Sports => Football => Topic started by: AB.Trini on September 29, 2010, 06:02:22 PM

Title: CALL UP BIRCHALL thread and more why nots?
Post by: AB.Trini on September 29, 2010, 06:02:22 PM
Come nah ...forget that fact the man  get run in WC when some one with an axe to grind did not; the man is ah proven Warrior.

Maybe there are factors that the public eh need to know. Then put out a brief" Birchall will no longer be invited nor be considered for selection for TNT due to unfortunate circumstances. But what the f...ac.....k why the  omission?

Osei telesford? why not?

Randi Patterson? why not?

Daryl Roberts why not?
Title: Re: CALL UP BIRCHALL thread and more why nots?
Post by: Sam on September 29, 2010, 06:07:15 PM
But Darryl Roberts say he not sure to make the Digicel Cup, why call him then.

I feel at this point in time Boucaud would have been a better option to go with.

Telesford, Patterson, Boucaud and Birchall.

We dont need Glen, we could keep him for the Digicel Cup instead.
Post by: andre samuel on September 29, 2010, 06:08:52 PM
I honestly feel that he aint calling Birchall cause Birchall bull one ah Latapy girls......
Post by: AB.Trini on September 29, 2010, 06:12:42 PM
I honestly feel that he aint calling Birchall cause Birchall bull one ah Latapy girls......
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ah hear two ah them or at least one of   is a regular poster  in here.
Post by: PATRIOT on September 29, 2010, 06:13:54 PM
Either that or Birchall must be hit Latas some "Hard jam" back in 05/06, buh say what, we only have a few more months of him to put up with, then we could look forward to a truly "Happy New Year"
Post by: Jah Gol on September 29, 2010, 06:15:37 PM
I feel that is a personal thing.
Post by: 100% Barataria on September 29, 2010, 06:31:09 PM
Soundin so we
Post by: injunchile on September 29, 2010, 06:40:06 PM
I want to believe that LA in the MLS play offs so Birchall not available for these Friendlies
Post by: Ngozi on September 29, 2010, 06:44:40 PM
No reason for him not to call up the man especially if he call up Yohance ....... Latas boy ey boy
Post by: Tallman on September 29, 2010, 06:49:32 PM
I want to believe that LA in the MLS play offs so Birchall not available for these Friendlies

Nah. Look he call up Julius and DC United have a game on October 9th.
Post by: just cool on September 29, 2010, 06:50:38 PM
Either that or Birchall must be hit Latas some "Hard jam" back in 05/06, buh say what, we only have a few more months of him to put up with, then we could look forward to a truly "Happy New Year"
Yuh promise!  BTW where the source.
Post by: just cool on September 29, 2010, 07:11:51 PM
As much as i cyar stand latas and he BS, i believe he made ah move in the right direction by callin up better defenders and ah proven striker. lets all hope that birchall get ah call up for the degicel cup.

we all have our favorites on here, and birchy happens to be ah huge favorite and rightfully so, BC no birchy = no world cup, but @ least allyuh get tuh see allyuh favorite player in the hex. i didn't get to see mines, and i still waiting, so allyuh be patient.

i say for now lewwe @ least applaud latas for the improvement, maybe he needs tuh see some more of these guys before he finally bring birchall in the fold.

i think we should hold tight and look forward to better call ups in the near future the likes of sealy, roberts, telesford, samuels, hyland and birchall.                     positive.
Post by: che on September 29, 2010, 07:29:10 PM
As much as i cyar stand latas and he BS, i believe he made ah move in the right direction by callin up better defenders and ah proven striker. lets all hope that birchall get ah call up for the degicel cup.

we all have our favorites on here, and birchy happens to be ah huge favorite and rightfully so, BC no birchy = no world cup, but @ least allyuh get tuh see allyuh favorite player in the hex. i didn't get to see mines, and i still waiting, so allyuh be patient.

i say for now lewwe @ least applaud latas for the improvement, maybe he needs tuh see some more of these guys before he finally bring birchall in the fold.

i think we should hold tight and look forward to better call ups in the near future the likes of sealy, roberts, telesford, samuels, hyland and birchall.                     positive.

I hope you right. :beermug:
Post by: PATRIOT on September 29, 2010, 08:21:50 PM
Oh yeah! between the MOWAT and MOSpalk, the deal all but done.. UNLESS Latas actually manages to WIN the Digi Cup... but I don't see that happening.
Post by: D.H.W on September 29, 2010, 08:53:04 PM
Oh yeah! between the MOWAT and MOSpalk, the deal all but done.. UNLESS Latas actually manages to WIN the Digi Cup... but I don't see that happening.

Post by: Rastaman on September 30, 2010, 09:13:50 AM
Birchall's last full game was on the 21st Aug. Next game he was substituted out in the 77' after picking up a yellow card. Since then he as had only 45 mins of football on the 11th September, in the 2nd half of a game othat there were already winning..... He is not on form, he is not playing...why should he be called up RIGHT NOW..
Please let us wait untill he can raise is game back to where it is supposed to be, like alyuh want the man to come here to play a game and s!@#$ down he self on the field.

Come on guys let us please investigate before we are so quick to condem. If I was coach he not comming RIGHT NOW.

This brings the argument of players without clubs playing games but this is two fold
1. To get caps in order to get contracts to start playing again(look where Hyland and Keon Daniel are now thank God)
2. In most cases they were already on the team and need some training to stay fit(remember they have no club)

Post by: The_Ice on September 30, 2010, 11:27:42 AM
he has not featured in the past couple games b/c kovalenko was in form. dema scored in the 1st game they rested birchall so why take him back out of the lineup immediately? he played sh!t during the weekend so chances are birchall would be back on the field against chivas usa. if not then something is wrong with bruce because chris has been playing well this season... did u just look for these stats or do u actually watch LA's games and keep up with the team's news?
Post by: Touches on September 30, 2010, 11:36:07 AM
Rastaman...careful with that arguement yuh throw out dey...cause of some of the men he call back dem ent getting no minutes on they team neither.
Post by: Dinner Mints on September 30, 2010, 11:40:07 AM
Rastaman...careful with that arguement yuh throw out dey...cause of some of the men he call back dem ent getting no minutes on they team neither.

In fact, according to andre, Jlloyd was getting call back specifically because he wasn't getting no minutes with Bolton.
Post by: D.H.W on September 30, 2010, 11:41:46 AM
Birchall's last full game was on the 21st Aug. Next game he was substituted out in the 77' after picking up a yellow card. Since then he as had only 45 mins of football on the 11th September, in the 2nd half of a game othat there were already winning..... He is not on form, he is not playing...why should he be called up RIGHT NOW..
Please let us wait untill he can raise is game back to where it is supposed to be, like alyuh want the man to come here to play a game and s!@#$ down he self on the field.

Come on guys let us please investigate before we are so quick to condem. If I was coach he not comming RIGHT NOW.

This brings the argument of players without clubs playing games but this is two fold
1. To get caps in order to get contracts to start playing again(look where Hyland and Keon Daniel are now thank God)
2. In most cases they were already on the team and need some training to stay fit(remember they have no club)

since when not playing is a excuse now, i see rel man call up before that aint doing shit
Post by: Coach on September 30, 2010, 12:12:48 PM
Latas will be a good coach... it is just how quick he understands that it's a fine line between winning and losing and winning will come from having an eye to select the best players.

If he don't understand the "fine line" for winning is by selecting the best players and TTFF fires him, he will be back down the road... after doing some club coaching and understands that a good coach needs good players.
Post by: soccerman on September 30, 2010, 02:10:45 PM
Latas will be a good coach... it is just how quick he understands that it's a fine line between winning and losing and winning will come from having an eye to select the best players.

If he don't understand the "fine line" for winning is by selecting the best players and TTFF fires him, he will be back down the road... after doing some club coaching and understands that a good coach needs good players.

Well said :beermug:
Post by: Spursy on September 30, 2010, 05:29:52 PM
ah happy. oh my it's about gosh darn time latas call up some men. I think he knows is 7 /10 we getting in JAMROCK so he is scrud.

A true sign of a shithound, running for the big gunz because the squad he built cant even beat Gayana.

And Rastaman you wrote a bunch of garbage. Birch is in good form this season because I live here and watch most of the Galaxy games, right now Bruce playing Raneri and tinkering with the team but we all know the quality of the whiteboy.
Also latas playing the fittball so clubless personel get to embrass this country internationally and suddenly this is okay??? You please send me some of that mountain thing yuh smoking.
Anyhow, I expected latas to call up Birchall in all honesty this has to be a personal issue. I know if Yorke was coach Birch would be captain and play every game.
Post by: Spursy on September 30, 2010, 05:32:51 PM

\
Dread you don't need good players, all you need is a solid system and know wtf u doing. I have seen underdog sides win the Champions league, like Porto and Inter.. doh talk nonsense, latas have no clue
Post by: banton on September 30, 2010, 06:16:59 PM
latapy has must stop now because of his legacy when they mention his name they will always add you wasnt a good coach and forget

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmw4gxMzisQ&feature=related
Post by: Deeks on September 30, 2010, 06:35:26 PM
latapy has must stop now because of his legacy when they mention his name they will always add you wasnt a good coach and forget

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmw4gxMzisQ&feature=related

I know most people up in arms with RL because of the team's dismal performance. To say that he should quit because that will damage his legacy is a joke. His legacy as a player  will never be tarnished. If every great player decide that they will not go into coaching because it will damaging their socalled legacy will be a great deservice to the game. Great players always have something to give the game. They either succeed or fail. Some succeed, some fail. They are only human.
Post by: Coach on September 30, 2010, 09:10:44 PM

\
Dread you don't need good players, all you need is a solid system and know wtf u doing. I have seen underdog sides win the Champions league, like Porto and Inter.. doh talk nonsense, latas have no clue

Porto and Inter was Underdog to who...if you can play for Porto or Inter you can play!!! Doh be so hard on Latas the breds is learning, if anyone to blame is TTFF for not allowing Latas to develop his coaching with a youth team and then transition on to the senior team, but it's TTFF not to bright when it comes to being knowledgeable about making good coaching and development decisions.
Post by: kounty on September 30, 2010, 09:36:14 PM
fellaz on here ent tired bawl for this she-tee fellah.  ;D
Post by: NUFF on September 30, 2010, 11:46:25 PM
How Latapy can refuse to select Darryl Roberts and Chris Birchall is a mystery to me.
Post by: Rastaman on October 01, 2010, 06:54:56 AM
he has not featured in the past couple games b/c kovalenko was in form. dema scored in the 1st game they rested birchall so why take him back out of the lineup immediately? he played sh!t during the weekend so chances are birchall would be back on the field against chivas usa. if not then something is wrong with bruce because chris has been playing well this season... did u just look for these stats or do u actually watch LA's games and keep up with the team's news?
Ok so right as we ready to call the man up he start to ride pine...who is to know the reason, be it tinkering with the team or the man form dip..... only Birchall and Bruce Arena could answer that. I like most people forming my opinion by looking in from the outside. I am not against Birchall just trying to be realistic about why he not on the team. Lets hope that you are right and Birchall plays this weekend and proves that he is at his best, then after that I will join in the calls to have him on the team for the Gold Cup.
Post by: Rastaman on October 01, 2010, 07:01:32 AM

since when not playing is a excuse now, i see rel man call up before that aint doing shit
I am not saying that it is an excuse....just the reality of the situation. As far as I see it we know what he capable of so let we strengthen the other players that will have to play alongside him in the Gold Cup. If Latas don't bring him for the Gold Cup that he look for what he get.
Post by: elan on October 01, 2010, 07:04:19 AM

I am not saying that it is an excuse....just the reality of the situation. As far as I see it we know what he capable of so let we strengthen the other players that will have to play alongside him in the Gold Cup. If Latas don't bring him for the Gold Cup that he look for what he get.

Is how much people Latas call up that wasn't even on the first team of a local PFL team?
Post by: Rastaman on October 01, 2010, 07:09:46 AM
ah happy. oh my it's about gosh darn time latas call up some men. I think he knows is 7 /10 we getting in JAMROCK so he is scrud.

A true sign of a shithound, running for the big gunz because the squad he built cant even beat Gayana.

And Rastaman you wrote a bunch of garbage. Birch is in good form this season because I live here and watch most of the Galaxy games, right now Bruce playing Raneri and tinkering with the team but we all know the quality of the whiteboy.
Also latas playing the fittball so clubless personel get to embrass this country internationally and suddenly this is okay??? You please send me some of that mountain thing yuh smoking.
Anyhow, I expected latas to call up Birchall in all honesty this has to be a personal issue. I know if Yorke was coach Birch would be captain and play every game.
Yes he in good form this season but right now for whatever reason he not playing and has to win his place back in the team(which may or maynot be hard to do)..... so why move him away now, for a game that is only for bragging rights. If he is not called for the Gold Cup then I agree totally...fire Latapy.
Post by: Spursy on October 01, 2010, 07:14:57 AM
The real deal is that alot of us are left to speculate on these things because we are not informed properly.

If latas can come out justify his actions with results and give us his insight on why some of the key players are left out of the squad, some of us may jus might start respecting him as a coach.
Post by: Rastaman on October 01, 2010, 07:22:24 AM
The real deal is that alot of us are left to speculate on these things because we are not informed properly.

If latas can come out justify his actions with results and give us his insight on why some of they key players are left out of the squad, some of us may jus might start respecting him as a coach.
:applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: kounty on October 01, 2010, 07:35:18 AM

If latas can come out justify his actions with results and give us his insight on why some of they key players are left out of the squad, some of us may jus might start respecting him as a coach.
well only david Mohammed does do interviews after the games, so we will never know.
Post by: elan on October 01, 2010, 08:24:55 AM
Remember when? (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=43308.msg554361#msg554361)
Post by: soccerman on October 01, 2010, 07:46:37 PM
I normally try not to give coaches a hard time because many times they do peculiar things and when we notice a method to their madness and praise them for their genius when it works. Other times as fans we do show some compassion when a coach tries something and it didn't go over as expected. I can understand that, that's part of coaching, you take a gamble every now and again.

Now when a coach tries the same thing over and over without getting results especially with other players to their disposal that can do better, then that irritates me. Why we keeping insisting on selecting mediocre players at the international level is beyond me. I know players have to develop but it should be a gradual process and they should be around regular senior team members then eventually break into the squad. To me that's the most effective way to learn the game, no matter the level. Not by throwing so called promising players in the mix just to give them experience when they're not technically sound or fit.

I'm not trying to tell Latas how to coach/manage the team because at the end of the day it's his decisions that matters not mine but any coach will tell you that in most cases your better players to give you the best chance of winning, AT ANY LEVEL, just ask coaches in the sport by picking their brains. At the international level you need to select players that are capable of playing international football and the system. When the time is right or necessary you bring in inexperienced players and surround them by one's who're capable of guiding them on the field in games. In T&T's case, sad to say but the players best suited for this are our foreign based players, that's just the reality.

In fairness to Latas, he did call up a few players so I'll give him the benefit of the doubt, at least he's taking a step in the right direction. However I'm still disappointed in Birchall's omission and we really don't know the reason. This is a big game for us on the road; I just hope this squad is equipped and ready for the battle against our arch rivals

Post by: chelsealife on October 01, 2010, 07:59:03 PM

Yes he in good form this season but right now for whatever reason he not playing and has to win his place back in the team(which may or maynot be hard to do)..... so why move him away now, for a game that is only for bragging rights. If he is not called for the Gold Cup then I agree totally...fire Latapy.
hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??
Post by: just cool on October 01, 2010, 10:49:32 PM

well only david Mohammed does do interviews after the games, so we will never know.
Hear nah KB sshhhhhuussshhhh...... :timeout: :justkidding: on the real, i couldn't agree with you more.

i always say and will reiterate, russell latapy doh give two sh!ts about the fans, even pancho used to give his analysis no matter how warped it was, latas on the other hand, cyar explain zilch about his choices, player selection/ tactic/ failures/ triumphs. he's the great latapy, so he has shyte to say to the fans! "who de fack iz dem, let david deal wid dem, i have bigger fish tuh fry".
Post by: Rastaman on October 03, 2010, 05:35:03 AM

hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??
In all fearness if we cannot realistically qualify for the Gold Cup without Birchall we do not deserve to be there !!!!!

The Local players have to do it that is why they are getting the playing time and experience now.
Post by: Spursy on October 03, 2010, 09:18:07 AM

hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??
In all fearness if we cannot realistically qualify for the Gold Cup without Birchall we do not deserve to be there !!!!!

The Local players have to do it that is why they are getting the playing time and experience now.

You don't leave your prize stallion at home.. unless you tanking a truant.
Post by: maxg on October 03, 2010, 09:55:47 AM

hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??

Prized Stallion ? Cyah qualify without Birchall ?  Some ah allyuh getting carried away....It does always go so..PPl does start with ah sensible question, and in no time,- wha dey does call it - "rabble someting", in no time, is the holy crusade in the name of God ...Reality, Birchall good, could help, but is niether unique or extra  special...To play Birchall, like any other player, yuh have to play ah certain way, with a particular balance..if a coach choose to go without him, said coach must have another style or plan (not saying is the right one or not, till one can see the final team), but if we doh go with Birch, is not the end of our Campaign as we know it...for real

anybody else fine it hard to make comments, the thing does be kinda down, and ah does be typing blind, like ah doin now  ??? cyah be juss me
Post by: AB.Trini on October 03, 2010, 01:16:30 PM
I agree with Maxg to a point; I don't think one player will be a saviour or will  determine the  success of our campaign. Football is still a team game.

The frustration which some are partially subjected to is day in and day out watching sub par players getting  selected and their performances are 'deemed TO BE ON PAR WITH 'school boys' yet players with  more experienced and ability are ignored.

Birchall maybe fit into a better scheme better than another, but good players do adjust their style and play to the systems  of a coach. No matter how we look at this, there appears to be a blatant omission on someone part when it comes to selecting certain players.

Do you think the TTFF would have had this clout to  ignore players  if a coach like Beenhakker requested the best?

If there are issues with  certain players, at the very least, TTFF could make a statement to the fact that  these players are no longer available to represent TnT until  matters have been resolved or until further notice. But this continual omission of players who appears to bring more to the team and who in the fan's  eyes could contribute more positively to our success but are being ignored raises the level of discontentment and unfortunately the scape goat  turns out to be the coach.

I mean does it take a rocket  genius in  the TTFF scouting department to realize that Jamaica is a physical side? Would the likes of Colin Samuel not be an imposing  winger on one side and Cornell Glen down the other? What little 'imps'  we have running at JA defense?

What defensive midfield do we have to withstand the barrage from JA?   My case in point doh matter what the system a coach implements, a talented player should be able to adjust and be able to adapt to what is required. look how long some of the current players have had to adapt to the style under the present coach, the results have  not been convincing nor encouraging. Yet we keep doing the same old and getting the same old results!!!!

Why not aim to bring all our best  and as a baseline see how they measure up; at least put in the time with quality players as we move towards the long haul. the TTFF at times could be too short sighted..... Digicel Cup is not the  ultimate...... getting to and  believing that we could be in  WC playoffs is setting the bar  where we ought to  be building for. But selecting the  quality of players we keep selecting is not working in MHO to the ultimate destination where we want to be.

If the aim is to win the Caribbean Cup/Digicel Cup  with locals what would that prove in the long run? We need to be looking beyond hence  the TTFF should be obliged to bring  the MOST quality players available to us. in MHO. Not one  Not TWO but all who are  available.
Post by: grskywalker on October 03, 2010, 01:34:26 PM
Birchie is a must select. The man willingly join the Warriors while men like ZAMORA dilly dally and end up playing for England
Post by: just cool on October 03, 2010, 04:52:52 PM
Birchie is a must select. The man willingly join the Warriors while men like ZAMORA dilly dally and end up playing for England
Hammmmmm....... bredder, birchall was playing in league one with portvale, how in the world could he make an england team, real bad analogy tuh say the least. realistically, birchall woulda never got an opportunity for england and even he knew it, that's why he jumped on the offer to rep TNT, but had birchall been in the position of bobby, he woulda been like "TNTwhooooo ?"       :whistling:
Post by: Spursy on October 03, 2010, 05:03:50 PM
True football is a team game, it also helps if you have a man like Sniejder in ur side or Eto.

With Birch the team has magic, win win, he can score, he can defend and intercept with a pretty good reading of the game itself, hard worker, inspires the team, decent leader imo....  But Birch isn't the only player. Most of us would like Latas to atleast give some new blood a fair showing, call in a crop of 10 news each 3 mths for camp! Check every fuh everyone b.c u never know when ah man might get injured serious serious.
Post by: Spursy on October 03, 2010, 05:06:06 PM
Hammmmmm....... bredder, birchall was playing in league one with portvale, how in the world could he make an england team, real bad analogy tuh say the least. realistically, birchall woulda never got an opportunity for england and even he knew it, that's why he jumped on the offer to rep TNT, but had birchall been in the position of bobby, he woulda been like "TNTwhooooo ?"       :whistling:

When you think of strikers to represent Trinidad. Bobby Loser Zamora doesn't come to mind even in the closest.

I rate Crouch over he. ..
Post by: just cool on October 03, 2010, 05:21:28 PM

When you think of strikers to represent Trinidad. Bobby Loser Zamora doesn't come to mind even in the closest.

I rate Crouch over he. ..
lets stick too the point shall we. point iz, if birchall was in the same position as bobby Z and JLLoyd, he would've seriously consider playing for england without ah doubt! birchall knew fully well that playing for england was an improbability, so when he got an opportunity to play for his mother's country he jumped on it, simple, but tuh say he's ah serious patriot is going too far.
Post by: grskywalker on October 03, 2010, 05:57:04 PM

yuh miss the point. I was not really talking about England at all but drawing the comparison that ZAMORA had an opportunity to play for us as well and never did
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 03, 2010, 06:44:32 PM

yuh miss the point. I was not really talking about England at all but drawing the comparison that ZAMORA had an opportunity to play for us as well and never did
You can't make that statement and not talk about England, though.
Post by: The_Ice on October 03, 2010, 06:51:16 PM
but aye aye... look who start today for LA...
Post by: D.H.W on October 03, 2010, 07:13:47 PM

ENT!
Post by: soccerman on October 03, 2010, 07:18:32 PM
That will be #11 Chris Birchall in the midfield....well at least we know he's not injured.
Post by: elan on October 03, 2010, 07:24:36 PM
Having a really nice game.
Post by: Rastaman on October 03, 2010, 08:14:47 PM

hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??

OK

So I see Birchall played today and it sounds like he played well.....right so he back on the team. So when do we bring him in to play with the locals ??

Will he be available for the Caribbean Cup(whatever name it going under now) ??

Do we bring him in for a game before that then he run out in the Cup ??

Do we wait untill we qualify for the Gold Cup and give the locals every chance to gain the experience that they need. So that by the time we bring in Birchall and who ever else....the local based players that they are playing with are up to sctatch ??
Post by: weary1969 on October 03, 2010, 08:17:03 PM

hmmmmn. Wat Gold Cup??

OK

So I see Birchall played today and it sounds like he played well.....right so he back on the team. So when do we bring him in to play with the locals ??

Will he be available for the Caribbean Cup(whatever name it going under now) ??

Do we bring him in for a game before that then he run out in the Cup ??

Do we wait untill we qualify for the Gold Cup and give the locals every chance to gain the experience that they need. So that by the time we bring in Birchall and who ever else....the local based players that they are playing with are up to sctatch ??

Dat is a big risk me eh even convince we reaching Martinque far less USA.
Post by: maxg on October 03, 2010, 08:46:02 PM
U really thought so ? bet he don't(think so), niether Arena ! He didn't have a bad game either...hardly had a touch of the ball as the flow was mostly to the middle-right, Beckham Juninho, then Donovan , buddle, Chivas came up left, knock it round Birchie, and LA went back as before...till he eventually subbed, it was obvious the tank was hovering round E, but Chivas was well putting it to them in 3/4 of the field, doh the LA back 4 was solid....was hoping to get a look at Marshall there, but ah coulda see why, that 4 was relatively solid....ah think Becks make more tackle than Birchall, but is not his fault the way the game flowed....still ah think he need more games.
Post by: elan on October 03, 2010, 09:04:21 PM
U really thought so ? bet he don't(think so), niether Arena ! He didn't have a bad game either...hardly had a touch of the ball as the flow was mostly to the middle-right, Beckham Juninho, then Donovan , buddle, Chivas came up left, knock it round Birchie, and LA went back as before...till he eventually subbed, it was obvious the tank was hovering round E, but Chivas was well putting it to them in 3/4 of the field, doh the LA back 4 was solid....was hoping to get a look at Marshall there, but ah coulda see why, that 4 was relatively solid....ah think Becks make more tackle than Birchall, but is not his fault the way the game flowed....still ah think he need more games.

Nah man yuh letting that wanna be commentator influence yuh opinion man/ If Bruce don't think Birchall had a good game then he should not be happy with of the players to night, because all were about the same.
Post by: maxg on October 04, 2010, 07:57:28 AM

Nah man yuh letting that wanna be commentator influence yuh opinion man/ If Bruce don't think Birchall had a good game then he should not be happy with of the players to night, because all were about the same.
I don't think he had a good or bad game, subsequently no influence niether positive nor negative on the outcome...it could have been anybody there..I found many times Beckham had him to pass to, and turned away, not Birch fault...there was a couple times, Birch was just streching to pick up a couple passes, defender step up and poke it away, he didn't lorse it, but ah fitter Birch woulda step towards it, thus non-play...he had about 4 passes to him (from the 34th min), 1 was as before, 1 he tried a run (with some difficulty), one on 2, and got a free kick, which Juninho (i think) blast over), 1 he made a miscommunicated bad pass, 1 he passed square, everything else was playing around him, and he couldn't touch,  didn't break up any play, but was always in position..to me he looked heavy & slow, typical of someone coming back from injury...I don't think any coach would be happy with any player having a non-infutenial game, but it's still necessary to play him so he can get game fitness, for the upcoming playoffs...just an opinion...Most everyone else had some influence on the game, although Lewis came on and had a negative, cause although he was lively, eventually got that red, even if it was a tough call, and could have gone either way....I don't think the commentators said anything negative bout Birchall doh, at least, I didn't hear it...well except that he was tired, but they say that bout everyone, Donovan & Buddle included....I didn't tal bout the next mid, as he was also a non-issue to me, but Donovan was assiting more on that side.... nah, I agree the quality still there, and lack of match fit against how that Chivas team was knocking, could easily be good enuff for a starting place on the warriors team, but ah still feel he not as ready as he could be, or as we will need him to be..JMO

add: in other words, for TT he will have to be at the top of his fitness to help us, even if he warrants a starting place...doh want him to start and then have to come off after 1st half...he would always have to work harder, when playing for we, as everyone else..
Post by: The_Ice on October 04, 2010, 05:09:56 PM

beckham was playing CM while Birchall was at RM. you really expected him to get in more tackles from that position when the play was going through the middle? i dont know what game you were really watching. the LA fans have been applauding his performance
Post by: maxg on October 05, 2010, 10:17:04 AM

beckham was playing CM while Birchall was at RM. you really expected him to get in more tackles from that position when the play was going through the middle? i dont know what game you were really watching. the LA fans have been applauding his performance
Boss, I know what game I was watching, allow meh ah question, yuh ever hear David Beckham put in a position even at the height of his career, anytime before he come back from his recent break leg, yuh ever hear he was put in any position, where he was required or expected even, to make more tackles than any other midfielder on either team...me doh think he come back with ah bionic foot and rebuilt youth, where he would be expected to make more tackles than ah Chris Birchall...that being said, the observation was not a negative crticism on how Birchall was playing for LA, but a POSSIBLE Indicator of how our Birchall - who normally exhibits the most tackles , when on the field for TT, while playing wing midfield at that - may not be ready to do that same job as he did in the past, right now...
Brother, playing right midfield for LA Galaxy, is one thing, playing any midfield for TT is something else......Or you does just see it as the same game, yuh feel I wasn't watching ? My point being, yuh feel Birch want to come and not give TT his best, just to say he on the field ?

sorry, dah was 3 questions.
Post by: fish on October 07, 2010, 01:50:05 AM
Daz rubbish talk because Birchall played right midfield for both Port Vale and Coventry. He played CM yes, but especially at Coventry he played RM whenever he was given sweat.
Post by: AB.Trini on November 14, 2010, 04:53:08 PM
Number must be misplaced; skye , twitter facebook account  inactive..... they doh use fax anymore. the black list still in effect. Pick ah excuse. It is deplorable that this man eh getting a call.
Post by: Boodsy on November 14, 2010, 05:53:22 PM
Number must be misplaced; skye , twitter facebook account  inactive..... they doh use fax anymore. the black list still in effect. Pick ah excuse. It is deplorable that this man eh getting a call.

check this...
-----------------------------------------------------
LATAPY BOOSTS SQUAD
Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/LATAPY_BOOSTS_SQUAD-107827639.html

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Russell Latapy is trying to have his strongest available squad for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals by inviting six additional players to join the Soca Warriors line-up.

Of those, San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen, Joe Public midfielder Hayden Tinto and ex-English-based utility player Silvio Spann have taken up the offer to join the 20 locally-based players already in training.

But LA Galaxy midfielder Chris Birchall has not yet confirmed his availability, having been invited to the national squad for the Caribbean Cup later this month, while European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Darryl Roberts are definitely unavailable.

Birchall's LA Galaxy play Dallas in the MLS semi-finals today for the right to contest the final on November 21 in Toronto.

The Warriors leave on Tuesday November 23 for the Caribbean Cup, which takes place in Martinique from November 26-December 5.

T&T will open the tournament on November 26, against either Antigua and Barbuda or Cuba. They then face hosts Martinique on November 28 and Grenada on November 30.

The four semi-finalists will qualify for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup, while the two finalists will battle on December 5 for a first prize of US$120,000.

"It appears that Chris Birchall may not  be available, but we are not yet counting him out as of now," team manager David Muhammad told Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) media officer Shaun Fuentes yesterday.

"And Khaleem and Darryl have  indicated to us that they are definitely not available as their seasons are in full swing and the tournament does not fall within the FIFA calendar.

"But we are confident in the ability of the current squad of players. We saw for ourselves that they are capable of producing the goods and delivering results as was the case in the recent three matches (against Haiti, Guyana and St Vincent and the Grenadines).

"The final 20-man T&T squad for the tournament will be announced next week prior to the team's departure for Martinique," Muhammad added.

Latapy's current squad includes the 20 players who finished unbeaten by bettering St Vincent (6-2), Guyana (2-1) and Haiti (4-0) to win the win the Digicel Cup Group F qualifying series a week ago at Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

Trinidad and Tobago's senior team will begin their final leg of preparations with a 4 p.m. training session tomorrow at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The likes of Jovin Jones, Lester Peltier and Clyde Leon, who were carrying injuries in the latter part of Group F action, are on the road to full recovery in time for the upcoming matches in Martinique.

Today, Latapy will be monitoring closely the encounter between Antigua/Barbuda and Cuba as the result is likely to determine T&T's opponents in their opening match of the tournament on November 26.

Both Cuba and Antigua/Barbuda are locked on four points each after their two Group G games to date.
Post by: jamaica98 on November 15, 2010, 04:45:42 AM
Is Birchall match fit?  Watched a few mins of the game last night and was a bit surprised how "fat" he seemed.
Post by: D.H.W on November 15, 2010, 06:12:00 AM
Is Birchall match fit?  Watched a few mins of the game last night and was a bit surprised how "fat" he seemed.
fat?
Post by: elan on November 15, 2010, 08:25:41 AM

YUh have to go from this vvv
(http://www.wildeye.org/www.wildeye.org/TV_files/tv_set.png)

To this vvvv

(http://www.connectionpros.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/New-Sony-line-up-of-Internet-TVs-powered-by-Google-TV-1-540x457.jpg)

or just get this vvv

(http://www.psdgraphics.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/binoculars.jpg)
Post by: jimmel14 on November 15, 2010, 10:53:52 AM
fat?

He did put on some size
Post by: D.H.W on November 15, 2010, 11:28:21 AM
there's a difference between fat and gain size. Which is it?

He looking slim, if anything more lean to me, unless my eye buss, men have a new definition for fat. No wonder all we footballers so skinny.

(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/104898538.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E6854951B6A377B9DADA01BC552A0408D6DD7A26A88C925BD8)
03 Oct 2010

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/104898368.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E6665F93A569F8BCF6DA01BC552A0408D6E587EC1C7B233EF1)
03 Oct 2010

(http://cache3.asset-cache.net/xc/104248810.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E6FD36D3D55DD7CDE9811403232696E54C16C27E41394261CA)
11 Sep 2010

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/105004015.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E67FEBF7D7A036D76D9551A36D6225A466F2149685DD8942BC)
07 Oct 2010

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/104248620.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=77BFBA49EF87892102A727B1636DE2E6DF0DAB9B67BBEF74811403232696E54C6C6B606C86561CC8)
11 Sep 2010

(http://a0.twimg.com/profile_images/1149229148/chris_galaxy3.jpg)

Post by: Deeks on November 15, 2010, 03:37:22 PM
Allyuh could real take bait, oui!
Post by: D.H.W on November 15, 2010, 04:50:06 PM
Allyuh could real take bait, oui!

:'( yeh i realized it too late
Post by: jamaica98 on November 16, 2010, 09:04:57 PM
You guys are so defensive  :P I was actually asking a serious question and there is a reason why I put fat in "".  Of course you would be hard pressed to call a footballer fat (well - William Perry and most offensive linemen, but they play the other type of football), but he did seem a bit sluggish and bigger (perhaps a better word) than I recall, and his his off the ball movemnent was very sluggish - thus the match fit question.  I like him as a player and therefore the only reason why I noticed.
Post by: theworm2345 on November 17, 2010, 12:14:38 AM
CHRIS BIRCHALL is quite likely to join Trinidad and Tobago's squad for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals, but the Soca Warriors' preparation has been adversely affected by the local schedule and they will now have just a couple of training sessions before travelling next Tuesday to the tournament, which takes place in Martinique November 26-December 5.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/FA_Trophy_halts_Digicel_Cup_preparations_-108575744.html
Post by: sjahrain on November 17, 2010, 04:46:53 AM
Aman.... :devil:
2 question
1.will he make the final cut
2.Will he be selected to play

Raspect