Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: E-man on June 27, 2010, 02:53:31 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 59 - Quarter-finals: Argentina vs Germany
Post by: E-man on June 27, 2010, 02:53:31 PM
Match 59 - Quarter-finals - 03 July
Cape Town - Green Point Stadium

Head-to-Head

ARG:GER
wins 8:5
draws 5
goals 25:23

TEAM NEWS (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/matches/match_59/default.stm)

Argentina coach Diego Maradona has no new injury concerns for Saturday's quarter-final against Germany.

Walter Samuel has recovered from a thigh problem but is not expected to displace Nicolas Burdisso or Martin Demichelis at centre-back.

Germany's counter-attacking prowess could persuade Maradona to replace winger Angel Di Maria with the more defensive-minded Jonas Gutierrez.

Maxi Rodriguez may again start in midfield ahead of veteran playmaker Juan Veron.

Germany are likely to field an unchanged starting line-up following the impressive win against England.

Lukas Podolski and Mesut Ozil are both expected to play despite missing training on Thursday. Podolski sat out the session due to a minor muscle problem, while Mesut Ozil was feeling unwell.

Striker Cacau is still suffering from a strained abdominal muscle, and is unlikely to be involved.

One booking from suspension: Bolatti, Heinze, Mascherano (Argentina); Friedrich, Khedira, Lahm, Ozil, Muller, Scheweinsteiger (Germany).

MATCH FACTS

Head-to-head

- Victory in the 1986 World Cup final is Argentina's only previous World Cup win in five matches against Germany or West Germany. Since the 1990 final they have met six times (including friendlies), with Argentina's only defeat coming in a penalty shoot-out at the last World Cup.

Argentina

- The Albiceleste have won all nine of their matches this calendar year and have won 12 of their last 13 games. Their only slip-up was a 2-1 defeat to Spain last November.

- Argentina have yet to draw a match under Diego Maradona. They have won 18 and lost five of his 23 matches in charge.

- Lionel Messi has had 23 shots at goal in South Africa but has yet to score. No other player has had as many shots without scoring at the tournament.

Germany

- Miroslav Klose's opener against England was the 12th World Cup goal of his career. Only Just Fontaine (13), Gerd Muller (14) and Ronaldo (15) have scored more at the tournament.

- Germany have never gone more than 20 years between winning World Cups - their last victory was in 1990.

- The Germans have won all four of their previous World Cup penalty shoot-outs, having beaten France (1982), Mexico (1986), England (1990) and Argentina (2006). The Argentines have won three of their four shoot-outs, defeating Yugoslavia and Italy (1990) and England (1998) before losing to the Germans four years ago.

Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan)

Assistants: Rafael Ilyasov (Uzbekistan)

Fourth official: Jerome Damon (South Africa)
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 59 - Quarter-finals: Argentina vs Germany
Post by: D.H.W on June 27, 2010, 02:54:35 PM
Go GERMANY !!!!
Post by: Brownsugar on June 27, 2010, 03:02:45 PM
Oh gosh boy E-man yuh firing on all cylinders!!!....
Post by: Brownsugar on June 27, 2010, 03:03:14 PM
Go GERMANY !!!!

:flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :whip: :whip: :duel: :duel: :challenge: :challenge:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 27, 2010, 04:42:44 PM
this might be the game of the world cup, 2 teams that know how to attack but defence shaky as hell.
Post by: Cantona007 on June 27, 2010, 07:43:14 PM
Go Albiceleste!
Post by: weary1969 on June 27, 2010, 07:49:59 PM
Go GERMANY !!!!

CO-SIGNNNN

Oh gosh boy E-man yuh firing on all cylinders!!!....

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: jai john on June 27, 2010, 07:57:15 PM
A repeat of the 2006 meeting of the two ...argentina even had to overcome Mexico to reach this point just like last time...
Messi was a spectator then ...he wont be this time . Just a matter of time. I will remember how Rossi failed to score in the rounds but ended with 3, 2, 1 ...in the last three games when Italy won the cup.
Argentina must win 3 more to lift the cup...
Maradona is picking his team depending on the opposition...he mad ?? he mad yes !! he still doing crazy things in football .....now he has a student who can do what he would have done .....we shall see ...
Post by: Trinimassive on June 27, 2010, 08:43:08 PM
Should be a good game

Is the Germany that dismantle England going to show up, or the Germany that was shaky in the Group Stage?

Is Maradonna gonna get another victory or is Crappo gonna smoke he pipe (and get high)  :devil:

Too close to call. Could go to penalties.
Post by: Sando prince on June 27, 2010, 11:34:45 PM
Germany will break Argentina defence but Argentia midfield/frontline is the best in this world cup and will be too much for Germany in the end..I see a victory for Argentina in the Quarterfinal.

If Maradona win this world cup Pele will not be able to sleep for many nights   :devil:
Post by: willi on June 28, 2010, 05:53:27 AM
Argentina Campeon! Campeon del mundo! ARGENTINA CAMPEON!

3-1 sobre Alemania.

Equipo:
Shopkeeper: Romero
Defence:  Rodrigues/(Burdisso or Heinze)/Samuel/Otamendi

MF :  Mascherano/Di Maria/Pastore

Free roamer: Messi

Strikers : Higuain and Teves

Subs: Maxi for Pastore/ Millito for Higuain and MAYBE Veron or Gutierrez for Di Maria.

No way no how will Argentina fall for the German counter attack by having their central link/defence running
up to support the attack and leaving themselves exposed. They know they are too slow to cover. They also dont need to do this as the 2 wing backs are fit and can offer all the needed support.

Mascherano and the 2 centre backs will always hang back and they will almost always have a wing back with them as well. Otamendi is very capable and Rodrigues has Di Maria to play off.

3-1 mi seh!!!!

Argentina campeon del mundo.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 28, 2010, 06:46:42 AM
Germany will break Argentina defence but Argentia midfield/defence is the best in this world cup and will be too much for Germany in the end..I see a victory for Argentina in the Quarterfinal.

If Maradona win this world cup Pele will not be able to sleep for many nights   :devil:

sando prince i feel u need ah bigger tv.... ;D argentina have de best defence?  that whole backline real shaky...so far i think portugal have the best defence, germany the best midfield and argentina the best forwards.
Post by: Sando prince on June 28, 2010, 08:19:32 AM
Germany will break Argentina defence but Argentia midfield/defence is the best in this world cup and will be too much for Germany in the end..I see a victory for Argentina in the Quarterfinal.

sando prince i feel u need ah bigger tv.... ;D argentina have de best defence?  that whole backline real shaky...so far i think portugal have the best defence, germany the best midfield and argentina the best forwards.

I meant to say Argentina have the best frontline AND midfield not defence..Germany midfield is not better than Masherano/Messi/Veron...you will see soon
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 28, 2010, 08:31:22 AM

I meant to say Argentina have the best frontline AND midfield not defence..Germany midfield is not better than Masherano/Messi/Veron...you will see soon

i not counting messi as midfield, right now it looks like mascherano, di maria and maxi (until veron returns) in midfield and messi up front just behind tevex and higuain...if u were consider messi as a midfielder then yeah argentina has the best midfield....i think it will boil down to the defence that plays better.
Post by: kicker on June 28, 2010, 10:01:44 AM
The key to Germany winning will be to keep Messi & Tevez quiet.  Argentina is playing well because their individual players are performing.  Mascherano is holding down the middle, Messi is causing all sorts of worries, Tevez is an animal and Higuain is lurking in all the danger areas to punish the mistakes... It's working for them, but as a unit, they have not looked solid and well coached compared to Argentina teams of the past...If Germany can manage that, and move off the ball like they did against England, Argentina will be forced to really play football and prove themselves.  Mexico could have been a good test, but the ref threw off the balance of that game. 

The key to Argentina winning will be to avoid collossal mistakes at the back, and for Tevez and Messi to continue doing their thing...This is not a tight, quick moving Argentina TEAM that we're used to- this is an Argentina squad of incredible individual talent, all of whom are fortunately (for them) in good form and Germany has not demonstrated a defensive strength that can keep those guys off the scoreboard for 90 mins. 
Post by: Jah Gol on June 28, 2010, 10:29:28 AM
Argentina allows space in the midfield and all the teams that played against them were allowed to create opportunities. I think Germany is class above all those other teams and they will be prepared to capitalise. Germany is also not rock solid at the back so I expect a goals.
Post by: dinho on June 28, 2010, 04:01:43 PM
In 2006, Argentina lost this game on a coaching error.. To take off Riquelme (and was it Tevez?) at a point when they were bossing the game, and use up the subs to boot leaving Messi on the bench proved to be disastrous..

But imo that Argentina side was better than this one. I still not convinced by Demechelis and the rest of the defence in the back and especially its left to be seen what Diego does at right back. If he mad enough to start Jonas Guitierrez there (and he mad enough to do that), Ozil will rip him a new one.

This will be a bess game.
Post by: Toppa on June 28, 2010, 04:25:30 PM

And Brazil de best team.
Title: It gearing up for a Argentina vs. Brazil Final
Post by: Controversial on June 28, 2010, 05:07:30 PM
where diego armando maradona will raise the world cup along with his prodigy lionel messi  ;D
Title: Re: It gearing up for a Argentina vs. Brazil Final
Post by: Socapro on June 28, 2010, 05:30:12 PM
where diego armando maradona will raise the world cup along with his prodigy lionel messi  ;D

Okay cool and we also waiting to hear where Hardest will fit into all this!  ::)
Post by: Controversial on June 28, 2010, 05:32:00 PM
what does hardest have to do with maradona and argentina, socapro yuh gone mad oui :devil:
Post by: Socapro on June 28, 2010, 05:44:06 PM
what does hardest have to do with maradona and argentina, socapro yuh gone mad oui :devil:

The same amount as it has to do with the possiblity of Maradona & Argentina lifting the trophy after a Brazil v Agentina final!  ;)
Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 05:58:28 PM

stueps, Germany waxing that

The same amount as it has to do with the possiblity of Maradona & Argentina lifting the trophy after a Brazil v Agentina final!  ;)

Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 06:20:19 PM
(http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/162256-1/Soccer_cameraman_smacked.gif)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 28, 2010, 06:26:36 PM

And Brazil de best team.

well said
Post by: jai john on June 28, 2010, 08:12:21 PM
Maradona is picking his team based on his opponent. This eh England who picking de same team regardless of the opposition ! No one can predict Maradona's team ...he is keeping everyone guessing ...he eh play wid the same team twice yet.
If I was to try to pick an Argentina  team vs germany it would look like this ..
                        Romero
Heinze    Samuel   Otamendi    Burdisso

Clemente Rodriguez    Mascherano   Pastore   Tevez

Messi     Higuain
Pastore just waiting to show why he is here .....

Clemente Rodriguez would be the additional marker in the middle to counteract the fast break ...just as Alves is doing  for Brazil ..buh dais jess me .
Post by: AirMan on June 29, 2010, 01:09:32 AM
Argentina will prevail..Tevez playing more like a beast everyday..and lets not forget about Igualin. Mascherano looking solid in midfield and these are the type of games Messi shows why he is above and beyond the rest of the world. It will be ah bess game lol
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 29, 2010, 05:44:36 AM
Argentina will prevail..Tevez playing more like a beast everyday..and lets not forget about Igualin. Mascherano looking solid in midfield and these are the type of games Messi shows why he is above and beyond the rest of the world. It will be ah bess game lol

I willing to bet that this will probably be one of the most entertaining games of the tournament.   Hard to pick a winner in this one....but ah need fuh Germany to win....(to make it easier fuh Brazil in the end)  :beermug:

Post by: Brownsugar on June 29, 2010, 05:48:48 AM

I willing to bet that this will probably be one of the most entertaining games of the tournament.   Hard to pick a winner in this one....but ah need fuh Germany to win....(to make it easier fuh Brazil Holland in the end)  :beermug:

Ah fix it for you.... :devil: ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 29, 2010, 05:56:18 AM

I willing to bet that this will probably be one of the most entertaining games of the tournament.   Hard to pick a winner in this one....but ah need fuh Germany to win....(to make it easier fuh Brazil Holland in the end)  :beermug:

Yeessssss.....dize what ah want.....keep callin' holland name in yuh mout'.  Ah could feel de (reverse)obeah whukkin arready!  :devil: ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on June 29, 2010, 07:50:45 AM

Yeessssss.....dize what ah want.....keep callin' holland name in yuh mout'.  Ah could feel de (reverse)obeah whukkin arready!  :devil: ;D

Brazil!!
Brazil!!
Brazil!!   :devil: ;D
Post by: AirMan on June 29, 2010, 08:36:09 AM
Tevez dreaming of glory

Argentina star Carlos Tevez admits he cannot bear to think of losing to Germany in Saturday's FIFA World Cup™ quarter-final.

The 26-year-old Manchester City striker and his team-mates will attempt to book their place in the semi-finals in Cape Town with the alternative simply not an option.

Tevez told www.clarin.com: "Why not think I can be a champion? Every night, I do. I have a hunger for glory so great that I can not imagine the great sadness there would be without the cup. I could not bear to lose on Saturday."

Tevez's non-stop approach and skill have made him a crowd favourite, and he is desperate to deliver the biggest prize of all for the fans.

He said: "It makes me really happy. It must be my way of playing. I give everything for every ball, and people identify with that.

"Hopefully, with all the boys, we can give them the joy we all hope for."

Continue..http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1263362/index.html#tevez+dreaming+glory

Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2010, 05:56:33 PM
The key to Germany winning will be to keep Messi & Tevez quiet.  Argentina is playing well because their individual players are performing.  Mascherano is holding down the middle, Messi is causing all sorts of worries, Tevez is an animal and Higuain is lurking in all the danger areas to punish the mistakes... It's working for them, but as a unit, they have not looked solid and well coached compared to Argentina teams of the past... If Germany can manage that, and move off the ball like they did against England, Argentina will be forced to really play football and prove themselves.  Mexico could have been a good test, but the ref threw off the balance of that game. 

The key to Argentina winning will be to avoid collossal mistakes at the back, and for Tevez and Messi to continue doing their thing...This is not a tight, quick moving Argentina TEAM that we're used to- this is an Argentina squad of incredible individual talent, all of whom are fortunately (for them) in good form and Germany has not demonstrated a defensive strength that can keep those guys off the scoreboard for 90 mins. 

To kicker's point re: ARG's individualism.

I agree individualism is present, but I don't think this means they are not well coached per se. [Not overlooking your comparative statement re: former ARG squads, ... very valid IMO] Here's the thing ... I believe Maradona has recognized the natural advantage(s) these particular players bring and has opted (from a former mercurial player's lense) to harness this rather than fight it (Pekerman fought it; Passarella tried to restrict it; ... ent no one will miss Riquelme @ this WC aside from maybe Jai ;)?

It explains the work and role of Heinze, Di Maria, Messi, Higuain, Mascherano et al ... but it also explains why Kun and Milito have had limited looks in. I think Milito doesn't fit the unorthodoxy as well, despite the fact that I'd like to see more of him because of his craft in the '18'. What DAM has generated is dynamic play predicated on unbalancing movements triggered by L Messi. Kun for me is more dynamic than Milito, but maybe less controlled and incisive than the preferred option.

They've taken very few long corners. Several if not most of the free kicks are played short to play Messi in in possession. Lots of times this leads to a successive foul and it's clear that this squad has many variations it has schemed off of set plays. All of these variations work around the hub of the individual cast members, and then they are moments like when Tevez decides to run riot. Di Maria too, but more subtly and sublimely. Combine these with an opportunistic Palermo or Higuain (mix of opportunism and intent), and it's instant combustion.

Yeah, they don't look tightly woven. Their hook is Messi. I agree. But what I've noticed is the seamlessness that occurs when the secondary cast enters the field of play. The plot continues unabated. Pastore (watch de ride); Veron (maintains the status quo). At times I see flashes of '86 ... momentary ones: do enough to win, do it early; add goals at leisure if available, and move on. DAM is a pragmatist. Winning= scoring more than yuh opponent, even if you concede. Recall the scorelines en route to the '86 title.

Nuff ppl decry Gabriel Heinze, but he's a BIG player for ARG. Big! And it's because of the dimension he brings as a maverick two way player... bear in mind, like Chile, this ARG squad selection features players who across the board could play more than one position ... explains why Pupi Zanetti is watching from the stands, ent?

Ties in to Jai's point as to the sense of picking starting XI's with a specific opponent in mind.

All ah that stated, I think Germany's coach will provide a stern tactical test fuh DAM IF the current player rotation as applies holds ... IMV an orthodox ARG starting XI sees Germany leading the game and ARG playing from behind. That's why I think Joachim Loew might be surprised by what he finds come match day re: individual match-ups.

Deep down maybe many of us want to see what ARG looks like responding to adversity before we gih dem added credit. They've added a lot to the tournament already. if Maradona wins the next game and falters after that he would have done no worse than his predecessors.
Post by: Trini Madness on June 29, 2010, 08:32:05 PM
(http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/162256-1/Soccer_cameraman_smacked.gif)

lol im surprised he didnt hold his face and fall to de ground  :D
Post by: Dumplingdinho on June 29, 2010, 08:36:28 PM
maradona is getting too much credit..he changing the side to match his opposition?...he changing the side because he not sure what he is doing, lucky for him messi, tevez, higuain, etc are in top form right now....then there are the rumors that veron, guttierez, and samuel are upset because they are not playing.
Post by: willi on June 30, 2010, 05:51:43 AM
Maradona is picking his team based on his opponent. This eh England who picking de same team regardless of the opposition ! No one can predict Maradona's team ...he is keeping everyone guessing ...he eh play wid the same team twice yet.
If I was to try to pick an Argentina  team vs germany it would look like this ..
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

Clemente Rodriguez would be the additional marker in the middle to counteract the fast break ...just as Alves is doing  for Brazil ..buh dais jess me .

Well thought out formation.

I have a couple objections though... no Di Maria? Burdisso at left back?

Isnt Otamendi to short for centrehalf?

I prefer Burdisso and Samuel at centre back, CRod and Otamendi as the wingbacks. Mascherano,Pastore (right) and Di Maria (left) as the linkmen and Messi in the mezzanine (behind the centre- fwd), Tevez at left wing and Higuain as CF.

I would have Pastore alternating the attack with Otamendi on the wing. CRod would hang back on the left  back and cover the centrehalfs if needs be. The left attacjk is in the capable hands of Di maria and Tevez.

What U say?
Post by: jai john on June 30, 2010, 06:58:49 AM
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

I prefer Burdisso and Samuel at centre back, CRod and Otamendi as the wingbacks. Mascherano,Pastore (right) and Di Maria (left) as the linkmen and Messi in the mezzanine (behind the centre- fwd), Tevez at left wing and Higuain as CF.

I would have Pastore alternating the attack with Otamendi on the wing. CRod would hang back on the left  back and cover the centrehalfs if needs be. The left attacjk is in the capable hands of Di maria and Tevez.

What U say?

I may have written it wrong but Burdisso is at right back and heinze at left ....it is to be viewed as you look at it. No Di Maria because he has not yet produced his best and there will be a need to strengthen the defensive part of midfield. Clemente is excellent at recovery and against the germans who are a strong running team and  Argentina's perennial problem of overloading in attack and being a sucker for the counter needs to be addressed.

Mascherano cannot do it alone. Dunga has done the same thing with Alves...
I will have Tevez on the right , instead of Maxi rogriguez ...he can provide good support for burdisso. I believe now is the time for good support in defense ..so every position should have cover.

Messi will roam the field as Maradona did. Maradona has already given him that license ....you cannot put a creative player in a box .....

The germans are very strong and physical ...you can only look at the goal Klose scored when he powered past the english defense .....

I would have Arguero in this game at some stage ...he is well rested and can provide another attacking option ...he can take on any defense ...just like Messi ! He is also the best percentage finisher ....Higuain is still missing too many easy chances though he is the leading scorer in the team.
Post by: Observer on June 30, 2010, 11:40:07 AM
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

I may have written it wrong but Burdisso is at right back and heinze at left ....it is to be viewed as you look at it. No Di Maria because he has not yet produced his best and there will be a need to strengthen the defensive part of midfield. Clemente is excellent at recovery and against the germans who are a strong running team and  Argentina's perennial problem of overloading in attack and being a sucker for the counter needs to be addressed.

I will have Tevez on the right , instead of Maxi rogriguez ...he can provide good support for burdisso. I believe now is the time for good support in defense ..so every position should have cover.

Messi will roam the field as Maradona did. Maradona has already given him that license ....you cannot put a creative player in a box .....

The germans are very strong and physical ...you can only look at the goal Klose scored when he powered past the english defense .....

I would have Arguero in this game at some stage ...he is well rested and can provide another attacking option ...he can take on any defense ...just like Messi ! He is also the best percentage finisher ....Higuain is still missing too many easy chances though he is the leading scorer in the team.

you sure yuh does follow Argentina  ;D Yuh have Center back at left full back  and a wide left back at right of midfield.
Post by: palos on June 30, 2010, 11:41:40 AM
Argentina's first REAL test of this world cup

Peeps waxin poetic over victories against Nigeria, South Korea, Greece and (despite being outplayed) Mexico.

Let's see how they handle a BIG SIDE  8)
Post by: KND2 on June 30, 2010, 12:11:27 PM
Argentina Line up

Anybody  Anybody Somebody Anyone

Anybody Somebody Somebody Anyone

Messi Somebody

Messi and any 10 will do!

Argentina winning this game easy

If it is one thing germany does not have is defensive midfielders

Ozul is soft
Swiesztier only plays going forwards
Poldowski is a forward playing left wing
Mueller is a forward playing right wing

Only the man who name start with K ......
can play any kind of defense and he slow like molasses.

Once messi run by him who going to stop him.

Them 2 bean pole center defenders .....

Not happening.

Argentina winning this game by a mile

Unless the german coach change the lineup which he will not do.

Is not like he have Lothar on the bench.

Germany done!

Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2010, 02:17:23 PM

Peeps waxin poetic over victories against Nigeria, South Korea, Greece and (despite being outplayed) Mexico.

In '86 they faced S Korea, Bulgaria and Italy. Arguably no different from this year's opposition? In the next round they skated by URU on a first half goal and lined up a date with England in that famous match ... the rest as they say is history.

ARG deserves respect, although not necessarily my support. Germany I respect, but will never support. It's fair to say the Germans aren't going to engage them lightly. The flip side of the assertion is that this could also be viewed as Germany's first REAL test. Ent?
Post by: palos on June 30, 2010, 02:33:20 PM

In '86 they faced S Korea, Bulgaria and Italy. Arguably no different from this year's opposition? In the next round they skated by URU on a first half goal and lined up a date with England in that famous match ... the rest as they say is history.

ARG deserves respect, although not necessarily my support. Germany I respect, but will never support. It's fair to say the Germans aren't going to engage them lightly. The flip side of the assertion is that this could also be viewed as Germany's first REAL test. Ent?

You could look at it however you want.  Your perogative.

If you want to equate Bulgaria and Italy with Nigeria and Greece....go right ahead.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2010, 03:04:55 PM

You could look at it however you want.  Your perogative.

If you want to equate Bulgaria and Italy with Nigeria and Greece....go right ahead.

Well, let's be serious that S Korea and this S Korea are leaps and bounds separate. I am not going by team name and historical reputation. That year Bearzot's Italian squad was NOT particularly exotic. They would have had 3 draws across the table but mercifully escaped into the second round with a win due to a Korean own goal (which was essentially the worst second place finishing performance by any team making it into the next stage).

Yeah, it featured spine-tingling names like Rossi, Altobelli, Zenga and Tardelli, but ah sure yuh recall they were to be later EXPOSED by Platini and company. Leh we doh romanticise dis ting nah.

The fact is possession of the ball (although ah think you're too sophisticated to equate possession with outplaying) and individualism are distinct things. All I'm saying is ARG's individualism is a strength fuh them right now ... Germany might have the wherewithal to address it. We'll see.

Incidentally, on ball possession, Italy in this WC ranks second to Spain in terms of possession ... where are they now?
Post by: Peong on June 30, 2010, 04:48:10 PM
Matchups like this and the Brazil - Holland are what the WC is all about!
Only thing is they shouldn't have me waitin to see football, I want WC games every day until it done.
Post by: palos on June 30, 2010, 06:54:30 PM
Maradona - GOD HIMSELF sent me on this earth to teach mankind how to play football

Pele - I don't remember sending anybody
Post by: Trinimassive on June 30, 2010, 08:21:43 PM
Maradona - GOD HIMSELF sent me on this earth to teach mankind how to play football

Good one
Post by: weary1969 on June 30, 2010, 08:23:01 PM

Good one

COSIGNNNNNNNN
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 01, 2010, 02:47:43 AM
I feel Maradona still have it in him at this level to score goals in d World Cup...I could see him scoring some badass freekick with dat ball...Wish he would suit up for dat Germany game and show dem ah form from d 86 World  Cup
Post by: JDB on July 01, 2010, 04:36:20 AM

Serious question Palos...

You believe Pele was better than Maradona?
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 05:55:24 AM
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

you sure yuh does follow Argentina  ;D Yuh have Center back at left full back  and a wide left back at right of midfield.

You sure you does follow Argentina ? Maradona has said from the start that he will go with 4 centre backs in defense . Do you remember that ? He played Germany a friendly before the WC , which argentina won .... you remember that ? He said ...it worked well and he did not concede any goals ...remember that too ?

So all that I am suggesting is in keeping with what the coach has said .....yes the coach !! i know many had him down as a waste of time ...I even had my doubts but he has proved us wrong ..so far .

Again I have clemente rodriguez at left midfield ....not at right ..read the posts and dem good nah . ..Just as dunga has Alvez, a confirmed riight back , in the mifddle to win back the ball for brazil.

I following Argentina since 1978 ....some of the peeps here were not born yet ...... I saw houseman, Kempes, Ortiz, Bertomi play ..... I could even give you a little stat...messi and Riquelme were born on the same day ...but not the same year ...and Pastore will shock everyone ! ah gone .
Post by: Observer on July 01, 2010, 07:57:56 AM

Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 01, 2010, 08:24:33 AM
jai,
a small correction....dani alves is playing on the right side not the center.
Post by: Observer on July 01, 2010, 08:32:19 AM
Maradona is picking his team based on his oThe back line for your information wa Otmendi RB Demichelis CB, Samuel CB, henize LBpponent. This eh England who picking de same team regardless of the opposition ! No one can predict Maradona's team ...he is keeping everyone guessing ...he eh play wid the same team twice yet.
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

You sure you does follow Argentina ? Maradona has said from the start that he will go with 4 centre backs in defense . Do you remember that ? He played Germany a friendly before the WC , which argentina won .... you remember that ? He said ...it worked well and he did not concede any goals ...remember that too ?

So all that I am suggesting is in keeping with what the coach has said .....yes the coach !! i know many had him down as a waste of time ...I even had my doubts but he has proved us wrong ..so far .

Again I have clemente rodriguez at left midfield ....not at right ..read the posts and dem good nah . ..Just as dunga has Alvez, a confirmed riight back , in the mifddle to win back the ball for brazil.

I following Argentina since 1978 ....some of the peeps here were not born yet ...... I saw houseman, Kempes, Ortiz, Bertomi play ..... I could even give you a little stat...messi and Riquelme were born on the same day ...but not the same year ...and Pastore will shock everyone ! ah gone .

Yes I remember the exhibition game. Do you wish me to give you the line up?

Otamendi RB, Demechiles CB, Samuel CB, Heinze (Burdisso subbed Samuel) My point is why would Diego start  Burdisso at RB in a quarter final when he has not done so even in exhibition. The only way that would happen is emergency sub.

Post by: trinikev on July 01, 2010, 10:12:04 AM
Maradona is picking his team based on his oThe back line for your information wa Otmendi RB Demichelis CB, Samuel CB, henize LBpponent. This eh England who picking de same team regardless of the opposition ! No one can predict Maradona's team ...he is keeping everyone guessing ...he eh play wid the same team twice yet.
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

Otamendi RB, Demechiles CB, Samuel CB, Heinze (Burdisso subbed Samuel) My point is why would Diego start  Burdisso at RB in a quarter final when he has not done so even in exhibition. The only way that would happen is emergency sub.

Nah man, Burdisso has a lot of experience at right back as well. He was used there frequently up till last season while he was at Inter Milan. It wouldn't be out of the realm of possibility for him to play there by any stretch.
Post by: fari on July 01, 2010, 10:57:09 AM

that is what i saying too

knd2, the man name is khedira...i dont follow germany enough to know how they going to set up but you could bet ur bottom dollar they going to have a set plan.    i ent feel argentina play with a plan for any game this world cup yet...say what u want about maradona's playing abilities but he is a novice coach.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 01, 2010, 11:25:20 AM

knd2, the man name is khedira...i dont follow germany enough to know how they going to set up but you could bet ur bottom dollar they going to have a set plan.    i ent feel argentina play with a plan for any game this world cup yet...say what u want about maradona's playing abilities but he is a novice coach.

so far it is a combination of messi's greatness, their attacking firepower and weak opposition.  However, weak or strong opposition I don't think any team wants to play argentina right now.
Post by: kicker on July 01, 2010, 11:26:59 AM

When yuh have Lionel Messi yuh doh need as many plans as others.  If yuh in a jam, give him the ball, and he'll figure something out. 
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 11:36:27 AM
jai,
a small correction....dani alves is playing on the right side not the center.

not centre ..I said middle ...by middle I meant midfield ... I old so terms change you know ...
he is a converted right back ...he has played RB since Brazil under 17 where I first saw him. He is a good box to box player and a good battler in the middle ( midfield ) .
I believe Clemente can play this role as we are not so good on recovery . Clemente can support neinze just as tevez can support Burdisso.
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 11:39:38 AM
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

Nah man, Burdisso has a lot of experience at right back as well. He was used there frequently up till last season while he was at Inter Milan. It wouldn't be out of the realm of possibility for him to play there by any stretch.
he has played RB all his life ...this is no experiment.
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 11:44:08 AM

novice is as novice does ...what has he done so far to be considered novice ? lets say it was the first time you saw or even heard him ...would you initial thought be that he is a novice ? ..or that he is getting victories every game and should be given more credit than he is getting ?

As a player he did what no one else thought of or was willing to try ...as a coach ?? he might just confound the experts ...who is that masked man anyway ?? ha ha ha ...Hi yo silver ..awaaayyy!!!!
Post by: kicker on July 01, 2010, 11:56:38 AM
novice is as novice does ...what has he done so far to be considered novice ? lets say it was the first time you saw or even heard him ...would you initial thought be that he is a novice ? ..or that he is getting victories every game and should be given more credit than he is getting ?

As a player he did what no one else thought of or was willing to try ...as a coach ?? he might just confound the experts ...who is that masked man anyway ?? ha ha ha ...Hi yo silver ..awaaayyy!!!!

Rumor is that Maradona's coaching team is responsible for Argentina's organization, and Maradona is just he personality who the players look up to and who inspires the belief.  If you believe rumors that is....
Post by: elan on July 01, 2010, 12:30:45 PM
Them Argentine fans like alyuh worried or what?

Remember that goals count and you could well believe that if Argentina could score 3, then Germany can score 4.

Argentina attack has no real power behind it, flair yes, but power no. Germany has both.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 01, 2010, 01:52:14 PM
Ah setta poachah goals Argentina score and man acting like dey dissectin teams and destryin dem.  Higuain scorin shit goals galore on shit opponents, Germany eh da easy.  Best attack, Argentina?  By what measure?  Doh leh fandom tie allyuh up, so far Brazil attack more organized and dangerous dan anything Argentina do and Germany right behind Brazil in da department.  Argentina will get run out just like 4 years ago only dis time in regulation time.
Post by: trinikev on July 01, 2010, 02:36:07 PM

Remember that goals count and you could well believe that if Argentina could score 3, then Germany can score 4.
Argentina attack has no real power behind it, flair yes, but power no. Germany has both.

That could easily be the other way around too.

Ah setta poachah goals Argentina score and man acting like dey dissectin teams and destryin dem.  Higuain scorin shit goals galore on shit opponents, Germany eh da easy.  Best attack, Argentina?  By what measure?  Doh leh fandom tie allyuh up, so far Brazil attack more organized and dangerous dan anything Argentina do and Germany right behind Brazil in da department.  Argentina will get run out just like 4 years ago only dis time in regulation time.

Of all the goals Higuain score, one was because of a mistake by the Mexican defender. All the rest were at the end of some good build up play. Yes Brazil and Germany's attacks are more organized than Argentina's thus far. But as kicker mentioned earlier, with Messi in the fold and the wealth of attacking options around him, Argentina doesnt need to be that organized in attack. Germany and Brazil's attacks are more organized, Argentina's is far more dynamic.

Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 01, 2010, 03:10:35 PM
Of all the goals Higuain score, one was because of a mistake by the Mexican defender. All the rest were at the end of some good build up play. Yes Brazil and Germany's attacks are more organized than Argentina's thus far. But as kicker mentioned earlier, with Messi in the fold and the wealth of attacking options around him, Argentina doesnt need to be that organized in attack. Germany and Brazil's attacks are more organized, Argentina's is far more dynamic.

I eh buyin dat fella, check nex door!
Post by: Toppa on July 01, 2010, 04:18:58 PM

The one can argue that because it is not 'organised' it relies more upon luck as was the case with Mexico? The linesman didn't call the obvious off-side and there was a defensive howler after the Mexican team were completely distracted by being so upset at the non-call.
Post by: jai john on July 01, 2010, 04:26:44 PM

The one can argue that because it is not 'organised' it relies more upon luck as was the case with Mexico? The linesman didn't call the obvious off-side and there was a defensive howler after the Mexican team were completely distracted by being so upset at the non-call.

Oh poor Mexico !! this is for big boys pardner ...you take it as you get it ..if you cant handle the heat you should not be in the kitchen .....I am tired hearing of Mexico being upset by the call which is why they made a mistake and which allowed Tevez to score a lucky goal ....you better watch it you might start believing that ...

all winning teams need some luck ...didn't you see  Holland hit the post in the dying minutes in 78 ? what about england in 66 ? ..and italy in 82  when tonino gave Rossi a gift ...just like Higuain got ?

the luck you mentioned however would have argentina coring 10 more goals and messi on the scoresheet with 4.

everything counts ....so if you get upset by a non call ..you have outlived your sell by date  and rightly should be off the list ...
Post by: E-man on July 01, 2010, 04:57:25 PM
For his sake, Maradona should recognize Müller by now. What an attitude.

http://www.youtube.com/v/gUKpW1YefRY
Post by: Socafan on July 01, 2010, 05:52:17 PM
Germany all the way.......this game will be very onesided and will not live up to billing.
Post by: Observer on July 01, 2010, 06:13:59 PM
Watch Diego taking a sweat with the team hahahhaha
Is this man for real, puff puff pass  :rotfl:

http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/67/world-cup/2010/07/01/2005430/video-diego-maradona-plays-in-argentina-training-match-with
Post by: D.H.W on July 01, 2010, 06:19:20 PM
Argentina going home SAT watch all d tears
Post by: che on July 01, 2010, 07:51:49 PM
Not a fan of either team . Argentina wins 1 nil.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 02, 2010, 12:40:15 AM
i cant come up with a prediction here....all i know is that this is gonna be one hell of a game
Post by: willi on July 02, 2010, 03:04:25 AM
                        Romero

Messi     Higuain

What U say?

Your reasoning is sound.

One comment though...how well will Teves play on the right?

He has had breat success on the left, but with Heinze and Crod there, he would be superfluous.

Also, would it not be better to have CRod as left back and have Heinze in the midfield? CRod looks to be the better defender! Or is this your way of ensuring that Heinze takes the defensive role seriously?
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 02, 2010, 03:15:26 AM
i cant come up with a prediction here....all i know is that this is gonna be one hell of a game

Agreed!  This game go have everything: passion, pace, fouls, diving (more on the part of the Argentinians) actual hard fouls, a few yellow cards well and maybe even a red or two.......with the war of words going on before the game, the ref hands go be full as these two teams are slowly, over the years, building a serious rivalry with each other and possibly developing a dislike for each other. I hope they damned near kill each other!

****in fact..nah!  ah doh need dem damned near kill each other....ah want the winner mash up Spain  ;D****
Post by: giggsy11 on July 02, 2010, 05:45:17 AM
Germany to take dem. Argentina's approach appears to be play defense by controlling the ball offensively. Their defense is weak and they have yet to play a side that is as techniquely and tacticly capapble as germany. Germany had a plan on how to attack England's weak defense and thy will have a plan to do the same to Argentina. I believe in the Germans- backed them in 86 against Argentina-I hope they make Maradona cry tomorrow! His shaplay not helping tomorrow no matter how many hail mary's he say!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 07:26:47 AM
Rights and serial numbers to be read out loud. I wonder what the prisoner count will look like AFTER de game ... Wait, we taking prisoners?  :-\
Post by: Sando prince on July 02, 2010, 09:55:56 AM

And Brazil de best team.

Post by: jai john on July 02, 2010, 09:56:32 AM
We full !!  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2010, 10:53:03 AM
We full !!  :rotfl: :rotfl:

;D Play yuhself!
Post by: E-man on July 02, 2010, 11:13:03 AM
1st time I see this, though it's 4 years old  :rotfl:

http://www.youtube.com/v/iWcnS3QMmlQ
Post by: jai john on July 02, 2010, 11:18:01 AM

Rumor is that Maradona's coaching team is responsible for Argentina's organization, and Maradona is just he personality who the players look up to and who inspires the belief.  If you believe rumors that is....

Even if so ...duh ! you tink Obama writes his speeches ?

So if you inspire the players and instill in them the belief to win and they do, that means you are not really a coach just a personality ?

Who selected the technical team ? who selected Pastore and Palermo ? No technical team on earth would have chosen a player who did not have a single international or big game to his credit and an ageing player who was as surprised as anyone , after missing 3 penalties in a single game more than 10 years ago .

He was critisized for leaving home Cambiasso and Zanetti , two outstanding players in the last European cup final for winners Inter. He also leaves on the bench the star of Italian football, winner of most goals and winner of Serie A and European  Cup ...on de bench ! Is only someone like Diego who can do that.

Look he own son in law ...a star in his own right .. scrubbing bench !

Diego as always will do things his way ....he always has ..always will ...and there is nothing you nor I can do about it ...and that you can take as a fact.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 02, 2010, 02:19:24 PM

And Brazil de best team.

:heehee: :heehee:
Post by: D.H.W on July 02, 2010, 03:20:30 PM

And Brazil de best team.

Post by: Bakes on July 02, 2010, 11:11:30 PM
Time to say auf wiedersehen and adios to that ugly dog of a mascot pretending to be a coach.  Go Deutschland!! 
Post by: AirMan on July 03, 2010, 01:42:24 AM

Messi to be given free role

(http://www.fifa.com/mm//Photo/Tournament/Competition/01/26/49/27/1264927_FULL-LND.jpg)

Diego Maradona will tell Lionel Messi to go out and destroy Germany just like he did in the 1986 FIFA World Cup™ final. Messi will be given a free role to play exactly where he likes in tomorrow's quarter-final at the Green Point Stadium despite suffering from a touch of flu.

The Barcelona star sat out this afternoon's training session but will start against Joachim Low's side tomorrow. Maradona, who scored five goals in the 1986 FIFA World Cup and was their inspiration in a a 3-2 final defeat of Germany, said of Messi: "He did feel a bit under the weather, had a slight fever.

"He told me about it and I sent him back inside. It was very cold when we started training at 4.30pm. I gave him a bit of a rest. The session went well, but I never considered him not playing in this game. I just let him have a rest so he could play against Germany."Continue..http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1266166/index.html#messi+given+free+role
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 05:15:08 AM
Time to say auf wiedersehen and adios to that ugly dog of a mascot pretending to be a coach.  Go Deutschland!! 

How dare you say that about the GREAT Maradonna, you too disrespectful.... :devil: ;D

That said Podolski, Klose, Schweinstiger et al. will rip up that shaky Argentia defence......

GO GERMANY!!!
Post by: jai john on July 03, 2010, 05:56:55 AM
From now on all coaches will hug and kiss their players !!  :devil:
Argentina or walk !
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 07:31:02 AM
go Germany  :flamethrower:
Post by: JDB on July 03, 2010, 07:59:02 AM
No long talk. This will be a good game but Argentina taking it.

Germany get flattered by a poor England team. If they give Argentina that mch possession Argentina will kill them. I also think that Argentina's defence is not as bad as people make out. Too bad Samuel not starting though. I would pick him over Demchelis. The one thing Argentina needs is for Mascherano to play out of his skin because Germany front 4 drops and defends better than Argentina's attackers
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 08:03:59 AM
Goal in yuh hole shit defense
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 08:04:37 AM
Goal in yuh hole shit defense

yes sir
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 03, 2010, 08:05:17 AM
And Germany draws first blood.

And Muller is probably thinking to himself: "Put that in your pipe and smoke it Diego"
Post by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 08:08:29 AM
1:0

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_O53ew12as-E/SFFJpbV5TaI/AAAAAAAAAqU/WaijP8qT0rs/s400/german_girl_400.jpg)
Post by: JDB on July 03, 2010, 08:09:27 AM
Game now start fellas. Stay calm
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 08:14:07 AM

(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_O53ew12as-E/SFFJpbV5TaI/AAAAAAAAAqU/WaijP8qT0rs/s400/german_girl_400.jpg)

:devil: d day start nice, more goals please  :)
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 08:16:19 AM
Otamendi off to a bad start. Whose fault was it on the goal? It looked like Higuain could have done more.
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 08:18:09 AM
And Germany draws first blood.

And Muller is probably thinking to himself: "Put that in your pipe and smoke it Diego"

No room in dat pipe
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 08:24:24 AM

Yes eman...ah hope yuh have ah multitude saved ready to post.
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 08:25:30 AM
That was Klose ;)
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 08:25:57 AM
That was Klose ;)

Another NASA employee
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 08:28:42 AM
That was Klose ;)
~giggle~
 :)
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 08:33:06 AM
This game running exactly according to script. If Germany doh score 2 more on the break before the half it would be surprising.
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 08:38:16 AM
Only 1 offside goal per competition
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 08:39:18 AM
Close but no cigar
Post by: Marcos on July 03, 2010, 08:45:47 AM
Man like Dicaprio in the house.

How do you unlock a defense that has 10 men behind the ball and ready to break on a counter at any second?
Post by: JDB on July 03, 2010, 08:49:04 AM
Man like Dicaprio in the house.

How do you unlock a defense that has 10 men behind the ball and ready to break on a counter at any second?

Messi
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 08:53:56 AM
germany very disciplined, podolski and dem tracking back and helping out de defence...they pushing messi on to his right foot (whenever they can)...second half should be interesting

lahm need to run at heinze whenever he can, he have no pace and he is a wild man go just lunge.  germany need to put some shots on frame, romero ent no hot keeper.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 08:58:42 AM
Well before I could settle mih self....Germany score.....game eh done yet though.  Argentina will keep plugging away until they score.  I ah eh know how they plan to do it but they need to keep Messi quiet....ah hope the Germany coach check in with the Special One to find the secret before the game started.... :devil: :devil:

I off to pop some pop corn and settle in for the 2nd half....
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 09:02:39 AM

Yes eman...ah hope yuh have ah multitude saved ready to post.

Oh, LAWD, doh start 'im dis early mawnin'!

on to the game......discretion is a helluva ting and I eh understand how some of these refs does think.....HDF yuh give dimaria a bligh for a deliberate handball (and I eh want to hear nutting 'bout it too early in the game, a foul is a foul is a foul no matter WHAT time is on the clock!) and yuh give Muller a yellow fuh a ball hitting he hand so close to his body?!  ???  How does Higuain and/or Tevez and/or heinze NOT get cautioned for their respective dissenting outbursts?!  Shakin' meh damned head.

Germany controlling the game but argentina are looking like a threat to score every time they go to goal.  
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 09:15:47 AM
real tense passage of play
Post by: elan on July 03, 2010, 09:22:37 AM
I think Argentina have to beat somebody head in with a bat to get a yellow. Real freedom with them nasty tackles.
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:24:52 AM
There it is...
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 09:25:22 AM
niceeeeee!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 09:25:32 AM
THATS ALL FOLKSSSSSSSSS
Post by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 09:26:11 AM
2:0

(http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/3268/610xau.jpg)
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:26:47 AM
Two more for good measure..
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 09:27:56 AM
shit defense , d lock get pick
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:28:10 AM
2:0

(http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/3268/610xau.jpg)

YEESSSSS eman!!! Thanks!!..LOL
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 09:28:48 AM

It actually HAD a lock?!  ;D
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 09:30:26 AM
well it look like the world may be spared the spectacle of maradona running naked through buenos aires.
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 09:31:15 AM
no lloren argentinos!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 09:31:34 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: 3-0
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:31:37 AM
Yeeeeessssss!!!! THIS IS THE BEST WORLDCUP EVA!!!!
Post by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 09:32:01 AM
3:0

(http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d37/ashyashy/german_girl_04.jpg?1278168786)
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 09:33:19 AM
well it look like the world may be spared the spectacle of maradona running naked through buenos aires.

PRAISE JEHOVAH

A DEFENCE WORSE THAN BRAZIL YDAY
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 03, 2010, 09:33:44 AM

nah...men say it real good.
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 03, 2010, 09:35:26 AM
3:0

(http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d37/ashyashy/german_girl_04.jpg?1278168786)

Licks in dey backside.
Post by: Marcos on July 03, 2010, 09:36:32 AM
Germany have d best knock in the tourney so far.
Dem men doh make bad pass when they break
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 09:38:07 AM

for real bredda...check de knock for the 2nd and 3rd goal...is pinpoint precision boy...plus is real heart they have too boy...waaay sah
Post by: elan on July 03, 2010, 09:38:23 AM
Where all them talkers, all them big timers who know about football. Argentina, just like Brazil played absolutely no football in this WC. Sit back and wait for a mistake, well it's the Germanz and they rarely make mistakes. Anti football from Brazil and Argentina, get what they deserve. Shyte tactics and organization from them.

This is what a complete game look like.
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 09:38:35 AM
E-man if Germany score 4 ah want a body paint picture  ;D
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:39:25 AM
Come Germany make it an even number.
Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2010, 09:41:11 AM
Germany all the way.......this game will be very onesided and will not live up to billing.

Two outta three eh bad....

Germany get flattered by a poor England team. If they give Argentina that mch possession Argentina will kill them. I also think that Argentina's defence is not as bad as people make out. Too bad Samuel not starting though. I would pick him over Demchelis. The one thing Argentina needs is for Mascherano to play out of his skin because Germany front 4 drops and defends better than Argentina's attackers

Imagine Germany did everything that yuh describe dey... defense wasn't that bad, Mascherano play outta he skin... dey even let Argentina dominate possession.... plus they find ah way to throw way nuff opportunities.  And still win comfortably.

Anybody willing to concede that Messi pop dung yet?

Jai John wha'ppen... Maradona di'n realize which team he was playing against or what?  Ent he does pick squad tuh suit de opponent?
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 09:43:05 AM
Yuh know is real irony how Maradona confuse Mueller with a ball boy. Mueller outplay Messi and de camera only showing Maradona lifting ball for throw-in on the sidelines. Who de ball boy?
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 09:43:30 AM
Well I bbm a friend after the second goal to say game over cuz Argentina eh playing nutten to convince me they could come back....aye, aye....bam 3rd goal...

Good!!  Let them take their fake coach and go home!!  After Brazil they are the next favourite team in T&T so nuff men crying again today.   Ah going and call mih cousin as soon as the whistle blow.....ah hope he not too distraught to take mih call.... :devil: :devil:

Next time Messi, ah like yuh but yuh coach is an arse and yuh team's defence is weak....

GO GERMANY!!!

:flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 03, 2010, 09:46:06 AM

Looks like you got your wish.

The rout is complete.
Post by: ribbit on July 03, 2010, 09:46:20 AM
This is a 4king beating. Way to go Klose!!!
Post by: Marcos on July 03, 2010, 09:46:33 AM

for real bredda...check de knock for the 2nd and 3rd goal...is pinpoint precision boy...plus is real heart they have too boy...waaay sah

As i was saying
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 09:46:52 AM
Oh lawd nah, it too embarrasing now...ref blow off the game and save them Argentina from they self.....

:flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: elan on July 03, 2010, 09:47:04 AM
Whey dem talkers, come out and play. Don't hide.
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 09:47:16 AM
4-0 :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 09:48:33 AM

In shock will take a while
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 09:49:55 AM
as i said earlier ...maradona have no plan b...messi could be a plan b for dem lesser sides...but not for a disciplined side like germany...i glad for these german fellas...they playing de game like it should be played...bravo fellas!
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 09:50:06 AM

In shock will take a while

Post by: Preacher on July 03, 2010, 09:50:10 AM
Im glad they loose....Cheating South Americans
Post by: E-man on July 03, 2010, 09:50:19 AM
4:0

(http://www.e-forwards.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/A-German-fan-at-the-2002-World-Cup.jpeg)

Germany wins!

Klose ties the German WC goal record
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 09:50:35 AM
 :devil: :devil: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 09:51:13 AM
messi who????????
haahahahahahahahahahahaahahaahahhahahahh
Post by: grimm01 on July 03, 2010, 09:51:34 AM
a comprehensive cutass.
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:52:40 AM

(http://www.e-forwards.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/A-German-fan-at-the-2002-World-Cup.jpeg)

Germany wins!

Yes eman...congrats..
Post by: JDB on July 03, 2010, 09:53:56 AM
This game have meh feeling sick.

Congrats Eman, like yourself. Argentina had all the ball from the first goal till just before the 2nd but just couldn't work the ball into the box.

After this World Cup 4-2-3-1 counter attacking football will be the only way to play football.
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 09:55:46 AM

Germany wins!

YEAH EMANNNNNNNNN ENJOY YUHSELF
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 09:57:09 AM
I think Argentina have to beat somebody head in with a bat to get a yellow. Real freedom with them nasty tackles.

true that , esp mascherano
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 09:57:55 AM

Germany wins!

Jesus Christ!! Thanks E-man, ah want to celebrate with she!!!  :devil:
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:58:16 AM

Brazil was a surprise, thought their defence would carry them, but "say wha". I think they were just careless with Holland.
My final actually play already, and it was Germany - Ghana first round. Ghana was the only team I see make Germany sweat. Woulda like to see a replay.
Anyway, germany-Spain final maybe?
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 03, 2010, 09:59:06 AM

Germany wins!

Ah like dat bra
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2010, 09:59:37 AM

The same karma could haunt Germany before the tournament is over. Maybe, maybe not.
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 09:59:46 AM

Looks like you got your wish.

The rout is complete.

Yep..Bye, bye Argentina.
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 10:01:26 AM

Germany wins!

Ah like dat bra

Yeah me too, I would kick dat off real quick & start d football match yes!! And ah scoring 4 times before the game end over 90 mins!!!  :devil:
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 10:01:45 AM

The same karma could haunt Germany before the tournament is over. Maybe, maybe not.

aye aye!  :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :shameonyou:
:whip: watch yuhself
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2010, 10:01:49 AM
Yuh know is real irony how Maradona confuse Mueller with a ball boy. Mueller outplay Messi and de camera only showing Maradona lifting ball for throw-in on the sidelines. Who de ball boy?

Thought the same thing. :)
Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2010, 10:01:56 AM
Kinda ironic how South America start de knockout stage hot and sweaty and now when yuh look sharp they hopes come down to Paraguay and cheating-ass Uruguay.  So much for the paradigm shifting away from Europe.
Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2010, 10:04:34 AM

Brazil was a surprise, thought their defence would carry them, but "say wha". I think they were just careless with Holland.
My final actually play already, and it was Germany - Ghana first round. Ghana was the only team I see make Germany sweat. Woulda like to see a replay.

Was referring tuh yuh prediction, lol

1. Germany all the way- check

2. Very one-sided- check

3. Not live up to its billing... eh, it was entertaining, unless yuh's ah Arentina fan.
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 10:06:54 AM

Oh..hehe..thought yuh meant other game predictions...

Was referring tuh yuh prediction, lol

1. Germany all the way- check

2. Very one-sided- check

3. Not live up to its billing... eh, it was entertaining, unless yuh's ah Arentina fan.
Post by: elan on July 03, 2010, 10:10:37 AM
This game have meh feeling sick.

Congrats Eman, like yourself. Argentina had all the ball from the first goal till just before the 2nd but just couldn't work the ball into the box.

After this World Cup 4-2-3-1 counter attacking football will be the only way to play football.

Jose Mourinho told them before the Wc is not about possession, but position. Argentina had trhe ball, but where did they have that ball is more important.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 10:11:48 AM

No that is the possible semi-final depending on how this evening goes....
Post by: Peong on July 03, 2010, 10:13:29 AM

I believe Serbia made Germany sweat.
Post by: Trini Madness on July 03, 2010, 10:17:26 AM

aye aye!  :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :shameonyou:
:whip: watch yuhself

like yuh want eman to ban yuh from de site or wha?  ;D

dont cry for me argentina!!! LOL!
Post by: jai john on July 03, 2010, 10:18:07 AM

Imagine Germany did everything that yuh describe dey... defense wasn't that bad, Mascherano play outta he skin... dey even let Argentina dominate possession.... plus they find ah way to throw way nuff opportunities.  And still win comfortably.

Jai John wha'ppen... Maradona di'n realize which team he was playing against or what?  Ent he does pick squad tuh suit de opponent?

Cant argue with you here ...I thought team selection lost the game for argentina. when i saw the team I thought ..well he there to see the the fellas in training but after 15 mins Maradona should have relasied that the 5 man german midfield was clearly superior to his with only one ball winner. as wellas mascherano he could not be everywhere and clearly needed help.
when maradona made his substitition he took off a defender and brought on another attacker ...so he probably decided ...lose by 1 lose by 5 same loss !
germany clearly superior in every department today.
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 10:19:11 AM
If Spain wins later against Paraguay then it will be a Spain v Germany and Uruguay v Holland Semi-finals which can only mean Holland v Germany in the final.

So leh me jump in front and say congrats to E-Man as his team is the most likely one to win this 2010 World Cup!  ;)

Btw I supporting Germany 100% now that Brazil and Ghana is out!!  They treated us like celebrities for the World Cup in Germany 2006!! 8)
Post by: Peong on July 03, 2010, 10:20:47 AM

Imagine England did not receive the level of cutass that Argentina just did!

JDB that is a real hard luck that you were so wrong in your assessment.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2010, 10:21:34 AM
Kinda ironic how South America start de knockout stage hot and sweaty and now when yuh look sharp they hopes come down to Paraguay and cheating-ass Uruguay.  So much for the paradigm shifting away from Europe.

Yep. Something will be made of this, and I'm sure Eurocentrists will find some form of justification and meaning in the outcome. However, as enthusiastic as I am about CONMEBOL teams , I'm sure it never pointed to a paradigm shift. That's easily a grand assertion. South American hopes typically rest on ARG and BRA ... regardless of what happens to PAR in a few hours, BRA's and ARG's elimination is a bigger story than URU's roll into the semis.

If memory serves accurately, the most recent prospect of a CONMEBOL team aside from BRA and ARG getting to the quarters was PAR, foiled by Laurent Blanc's '98 golden goal.

The reality is BRA had the clearest path to the semis and squandered it. In my view, there won't be a pan-South American wave akin to the pan-African support witnessed by the Ghanaians. At this stage of the Cup, given the eliminations, I think football purists will prevail over sentimental interests.
Post by: Bitter on July 03, 2010, 10:24:18 AM
All the German goals come from the same left side.  Argentina play too narrow on the entire pitch, making it easy for the Germans  to bottle them up and the little piece of magic they were hoping for from Tevez and Messi never materialized. Always fizzling out into a wall of black. Higuain should have been causing issues, but couldn't stay onside.

Argentina will get pong for various reasons, but like England, they have to clear out all the old players. The youths need to step up. Diego need to step down. He wasn't terrible, but he is not the saviour of Argentinian football.

Matchups are always interesting to note. My good friend who is a German says, we beat Argentina. No problem. Why? Because Germany always beats Argentina in the World Cup! Our problem is Italy and Brazil. As long as someone else knocks them out, we are good!
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 10:28:38 AM

Matchups are always interesting to note. My good friend who is a German says, we beat Argentina. No problem. Why? Because Germany always beats Argentina in the World Cup! Our problem is Italy and Brazil. As long as someone else knocks them out, we are good!

true.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 03, 2010, 10:35:26 AM
If Spain wins later against Paraguay then it will be a Spain v Germany and Uruguay v Holland Semi-finals which can only mean Holland v Germany in the final.
So leh me jump in front and say congrats to E-Man as his team is the most likely one to win this 2010 World Cup!  ;)

Btw I supporting Germany 100% now that Brazil and Ghana is out!!  They treated us like celebrities for the World Cup in Germany 2006!! 8)

Well boy I backing both teams in this competition but ah goh have to go down fighting and back Holland all the way.  Oh lawd man is about time the Oranje lift the trophy just once......just once is all I ask.... :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 10:36:26 AM

Well boy I backing both teams in this competition but ah goh have to go down fighting and back Holland all the way.  Oh lawd man is about time the Oranje lift the trophy just once......just once is all I ask.... :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:
:shameonyou:
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 10:45:30 AM

Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 10:48:53 AM
Airfare to south Africa - $ 2,000 US, Tickets to a world cup game $100 US, Watching ARGENTINA go out at the quarter final stage - priceless. There are some things that messi can't do; for everything else there is klose. Accepted by everyone who knows great football.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 03, 2010, 10:49:01 AM
Well.. my thoughts were correct about many on here as far as assessment on the game and teams. I'll monitor and debate with only a few of the knowledgeable ones. Argentina was a favorite by many but not until the met a team that was really structured on basic fundamentals that gave them four.

I don't know how Andre Errol Baptiste came up with ranking Argentina as a world beater and as a sports presenter I question many of his Judgments in the past and current sporting events.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2010, 11:14:58 AM

Cant argue with you here ...I thought team selection lost the game for argentina. when i saw the team I thought ..well he there to see the the fellas in training but after 15 mins Maradona should have relasied that the 5 man german midfield was clearly superior to his with only one ball winner. as wellas mascherano he could not be everywhere and clearly needed help.
when maradona made his substitition he took off a defender and brought on another attacker ...so he probably decided ...lose by 1 lose by 5 same loss !
germany clearly superior in every department today.

There's something to that thought, but I have a sneaking feeling goals number 3 and 4 still bristled no ass. Didn't like the timing of his subs. I was looking for Otamendi's removal at 60'.   Higuain coulda geh pull over Tevez (both candidates to varying degree  fuh some). I understand the deference to Messi.

I think DAM went with Pastore primarily because of his mobility, but mobility wasn't being decisive re: Messi and Di Maria, so in sum he didn't add anything. Fuh me Di Maria and Pastore injected the same level of inexperience and style/quality of approach play (visible in them forcing the game). Perhaps went with Kun for penetration, but to accompany that why not Palermo for aerial strength and instincts in the box?

At the point in the game when ARG were attacking relentlessly it appears he was looking first for an equalizer before making an adjustment ... then goal #2 came and well, then he was looking for a goal to stay close ... this was around the 60' ... a few minutes later Klose netted somewhat against the run of play (because ARG was doing well to interrupt play in the midfield, but not finishing). As that was happening I was looking fuh anybody to be approaching the sidelines to at least quell the German run. Maradona showed no interest in a sub all then. Next thing you know, Otamendi fouls and well allyuh watched de game too.

As I said in a prior post on this thread, the unorthodox approach to play ... yes, attacking and dynamic, but not symmetric or with a clear enough ideology ... didn't lend itself (clearly in DAM's head) to Milito being involved. Pity. A technical striker in the box could have created a PK concern before the 2-0 scoreline.Given the thought process you say he went with (losing 1-0 v 5-0 no diff) .. . fuh me Di Maria stays on the field; return him to the left; find a way to have Kun and Milito on; play Tevez and Messi on the perimeter; concentrate play on the left with Heinze supporting and unbalance on the right.   Bolatti sees the field as my third sub (think he was available?).

In a strange way, DAM was handicapped by the same problem Dunga faced yesterday ... a flank defender in card trouble, magnified by being a goal down rather than being a goal up.  Realistically, given the configuration of the match, he had few players to draw on from the bench. It would have been ill-advised to put Veron on the field.
Post by: AirMan on July 03, 2010, 11:17:02 AM
Germany proved me wrong today. Their defence played much better than I thought they would play and they deserve the win...BUT with that being said I didnt see the same argentina, true germany is a more difficult opponent than the other teams argentina have played but still it seems like argentina did not play half as good as their previous games..What was the game plan ?..was teh game plan to give Messi the ball and stand around and watch him do magic ?..Also I am confused of how Igualin played today. He had the best opportunities and took some soft shot right at the german goalie..You will think a player of his caliber will do better..
Post by: Socafan on July 03, 2010, 11:18:27 AM
Airfare to south Africa - $ 2,000 US, Tickets to a world cup game $100 US, Watching ARGENTINA go out at the quarter final stage - priceless. There are some things that messi can't do; for everything else there is klose. Accepted by everyone who knows great football.

Nice
Post by: Midknight on July 03, 2010, 11:22:17 AM
Germany proved me wrong today. Their defence played much better than I thought they would play and they deserve the win...BUT with that being said I didnt see the same argentina, true germany is a more difficult opponent than the other teams argentina have played but still it seems like argentina did not play half as good as their previous games..What was the game plan ?..was teh game plan to give Messi the ball and stand around and watch him do magic ?..Also I am confused of how Igualin played today. He had the best opportunities and took some soft shot right at the german goalie..You will think a player of his caliber will do better..

Why you keep calling the man Igualin? ??

Jai boy...

Post by: AirMan on July 03, 2010, 11:26:47 AM

Jai boy...

oh gosh ..small repeated mistake..give meh a bligh nah  :D..
Post by: just cool on July 03, 2010, 11:26:54 AM
DITTO!
Post by: just cool on July 03, 2010, 11:33:15 AM
THANK YUH GERMANY, NOW PLEASE KNOCK OFF SPAINS BLOCK AND THE CUP IS YOURS!
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 11:37:42 AM

Jai boy...

sound like iguana  :D
Post by: FF on July 03, 2010, 11:38:08 AM

JDB yuh real catch kicks and laugh when brazil lorse so.....

MY TURN MY TURN  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :devil:

Post by: Fyzoman on July 03, 2010, 11:56:43 AM
yawn.....wha kinda boring thread is dis, after dat Uruguay Ghana thread dis rel boring, can i get ah Nazi-Germany, anybody? anybody ;)
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 11:58:26 AM

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 12:04:56 PM
ive never really supported Germany until this tournament , i love the precision and ruthlessness of the Germans. i love that , they just destroy  ;D , i can now say i am a German fan from now on  :beermug:
Post by: giggsy11 on July 03, 2010, 12:05:34 PM
German machine will prevail! Total team, who has played the best and consistent football since the world cup started! Unselfish, committed, skilled and mentally strong. They did not let Argentina take them off their game. I would spend my money on a Muller jersey because he is a borse young player and it is made by Adidas! Please someone post a picture of Maradona crying!
Post by: Observer on July 03, 2010, 12:12:57 PM
From the opening whistle Argentina never looked like they were up for the game.
After the second goal they looked exhausted. Only tevez and to some extent Messi wanted
the ball. Once they got it there was no supporting movement, in contrast to Germany.
I won't even get into Diego's decisions, once they were chasing the game. Sound
Cutass!
Post by: giggsy11 on July 03, 2010, 12:29:23 PM
Di Maria- was disappointing, one demensional and physically weak!
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 12:29:26 PM

oh gosh ..small repeated mistake..give meh a bligh nah  :D..

hmmmm....i have a feeling maradonna will be saying that a lot in the up coming weeks.
Post by: dinho on July 03, 2010, 01:24:09 PM
I really hope Klose don't break Ronaldo's record. That come like Matthew Hayden breaking Lara's 400.
Post by: just cool on July 03, 2010, 01:30:41 PM
I really hope Klose don't break Ronaldo's record. That come like Matthew Hayden breaking Lara's 400.
He most definately will break it, and later on in life some odder young fella would break his, and so on and so on and so on .
Post by: dinho on July 03, 2010, 01:40:00 PM
He most definately will break it, and later on in life some odder young fella would break his, and so on and so on and so on .

Yeah but would much prefer a legend like il fenomeno to keep it.. Ah mean Klose good, but he's no Ronaldo.
Post by: JDB on July 03, 2010, 02:21:42 PM

Ent, I tell myself I take too much pleasure from Brazil losing.

Next WC I coming in as a neutral so I could laugh at the losing team in every game.
Post by: fari on July 03, 2010, 02:24:43 PM

Yeah but would much prefer a legend like il fenomeno to keep it.. Ah mean Klose good, but he's no Ronaldo.

i feel so too horse...there is only one fenomeno.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 02:30:17 PM

Ent, I tell myself I take too much pleasure from Brazil losing.

Next WC I coming in as a neutral so I could laugh at the losing team in every game.

Nah!  Come back hatin' on Brazil again so yuh could suffer some more like we!
Post by: palos on July 03, 2010, 02:38:27 PM
At the point in the game when ARG were attacking relentlessly it appears he was looking first for an equalizer before making an adjustment ... then goal #2 came and well, then he was looking for a goal to stay close ... this was around the 60' ... a few minutes later Klose netted somewhat against the run of play (because ARG was doing well to interrupt play in the midfield, but not finishing). As that was happening I was looking fuh anybody to be approaching the sidelines to at least quell the German run. Maradona showed no interest in a sub all then. Next thing you know, Otamendi fouls and well allyuh watched de game too.

As I said in a prior post on this thread, the unorthodox approach to play ... yes, attacking and dynamic, but not symmetric or with a clear enough ideology ... didn't lend itself (clearly in DAM's head) to Milito being involved. Pity. A technical striker in the box could have created a PK concern before the 2-0 scoreline.Given the thought process you say he went with (losing 1-0 v 5-0 no diff) .. . fuh me Di Maria stays on the field; return him to the left; find a way to have Kun and Milito on; play Tevez and Messi on the perimeter; concentrate play on the left with Heinze supporting and unbalance on the right.   Bolatti sees the field as my third sub (think he was available?).

In a strange way, DAM was handicapped by the same problem Dunga faced yesterday ... a flank defender in card trouble, magnified by being a goal down rather than being a goal up.  Realistically, given the configuration of the match, he had few players to draw on from the bench. It would have been ill-advised to put Veron on the field.

All dat analysis.  I have a question for you.

Did Argentina have ONE CLEAR CUT CHANCE IN THE ENTIRE GAME where you could say definitely, he should have scored that?

Ah torkin bout a chance like Klose's in the first half on the pass from Mueller that he skied over the goal.  Something like that.

Name jes one please.

Thanks
Post by: royal on July 03, 2010, 02:39:52 PM
Ah always wonder how come we cyar produce one young (U-21) world class player and some of these teams does be loaded with many.
Post by: Observer on July 03, 2010, 02:59:17 PM

All dat analysis.  I have a question for you.

Did Argentina have ONE CLEAR CUT CHANCE IN THE ENTIRE GAME where you could say definitely, he should have scored that?

Ah torkin bout a chance like Klose's in the first half on the pass from Mueller that he skied over the goal.  Something like that.

Name jes one please.

Thanks

Argentina were so poor today even the "ball boy" score. ;D
Post by: Observer on July 03, 2010, 03:07:56 PM

Klose has I think 53 goals in 100 games
Gerd Muller 68 goals in 62 games (holy shit batman) ;D
Post by: Socapro on July 03, 2010, 04:54:54 PM

stueps, Germany waxing that

Controversial whey yuh?!!

As usual yuh wrong again!  :heehee:
Post by: D.H.W on July 03, 2010, 05:03:28 PM
Maradona in post-match altercation with German fans

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__9/ept_sports_sow_experts-253871829-1278187825.jpg?ymx0SZDDyBnBhDG3)

Immediately after Argentina's 4-0 quarterfinal loss to Germany on Saturday, Maradona was understandably upset. And according to Argentina's Deportes y Noticias, he let a group of German fans know it. A translation of their report:
Argentina national team coach Diego Maradona had an altercation with German fans after the end of the match that marked the elimination of said team from the 2010 South Africa World Cup.
Apparently upset over post game celebrations by fans located behind the Argentinean bench, Maradona approached and scolded them, until Dalma, one of his daughters, entered the field and contained him.
It's a shame the man who has entertained us all over the last few weeks with his exuberance and delightful antics had to get involved in something like this. He would go on to say that this loss was "the most disappointing moment in my life" which shows just how devastated he must have been as he walked off the pitch and saw German fans in red and yellow wigs partying like it's Oktoberfest in July right behind him. A sad end for the most interesting man of the tournament. Or anywhere else.

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__9/ept_sports_sow_experts-628271886-1278189841.jpg?ymRUTZDDlCwPHKI_)

Sign reads: "Bye, Maradona" (I don't think they mean that sincerely.)

http://g.sports.yahoo.com/soccer/world-cup/blog/dirty-tackle/post/Maradona-in-post-match-altercation-with-German-f?urn=sow,253409#mwpphu-container

Post by: Bakes on July 03, 2010, 06:38:13 PM
Siga chupando Maradona... you fat ugly dog.
Post by: Midknight on July 03, 2010, 07:38:01 PM

Jai boy...

sound like iguana  :D

I was going to ask if it was a joke about him being a big snake...but it was too complicated to make it work...lol
Post by: Midknight on July 03, 2010, 07:46:13 PM

Supporting the Nazis, after supporting the Klan? Not surprising, Mr. Field ****** ::)
Post by: soccerman on July 03, 2010, 08:17:15 PM
Ah always wonder how come we cyar produce one young (U-21) world class player and some of these teams does be loaded with many.
We can but we have to invest in developing young talent. They said the German federation committed to a 10yr developmental plan for this team, now they're young, technically sound, dynamic, skillful and they beating up on everybody!
We want instant gratification so a world class player like Yorke will come about every 100 yrs if we don't invest in proper expansion programs. We definitely have the talent but we lack in what it takes to get our players to the next level.
Post by: weary1969 on July 03, 2010, 08:45:46 PM

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNN
ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Spursy on July 03, 2010, 08:58:57 PM
Only thing I liked about Argentina was Milito and he was on the bench  :rotfl:

Meanwhile Germany... meh not colorful enough...

Spain.. yuk.. everytime i see xaxi or iniesta the food in my stomach rises.

Messi is a waste of time and breath.. cant even call himself the best midfielder anymore wesley taking him to school showing that he is a more a complete player than messi will ever be . and he is fifa world player pfft pukes

Another waste of time is CACA.. i mean kakah... what a joke.

oh yea.. thats all he wrote..

With 90 million rooney.. 80 million ronaldo and 70 million kaka.. wonder how much Sniejder is worth now?
Post by: elan on July 03, 2010, 10:46:58 PM

Messi is a waste of time and breath.. cant even call himself the best midfielder anymore wesley taking him to school showing that he is a more a complete player than messi will ever be . and he is fifa world player pfft pukes

With 90 million rooney.. 80 million ronaldo and 70 million kaka.. wonder how much Sniejder is worth now?

Or Landon while we at it.
Post by: just cool on July 04, 2010, 02:45:22 AM

Supporting the Nazis, after supporting the Klan? Not surprising, Mr. Field ****** ::)
Yuhs ah joker!! you cyar chain me up like yuh do to the foolish. but since yuh want tuh be clever let meh set yuh straight!   

the nazis was kicked out of germany 65 yrs ago, and they ran like cock roaches all over the place except germany, just like the taliban got run out of afghanistan and is every where else but there!

BTW it have nazis livin in yuh beloved land for decades, and some ah dem even run tings too.
Post by: behind-de-bridge on July 04, 2010, 03:07:51 AM
Germany playing good counter attacking football. Cant see Spain beating them, but WTFDIK. Will be surprised if its not a Germany v Holland final. Repeat of of the 1974 final.
Post by: sammy on July 04, 2010, 06:15:32 AM

u does real back your inter men boy!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 04, 2010, 06:16:58 AM
Germany playing good counter attacking football. Cant see Spain beating them, but WTFDIK. Will be surprised if its not a Germany v Holland final. Repeat of of the 1974 final.

With a different outcome.... :praying: :praying: :nailbiting: :nailbiting: :praying:
Post by: Midknight on July 04, 2010, 04:00:35 PM

Yuhs ah joker!! you cyar chain me up like yuh do to the foolish. but since yuh want tuh be clever let meh set yuh straight!  

the nazis was kicked out of germany 65 yrs ago, and they ran like cock roaches all over the place except germany, just like the taliban got run out of afghanistan and is every where else but there!

BTW it have nazis livin in yuh beloved land for decades, and some ah dem even run tings too.

You way too predictable dread; I knew you would take the bait. It's called sarcasm, but thanks for the history lesson all the same.
Post by: ribbit on July 04, 2010, 04:30:11 PM

just like yuh cyah find capitalists in America any more. :devil:
Post by: giggsy11 on July 05, 2010, 07:57:56 AM
Diego Maradona finally exposed as Argentina's weakest link... along with their right-back

By Ian Ladyman

Last updated at 12:01 AM on 5th July 2010

In the end, one of world football’s greatest icons simply had nothing left to offer. As Germany dissected his Argentina team at Green Point Stadium, Diego Maradona was out of ideas and out of gas.

In some ways, it was a shame. Maradona and his side had provided this World Cup with one of its most captivating themes. A flawed genius trying to inspire a team to achieve what he did in 1986.

But, in retrospect, maybe Argentina were never really likely to win this tournament. Maybe they had too many weaknesses. And perhaps one of those was that when they badly needed a proper coach they found they did not have one.

Found out: Diego Maradona came up short when faced by a proper team and a more tactically aware coach

At the end of Saturday’s 4-0 defeat to Germany, Maradona was on to the field quickly. It is where he feels most at home. He embraced each of his fallen players in turn. There was a kiss on the cheek for each, whether they wanted it or not.

There were no handshakes for the Germans. Sadly, that is not his way.

This is how it has been from the start. Maradona, despite such a stumbling, fractured qualifying campaign, clearly saw himself as the great motivator, a man who could drag the very best from some moderate players and who could guide his country to the World Cup final.

Man's man: His relationship with the players ultimately proved to be not enough to guarantee performance

To those of us who have watched him closely over the last three weeks, the pattern had become familiar. He was a coach who wanted to be at the centre of the group. After all these years, he still needed to be in the spotlight.

Hence, the pre-match warm-up with his players, the quick change into a sharp suit in time for kick-off and then forays on to the field at half-time and full-time.

While they were winning — and they played well in games against Nigeria, South Korea and Mexico — it seemed to work. But when Germany asked him his first big question of this World Cup by scoring in the second minute the great man had no answers.

Until the weekend, Argentina had not played under any kind of pressure since left back Gabriel Heinze headed them into an early lead in their first group game against Nigeria. From that moment, their passage had been untroubled.

But all good coaches have to earn their money at some time if they are going to succeed on this stage — witness the way that Bert van Marwijk turned Holland around to beat Brazil on Friday — and when it was his turn Maradona came up short.

Germany pulled his team to pieces in Cape Town. It was embarrassing, humiliating. Not since 1974 had Argentina conceded four goals in a game at the World Cup finals.

As Germany captain Phillip Lahm explained, his side’s tactics had been quite straightforward. Crowd the space in the centre of the field where the dangerous Lionel Messi and Carlos Tevez wanted to operate and then, when in possession, try to expose the weaknesses of full backs Heinze and Nicolas Otamendi.

It worked beautifully. Messi spent much of the game with the ball seemingly tangled at his feet and, staggeringly, each of Germany’s four goals stemmed from raids down Nicolas Otamendi’s side. Maradona, though, was frozen.

Centre of attention: Maradona, accompanied by his daughter Dalma, continued to be the show despite defeat

Not until his team were 2-0 down did the hopeless Otamendi come off. Only at 3-0 did an extra striker in Sergio Aguero come on but another, Diego Milito, was left on the bench.

Maradona did hardly anything to change his team’s tactics as Germany coach Joachim Low outmanoeuvred him on every level and his gameplan seemed only to revolve around making sure Messi saw as much of the ball as possible.

At this level of the game that will never work, not against the best teams. Afterwards, sympathy was in rather short supply, especially from the Germans.

Young midfielder Thomas Muller, for example, was described as a ‘ballboy’ by Maradona after the two countries met in a friendly in March.

Muller said: ‘For me, this was extremely satisfying. Argentina couldn’t cope with us. We played with tempo and pace and aggression and were by far the better team.

‘We beat Argentina deservedly but I can’t believe that we beat them 4-0. As for Maradona, well, this is special for me. I don’t think that he thinks I am a ballboy any more. I think he knows me now.’

According to Low, Maradona cut a distraught figure in the tunnel after the game. In the Argentina dresssing room, Messi and others were in tears.

Maradona said: ‘This is similar to the sadness I experienced on the day I stopped playing. This is the toughest moment in my life, a kick in the face. I have no more energy.’

It is expected that Maradona will resign as coach of Argentina. One hopes he will. It has been a thrill to have him back, if only for a while.

Maradona almost lost his life to substance abuse a decade ago, and we are lucky to have had one of the World Cup’s most inspiring figures among us again.

Ultimately, though, he failed. By a distance.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2010/article-1291953/WORLD-CUP-2010-Diego-Maradona-finally-exposed-Argentinas-weakest-link--right-back.html#ixzz0soeafcGS
Post by: just cool on July 05, 2010, 02:32:47 PM

just like yuh cyah find capitalists in America any more. :devil:
Joker, the NEO NAZI movement bares no political similarities to hitlers nazi movement. as ah matter of fact, main stream germans are appauled by neo nazism.

if yuh looking for the true nazi culture, then take ah trip tuh south america and most caribbean countries. their philosophy abounds there in earnest! don't you see how whites live like kings in these countries and ppl of color survive on the crumbs? BTW yuh country is one ah dem places as well.    sorry tuh buss yuh bubble dude. ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on July 05, 2010, 02:47:50 PM
My cousin is a big Argentina fan.  After the game I called him, of course  :devil:, and I told him, horse yuh side needed 2 things a coach and a defence.

I think people forgot that Argentina struggled in the qualifiers and they were ready to fire Maradona at one point.  The Argentinians must be wondering, why didn't we?    ::) ::)
Post by: Deeks on July 05, 2010, 06:03:02 PM
Diego Maradona finally exposed as Argentina's weakest link... along with their right-back

By Ian Ladyman

Last updated at 12:01 AM on 5th July 2010

In the end, one of world football’s greatest icons simply had nothing left to offer. As Germany dissected his Argentina team at Green Point Stadium, Diego Maradona was out of ideas and out of gas.

In some ways, it was a shame. Maradona and his side had provided this World Cup with one of its most captivating themes. A flawed genius trying to inspire a team to achieve what he did in 1986.

But, in retrospect, maybe Argentina were never really likely to win this tournament. Maybe they had too many weaknesses. And perhaps one of those was that when they badly needed a proper coach they found they did not have one.

Found out: Diego Maradona came up short when faced by a proper team and a more tactically aware coach

At the end of Saturday’s 4-0 defeat to Germany, Maradona was on to the field quickly. It is where he feels most at home. He embraced each of his fallen players in turn. There was a kiss on the cheek for each, whether they wanted it or not.

There were no handshakes for the Germans. Sadly, that is not his way.

This is how it has been from the start. Maradona, despite such a stumbling, fractured qualifying campaign, clearly saw himself as the great motivator, a man who could drag the very best from some moderate players and who could guide his country to the World Cup final.

Man's man: His relationship with the players ultimately proved to be not enough to guarantee performance

To those of us who have watched him closely over the last three weeks, the pattern had become familiar. He was a coach who wanted to be at the centre of the group. After all these years, he still needed to be in the spotlight.

Hence, the pre-match warm-up with his players, the quick change into a sharp suit in time for kick-off and then forays on to the field at half-time and full-time.

While they were winning — and they played well in games against Nigeria, South Korea and Mexico — it seemed to work. But when Germany asked him his first big question of this World Cup by scoring in the second minute the great man had no answers.

Until the weekend, Argentina had not played under any kind of pressure since left back Gabriel Heinze headed them into an early lead in their first group game against Nigeria. From that moment, their passage had been untroubled.

But all good coaches have to earn their money at some time if they are going to succeed on this stage — witness the way that Bert van Marwijk turned Holland around to beat Brazil on Friday — and when it was his turn Maradona came up short.

Germany pulled his team to pieces in Cape Town. It was embarrassing, humiliating. Not since 1974 had Argentina conceded four goals in a game at the World Cup finals.

As Germany captain Phillip Lahm explained, his side’s tactics had been quite straightforward. Crowd the space in the centre of the field where the dangerous Lionel Messi and Carlos Tevez wanted to operate and then, when in possession, try to expose the weaknesses of full backs Heinze and Nicolas Otamendi.

It worked beautifully. Messi spent much of the game with the ball seemingly tangled at his feet and, staggeringly, each of Germany’s four goals stemmed from raids down Nicolas Otamendi’s side. Maradona, though, was frozen.

Centre of attention: Maradona, accompanied by his daughter Dalma, continued to be the show despite defeat

Not until his team were 2-0 down did the hopeless Otamendi come off. Only at 3-0 did an extra striker in Sergio Aguero come on but another, Diego Milito, was left on the bench.

Maradona did hardly anything to change his team’s tactics as Germany coach Joachim Low outmanoeuvred him on every level and his gameplan seemed only to revolve around making sure Messi saw as much of the ball as possible.

At this level of the game that will never work, not against the best teams. Afterwards, sympathy was in rather short supply, especially from the Germans.

Young midfielder Thomas Muller, for example, was described as a ‘ballboy’ by Maradona after the two countries met in a friendly in March.

Muller said: ‘For me, this was extremely satisfying. Argentina couldn’t cope with us. We played with tempo and pace and aggression and were by far the better team.

‘We beat Argentina deservedly but I can’t believe that we beat them 4-0. As for Maradona, well, this is special for me. I don’t think that he thinks I am a ballboy any more. I think he knows me now.’

According to Low, Maradona cut a distraught figure in the tunnel after the game. In the Argentina dresssing room, Messi and others were in tears.

Maradona said: ‘This is similar to the sadness I experienced on the day I stopped playing. This is the toughest moment in my life, a kick in the face. I have no more energy.’

It is expected that Maradona will resign as coach of Argentina. One hopes he will. It has been a thrill to have him back, if only for a while.

Maradona almost lost his life to substance abuse a decade ago, and we are lucky to have had one of the World Cup’s most inspiring figures among us again.

Ultimately, though, he failed. By a distance.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2010/article-1291953/WORLD-CUP-2010-Diego-Maradona-finally-exposed-Argentinas-weakest-link--right-back.html#ixzz0soeafcGS

This sounds like a guy who still fuming after the mano de dios. Look, Diego was the center of attention because the camera keep showing us  every nuance and gesticulation the man make. That is the man's nature. Fook all a dem armchair QBs. So what if he get he arse wash. He did better than many. Like Brownsuagar, was saying, look how they struggle to qualify and then won their games in the first round. This time around the Germans were just better, especially the physical aspect. Plain and simple. I wish Uraguay would win the WC. I want to hear what they go say about the Dutch, German or Spanish coaches.