General => General Discussion => Topic started by: AB.Trini on September 24, 2010, 10:04:09 PM

Title: Where is Batman and Robin ?TnT needs help
Post by: AB.Trini on September 24, 2010, 10:04:09 PM
Any word on the progress  of the new COP  and his sidekick doing in reducing crime in TnT?  Are there concrete plans or initiatives which are  evident by the public since  these high priced 'super cops' were hired  to combat crime?
Title: Re: How is Batman and Robin doing in TnT?
Post by: weary1969 on September 24, 2010, 10:41:02 PM
Any word on the progress  of the new COP  and his sidekick doing in reducing crime in TnT?  Are there concrete plans or initiatives which are  evident by the public since  these high priced 'super cops' were hired  to combat crime?

HE EH WUK A WK YET
Post by: Jah Gol on September 24, 2010, 10:48:47 PM
The man now reach. He will need time to engage the stakeholders before announcing any new strategies. I did hear one from him comment on the news today about making the police doing the small things more consistently to regain the trust of the public.
Post by: AB.Trini on September 26, 2010, 06:27:21 PM
HOLY COW Batman: "got it ; this  could be the answer to help us solve the crime riddle for what we have been hired; You know Batman  we are the government's anti crime fighting plan; if we don't solve the riddle, we will be the scapegoats  and no one will blame the government..so Batman let's look at this issue that all the islands seem to be facing.

Caribbean crime wave linked to US deportations
[/b][/size][/size][/size]
By MIKE MELIA (AP) – 1 day ago

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico — The crime was horrifying enough — a nightclub owner, hacked to death with a machete, was found buried in pieces. But what really outraged people was that the accused killer had been deported from the U.S. to his native Grenada as a convicted felon.

As a foreign-bred criminal, the suspect never should have returned to the close-knit tropical nation, relatives of the victim and others said. Islanders called for more vigilance over deportees by the government, which says it needs help from Washington to handle the return of hardened convicts.

"I hope that my brother did not die in vain and something can be done to monitor these criminal deportees," said Gemma Raeburn-Baynes, a sister of the nightclub owner, Michael Raeburn-Delfish.

The United States has deported thousands of convicted criminals to the Caribbean annually since 1996, when Congress mandated that every non-citizen sentenced to a year or more in prison be kicked out of the country upon release. In all, the U.S. is responsible for about three-quarters of the region's returning criminal deportees, with the United Kingdom and Canada accounting for most of the other ex-cons arriving in the islands.

It's a phenomenon that also afflicts many parts of Central America, where street gangs that grew out of Los Angeles spread to the region through massive deportations. Brutal and powerful, the "Maras" are blamed for rampant violent crime, extortion and more recently acting as enforcers for drug cartels.

In the Caribbean, governments say deportees are exacerbating crime in nations with high levels of violence such as Jamaica. On the smaller islands such as Grenada, once considered idyllic havens from gang violence, officials say the returning deportees are partly to blame for increasingly bold and sophisticated crimes and homicide rates soaring to record levels.

The United States is attempting to defuse tensions with island governments by exploring programs to help them reintegrate deportees. During a visit to Barbados in June, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said the U.S. is no longer ignoring complaints that have topped the Caribbean's diplomatic agenda for more than a decade.

U.S. officials say privately that the deportations cannot be blamed for the increase in violent crime, but declined to discuss the issue on the record, saying the U.S. does not want to hurt relations with Caribbean governments with which it cooperates on other issues.

The man accused in the machete attack in Grenada, Ronald Michael Phillip, 55, was deported from the United States on July 6, 2000, the day after leaving a state prison in Uncasville, Connecticut, where he had spent more than six years.

Island police know only the rough outline of his life abroad: Phillip moved overseas in 1986 and lived in Canada and Brooklyn, New York, before moving to New London, Connecticut. He was arrested in December 1993 on assault and drug charges.

But the officer who found Raeburn-Delfish's severed head and limbs in three shallow pits on Sept. 5 said the nature of the murder led him to believe the suspect was a practiced killer.

"He had a level of experience with dealing with dead people or animals," forensics expert Trevor Modeste said. "We don't usually have crime like that. We don't usually have planned and executed murders."

Modeste said his suspicions were confirmed when Phillip, known locally as Ronald de Ally, boasted to police that he killed and buried two people in the United States who were never found.

Grenada police spokesman Troy Garvey said that claim has not been verified. Garvey said investigators' focus is on solving Raeburn-Delfish's slaying, but they will pass anything they learn about crimes in the U.S. to the appropriate jurisdiction.

Raeburn-Delfish was Phillip's landlord, but no motive has been established in the slaying. Phillip, who is charged with murder, did not have an attorney at his first court appearance.

At the heart of the problem is the disparity of wealth between the United States, where migrants often learn their criminal ways, and their poor homelands, where jobs are scarce and police resources are limited. Moreover, islanders who often left their native lands as children return to countries they barely recognize, with no remaining family.

Jean Nemorin, 47, who returned to Haiti in 2008, more than three decades after he arrived in the United States with his family at age 11, said there is a stigma attached to people like him when locals learn of their criminal past, making it tough to find work or a place to live.

"I struggled to feed myself for the first six months," Nemorin said. He declined to describe his conviction in the United States but said he is crime-free today, operating a moto-taxi in Port-au-Prince that he bought with money from relatives overseas.

The biggest impact has been in heavily populated countries like Jamaica, where deportees are suspected in several violent crimes each week, according to Leslie Green, an assistant police commissioner.

But smaller islands are increasingly leading the calls for help from Washington. A Grenada government spokesman, Richard Simon, said they lack the counseling, monitoring and housing services needed to absorb deportees with serious criminal records.

In Dominica, at least one criminal deportee is suspected in a recent pair of brazen, daylight robberies by masked men, Security Minister Charles Savarin said.

In St. Lucia, an island of 170,000 people that received 18 criminal deportees from the U.S. last year, Security Minister Guy Mayers said some of the convicts were apparently recruited into local drug rings that exploit their contacts from overseas prisons.

"We are not responsible for them becoming monsters," Mayers said. "We need support to be able to rehabilitate these people."

In 2007, the U.S. launched a pilot program managed by the United Nations' International Organization for Migration to help reintegrate deportees. The $3 million project provided services including career counseling and housing assistance in Haiti, Guyana and the Bahamas.

U.S. officials say they hope that effort will be the starting point for a regional discussion, but no money has been assigned so far to keep the program going.

Island governments say the deportee issue will remain a sticking point with Washington until they see more action.
Post by: Rastaman on September 27, 2010, 07:53:05 AM
Very interesting read.
Post by: AB.Trini on October 23, 2010, 10:48:59 AM
But ehhee.... how come no-one eh making noise or asking about public accountability/ Since these high priced experts crime crusaders,  come into dodge city, the expectations was that deliver, clean up or else....

Big money, big house and big expenses to rid the nation of crime and yet with each day I still reading of the gun related deaths.... gang...drugs.... and crime.... It seems that  no-one eh blaming this government fuh dat...

What is the timeline  for results? what will be indicators that  the job is been completed effectively/

Holy crap Batman...... same sh...t different pile.
Post by: truetrini on October 23, 2010, 12:30:47 PM
de f**king ink on de people passport immigration status eh dry yet and you looking for dem to make meaningful changes  steups
Post by: STEUPS!! on October 23, 2010, 01:58:20 PM
de f**king ink on de people passport immigration status eh dry yet and you looking for dem to make meaningful changes  steups

i have to agree wid you here TC. i will give dem at least 4 months again to see if he really make a difference
Post by: D.H.W on October 23, 2010, 02:42:51 PM
But ehhee.... how come no-one eh making noise or asking about public accountability/ Since these high priced experts crime crusaders,  come into dodge city, the expectations was that deliver, clean up or else....

Big money, big house and big expenses to rid the nation of crime and yet with each day I still reading of the gun related deaths.... gang...drugs.... and crime.... It seems that  no-one eh blaming this government fuh dat...

What is the timeline  for results? what will be indicators that  the job is been completed effectively/

Holy crap Batman...... same sh...t different pile.

breads is like a month or so the man now come, Plus your original post was made the same week the man arrive i believe, which makes it barely a month
Post by: AB.Trini on October 23, 2010, 04:38:23 PM
Nah what allyuh want tuh wait until what people forget the details of this deal with the government? nah
people didn't take long to jump all over Latapy for poor performance? people did not take long to criticize the last government for hosting the summits ; no-one wanted to even think about possible positive spin offs nah....
so leh we eh wait least we forget. ACCOUNTABILITY should be at the forefront for all political agendas. Public taxpayers money cyar ride out so/
Post by: truetrini on October 23, 2010, 04:39:07 PM
Nah what allyuh want tuh wait until what people forget the details of this deal with the government? nah
people didn't take long to jump all over Latapy for poor performance? people did not take long to criticize the last government for hosting the summits ; no-one wanted to even think about possible positive spin offs nah....
so leh we eh wait least we forget. ACCOUNTABILITY should be at the forefront for all political agendas. Public taxpayers money cyar ride out so/

you is evidence for evolution
Post by: AB.Trini on October 23, 2010, 04:44:25 PM

[/quote
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And you is boss..... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: you have all the right answers. Look ah just making a flipping point that we have to keep knocking  for accountability. The last government eh provide none and see what happened? let we eh make the same flipping mistakes again and again, :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

I have some family in the force and yuh know  dey say the "De man ent even come out on a roadblock yet"
Post by: truetrini on October 23, 2010, 04:48:55 PM

[/quote
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And you is boss..... :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: you have all the right answers. Look ah just making a flipping point that we have to keep knocking  for accountability. The last government eh provide none and see what happened? let we eh make the same flipping mistakes again and again, :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying: :praying:

I have some family in the force and yuh know  dey say the "De man ent even come out on a roadblock yet"

Yuh and yuh family dunce.

Why should the Police Commissioner ococme out ona  road block when he eh even learn all de nuances yet?  steups
Post by: AB.Trini on October 23, 2010, 04:57:15 PM

/quote
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yuh and yuh family dunce.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why should the Police Commissioner ococme out ona  road block when he eh even learn all de nuances yet?  steups

Why yuh does always have to bring a discussion to a personal attack; Do you know me or my family? The statement was meant to be a hyperbole or an expression to show that even in the simplest form, his presence is not  readily apparent.
 I done the pissing contest....... But again I reiterate, ACCOUNTABILITY? where is the plan to  reduce CRIME in TnT? Like everything else where are the concrete plans for improvements?
Post by: D.H.W on October 23, 2010, 05:07:12 PM

so in a few weeks what do you want to see happen?
Post by: truetrini on October 23, 2010, 05:30:33 PM
The Police Commish have to find a way to increse public confidence in the police, develop relationships so people will want to report crime, make sure those who report the crime are not killed by the criminals they passing info on etc.  He does not need to be at no road blocks.

He needs to hold police accountable for acts that are contrary to law and order and he has to make sure the police do their jobs correctly when they do make arrests so criminals eh walking free on technicalities etc.  evidence eh disappearing and guns and ammo accounted for.

After he do dat if he find time eh could go on ah road block  (???)
Post by: AB.Trini on October 24, 2010, 07:22:49 PM
This is how you get out there and fight crime;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLZQ3OLEJWE&feature=related

Post by: truetrini on October 24, 2010, 10:13:31 PM
This is how you get out there and fight crime;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLZQ3OLEJWE&feature=related

ah go send Batman and Robin to fack you,,,I have connections in Gotham...hey justcool, send de caped crusaders to Alberta so this man can get a piece...Holy Smokes Batman yu talk a load of shit!
Post by: AB.Trini on October 26, 2010, 10:24:38 PM
Keep on with the immature, juvenile and denegration of others as oppose to  rendering focus on the issue at hand
Mr. T.C. Your attempts at humor through sexual innuendo is uncalled for and without merit. handle the topic with some maturity and focus on the issue rather than trying to minimize the seriousness of the situation with these statements.

Meanwhile the crime situation continues unabated and a malaise and callousness continues without accountability and affirmative action. This situation is no longer a matter to joke about; people's sense of well being, people's fears and people's safety are constantly  shaken each and every time we read or hear about these outrageous crimes.

What reassurances have we received that  all that is humanely possible is being done or that a plan is in place to be enacted upon to curb this  pandemic that is casting a dark shadow over the land? How can the public help the  forces that are entrusted to serve and protect?  How can citizens take up the fight to protect and to assist the enforcers of the law for the good of all?

In choosing to illustrate the urgency of the situation through the use of an allusion to  two 'crime crusaders' Batman and Robin, I intend to simply  illustrate  how traumatic and how serious it was for  the folks in the fictional Gotham  and to the citizens of TnT, that both required  outside intervention to protect its citizens; unlike the fictional characters, we do not have an  alter ego in Batman, but we have  two hired professionals with expertise who have  taken a  personal challenge to come to our country and to shed some knowledge, expertise to assist in alleviating a situation that  is seemingly getting worse.  Both these men should be applauded for their intent and  display of moral imperative to do what is right  in their chose profession. The fundamental question is this task/ challenge within the realm of these two? or do they have the means to affect change ?

Or is the situation so big that we need "superheroes" to change  the situation in Trinidad?

"Alan Grant, a member of the creative team for Batman: Shadow of the Bat, feels that Batman is one of the most heroic characters ever created because he is a mortal man who, despite horrific life events, has chosen to do something about the state of his society.

He is perhaps the only genuine hero amongst all of them. People say Batman is this dark, vengeance-driven, obsessed character, but that’s not Batman in my eyes. That’s just the fuel which drives Batman. The trauma of his parent’s death is what motivates him and forces him to go on, but what makes him Batman is a decision. He took a decision to be a good guy, which is a decision in life not too many people do take. He is a self-made character. He didn’t get superpowers, he’s not a cyborg, he made a choice to be what he is. He is motivated by the terrible thing that happened to him when he was a kid, but that’s not the thing that defines his character. What defines his character is his decision to do something. (qtd. in Curtin 37)

The choice to fight crime is one which shapes every aspect of Bruce’s existence. After his parent’s death, Wayne spends his entire life becoming mentally and physically superior in order to wage a war against the criminal element of Gotham. In the newer continuum of the series, Batman fights crime with an arsenal of odd weapons (such as the razor sharp "Batarangs") but loathes the use of guns. To the surprise of many current readers, this was not always the case. When Batman was first introduced, he wore a holster and gun beneath his cape. This characterization was more in keeping with the detective part of his persona, but editors at DC decided it might be better that he not carry or use one because of the effect it might have on young readers (as well as the fact that it fit more logically with his origin, since his parents were gunned down in cold blood). That is not to say that Batman always shied away from using lethal force. But, in most story lines, Batman is more concerned with capturing the criminal element and letting the law decide each person’s fate.
"

Batman and Robin we need you to stop  these  seemingly daily occurrences in the land.

5 murders
By Stories by Akile Simon

Story Created: Oct 25, 2010 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 25, 2010 at 11:51 PM ECT

THE MURDER figure jumped to 398 last night with the killing of a man at Boundary Road, San Juan.

The latest victim remained unidentified up to press time but police said the man was shot dead at the scene.

His killing follows the murder of a 21-year-old Laventille man on Sunday, and the deaths of three other people who died from gunshot injuries at hospital also on Sunday.

Felix Marshall, of Desperlie Crescent, Laventille, was found on Sunday evening with multiple gunshot wounds about the body on a staircase along Pump Trace, Picton Road, Laventille.

The incident occurred around 6 p.m. and the victim was pronounced dead on arrival at the Port of Spain General Hospital. A motive is yet to be established for the killing.

In the other cases, Claudette Nurse, 50; Anthony Welch, 20; and Derrick Lewis, 41; all succumbed to gunshot injuries they sustained two weeks ago in separate incidents in Petit Valley, Diego Martin and Cocorite at the Intensive Care Unit of the Port of Spain General Hospital.

On July 15, Welch, of Duval Avenue, Diego Martin was about to enter a Chinese restaurant in the area when a gunman approached and opened fire around 1.45 p.m.

Alexander was taken to the Port of Spain General Hospital where he was treated for gunshot injuries to the stomach. Officers are calling on relatives of the victim to come forward in an attempt to positively identify him so an autopsy can be conducted.

On October 15, Nurse was travelling in a vehicle towards her home at upper Stour Drive, Petit Valley, around 9.15 p.m. when a group of men liming along the roadway opened fire on the car, before escaping. The victim was shot in the head and also taken to the Port of Spain General Hospital.

Western Division officers said they are also investigating similar shooting incidents in which gangs from the area have indiscriminately fired shots at strange vehicles entering the area.

Lewis, police said, was shot and wounded at Harding Place in Cocorite while walking towards his home around 3.25 a.m. on October 16.

According to police, the victim, of Harding Place, had just left Water Hole village where he and other persons were liming, to make his way home when he was shot in the head and chest by unknown assailants.

Officers from the Joint Army and Police patrol who were in the area responded to the report and found Lewis lying on the roadway and took the victim to the Port of Spain General Hospital where he was treated and warded until his death.

The comparable murder toll for last year stood at 436.

Post by: weary1969 on October 27, 2010, 07:04:40 AM
I hear all he doin is goin Police Funerals.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 27, 2010, 07:37:31 AM
That murder at Boundary Road took place while the CoP was hosting a community meeting not too far away......
Post by: sammy on October 27, 2010, 01:47:41 PM
That murder at Boundary Road took place while the CoP was hosting a community meeting not too far away......

^^ lol,, he shoulda smell the killers and run out and stop them  :)

anyhow, I think the govt should use traffic tickets as a means to make money to pay traffic cops special bonuses. Give them incentives to get out there and charge ppl.
 I mean the gangsters and killers uses the roads as well...clamp down on traffic offenses and they sure to catch a few ppl well. Everybody wins , police get money for working harder, ppl are forced to observe the law, criminals arent as free to roam the place willy nilly.
Post by: Babalawo on October 27, 2010, 02:20:49 PM
he have ah next one to go to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uO2MbnQGI-s
Post by: weary1969 on October 27, 2010, 08:50:57 PM
he have ah next one to go to
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uO2MbnQGI-s

This 1 happen in d area I live and I knew d guy from d days I worked police. Thank God a fella on d street have cameras so evryting was recorded.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 02, 2010, 09:52:51 PM
And the  the beat goes on..... we need divine intervention. As retirement leaps closer to reality ah having ah hard time dealing with all this at this age in life.
Post by: Michael-j on November 03, 2010, 05:38:04 PM
And the  the beat goes on..... we need divine intervention. As retirement leaps closer to reality ah having ah hard time dealing with all this at this age in life.

Are you planning on returning home upon retirement, AB ?
Post by: Jumbie on November 11, 2010, 05:12:36 AM
Batman and co strikes!

GIBBS CATCHES SPIES

...uncovers illegal tapping of phones, monitoring of text messages and e-mails
By Lennox Grant

An early-morning police raid, ordered by Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs, on a secret snooping agency within the National Security Ministry has brought to light an extensive list, including Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and private citizens, whose phone calls, text messages and e-mails have been monitored over five years.

Special Branch and Anti-Corruption Investigation Bureau officers, who locked down the St Vincent Street, Port of Spain, offices of the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA) at 6 a.m. on October 23, also found $5.9 million in a fireproof safe and a stash of firearms.

In a shock response to the discovery of an elaborately equipped and well-funded "intercept suite" within the SIA, the People's Partnership administration, as disclosed in Government documents made available for viewing yesterday, has:

• fired Nigel Clement, director of both the Strategic Services Agency and the SIA

• retained two Canadian technology security experts to sweep for further evidence of the tapping of phone, text and e-mail messages, and to develop a secure communications network for use by the Prime Minister and top officials

• begun a review and reorganisation of State security apparatus to discover exactly which agencies are doing what and to clarify their lines of reporting

• drafted for tabling in Parliament tomorrow a bill to outlaw interception of private communication, unless authorised by the order of a High Court judge.

The National Security Council, chaired by the Prime Minister, though weekly briefed by National Security Ministry agencies, had been, until two weeks ago, kept in the dark about the existence and the activities of the SIA "intercept suite".

Documents detailing investigators' findings listed dates and times and brief reasons for interception of the electronic communications people targeted under a variety of titled "operations". The targets include politicians of all parties, independent senators, trade unionists, High Court and Appeal Court judges, county councillors, business people, academics, media people, lawyers in private practice and popular comedians.

What remains unknown to officials is who received the information gathered from such sources and what use was made of it.

But they say the SIA, with some 200 staff, has operated out of various safe houses, and ran private companies as fronts for its channelling of millions of dollars of cash to people described as "informants".

The discovery of deep-secret telecommunications snooping by SIA heightened curiosity about which other agencies have been tapping into private talk and electronic chat.

Immediately before the firing of Special Anti-Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago (SAUTT) director Brig Peter Joseph, Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar had charged SAUTT had tapped her own phones and that of others.

Hard evidence of this has not come from sweeps of SAUTT systems, however. In one document reviewed yesterday, a SAUTT technical manager last September called on all staff to remove from the system all compromising material at this critical time while SAUTT is under scrutiny.

It was in response to the 1990 security failings connected with the coup attempt that the SSA had been enacted by Parliament in 1995. Under the SSA Act, President Max Richards yesterday signed the order revoking the appointment of Clement.

On April 1, the Patrick Manning Cabinet had appointed Clement, a former Coast Guard officer, the director of both the SSA and the lesser-known SIA. Government documents showed a July 2009 Cabinet decision to amalgamate the SSA, the SIA and the Police Special Branch into a single unit.

This decision had apparently not been implemented by last month when the Special Branch, with the ACIB, busted the SIA and proceeded up a wider investigation involving telecommunications intercepts, millions of unaccoun- ted cash dollars, and unregistered firearms.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar is expected to address the issue in Parliament tomorrow.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GIBBS_CATCHES_SPIES-107113978.html
Post by: Brownsugar on November 11, 2010, 05:37:50 AM
I now reading this in the papers.....what is the SIA??   ??? :-\
Post by: D.H.W on November 11, 2010, 06:37:56 AM

PENA?
Post by: Boodsy on November 11, 2010, 06:41:23 AM

PENA?
Post by: sammy on November 11, 2010, 06:42:22 AM

first time i hearing bout it too
Post by: elan on November 11, 2010, 08:34:19 AM
I guess Pena know what she was telling de boss man. To start spying on Kamla before she was ever in nothing really is big time. To then use that info to get yourself voted out is ah master stroke.

How come the "SIA" did not know they going and get buss with all the spying they doing. That is rel PM MO.

By de way alyuh remember Fazeer get fired for talking the truth?
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 11, 2010, 08:39:03 AM
Sugar I heard the Prime Minister mentioned the SIA this morning and from what she was saying it sounds as though they was the ones responsible for the wire tapping of the law abding politicians crooks and high profile so called  citizens phones.

She was even wondering what they was doing with the information they was gathering and who they was reporting it or giving it to .  
Post by: Bourbon on November 11, 2010, 09:13:58 AM
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Alphabetical_List/lawspdfs/15.06.pdf

Section 6.
Post by: D.H.W on November 11, 2010, 01:28:17 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ZsGpfU3U2mg
Post by: AirMan on November 11, 2010, 02:29:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ZsGpfU3U2mg

GIBBS CATCHES SPIES...

uncovers illegal tapping of phones, monitoring of text messages and e-mails
By Lennox Grant

An early-morning police raid, ordered by Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs, on a secret snooping agency within the National Security Ministry has brought to light an extensive list, including Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and private citizens, whose phone calls, text messages and e-mails have been monitored over five years..Continue..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/GIBBS_CATCHES_SPIES-107113978.html
Post by: weary1969 on November 11, 2010, 09:45:02 PM
Peeps d ole Bas did buy d equipment from Israel. All yuh cyah remember Manning bawling like 10 tarzan but 18-18 came and Manning I guess used it.

Dey had d info longgggggg time but de drop it now so all yuh go 4get Fazeer.
Post by: Bourbon on November 11, 2010, 10:03:35 PM
Peeps d ole Bas did buy d equipment from Israel. All yuh cyah remember Manning bawling like 10 tarzan but 18-18 came and Manning I guess used it.

Yep...dahs de play self.

Bonus question: who was de AG when all dat play off?
Post by: weary1969 on November 11, 2010, 10:39:15 PM

Yep...dahs de play self.

Bonus question: who was de AG when all dat play off?

[/quote

Kamla because by that time he and Ramesh did fall out.
Post by: sammy on November 12, 2010, 06:32:21 AM

true
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 07:07:20 AM
where AB?
Post by: Jah Gol on November 12, 2010, 09:49:50 AM
CHAPTER 1

THE RECOGNITION AND PROTECTION OF FUNDAMENTAL HUMAN

RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS

PART I

RIGHTS ENSHRINED

RECOGNITION AND DECLARATION OF RIGHTS AND FREEDOMS

4.- It is hereby recognised and declared that in Trinidad and Tobago there have existed and shall continue to exist without discrimination by reason of race, origin, colour, religion or sex, the following fundamental human rights and freedoms, namely:-

a. the right of the individual to life, liberty, security of the person and enjoyment of property and the right not to be deprived thereof except by due process of law;

b. the right of the individual to equality before the law and the protection of the law;

c. the right of the individual to respect for his private and family life;

d. the right of the individual to equality of treatment from any public authority in the exercise of any functions;

e. the right to join political parties and to express political views;

f. the right of a parent or guardian to provide a school of his own choice for the education of his child or ward;

g. freedom of movement;

h. freedom of conscience and religious belief and observance;

i. freedom of thought and expression;

j. freedom of association and assembly; and

k. freedom of the press.

Can criminal charges be laid due to this breaches ?
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 11:04:27 AM

Admiral Kellshall actally set it up for Basdeo, Kamla lying hwen she say she eh know about dat..Rowley brought the issue up in Parliament when he was in Opposition and Kamal was in basdeo cabinet...dey lie no arse.

SIA was set up on Long Circular road as de Head Quarters, visitied it myself several times.  They (PNM)took Nigel (Clement) after he come back from canada and send he to wuk with a certain woman who was a Jaycees carnival Queen at one time (me eh calling she name at all, she even get medal from patrick independence day) away from de oil and send he dere after dey expanded the role and increased the man power.

Microwave 360 around T&T, radar, listening devices de whole 9 yards..lol  Spies playing vagrant in POS man liming in rum shop, man join de Jamaat...you name it dem fellas was (trying) doing it.

If a boat leave Venezuela dem did see it.  One time dey was even looking at buying  UAV's and ting, but did get in trouble with civil aviation,

Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 11:11:48 AM
On March 14, 1997 the then opposition MP Keith Rowley brought a motion in the House of Representatives asking that the House condemn the “political use to which the security services are reportedly being put.” The issue arose in the context of allegations that the then Prime Minister Basdeo Panday was spying on the internal workings of the opposition People’s National Movement.

Prime Minister Panday, in the debate on the motion, countered by stating, inter alia, that spying on the opposition had been the norm under other regimes and proceeded to read into Hansard a newspaper article headlined “Manning: We used to spy too” which alleged that Opposition Leader Patrick Manning had admitted “that when his Government was in power, he too used the National Security Council to find out what was happening with other political parties.”

Allegations of government spying and wire tapping are by no means novel in this society. 

From time to time in Parliament opposition MPs have complained that their phones have been tapped and that they are in possession of information that the security services have engaged in illegal wire tapping. 

Perhaps the most notorious event in recent history was the alleged importation in late 2002 by the Office of the Prime Minister of multi million dollar spy equipment reputed to have been purchased from Israel.

Apart from supplying parliamentary rhetoric the question of government surveillance and telecommunication interception raises serious legal questions, a fact which has not been lost on various governments as former Attorneys General Keith Sobion and Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj have both remarked in Parliament on the need for a legal framework governing this area.

However in the absence of statute it would appear, if parliamentary comment is any guide, that the security services have quite happily been engaging in wire tapping and other covert surveillance with little heed being paid to the legality of such conduct. In doing this they would not in any way be unique. 

In England it was apparent that the security services had engaged in seemingly unrestrained wire tapping and other communication interception until some unfortunate member of the prosecution made the mistake of admitting this in court. 

This spawned the infamous Malone decision in which the UK court ruled that there was no right to privacy recognised at common law.  Happily for British citizens, matters did not end there and Malone appealed to the European Court of Human Rights which ruled that police wire tapping was in breach of the right to respect for his private life guaranteed by the European Convention on Human Rights. 

The direct consequence of this ruling was that the government was forced to enact a statutory framework for telephone tapping in the form of the Interception of Communications Act, 1985. 

The right to respect for one’s private life may sound familiar as it exists locally, being one of the fundamental human rights and freedoms protected in our much maligned but still effectual Constitution. The only difference between the UK and the local position appears to be that to date the security services have avoided ever admitting publicly that wire tapping is conducted locally, and in the absence of a judge’s ruling that such conduct is illegal, no one cares to pass the legislation which would regulate this practice.

That the interception of communication by government authorities without statutory authority is illegal seems palpably clear.  Under common law, the action for breach of confidence has since moved past the Malone case and has evolved to the point where it has accepted that “a proper degree of privacy is essential for the well-being and development of an individual and restraints imposed on government to pry into the lives of the citizen go to the essence of a democratic state.” 

Constitutional law as well has noted that an individual must be protected against arbitrary interference with his privacy. The European Court of Human Rights has ruled that respect for private life mandates that individuals be entitled to sufficiently clear “indications as to the circumstances in which and the conditions on which public authorities are entitled to resort to such covert measures.”

So this raises the question as to the way forward.  Until some public authority admits to or is discovered engaging in wire tapping or other covert surveillance and there is judicial and public indictment of the practice, empiricism suggests that Parliament will remain wilfully impotent in this area. 

It seems a pity that such legislation which is so manifestly in the public interest so often finds genesis only in a judicial finding of illegality or unconstitutionality instead of the considered and deliberate resolve of the Parliament of a functioning democracy. That the government should have the power to undertake covert surveillance seems axiomatic. The current trend of kidnappings alone would be justification enough for such powers. 

That such powers should only be exercised with the authorisation of a Judge of the High Court and not at the untrammelled discretion of the executive seems similarly axiomatic. The potential for abuse is too great.  In these matters it behoves us to pay regard to Lord Brown-Wilkinson’s observation that “the dossier of private information is the badge of the totalitarian state.”

By Rishi P.A. Dass

The Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago

N.B.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar was a Minster in the Basdeo Panday Cabinet when then Opposition M.P. Dr. Keith Rowley brought the legislation to Parliament. To now claim ignorance on the matter is pure hypocrisy

Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 11:16:09 AM
by the way Kamal tell dem about de odder 2 agencis not SSA or SIA dat does report to you daily nah?  Steups  dis woman is a someting else..exposing people and selling out Clement so???
Post by: Brownsugar on November 12, 2010, 11:25:03 AM
by the way Kamal tell dem about de odder 2 agencis not SSA or SIA dat does report to you daily nah?  Steups  dis woman is a someting else..exposing people and selling out Clement so???

Truetrini, yuh being mischievous when yuh spell the woman name wrong, or yuh jess eh realise yuh calling the woman Kamal??.... ;D
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 11:34:47 AM
PSA

Since everybody fraid to say the obvious, "IS MANNING FAULT"!
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 12:47:12 PM
lord Ato, rowley d president, jack and a whole setta people was getting spied on, wow. just hear it. They get rid of some d files before, they get raid. Kamla say they should of use it to fight crime, instead of spying on people. 
Post by: Dutty on November 12, 2010, 12:58:15 PM

Admiral Kellshall actally set it up for Basdeo, Kamla lying hwen she say she eh know about dat..Rowley brought the issue up in Parliament when he was in Opposition and Kamal was in basdeo cabinet...dey lie no arse.

SIA was set up on Long Circular road as de Head Quarters, visitied it myself several times.  They (PNM)took Nigel (Clement) after he come back from canada and send he to wuk with a certain woman who was a Jaycees carnival Queen at one time (me eh calling she name at all, she even get medal from patrick independence day) away from de oil and send he dere after dey expanded the role and increased the man power.

Microwave 360 around T&T, radar, listening devices de whole 9 yards..lol  Spies playing vagrant in POS man liming in rum shop, man join de Jamaat...you name it dem fellas was (trying) doing it.

If a boat leave Venezuela dem did see it.  One time dey was even looking at buying  UAV's and ting, but did get in trouble with civil aviation,

TC wit all dem setta files you have, you should head south and get ah big wukk in parliament  too

just ttell jack you know all de people dat underminin him...and whey dey hide de bugs
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 01:02:47 PM

TC wit all dem setta files you have, you should head south and get ah big wukk in parliament  too

just ttell jack you know all de people dat underminin him...and whey dey hide de bugs

I eh know who dey bug, but ah know dey was bugging, I know a lot what was going on, and Kamla real lying sayin she shocked and eh know,,,steups she was right dey when tings was going on
Post by: Bakes on November 12, 2010, 01:10:06 PM

-------------------------

By Rishi P.A. Dass

The Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago

One of the best pieces of commentary I've ever seen published in a local newspaper.
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 01:12:39 PM
If dem Bug Ato, well look at ting..is only talk about who he sexing go get revealed..ah want to see transcripts ah what dey find about Ato..dat is ah whole book right dey...hahahahahahahahha

dat go make Clinton look like Mother Theresa....lol

:devil: well they say they clean house some time after election, so most of the audio and files missing. they not sure if they get rid of it, or move it
Post by: Jah Gol on November 12, 2010, 02:58:36 PM
Guardian tweeting the names intermittently

Anand Ramlogan
Suruj Rambachan
Gerald Yetming
Wade Mark
Manohar Ramsaran
Roodal Moonilal
Roy Augustus
Winston Peters
Robin Montano
Jack Warner
Fuad Khan
Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan
Winston Dookeran
Gary Griffith
Anil Roberts
Ashworth Jack
Penelope Beckles
Donna Cox
Faris al Rawi
Colm Imbert
Keith Rowley
Post by: congo on November 12, 2010, 06:23:35 PM
I glad they spied on them. Atleast now I can go to bed knowing that these ppl in public office who supposedly have "high integrity" and what not, nothing concrete or damaging was ever found on them...If you don't tap public officials phones and other servants of the state then who do you tap?? Start from the top and work your way down I say.. Tap criminals offcourse but before you tap my phone make sure and tap politicians, big business ppl and especially judiciary officials..Spread it to licensing and customs officers too...!!!

And another thing. What country in the world would ever allow a foreign national to walk into their intelligence agencies and shut it down one by one. Why is this Canadian being allowed access to our intelligence, was he recently made a Trinidad and Tobago citizen? Has he sworn allegiance to our flag and our way of life.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 12, 2010, 06:39:38 PM
i hope they was tappin issa nicholas
Post by: Brownsugar on November 12, 2010, 06:40:39 PM
i hope they was tappin issa nicholas

:whistling: :whistling:
Post by: congo on November 12, 2010, 06:43:28 PM
Why do they see the need to name the director of this supposedly spy agency. Isn't that putting his and his family's lives at risk. Is this what he signed up for? I pretty much doubt it.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 12, 2010, 07:02:42 PM
Why do they see the need to name the director of this supposedly spy agency. Isn't that putting his and his family's lives at risk. Is this what he signed up for? I pretty much doubt it.

now all those who 'in ting' and now find out they were tapped may go after the fella..
Post by: 1-868 on November 12, 2010, 07:04:19 PM
This happens in every single country.. you think the CIA didnt maco Obama... steupppsssss
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 07:09:54 PM
And another thing. What country in the world would ever allow a foreign national to walk into their intelligence agencies and shut it down one by one. Why is this Canadian being allowed access to our intelligence, was he recently made a Trinidad and Tobago citizen? Has he sworn allegiance to our flag and our way of life.

he is the police commissioner you know, doh let nationality cloud yuh judgment, plus he was ask to investigate the matter. And he never shut down nothing.

Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 07:12:34 PM
This happens in every single country.. you think the CIA didnt maco Obama... steupppsssss

True, but it doh make it right
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2010, 07:14:39 PM

True, but it doh make it right

::)
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 07:15:57 PM
Post by: congo on November 12, 2010, 07:54:00 PM

he is the police commissioner you know, doh let nationality cloud yuh judgment, plus he was ask to investigate the matter. And he never shut down nothing.

THat's where we went wrong to begin with. I'm pretty sure to be a police officer in this country, you must be a citizen first.
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2010, 08:15:11 PM

THat's where we went wrong to begin with. I'm pretty sure to be a police officer in this country, you must be a citizen first.

D man come 2 do d govt bidding.
Post by: AirMan on November 12, 2010, 09:34:13 PM
(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/trinidadexpress112.jpg)

Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 09:48:27 PM
hahahaha ah Love d headline  :rotfl: :rotfl: alyuh does never take me serious when i say is manning fault  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on November 12, 2010, 09:59:31 PM

Well he say someting except accept my symphaties.
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 11:22:41 PM
Ah did mention de jaycees carnival queen ..not by name buh ah see de Express mention she name...is Joan Massiah, and she real boy is Nigel Clement...ah waiting to see how dis unfolds...is much moredey dat Kamla eh say...as yet....

It have real people name to call under the UNC led government who buy dis ting to start de spying....EX Military leader....he like planting up in Blanchicheusse.

Den it have de odders who shar de Israeli paid commissions for de radar and de microwave dat de police and dem disable cuz it was spying on dey calls to dey girls frens and dem...hahahahahaha

Kamla pretending dat she eh know dey was spying when Rowley did raise de concerns in parliament way back in 1997!!!

She was AG too...as was Ramesh during the time dese tings was going on.

DO SO dey say....but dey eh like so

De spies get spy on!

It does seem political mischief was afoot, but if yuh notice I sure dey have name like Abu Bakr on dat list and dem name egh get call at all..like dem is not citizens too?

Post by: Babalawo on November 13, 2010, 12:10:18 AM
hahahaha ah Love d headline  :rotfl: :rotfl: alyuh does never take me serious when i say is manning fault  :devil:
lol express does get my readership alot lately

all these political ploys to get attention by government does give me headache eh. best believe CLICO will be back in the headlines next week. Imbert and the rest planning to poung this topic in the headlines all next week.
Post by: AirMan on November 13, 2010, 10:13:13 AM

http://www.youtube.com/v/RBalQn2QflU
Post by: mukumsplau on November 13, 2010, 10:54:52 AM
kamla savin d rest ah juicy stuff fuh wen anand name get call in ting...she aint go trow all d sand in we face in one go...she have half ah bucket remainin..
Post by: AirMan on November 13, 2010, 12:51:05 PM
kamla savin d rest ah juicy stuff fuh wen anand name get call in ting...she aint go trow all d sand in we face in one go...she have half ah bucket remainin..

Is this fact or just your conspiracy theory ?
Post by: mukumsplau on November 13, 2010, 01:39:17 PM

Is this fact or just your conspiracy theory ?

wit who anand? daz d word from my reliable source..of course it aint fact YET
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 06:20:13 PM
well check the zeppo..if the evidence was obtained via illegal means (wire tapping) then it cannot be proffered in court I guessing
Post by: elan on November 13, 2010, 06:30:14 PM
How she could say she suprise?
Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2010, 10:58:02 PM
How she could say she suprise?

Because dey have mastered lying wit a straight face. Did u not c Surj say he had a cordial conversation wit Fazeer and surprise dat he is being linked 2 his downsizing?
Post by: AB.Trini on November 23, 2010, 08:39:26 PM
Any updates on the plan?
Post by: Babalawo on November 23, 2010, 10:51:00 PM
Any updates on the plan?

i think he have 2 police funerals to go the weekend, so he kinda busy with them since he came
Post by: D.H.W on November 24, 2010, 06:37:51 AM
I’M DISTURBED
Gibbs, as murder toll climbs to 444
By Joel Julien

Story Created: Nov 24, 2010 at 12:41 AM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 24, 2010 at 7:11 AM ECT

COMMISSIONER OF Police Dwayne Gibbs says he hopes the recent spike in murders is just “an aberration”.

He made the statement after he met with Chief Justice Ivor Archie and Chief Magistrate Marcia Ayers-Caesar at the Hall of Justice in Port of Spain yesterday.

According to an Express tally, there have been 26 murders since last week Tuesday. On November 16 there were 418 murders recorded, according to an Express murder toll. The murder toll up to last evening was 444, just 14 less than last year’s tally at the same period.

Asked about the spiralling murder toll by members of the media yesterday, Gibbs described the sudden rise as “very disturbing”.

“That’s very disturbing for me. I don’t want to see any crime trend like that. I’m hoping those tragic crimes are just an aberration,” Gibbs said.

He said there had also been an increase in robberies and the Police Service is looking at getting a grasp of the problem as Christmas and Carnival seasons are approaching.
“We are looking at anything we can do to prevent those crimes from taking place and anything we can do to react in a more expeditious way,” Gibbs said.

Yesterday’s meeting with Chief Justice Archie and Chief Magistrate Ayers-Caesar, which lasted two hours, came days after Archie’s attorney, Gregory Delzin, wrote to Gibbs asking whether the CJ’s phone had been wire-tapped.

Two Fridays ago, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar told the Lower House that several public figures were being illegally monitored by the Strategic Intelligence Agency (SIA), which intercepted their e-mails and text messages and recorded their phone conversations. Among those listed as victims of SIA’s illegal wire-tapping were Archie’s predecessor, former chief justice Satnarine Sharma, his wife, Kalawati, and son, Shiva.

Gibbs, however, remained tight-lipped when approached by members of the media for a comment on the wire-tapping. He insisted yesterday’s meeting with Archie and Ayers-Caesar was planned from before in order to address “administrative issues”.

“We discussed administrative issues that we can work together to make our working relationship more compatible,” he said.

Also present at yesterday’s meeting were Deputy Police Commissioners Stephen Williams and Jack Ewatski.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/IM-DISTURBED-110292524.html
Post by: D.H.W on November 24, 2010, 06:38:50 AM
...Policemen 'fled scene' when gunman opened fire
By Akile Simon

Story Created: Nov 23, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

A HIGH level investigation has been launched into the conduct of two police officers who reportedly fled the scene when a gunman opened fire and killed Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) employee Kenny Goddard.

Goddard, 38, of Goya Street, El Dorado, Tunapuna, was killed late on Sunday while on a jobsite near Peake's along the Western Main Road in Cocorite.

The Express was told that the officers, who are assigned to the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), left the scene shortly after the shooting in a vehicle loaned to them by TSTT to provide security for the workers. Up to late yesterday, investigators had not been able to identify who the officers "on duty" were during the incident.

Police sources told the Express the duty being performed by the two officers was not authorised, since no records of the duty could be found. The officers were armed with their service pistols at the time of the incident, the Express was told.

Contacted yesterday, Acting Supt Carlton Alleyne, head of IATF, initially denied the allegations, saying his officers are not engaged in such duties within the Western Division. He said it was the first time he had heard such allegations.

Alleyne said IATF officers were responsible for the Port of Spain, Laventille and Beetham districts. Probed further, Alleyne promised to investigate the incident, since the possibility exists it could have happened "under low".

"If it really was guys from by me, they would keep it hidden. But let me assure you that I'm not going to leave it just like that. Based on what you have told me I am going to investigate it," Alleyne said.

In a media release issued yesterday, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service said it was actively pursuing Goddard's killing and several others which have occurred within recent times.

"The public is hereby advised that preliminary investigations are not yet complete and as such, it would be premature for the TTPS to make any statement or pronouncement on the matter. We anticipate that the investigation into the homicide should reveal other important matters surrounding this case," the release said.

It added that on Monday, deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners and superintendents of several divisions met in an emergency session for more than three hours, "to re-examine strategies and reassess whether those strategies are aligned to the present reality or scenario that is prevailing in the country at this time".

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___Policemen__fled_scene__when_gunman_opened_fire-110284139.html
Post by: AB.Trini on March 27, 2011, 01:51:00 PM
Scene: in a posh house provided by the TNT government fully furnished with all the  required provisions that foreigners will need. Our two hired crime crusaders meet to review the  overwhelming and daunting task they have been handed.

Robin: Holy cow batman we lucked out  fuh carnival ;  jumping up  in we masked outfits fur carnival we had ah chance tuh mingle among the locals undetected. Yuh wife looked good  as batwoman  fuh meh gyul she dress like wonder-woman and  we  wuk wuk and we made good company.

Batman: yeah ah enjoy mehself....but look nag yuh eh see how people get 2 million just so?  yuh eh see peopel eh thinking about crime.

Robin: Batman we  have tuh take in 48 hours this crime think here eh easy whey  we starting?

Batman: leh we use the Canadian plan; Target soft crimes like seat belt infractions, and bad driving. Pad the stats ah bit.
Robin: ok ah wuk that all Carnival but ah see we still had some  fatalities
Batman: we eh go solve that now nah; I thought this was one nice country where every creed and race find ah equal place but lawd we have tuh start reading up about  hate crime.

Robin: yeah  holy  Nizzzaaamm web what do we do when public figures inciting hate? what do we do when there is internal corruption? how do we handle  misappropriation of public funds?

Batman: shucks we get away from having a mere school girl running a national security organization; look nah this thing down here getting real jokey. I think we go have to dial some  political advisers from Canada to come down her and help.

Robin: yuh know is more than just  violent crimes we up against here ; ah feeling if we  go real deep it have ah lot ah white collar crime feeding what happening!!!

Batman:  look Robin leh we just go along and hope for the best ; hit them hard on the streets  and traffic violations we go  let the government bring in FBI to look after the  other  big crimes.... ley we just  stay in we bat cave and ride this out.
Post by: Deeks on March 27, 2011, 05:44:47 PM
They rescue the kidnap victim!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on March 27, 2011, 07:11:34 PM
They rescue the kidnap victim!!!!!!!!!!!!

If u read d express blogs d 1st time in d history of the police service it happen
Post by: AB.Trini on May 21, 2012, 09:13:37 AM
Hello,

It has been awhile since  these highly paid officials from Canada have been in the news  or as a matter of fact since the Police Commission have made any more overtures to  assess the performance of this duo.

Correct me if I am wrong, was not upon their hiring, there was a statement to the effect that their job performance would be reviewed as to the effect they would have on reducing crime? It appears to me that significant criminal  and violent deaths continue to be reported and still there have been no public declaration of a preventative plan to curb crime. With the exception of the 'pappyshow' SOE and the resulting non- action taken against the criminal leaders, I continue to read these horrific  stories of shootings and killing  in the daily news.
Just when I think it would be ideal to retire and head back to my native land , I am jolted by the daily occurrences. I wonder how people and expats from foreign continue to enjoy Trinidad amidst all these corrosive elements. Are people  becoming callous to the situation? If teh criminals keep their activity to them selves is one thing but when innocent elderly folks are falling victims, I believe that there ought to be more  decisive measures taken to address the problem. Thinking of my family who continues to live there is a constant  worry for me and I am sure for many others who constantly have to  read about these instances daily.
When will Trinidad return to the idyllic days?
Post by: AB.Trini on May 27, 2012, 10:32:46 AM
Could we stop ignoring the obvious and call on the powers to be to show a  concrete plan for reducing crime? Is the government justified in paying tax payers money for the salaries and benefits for two highly priced officials to do ah job that as of yet not made any significant  strides in reducing the criminal element sin society?
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2015, 08:03:08 PM
...Policemen 'fled scene' when gunman opened fire
By Akile Simon

Story Created: Nov 23, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

A HIGH level investigation has been launched into the conduct of two police officers who reportedly fled the scene when a gunman opened fire and killed Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) employee Kenny Goddard.

Goddard, 38, of Goya Street, El Dorado, Tunapuna, was killed late on Sunday while on a jobsite near Peake's along the Western Main Road in Cocorite.

The Express was told that the officers, who are assigned to the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF), left the scene shortly after the shooting in a vehicle loaned to them by TSTT to provide security for the workers. Up to late yesterday, investigators had not been able to identify who the officers "on duty" were during the incident.

Police sources told the Express the duty being performed by the two officers was not authorised, since no records of the duty could be found. The officers were armed with their service pistols at the time of the incident, the Express was told.

Contacted yesterday, Acting Supt Carlton Alleyne, head of IATF, initially denied the allegations, saying his officers are not engaged in such duties within the Western Division. He said it was the first time he had heard such allegations.

Alleyne said IATF officers were responsible for the Port of Spain, Laventille and Beetham districts. Probed further, Alleyne promised to investigate the incident, since the possibility exists it could have happened "under low".

"If it really was guys from by me, they would keep it hidden. But let me assure you that I'm not going to leave it just like that. Based on what you have told me I am going to investigate it," Alleyne said.

In a media release issued yesterday, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service said it was actively pursuing Goddard's killing and several others which have occurred within recent times.

"The public is hereby advised that preliminary investigations are not yet complete and as such, it would be premature for the TTPS to make any statement or pronouncement on the matter. We anticipate that the investigation into the homicide should reveal other important matters surrounding this case," the release said.

It added that on Monday, deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners and superintendents of several divisions met in an emergency session for more than three hours, "to re-examine strategies and reassess whether those strategies are aligned to the present reality or scenario that is prevailing in the country at this time".

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___Policemen__fled_scene__when_gunman_opened_fire-110284139.html

Yuh see  it eh like today we dealing with the level of police training- or strategic response by police in times of crises. Police are people too and if they do not receive the appropriate training to deal with the nature of the criminal elements and the type of weapons they are up against it is difficult to lay blame or point fingers.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51149.msg701048#msg701048
WHAT has changed? We have a COP who still acting- please mr minister provide the man with help- one man cannot humanly handle all this.