Sports => Football => Topic started by: soccerrama on October 06, 2010, 08:53:19 PM

Title: Latapy to get sizeable package Roberts: Make the grade or go
Post by: soccerrama on October 06, 2010, 08:53:19 PM
Latapy to get sizeable package Roberts: Make the grade or go
By Mark Pouchet

Story Created: Oct 6, 2010 at 10:37 PM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 6, 2010 at 10:37 PM ECT

Head coach of the senior national football Russell Latapy is to be paid a salary of $248,000 a month, as well as a $72,000 housing allowance, $32,000 vehicle allowance and a $50,000 overseas travel allowance that will total $1,146,000 over the four-month period September to December.

If he retains the job through 2011, the former Soca Warrior is set to receive $3,388,000 including a $216,000 house allowance, a $96,000 vehicle stipend and $100,000 worth in overseas travel.

Asked yesterday if the proposed salary for the senior head coach for the period September 2010 to December 2011 was the same as what he was getting before that time, Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation president Oliver Camps said:"What we had in there (the September 2010 to December 2011 budget) was what we were hoping to get for him, it was not necessarily what he was getting before, but what we hoped to get."

The figures are part of a $25,800,000 Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) budget that has been presented to the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs.

It includes the 16-month period from September 2010 until December 2011 and covers programmes for the national senior men ($11,404,000), national men's Under-23 ($1,408,000), Under-20 ($448,000) , Under-17 ($468,000) teams as well as the women's senior team ($7,700,000), women's U-20 ($224,000), U-17 ($412,000) and Un-15 ($412,000) squads.

It also includes the projected expenses for the technical department ($3,324,000).

Latapy, whose tenure at this country's top football job has been called into question by a series of unimpressive results, the latest being a 1-1 draw with Guyana last month, is set to lead the team into action in the Digicel Caribbean Cup from November 2.

On September 23 at the launch of the Digicel Caribbean Cup, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Anil Roberts issued "Latas" an ultimatum to at least reach the final of the tournament or else face dismissal, reasoning that elite level coaching is a high-pressured job that demanded success and results.

Contacted by the Express yesterday and confronted with the figures, Roberts said the numbers sounded about right, before reiterating his previous stance.

"This salary is commensurate with the salary of a coach at that elite level of this top world sport. However, if the Government, and by extension, the people of Trinidad and Tobago are expected to fund the salary and the programmes of the senior team, as part of making qualification for Brazil 2014 a national priority of this country, then his (Russell Latapy's) job security will be dependent on the results and success he can earn.

"The sustainability of his job must be merit and performance-based, the risks must be commensurate with the pay grade and if you don't make the grade, you go, " Roberts stated.

Besides Latapy, the position of technical assistant of the senior team, currently held by former national goalkeeper Lincoln Phillip, is to carry a $75,000 monthly tag, while the remainder of the 11-person technical staff will be paid as follows: two assistant coaches, one of which is currently Ross Russell, shall each earn $120,000 per month with the goalkeeping coach (Michael Maurice), one fitness coach (there are currently two fitness trainers Gregory Seales and Orlando Griffith) equipment manager (Esmond O'Brien), physiotherapist (Dave Isaac), assistant manager (Peter Rampersad) and team doctor (Dr Terrance Babwah) each receiving $10,000 per month while the manager David Muhammad will be paid $20,000 monthly.

On the women's side, the director of the women's programme is scheduled to receive a monthly payment of $120,000 with the assistant director and the special goalkeeper coach of the senior team each receiving a $50,000 salary.

Title: Re: Latapy to get sizeable package Roberts: Make the grade or go
Post by: big dawg on October 06, 2010, 09:05:53 PM
A lot of cheddar to coach a team that does draw with Guyana..

That's capitalism at it's finest
Post by: soccerrama on October 06, 2010, 09:11:35 PM
I suspect that this is the salary for the new coach & his assistant who will be coming in after Latas has been fired.
Just a thought!!!!!!!!
Post by: D.H.W on October 06, 2010, 09:22:58 PM
pellerud getting some paper, hope the womens football get better.   
Post by: Controversial on October 06, 2010, 09:25:08 PM
thats a 500k USD salary for the year if he retains his post. I suspect another intl coach will walk in and demand more with added benefits for qualifying for brazil 
Post by: elan on October 06, 2010, 09:39:29 PM
For doing nothing  ??? WTH, almost anyone involved in soccer could get them results.  ???
Post by: Quags on October 06, 2010, 09:42:21 PM
Am happy for latapy ,after leaving his old job .Hope this motivates him to do better ,and surround him self with ,good coaches .He should bring in Fenwick part time .
Post by: Coop's on October 06, 2010, 11:32:03 PM
I guess Anil not only opening his mouth gradually what used to be in the dark coming to light,so give the guy some props,i think is more putting his mouth where his money is.
Post by: Reggaefan on October 07, 2010, 04:02:55 AM
So in effect then, the entire football program is funded directly by the Government funds?
What role does the private sector play in the national team building? for instance, instead of Government paying the coach a "motor vehicle" allowance, wouldnt it help if one of the local car dealerships, say BMW for instance, assign two or three vehicles to the program, one for the head coach, one for assistant coach etc?

Latapy making a decent living, I suspect he might be making a little bit more than what Whitmore is making (I'll try and dig up the figures), but I can tell you that the private sector plays a more direct role in football in Ja. Whitmore's BMW motor car for instance is provided by the BMW dealership in Jamaica, his housing too is sponsored by a private firm. Also, whenever Jamaica travels overseas, I think they do so at hghly subsidized rates through an agreement with onbe of the major airlines.
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 07, 2010, 04:21:28 AM
wow i am surprised how fast the TTFF produced a budget this time ... imagine if the PNM was in power
Post by: daryn on October 07, 2010, 04:26:58 AM

I'm not sure capitalism is the appropriate ideology.

a large amount of government funds being funneled into the administration of a sport that is the pet cause of a powerful official and it's accompanied by an ultimatum.  This is the kinda story you expect to hear featuring Gaddafi's son.  Or somebody else who grew up as the son of an autocrat.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 07, 2010, 05:32:37 AM
We goin Brazil!!!  Accountability??!!  What the hell is that!!.... ::) ::)
Post by: Jumbie on October 07, 2010, 05:36:29 AM
So in effect then, the entire football program is funded directly by the Government funds?
What role does the private sector play in the national team building? for instance, instead of Government paying the coach a "motor vehicle" allowance, wouldnt it help if one of the local car dealerships, say BMW for instance, assign two or three vehicles to the program, one for the head coach, one for assistant coach etc?

Latapy making a decent living, I suspect he might be making a little bit more than what Whitmore is making (I'll try and dig up the figures), but I can tell you that the private sector plays a more direct role in football in Ja. Whitmore's BMW motor car for instance is provided by the BMW dealership in Jamaica, his housing too is sponsored by a private firm. Also, whenever Jamaica travels overseas, I think they do so at hghly subsidized rates through an agreement with onbe of the major airlines.

I agree.. since Caroni close down, ah sure they cud organize one of them unused bull cart for him.

Post by: Dutty on October 07, 2010, 06:57:20 AM

a large amount of government funds being funneled into the administration of a sport that is the pet cause of a powerful official and it's accompanied by an ultimatum.  This is the kinda story you expect to hear featuring Gaddafi's son.  Or somebody else who grew up as the son of an autocrat.

+ 1
Post by: College on October 07, 2010, 07:18:33 AM
I guess Anil not only opening his mouth gradually what used to be in the dark coming to light,so give the guy some props,i think is more putting his mouth where his money is.

Tax payers' money... and ah still maintain that some of his comments are a bit out of place and not very mininsterial for someone in his capacity.
Post by: maxg on October 07, 2010, 07:21:56 AM
and ppl wanted him to stand-op with ah bunch ah fellas who asking for way less..they didn't include them in the budget ? And what's worse, we trying to do it again...to hell with the players, it's ah honour(long as yuh paying) to coach TT... no matter wha anybody say, or who playing or who we play...we paying we coach world cup achievement salary, so we must reach world cup...best we go down by sports & games(that still exist) or (sports, football & politics)Fifa and buy the damn thing...what flooding, what water, what unemployment, what crime, what corruption...oh yeah, these individuals go take care ah that too...ent we paying the top cop more ? Police talking bout them underpaid, tell them coach football nah.  ::)
Post by: Jayerson on October 07, 2010, 07:48:16 AM
Just to put things into perspective...Bob Bradley gets UD $50,000 a month (TT $300,000) and Latapy about US $40,000 (TT $248,000).
Post by: soccerrama on October 07, 2010, 07:55:12 AM
Up to Sunday on i95.5 fm's Show Down programme, the Sports Minister reiterated that there would no longer be 100% financing of sporting bodies/organisations & that there would be a ratio of 60/40 so why is TTFF going to be given all  that they ask for. Justification Mr. Roberts!!!!! 
Post by: Touches on October 07, 2010, 07:55:38 AM
YUh see why Spalk with he fat dougla lips tell latapy to produce or ride out.

Dais real paper.

In fact, based on the performances right now for that kinda cheddar....he is a big failure.

Imagine how Bertille and all them other local coaches must be feeling seeing dat.

Them men was sprangin before and getting 10 times better results.

Edit now read Jayerson....is bess we get Bradley for 10,000 more. We go at least be fit.

Post by: daryn on October 07, 2010, 08:14:53 AM
Just to put things into perspective...Bob Bradley gets UD $50,000 a month (TT $300,000) and Latapy about US $40,000 (TT $248,000).

that is the perspective in terms of dollar values. 

It should also be noted that Bradley is paid out of funds accrued by virtue of the USSF being a well-run organization.  We, on the other hand, have a cabinet-level decision to write what is essentially a blank cheque to the TTFF.

Post by: Jah Gol on October 07, 2010, 08:15:56 AM
Clearly that salary is for the new coach.
Post by: reggae-fan on October 07, 2010, 08:18:35 AM

If the figures you posted above is correct, bob Bradley is significantly under-paid. That would put his yearly salary at only US$600K per year. Bora Milutinovich was on a US$ 1M per year contract when he was hired by the JFF couple years ago. Simoes was paid around US$700,000 when he replaced Bora. Hardly believavle that Simoes and Bora could command more money than Bob Bradley

Bradley's salary should be something around US$1.5M per year.

Like a poster said below, Bradleys salary is not paid by Uncle Sam, its paid by the USSF, through I suppose partnerships with private sector companies. I know in Jamaica's case, the Ministry of Sports, through its sports Development Agency sponsors 50% of the TD's salary (US$500K per year). The remainder comes from private entities.

Post by: Storeboy on October 07, 2010, 08:23:45 AM
I suspect that this is the salary for the new coach & his assistant who will be coming in after Latas has been fired.
Just a thought!!!!!!!!
That is exactly what I was thinking!  Latapy should be scared right now!  Is a setup!   Hahaha!
Post by: Storeboy on October 07, 2010, 08:25:39 AM

Actually, that is socialism, not capitalism.
Post by: College on October 07, 2010, 08:28:27 AM

If the figures you posted above is correct, bob Bradley is significantly under-paid. That would put his yearly salary at only US$600K per year. Bora Milutinovich was on a US$ 1M per year contract when he was hired by the JFF couple years ago. Simoes was paid around US$700,000 when he replaced Bora. Hardly believavle that Simoes and Bora could command more money than Bob Bradley

Bora's resume would suggest he is worth more than Bradley..... took 4 different teams to the WC...
Post by: Brownsugar on October 07, 2010, 08:29:59 AM
Up to Sunday on i95.5 fm's Show Down programme, the Sports Minister reiterated that there would no longer be 100% financing of sporting bodies/organisations & that there would be a ratio of 60/40 so why is TTFF going to be given all  that they ask for. Justification Mr. Roberts!!!!! 

Boy hush yuh mouth, we going Brazil!!!....
Post by: reggae-fan on October 07, 2010, 08:40:30 AM

Bora's resume would suggest he is worth more than Bradley..... took 4 different teams to the WC...

Yeah, but the USSF is supposedly the richest deferadtion in CONCACAF...i'd expect Bradley to be at least in top 2 highest paid in the region.

Post by: elan on October 07, 2010, 08:43:42 AM
So the goverment paying the TTFF bills. Who getting the profits from games?
Post by: Dutty on October 07, 2010, 08:52:09 AM

Thank yuh

de vampire playin with he chess pieces 10 steps ahead of he party
Put yuh pawn in place...free funding from taxpayers= fantastic windfall for him the TTFF
If the team on a win streak...nobody go make noise...plus he collekin ah lil ministerial pocket change on de side

If only dat fellah could use he brain for good instead ah boball eh.....
Post by: Tenorsaw on October 07, 2010, 09:04:36 AM
Fellas, football is not a sport, it's a political vehicle... ;) ;D
Post by: daryn on October 07, 2010, 09:05:11 AM

well according to the statements they does hardly ever make profits from the games.

For example, check this old thread with the figures the for the game against Guatemala in the 2005 Hex (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=3848.0) when the stadium was full.

They did report a profit slightly less than the current coach's monthly salary for the Mexico game (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=5216.0) shortly thereafter.
Post by: Football supporter on October 07, 2010, 09:08:53 AM

As mentioned in a post regarding Pro League team funding, this is another product of laziness. Notice how sponsorship and marketing was superb for 2006. Then nothing since. All the time a child hold outs its hand to its parent it will never get a job and learn the value of money. Why should TTFF work hard to attract sponsors when it has a direct link to taxpayers funds?

An experienced coach is worth this salary, however, Latas isn't experienced. In any job, if you're learning on the job, you get paid a reduced salary with incentives and rewards as you develop.  This salary should be stepped, increasing in relation to experience. The $248,000 p.m. to be paid upon qualifying for 2014.

One further point. If you know there is a very big possibility that you may have to pay more than $18 million in owed players bonuses plus millions in legal fees in the near future, shouldn't you be making provision for this in your new budget? If TTFF receive this money from govt, they may have to pay the whole amount out before xmas. Then what will they do? From what I recall, when presenting a budget, you include actual debts and creation of an escrow account for probable debts.    
Post by: congo on October 07, 2010, 09:15:28 AM
Why we complaining for? This is not what we vote for? How many of you all say that Hunt never do anything for football? Now your coach getting first class salary with with 3rd class results. No bed or water for all. No accountabilty and self sustainability but you know what? We going Brazil 2014. !!!
Post by: Jayerson on October 07, 2010, 09:25:53 AM
This was pre-world cup salaries - December 2009 figures in Euros.

Fabio Capello (Inglaterra): 9.900.000
- Marcelo Lippi (Italia): 3.000.000
- Joachim Löw (Alemania): 2.300.000
- Javier Aguirre (México): 1.800.000
- Carlos Parreira (Sudáfrica): 1.800.000
- Berter van Marwijk (Holanda): 2.700.000
- Ottmar Hitzfeld (Suiza): 2.600.000
- Vicente del Bosque (España): 2.200.000
- Carlos Queiroz (Portugal): 2.000.000
- Pim Verbeek (Australia): 1.820.000
- Dunga (Brasil): 1.250.000
- Diego Maradona (Argentina): 1.200.000
- Takeshi Okada (Japón): 1.200.000
- Ricki Herbert (Nueva Zelandia): 1.200.000
- Otto Rehhagel (Grecia): 1.150.000
- Paul Le Guen (Camerún): 960.000
- Marcelo Bielsa (Chile): 850.000
- Vahdi Halilhodzic (Costa de Marfil): 740.000
- R. Domenech (Francia): 720.000
- Hun Jung Moo (Corea del Sur): 600.000
- Morten Olsen (Dinamarca): 570.000
- Milovan Rajevac (Ghana): 540.000
- Bob Bradley (EE.UU.): 400.000
- Radomir Antic (Serbia): 447.000
- Matjaz Kek (Eslovenia): 360.000
- Gerardo Martino (Paraguay): 360.000
- Rabah Saadane (Argelia): 360.000
- Reinaldo Rueda (Honduras): 350.000
- Vladimir Weiss (Eslovaquia): 312.000
- Oscar Washington Tabárez (Uruguay): 300.000
- Kim Jong Hun (Corea del Norte): 250.000
- Shaibu Amodu (Nigeria): 180.000

Post by: Coach on October 07, 2010, 09:55:34 AM
A coach should have some kind of decent winning % vs real.. competition before being paid a decent salary??? or maybe by TTFF standards this is the salary for a rookie coach.

What kind of $ Latas will get when he start beating teams like USA, Mexico, Honduras etc..?
Post by: Quags on October 07, 2010, 10:08:26 AM
We dont have to worry about money anymore .Good one less thing to worry about .
                                                                                                                Forrest Gump.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on October 07, 2010, 11:18:26 AM
i remember reading an article that listed bradley as one of the under paid national team coaches and from what i remember 600,000 was the annual salary.....latas could buy plenty cigarettes now.
Post by: spideybuff on October 07, 2010, 12:26:16 PM
All that is talk. They say how much he getting but wait and see how long it take to reach the bank account. Local gov't reps get promise all kinda car and phone and office too, you know, that still eh reach. Talk is cheap. Latas working under duress..
Post by: maxg on October 07, 2010, 02:22:35 PM

As mentioned in a post regarding Pro League team funding, this is another product of laziness. Notice how sponsorship and marketing was superb for 2006. Then nothing since. All the time a child hold outs its hand to its parent it will never get a job and learn the value of money. Why should TTFF work hard to attract sponsors when it has a direct link to taxpayers funds?

An experienced coach is worth this salary, however, Latas isn't experienced. In any job, if you're learning on the job, you get paid a reduced salary with incentives and rewards as you develop.  This salary should be stepped, increasing in relation to experience. The $248,000 p.m. to be paid upon qualifying for 2014.

One further point. If you know there is a very big possibility that you may have to pay more than $18 million in owed players bonuses plus millions in legal fees in the near future, shouldn't you be making provision for this in your new budget? If TTFF receive this money from govt, they may have to pay the whole amount out before xmas. Then what will they do? From what I recall, when presenting a budget, you include actual debts and creation of an escrow account for probable debts.    

doh worry, Weary, Touches, locals et al, go handle that too. Bet present players eh getting no "if allyuh win promises"...bet budgetted for them is ah pat on the back for wearing the Natnl colours...was going and do the math, but ah real weak at TT accounting (financial & otherwise), never understood it..otherwise all now ah coulda be pulling some decent paper too...I shoulda listen to meh teachers an study meh books, as well as practice talking tata, and minding ppl business  :devil:
Post by: Flex on October 07, 2010, 02:35:43 PM
Before reading anyone message here, my take on this.... (see below)

I don't think those number are accurate what they pay Latapy and company, they are trying to justify the money they made in the 2006 WC is going back into the team so they can win the blacklisted players court.

I guess if they can prove the money is being spent on T&T football instead of someone's pocket then they stand a better chance to pay the blacklisted players less when the court matter resumes.

This is politics at its best if you asked me. Never before have the TTFF open personal info such as this to the public.

I smell a rotten fish....  8)

Just my 2-cents.
Post by: davidephraim on October 07, 2010, 02:59:48 PM

Thank yuh

de vampire playin with he chess pieces 10 steps ahead of he party
Put yuh pawn in place...free funding from taxpayers= fantastic windfall for him the TTFF
If the team on a win streak...nobody go make noise...plus he collekin ah lil ministerial pocket change on de side

If only dat fellah could use he brain for good instead ah boball eh.....

define good??
Post by: College on October 07, 2010, 03:12:40 PM

I don't think those number are accurate what they pay Latapy and company, they are trying to justify the money they made in the 2006 WC is going back into the team so they can win the blacklisted players court.

I guess if they can prove the money is being spent on T&T football instead of someone's pocket then they stand a better chance to pay the blacklisted players less when the court matter resumes.

This is politics at its best if you asked me. Never before have the TTFF open personal info such as this to the public.

Just my 2-cents.

That may be the case, but Latas done spill the beans by saying TTFF aint pay certain staff for nearly a year! If yuh owe money, yuh owe money, the fact that yuh have expenditures 4 years after the fact shouldn't add validity to yuh case.
Post by: Coop's on October 07, 2010, 04:03:10 PM
All that is talk. They say how much he getting but wait and see how long it take to reach the bank account. Local gov't reps get promise all kinda car and phone and office too, you know, that still eh reach. Talk is cheap. Latas working under duress..
        Latas eh working under nothing,he is the first local Coach getting everything he wants,he doing everything he wants with the players he wants,he feels we are good enough to do it with local players,ah fine peeps quiet now they see the kind of money the technical staff getting,these guys were being paid by Gov all along may be not as much.
        Two things i must say i've lived to see so far in my life time,T&T qualify for a WC finals and our head Coach getting a descent salary.What i am looking at now is after all that budgeting for technical staff etc etc i hope we don't forget the WC players eh get paid yet.
Post by: Big Magician on October 07, 2010, 05:11:30 PM
not bad at all Flex...
Post by: Football supporter on October 07, 2010, 06:11:36 PM
I hear a rumour that the mens national team haven't been paid for the last 5 matches, so maybe thats how TTFF can afford the new package.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 07, 2010, 06:31:11 PM
Flex, ah eh sure ah follow yuh.   Yuh proposing that the sneaky bastards are pretending using money from 2006 to fund this 2014 campaign so that way they can show the money didn't go to anyone's pocket......hhhhmmmm......so they weren't serious about 2010 then??

And also, if the money is just sitting there waiting to used then just open the accounts from 2006 for scrutiny by an independent/court appointed accountant/auditor and talk done.....but ah hear yuh eh, yuh cyar afford to close yuh eye for one minute on de vampire.....
Post by: elan on October 07, 2010, 08:48:47 PM

well according to the statements they does hardly ever make profits from the games.

For example, check this old thread with the figures the for the game against Guatemala in the 2005 Hex (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=3848.0) when the stadium was full.

They did report a profit slightly less than the current coach's monthly salary for the Mexico game (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=5216.0) shortly thereafter.

The TTFF don't maintain any facilities or pay any substantial rental fees for the use of the stadium or other venues. Therefore they stating in front.
Post by: Bakes on October 07, 2010, 09:20:18 PM

Just my 2-cents.

I can't say that this isn't what they trying to do... but if that's the case then they really wasting dey time.  Spending money today doesn't erase a prior debt owed.  Dai'z like saying "I cyah pay WASA de arrears ah owe dem, because ah paying T&TEC fuh light."
Post by: Trinimassive on October 07, 2010, 11:34:59 PM
YUh see why Spalk with he fat dougla lips tell latapy to produce or ride out.

Dais real paper.

In fact, based on the performances right now for that kinda cheddar....he is a big failure.

Imagine how Bertille and all them other local coaches must be feeling seeing dat.

Them men was sprangin before and getting 10 times better results.

Edit now read Jayerson....is bess we get Bradley for 10,000 more. We go at least be fit.

That go have tuh be Base salary

The contract go have tuh include hazardous duty pay (high blood pressure & stroke) and ah monthly supply ah High grade
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2010, 12:00:22 AM
Oh gard oh!! guys when you all miss me i gone home,i want to get on that staff even if it's to clean the office :devil: :devil: this is what you all want Latas to walk away and leave?boy don't matter how much i failing i not leaving they have to fire me.If the peeps that hireing comfortable with what they are getting for their money what am i to do i got a job,that's why i understand Anil right or wrong.
Post by: daryn on October 08, 2010, 04:48:32 AM

Just my 2-cents.

I can't say that this isn't what they trying to do... but if that's the case then they really wasting dey time.  Spending money today doesn't erase a prior debt owed.  Dai'z like saying "I cyah pay WASA de arrears ah owe dem, because ah paying T&TEC fuh light."

well, it is in line with the strategy they've had all along.  I think the argument is that some of the revenue made from 2006 was always supposed to be used to for future campaigns and should therefore be taken off the table before the profit is calculated.   Remember the fight is essentially over how much profit there is to split up. 

I remember at least one version of the TTFF figures had monies allocated to the 2010 (and possibly also the 2014 IIRC) campaign as a cost.  This was early on in the wranglings.  I thought/think it was a ridiculous tactic, mostly because the dollar values just seemed to be made up after the fact to make the numbers work out.  But it's a consistently held position over what must be a few years now.

Post by: Brownsugar on October 08, 2010, 06:38:47 AM

Daryn, yuh make the TTFF sound like an organisation capable of planning be it short, medium or long term!!...good one boy.  Yuh make mih day!!....
Post by: daryn on October 08, 2010, 07:06:41 AM

Daryn, yuh make the TTFF sound like an organisation capable of planning be it short, medium or long term!!...good one boy.  Yuh make mih day!!....

if it wasn't for Jack we would have had Patos for Prime Minister until the day Panday dead.  So we know he have some strategery about him.
Post by: spideybuff on October 08, 2010, 07:52:56 AM
        Latas eh working under nothing,he is the first local Coach getting everything he wants,he doing everything he wants with the players he wants,he feels we are good enough to do it with local players,ah fine peeps quiet now they see the kind of money the technical staff getting,these guys were being paid by Gov all along may be not as much.
        Two things i must say i've lived to see so far in my life time,T&T qualify for a WC finals and our head Coach getting a descent salary.What i am looking at now is after all that budgeting for technical staff etc etc i hope we don't forget the WC players eh get paid yet.
what u talking bout? The man say he cah get no friendlies, he cah get the stadium to train but they playing fdetematch and he staff not gettiing paid. That sound like getting everything he wants?
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2010, 08:50:08 AM
what u talking bout? The man say he cah get no friendlies, he cah get the stadium to train but they playing fdetematch and he staff not gettiing paid. That sound like getting everything he wants?
      Is the stadium the only place for our national team to train,i see for U17 women wc it had foreign teams training on the field next to the stadium,it had teams even training in the Savannah in POS,it have all kinds of training a team can do,why we can't go South and train,why it always have to be HSC.I'm sure all personnel on our technical staff have permanent jobs besides what they do with the TTFF,i'm not saying they should not be paid but that should not be latas concerns,his focus should be our national team and how we playing.How many games our national team plays in the stadium?the stadium survives on how many games are played there,i don't think games are played there for free and that includes fete matches,so don't worry if you see matches playing there. 
Post by: Brownsugar on October 08, 2010, 08:58:54 AM

if it wasn't for Jack we would have had Patos for Prime Minister until the day Panday dead.  So we know he have some strategery about him.

Yuh right eh, but like strategy run away and leave him for the 2010 World Cup??.....Look we know the TTFF eh capable of organising a drink in a rum shop.
Post by: Bakes on October 08, 2010, 09:05:44 AM
well, it is in line with the strategy they've had all along.  I think the argument is that some of the revenue made from 2006 was always supposed to be used to for future campaigns and should therefore be taken off the table before the profit is calculated.   Remember the fight is essentially over how much profit there is to split up. 

I remember at least one version of the TTFF figures had monies allocated to the 2010 (and possibly also the 2014 IIRC) campaign as a cost.  This was early on in the wranglings.  I thought/think it was a ridiculous tactic, mostly because the dollar values just seemed to be made up after the fact to make the numbers work out.  But it's a consistently held position over what must be a few years now.

Regardless as to what future purpose they've earmarked the money for... this money would still be coming from the profits.  They agreed to split the profits, not what's ever left over after paying bills. So even if they say well we budgeted XYand Z for overheads, salaries and maintenance and upkeep of the physical plant, that allocation is still coming from profits made and can only be made after the debt is settled.  If the deal says you have to split the profits then whatever you have/need to do with your share is not really my concern.
Post by: spideybuff on October 08, 2010, 09:20:08 AM
      Is the stadium the only place for our national team to train,i see for U17 women wc it had foreign teams training on the field next to the stadium,it had teams even training in the Savannah in POS,it have all kinds of training a team can do,why we can't go South and train,why it always have to be HSC.I'm sure all personnel on our technical staff have permanent jobs besides what they do with the TTFF,i'm not saying they should not be paid but that should not be latas concerns,his focus should be our national team and how we playing.How many games our national team plays in the stadium?the stadium survives on how many games are played there,i don't think games are played there for free and that includes fete matches,so don't worry if you see matches playing there. 
Nah man Coops...U really fighting down that our Senior Men's National Team should be denied use of the national stadium training facilities, because it have other stadiums, yet a fetematch side could get permission ?
Post by: Coop's on October 08, 2010, 09:45:28 AM
Nah man Coops...U really fighting down that our Senior Men's National Team should be denied use of the national stadium training facilities, because it have other stadiums, yet a fetematch side could get permission ?
       Spidey,don't read me wrong here,the discussion was Latas not getting what he wants and all i'm trying to show he has numerous alternatives,it's four staiums we have just as good as the HCS, is it because it's more convenient for the Coaches and them to get too,i remember in my time the national team used to train at Brichen Castle in Caroni,it's not a fighting down matter,it's not where you train is how you train.
Post by: KND2 on October 08, 2010, 10:33:55 AM
how much a international football coach does make?

If that is the price then That is the price.

Men vex

but if a foreign coach come you think he working for less?

He probably want more.

How much Maturana make and he was not getting results either.

I glad latapy getting paid because he is a Trini so keep the money in the family.

When maturana make he money he take it back to columbia with him.

At least latapy will buy a few doubles and bake and shark and go by the mall and buy some clothes and thing.

spend the money in TnT and help the economy

Man want to fight down latapy.

I glad for him.

Win lose or draw.  We better off for it.

Post by: daryn on October 08, 2010, 10:35:04 AM

Regardless as to what future purpose they've earmarked the money for... this money would still be coming from the profits.  They agreed to split the profits, not what's ever left over after paying bills. So even if they say well we budgeted XYand Z for overheads, salaries and maintenance and upkeep of the physical plant, that allocation is still coming from profits made and can only be made after the debt is settled.  If the deal says you have to split the profits then whatever you have/need to do with your share is not really my concern.

I agree with everything you say here.  Just pointing out that this is in keeping with their strategy all along.
I think that even in the original offer where the claimed profit was $282,203 ( $18,255,952 in revenue and $17,973,749 in expenses) they had counted future campaigns in the expenses.  

I might try to look for the threads with the breakdowns of the various numbers the TTFF has provided over time.  
Post by: kicker on October 08, 2010, 11:13:28 AM
thats a 500k USD salary for the year if he retains his post. I suspect another intl coach will walk in and demand more with added benefits for qualifying for brazil 

Still alot of money for small program like ours with no real substantial revenue base or corporate sponsorship....
Post by: kicker on October 08, 2010, 11:19:31 AM
At least we know how much they're getting paid- one step in the direction of transparency. 
Post by: Spursy on October 08, 2010, 11:20:55 AM
Well if latas getting paid it's a great rookie salary..
Price of knowing if our head coach is good enough equals a gold cup showing.

Some of us already know ... the answer.

Post by: Controversial on October 08, 2010, 12:03:00 PM
Well if latas getting paid it's a great rookie salary..
Price of knowing if our head coach is good enough equals a gold cup showing.

Some of us already know ... the answer.

doh worry, with all that salary latas getting, we either drawing with JA or losing. latas riding out by jan of next year,truss
Post by: Midknight on October 08, 2010, 02:07:14 PM
how much a international football coach does make?

If that is the price then That is the price.

Men vex

but if a foreign coach come you think he working for less?

He probably want more.

How much Maturana make and he was not getting results either.

I glad latapy getting paid because he is a Trini so keep the money in the family.

When maturana make he money he take it back to columbia with him.

At least latapy will buy a few doubles and bake and shark and go by the mall and buy some clothes and thing.

spend the money in TnT and help the economy

Man want to fight down latapy.

I glad for him.

Win lose or draw.  We better off for it.

you better be trying a arrow, otherwise this is the biggest load I hear in a long time, and trust me, this forum is a serious dumping ground so that saying plenty
Post by: weary1969 on October 08, 2010, 02:38:58 PM

Yuh right eh, but like strategy run away and leave him for the 2010 World Cup??.....Look we know the TTFF eh capable of organising a drink in a rum shop.

I rather Palos version. Cue Palos
Post by: amwood on October 08, 2010, 03:22:09 PM
Latas doing very well for himself! Hell Ross Russell pulling $20US a month!!!!! I dont think any local coach - assistant or otherwise ever comanded this type of salary in our history! Big up to them fellas!

I rather Palos version. Cue Palo

Post by: maxg on October 08, 2010, 04:24:23 PM
E or T man, what are the players stipend, for each session, for each game ? Think I saw it on here once.
Post by: amwood on October 08, 2010, 06:03:41 PM
ah $20 dollars! them fellas ain't getting nothing to talk about, if I was Russell I would take ah 10,000 US per from that big salary and offer some incentive to them fellas....it might provide some incentive to put forth a better effort!

E or T man, what are the players stipend, for each session, for each game ? Think I saw it on here once.
Post by: soccerman on October 08, 2010, 11:31:24 PM
$40,000 US a month, living in Trini is not a bad gig at all....in fact $40,000 US a month and living in Beverly Hills is not a bad gig neither.

Title: Is LATERPY worth USD 500k per year?
Post by: Controversial on October 10, 2010, 06:59:22 PM
is he even worth the remainder of 2010 salary even? as a player he was well worth that and more, but as a coach he aint even making super league in my books
Title: Re: Is LATERPY worth USD 500k per year?
Post by: Jah Gol on October 10, 2010, 07:01:22 PM
Laterpy ?Who's that ?
Post by: Controversial on October 10, 2010, 07:03:58 PM
Laterpy ?Who's that ?

Latas get a name change to " LATER = BYE BYE PY"
Post by: Jah Gol on October 10, 2010, 07:06:07 PM
Laterpy ?Who's that ?

steups
Post by: Brownsugar on October 10, 2010, 07:44:29 PM
Laterpy ?Who's that ?

steups

<chuckles>
Post by: Star Child on October 16, 2010, 06:19:05 AM
Thats alot of bread for a no name coach.