Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 04:08:54 PM

Title: WC 2010 - Match 64 - Final for 1st & 2nd place (11 July): Holland vs Spain
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 04:08:54 PM
Match 64 - Final for 1st & 2nd place - 11 July
Johannesburg - Soccer City Stadium

Head-to-Head

Spain    Netherlands 
 8 Matches Played 8 
 3 Wins 4 
 1 Draws 1 
 4 Losses 3 
 12 Goals for 10 
 10 Goals against 12

Holland-Spain preview

2010 FIFA World Cup Championship Game Features the Netherlands Vs. Spain
This Sunday, July 11, the Netherlands vs. Spain World Cup Finals game will be contested. It marks the end of the month-long festivities, upsets and heartbreaks of the 2010 World Cup.

Heading into the Quarterfinals, it seemed like the 2010 World Cup was destined to be all about South America. However, with Spain vs. Netherlands, we have an all-Europe Finals game, and will have a European World Champion. Additionally, neither team has ever won the World Cup, so there will be a new winner adding their names to the illustrious, short list of countries who have won the title.

The Netherlands vs. Spain game time is Sunday at 2:30 PM Eastern. The game will be broadcast on ABC, and the pre-match coverage will begin at 1:30. Until then, take a look at this Netherlands vs. Spain preview to get ready for the last hurrah of this year's tournament.

The third place match of Uruguay vs. Germany will be held on Saturday, July 10, at 2:30 PM Eastern on ABC. It marks Germany's second consecutive trip to the runners-up game in the World Cup.

The Netherlands vs. Spain Preview World Cup Finals Game

The Oranje of The Netherlands ride into the 2010 World Cup Finals match with a perfect tournament record. They have gone 6-0, and along the way have knocked out the powerful Brazilian side, the co-favorites to win the tournament. They haven't lost an international match in about 25 matches, and entered the tournament as the number 4 team in the latest FIFA rankings.

The Netherlands has never won a World Cup Championship, and twice previously reached the Finals match, in 1974 and 1978. The team doesn't utilize the Total Football style of old, but they are a balanced squad with dynamic players all over the field.

Wesley Sneijder has been lighting up the competition, with a total of 5 goals, many on headers and redirects from close quarters. Heading into the World Cup Finals match against Spain, Sneijder is tied for the most goals scored in the tournament.

Meanwhile, Arjen Robben is healthy and at full speed, and has scored twice. In the match against Uruguay, it was the captain Giovanni Van Bronckhorst who opened up the scoring, putting in one of the best goals of the entire tournament, a long range shot that found its home perfectly in the upper corner of the net.

Rather surprisingly, this is Spain's first trip to a World Cup Finals match. They have lost just twice in more than 50 previous matches, and as the number 2 team in the last FIFA rankings, were the co-favorites along the Brazil to win the Championship. What a fitting way for them to reach the Finals match as well, rehashing their 1-0 victory over Germany to win the 2008 UEFA Euro Championship. It was also their third straight 1-0 win.

La Furia Roja has been led by David Villa, who's tied with Sneijder for the World Cup goal scoring lead with 5. Villa's dominance has been crucial, since striker Fernando Torres has never really gotten healthy and rounded into game shape.

Xavi has been dictating the game from the middle of the field as per usual, and it was Barcelona captain Carles Puyol who headed in the winner against Germany. Goalkeeper and captain Iker Casillas has come up huge time and time again, making great saves and great decisions in each and every game to give his side a chance to win.

Spain has been known to have the occasional lapse in judgment or focus, but make no mistake about it, they are the superior team to Netherlands. If you had to start a team with any two players, they would most likely come from the Spanish side, from the likes of Casillas, Villa, Xavi and Puyol, although Sneijder and Robben of the Netherlands wouldn't be too far behind.

No team has ever won the World Cup after losing their first match of the tournament, so Spain is looking to break that curse. The far more substantial curse they are trying to break though is winning their first World Championship. After winning UEFA Euro two years ago, it's only natural that this group of Spanish players raises their credentials that one, final step. A 1-0 victory from the feet of David Villa, with Casillas robbing Sneijder of an equalizer would be the perfect ending.

Netherlands vs. Spain Prediction: 1-0 Spain

Sources:

ESPN.com
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 64 - Final for 1st & 2nd place (11 July): Holland vs Spain
Post by: D.H.W on July 07, 2010, 04:49:34 PM
(http://me.andering.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/dutch_flag_minbuza.jpg)
Title: Re: WC 2010 - Match 64 - Final for 1st & 2nd place (11 July): Holland vs Spain
Post by: santacruz on July 07, 2010, 04:58:05 PM
will sniper and robben play with enough bad mind as being surplus to requirements at real madrid? maybe not as this is really ah barcelona Spain.
Post by: Trinimassive on July 07, 2010, 05:02:15 PM
Holland taking this
Post by: Sando prince on July 07, 2010, 05:28:21 PM
Holland will FINALLY win their FIRST world Cup..and they deserve it
Post by: Bitter on July 07, 2010, 06:01:09 PM
E-man like he gone off to mourn.

Say what, that is how it go.

As much as Spain does dictate the pace and style of play, Holland have to come out looking to win. Yuh might still die, but at least you dead with a sword in your hand and not hiding behind a rock. 
Post by: Brownsugar on July 07, 2010, 06:44:09 PM
My Oranje better battle or else!!...  :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

GO ORANJE!!!!
Post by: Socapro on July 07, 2010, 06:54:56 PM
PASS TORO TORO!! - GO SPAIN GO!!!

Post by: Bakes on July 07, 2010, 10:34:27 PM
(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3109/2580787973_80790bfa31.jpg)
Post by: rickstaa on July 08, 2010, 04:16:50 AM
1 more win away from the greatest football prize...............HUP HOLLAND HUP :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 08, 2010, 05:14:42 AM
These two have never met before in a major tournament....interesting.....
Title: Howard Webb
Post by: Red Mango on July 08, 2010, 10:26:25 AM
To referee The Final between Spain and Holland in Jo'burg... The first English ref since 74 (again involving Holland)

Title: Re: Howard Webb
Post by: kicker on July 08, 2010, 10:32:04 AM
Good ref- let's the action flow and communicates well with players...doesn't let the game get broken up by barely-more-than-normal-physical-play-niggling-fouls. 
Title: Re: Howard Webb
Post by: JDB on July 08, 2010, 10:37:30 AM
That is a big call for Webb because it is rare for a ref to get a CL final and a WC final in the same year. Rosetti would have been favourite if not for his 2nd round debacle.

I normally don't get into knowing refs and what they do but whole season people have been criticizing his form in the EPL and people were linking it to his appointment last year to the 2010 WC roster and the supposed pressure he might be having to look the part of one of the world's best referees.
Post by: DeSoWa on July 08, 2010, 10:41:01 AM
I liked the Ref who called the Germany/Spain match...I don't know, but ah find Mr Webb does have a kinda attitude and try to dictate the way the game should be played instead of letting it be.

Post by: Brownsugar on July 08, 2010, 10:54:51 AM
I liked the Ref who called the Germany/Spain match...I don't know, but ah find Mr Webb does have a kinda attitude and try to dictate the way the game should be played instead of letting it be.

I saw the stats of that game last night and if memory serves me right (the Germany/Spain ref) he didn't give out any yellow cards....I stand to be corrected....
Post by: Red Mango on July 08, 2010, 10:58:48 AM
Germany (GER)   Statistics   Spain (ESP)
5   Shots   13
2   Shots on goal   5
0   Goals Scored   1
9   Fouls Committed   7
7   Fouls Suffered   9
6   Corner kicks   7
6   Free kicks Shots (scored)   7
0 / 0   Penalty Kicks (Goals/Shots)   0 / 0
2   Offsides   1
0   Own Goals   0
0   Yellow cards   0
0   Second yellow card and red card   0
0   Red Cards   0
37   Actual playing time   39
49%   Possession (%)   51%

Referee Viktor KASSAI (HUN)
Post by: Observer on July 08, 2010, 12:11:11 PM

Agreed not a fan of Webb I find him weak on the big decisions. But I had a feeling he would get the final. I liked the ref yesterday and the Argentinian Ref.
Post by: Bakes on July 08, 2010, 12:20:32 PM
Howard Webb is without a question one of the best officials in the game and thus assignment doesn't really surprise me.  About the only blemish on his record to me is the chaotic Manchester derby at Old Trafford this part season... that was utter madness at the end.
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on July 08, 2010, 12:52:15 PM
Best ref at the cup so far....fully deserved

Post by: JDB on July 08, 2010, 12:55:03 PM

yeah he was good but these appointments are what refs work for and FIFA like to share the fruits. if you get a semi yuh not going to get a final.

Post by: Mango Chow! on July 08, 2010, 03:51:13 PM

Agreed not a fan of Webb I find him weak on the big decisions. But I had a feeling he would get the final. I liked the ref yesterday and the Argentinian Ref.

Howard Webb is good.  Very good, in fact....but I have seen him make plenty mistakes.....he ain't all what he's being hyped up to be.
Post by: dinho on July 08, 2010, 03:56:07 PM

Howard Webb is good.  Very good, in fact....but I have seen him make plenty mistakes.....he ain't all what he's being hyped up to be.

I agree with that, I think his best trait is the way he communicates with the players but I don't have him up there with Rosetti and Nielsen just yet in terms of getting all the calls correct. I don't even think he stood out as anything more than ordinary for me in this tournament.

I found the ref who carried Holland v Japan was letting the game flow nice and then I found the ref who carried Spain v Paraguay got all the calls right (except for the foul on Fabregas after Alonso's pk miss but you never see those get called anyway).
Post by: kicker on July 08, 2010, 08:37:44 PM

I agree with that, I think his best trait is the way he communicates with the players but I don't have him up there with Rosetti

Yeah but Rosetti shat the bed big time in this cup. 

Web let's the little fouls go and lets the game flow.  I think that's a big asset of his. 
Post by: Spursy on July 08, 2010, 10:53:06 PM
webb is a good choice
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 09, 2010, 04:13:02 AM

I agree with that, I think his best trait is the way he communicates with the players but I don't have him up there with Rosetti

Yeah but Rosetti shat the bed big time in this cup.

...and does be lettin' out some loud, stink, watery ones in the Champions' League, too.

Web let's the little fouls go and lets the game flow.  I think that's a big asset of his.

....but does make some terrible decisions, too, like de ress ah dem. 
Post by: Montjoy on July 09, 2010, 04:25:57 AM
According to the german news this morning, Paul the Octopus in Oberhausen, Germany predicts the winner on Saturday to be Germany and on Sunday to be Spain. Let's C
Post by: Bitter on July 09, 2010, 07:48:41 AM
Since there is nothing to do until the games this weekend (where did all that time go). My idle mind has been pondering what exactly is the essence of Spain. We can talk about the samba flair of Brazil or Teutonic organization. What have I come up with? A Bullfight.

You can blame Hemmingway for this, but here goes:

A bullfight is not simply a matter of standing up in a ring wearing tight shiny clothes, holding a cape while facing a bull. That would be foolish.

Instead, there are various formal moves in order to subdue the bull. First, the matador tests the bull's ferocity by waving a large cape around. Then the picadores come in and stabs the bull with a lance on the neck. This weakens the neck muscles, causing the bull to lower it's head. Next, the banderillas try to plant 6 or so sharp barbed sticks into the bulls shoulders.

After all this action the bull is really pissed off, but his neck is weak and tired and then comes the tierco de muerte. The matador goes in with a small cape and a sword. The matador uses his cape to attract the bull in a series of passes which serve the dual purpose of wearing the animal down for kill and producing a beautiful display. Finally, the matador attempts to maneuver the bull into a position to stab it between the shoulder blades and through the aorta or heart.

Fight is over, bull is dead.

(http://www.cas-international.org/uploads/pics/Volksvermaak2-8__00__c__CAS_01.jpg)
David Villa vs Portugal

So that's my take on Spain. The passing, movement and slow build up server to anger, then weaken the bull. Then Torres or Villa pull out the sword and stab you in the heart. If you're a good matador, you only need one thrust. Another 1-0 Spain victory. Of course, sometimes the bull gores you. Just ask Switzerland and the USA...

(http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/upload/news/090528_p15_matador.jpg)
Robben's pre-game visualization.

Post by: D.H.W on July 09, 2010, 08:14:56 AM
Post by: ribbit on July 09, 2010, 08:17:56 AM
According to the german news this morning, Paul the Octopus in Oberhausen, Germany predicts the winner on Saturday to be Germany and on Sunday to be Spain. Let's C

well dis like a spoiler. i eh watching on sunday  - paul give away de ending.
Post by: trinindian on July 09, 2010, 10:22:19 AM

Strange that both winners were in the same location, looks like Paul right cheek buring so he only sitting on the left/ the closer box.
Title: Van Marwijk: We do not fear Spain
Post by: Red Mango on July 09, 2010, 11:53:15 PM
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1270778/index.html#van+marwijk+we+fear+spain

Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk admits Spain play a more attractive brand of football than his team - but he insists the Dutch do not fear them. The two European countries will both be bidding for their first FIFA World Cup™ success when they meet in the final on Sunday.

Vicente del Bosque's side are European champions and have been the most impressive international outfit for the past two years. They had struggled to hit top form in South Africa, though, losing their opening game to Switzerland before battling their way through to the semi-final, where their impeccable passing game returned in a 1-0 win over Germany.

click the link for more...
Post by: D.H.W on July 10, 2010, 07:34:29 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/vXCRWjedWqk

Post by: Socapro on July 10, 2010, 08:48:02 AM

Some men living in fantasy land yes!  ::)

The real thing happening tomorrow and the result will be different, Paul yuh Mudder come say so!  :devil:
Title: Pretty soon we will be seeing this guy
Post by: Controversial on July 10, 2010, 11:39:54 AM
(http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/9731/transarsenal.jpg)

van persie and fabregas in the final against eachother, then back to arsenal  8)
Post by: Jah Gol on July 10, 2010, 09:43:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/8bRn8lt5M1Q&feature=player_embedded

Spanish Queen visits the dressing room after the Germany game.
Post by: Midknight on July 11, 2010, 12:56:00 AM

puyol is really a bastard oui...he couldn't self put on a pants!
Post by: Babalawo on July 11, 2010, 02:06:55 AM
Spain will start off nervous but will end up 3-0.  David Villa will buss the net twice.  Xavi or someone else finally scores too... Don't need no Octopus for this.
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 03:51:41 AM
Spain will start off nervous but will end up 3-0.  David Villa will buss the net twice.  Xavi or someone else finally scores too... Don't need no Octopus for this.
Thank you oh great swammy. can you pre tell, give me the win 4 numbers for tomorrow?
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 11, 2010, 03:55:59 AM

puyol is really a bastard oui...he couldn't self put on a pants!

Wha..m! yuh think is only one head he could score with ! :devil:
Post by: rickstaa on July 11, 2010, 04:35:07 AM
u sound like you so sure that happening Holland got to much guns up front to NOT score,but u sound like you see the game already :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 06:26:40 AM
ORANJE!!!!

:duel: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:
Post by: Jah Gol on July 11, 2010, 06:42:57 AM
Dutch legend Johan Cruyff has said Spain have too much for the Netherlands and will go on to win the World Cup.

Cruyff, who endured the pain of losing the 1974 final to West Germany, and witnessed the 1978 final loss as an outsider is bracing himself for more woe as he writes off the Oranje's chances.

When asked by La Gazzetta dello Sport who would win Sunday's final in Johannesburg Cruyff said:

"I say Spain. For me the final will be like a derby. But la Furia Roja play better football."

The former Ajax man also claimed Italy flopped at the World Cup because of a lack of new talent coming through, as well as Italy's focus on signing foreign talent, rather than nurturing their own.

"Italy's elimination? There are too many foreigners," he said.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1863/world-cup-2010/2010/07/10/2018668/world-cup-2010-dutch-legend-johan-cruyff-believes-spain-will (http://www.goal.com/en/news/1863/world-cup-2010/2010/07/10/2018668/world-cup-2010-dutch-legend-johan-cruyff-believes-spain-will)

In a way, the World Cup Final between Spain and Holland is a personal derby for Johan Cruyff. Vicente del Bosque might be a Madrid man through and through, but his side is practically Barcelona, with minor additions to replace non-Spanish players like Lionel Messi and Dani Alves. When Spain take the field at Soccer City tonight, no fewer than seven Barca players will line up for the anthems – Carles Puyol, Gerard Pique, Sergio Busquets, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Pedro and newly-signed superstar David Villa. Del Bosque’s style is not really similar to what we are used to seeing at Camp Nou, but Barcelona spirit can be felt everywhere. And with Barca spirit having been built almost exclusively by the Dutch, the duel with Holland on the biggest stage of all is very ironic and intriguing.

It all started in 1971 when the legendary Rinus Michels came to Barca from Ajax, and brought his brilliant protege Cruyff two years later to win the Catalans the league title that ended a 14-year-long drought. Another Dutchman, Johan Neeskens, followed in 1974, and Ajax foundations at Camp Nou were laid. The Barcelona faithful really fell in love with the Dutch when Cruyff himself became the coach in 1988 and built his Dream Team that won not only four La Liga titles in a row, but even more importantly the club’s maiden European Cup in 1992, thanks to a goal by Ronald Koeman, another great Dutchman, in the final against Sampdoria at Wembley.

Louis van Gaal was next in the line, and he brought so many Dutch stars to Camp Nou that the team was soon nicknamed Oranje Barcelona, and even Barcajax. When his second tenure in Catalunya ended prematurely, the club gambled on another Dutchman, Frank Rijkaard, who overcame a difficult start and built a great team that won the second Champions League trophy.

Cruyff remains a very influential fugure at Camp Nou. He was a close ally of the former president Joan Laporta, and was behind Rijkaard’s successful spell, as well as being the man who advised the club to promote Pep Guardiola to the helm two years ago. Pep might be Catalan, but his football ideology is very much Oranje. He imbibed it when still a young deep-lying playmaker in Cruyff’s team in the early 90s, conducting the play faultlessly from the centre circle. Today Barca play a 4-3-3 very similar to that of Ajax, and even if Sandro Rosell forced Cruyff to step down as the club’s honorary president, since suggesting to him the post still “doesn’t exist”, the great Dutchman is still very much the man in control at Camp Nou.

No less than nine out of 12 championship titles Barca took in the last four decades were won by Dutch coaches. Two out of three Champions Cups were lifted by them. Despite the fact Pep has no Oranje players on his roster these days, Barcelona are a team with an Oranje philosophy. And so, inevitably, is the current Spain selection, even if they don’t play the classic Tiki-Taka.

Bert van Marwijk’s Holland are not playing 4-3-3 either, but they have a lot of connections to Blaugrana. The captain Giovanni van Bronckhorst enjoyed his best career spell at Barcelona and was very instrumental in the great 2006 season. Mark van Bommel also spent that year at Camp Nou, although he was eventually forced to leave for Bayern Munich. Even more importantly, both of van Marwijk’s assistants, Frank de Boer and Phillip Cocu, spent many years in the Catalan capital. De Boer’s best years were at Ajax, but Cocu is a Camp Nou legend, and is probably one of the most underrated players of all time. He still holds an appearances record for Barcelona for a foreign player at a whopping 292 matches. But then again, Dutch are not really foreigners in Catalunya. While this Spain have an Oranje scent about them, Holland are a little Blaugrana.

Who is Cruyff going to support this evening? This is not a straightforward issue. While he will definitely be proud if his countrymen win it, one cannot avoid thinking that he would prefer his 1974 Total Football selection to remain the greatest Holland representation ever, and rightly so. That team was infinitely more brilliant than van Marwijk’s, and Cruyff could be forgiven if deep in his heart he wants Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben to fail. Actually, he didn’t even hide his feelings, saying: “It is Spain's game to lose but I will take intense joy if they win it”.

If Spain win, Cruyff will feel his very own Barcelona are crowned as world champions. However, the cup will be lifted by Iker Casillas, the biggest Real Madrid symbol left with Raul packing his suitcases for Schalke. And that is probably the biggest irony of this Oranje and Blaugrana World Cup final.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1717/editorial/2010/07/11/2020057/world-cup-2010-final-comment-netherlands-versus-spain-is-a (http://www.goal.com/en/news/1717/editorial/2010/07/11/2020057/world-cup-2010-final-comment-netherlands-versus-spain-is-a)
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 06:49:57 AM
Traitor!!!..... :flamethrower: :busshead:

Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 07:20:58 AM

uuuummmm DHW, yes ah want we team to win but no not the penalty route, ah eh goh be able to handle the stress....
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 07:23:10 AM
don't worry no pnealty drama because spain winning 3-1.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 07:45:45 AM

Steups!!
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 07:51:16 AM
Spain not winning it, this game, Spain will not dominate possession if u don't believe me wait till kickoff , ah hope d Spanish men still here after.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 08:02:51 AM

Steups!!

doh steups...according to my crystal ball, it will 1-1 at halftime, spain will score around the middle of the 2nd half and holland will go on all out attack that will be known as the best 20 minutes of attacking football seen in years then spain will score late on a counterattack.... ;D
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2010, 09:10:48 AM
Spain you can win this  :wavetowel:
Do this for all my favorite Spanish players who tried and failed before you like Butragueno, Michel, Zubizeretta, Jose Camacho, Rafael Martin Vazquez, Jose Bakero, Nadal, Hierro, Abelardo, Raul, Sanchis, Julio Salinas, Luis Enrique, Pep Guardiola, Jose Caminero, Kiko & Helguera.

LA FURIA ROJA!!!
Post by: Trini Madness on July 11, 2010, 09:11:13 AM
i love u espana but netherlands taking this!! go oranje!!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 11, 2010, 09:12:54 AM
Very interesting comments by Kluivert and van Hooijdonk on Sky yesterday. Both are of the opinion Holland has not been playing well. Kluivert provided insightful comments regarding van persie's limited success during the WC ... attributed it to a lack of space under the formation .... distinct from Arsenal's set-up.
Post by: rickstaa on July 11, 2010, 09:24:04 AM
just like Brazil was going to win,men jus hopping from team to team HOLLAND ALL THE WAY,like you see the game already too
Post by: Feliziano on July 11, 2010, 09:47:42 AM
Just to throw this out..but wasn't the Dutch and their decendents responsible for apartheid in South Africa?
and allyuh backing Holland?  :devil:

I could be wrong so don't take me too seriuosly  ;D
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 10:01:26 AM
Just to throw this out..but wasn't the Dutch and their decendents responsible for apartheid in South Africa?

Oh gorm dis again!!!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 10:02:32 AM
just like Brazil was going to win,men jus hopping from team to team HOLLAND ALL THE WAY,like you see the game already too

men could hop for all i care..i still a brazil fan...doh get uptight if i dont like ur holland side.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 10:03:49 AM

:rotfl: :rotfl: u real wicked...it have more black men playing for holland than spain...all spaniards are racists... ;D
Post by: Jah Gol on July 11, 2010, 10:05:09 AM
Everybody do shit including Africans. Take allyuh time with racism ting nah. Just watch the football.
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 10:17:04 AM
I backing Holland cuz dat way i could say Brazil woulda win if wasnt for Melo and he dotishness.

Other dan dat it doh matter to me.
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 10:35:51 AM
Everybody do shit including Africans. Take allyuh time with racism ting nah. Just watch the football.

ssshhhh! Doh talk too loud  :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 10:54:22 AM

stueps
Post by: Spursy on July 11, 2010, 12:01:59 PM
Any live steams?
Post by: E-man on July 11, 2010, 12:13:23 PM
Netherlands

Stekelenburg
Bronckhorst
Mathijsen
Heitinga
Van der Weil
Kuyt
De Jong
Sneijder
Van Bommel
Robben
Van Persie

Spain

Casillas
Capdevila
Puyol
Pique
S. Ramos
Pedro
Alonso
Xavi
Busquets
Iniesta
Villa

I'm neutral today. Have a few more Dutch friends than Spanish, but I think Spain has this in the bag. Nice to see the group of champions grow by one.
Post by: DeSoWa on July 11, 2010, 12:25:55 PM
HUP HOLLAND!!!  :beermug:

GO ORANJE!!! :wavetowel:

Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 12:27:59 PM
Can't see this game being anything other than a 1-0. Expecting a nice game though. Spain slight faves but Holland could pull a goal out of nothing on set plays, a robben run and shot or a Sneijder bullet.

Hoping that Villa get a goal to win the golden boot outright
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 12:33:29 PM
spain passing game going to get shut down today
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 12:33:52 PM
I could be wrong, but have anyone noticed the AT&T commercial where they spread this orange cloth all over the globe. this cloth was clad over every monument etc.

i think they was tellin us who was winnin this thing all along in our faces and we missed it.
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 12:35:19 PM
GO NETHERLANDS!!!!!! crush these spanish A holes !!
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 12:54:10 PM
Van Bommel is ah real wildman boy, lol.  Tackles coming in hard and fast, more yellow dan ah paint band.
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 12:55:15 PM
Van Bommel just loss his main advantage, the freedom to kick people with impunity
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 12:58:58 PM
dis game gettin wild now
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 12:59:35 PM
De Jong is ah real wild man boy, lol

Lucky to still be part of the festivities and not enjoying ah early shower.
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 01:01:04 PM
dis game gettin wild now

Webb have a rep of being card happy but these players not helping him. He trying his best not to give a red card.
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 01:01:32 PM
Cards galore... it's very difficult to watch at the moment...
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 01:02:44 PM
typical man utd tactics vs arsenal .  play hard desrupt d passing game  :devil:
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 01:08:08 PM
Water in yuh knee
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 01:09:44 PM
Spain have completely lost their rythm.

Holland playing wild, and only trying to break the game up and find Robben
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 01:16:09 PM
Spain have completely lost their rythm.

Holland playing wild, and only trying to break the game up and find Robben

really disappointing game. First 15 minutes was promising but since then a real chippy affair
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 01:18:52 PM
These fellas need to watch the 82 tournament man... yuh could play freely, pass and move, play wid a smile and enjoy de game...

This anti-football football is worthless, much ado about nothing here... ah hope we doh fall into dat trap wid Russell and Co yes... ah mean, it's The Final...

God's willing, the 2nd half will be better...

Sambarobics anyone?...
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 01:21:30 PM
more of d same 2nd half. d dutch not going to let Spain dominate in d passing, plain and simple. 
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 01:30:48 PM
more of d same 2nd half. d dutch not going to let Spain dominate in d passing, plain and simple. 

ent... but hopefully, a goal will either be a stunner, or dribble over the line in mass hysterics and confusion...  :devil: :beermug: :beermug: ;D
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 01:37:39 PM
 :yawning:
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 01:38:03 PM
Last six finals not too impressive  

1990 - foul ridden stinker settled by pen
1994 - 0-0 stalemate
1998 - Brazil disappear
2002 - decent game
2006 - another Shootout stinker

now this
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 01:50:58 PM
Robben do shit dey... dat supposed tuh be 1-0 Oranje after that great pass by Sneijder(?)
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 01:53:39 PM
Robben do shit dey... dat supposed tuh be 1-0 Oranje after that great pass by Sneijder(?)

2nd miss of d tournament

1st was by dat nigerian player in d early stages
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 01:56:27 PM
Dis game like a coop... is real foul...  ;D
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 02:02:14 PM
Spain picking it up now as Xavi raising the tempo.

Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:03:18 PM
Holland don't deserve to win this game.  They don't really deserve to be in the Final, with their negative tactics.  It would really be a shame if they pull out a winner here.......
Post by: Quags on July 11, 2010, 02:03:52 PM
sorry guys ,but are there any Suriname born players on this Dutch side ?
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:04:57 PM

2nd miss of d tournament

1st was by dat nigerian player in d early stages
dat was good goal keeping by casillas
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:05:41 PM

Not sure, but Seedorf was the last one that I know of.  
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:06:48 PM
Holland don't deserve to win this game.  They don't really deserve to be in the Final, with their negative tactics.  It would really be a shame if they pull out a winner here.......
stueps
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:07:54 PM
Holland don't deserve to win this game.  They don't really deserve to be in the Final, with their negative tactics.  It would really be a shame if they pull out a winner here.......
stueps

If I was supportin' this shyte-playin' dutch side I woulda be steupsin' whole day, too.
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 02:10:48 PM

Eljero Elia born 13 February 1987 in Voorburg) is a Dutch  footballer of Surinamese descent, who plays for German Bundesliga club Hamburger SV and the Netherlands national team

Edson Braafheid born 8 April 1983 in Paramaribo) is a Surinamese-born Dutch  footballer who currently plays as a left back for German Bundesliga club Bayern Munich.
Post by: Quags on July 11, 2010, 02:12:47 PM

Eljero Elia born 13 February 1987 in Voorburg) is a Dutch  footballer of Surinamese descent, who plays for German Bundesliga club Hamburger SV and the Netherlands national team
thanks
Post by: Quags on July 11, 2010, 02:17:04 PM
If Holland win ,the Dutch ppl would swear ,this was the most beautiful game they ever saw . 
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 02:17:24 PM
If Holland want to win this....i hope they realise who inbetween Spain posts....and try and win this outside of penalties.
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 02:17:55 PM

thanks
Edson Braafheid born 8 April 1983 in Paramaribo) is a Surinamese-born Dutch  footballer who currently plays as a left back for German Bundesliga club Bayern Munich.
Post by: Quags on July 11, 2010, 02:19:52 PM

thanks
thanks again ,now no worries watch the game . ;D
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 02:21:40 PM
Wha kinda football Holland playing here? Ah man just kick away the ball to go to extra time yes.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 02:22:22 PM
The longer this match goes the better it augurs for Spain.  The Dutch have been doing a lot of chasing and appear leg weary... especially Robben and Sneijder.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:22:41 PM
If Holland want to win this....i hope they realise who inbetween Spain posts....and try and win this outside of penalties.

Spain dam sure have him to thank that they haven't lost already.....but I think they will run hard at the dutch in overtime........well, at least they should.  The dutch are tired now.
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:24:38 PM
The longer this match goes the better it augurs for Spain.  The Dutch have been doing a lot of chasing and appear leg weary... especially Robben and Sneijder.

true
Post by: College on July 11, 2010, 02:25:15 PM
whappen .. Spain cyah beat this 'shit' side ?.. lol
Post by: Socafan on July 11, 2010, 02:25:58 PM
I fall asleep first half this game yes. Wake up in time to see the start of the 2nd. Still uninspiring. Now extra-time...More of the same of this?

Steups...
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 02:31:46 PM
Defense-splitting ball by Iniesta. Fabregas you self!
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:32:41 PM
Defense-splitting ball by Iniesta. Fabregas you self!

strrrrrrrrrraight at de dam 'keeper!!  >:(
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:37:00 PM
 :frustrated: :praying: :praying: :praying:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 02:42:04 PM
looking like a penalty shootout.
Post by: Red Mango on July 11, 2010, 02:42:25 PM

thanks
thanks again ,now no worries watch the game . ;D

;D No scene dey hoss...
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:43:06 PM
Fabregas come on and playin some rel shyte man!  
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 02:44:33 PM
Game finally open up for Spain but the finishing woeful.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:49:53 PM
yellow. red. ....too late now....they just gonna park de bus.   Spain shoulda be runnin' at dis side like this since the first half.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 02:50:26 PM
Absolute shit call by Howard Webb... Heitinga should feel rightly aggrieved as both yellow cards on him was shit calls.  Now we get to suffer because the Dutch have no choice at this point but to play for penalties.
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 02:51:01 PM
Kinda rough call there but Holland lucky to not lose Van Bommel or De Jong
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:51:45 PM
iniesta rel diving
Post by: E-man on July 11, 2010, 02:51:56 PM
Villa is gone, so looks like Mueller gets the golden boot (on assists - don't yuh love it weary?), unless Sneijder can still manage something
Post by: Trini Madness on July 11, 2010, 02:52:47 PM
i dont like how this game flowing. ref shitting up de game boy. giving out cards like candy dread...steups
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 02:53:20 PM
Absolute shit call by Howard Webb... Heitinga should feel rightly aggrieved as both yellow cards on him was shit calls.  Now we get to suffer because the Dutch have no choice at this point but to play for penalties.

i think the second call was 50-50 plus webb like to share cards..can't remember the first one..too much cards 2 remember..heitinga commit a stupid foul cause ineista wasnt going to get the ball...u know the slightest touch man will fall

plus it more than even off since de jong was suppose to get red in de earlies.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:53:45 PM

for all the fouling the dutch have been getting away with throughout the tournament (van bommel and de jong NOT gettin a red in the first half of this game) you shouldn't be crying about two that did not go y'all way.  Especially since heitinga DID foul the man.  
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 02:56:13 PM
hup holland, hup!!  hup allyuh ass outta South Africa!!
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 02:57:11 PM
Goal boi!
Well deserved.
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 02:57:25 PM

:cursing:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 02:58:02 PM

wish it was brazil but once holland doh win plus i winning some money at wuk.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 02:58:39 PM
i dont like how this game flowing. ref shitting up de game boy. giving out cards like candy dread...steups

Iniesta real dive... and unfortunately will likely end up MOM for that goal.
Post by: JDB on July 11, 2010, 02:58:56 PM
Finally. Time to wrap up this WC and move on.

Iniesta finally purge heself on them two earlier misses.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 03:01:58 PM
steups!!!!.....I sour since Arjen Robben didn't score he first one on one with Casillas.....

Yes.  I'm officially depressed....:'( :'( :'(
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 03:03:35 PM
steups!!!!.....I sour since Arjen Robben didn't score he first one on one with Casillas.....

Yes.  I'm officially depressed....:'( :'( :'(

doh study it..ur side make me sick in the quarters.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 03:04:00 PM
Nightmare the first yellow was for a foul also on Iniesta... needless to say it was barely a foul if that.  Definitely not a yellow

Hard luck Holland... happy for Spain, vex it came at Holland's expense.

I need to get in touch with Paul yes... I need some lotto numbers.
Post by: mwanasoka on July 11, 2010, 03:04:45 PM
And USA set dey sights to win it by 2020.   :rotfl:
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 03:05:07 PM

You serious? What ah go do with meh life now?! ;D
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 03:06:08 PM
 :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

ref give Spain it
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 03:07:51 PM
:-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

ref give Spain it

I KNOW yuh jokin', right?
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 03:09:10 PM

You serious? What ah go do with meh life now?! ;D

...as a man tell me (on dis same dam forum, too!) it have mls msl misled to watch!  :devil:
Post by: Spursy on July 11, 2010, 03:09:51 PM
Better side one... gotta give Jack he jacket. Spain was the more attacking most likely to score side.

For me tactically the manager messed up this game for holland with van de fart taking of the captain was not a good move.

Overall not a good performance from Wesley or Arjen, Bommel is lucky to not be sent off along with many others.

Spain2010
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 03:10:10 PM
I really would like to know who de ass notice the Octopus could be psychic in de first place?
Post by: richpy on July 11, 2010, 03:10:47 PM
One small victory for positive football.
Hopefully we could see more teams getting away from the counter-attacking shit tactics in fashion these days, but I doubt it.
Post by: College on July 11, 2010, 03:12:29 PM
One small victory for positive football.
Hopefully we could see more teams getting away from the counter-attacking shit tactics Italy invented, but I doubt it.

::)
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 03:14:46 PM
I only here steupsing....my next door neighbour is a Spanish supporter so I under more stress....I going and turn off the TV now......double steups!!!

Oh and yeah, screw you Octupussy....:banginghead: :frustrated: :cursing: :cursing: ;D ;D

Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 03:16:33 PM
If Holland win ,the Dutch ppl would swear ,this was the most beautiful game they ever saw . 

.....not Ruud Gullit, to his credit.  He just called a spade a spade and said the football the netherlands played today was ugly and not a good advert for football even if they would have won it.  
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 03:17:40 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_the_Octopus

My uncle pothound born around dah time.

And i feel he psychic. He does know when he going and get food or licks and does act to suit. I go start using he to predict football oui.
Post by: triniairman on July 11, 2010, 03:18:04 PM
Is it just me that think Netherlands should of had a corner before the play that led to the goal?
Post by: College on July 11, 2010, 03:21:21 PM
Is it just me that think Netherlands should of had a corner before the play that led to the goal?

Thats what they were arguing about ..... the next play Spain went down the field and score..
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 03:23:25 PM
nice of d holland team to remain on d pitch an congratulate d spaniards

i doh know, but i jus doh feel spain deserve to win d cup, or ah bein too harsh  :-\
Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 03:24:09 PM
Oh and yeah, screw you Octupussy....:banginghead: :frustrated: :cursing: :cursing: ;D ;D

(http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4135/4783809887_57cf91ef68_b.jpg)
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 11, 2010, 03:24:19 PM
Bun Spain! Everyone knows their fans are the most racist towards black players. Aint some of you sick of cheering for the colonizer teams? I am glad this world cup is over.
Post by: triniairman on July 11, 2010, 03:25:08 PM
nice of d holland team to remain on d pitch an congratulate d spaniards

i doh know, but i jus doh feel spain deserve to win d cup, or ah bein too harsh  :-\
I agree with yuh, just my opinion.
Post by: kicker on July 11, 2010, 03:25:55 PM
Congrats to Spain- well deserved.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 03:26:10 PM
Bun Spain! Everyone knows their fans are the most racist towards black players. Aint some of you sick of cheering for the colonizer teams? I am glad this world cup is over.

yuh record stick..nearly all "white" countries "colonize" black countries.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 11, 2010, 03:26:31 PM

...they shoulda had a whole heap of yellow cards and red cards, too.....going all the way back to the Quarters...
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 03:26:40 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_the_Octopus

My uncle pothound born around dah time.

And i feel he psychic. He does know when he going and get food or licks and does act to suit. I go start using he to predict football oui.

Post by: Socafan on July 11, 2010, 03:28:09 PM

Thats what they were arguing about ..... the next play Spain went down the field and score..

Bullshit ent?....The game is being marred by poor officiating; and is not the officials fault. FIFA has to adopt what Americans to their credit recognized long ago. The games too quick and too much is at stake to not have the rules followed. Is almost like what is the point of the rules at all, if sometimes they doh have to be followed, if the official miss it.

Pure bulshit.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 03:28:34 PM
spain deserve to win and good comeback by them after losing their first game, first team to do so in a world cup.

keep de trophy shiny until my side ready to collect it in 4 years.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 11, 2010, 03:29:46 PM

I know. It seems like this thing called the "world cup" makes the colonizer look like good guys. Hopefully a different story in 2014.
Post by: julie_mango on July 11, 2010, 03:34:40 PM
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=50052.0

I know. It seems like this thing called the "world cup" makes the colonizer look like good guys. Hopefully a different story in 2014.
Post by: just cool on July 11, 2010, 03:36:40 PM
The dutch coach never had ah back up plan. his strategy was roben roben and more roben. roben himself never utilize kuit and van pursie since he always drew the tripple ream.  the ref was also ah hinderance.

sorry tuh see such ah softy team winnin the cup, them boys does play the game like girls. finally the divers won ah cup. hard luck dey neatherland.
Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 03:37:21 PM
lawd have mercy

d waggonistic behaviour on facebook is disgusting. almost everybody profile pic change to a  spain flag or jersey now. steups  ::)
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 03:38:37 PM
lawd have mercy

d waggonistic behaviour on facebook is disgusting. almost everybody profile pic change to a  spain flag or jersey now. steups  ::)

Yeah! My brethrin overjoyed cuz he 5th side is spain.

Post by: STEUPS!! on July 11, 2010, 03:39:35 PM
lawd have mercy

it sickening
Post by: boss on July 11, 2010, 03:43:46 PM
lawd have mercy

:rotfl: Well said.
Post by: elan on July 11, 2010, 03:45:11 PM
Is Howard Webb the best FIFA could have come up with for the WC finals?
Post by: Jumbie on July 11, 2010, 03:46:04 PM
congrats to Spain.
Post by: julie_mango on July 11, 2010, 03:48:30 PM
True tork...

The dutch coach never had ah back up plan. his strategy was roben roben and more roben. roben himself never utilize kuit and van pursie since he always drew the tripple ream.  the ref was also ah hinderance.

sorry tuh see such ah softy team winnin the cup, them boys does play the game like girls. finally the divers won ah cup. hard luck dey neatherland.
Post by: Deeks on July 11, 2010, 03:48:51 PM
Congrats to Spain. Lawdd, it finally finish!!!!!!!!
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 03:49:54 PM
anybody know who win best player?..i hope forlan get it but i am sure it will go to spanish player...villa or even xavi or iniesta.
Post by: Spursy on July 11, 2010, 03:51:32 PM
HOLLAND ROBBED!!!! SPAIN IS SHIT
Post by: Spursy on July 11, 2010, 03:51:56 PM
I SEH DAT DO SOMETING
Post by: YoursTruly on July 11, 2010, 03:52:04 PM
Diego Forlan was named as the World Cup's MVP while Thomas Mueller was named as the Top Goalscorer (due to his three assists - that was the determining factor) and the Best Young Player of the Tournament
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 03:56:31 PM
Diego Forlan was named as the World Cup's MVP while Thomas Mueller was named as the Top Goalscorer (due to his three assists - that was the determining factor) and the Best Young Player of the Tournament

thanks...i am happy for forlan...after fergie nearly crushed his career.
Post by: trinindian on July 11, 2010, 04:05:22 PM
At the start of the day I would have respected a spain win, but they dive too much and I can't respect that.
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 04:09:09 PM
Hate to say I told you so, but Howard Webb is a weak referee. He actually should have sent off DeJong on the first half and Villa should have had a penalty and, and, and, and.

Shotta dah sweat it all your hate and Iniesta still drive in the dagger.

Imagine Spain win the WC with 7 Bara players, 8 Barca developed players and Barca still better than Spain  ;D

Anyway, the way I see it Holland payed the price for negative football. 28 fouls simply to disrupt the rhythm of Spain, same tactics as against Brazil. This time it back fire.  
Post by: Bourbon on July 11, 2010, 04:11:34 PM
At the start of the day I would have respected a spain win, but they dive too much and I can't respect that.

I know Capdevillia is a duttiness long time...buh since dis cup start...i iniesta rel dissapoint me.

Against switzerland he dive..man get a yellow.
Now here...today.

Poor.

Dis diving really becoming too prominent in de game. Almost ALL teams dive/play act. Real sickening.
Post by: weary1969 on July 11, 2010, 04:18:12 PM
Villa is gone, so looks like Mueller gets the golden boot (on assists - don't yuh love it weary?), unless Sneijder can still manage something

Like hog luv mud Eman lol
Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 11, 2010, 04:20:51 PM
2 tactical mistakes...substituting d 2 hardworking players that should have remained

Dirk Kuyt(always creates)  & Giovanni van Bronckhorst (dat led to Van der Vaart letting Iniesta score)

Post by: weary1969 on July 11, 2010, 04:25:33 PM

thanks...i am happy for forlan...after fergie nearly crushed his career.

Post by: D.H.W on July 11, 2010, 04:30:58 PM

I know Capdevillia is a duttiness long time...buh since dis cup start...i iniesta rel dissapoint me.

Against switzerland he dive..man get a yellow.
Now here...today.

Poor.

Dis diving really becoming too prominent in de game. Almost ALL teams dive/play act. Real sickening.

it had a play he dive in the box, after kicking the ground with he foot , rel shameful
Post by: Brownsugar on July 11, 2010, 04:35:12 PM
2 tactical mistakes...substituting d 2 hardworking players that should have remained

Dirk Kuyt(always creates)  & Giovanni van Bronckhorst (dat led to Van der Vaart letting Iniesta score)

In the past bringing on Elia worked, but he eh make ah note when he came on.  As for the van Bronckhorst subsitution...well I still scratching mih head.....

In fact I remarked during the game that the Spanish substitution to bring on Navas made an immediate effect on Spain's game....the subs for Holland on the other hand didn't work IMO.....
Post by: fari on July 11, 2010, 04:36:47 PM

van bronkhorst had to come off b/c navas was going to run him ragged and he was already on a card...the man is like 34, 35 he ent able with dem young whippersnappers
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 11, 2010, 04:37:26 PM
all players dive...come on dutch fans dont make excuses...u eh hear me talking about van bommel 100 fouls in the brazil game... ;D
Post by: elan on July 11, 2010, 04:39:13 PM
Iniesta should have been sent of for hitting (violence). He got up an dattacked the Dutch player (can't remember who it was).
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 04:39:52 PM
 ironic that Holland abandoned their philosophy and were beaten by a country and team that embraced it.

Post by: rotatopoti3 on July 11, 2010, 04:41:15 PM
Fair point on Elia but dat Giovanni van Bronckhorst substitution...cost dem d game......

Post by: trinindian on July 11, 2010, 04:41:51 PM

ironic that Holland abandoned their philosophy and were beaten by a country and team that embraced it.

like when three spainairds dive in the box at the start of extra time.
Post by: E-man on July 11, 2010, 04:54:33 PM
before the game, someone almost got their hands on it

(http://static.foxsports.com/content/fsc/img/2010/07/11/World-Cup-trophy-_20100711144021_0_0.JPG)
Post by: Observer on July 11, 2010, 05:00:25 PM

How hyppocritical!  . Van Bommell and Robben diving all tournament. Drogba, Ronaldo, Gerrard, Van Persie, Rooney, Messi, Iniesta, Fabiano, Capdivella the list is endless, all divers. Its an epidemic in football, it has nothing to do with Spain. more to do with weak referees.

PS You telling me Villa was not fouled on the shot! Like yuh watch the game with yuh 3D glasses off  ;D

Post by: trinindian on July 11, 2010, 05:12:40 PM

How hyppocritical!  . Van Bommell and Robben diving all tournament. Drogba, Ronaldo, Gerrard, Van Persie, Rooney, Messi, Iniesta, Fabiano, Capdivella the list is endless, all divers. Its an epidemic in football, it has nothing to do with Spain. more to do with weak referees.

PS You telling me Villa was not fouled on the shot! Like yuh watch the game with yuh 3D glasses off  ;D

Hey I was just agreeing with you that better divers won.  Villa barely get touch. Just look at the chance that Robben passed  up when Puyol tried to pull him down.
Post by: ribbit on July 11, 2010, 06:07:23 PM
Webb is a
Spainard BITCH
Post by: willi on July 11, 2010, 06:11:57 PM
Webb was biased for the Dutch!!

From first half he should have given them 2 red cards!!!!
Post by: willi on July 11, 2010, 06:16:27 PM
Nightmare the first yellow was for a foul also on Iniesta... needless to say it was barely a foul if that.  Definitely not a yellow

You cant be serious. All the commentators called for a straight red for that tackle!
Post by: Jah Gol on July 11, 2010, 06:19:45 PM
I don't know how a man could kick a man in his chest and stay on the field. Holland could have easily had 2 ejections in this game. It real hard for me to watch that game and say the ref favoured Spain.
Post by: Babalawo on July 11, 2010, 07:09:42 PM

well Villa missed the 2 i had for him, and Iniesta instead of Xavi took the other one.. and no Holland was not going to score on Casillas
Post by: Socapro on July 11, 2010, 07:13:32 PM

:thumbsup:

I glad they get licks just for that!!!  8)

The Dutch have moved from playing Total Football to Anti Football!

I'm glad they were not rewarded with a World Cup throphy for playing this negative brand of football that is becoming their trademark!!  8)

Big-up to Spain & Paul de Octupus!  :beermug:
Post by: Fyzoman on July 11, 2010, 07:55:31 PM
I don't know how a man could kick a man in his chest and stay on the field. Holland could have easily had 2 ejections in this game. It real hard for me to watch that game and say the ref favoured Spain.

Hear nah watching highlights ah dat kick by DeJong? i just ha to shake meh head yes, ah feel dat was one ah de best (by day ah mean nastiest, red-card-worthy) foul of the de whole world cup...i would love to know what DeJong could have possibly be saying after dat foul..... A A dey now show it again...unbelievable.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 11, 2010, 08:03:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/CekIw5moE5c

Holland play football for half the game and kickdown for the other half. Tackles through men ankles , from behind , all kinda nasty play. It was a really negative style and I'm happy that they were not rewarded for it.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 10:52:06 PM
Hate to say I told you so, but Howard Webb is a weak referee. He actually should have sent off DeJong on the first half and Villa should have had a penalty and, and, and, and.

What penalty Villa shoulda have?  I agree with you that DeJong could/should have been sent off.  I glad Webb didn't though, he clearly was being restrained in not wanting to have such a negative effect on the final as reducing the Dutch to 10 men that early.  DeJong's play was reckless, but I seriously doubt there was intent behind it... I think that factored in Webb's thinking.  Any other match and that was a straight red.

That said them Spaniards was embellishing all over the field, you can't deny that.  In one sequence Van Bommel made a left side challenge on Iniesta, who fall and roll arung grabbing he ankle.  He look to Webb and see Webb turn he back and gone he way and fly up in ah rage and knock down Van Bommel... ah tort he foot get hurt?

Webb give him ah yellow card fuh he troubles.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 10:53:56 PM

You cant be serious. All the commentators called for a straight red for that tackle!

Do you even know what the f**k yuh talking about?  I'm talking about Heitinga, not DeJong... at least figure out which Man City Dutch player people talking about before yuh look to chook yuh mouth next time.
Post by: Bakes on July 11, 2010, 11:00:28 PM
PS You telling me Villa was not fouled on the shot! Like yuh watch the game with yuh 3D glasses off  ;D

Yes, I'm telling you he was not fouled on the shot... the Dutch player put his leg in front of him and got all ball, Villa's follow thru then hit the Dutch player (can't remember who it was) leg and he fall.  Iniesta dove just before that play during the sequence, and Fabregas as well, just on the outskirt of the box.

Hear nah watching highlights ah dat kick by DeJong? i just ha to shake meh head yes, ah feel dat was one ah de best (by day ah mean nastiest, red-card-worthy) foul of the de whole world cup...i would love to know what DeJong could have possibly be saying after dat foul..... A A dey now show it again...unbelievable.

De man raise he hand right away and acknowledge his mistake... kudos to Webb for his restraint.  If it occurred later in the game, or in any other game it was a straight red I sure.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 11, 2010, 11:18:54 PM

This was a world cup final. Decisions, decisions,decisions in a game like this?
Post by: Babalawo on July 11, 2010, 11:32:42 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/5lMfS1tKpp4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lMfS1tKpp4&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Toppa on July 12, 2010, 12:41:54 AM
Awwwww! That was sweet.
Post by: Toppa on July 12, 2010, 12:42:36 AM
Anyway, I was backing the Dutch until they start to play rel stink. Very underwhelming final. Bleh!

Post by: Toppa on July 12, 2010, 12:43:22 AM

Post by: boss on July 12, 2010, 02:15:21 AM
lawd have mercy

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/98218819.html
Post by: JDB on July 12, 2010, 06:06:40 AM
Spain win which the the fair result overall but the final was disappointing.

I feeling for Webb because the consensus is that he had a bad game. Not surprisingly bith the Dutch and Spanish fans and press believe that he was biased. You would like to think that he could have exerted authority early to stamp out all the wildness but they way them men, on both sides, was behaving he didn't have a chance.

The dutch were just too physical and then Spain start diving to compound matters. Not to forget that the Dutch were diving and playacting like crazy too. In fact throughout the tournament Van Bommel has been despicable. Chopping off men legs without getting carded and then playacting whenever he get contact.

De Jong karate kick should have been a red. He didn't mean it but them is the breaks, if yuh can't control yourself your team should pay the penalty. In Webb's defence though it looked like a shoulder charge from distance and Xabi was probably between him and De Jong and he probably felt that would have destroyed the game. But that is not his call to make if the players eff up the game he can't do nothing about it.

With all that said. Holand nullify Spain in the first half but the game open up in the second. Not good football but plenty chances from defensive errors. Van Bronckhorst save holland twice tackling Fabregas and Iniesta but Robben, Villa and Iniesta all watse good chances and it seems like there were free headers at every corner.

By the time extra time reach though Spain was killing Holland and had the run of the park. They couldn't handle Navas while none of Holland's subs had any impact.
Post by: JDB on July 12, 2010, 06:14:06 AM
PS You telling me Villa was not fouled on the shot! Like yuh watch the game with yuh 3D glasses off  ;D

Yes, I'm telling you he was not fouled on the shot... the Dutch player put his leg in front of him and got all ball, Villa's follow thru then hit the Dutch player (can't remember who it was) leg and he fall. 

Again I can't blame Webb because it is impossible to see even on some of the replays but they showed a close-up replay that showed that the Dutch player did not touch the ball. In most replayes it looked like he might have but he didn't. Villa's leg wasn't following through either. He was in the act of shooting and the Dutch players leg blocked him from getting the shot.
Post by: JDB on July 12, 2010, 06:37:18 AM
An opinion piece on the officiating that kinda summarizes the sympathetic view I had for Webb yesterday.

World Cup final: Howard Webb's dream job descends into nightmare (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jul/12/howard-webb-final-nightmare-yellow-cards)

Howard Webb had described his selection to officiate in this final as the ultimate honour, the culmination of a 17-year journey that had begun in the backwaters of the Northern Counties East League. He may now consider last night's privilege akin to having been handed mission impossible.

The Yorkshireman departed this arena having flashed a record 14 yellow cards, the two shown to Johnny Heitinga duly becoming red, and with the deafening boos of the defeated Dutch ringing in his ears. The supporters' displeasure was inevitable as he collected his post-match medal. The grumblings of the normally deadpan Bert van Marwijk as he addressed the media will surely have hurt more.

Even as the criticisms of a desperate man, they were stinging. "I don't think the referee controlled the match well," said the Holland manager as he digested a first defeat in 26 matches. "Let me be clear about this: the best team won the match. But I read a few things today about how angry Spain were at [Webb's] refereeing in the first match against Switzerland, claiming he had not given two penalties to them. If you viewed the performance [of the referee] today, you'd almost think now that that first match had an influence on this game."

That verged on paranoia in the immediate wake of a numbing loss. Webb, in truth, had been given no choice in a contest that bristled from the opening exchange, when Robin van Persie flew in late to clatter Sergio Busquets behind the Spaniard's right knee. The tactic of winning ugly was established early. Thereafter, Webb's greatest achievement was not reducing the Dutch to 10, or even nine, even before the interval.

The 38-year-old was helpless here, all attempts to calm down players whipped up into a frenzy by the occasion proving utterly fruitless. Nerves had set in, anxiety gripping the play. From the moment Van Persie became the first name in the book on the quarter-hour mark for fouling Joan Capdevila, Webb was on a hiding to nothing. The striker was the first of five bookings in 13 minutes thereafter, the game being played to a flash of yellow where we had hoped it would be glorious roja or dazzling oranje on show.

The previous final record, the six cards shown by the Brazilian official Romualdo Arppi Filho in the 1986 final between Argentina and West Germany, was never likely to stand for long. Not that Webb's decisions were wrong. Carles Puyol's slide on Arjen Robben was blatant, as was Mark van Bommel's clattering of Andrés Iniesta. "The players aren't making this easy for our referee Mr Webb," commented Rio Ferdinand on his Twitter page.

Perhaps only Sergio Ramos, penalised for a clip on Dirk Kuyt, could feel aggrieved though Spanish complaints centred rather more on how Van Bommel and, in particular, Nigel de Jong were permitted to remain on the pitch. The Manchester City midfielder's kung-fu kick on Xabi Alonso, whether intentional or not, was scandalous, De Jong planting his boot studs up in his opponent's chest. Van Bommel's crunch on Iniesta 12 minutes from time was just as savage, though went unspotted by referee or assistants.

Van Marwijk, conveniently enough, claimed not to have seen either incident clearly either. "I'm on the bench and I haven't seen any replays," he said. "I'd have to look at them, but the way I saw it from the bench was very different. There were fouls from both sides, and quite a few from the Spanish. It's not our style to play 'ugly' or commit horrible fouls. It's not our kind of football. It was a World Cup final and people were tense. Anyway, I think the Spaniards also committed terrible fouls."

The flurry of Spanish cards came late, and for dissent or time wasting. The only red was Heitinga's, penalised first for a late tackle on David Villa and then, in extra-time, for pulling back Iniesta. Van Marwijk claimed Webb should have dismissed Puyol for a professional foul when he tugged back Robben as he tore into the area though, by then, the players sensed anarchy. The scenes on the final whistle, with the incensed Van Bommel, Wesley Sneijder and Joris Mathijsen crowding around the officials, were ugly even in the context of a World Cup final lost.

Webb may wonder about the honour of such occasions now. This had felt untameable well before the end and he will depart South Africa, undeservedly, on a sour note. Last time around, back at Euro 2008, it was the Polish fans who had hounded him away from the championships incensed that his audacity to award a legitimate penalty in the group game with Austria. As he retreated with abuse stinging his pride, he might wonder whether all this is worth it.
Post by: Dutty on July 12, 2010, 06:59:07 AM
before the game, someone almost got their hands on it

(http://static.foxsports.com/content/fsc/img/2010/07/11/World-Cup-trophy-_20100711144021_0_0.JPG)

wayyy :D....ah wonder if his hard right or a tazer he collect?
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 12, 2010, 07:06:38 AM
Congrats Barca Spain  :beermug:
Post by: Bourbon on July 12, 2010, 07:15:15 AM
Look for some pressha a lil way down de road (http://www.worldcupblog.org/world-cup-2010/get-ready-for-the-second-iniesta-baby-boom.html)

Nine months since Barca’s 6-2 home win over their arch- rivals and Andres Iniesta’s stunning late strike which took them through to the final at the expense of Chelsea, maternity hospitals are struggling to cope with demand for beds.

A survey by COMRadio showed that births this week and those expected next week are 45 percent higher than the average.

“When we notice some sort of surge we look for the reason and it’s evident that the cause of the increase this week is the euphoria of Barca fans thanks to the huge win and Iniesta’s goal,” El Mundo newspaper quoted Mercedes Rodriguez of the city’s Quiron Clinic as saying.

The babies are popularly known in Barcelona as “the Iniesta generation”.

If Barcelona winning a semifinal against Chelsea could prompt a shortage of hospital beds in Spain, then the national government is in heaps of trouble nine months from now when maternity beds will be harder to come by than World Cup trophies.

So what was a theory months ago is now a confirmation: no one causes more sex in Spain than Andres Iniesta.
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 12, 2010, 07:35:20 AM

http://www.youtube.com/v/5lMfS1tKpp4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5lMfS1tKpp4&feature=player_embedded

It's a wonder that Sara Carbonero kept her composure after that, ahem, exchange.

Seriously though, Casillas almost put his girlfriend's job in jeopardy.
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2010, 07:42:59 AM

Yes, I'm telling you he was not fouled on the shot... the Dutch player put his leg in front of him and got all ball, Villa's follow thru then hit the Dutch player (can't remember who it was) leg and he fall.  Iniesta dove just before that play during the sequence, and Fabregas as well, just on the outskirt of the box.

Villa? I thought it was Xavi involved on that play, kicking the defender's leg...

wasn't a pk in my opinion.  The defender got to the ball first, Xavi (I think- not Villa) was already in kicking motion and didn't see the defender coming through and ended up kicking his foot.  The defender played the ball, not the man...so no foul. 
Post by: slates on July 12, 2010, 08:19:10 AM
Under all the shit talk, I cannot understand how anybody could say that Nigel (Jet Li) DeJong kicking Alonso in his friggin chest was "unintentional".

Which part of that was accidental?
The run-up to gain the required momentum?
The jumping to gain the required elevation?
The extending of the leg to deliver the knock-out impact?
The perfect delivery of the kick (that would make Jet Li, Jackie Chan and even the late Bruce and Brandon Lee proud)?
No wait, the appologetic raising of his hands after flattening Alonso... yeah, that was the "unintentional part".

Bottom line, he should have been sent to f*ck off! Because that was perhaps the most brazen foul of the entire cup. A move like that is only acceptable in MMA. It is worse than Mike Tyson biting Evander Hollyfield's ear in a boxing match. At least Mike was fighting with Evander!
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2010, 08:56:36 AM
If it wasn't an English ref, De Jong woulda get a death sentence.
Since the semis, Netherlands needed to switch Kuyt and Robben and concentrate on getting some crosses in.
Kuyt cannot run with the ball on his left foot and had to keep turning back.
Robben can run up the wing, but the defenders know he want to cut in and they did not let him.
Kuyt, Van Persie, Sneijder and Robben were also too far apart to support each other.
Sneijder a lot of defending to do.
I have to fault the coach for that, the attack was not workin and he stuck with it for too long.

Spain played better and Iniesta played a good game.
I goin and eat some paella today.
Post by: Observer on July 12, 2010, 09:17:09 AM

De man raise he hand right away and acknowledge his mistake... kudos to Webb for his restraint.  If it occurred later in the game, or in any other game it was a straight red I sure.

I will not debate with you on this. From the time you say DeJong tackle had "no intent." Look at the youtube clip and tell me no intent. Look where the ball is and what DeJong did! Frigging Alonso is heading the ball
Post by: Socapro on July 12, 2010, 10:01:27 AM

I will not debate with you on this. From the time you say DeJong tackle had "no intent." Look at the youtube clip and tell me no intent. Look where the ball is and what DeJong did! Frigging Alonso is heading the ball

Come on Bakes!! Anyone who could look at this clip and say that De Long had "no intent" and should not have received a straight Red card definitely need glasses or was wearing "orange tainted" ones if they already have glasses! ???

I believe after that foul that De Long was pleasantly surprised that he wasn't Red carded and sent off! It's almost as if Webb and De Long are drinking partners or something!  :-\
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2010, 10:08:36 AM
Very hard to believe that De Jong intended to jump kick Alonso in his chest... We really think he meant to puncture the guy's lung?  I mean seriously now....

His challenged was poorly timed and the height of his boot was very very reckless indeed.  

I give him the benefit of the doubt there, and while he should have been red carded for the degree of recklessness in the challenge, I'm glad that he wasn't.  Red cards- especially early ones kill the game...  

Alonso wasn't seriously hurt, a direct goal scoring chance wasn't prevented and De Jong played the rest of the game "fairly"...all's well that ends well.  
Post by: dinho on July 12, 2010, 10:22:32 AM
If that wasn't intentional i don't know what is.

Not saying that he set out from the start to plant he studs into Alonso's chest, but from the looks of it he was initially going for ball and when he realize Alonso was going to make it first, he decide to protect himself in the challenge with a high reckless foot.

A red card would not have been unjustified and no one wouldve argued that, but I agree from a neutral perspective it wouldve spoiled the game as a spectacle.

I actually thought besides the free kick that deflected off the wall in the build up to the Spain goal that Webb had a good game. Plenty cards but then if men playing wild, there is little choice left for the ref.
Post by: D.H.W on July 12, 2010, 10:59:08 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/o9WOtUL90xM

cassillas and he woman  8)
Post by: Observer on July 12, 2010, 11:00:08 AM
Very hard to believe that De Jong intended to jump kick Alonso in his chest... We really think he meant to puncture the guy's lung?  I mean seriously now....

His challenged was poorly timed and the height of his boot was very very reckless indeed.  

I give him the benefit of the doubt there, and while he should have been red carded for the degree of recklessness in the challenge, I'm glad that he wasn't.  Red cards- especially early ones kill the game...  

Alonso wasn't seriously hurt, a direct goal scoring chance wasn't prevented and De Jong played the rest of the game "fairly"...all's well that ends well.  

Sorry gentlemen we will have to agree to disagree on this one. What DeJong did has no place in football. I do not for one minute believe that the importance of the game, is any excuse. Nor do I believe that the position on the field that it occured should impact the decision (you cannot be half pregnant).
Post by: Toppa on July 12, 2010, 11:11:49 AM
World Cup final: Johan Cruyff hits out at 'anti-football' Holland

Johan Cruyff has launched a scathing attack on Holland's performance in their 1-0 defeat to Spain in the World Cup final last night, slamming their "dirty" tactics and their style of "anti-football".

Cruyff was at the heart of the Holland team that earned a reputation of playing Total Football in the 1970s, and the pioneer of the style that earned the Dutch the reputation of being a joy to watch. The current Holland team played in a style that was the antithesis of that last night and a disappointed Cruyff admits it saddened him to witness their thuggery.

"On Thursday they asked me from Holland 'Can we play like Inter? Can we stop Spain in the same way Mourinho eliminated Barça?'" Cruyff told El Periódico, in reference to the way Internazionale defended their way to a Champions League semi-final victory over Barcelona.

"I said no, no way at all. I said no, not because I hate this style – I said no because I thought that my country wouldn't dare to and would never renounce their style. I said no because, without having great players like those of the past, the team has its own style.

"I was wrong. Of course I'm not hanging all 11 of them by the same rope, but almost. They didn't want the ball.

"And regrettably, sadly, they played very dirty. So much so that they should have been down to nine immediately, then they made two [such] ugly and hard tackles that even I felt the damage.

"It hurts me that I was wrong in my disagreement that instead Holland chose an ugly path to aim for the title.

"This ugly, vulgar, hard, hermetic, hardly eye-catching, hardly football style, yes it served the Dutch to unsettle Spain. If with this they got satisfaction, fine, but they ended up losing. They were playing anti-football."

Cruyff has also joined in with the criticism of the referee, Howard Webb, who has been heavily attacked for the way he managed last night's stormy game.

Webb dished out 14 yellow cards – including two to send off the Holland defender John Heitinga – but Cruyff believes he could have been even firmer, and should have dished out a red card for Nigel de Jong's karate kick to the chest of Xabi Alonso as well as handing a second booking to Arjen Robben for kicking the ball away.

Cruyff added: "When we say, often, that we do not like talking about referees, it is true and, above all, because only refereeing like that last night by the Englishman Howard Webb can create in us a state of such indignation that then, yes, it is necessary to comment.

"Because you can referee wrongly, make a mistake, but what you cannot do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules.

"Not only did he not send off two Dutchmen but he also looked the other way at times when he should have involved himself.

"A World Cup final deserves great refereeing and, above all, deserves a referee who dares to do everything it means to be a judge."
Post by: Dumplingdinho on July 12, 2010, 11:16:44 AM
holland playing that brand a few years now but some of their fans delusional to think it is total football, despite the unattractiveness of their style, it is very effective and several months ago i had them as the dark horse to win the world cup because their brand totally disrupts the opposition style of play and leads to frustration which they then exploit.
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2010, 11:21:27 AM
Fellas goin real far out of their way to reason it as something other than malicious yes.
The placement of De Jong's foot does not indicate that he was attempting to do anything with the ball.
The ball was coming at head height, if he did not see Alonso, and wanted to play the ball he could put his head, jump and chest, or run back and let it drop to his foot.
He did none of those things.
The placement of his foot was perfect for planting into an opponent's chest.
Post by: FF on July 12, 2010, 11:59:59 AM
holland playing that brand a few years now but some of their fans delusional to think it is total football, despite the unattractiveness of their style, it is very effective and several months ago i had them as the dark horse to win the world cup because their brand totally disrupts the opposition style of play and leads to frustration which they then exploit.

it is not no coincidence that this recent holland vintage has been involved in the record for cards in a world cup final (2010) and any world cup game ever (2006).

like allyuh forget that holland v portugal world war from last time or wha... dey nasty too bad!
Post by: Bitter on July 12, 2010, 12:13:34 PM
After that feast of anti - football yesterday afternoon I decided to get away from it all.
I went on a date and my companion asked me if I wanted to 'go Dutch' on the restaurant bill.
So I raked my studs down her chest, called the waiter a wanker and then left in tears.

;D ;D
Post by: willi on July 12, 2010, 01:07:17 PM

Do you even know what the f**k yuh talking about?  I'm talking about Heitinga, not DeJong... at least figure out which Man City Dutch player people talking about before yuh look to chook yuh mouth next time.

That is exactly the one I  talking bout. I watched on TF1.
Post by: willi on July 12, 2010, 01:09:25 PM
After that feast of anti - football yesterday afternoon I decided to get away from it all.
I went on a date and my companion asked me if I wanted to 'go Dutch' on the restaurant bill.
So I raked my studs down her chest, called the waiter a wanker and then left in tears.

;D ;D

Boom shots Bitter!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 12, 2010, 01:40:40 PM
That was the most Anti-Dutch, Anti-football, Anti-anything I ever see from a Holland side....oh how I long for another moment of brilliance from a Bergkamp or a raid on the opponents goal from back in 94 or 98 or Euro 2000 *sigh*

De Jong (or whoever the Kung Fu fighter was) shoulda find he arse in the dressing room at that point....steups!!  I cyar believe he so dotish.  And what the hell Robben was thinking to kick the ball in the net and he done on a yellow already!!!....steups!!....

......and yeah ah still depressed.... :( :(
Post by: Red Mango on July 12, 2010, 02:00:35 PM
Robben hadded de keeper to beat... and didn't... he could have rounded the keeper, and tapped into an empty net...

All in all though, game done, Spain win...

Holland had their chances... and should have taken them...
Post by: Bitter on July 12, 2010, 02:02:59 PM
Spain 1-0 Holland: Iniesta settles a tight game
July 12, 2010
http://www.zonalmarking.net/2010/07/12/spain-1-0-holland-iniesta-world-cup-final-tactics/

(http://img715.imageshack.us/img715/4898/finalfinalfinal1.jpg)
The starting line-ups

Spain are the World Champions. They were the better side and played a more positive, cohesive brand of football throughout.

There were no surprises when the team line-ups were announced just over an hour before kick-off, they were as predicted in the preview. Vicente del Bosque kept with the side that beat Germany in the semi-final, meaning Pedro Rodriguez started ahead of Fernando Torres. Holland, meanwhile, welcomed back Gregory van der Wiel and Nigel de Jong from suspension, meaning they returned to their first choice XI – as evidenced by them lining up with the numbers 1-11.

There was also no surprise in the pattern of play in the first quarter of an hour, for Spain dominated possession and were camped in the Dutch half. Bert van Marwijk’s side seemed to be inviting pressure, and Spain’s pressing when they lost the ball meant Holland were unable to construct any meaningful attacks of their own.

There seemed to be a shift in tactics from Holland after around 10 or 15 minutes – they started pressing earlier and higher up the pitch, seeking to disrupt the passing of Sergio Busquets and Xabi Alonso – the latter in particular had too much time on the ball in the opening period, and his influence declined as soon as he was closed down.

The pressing also complimented the tactics of their back four, who were playing a surprisingly high line. On three separate occasions early on, through balls nearly found David Villa in behind the Dutch defence. The problem was not necessarily the high defensive line, but the fact that there was never any pressure on the man looking to play the pass. Playing that position, Villa needs service, so when the supply was cut off, he was less visible and Holland looked more comfortable.

Holland were creating little, however. Wesley Sneijder was quiet and Arjen Robben was cutting in and running into traffic – Busquets, Alonso and Xavi all understood the need for one of them to occupy the space next to Joan Capdevilla that Robben likes to work in.

It became apparent that Holland were essentially using pure spoiling tactics, trying to physically unsettle Spain’s creative players and break up the rhythm of the game. Maybe they were influenced by Chile’s positive start in the final group game, where Spain were second best until they took the lead, but the Dutch tactics went too far. Mark van Bommel and Nigel de Jong could both have been dismissed in the first half for shocking tackles, and of the Dutch outfield players who started the game, only Dirk Kuyt and Sneijder finished without a booking. Spain were not blameless in this respect either, and it was a poor first half.

Second half

This modern Holland side aren’t used to pressing intensively, and weren’t able to do it for the entire game. In the second half they were clearly less effective in this respect, especially after Dirk Kuyt departed. “It’s very difficult to play for 90 minutes at the rhythm they imposed”, said del Bosque. “They had a great physical effort and we dominated extra time.”

But the two managers should be praised for their substitutions, as almost every switch had a broadly attacking motive. Eljero Elia for Kuyt, Cesc Fabregas for Alonso, Rafael van der Vaart for de Jong were all positive moves, and contributed to the game becoming more open and attractive in the second period.

Another del Bosque substitution was crucial – Pedro was withdrawn after a quiet start to the second half, and replaced with Jesus Navas. And then, finally, Spain had natural width and someone to run at Giovanni van Bronckhorst, who eventually had to be replaced. Navas’ delivery was as inconsistent as ever, but he did a good job by stretching the play and providing dribbling rather than one-touch passing, which opened out the game and allowed Iniesta and Xavi more space to work in. It was Navas’ run and cross that presented Villa with a golden opportunity at the far post midway through the second half, and later his run and shot deflected inches wide, into the sidenetting.

But the biggest goal threat was coming from Holland, through direct counter-attacks. The introduction of Elia meant Holland had a natural winger on the left, allowing Robben to make more direct runs in behind the defence, and he twice came close to breaking the deadlock. Spain have often looked vulnerable against pacey forwards at this tournament, and Robben’s move inside exploited this weakness.

(http://img517.imageshack.us/img517/1380/finalfinalfinal2.jpg)
The line-ups at the start of extra-time

Robin van Persie was playing an intelligent role by dropping deep to the left to distract the centre-backs, allowing Robben the opportunity to make runs on their blind side – once a straight ball found him and he shot straight at Casillas, another time van Persie’s flick-on put him through, but he was eased out by Puyol.

Spain eventually find a way through

Whilst Pedro started brightly and faded, Iniesta was the opposite. He was barely visible in the first half, but grew in stature later on and became the game’s most important player. Twice he found himself in good goalscoring positions in the Dutch penalty area but delayed the shot and the move broke down, but the positive for del Bosque was that the game was being dictated by him, rather than Sneijder or van Bommel.

The other key factor was the introduction of Fabregas. This allowed Xavi to drop deeper, where he could see the whole of the attacking area ahead of him, whilst Fabregas provided direct, driving runs from midfield, both on and off the ball. He had the best chance in the opening period of extra time when he went through one-on-one with Maarten Stekelenburg, though his finish was weak. Spain’s midfield now had more variety – they now had both width and direct running, and after Holland were worn down by the Spain passing earlier, they were now struggling with the more blatant attacking threat.

Maybe Spain needed Holland to go down to ten men to make the breakthrough. It’s a shame when a game is essentially decided by a red card, but considering Holland played such a physical game, it was no real surprise when Howard Webb was forced to reach for his red card. Holland were only living with Spain through fouling, and they essentially paid the price for that. Having used all three substitutes, van Marwijk was forced into a three-man defence with van Bommel dropping back to help out, which then left them exposed in front of the defence, with de Jong having departed.

Heitinga’s dismissal was when he tracked Iniesta into the box, and therefore it was probably no coincidence that after that, Iniesta found himself free to smash home the winner. The goal was fitting in that it started with a long, mazy run from Navas, and was assisted by Fabregas from an advanced midfield position. Iniesta had previously turned down those two excellent opportunities to shoot, but made no mistake this time.

It was effectively a golden goal – Holland had no energy left and were a man light, and didn’t manage to construct anything meaningful in the final four minutes. They will obviously be devastated but can have few complaints – they were second best on the day, and they failed to take their chances. Spain weren’t much better in front of goal, but when Iniesta finally found the net, a 1-0 Spain win seemed the fairest outcome. “It is harsh, but the best team won tonight”, van Marwijk conceded.

Conclusion

A disappointing final, because it was based around fouls and cards rather than technical quality or even a real tactical battle. Spain dominated the game but failed to score when Holland had eleven men on the pitch.

They eventually found a way through when they offered more of a varied attacking threat, and the impact of substitutes was a key factor. Navas and Fabregas clearly influenced the game, whilst it’s difficult to remember what Elia or van der Vaart contributed. Pressing was also key – the less Holland could do it, the more Spain created.

Spain will now go down as one of the greatest international sides in history – European Championship and World Cup holders, and an incredible record leading up to both tournaments. In both competitions they have struggled to find a perfect system going forward, but the key in their success has not been their attacking play, but their defensive ability. Seven knockout games played over the two tournaments, and seven clean sheets.
Post by: Deeks on July 12, 2010, 03:54:47 PM
It was hard to see a team like Holland played that way yesterday. This team played a hell of a game against Brazil a couple days before and then come and do that against Spain. Even Gullit was disappoitment with their play. Nothing seems to satisfy Cryuff, but I held my breath and agree with him for once.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 12, 2010, 04:28:19 PM
....I doesn't understand how men could come on here (or anywhere!) and try to defend de jong and holland and the way they played yesterday.  Even if Xavi Alonso or no other opposing player was within 50 yards of that ball, what player in football, do we ever see try to play the ball using a karate style jump-kick like de jong did?  NONE!  It's not even a natural move and he and all woulda played the ball differently.  Now you put an opponent in front of him and look what he do.......that is all the "intent" you need and Webb shoulda sent 'im off.   Also, the notion that an early sending-off would have spoiled the game...Spoiled it how and whose fault would that have been, the ref's fault?  Or the player?  So if Suarez woulda did the same thing he did against Ghana in the first five minutes of the game the ref shouldn'ta sent him off?  Or should the referee use that same discretion at the end of the game (since the game nearly done) as he should use at the beginning and NOT give out cards then as well?  Allyuh men good oui!  So when should van persie should have gotten a yellow card for that kick he unleash on a man in the first two or three minutes of the game or better yet, at what stage in the game should a referee really begin to enforce the rules?  In the 20th minute? The 40th? At the start of the second half? Maybe somewhere between the 65th and 75th minutes, just to keep the card count to a minimum?  What do the rules say?  I could only shake meh head at some of the shit I does see here on this forum yes.

Post by: Bakes on July 12, 2010, 04:47:27 PM
Villa? I thought it was Xavi involved on that play, kicking the defender's leg...

wasn't a pk in my opinion.  The defender got to the ball first, Xavi (I think- not Villa) was already in kicking motion and didn't see the defender coming through and ended up kicking his foot.  The defender played the ball, not the man...so no foul. 

I think you're right that it was Xavi.  I recall the incident as you decribe... JDB apparently was getting de Spanish feed.

Under all the shit talk, I cannot understand how anybody could say that Nigel (Jet Li) DeJong kicking Alonso in his friggin chest was "unintentional".

Which part of that was accidental?
The run-up to gain the required momentum?
The jumping to gain the required elevation?
The extending of the leg to deliver the knock-out impact?
The perfect delivery of the kick (that would make Jet Li, Jackie Chan and even the late Bruce and Brandon Lee proud)?
No wait, the appologetic raising of his hands after flattening Alonso... yeah, that was the "unintentional part".

Bottom line, he should have been sent to f*ck off! Because that was perhaps the most brazen foul of the entire cup. A move like that is only acceptable in MMA. It is worse than Mike Tyson biting Evander Hollyfield's ear in a boxing match. At least Mike was fighting with Evander!

Why you doh hush yuh backside... Xabi is mih boy but nobody tell him tuh try and chest trap ah man Adidas  ;D
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2010, 04:50:53 PM
....I doesn't understand how men could come on here (or anywhere!) and try to defend de jong and holland and the way they played yesterday.  Even if Xavi Alonso or no other opposing player was within 50 yards of that ball, what player in football, do we ever see try to play the ball using a karate style jump-kick like de jong did?  NONE!  It's not even a natural move and he and all woulda played the ball differently.  Now you put an opponent in front of him and look what he do.......that is all the "intent" you need and Webb shoulda sent 'im off.   Also, the notion that an early sending-off would have spoiled the game...Spoiled it how and whose fault would that have been, the ref's fault?  Or the player?  So if Suarez woulda did the same thing he did against Ghana in the first five minutes of the game the ref shouldn'ta sent him off?  Or should the referee use that same discretion at the end of the game (since the game nearly done) as he should use at the beginning and NOT give out cards then as well?  Allyuh men good oui!  So when should van persie should have gotten a yellow card for that kick he unleash on a man in the first two or three minutes of the game or better yet, at what stage in the game should a referee really begin to enforce the rules?  In the 20th minute? The 40th? At the start of the second half? Maybe somewhere between the 65th and 75th minutes, just to keep the card count to a minimum?  What do the rules say?  I could only shake meh head at some of the shit I does see here on this forum yes.

Calm down dude.  Everyone agrees that he shoulda gotten a red card.  I eh see no one claim it wasn't a red card offense.   Nobody eh say that red card offenses early in a game are undeserved of red cards...come nah man, iz like allyuh just like tuh argue....I said that early red cards have the potential to kill a match so as a neutral spectator in retrospect I wasn't too upset that he got away with it....If yuh think Holland's football was negative yesterday, just imagine how dem fellas woulda played if they were reduced to 10 men early o' clock...as sh*tty as the match was yesterday, it woulda been even worse.  

As far as intent goes, I can't imagine that De Jong intended to fly in with a jump kick into Alonso's chest...It jus' doh make sense even for a wild man like him.  Many a time yuh see football pics of players coming at the ball all kinda how and yuh first thought is "how his foot reach dey?"... I prefer to think that it was one of those.  Unless he and Alonso had some serious beef, and real hate pass on the field off camera, I prefer tuh give him the benefit of the doubt and see it as an awkward, wreckless and ultimately horrendous challenge which fortunately didn't cause too much bodily harm.  

Alonso was able to get up and play,  De Jong didn't carry on with any more nonsense, and the better team won- All's well that ends well.  
Post by: Bakes on July 12, 2010, 05:02:19 PM

Sorry gentlemen we will have to agree to disagree on this one. What DeJong did has no place in football. I do not for one minute believe that the importance of the game, is any excuse. Nor do I believe that the position on the field that it occured should impact the decision (you cannot be half pregnant).

But Suarez' deliberate handball does?  Yuh trying tuh be jokey or what?

If you don't believe the importance of the game shouldn't factor into a ref's decision to penalize players then what's the point of even giving ref's discretion?

For you, Socapro, Peong, Slates et al who arguing that DeJong "intentionally" kicke Xabi in he solar plexus let's examine this:

1. I think we all would agree that intent or not, the foul is red card-worthy.
2. We all would agree that any player who intentionally jump-kick another player in the neck, should be issued a red card
3. We all would agree that most, if not all players would recognize this
4. We all would agree that after 28 minutes of play there is still a lot of football left in the game, especially when there is no score yet.
5. We all would agree that no reasonable player would want his team to play a man down for any amount of time, let alone 62 minutes.

... assuming we can agree on all of the above (if you disagree then feel free to), of what benefit would it be to DeJong or his team for him to deliberately ("with intent") commit a red card worthy foul, and gamble against the odds (the foul being so flagrant) that he'd be allowed to stay on in the game and not sent to the showers early?

Is it your argument that:
  -He lost his head, saw Xabi coming and decided, red card be damned "I running up he chest to let him know he cyah come across my midfield"?

-Did he say "Howard Webb know how we does roll in de EPL man... he cyah send mih off fuh ah jumpkick this big World Cup final... let Alonso ketch foot in he ass"?

... or was it more likely, simply an excessively reckless play, that he didn't intend to kick him in the chest, but thru a boneheaded decision he went in high and couldn't pull out fast enough?
Post by: just cool on July 12, 2010, 05:02:48 PM

In the past bringing on Elia worked, but he eh make ah note when he came on.  As for the van Bronckhorst subsitution...well I still scratching mih head.....

In fact I remarked during the game that the Spanish substitution to bring on Navas made an immediate effect on Spain's game....the subs for Holland on the other hand didn't work IMO.....
The coach shoulda started wid ellia and gave the spaniards ah suprise. they woulda had tuh change their strategy drastically, but the coach didn't have ah plan.

the man was only targeting roben roben, and when ellia came on he rarely saw the ball, that's BC they kept playing it on the right side tuh roben, he also had ellia playing ah defensive role. IMO the coach sell out the game.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 12, 2010, 05:26:30 PM

Calm down dude.  Everyone agrees that he shoulda gotten a red card.  I eh see no one claim it wasn't a red card offense.   Nobody eh say that red card offenses early in a game are undeserved of red cards...come nah man, iz like allyuh just like tuh argue....I said that early red cards have the potential to kill a match so as a neutral spectator in retrospect I wasn't too upset that he got away with it....If yuh think Holland's football was negative yesterday, just imagine how dem fellas woulda played if they were reduced to 10 men early o' clock...as sh*tty as the match was yesterday, it woulda been even worse.  

As far as intent goes, I can't imagine that De Jong intended to fly in with a jump kick into Alonso's chest...It jus' doh make sense even for a wild man like him.  Many a time yuh see football pics of players coming at the ball all kinda how and yuh first thought is "how his foot reach dey?"... I prefer to think that it was one of those.  Unless he and Alonso had some serious beef, and real hate pass on the field off camera, I prefer tuh give him the benefit of the doubt and see it as an awkward, wreckless and ultimately horrendous challenge which fortunately didn't cause too much bodily harm.  

Alonso was able to get up and play,  De Jong didn't carry on with any more nonsense, and the better team won- All's well that ends well.  

I am calm. dude. What in my post suggests otherwise?   First off, a man being sent off early doesn't guarantee a game being spoiled.  If anything, maybe holland would have tried to play football instead of jujitsu for fear of losing another man.   Secondly, a man doh have to have prior beef with somebody for a reckless challenge to be "intentional".  This ain't bloods and crips on Crenshaw Boulevard we talkin' 'bout here.  In the context of a sport like football, if I know that jumping in with a two-footed, studs-up challenge can hurt my opponent if he happen to put his foot where I land, and he then does put his foot there and get it broken, then that is intent enough.   Same with de jong yesterday.  He KNEW Xavi Alonso was coming, he KNEW that he could only hurt him with the tackle he made and he did.  Retrospect has no place while the game is being played, so Xavi being able to continue means nothing at that point, nor are the rules made up and/or enforced to please neutral observers. If anything, you want to protect the integrity and credibility of the game, if neutral observers are your target audience.  Also, at what point does the protection of the players take precedent? Again, though, I ask the question.  At what point does a referee really enforce the rules?  Because, if, according to you, sending a man off early will spoil the game, well wouldn't it "spoil" the game in the 65th minute, too?    Thing is, holland has been playing some form of negative football since the QF game against Brazil.  They just went from one extreme (diving and rolling around in agony at the slightest touch) to the other yesterday (mixed martial arts).  If anything had the potential for "spoiling" the game, it was that.    
Post by: Spursy on July 12, 2010, 07:27:23 PM
 I respect Johan Cruyff argument however believe it or not if Holland played more openly they would have been CRUSHED, the scoreline would have been a blow out something like 5-2.
Now that it is out of the way, it was clear that Spain had more depth in the squad, when you can bring on a player like Cesc. Mourinho is a champion, this match showed that he can't be replicated or imitated, we were not looking at a Inter Bayern Holland but we saw Real Madrid and Barcelona. The difference between Mous team and Van Wick is simple, discipline with calmness infront of goal.

Sniejder did his job, he set up atleast two real chances that Robben should of scored, credit to the Spainish keeper to springing into action having very little to do.

Everyone wants someone to blame but the only reason is Spain were mentally prepared for this battle with a counter for counter attacking football... it was amazing. somehow they incorporated a workhorse midfield into their style.. it worked. Also I don't think Holland believed they could win this, something Mourinho would have injected before kick off, at half time and after the match itself.

Holland had their chances, it showed that number 4 for the orange was a good defender but limited in his passing, dribbling and knowing what to do in open space, he was a major liability  in the build up moving forward.. anytime he get the ball men doh know if to make a run or drop back to cover lol.. it was so clear.

Another major factor was Holland decide to play long balls which meant that Wesley was limited to a midfield position .. know why? No one else can make goal scoring crosses for the orange.

Spain won because they have not one but two best players in every position.

One thing is for sure when Xavi Alonso go back to Madrid not only will he be wearing a gold medal but a STAMP of approval from De Jong    :rotfl:

Just imagine seeing those peg marks on your chest while shaving everyday.... lol talk about leaving an impression :)

ent yuh want tuh win worle cup take kick up... ent yuh fancy and neat.. more kick in yuh ass.. is ah final..

ever thought that de jong probably wanted to get sent off? so that it will look like they had to play defensive? or a good reason why they lost? yea players when scared find ways to get out of the spotlight with make shift ... antics.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 12, 2010, 07:47:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/o9WOtUL90xM

cassillas and he woman  8)

Wait, wait, wait the reporter is he girlfriend??!!....aaaawww that's so sweet!!....poor thing she eh know what to do.... :) :)

Post by: ribbit on July 12, 2010, 08:07:41 PM

lawd, de jong just one foot short of a stinkmeaner.

ah watched de game with a few pardnahs that doh really like "soccer" and after this game it was level pong. there was de jong kick. plenty miss with the attendent histrionics (mathijson, robben, capdevila). even the goal came scant moments after iniesta dove going down the touchline to get a man booked. casillas crying like he lose. then chief clown blatter at the close berate the players - ha ha real jackarse moment.

de circus heading to brazil 2014
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2010, 08:21:04 PM
So Bake the argument you puttin forth is that De Jong's kick was so bad, so stupid, so potentially costly, that it had to be something other than intentional.
I know you like to talk about not seeing the forest for all the trees.
That is exactly what happenin with you here, so ironic.

De Jong lost his head in that instant, that is all.
It happened before and it will happen again.

Post by: Bakes on July 12, 2010, 08:59:02 PM
So Bake the argument you puttin forth is that De Jong's kick was so bad, so stupid, so potentially costly, that it had to be something other than intentional.

Dai's de best yuh could come up with? I not seeing the forest for the trees... and DeJong ketch ah vaps and intentionally plant ah size 5 in Xabi chest?

Okay.
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2010, 09:09:33 PM

I am calm. dude. What in my post suggests otherwise?   First off, a man being sent off early doesn't guarantee a game being spoiled.  If anything, maybe holland would have tried to play football instead of jujitsu for fear of losing another man.   Secondly, a man doh have to have prior beef with somebody for a reckless challenge to be "intentional".  This ain't bloods and crips on Crenshaw Boulevard we talkin' 'bout here.  In the context of a sport like football, if I know that jumping in with a two-footed, studs-up challenge can hurt my opponent if he happen to put his foot where I land, and he then does put his foot there and get it broken, then that is intent enough.   Same with de jong yesterday.  He KNEW Xavi Alonso was coming, he KNEW that he could only hurt him with the tackle he made and he did.  Retrospect has no place while the game is being played, so Xavi being able to continue means nothing at that point, nor are the rules made up and/or enforced to please neutral observers. If anything, you want to protect the integrity and credibility of the game, if neutral observers are your target audience.  Also, at what point does the protection of the players take precedent? Again, though, I ask the question.  At what point does a referee really enforce the rules?  Because, if, according to you, sending a man off early will spoil the game, well wouldn't it "spoil" the game in the 65th minute, too?    Thing is, holland has been playing some form of negative football since the QF game against Brazil.  They just went from one extreme (diving and rolling around in agony at the slightest touch) to the other yesterday (mixed martial arts).  If anything had the potential for "spoiling" the game, it was that.    

Again I agree the offense was red card offense.  It didn't happen... oh well.  They still lost, and all is well. 

By the way, you're a big time optimist if you feel that a red card in the 28th minute woulda forced Holland to "come out and play"... that's a contradiction to conventional wisdom if I've ever heard it....
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2010, 09:37:29 PM

Dai's de best yuh could come up with? I not seeing the forest for the trees... and DeJong ketch ah vaps and intentionally plant ah size 5 in Xabi chest?

Okay.

I already analyse the man position and kick motion, so no that is not all I come with.
What you come with?
Post by: Bakes on July 12, 2010, 10:32:29 PM

Okay.

I already analyse the man position and kick motion, so no that is not all I come with.
What you come with?

Read the thread, or have somebody read it to you.
Post by: Peong on July 12, 2010, 11:31:53 PM
I read it. You ignored all the physical evidence.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 12, 2010, 11:53:06 PM
Real Madrid’s Alonso criticises Man City’s de Jong for horror challenge
13.07.10 | Andrew Slevison
READ MORE NEWS ON: Liverpool, Manchester City, Real Madrid, World Cup

Real Madrid midfielder Xabi Alonso has criticised Manchester City’s Nigel de Jong following a horror challenge that left Alonso with a broken rib.

The aerial challenge by Holland’s de Jong came in the World Cup final on Sunday, which was won by Alonso’s Spain, and the former Liverpool man said it was one of the worst tackles he has experienced.

“I am in pain now. It was one of the worst tackles I have ever had. They had to close us down, it was a tight game and there is respect from both sides,” Alonso said.

“The challenge was really hard, it was one of the most painful tackles in my life. It was hard to play on. I have probably broken a rib.”

Need your Manchester City news fix? Click here for all City news and transfer rumours.
Post by: davyjenny1 on July 13, 2010, 12:01:09 AM
Real Madrid’s Alonso criticises Man City’s de Jong for horror challenge
13.07.10 | Andrew Slevison
READ MORE NEWS ON: Liverpool, Manchester City, Real Madrid, World Cup

Real Madrid midfielder Xabi Alonso has criticised Manchester City’s Nigel de Jong following a horror challenge that left Alonso with a broken rib.

The aerial challenge by Holland’s de Jong came in the World Cup final on Sunday, which was won by Alonso’s Spain, and the former Liverpool man said it was one of the worst tackles he has experienced.

“I am in pain now. It was one of the worst tackles I have ever had. They had to close us down, it was a tight game and there is respect from both sides,” Alonso said.

“The challenge was really hard, it was one of the most painful tackles in my life. It was hard to play on. I have probably broken a rib.”

Need your Manchester City news fix? Click here for all City news and transfer rumours.

Spain's Xabi Alonso get a certified stamp of approval by Nigel de Jong (de young dutch) in that they are the 2010 WC champs.  He should of been nominated for the gold booth award for that great kick  ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 13, 2010, 04:00:10 AM

Again I agree the offense was red card offense.  It didn't happen... oh well.  They still lost, and all is well. 

By the way, you're a big time optimist if you feel that a red card in the 28th minute woulda forced Holland to "come out and play"... that's a contradiction to conventional wisdom if I've ever heard it....

I was being sarcastic, dude.  We likely would have had a repeat of the holland-portugal game of '06 and they just would have focused on trying to get a Spaniard sent off but my optimism comes in my faith in Spain not being as affected by holland's play as they seemed to be, if proper justice was being meted out by the officials, and taking a 10-man side apart before possibly unraveling themselves.  If that is what you and others call "spoiling the game", oh well.  It happens.  The thing is, holland was playing ugly football from since the QF and that is proof (to me) that they had absolutely no intentions of "coming out and playing" against superior teams.  Doesn't change the fact that tackles like the one de jong put on alonso has no place in football and should have been punished accordingly by webb no matter what effect it would have had on the game, no matter what the game, the circumstances or the stakes.

Post by: kicker on July 13, 2010, 07:42:45 AM

I was being sarcastic, dude.  We likely would have had a repeat of the holland-portugal game of '06 and they just would have focused on trying to get a Spaniard sent off but my optimism comes in my faith in Spain not being as affected by holland's play as they seemed to be, if proper justice was being meted out by the officials, and taking a 10-man side apart before possibly unraveling themselves.  If that is what you and others call "spoiling the game", oh well.  It happens.  The thing is, holland was playing ugly football from since the QF and that is proof (to me) that they had absolutely no intentions of "coming out and playing" against superior teams.  Doesn't change the fact that tackles like the one de jong put on alonso has no place in football and should have been punished accordingly by webb no matter what effect it would have had on the game, no matter what the game, the circumstances or the stakes.

You keep saying the same thing that is irrelevant to what I'm saying.  Again, I'm not using the effect on the game to justify Webb's no-call.  I never said that a ref should consider the balance of the game in making such calls...(I think he made the call based on his perception of intent- and I agree with him on that, but we see it differently and could talk in circles about that forever so there's no point to it).....The point that I'm making is from a neutral spectator standpoint.  I'm saying that in retrospect, the no-call didn't adversely affect the game, and in fact it probably served to preserve some quality of the match...so as a spectator I hold no grudge. The better side still won, De Jong didn't use his get out of jail free card as license to continue the nonsense, and Alonso suffered no major damage (to my knowledge)...All's well that ends well.
Post by: Disgruntled_Trini on July 13, 2010, 07:57:07 AM

Very hard to believe that De Jong intended to jump kick Alonso in his chest...

aight Kicker, if you say so!!

(http://estaticos.marca.com/marcador/futbol/2010/mundial/final/hol_spa/img/15_300x410.jpg)

I telling yuh, anytime ah man hit me a kick to check on a football field so, both ah we getting ah red card cause is real fight.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 13, 2010, 07:58:03 AM

You keep saying the same thing that is irrelevant to what I'm saying.  Again, I'm not using the effect on the game to justify Webb's no-call.  I never said that a ref should consider the balance of the game in making such calls...(I think he made the call based on his perception of intent- and I agree with him on that, but we see it differently and could talk in circles about that forever so there's no point to it).....The point that I'm making is from a neutral spectator standpoint.  I'm saying that in retrospect, the no-call didn't adversely affect the game, and in fact it probably served to preserve some quality of the match...so as a spectator I hold no grudge. The better side still won, De Jong didn't use his get out of jail free card as license to continue the nonsense, and Alonso suffered no major damage (to my knowledge)...All's well that ends well.

Actually I think he broke a rib, can someone confirm?
Post by: ribbit on July 13, 2010, 08:18:46 AM

Actually I think he broke a rib, can someone confirm?

BBC quoting alonso saying he "might have broken a rib".

But Suarez' deliberate handball does?  Yuh trying tuh be jokey or what?

If you don't believe the importance of the game shouldn't factor into a ref's decision to penalize players then what's the point of even giving ref's discretion?

For you, Socapro, Peong, Slates et al who arguing that DeJong "intentionally" kicke Xabi in he solar plexus let's examine this:

1. I think we all would agree that intent or not, the foul is red card-worthy.
2. We all would agree that any player who intentionally jump-kick another player in the neck, should be issued a red card
3. We all would agree that most, if not all players would recognize this
4. We all would agree that after 28 minutes of play there is still a lot of football left in the game, especially when there is no score yet.
5. We all would agree that no reasonable player would want his team to play a man down for any amount of time, let alone 62 minutes.

... assuming we can agree on all of the above (if you disagree then feel free to), of what benefit would it be to DeJong or his team for him to deliberately ("with intent") commit a red card worthy foul, and gamble against the odds (the foul being so flagrant) that he'd be allowed to stay on in the game and not sent to the showers early?

Is it your argument that:
  -He lost his head, saw Xabi coming and decided, red card be damned "I running up he chest to let him know he cyah come across my midfield"?

-Did he say "Howard Webb know how we does roll in de EPL man... he cyah send mih off fuh ah jumpkick this big World Cup final... let Alonso ketch foot in he ass"?

... or was it more likely, simply an excessively reckless play, that he didn't intend to kick him in the chest, but thru a boneheaded decision he went in high and couldn't pull out fast enough?

bake n' shark, there is a flaw in your 2nd point in particular and your argument in general. give it up. yuh will never get out of the steno pool with dese half-wit arguments. ::)
Post by: JDB on July 13, 2010, 08:30:54 AM
To be fair to Webb. I heard an interview with Dermot Gallagher who spoke to Webb.

Webb said that Alonso's body was between him and De Jong so he couldn't see the leg. He saw it at half-time (I don't know why thay let refs watch their mistakes during a match) and he would have sent DeJong off if he saw it.

I hear real people criticising webb saying he should have spoken to players and not given cards but when Van Persie run right through a man in the 2nd minute how much talking he could do.
Post by: JDB on July 13, 2010, 08:34:26 AM

Very hard to believe that De Jong intended to jump kick Alonso in his chest...

aight Kicker, if you say so!!

(http://estaticos.marca.com/marcador/futbol/2010/mundial/final/hol_spa/img/15_300x410.jpg)

I telling yuh, anytime ah man hit me a kick to check on a football field so, both ah we getting ah red card cause is real fight.

I think I see the man guts poking out he back yes.

Seriously though the "player didn't intend to foul him like that" argument doesn't hold for me because he clearly intended to foul Alonso. there could be no other outcome from his approach. The worst part is that he showed no remorse or concern for the player. If you make an accidentally harsh or mistimed tackle on a player and get away with it you usually show some kind of remorse.
Post by: Brownsugar on July 13, 2010, 08:36:17 AM
To be fair to Webb. I heard an interview with Dermot Gallagher who spoke to Webb.

Webb said that Alonso's body was between him and De Jong so he couldn't see the leg. He saw it at half-time (I don't know why thay let refs watch their mistakes during a match) and he would have sent DeJong off if he saw it.

I hear real people criticising webb saying he should have spoken to players and not given cards but when Van Persie run right through a man in the 2nd minute how much talking he could do.

His assistant didn't see the kick??  Dais not what they are there for??  If I remember correctly, the referee didn't see Zidane's head butt back in 2006 it was the linesman who drew it to his attention.....and well you could miss Materazzi rolling around on the ground....

Also, Webb could have sent off Robben for putting the ball in the back of the net.  It would have been his 2nd yellow but Webb spoke to him instead.....
Post by: dinho on July 13, 2010, 09:22:14 AM
I don't know how else to put it, but in football intent does not equal premeditation and I think that's where alot of people get tie up.

Not because De Jong didn't set out to stamp Alonso from the start does it mean that in the split second before he reach in the challenge he didn't decide to let him have it. Footballers know exactly what they doing when they doing it, and many times what looks like incidental contact on the television screen is fully intentional.

De Jong know full well what he was doing in his moment of madness.. maybe immediately afterwards he study and regret what he did, but that was an intentional stamp.
Post by: JDB on July 13, 2010, 09:29:16 AM
His assistant didn't see the kick??  Dais not what they are there for??  If I remember correctly, the referee didn't see Zidane's head butt back in 2006 it was the linesman who drew it to his attention.....and well you could miss Materazzi rolling around on the ground....

Well that is the question. What did the lineman see? It is a real murky area though because the linesman always have to be watching two places at once.

Also once the ref calls the foul. The linesman does not assume that he missed the incident. If the ref gives DeJong a yellow the linesman assumes that the ref saw the incident and used his judgement, just as most of us did when we saw it live on TV from distance without the benefit of slow-mo and multiple angles. I don't know if it the linesman job to question the ref's judgement on calls that the ref sees. What would have been different is if Webb solicited the linesman's opinion on the incident.
Post by: Bourbon on July 13, 2010, 09:36:02 AM

Well that is the question. What did the lineman see? It is a real murky area though because the linesman always have to be watching two places at once.

Also once the ref calls the foul. The linesman does not assume that he missed the incident. If the ref gives DeJong a yellow the linesman assumes that the ref saw the incident and used his judgement, just as most of us did when we saw it live on TV from distance without the benefit of slow-mo and multiple angles. I don't know if it the linesman job to question the ref's judgement on calls that the ref sees. What would have been different is if Webb solicited the linesman's opinion on the incident.

In the Zidane incident....i think it was the 4th official who drew it to the attention of the referee. Not the linesmen. Which was a bit controversial.

And....i sympathize with webb..cuz he woulda be damned if he did..damned if he didnt. I doh think he saw it honestly.....we get the benefit of multiple angles and not having to decide in a split second.
Post by: JDB on July 13, 2010, 09:49:28 AM
In the Zidane incident....i think it was the 4th official who drew it to the attention of the referee. Not the linesmen. Which was a bit controversial.

And....i sympathize with webb..cuz he woulda be damned if he did..damned if he didnt. I doh think he saw it honestly.....we get the benefit of multiple angles and not having to decide in a split second.

I forget to add that. Also the rumour is that he saw it on a pitchside monitor. As a result of that and the fact that managers were always harangueing the 4th official, FIFA remove all the monitors.
Post by: kicker on July 13, 2010, 10:49:30 AM
Ok it was an intentional stamp...

What next?
Post by: Peong on July 13, 2010, 11:44:32 AM
(http://i.imgur.com/XAnvT.jpg)
Post by: Spursy on July 13, 2010, 12:18:22 PM

What next?

Dude it was an International Stamp of Approval.
Post by: Jah Gol on July 13, 2010, 12:26:35 PM
De Jong is actually seen watching  Xabi Alonso as he approaches. I don't think intention is really up for debate. It is reflex for players to raise their hands to say sorry so I don't buy the remourse thing either. In any case boots to man chest, rather than getting into psychological debate about his state of mind just send him off for wildness.
Post by: palos on July 13, 2010, 01:41:30 PM
just send him off for wildness.

And that is that.
Post by: Socapro on July 13, 2010, 01:58:15 PM
Above De Long & below he brother!

(http://i.imgur.com/XAnvT.jpg)

Here is De Long's brother and the man wearing orange as well!  8)

Guess De Long was just jealousing he brother and decided to impress the director of that movie so that he could get a starring role as well just like he brother!

Well done De Long, its time to forget bout football, I believe you have the talent and deserve a staring role in that Kung Fu flick!  ;)
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 13, 2010, 02:10:28 PM

What next?

We'll talk about it some more.  Care to join us?
Post by: Bakes on July 13, 2010, 09:11:25 PM
bake n' shark, there is a flaw in your 2nd point in particular and your argument in general. give it up. yuh will never get out of the steno pool with dese half-wit arguments. ::)

Yeah... de flaw is that I di'n write it in crayons with ah nice stick figure diagram tuh better suit yuh comprehension.  Next time.  Besides... I quite like de steno pool, ah reach mih level and liking it.

--------------------------------------

Man trying tuh come with all kinda subjective definition of intent now... intent mean intent, except when it doh mean intent.  Somebody go have to break down de meaning on "intent" in de basketball and cricket sense fuh mih. 

Besides, if DeJong did really intend tuh jump-kick Xabi in he chest he woulda bawl "kiiyaaaaiii" right as he plant he foot in he solar plexus.
Post by: Bakes on July 13, 2010, 10:40:22 PM
Dutch Celebrate 2nd Place in World Cup

By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS
Filed at 3:08 p.m. ET

AMSTERDAM (AP) -- Hundreds of thousands of fans lined Amsterdam's web of canals to cheer the World Cup runner-up Netherlands as the team cruised the waterways, swigging beer and blowing vuvuzelas, in an open-top boat on Tuesday.

Looking to have finally shaken off the disappointment of the team's third second-place World Cup finish, the players drank beer and waved at fans as orange streamers, fired from cannons along the canal, drifted over them.

Midfielder Rafael van der Vaart sprayed fans with beer, while defender Edson Braafheid caught a bottle of beer tossed to him by a fan and started drinking from it. Players had to regularly duck as their boat cruised under low bridges.

''I expected some people to come, but this is unbelievable,'' coach Bert van Marwijk said. ''Can you imagine what it would have been like if we'd won?''

Scores of small boats, most of them pumping out loud music and packed with dancing revelers, followed the official flotilla.

In front of about 100,000 fans at the central Museum Square, winger Arjen Robben said: ''Spain may have won the World Cup, but we have the best supporters in the world.''

Before the team boat arrived, several fans leaped into the murky waters of the Brouwersgracht canal cheered by hoards of orange-clad, flag-waving supporters -- despite warnings from authorities that swimming in the canals could expose them to anything from E. coli bacteria to sunken bicycles and shopping carts.

''It's a bit much, considering we lost,'' said Loes Olden, who was sipping a glass of white wine at the water's edge at a table decked in an orange tarp, two ornate candle sticks and a bowl of oranges. ''It's over the top, but we're enjoying it.''

Houses along the canals were draped in flags and some had giant footballs hanging from their facades.

Earlier, the team was honored by Prime Minister Jan Peter Balkenende at the start of a hectic day of celebrations.

Under bunches of orange balloons, Van Marwijk and retiring captain Giovanni van Bronckhorst were given the honorary title of ''Knight in the Order of Oranje Nassau'' at a reception in front of Balkenende's official Catshuis residence.

The team then was driven by coach to meet Queen Beatrix at her Noordeinde Palace in The Hague before an Air Force helicopter whisked the team to Amsterdam for its boat tour and an open-air party at Museum Square, where fans had watched the action from South Africa on giant screens throughout the tournament.

Amsterdam police tweeted that 500,000 people had descended on the city to celebrate the Netherlands' best World Cup finish since 1978. There were no immediate reports of any problems among the fans, who quickly dispersed from the canals after the team boat had passed.

Orange-clad supporters began pouring into the grassy square, flanked on two sides by the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, hours before the party's scheduled 5 p.m. (1500 GMT) start.

Security staff were posted next to a handful of house boats along the route in an effort to prevent fans clambering onto their roofs. When the Netherlands won its only international title, the 1988 European Championship, several house boats were badly damaged and a few sank amid wild scenes of jubilation.

The Dutch lost 1-0 in extra time to Spain in Sunday's final -- the third time the country has lost the final after defeats in 1974 and '78.

Dennis Nuitermans, who runs a car showroom in the southern city of Breda, traveled to Amsterdam on his 32nd birthday for the celebration.

''It doesn't happen often that we are second in the world so we're coming for a great day out in Amsterdam,'' he said.

While Nuitermans was pleased with the team's second place, he was critical of its style of play. Van Marwijk ditched the trademark Dutch flowing, attacking style known the world over as ''total football'' and replaced it with patient passing and uncompromising tackling he calls ''result football.''

''It was not really Dutch, but it was efficient,'' Nuitermans said. ''The final was not exactly charming. It was pretty ugly at times.''

Eight Dutchmen were booked and defender John Heitinga was sent off in an ill-tempered final in Johannesburg, where five Spain players were also booked.

Robben said his missed chance on the hour mark was still haunting him. The Bayern Munich star had only Iker Casillas to beat, but the Spain goalkeeper deflected Robben's shot wide with his outstretched foot.

''You want nothing more than to score that goal. It was a big chance,'' he said. ''It hurts to miss a chance like that.''

As he sang and danced in front of the huge orange crowd of adoring fans in Amsterdam, the pain appeared to be easing.

http://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2010/07/13/sports/soccer/AP-SOC-WCup-Netherlands-Celebrates.html?ref=sports
Post by: Babalawo on July 14, 2010, 12:24:23 AM

http://www.youtube.com/v/F7ODfbg2YjY

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7ODfbg2YjY
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 14, 2010, 03:32:54 AM

Yeah... de flaw is that I di'n write it in crayons with ah nice stick figure diagram tuh better suit yuh comprehension.  Next time.  Besides... I quite like de steno pool, ah reach mih level and liking it.

--------------------------------------

Man trying tuh come with all kinda subjective definition of intent now... intent mean intent, except when it doh mean intent.  Somebody go have to break down de meaning on "intent" in de basketball and cricket sense fuh mih. 

Besides, if DeJong did really intend tuh jump-kick Xabi in he chest he woulda bawl "kiiyaaaaiii" right as he plant he foot in he solar plexus.

leh meh arkse yuh a question or two nuh.....yuh think if neither Alonso nor any other Spanish player were approaching that ball that de jong would have tried to kick at the ball the way he did in alonso chest? Is a kaarate-style kick at a ball even normal?  Especially a ball coming across the plane of his body like it was?   
Post by: JDB on July 14, 2010, 06:31:02 AM

I think you're right that it was Xavi.  I recall the incident as you decribe... JDB apparently was getting de Spanish feed.

Right that's it the Spanish feed. I'm sure that is how you recall what you saw but you saw wrong.

It is not surpring that you missed it and also not surprising that instead of wondering if you got it wrong you make smart remarks about what I watch.
Post by: Observer on July 14, 2010, 09:02:50 AM
I watched the incident again ( stand corrected) it was Xavi and the defender never touched the ball, he tackled Xavi's leg in the act of shoot
Post by: giggsy11 on July 14, 2010, 08:25:29 PM

Inesta bares the scares of the Dutch butchers!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QR81PhlR1sc
Post by: Bakes on July 15, 2010, 08:29:18 PM
Right that's it the Spanish feed. I'm sure that is how you recall what you saw but you saw wrong.

It is not surpring that you missed it and also not surprising that instead of wondering if you got it wrong you make smart remarks about what I watch.

I swear, you are the easiest mark on this forum.
Post by: JDB on July 16, 2010, 05:53:59 AM

Resorting to off topic namecalling when yuh wrong about something... didn't see that one coming.
Post by: Bakes on July 16, 2010, 10:17:28 PM

Resorting to off topic namecalling when yuh wrong about something... didn't see that one coming.

"namecalling"?

Why am I not surprised that my "mark" comment went over your head... even as you validate its very substance.
Post by: ribbit on July 18, 2010, 10:17:27 AM
hear nuh, ah doh know what de politics and ego mgmt was in de dutch camp but wouldn't RVN have been a better sight coming off de bench than elia or edson braaf... ???
Post by: JDB on July 19, 2010, 11:25:48 AM
"namecalling"?

Why am I not surprised that my "mark" comment went over your head... even as you validate its very substance.

Namecalling as in typically empty, baseless pejoratives, usually unrelated to the actual topic of discussion. I shouldn't say baseless though..they all seem to be founded on the assumption that your lofty opinion is akin to fact.

As for validation, your "mark" comment has as much substance as you seeing the Dutch defender touch the ball.
Post by: palos on July 19, 2010, 11:27:54 AM
As for validation, your "mark" comment has as much substance as you seeing the Dutch defender touch the ball.

:whip: :whip:    ;D ;D
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 20, 2010, 04:12:30 PM
JDB, looks like you shut down the thread, boy.   :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on July 20, 2010, 10:11:31 PM
Namecalling as in typically empty, baseless pejoratives, usually unrelated to the actual topic of discussion. I shouldn't say baseless though..they all seem to be founded on the assumption that your lofty opinion is akin to fact.

Since the reference obviously continues to escape you, let me help you out.  Me saying you're an easy mark was not in fact "namecalling" as you so foolishly interpreted it to be.  In fact it was far from being a "pejorative" and was deliberately said in jest to elicit a response... one which you were more than willing to provide. 

The episode harkens back to that time two-three years ago when in a similar haste you accused me of being a racist on par with the KKK, simply because you failed to understand my response to just cool.  I would explain the rest but it's clear from your responses thus far that I'd just be wasting my time... kill you dead somebody engaging in calling you names.  But as I said, with your thin-skinned responses you only continue to validate my statement.

Post by: Babalawo on July 21, 2010, 01:37:15 AM
people still in this forum?? like allyuh have WC tabanca or wha? :devil:
Post by: Brownsugar on July 21, 2010, 05:56:31 AM
people still in this forum?? like allyuh have WC tabanca or wha? :devil:

Can you blame us??  Is T&T vs Antigua we have to look forward to now..... ::) ::)
Post by: JDB on July 21, 2010, 06:28:41 AM

Since the reference obviously continues to escape you, let me help you out.  Me saying you're an easy mark was not in fact "namecalling" as you so foolishly interpreted it to be.  In fact it was far from being a "pejorative" and was deliberately said in jest to elicit a response... one which you were more than willing to provide. 

The episode harkens back to that time two-three years ago when in a similar haste you accused me of being a racist on par with the KKK, simply because you failed to understand my response to just cool.  I would explain the rest but it's clear from your responses thus far that I'd just be wasting my time... kill you dead somebody engaging in calling you names.  But as I said, with your thin-skinned responses you only continue to validate my statement.

You're setting a false frame of reference and making the response that you see fit. You're referring to an incident where I admittedly misread a post. But even in that response I was not "thin skinned" since the statement was not directed to me. I did respond in kind, based on the original mischaracterization.

In this case I reply to your post with a dissenting opinion, you reply to mine (in passing), not with a focus on what we were actually talking about but with diversionary snark. Somehow my next response is an escalation and the result of thin-skinnedness and every subsequent response is proof of such as if I somehow baying at the moon and not replying to actual statements from you.

The "mark" characterization is wrong because I rarely bother to get into these tit for tats and never have the need to get into personal attacks. If we can't find common ground after a few fair exchanges of the issue at hand we might as well not bother. Seems like we at such an impasse right now because we gone way off topic and...kill you dead I thin-skinned and you just this cool even handed lovable misunderstood jester.
Post by: Bakes on July 21, 2010, 11:38:50 AM
You more confused than I even thought...

You're setting a false frame of reference and making the response that you see fit. You're referring to an incident where I admittedly misread a post. But even in that response I was not "thin skinned" since the statement was not directed to me. I did respond in kind, based on the original mischaracterization.

Since I have to hold your hand and walk you thru this... you misread my "mark" comment just as you misread my response to the poster "just cool" some years back.  I have to put his name in quotes, since you apparently yet again misunderstand the reference.  I never said you were being thin-skinned in that incident, the reference was to illustrate how your preconceived notions skew your interpretation of what I type.

In this case I reply to your post with a dissenting opinion, you reply to mine (in passing), not with a focus on what we were actually talking about but with diversionary snark. Somehow my next response is an escalation and the result of thin-skinnedness and every subsequent response is proof of such as if I somehow baying at the moon and not replying to actual statements from you.

To begin with I wasn't even focused on no argument... in fact you would have a hard time finding when last you saw me get into any long drawn out argument on this board.  But since Bakes love tuh engage in "Namecalling as in typically empty, baseless pejoratives, usually unrelated to the actual topic of discussion", with your preconceived notions you chose to interpret the comment about the "Spanish feed" as "diversionary snark".  You follow that up with something or the other about baying at the moon and not responding to actual statements by me.  To be honest, I have no idea what any of that is about.

The "mark" characterization is wrong because I rarely bother to get into these tit for tats and never have the need to get into personal attacks. If we can't find common ground after a few fair exchanges of the issue at hand we might as well not bother. Seems like we at such an impasse right now because we gone way off topic and...kill you dead I thin-skinned and you just this cool even handed lovable misunderstood jester.

There is no "tit for tat"... again, that is a figment of your own creation.  A "mark" is a target.  I said you made for an easy target because I deliberately throw a little corn in yuh yard with the "Spanish feed" comment and you happily took that and ran with it.  You couldn't wait to start preaching from your own lofty heights about how it was typical of me when wrong to resort to unsurprising "namecalling" and whatnot... which I found humorous.  As I said, it validated my statement in that you took the bait... but of course yuh wasn't being thin-skinned in responding to my "smart remarks". 

But anyways... joke done spoil and time to move on, enough of this back and forth.  I not too concerned with being "lovable" or about being understood or misunderstood, this is the internet... so I wouldn't waste time worrying about that if I was you.
Post by: Mango Chow! on July 25, 2010, 08:02:10 AM
De man gone back 2 and 3 years on JDB oui! man does be claimin' how unimportant this forum is and hummuch better tings he have to do than to be engaging all these lesser occupants of this forum......Shakin' meh head!