General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Queen Macoomeh on September 27, 2010, 02:20:31 PM

Title: Bishop Long
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 27, 2010, 02:20:31 PM
...with the blindingly rapid spread of (mis) information via the various social networks and forums, it really doesn't take much to ruin/expose a person's character huh?
Title: Re: Bishop Long
Post by: makaveli on September 27, 2010, 02:34:27 PM
...with the blindingly rapid spread of (mis) information via the various social networks and forums, it really doesn't take much to ruin/expose a person's character huh?

point taken, but I see something wrong with a pastor sending pics of himself posing in the bathroom to members of his congregation.

Billy Graham had a rule, he would not sit alone with a woman who was not his wife, there would always have to be a third party present or the interaction would have to be in full view of other persons. When you in positions such as those yuh have to be very careful who you expose(have close relationships with) yourself to.
Post by: Bakes on September 27, 2010, 03:42:15 PM

point taken, but I see something wrong with a pastor sending pics of himself posing in the bathroom to members of his congregation.

Billy Graham had a rule, he would not sit alone with a woman who was not his wife, there would always have to be a third party present or the interaction would have to be in full view of other persons. When you in positions such as those yuh have to be very careful who you expose(have close relationships with) yourself to.

The first thing we must ask ourselves is "did he really send those pictures?"  Or, did they just end up in the wrong hands?

Assuming he did we need to look into the circumstances under which he sent them... was he pose off in speedos in he private bathroom trying to look sexy fuh de yutes or was he in some kinda dressing room or communal shower shirtless?  There are many other questions that need asking before we rush to judgment.   If he did infact sexually harrass these fellas then he deserves whatever is coming to him, but until then he deserves the presumption of innocence just as the next man.
Post by: weary1969 on September 27, 2010, 04:31:28 PM

ENTTTTTTTTT
Post by: Trinimassive on September 27, 2010, 06:32:57 PM
Is not like these fellas that want to do dey stuff don't hide in the last place people would look. It aint just the Catholic church.
Post by: Bakes on September 27, 2010, 07:13:59 PM
Is not like these fellas that want to do dey stuff don't hide in the last place people would look. It aint just the Catholic church.

What make you think that's the last place to look?  You must not be familiar with the black Christian churches.
Post by: asylumseeker on September 27, 2010, 10:54:03 PM

What make you think that's the last place to look?  You must not be familiar with the black Christian churches.

What? Are they hotbeds of iniquity and houses of assignation?
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 01:26:28 AM

hahahahah is chuch yuh talking about...lol
Post by: Bakes on September 28, 2010, 05:21:53 AM

hahahahah is chuch yuh talking about...lol

LOL.... dat one was right in yuh crease, yuh bitch lol

Asylum, all it takes is one visit tuh ah black church and to take a good look at the choir or the choir director/musical director they have running it.  I ent complaining, everybody welcomed at the altar... but the black church like is ah haven.
Post by: Arimaman on September 28, 2010, 06:22:00 AM
I not passing judgement on the man but what I do know is where there is smoke there is fire!!  Having lived in the Atlanta area for the past 13 years, the pulse here is that he "did" do something.  Now what he did, no one really knows.  But to say "I am not a perfect man....but I am not the man that I am being portrayed to be" is nonesense especially when yuh not saying whether yuh do it or not....

Is either yuh denying it or not and if yuh not denying it then most people will believe you did it.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 07:02:23 AM
I not passing judgement on the man but what I do know is where there is smoke there is fire!!  Having lived in the Atlanta area for the past 13 years, the pulse here is that he "did" do something.  Now what he did, no one really knows.  But to say "I am not a perfect man....but I am not the man that I am being portrayed to be" is nonesense especially when yuh not saying whether yuh do it or not....

Is either yuh denying it or not and if yuh not denying it then most people will believe you did it.

That's pretty much what I was thinking too.
I don't know the man from Adam. Never heard of him before last week. I watched his pulpit speech on Sunday and never heard "innocent" or "I didn't do it." He got lawyered up, encased his speech in scriptures and said he never portrayed himself as a perfect man. Well, none of us are perfect. We each have various sizes of skeletons  in our closet from priest to pastor, doctor to teacher. But were I innocent, I would want my flock to know. I would want to reassure them, that their shepherd, their Bishop, is a good and decent person despite the media feeding frenzy. I would be screaming my innocence from the rooftops. This isn't lying on your taxes, this is a HUGE deal that rests entirely on his position.

If however, I do have significant secrets that would damn me, I would choose my words as carefully as he did.

I'm familiar with the African American churches, been to a few, observed. The accent and certainly the style of dress differs from other churches but some elements gravitate towards these places. It's a perfect petrie dish for some personalities to grow - for good and for ill purpose.
Post by: Arimaman on September 28, 2010, 08:55:43 AM

That's pretty much what I was thinking too.
I don't know the man from Adam. Never heard of him before last week. I watched his pulpit speech on Sunday and never heard "innocent" or "I didn't do it." He got lawyered up, encased his speech in scriptures and said he never portrayed himself as a perfect man. Well, none of us are perfect. We each have various sizes of skeletons  in our closet from priest to pastor, doctor to teacher. But were I innocent, I would want my flock to know. I would want to reassure them, that their shepherd, their Bishop, is a good and decent person despite the media feeding frenzy. I would be screaming my innocence from the rooftops. This isn't lying on your taxes, this is a HUGE deal that rests entirely on his position.

If however, I do have significant secrets that would damn me, I would choose my words as carefully as he did.

I'm familiar with the African American churches, been to a few, observed. The accent and certainly the style of dress differs from other churches but some elements gravitate towards these places. It's a perfect petrie dish for some personalities to grow - for good and for ill purpose.

Well said...I'll avoid any discussions about church as that can be deemed offensive regardless of which side yuh take.  I used to live in Lithonia and work in DeKalb County.  That man is very powerful.  I think those lads are very brave to make those accusations, regardless of whether they are true or not.  The county sheriff is a member of the church.  The entire political establishment is DeKalb County rely's on that flock to be elected.  Another example of his power; the state Department of Transportation funded an entire interstate exit ramp fuh this church regardless of what others say. 

This whole situation wreaks with sadness for both the lads and the bishop...by the way, he anointed himself bishop eh, so go figure...  At the end of the day the bishop in trouble and the church have some issues at well...
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 09:23:29 AM
Never lived there but spend a lot of time in Atlanta for work/play - in the Marietta area. It was part of my education on the relationship between Caribbean and American people of colour. Dais a whole nex udda tory.

Powerful people can be dethroned and smeared fairly easily. Nowadays it only take a tweet. But with all the posts and tweets and FaceBook discussions aside, his speech -the only thing that I really paid attention to, left me unimpressed and unconvinced. Saw the two photos of him in skin tight wear. He works out obviously and as an ex-body sculptor myself (Dutty stop laughing), I know there is a measure of nacissism in the sport - nothing wrong with that. Don't know how those photos got distributed.

by the way, I noticed a Jamaican flag flying in the church...always lovely to see us repped..
Post by: FF on September 28, 2010, 10:11:04 AM
i actually went this church twice maybe 3 times about ten years ago... I had a co-worker harass meh to go with he and he wife until i finally relent.

(as a side note, but like ppl does see de devil in me. they always trying to drag me to church. My great aunt used to drag me quite chaguanas to church, never my other siblings just me. weird)

well anyhow, yuh could probably tell from my language that this kinda ting is not my cup of tea. the whole setup just rub me the wrong way, in any case i does group all of them as fraud... benny hinn, creflo dollar, peter popoff... all of dem... nothing dat does come out does surprise me...

Post by: Dutty on September 28, 2010, 11:20:47 AM
Never lived there but spend a lot of time in Atlanta for work/play - in the Marietta area. It was part of my education on the relationship between Caribbean and American people of colour. Dais a whole nex udda tory.

Powerful people can be dethroned and smeared fairly easily. Nowadays it only take a tweet. But with all the posts and tweets and FaceBook discussions aside, his speech -the only thing that I really paid attention to, left me unimpressed and unconvinced. Saw the two photos of him in skin tight wear. He works out obviously and as an ex-body sculptor myself (Dutty stop laughing), I know there is a measure of nacissism in the sport - nothing wrong with that. Don't know how those photos got distributed.

I eh laugh...ah chortle ;)

However I curious to hear the story yuh refer to in your first paragraph
Post by: Daft Trini on September 28, 2010, 11:58:30 AM

by the way, I noticed a Jamaican flag flying in the church...always lovely to see us repped..

If you see how people did smear Manning and Calder Hart name all over face book, twitter and thing eh....
Post by: asylumseeker on September 28, 2010, 12:09:19 PM
Well all I know about this story I've discovered on this thread. Heard of the allegations via the traditional media, but had no idea that they extended to pics posed in bathroom.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 12:12:11 PM
I eh laugh...ah chortle ;)
However I curious to hear the story yuh refer to in your first paragraph
[/quote]

yuh chortle?  :rotfl: steupse

Boy...it was a huge learning experience for me - made me big quick. It was over those few years that I clued into the way the Caribbean is viewed by some Americans - of all hues. I lost my cultural virginity so to speak. I went from expecting acceptance to harsh realizations. I dealt with the 'ole boys club' and bristled when refrerred to as "girly". I dealt with people who stopped dead and stared at me "you ain't from round here is ya?" I spoke with African American elite who wouldn't walk the same side of the road with the "lower blacks". I was asked whether we in the Caribbean knew how to use cutlery by people who looked like me but who I couldn't fathom. It's not only Hindus who have castes eh.
Then to heap insult unto injury, having been raised in Canada, I had to field some questions about Canada that left me with my mouth open in dismay and amazement - too stunned to be amused.

Ah should write a book...

Asylum...the pics were of him, fully clothed but in tight biking gear or workout gear, in a bathroom. Can't tell if it is a home bathroom or some other place. He is powerfully built and the clothes showed that.
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 12:13:42 PM
Well all I know about this story I've discovered on this thread. Heard of the allegations via the traditional media, but had no idea that they extended to pics posed in bathroom.

I hoipe dem pics eh exciting yuh like de half chinee from Poly in st james  ;)
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 12:15:07 PM
Queenie it had to be the Canadian ting, I had no such experiences in Atlanta....Canadians are not highly regraded in the US..any part of the US.  ;)
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 12:18:08 PM
Queenie it had to be the Canadian ting, I had no such experiences in Atlanta....Canadians are not highly regraded in the US..any part of the US.  ;)

We all have various experiences I suppose. No one other than Americans are highly regarded in the US.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 12:19:58 PM
(http://www.cbsnews.com/i/tim/2010/09/23/bishop-eddie-long-pictures3_370x278.jpg)

(http://www.cbsnews.com/i/tim/2010/09/24/bishop_eddie_long_pictures_370x278.jpg)
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 12:20:51 PM

We all have various experiences I suppose. No one other that Americans are highly regarded in the US.

But America makes up 4/5ths of the civilized world.  So thats all that really matters.  lol
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 12:21:17 PM
http://www.truthdig.com/report/item/the_ironies_of_bishop_long_20100927/
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 12:22:00 PM

We all have various experiences I suppose. No one other that Americans are highly regarded in the US.

But America makes up 4/5ths of the civilized world.  So thats all that really matters.  lol

what ever dude, I'm not into the US vs the world argument.  :P I leave that to all yuh...
Post by: Dutty on September 28, 2010, 12:31:29 PM
pssst! doh take de chain from captain america....he jus tryin to lure yuh in to show yuh he square peg

run
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 12:33:17 PM
pssst! doh take de chain from captain america....he jus tryin to lure yuh in to show yuh he square peg

run

yuh obsessed with my peg eh...yuh sure yuh is not ah Bishop?
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 12:38:49 PM

run

...and dat, Ladies and Gentlemen, is why I leave all yuh to yuh arguments.
Post by: Dutty on September 28, 2010, 12:40:44 PM

run

maybe you want to checkmate bishop long wit yuh square

I out ah dat..is is jus a pawn watchin de queen
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 01:01:55 PM

run

maybe you want to checkmate bishop long wit yuh square

I out ah dat..is is jus a pawn watchin de queen

Queen now say leave she out...lol
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 01:04:56 PM
yeah man. I could lime and ole talk whole day but when de talk get chupid beyond a reasonable laugh, I does fine someting else to occupy meh time.
All yuh have pre-exisiting commess dat doh concern me.

So we done wid Bishop Long?
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 28, 2010, 06:42:29 PM
brief interview with one of the accusers.

http://www.myfoxatlanta.com/dpp/news/iteam/bishop-eddie-long-accuser-talks-jamal-parris-20100928-es?ref=nf
 (http://www.myfoxatlanta.com/dpp/news/iteam/bishop-eddie-long-accuser-talks-jamal-parris-20100928-es?ref=nf)
Post by: truetrini on September 28, 2010, 07:03:18 PM
me eh have no pre-existing commess with Dutty..NONE..dat said I feel de good Bishop is a homo and the fellas eh lying.

One coulda be a lie..but 4 and maybe more?  Nah!
Post by: asylumseeker on September 28, 2010, 08:17:52 PM
"Pre-existing commess" ... ah love de wording ...  ;D

Ah jes peruse de Complaint ... one could say it's rampant with possibly subliminal meaning ... what with one of the defendants identified as "Longfellows" and de next one as "Long" ... ppl eh play dey have sense oui.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

If ANYBODY else emerges to declare victim status anticipate a gradual exodus of the church base.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 29, 2010, 06:58:09 AM

Well getting more than one person to lie isn't hard. Setting up a fall for a high profile figure isn't hard.
I'm looking more at the bishop than those bringing the suit. I don't even have a problem with the photos. He is clothed, I don't know how they came about or to whom.
Try as I might, I just can't get past his non-avowal of innocence.

Asylum...leave meh nah...lol

But it isn't just the church base that will lose its leader. His family...his children....I ache for them...even if he is proven innocent, the damage is done.
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 08:02:24 AM

Well getting more than one person to lie isn't hard. Setting up a fall for a high profile figure isn't hard.
I'm looking more at the bishop than those bringing the suit. I don't even have a problem with the photos. He is clothed, I don't know how they came about or to whom.
Try as I might, I just can't get past his non-avowal of innocence.

Asylum...leave meh nah...lol

But it isn't just the church base that will lose its leader. His family...his children....I ache for them...even if he is proven innocent, the damage is done.

Personally, I could care less about he "if" he did this.  Why would we care b/c he is a "man of the cloth".   The church?  Then wouldn't he be considered a fraud after all the he would have done.  What about the young guys whose lives are destroyed?  Where there is smoke there is fire.  A man alledgedly sending pictures to other men in speedos and you find that normal? Are you kidding me?  At least he is guilty of bad judgement "if" he sent the photos.

Keep believing he eh doing nutting wrong....more ah them coming out soon according to some in the media....Allyuh need to wake up yes....
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 29, 2010, 08:09:54 AM
Personally, I could care less about he "if" he did this.  Why would we care b/c he is a "man of the cloth".   The church?  Then wouldn't he be considered a fraud after all the he would have done.  What about the young guys whose lives are destroyed?  Where there is smoke there is fire.  A man alledgedly sending pictures to other men in speedos and you find that normal? Are you kidding me?  At least he is guilty of bad judgement "if" he sent the photos.

Keep believing he eh doing nutting wrong....more ah them coming out soon according to some in the media....Allyuh need to wake up yes....

I don't know where the photos came from. I haven't read what was their source or destination. Did he send them to the boys?
No where did I say he didn't do it. In fact, no one in this thread said he didn't do it.
Who it is yuh arguing wid?
lolol
all yuh good oui.
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 08:17:37 AM

I don't know where the photos came from. I haven't read what was their source or destination. Did he send them to the boys?
No where did I say he didn't do it. In fact, no one in this thread said he didn't do it.
Who it is yuh arguing wid?
lolol
all yuh good oui.
Me eh arguing....I have no idea why you thought that...  I just think you're being naive that's all...
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 29, 2010, 08:24:20 AM

[/quote]
Me eh arguing....I have no idea why you thought that...  I just think you're being naive that's all...
[/quote]

aight...yuh not arguing.
But I still don't understand where you thought I was being naive?
Where did I say I believe he is innocent?  ???

Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 08:34:54 AM

[/quote]

aight...yuh not arguing.
But I still don't understand where you thought I was being naive?
Where did I say I believe he is innocent?  ???

[/quote]
I never said you indicated he was innocent.  Specifically the photos and whether they were sent to the young men.  I agree that we don't know with certainty where the pics originated but it's disturbing nonetheless.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 29, 2010, 08:44:38 AM
lol..
nah the photos don't disturb me in and of themselves. If it comes out that he sent it to the children, then that is a horse of a different colour.
But if he had them on his phone or PC and they were ripped...then the photos are irrelevant to this matter, not so?

But you're calling people "naive" and saying "keep believe he en doing nutting wrong". So dais where I get tie up.

anyway...
Post by: truetrini on September 29, 2010, 08:47:25 AM
de only ting get rip is dem young boys bamsee and he wass vareful to make sure he groom dem and he wait til dey reach de age ah consent.
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 08:49:51 AM
lol..
nah the photos don't disturb me in and of themselves. If it comes out that he sent it to the children, then that is a horse of a different colour.
But if he had them on his phone or PC and they were ripped...then the photos are irrelevant to this matter, not so?

But you're calling people "naive" and saying "keep believe he en doing nutting wrong". So dais where I get tie up.

anyway...

Fair enough....
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on September 29, 2010, 08:54:26 AM
 :cheers:

mwwaahh...we still in love eh Arimaman?  :devil:
Post by: Dr. Rat on September 29, 2010, 09:12:25 AM
This man is sick and should be punished - not in civil court, but criminal.

Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 09:27:02 AM
:cheers:

mwwaahh...we still in love eh Arimaman?  :devil:
Doh study it....Like Lord Nelson say...all ah we is one familyyyyy ;D
Post by: zuluwarrior on September 29, 2010, 09:29:01 AM
If he go to jail we will see the real bishop long  preach and teach too save the sinners.
Post by: Arimaman on September 29, 2010, 09:29:43 AM
This man is sick and should be punished - not in civil court, but criminal.

"If" he did it, he maybe sick but it is not illegal.  The boys were at an age on consent so no criminal charges can be filed.  However, that being said, "if" it comes out that he did do it and church monies were involved, best believe the feds will go after him.  Can use 501C monies for your personal gain.... IRS doh mess with them in the US nah....
Post by: Socafan on September 29, 2010, 09:33:22 AM
Wife have ah 100% record with her "gaydar". I never hear 'bout this man until this story and when he was on CNN ah call the wife quick, quick, and ask her if she think that man is gay. In her words.. "of course he is, who is he?", right off the bat.

I should say her brother is gay and was like that from birth. She says she knew he was gay from since they were little kids growing up. He tried with women but eventually.........

My attitude before he finally came out and everybody start talking about it, was being gay is only a lifestyle choice, but I know now for sure that it is definitely not necessarily so. A tremendous perspective change. I will also say that people in general would never know he is gay unless someone told you. Him and all his "crew" look the same way. And this Bishop fella fits the mold.

I have no doubt he is gay which makes the accusations all the more believable. What is unbelievable and despicable is that he is a "raging homophobe" in addition to being married with kids. Cyar respect that.
Post by: pecan on October 01, 2010, 06:16:46 AM

Good article from Hitchens

God's Bigmouths
Men like Bishop Eddie Long are fouling the legacy of the civil rights movement.
By Christopher Hitchens Posted Monday, Sept. 27, 2010, at 11:10 AM ET

Passing through Union Station in Washington, D.C., last week, I made my usual nod to the statue of A. Phillip Randolph. You can miss it if you are not looking for it, and it has been allowed to suffer defacement. (The sculpted pair of reading glasses held in the great man's hand was snapped off some years ago and was never replaced.) Randolph built a powerful trade union for black railroad workers and proposed the first march on Washington when Franklin Roosevelt was president. His role in the later civil rights movement was germinal and dynamic. But you never hear his name anymore, and it is not taught to schoolchildren. Nor is the name of Bayard Rustin, a charismatic black intellectual and pioneer of gay rights, who organized the March on Washington in 1963. Along with many other secular democratic heroes, Randolph and Rustin have been airbrushed from history. The easiest way to gain instant acceptance as a black "leader" these days is to shove the word Reverend in front of your name.

more on God's Bigmouths (http://www.slate.com/id/2268796/)

Bishop Eddie Long gives a sermon where he addressed sex scandal allegations.

(http://img.slate.com/media/1/123125/2073765/2240459/2266153/100927_FW_EddieLong.jpg)
Post by: Pointman on October 13, 2010, 09:55:26 PM

That's not true.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on October 14, 2010, 07:54:40 AM
so what's the latest with the good Bishop? Anything happened recently?
Post by: truetrini on October 14, 2010, 10:17:17 AM

That's not true.

You sir could miss the forest for the trees!  lol
Post by: Dutty on October 14, 2010, 10:36:11 AM

It have pics of him pose off in he thong for miami knaval
Post by: asylumseeker on October 15, 2010, 08:50:18 AM

Bishop Eddie Long: Another lawsuit filed against New Birth

By Shelia M. Poole

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
6:43 p.m. Thursday, October 14, 2010

New Birth Missionary Baptist Church is the focus of another lawsuit, this one by a former employee who alleges she was the victim of sexual harassment,  sexual discrimination and retaliation.

Tama Colson, who is described in the lawsuit as a married resident of Georgia, claims a male supervisor  showed her photographs of a male sex organ on a cellphone. In a lawsuit filed Wednesday in U.S. District Court in Atlanta,  Colson alleges  she was harassed,  demoted and later discharged from the Lithonia church after she complained.

Barbara Marschalk, an attorney who represents New Birth said it was "too premature for us to comment now."

Colson, who also attended New Birth with her family, said in the suit that she was hired by the church in August 1998 as an audio engineer and was eventually promoted to duplication manager, overseeing the reproduction of broadcasts of New Birth services.

The lawsuit alleges that in October 2009, a male supervisor in the church's television department  showed her a picture of a sex organ on his cellphone.  Colson said she was "horrified" and asked the supervisor "what the hell is your problem." She said he grinned and walked away.

The lawsuit claims the church was aware of previous incidents between the supervisor and female employees and congregants but never took corrective action.

In May 2010, the suit alleges, Colson learned that her department was going to be placed under the control of  the television department, where the male supervisor worked. She asked to be transferred out of that department or warned that she would resign. A church elder convinced her to stay, but in June she found out that the man would be her boss. She said he began a "campaign of torment" against her, including coming into her office and staring.

She complained and alleges she was later demoted to secretary. Eventually, she claimed, she was discharged from the job.

The suit seeks an unspecified amount in damages.

Bishop Eddie L. Long, who is facing his own legal woes, is not named in this lawsuit. Long has been sued by four young men who allege who used his position to coerce them into sexual relations. New Birth is also named in those lawsuits. Long, in an earlier statement, said the claims were untrue.

Long, who oversees a prominent ministry that reaches into several countries,  is also a defendant in a lawsuit that alleges he and two others defaulted on a  property loan. The suit, filed in DeKalb County State Court Monday, is seeking $1.9 million.

The new suit stems from August 2007 when Long and two business partners as part of the West Indies Holding Company bought a gym in Jonesboro. Long’s partners include Marrion Heflin, a self-employed businessman, and Frederick Folson of McDonough, who runs a Lithonia nonprofit.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 15, 2010, 08:54:49 AM
http://abcnews.go.com/US/video/bishop-long-billboard-creates-debate-11823226

Interesting that all of the questions were cast to African Americans only.
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on October 15, 2010, 09:09:50 AM
this just keeps getting better and better.

What's that part about the West Indies Holding Company?
Post by: truetrini on October 15, 2010, 11:22:27 AM

why he is the leader of a black church and widely viewed as a leader in the black community.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 17, 2010, 09:58:09 AM

why he is the leader of a black church and widely viewed as a leader in the black community.

The varying polygamy and abuse stories emanating from Utah and other states became stories of national import. Once a story attains that dimension it can't properly be seen as restricted to an audience of its natural constituency. I'm sure there are valid and viable opinions held by persons outside of that constituency and if the media would pursue its function properly they would/should solicit opinions beyond that constituency.

It's inherently presumptuous, insulting and contrary to a society predicated on egalitarian notions to leave such assumptive behaviour unchallenged.
Post by: Bakes on October 17, 2010, 10:17:34 AM
The varying polygamy and abuse stories emanating from Utah and other states became stories of national import. Once a story attains that dimension it can't properly be seen as restricted to an audience of its natural constituency. I'm sure there are valid and viable opinions held by persons outside of that constituency and if the media would pursue its function properly they would/should solicit opinions beyond that constituency.

It's inherently presumptuous, insulting and contrary to a society predicated on egalitarian notions to leave such assumptive behaviour unchallenged.

Mormons on the whole are a polarizing lot... particularly where their theology and traditional ties to polygamy are concerned, so I think it's perfectly understandable that any storyline along both tangents would generate national interest.  With his Bishop Long thing however, it's feature on the front pages of national newspapers such as the NY Times notwithstanding, interest is largely contained within the African-American community.  Heck, there's probably more discussion about it here than within many other WI communities.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 17, 2010, 10:22:47 AM
Catholic priests bulling youths left, right and center ... the media didn't restrict their inquiry to Irish Catholics. :devil:
Post by: Bakes on October 17, 2010, 10:31:01 AM
Catholic priests bulling youths left, right and center ... the media didn't restrict their inquiry to Irish Catholics. :devil:

The problem is more endemic in the Catholic church... happening in parishes all over the nation, hence a nationwide concern.  Not so much the case in the black churches, we don't know enough to say that this is an isolated situation, but on the surface it would be fair to conclude as much  ;)
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 13, 2010, 11:59:03 AM
so ah hear de goodly bishop settling out of court. Is dat true or do I need better sources?
Post by: Bourbon on December 13, 2010, 12:47:50 PM
so ah hear de goodly bishop settling out of court. Is dat true or do I need better sources?

Who yuh talking bout? Long or Pastor Stewart?
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on December 15, 2010, 11:43:54 AM
ent ah say Bishop?
Pastor Stewart handling he stories long time... :rotfl: