Sports => Football => Topic started by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 11:38:32 AM

Title: Latapy from Legend to Scapegoat
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 11:38:32 AM
I decided to make a new poll for this because it seems as thou the faithfuls from before have a different perspective on what this national team needs and don't.

Title: Re: Latapy from Hero to Zero
Post by: palos on September 08, 2010, 12:04:49 PM
Latas will ALWAYS be a HERO hoss

His deeds ON THE PITCH will never be erased from our memories no matter how much tata he might do as a coach.

Russell Latapy, is, always was, and will always be a LEGEND of T&T football.

Yes his coaching stint leavin a lot to be desired but is not like he gettin de resources dat peeps like Beenie and even Bertille dem had available to them. 
Post by: Marcos on September 08, 2010, 12:09:31 PM
If this was any other country latapy would NOT be able to walk the streets without security.

Stop talking sh*t
Post by: Marcos on September 08, 2010, 12:11:00 PM
Everytime he puts that shit team on the pitch i feel like commiting suicide

Please spare us from your ignorance.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 08, 2010, 12:17:55 PM

His deeds ON THE PITCH will never be erased from our memories no matter how much tata he might do as a coach.

Yes his coaching stint leavin a lot to be desired but is not like he gettin de resources dat peeps like Beenie and even Bertille dem had available to them. 

Thanks palos. Talk done.

The OP clealy has problems above and beyond the national team

Post by: Trini _2026 on September 08, 2010, 12:26:30 PM

like what ? ..... access to players 3 times a week for training ... warm up games etc .... this team should be doing better  ...
Post by: Andre on September 08, 2010, 12:28:30 PM
when is the last time we play wit a full side e.g. jones, birchall, jloyd, etc.

maybe latas experimenting to find some new blood?

maybe he bosses forcing the selection of certain players?
Post by: congo on September 08, 2010, 12:30:05 PM
Latapy will always be a hero to me and I will forever respect his contribution to the game...That being said I don't believe that he is the man to take us to the World Cup.. Our national team is filled with so much problems already that any capable and experienced coach would find succeeding extremely difficult..I am slowly beginning to believe that Latapy is being set up to fail by the administration..Get out while you still can.!!!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 08, 2010, 12:36:06 PM

Thanks palos. Talk done.

The OP clealy has problems above and beyond the national team

You are correct! We should give latapy a medal of honor for his continous failures.

Wtf you people expect from me? Understanding?" Understanding was the loss against Jamaica at home, understanding was the failure to qualify for the world cup. How much longer do we have to suffer from his poor selection and tactics before someone goes f**kin nutts ...

If yuh going "nutts" because a local football team and coach shitting themselves I suggest you stop watching football. Yuh talking about suicide and all kinda assholery...Calm the fack down and stop taking it personally. They not doing it to hurt yuh feelings, they trying, they just not good enough at this time.

Post by: Andre on September 08, 2010, 12:36:47 PM
is the coach or the entire system?

we eh have no great setta results since 2006 except for the semi round of the last WC qualification run.

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/fixturesresults/gender=m/index.html#

look how we only playing local players against the like of guyana and st. kitts upmteen times but JA (who eh make  WC since 98) playing their full side vs. argentina, peru, ecuador, nigeria, south africa, and canada.

we should win the next 4 though - believe, antigua, st. lucia and guyana.

it always nice to tap up chirren smaller than you.

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=jam/fixturesresults/gender=m/index.html
Post by: Brownsugar on September 08, 2010, 12:41:04 PM
I say take his passport away and send him back to portugal where they dont know how bad he is

You burn yours yet??
Post by: congo on September 08, 2010, 12:43:27 PM

we eh have no great setta results since 2006 except for the semi round of the last WC qualification run.

http://www.fifa.com/associations/association=tri/fixturesresults/gender=m/index.html#

What makes Latapy so sacrosanct that we feel we shouldn't question his capabilities..Latapy doesn't deserve any favours from us. If this was any other coach we would not be accepting these results and this should be no different.
Post by: Jah Gol on September 08, 2010, 12:45:06 PM
This guy kinda different.
Post by: Andre on September 08, 2010, 12:46:07 PM

What makes Latapy so sacrosanct that we feel we shouldn't question his capabilities..Latapy doesn't deserve any favours from us. If this was any other coach we would not be accepting these results and this should be no different.

i eh saying latas is a boss or even a good coach. but until u field your best players vs. better opponents, the TTFF wasting trini football supporter time.

i rather go see horse racing than a t&t pro league XI vs. small island side another time. nothing accomplished for coach, country or players.
Post by: Big Magician on September 08, 2010, 12:53:37 PM
easy shotta
Post by: FF on September 08, 2010, 01:05:58 PM

What resources does he need to put out respectable performances against de likes of Jamaica and Panama??
and which ones he don't have right now?? look man

shotta12 need to take ah xanax or something though
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 01:14:15 PM
easy shotta

sorry man... ah cyah take this no more.. i exploded..

LOL WHO VOTE YES?
Post by: D.H.W on September 08, 2010, 01:17:17 PM
easy shotta

sorry man... ah cyah take this no more.. i exploded..

LOL WHO VOTE YES?

latapy  :D
Post by: palos on September 08, 2010, 01:17:37 PM

What resources does he need to put out respectable performances against de likes of Jamaica and Panama??
and which ones he don't have right now?? look man

shotta12 need to take ah xanax or something though

Breds....I not advocatin FOR Latas as coach yuh know.

I find he doin shit too.  But regardless of whether he is a good coach or not, de fact remains dat he still doh have de resources available to him dat other coaches had.

ANYBODY operatin in dat environment would struggle.   Would they struggle as bad?  Maybe not.  Wim operated in a similar environment and we saw decent, competitive performances.  So to me....Wim is a much better option than Latas.  

But dat is not de point really.  De point is, what Latas has been given to work with is sub par.  When he had the team durin de Hex, people was pointin out dat de team was performin much better then than when Maturana was in charge.  If daz de case, dis proves dat as a coach, yuh only as good as de players yuh have at yuh disposal.  It also shows how good Wim was.  And ah still say Maturana was and is a much better coach dan Latas.
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 01:27:04 PM
Breds everyone here that knows anything about football can tell you we have  serious defensive problems.

It is nothing new, teams can score anytime on us, Costa Rica proved it in Tobago and even then latapy have changed everything but his backline of Cupid, Makan, Abu Bakr and Akilie, none of which is barely pro league level.

Latapy continuously decides to keep faith in the players when they have shown no qualities or improvement after so many training sessions and practice matches against minnows in the area.

Now we have all pleaded in the past about our defensive players and structure but latapy probably doesn't read these boards, don't care or doing something illegal with this national team which is betting on the opposition to win money. This is all I can come up with.

How many times and why would you risk your carreer on proven failures over and over again?

If he isn't stupid then wtf is he? He certainly ain't no national hero of mine. THATS FOR DAMM SURE
Post by: FF on September 08, 2010, 01:30:04 PM
Breds....I not advocatin FOR Latas as coach yuh know.

I find he doin shit too.  But regardless of whether he is a good coach or not, de fact remains dat he still doh have de resources available to him dat other coaches had.

ANYBODY operatin in dat environment would struggle.   Would they struggle as bad?  Maybe not.  Wim operated in a similar environment and we saw decent, competitive performances.  So to me....Wim is a much better option than Latas.  

But dat is not de point really.  De point is, what Latas has been given to work with is sub par.  When he had the team durin de Hex, people was pointin out dat de team was performin much better then than when Maturana was in charge.  If daz de case, dis proves dat as a coach, yuh only as good as de players yuh have at yuh disposal.  It also shows how good Wim was.  And ah still say Maturana was and is a much better coach dan Latas.

I hear yuh, but he shooting heself in de foot by not calling the MLS and A-league based players who are available...
Post by: Trinimassive on September 08, 2010, 01:35:38 PM
Some people actually vote for CAN I KILL MYSELF NOW ???

Ah think some counseling might be in order
Post by: big dawg on September 08, 2010, 01:43:07 PM
Guys look at the utube link for the match against panama once more. Look at how these trini players fighting with each other. Look at bleeder cussing men. Look at the discipline of this team and think to yourself is this our side?

Jus look at the way we played up front, not one good build up on goal, it was scrappy and makeshift. Panama looked more fit and had a game plan it was clear we didn't have a clue wtf we doing.

These players either don't have any pride or going threw some kinda mental depression, why are they on the field?

There is so many things wrong with this team is it unbelieveable that latas had this team for so long, jus look at these losers. I am not going to be part of this. I am a hard worker and if I can't get a job done the way it should be guess what I will come out and say it, not mislead a nation into thinking anything different.

Latapy if you are reading this, you have shamed this country time and time again, it is time for you to leave.

Point well taken..but who do you recommend as a plausible coach (right now) to replace Latapy ?
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 01:49:48 PM
I would give a pro league coach a trial, it is the best thing we can do for an interm coach until we can find a suitable replacement.

A decent pro league none biased coach will know the player pool enough to make solid decisions.

In the meantime TTFF should suspend latapy and the team should do without a coach until Jack find someone we can afford. I am no pro scout for low budget coaches, but I know when a team isn't going anywhere.

If we call in some of the faithful boys in the USA win the digicel cup and put some money in TTFF pockets we might find things easier than it is.
Also with this current squad of players who in their right minds will go pay to see this nonsense?

How will this group earn money or the respect of the public continuing on this path of lazy wileman tactics?
Post by: reggae-fan on September 08, 2010, 02:01:03 PM
look how we only playing local players against the like of guyana and st. kitts upmteen times but JA (who eh make  WC since 98) playing their full side vs. argentina, peru, ecuador, nigeria, south africa, and canada.

Get that straight, Jamaica are not using its "full side". for these friendly games. Noneof the guys in England played in the last 3 friendlies, except Omar Daley, who last represent Jamaica over 2 years ago.

Also, your football is only as good as the bench. If you rely on only 11 players to win games everytime you play, what will happen when thee players not available?

Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 02:03:25 PM
^^ This is not the thread to start defending Jamaica, yuh want tuh get flamed? Continue
Title: DON'T BLAME LATAS!
Post by: Coach on September 08, 2010, 02:04:20 PM
Put the blame on the organization that lacks the VISION to see that you can't put someone to coach a team... that is rebuilding... at this level with little coaching experience.

Leave Latas there for a few more years of embarrassing result and he will get better... but someone got to tell TTFF that you don't put a person to coach at the international level to learn how to coach.

I DON'T THINK THAT TTFF ORGANIZATION HAS SOME CLUE AS TO WHAT NATIONAL PRIDE MEANS FOR OVER ONE MILLION FANS??

Here is a small advise for Latas.. when you coaching don't think of how easy it was for you as a player. These players you are coaching will never come close to your standard as a player. Treat these players as very weak players and the only way to help them... is to coach BASICS and don't take it for granted that they know how to play basics at the international level, cause playing basics football at the international level in NOT the same as as playing in the TT pro league, these player just don't understand this but it's a coach job to give them a wake up call.
Title: Re: DON'T BLAME LATAS!
Post by: saga pinto on September 08, 2010, 02:40:25 PM
Put the blame on the organization that lacks the VISION to see that you can't put someone to coach a team... that is rebuilding... at this level with little coaching experience.

Leave Latas there for a few more years of embarrassing result and he will get better... but someone got to tell TTFF that you don't put a person to coach at the international level to learn how to coach.

I DON'T THINK THAT TTFF ORGANIZATION HAS SOME CLUE AS TO WHAT NATIONAL PRIDE MEANS FOR OVER ONE MILLION FANS??

Here is a small advise for Latas.. when you coaching don't think of how easy it was for you as a player. These players you are coaching will never come close to your standard as a player. Treat these players as very weak players and the only way to help them... is to coach BASICS and don't take it for granted that they know how to play basics at the international level, cause playing basics football at the international level in NOT the same as as playing in the TT pro league, these player just don't understand this but it's a coach job to give them a wake up call.

Breds ah piece of advice,think before yuh write.I was'nt going to respond but I figure I go be the experiment....
Post by: Coach on September 08, 2010, 02:58:55 PM
Sorry Saga... if you don't understand the game at this level.
Post by: just cool on September 08, 2010, 04:05:41 PM
Sorry Saga... if you don't understand the game at this level.
:timeout:  What is there to understand??!! the man is clueless!! fellas like dunga and maradona who qualified and took their teams to the WC and got to the quarter finals, ( mind you, which is a huge achievement) was not good enough for their federation to continue on as coach.

So you suggesting that we aim low when other federations are hell bent on better results? that's why TNT does always underachieve, BC we are an extremely unambitious country. in 2008 we continued with another clueless coach and he cost us a trip to the region's only prestigious and show piece tournament( the gold cup) where regional players gain exposure to international scouting.

now you suggesting that we leave latas for another two yrs? yuh fall and bump yuh head as ah baby or what??

latas insist on using fellas who since maturana time was given countless opportunities tuh prove their worth and improve as defenders, but in spite of all the failures they are still part of the national defensive fixtures even though they continue to show that they're incapable (eh able) wid this level of football.

and in spite of the obvious, russell continues down the same path without regard or concern for the true hardcore fans. he have tuh go! not next week, not next month, not next yr, but NOW!! or else he will cost us another trip to the gold cup, and god knows what else!
Post by: madness on September 08, 2010, 04:15:57 PM
those plays are not good cuz de problem in the players guys. you c that poor quality skill of play.
Post by: Ngozi on September 08, 2010, 04:45:02 PM
NO he is stupid and everything he did good is been forgotten day by day. Everytime he puts that shit team on the pitch i feel like commiting suicide and he keeps putting faith in these LOSERS!

Latapy is so f**kin stupid he built this team around bleeders. HOW RETARDED CAN U BE?

Latapy is the most dumbest idiot in world football.

He is no hero, he is a scumbag THAT IS FULL OF SHIT. NO EDUCATION 

Saddist what really going on with you ... like you on drugs or something?
We get it he ain't the greatest coach ... no need to go overboard ... wtf
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 04:48:40 PM
We need a coach for our head coach. Maybe I went overboard and I am sorry. My country football gets me very emotional especially when I know we can do so much better even with a local squad.
Post by: Bakes on September 08, 2010, 04:50:11 PM
I say take his passport away and send him back to portugal where they dont know how bad he is

You burn yours yet??

With a little luck he'll actually follow thru on that... and a couple of the other wayward threats he making.
Post by: just cool on September 08, 2010, 04:51:02 PM
those plays are not good cuz de problem in the players guys. you c that poor quality skill of play.
Yeh , but who picking them and coaching them?
Post by: Bourbon on September 08, 2010, 04:56:47 PM

You burn yours yet??

With a little luck he'll actually follow thru on that... and a couple of the other wayward threats he making.

Yeah he have me looking forward to de belize game more.

Anyhow.

One of de fundamental problems is de players he hadda work with. You cannot tell me that at the national level....a coach hadda be teaching players fundamentals. So de problem far deeper than that.

What i WILL hold latapy accountable for is de lack of defensive structure which would obviously impact the team. The confidence is obviously lacking for the team to do anything offensively because defensively they are poor. Maybe is due to the fact that he never really had a defensive mindset as a player is adding to this. But he needs help defensively.

Post by: Brownsugar on September 08, 2010, 05:35:09 PM
Maybe I went overboard

Understatement of the year..... ::) ::)
Post by: STEUPS!! on September 08, 2010, 06:19:43 PM

You burn yours yet??

ent!

he always have some shit to say. so i usually ignore dat
Post by: just cool on September 08, 2010, 06:21:04 PM

You burn yours yet??

Yeah he have me looking forward to de belize game more.

Anyhow.

One of de fundamental problems is de players he hadda work with. You cannot tell me that at the national level....a coach hadda be teaching players fundamentals. So de problem far deeper than that.

What i WILL hold latapy accountable for is de lack of defensive structure which would obviously impact the team. The confidence is obviously lacking for the team to do anything offensively because defensively they are poor. Maybe is due to the fact that he never really had a defensive mindset as a player is adding to this. But he needs help defensively.

Yuh ever read the article where terry fenwick had to pull his players from the national training sessions? well in case you didn't.

he said that latas was not helping his players BC of the lack of intensity in training , when he expected an upgrade of what his players was accustomed to, it turned out that they/ his players actually were getting less in terms of tactical awareness and fitness.

if latapy really love the country and our football he would know how much we suffered over the last 5 yrs and do the decent thing by tellin jack he/ latapy is over his head and we should implement a stallwart coach.
but knowing latas and his power tripping self, he wont budge.
Post by: Agent Jack Bauer on September 08, 2010, 06:35:00 PM
 :rotfl: @ resources......so the idiot took the job to be a lame duck.........stupes........if he was not getting the job under the right conditions then he SHOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN IT...........but he reaping what he so with Jack anyways so good.
Post by: SUPA on September 08, 2010, 07:24:35 PM
As a member said Latapy will always be a hero. Whether he become a good coach yes or no. And who ever dat mess wid him they will not need security but a change ofname and address. Yes I just said it. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Title: Re: Latapy from Legend to Scapegoat
Post by: Storeboy on September 08, 2010, 08:41:04 PM
Latapy was a great, world class, player and will always be regarded as such.  However, that does not mean that we should sacrifice the development and success of our football team to his ineptness as a coach.  It is obvious after two years, that he is lost as a coach and tactician.  Even if the home grown players are not as good as the foreign based players, after two years there has been no improvement.  In fact, but we have taken retrograde steps.  There seems to be no system, no plan, no strategy, no design in the play.  Just kick and run - the way we used to play as 10 year-olds in the yard.  And for professional players, even for TT professionals, the skill level is horrendous.  basic ball control skills seem to be missing.  Just trapping and controlling the ball seems to be a challenge for these players.
Camps and company obviously are not allowed to make any moves or do anything without Jack Warner's approval and since Jack Warner is not paying attention (busy as Minister of Works), the incompetence of the TTFF rears its ugly head even higher than it has ever been in my lifetime - and I am 59 years old.  Does the TTFF administration have no shame?  Do they feel no compulsion to act when our team is seen around the world playing like we just discovered soccer, instead of just 5 short years ago holding Sweden to a 0-0 draw in the WC 2006 in Germany?  Please, I beg the TTFF, please do something!  Get a coach! Call our foreign professionals - all of them.  Let's get this right!
Post by: davidephraim on September 08, 2010, 08:50:01 PM

FF what about players. He doesnt have players at least not the core of local players he is trying to accrue. Of course when the big team re-assembles these players would be hard-pressed to find a spot. This is what our locals have to offer and you have to live with it. We dont fight enough, want it enough, spirited enough, run enough, trap enough, complete simple passes enough.  De only ting yuh could do with this bunch is to pray. All our players are spark-lets not star-lets and the under 20 or under 23 are miles away from beating Jamaica so dis is de best team we have (locals) and they arent good enough. Deal with it.
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 11:23:04 PM
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro2012/news/newsid=1525044.html

Stoilov steps down as Bulgaria coach

Stoilov resigned as Bulgaria coach after his side's home defeat by Montenegro, conceding that "our chances of advancing are disappearing" following a second successive loss.

Stanimir Stoilov has resigned as Bulgaria coach following his side's 1-0 defeat by Montenegro at the Vasil Levski National Stadium in Sofia on Tuesday.

The result followed Bulgaria's 4-0 reverse in England in their opening UEFA EURO 2012 qualifier and leaves them bottom of Group G after two matches. "This was my last game as coach of Bulgaria," Stoilov said. "We lost and our chances of progressing are disappearing. Losing to Montenegro was too much."

The 43-year-old took charge of the national team in January 2009 having previously held the position for two games as caretaker coach in June 2007. Bulgaria are next in action on 8 October when they take on Wales in Cardiff
Post by: SUPA on September 09, 2010, 06:52:58 PM
I cud have sworn I saw a real top ah d line post from Preacher. Now ah looking fuh it an cah find it. Huh. Any way yuh point well taken Shotta. Cool.
Post by: AirMan on September 09, 2010, 10:10:57 PM
poll results speak volumes
Post by: jamaica2099 on September 10, 2010, 07:50:19 AM
The #1 reason why Theodore "Tappa" Whitmore is our national coach. No money in the JFF piggybank. ;D