Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on September 02, 2010, 08:56:10 AM

Title: Most Swansea fans would have welcomed Scotland return
Post by: Tallman on September 02, 2010, 08:56:10 AM
Most Swansea fans would have welcomed Scotland return
By Rhys Clayton (givemefootball.com)

Some things in sport are simply inevitable, and a Jason Scotland goal on his return to the Championship as an Ipswich player can be added to the list.

Meanwhile, our victory over Burnley at the weekend was just as tense as the last time they were at the Liberty Stadium, when Ferrie Bodde scored a last minute goal.

In true Swans style, a game which should have been killed off threatened to turn into another two points lost. However, this was not to be the case and Brendan Rodgers’ honeymoon continues into September.

Earlier in the week, a stuttering, yet fighting performance against Tranmere put the Swans into the third round of the Carling Cup, but the draw was not kind, throwing up a tough away game at Peterborough United.

Perhaps the players took their disappointment at the draw onto the pitch after missing out on Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal et al. It was a stuttering first half display, but the Swans clicked into gear in the second period. At times last season, it felt like Nathan Dyer was the only creative spark, but now there are several outlets of attack and blistering pace available on both wings.

Most interestingly, whilst listening to the entertaining (and slightly biased) commentator on Swansea Bay Radio, it emerged that Jason Scotland had the opportunity to return to the Liberty. The source’s reliability is unclear; however it did get me thinking what might have been...

His record proves that he was class, and when it came to the crunch Scotland would invariably put the ball in the net.

Scotland did not leave for Wigan on the best terms, but last season, with the club struggling for goals, a loan move for Scotland was touted within fan circles. He was undoubtedly what the club needed.

Who knows where they would have ended the season with Scotland leading the line. Maybe it’s true what they say – you only miss something when it’s gone.

Despite the problems suffered between the club and agent, his contribution to our record-breaking promotion and successful first Championship season will never be forgotten and, similarly to Lee Trundle, a return would only damage his legacy.

To the vast majority, Scotland was a success during a sensational period of prosperity at the club. We should all be grateful to his efforts during that wonderful period, which has laid the foundations for a play-off challenge now.

(http://www.givemefootball.com/GMF/files/62/6293fb2c-04b8-44af-a81a-9983b6dd28b4.jpg)
Title: Re: Most Swansea fans would have welcomed Scotland return
Post by: Big Magician on September 02, 2010, 03:45:46 PM
good stuff
play yuh fitball
Post by: Midknight on September 02, 2010, 09:51:31 PM
This is the same fella they say couldn't shine Lee Trundle boots that they want back now?

Keep doing what yuh normally does soldier...
Post by: maxg on September 03, 2010, 07:12:49 AM
this cyah be the same fella that does get good waste down here ? who we does waste pick on ? who slow like molasses and cyah score goal for TT to save he life ? who ent so hot cause he only good for lower leagues ? as adjudged by he own Countrymen ! nah...the way they big up this other fella, ah feel he does want to believe the hype and want to go and show them why what they saying is true....the other fella who does play for we now, probably figure, well dem doh care bout me, and not liking me atall !  :'(
Post by: weary1969 on September 03, 2010, 07:15:21 AM
This is the same fella they say couldn't shine Lee Trundle boots that they want back now?

Keep doing what yuh normally does soldier...

So it does go sometimes
Title: I’d wished I’d stayed at Swansea, says Jason Scotland
Post by: Tallman on December 02, 2010, 05:48:13 AM
I’d wished I’d stayed at Swansea, says Jason Scotland
By Chris Wathan (Western Mail)

JASON SCOTLAND has revealed his regret at leaving Swansea City and says hes not the only player who wished theyd stayed a Swan.

A goalscoring hero at the Liberty, Scotland walked away from South Wales at the start of last season to join ex-boss Roberto Martinez in the Premier League with Wigan.

It was an opportunity the striker still says he could not refuse.

But, after a nightmare time in the top flight, an experience in which an honest Scotland says he let Martinez down, the 31-year-old now casts doubt on whether he should have brought an end to his free-scoring exploits at Swansea.

And as he prepares to face his former club for the first time this weekend, the current Ipswich striker suggests he is not alone in his regret.

I had to take the chance but I do regret leaving, said Scotland, who left the Swans in a £2m deal in August last year having hit an impressive 53 goals in two seasons.

I think thats the same for others. You speak to other guys and whether its now or two years down the line I think theyd miss what we had there because the standard of football we played was so amazing.

I enjoyed the football, my family loved it in Swansea, my kids loved it, I never really wanted to go but when the offer came in I needed to go and prove myself.

Scotland accepts that didnt work out as planned as a horrific time in front of goal followed, an experience stark in its contrast to his do-no-wrong time at Swansea.

But Scotlands sincerity suggests he would have rued the move regardless of top-flight fortunes, perhaps a nod to under-appreciating the platform he had to thrive with the Swans.

Others to have followed suit in leaving the Liberty include Jordi Gomez and Leon Britton, both still admitting they are yet to recapture Swansea form at their new homes at Wigan and Sheffield United respectively.

And, albeit before Scotlands time, Lee Trundle has recently revealed his regret at quitting the club for Bristol City.

It could be seen as a message for several current Swansea stars alerting the attentions of Premier suitors, although the fact Scotland reiterates the fact he had to leave when the big-time came calling represents the problem for the club as they impress at the top end of the Championship without the certainty of promotion to bring the footballing and financial rewards.

Yet those rewards were short-lived for Scotland after his move. After hitting 24 goals in his first Championship season, only one league goal came for the Soca Warrior while in Wigan colours, even shaving his trademark dreadlocks bringing no new luck for him as a Lactic.

And, while known for his warm, Caribbean smile during his Swans days, Scotland admits struggling to deal with his DW Stadium experience.

It was tough for me, he said. I just didnt score enough. It was getting me down and after games Id go home and just be thinking that I hadnt scored.

The gaffer didnt put any pressure on me; hed tell me he hadnt lost any faith in me and Graeme Jones was brilliant, theyd just keep telling me to do the right things.

But I would just think about not scoring all the time and I was putting pressure on myself which didnt help.

Even if I was playing well, as a striker its all about finding the net and when youre not doing that youre really not doing your job.

Having been so clinical in the Championship, it took Scotland 21 games before finding the net in the north west, another 12 before he followed up that FA Cup strike against Notts County with a first Premier League goal.

With Wigan taking their time to adapt under Martinez, Scotland was given little sympathy by supporters who perhaps unfairly saw him as out-of-his-depth.

Perhaps it wouldnt have been so bad if the team was doing really well and others were scoring and I was helping in different ways, he added. But the team needed me to be scoring and I wasnt doing it so it got on top of me.

Roberto brought me to Wigan and I felt like I was letting him down. There was a lot of expectation from others and there was a lot of expectation from myself and when I wasnt scoring, no matter what he said, I felt let Roberto down.

Scotland admits he never recovered from his fairly fruitless first season, jumping at the opportunity to rediscover his touch with the Tractor Boys.

Although boss Roy Keane seems intent in chopping and changing his frontline, Scotland has shown he can be a success once more alongside the likes of young England prospect Connor Wickham, one-time Swansea target Tamas Priskin and, more recently, fellow former Swan Rory Fallon.

Indeed, many Swans supporters feel his ability to lead the line in their system should have seen boss Brendan Rodgers go after the frontman, although it is understood the club opted against bringing him back to the Liberty for a variety of reasons.

Instead, he will line up against former team-mates at Portman Road with some of the old confidence back and fully expecting Swansea to continue imposing themselves on the division.

I wanted to prove myself again and I was prepared to go back to the Championship to do it, said Scotland on his move to Suffolk, a switch thats seen him score five times in 15 starts.

The challenge is there for me personally and to get the team up into the play-offs and pushing for the Premier League.

If we do, then Swansea will be there too. They are still playing that good football.

Meanwhile, former Swansea midfielder Andy Robinson yesterday had his contract at Leeds United cancelled by mutual consent.
Title: Re: I’d wished I’d stayed at Swansea, says Jason Scotland
Post by: dwn on December 02, 2010, 09:33:54 AM
If he didn't take the opportunity he would probably regret it as well though.
Post by: saint27 on December 02, 2010, 09:35:07 AM
He got to realize how difficult them prem could be especially with a lack of service
Post by: dwn on December 02, 2010, 09:40:06 AM
I think he was just actually out of his depth. Sad to say.

With Wigan taking their time to adapt under Martinez, Scotland was given little sympathy by supporters who perhaps unfairly saw him as out-of-his-depth.
Post by: giggsy11 on December 02, 2010, 10:09:24 AM

Dey still takin dey time to adapt!
Post by: PantherX on December 03, 2010, 09:36:48 AM

Dey still takin dey time to adapt!

Wigna is a rugby league town, they couldn't even fill their stadium when they were having decent results and now it's even worse.  I hope they get relegated so a team with fans that actually give a damn can take their place instead.
Post by: Bitter on December 04, 2010, 08:18:04 AM
Game on now
69th minute
Swansea just score a second in 6 minutes.

2-1 Swansea.

This is some um.. direct football
Post by: Bitter on December 04, 2010, 08:33:10 AM
Carlos just get tief a penalty. The ball come back to the other end. Swansea buss the net.

3-1 85th minute
Title: Scotland linked with Swans return
Post by: Tallman on January 27, 2011, 10:27:31 AM
Scotland linked with Swans return
TWTD.co.uk

Swansea sources are linking Town striker Jason Scotland with a move back to the Liberty Stadium. Scotland enjoyed a hugely successful two-year spell with the Swans between 2007 and 2009, netting 52 goals in 91 starts and 14 sub appearances.

The 31-year-old joined the Blues from Wigan for a fee understood to be in the region of £750,000 in the summer and has scored seven times in 22 starts and six substitute appearances. He is contracted to the Blues until the summer of 2012.

The Swans, who were interested in signing their former player in the summer before his move to Portman Road, yesterday allowed ex-Town frontman Shefki Kuqi to leave by mutual consent and Scotland may be seen as the man to replace the Finnish international in their squad, given his previous success playing in their lone striker’s role.

Last week, Blues boss Paul Jewell said he had no plans to allow any of the current squad to move on, although that could change if the right offer came in for players he doesn’t see as integral to his plans going forward.

Meanwhile, Town were amongst a long list of clubs represented at Bournemouth’s Dean Court on Saturday to watch the Cherries defeat fellow League One high flyers Brighton 1-0. Crystal Palace, Watford, Bristol City, QPR, Middlesbrough, Norwich and Cardiff are also reported to have sent scouts, while Sc**thorpe have been eyeing Bournemouth players at previous games.

The Lincolnshire club, along with Palace, are said to be chasing defender Jason Pearce, the Cherries skipper, and midfielder Marvin Bartley.

Watford have been linked with keeper Shwan Jalal, while midfielders Marc Pugh, Liam Feeney and Anton Robinson are also understood to be those interesting other clubs.
Title: Jason Scotland
Post by: NeathJack on February 04, 2011, 04:06:39 PM
Hi guys,  haven't posted on here since Jas left my club Swansea City to join Wigan so apologies.

Any of you guys friends with him on Facebook by any chance as apparently he has said on there he wants to come back to Swansea?

Anyone able to confirm?

Cheers in advance and all the best from rainy South Wales  :peace:
Post by: NeathJack on February 04, 2011, 04:14:43 PM
We couldn't afford the £750k in the summer but hopefully we'll be able to get him on loan for the rest of the season and he'll fire us to the promised land of the Premier League.

He's all we're missing now.
Title: Re: Jason Scotland
Post by: Tallman on February 04, 2011, 06:24:31 PM
Any of you guys friends with him on Facebook by any chance as apparently he has said on there he wants to come back to Swansea?

Anyone able to confirm?

Yes, his status said "Swansea I'm ready to come back home do something."
Title: Re: Jason Scotland
Post by: NeathJack on February 04, 2011, 06:30:12 PM

Anyone able to confirm?

Yes, his status said "Swansea I'm ready to come back home do something."

Thank you.  That confirms what I've heard elsewhere.  Massive news for us if it comes off  :praying:

All the best  :chilling:
Title: Jason Scotland eyeing return to Swansea City on loan deal
Post by: Tallman on February 08, 2011, 06:10:01 AM
Jason Scotland eyeing return to Swansea City on loan deal
By Chris Barney (South Wales Evening Post)

JASON Scotland is eyeing a return to Swansea City after crunch talks with Ipswich yesterday.

The Evening Post understands the Trinidad & Tobago striker is hoping to tie up a loan switch back to the Liberty Stadium after finding himself out of favour under Paul Jewell at Portman Road.

Scotland is currently Ipswich's leading scorer in the Championship following his switch from Wigan in August, but has only managed 14 minutes in their last four league games.

With Tamas Priskin and 17-year-old Connor Wickham — who scored a superb solo goal against Sheffield United at the weekend — the first-choice partnership at Ipswich, Scotland is believed to have told Jewell to either play him or send him out on loan.

With the loan window now open, Scotland, who turns 32 next week, is on the radar of up to four Championship clubs.

But it is understood the player is pushing for a reunion with the club at which he scored 53 goals during a two-year spell.

A source close to the striker told the Post: "Jason has found himself out of the starting XI and it's frustrating him.

"He came on for the last minute of their last match against Sheffield United, and a player of Jason's quality shouldn't be utilised like that.

"He spoke to Paul yesterday and he told him he needs to go out on loan if he's not going to play him, and there's only one club he wants to go to — Swansea.

"There are other clubs chasing him, but he's not interested in them. Jason enjoyed the best time of his career at Swansea and he is very keen on returning. He'd be coming home." Swansea boss Brendan Rodgers revealed his interest in signing Scotland 11 days ago, but said he had not contacted Ipswich.

Scotland has already revealed his regret over his decision to leave Swansea for Premier League side Wigan, while he was keen on a move back to South Wales before his switch to Ipswich. It is believed Jewell would allow Scotland to head back to Swansea on loan, but only if he can get another striker in.

"It does depend on whether Ipswich can get another forward in, but Jason Scotland back at Swansea would work out for everyone concerned," added the source.

"He watched the Cardiff game and believes he could help Swansea in their push for promotion. He's in contact regularly with a few of the Swansea players as he's still very friendly with them, and I think the supporters would want to see him back in a Swansea shirt too."
Title: Joining Swans would be “easy decision” - Scotland
Post by: Tallman on February 09, 2011, 06:30:35 AM
Joining Swans would be “easy decision” - Scotland
By Dave Gooderham (Green'Un24)

JASON Scotland has given his broadest hint yet that his Ipswich Town days are numbered - claiming that he has Paul Jewell’s blessing to go out on loan.

The Town striker has barely got a look in under new manager Paul Jewell and the 31-year-old admitted he needed to start playing games and that his former club Swansea City would be his preferred destination.

Scotland said: “I went to Ipswich to play football and I’m not doing that. I am at that point in my career when I need to be playing, not sitting on the bench. The new manager has come in and I have not had a chance, but I feel I have a lot to contribute.

“I had a word with him and he is happy to let me go. If Swansea are interested in me it would be great. I enjoyed my best time of my career there and it would be an easy decision for me.

“I’m not interested in going to any other club. It’s up to Swansea now to speak to Ipswich and make something happen.”

A loan move for Scotland, who joined Town on a two-year contract last August and has scored seven goals in 28 appearances, would appear to hinge on Jewell bringing in a new frontman in the first instance.

Scotland is due to play for a strong-looking Town reserves side against Oxford United at Didcot tonight alongside Luciano Civelli, Luke Hyam, Tommy Smith and Colin Healy.
Jewell unlikely to stand in Scotland’s way
By Elvin King (Green'Un24)

IPSWICH Town manager Paul Jewell is unlikely to stand in the way of striker Jason Scotland returning to Swansea City – as long as he finds a suitable replacement.

Players can start moving again next week when the loan market reopens and Scotland is reported to have asked Jewell for a move.

And Town legend Kevin Beattie says that he would not be surprised to see Scotland, who turns 32 later this month, move on.

“He has not looked comfortable to me,” said Beattie. “And to be honest there are others ahead of him in the Ipswich pecking order.”

Trinidad and Tobago international Scotland joined Town from Wigan on a two-year contract last August and has scored seven goals in 28 appearances.

He is expected to play in an Ipswich Combination reserve fixture at Didcot against Oxford United reserves tonight along with others who have been on the fringe recently like Luca Civelli, Luke Hyam, Tommy Smith and Colin Healy.

Tamas Priskin and 17-year-old Connor Wickham are Jewell’s current first-choice strike force although if Scotland was to move on it would lead rookie youngster Ronan Murray as the only alternative striker.

So Jewell would need to bring in a new loan front man if he was to release Scotland to the end of the season, and he is believed to be working on this.

Scotland scored 53 goals during a two-year spell at Swansea and a source close to the player was quoted as saying yesterday: “Jason has spoken to the Ipswich manager and told him he needs to go out on loan if he’s not going to play him.

“And there’s only one club he wants to go to — Swansea.

“There are other clubs chasing him, but he’s not interested in them.”

Swansea boss Brendan Rodgers revealed interest in signing Scotland, but said he had not contacted Ipswich.

Scotland is said to have watched Swansea lose to Cardiff on Sunday and he is said to believe that he could help Swansea in their push for promotion.

Town are bottom of the Combination table with Oxford at the top.
Title: Scotland must stay at Town
Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2011, 05:45:52 AM
Scotland must stay at Town
By Carl Marston (Green'Un24)

Manager Paul Jewell can ill afford to let the experienced marksman leave Portman Road at this moment in time, unless a ready replacement is found.

Wanted by Championship rivals Swansea City, on a loan deal, Scotland turned the spotlight away from his short-term future and towards his goal-scoring prowess on a pudding of a pitch in a 1-1 draw at Barnsley on Saturday.

The 31-year-old ex-Wigan striker, on as a substitute for the final 16 minutes, obliged with his eighth goal of the season to put Town 1-0 up on 83 minutes.

Alas, it was not enough to secure a fourth straight league win, because Jacob Mellis’s deflected shot, with virtually the last kick of the game, rescued a point for the Tykes.

Jewell’s attacking options are decidedly limited at the moment. Tamas Priskin operated as the lone striker at Oakwell, before making way for Scotland, while Connor Wickham again operated on the left wing.

The only other natural striker, teenager Ronan Murray, is currently struggling with a thigh strain, and even more crucially, leading scorer David Norris faces a spell on the sidelines.

Skipper Norris hobbled off after just 15 minutes with a twisted ankle and knee. His nine goals from midfield have been priceless this season, and his expected absence, for a few games at least, will put more onus on the likes of Scotland to keep scoring.

Jewell insisted: “I’d rather him (Scotland) be in the spotlight for scoring goals. He’s our player, and unless something else happens, I expect him to continue in this professional manner. He’s come on and scored a goal, and played well, so I’d rather be talking about Jason scoring goals for Ipswich, than him going somewhere else.”

Swansea have expressed a wish to recruit Scotland on loan – the window for permanent transfers is closed – in a bid to boost their push for promotion.

Jewell admitted last week that Scotland has “intimated that he is not particularly happy,” but the Town boss wants to keep his proven goal-poacher at Portman Road, especially as Swansea’s current offer (of loan arrangements) is a long way off what Town would even consider.

Asked about the current situation, Jewell explained: “You had better speak to Huw Jenkins (Swansea chairman), because I think he has a communication problem.

“Apparently he hasn’t spoken to me, but he has, so he must have a memory loss!

“There’s nothing going on there, as far as I am concerned. They came back with an offer that wasn’t good enough and I’m quite happy to keep Jason here.”

With regards the injury to skipper Norris, Jewell revealed: “He’s twisted both his ankle and his knee, which is a blow for us really. I expect he will have a scan.”

n Connor Wickham, who is rarely out of the spotlight, has been linked with a possible move to Newcastle when the transfer window reopens this summer, as a replacement for Andy Carroll.

n Derby County are reported to be keeping a close eye on defender Damien Delaney, whose current contract expires this summer.
Title: Scotland puts thoughts of Swansea move behind him
Post by: Tallman on March 04, 2011, 09:36:37 AM
Scotland puts thoughts of Swansea move behind him
TWTD.co.uk

Striker Jason Scotland says he’s put thoughts of a loan move back to Swansea behind him now he’s back in Paul Jewell's Town side. The 32-year-old, who faces his old club's biggest foes Cardiff on Saturday, looked set for a return to the Liberty Stadium last month having been on the bench for new manager Jewell’s early games in charge at Portman Road.

Scotland says that it was only a desire to play games which led to him look for the switch: “I wasn’t playing when I said that I wanted to leave. I spoke to the manager and Swansea were interested. But things have changed and now I’m playing, scoring goals and enjoying my football.

“I’m getting old in terms of football and I just want to be playing first team football week-in, week-out. Any player wants to be playing, no one wants to be sat on the bench.”

The Trinidad and Tobago international says he’s essentially happy with the way things have gone since returning to the side – “it’s gone pretty well” – but like everyone else was frustrated by Town’s inability to turn chances into goals against Portsmouth last week: “At half-time the manager was saying that the job’s not finished, that we were playing well but we need to finish off teams, and rightly so. At QPR it was the same, we were in the game for 45 minutes and we didn’t finish off our chances.

“Against Portsmouth we were bossing the game and we didn’t finish our chances and we got punished. That’s football. We have to make sure we punish teams.”

Scotland says he has no problem playing in the lone central striking role, a position he has occupied for most of his career: “When I was in Scotland I played with two strikers but since I’ve been in England, I’ve played as a lone striker with Swansea and at Wigan.

“I’m comfortable playing as a lone striker with people making things happen for me and putting the ball in the back of the net. It’s tough and there’s a lot of pressure on me, but I enjoy scoring goals and I enjoy pressure.

“I’ve fed on scraps all my career and scored goals playing as a lone striker, and most of all I’m happy to be back in the team.”

He says his current position suits him more than the one he tended to occupy under the club’s previous manager: “It’s kind if different. With Roy Keane and the system he played I think I played mostly behind the striker and it was difficult because he wanted me to do a defensive job as well.

“As a lone striker with a few out and out midfielders behind me, it’s easier knowing that the onus is for me to score goals rather than having any defensive work. It’s a different system and different style of playing.”

Scotland says he isn’t surprised that new manager Jewell is looking to bring in another striker but says he and his current team-mates will be looking to impress between now and the summer: “It’s a tough one for the manager. He’s come in and everyone is trying to prove themselves this season because next season he’ll want to bring in his players and change things. I’m just trying to prove myself and score goals.

“I think it’s 21 starts and nine goals, so I don’t think that’s a bad ratio. I think I missed five or six games and when the gaffer came I didn’t play for three or four. Although I want to do better, it’s not a bad record when you check it.”

Of those nine, only one has come away from home, which the former Dundee United and St Johnstone man says he is working on: “It’s something that I’m looking at and even the players remind me I’ve only scored one away. Last week they were saying ‘What happened?’ because I didn’t score at home where I have scored most of my goals.

“It’s never happened to me in past seasons and it’s something that I’m trying to fix but it’s difficult. Sometimes I have been starved of opportunities but sometimes I’ve been getting opportunities and I haven’t taken them, at Sc**thorpe and against Reading for example.”

The Blues frontman says his fellow Trinidadian and ex-Defence Force team-mate Carlos Edwards is excelling in the right-back role he has occupied in recent weeks, a position Scotland says he has long felt suited the former Sunderland man: “He’s been great at right-back. I told him five or six years ago he was a better right-back because he had the engine to go up and down and his recovery is good.

“It’s just for him to get a defensive frame of mind and for the defenders to talk to him. I also told him he was a better right-back because he doesn’t create enough chances for the strikers!” he joked.

Scotland says Edwards’s game changed after he suffered an injury while on international duty in 2004: “After his knee injury he stopped doing what he was doing as a winger, stopped going into tackles and things like that because he had a bad injury. After that I think he came back as a different player and everybody could see it.

“I know Carlos, I played with him week-in, week-out and for the national team, and everybody thought he was better at right-back after that happened. Carlos played right-back at the World Cup for a couple of games and he did well.”

The striker believes his friend could play the role for some while yet: “He’s a really, really good athlete, he’s not like me, I can’t move, but he’s a really good athlete and I can see him playing at right-back for years to come.”

Scotland enjoyed the experience of the South Wales derby during his time at Swansea - “I think it’s the most fierce I’ve ever played in” – and is hoping to continue his good record against the Bluebirds tomorrow: “I’m looking forward to a nice warm welcome as a former Swansea player!

“I don’t think I’ve ever lost against Cardiff. Hopefully I can keep that going and obviously a goal would be nice and to celebrate in front of our fans.”

He’d also be chuffed to see his old team-mates pip their Welsh counterparts for a place in the Premier League: “Obviously I would be buzzing if Swansea went up rather than Cardiff! I would be delighted for the boys if they went up and Cardiff don’t.”

A rare Scotland away goal or two for the Blues on Saturday could help that become a reality.
Title: Swans in for Scotland
Post by: theworm2345 on July 12, 2011, 07:19:24 AM
Swans in for Scotland
Former favourite could be heading back to Wales

Skysports.com understands Swansea City have entered talks with Ipswich Town about re-signing Jason Scotland.

The 32-year-old striker was a big hero to the Swans faithful during a stint at the Liberty Stadium between 2007 and 2009 that yielded 45 goals in just 90 games.

Such prolific form attracted the attention of Wigan Athletic but his debut campaign in the Premier League was largely one of disappointment.

Thereafter a switch to Ipswich followed and to date at Portman Road he has scored 10 goals in 39 appearances.

Swansea boss Brendan Rodgers is convinced the Trinidadian hit-man can cut it in the top flight and is ready to offer him a fresh chance in the Premier League.

Initial talks have begun between the two parties, with Scotland likely to be interested in being reunited with the club where he enjoyed the best of spell of his career.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_7033386,00.html
Post by: Mose on July 12, 2011, 08:51:11 AM
I would be really happy to see him get another chance. Hope it works out for him.
Post by: Madd Ras#13 on July 12, 2011, 12:26:26 PM
if so den Scotland is one lucky fella...good luck hoss
Post by: just cool on July 12, 2011, 04:41:46 PM
Would've love to see darryl roberts offered an opportunity like this. not hating on jason but some guys got all the luck.
Post by: theworm2345 on July 12, 2011, 05:16:41 PM
Would've love to see darryl roberts offered an opportunity like this. not hating on jason but some guys got all the luck.
As they say you make your own luck, Scotty did incredibly well for Swansea so if this goes through it will be some sort of repayment.
Post by: andre samuel on July 12, 2011, 08:13:05 PM

Some guys have all the luck?  you clearly dont know Jason Scotland's story.  Do u know that he was once denied a work permit in Scotland because he was deemed "not good enough for the SPL".

As a result, he lost out on a deal with Dundee Utd and had to play with another club.

He made his own luck with Swansea by scoring 45 goals in 90 games.
Post by: just cool on July 12, 2011, 09:37:44 PM

Some guys have all the luck?  you clearly dont know Jason Scotland's story.  Do u know that he was once denied a work permit in Scotland because he was deemed "not good enough for the SPL".

As a result, he lost out on a deal with Dundee Utd and had to play with another club.

He made his own luck with Swansea by scoring 45 goals in 90 games.
Yuh miss the point fardder, as i said , not taking anything away from the bredder, it just turns out that the fella seem to have someone looking over him ala :angel:.  fact of the matter iz that i would've liked to see stern whitley or DR playing in the prem, not saying that jason don't deserve it, it's just that i jealous that none of my favorite players never made it to the bright lights.  that's all. what can i say, kudos to the fella.
Post by: truetrini on July 12, 2011, 09:53:19 PM
if stern is one of yuh favorite players yuh shoulda know he play in de EPL already
Post by: just cool on July 13, 2011, 03:34:12 AM
if stern is one of yuh favorite players yuh shoulda know he play in de EPL already
Thanx for tellin me. :whew: i don't know what i would've done without your precious input.  :notworthy:
Title: Swansea City in talks over Jason Scotland
Post by: Tallman on July 13, 2011, 05:43:11 AM
Swansea City in talks over Jason Scotland
South Wales Evening Post

SWANSEA City are in negotiations to bring Jason Scotland back to the Liberty, with Ipswich demanding £500,000 for the striker.

Though Swansea officially declined to comment on reports linking them to the 32-year-old, the Evening Post understands chairman Huw Jenkins was last night holding talks with Tractor Boys chief executive Simon Clegg over the player.

Ipswich are believed to be willing for their asking price to be broken down into payments linked to Scotland's appearance and goal-scoring record.

But Swansea want him for free.

Brendan Rodgers is keen to add to his attacking options after breaking the club's transfer record to land Danny Graham in a £3.5 million deal from Watford.

Eidur Gudjohnsen, Leroy Lita and Marvin Emnes are all forwards believed to be in his sights.

And it has emerged that former top-scorer Scotland is also on Rodgers's wish list.

Scotland only arrived at Portman Road a year ago, but could be surplus to requirements next season after Ipswich boss Paul Jewell signed Michael Chopra and Nathan Ellington this summer, while he also has Tamas Priskin among his ranks.

Brighton are among a clutch of Championship clubs also chasing the Trinidadian's signature, but it is understood Scotland would jump at the chance to return to Swansea, where he enjoyed the best spell of his career.

Scotland scored 50 goals in two seasons at Swansea under Roberto Martinez.

He then followed the Spaniard to Premier League Wigan where he struggled to make an impact, scoring just twice in 36 appearances.

After moving to Ipswich he netted ten times last term despite playing in a team that often adopted more direct tactics not suited to his strengths.

Swansea's discussions with Ipswich could be complicated by the recent public spat between the clubs.

Clegg called for the Premier League to impose a transfer embargo on Swansea last month after claiming they owed payments connected to the deal that saw Priskin head to the Liberty on loan last season.

That issue has since been resolved after Swansea settled the debt.

Meanwhile, Swansea's pursuit of Newcastle winger Wayne Routledge appears to have hit a stumbling block. The 26-year-old still has two years to run on a lucrative contract at St James' Park which the string of clubs chasing him are not prepared to match.

Swansea along with West Ham, Birmingham, Nottingham Forest, Leicester and Cardiff are believed to be tracking a player who impressed while on loan at Championship title- winners Queens Park Rangers last season.

The player is trying to get his Newcastle deal paid-off, but the Magpies have so far been unwilling to agree to that.

Unless that situation changes, the player is unlikely to go anywhere.

But speculation that another Swansea target could be on his way to South Wales was fuelled yesterday after Emnes did not travel for Middlesbrough's pre-season tour of Slovenia, officially because of a groin problem.

Another player linked to Swansea, Lita, did leave with the Boro squad.
Title: Scotland not in my thinking – Rodgers
Post by: Tallman on July 14, 2011, 06:32:08 AM
Scotland not in my thinking – Rodgers
By Dave Gooderham (Green'Un24)

JASON Scotland’s hopes of a return to Swansea and Premier League football next season appear to have been dealt a blow.

Swans boss Brendan Rodgers has revealed that he is in the market for a new striker – but that the Ipswich Town frontman was not on his radar.

It had been rumoured that the 32-year-old was a surprise target for the Premier League new boys with Scotland slipping down the pecking order at Portman Road and manager Paul Jewell still looking to add a third new forward to his ranks.

But Rodgers, who has already bought £3.5 million striker Danny Graham from Watford, said: “Jason Scotland hasn’t come into my thinking. Of course we need another goalkeeper, a centre-half, another striker and a winger.

“I’m quite relaxed about it. I know what we need and I’m waiting to get the right type in. I’m quite patient so I’m not going to rush and panic.”
Post by: theworm2345 on July 14, 2011, 06:41:25 PM
Scotty scored today for Ipswich in preseason against Don Bosch of the Netherlands, Ipswich won 3-1
Title: Top 25 Most Influential People In Our Rise – No 17 Jason Scotland
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2013, 04:23:06 PM
Top 25 Most Influential People In Our Rise – No 17 Jason Scotland
By Steven (sosfanzine.com)

Twelve months ago the SoS team got together and discussed a new feature we would run throughout the season discussing who had been the most influential people in Swansea City’s rise up through the division’s. After much debate we settled on our top 25 and revealed them through each issue throughout last season. As a special treat for you throughout the summer we will reveal one a day throughout the next few weeks until we get to number one. Please note though this was down last summer so the likes of Michael Laudrup and Michu are not included in our 25.

Today’s person is one of the most proflific strikers in Swansea City history.

17. Jason Scotland

Who – Trinidad and Tobago striker 2007-9

Why? – As far as jobs go then replacing fans favourite Lee Trundle is up there with one of the hardest for any incoming player. He was initially signed to partner the Scouse striker but after he left for Bristol City the burden of scoring goals was placed firmly on the Trinidad and Tobago frontman’s shoulders. He didn’t disappoint. That season he found the net 29 times to help his new club romp to the League 1 title which helped him collect the player of the year award for that campaign. The goals continued in 2008/9 with 24 strikes as Swansea finished 8th in the Championship – their best finish since the 1983/4 campaign. He then followed ex-boss Roberto Martinez to Wigan for a cool £2 million a hefty profit on the £25,000 fee paid to Dundee United two years previous.

Best Moment – Becoming the fastest player to reach 50 goals for the club

Worst Moment – Not being fully appreciated by the Jack Army