Sports => Football => Topic started by: Football supporter on October 03, 2010, 10:22:34 AM

Title: Controversy as MaPau vs Jabloteh match abandoned
Post by: Football supporter on October 03, 2010, 10:22:34 AM
Not sure of all the facts, but last nights First Citizens Cup match between Ma Pau & Jabloteh was called off by officials.

Apparently, the problem was a clash of uniforms. Ma Pau, the home team wore all black, with their keeper wearing green. Jabloteh wore green shirts, black shorts and black socks. We thought it strange that the keeper was wearing the same colour as the opposition, but this didn't appear to be the main issue.

Both teams had warmed up for 30 minutes during the Joe Public/North East game, then warmed up on the pitch. Then the baccanal started with the match officials talking to both coaches.

Apparently, Jabloteh didn't bring a second kit and the referree did not want to play with both teams wearing same coloured shorts and socks. Ma Pau offered Jabloteh a set of brand new adidas red socks, but they refused. Ma Pau refused to change their goalies shirt. The outcome was that the game was abandoned with the possibility of Ma Pau being awarded the result as they were correctly dressed, being the home team.

Then, the spectators went into uproar, demanding their money back. But many had entered free of charge during the first half of the first match as no one was manning the turnstiles!!

The true outcome was embarrassment. I'm sure First Citizens were not impressed and it doesn't exactly encourage more spectators to cup and league football. Finally, the staff at Hasely Crawford looked completely perplexed as to how to resolve the issue of refunds.

Madness. Another step backwards for Trini football!!
Title: Re: Controversy as MaPau vs Jabloteh match abandoned
Post by: MEP on October 03, 2010, 10:29:43 AM
so wait teams doh have a home and away kit?
Post by: College on October 03, 2010, 10:35:43 AM
Not sure of all the facts, but last nights First Citizens Cup match between Ma Pau & Jabloteh was called off by officials.

Apparently, the problem was a clash of uniforms. Ma Pau, the home team wore all black, with their keeper wearing green. Jabloteh wore green shirts, black shorts and black socks. We thought it strange that the keeper was wearing the same colour as the opposition, but this didn't appear to be the main issue.

Both teams had warmed up for 30 minutes during the Joe Public/North East game, then warmed up on the pitch. Then the baccanal started with the match officials talking to both coaches.

Apparently, Jabloteh didn't bring a second kit and the referree did not want to play with both teams wearing same coloured shorts and socks. Ma Pau offered Jabloteh a set of brand new adidas red socks, but they refused. Ma Pau refused to change their goalies shirt. The outcome was that the game was abandoned with the possibility of Ma Pau being awarded the result as they were correctly dressed, being the home team.

Then, the spectators went into uproar, demanding their money back. But many had entered free of charge during the first half of the first match as no one was manning the turnstiles!!
The true outcome was embarrassment. I'm sure First Citizens were not impressed and it doesn't exactly encourage more spectators to cup and league football. Finally, the staff at Hasely Crawford looked completely perplexed as to how to resolve the issue of refunds.

Madness. Another step backwards for Trini football!!

This is WE professional league :rotfl:
Post by: soccerrama on October 03, 2010, 10:46:57 AM
Ma Pau vs Jabloteh match did not play, I suppose the league will decide the next course of action, we will have to wait & see. Apparently Jabloteh being the visiting team was asked to change their kit as Ma Pau (Home team) was playing in an all black kit, Jabloteh with Green jersey, black shorts, black socks. The referee asked Jabloteh to change their shorts & socks. Apparently Fenwick refused, but then I was told by a coach of one of the teams in the league that at the launching of the FCB Cup teams were told that they should walk with two kits for each game.
Anyway plenty bacchanal & patrons demanded their money back & that was done.
I think this was unfortunate & I believe that given the two coaches involved, there would not have been an amicable outcome.
How the league will deal with this, I don't know, what will the sponsors have to say, I don't know. 
I await with bated breath!!!!
Post by: Football supporter on October 03, 2010, 10:50:14 AM
so wait teams doh have a home and away kit?

I believe teams are required to walk with a home and away kit.

To be fair, this happens all around the world. I remember a Millwall vs Gillingham match where the  Gillingham kit man forgot to put their away kit on the bus and both teams play in blue. Millwall lent Gillingham their 3rd strip which was green. Gillingham won 3-0. Imagine being the away team in a derby match and you beat your bitter rivals wearing their uniform. Priceless!!
Post by: elan on October 03, 2010, 12:05:19 PM
Should not the home team change? To me that's how it always went. If strips are similar the home team suppose to change.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on October 03, 2010, 12:57:55 PM
Should not the home team change? To me that's how it always went. If strips are similar the home team suppose to change.

actually is the opposite
Post by: Coop's on October 03, 2010, 01:55:27 PM
I can't understand why these things are happening at this level of our Football,not in these times when you say you have a Pro league,that's why you see teams are fined so heavily because these policies are usually set in stone,we are lucky the Pro league don't have the kind of audience/attendance like what you see in the EPL etc you have to give back people all the money they pay to come in, this affects the running of your league,people not going to come and watch Football.
In the US you even get that happening with 5?6yrs old because these things are policies set be the various leagues,managers call each other ahead of games to clarify colour of uniform,field confirmation,time of game,  there are contact numbers in case you running late or get lost etc etc
What amazes me is one Major league we have,it's not like in the day when we had POSFL,SAFL,Central League etc etc  and all used to run efficiently,now you have one and there are so many deficiencies,these are reasons players don't want to come back home and play or the crowds don't come out,when they get used to the system in which they play abroad it's a problem for them at home,this is the reason our foreign Pros play so different for their clubs than T&T,the attention they pay to every detail in their preparation for a game is what Professional means.
      This is sad when you try to consider why the standard and level of our Football is the way it is.
Post by: Sam on October 03, 2010, 02:45:24 PM
What happen to your team North East Stars, I hear ah shit team like Joe Public buss they ass 2-0.

Dam !!!
Post by: vb on October 03, 2010, 03:57:57 PM
What happen to your team North East Stars, I hear ah shit team like Joe Public buss they ass 2-0.

Dam !!!

JP who win five titles last year is a "shit team."

You really have a complex about NE Stars boy.
Post by: AirMan on October 03, 2010, 04:07:12 PM

Dam !!!

:D  dais the same shit team who finishing top 3 every year
Post by: Midknight on October 03, 2010, 08:07:21 PM
Heard McComie on TV...Didn't say anything to improve the situation to say the least... Came across like a real A hole too. Would like to get the facts on this story
Post by: weary1969 on October 03, 2010, 08:14:09 PM
Heard McComie on TV...Didn't say anything to improve the situation to say the least... Came across like a real A hole too. Would like to get the facts on this story

Then it was another day in d office 4 him.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 03, 2010, 08:34:01 PM

Thats like saying Beulah comes accross as fat. He don't come accross..he IS an A-hole

Post by: weary1969 on October 03, 2010, 08:42:47 PM

Thats like saying Beulah comes accross as fat. He don't come accross..he IS an A-hole

OUCHHHHHHHHH :rotfl:
Post by: Midknight on October 04, 2010, 12:14:11 AM

i was trying to be diplomatic about it lol
Post by: Flex on October 04, 2010, 04:42:17 AM
Same socks, no match
Clashing colours lead to cancellation of quarter-final
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

It was a disturbing sight, fans angrily pounding on the cashier's cage at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Saturday night, demanding their money back from Digicel Pro League administrator Julia Baptiste.

What was supposed to be a big occasion–the First Citizens Cup quarter-final involving two of Trinidad and Tobago's top pro teams, Ma Pau and San Juan Jabloteh–soon turned sour when match officials scrapped the game due to a dispute between the clubs. The main issue was that both teams were wearing black pants and black socks.

From the start, the quarter-final double-header–which also featured Joe Public versus North East Stars–was plagued with problems.

Originally, the double-header was scheduled for Friday at the Marvin Lee Stadium, without taking into consideration that Joe Public had a CONCACAF Champions League quarter-final match in Mexico two days before against Santos Laguna.

Then it was shifted to Saturday at the "Marvin Lee" to give Joe Public a chance to recover and finally on Friday it was moved to the Hasely Crawford Stadium because the Centre of Excellence administrators wanted no more double-headers at the venue due to the amount of football played there recently.

In the first match on Saturday, Joe Public beat North East Stars 2-0 via a header from Antiguan Gayson Gregory (36th) and a 45th minute Kerry Baptiste penalty to book their semi-final spot in the First Citizens Cup.

But when Ma Pau and Jabloteh took the field, there was a long delay before the match officials marched away and called off the game.

The reason for the argument was that the black pants and socks which Jabloteh wore clashed with home team Ma Pau. Much of the dispute may have also had to do with a rivalry between coaches Michael McComie (Ma Pau) and Englishman Terry Fenwick (Jabloteh), who are far from being friends.

Over the years, there have been plenty heated moments between the two coaches, like in the 2009 FA Trophy final which almost came to blows and ended with McComie accusing Fenwick of spitting on him.

On Saturday July 31, the exact "socks" problem halted their Lucozade Sport Goal Shield quarter-final, until away team Jabloteh changed into red socks loaned to them by Joe Public.

Before leaving the venue on Saturday, Fenwick made only a brief statement.

"Yet again we have controversy at a match. We've got to recognise finances are tight right now...we have black socks instead of red ones," Fenwick declared. "Obviously we are very disappointed and the sponsors will be disgusted that the game has not gone on."

Ma Pau coach McComie quickly defended his own position, stating: "I did not stop the game. Of course, the match commissioner and the officials are aware of the rules, and at the same time they are the ones that will make the decision if the game will be played or not. I am not in control, and Ma Pau is not in control of putting a game off.

"At the press conference to launch the tournament it states very clearly that the away mentioned team had to come with their two sets of uniforms," said McComie. "The referee came across to us and indicated that Jabloteh refused to put on the red stockings. We have no problem with the black pants that they have, but we offered to loan them our red stockings and they refused to take it...that is what the referee told me. And, as such, he had no other alternative but to cancel the game.

"It is quite clear in the rule book with the rules and regulations that run the tournament. Fines will be handed out, I assume, whether it be to Ma Pau or Jabloteh, whoever is in breach of the regulations, but that is for the Pro League. We are the home team today and we just showed up to try to play a quarter-final. Unfortunately, I just feel sorry for the supporters who came out to see the game. It was a big night and they expected to see a good competitive match."
Post by: Bakes on October 04, 2010, 05:48:50 AM
I like Fenwick... can't stand McComie.  But that said, these two "adults", and I use the term very loosely in this regard, couldn't put aside ego long enough to rectify such a simple problem... and that's a damn shame.  I hate to say it too, but I putting this one on Fenwick, take de blasted socks, yuh club done fack up by not walking with a change of kit, take the socks and cool yuh blasted herbs.  Yuh in de wrong.
Post by: Coop's on October 04, 2010, 07:16:43 AM
I like Fenwick... can't stand McComie.  But that said, these two "adults", and I use the term very loosely in this regard, couldn't put aside ego long enough to rectify such a simple problem... and that's a damn shame.  I hate to say it too, but I putting this one on Fenwick, take de blasted socks, yuh club done fack up by not walking with a change of kit, take the socks and cool yuh blasted herbs.  Yuh in de wrong.
        I agree with you here Bakes,it's obvious these two individuals don't like or respect each other,we all know what that stems from,i can't see big men carrying on like this.
Post by: Football supporter on October 04, 2010, 08:05:41 AM
I agree. I know and like both guys. But it seems once they put their coaches hat on, they lose some common sense. Its a shame because they can both bring so many good things to the game. Mind you, look at the "great" Sir Alex. He's still refusing to do interviews with the BBC, preferring instead to pay a fine every week!! 
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 04, 2010, 02:52:13 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/D5EvMp-1lw8
Post by: Deeks on October 04, 2010, 03:19:09 PM
2 Sunday morning sides would have resolved that issue with ease!!!!!
Post by: Sam on October 05, 2010, 06:15:06 AM

Dam !!!

JP who win five titles last year is a "shit team."

You really have a complex about NE Stars boy.

Not that boss, JP lost half they team last year that won all those titles.

JP is on a down now and NE Stars should have taken advantage of that.
Post by: HEARNAR on October 05, 2010, 09:18:05 AM
That is a sad situation. Our pro league called off a game due to uniforms. This makes it sound like the league is a bush league. This doesn't look good for a league that is trying to get fans back out.
Post by: Bakes on October 05, 2010, 09:19:59 AM
McComie is such a c**t... "obviously this is a result of his inferior coaching, he's afraid to play the game".  Yuh done in the right on the uniform issue, yuh going to use a Pro League interview to throw talk at the man?  Fenwick wasn't exactly ah angel himself by saying "McComie's always got something to moan about".  The league needs to fine not just the teams but these two men as well.  

This is an embarrassment.  Imagine you struggling to draw flies and people pay they hard earned money to come out, sponsors done reticent to spend they money in these economic times and yuh pull ah big name sponsor... and THIS is the kinda shit yuh teams and coaches carrying on with?  Ah watching to see what Skeene and dem will do.
Post by: Dinner Mints on October 05, 2010, 09:22:59 AM
I feel man just trying to drum up interest wit wrestling talk.
Post by: tempo on October 05, 2010, 09:37:09 AM
 :oWow, I dont know which to be ashamed of the most; the controversy of the events that caused the game to be postponed or the one-sided criticism of McComie in the responses of this thread. I guess the protection of complexion is alive and well. If the rules state Jabloteh as the away team must bring two sets, who is Fenwick to take exception? The League should fine Jabloteh and charge the game as a forfeit. Those of you who are blastin' McComie should be shame. He may be this and that but sounds like he completely in the right. Trinis, we are so quick and comfortable in cryin' down our own.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 05, 2010, 10:18:25 AM
:oWow, I dont know which to be ashamed of the most; the controversy of the events that caused the game to be postponed or the one-sided criticism of McComie in the responses of this thread. I guess the protection of complexion is alive and well. If the rules state Jabloteh as the away team must bring two sets, who is Fenwick to take exception? The League should fine Jabloteh and charge the game as a forfeit. Those of you who are blastin' McComie should be shame. He may be this and that but sounds like he completely in the right. Trinis, we are so quick and comfortable in cryin' down our own.

Are you saying people are siding with Fenwick solely because he is white?

Post by: Bakes on October 05, 2010, 10:26:58 AM

Are you saying people are siding with Fenwick solely because he is white?

You have time with this imps?  I'z de only man in here crying down McComie fuh he c**tish ways... but even I and all saying he right.  Some people juss have dey own 'color' axe tuh grind.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 05, 2010, 10:39:40 AM

Mc Comie "this is being done because the inferiority of his coaching and probably he is afraid".  . come on tempo i expect better ...
Post by: Andre on October 05, 2010, 10:57:48 AM
this reminiscent of when portsmouth show up to play dc united this july with no uniforms atall.

they had to borrow DCU away kit for the 4-0 ass-cutting.

http://footballfashion.org/wordpress/2010/07/26/video-dc-united-4-portsmouth-fc-0-friendly-highlights/

Post by: Football supporter on October 05, 2010, 11:55:22 AM

Never fails to shock me when people keep looking to play the race card. Aren't we all more grown up than that these days? Watch Trini 2014's lil vid of Notting Hill....thats how it was 35 years ago. Mccomie & Fenwick hate each other. McComie used this to batter Fenwick and Fenwick slid in a few sly shots too. McComie was probably more in the wrong for his comments and Fenwick was in the wrong not to wear red socks. People comment on those facts. I find it offensive that you then try to make it a race issue. I would look to yourself before you criticise others of racism, my friend.
Post by: tempo on October 05, 2010, 12:19:57 PM
Yes, there is a double standard based partly on race and nationality. Call a spade a spade. Those who want to hem and haw about it is your own business. You can't tell me with a straight face there arent things Fenwick gets away with that others who arent white or English can't even dream of. McComie has done his share of nonsense but why should his history gloss over the wrong Fenwick has done in this particular instance. Why should people even raise McComie's past? It's irrelevant. By making McComie the issue, you all are making excuses for Fenwick.
Post by: Bakes on October 05, 2010, 12:58:32 PM
Yes, there is a double standard based partly on race and nationality. Call a spade a spade. Those who want to hem and haw about it is your own business. You can't tell me with a straight face there arent things Fenwick gets away with that others who arent white or English can't even dream of. McComie has done his share of nonsense but why should his history gloss over the wrong Fenwick has done in this particular instance. Why should people even raise McComie's past? It's irrelevant. By making McComie the issue, you all are making excuses for Fenwick.

Why is Fenwick's "history" important if McComie's history isn't in play?

Your hormonal ranting aside... can't you point to ONE post which makes excuse for Fenwick or conversely, blames McComie for this incident?  Just one.

Thanks.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on October 05, 2010, 01:13:18 PM

what did Fenwick get away with that others have not?

The past is relevant...McCopmie coached an U-23 side loaded with well regarded youngsters at the time like Keon Daniel, Khaleem Hyland, Peltier, Guerra, Carlyle mitchell, Hayden Tinto and Kendall Jadeosingh and still collect 3 from the likes of Grenada and Cuba. He have real gumption to call anybody a poor coach.

Post by: Red Mango on October 05, 2010, 01:33:37 PM
Unreal...
Post by: Tongue on October 05, 2010, 02:16:33 PM
did I hear right from the interview Fenwick saying that McComie had the game called off. ah hope not! this is clearly on Jab....if anybody should be fine is Jab.
Post by: tempo on October 05, 2010, 02:34:26 PM

Why is Fenwick's "history" important if McComie's history isn't in play?

Your hormonal ranting aside... can't you point to ONE post which makes excuse for Fenwick or conversely, blames McComie for this incident?  Just one.

Well, your rant about calling McComie a c**t would qualify as a statement that makes McComie the central issue when he should not be. By making McComie the issue, you are blaming him for the problem. I'm simply saying that is not right. Why couldnt the match commissioner give Fenwick an ultimatum; "change the socks or forfeit the game"?

By not laying complete blame on Fenwick is to give him a pass and this seems to be the norm. As for past incidents involving Fenwick, how about him licking down a man and getting barely a slap on the wrist from the league. Or how about kicking the line of water containers onto the field yet the referee did not card him. In fact, the 4th official cleaned up the mess. Anyone who has attended the games within earshot of the guy knows about the abusive language he hurls at the referees yet with any other coach, the referees get rabbit ears and are quick to give a card for dissent. Now, if this comes off as a hormonal rant, then so be it. And to the others, sad but true fact, race is a frequent factor whether you choose to acknowledge it or not.
Post by: Football supporter on October 05, 2010, 03:26:15 PM
I think the point is...whatever personal view people have about Fenwick or McComie, nobody has said Fenwick isn't to blame and McComie is.

But I agree with the point that the ref should have issued an ultimatum regarding socks, however, from what I hear there were other issues other than socks. I don't know the facts, but I hear that McComie could be in as much trouble as Fenwick. Guess we'll have to await the findings of the ProLeague investigation to get the full picture.

Post by: elan on October 05, 2010, 08:27:18 PM
If it was as simple as socks, or the uniform, the ref would have called the game and give Ma Pau a 3-0 win. It have more in the mortar.
Post by: Bakes on October 05, 2010, 09:42:46 PM
Well, your rant about calling McComie a c**t would qualify as a statement that makes McComie the central issue when he should not be. By making McComie the issue, you are blaming him for the problem. I'm simply saying that is not right. Why couldnt the match commissioner give Fenwick an ultimatum; "change the socks or forfeit the game"?

By not laying complete blame on Fenwick is to give him a pass and this seems to be the norm. As for past incidents involving Fenwick, how about him licking down a man and getting barely a slap on the wrist from the league. Or how about kicking the line of water containers onto the field yet the referee did not card him. In fact, the 4th official cleaned up the mess. Anyone who has attended the games within earshot of the guy knows about the abusive language he hurls at the referees yet with any other coach, the referees get rabbit ears and are quick to give a card for dissent. Now, if this comes off as a hormonal rant, then so be it. And to the others, sad but true fact, race is a frequent factor whether you choose to acknowledge it or not.

Whether you like it or not Michael McComie is ALWAYS the central issue of anything he involve with.  I went to school with the dude (albeit for one year) and his behavior is now as it was then, I doubt he has matured on drop since.  Which is why I started by making my position clear... I like Fenwick and I can't stand McComie.... but even that notwithstanding, I said Fenwick was wrong.  Apparently in your haste to defend McComie against imagined wrongs you missed that.

I came back and said McComie is a c**t because of his comments... his comments are unnecessarily inflammatory, no two professionals should be carrying on like that throwing words in the media... especially not media that is being distributed by your employer.  You could insist that race is a factor all you want but the fact of the matter is that I thought McComie's comments were more unprofessional than Fenwick's... and totally in keeping with the c**tish character I knew back in secondary school.
Post by: tempo on October 05, 2010, 10:36:09 PM
I agree there is more than socks at play in this drama. But if the away team is supposed to change their uniform and didn't travel with it, no matter how McComie got on, Jabloteh was wrong. Personal feelings about McComie should not be used to determine who is at fault in this case. So, I will try to be more clear about my points:

1. McComie's a**holeness or perceived a**holeness is not the issue
2. By focusing on McComie rather than the person responsible for the controversy, you are excusing the real culprit
3. You don't have to expressly state McComie is at fault for the incident. Such a sentiment can be implied by focusing on negative characteristics of McComie while de-emphasizing Fenwick's role through barely mentioning his name (very common tactic used in political campaigns)
4. There have been a series of incidents involving Fenwick that can lead a reasonable person to believe he is allowed to play by a different set of rules. The only other person who enjoys a similar dynamic is JAW and he is the most powerful football figure in the world. Go figure.

I could care less about McComie or Fenwick. They are grown men who can handle their business. But I do have a problem with people who think that it is somehow beneath common decency to even look at the possibility that race and the remaining aspects of colonialism could be still be at play in 21st century T&T.

Post by: Bakes on October 05, 2010, 11:09:28 PM
I agree there is more than socks at play in this drama. But if the away team is supposed to change their uniform and didn't travel with it, no matter how McComie got on, Jabloteh was wrong. Personal feelings about McComie should not be used to determine who is at fault in this case. So, I will try to be more clear about my points:

1. McComie's a**holeness or perceived a**holeness is not the issue
2. By focusing on McComie rather than the person responsible for the controversy, you are excusing the real culprit
3. You don't have to expressly state McComie is at fault for the incident. Such a sentiment can be implied by focusing on negative characteristics of McComie while de-emphasizing Fenwick's role through barely mentioning his name (very common tactic used in political campaigns)
4. There have been a series of incidents involving Fenwick that can lead a reasonable person to believe he is allowed to play by a different set of rules. The only other person who enjoys a similar dynamic is JAW and he is the most powerful football figure in the world. Go figure.

I could care less about McComie or Fenwick. They are grown men who can handle their business. But I do have a problem with people who think that it is somehow beneath common decency to even look at the possibility that race and the remaining aspects of colonialism could be still be at play in 21st century T&T.

After all this long talk I can only conclude that you's ah f**king imps.

Personal feelings was not used to determine who was wrong b/c almost unanimously everyone has said that Fenwick is wrong.  Only you feel it necessary to be carrying McComie jock for whatever reason.  My personal feelings about McComie became a factor only AFTER I said up front that Fenwick was wrong.

1. McComie's assholeness, and confirmed assholeness became an issue only because you took umbrage with the characterization.
2. By focusing on the personal criticism of McComie you have elevated a sub-issue into a point of major discussion, all the while ignoring that everyone is in substantial agreement as to where blame lies in the actual dispute.
3. You ignore what's expressly stated in plain English, in favor of fabricating some imagined grievance.
4. You say you don't care about McComie or Fenwick, yet you can cite chapter and verse a number of incidents with Fenwick from memory.  Seems like yuh have ah thing fuh de man. 

Funny also that yuh should mention Jack... if only Lincoln Phillips was advocating for the blacklisted players the way you here advocating for McComie, imagine how much better a shape our football would be in today.

Yuh final closing salvo further confirms your imps status... nobody said race could no longer be a factor in the 21st Century, that was not your initial position.  Your position was that people blasting McComie and 'supporting' (as you see it) Fenwick because Fenwick white.  People properly call yuh out on that shit talk and now yuh shifting goal posts to say that they saying race can't be a factor today.
Post by: Big Magician on October 05, 2010, 11:29:24 PM
play de fitball
with or without socks
Post by: Sam on October 06, 2010, 04:57:23 AM

Never fails to shock me when people keep looking to play the race card. Aren't we all more grown up than that these days? Watch Trini 2014's lil vid of Notting Hill....thats how it was 35 years ago. Mccomie & Fenwick hate each other. McComie used this to batter Fenwick and Fenwick slid in a few sly shots too. McComie was probably more in the wrong for his comments and Fenwick was in the wrong not to wear red socks. People comment on those facts. I find it offensive that you then try to make it a race issue. I would look to yourself before you criticise others of racism, my friend.

Good reply Football supporter....

Them men does only bring color into everything insteading of blaming theyselves.

Some ah them vex to because Lauren Schmidt white.....

Michael McComies is a asshole, I hate that bitch...
Post by: tempo on October 06, 2010, 07:27:10 AM
Moving the goalpost? ::) Bake and Shark asked me to identify "one" instance where McComie was blamed and I provided it. Once you get personal and begin the name calling, you've lost the argument.

Our society continues to give too much deference to non-Trinbagonians. Some of that has to do with race, some of that has to do with nationality. In Fenwick's case, he is the beneficiary of both and hear this; I'm not mad at Fenwick. I am just disappointed in those who allow the condition to exist.

I'm curious, would you all consider T&T to be an anglophile society? Another question to ponder is whether this is a style vs. substance issue. A lot of people don't like McComie's style, including me, and it probably will overshadow any substantive and legitimate point/poistion he may have. But sometimes we have to step back and take a moment to say wait a minute, why are these serious incidents involving breaches of sportsmanship happening around the same person year after year. This is my overall point.

Raising the issue has nothing to do about "being grown up" or "blaming" myself. This talk about me playing the "race card" is the same nonsense you hear rednecks say when they are caught doing their nonsense. In this case I am calling out our own shortcomings in imposing double standards on ourselves. There are those who can't or refuse to see race as a possible unconscious factor in Fenwick not getting the full force of blame for this incident.
Post by: Midknight on October 06, 2010, 09:58:48 PM
I was trying hard not to get involved in this discussion, but at the moment it seems like I need to.

As the first person who made any reference to McComie's assholery, let me make a couple of things clear.

When I saw the video clip, I only saw McComie's statement. I also missed the report and only had (what was then) an unconfirmed report from a forumite to go on. I patently pointed out that I would like to have had all the full facts on the story. Nevertheless, in McComie's side of the story (the only one I had) his response struck me as classless, tactless and needlessly inflaming a tense situation.

I cast no judgement on the right and the wrong in the matter because I had insufficient (in my view) data to go on.
Since then further information has arrived that suggests Fenwick was in the wrong x 2. That does not change my original take on McComie's interview i.e. a right asshole is still an asshole (and trust me, Fenwick ent no saint in my book...)

I'm not sure how you went from that to getting fodder to feed your (Tempo) theory of social stratification and deference, or whatever you want to call it, but do carry on... it look like B&S happy to oblige
Title: Jabloteh fined $6,000
Post by: E-man on October 09, 2010, 12:22:45 AM
Jabloteh fined $6,000
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

Already financially-strapped San Juan Jabloteh now have to find an extra $6,000 to pay in fines, after they were deemed to have breached the competition rules following their aborted First Citizen Bank knockout football competition quarter-final last Saturday against Ma Pau Football Club.

The match was due to be played as the second of a Hasely Crawford Stadium double-header, but was abandoned because both the home team Ma Pau FC and San Juan Jabloteh entered the field wearing black pants and socks. After several failed attempts to get a change of strip from one of the teams, referee Gordon Maloney abandoned the match.

In response, the Pro League's disciplinary committee met on Tuesday to investigate the matter. In their deliberations, the committee viewed the reports of the officiating referee, Gordon Maloney and the presiding match commissioner, Frank Rodriguez and also interviewed representatives from both clubs. The committee then made their recommendations to the Board of Directors, with whom the sole jurisdiction rested for the adjudication of this matter.

And yesterday, the League released their decision on the conflict and declared Ma Pau as the winners of the match and fined San Juan Jabloteh.

The Pro League release said:

"In light of the foregoing, the following unanimous decision was taken by the Board of Directors:

i. That Ma Pau SC are declared the winners of the second quarter final of the First Citizens Cup competition 2010.

ii.That San Juan Jabloteh are fined the sum of six thousand dollars ($6000.00) for breaching the rules of the competition."

In making their decision, the disciplinary committee followed both the Pro League rules, and the rules of the First Citizen Cup.

The release further added that in the case where a league match is postponed or abandoned without either of the participating clubs being at fault, under the provisions of Rule E.10, it shall be reported to the Board by the match commissioner.

And, the Board will then decide, in its sole discretion, the penalties to be imposed on the offending club. Additionally, the rules governing the 2010 First Citizens Cup Competition state: Teams are always to travel with their home and away strips, and if the need arises, the away team will have to make a strip change. Since they were the away team, Jabloteh were deemed to have breached the rules.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 15, 2010, 07:18:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/TENok_HN6cI