Sports => Football => Topic started by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 01:25:03 PM

Title: If Uruguay can do it, so can T&T
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 01:25:03 PM
If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, tt can do the bloody same thing. I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, tt can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull.
Title: Re: If Uruguay can do it, so can T&T
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 01:28:09 PM
i admire players like forlan and suarez bc they actually run back to defend and they play as a unit, no star boy mentality.

the defenders are fit and never give up. if you notice, uruguay was down but they started playing better afterwards, they never gave up. with the tt team when they are down they dont have that drive to even the scores. that lies with the team selection and the players mentality, we need an adjustment of this bc tt can be a world beater if they put everything in place.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 06, 2010, 02:00:14 PM
If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, tt can do the bloody same thing. I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, tt can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull.

a pop of 3 million in which soccer is king .... yes a population pool in which mainly 1 ethnic  group plays football so about  500.000 and their is competition from track , basketball, cricket , hockey, rugby  etc  ... 
Post by: Red Mango on July 06, 2010, 02:01:09 PM
 breds, I fall out bad bad wid a German fella sportin WE  jersey in London (Nottinghill Carnval) who was TELLING ME dat we could never play 5, 6 or 7 games at this level... telling me dat we is "ah small country" and dat we could never do big tings, so ah arks him....

"we small eh?..."  he shake he head as if to say yes... ah arks him "how tall Maradona is?..." and den ah tell him, take off de jersey... he not fit to wear it... yuh believe de man sen' fuh 2 more pardners to want to square up and spark it...

I believe we could do more than just qualify, and play de 3 games... but dais me... as long as we set it up right, I see no reason as to why we can't...

none at all...

shock de world ah say!!!...

Post by: Observer on July 06, 2010, 02:48:19 PM
I eh want to dampen anyone enthusiasm, but Uruguay rise after so many years is no fluke. Yet they struggled to qualify. That being said watch the squad list & where Uruguay players are playing and gaining experience. This is the first starting point. Only two players actually play in Uruguay

Fernando MUSLERA   16/06/1986   GK   Lazio (ITA)   190
2   Diego LUGANO   02/11/1980   DF   Fenerbahce (TUR)   188
3   Diego GODIN   16/02/1986   DF   Villarreal (ESP)   185
4   Jorge FUCILE   19/11/1984   DF   Porto (POR)   177
5   Walter GARGANO   23/07/1984   MF   Napoli (ITA)   168
6   Mauricio VICTORINO   11/10/1982   DF   Univ. de Chile (CHI)   182
7   Edinson CAVANI   14/02/1987   FW   Palermo (ITA)   188
8   Sebastian EGUREN   08/01/1981   MF   AIK Stockholm (SWE)   186
9   Luis SUAREZ   24/01/1987   FW   Ajax (NED)   181
10   Diego FORLAN   19/05/1979   FW   Atletico Madrid (ESP)   181
11   Alvaro PEREIRA   28/11/1985   MF   Porto (POR)   182
12   Juan CASTILLO   17/04/1978   GK   Deportivo Cali (COL)   181
13   Sebastian ABREU   17/10/1976   FW   Botafogo (BRA)   193
14   Nicolas LODEIRO   21/03/1989   MF   Ajax (NED)   173
15   Diego PEREZ   18/05/1980   MF   Monaco (FRA)   176
16   Maximiliano PEREIRA   08/06/1984   DF   Benfica (POR)   173
17   Egidio AREVALO   01/01/1982   MF   Penarol (URU)   168
18   Ignacio GONZALEZ   14/05/1982   MF   Valencia (ESP)   180
19   Andres SCOTTI   14/12/1975   DF   Colo Colo (CHI)   183
20   Alvaro FERNANDEZ   11/10/1985   MF   Univ. de Chile (CHI)   185
21   Sebastian FERNANDEZ   23/05/1985   FW   Banfield (ARG)   167
22   Martin CACERES   07/04/1987   DF   Juventus (ITA)   178
23   Martin SILVA   25/03/1983   GK   Defensor Sporting (URU)   187
Post by: palos on July 06, 2010, 03:04:24 PM
I eh want to dampen anyone enthusiasm, but Uruguay rise after so many years is no fluke. Yet they struggled to qualify. That being said watch the squad list & where Uruguay players are playing and gaining experience. This is the first starting point. Only two players actually play in Uruguay

Steupes....you really reply to dah chupid talk?
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2010, 03:34:36 PM
Correct!. Uraguy is no johnny-come-lately. They have been around before the WC came in fruition. They almost reign on Brazil's parade in 1970 with they same type of football they played currently. Yes they have struggled in the modern era. But whever they qualify, they are not to be taken lightly. The players home should learn from U
Post by: Coop's on July 06, 2010, 04:13:27 PM
A better arguement might be if the US and Mexico can do it so can we,that's where we have to start,some peeps watching too much Football on TV,is too much ifs when will we stop iffing.
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 04:34:19 PM

and what is so stupid about it? you think i am unaware that most of U players ply their trade abroad? Like you seem to forget that on many occasions tt had extremely talented players but never a coach to bring together as a unit.

nothing is impossible in modern football, most of tt players are also playing abroad, the problem exists with agents and scouts not picking them up outside the uk. its not that our players cant play in la liga, or serie a or eresdiva. it also lies with the coaching problem in tt, im sure observer is well aware of that.

where did i ever say they were johnny come latelys, palos does talk a pile of a#$ when he ready, always the pessimist, if U thought like him they would be content with a first round exit.
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 04:38:17 PM

and the biggest joke of all is, how many of them ply their trade in the epl? like many football supporters on this board always brag about.

our agents and scouts for tt are poor, the players are limited to the uk and the us, roberts and a handful have gotten opportunities outside the uk but very scarce. look at even hylands current situation

we have a multi faceted problem with our football, with the right coach we made the world cup, with the wrong coaches and management we will fail to make it. plus our players need to start getting picked up other european leagues.
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2010, 04:43:27 PM

and the biggest joke of all is, how many of them ply their trade in the epl? like many football supporters on this board always brag about.

our agents and scouts for tt are poor, the players are limited to the uk and the us, roberts and a handful have gotten opportunities outside the uk but very scarce. look at even hylands current situation

England is the comfort zone. Language may be the issue. The guys have to try other Euro places.
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 04:47:12 PM

England is the comfort zone. Language may be the issue. The guys have to try other Euro places.

too much of a comfort zone, its almost a limitation, all youth footballers in tt should be made aware that they should learn spanish as a 2nd language in order for them to have greater opportunities in europe, if they are really good at languages, take up german and french as well.

the language barrier shouldnt be the main deciding factor as to the progress of our players. i really think emphasis should be placed on the youths in tt to learn new languages for their future instead of relying on uk clubs.
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2010, 07:03:26 PM
Agree!!!!
Post by: g on July 06, 2010, 07:29:07 PM

too much of a comfort zone, its almost a limitation, all youth footballers in tt should be made aware that they should learn spanish as a 2nd language in order for them to have greater opportunities in europe, if they are really good at languages, take up german and french as well.

the language barrier shouldnt be the main deciding factor as to the progress of our players. i really think emphasis should be placed on the youths in tt to learn new languages for their future instead of relying on uk clubs.

Language is not the only issue, players coming from small countries like ours need proper representation with good connections outside of the UK. Most of the agents who handle our local players are based in the UK and as such will rely on connections with clubs to get trials where possible for our players.
Post by: sammy on July 07, 2010, 07:23:04 AM
Uraguay is not no small fry.

They have more world cup titles than : Holland,
England
Mexico
Spain

Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 07:31:52 AM
ah man compare we to uruguay... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:, we can't even handle costa rica and honduras.
Post by: marcus on July 07, 2010, 08:09:38 AM
no critical thinking by the poster
Post by: Andre on July 07, 2010, 11:20:08 AM
In theory, an abundance of gifted young players ought to make ... a global super-power in the game.

But insiders point to squandered talent, a national sport strangled by poor infrastructure, and football officials obsessed by gaining re-election for themselves. There is also evidence of corruption.

written of nigeria but same applies to trinidad.

source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/africa/10524059.stm
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 11:32:40 AM

explain in stead of casting judgement, lets hear why no critical thinking was involved? some people like to talk but have no argument to back up the insult or judgement.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 11:38:51 AM
ah man compare we to uruguay... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:, we can't even handle costa rica and honduras.

and what? with some individuals on this board its better to think small or hence be small minded in their approach to our football. it is more in their comfort zone, thinking small is for people who have no vision and very little faith and self belief
Post by: Jah Gol on July 07, 2010, 11:58:54 AM

explain in stead of casting judgement, lets hear why no critical thinking was involved? some people like to talk but have no argument to back up the insult or judgement.
You didn't examine Uruguay's inherent advantages. History ( they actually won 2 world Cups albeit in the pre WW 2 era, several Copa americas and their teams have won Libertadores cups), Infrastruture and the human capital  necessary for development of a football programme. Added to the fact that they have very strong connections with Argentina and are placed in the highly competitive Conmebol zone ( imagine playing Brazil at every level almost every year)

I get your point about the challenges they must have had to overcome because of their small size but they have a lot of thing going for them apart from that disadvantage.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 12:34:34 PM

You didn't examine Uruguay's inherent advantages. History ( they actually won 2 world Cups albeit in the pre WW 2 era, several Copa americas and their teams have won Libertadores cups), Infrastruture and the human capital  necessary for development of a football programme. Added to the fact that they have very strong connections with Argentina and are placed in the highly competitive Conmebol zone ( imagine playing Brazil at every level almost every year)

I get your point about the challenges they must have had to overcome because of their small size but they have a lot of thing going for them apart from that disadvantage.

they have organization breds. something that is lacking with our football, self belief and excellent coaching as well. that is what makes a big differences, our fa is nowhere near U in terms of organization and planning. I am fully aware of their world cups and achievements. I know my football history very well and know even the tournament was different in their time of victory, in terms of format.

i also understand the level of competition they face on a regular, which is an integral part of their growth and progression. hence the reason our fa needs this organization and planning to prepare our players and have them exposed to various footballing regions that are the top in the world.

it all boils down to the ttff having poor organization and planning when it comes to our football, along with the players not being exposed to higher levels of football on the regular and lack of fitness that would allow them to compete at a high level consistently. 

we saw what an excellent coach can do with our talent and size of population, that was just a mere taste, we can achieve alot more as we have always been known as the perennial underachievers.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 01:13:28 PM

thank you for explaining to TI.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 01:14:24 PM

thank you for explaining to TI.

did you read my response or did you conveniently skip it?
Post by: fish on July 07, 2010, 01:43:53 PM
I second dah organization part.

But at the same time, players have decisions to make as well. We have had many players turn down opportunities to play in other countries where English is not the first language, or in countries that have a colder climate. Frig, we even had players turning down the MLS.

Our problem here in Trinidad is not one of an easy fix. Even if you fix management and agents, you have to deal with the players, and attitudes of players that, like it or not, some what a part of our culture.

We could go very far in football. Even with ah 1.3mil population. Is just to get men on d same page.
Post by: Sando prince on July 07, 2010, 04:09:13 PM

and what is so stupid about it? you think i am unaware that most of U players ply their trade abroad? Like you seem to forget that on many occasions tt had extremely talented players but never a coach to bring together as a unit.

nothing is impossible in modern football, most of tt players are also playing abroad, the problem exists with agents and scouts not picking them up outside the uk. its not that our players cant play in la liga, or serie a or eresdiva. it also lies with the coaching problem in tt, im sure observer is well aware of that.

where did i ever say they were johnny come latelys, palos does talk a pile of a#$ when he ready, always the pessimist, if U thought like him they would be content with a first round exit.

When in our history have we had extremely talented playerS ?..who were these players?..doh play yuhself and think because we had some fellas who could hit man spanner in our local league means they were extremely talented  :rotfl:

and I rhel laughing how you comparing T&T with Uruguay..a country who eat and drink football with a proud history in the game versus  a country who have only qualified for one world cup and has struggled since. Do some critical thinking before you make some threads nah man lol. Dont be misguided by their population and believe that is enough for you to make football comparisons with them and T&T
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 05:29:28 PM

it has nothing to do with thinking small but u have to creep before u walk...handle yuh backyard before yuh take over de park....for example, do u cook? how u start off?  I didnt start cooking ah 5 course meal on mih first attempt...i start off with crix and peanut butter, then bread and cheese, followed by hotdog, graduated to burgers, then rice and bake chicken, then rice and stew chicken, then i start to bubble ah serious pelau and now i could cook italian, chinese, vietnamese, etc....right now uruguay is ah rice and stew chicken in football and we in the bread and cheese stage.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 07, 2010, 06:05:02 PM
Question:

Can Uruguay match T&T's history of accomplishments in Track and field?

Definitely not!

Each nation has a fortay or two. T&T have about three (Football, Track and Cricket). Half of the population supports all three (football, track and cricket) while the other half supports mainly cricket.

I will tell you something though, Track and Field is on the rise in T&T. I think we will see much more accomplishments in T&T Track and Field before we see a major accomplishment in T&T football.

Realistically, all we need is about six or seven players playing in a top flight league (and i dont mean MLS) and we will make it to the world cup again.
Post by: Mose on July 07, 2010, 08:52:26 PM
Question:

Definitely not!

Each nation has a fortay or two. T&T have about three (Football, Track and Cricket). Half of the population supports all three (football, track and cricket) while the other half supports mainly cricket.

I will tell you something though, Track and Field is on the rise in T&T. I think we will see much more accomplishments in T&T Track and Field before we see a major accomplishment in T&T football.

Realistically, all we need is about six or seven players playing in a top flight league (and i dont mean MLS) and we will make it to the world cup again.

That is a pretty tall order.
Post by: Midknight on July 07, 2010, 09:28:12 PM
Question:

Definitely not!

Here's one for Tallman:
Have we ever had 6 players playing in top flight leagues outside of MLS AT THE SAME TIME?

I know it definitely wasn't the case in 06.
Post by: fish on July 07, 2010, 09:39:38 PM
But we didn't even have 6 players sweatin in d MLS at one time. Most of I know of at the SAME time was 4
Post by: future socawarrior on July 08, 2010, 02:51:53 AM
Controversial...

You have a great heart but these are two very different cultures. Uruguay won the first World Cup and has a history to its name. Spain, Netherlands, even the USA never got a medal. So to compare TandT and Uruguay you must be crazy. Being that good does not just happen.

3.5 million people is still more than 1.3 million people where the national sport is not football.

They won copa america 14 times (same amount as Argentina) are you going to class Uruguay and Trini on the same note??
In terms of talent there is no indicator that TnT is anywhere close to the talent level as them. The speed that they play at, off the ball runs, and their technical ability is superior to that of the TnT players. This they get from a very young age and develops from playing abroad. The Trinidad pro league is garbage, and has a bunch of people playing at the same level, a slow speed, so that when the national players compete against foreign opposition they are always out played.
Hope for TnT lays in the hands of current u21's and u23's. If they sign and play outside of Trinidad then we would have a against foreign competitors, as for now we are stuck with a Caribbean battle. 
Post by: FF on July 08, 2010, 07:42:12 AM
hmmm 6 players in top flight leagues at the same time? lemmeh try

Marvin Andrews Livingston - SPL
Russell Latapy Rangers - SPL
Brent Sancho Dundee - SPL
Collin Samuel Dundee Utd - SPL
Jason Scotland Dundee Utd - SPL

Dwight Yorke Blackburn - EPL
Stern John Birmingham - EPL

ah reach 7... continuing

Avery John Longford - LOI (ah stretching here lol) but thais 8
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 08, 2010, 08:09:00 AM

ah reach 7... continuing

FF...u stretching it...SPL?
Post by: FF on July 08, 2010, 08:13:17 AM

ah reach 7... continuing

:rotfl: alright nah
Post by: KND2 on July 08, 2010, 09:50:20 AM
It is not about History, # of players in foreign league, population etc.

Uruguay reach this far because

1) Favorable Draw
2) Bound to score Forlan
3) Good defensive structure, Years of playing against Brazil and Argentina develops this.

If you have a stingy Defense and a man on Fire like Forlan

You bound to reach far, especially when the teams you are playing are not the Top Top teams.

That same Uruguay team might not self reach the world cup in 2014 and people will say they fall from grace.
Not true

sometimes things go your way and sometimes they don't

To draw parallels to TnT is useless.

If people involved in TnT football dont believe they can reach far in world cup, they should not be involved in TnT football.

Post by: marcus on July 08, 2010, 10:42:50 AM

Here was the emphasis to your statement I quote "If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, TT can do the bloody same thing." End Quote Actually the population is 3.5mm but thats beside's the point.

You made a statement which puts focus on population size and ability to achieve success in world football. You further narrowed that broad sweeping statement by looking at Uruguay and Trinidad & Tobago on a country by country comparsion. Now I can only judge you on what you say and imply thru your statement.

You completely ignored
1) Uruguay is still actually 2.7x larger
2) A greater percentage of Uruguay's population plays Football as #1 uncontested sport
3) Their Football Infrastructure is greater
4) Their Local Leagues quality of competition is better
5) Coaching and Technical staff is better
6) Fan support is greater on a domestic level
7) Local Leagues generate greater revenue which allows for more investment into the game
7) Player salaries are higher therefore players can focus on football as a fulltime career
8) Geographical advantage, players are easily mobile and play/develop in other leagues in South America
9) At all levels (U17, U23 etc) of regional football they are exposed to the highest level of competition

I cant guess what you are thinking, I can only judge you on what you actually write!

You also said
"I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, TT can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull."

Yes it is a given that with better management, coaching and mental strength that we will be better, that is not rocket science. Rocket Science is figuring out how to finance and implement programs that will get us there. Rocket Science is figuring out how to increase the fan support of our local leagues so that we can generate greater revenue to reinvest into infrastructure, coaching and player salaries. It goes without saying that it is not a simple task, so when you boil it down to population size and make a broad sweeping statement without much else material fact, what am I to assume? If population was the be all the end all, then China, Russia, and USA should be all leading the the charge, and without question these countries have better athletes than Trinidad and Tobago has ever had. I think other posters have also made valuable points countering your statement as well. I hope you receive this with an opened mind.
Post by: Sam on July 08, 2010, 10:47:41 AM
Forget size of country.

Uruguay have two world cup titles and have actually hosted a world cup.

Uruguay dont have the mafia as they boss.

T&T players have no heart.

T&T dont have a coach.
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2010, 10:54:11 AM

Here was the emphasis to your statement I quote "If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, TT can do the bloody same thing." End Quote Actually the population is 3.5mm but thats beside's the point.

You made a statement which puts focus on population size and ability to achieve success in world football. You further narrowed that broad sweeping statement by looking at Uruguay and Trinidad & Tobago on a country by country comparsion. Now I can only judge you on what you say and imply thru your statement.

You completely ignored
1) Uruguay is still actually 2.7x larger
2) A greater percentage of Uruguay's population plays Football as #1 uncontested sport
3) Their Football Infrastructure is greater
4) Their Local Leagues quality of competition is better
5) Coaching and Technical staff is better
6) Fan support is greater on a domestic level
7) Local Leagues generate greater revenue which allows for more investment into the game
7) Player salaries are higher therefore players can focus on football as a fulltime career
8) Geographical advantage, players are easily mobile and play/develop in other leagues in South America
9) At all levels (U17, U23 etc) of regional football they are exposed to the highest level of competition

I cant guess what you are thinking, I can you judge you on what you actually write!

You also said
"I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, TT can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull."

Yes it is a given that with better management, coaching and mental strength that we will be better, that is not rocket science. Rocket Science is figuring out how to finance and implement programs that will get us there. Rocket Science is figuring out how to increase the fan support of our local leagues so that we can generate greater revenue to reinvest into infrastructure, coaching and player salaries. It goes without saying that it is not a simple task, so when you boil it down to population size and make a broad sweeping statement without much else, what am I to assume? I think other posters have also made valuable points countering your statement as well. I hope you receive this with an opened mind.

i used population as a start and continued with other points to prove my point. if the population doesn't think we can reach a semi of a world cup, then we have already failed. that type of mentality will get us nowhere.

we can also draw the example of players like yorke, lara, crawford, thompson, bovell, why do we produce athletes that have been at the top in the world?

yet people say we can't make it far in the world cup? if thats the case why even compete, unless we are there to make up numbers and serve as canon fodder for the rest of teams. why do you even bother watching tt football, people might as well watch brazil or other teams and become supporters of them.

if you make the world cup, you better have the mindset to go all the way, or forget about even trying to qualify, unless people want tt to qualify just for aesthetic reasons.

and to answer your statements, its not rocket science to re-define the tt football program. it takes alot of planning and organization with the right team involved on the management and coaching side. the system itself is the problem, not the players. the players are brought into a lazy system and are not pushed to progress at a high level of football. change the system and the players are forced to change.

nothing is impossible
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2010, 11:01:07 AM
Forget size of country.

Uruguay have two world cup titles and have actually hosted a world cup.

Uruguay dont have the mafia as they boss.

T&T players have no heart.

T&T dont have a coach.

but we had a good coach and we made the world cup and plenty people say the players had alot of heart. so it is possible. like i have always said over the many years, all tt needs is a good coach for the sr team to qualify. now thats not the only aspect we need to improve on but we are talented enough that with a good coach we would qualify consistently, but we need to still fix the entire program itself and draw back the football loving fans to the game like before, which is possible.
Post by: future socawarrior on July 08, 2010, 11:16:24 AM
Partner you have a nice spirit, but you could have a great coach and if you don't have quality players forget it. Trinidad and Tobago do not have any class players since Yorke and Latapy. We just have to wait for a new batch to come. At age 17 Yorke was heading to Europe to play..remember that
Post by: sammy on July 08, 2010, 12:12:13 PM
a closer comparison maybe New Zealand.

This was their 2nd world cup and they scored goals and did pretty well defensively. Remember NZ has to share their sports focus with rugby and cricket as well.
Post by: fish on July 08, 2010, 12:25:17 PM
Partner you have a nice spirit, but you could have a great coach and if you don't have quality players forget it. Trinidad and Tobago do not have any class players since Yorke and Latapy. We just have to wait for a new batch to come. At age 17 Yorke was heading to Europe to play..remember that

Hardest  :)
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2010, 01:41:02 PM

Hardest  :)

forget hardest, hes not dedicated enough. we have youth players that are very good and need the right system and coaching to help them progress
Post by: Dutty on July 08, 2010, 02:20:29 PM

forget hardest, hes not dedicated enough.

:o :o :o

(http://i28.tinypic.com/hsl0er.jpg)
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 08, 2010, 04:22:00 PM

ah reach 7... continuing

Ok, I dont consider SPL as top flight. SPL is on par with MLS in my books. Well let me rephrase my last post and say that 6-7 players playing on top flights teams (so in the case of SPL only Rangers and Celtic and maybe the third or fourth place team). When I said top flight, I really meant EPL, La liga, Serie A, Bundesliga and French league.

We made it in 06 with less. And trust me if we get about 6-7 players playing on the Tottenhams the Lazios, the Schalkes the Galatasaray's (as long as they not all forwards) we will make it again.

I think that we have a better chance at making it to the WC, if Concacaf gets another spot (even though i dont think this is going to happen). FIFA should be more creative and maybe issue 3 full spots and 2 half spots to Concacaf. One playoff against Europe and another against Africa or Asia.

Post by: Deeks on July 08, 2010, 04:25:29 PM
I saying this from now. If we don't develop a core of 3 attacking mid and 3 defensive mid(all with good skills) we ain't going nowhere.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 08, 2010, 04:59:15 PM
I saying this from now. If we don't develop a core of 3 attacking mid and 3 defensive mid(all with good skills) we ain't going nowhere.

And of course just one good keeper playing in the top flights REGULARLY, like Hislop.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 08, 2010, 06:58:41 PM

ah reach 7... continuing

:rotfl: alright nah

nice to see u admit ur crime of stretching it too far.
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2010, 10:11:34 PM

breds, i believe tinto, roberts and guerra are our best bets for attacking midfielders. for the holding mid/sweeper role i would suggest someone who is fast and can distribute the football very well, jadgeosingh comes to mind and he can dribble and has the speed and strength to negate attacks thru the middle, my next option would be jones but men cussing day and night despite jones not doing a damn thing upfront for the entire campaign
Post by: Deeks on July 08, 2010, 10:38:10 PM
I think Jones would make a good stopper who can bring the ball.
Post by: Controversial on July 08, 2010, 10:47:56 PM
I think Jones would make a good stopper who can bring the ball.

i believe that also but alot of people on here dont, they forget that he started off as a defender
Post by: Touches on July 09, 2010, 07:45:01 AM
Urguguay doh eat doubles and drink Chubby for dey diet.

We cyar even beat a Caribbean side now by more than 2 goals, far less beat the USA and Mexico consistently.

Be glad we make it at least once.

We need 11 quality men to even attempt to qualify for the finals...that and all tough to achieve.

Plus Uruguay qualifying group much harder...they accustomed to playing against good opposition.

We ent able...no harm in admitting that.
Post by: fish on July 09, 2010, 09:13:11 AM

breds, i believe tinto, roberts and guerra are our best bets for attacking midfielders. for the holding mid/sweeper role i would suggest someone who is fast and can distribute the football very well, jadgeosingh comes to mind and he can dribble and has the speed and strength to negate attacks thru the middle, my next option would be jones but men cussing day and night despite jones not doing a damn thing upfront for the entire campaign

Well right now, Birch playing def mid very well for LA Galaxy. His mates already sayin he don't get enough recognition but he holds everyone together and is vocal on the pitch. Not to mention, he pressures the ball and makes simple good passes. Not the quickest in the book, but he is a ironman on that pitch and for the Galaxy.
Jags need to be in the fold for our next campaign for certain though.
I don't really think Jones wants to play that position honestly. He hasn't play in D for a while now. If the coach tells him play there, it's up to Jones to accept and play heartily in that position.
Post by: ribbit on July 09, 2010, 10:23:53 AM
uruguay have a functioning football administration that has been running for donkey years and producing top results. they figure out this part of the sport.

t&t football administration is still a work in regress progress.
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2010, 10:32:33 AM
uruguay have a functioning football administration that has been running for donkey years and producing top results. they figure out this part of the sport.

t&t football administration is still a work in regress progress.

regress is the right word  :beermug:
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 09, 2010, 10:48:28 AM

...And plus you need two attacking strikers to offset the opposing defense on the break
Post by: Midknight on July 09, 2010, 12:17:56 PM

Latas moved to Falkirk when Sancho came to the UK so is indeed 6 and not 7. Strangely enough, he had spent half of his last season with rangers on loan to Dundee...

Apart from Latas at Rangers, I wouldn't really qualify anyone in the Scottish Leagues at playing at a higher level than MLS, but is interesting just how many guys we did have in scotland for real...
Post by: weary1969 on July 09, 2010, 12:19:04 PM

We cyar even beat a Caribbean side now by more than 2 goals, far less beat the USA and Mexico consistently.

We need 11 quality men to even attempt to qualify for the finals...that and all tough to achieve.

Plus Uruguay qualifying group much harder...they accustomed to playing against good opposition.

Preserve dem 2005-2006 games we go b watchin dem 4 decades 2 come.
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2010, 01:40:51 PM

Preserve dem 2005-2006 games we go b watchin dem 4 decades 2 come.

you bring new meaning to the word pessimist
Post by: Marcos on July 09, 2010, 02:31:26 PM
I wouldn't really qualify anyone in the Scottish Leagues at playing at a higher level than MLS, but is interesting just how many guys we did have in scotland for real...

Dred if we had more players in the MLS that would greatly improve the quality of our national team
Post by: Midknight on July 13, 2010, 04:45:47 PM
I wouldn't really qualify anyone in the Scottish Leagues at playing at a higher level than MLS, but is interesting just how many guys we did have in scotland for real...

Dred if we had more players in the MLS that would greatly improve the quality of our national team

I'm not disputing it. Was just responding to the original poster who discounted MLS players in his "formula"
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2010, 06:01:22 AM
It would be nice if these MLS players were starting players and are like mainstay players.Like the way Stern was. With exceptional of Cornel, all the rest coming off the bench.

What TTFF and Latas and them need to do. Develop a core team of local players. We don't have much overseas players to choose from. The emphasis should be local players. Build the squad around them. If one or two of the local get overseas contract, good for them. But we can't depend on the overseas players because their club commitments almost always take precedent over national team football.

We need to play some friendlies. Ghana, Nigeria and countries from West Africa. Colombia, Ven, Peru, Brazil???? or strong clubs from Brazil and Argentina. URAGUAY with Suarez and Forlan.Remeber in 2 yrs the road to Rio starts. The election done.
Post by: Small Change on July 14, 2010, 06:48:56 AM
Trinidad not READY to play at that level to reach a Semi-Finals of a WC. Uruguay won the WC cup twice!

They have some history. They actually hosted the WC twice. Their players are VERY good, and also very good on the ball. Has nothing to do with the population.

They are in South America and they are used to playing Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, etc. They are usually in the WC.

Trinidad reached the WC once, and we had some luck on our side, but we NOT ready.

Trinidad still has a VERY poor structure, begining at the top and until they get rid of Jack and Oliver Camps and all these jokers, we NOT going anywhere. We CANNOT beat USA "A" team. We CANNOT beat Mexico "A" team. We CANNOT beat Costa Rica nor Honduras away. We NOT ready. We are jokers. Still playing Grenada and the PPL PRO XL as warm up games. Still not playing enough friendlies. We gone back to dogs. Plus, the nucleus of new players coming up are just not ready!!

Simple as that.
Post by: ribbit on July 14, 2010, 07:30:24 AM
the football development climate different between uruguay and t&t. uruguay more stable e.g. look at club nacional in uruguay. that club been around since 1899. grassroots. t&t football eh too stable as it revolving around too few people.
Post by: soccerman on July 14, 2010, 02:20:28 PM
the football development climate different between uruguay and t&t. uruguay more stable e.g. look at club nacional in uruguay. that club been around since 1899. grassroots. t&t football eh too stable as it revolving around too few people.

TI I hear what you saying in terms of population if U can do it 3 mil ppl why can even we be a solid competitor in internation football with 1.3 mil, fair arguement but as most posters said Uruguay  is a stretch to compare TT with, esp with their history, goegraphic location and such. The question is why aren't we on par with the US? If you take the avaerge 10 yr old football player from trini and compare then to the avaerage 10 yr soccer player in the US, you'll find that the TT player is more advanced in the game. Like I always said something goes wrong between the ages of 12-18 in developing international players and the US figured it out and we're still struggling.
Post by: soccerman on July 14, 2010, 02:21:43 PM

forget hardest, hes not dedicated enough.

:o :o :o

(http://i28.tinypic.com/hsl0er.jpg)

Deek yuh killin meh here :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: davidephraim on July 14, 2010, 02:28:02 PM
Big heart TI but though the ball is round Brasil will beat TnT 8 times out of 10. Style is temporary class is permanent. Dont mix up style or form with class. Class takes more than just a good coach or organizing your FA for a campaign. It takes football in yuh bones. We have Carnival in we bones. When we see football in the same light as carnival come back and leh we talk again.
Post by: Deeks on July 14, 2010, 02:46:07 PM
Big heart TI but though the ball is round Brasil will beat TnT 8 times out of 10. Style is temporary class is permanent. Dont mix up style or form with class. Class takes more than just a good coach or organizing your FA for a campaign. It takes football in yuh bones. We have Carnival in we bones. When we see football in the same light as carnival come back and leh we talk again.

uraguay has carnival in they blood too.
http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=uraguay+carnival&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=C3sDqBCE-TK3TAoL-jQOR2r2zDQAAAKoEBU_Q9n0k

take a good look:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqBwkoMua60

More:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkeHYg0Wxv0&feature=related

What Uraguay don't have is a mickey mouse  FF to f--k up they football. Plain and simple.
Post by: spideybuff on July 15, 2010, 06:41:33 AM
It's all about structure and administration cause if the US had players as skilful as us, they would be making the second rounds of the World Cup every four years guaranteed.
Post by: Zeppo on July 15, 2010, 10:32:36 AM
It's all about structure and administration cause if the US had players as skilful as us, they would be making the second rounds of the World Cup every four years guaranteed.

Please  ::)

Seems that too many posters here want to keep clinging to this deluded idea that T&T is some kind of mini-Brazil in the middle of the Caribbean. You sound just like the Jamaicans.

Meanwhile the T&T team that everyone saw in qualifying was full of players who struggled to simply trap the ball correctly.

Time to get over yourselves.
Post by: Dutty on July 15, 2010, 11:02:48 AM
damn,,JUST when ah thought you and brownsugar was makin up

ah well,, wear yuh kevlar
Post by: soccerman on July 15, 2010, 11:58:34 AM

Seems that too many posters here want to keep clinging to this deluded idea that T&T is some kind of mini-Brazil in the middle of the Caribbean. You sound just like the Jamaicans.

Meanwhile the T&T team that everyone saw in qualifying was full of players who struggled to simply trap the ball correctly.

Mini-Brazil??? Didn't you read the post? We're a mini-Uruguay :devil:
Post by: FF on July 15, 2010, 12:02:26 PM

Mind yuh own kiss meh arse business zeppo....

We shitty too bad... but USA shitty for all de world to see!! Hold dat!
Post by: davidephraim on July 15, 2010, 03:13:40 PM

We will get over our selves when Findley cya make yuh forward line anymore infront of your other strikers.
truth is america benefits from a lot of migrant 2nd generation talent. Lets see how many cherokee indians can make de team nah.
Post by: davidephraim on July 15, 2010, 03:20:03 PM

uraguay has carnival in they blood too.
http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=uraguay+carnival&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=C3sDqBCE-TK3TAoL-jQOR2r2zDQAAAKoEBU_Q9n0k

take a good look:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqBwkoMua60

More:   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkeHYg0Wxv0&feature=related

What Uraguay don't have is a mickey mouse  FF to f--k up they football. Plain and simple.
Deeks are you kidding me? I said carnival in de bones. Dat is carnival in de body. We have it deep in de marrow. Most things are judged, timed, planned and remembered using carnival almost like a cardinal point. East West North South Carnival! I will grant you that, our FA sucks however.