Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Jefferz on June 27, 2010, 10:00:11 PM

Title: Biggest Disappointment?
Post by: Jefferz on June 27, 2010, 10:00:11 PM
So which player in your opinion has been the biggest disappointment?

I know who mine is, and was it expect or unexpected?
Title: Re: Biggest Disappointment?
Post by: Jah Gol on June 27, 2010, 10:51:05 PM
Rooney
Post by: black chinee on June 28, 2010, 05:23:38 AM
ROOOOOOOONEY have England in ROOOOOO-ins
Post by: weary1969 on June 28, 2010, 10:27:04 AM

:rotfl: iz not only he fault.
Post by: spideybuff on June 28, 2010, 10:28:59 AM

of course it is. He went there as their big player and talisman...and he didn't show up at all. If england went there trying to build around Steven Gerrard or with no player considered better than the rest, they would have performed better.

But...because they try to build everything around Rooney and spent the whole World Cup trying to get him going, they lose sight of the fact that it had other players on the team.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 28, 2010, 10:46:45 AM
Fifa officials in almost every world cup !!
Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 10:55:15 AM
D ref, look like he making the finals and winning too, right now he undefeated
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 28, 2010, 11:04:00 AM
ENT!!!!!!!!!!!     Cr-ack...cr-ack  pow!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 28, 2010, 11:48:39 AM
Ah HAVE to (gladly) say is really a toss-up between fifa, the refs and rooney!  ;D
Post by: Touches on June 28, 2010, 11:54:50 AM
Rumor has it the future wasn't written so well and he have a bushy beard, living in a trailor and marking line on a small pitch.

Post by: ribbit on June 28, 2010, 11:56:31 AM
in no particular order:

didn't include the following as disappointment implies some expectations:

Post by: Marcos on June 28, 2010, 12:02:12 PM
Good job ribbit
Post by: palos on June 28, 2010, 12:05:26 PM
De lead post ask which PLAYER was de biggest disappointment and I seein all kinda talks bout unbalanced media coverage, fifa officials, and unbalanced england expectations.

1 - Robinho - hasn't done a thing yet

2 - Cristiano Ronaldo - maybe unfair as it's difficult to shine when the opposition not named North Korea knows you're the ONLY scoring threat

3 - Josey Altidore & Clint Dempsey - came with big hype and ended with no delivery

4 - Nicholas Anelka - Straight up Flopped

5 - Samuel Eto'o - Did nothing

Honourable Mention - Yohann Gourcuff - really thought this was his stage to shine.  Reading what went on behind the scenes, perhaps not surprising he had a really awful first game

Post by: Trinimassive on June 28, 2010, 12:22:03 PM
Fifa officials in almost every world cup !!

But yuh shouldn't be disappointed about something yuh expecting. Yuh should be prepared fuh it.

That sound kinda good actually. Ah go copyright that  :-\
Post by: Sando prince on June 28, 2010, 12:24:23 PM
I see Mango Chow , D.H.W and Brownsuga reading this thread title and wiping tears with the American flag  :D  ...
Post by: Trinimassive on June 28, 2010, 12:26:37 PM
Biggest Disappointment has to relate to the biggest expectation and that is

ROONEY :devil:

hands down
Post by: Brownsugar on June 28, 2010, 12:36:03 PM
I see Mango Chow , D.H.W and Brownsuga reading this thread title and wiping tears with the American flag  :D  ...

Eh??  ??? :-\
Post by: ribbit on June 28, 2010, 12:40:05 PM
De lead post ask which PLAYER was de biggest disappointment and I seein all kinda talks bout unbalanced media coverage, fifa officials, and unbalanced england expectations.

palos, the lead post has conditions the thread title lacks. this ambiguity mean ah go write wdf ah want  :devil:

here's a next player:

obafemi martins
Post by: Marcos on June 28, 2010, 12:41:40 PM

2 - Cristiano Ronaldo - maybe unfair as it's difficult to shine when the opposition not named North Korea knows you're the ONLY scoring threat

3 - Josey Altidore & Clint Dempsey - came with big hype and ended with no delivery

Honourable Mention - Yohann Gourcuff - really thought this was his stage to shine.  Reading what went on behind the scenes, perhaps not surprising he had a really awful first game

Palos I respectfully disagree with a bunch of these brodda.

1. Robinho has looked the livliest of the Brazilian attackers at times, particularly in game 1.
2. CR7 has two MOM awards and is clearly the deadliest man on the pitch
3. Jozy was the US' biggest threat and Dempsey earned their penalty with a nice lil nutmeg.
4. Agree
5. The guy I htink scored 2 goals. Can't be considered a flop with 2 goals in 3 games.

Rooney with zero impact or goals in 4 games is much more justifiable.
Post by: weary1969 on June 28, 2010, 12:44:08 PM

of course it is. He went there as their big player and talisman...and he didn't show up at all. If england went there trying to build around Steven Gerrard or with no player considered better than the rest, they would have performed better.

But...because they try to build everything around Rooney and spent the whole World Cup trying to get him going, they lose sight of the fact that it had other players on the team.

Is d strategy dat was flawed plus d man 2 execute the strategy was flawed. Then it cyah be a big dissapointment.
Post by: Sando prince on June 28, 2010, 12:46:15 PM

1. Robinho has looked the livliest of the Brazilian attackers at times, particularly in game 1.
3. Jozy was the US' biggest threat and Dempsey earned their penalty with a nice lil nutmeg.
4. Agree
5. The guy I htink scored 2 goals. Can't be considered a flop with 2 goals in 3 games.

was Jozy more of threat than Donovan ?

and Jozy was expected to score atleast one goal but did not so that = flop
Post by: palos on June 28, 2010, 12:57:04 PM

4. Agree

Respeck bro.

I have high expectations of Robinho and to me he hasn't done anything anywhere close to his abilities IMO

Me eh know who givin FIFA MOM awards but most of these awards appear to be popularity contests instead of who has actually done something on the pitch.  Messi is the most deadliest man on the pitch when he plays and you can see it clearly.  Ronaldo might be deadly but he gettin snuffed out and restricted to spectacular long range efforts to try and be effective.  Just my opinion

Josey might have been ARGUABLY the US biggest threat (I would agree wit Sando and say Donovan) but what did he deliver?  And is not like he Messi like in mashin up teams or he didn't get chances.  Dempsey is a football abortionist.

Yuh could score 2 penalty and be deemed a flop.  This is Samuel Eto'o we talkin about.  He was extremely disappointing for me.

I didn't have any expectations of any English player so for me, I cyah be disappointed in any players I didn't expect anything from.
Post by: triniairman on June 28, 2010, 01:08:50 PM
Messi  :devil: no goals yet!!!
Post by: Mango Chow! on June 28, 2010, 01:26:40 PM

I went through the trouble of engaging you on another thread to come over here and come to a realization....ah hadda gih yuh yuh credit, though.  Yuh ketch meh.  I dint realize what a jackass yuh was on jackass talk until now. 
Post by: Marcos on June 28, 2010, 01:28:28 PM
I feel like some players have underachieved much more than those ppl you named.

-Kalou
-Anybody on France's team but esp Ribery, Evra, Anelka
-Rooney, Gerrard
-Angel De Maria
-Kaka
-Anybody from Italy
Post by: Jumbie on June 28, 2010, 02:27:44 PM
Van Persie supposed to be fresh and ready to go.. most rested forward at the WC with that injury layoff.
Nicklas Bendtner - big facking mouth.
Torres - to date.
Ribery - not a fan, but with all the hoopla around him.. he flopped.
Milos Krasic really expected more

Post by: Socapro on June 28, 2010, 06:09:00 PM
De poster wasn't specific in the title so you could just about put any disappointment that you know of or experience, anything that comes to mind for eg; sports, politics, personal situations and the list could go on and on....

Is that so?   ???

So why after the title Biggest Disappointment? did he specify this in his post?

Post by: D.H.W on June 28, 2010, 06:14:52 PM
Post by: STEUPS!! on June 28, 2010, 06:25:54 PM
The entire france squad

good team on paper, but allowed deyself to get distracted wid unnecessary bachanal
Post by: Midknight on June 28, 2010, 06:52:48 PM
Me eh know who givin FIFA MOM awards but most of these awards appear to be popularity contests instead of who has actually done something on the pitch.  Messi is the most deadliest man on the pitch when he plays and you can see it clearly.  Ronaldo might be deadly but he gettin snuffed out and restricted to spectacular long range efforts to try and be effective.  Just my opinion

This is the first WC Fifa has let the fans that log on to their website decide the MOTM (like UEFA does for CL). It IS a popularity contest, and all the female fans and waggonists vote Ronaldo by default. Yet another bad decision by the boys at FIFA
Post by: Bakes on June 28, 2010, 08:36:56 PM
Rooney have to make everybody list... as much as I still maintain not all of it is his fault.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 28, 2010, 09:00:55 PM
De poster wasn't specific in the title so you could just about put any disappointment that you know of or experience, anything that comes to mind for eg; sports, politics, personal situations and the list could go on and on....

Is that so?   ???

So why after the title Biggest Disappointment? did he specify this in his post?

oh shi* ! by bad, correct is right, but, what i was simply referring to is that the headliner is misleading

Post by: Lower St. John on June 29, 2010, 02:54:12 PM
CRY BABY RONALDO!  :'( :'( :'(

Rooney a close second.

Blessing
Post by: giggsy11 on June 29, 2010, 07:26:37 PM
I think in order to be disappointed you have to have expectations-

So I expected Rooney to play better whether Englan shitty or not!His failure to elevate his play was disappointing.
I am disappointed by the poor officiating!
Post by: Bally on June 29, 2010, 07:40:54 PM
I knew Rooney would flop all the hype about he’s the best in the world big shit snake 
Post by: triniairman on July 03, 2010, 10:36:09 AM
MESSI :devil: :devil:
Post by: sammy on July 03, 2010, 10:37:10 AM
:devil: :devil: :rotfl:
Post by: palos on July 03, 2010, 10:37:27 AM

::)
Post by: Sando prince on July 03, 2010, 11:24:28 AM

I went through the trouble of engaging you on another thread to come over here and come to a realization....ah hadda gih yuh yuh credit, though.  Yuh ketch meh.  I dint realize what a jackass yuh was on jackass talk until now. 

I know now that Brazil loss and on their way home yuh panties get tied in a knot..doh get tie up
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 03, 2010, 11:27:49 AM

I know now that Brazil loss and on their way home yuh panties get tied in a knot..doh get tie up

Oh lawd....ah nex one dat like to fantasize about men in panty.  Allyuh must come in pairs.   
Post by: giggsy11 on July 03, 2010, 12:08:56 PM
Post by: Red Mango on July 03, 2010, 01:24:17 PM
Engerland Number 10

France Number 12, 11, 10, 9, ah could go on, but yuh get de drift...

BP, fuh what dey do to de Gulf of Mexico... (oops keep it on de football 11, keep it on de football...)

Portugal Number 7

Nigeria, for flattering to deceive fuh so long...

Eto'o...

The lis' is endless... and it ends with FIFA who are continually FOOLING INTERNATIONAL FOOTBALL AUDIENCES...
Post by: Babalawo on July 03, 2010, 01:32:43 PM
Torres might get on the list if he dont get his act together.  One set of soft man in this generation Jed  >:(
Post by: Red Mango on July 04, 2010, 11:14:58 AM
Torres might get on the list if he dont get his act together.  One set of soft man in this generation Jed  >:(

ent Babalawo... no heart... not even one moment of brilliance...

poor conduct...
Post by: fari on July 04, 2010, 11:21:14 AM

he is the coach's pet...pedro should be starting as he is in much better form...what making it worse for torres is that villa getting ALL the headlines and he might win the golden boot
Post by: kingdavid on July 05, 2010, 06:43:28 AM
everybody saying rooney but in truth and fact in terms of player disappointment it has to be messi "the best player in the world." in my opinion he over rated he needs xavi and iniesta so is better he did say he was spanish.
Post by: giggsy11 on July 05, 2010, 07:43:53 AM
everybody saying rooney but in truth and fact in terms of player disappointment it has to be messi "the best player in the world." in my opinion he over rated he needs xavi and iniesta so is better he did say he was spanish.

I think the difference with Messi's play and Rooney's is that at least Messi created goals and chances for his teamates whereas Rooney did not score or even create. He was a non factor! I think Messi's issues had more to do with the system, team and Mardona's lack of ability as a manager of the game!
Post by: palos on July 05, 2010, 11:33:30 AM
If you could really say Messi overrated, you should stop watchin football.
Post by: kingdavid on July 05, 2010, 01:38:02 PM

he is good doh get me wrong eh but not as good or great as some ppl have him down this is in my opinion.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 05, 2010, 06:28:21 PM

he is good doh get me wrong eh but not as good or great as some ppl have him down this is in my opinion.

well, boy....that is some crazy  opinion! Messi is all what people have him down to be and then some.  Not because his success with Argentina (in the World Cup) is limited that it makes him a failure.  We as fans, have a tendency to look at a person's individual successes on a team sport as a way of measuring their own successes or failures.  That should really only apply when said individual had a major hand in seeing their team's successes through.  Messi has won an U-20 WC and an Olympic gold medal where on both occasions he was the focal point of their successes. Johan Cruyff is regarded as one of the greatest players to have ever played this game.  What did he "win" with holland?  What did Eusebio ever "win" with portugal? Baggio hardy ever "won" anything with Italy.  None of them ever "won" anything with their national teams....but when you looked at them play, you would be foolish to deny their greatness, even if they by themselves could not get it done all by themselves.   People that are quick to hate on Messi, for whatever reason, really need to pay attention to what this boy can do with a ball.  He has his weaknesses, I'm sure.  Everyone does. But there's no denying his talent......or people need to stop watchin' football. (sorry Palos). SMDH.     
Post by: Trinimassive on July 06, 2010, 04:24:10 PM

I think the difference with Messi's play and Rooney's is that at least Messi created goals and chances for his teamates whereas Rooney did not score or even create. He was a non factor! I think Messi's issues had more to do with the system, team and Mardona's lack of ability as a manager of the game!

Messi is a very good player but I don't think the system prevented him from scoring. He just didn't score.

30 Shots, 15 On Target.

Sounds like the system wasn't the problem (attacking wise that is)

He still a good player but Argentina expect more of him and he just aint deliver. He had a decent tournament though.
But not on the level of Pele, Rivaldo, Ronaldo (the real one), Diego M, Platini, etc etc.
He aint there for his country like the greats have been when needed.
Post by: Marcos on July 06, 2010, 04:29:48 PM
Co-sign. But I've been saying it all season. Ppl getting tie up by his club performances, which are indeed spectacular, but are a product of playing with outstanding teammates in a terrific system.

He is excellent at what he does, but best in the world? eh....
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 06, 2010, 04:32:42 PM
People need to relax on this "Messi did not deliver" crap.  The strengths of an attacking midfielder extend well beyond being able to score, prior to the Germany game he created many chances for others and the team won, that's all that mattered, they progressed and reached the qtrs.  Then came Germany who successfully stifled the Argentine midfield which glamorous but clueless Maradona did not realize he needed to "liberate" for Messi to be effective.  At Barca, he is able to do this b/c of Xavi and Iniesta primarily creating loads of space allowing him to take on defenders at will and create and score chances.  This was absent from the Germany game not b/c he is incapable but b/c he is one man who was stifled by his coach's novice.  Messi is 23, he'll be back for 2014 and potentially 2018 for sure.
Post by: giggsy11 on July 06, 2010, 04:46:38 PM
Messi was the one star who still got the ooohs and aaahs with his play during the World Cup-can you say that about any of the others? That would be no.
Post by: Pointman on July 06, 2010, 06:37:22 PM
For me it was Kaka. I thought he woulda been ripping up the nets but he failed to score one goal.
Messi of course.
Dos Santos also disappointed me. He has potential to be excellent.
I didn't expect Christiano to do shyte so he eh really disappoint me.
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 07:00:16 AM
wha bout torres?
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 10:06:13 AM
wha bout torres?

He still has a chance to redeem himself today in the game Germany!

If Spain lose & he doh turn up then yuh could officially add him to the list right after the game!  ;)
Post by: Peong on July 16, 2010, 11:30:58 AM
The winning team's goal total.
5 teams scored more than Spain this WC.
8 is the lowest goal total for a WC winner ever.

Post by: JDB on July 16, 2010, 12:50:30 PM
The winning team's goal total.
5 teams scored more than Spain this WC.
8 is the lowest goal total for a WC winner ever.

kinda shocking when yuh consider it had tournaments where teams play only 5 and 6 games total
Post by: Observer on July 17, 2010, 10:58:50 AM
Messi played better than Maradona did in 1982 at roughly the same age, with an Argentina that were defending champions. Messi was very much involved, far more creative and quite frankly very unlucky not to score.
What he did do better than Torres, Rooney, Lampard, Ronaldo, etc was able take himself out of being the main focus of the team (or wanting to be the main focus) and allow his team mates to operate off him. In short Messi makes players around him better, something the others failed by miles.

Post by: palos on July 18, 2010, 09:00:40 AM
Biggest disappointment?

The dutch THUGGERY in the final

From a country that is reknowned for beautiful football, their displays in this world cup but especially the final betrayed everything football related for which the dutch were loved and admired the world over.  And in that betrayal, DEY STILL LORSE.

I hope they learn the lesson.  Stick to yuh principles or at the very least, doh completely abandon dem.

Brazil learn a similar lesson but dem never resort to BRUTALITY to try and win a game.  The game needs these 2 powers of the game to be true to their values.
Post by: jai john on July 18, 2010, 09:05:35 PM
Biggest disappointment?

The dutch THUGGERY in the final

From a country that is reknowned for beautiful football, their displays in this world cup but especially the final betrayed everything football related for which the dutch were loved and admired the world over.  And in that betrayal, DEY STILL LORSE.

I hope they learn the lesson.  Stick to yuh principles or at the very least, doh completely abandon dem.

Brazil learn a similar lesson but dem never resort to BRUTALITY to try and win a game.  The game needs these 2 powers of the game to be true to their values.

You din see the last Copa america final or what ..Brazil used similar fouling tactics to disrupt Argentina in that final. Not with serious fouls ...just those to put you off , stop you from going forward etc. you know the niggling fouls...now the shoe on the other foot you complaining ? Brazil never resort to Brutally to win ah game ?? Brazil 1974 ???? everyone will resort to whatever they have to do to win ...that is the way of the world my friend ...none is exempt.
Spain did not have to in this case but lets see how long that lasts ...
Post by: jai john on July 18, 2010, 09:09:52 PM

Yuh still wrong !
I agree he was a big disappointment ..and that is why he is not overrated ...because I expected more ! granted he  was not 100 % fit against germany but if anyone had said Messi would not score during the world cup, even if argentina was eliminated after the group stage, I would have taken that bet ...and I suspect so would you .
Post by: palos on July 19, 2010, 09:50:19 AM
You din see the last Copa america final or what ..Brazil used similar fouling tactics to disrupt Argentina in that final. Not with serious fouls ...just those to put you off , stop you from going forward etc. you know the niggling fouls...now the shoe on the other foot you complaining ?

Hoss....obviously you didn't see the 2010 World Cup Final between Holland and Spain or else yuh wouldn't be torkin bout niggling fouls vs serious fouls.  There is absolutely no comparison between the tactics Brazil used against Argentina and the butchery employed by Holland against Spain.

Ah know it still huttin yuh to de core de LIXXXXX yuh side take wit dat 3-0 allyuh colleck in Venezuela but superior team is superior team.

Next time, maybe yuh should watch de game fuss before yuh bump yuh virtual gum
Post by: jai john on July 19, 2010, 07:56:51 PM
You din see the last Copa america final or what ..Brazil used similar fouling tactics to disrupt Argentina in that final. Not with serious fouls ...just those to put you off , stop you from going forward etc. you know the niggling fouls...now the shoe on the other foot you complaining ?

Hoss....obviously you didn't see the 2010 World Cup Final between Holland and Spain or else yuh wouldn't be torkin bout niggling fouls vs serious fouls.  There is absolutely no comparison between the tactics Brazil used against Argentina and the butchery employed by Holland against Spain.

Ah know it still huttin yuh to de core de LIXXXXX yuh side take wit dat 3-0 allyuh colleck in Venezuela but superior team is superior team.

Next time, maybe yuh should watch de game fuss before yuh bump yuh virtual gum

as usual you conveniently misread  my response ...though I was not at that game I was in venezuela for the tournament ..were You there ?

The point I was making was that teams are doing what they have to to win ...forget about nice football ...did you read Robben's comment before the game ...that " he would rather win ugly than lose pretty " ? I also mentioned the Brazil 74 team that was a total disgrace after the "70 team but you conveniently missed that ...guess it was a little before you started following football ... :beermug:
By the way the butchery of Holland only resulted in a single red card ...you must really get some old tapes to see what butchery in football really describes ...look at brazil vs portugal  66 , maradona facing gentile in "82 .I could give you a list ..but then again .you eh really interested are you ?
Post by: kicker on July 20, 2010, 09:06:52 AM
as usual you conveniently misread  my response ...though I was not at that game I was in venezuela for the tournament ..were You there ?

The point I was making was that teams are doing what they have to to win ...forget about nice football ...did you read Robben's comment before the game ...that " he would rather win ugly than lose pretty " ? I also mentioned the Brazil 74 team that was a total disgrace after the "70 team but you conveniently missed that ...guess it was a little before you started following football ... :beermug:
By the way the butchery of Holland only resulted in a single red card ...you must really get some old tapes to see what butchery in football really describes ...look at brazil vs portugal  66 , maradona facing gentile in "82 .I could give you a list ..but then again .you eh really interested are you ?

How about Argentina v W. Germany in 1990... That on yuh list?  Yuh remember that? Or yuh not really that interested? All kinda game yuh could call- Why yuh doh show some objectivity and call that one?  First red card ever in a World Cup final...First team to not score in the World Cup final (Argentina).... It was foul after foul after foul by Argentina who couldn't get the ball outta their own half -resulting in 2 red cards.  (Monzon & Dezotti).  Highly regarded as one of the most cynical of all World Cup finals....not to mention the most one sided and unenterprising. 
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 20, 2010, 09:39:14 AM
argentina in 1990 period...men get suspended so they could even play in the final.
Post by: palos on July 20, 2010, 09:50:23 AM
argentina in 1990 period...men get suspended so they could even play in the final.

De quarterfinal between Argentina and Yugoslavia dat year was a nex example.

Stojkovic & Proinecki run all over dem Argies.....WITH the great Diego Maradona in their ranks....and de Argies was only intent on foulin man.

Coming after Mexico 1986....that Argentina team disappointed the world.  Dem scrape through every match and played very similar to how Holland played in this tournament...except...Holland was unbeaten until the final.

At least the Football GODS had the sense of justice to ensure BOTH teams ended up on the losing end in their respective finals.

Post by: jai john on July 20, 2010, 12:03:09 PM

How about Argentina v W. Germany in 1990... That on yuh list?  Yuh remember that? Or yuh not really that interested? All kinda game yuh could call- Why yuh doh show some objectivity and call that one?  First red card ever in a World Cup final...First team to not score in the World Cup final (Argentina).... It was foul after foul after foul by Argentina who couldn't get the ball outta their own half -resulting in 2 red cards.  (Monzon & Dezotti).  Highly regarded as one of the most cynical of all World Cup finals....not to mention the most one sided and unenterprising. 

Wipe yuh feet first ...go and read de comments  before nah .
This is not about Argentina or who was responsible for most fouls in past world Cups. It was a response to the comment " Brazil never resort to brutality to win ah game " made by Palos. I later stated that all teams do what they have to to win ..using Robben's comment before this year as an example.

I also gave examples using the old wc games where the world's best players were singled out for rough treatment...using Pele in '66 and Maradona in '82. ( Claudio Gentile remains the worst possible nightmare to any player he had to mark , he committed 14 fouls in the 1st half alone vs argentina and left Ardiles with a blouse instead of a shirt, after clothes lining Maradona  ) I also added " I could give you a list but then again you eh really interested " now go and see if you missed all what  just wrote  here ...

Go and find anywhere in my 5 years of posts on this forum where I have painted agentina as " fair play specialists in football ".

Before '78 Argentina had the worst reputation in football for cynical play. If you want fact I will give you one ...Rattin the giant centre back of Argentina was sent off by a referee for a foul he did not commit aginst eventual winners England.  The referee later claimed that he had the look in his eyes to commit a foul ...dat was the fear he instilled ...even de referee was afraid.

But you have your hate Argentina campaign ...dais your burden so you can carry it ..for as far and as long as you like ...

Palos and I have dis Argentina vs Brazil thing going on long now ...dais why he does slip een de 3-0 copa final every chance he get ...but I waiting my revancha ...it will soon come ...next Aopa is in argentina !

Now you understand why I said wipe your feet ?

everyone nows I does back Villareal in Spain, Tottenham in England, Argentina in World cup and Boca juniors everywhere else and Juan Roman Riquleme as the best midfielder in the world ... I reall doh have to hide behind nothing ...I am an easy target ...come and get me nah !
Post by: kicker on July 20, 2010, 03:59:57 PM
This is not about Argentina or who was responsible for most fouls in past world Cups. It was a response to the comment " Brazil never resort to brutality to win ah game " made by Palos. I later stated that all teams do what they have to to win ..using Robben's comment before this year as an example.

I also gave examples using the old wc games where the world's best players were singled out for rough treatment...using Pele in '66 and Maradona in '82. ( Claudio Gentile remains the worst possible nightmare to any player he had to mark , he committed 14 fouls in the 1st half alone vs argentina and left Ardiles with a blouse instead of a shirt, after clothes lining Maradona  ) I also added " I could give you a list but then again you eh really interested " now go and see if you missed all what  just wrote  here ...

Go and find anywhere in my 5 years of posts on this forum where I have painted agentina as " fair play specialists in football ".

Before '78 Argentina had the worst reputation in football for cynical play. If you want fact I will give you one ...Rattin the giant centre back of Argentina was sent off by a referee for a foul he did not commit aginst eventual winners England.  The referee later claimed that he had the look in his eyes to commit a foul ...dat was the fear he instilled ...even de referee was afraid.

But you have your hate Argentina campaign ...dais your burden so you can carry it ..for as far and as long as you like ...

Palos and I have dis Argentina vs Brazil thing going on long now ...dais why he does slip een de 3-0 copa final every chance he get ...but I waiting my revancha ...it will soon come ...next Aopa is in argentina !

everyone nows I does back Villareal in Spain, Tottenham in England, Argentina in World cup and Boca juniors everywhere else and Juan Roman Riquleme as the best midfielder in the world ... I reall doh have to hide behind nothing ...I am an easy target ...come and get me nah !

Wipe my feet? lol...

Anyhow I doh hate Argentina boss.  Argentina is usually one of my favorite teams to watch as long as dey eh playing T&T or Brazil...

I know exactly what yuh responding to and I not challenging that- In fact I was going to call Palos out and say be careful because as much as Brazil is known for it's flair they eh backward when it comes to getting dirty and mixing it up like that to win a game, but yuh come and talk about giving list and list and list....but yuh eh call de game that supposed tuh be top of the list!!!  I just filling in the blanks for you, but you doh want tuh hear that- you just want tuh curl up like a congori (sp? ;D) and cry about Argentina hate...Yuh want tuh talk list? Or are YOU not really that interested? 

;)
Post by: jai john on July 20, 2010, 06:39:15 PM

Wipe my feet? lol...

Anyhow I doh hate Argentina boss.  Argentina is usually one of my favorite teams to watch as long as dey eh playing T&T or Brazil...

I know exactly what yuh responding to and I not challenging that- In fact I was going to call Palos out and say be careful because as much as Brazil is known for it's flair they eh backward when it comes to getting dirty and mixing it up like that to win a game, but yuh come and talk about giving list and list and list....but yuh eh call de game that supposed tuh be top of the list!!!  I just filling in the blanks for you, but you doh want tuh hear that- you just want tuh curl up like a congori (sp? ;D) and cry about Argentina hate...Yuh want tuh talk list? Or are YOU not really that interested? 

;)

The Battle of Berne is used to refer to the infamous football match played between Hungary and Brazil, a quarter-final at the 1954 World Cup played on June 27, 1954 at the Wankdorf Stadium in Berne, Switzerland, the game I referred to ..

The match became one of the 20th century's most notorious premier games with its violent tactics, brutal challenges and spiteful petulance. Hungary, with their legendary team of Mighty Magyars and Brazil, runners up at the 1950 World Cup, were two of the most outstanding teams at the 1954 World Cup. However, what could have been an outstanding match between two excellent sides degenerated into an ill tempered contest and was dubbed the "Battle of Berne" by the British press.

"Never in my life have I seen such cruel tackling," observed The Times correspondent. During the match, English referee Arthur Ellis sent off three players after several punch ups on the pitch. did you see any of that in 1990 ? the game you described as worst of all ?

Portugal, in 1966, was playing their best Cup. The team was coached by a Brazilian, Otto Gloria, and counted with Eusébio, from Mozambique, the main star of the 1966 Cup and one of the best players in Football History.
Portugal winning the game was not a surprise. Eusébio scored twice, Tostăo scored for the Brazilians, the match resulted 3 x 1.

However, what caused surprise was the violence to which the Portuguese team resorted. From the start, everytime Pelé touched the ball, he was put down by a Portuguese; in his last play in that Cup, the British television showed that Pelé escaped two fouls, but was violently hit by a third player; Pelé had to be carried out of the field.

The game you mentioned had anything like that ?

I could post Claudio Gentile in action in 82 but as I said ..you really would not be interested ...

My advice to you is that you should not  judge rough play solely by red cards awarded. ...the kick to chest on Xabi Alonso could rival anything seen in football ...the man was completely felled in full view with a frontal kick ...Yet the offending player was only awarded  a yellow card  ... players have been sent off for less .

Go and watch that 1990 final again or for the first time ....one player was sent off when he tried to take away the ball from a german who was holding on to it to waste time ...

I dont know where you want to go with this or for how long ..but you would have to restate your argument if you want me to continue
Post by: jai john on July 20, 2010, 06:45:28 PM

Stojkovic & Proinecki run all over dem Argies.....WITH the great Diego Maradona in their ranks....and de Argies was only intent on foulin man.

Coming after Mexico 1986....that Argentina team disappointed the world.  Dem scrape through every match and played very similar to how Holland played in this tournament...except...Holland was unbeaten until the final.

At least the Football GODS had the sense of justice to ensure BOTH teams ended up on the losing end in their respective finals.

sometimes I does wonder if you really serious ..google can only carry you so far you know .. Argentina played the 1990 final without 5 of their starting players ...not because of red cards but accumulations of yellows ...a rule FIFA realised would rob the tournament of its stars ..so they have since changed it .. why do you think they now wipe out yellow cards after the round of 16 ? Now you know

...go and watch the game nah ..instead ah googling tings yuh eh see and fallin into the trap of not understanding the existing circumstance ...
I suppose next time you go tell me yuh see ah argentinian goalkeeper rolling the ball and picking it back up ..and the referee eh no nothing ?
Post by: jai john on July 20, 2010, 06:52:48 PM

Go and watch the game vs Brazil with dat same disappointing argentina team ..what happen ?? you do remember dont you ..if not and yuh kyah find it on google ..I could repeat the singular moment of the game for you ...

argentina in 1990 was no different to brazil in '74 ...both came back weakened after winning the previous year . Want another fact ? ..dat disappointing team reached the final back to back from 1986 ...what a ting ! Brazil '74 was shamed because of their rough tactics ...you do remember that dont you ? nice 1970 ....ugly 1974 ...
You should check these things before you give examples ... I tired tellin yuh dat !