Sports => Football => Topic started by: coache on September 08, 2010, 08:39:30 PM

Title: Latapy is not ready for this level of Coaching
Post by: coache on September 08, 2010, 08:39:30 PM
Experience should not be gained at the expense of the players on the National team.This not good for the players' confidence.I believe that a coach has to go through a lot at lower levels before getting a National outfit.Latapy was given this opportunity because he is who he is.Coaching is a different ball of wax.
Title: Re: Latapy is not ready for this level of Coaching
Post by: weary1969 on September 08, 2010, 08:48:41 PM
Experience should not be gained at the expense of the players on the National team.This not good for the players' confidence.I believe that a coach has to go through a lot at lower levels before getting a National outfit.Latapy was given this opportunity because he is who he is.Coaching is a different ball of wax.

DOG BITES MAN
Post by: Deeks on September 08, 2010, 08:58:20 PM

is only practice game.
Post by: chelsealife on September 08, 2010, 09:25:28 PM

is only practice game.
practicing to lose
Post by: D.H.W on September 08, 2010, 09:34:30 PM
crick crack monkey break he back for a piece of pomerack
Post by: soccerman on September 08, 2010, 09:51:37 PM
Agreed :salute:
Title: Re: Latapy is not ready for this level of Coachingf
Post by: SUPA on September 08, 2010, 10:15:49 PM
Fork all ah all yes. Everything is Latapy. How about de fork in local players are bunch of jerk offs. Fuh now ah holding wid meh M@# and not giving up until Jones Edwards Me Mum Hyland etc join d team. Den I will pass my final judgement. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Preacher on September 08, 2010, 10:42:30 PM
Supa you could hold on if you want.  But check this:

1. Beenie says.."I already have my coaching staff, Latapy will join my team as a player"   Beenie forced him to play only and our campaign is turned around with his inclusion into the side.

2. Yorkie says.."Latas refused to play in the world cup games because he wanted to coach."  Read the Flex interview.  Maybe if he played against Sweden and England things maybe different.  Instead based on what Yorke said, he put himself over the team in a World Cup.  >:(

3. A blind man could see the Afro man was being undermined by Latapy's ambitions.  We use to bawl about A Edwards and why Afro man picking them.  WELL THEY ARE STILL THERE!!!  I wonder who was picking them?

4. Only once in a while fairytale and magic thing does happen.  The rest of the real world have to rely on sound preparation and planning.

So I don't know what you holding out for the foreign based for.... he had them during qualifying and he couldn't coach em..So what difference?  Latas messing we up bad bad bad..  This is the worst football I have ever seen us play...The absolute worst.  People happy because we string some passes together.  Look where we reach.
Title: Re: Latapy is not ready for this level of Coachingf
Post by: Spursy on September 08, 2010, 10:47:05 PM
Everything is Latapy.
If Brain Lara was we head coach with back to back results under the conditions the answer would still be YES.
He is responsible for this team and how this team represents this country.

Now that I have calmed down from the emotional breakdown after the JA and now.. Panama?
Under Latapy I felt like my country was the Faroe Islands. Poor lads, only time you read about them it is a slaughter or the end of a losing streak for the opposing team. No wonder Italy are world powers.. they been beating up on these poor people for decades ...
Post by: sjahrain on September 09, 2010, 04:03:58 AM
Instant gratification will not be had,it took us some time to be in this mess and it will also be a while before we can safely see our way forward
Support rather than tear down
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 09, 2010, 04:17:34 AM

1. Beenie says.."I already have my coaching staff, Latapy will join my team as a player"   Beenie forced him to play only and our campaign is turned around with his inclusion into the side.

2. Yorkie says.."Latas refused to play in the world cup games because he wanted to coach."  Read the Flex interview.  Maybe if he played against Sweden and England things maybe different.  Instead based on what Yorke said, he put himself over the team in a World Cup.  >:(

3. A blind man could see the Afro man was being undermined by Latapy's ambitions.  We use to bawl about A Edwards and why Afro man picking them.  WELL THEY ARE STILL THERE!!!  I wonder who was picking them?

4. Only once in a while fairytale and magic thing does happen.  The rest of the real world have to rely on sound preparation and planning.

So I don't know what you holding out for the foreign based for.... he had them during qualifying and he couldn't coach em..So what difference?  Latas messing we up bad bad bad..  This is the worst football I have ever seen us play...The absolute worst.  People happy because we string some passes together.  Look where we reach.

The afro man stated some of the ideas were latapy's when they fired him ...... hmm
Post by: Feliziano on September 09, 2010, 04:51:23 AM

Ent..I was telling allyuh long time that latapy was the one undermining Maturana and we finally see it with we own eye at one of the games up here..remeber we losing and Maturana pose up against the dugout post like nothing really going on lol
Another thing is Birchall ent getting another callup with Latapy in charge unless somebody else higher up force him to do so.
Post by: injunchile on September 09, 2010, 05:06:13 AM
Good post Preacher, you hit the nail on the head. Latapy had the foreign pros and the result was the same.
 How does Feliziano know that Birchill would not be picked by Latas?
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 09, 2010, 05:32:14 AM

Keep preachin preacher, there are none as blind as those who will not see
Post by: Arazi on September 09, 2010, 07:02:48 AM
Rationale is not usually exercised on this forum, so I hope my rationale manages to pervade against the odds here.

Alot of you people on this board are getting emotionally carried away and over-reacting.

I am not defending Latapy, if anyone has paid attention to my posts about his coaching before, I have long pointed out how tactically suspect he has been since his first two games in the Hex.

Therefore, I am not surprised by the results we have been experiencing although like most of you it saddens me.

However, I much rather us lose FRIENDLY INTERNATIONALS which carry nothing more than bragging rights and learn our lesson than goad ourselves into false sense of what is going on by winning them, hence missing out on the big picture.

Not many of you who have crucified Latapy have actually put any kind of analysis to what the team and players are doing wrong. Instead everyone has their quick fix solutions which will have minimal effect on our progress. Many of you in general continue to be as clueless as Latapy appears to be.

Call back our best players to play meaningless matches for what?

So that alyuh could feel good while our tactical weakness will be ignored just because we had a good result?

We have poor depth, that's true. However, Panama won 3-0 and didn't look like a better team in terms of talent than us. They played strengths versus our weaknesses and won.

That's called tactical awareness.

And if we have to lose a couple friendly matches for us to figure that out, even if it means the heads realising Latapy is not the man to lead, I'm ok with that.

Post by: 100% Barataria on September 09, 2010, 07:14:01 AM
Sense Arazi, but there is a bigger issue here and that is the continued lack of proper preparation on the part of the TTFF regarding our senior MNT for competitive football.  Intertwined with this is the TTFF's continued lack of transparency, failure to instill proper programs to ensure continuity and development from the youth to the senior level, and lastly the appointment of someone like RL to the highest coaching post of any our football teams.  Not to mention of course all of JW's thievry over the past 10 years but in particular w/the blacklist and $$ bonus issue.

People are beyond frustrated regarding the above and the confirmation that RL is not up to the task of coaching the senior MNT is beyond the final straw.

As a nation if we were half as serious at developing this sport (and sport in particular) as we are about carnival, if not for anything else but simply an alternative to crime for the downtrodden youth, who knows where we might have been w/football.  One could argue that we completely missed the boat after 2006 qualification, the standard of play of our MNT has seriously retrogressed.  Bbefore the spiral down this abyss continues would be useful if the inept TTFF organization partially rescues whatever semblance we have of a senior men's program and discontinue w/the magicain, his on field contributions were stellar, but off the field coaching of the senior MNT is not for him, the results speak for themselves
Post by: de_redman on September 09, 2010, 07:56:37 AM
Good post Preacher, you hit the nail on the head. Latapy had the foreign pros and the result was the same.
 How does Feliziano know that Birchill would not be picked by Latas?

Because he could have picked him for the Jamaica game but he didn't...
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 09, 2010, 08:14:44 AM

However, I much rather us lose FRIENDLY INTERNATIONALS which carry nothing more than bragging rights and learn our lesson than goad ourselves into false sense of what is going on by winning them, hence missing out on the big picture

losing  affects rankings also eh  ..  do expect our ranking to drop and  is now player eh qualifying for UK work permits
Post by: Arazi on September 09, 2010, 08:35:37 AM

However, I much rather us lose FRIENDLY INTERNATIONALS which carry nothing more than bragging rights and learn our lesson than goad ourselves into false sense of what is going on by winning them, hence missing out on the big picture

losing  affects rankings also eh  ..  do expect our ranking to drop and  is now player eh qualifying for UK work permits

The UK is not the only place for our players to go. IN FACT, unless yuh playing for the big 8 in the Prem, it is NOT WHERE I want our players to go.

Thank for continuing to be small minded...
Post by: Sam on September 09, 2010, 08:54:05 AM
Not just his coaching, but Latapy attitude is also his problem.

He is a greedy cut up man.

He does not motivate the players enough.

He brings no fresh ideas to the game.

There is some many flaws with Latapy.

But he must change his attitide first and accept help.

One man is not an island.
Post by: Bakes on September 09, 2010, 08:56:05 AM

The UK is not the only place for our players to go. IN FACT, unless yuh playing for the big 8 in the Prem, it is NOT WHERE I want our players to go.

Arazi... 2 things.

1. It's not about winning meaningless friendlies... win or lose what matters is how we play.  Under Latas the team hasn't progressed, in fact it has gotten much worse under his watch.  There is a high level of disorganization all over the field and we have absolutely no prayer in the back.  To make matters worse he continues to pick players who aren't ready.  If he kept trying with different players and none of them work we'd say 'fine... we eh have no local players'... but it's the SAME players he starting who playing shit.

2. Everybody understands that the UK isn't the only destination for our players... but unfortunately we don't get to pick and choose where our players play internationally.  Very few teams are going to sign a caribbean player without some international experience.  There is a natural link with the UK sides because they've been scouting here for the longest while... is only recently that teams from Sweden, Hungary, Turkey etc. have started signing our players... and the vast majority have been internationals or players with experience in the UK.  So you cannot discount the point about FIFA ranking.
Post by: Preacher on September 09, 2010, 09:10:23 AM

Arazi... 2 things.

1. It's not about winning meaningless friendlies... win or lose what matters is how we play.  Under Latas the team hasn't progressed, in fact it has gotten much worse under his watch.  There is a high level of disorganization all over the field and we have absolutely no prayer in the back.  To make matters worse he continues to pick players who aren't ready.  If he kept trying with different players and none of them work we'd say 'fine... we eh have no local players'... but it's the SAME players he starting who playing shit.

2. Everybody understands that the UK isn't the only destination for our players... but unfortunately we don't get to pick and choose where our players play internationally.  Very few teams are going to sign a caribbean player without some international experience.  There is a natural link with the UK sides because they've been scouting here for the longest while... is only recently that teams from Sweden, Hungary, Turkey etc. have started signing our players... and the vast majority have been internationals or players with experience in the UK.  So you cannot discount the point about FIFA ranking.

Arazi this is not 'Inception' u watching.  There aren't any dream layers in this story.  This is just a bad accident happening in real time.  Plain and simple.  What u don't understand is that you will not get a fairer assessment of Russel and our football than on this site.  Most people here have been following football for years players and fans. Contrary to what u might think we are informed.  We know what our players can do with the right coaching even under the TTFF.   We done taking 6 for 9s.   3-1 to Jam and 3-0 to Panama is not acceptable.  We will not accept that.
Post by: Preacher on September 09, 2010, 09:12:38 AM
Not just his coaching, but Latapy attitude is also his problem.

He is a greedy cut up man.

He does not motivate the players enough.

He brings no fresh ideas to the game.

There is some many flaws with Latapy.

But he must change his attitide first and accept help.

One man is not an island.

St8 up...Now Yorke out the scene too
Post by: kicker on September 09, 2010, 09:34:24 AM
When Latapy took over our WCQ team in the last campaign, I actually thought we looked better in some departments, but overall we looked the same.  

Now he's playing with a sub par local group, it's really difficult to tell how much of it is his fault, and how much of it comes down to the lack of quality in the team.

As far as his player selection it seems as if he's avoiding complicating the travel schedules of the overseas players to the extent possible, and seeing what kind of core he can build locally.  I like that idea- at least the attempt to not be overly dependent on the foreign based players, as we've always been.  Whether or not the experiment works is a different story.  When the foreign based play sh*t, we bawl for the locals, now the locals playing sh*t, iz because we doh have the foreigners...bottom line is our players local & foreign are just not that good, and we're working with what we've got...simple

I agree with Arazi that we're taking this a bit too seriously.  Ok we've lost two friendlies, and it is very humiliating but there are potential learning opportunities in these games.  Our FIFA rankings will drop some and it will be marginally more difficult to get players overseas contracts, but let's be serious- it's not like we have a bunch of players lining up for contracts that all of a sudden have lost that opportunity because we lost two friendlies- it was always difficult for our boys- we've been ranked low by FIFA for a while now...Latas hasn't really changed that landscape.

Post by: Arazi on September 09, 2010, 09:40:43 AM
To both Preacher and Bake n Shark who skimmed or read select parts of my post:
Rationale is not usually exercised on this forum, so I hope my rationale manages to pervade against the odds here.

I am not defending Latapy, if anyone has paid attention to my posts about his coaching before, I have long pointed out how tactically suspect he has been since his first two games in the Hex.
Therefore, I am not surprised by the results we have been experiencing although like most of you it saddens me.

Now with regard to your second point about the world ranking and England

I can:
Firstly do you remember how Hyland end up in Belgium? Wasn't it a work permit issue after Portsmouth couldn't get one he was sent to their affiliate team in Belgium?

Secondly, losing friendly matches WILL NOT drop the ranking as much as LOSING COMPETITIVE GAMES. So if we need to realise what garbage we doing in friendly internationals to put together a good performance in the competition, be it Digi, Gold Cup or World Cup qualifying, I'm cool with that, savvy?
Post by: palos on September 09, 2010, 10:26:38 AM
Wim was in a very similar situation as Latas during his tenure

He had little or no experienced players to work with because de Jacklist was in full effect

He worked with a mostly local based team in a tournament that actually meant something

He didn't have many resources to work with either.  Just as little as Latas. 

Look at the performances of that team under Wim

Contrast those performances with the performances of the team under Latas

Look at the team Wim had

Jan Michael Williams
Nigel Daniel
Makan Hislop - yes....de same Makan Hislop
Seon Power
Osei Telesford
Kerry Baptiste
Leslie Fitzpatrick
Kerwin "Hardest" Jemmott
Densill Theobald
Gary Glasgow
Darryl Roberts

The difference in performance, tactics, team discipline, even preparation between the 2 teams is like night and day.

Sadly, Latapy is we Maradona...in more ways than one.

Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 09, 2010, 11:52:58 AM
Latas is taking a wrong-headed approach.  Securing the D must be his top priority. Against Panama, these fellas were advancing the ball from the back third into the final third with some real authority. No local side doing since 2007. That is where Latapy is concentrating his efforts.

Ent that is the most common complaint of fans on the forum, that we can't put 2-3 passes together, that our short passing game is poor? Well look closely, Latapy curing that sickness.

But the drawbacks in his defence FAR OUTWEIGH the abilities of the midfield to move the ball around and forwards to score.

Latapy must change his entire approach. He must focus his efforts on building a stronger defensive unit...and not just by bringing in better players or changing strategy in the middle of a game. To truly succeed he must transform these setta misfits into a TEAM of stingy, mean-spirited bastards who protect that goal and each other like their life depended on it. And more importantly he must force that culture into every other man on the pitch.

The genius of Beenhakker was the ability to call on his vast experience to mould a solid TEAM from grinders and labourers. The bad news is Latapy looks like the kind of coach who can enhance the play of already talented players, but he lost when it comes to getting results from labourers.

Will the current strategy bear fruit in the short term, i.e. in time for digicel cup? I doubt it, most likely we be will blown out by a Grenada or Cuba.

Can Latas take the first long term step in changing the team's fortunes by acknowledging he is out of his depth and accepting assistance? Maybe...

Even if he acknowledges he that he is doing a poor job will TTFF keep its promises to allow Latas to pursue his coaching educaton, give him access to other resources besides just access to players... I doubt it.

Latapy doing very poorly as a coach but he is not entirely to blame. Its a combination of iinexperience, personal shortcomings, TTFF shyte and the amount of natural goats that he have to transform into football players.

Jes my two cents

Post by: palos on September 09, 2010, 12:14:48 PM
Latas is taking a wrong-headed approach.  Securing the D must be his top priority. Against Panama, these fellas were advancing the ball from the back third into the final third with some real authority. No local side doing since 2007. That is where Latapy is concentrating his efforts.

Ent that is the most common complaint of fans on the forum, that we can't put 2-3 passes together, that our short passing game is poor? Well look closely, Latapy curing that sickness.

But the drawbacks in his defence FAR OUTWEIGH the abilities of the midfield to move the ball around and forwards to score.

If what you sayin here is accurate, IT MAY BE that Latas feels that even with a stingy defence, if our midfield isn't able to keep possession, we will only turn the ball over thus inviting more pressure on an already under pressure defence.

PERHAPS his strategy is to tend to this area FIRST AND FOREMOST, and THEN look at the defence.

That's the only potentially plausible theory I can muster up to explain what's been happening.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 09, 2010, 12:43:11 PM

If what you sayin here is accurate, IT MAY BE that Latas feels that even with a stingy defence, if our midfield isn't able to keep possession, we will only turn the ball over thus inviting more pressure on an already under pressure defence.

PERHAPS his strategy is to tend to this area FIRST AND FOREMOST, and THEN look at the defence.

That's the only potentially plausible theory I can muster up to explain what's been happening.

I considered that but

(1) Midfield posession strategy is unworkable on THIS side without strong defensive capability, and if that was the strategy its clearly not working.

(2) . if neither the mids or defenders are WINNING the ball then pro-active posession is difficult. In the Panama game our posession was not the result of ball winning but a counter-attack strategy by Panama, who put their midfield deeper into their own half. That was why we had a good knock, and why it tended to die out right on top their box.

Against an aggressive team/strategy we will not enjoy that kind of posession because the ball winning aspect is not being slapped into dem players. 

(3) Ball possession and defensive work in the midfield are not mutually exclusive. They two sides of the same coin. Even if they were, the coach should be spending a significant amount of time and resources drilling defensive awareness, team building and supportive play and just plain skills building CONCURRENT with ball posession. here is latapy's major failure.

For all I know you could be correct tho. Perhaps Latas is imparting what he knows and building defence later simply because he does not posess that expertise as yet. But that is still poor management...either he wants to go it alone or the TTFF is not supporting the man, or maybe both
Post by: Touches on September 09, 2010, 12:53:36 PM
Latapy's record...

Click Here (http://www.socawarriors.net/mens-senior-team/fixtures-results.html)

Was he at the helm when we lost 3-0 to the USA or was Afro in charge?

If you count from the Costa Rica game TT has played 12 matches....he has won 3 vs El Salvador WCQ, Antigua and Barbuda and St.Kitts/Nevis.

He has drawn 1....vs Mexico in the HCS WCQ.

He has lost 8.....Costa Rica 3-2, Honduras 4-1, Costa Rica 4-0, Chile 2-0, JA 3-1 and Panama 3-0, USA 1-0 and Mexico 2-1.

Usa 1-0 was in the HCS and Mexico 2-1 was in the Azteca.

Honestly....the man have a losing record and it ent no 1-0 loss....we collecting goal in Grap...even St Kitts and Antigua score goals on us....clean sheet hard to come by....wha dat telling yuh.

Under all kicks...before the under 17 girls win vs chile....I forgot how it felt to feel good and win a game after watching TT.

Post by: Arazi on September 09, 2010, 12:55:59 PM

I considered that but

(1) Midfield posession strategy is unworkable on THIS side without strong defensive capability, and if that was the strategy its clearly not working.

(2) . if neither the mids or defenders are WINNING the ball then pro-active posession is difficult. In the Panama game our posession was not the result of ball winning but a counter-attack strategy by Panama, who put their midfield deeper into their own half. That was why we had a good knock, and why it tended to die out right on top their box.

Against an aggressive team/strategy we will not enjoy that kind of posession because the ball winning aspect is not being slapped into dem players. 

(3) Ball possession and defensive work in the midfield are not mutually exclusive. They two sides of the same coin. Even if they were, the coach should be spending a significant amount of time and resources drilling defensive awareness, team building and supportive play and just plain skills building CONCURRENT with ball posession. here is latapy's major failure.

For all I know you could be correct tho. Perhaps Latas is imparting what he knows and building defence later simply because he does not posess that expertise as yet. But that is still poor management...either he wants to go it alone or the TTFF is not supporting the man, or maybe both

That is the key problem right there, it is the major failure of Latapy and it will hurt any team he coaches, even if he had Maldini, Pique, Puyol and Maicon in the back four.
Post by: Arazi on September 09, 2010, 12:57:57 PM
Latapy's record...

If you count from the Costa Rica game TT has played 12 matches....he has won 3 vs El Salvador WCQ, Antigua and Barbuda and St.Kitts/Nevis.

He has lost 8.....Costa Rica 3-2, Honduras 4-1, Costa Rica 4-0, Chile 2-0, JA 3-1 and Panama 3-0, USA 1-0 and Mexico 2-1.

Honestly....the man have a losing record and it ent no 1-0 loss....we collecting goal in Grap...even St Kitts and Antigua score goals on us....clean sheet hard to come by....wha dat telling yuh.

Mats was in charge for US, with Latapy as his assistant his last game.

Maturana's record 18 wins, 16 draws and 6 losses is still the only winning record I remember any coach having in recent memory..just food for thought.

Wim's record is 6 wins, 4 draws and 8 losses. Creditable, i guess..
Post by: ZANDOLIE on September 09, 2010, 02:33:01 PM
Latapy's record...

Mats was in charge for US, with Latapy as his assistant his last game.

Maturana's record 18 wins, 16 draws and 6 losses is still the only winning record I remember any coach having in recent memory..just food for thought.

Wim's record is 6 wins, 4 draws and 8 losses. Creditable, i guess..

Arazi, Wim  was not doing well in the build up to the digicel.

But 2 things...

For one, unlike Latapy he did not have a choice of who to select. But when the team was loosing badly against Central American opposition he persisted in digging out many different players in all kind of positions. Telesford and roberts were two big finds.

And when the dust settled he had moulded T&T into the best team in the Caribbean. And not with no superstars either.

Only until Latas can pull off a surprise like that then we could say he in Wim's class. 

Digicel in 2 months.  If Latapy has a grander scheme maybe things will gradually fall into place at precisely the right time. Maybe dais why we playing a string of minnows.

All I have to say is we fans don't doh like nonsense We looking for a James Bond to run this team, not Inspector Clouseau.