General => General Discussion => Topic started by: pecan on August 23, 2010, 05:21:36 AM

Title: Turtles
Post by: pecan on August 23, 2010, 05:21:36 AM
Apparently, these pics were taken in Costa Rica.  I do not know the year.

Did locals in T&T ever harvest eggs at this scale?

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles8.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles7.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles6.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles5.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles4.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles3.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles2.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles1.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles9.jpg)

(http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h104/pecan6/turtles.jpg)

Title: Re: Turtles
Post by: Jumbie on August 23, 2010, 05:43:27 AM
you see that turtle in the pic... in trinidad they eating that one too..not just eggs. But I think some of the preservation work being done is finally seeing some results. At one point some students from the Uni of Guelph was down there (Trini) doing some conservation work.
Post by: weary1969 on August 23, 2010, 06:32:31 AM
Harvest eggs kill turtle YESSSSSSSSS but as Jumbie say we doh kill them a we use 2.
Post by: D.H.W on August 23, 2010, 08:23:48 AM
they do that in Grand riviere , i saved a few little ones.
Post by: truetrini on August 23, 2010, 11:01:40 AM
Those pics show cpnservation work and NOT "harvesting."
Post by: Dutty on August 23, 2010, 11:20:56 AM

eh?...so whey dey carryin all dem egg?
Post by: Bakes on August 23, 2010, 11:32:59 AM
I would like to think is conservation work too... else all ah dem people buying dey bag from de same crocus man  :-\
Post by: truetrini on August 23, 2010, 12:45:40 PM

Canada!
Post by: Dutty on August 23, 2010, 12:47:44 PM

Canada!

dais de bess place fuh dem....de last ting de ocean need is turtle egg full ah yankee salmonella
Post by: truetrini on August 23, 2010, 12:52:10 PM
Instead dey getting Canadian Pox.
Post by: truetrini on August 23, 2010, 01:07:03 PM
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/costa-rica-turtle-eggs.shtml

But snopes say it is legal harvesting as the eggs are areadt doomed and will NOT mature into turtles

http://www.oceanactions.com/?page_id=95

Then there is this...kinda sick really....

http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/sdrp/tortugas.html
Post by: pecan on August 23, 2010, 01:26:13 PM
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/costa-rica-turtle-eggs.shtml

But snopes say it is legal harvesting as the eggs are areadt doomed and will NOT mature into turtles

http://www.oceanactions.com/?page_id=95

Then there is this...kinda sick really....

http://lanic.utexas.edu/project/sdrp/tortugas.html

thanks for the links.

Post by: Deeks on August 23, 2010, 03:27:40 PM
This is very interesting. There is something does drive a bit crazy with all the green and environmental projects. Be it land, air or sea, fish, bird or mammals. Eveything is always geared to be " major tourist attraction". Why can things be done for nature itself and for the locals who live there. The assumption is(to me at least) that if tourists don't come, it is not worth saving.
Post by: pecan on August 23, 2010, 04:06:04 PM

Canada!

Dutty and I importing all dem eggs.  We have our own incubator and we set them free in the Great Lakes.  The only problem is that lately Dutty is insisting that he sit on the eggs instead of using the automated incubators (he is very energy conscious). 

So, what should I do? Let Dutty sit in the eggs? or stop importing them?

Post by: truetrini on August 23, 2010, 04:17:50 PM

Canada!

Dutty and I importing all dem eggs.  We have our own incubator and we set them free in the Great Lakes.  The only problem is that lately Dutty is insisting that he sit on the eggs instead of using the automated incubators (he is very energy conscious). 

So, what should I do? Let Dutty sit in the eggs? or stop importing them?

Yuh saying dat Dutty does walk like he have ah egg in he bamsee or wha?  The great lakes is fresh water..so much for canadian conservationist assistance
Post by: Flex on August 29, 2010, 06:19:06 AM
http://purinaanimalallstars.yahoo.com/?v=8111991&l=100000085
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 29, 2010, 11:50:35 AM
Very good look there from the articles. As long as its in the interest of management I don't mind atall.

Thanks for the link TC.
Post by: Flex on December 22, 2010, 05:11:38 AM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/content/hunters-slaughter-leather-back-turtles
Post by: Organic on December 22, 2010, 05:54:23 AM
For the uninformed... a fellow warrior site...different issue same spirit - Trinieco warriors. these lot doing great service!!
http://www.facebook.com/update_security_info.php?wizard=1#!/pages/Trini-Eco-Warriors/162715583747492