Sports => Football => Topic started by: YoursTruly on August 01, 2010, 02:42:24 PM

Title: Ricky Shakes turns to Guyana.
Post by: YoursTruly on August 01, 2010, 02:42:24 PM
Professional footballer to play for Golden Jaguars
By Stabroek staff | August 1, 2010 in Sports

Ricky Shakes will on Sunday become the first ever professional English league player to play for the Guyana national team.

This was disclosed yesterday by head of Temptations Promotions Group Faizal Khan.

Khan told Stabroek Sport yesterday that Sunday’s historic encounter between Guyana’s Golden Jaguars and Cray Wanderers Football Club in England will see Shakes in action for the Golden Jaguars.

Temptation Promotions along with GT Promotions, are set to make football history by staging the first ever football match between a Guyana Football Federation (GFF) sanctioned ‘Guyana All Star XI’  and the second oldest football team in the world, the Cray Wonderers.

The match takes place this Sunday at the Dulwich Hamlet Football Club, Champion Hill Stadium, Edgar Kail Way, Dog Kennel Hill, London SE22 BD.
Khan said Shakes, who has played professional football for Bolton Wanderers on two occasions in the English FA Cup, will be remembered by soccer fans for scoring on his debut against Tranmere Rovers in the last minute to take the game into extra time in 2005.

He also disclosed that Shakes has represented Trinidad and Tobago.

“He has played 10 minutes for Trinidad in a friendly against Iceland in 2006. He only came on for a few minutes at the end of the game,“ Khan said.

“He never carried on looking at international football because he wanted to focus on his club career. He wanted to play for a nation that’s hungry for success and, although he has played for Trinidad, he sees Guyana as a far more attractive proposition to really start his international career especially with this game, Khan said yesterday.

According to Khan, Shakes, whose father is Guyanese by birth and mother Trinidadian, has played over 100 professional England league games.

Last season he played for Ebbsfleet United in League Three.

Khan said he hopes that Shakes will be the first of many professional English league players to see the light and switch allegiance and join the campaign for Guyana to qualify for their very first World Cup.

“If Jamaica can do it, Trinidad can do it then Guyana can do it,” he declared.

However Khan said football would need the general support of the public for this to be a reality.

He said that one of the biggest stars in the Major League Soccer (MLS) is Dwayne De Rosario.

“De Rosario plays for the Canada International team, although both is parents are Guyanese, simply because there was no means for him to play for Guyana.

“Temptation is bridging the gap to make sure that there will no longer be this type of problem,” said Khan who is the first FIFA licensed agent from this region after having been accredited by the English FA and FIFA.

“What I’d like this license to do is to open more doors like the upcoming match which should have happened 30 years ago,” he said.

“This is catch up time for Guyana football.  We need the continued support of the GFF and the Guyanese community,”  Khan added.
The Guyanese community must come out and support the team. Also, Guyanese all around the world must believe that we can qualify for the World Cup either this one or the next. If we don’t believe that it will happen then it won’t happen.”
Title: Re: Ricky Shakes
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 01, 2010, 04:10:50 PM
best of luck ricky
Post by: theworm2345 on August 01, 2010, 04:17:04 PM
best of luck ricky
Yeah, I'd say its obvious T&T want nothing more to do with him so why not try for another country.  :beermug:
Post by: chelsealife on August 01, 2010, 04:43:31 PM
LMAO.... Guyana more attractive proposition??? We dnt look at non-league players especially if is to improve d team. He didnt have a chance with us, and Guyana is rly a LAST resort. Is he even contracted to a team? Any interest? Good luck with ur Guyanese adventure anyways LMAO
Post by: Bakes on August 01, 2010, 04:54:21 PM
LMAO.... Guyana more attractive proposition??? We dnt look at non-league players especially if is to improve d team. He didnt have a chance with us, and Guyana is rly a LAST resort. Is he even contracted to a team? Any interest? Good luck with ur Guyanese adventure anyways LMAO

...and so, assuming everything you say is correct it only further underscores why "Guyana is a more attractive proposition" to him.  Reading is Fundamental.
Post by: Big Magician on August 01, 2010, 05:05:15 PM
FOO
Post by: theworm2345 on August 01, 2010, 05:59:46 PM
Silvio Spann got called up while playing in the Conference with Wrexham on more than one occasion.
Title: Re: Ricky Shakes turns to Guyana.
Post by: royal on August 01, 2010, 07:01:06 PM
good luck to de yute.
Post by: fish on August 01, 2010, 08:04:23 PM

Umm when Shakes was performing in League One when he didn't get call up
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 01, 2010, 08:23:18 PM
Man feelings does get real tender when people doh play for we, boy.
Post by: Trinidogg on August 01, 2010, 08:32:28 PM
Wow dread  :o didnt expect that. Shakes got some skills, had a nice goal last season best of luck to him fuh real.
Post by: chelsealife on August 01, 2010, 09:27:32 PM

...and so, assuming everything you say is correct it only further underscores why "Guyana is a more attractive proposition" to him.  Reading is Fundamental.
lol well i guess u cant read  ::)
Post by: chelsealife on August 01, 2010, 09:28:29 PM
Silvio Spann got called up while playing in the Conference with Wrexham on more than one occasion.
and when did he improve the team??
Post by: Touches on August 01, 2010, 09:29:06 PM
He is only 25....we let him get away.

BTW can he really do that?...on wikipedia it said he was a halftime sub in the iceland match.

Post by: Big Magician on August 01, 2010, 09:42:28 PM
Chelsea...go and watch yuh dvd of the match in bahrain.. see spann come on for an injured Birchall...and you decide if he helped the team...like Obi Mikel nah
Post by: theworm2345 on August 01, 2010, 10:13:51 PM
He is only 25....we let him get away.

BTW can he really do that?...on wikipedia it said he was a halftime sub in the iceland match.

The FIFA rules change last year that said u21 players can switch (why Jlloyd could switch and why BM's best buddy could still switch if he wants to) also allowed for players who have only played in friendly matches to swtich.  Thats how that German guy (Jermaine something?) switched to play for the USA.  I remember Jeff Cunningham got one friendly cap for Jamaica then switched to US too a while ago so maybe this rule isn't new as maybe Cunningham never played competitively for Jamaica's under-age teams.
Post by: Trini Madness on August 02, 2010, 12:40:21 AM
i dunno why allyuh fighting down de man...he didnt get enough of a chance to prove himself and perhaps fallen off the T&T radar. he'll for sure get more playing time with guyana. i wish him all de best.

T&T better keep fellas like darryl roberts and them in check cuz they too might lose faith in international football and just forget de international scene.
Post by: vb on August 02, 2010, 01:11:20 AM
Best of luck to Ricky.

Obviously Khan is trying to hype the Guyanese team. And they need all the hype they can get.

Post by: Ngozi on August 02, 2010, 01:41:01 AM
Best of luck Ricky .... good thing machomeh man on this board could only papyshow man on this site rather than have any kinda effect on the footballing world.
Post by: davidephraim on August 02, 2010, 08:02:13 AM

cya know a man for trying a ting!
Post by: spideybuff on August 02, 2010, 08:02:59 AM
Poor fella..that is really desperation to end up fighting for a spot in the mudland. See them come and beat we in our test match series of friendlies this year tho!
Post by: Football supporter on August 02, 2010, 08:11:04 AM
Best of luck Ricky .... good thing machomeh man on this board could only papyshow man on this site rather than have any kinda effect on the footballing world.

Just to clarify....Cray Wanderers are in the Isthmian League, the league below Conference South, the 7th tier in English Football. They are semi professional and rarely achieve attendances of more than 300. To be fair, the Guyanese team will include several of their regular internationals and Chris Nurse the English born guy who plays for Puerto Rico Islanders. In my opinion, this is just a way of getting these guys in front of English scouts, but good luck to the company for trying.

Also, regarding Shakes...he will probably be earning around TT$4,000 per week in England. This won't get him far, but if he came to the Pro League, he would earn maybe $6,000-$7,0000 per month. He probably has a nice place to live and a decent car. It would be very difficult to give that up to come back home, especially if he has a woman in England. Unfortunately, Trinidad football just doesn't offer enough incentives.
Post by: Quags on August 02, 2010, 12:07:55 PM
hell Guyana could make a full bomb squad with our discarded and unused players lol.
Post by: Storeboy on August 02, 2010, 11:33:20 PM
Leh the man play for who he want yes.  Good luck Ricky!  I hope you play against TT and show everyone that you made the right choice, because you surely not good enough to play for TT.
Post by: davyjenny1 on August 03, 2010, 12:11:24 AM
I hope that Guyana build a nice lil squad they need to stand up and be counted. In life it does not pay to be greedy which in fact the knowledge has to spread throughout for the development of the game in our region. I wish them well.
Post by: warmonga on August 03, 2010, 02:10:52 AM
good luck to di yute. Di man beg TNT for a bly and dey didnt gave him. dey should have call di yute up and play him instead sum of di senior citizens we have playing on our squad and lock him in but dey didnt . Good Luck yute do ur thang and I hope yu buss di net in the digicel cup comming up..
Post by: Socapro on August 03, 2010, 07:23:10 PM
Leh the man play for who he want yes.  Good luck Ricky!  I hope you play against TT and show everyone that you made the right choice, because you surely not good enough to play for TT.

Allyuh men wicked yes!!  :D
But seriously we need stiffer competition from our Caribbean neighbours so lets hope Ricky can help raise the standard of the Guyanese football team so that whenever we meet them in the future it could be a better workout for our Warriors!  8)
Post by: Sam on August 03, 2010, 07:51:17 PM
Glad for de fella, he waited for years for a second T&T call up, cant blame him but the TTFF.
Post by: Sando on August 04, 2010, 08:54:30 AM
Jlloyd never played for England A team this is why he was eligible to play for T&T, Shakes on the other hand played for T&T at the age of 21, how come he could switch.

Anyhow, glad for the youth, we always wanted to play for T&T but never got a fair chance.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 04, 2010, 01:35:25 PM
Jlloyd never played for England A team this is why he was eligible to play for T&T, Shakes on the other hand played for T&T at the age of 21, how come he could switch.

Anyhow, glad for the youth, we always wanted to play for T&T but never got a fair chance.

he never played in an  fifa qualifying  match or tournament  it was a friendly ...
Title: Ricky Shakes may not represent Golden Jaguars.
Post by: Flex on September 11, 2010, 05:19:06 AM
Ricky Shakes may not represent Golden Jaguars.
By Kizan Brumell (Stabroek Sport).

According to sources coming out of the Guyana Football Federation (GFF), professional English League footballer Ricky Shakes who has indicated a willingness to represent Guyana in future international matches might be blocked from doing so because of an International Football Federation (FIFA) ruling.

Sources told Stabroek Sport yesterday that FIFA has ruled that once a player is over the age of 23 he cannot play for more than one country. Shakes has already represented Trinidad and Tobago.

The Golden Jaguars is set to oppose Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors in a friendly international engagement later this month.

The 25-year-old  Shakes, who has  a Guyanese father and a Trinidadian mother played in an international friendly against Iceland in March 2006 which Trinidad won  2 – 0.

He also played for an All Stars Guyana line up against Cray Wanderers in August at the Dulwich Hamlet Ground, London, a match the All Stars team lost 3-4 on penalty kicks.

In playing against Cray Wanderers, Shakes became the first ever professional English league player to play for a representative Guyana national team.

Head of Temptations Promotions Faizal Khan told Stabroek Sport in August that although Shakes has played for the twin-island republic, he sees playing for Guyana as a more attractive proposition.

The sources said for Shakes to be eligible to play for Guyana an appeal would have to be made to FIFA’s General Secretary and the request would have to be granted.

“The GFF I understand is exploring all the possibilities,” said one of the sources. The Golden Jaguars is scheduled to play the Soca Warriors at the Guyana National Stadium on September 26 in a Kashif and Shanghai-organized inaugural President’s Cup International Friendly.

Thus far only a beep test for the 30 locally-based players has been carried out with time quickly winding down to judgment day.

Those players are: Goal Keepers – Ronson Williams, Richie Richardson, Marvin Griffith and O’Neal Carter; Defenders – Howard Lowe, Justin Collins, Sherma David, Selwyn Isaacs, Kester Jacobs, Colin Nelson, Kris Camacho, Trevon Lythcott and Denver Dennis.

The midfielders include Philbert Moffat, Lleyton Ramsey, Glenorvan Edmonds, Delyon Josiah, Pierre Joseph, Dwayne Jacobs, Dwight Peters, Mustapha Haqq, Marlon Benjamin and Norvil Adrian while the forwards are Devon Millington, Warren Gilkes, Clive Andries, Stephon Hope, Dwayne Ali, Anthony Abrams and Clive Nobrega.

Meanwhile, the other overseas based players who have guaranteed they would make it are Christopher Bourne, Brion Baker, Walter Moore, Alinani Mounter, Shawn Beveney, Fabian Brown, Jake Newton, Jason Lloyd, Gregory Richardson and Gamaal Breedy.

Stabroek Sport understands that the GFF is awaiting word on the participation of Howard Newton, JP Rodrigues and Chris Nurse.
Title: Re: Ricky Shakes may not represent Golden Jaguars.
Post by: PATRIOT on September 11, 2010, 09:01:50 AM

Head of Temptations Promotions Faizal Khan told Stabroek Sport in August that although Shakes has played for the twin-island republic, he sees playing for Guyana as a more attractive proposition.

Well we REACH!! Ah man finds GUYANA a " MORE attractive proposition" oui   :o ... Shakes boy, I ain't blame yuh nuh, but if you could hold on a 6 months, T&T MIGHT just change yuh mind :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on September 11, 2010, 09:03:21 AM

Well we REACH!! Ah man finds GUYANA a " MORE attractive proposition" oui   :o ... Shakes boy, I ain't blame yuh nuh, but if you could hold on a 6 months, T&T MIGHT just change yuh mind :devil:

6/12 U SAY.......................
Post by: PATRIOT on September 11, 2010, 09:07:18 AM

6/12 U SAY.......................

I'm GUESSING after we get enuff level cut arse by then, the TTFF will be FORCED to remove Latas... a source withIN the TTFF told me that the ONLY focus right now is the U-17 WC, so once the Oct-Dec period ends, i's Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, bye bye Latas and Hello.... ??? ???
Post by: D.H.W on September 11, 2010, 09:10:00 AM
shakes will get a call up just now, watch and see
Post by: Midknight on September 11, 2010, 09:12:03 AM
What is a beep test?
Post by: theworm2345 on September 11, 2010, 09:44:46 AM
Sources told Stabroek Sport yesterday that FIFA has ruled that once a player is over the age of 23 he cannot play for more than one country. Shakes has already represented Trinidad and Tobago.
This isn't true, Jermaine Jones who changed from Germany to USA was over 23 when he switched.  Unless they've changed the rule Shakes should be eligible.
Post by: andre samuel on September 11, 2010, 10:03:24 AM
How could he play for Guyana if he was capped by TnT??

Doesnt this rule only apply for age group players who want to switch when they get older?? 

Once u play a full international match for one country regardless of your age, u cannot play for another!!
Post by: Touches on September 11, 2010, 10:07:09 AM
Tell him come tru....he could go anywhere in the back 4.

The center mid and the left flank.

Helll if he alright in the post he could try there too.
Post by: future socawarrior on September 11, 2010, 10:33:40 AM
What is a beep test?

A beep test is a global fitness test taken by players to determine their level of fitness. Its a tape recording, and a player starts on one line and must reach the other side before the beep sounds to end. I took it in CIC and reached level 12 (which is a pass) and College as well. It starts off at walking pace but with the levels going up the beeps go faster so you have less time to rest. Apparently Dwight Yorke and Beckham both held a record of over 20 on the most advanced beep test.
Post by: Bakes on September 11, 2010, 02:05:49 PM

This isn't true, Jermaine Jones who changed from Germany to USA was over 23 when he switched.  Unless they've changed the rule Shakes should be eligible.

Jermaine Jones hasn't played for Germany since turning 23... hence he's eligible to switch.
Post by: Midknight on September 11, 2010, 02:09:16 PM
What is a beep test?

A beep test is a global fitness test taken by players to determine their level of fitness. Its a tape recording, and a player starts on one line and must reach the other side before the beep sounds to end. I took it in CIC and reached level 12 (which is a pass) and College as well. It starts off at walking pace but with the levels going up the beeps go faster so you have less time to rest. Apparently Dwight Yorke and Beckham both held a record of over 20 on the most advanced beep test.

:beermug: Thanks
Title: Leon Cort & Ricky Shakes set to join Golden Jaguars
Post by: Tallman on October 03, 2011, 07:20:41 PM
Leon Cort & Ricky Shakes set to join Golden Jaguars
Kaieteur News

The quest to qualify for their first ever FIFA World Cup finals has received the biggest boost to date with the availability of the Cort brothers, Leon and Carl and Ricky Shakes who have all played professionally in England.

The trio will bolster the chances of the Golden Jaguars for the remaining 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil qualifying matches in Group B, Guyana playing in return games away against Barbados on October 7 and Bermuda four days later.

Carl Cort will not be able to make this pair of matches due to try out at another club but is committed to representing Guyana.

Leon Cort and Ricky Shakes are expected to arrive in Guyana this evening from London along with Newton brothers, Jake and Howard and Alaniano Mounter.

Brief Bio -
Leon Terrance Anthony Cort (born 11 September 1979 in Southwark) is an English professional footballer currently playing for Burnley. He is a defender who wears the number 18 shirt for the Clarets. He is of Guyanese descent, and is the younger brother of Carl Cort. He is currently on a season long loan at Charlton Athletic.

Ricky Ulric Shakes (born 25 January 1985 in Brixton) is an English football player who is currently playing for Ebbsfleet United in the Conference National. He made over 110 appearances in Football League between 2005 and 2008.

Coach of the Golden Jaguars Wayne ‘Wiggy’ Dover commented on Cort and Shakes being a part of the programme: “I am very elated on behalf of the Technical team that Carl and Leon Cort as well as Ricky Shakes will be joining our programme as we seek to qualify for the

World Cup finals. I believe that it is a good time for them to join us and the high level that they will bring, having played at the highest level in England can only boost us going forward in our two away games and then the final home and away tie against Trinidad and Tobago in November.”

Dover believes that the Technical staff headed by Jamaal Shabazz will maximize on the level of experience the trio will bring to the Golden Jaguars along with that of Captain Christopher Nurse, Charles Pollard, the Newton brothers and others.

“These Professional players will be able to adopt to what we have been doing and will certainly boost the Guyana team, we are all really excited to welcome them on board as we continue to work towards our goal of making Guyana proud.”

One of the key defence players in Christopher Bourne will not be a part of the squad as he picked up an injury during a game last week.
Post by: Football supporter on October 03, 2011, 07:44:43 PM
What is a beep test?

Just saw this!  Kaydion Gabriel (Drogba) at North East scored a 26 on their pre season beep test, while Marc Leslie (Passion) scored a 24. The average score for the 2006 Soca Warriors was 16!
Post by: Jay10 on October 04, 2011, 06:09:04 AM
What is a beep test?

Just saw this!  Kaydion Gabriel (Drogba) at North East scored a 26 on their pre season beep test, while Marc Leslie (Passion) scored a 24. The average score for the 2006 Soca Warriors was 16!

Probably different tests. There is a beep test that only goes up to level 21
Post by: Touches on October 04, 2011, 04:36:50 PM
Ebbsfleet boss Liam Daish concern at Shakes call-up

(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/55828000/jpg/_55828060__52478010_rickyshakes.jpg)
Ricky Shakes
Shakes has one international cap for Trinidad and Tobago

Ebbsfleet United manager Liam Daish says he will not stand in Ricky Shakes' way despite having concerns over his call-up to play for Guyana.

The 26-year-old winger has been selected for two World Cup qualifiers against Barbados and Bermuda.

Daish told BBC Radio Kent: "I'd have wanted him because we've got two very tough games coming up.

"But he wants to play - Barbados and Bermuda, or Gravesend? It's a tough one to call," he added.

Shakes qualifies through his father's nationality even though he won one cap for Trinidad and Tobago in a friendly against Iceland in 2006.

There's been a lack of notice and a lack of time for us to make preparations - but Ricky really wanted to get involved in

Ebbsfleet boss Liam Daish

The Guyana FA have gained permission from FIFA for Shakes to switch allegiance as the game was not competitive.

Kent club Ebbsfleet have also revealed that Guyana wanted him to fly to their training camp before last weekend, which would have meant Shakes missing the game against Wrexham.

However, the winger flew out after the match but will still miss Blue Square Bet Premier matches against Gateshead and Luton.

Daish said the call-up had not been expected, and leaves his injury-hit squad short of players.

"It's great for Ricky, but the lateness of the call has left us in a bad position for players.

"There was contact made a while back but nothing that had come through to us officially until I got an email on my phone," he explained.

"There's been a lack of notice and a lack of time for us to make preparations. He really wanted to get involved in it. At 26 he had to ask himself would he get another chance.

"It was very hard to stand in his way," added Daish.
Post by: just cool on October 04, 2011, 05:52:39 PM
Why allyuh wasting time with this fella, if he was any good beenhakker would used him. is like we don't even know the wealth of talent we have right there in T&T.

just look @ buccaud, thompson and warner, they were all beat out by local talent, and i have ah strong suspicion that the german coach (who happens to know talent) don't ever want tuh see them again.

IMO, the only area where we truly lack talent is in the defense, and i don't mind foreign players coming in the help out there, but IMO we cork in midfield and up front. all we need is fitness and polishing up, and i have faith in the coach tuh polish up the areas we are strong in.   

let guyana have him, they need him more than we.                            positive.

Post by: Storeboy on October 05, 2011, 12:46:20 PM
Coach of the Golden Jaguars Wayne ‘Wiggy’ Dover said, "I believe that it is a good time for them to join us and the high level that they will bring, having played at the highest level in England."  Is he a joker or what!  How could one play at the highest level in England and not even play in the Championship much less the Premiership.  If he was that good, why would he be playing with Ebbsfleet United?  Steups!
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2011, 01:34:52 PM
Allyuh keep underestimating Guyana!!
Their players have some serious incentives to perform and win our group!!

I will just stay quiet and observe because I doh want to be accused again of spoiling the good vibes on here!

Wishing our Soca Warriors all the best against Bermuda this Friday!
Post by: just cool on October 05, 2011, 02:26:17 PM

I will just stay quiet and observe because I doh want to be accused again of spoiling the good vibes on here!

Talk tuh meh when guyana win on the road.
as for spyuling the vibes, yuh dun guilty of that on countless degrees already, why stop now?
Post by: theworm2345 on October 05, 2011, 02:57:24 PM
Coach of the Golden Jaguars Wayne ‘Wiggy’ Dover said, "I believe that it is a good time for them to join us and the high level that they will bring, having played at the highest level in England."  Is he a joker or what!  How could one play at the highest level in England and not even play in the Championship much less the Premiership.  If he was that good, why would he be playing with Ebbsfleet United?  Steups!
He was referring to both Shakes and the Cort brothers here.  Both of the Cort brothers have played in the EPL, Carl with Wimbledon, Newcastle, and Wolves (might've missed one) and Leon with Stoke and Burnley
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2011, 03:38:30 PM

as for spyuling the vibes, yuh dun guilty of that on countless degrees already, why stop now?

If speaking the facts about what results we should be achieving against certain opponents if we want to safely win our group and progress is spoiling the vibes then yes I am guilty of spoiling the vibes!

That's why I haven't posted on this Football board too much since I get buff for giving my opinion on what our team should be doing in this round to safely win our group!

Instead I’ve been hanging more on the T&F board where fellas tend to be more realistic and deal more with facts and figures above getting too emotional!  :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on October 05, 2011, 03:50:00 PM

breds you have time with socapro  :D
Post by: Socapro on October 05, 2011, 03:55:01 PM

breds you have time with socapro  :D

Whats up, yuh looking fuh friends?!  :-\
Post by: andre samuel on October 05, 2011, 05:54:42 PM
He was referring to both Shakes and the Cort brothers here.  Both of the Cort brothers have played in the EPL, Carl with Wimbledon, Newcastle, and Wolves (might've missed one) and Leon with Stoke and Burnley

Shakes played with Bolton in 2004/5, he never make a prem appearance, but he played in the Cups. 
Post by: frico on October 06, 2011, 03:12:09 AM
I saw Shakes for the last 10 mins against Iceland and he looked good he had good control and was very speedy,looked to be capable of being physical too.I thought he would have been a regular even though it was 10 mins. Ricky Shakes cousin and I used to be friends in but ah haven't seen im for some time.
Post by: theworm2345 on October 06, 2011, 08:20:41 AM
I saw Shakes for the last 10 mins against Iceland and he looked good he had good control and was very speedy,looked to be capable of being physical too.I thought he would have been a regular even though it was 10 mins. Ricky Shakes cousin and I used to be friends in but ah haven't seen im for some time.
Yeah I don't understand why they would recall Boucaud and Thomson but not Shakes when they're all playing at the same level.  Well anyway its over now and imagine what will happen if he scores the winner against T&T.
Post by: Sam on October 06, 2011, 08:38:10 AM
Yeah I don't understand why they would recall Boucaud and Thomson but not Shakes when they're all playing at the same level.  Well anyway its over now and imagine what will happen if he scores the winner against T&T.

ANSWER: Anton Corneal.
Post by: Tallman on March 01, 2015, 09:44:44 AM
Shakes: “I would love to play for the Golden Jaguars again!”
kaieteurnewsonline.com

The man who scored the goal which changed the history of Guyanese football, Ricky Shakes, has announced his desire to once again feature for the National Team and help the Golden Jaguars roar in their 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

Shakes, who currently plays in England for club side Boreham Wood, has an unusual history when it comes to international football: he represented Trinidad and Tobago in 2006 for a single friendly game before deciding to commit to Guyana in 2011, becoming the first ever professional English league player to represent Guyana. The irony was not lost when Shakes ultimately eliminated T&T from World Cup qualifiers in 2011 with a magnificent volley that sent Guyana into the next round. Speaking exclusively to reporter Santokie Nagulendran, Shakes recalls his journey with the Guyana National Team:

Santokie Nagulendran (SN) -Ricky, you initially played for Trinidad and Tobago in an International Friendly, what convinced you to join up with the Guyana National Team?
Ricky Shakes (RS):‘’I played for T&T in 2006, I was on standby for the 2006 World Cup with them, but then after that, nothing happened. I carried on playing club football for Ebbsfleet United, my club at the time in England, and eventually it was FIFA Agent Faizal Khan who watched me in a game one day in 2010 and approached me (to join the Guyana National squad). He knew my father was Guyanese and asked me if I wanted to play for Guyana. A Guyanese team featuring National players were coming to England for an exhibition game around that time and he asked me if I wanted to feature in it, so I played in the match and really enjoyed it. The players who came across from Guyana for the game made me feel welcome and from that point I was interested in playing for the National Team. I went over to Guyana for the World Cup qualifying games against Barbados and Bermuda in late 2011, my first trip to Guyana, I liked the set-up, met the coaches, staff, they made me feel very welcome, everybody was a family’’.

(SN):What was the highlight of your Golden Jaguars career?
(RS):When we played against T&T on 11/11/2011 and achieved a historic victory, helping Guyana reach their further ever stage in World Cup qualifiers. We won 2-1, I scored the first goal and assisted the second. It was the highlight of my Golden Jaguar’s career.

(SN): What was the influence of Head Coach, Jamal Shabazz, on the team?
(RS): Jamaal Shabazz is a brilliant coach, he made us work together as a team and his tactics were superb. For example,when we played Mexico in June 2012, he told us we had to sit back, be patient, and defend as a unit, knowing that Mexico would be likely to dominate possession, with the aim of trying to score via a counter-attack. In general, I think he is an excellent coach.

(SN): What has been the biggest game of your career so far?
(RS): Playing against Mexico at the Azteca Arena in June 2012 was a big experience for me and the highlight of my career: playing in front of 90,000 fans was amazing.

(SN): Has playing for the Golden Jaguars helped you develop you own game as a footballer?
(RS):Definitely it has made my game better and developed my understanding of the game: the two sides of it. I have learnt about the important of patience; not always focusing on attack, but learning to defend and score by creating breaks from that.

(SN): Finally, with Guyana set to play St Vincent and the Grenadines in June for 2018 World Cup qualifiers, would you consider making yourself available to feature?
(RS): Yes, most definitely. I have spoken to Coach Shabazz about potentially playing in June, and I would be happy to feature for Guyana once again.