General => General Discussion => Topic started by: SHOTTA on August 23, 2010, 05:05:00 PM

Title: network connection timeout
Post by: SHOTTA on August 23, 2010, 05:05:00 PM
on my ps3

i trying to connect via wifi it allowed me to set up everything but now wen i try to sign in i getting that error
Title: Re: network connection timeout
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 24, 2010, 06:20:17 AM
Yu pay yu internet bill (couldn't help myself)  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:Dat might be your ps3 wifi not wukkin good.  How yu wifi setup?
Post by: SHOTTA on August 24, 2010, 09:02:54 AM
wa u mean how it set up?

hook d wifi modem to d pc go on d ps3 scan and set up but is salt
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 24, 2010, 10:04:07 AM
wa u mean how it set up?

hook d wifi modem to d pc go on d ps3 scan and set up but is salt

On the wireless did you add the mac address of the PS3?
What security you have setup on the wireless
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 26, 2010, 07:12:57 AM
You seem to have the same problem I had when trying to set the wifi for the kids and them on their Nintendo DSI. Had to call into Nintendo and them to run me through my system and it take me about a good 2hrs before they retify the problem. If you up here call Sony and them and let them connect you. The problem for me was the system was set up on the WPA encryption which has a higher security encoding. Then they removed my security from WPA to WEP. Only then I'm able to connect. I'm no computer savvy person so I can't really say how to get it solved other than calling one of them, Sony or whoever you bought the server from.
Post by: JDB on August 26, 2010, 12:15:23 PM
You seem to have the same problem I had when trying to set the wifi for the kids and them on their Nintendo DSI. Had to call into Nintendo and them to run me through my system and it take me about a good 2hrs before they retify the problem. If you up here call Sony and them and let them connect you. The problem for me was the system was set up on the WPA encryption which has a higher security encoding. Then they removed my security from WPA to WEP. Only then I'm able to connect. I'm no computer savvy person so I can really say how to get it solved other than calling one of them, Sony or whoever you bought the server from.

Yeah I had a similar problem installing an airport express from apple. the number of digits on the encyption sometimes don't match even if you choose the right one. these days though with the number of  different phones, laptops, game systems and visitors that want to use wi-fi I find it easier to just turn off the encryption altogether.
Post by: pass(10trini) on August 27, 2010, 10:53:25 PM
You seem to have the same problem I had when trying to set the wifi for the kids and them on their Nintendo DSI. Had to call into Nintendo and them to run me through my system and it take me about a good 2hrs before they retify the problem. If you up here call Sony and them and let them connect you. The problem for me was the system was set up on the WPA encryption which has a higher security encoding. Then they removed my security from WPA to WEP. Only then I'm able to connect. I'm no computer savvy person so I can really say how to get it solved other than calling one of them, Sony or whoever you bought the server from.

Yeah I had a similar problem installing an airport express from apple. the number of digits on the encyption sometimes don't match even if you choose the right one. these days though with the number of  different phones, laptops, game systems and visitors that want to use wi-fi I find it easier to just turn off the encryption altogether.

Wha you mean.....You don't have no security on your system?  :o
Post by: PantherX on September 01, 2010, 06:02:13 PM

Do you also leave your house unlocked and your windows open?
Post by: JDB on September 02, 2010, 06:29:56 AM
Wha you mean.....You don't have no security on your system?  :o

Not for the last couple years.

Do you also leave your house unlocked and your windows open?

No but maybe I just not that aware of the risks.

My PC is not set up as a wireless hub though. The only networking is music through itunes. I really don't see people parking up outside to stream some tunes as a high probablility threat. The other things like game systems or the iphone remote control requires physical access to input a code into the PC interface to establish the connection.