Sports => Football => Topic started by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 04:55:16 PM

Title: It should be compulsary for TT Youth Footballers to Learn a 2nd Language
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 04:55:16 PM
In order for our youths to not have a limitation of places they play and ply their trade. The ttff should start emphasizing the need for all youth footballers who intend to make football a career, that they learn spanish and are fluent in the language.

Other languages should also be on top of the list, such as french and german as well. This will allow them to have a greater scope of opportunity for them to play in europe and not limit them to the UK and english speaking countries alone.

I have heard many individuals on this board speak of the language barrier and so forth, well spanish is the 2nd language in TT, all footballers should take the effort and time to learn another language because if the UK is not the place for them in a football career, they will have many other choices in Europe.

What I would also like to know is why european scouts very rarely pick up TT players? Is is because of the language barrier alone or other factors? I think we need more in TT to scout and be agents for the players. If they know a 2nd language it would make it easier for themselves.
Title: Re: It should be compulsary for TT Youth Footballers to Learn a 2nd Language
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 05:09:02 PM
add italian and dutch to the list. i know of many footballers who have played in europe and know more than 2 languages which has helped them immensely
Title: Re: It should be compulsary for TT Youth Footballers to Learn a 2nd Language
Post by: Coop's on July 06, 2010, 05:17:10 PM
Could you imagine JW saying it will be compulsory for T&T Youth Footballers learn a second language,i understand where you coming from but these guys already strugleing to learn to play the game of Football much less a second language,allyu driving them Footballers to play Minor league more and more. :devil:
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 05:18:52 PM
Could you imagine JW saying it will be compulsory for T&T Youth Footballers learn a second language,i understand where you coming from but these guys already strugleing to learn to play the game of Football must less a second language,allyu driving them Footballers to play Minor league more and more. :devil:

breds the standard has to raise in order to compete in the footballing world today
Post by: palos on July 06, 2010, 05:30:39 PM
All now Carlos Tevez still cyah speak English
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 05:36:03 PM

i understand your point, thats why i asked previously what other factors are involved if its not the language barrier? why arent agents and scouts coming and it lies with tts underachievement, we are labelled the perennial underachievers of the region. but there must be more other than rankings and underachieving as a national team.
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 05:38:49 PM
other factors may be the insurance issue with the ttff and the way they are run in terms of lack of organization and transparency.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on July 06, 2010, 06:30:59 PM
Let the football speak for itself. We could have all kinda men talking German and Finnish but still running shitty ball. The league needs to develop a large enough fan base to make playing domestic football a viable career and begin to build its name by doing well in Champions League and beyond.

If you really believe we have the talent why worry about foreign agents and scouts? If you really believe we have an undervalued asset (talented players) then exploit that situation by investing money in a team or towards the development of young players. Why wait for a foreigner to walk in and make it look easy?

Of all the youth playing abroad in the last 4 years, how many beside Hyland have distinguished themselves in foreign leagues? For every 'talented' youngster in T&T there are probably 10 or more in several African nations just as good or better in the same position. Throw in Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Germany, the U.S. etc. and then tell me why any scout/agent would put T&T near the top of their shopping list.

Post by: giggsy11 on July 06, 2010, 06:39:00 PM
We might want to teach them English first!
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2010, 07:01:19 PM
Spanish use to be compulsory, at least for GCE in my times.
Post by: Coop's on July 06, 2010, 07:08:43 PM
Let the football speak for itself. We could have all kinda men talking German and Finnish but still running shitty ball. The league needs to develop a large enough fan base to make playing domestic football a viable career and begin to build its name by doing well in Champions League and beyond.

If you really believe we have the talent why worry about foreign agents and scouts? If you really believe we have an undervalued asset (talented players) then exploit that situation by investing money in a team or towards the development of young players. Why wait for a foreigner to walk in and make it look easy?

Of all the youth playing abroad in the last 4 years, how many beside Hyland have distinguished themselves in foreign leagues? For every 'talented' youngster in T&T there are probably 10 or more in several African nations just as good or better in the same position. Throw in Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Germany, the U.S. etc. and then tell me why any scout/agent would put T&T near the top of their shopping list.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: Controversial on July 06, 2010, 07:20:51 PM

if the player is talented, it would cost them less to buy the player locally from tt than a brazillian, as john barnes and few others stated, south americans and africans are saturating the market. they need new players and the caribbean is an excellent place where they can pay less and get just as good raw talent.

if you have a shopping list you want the most for the least, thats why the caribbean is a good option, to be totally honest the tt players aint playing no garbage football, its the training and coaching from youth level go up that needs the work.

the system as a whole needs restructuring, put any tt player with potential in the dutch system for instance and then you would see how good the players really are
Post by: ZANDOLIE on July 06, 2010, 08:07:37 PM
 if the player is talented, it would cost them less to buy the player locally from tt than a brazillian, as john barnes and few others stated, south americans and africans are saturating the market. they need new players and the caribbean is an excellent place where they can pay less and get just as good raw talent

OK, but what I'm saying is if you see an inefficiency in the market, recognize it as an opportunity and place your money where your mouth is.

If as you say the market for Brazilians and Africans is 'oversaturated' then surely the foreigners will soon realize what glorious football riches we harbouring over here and eventually come stampeding thru the gates.

Invest some $$$ in a team or young player so that when they come you are positioned to benefit. Why not call up South End and offer to pay airfare and lodgings for their U-15 team to go to 2-3 good Central/South American tourneys per year til they reach U-19, in return for rights to X% of their sale value or whatever.

Simple...yuh doing your part to help football AND making money. You could even offer them Dutch lessons.

Post by: Bakes on July 06, 2010, 08:15:04 PM
Whey you does come from with these ideas dred, lol.  So which language should they hedge they bets on and learn?  Let's say they learn Spanish... how that helping man if all he getting is a contract in Belgium or Turkey?  As Zandolie say, let the football speak for itself... speaking ah next language ent go help you get contract... playing high level football will.  Once contract in place then yuh could worry about learning the language of the country where yuh plying yuh trade... cyah put de cart before de horse.
Post by: Dutty on July 07, 2010, 06:27:57 AM

Ouch!  :D
Post by: mukumsplau on July 07, 2010, 07:12:41 AM

Ouch!  :D

ay ay ay! man does speak how dey normally does an still gehin big contrack eh! ketch yuhself!
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 11:36:00 AM
Whey you does come from with these ideas dred, lol.  So which language should they hedge they bets on and learn?  Let's say they learn Spanish... how that helping man if all he getting is a contract in Belgium or Turkey?  As Zandolie say, let the football speak for itself... speaking ah next language ent go help you get contract... playing high level football will.  Once contract in place then yuh could worry about learning the language of the country where yuh plying yuh trade... cyah put de cart before de horse.

im simply going on others comments, many individuals on the board said that language is a barrier for our players in other european countries and I have seen it happen before. I have family who has played in europe and they speak close to 4 different languages which helped them.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 11:43:31 AM
doesnt latas speak portugese and learnt it there? knowing the language of the country helps the player immensely, i dont think anyone could deny that. i think players from tt are too heavily focused on playing in england because it negates them having to learn a different language. even gay who is playing in germany, will most likely if hes there for a number of years, would want to learn german.
Post by: Teflon Don on July 07, 2010, 11:53:30 AM
doesnt latas speak portugese and learnt it there? knowing the language of the country helps the player immensely, i dont think anyone could deny that. i think players from tt are too heavily focused on playing in england because it negates them having to learn a different language. even gay who is playing in germany, will most likely if hes there for a number of years, would want to learn german.
I agree....the majority of them are geographically retarded and not exposed to anything except epl. sad part is going off of their skill level, understanding of the game fitness etc...None of the current bunch WILL EVER MAKE IT IN THE EPL. EVEEEEEEEEER. so they need to get agents like hyland and creep b4 they walk.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 12:14:50 PM
Wey yuh trying tuh say that other languages could  play better football than people who still learning tuh speak English.Sorry my bad but develop and raise the standard in T&T first. Why yuh think they have a Technical director in place. Not because it's foreign means that the standard is better than ours if we raise the bar we will get notice  
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 12:27:19 PM
Wey yuh trying tuh say that other languages could  play better football than people who still learning tuh speak English.Sorry my bad but develop and raise the standard in T&T first. Why yuh think they have a Technical director in place. Not because it's foreign means that the standard is better than ours if we raise the bar we will get notice  

where did i say that? i said that players in tt need to expand their horizons outside the epl, of course their skill level, fitness and so forth needs to be at a high level before they leave the shores. but they shouldn't allow the language barrier to kill their chances.

hyland, gay, latas, roberts and even spann have done well in going outside the epl and uk at large. tt players should not focus entirely on the epl when excellent football opps exists in europe.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 12:37:59 PM

where did i say that? i said that players in tt need to expand their horizons outside the epl, of course their skill level, fitness and so forth needs to be at a high level before they leave the shores. but they shouldn't allow the language barrier to kill their chances.

hyland, gay, latas, roberts and even spann have done well in going outside the epl and uk at large. tt players should not focus entirely on the epl when excellent football opps exists in europe.

I totally understand what you saying and that you were talking about tt players but look at the big pic surrounding you comment.
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 12:40:01 PM

I totally understand what you saying and that you were talking about tt players but look at the big pic surrounding you comment.

the bigger picture is players need to educate themselves and know that the footballing world doesnt revolve around the epl and english speaking countries and it would make it easier and more useful for them learning another language to not limit their opportunities.
Post by: chelsealife on July 07, 2010, 12:57:59 PM
He's not 100% but he does speak a lil english plus he understands it so it doesnt rly matter
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 01:08:06 PM
He's not 100% but he does speak a lil english plus he understands it so it doesnt rly matter

if he didnt understand it, i could imagine the problem it would create for him in the epl and with the coaches and management. when you are going over strategy and analysis it is vital for a player to grasp it.
Post by: fish on July 07, 2010, 01:50:30 PM
No need for learnin a language when u dont even know where u gonna ply your trade.

Plus, if a team pick you up, it is only then you start to learn the language. You dont have to know it right away. You learn the language with a tutor or some sort of learning setting, not to mention with your teammates. For example, Hyland aint know French or Belgium slang before he got loaned to Zulte, Americans dont know Norwegian or Swedish before they get picked up from a team there. Sealy aint know Hebrew before he went sweatin in Israel.

If a team want to pick your ass up, they go scout you and talk to you and your agent and see wuz d scn.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 03:42:35 PM

the bigger picture is players need to educate themselves and know that the footballing world doesnt revolve around the epl and english speaking countries and it would make it easier and more useful for them learning another language to not limit their opportunities.
Aye!! if a team want yuh and you fit into their system, It just does not matter what ever language you speak bottom line.
Post by: giggsy11 on July 07, 2010, 03:56:01 PM
It is much easier to learn a 2nd language when you are forced to speak the language due to the need to communicate and interact with others who speak the language. Sitting in a classroom and learning out of a book doesn't mean you will speak Spanish when you leave the classroom if you only interact with people who speak English.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 07, 2010, 05:03:23 PM
What language you need to speak to switch the play from one side of the field to the next??
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 07, 2010, 05:30:09 PM
they need to learn to trap a ball first.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 07, 2010, 06:22:34 PM
It is compulsory that TT Youth Footballers Learn Football

Football is a universal language. These fellas know very little when it comes to professionalism.

They don't eat, sleep, breathe football. Football for most ah dem is ah hobby they getting small change from.

The biggest criticism that our players get abroad is that they too laid back.

It hard enough to make alot ah people in T&T see the necessity in working hard, yuh really think yuh could make fellas take ah game serious ???

Ah professional environment is what is needed not only in football but it's needed in T&T on a whole.
Post by: FF on July 07, 2010, 06:29:42 PM

Football is a universal language. These fellas know very little when it comes to professionalism.

They don't eat, sleep, breathe football. Football for most ah dem is ah hobby they getting small change from.

It hard enough to make alot ah people in T&T see the necessity in working hard, yuh really think yuh could make fellas take ah game serious ???

Ah professional environment is what is needed not only in football but it's needed in T&T on a whole.

:applause: clap clap clap

well said
Post by: Controversial on July 07, 2010, 08:11:10 PM

i guess i didnt state that in my opening which i should have, i assumed everyone would know this off the bat, that we need structural changes and planning that needs to be done in order to get the youths level up to par, but i believe part of the football education should include languages and business relations.
Post by: fish on July 09, 2010, 01:09:58 PM
But languages is a part of it. As I said, they learn when they go off to Spain, Sweden, Saudi Arabia, Japan, China, etc. But the way you mentioned it in the beginning was for the TTFF to have to guys learn a language when they don't need to as they don't know where they will play.
Post by: Controversial on July 09, 2010, 01:39:26 PM
most countries in europe understand spanish, french or german. in schools there, learning more than one language is common place
Post by: DeSoWa on July 09, 2010, 02:55:41 PM
It is much easier to learn a 2nd language when you are forced to speak the language due to the need to communicate and interact with others who speak the language. Sitting in a classroom and learning out of a book doesn't mean you will speak Spanish when you leave the classroom if you only interact with people who speak English.

yeah, like me, I have been "learning" spanish since ah was in form 2 and ah still cya speak it, ah could read and understand most part but won't able to communicate with ah real spanish person to save me life  ;D

Post by: fish on July 09, 2010, 02:56:49 PM
most countries in europe understand spanish, french or german. in schools there, learning more than one language is common place

Europe is only one part of the world. They learn languages there because of the proximity of the nations closeby, NOT because of football.

And yeh, that's a common place, but that don't mean that Owen Hargreaves went to Bayern because he learn German or it help him in that way. Cristiano hardly could say anything in english before he went to Man U.
Players like Tevez still taking classes in England and can't speak the language. I use Tevez as an example because he is the most heard about player that doesn't know english despite being in England for almost 4 years.

Bottom line is that it would not define where you play. It may help if the player happens to go there, but football is so dynamic it should not be a priority nor mandatory.
Post by: Bakes on July 09, 2010, 11:20:10 PM

Most countries in europe also understand English...
Post by: Red Mango on July 09, 2010, 11:38:36 PM

But it's different... In Holland for example, the kids think "it's cool" to speak English, but around the dinner table with mama and papa, it's Dutch that is spoken... A 2nd language could help, even games and courses in Surinam are not really a bad idea seeing that it has such a "rich" footballing pedigree... everything is pretty close to us, we just need to look closely, at what's around us...

I'm not surprised though that we haven't tapped into or looked at these options for our future players' development...

We have (well, had, no man, HAVE) a good ting going, wid football in T&T... but, we could still push for better and more...

Jus' meh 2 cents...
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 12:57:30 AM

But it's different... In Holland for example, the kids think "it's cool" to speak English, but around the dinner table with mama and papa, it's Dutch that is spoken... A 2nd language could help, even games and courses in Surinam are not really a bad idea seeing that it has such a "rich" footballing pedigree... everything is pretty close to us, we just need to look closely, at what's around us...

I'm not surprised though that we haven't tapped into or looked at these options for our future players' development...

We have (well, had, no man, HAVE) a goot ting going, wid football in T&T... but, we could still push for better and more...

Jus' meh 2 cents...

Of what use is a second language if yuh football isn't good?  Conversely, who needs a second language if your football speaks for itself.  Does Javier Hernandez need to learn English before going to the EPL?  This whole "learn ah second language to improve yuh professional opportunities" talk is ass-backwards nonsense.  How much English Drogba know? 
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2010, 01:01:20 AM

We have (well, had, no man, HAVE) a goot ting going, wid football in T&T... but, we could still push for better and more...

Jus' meh 2 cents...

i remember staying my cousins in amsterdam and they played poker in dutch, couldnt understand a damn thing  :D but they spoke 4 different languages.

the best players from suriname does end up in holland, bottom line, there are a few diamonds but they eventually end up in holland.
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2010, 01:03:33 AM

Jus' meh 2 cents...

Of what use is a second language if yuh football isn't good?  Conversely, who needs a second language if your football speaks for itself.  Does Javier Hernandez need to learn English before going to the EPL?  This whole "learn ah second language to improve yuh professional opportunities" talk is ass-backwards nonsense.  How much English Drogba know? 

we are assuming that they are good footballers bc and have been in a revised ttff system where they learned another language in prep for a footballing career in the future. i could see this being reality with an academy of football.

or a high school dedicated to the major sports in tt.
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 11:51:05 AM

We have (well, had, no man, HAVE) a good ting going, wid football in T&T... but, we could still push for better and more...

Jus' meh 2 cents...

I think Didier handles himself well in front of the media, in fact, he know enough to show his displeasure to the cameras (it's a disgrace... it's a f**king disgrace!!! immediately comes to mind)... But yes I see your point, what I am advocating is a development strategy, where an exchange of footballing students (across cultural and linguistic divides) could actually help us to create and achieve a better footballing product, that can integrate easier into a European system as well as, enhance our own technical abilities on the pitch, even if it means starting at say, age 7 with the introduction of Dutch coaches into our system, and games played with freedom as opposed to controls (referees)...

Ages 10 - 12 could be used to introduce controls (referees) and thus enhance the more tactical aspects of our game...

Isn't it strange that for the little proof that Caribbean football has shown to the various leagues around the region and the wider world that there is NOT ONE major club from Holland, whether it be Ajax, Feyenoord, PSV or Rotterdam, that has not even thought to set up an academy in T&T or JA?... or any major club for that matter? No Liverpools, Manchester Uniteds (and Yorke played for them yeah?...) Chelseas or Arsenals...? Not even a Spanish influence, No Valencias, Getafes or Villa Reals??? nothing?...

Is it BECAUSE we cannot communicate (because let's face it, Van Persie said it best about referring to being Dutch when quizzed about the influence Bergkamp has on his Arsenal career and I quote, "it's amazing, but what makes it even more special is that he is my countryman and we speak the same language...") in these languages?...

Shaka Hislop's intelligence is not questioned... is it?... Having worked for NASA and all...

Speaking a second language, also encourages the brain to work differently, it makes for a stronger mind, and if the old adage "that we only use 1/10th of our capacity" is true, then surely offering a footballer the opportunity, to enhance his skills by learning a 2nd or even 3rd language, can only be a positive diversion away from other distractions outside of the game... PS3 and all... and encourage him or her to think differently (hopefully more productively) about improving his or her own game.

Oneness... 
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 12:32:12 PM

Jus' meh 2 cents...

If a player goes to a foreign country and is unable to converse in the native language due to him making no effort to learn the language of the country, it can interfere with that player settling in or assimulating to his new environment. If a player is usettled off the field it could affect him on the field. Why do you think clubs set players up with language lessons? 
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2010, 01:11:08 PM
If is anyone should be learning a new language is the agents and whomever repping T&T abroad that could get a contract for a local-based player.

Hopefully de pro league clubs doing some kind of investment - they are supposed to be the ones to gain from the international football transfer market.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 01:19:07 PM
If a player goes to a foreign country and is unable to converse in the native language due to him making no effort to learn the language of the country, it can interfere with that player settling in or assimulating to his new environment. If a player is usettled off the field it could affect him on the field. Why do you think clubs set players up with language lessons? 

There are several obvious flaws in your analysis:

- We not talking woulda or coulda... we talking what's necessary.  Could a player be unsettled if he doesn't know how to speak the language?  Yes.  Does not knowing the language mean that such player automatically will be unsettled? No.  So knowing another language hasn't been proven compulsory.

- Secondly, if the player is already playing in the foreign country then that negates the whole "need to learn a second language in order to improve professional opportunities".  The opportunity is already there.

- Thirdly, if anything it only supports my assertion that it's far better to wait until one knows which foreign country on will be playing in before embarking on pulling a foreign language out of a hat and setting about to learn that language in hopes of playing in that country.

-------------------------

Bongonatti, maybe these European clubs don't have academies in the caribbean b/c the return on investment just isn't there to support them?  Why set up academies here when they can do them much cheaper closer to home?  Or in Africa for that matter... where the sheer number of players make it more likely to find a few diamonds in the rough than in the Caribbean?  Language is hardly the barrier that you make it out to be.

p.s.  when did Shaka ever work for NASA?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:25:45 PM
dis language ting is pure bull$hit....our players need to learn how to trap and deal with the conditions in foreign countries to do well...not complain about it too cold and all kinda dotish excuse for not doing well....i played with an african fellah who spoke 3 languages including french and italian but not ah balsted word of english for 1 year and we had no problems communicating with him and vice versa....nuff hand signals and a few basic english words.
Post by: giggsy11 on July 10, 2010, 01:32:25 PM

- We not talking woulda or coulda... we talking what's necessary.  Could a player be unsettled if he doesn't know how to speak the language?  Yes.  Does not knowing the language mean that such player automatically will be unsettled? No.  So knowing another language hasn't been proven compulsory.

- Secondly, if the player is already playing in the foreign country then that negates the whole "need to learn a second language in order to improve professional opportunities".  The opportunity is already there.

- Thirdly, if anything it only supports my assertion that it's far better to wait until one knows which foreign country on will be playing in before embarking on pulling a foreign language out of a hat and setting about to learn that language in hopes of playing in that country.

My response was regarding your statement " Conversely, who needs a second language if your football speaks for itself"; Not the necessity to learn a second language in order to improve one's chances of gaining a football contract.
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 01:36:13 PM

Bongonatti, maybe these European clubs don't have academies in the caribbean b/c the return on investment just isn't there to support them?  Why set up academies here when they can do them much cheaper closer to home?  Or in Africa for that matter... where the sheer number of players make it more likely to find a few diamonds in the rough than in the Caribbean?  Language is hardly the barrier that you make it out to be.

p.s.  when did Shaka ever work for NASA?

Ajax has an Academy in South Africa...

Hislop's Early career... Early career

At an early age, Hislop wanted to be a striker, but was thrust in goal as he was the tallest player on his team. He eventually grew to a commanding 6'6" in height, although various sources cite his height at 6'4". After graduating from St. Mary's College in Trinidad, Hislop earned a scholarship to play college soccer at Howard University in the United States and led his team to the NCAA Final as a freshman starter. He graduated from Howard with honours with a degree in Rocket Propulsion Engineering. During this time, he interned at NASA.

Courtesy of Wiki, but I'm sure than this too can be proved on the boards...
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 01:40:49 PM
dis language ting is pure bull$hit....our players need to learn how to trap and deal with the conditions in foreign countries to do well...not complain about it too cold and all kinda dotish excuse for not doing well....i played with an african fellah who spoke 3 languages including french and italian but not ah balsted word of english for 1 year and we had no problems communicating with him and vice versa....nuff hand signals and a few basic english words.

Did anyone think of learning a few French or Italian phrases to at least communicate with the fella?... EVEN outside of the white lines?...
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 01:52:17 PM

Did anyone think of learning a few French or Italian phrases to at least communicate with the fella?... EVEN outside of the white lines?...

a few men knew a little french but men mostly learn how to cuss in french and italian over the years...no positive learning.. ;D
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:00:21 PM

a few men knew a little french but men mostly learn how to cuss in french and italian over the years...no positive learning.. ;D

So...

All ah sayin breds, is dat if we aspire to believe, surely, surely we can achieve...

Yuh see, if any one ah allyuh did pull a gyul from France, allyuh woulda make de effort ent?... Ah just' sayin...
buh yuh see where ah comin' from?... is de same "love"... even if it different...
Post by: College on July 10, 2010, 02:23:30 PM
This is a ridiculous thread .. next thing men go be suggesting that we youth players should stand in front the fridge for 90 minutes every day so they could get used to the cold!!.. ::)
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 02:32:01 PM

So...

All ah sayin breds, is dat if we aspire to believe, surely, surely we can achieve...

Yuh see, if any one ah allyuh did pull a gyul from France, allyuh woulda make de effort ent?... Ah just' sayin...
buh yuh see where ah comin' from?... is de same "love"... even if it different...

de fellah learn english after 2 years...real smart guy..football was just his ticket to free school.
Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 02:51:44 PM

So...

de fellah learn english after 2 years...real smart guy..football was just his ticket to free school.

I rest my case...
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 05:29:12 PM
My response was regarding your statement " Conversely, who needs a second language if your football speaks for itself"; Not the necessity to learn a second language in order to improve one's chances of gaining a football contract.

Performance on the field is all that matters.  A player could bark like a dog or communicate with smoke signals if that's what he wants to do.  As long as he earning his keep on the field no one would or should care.

---------------------------

bongonatti... I'm not sure what a college internship says about a man's intelligence.  NASA in Greenbelt MD in particular was a hive of project management activity... not jet-propulsion engineering.
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2010, 05:29:45 PM
This is a ridiculous thread .. next thing men go be suggesting that we youth players should stand in front the fridge for 90 minutes every day so they could get used to the cold!!.. ::)

Post by: Red Mango on July 10, 2010, 06:36:50 PM

Performance on the field is all that matters.  A player could bark like a dog or communicate with smoke signals if that's what he wants to do.  As long as he earning his keep on the field no one would or should care.

---------------------------

bongonatti... I'm not sure what a college internship says about a man's intelligence.  NASA in Greenbelt MD in particular was a hive of project management activity... not jet-propulsion engineering.

I wouldn't know Bakes... My business is loving football and helping de youths develop... but de fella eh chupid... chupid people doh end up where he reach and continously strivin for, excellence...
Post by: maxg on July 10, 2010, 07:00:31 PM

Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 10, 2010, 08:19:32 PM

College win with this one