's plan.

like I watch a different game, match start 3pm and Spain don a black kit while Chile was in red right?
Post by: Bakes on June 26, 2010, 12:41:56 AM

Uhm Spain was de ones in dark blue... ah think yuh geh tie up dey, lol.