General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Flex on August 31, 2010, 06:36:07 AM

Title: Kamla: TT not truly independent.
Post by: Flex on August 31, 2010, 06:36:07 AM
TT not truly independent.
By NALINEE SEELAL (T&T Newsday).

In her maiden Independence Day address to the nation, which aired on television at eight o’clock last night, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar painted a gloomy picture of the country’s state of affairs stating that TT is still not a truly independent nation.

“It is not enough to proudly proclaim our independence when we are lagging behind the rest of the developed world in so many areas,” Persad-Bissessar said. “When our people no longer cower in fear from criminals, (then) we are truly independent;

When the labour and intellect of a woman are considered equal to that of a man and the colour, class and creed of a citizen are of no consequence, we are all truly independent;

When we grow to understand and respect our environment, we have gained our independence;

When we can aspire to be better people, when mediocrity is no longer tolerated and excellence is a standard by which everything is measured every day, then and only then we have truly gained our independence,” Persad-Bissessar told the nation.

The Prime Minister also noted that in 2010, the people must reposition their thinking, re-frame the context in which they recognise and celebrate independence and use these occasions to recommit and reconcile how to correct the way things have gone wrong, “even as we acknowledge the good and the great strides made.”

She said that through the gloom of the current situation, as the country celebrates its 48th anniversary of independence, the people must take note of all accomplishments made by citizens and be proud of this.

She boasted that as a nation, the people of Trinidad and Tobago have excelled in so many endeavours gaining the admiration of the world in areas such as literature, the arts, music, sports and pageantry.

“But there is so much we have to ponder upon that has not gone well for our fledgling nation.

So many wrongs which we must put right, so many needs that are still to be filled, so many young people who have gone astray, so many children who suffer unnecessarily, so much wealth that has not been equitably distributed, so many values which have been sadly forgotten, so many opportunities squandered, so many freedoms taken for granted and abused," the Prime Minister stated.

“As we observe our 48th year as an independent nation we can recall the mark we have made on the world with the invention of the steelpan, the gift of calypso and Carnival, the magic of world cup football qualification, world class athletes, Nobel Laureates and more."

"Here on this small Caribbean twin island state occupied by a mere 1.3 million people there are few places on earth that hold out the kind of potential we possess." However, she added that despite the many positives, the state of affairs in TT today reflects the fact that its people have not taken full advantage of the human talent and potential.

“Each year as we pass milestone after milestone of our nation's independence the skies light up with celebration and there is much ceremony of what we have gained since that historic day," said, adding that TT can be justifiably proud of its Independence and nationhood. But that is not enough. She made it clear that her Independence Day message was not meant to be a sombre Anniversary message but an inspiring one. She minced no words when she noted that too much time has been wasted.

“Too much money squandered. Too much pretence has been made at times like this that everything is fine and our nation is doing well.” She urged citizens to celebrate by all means the pride of a nation on its independence anniversary and reflect certainly on all achievements made over the years, “but we must learn as well from our failures and failings”.

“Together, we will reach heights of achievement never thought possible before. Our goals are set, the resolve is there and we are on the right course.”

In ending, the Prime Minister made a stirring plea to all corporate citizens to contribute to the Children’s Life Fund which was established by her People’s Partnership after its victory in the General Elections, on May 24. “I take this opportunity as well to officially launch the Children’s Life Fund. As promised, it will receive the deposit of five percent of all ministerial salaries plus ten percent of my own (salary) as Prime Minister,” she said.
Title: Re: Kamla: TT not truly independent.
Post by: kounty on September 01, 2010, 03:35:57 PM
good words Kamla, and you correct; but concrete, specific actions is what you and your party need now.  Thanks for pointing out the problems, but you all not opposition anymore, time to actually Do something about them.
Post by: Bakes on September 01, 2010, 04:12:47 PM
This headline shoud read "Jack: Kamla not truly Independent"
Post by: weary1969 on September 01, 2010, 04:24:50 PM
good words Kamla, and you correct; but concrete, specific actions is what you and your party need now.  Thanks for pointing out the problems, but you all not opposition anymore, time to actually Do something about them.

Doh worry in BAGO doin dat right now. So doh worry betta days are coming. Is only 3 months they in power d 120 days eh reach yet.
Post by: Deeks on September 01, 2010, 07:09:53 PM
Kamla right. We not truely independent. let's get rid of the Privy council and lets  make decisions on our own.