Sports => Football => Topic started by: fitzinho on August 09, 2010, 07:51:09 PM

Title: Jones to Stoke??
Post by: fitzinho on August 09, 2010, 07:51:09 PM
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/192252/Stoke-sign-Sunderland-s-Kenwyne-Jones-for-9-million (http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/192252/Stoke-sign-Sunderland-s-Kenwyne-Jones-for-9-million)
Title: Re: Jones to Stoke??
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2010, 07:56:54 PM
 L  O  L
Post by: fitzinho on August 09, 2010, 07:58:14 PM
why u laughin fella?
Post by: davidephraim on August 09, 2010, 07:58:43 PM
why is dat funny again? Is de Express not believable or something because if so this is a shocker.
Post by: fitzinho on August 09, 2010, 08:03:16 PM
lol...oh
Post by: davidephraim on August 09, 2010, 08:09:02 PM
well if its anything like de TnT express dat could really be Roy Jones JR dey signing and put KJ pic.
Express must mean news in a hurry.
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2010, 08:13:03 PM
why is dat funny again? Is de Express not believable or something because if so this is a shocker.

that why i LOL'd   :)
Post by: weary1969 on August 09, 2010, 08:14:18 PM
well if its anything like de TnT express dat could really be Roy Jones JR dey signing and put KJ pic.
Express must mean news in a hurry.

:rotfl: I go use dat
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2010, 08:15:46 PM
So anybody care to drop in some expert opinions on this news ?  ::)
Post by: fitzinho on August 09, 2010, 08:17:11 PM
I just wanted to know if it had any validity and what alyuh men think about this potential move
Post by: D.H.W on August 09, 2010, 08:26:40 PM
I just wanted to know if it had any validity and what alyuh men think about this potential move

this is from the 5th Aug

Potters Interested In Kenwyne Jones

The Potters are keeping a close eye on Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones as they search for a target man ready for the start of the 2010/11 season.

Jones, a former Potters loanee from his town at Southampton, was heavily linked with a return to City during both of last seasons transfer windows, but the reported £12m move never got completed, possibly due to Liverpool's interest never being confirmed or denied, leaving the Trinidadian striker unwilling to pursue a deal with the Potters.

A change in management at Liverpool, coupled with their financial problems and Jones' poor form last season has seen the striker's options become somewhat more limited and City boss Tony Pulis is now ready to make his move.

Pulis has decided to look to the Stadium of Light for his targetman after Mama Sidibe continued poor form in front of goal and this summers main target Carlton Cole was ruled out of leaving West Ham by the Hammers owners.

http://www.stokecity-mad.co.uk/news/tmnw/potters_interested_in_kenwyne_jones_543102/index.shtml
Post by: andre samuel on August 09, 2010, 08:28:05 PM
No sign of this story on skysports.com website
Post by: FireBrand on August 09, 2010, 08:59:02 PM
The Sunderland message board buzzing with this potential move, but nothing has been reported from any credible source.

Stoke To Land Jones In Record £9m Deal - Daily Mirror  (http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=513877)

If rumours are true and Jones does leave...  (http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=513851)

I think we all need to calm down  (http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=513884)

Has Jones gone? (http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=513892)

Post by: chelsealife on August 09, 2010, 09:57:13 PM
I think its a good move for him... Pulis will bring the best out of him and he could probably score more goals at stoke.
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2010, 07:08:01 AM
Possibly, but the chances of moving from Stoke to a big side is less than the chances of moving from Sunderland to a big side.

So if he go to Stoke...that may be where he end up til is time to go bak down the league ranks.

When last any club of substance buy a Stoke player? They just not marketable enough..
Post by: andre samuel on August 10, 2010, 07:14:07 AM
Possibly, but the chances of moving from Stoke to a big side is less than the chances of moving from Sunderland to a big side.

So if he go to Stoke...that may be where he end up til is time to go bak down the league ranks.

When last any club of substance buy a Stoke player? They just not marketable enough..

Maybe Stoke IS his "big side"

Imagine this so-called Sunderland team was supposed to be built around Jones, now he is for sale for around 10 million pounds...........how has the mighty fallen!

I remember when Keane rejected a 8 million plus darren bent from tottenham some years ago......lol
Post by: dinho on August 10, 2010, 07:26:46 AM
shit move.
Post by: FireBrand on August 10, 2010, 07:49:46 AM

Ah guess that perception of Stoke players changing...

Stoke snub Chelsea interest in Asmir Begovic
By Soccernet  

Stoke City have issued a hands off warning to Chelsea after they declared an interest in signing Asmir Begovic.

Begovic, who joined Stoke from Portsmouth in January, was wanted by Chelsea to act as understudy to Petr Cech even though they already have Hilario and Ross Turnbull on their books.

Manager Tony Pulis has revealed that Chelsea have been in contact about the goalkeeper's availability - but there is no chance that he will be sold.

Begovic, 23, is in a battle with Thomas Sorensen for the first choice position at the Britannia Stadium.

"They (Chelsea) have enquired, but they have been told he is not for sale,'' Pulis told the Stoke Sentinel. "We are trying to bring players in, not let our better players go.''

Pulis also played down the chances of Stoke being able to attract Nice striker Loic Remy.

"He's a very talented young player, but whether we do the deal is another thing,'' Pulis said. "It's not just Stoke interested, but three or four others.''
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2010, 07:58:39 AM
And the time before that was when...?  ;D
Post by: kicker on August 10, 2010, 08:01:00 AM
I think he established a good relationship with the fans there while on loan.  

I personally think that he was getting stale at Sunderland- i.e. not improving...maybe a fresh start under new management is exactly what he needs.  

If this has any validity, at least he'll be staying in the prem, and playing at the highest level in England...
Post by: kicker on August 10, 2010, 08:15:28 AM

I don't imagine that the "marketability" of Stoke has any bearing on whether or not it's a good move...unless you're comparing them to a "big" side...which Sunderland is not.  Outside of England there's probably no difference between the two teams as far as perception goes...and inside England, they both play in the premiership so there's equal visibility to scouts representing teams who are interested. 

Post by: dinho on August 10, 2010, 08:26:35 AM
This is a downward move.... Lateral at best.

If allyuh think that Sunderland brand was useless and boring and not helping KJ's football development, then just wait until he reach Stoke where they don't even pretend to be interested in wanting to play good football.

If you think that power forward/low goals role is Steve Bruce fault, and a lil bit unfair to KJ who could probably offer more if a team try to play on the floor and use a bit more creativity... Then just wait to see KJ under Tony Pulis being fed a steady diet of Rory Delap wrong throws and hoof ball from the defence..

If you think the role KJ plays doesn't suit T&T football, and was hoping like me for a move to a team that plays a more enterprising brand, then crapaud smoke yuh pipe.

This move would just make KJ the next James Beattie to go there and play ah wild big body brand up front.. This will do nothing to technically improve his game... which at this point in his career is what he needs more than anything else.

Best he stay at Sunderland and fight it out. They bringing in a few good players and capable of playing a better brand than shitty Stoke.. and slightly more watchable.
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2010, 08:37:09 AM

I don't imagine that the "marketability" of Stoke has any bearing on whether or not it's a good move...unless you're comparing them to a "big" side...which Sunderland is not.  Outside of England there's probably no difference between the two teams as far as perception goes...and inside England, they both play in the premiership so there's equal visibility to scouts representing teams who are interested. 

Sunderland is a bigger side than Chelsea historically btw...
But in terms of worldwide appeal, Sunderland is much more fashionable than Stoke. If you see a side playing in Red and white stripes, you will think of Sunderland or Sheffield Utd before Stoke.
Post by: kicker on August 10, 2010, 08:52:46 AM

Sunderland is a bigger side than Chelsea historically btw...
But in terms of worldwide appeal, Sunderland is much more fashionable than Stoke. If you see a side playing in Red and white stripes, you will think of Sunderland or Sheffield Utd before Stoke.

That depends on how you define historically.  From the 1950's onward Sunderland is not nearly as big as Chelsea... 

Anyhow, my point is I think that in 2010/2011 if KJ does well at Stoke he'll have the same opportunities as if he did well at Sunderland. 

When I see a side in red and white stripes I think Atletico Madrid.

Post by: kicker on August 10, 2010, 08:55:32 AM

If allyuh think that Sunderland brand was useless and boring and not helping KJ's football development, then just wait until he reach Stoke where they don't even pretend to be interested in wanting to play good football.

If you think that power forward/low goals role is Steve Bruce fault, and a lil bit unfair to KJ who could probably offer more if a team try to play on the floor and use a bit more creativity... Then just wait to see KJ under Tony Pulis being fed a steady diet of Rory Delap wrong throws and hoof ball from the defence..

If you think the role KJ plays doesn't suit T&T football, and was hoping like me for a move to a team that plays a more enterprising brand, then crapaud smoke yuh pipe.

This move would just make KJ the next James Beattie to go there and play ah wild big body brand up front.. This will do nothing to technically improve his game... which at this point in his career is what he needs more than anything else.

Best he stay at Sunderland and fight it out. They bringing in a few good players and capable of playing a better brand than shitty Stoke.. and slightly more watchable.

I'm inclined to agree with this though I've admittedly probably never watched (or paid attention to) 90 mins of a Stoke City match. 
Post by: dinho on August 10, 2010, 08:57:01 AM

I'm inclined to agree with this though I've admittedly probably never watched (or paid attention to) 90 mins of a Stoke City match. 

Lucky you..
Post by: maxg on August 10, 2010, 09:06:03 AM

and suppose he want to stay, and Bruce say, "well pardna, yuh could stay, buh yuh hah to take ah pay cut and ride pine", how much ball he go get atall ? or Bruce say not for sale,stay, cause Bent injured, and when he comeback there will be good competition for places, who yuh feel losing/winning that competition ?....I feel if the choice is his, I say go...Look how they SJ get treat...there is a big difference between coach an fren in professional sport...there is a fine relationship & Loyalty between who paying yuh and who want to pay yuh....difficult choices, but I wish I had them to make...I is a fan, whey ever he is yes
Post by: Arazi on August 10, 2010, 09:07:52 AM

Exactly....i can't see a move to Stoke helping him in the least....
Post by: spideybuff on August 10, 2010, 10:34:59 AM
Got it from good sources close to the man himself: deal done.

Sigh...I waiting to find out if they force him out or if he wanted the move.
Post by: weary1969 on August 10, 2010, 10:38:14 AM
Got it from good sources close to the man himself: deal done.

Sigh...I waiting to find out if they force him out or if he wanted the move.

Leh we know.
Post by: FireBrand on August 10, 2010, 10:44:54 AM
Well de news hit Sky Sports. Can't say ah feeling this move at all, but ah wish him all de best.  ???

Stoke keen on Jones swoop
By: Elliot Ball (Sky Sports).  

Striker set for Stadium of Light exit; Remy rumours rubbished    

Sky Sports News understands Stoke City are in talks with Sunderland over a move for striker Kenwyne Jones.

As revealed by skysports.com last week Stoke were lining up a move for Jones to bolster their attacking options.

Sources have revealed the Black Cats are holding talks with the Potters on Tuesday evening about the sale of their powerful front man.

Steve Bruce fought off interest from Liverpool for the 25-year-old during the January transfer window earlier this year.

But the Sunderland boss is believed to be keen on offloading Jones after growing increasingly frustrated with the Trinidad & Tobago international's inconsistent form.

A fee rumoured to be around £9million is what Bruce would accept for the former Southampton marksman and if Stoke can come up with the money, Jones will travel to the Potters' head-quarters as soon as Wednesday to discuss personal terms.

Jones has long been admired by Stoke boss Tony Pulis, dating back to 2005 when the striker spent three months on loan at the Britannia Stadium and he could their first major signing of the season if a deal is concluded.

The Potters have had a busy day of transfer business after also being linked with a move for West Ham midfielder Radoslav Kovac.

The potential sale of Jones will not mean the arrival of Loic Remy from Nice at the Stadium of light, however.

Sky Sports News understands there is no truth in the rumour the Black Cats are interested in the French striker, who has also been linked with a move to the Premier League with Everton, Liverpool, Stoke and Tottenham.
Post by: weary1969 on August 10, 2010, 10:48:24 AM
ALL D BEST KJ
Post by: andre samuel on August 10, 2010, 10:50:23 AM
Saw on skysports.com that both clubs are close to a 9 million pound deal and kenwyne is expected to travel to stoke to sort out personal terms tomorrow......

Go Stoke City!!

But seriously, Stoke City is a less appealing club, but quite frankly, they on the same level as Sunderland.  There has to be a reason for this move, i think there is alot more behind the scenes going on than we think.

In terms of development, we can never tell.  Stoke might very well be the place for Kenwyne to rise and be a force!  We always knew that with Steve Bruce, a move for Kenwyne was on the cards.  

I will support him and his impending move, but i know as fans we would've wanted him to go to a bigger club.

Post by: D.H.W on August 10, 2010, 11:02:55 AM
bleh!
Post by: Bitter on August 10, 2010, 11:09:09 AM
Same red stripes.

Rory Delap with a long throw in to KJ... hmm
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 10, 2010, 11:09:57 AM
Saw on skysports.com that both clubs are close to a 9 million pound deal and kenwyne is expected to travel to stoke to sort out personal terms tomorrow......

Go Stoke City!!

But seriously, Stoke City is a less appealing club, but quite frankly, they on the same level as Sunderland.  There has to be a reason for this move, i think there is alot more behind the scenes going on than we think.

In terms of development, we can never tell.  Stoke might very well be the place for Kenwyne to rise and be a force!  We always knew that with Steve Bruce, a move for Kenwyne was on the cards.  

I will support him and his impending move, but i know as fans we would've wanted him to go to a bigger club.

Stoke with less striking options has done better than Sunderland since they've arrived in the Prem.  12th 2 seasons ago and 11th last year.  I have actually watched a few Stoke games and TBH I eh see nutten dat make Sunderland brand any more appealing than Stoke City.  It might be viewed as a lateral move by some but I see it as a slight step up.  KJ will now be playing for a boss that wants him and admires his talents.  Add that Pulis is a better coach than Steve Bruce any day of the week.  Bruce never wanted KJ, he wanted someone with KJ attributes that had an attitude and vibe that he deemed acceptable and KJ wasn't a match.  Man saying this eh ah good move buh I see it different.  It's a fresh start at a familiar grounds with a familiar boss.  It's a chance to go to an environment where he is wanted and will be relied upon to produce.  Watch him easily score more goals with SC.  He good for about 5-6 being at the end of a Delap throw ins.  Fuller has nice moves on the ball, just hasn't had much help upfront.  That's about to change and could be what Stoke needs to crack the top 10 instead of getting close and looking in thru the window.

All de best KJ!!!
Post by: reggae-fan on August 10, 2010, 11:15:25 AM

Go Stoke City!!

Jones and Fuller upfront is interesting. I believe they played together at SouthHampton some time ago and had decent returns. Looking at the stats, Jones has scored 30 goals over past 3 seasons, Fuller 35 for an average of about 10 goals per season individually. If they can score 30 gaols between them this season, Stoke should finish somwhere top 10, but thats as good as you will ever get from a team like stoke City.

Post by: kicker on August 10, 2010, 11:47:18 AM

Jones and Fuller upfront is interesting. I believe they played together at SouthHampton some time ago and had decent returns. Looking at the stats, Jones has scored 30 goals over past 3 seasons, Fuller 35 for an average of about 10 goals per season individually. If they can score 30 gaols between them this season, Stoke should finish somwhere top 10, but thats as good as you will ever get from a team like stoke City.

Neither of them has a particularly impressive Strike rate. They both scored less than 15 goals in each of their last 2 premiership seasons, with their goal scoring patters pretty much mirroring eachother (Kenwyne with 12 and 9..and Fuller with 11 and 8 in all competitions). I dunno why you're looking at the past 3 seasons given that Fuller was playing the championship 3 seasons ago...or were you just stretching it back one season so that you could sneak in a higher goal scoring total for Fuller (albeit with over 20 more appearances than Jones over the past 3 seasons)... your reputation preceeds you...

That said, if they do feature as the main striking pair they could complement eachother well- Fuller being more skilful and tricky on the ground and Jones being more powerful and dominant in the air....if Pulis can make that combo work he might be on to something... Looking solely at their indivual scoring tallies over the past 2 (or in your case 3) seasons though, I'd say that the hopes for something prolific aren't that great. 
Post by: kev on August 10, 2010, 12:30:53 PM
If it comes off he will go with my best wishes, however can't help feeling a bit disapointed for him.  Sidewards move and probably a sign how much his stock has fallen, still expect to see an improvement in form but for how long remains to be seen.  Don't think Bruce has handled him well at all and KJ should of got a better move.
Post by: reggae-fan on August 10, 2010, 12:39:50 PM
or were you just stretching it back one season so that you could sneak in a higher goal scoring total for Fuller (albeit with over 20 more appearances than Jones over the past 3 seasons)... your reputation preceeds you...

I was looking for the average goals scored per season per player. When dealing with averages, you want to take more than 2 variants into consideration...and you never want to use an even number either.

Like you said, both players are about what you would consider average, for mid-table team strikers. I think they will both feed off each other well, and can score 15 goals each if they form a partnership. Stoke will definately be more of an offensive force with Jones upfront.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 10, 2010, 01:06:44 PM
If it comes off he will go with my best wishes, however can't help feeling a bit disapointed for him.  Sidewards move and probably a sign how much his stock has fallen, still expect to see an improvement in form but for how long remains to be seen.  Don't think Bruce has handled him well at all and KJ should of got a better move.

Sense!!
Post by: maxg on August 10, 2010, 01:12:27 PM

Go Stoke City!!

Stoke with less striking options has done better than Sunderland since they've arrived in the Prem.  12th 2 seasons ago and 11th last year.  I have actually watched a few Stoke games and TBH I eh see nutten dat make Sunderland brand any more appealing than Stoke City.  It might be viewed as a lateral move by some but I see it as a slight step up.  KJ will now be playing for a boss that wants him and admires his talents.  Add that Pulis is a better coach than Steve Bruce any day of the week.  Bruce never wanted KJ, he wanted someone with KJ attributes that had an attitude and vibe that he deemed acceptable and KJ wasn't a match.  Man saying this eh ah good move buh I see it different.  It's a fresh start at a familiar grounds with a familiar boss.  It's a chance to go to an environment where he is wanted and will be relied upon to produce.  Watch him easily score more goals with SC.  He good for about 5-6 being at the end of a Delap throw ins.  Fuller has nice moves on the ball, just hasn't had much help upfront.  That's about to change and could be what Stoke needs to crack the top 10 instead of getting close and looking in thru the window.

All de best KJ!!!
:thumbsup:
Post by: dinho on August 10, 2010, 01:41:36 PM
All this talk about Jones and Fuller complementing each other and scoring more goals apiece is moot imo.

If Jones scores more goals at Stoke than he did at Sunderland, then chalk that down to remarkable personal improvement, because Stoke being a better side has nothing to do with their attacking prowess. Sunderland's defence is weaker but on a good day at least you could count on them to bore.

Is defence first at Stoke, then anything else comes after. Is all about hoof and wildness, clean sheet, pelt frame, wild tackle and then try to sneak a 1 or 2 goal. In fact don't think I ever see that side score more than 2 goals in an EPL game.

Get stuck in lads!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 10, 2010, 02:00:09 PM
All this talk about Jones and Fuller complementing each other and scoring more goals apiece is moot imo.

If Jones scores more goals at Stoke than he did at Sunderland, then chalk that down to remarkable personal improvement, because Stoke being a better side has nothing to do with their attacking prowess. Sunderland's defence is weaker but on a good day at least you could count on them to bore.

Is defence first at Stoke, then anything else comes after. Is all about hoof and wildness, clean sheet, pelt frame, wild tackle and then try to sneak a 1 or 2 goal. In fact don't think I ever see that side score more than 2 goals in an EPL game.

Get stuck in lads!

Bet they put 3 on the Wolves opening weekend  :devil:
Post by: reggae-fan on August 10, 2010, 02:03:51 PM

Get stuck in lads!

All good sides are built on Defence actually Dinho. Jones success at Sunderland is due mainly to his size...they feed the ball up to him, and he either fends off the defenders, turn and get a shot off, or he knocks the ball down for another player to attack. 905 of the time he gets the ball with his back turned to goal. Thats the way stoke play the ball...so Jones will be the traget man upfront, he will score some headers, he will turn or shoot, and, he will set up more chnaces for Fuller better than anyone else in the current Stoke squad can. Factor in Delaps long throws and you relise that Jones will probably score more at stoke than he score at sunderland. Stoke has finished consistently in Mid-table since theuir promotion, and its due mainly to their defence first attitude.

Post by: PantherX on August 10, 2010, 02:08:32 PM
It's clear the Bruce either doesn't know how to get the best out of him or couldn't be bothered either way another season in Sunderland will see KJ's stock drop even further.

Better to play regularly for a small side than ride pine for an average one.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 10, 2010, 02:15:50 PM
It's clear the Bruce either doesn't know how to get the best out of him or couldn't be bothered either way another season in Sunderland will see KJ's stock drop even further.

But despite SAFC overall history, in the last 2 years since their promotion Stoke City has easily been better.  No relegation battles or scares and a formidable defense that is especially strong in the Brittania.  So is actually a better side he move too.
Post by: Socapro on August 10, 2010, 02:21:56 PM

But despite SAFC overall history, in the last 2 years since their promotion Stoke City has easily been better.  No relegation battles or scares and a formidable defense that is especially strong in the Brittania.  So is actually a better side he move too.

Fellas, allyuh jumping the gun here, the headline read ....

Stoke keen on Jones swoop
By: Elliot Ball (Sky Sports).  

So Stoke is keen but the move has not been confirmed yet!
If KJ is not totally happy with his wages deal this move could easily fall thru!
Lets wait and see and not jump the gun!!

For the record, it doesn't bother me where KJ goes once he is happy there and Latas doesn't feel the impulse to call him up for national duty then I am fine!!  ;)

Post by: Dumplingdinho on August 10, 2010, 05:43:39 PM
I think it will be a good move for KJ in terms of playing time and less mental stress (i.e. steve bruce acting like his usual imps self).  I don't see any significant difference between stoke and sunderland.
In de EPl there is Chelsea, Manu U, Arsenal, Liverpool...then there is Tottenham, Man City, Villa, Everton...then the rest..so KJ going to Stoke is neither better nor worse.
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 10, 2010, 06:49:54 PM
Oh lawd. Now, of all teams, ah have to watch Stoke play? fml.
Post by: Sam on August 10, 2010, 07:05:52 PM

Lets hope Ricardo Fuller doh slap him yuh know he famous for slapping players, expecially on live TV.

James Beattie, Tuncay Şanlı and Mamady Sidibe are decent strikers at Stoke, but seriously, Stoke is a shit side and Birmingham too under Steve Burce.

Would love to see Jones at Tottenham, West Ham, Aston Villa, Liverpool or Everton are better choices.

And if Chelsea sell shit player Salomon Kalou and cah score Daniel Sturridge, I feel Jones might combine well with Didier Drogba and Nicolas Anelka upfront.
Post by: chelsealife on August 10, 2010, 08:27:21 PM

Lets hope Ricardo Fuller doh slap him yuh know he famous for slapping players, expecially on live TV.

James Beattie, Tuncay Şanlı and Mamady Sidibe are decent strikers at Stoke, but seriously, Stoke is a shit side and Birmingham too under Steve Burce.

Would love to see Jones at Tottenham, West Ham, Aston Villa, Liverpool or Everton are better choices.

And if Chelsea sell shit player Salomon Kalou and cah score Daniel Sturridge, I feel Jones might combine well with Didier Drogba and Nicolas Anelka upfront.
Nah man, u losing it Kalou is a very good player. Sturridge need time dats all but Di Santo has to go. But KJ to chelsea is a move i'd definitely like but its not gna happen bcuz we gna bring back Nouble when Drogba retires and sign Lukaku next season. So no place for him unless we sell anelka b4 the transfer window closes  :)
Post by: D.H.W on August 10, 2010, 08:42:09 PM
Oh lawd. Now, of all teams, ah have to watch Stoke play? fml.

NOT ME never
Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2010, 12:39:21 AM
Just heard on skysports news that both teams agreed a 9 million pound fee but JONES HAS REJECTED THE MOVE!!
Post by: Touches on August 11, 2010, 06:04:45 AM
He have a say  ???....I thought is business between two clubs and he come like chattel.
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2010, 07:09:29 AM
of course he have a say... Just like what Yorke did when Man U was trying to sell him to Middlesborough.

Yes Jones, daz wha we talking about.. Next step is to send in a written transfer request and act like de angry black man.

I sure a better team will jump at the opportunity to pick you up if you show that you disgruntled at Sunderland.
Post by: maxg on August 11, 2010, 07:17:32 AM
Oh my, we go get to see how badmind "the Clueless one" really is...ah hope not, for KJ sake

add: or is it all tantana and hype  ???
Post by: spideybuff on August 11, 2010, 07:20:44 AM
Oh my, we go get to see how badmind "the Clueless one" really is...ah hope not, for KJ sake

Nah he in Sunderland for a while now, that contract hadda be winding down soon. It might just be one year of bad mind before he could get a big contract on a free.
Post by: Papasmurf on August 11, 2010, 07:37:21 AM
The latest....

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=813547&sec=transfers&cc=5901

Jones set for Stoke medical

Sunderland have confirmed striker Kenwyne Jones is to undergo a medical at Stoke on Wednesday afternoon.

Jones, 25, has been linked with a number of clubs in recent times, but he now looks set to move to the Britannia Stadium after the clubs agreed a fee reported to be in the region of £9 million.

A statement on the official Sunderland website read: "The Trinidad and Tobago international travelled to the Potteries this morning (Wednesday) for talks with Stoke boss Tony Pulis. He is undergoing a medical this afternoon."

The Stoke website added that Jones had travelled "for discussions with manager Tony Pulis and chief executive Tony Scholes with a view to completing a move from the Stadium of Light in a club record transfer".

Danny Higginbotham, who played alongside Jones at Sunderland, believes the striker would be a major asset.

"Kenwyne is a strong lad and I don't think I've ever seen anyone jump as high as Kenwyne," Higginbotham told The Sentinel. "He's very athletic and knows where the back of the net is.

"I think we signed for Sunderland on the same day - and he's certainly come on as a player since. He would be very good for us. The way we play would suit him well. He has that strength you need. I know what a handful he can be, with both his pace and his strength."
Post by: saint27 on August 11, 2010, 07:49:03 AM
This proposed move can have its pros and cons for KJ. This move has the possibility to turn out good for KJ cuz stoke like to play off of set pieces , their long throw and corners and free kicks cud allow kj to be a real threat this season. However stoke is a working team and kj's lazyman attitude could find himself on the bench right next to beattie and sidibe as fuller and tuncay will start.
Post by: D.H.W on August 11, 2010, 08:09:51 AM
Sunderland message board on melt down

http://www.readytogo.net/smb/forumdisplay.php?s=b966c1fef03833d531c172b8d68a4a8d&f=86
Post by: de_redman on August 11, 2010, 08:18:45 AM
This proposed move can have its pros and cons for KJ. This move has the possibility to turn out good for KJ cuz stoke like to play off of set pieces , their long throw and corners and free kicks cud allow kj to be a real threat this season. However stoke is a working team and kj's lazyman attitude could find himself on the bench right next to beattie and sidibe as fuller and tuncay will start.

Stoke would have to be real idiots to pay a record transfer fee for Jones to have him coming off the bench...
Post by: Mose on August 11, 2010, 08:40:12 AM

Stoke would have to be real idiots to pay a record transfer fee for Jones to have him coming off the bench...
Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't his transfer fee to Sunderland also a record at the time?? Anyways, I'm sure the intention is not to put him on the bench but the fact remains that if you buy a player who isn't producing, no matter how much you spent you're eventually going to have to bench him.
Post by: JDB on August 11, 2010, 08:41:06 AM
This is a good move for Kenwyne. For whatever reason the writing on the wall at Sunderland and he on his way to being a bench player. Bruce happy with Campbell and want to get Welbeck in. The difference in brand at Sunderland and Stoke is not that great.

All the talk about club brand improving Kenwyne overall game or his game for TnT don't make sense. He is not going to be more likely to improve at Liverpool or Spurs than at Sunderland or Stoke. It all comes down to his motivation and his honest assessment of what he needs to work on and how much work he thinks he needs to put in.

Wish hime the best though, this move could spark his apetite to prove people wrong.
Post by: fordy on August 11, 2010, 08:48:28 AM
This is a good move for Kenwyne. For whatever reason the writing on the wall at Sunderland and he on his way to being a bench player. Bruce happy with Campbell and want to get Welbeck in. The difference in brand at Sunderland and Stoke is not that great.

All the talk about club brand improving Kenwyne overall game or his game for TnT don't make sense. He is not going to be more likely to improve at Liverpool or Spurs than at Sunderland or Stoke. It all comes down to his motivation and his honest assessment of what he needs to work on and how much work he thinks he needs to put in.

Wish hime the best though, this move could spark his apetite to prove people wrong.

As you i wish him the best. I hope his attitude on the field improves and his technical abilities grows as part of his expected growth. If not, then this move can set him back in his career. :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on August 11, 2010, 09:02:30 AM
All the best KJ. Sometimes a fresh start could work out for the best.
Post by: supporter on August 11, 2010, 09:39:38 AM

Agreed. Stoke have better passers, more options in attack (even Delap and his throw-ins).

Also, KJ was battling the knee injury all of last yr. I think a fit and motivated KJ will ight up Stoke. He usually does well the first few months at a club.
Post by: palos on August 11, 2010, 09:46:25 AM
KJ move from a shit side to a shittier side

Say wha.  Maybe daz he level.

At least he earnin de kinda money dat SHOULD set up his family for generations to come.

If HE want to make de step up and play fuh bigger clubs, HE have to perform CONSISTENTLY.

It dat simple.

Hope yuh stay injury free KJ and if yuh have/had desires of TRULY fullfilling your potential and winning titles etc, perhaps dis is jes de wakeup call you need.  It coulda be plenty worse.  Yuh coulda get transfer to Ipswich.
Post by: Sam on August 11, 2010, 09:50:32 AM
Paint it what ever color allyuh want, but Kenwyne is overated simply because he is NOT consistent, and Stoke is a bull shit side.

Palos sums it up right.
Post by: congo on August 11, 2010, 10:41:50 AM
Kenwyne Jones on brink of £9m move to Stoke as Nedum Onuoha heads to Sunderland from Manchester Cit

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1302070/Kenwyne-Jones-brink-7m-Sunderland-Stoke.html#ixzz0wJfC9CtS

Steupsss Steve Bruce has always been an abomination wherever he goes...Always goes to a club messes it up and gets an opportunity to go to a next club to mess up...This old boys network working wonders again> So this joker wants to get rid of kenwyne and replace him with Danny Welbeck...Seems like Kenwyne';s biggest problem is that his passport blue..."Jobs for the english first I would imagine"
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on August 11, 2010, 10:48:16 AM
Good move for KJ in my opinion....a team that can play to his strengths

I like Stoke..I dont really like Jones...but I wish him well and hope he can do well
Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2010, 11:04:15 AM
Stoke it is........people quick to call Stoke a shit side, but why? on what basis?

They don't play like Arsenal or Barca? so what? Neither does Inter Milan. 

They have never been in relegation trouble and actually might play to the strengths of Kenwyne. 

The writing has been on the wall for sometime now so lets support him as he embarks on this new challenge. 

nb: Spidey, he signed a contract extension last year January.

Go Stoke!!

Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2010, 11:06:01 AM
Bruce: Why I'm selling Kenwyne Jones

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce has revealed why he is allowing Kenwyne Jones to leave the Stadium of Light.
The striker is having a medical at Stoke City with a view to a £9million move.

And Bruce told sunderlandecho.com: "I wish him well. The deal is not over the line, but if it does then I think it would be in the interests of all parties.

"There has always been a frustration with me and I think with supporters who have watched Kenwyne that you see an abundance of talent but it has not come out often enough for us for whatever reason.

"In management you get paid to make some important decisions sometimes. Stoke have been badgering me for a year. Everyone knows they love a big, traditional centre-forward and he might go and suit them.

"Towards the end with Kenwyne, things were not working out so I have accepted Stoke's offer and given him permission to speak to them."
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2010, 11:19:51 AM
Bruce: Why I'm selling Kenwyne Jones

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce has revealed why he is allowing Kenwyne Jones to leave the Stadium of Light.
The striker is having a medical at Stoke City with a view to a £9million move.

And Bruce told sunderlandecho.com: "I wish him well. The deal is not over the line, but if it does then I think it would be in the interests of all parties.

"There has always been a frustration with me and I think with supporters who have watched Kenwyne that you see an abundance of talent but it has not come out often enough for us for whatever reason.

"In management you get paid to make some important decisions sometimes. Stoke have been badgering me for a year. Everyone knows they love a big, traditional centre-forward and he might go and suit them.

"Towards the end with Kenwyne, things were not working out so I have accepted Stoke's offer and given him permission to speak to them."

ahhhmmm..  Bruce yuh shitong, that would be a direct reflection on your managerial ability.
Post by: Bakes on August 11, 2010, 11:28:08 AM
ahhhmmm..  Bruce yuh shitong, that would be a direct reflection on your managerial ability.

...and on Keane's

... and Wim's

... and Pacho's

... and Latapy's

... in fact, when has KJ ever produced consistently?  I am no Steve Bruce fan, but at some point one has to take stock and see which has been the one common denominator in Kenwyne's career.
Post by: lefty on August 11, 2010, 11:33:44 AM
In memory of d Sunderland Forever thread :'(
http://www.youtube.com/v/4WRoWPhLU2Q&amp
Post by: D.H.W on August 11, 2010, 11:37:05 AM
stueps me aint watchin no stoke game nah. So who making d Stoke forever thread
Post by: kingdavid on August 11, 2010, 12:01:48 PM
so if SAFC dont get relegated this year bye bye next year fuh sure cause bruce messing up d side
Post by: royal on August 11, 2010, 12:09:32 PM
Jones joins Potters
Stoke swoop for striker

skysports

Stoke have snapped up Kenwyne Jones for a record-breaking £8million from top flight rivals Sunderland.

As exclusively revealed by skysports.com last week Stoke were lining up a move for Jones to bolster their attacking options.

The Potters have smashed their transfer record in order to snap up a striker of proven Premier League pedigree.

Jones fits that bill and the Trinidad & Tobago international has penned a four-year contract at the Britannia Stadium.

The move sees Jones return to Stoke for the second time in his career, with Tony Pulis having brought him in on loan back in 2005.

The pair have now been reunited and the Potters boss is delighted to have secured the signature of one of his top targets.

"Kenwyne is unplayable on his day, which is why this is a fantastic signing for this football club," Pulis told the club's official website.

"We need goals in our team and we also need strong competition among our strikers if we are to continue improving at this level.

"Kenwyne will give us that. It's no secret that I am one of his biggest admirers, he did a smashing job for us when he was here on loan. He was very young back then, but I believe that he has the best years ahead of him."

Jones, who started his League career with Southampton before joining Sunderland in 2007, admits the opportunity to return to familiar surroundings had a major bearing on his decision to join Stoke.

"The fact that I know the manager, some of the players and the place so well has obviously been an influence upon me coming here," said the 25-year-old frontman.

"This is an exciting new chapter in my career and I want to do my best for a club that has clearly had great success since I was last here.

"I am looking forward to the challenge of helping Stoke build upon the progress it has made over the past two years in the Premier League."
Post by: Trinidogg on August 11, 2010, 12:14:42 PM
Great news in my opinion he with a manager that will try to get the best out of him and stop all the bashing. Bruce will of kill off his career if he had stayed at Sunderland, hope he has a great season at stoke.
Post by: DeSoWa on August 11, 2010, 12:23:20 PM
Southampton > Sunderland > Stoke - Shocking!  :o

Good luck KJ  :beermug:

Post by: elan on August 11, 2010, 12:26:01 PM
It takes a manager who is committed, has great vision, total understanding and acceptance to the various aspects of the game to work and get the KJesque type player to operate at their maximum consistently. Martin O'Neil, Everton Coach, Jose Mourinho to a certain extent comes to mind.

There is nothing wrong with KJ effort on the field. He is the type of player you have to build around or expect to get what you get. Not every player runs every where.
Post by: Sandboy on August 11, 2010, 12:26:22 PM
goodbye and good luck Kenny, probably exceeded our expectations and gave us some great moments

we need a new Trini connection  :mackdaddy:
Post by: Bakes on August 11, 2010, 12:27:48 PM
Southampton > Sunderland > Stoke - Shocking!  :o

Good luck KJ  :beermug:

I dunno why everybody down on Stoke... I actually prefer to watch them play than Sunderland.  Nothing else their defense is settled so a little bit of firepower will go a long way towards helping them shift the balance in some of those goalless and one-goal games they known for playing.
Post by: DeSoWa on August 11, 2010, 12:32:41 PM
Personally, I think he would do well at Stoke, mainly because he have a coach that believes in him and now KJ has something to prove!

Post by: Touches on August 11, 2010, 12:37:17 PM
I find Bruce dotish.

1) Didn't a bigger offer come last season or in January (Spurs, Liverpool...stand corrected)

2) 3 Days before your first game

3) Where is the replacement striker? Honestly it ent easy to get a man to pot 8-10 goals for small money.

4) ....and this is the biggest 4kup he make....he sell one of his better players to a DIRECT RIVAL.

Is one thing to sell yuh player to a top 8 team....but when you sell to a team on your level...it will come back to bite you in the arse.

I wish Jones the best of luck and I hope his performances at Stoke can be consistent. I also want him to rest it on Bruce and Sunderland when next they meet.

Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2010, 12:40:36 PM
Southampton > Sunderland > Stoke -

If is one ting...........Kenwyne really likes red and white stripes.......LOL.

nb: Liverpool wanted him on loan, Spurs offered 8 million plus Darren Bent (roy keane days)
Post by: andre samuel on August 11, 2010, 12:42:58 PM
I find Bruce dotish.

1) Didn't a bigger offer come last season or in January (Spurs, Liverpool...stand corrected)

3) Where is the replacement striker? Honestly it ent easy to get a man to pot 8-10 goals for small money.

4) ....and this is the biggest 4kup he make....he sell one of his better players to a DIRECT RIVAL.

Is one thing to sell yuh player to a top 8 team....but when you sell to a team on your level...it will come back to bite you in the arse.

I wish Jones the best of luck and I hope his performances at Stoke can be consistent. I also want him to rest it on Bruce and Sunderland when next they meet.

Danny Welbeck on loan

Post by: maxg on August 11, 2010, 01:05:05 PM
I find Bruce dotish.

yuh late...since Birmingham
Post by: spideybuff on August 11, 2010, 01:06:19 PM
Southampton > Sunderland > Stoke -

If is one ting...........Kenwyne really likes red and white stripes.......LOL.

If he become a big striker we should change our national team strip to suit him...red and white stripes and black shorts.
Post by: Blue on August 11, 2010, 01:38:31 PM
Where is de Stoke Forever thread people??

I would make it myself, except I eh want my name permanently associated wid dat $hit side  :rotfl:
Post by: Arazi on August 11, 2010, 01:40:56 PM
I find Bruce dotish.

I second this...altho Bruce does have Frazier-Campbell and expect Wellbeck on loan.

why I think this a bad move by Sunun is because prior to and injury and an extended red card band.the Jones-Bent tandem was one of the top strike partnerships in the Premiership and to be honest, when he came back Kenwyne wasn't playing badly for Sunlun, he wasn't scoring, but he was still linking Bent to buss the net.

I think it's a bad move for Kenwyne as well, for most of the reasons Dinho pointed. Stoke City does not strike me as a team that will improve him as a player.

They may play to his strengths but in so doing they may also make him a one-dimensional player.

On the flipside, with supposed guaranteed playing time and a team playing to your strengths, IF A GOOD SEASON OF GOALSCORING FOLLOWS, Stoke may well raise his stock enough for him to move to a better team.

All the best brother.
Post by: JDB on August 11, 2010, 01:45:16 PM
If he become a big striker we should change our national team strip to suit him...red and white stripes and black shorts.

If he become a big striker we should change the national team and surround him with big players.
Post by: grskywalker on August 11, 2010, 01:47:33 PM
Jones better watch he tail that he don't end back up in ist division. He did not have a particularly good season last year so I am not surprised by the sale, he tends to be lazy while Bent was running down everything. He better step up his game and score some damn goals, but it's going to be an uphill battle for him and Stoke
Post by: reggae-fan on August 11, 2010, 01:55:30 PM
He will be linking up upfront with this guy, who is sometimes a head case

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TV4bXyl4uM

check out the last goal in this clip
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_Jz0k3Uki0
Post by: dinho on August 11, 2010, 01:58:19 PM

He not sure to start in front of Tuncay.
Post by: reggae-fan on August 11, 2010, 02:02:04 PM

You dont sign a striker for a club record fee to have him sit on the bench. And no way tuncay staring over fuller, so its Jones + Fuller upfront...Tuncay will come on late in the game for whoever gets tired first (or if Fuller gets a red card as he so often does)
Post by: D.H.W on August 11, 2010, 02:03:49 PM

I would make it myself, except I eh want my name permanently associated wid dat $hit side  :rotfl:

aaaaaaahahahahaha  :rotfl: it must have a Newcastle fan here to make it  :devil:
Post by: fari on August 11, 2010, 02:07:02 PM
hm stoke just might crack the top 8 this year
Post by: chelsealife on August 11, 2010, 02:19:55 PM
Stoke is ah long ball team and KJ, d majority of his goals come off of headers wit the odd one or two from his feet. He hasnt hit ten in the top flight yet so that should be his target by January to have at least ten Sunderland sold two of their better players so it would be nice to see how they do. Stoke doesnt play the most attractive football but its effective and he will definitely get service from the wings. Good move for him, bad for sunderland.
Post by: maxg on August 11, 2010, 02:40:27 PM
ah know as bad ah side as ppl claim Stoke look, they beat half the Premier teams 2 years running....I kinda prefer that finding ah way to win, that tells me good Team than looking good and taking lorse.....Good luck KJ, hope yuh could add to these guys, as well as that coach could probably better teach yuh something, cause me doh feel yuh get to learn much at SunLand (even if dem was once the best steelband in Belmont...how yuh mean is not the same club)  :devil:

Come on over Kev, How far yuh have to Travel ? Many of us not so fussy where we boys play, as long as they get ah decent chance to give & receive.......and if they get the chance and not giving, we are usually the 1st to Call dem by Name, as well as many others names as well..say what
Post by: soccerman on August 11, 2010, 03:02:41 PM
This is a chance for KJ to create his own luck this season. Once he plays well for Stoke and score goals then some big club will sign him. It's a fresh start just like Palos said hopefully it's a wake-up call and sometimes that motivates people. I believe once KJ is a goal scorer in this league, with his size and ability, big clubs will come knocking on the door and then he can thank Bruce for helping him to get to the next level :devil:
Post by: DeSoWa on August 11, 2010, 03:04:58 PM

Doh worry, one would pop up as soon as Stoke start winning and KJ bag his first few goals for them  ;D

Post by: fatimarima on August 11, 2010, 03:59:55 PM

check out the last goal in this clip
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_Jz0k3Uki0

Fuller is a good skillfull player hopefully he can combine well with Jones to make an unstopable caribbean duo
Post by: Kayus on August 11, 2010, 05:48:50 PM
Just curious, didn't KJ have a loan stint with Stoke at a point in time?
Post by: JDB on August 11, 2010, 06:02:18 PM

yes..and he did very well. Pulis was the manager too and he rates Jones. Of all Jones English club managers I would day that Pulis and Srurtock is the men who were most impressed with him.
Post by: Kayus on August 11, 2010, 06:10:25 PM
Insert Quote
Quote from: Kayus on Today at 05:48:50 PM

yes..and he did very well. Pulis was the manager too and he rates Jones. Of all Jones English club managers I would day that Pulis and Srurtock is the men who were most impressed with him.

Thought so, thanks man. KJ love them red and white stripes boy. from St. Anthonys come right up. lol. I woulda like to see him at tottenham. all the best to him still.
Post by: Bianconeri on August 11, 2010, 06:19:43 PM

I jus hadda shake my head at the EPL for these kinda decisions

Tuncay benching for Fuller?!?!?
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

in no way is fuller a better player than Tuncay
so many good players run down EPL and their careers take a nose dive
he shoulda gone spain or germany (Tuncay that is)

fuller is look like a fat boy kikin ball
he score some nice goals but what striker getting run out regularly wouldnt?
Post by: Bakes on August 11, 2010, 07:00:42 PM

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Which thread yuh in?
Post by: reggae-fan on August 11, 2010, 07:09:20 PM

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

From what i've seen of Tuncay, he is not a going to give you more than 10 goals a season, which makes him on par with Fuller if you look at it from that angle.
So why chose Fuller over Tuncay? bigger, more athletic striker who can outmuscle defenders, that coupled with Fuller's skill level.

That is why Fuller is Stokes leading scorer 2 seasons running.
Post by: Big Magician on August 11, 2010, 09:45:30 PM
play yuh fitball
Post by: kingdavid on August 12, 2010, 05:53:05 AM
somebody tell sam get a interview with Mr.Jones na plz..... i wanna hear his take
Post by: Andre on August 12, 2010, 09:35:03 AM
STOKE CITY have today smashed their transfer record by completing the £8 million capture of Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones.

The 25-year-old Trinidad and Tobago international put pen to paper on a four year contract to seal his return to the Britannia Stadium where City manager Tony Pulis acquired him on loan for a short period earlier in his career in 2005.

The transfer tops the £6 million deal which saw Robert Huth join City from Middlesbrough shortly before the transfer deadline last August.

Jones admitted that his short spell on loan at the Britannia Stadium had a strong bearing on his decision to make the switch to City now.

"The fact that I know the manager, some of the players and the place so well has obviously been an influence upon me coming here," he said.

"This is an exciting new chapter in my career and I want to do my best for a Club that has clearly had great success since I was last here.

"I am looking forward to the challenge of helping Stoke build upon the progress it has made over the past two years in the Premier League."

http://www.stokecityfc.com/page/NewsDetail/0,,10310~2119027,00.html

(http://www.stokecityfc.com/javaImages/1a/ce/0,,10310~8965658,00.jpg)
Post by: kicker on August 12, 2010, 10:00:16 AM
play yuh fitball

ditto
Post by: andre samuel on August 12, 2010, 10:11:49 AM
Just saw on skysports news that Kenwyne Jones took a pay cut to join Stoke City....

Very Interesting!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 12, 2010, 10:17:35 AM
Just saw on skysports news that Kenwyne Jones took a pay cut to join Stoke City....

Very Interesting!!

I take dat to mean he wanted out and away from dat clueless f**k Steve Bruce!!

BTW ah notice ah talk bout Tuncay and Fuller, but considering dey not playing the same position why they in de same discusion.  I feel Pulis ready to make Stoke look semi attack minded and go with a 4-4-1-1 with KJ playing CF and Fuller striking.
Post by: andre samuel on August 12, 2010, 10:23:01 AM
Apparently he got a huge sign on bonus (a deal between himself and Sunderland to encourage the move) so the paycut aint going and bother him too much!!
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on August 12, 2010, 10:29:48 AM
Apparently he got a huge sign on bonus (a deal between himself and Sunderland to encourage the move) so the paycut aint going and bother him too much!!

So in all likelyhood they did not profit from the deal since when they signed him they paid 6M.  Bruce is ah rell cunny oui!  He had ah chance to swap him fuh Bent and get de same money an refuse.  Dumbass  :rotfl:
Post by: Bakes on August 12, 2010, 11:45:10 AM
Come on Kenwyne... make the most of this opportunity, cut out the theatrics and just focus on yuh football.  In all likelihood this is your last chance to impress because right now you're at your athletic peak and there are always younger, hungrier players lingering in the wings.  Financially you may be set for life... but that shouldn't be that you're willing to settle for.
Post by: de_redman on August 12, 2010, 11:54:05 AM
Pulis - Jones took pay cut
Potters boss lifts the lid on record-breaking deal

www.skysports.com

Tony Pulis has revealed that Kenwyne Jones took a significant pay cut upon joining Stoke City.

The Trinidad & Tobago international completed an £8million move to the Britannia Stadium on Wednesday, making him the Potters' record signing.

He has, however, seen his salary slashed, with Stoke unable to match the reported £60,000-a-week deal he was on at Sunderland.

Details of the contract he has penned with the Potters have not been revealed, but Pulis claims Jones' decision to join the club was motivated by ambition not money.

"The wages he was earning at Sunderland we could not afford. He was on quite a bit of money, but he is not on that at Stoke," confirmed Pulis.

Structure
"So they have looked after that as well to enable him to come down to the structure we have at this club, which is very important for us.

"We want to keep it as tight as we can, and we've been able to do that.

"It was as big and an important a factor as the £8million spread over four years.

"It's a point we have to make because I don't want anybody within the club or from outside thinking they can walk in here and their demands are going to be this, that and the other.

"We work very hard on the structure at this club, especially wages, and there was no way we could do the deal unless it conformed with those."

Unplayable
Pulis is delighted to have brought Jones on board and hopes he can help the powerful frontman discover the level of consistency he struggled to achieve during his time at Sunderland.

"He does have the inconsistency about him," added the Stoke manager.

"There were times at Sunderland when he was absolutely outstanding, unplayable, but there were other times when you watched him and you wondered whether it was the same player.

"So it's a question of whether we can get that little bit more out of him, whether he can mature with us and learn from what happened at Sunderland.

"Sometimes you need a fresh start and it might be Kenwyne needs a fresh start, but also we need Kenwyne's help as well. He has to help himself first and foremost."
Post by: kev on August 12, 2010, 01:19:21 PM
ah know as bad ah side as ppl claim Stoke look, they beat half the Premier teams 2 years running....I kinda prefer that finding ah way to win, that tells me good Team than looking good and taking lorse.....Good luck KJ, hope yuh could add to these guys, as well as that coach could probably better teach yuh something, cause me doh feel yuh get to learn much at SunLand (even if dem was once the best steelband in Belmont...how yuh mean is not the same club)  :devil:

Come on over Kev, How far yuh have to Travel ? Many of us not so fussy where we boys play, as long as they get ah decent chance to give & receive.......and if they get the chance and not giving, we are usually the 1st to Call dem by Name, as well as many others names as well..say what

Maxg if you mean me where I come from there is only 2 things in life you can't change and thats your family and team.

I wish Kenwyne all the luck in the world, he kept up us single handedly nothing changes from what I said in previous post.

I will still take abuse and stay here if not too many mind, and keep failing in the AS League, I have come to enjoy it.
Post by: Bakes on August 12, 2010, 01:38:58 PM
I will still take abuse and stay here if not too many mind, and keep failing in the AS League, I have come to enjoy it.

... and who cares if they do, right? lol   Good to know that you'll be sticking around, we need someone to whom to direct all that Sun'lun abuse when Bruce starts running the ship into the ground  :beermug:

Post by: Midknight on August 12, 2010, 03:03:57 PM
Well, the writing was always on the wall. Pretty much everything I liked about Sunderland is gone now, othe than the kit...

I'm stuck with Andy Reid, John  Mensah and the oft injured Craig Gorgon for solace. Sigh.

Go brave KJ...but I not backing Stoke.

ps: And to think the renew Richardson!
Post by: andre samuel on August 12, 2010, 03:25:44 PM
Just one question kev..........not sure if u answered already.

But what is the general feelin about the Stoke deal?
Post by: Jah Gol on August 12, 2010, 03:40:00 PM
Stoke City Football Club is a football club based in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, England. Founded in 1863, Stoke is the oldest club in the Premier League, and thought to be the second oldest professional football club in the world, after Notts County.

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/11/The_Brit.jpg)
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/da/Britannia_Stadium_1.JPG)(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/6c/Britannia_Stadium.jpg)
Stoke play their home fixtures at the Britannia Stadium, a 28,384 all-seater stadium reduced to 27,598 after segregation.

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/2c/EnglandStoke.png)
Post by: kev on August 13, 2010, 05:51:48 AM
Just one question kev..........not sure if u answered already.

But what is the general feelin about the Stoke deal?

Typical football fans really mixed.

He was well liked for the most part.
Some think let him go cheaply and worried/bewildered that no obvious replacement.
Some think he was OK but lazy and its a decent deal.
Others as is always the case the club / manager can't do any wrong, and if he's sold he automatically becomes a tata (?) player.

Gyan is being linked as a possible replacement as was always likely with Mensah coming back, the few matches I seen of him at the WC he was OK and would fit the bill, however from the interviews / quotes LOndon seemed far and away his preferred destination.
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 13, 2010, 12:34:45 PM
"...tata (?) player."   :rotfl:

Boy Kev, you're a proper Trini football fan now oui.

Now you just need to include phrases like these in your footie conversations:

dat shit side

(player X) is a goat

(player X) is a shit snake

...he hit de man ah spanner

riding pine (being left on the bench)

corbeaux sweat (pronounced 'co-bo'.... being brought on as a substitution for the last 10 mins of a match)

Your induction will now be complete.  ;D
Post by: kev on August 14, 2010, 01:50:41 AM

dat shit side

(player X) is a goat

corbeaux sweat (pronounced 'co-bo'.... being brought on as a substitution for the last 10 mins of a match)

RTG, that cheered me up,

I will try, but the problem is it might just be full of those phrases and nothing else given who I support.

not so sure what this is ...he hit de man ah spanner (taken someone out?)
Post by: redtrinigirl on August 14, 2010, 12:58:11 PM

dat shit side

(player X) is a goat

RTG, that cheered me up,

I will try, but the problem is it might just be full of those phrases and nothing else given who I support.

not so sure what this is ...he hit de man ah spanner (taken someone out?)

A spanner is a tricky football move, like saying a player got 'sex' (ball pass thru the legs by oncoming striker)

There is  also 'wrong address' (send the oncoming tackling player in the wrong direction before zooming past them)
Post by: g on August 14, 2010, 01:27:04 PM
I probably will never voluntarily watch another Sunderland game again

well unless its against the big 6
Post by: maxg on August 14, 2010, 02:30:28 PM

Maxg if you mean me where I come from there is only 2 things in life you can't change and thats your family and team.

I wish Kenwyne all the luck in the world, he kept up us single handedly nothing changes from what I said in previous post.

Now see yuh Kev, and ah hear dat ! :salute:
Red, Black & White..till ah die ..
Title: Kenwyne Jones handed £2m golden goodbye
Post by: Tallman on August 22, 2010, 05:38:35 AM
Kenwyne Jones handed £2m golden goodbye
By James Hunter (Sunday Sun)

SUNDERLAND handed Kenwyne Jones a £2m ‘golden goodbye’ to push through his £8m move to Stoke.

Jones became Stoke’s record signing when he joined the Midlands side a fortnight ago.

Potters boss Tony Pulis said Jones took a pay cut to move to the Britannia Stadium, but the Trinidad & Tobago international will hardly be feeling the pinch thanks to Sunderland’s sweetener.

When Stoke came in with a bid this summer, Sunderland chief Steve Bruce decided the time was right to cash in.

And Bruce is hoping to use the £8m fee he received for Jones to bring in another forward before the transfer window closes at the end of the month
Title: Re: Kenwyne Jones handed £2m golden goodbye
Post by: fitzinho on August 22, 2010, 09:38:52 AM

SUNDERLAND handed Kenwyne Jones a £2m ‘golden goodbye’ to push through his £8m move to Stoke.

Jones became Stoke’s record signing when he joined the Midlands side a fortnight ago.

Potters boss Tony Pulis said Jones took a pay cut to move to the Britannia Stadium, but the Trinidad & Tobago international will hardly be feeling the pinch thanks to Sunderland’s sweetener.

When Stoke came in with a bid this summer, Sunderland chief Steve Bruce decided the time was right to cash in.

And Bruce is hoping to use the £8m fee he received for Jones to bring in another forward before the transfer window closes at the end of the month
Must be nice to know ur former boss wanted u out so bad he pay u 2 mill to leave  :-\
Post by: andre samuel on August 22, 2010, 11:09:52 AM
My boss could do that to me anytime.........lol
Post by: weary1969 on August 22, 2010, 01:14:20 PM
My boss could do that to me anytime.........lol

ENTTTTTTTT
Post by: just cool on September 01, 2010, 02:03:37 AM
Just read on sky sports that jermaine pennant has signed a loan deal with stoke city, now there hope for KJ with pennant serving crosses from the right flank.
http://www.football.co.uk/tottenham_hotspur/stoke_sign_jermaine_pennant__eidur_gudjohnsen__salif_diao_and_marc_wilson_rss1207903.shtml
Title: Re: Kenwyne Jones handed £2m golden goodbye
Post by: chelsealife on September 01, 2010, 10:54:45 PM

Must be nice to know ur former boss wanted u out so bad he pay u 2 mill to leave  :-\
Its not like that. He signed a 50 000+ pounds a week deal last season so they have to pay him the equivalent of what he would have earned over the next four years. Bcuz he didnt request to be transfered. I'd take it a run as well. Good for him