Sports => Trinbago, NBA & World Basketball => Topic started by: daryn on October 08, 2010, 05:38:51 AM

Title: NBA 2010-2011
Post by: daryn on October 08, 2010, 05:38:51 AM
well pre-season start.

D Wade had some kinda injury in the Heat first game and the Knicks' Amar'e era got started with a game against the T-wolves in Paris.  Nothing major to report.

Last night, the Lakers lost to Barca in an exhibition. (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/basketball/nba/10/07/lakers.barcelona.ap/index.html?eref=sihp)

Just for Capo we could start the thread with a picture of 5-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant.

(http://i2.cdn.turner.com/si/2010/basketball/nba/10/07/lakers.barcelona.ap/kobe-bryant.jpg)
Title: Re: NBA 2010-2011
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 08, 2010, 11:30:12 AM
allyuh go raise my pressure.lol.
Post by: soccerman on October 08, 2010, 11:43:31 PM
Grant Hill and Reggie Evans got ejected for spanking each other :o
Post by: weary1969 on October 10, 2010, 03:01:46 PM
well pre-season start.

D Wade had some kinda injury in the Heat first game and the Knicks' Amar'e era got started with a game against the T-wolves in Paris.  Nothing major to report.

Last night, the Lakers lost to Barca in an exhibition. (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2010/basketball/nba/10/07/lakers.barcelona.ap/index.html?eref=sihp)

Just for Capo we could start the thread with a picture of 5-time NBA champion Kobe Bryant.

(http://i2.cdn.turner.com/si/2010/basketball/nba/10/07/lakers.barcelona.ap/kobe-bryant.jpg)

GR8
Post by: daryn on October 11, 2010, 02:30:28 PM
the Birdman has a new tat for the new season.  I think I'm going to have to move him up the rankings of my favourite NBA players for this one.

(http://thebiglead.fantasysportsven.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/chris-birdman-anderson-new-neck-tattoo.jpg)
Post by: soccerman on October 11, 2010, 06:29:32 PM
Wheeyyyyy that tattoo is one of the craziest I've seen. I wonder if represents how he's free from his drug addiction?
Post by: daryn on December 12, 2010, 05:50:24 PM
a quarter way into his first season and Blake Griffin has already accumulated a legendary collection of highlights

http://www.youtube.com/v/6gG4W0L41FI
Post by: Bakes on December 12, 2010, 07:20:26 PM
Knicks quietly making some early season noise.  Stoudemire with 8 straight games of 30+ points (a franchise record).  Landry Fields might be the steal of the draft so far... and Stoudemire and Felton the best free agent signings after LeBron.  Carmelo reportedly telling the Nuggets he won't sign a long-term deal (key to any trade) with any other team but the Knicks.  Funny how he now saying that just as the Knicks start playing better... also helps that we beat his team today 125-123.

As for Miami LeBrons... for all the talk of LeBron going to SoBe to be Wade's sidekick, James has been the best player on the team so far while Wade has been up and down.  Overall, the team is just beginning to play up to its talent level.
Post by: Marcos on December 13, 2010, 03:21:48 PM
I find Bosh is the most consistent of the 3
Post by: Bakes on December 13, 2010, 04:06:11 PM
I find Bosh is the most consistent of the 3

Who?  The same Bosh who was invisible (http://offthedribble.blogs.nytimes.com/tag/chris-bosh/) thru the first 10 games?
Post by: daryn on December 14, 2010, 04:50:38 AM
yeah, Knicks looking good.  Admittedly, Denver was the first good we beat admittedly.  Anyhow, beating teams we supposed to beat is a step in the right direction.
Post by: big dawg on December 14, 2010, 05:09:26 PM
yeah, Knicks looking good.  Admittedly, Denver was the first good we beat admittedly.  Anyhow, beating teams we supposed to beat is a step in the right direction.

Yeah. Boston will be the acid test

We have our best player since Patrick Ewing. The supporting cast is playing well also. Good to see some joy back in the garden after a lousy decade. A playoff appearance will be fine imh.
Post by: daryn on December 15, 2010, 06:16:46 PM

Yeah. Boston will be the acid test

We have our best player since Patrick Ewing. The supporting cast is playing well also. Good to see some joy back in the garden after a lousy decade. A playoff appearance will be fine imh.

game just start so we go see.

Amar'e is a real unconventional player.  he's a big man who don't really like to play with his back to the basket.
Post by: Bakes on December 15, 2010, 07:19:35 PM
Game going good so far... Stoudemire with 23 first half points, Chandler with 14 and 7, Knicks up 58-51 at the half.

EDIT:

Heckuva game, Celtics pulled out the win 118-116, Stoudemire hit a three at the buzzer to seemingly give the Knicks the win, but the refs (properly it seems) ruled that the shot was after the buzzer.  The game got away from us late in the fourth, and we had a couple tough calls go against us... but great fight by the Knicks.  If we play the way we did tonight then I am happy to say that my team is back.

Gallinari with 20 pts thereabouts
Felton with 26 or 27
Stoudemire with 39
Chandler with 18

Gallo in particular was a beast in the second half.
Post by: daryn on December 15, 2010, 09:00:46 PM
Gallo and Chandler campaigning not to be the person who gets traded for Melo.
Post by: soccerman on December 15, 2010, 11:09:23 PM
Wasn't the Knicks up by 4 with under a minute left??? To tell you the truth I drop alseep on de couch mid-way through the 4th yes and coulda swear I saw Knicks were up by 4 with under a minute. Unless i was dreaming like mavado ;D
Post by: Bakes on December 15, 2010, 11:39:28 PM
Wasn't the Knicks up by 4 with under a minute left??? To tell you the truth I drop alseep on de couch mid-way through the 4th yes and coulda swear I saw Knicks were up by 4 with under a minute. Unless i was dreaming like mavado ;D

Nah you weren't dreaming... bad shot by Felton with the game tied leave him under the basket in a heap and Celts were gone the other way with a 5 on 4.  Blown assignment by Fields cause him to chase Pierce off the three-point line, only for Pierce to pass to the man Fields was guarding... Ray Allen... who proceeded to give the Celtics their first lead, up three.  Gallon make a running flip shot while being fouled by Pierce on the other end to tie up things at 116 though.  Then Pierce hit ah tough step-back on Stoudemire, who get caught on a switch... that was the final points of the game as only .4 secs were left on the clock after that.

I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.
Post by: daryn on December 16, 2010, 06:27:54 AM

I don't think it was quite that late in the game. Because Celtics were also up 3 in the last minute before Gallinari 3 pt play tied it up.

edit: Ray Allen's 3 to put the Cs up by 3 was with 1:02 left.  just re-watch the highlights on nba.com.
Post by: soccerman on December 16, 2010, 11:18:52 AM
Ah vex!! I watched the highlights on sportscenter...it had excitement coming down to the end. As much as I hate Boston, that was a big shot by Pierce, I have to give him credit for that. Even Stoudemire's 3 was a close call. His shooting range has developed this season because to me he didn't have that kinda range with the Suns, unless he didn't have to take jumpers since Nash often feed him in the post and on fast breaks for high percentage baskets. This season Omarie has been making jumpers beyond mid-range and has been consistent in doing so.
Post by: Marcos on December 16, 2010, 05:02:29 PM
[I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.

Bigger test coming Friday boss. NY needs a relevant basketball team.

Anybody else shocked at how good Amare has been? I givin' $100 to anybody that saw this coming.
Post by: Bakes on December 16, 2010, 05:40:48 PM
[I doh really believe in moral victories, but given the depths where we've been the past decade, yuh kinda have to take consolation wherever yuh can, and at least we playing meaningful games once again.

Bigger test coming Friday boss. NY needs a relevant basketball team.

Anybody else shocked at how good Amare has been? I givin' $100 to anybody that saw this coming.

Why... because of the names involved?  Boston was by far a bigger test than the Heat at this point, the Celtics are playing better ball and have a better inside game to counter the Knicks strength.  They had three different guys (Erdum, Davis and Garnett) and all of them get served.  Who does Miami have to guard Stoudemire... Zee??
Post by: Marcos on December 17, 2010, 08:34:17 AM
We shall see...
Post by: Bakes on December 17, 2010, 11:25:29 AM
We shall see...

Regardless the outcome of tonight's game, the Celtics (recent defending champion, current top defensive team in the NBA) are a better test for the Knicks than the Heat.  This Heat game is a good game, but the matchup benefits from the hype surriounding LeBron and his supposed spurning of the Knicks.
Post by: daryn on December 18, 2010, 03:17:15 PM
Orlando trade Vince and get JRich and Hedo.  Lewis for Arenas supposedly close to completion.
Post by: soccerman on December 18, 2010, 03:30:52 PM
Orlando trade Vince and get JRich and Hedo.  Lewis for Arenas supposedly close to completion.
Eh heh?...I going and check up on dat one now.
Post by: Bakes on December 18, 2010, 03:48:01 PM

Surprising.  I'm not sure this represents a step forward, as much as I like Jason Richardson.
Post by: soccerman on December 18, 2010, 04:06:49 PM
Both deals completed. Arenas is heading to Orlando.
Post by: Quags on December 19, 2010, 10:45:43 AM

Surprising.  I'm not sure this represents a step forward, as much as I like Jason Richardson.
anything is a step forward with out Vince ,told yah he cant win shit .
Post by: Bakes on December 19, 2010, 01:41:28 PM
anything is a step forward with out Vince ,told yah he cant win shit .

lol... Hell hath no fury like fan scorned.  Allyuh sound just as bitter as Arsenal fans with Adebayor and ManU fans with Tevez.... and almost as bitter as Cleveland fans with LeBron.
Post by: Quags on December 19, 2010, 07:35:57 PM
Am I right or wrong ? went to a winner in NJ ,the team promptly had to be broken up .Then went to a top contender in Orlando the team just broke up .cancer
Post by: Marcos on December 20, 2010, 08:59:52 AM
That trade just has both teams moving sideways in my opinion.
Post by: daryn on December 21, 2010, 06:27:58 AM
I don't know why Orlando was in such a rush to make that 2nd trade.

After they make the finals they effectively trade Hedo for Vince.  Now they get back Hedo and a Vince-like player (Richardson) that most people would take over Vince.  If they insist on moving Rashard quickly I would have thought the emphasis would be on replacing Gortat rather than on getting yet another scorer who going to get 3 rebounds a game.

I think Orlando problem is they had their biggest success by accident (Jameer Nelson got injured, Turkoglu had more ball-handling responsibilities and they became a real bad matchup for the Cavs) and they don't know how to reproduce it.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 21, 2010, 11:20:39 PM
Must admit, have some more competition this season w/lots of teams clickin (Dallas, SA, NY, OKC etc).  Mia replaces Cavs as a team to beat in de east, of course beantown in de mix.  Inasmuch as Dallas have some defensive presence now, ah really not worried, want to see what they do in de post season.  Season doh start til after de all star break, will save more fuh all yuh den.  By den should see how my boys clickin, ah know many ah allyuh quakin in all yuh boots  :rotfl: cause yuh know we in de business ah winnin championships  :devil:
Post by: AirMan on December 26, 2010, 10:24:43 PM
Ah love how Miami continue to silence their critics
Post by: SUPA on December 27, 2010, 05:56:55 AM
Ah love how Miami continue to silence their critics

8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: AirMan on December 28, 2010, 11:28:21 PM
Lakers lost again this time to the Spurs   :D
Post by: SUPA on December 29, 2010, 08:44:08 AM
Lakers lost again this time to the Spurs   :D

All yuh know de Heat is my team, but in all fairness tuh de Lakers, I must admit I am not worried about dem. If all yuh is a real Lakers fan, den de massive should know dat de Lakers will be fine. Ah really fine dey losing too many games doh, but dey will be fine. Yuh see as long as de Kobe "Black Mamba" Bryant on dat team, dey will start tuh whoop some azz very soon, or may be after de All Star break. Ah doh know if dey can win de championship again and of course I do not want dem to, cuz I am a big time Heat fan. However, dey will start to compete very soon, so cool nuh. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on January 04, 2011, 03:48:48 PM
The Grizzlies... *snicker*
Post by: daryn on January 09, 2011, 10:21:19 AM
I don't know why Orlando was in such a rush to make that 2nd trade.

9 wins in a row for the Magic now.
Post by: weary1969 on January 12, 2011, 02:31:07 PM
LOS ANGELES (AP)—The Los Angeles Lakers professed no empathy for the hapless Cleveland Cavaliers, only a grim, workmanlike attitude in dispatching the business at hand.

The Lakers humiliated the Cavs while sending them to their 11th straight loss, rolling to a 112-57 victory on Tuesday night in their best defensive performance of the shot clock era.

It was the Lakers’ third-largest margin of victory since moving to Los Angeles, with the two biggest coming in 1972 and 1966.

“You don’t ever imagine something like that,” Kobe Bryant(notes) said. “You just go out there and do your job and we did it for 48 minutes.”

Ron Artest(notes) and Andrew Bynum(notes) each scored 15 points, while Pau Gasol(notes) had 13 points and 14 rebounds. Bryant, Lamar Odom(notes) and Shannon Brown(notes) also scored 13 points for the defending NBA champion Lakers, who led the league’s worst team by 32 points at halftime on their way to winning their fifth in a row.

“I thought that was embarrassing,” said Cavs coach Byron Scott, who once starred for the Lakers. “I told them at halftime, `You look scared. You look flat-out scared. You’re playing against the world champions, and instead of just competing and playing hard, you look scared. You look scared to death.’ That was my take on it, as simple as that.”

Bryant said he “absolutely” felt for Scott.

“It’s a tough situation to be in,” he said. “He’s like an older brother to me, so it’s always tough to see him go through something like that.”

Reserves Alonzo Gee(notes) scored 12 points and Ramon Sessions(notes) 10. Cleveland’s point total was a record low by a Lakers opponent in the shot clock era.

“We had a defensive goal,” Lakers coach Phil Jackson said. “We wanted to try and limit them to as few points as possible.”

Mission accomplished.

The Cavs shot 30 percent, were outscored 52-28 in the paint and committed 19 turnovers in losing for the 21st time in their last 22 games. They fell to 8-30 overall, 3-18 on the road and 1-5 against the Western Conference.

“It can’t be any worse than this. If it is, someone will have to help me because I don’t know how much of this I can take,” said Antawn Jamison(notes), who had six points. “This by far is rock-bottom. It’s definitely by far one of the most embarrassing moments that I’ve been a part of as far as basketball.”

Brown hit a 3-pointer from just inside halfcourt to end the third quarter and give Los Angeles a 92-41 lead, the first time an NBA team has led by that many after three since Nov. 8, 2001, when Chicago was ahead of Minnesota.

“It’s our job to beat our opponent and it’s our job to even beat them playing badly,” Odom said.

The Lakers led 27-12 after the opening quarter and 57-25 at the break.

Since LeBron James’(notes) offseason departure, the Cavaliers have gone from being a perennial playoff team that went 7-3 against the Lakers in their previous 10 meetings to a team struggling with injuries and mounting losses.

And after their acrimonious parting, James seems to be taking delight in his former team’s embarrassing performance. While it wasn’t clear what he was referring to on Twitter, he posted this while the game was getting out of hand: “Crazy. Karma is a b****.. Gets you every time. Its not good to wish bad on anybody. God sees everything!”

“It’s a decimated team, obviously,” Jackson said. “The Cavs are playing with a lot of their regulars out, so they were hurting a little bit. But they stayed with it and they tried to play, and gave an effort and we were there to meet it.”

The Cavs were without starting center Anderson Varejao(notes), who tore his right ankle in a routine conditioning drill. Also missing were missing Joey Graham(notes) (right quad strain), Daniel Gibson(notes) (left ankle sprain), Leon Powe(notes) (right torn meniscus) and Anthony Parker(notes) (lower back strain).

Notes: The Lakers improved to 6-2 in the first game of back-to-backs. They’ll visit Golden State on Wednesday. … Gibson rejoined the Cavs in Los Angeles and will continue rehabbing his left ankle sprain as the team travels to Utah and Denver. … Lakers F Matt Barnes(notes) had surgery on a torn lateral meniscus in his right knee earlier Tuesday. He’s expected to be out eight weeks. … Staff Sgt. Salvatore Giunta, Medal of Honor recipient from the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, delivered the ball to center court before the game.

Post by: weary1969 on January 12, 2011, 02:33:16 PM
CLEVELAND (AP)—LeBron James(notes) has tweaked Dan Gilbert—and the Cavaliers owner’s miserable NBA team—with a pointed tweet.

As James’ former teammates were absorbing a 55-point loss to the Los Angeles Lakers on Tuesday night, the player fired off a message on his Twitter account that seemed to be directed at Gilbert. to wish bad on anybody. God sees everything!”

In July, after James announced he was leaving for Miami, Gilbert wrote a scathing letter to Cleveland fans questioning the two-time MVP’s character and predicting he would take Cleveland’s curse with him “down south. … James will unfortunately own this dreaded spell and bad karma.”

The 112-57 loss to the Lakers was the Cavs’ 11th straight and their most lopsided since joining the league in 1970.

Afterward, Cavs guard Mo Williams(notes) tweeted: “embarrassing, I feel like I can’t even show my face in Cleve.”

James and Gilbert have been at odds since the summer, when the superstar decided to join forces in Miami with fellow superstars Dwyane Wade(notes) and Chris Bosh(notes). In an interview with The Associated Press in the hours after James’ announcement during an hour-long TV special, Gilbert accused James of quitting in the playoffs the past two seasons.

And while both insist they’ve moved on, James’ tweet seems to show he has lingering bitterness toward Gilbert.

His social network message was poorly received in Cleveland, where fans still feel betrayed by him spurning them. It’s bad enough the Cavs are struggling, but James decided to kick them when they’re down.

The Akron native was rudely received by Cleveland fans when he returned on Dec. 2. The Heat demolished the Cavs 118-90 that night, and both teams haven’t been the same since. Miami has gone 19-1 after their visit too Cleveland, while the Cavs are 1-20.

Little has gone right this season for Cleveland, which got off to a 7-9 start. But the losses have been mounting along with several key injuries. Last week, hustling center Anderson Varejao(notes) suffered a season-ending injury when he tore an ankle tendon during a non-contact running drill in practice.

But the Cavs, who had the league’s best regular-season record the past two seasons with James, were playing poorly before Varejao went down. Now, they can only hope they’ve reached rock bottom.

In their epic loss to the Lakers, the Cavs played three rookies for long stretches and established a new team record for fewest points. They also sustained their worst loss since getting beat 141-87 in the 11th game of their inaugural 1970 season.

The Lakers nearly doubled Cleveland’s point total. It was so bad that the Lakers could have gone scoreless in the second half—and still forced overtime! The blowout was especially disturbing to first-year Cleveland coach Byron Scott, a proud member of the Lakers’ “Showtime” teams.

“I thought that was embarrassing,” Scott said. “I told them at halftime, ‘You look scared. You look scared to death.’ That was my take on it, as simple as that.”

Cavs forward Antawn Jamison(notes) was at a loss for words.

“In 13 years, I can honestly say I ain’t ever felt that embarrassed to be on the basketball court,” he said. “There’s nothing else you can really say.”

Post by: 100% Barataria on January 12, 2011, 03:56:26 PM
Still reserving comment until I see us doing it day in day out, at any moment I feel like Laker cockymania could kick in...after de all star break
Post by: fari on January 13, 2011, 05:41:18 PM
a quarter way into his first season and Blake Griffin has already accumulated a legendary collection of highlights

http://www.youtube.com/v/6gG4W0L41FI

this man have some ignorant dunks boy...just wetting it on ppl...larddddd
Post by: Dutty on January 14, 2011, 11:42:37 AM
ah had to laugh at the term 'ignorant dunks'..ah goin an use dat

how tall dat fellah is?..he seems so big, the dunks doh really look all that impressive....although the one where he scrape he nuts on dat fellah nostrils deserve straight 10's
Post by: SUPA on January 17, 2011, 03:34:29 PM
About ah month ago, all yuh wid ah be hot on dis thread about de Heat when dey lose a couple games. Well we lost de last 2 games, and ah surprised all yuh eh come and start again. Doh worry, it is not just you all here dat know what time it is, de entire NBA know dat also. We can give teams leads after 2 quarters, and den step on de gas and blow dem tuh fork out of our or their own building and we can also mail in games, in order tuh get some rest. I will be honest doh, we were well beaten by Denver, minus de steam roller (LJ) and Bosh for most of de game. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 18, 2011, 01:03:42 AM
ahback
Post by: weary1969 on January 27, 2011, 09:21:40 PM
Phil Jackson celebrates beating the Celtics.

Los Angeles Lakers coach Phil Jackson has reiterated this will be his last season working the sideline.

Coming into this season with a chance for an unprecedented fourth “three-peat” and his second with the Lakers, Jackson at the time called the 2010-11 campaign his “last stand.”

In an interview Thursday with ESPN-Los Angeles, Jackson said, “Most everybody believes I’m not going to fulfill this ‘last stand’ promise and I will come back and coach again but it really is (my last season). I really want to do this for myself.”

However, the 11-time NBA champion acknowledged in September that he’s still uncertain whether he’ll retire after this season, as he repeatedly vowed last summer when he agreed to return with a pay cut.

Post by: 100% Barataria on January 27, 2011, 09:51:37 PM
Phil Jackson celebrates beating the Celtics.

Los Angeles Lakers coach Phil Jackson has reiterated this will be his last season working the sideline.

Coming into this season with a chance for an unprecedented fourth “three-peat” and his second with the Lakers, Jackson at the time called the 2010-11 campaign his “last stand.”

In an interview Thursday with ESPN-Los Angeles, Jackson said, “Most everybody believes I’m not going to fulfill this ‘last stand’ promise and I will come back and coach again but it really is (my last season). I really want to do this for myself.”

However, the 11-time NBA champion acknowledged in September that he’s still uncertain whether he’ll retire after this season, as he repeatedly vowed last summer when he agreed to return with a pay cut.

Phil is a winner and a competitor, that level of success fuels an unparalleled hunger leaving you thirsting for more success unless the appropriate exit strategy is available and highly desirable
Post by: soccerman on January 27, 2011, 10:25:49 PM
Ah boy...ah see de Knicks pull one past de Heat tonight. Was an exciting game to watch.
Post by: SUPA on January 29, 2011, 02:45:47 PM
Ah boy...ah see de Knicks pull one past de Heat tonight. Was an exciting game to watch.

When de Heat winning, all yuh does disappear from dis side ah de forum, but let meh team lose ah game, wow, is like de next team win de championship. No scene soccerman, ah reach ah stage now where ah trust meh team so much, dat if dey lose ah game, ah does just say damn and move tuh de next. Ah not worried about de Heat, ah not saying we will win it all dis year, but we do have all de tools tuh win it all dis year, time will tell. If we lose tuh de Celtics in de east final, ah good wid dat fuh de first year. Cuz Celtics is very talented, apart from Rondo, the difference are that their stars are older and to their advantage dey been playing together much longer dan dis Heat team. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2011, 03:30:50 PM
Supa yuh know I HAD to come beat mih chest after dropping dat V on yuh boys.
Post by: AirMan on January 29, 2011, 09:54:43 PM

Did everyone see this ? ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EaV6ZzzKqr0
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2011, 11:40:55 PM
Was a nice play... but the foul should have been called.
Post by: soccerman on January 31, 2011, 10:38:57 PM

When de Heat winning, all yuh does disappear from dis side ah de forum, but let meh team lose ah game, wow, is like de next team win de championship. No scene soccerman, ah reach ah stage now where ah trust meh team so much, dat if dey lose ah game, ah does just say damn and move tuh de next. Ah not worried about de Heat, ah not saying we will win it all dis year, but we do have all de tools tuh win it all dis year, time will tell. If we lose tuh de Celtics in de east final, ah good wid dat fuh de first year. Cuz Celtics is very talented, apart from Rondo, the difference are that their stars are older and to their advantage dey been playing together much longer dan dis Heat team. HIGHLY BLESSED.

Nah man Supa, I give credit where credit is due. I've always been a huge fan of the NBA and like to follow the games. Even though I'm not a Heat fan, I'm a Dwayne Wade supporter ever since he was playing in college for Marquette. In regards to the game I didn't really care who won but it was fun to watch and exciting to see the Knicks pull it out with those 3's coming down to the end. Yuh hadda give de Knicks a lil love, is years since they've had that kinda buzz in the garden.
Post by: SUPA on February 02, 2011, 08:05:56 PM
Supa yuh know I HAD to come beat mih chest after dropping dat V on yuh boys.

Bakes and Soccerman, all yuh know ah will never ignore you all post, is just dat ah does be very busy. Well unlike some bois round here, dey living on de forum and only attacking people dat have it made already and just doing dey thing tuh put some turkey on dey kids bread. Alliance and Enterprise, wey we tell some boi round here? Hear wey we tell some boi, stop chatin, chatin so much on every thread and utilise yuh energy tuh get that money in 2011.

Sorry dey Bakes and SM, meh intention was tuh respond tuh you all and talk basketball, but meh mind ran on something, so ah had tuh put it out dey. Anyway ah believe all yuh is Knicks man, well tuh be honest, de first place ah lived when ah touched de US road was Nostrand ave, Brooklyn, fuh 5 tuh 6 yrs. Ah still love NY, but ah will not lie, ah had tuh hull azz from dat forkin cold weather, damn.

Meh point is dat ah rate NY when dey not playing meh Heat, but in all honesty, without getting CA from Denver, dey are just pretenders. No one player (AS) eh carying ah team through playoffs. Doh tell meh about de rookie point guard and de next one dat does hit some three pointers in NY. Cuz come playoffs, dem lil jitts dat AS have wid him, de Celtics, Heat and Orlando will not see dem. Member, de great Riley went and got Wade, superstar help, cuz he know is only so far Wade will carry de Heat team, den he will hit ah brick wall and den go fishing early in de summer. LA got their superstars tuh help de great Kobe "Black Mamba" Bryant and yuh already know what de Celtics have. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 02, 2011, 08:50:15 PM
Laker fans: Weary, DJ, Capo  ;D

Who read between the lines last night re-Kupchak's comments re-trade talks w/LA?  He was asked whether he was trying to motivate his players and "scare them" with such talks, to which he replied that's not my style, we are not playing up to our level and we may need to make a trade to correct that.

Will see how this one plays itself out.
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2011, 09:28:55 PM
Laker fans: Weary, DJ, Capo  ;D

Who read between the lines last night re-Kupchak's comments re-trade talks w/LA?  He was asked whether he was trying to motivate his players and "scare them" with such talks, to which he replied that's not my style, we are not playing up to our level and we may need to make a trade to correct that.

Will see how this one plays itself out.

ENT U 4got Laker fan especially Capo.
Post by: soccerman on February 04, 2011, 11:57:56 AM
SUPA ah see yuh boy Lebron drop 51 on the Magic last night, that man was playing focused...thus far in the league if I had to choose the MVP, I'll say it's a toss up between Lebron and Rose, with Stoudamire third. I know we still have half of the season left but those 3 players are the top three in the league right now IMO.
Post by: Bakes on February 04, 2011, 08:36:35 PM
SUPA ah see yuh boy Lebron drop 51 on the Magic last night, that man was playing focused...thus far in the league if I had to choose the MVP, I'll say it's a toss up between Lebron and Rose, with Stoudamire third. I know we still have half of the season left but those 3 players are the top three in the league right now IMO.

I dunno how anybody in dey right mind could argue LeBron is MVP this season.  MVP is not about who having the best year or even a good year.  MVP is most valuable player to their team.  Without LeBron there's a good chance Wade and Bosh still carrying the Heat.  Without Stoudemire where would the Knicks be?  I definitely see the argument for Rose... and a fuh laughs I'll throw in Kevin Love, if not fuh he where Minnesota would be, outta de league? lol
Post by: Controversial on February 05, 2011, 05:16:38 PM

I dunno how anybody in dey right mind could argue LeBron is MVP this season.  MVP is not about who having the best year or even a good year.  MVP is most valuable player to their team.  Without LeBron there's a good chance Wade and Bosh still carrying the Heat.  Without Stoudemire where would the Knicks be?  I definitely see the argument for Rose... and a fuh laughs I'll throw in Kevin Love, if not fuh he where Minnesota would be, outta de league? lol

fair is fair, stoudemire is leading the pack for me and its not bc im a knicks fan. he deserves it
Post by: SUPA on February 05, 2011, 06:40:48 PM

Tuh be honest, when ah doh know too much on certain topics, ah prefer tuh read more and do some more research. Soccerman as ah Heat fan I must agree wid yuh point for LJ as de MVP, his numbers will back dat up. However, Bakes post have meh thinking, his point is extremely strong. I will read more and listen tuh meh favorite AM local sport talk station (790 the ticket) tuh know exactly what de people look for when dey cast their vote. Bakes, tuh further meh support fuh LJ, just some food fuh thought, where is Cleveland now without LJ? I'm just saying ;). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: Bakes on February 05, 2011, 07:02:38 PM
Tuh be honest, when ah doh know too much on certain topics, ah prefer tuh read more and do some more research. Soccerman as ah Heat fan I must agree wid yuh point for LJ as de MVP, his numbers will back dat up. However, Bakes post have meh thinking, his point is extremely strong. I will read more and listen tuh meh favorite AM local sport talk station (790 the ticket) tuh know exactly what de people look for when dey cast their vote. Bakes, tuh further meh support fuh LJ, just some food fuh thought, where is Cleveland now without LJ? I'm just saying ;). HIGHLY BLESSED.

SUPA... all that says is that James was Cleveland's MVP, but we already know that.  Is he the Heat's MVP though?  Again, to determine who is most valuable to their team... think "who can this team NOT do without?"

Now for MVP of the league do the same... which of the candidates for MVP can their team NOT do without.  The Knicks won't even make it out of the first quarter without Stoudemire.  The Heat still have Wade and Bosh to carry them.
Post by: soccerman on February 06, 2011, 05:11:57 PM

SUPA... all that says is that James was Cleveland's MVP, but we already know that.  Is he the Heat's MVP though?  Again, to determine who is most valuable to their team... think "who can this team NOT do without?"

Now for MVP of the league do the same... which of the candidates for MVP can their team NOT do without.  The Knicks won't even make it out of the first quarter without Stoudemire.  The Heat still have Wade and Bosh to carry them.

While I agree with what you said, the candidate who's team has the highest winning % amongst the stand out performers usually gets the award and right now the Heat has more wins than the Bulls and Knicks. That's why I'll give LeBron the egde over Rose and Stoudemire. With half the season left things could change, Knicks could start to beat up on everybody and Lebrons's numbers can diminish and change the entire outlook.
Post by: daryn on February 07, 2011, 08:50:36 PM
I am a Knicks fan but if the criterion is the most important to your team then I have to say Derrick Rose. Considering that Noah miss 25 games and Boozer miss 18 games then I don't really think Chicago have a better supporting cast than NY. Definitely not 9 wins better at this stage in the season.

that being said it looks like the two teams heading for a 1st round meeting and I think we are a tough matchup for them. Beat them twice already this season IIRC though admittedly they wasn't at full strength in either game.
Post by: Bakes on February 07, 2011, 09:08:32 PM
I am a Knicks fan but if the criterion is the most important to your team then I have to say Derrick Rose. Considering that Noah miss 25 games and Boozer miss 18 games then I don't really think Chicago have a better supporting cast than NY. Definitely not 9 wins better at this stage in the season.

that being said it looks like the two teams heading for a 1st round meeting and I think we are a tough matchup for them. Beat them twice already this season IIRC though admittedly they wasn't at full strength in either game.

Yuh doh think man like Ben Gordon and Luol Deng offers better support than what Stoudemire have in NY?  Plus, is only a handful of games Rose play where neither Boozer or Noah was available... most of the games he had at least one. 

They'll be a handful when they get them two back on the floor and producing.  I not sure we have anybody who could hold Boozer in check... and defensively Noah is a very good position and help defender.  Rose of course is impossible to guard... but he ent the greatest defender (yet) even... so Felton and Douglas have to make him work on the defensive end and hope to wear him down a little.
Post by: daryn on February 08, 2011, 07:52:08 AM
Yuh doh think man like Ben Gordon and Luol Deng offers better support than what Stoudemire have in NY?

no.  and def not to the tune of 9 extra wins at this stage of the season.  At their current win percentages Chicago would win 13 games more over the course of a full season than the Knicks (56 vs 43 rounding down for the bulls and up for the knicks). That's a huge difference.

Chicago have Deng and one of their big men most games but they also have men like Keith Bogans, Kurt Thomas, Kyle Korver, and Taj Gibson getting plenty minutes.  Ben Gordon is with Detroit now.

We have Felton, Gallinari, Chandler and Fields.  And Turiaf would take all Gibson minutes if he went to the Bull.s

Plus, is only a handful of games Rose play where neither Boozer or Noah was available... most of the games he had at least one. 

my point was that for most of the games he had only one of them.
Post by: soccerman on February 09, 2011, 09:54:36 AM
Carmelo to Lakers???? This is starting to get interesting.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 09, 2011, 07:09:36 PM

small talk man, Mitch trying to motivate de bunch
Post by: Bakes on February 10, 2011, 07:24:42 AM

small talk man, Mitch trying to motivate de bunch

Besides... it done have one black hole on dat team arready as is.
Post by: weary1969 on February 10, 2011, 09:57:05 PM
Hey Barataria

We beat Boston in Boston.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 11, 2011, 06:04:32 AM
Hey Barataria

Yeah, we very unpredictable, NY in NY tonite, need to see if meh boy have ticks
Post by: weary1969 on February 11, 2011, 10:28:18 AM
Hey Barataria

U tryin 2 make me jealous. Hope u get through dat will  a good game.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 11, 2011, 06:02:46 PM
Hey Barataria

Doh feel no way sistren, yuh wuld be there in spirit.  Turns out I will be doin like you and watchinb on TV, too much goin on to make it to de garden tonite
Post by: weary1969 on February 11, 2011, 07:38:32 PM
Hey Barataria

Doh feel no way sistren, yuh wuld be there in spirit.  Turns out I will be doin like you and watchinb on TV, too much goin on to make it to de garden tonite

D JOYS OF FATHERHOOD

Cable bruk down so I eh seein it on tv. Dey raising d bill from next mth but dey bruk down dis mth.
Post by: weary1969 on February 11, 2011, 08:22:45 PM
K bck in business lets go LAAAAAAAAAAAAA
Post by: weary1969 on February 11, 2011, 09:37:20 PM
CLEVELAND WINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Lakers beat NY
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 12, 2011, 09:34:13 AM
yeah, we look like we ole self last nite, ny turnovers helped a bunch, we real stochastic and we won playin that same way last yr and to a lesser extent yr before, i tend to tink de league less forgivin to dat dis yr, especially wid fish bein older and artest playin less dan bess, bynum seem to be gettin in his own doh, we'll see how it all plays itself out
Post by: weary1969 on February 12, 2011, 05:29:10 PM
yeah, we look like we ole self last nite, ny turnovers helped a bunch, we real stochastic and we won playin that same way last yr and to a lesser extent yr before, i tend to tink de league less forgivin to dat dis yr, especially wid fish bein older and artest playin less dan bess, bynum seem to be gettin in his own doh, we'll see how it all plays itself out

Definetly Fish last yr whatever happens. As 4 Artest like he eh wat a nxt ring 2 sell. Someting bout Bynum I eh like he look retarted and d set ah injuries doh help.
Post by: weary1969 on February 13, 2011, 02:54:45 PM
Boston 85- Miami 82
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 14, 2011, 08:06:53 PM
More toots tonite weary, wonder if we culd beat cleveland  ???
Post by: weary1969 on February 14, 2011, 08:51:54 PM

LAWD
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 15, 2011, 07:17:12 AM
wuh yuh sayin pardnah,wuh yuh think bout that blowout lastnite.lol.....baby start kickin ball yet.
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 15, 2011, 09:53:58 PM
wuh yuh sayin pardnah,wuh yuh think bout that blowout lastnite.lol.....baby start kickin ball yet.

:rotfl:  dread, i eh know wah goin wid we, always feel we culd turn it on at any time.  Anyway, small man cool, de barca one-z ready, in a few months guh drop de ball in de crib and put on de barca one-z, tomorrow mite take a half day and have him check out champions league ball wid meh...was talkin to big dawg de odder day, leh we organize ah seen fuh de CL final/semifinals, wah yuh sey?
Post by: capodetutticapi on February 15, 2011, 09:58:45 PM

:rotfl:  dread, i eh know wah goin wid we, always feel we culd turn it on at any time.  Anyway, small man cool, de barca one-z ready, in a few months guh drop de ball in de crib and put on de barca one-z, tomorrow mite take a half day and have him check out champions league ball wid meh...was talkin to big dawg de odder day, leh we organize ah seen fuh de CL final/semifinals, wah yuh sey?
yuh done know how we does cut it.we go organise something.
Post by: Bakes on February 16, 2011, 08:59:08 AM
Dwayne Wade's incredible full-court touchdown pass to LeBron...

http://www.youtube.com/v/5xGhloP0odo

Post by: soccerman on February 16, 2011, 09:56:21 AM
That pass was on the money and Lebron made it look simple. Nuff men woulda catch it land and go back up for a lay up lol
Post by: soccerman on February 16, 2011, 09:35:35 PM
Can't believe the Lakers lost to the Cavs...that's rock bottom and it's embarassing.
Post by: weary1969 on February 16, 2011, 09:56:34 PM
Can't believe the Lakers lost to the Cavs...that's rock bottom and it's embarassing.

ENT

LAKERS LOSE
BARCA LOSE
BARATH INJURED

GR8 DAY IF YUH HATE SPORTS
Post by: warmonga on February 17, 2011, 01:40:23 AM
Lakers tiad bwoy..
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 17, 2011, 12:41:44 PM

ENT

LAKERS LOSE
BARCA LOSE
BARATH INJURED

Yeah, rough week for LA, Barca, supporters, always rough for TT football supporters
Post by: weary1969 on February 17, 2011, 01:26:51 PM

ENT

LAKERS LOSE
BARCA LOSE
BARATH INJURED

Yeah, rough week for LA, Barca, supporters, always rough for TT football supporters

4 sure
Post by: daryn on February 21, 2011, 09:36:21 PM
Melo, Chauncey, Shelden Williams, Balkman and Anthony Carter for Felton, Gallo, Chandler, Mozgov some picks and some cash.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/basketball/nba/02/21/knicks.nuggets.carmelo.trade/index.html?eref=BrkNews
Post by: Bakes on February 21, 2011, 11:06:45 PM
James Dolan is a foolish c**t of the highest magnitude.  Sucks to be a Knicks fan with this jackass meddling in front office affairs.
Post by: Quags on February 22, 2011, 10:05:53 AM
Ithought alyah would be happy finally getting one of the 4 .
Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2011, 01:52:06 PM
Let's see how this one plays off now. I feel for Chauncey, hometown boy finally back at home with family, comfortable and actually playing consistent for Denver and he had to be victim to Carmelo's desires.
Post by: Bakes on February 22, 2011, 06:03:33 PM
Ithought alyah would be happy finally getting one of the 4 .

Not at that facking price.
Post by: soccerman on February 23, 2011, 03:13:21 PM
Deron Williams traded to the Nets for Devon Harris...when you see that, it have to be bc of the Jerry Sloan fiasco.
Post by: Bakes on February 23, 2011, 07:32:46 PM
Deron Williams traded to the Nets for Devon Harris...when you see that, it have to be bc of the Jerry Sloan fiasco.

As I said on FB... if the Knicks hit the PowerBall with their trade, then the Nyets just hit the Daily Number.
Post by: futbolfan on February 24, 2011, 05:24:26 PM
Boston just handed Miami the Eastern Conference championship. The Heat had no answer for Perkins and Robinson's  intensity when they met this year. Looking forward to finally seeing Lebron in the finals....
Post by: weary1969 on February 24, 2011, 07:12:50 PM
Boston just handed Miami the Eastern Conference championship. The Heat had no answer for Perkins and Robinson's  intensity when they met this year. Looking forward to finally seeing Lebron in the finals....

Where were u when dey get sweep by d spurs?
Post by: Bakes on February 24, 2011, 07:29:13 PM

Yeah, not understanding that move.  Jeff Green is my boy... will hate watching him in Celtic green.  OKC just got a whole lot nicer... if Perkins can run the floor to keep up with Westbrook and Durant they'll be nasty.  Now they also have an inside presence in the halfcourt as well.
Post by: futbolfan on February 25, 2011, 07:41:10 AM

Yeah, not understanding that move.  Jeff Green is my boy... will hate watching him in Celtic green.  OKC just got a whole lot nicer... if Perkins can run the floor to keep up with Westbrook and Durant they'll be nasty.  Now they also have an inside presence in the halfcourt as well.
Yeah Jeff Green is a cool fellah. He was always humble and low key when he attended Gtown.
Hopefully he is accepted in the Celtics lockeroom because word is that the vets and coach are not happy with this trade.
The trade may give Boston the versatility of playing KG at the 5 and Jeff Green at the 4 to present different match up problems in the play offs...Perkins didn't  want to sign a contract extension before the trade deadline so Ainge probably felt he may have lost him at the end of the season without compensation...who knows....
Post by: real madness on February 25, 2011, 07:53:23 AM
I still think the Celtics are the team to beat in the East and don't be surprised if the East finals is Celtics vs Bulls.  The Heat is 0-5 this season against the Bulls and Celtics but we all know that regular season is different from playoffs.
Post by: futbolfan on February 25, 2011, 07:58:19 AM

Where were u when dey get sweep by d spurs?
That's the thing, they swept by the Spurs with Perkins being a major contributor. Could they afford to do that after this trade, who knows, only time will tell.  ;)
Post by: daryn on March 04, 2011, 08:15:14 AM
Orlando come from down 24 to beat Miami last night.

2nd time recently that ORL overcome a decent lead to comeback. Also the 2nd time that the Heat cough up a big lead recently.

NYK need to get a win tonight and separate from PHI in the playoff race. Although I not sure if facing the 3 seed going to be better than facing the 2 seed.
Post by: soccerman on March 04, 2011, 12:13:44 PM

2nd time recently that ORL overcome a decent lead to comeback. Also the 2nd time that the Heat cough up a big lead recently.

NYK need to get a win tonight and separate from PHI in the playoff race. Although I not sure if facing the 3 seed going to be better than facing the 2 seed.

That was a nice game to watch last night, hopefully Bibby can settle in nice and help the Heat. Even though ORL came backand won that game, for some reason I'm still not sold on them. Maybe it's bc I don't think Howard got what it takes to win them a championship as a franchise player. Anyway as a neutral fan, it was a boss game.
Post by: Bakes on March 04, 2011, 10:46:34 PM

That was a nice game to watch last night, hopefully Bibby can settle in nice and help the Heat. Even though ORL came backand won that game, for some reason I'm still not sold on them. Maybe it's bc I don't think Howard got what it takes to win them a championship as a franchise player. Anyway as a neutral fan, it was a boss game.

The Heat getting ran in San Antone tonight...

Meanwhile my Knicks shoot 55% for the game, get 70 pts from Stoudemire and Anthony combined... and still lost... to the Cavaliers!!

Knicks like they does play defense only once a week.
Post by: soccerman on March 05, 2011, 12:47:21 AM
Like de Cavs have allyuh number in trute boy....
Post by: jahkingdom on March 05, 2011, 10:55:26 AM
bakes

a thought the last time you said Samardo will not do anything in the NBA. well, he is just starting. still only 22.
Post by: Bakes on March 05, 2011, 03:02:19 PM
bakes

a thought the last time you said Samardo will not do anything in the NBA. well, he is just starting. still only 22.

He's starting for the Cavaliers... wow, huge achievement.  Playing because Jamison is out with a broken finger.  Let me know when he actually does something.
Post by: jahkingdom on March 05, 2011, 10:15:36 PM
bakes

He's starting for the Cavaliers... wow, huge achievement.  Playing because Jamison is out with a broken finger.  Let me know when he actually does something.
every  body has to start somewhere. i see this one have you shaking :rotfl:.

poor bakes :devil:

Samuels had the first double-double of his pro career with career highs in points (23) and rebounds (10).

http://www.cleveland.com/cavs/index.ssf/2011/03/samardo_samuels_showing_some_s.html

don't worry he will be greater than our first legend. still only 22.
Post by: Bakes on March 05, 2011, 10:55:59 PM
every  body has to start somewhere. i see this one have you shaking :rotfl:.

poor bakes :devil:

Samuels had the first double-double of his pro career with career highs in points (23) and rebounds (10).

http://www.cleveland.com/cavs/index.ssf/2011/03/samardo_samuels_showing_some_s.html

You "see" that from quite behind yuh computer screen?  I always knew Ms. Cleo was Jamaican.

When Samuels start to disappear from relevance I only hope you doh conveniently disappear too eh? 
Post by: jahkingdom on March 06, 2011, 12:11:30 AM
When Samuels start to disappear from relevance I only hope you doh conveniently disappear too eh? 

http://music.aol.com/song/player/audioplayer.jsp
Post by: daryn on March 06, 2011, 09:43:07 AM

you mean Rumeal Robinson? can't be talking about Ewing.
Post by: Bakes on March 06, 2011, 09:46:43 AM

you mean Rumeal Robinson? can't be talking about Ewing.

I say it must be Ben Gordon he did mean.  Didn't even know Rumeal was Jamaican.
Post by: jahkingdom on March 06, 2011, 03:45:49 PM
you mean Rumeal Robinson?
can't be talking about Ewing

steups :rotfl:. happy you already know who i am talking,  your sarcasm don't worth shit. :rotfl:

poor dum-ass trinis :rotfl:

Patrick Ewing was born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1962. His father, Carl, was a mechanic at the time, and his mother, Dorothy, was a homemaker. Dorothy conceived of a better life for her children in the United States, and she moved to Cambridge, Massachusetts in 1971 to pave the way for a family move there. She took a job as a kitchen worker in a hospital, and brought her family over one by one. In 1975, at twelve years of age, Patrick Ewing joined his mother and four of his siblings who had immigrated before him. His father eventually found work in a rubber hose factory.

Ewing had never even seen a basketball before his arrival in the United States, much less played the game that was later to make him famous. Soccer is the sport most played in Jamaica, and that was the game he played as a youngster. But he became fascinated by basketball only weeks into his new life as an American. Walking past a playground where other children played basketball, he would often stop and watch. One day, he was asked by the other kids if he wanted to join a game, and he began what was to become a career. Playing basketball did not come easily for the future superstar. "I knew that it was something I'd have to work at," he later told Roy S. Johnson in the New York Times.

Read more: Patrick Ewing - Born In Jamaica - Basketball, Played, Game, Children, Family, and Life http://sports.jrank.org/pages/1393/Ewing-Patrick-Born-in-Jamaica.html#ixzz1Fm3fTh2P

i am talking the one at the top
http://www.basketball-reference.com/friv/birthplaces.cgi?country=JM&state=

yes i am talking him ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8T2l5Emzu-I
Post by: Bakes on March 06, 2011, 10:56:01 PM
^^^ are you really this STUPID... or is this some elaborate ruse?  You must be addicted to posting links and long-ass quotes to think all that was really necessary, that we don't know Ewing was born in Jamaica.  Personally, as a man who grow up in NY as a Knicks fan in the 80s, and who graduate from Georgetown in the 90s, there is very little you can tell me about Patrick Ewing that I don't already know. Daryn's point is that you can't possibly think that Samardo Samuels can be half the player Ewing was... let alone "better" than Ewing. 
Post by: Bakes on March 06, 2011, 11:09:17 PM
Supa yuh boys crying in de locker room star... whey's dah one?
Post by: jahkingdom on March 07, 2011, 12:41:38 AM
bakes

Samardo have improve tremendously under Cleveland coach.

Daryn's point is that you can't possibly think that Samardo Samuels can be half the player Ewing was... let alone "better" than Ewing. 
that's why i made it clear up top who i was talking, just in case you and him did not get it. ;D
Post by: Bakes on March 07, 2011, 09:45:34 AM
bakes

Samardo have improve tremendously under Cleveland coach.

Daryn's point is that you can't possibly think that Samardo Samuels can be half the player Ewing was... let alone "better" than Ewing. 
that's why i made it clear up top who i was talking, just in case you and him did not get it. ;D

Ewing is one of the 75 greatest players in NBA history... you have to be high on crack to think Samuels can even come close to equalling, let alone surpassing his accomplishments.  Better to just admit that yuh get carried away dey... or like daryn say, maybe yuh was comparing him to Robinson.
Post by: soccerman on March 07, 2011, 11:29:33 AM
Yea Supa, dem fellas lost a few games and man crying? Giwwe de inside scoop nah...Lebron cry bc he missed a last sec attempt?
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 07, 2011, 11:33:01 AM
Weary, whey yuh dey?  Nice "game" yesterday, we comin to come
Post by: Dutty on March 08, 2011, 03:59:08 PM
Weary, whey yuh dey? 

last seen passed out on lara promenade wearin ah celtics jersey..with ah flask and ah bible in both hands
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 08, 2011, 07:27:50 PM
Weary, whey yuh dey? 

last seen passed out on lara promenade wearin ah celtics jersey..with ah flask and ah bible in both hands

:rotfl:  how Dutty callin yuh out so guyl  :rotfl:
Post by: warmonga on March 10, 2011, 09:45:16 AM
di d miami heat change there name to "el Heat" now.. I was looking at there game against bulls and saw "el Heat" on there jersey..  "elite"HMM..  my foot .. is wood fi dem and tonight lakers putting it on them... where next Lebron? Miami cant win until bosh comes of di bench.. Miami big 3 cant be on the floor at the same time.. trus mi...

Post by: Bakes on March 10, 2011, 10:41:25 AM
di d miami heat change there name to "el Heat" now.. I was looking at there game against bulls and saw "el Heat" on there jersey..  "elite"HMM..  my foot .. is wood fi dem and tonight lakers putting it on them... where next Lebron? Miami cant win until bosh comes of di bench.. Miami big 3 cant be on the floor at the same time.. trus mi...

If you watch the Bulls jersey you'll probably notice it says "Los Bulls"...  ::)
Post by: daryn on March 10, 2011, 06:45:58 PM
big double header just get started a lil while ago:

Los Lakers v El Heat
Nueva York vs Los Mavs
Post by: daryn on March 11, 2011, 08:12:50 AM

Los Lakers v El Heat
Nueva York vs Los Mavs

Lakers and Knicks have 1 game losing streaks after last night. Heat and Mavs have 1 game win streaks.

Knicks couldn't cope.
Post by: Bakes on March 11, 2011, 09:35:33 AM

Los Lakers v El Heat
Nueva York vs Los Mavs

Lakers and Knicks have 1 game losing streaks after last night. Heat and Mavs have 1 game win streaks.

Knicks couldn't cope.

Missed both games... happy with the Heat result.  As for the Knicks, we will continue to blow hot and cold the rest of the season until we get our defense sorted out.
Post by: warmonga on March 11, 2011, 10:27:39 AM
I think any team dat relies on the 3 pointer aint going no way on this league.. Knicks need to start pounding the ball in the paint for there big two..

Los Lakers v El Heat
Nueva York vs Los Mavs

Knicks couldn't cope.

Missed both games... happy with the Heat result.  As for the Knicks, we will continue to blow hot and cold the rest of the season until we get our defense sorted out.
Post by: weary1969 on March 12, 2011, 09:05:06 PM

U know ah had 2 take meh lil holiday so ah miss evryting is only 2day ah learn we lost 2 d heat but we lookin 2 cause problems
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 13, 2011, 08:04:32 AM

U know ah had 2 take meh lil holiday so ah miss evryting is only 2day ah learn we lost 2 d heat but we lookin 2 cause problems

chess bounce in effect.  cyar wait fuh playoffs
Post by: weary1969 on March 13, 2011, 06:14:58 PM
Weary, whey yuh dey? 

Post by: weary1969 on March 14, 2011, 11:05:58 AM
Dwyane Wade wins custody fight for sons
By TIM REYNOLDS, AP Sports Writer
Mar 13, 3:22 pm EDT

(AP)—When the Miami Heat ended practice Sunday, Dwyane Wade(notes) went home to his sons.

That will be a regular event going forward.

Ending a long and often-vengeful fight, a Chicago court has awarded Wade sole “care, custody and control” of his two sons. The boys arrived in Miami on Friday, shortly after the ruling was filed, and Wade told The Associated Press that “a huge weight is off my back.”

“My life changed in a huge way,” Wade told the AP. “Mentally, I’ve been preparing for it for over a year now. To me, it’s bigger than that. For me, it shows a lot of people that you need to fight to be in your kids’ lives sometimes. You fight until you can’t fight any more. That’s all I was trying to be, a father in his kids’ lives.”

Wade did not immediately announce the decision after receiving word Friday, trying to make sure that his sons fully understood what it meant first. Teammates, informed of the ruling in a locker room meeting on Saturday after Miami’s victory over the Memphis Grizzlies, gave him a rousing ovation.

Wade had one of his finest all-around efforts of the season Saturday: 28 points, nine assists, five rebounds and five blocked shots.

It may not have been a coincidence.

“I heard the best news I could possibly hear,” Wade said. “So I was like, ‘I’m going to go out there and play free and enjoy it.”’

Wade’s divorce was granted last June, after a lengthy separation. The financial portion of the divorce remains unsettled.

The boys’ mother, Siohvaughn Wade, will have what the court described as “regular parenting time” on alternating weekends in Miami, as well as several other times during the year, including Mother’s Day. Dwyane Wade has also repeatedly said that he wants his sons to have healthy relationships with their mother.

Still, the 102-page ruling had some sharp words for Wade’s ex-wife.

“This court finds that (Siohvaughn Wade) has embarked on an unstoppable and relentless pattern of conduct for over two years to alienate the children from their father, and lacks either the ability or the willingness to facilitate, let alone encourage, a close and continuing relationship between them,” read a portion of the ruling entered by Judge Renee G. Goldfarb.

Wade’s attorney, James Pritikin, said the custody trial “was one of the longest ever in Cook County history.”

Wade filed the motion asking for sole custody nearly a year ago, though the legal tussle has gone on considerably longer.

He and his ex-wife separated in August 2007 and it took Wade years to get the divorce, a process that was slowed by his ex-wife often changing attorneys. He also sued Siohvaughn Wade for defamation after she made unfounded allegations against him in 2009—claims she eventually withdrew.

More claims against Dwyane Wade followed during the custody case, including that he was abusive to his children. The court found them all to be baseless.

“The court agreed the best home is with Mr. Wade and that he is also willing to foster a relationship with the children’s mother,” Pritikin said. “I know he will continue to be a phenomenal parent.”

The court acknowledged that Wade’s schedule as a professional athlete is “demanding,” given the rigors of training camp, preseason, an 82-game regular season and then the playoffs.

“Is every day the same? No. Is it consistent? No,” Goldfarb’s ruling read. “But, to posit that (Dwyane Wade) does not have the time to be a primary parent is incorrect. He has the time if he makes the time.”

Wade said all the measures are in place for as smooth a transition for his sons as possible. A school for the boys has been selected, and a plan for child-care was presented to the court, which found it acceptable.

“We had to have that, nanny care, everything already booked and planned out,” Wade said. “That’s the easy part.”

The court ruling also had some other interesting items, including Siohvaughn Wade’s contention that Dwyane Wade could have found employment in Chicago, where she has lived with the boys.

Wade met with the Chicago Bulls twice last summer when he was a free agent, but according to the ruling, Bulls owner Jerry Reinsdorf never met with Wade, nor did the team ever present the 2006 NBA finals MVP with a contract offer.

The ruling also states that Wade is on the U.S. roster for the 2012 London Olympics. Wade played with the U.S. team at the Athens Games in 2004 and the Beijing Games in 2008, but has not yet said publicly if he definitively plans to play at the London Games.

Wade told the AP that the waiting for the ruling has been difficult, and expressed again Sunday a desire for his ex-wife to “play a healthy role” in the boys’ lives.

“I’m not going to say, ‘OK, I won,”’ Wade said. “I think them living here, being here, it’s a great opportunity for them and I’m looking forward to it for them, to grow up with me and us learning together, how to be father-son. So I’m excited.”

Post by: weary1969 on March 15, 2011, 07:48:54 AM
Impressive Lakers roll past Orlando in 2nd half
By GREG BEACHAM, AP Sports Writer

6 hours, 55 minutes ago

LOS ANGELES (AP)—By the time Kobe Bryant(notes) talked himself into a little confidence in his swollen ankle in the second half, Andrew Bynum(notes) and the Los Angeles Lakers’ reserves had already taken care of Dwight Howard(notes) and the Orlando Magic.

Pau Gasol(notes) scored 23 points, Bryant added 16 while playing on a sprained left ankle, and the Lakers roared away in the second half for their 10th win in 11 games, 97-84 Monday night.

Bynum had 10 points, a career high-tying 18 rebounds and four blocks while hounding Howard into nine turnovers—four more than the entire Lakers squad— in another eye-catching low-post game for the Lakers’ young center.

LOS ANGELES, CA - MARCH 14: K…

AP - Mar 15, 3:00 am EDT

Actor Robert Downey Jr. and hi…

AP - Mar 15, 1:38 am EDT

Orlando Magic center Dwight Ho…

AP - Mar 15, 1:34 am EDT

Los Angeles Lakers forward Pau…

Los Angeles Lakers center Andr…

Orlando Magic head coach Stan …

Los Angeles Lakers teammates f…

AP - Mar 15, 1:33 am EDT

Los Angeles Lakers forward Mat…

AP - Mar 15, 1:32 am EDT

Los Angeles Lakers guard Derek…

AP - Mar 15, 1:31 am EDT

LOS ANGELES, CA - MARCH 14: A…

AP - Mar 15, 1:30 am EDT

Los Angeles Lakers guard Shann…

AP - Mar 15, 1:28 am EDT

Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe …

AP - Mar 15, 12:06 am EDT

AP - Mar 15, 12:05 am EDT

Orlando Magic guard Jameer Nel…

AP - Mar 15, 12:05 am EDT

AP - Mar 15, 12:04 am EDT

Orlando Magic forward Ryan And…

AP - Mar 15, 12:03 am EDT 1 of 16 Orl-LAL Gallery 
It all added up to a rather easy night of work for Bryant, who decided to play despite seriously rolling his ankle during the third quarter of Saturday’s win at Dallas.

“It was more mental,” said Bryant, who went 7 for 19 and missed eight shots in the first half. “It affected my bounce a little bit just because of the trust factor, just trusting it in the first half. Then at halftime, I just gave it a little pep talk.”

Bryant can afford to be cautious while his Lakers are on their most impressive streak of the season. Thanks to the Los Angeles reserves’ decisive rally early in the fourth quarter, Bryant had to play just 30 minutes.

Lamar Odom(notes) scored 16 points as the two-time defending champions opened a seven-game homestand with another win over an elite team after an early season filled with flops against the NBA’s best. The Lakers (48-20) also drew virtually even with the Dallas Mavericks (47-19) for second place in the Western Conference standings.

“We want to win every game on this home stretch here,” Bynum said. “(Howard) is a great player who’s going to get his numbers, but we started scoring, too.”

Derek Fisher(notes) scored 15 points for the Lakers, who have the next three days off before lowly Minnesota visits on Friday. Los Angeles already had beaten San Antonio, Dallas, Atlanta (twice) and Oklahoma City since the break before this stirring second-half effort against the talented Magic, who appear entrenched in fourth place in the East.

Howard had 22 points and 15 rebounds for the Magic, who couldn’t get rolling offensively in the second half of this 2009 NBA finals rematch. The Lakers all remembered last month’s meeting in Orlando, when Howard dominated with 31 points and 13 rebounds while barely missing a shot.

“I just think they came out and played better in the second half, especially with their post defense,” Howard said. “They squared everybody in the paint and they forced me to make plays out to my teammates. They made it tough for me to score. We’ve just got to learn how to play through it.”

The Magic led throughout the first half, but the Lakers pushed ahead early in the third quarter. They didn’t pull away until a lineup stacked with reserves made an 18-5 run spanning the final two quarters, running Orlando’s starters off the court.

Los Angeles went ahead 85-69 on Odom’s 3-pointer with 7:14 to play, and the Magic never got closer than 11 points after that.

“We had a good second half,” Lakers coach Phil Jackson said. “Got our offense running a little bit, got some steals and some easy baskets. (Bynum did an adequate job on Howard, and he did a great job on the boards. … I think Orlando faded a little bit. They were tired after that back-to-back.”

Ryan Anderson(notes) and Jameer Nelson(notes) scored 13 points apiece for the Magic. Coach Stan Van Gundy left his starters in the blowout until the final buzzer of Orlando’s fourth stop on a five-game road trip ending in Milwaukee.

“We didn’t play with as much energy in the second half,” Van Gundy said. “A good part of that is their defense. Give them credit, but we didn’t move the ball the way that we should have. Bottom line is the game comes down to turnovers and rebounding.”

Bynum’s improved play has been a major reason for Los Angeles’ surge after the All-Star break. The 23-year-old with creaky knees still isn’t in perfect health after missing the start of the season, but he soundly outplayed Howard early.

Bynum got more cheers than Bryant when both left the game in the final minutes.

“He’s consistently performing this way, so we expect it from him,” Bryant said. “This is how he should play, and this is how he’s going to play.”

NOTES: Van Gundy said the Magic miss the energy and presence of Matt Barnes(notes), who signed with the Lakers last summer after one season with Orlando. The journeyman forward had five points and three rebounds in 17 minutes against the Magic in his fifth game back from a 26-game absence for surgery on cartilage in his right knee. … Orlando G J.J. Redick(notes) missed his third straight game with a lower abdominal strain. … Fans near courtside included Robert Downey Jr., Tom Arnold and Vanessa Hudgens

Post by: SUPA on March 17, 2011, 12:16:36 PM
Yea Supa, dem fellas lost a few games and man crying? Giwwe de inside scoop nah...Lebron cry bc he missed a last sec attempt?

Well R right, ah back from meh world tour  ;D. Nah man ah just playing people, ah was just very busy wid meh everyday runs. Family, work and trying tuh get ah lil food in de party and concert promotion business. Enterprise, way we tell some idle people on de forum, get money, get dat paperrrr. Bakes and Soccerman, ah just told wifey, ah eh log in fuh ah minute, leh meh go and see who violating de order round here. Well all yuh good wid de De Enterprise, so everything nice. Well ah have some very strong links in de music business, especially wid de Jamaican artists and dem. Ah doh consider meh basketball links tuh be dat strong, cuz ah have some crews dat do go tuh de games, dat know people wid de Heat, but dey does lie plenty. However, dey are some Guinness and herb head contacts, dey informed meh dat it was CB and Miller crying. Now like ah said, me eh sure, cuz when dem breddahs drink dey thing and bunn it, dey will tell yuh any facking thing. But I must admit, dat I heard it from two different crews from Miami dat have good seats for all de games, but de thing is dat all ah dem have de same damn Guinness or Hennessy and herb habit, so yuh cah be sure if is true or not. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: soccerman on March 17, 2011, 11:57:11 PM

Well R right, ah back from meh world tour  ;D. Nah man ah just playing people, ah was just very busy wid meh everyday runs. Family, work and trying tuh get ah lil food in de party and concert promotion business. Enterprise, way we tell some idle people on de forum, get money, get dat paperrrr. Bakes and Soccerman, ah just told wifey, ah eh log in fuh ah minute, leh meh go and see who violating de order round here. Well all yuh good wid de De Enterprise, so everything nice. Well ah have some very strong links in de music business, especially wid de Jamaican artists and dem. Ah doh consider meh basketball links tuh be dat strong, cuz ah have some crews dat do go tuh de games, dat know people wid de Heat, but dey does lie plenty. However, dey are some Guinness and herb head contacts, dey informed meh dat it was CB and Miller crying. Now like ah said, me eh sure, cuz when dem breddahs drink dey thing and bunn it, dey will tell yuh any facking thing. But I must admit, dat I heard it from two different crews from Miami dat have good seats for all de games, but de thing is dat all ah dem have de same damn Guinness or Hennessy and herb habit, so yuh cah be sure if is true or not. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Aight meh brethren thanks fuh de info :beermug: Dem fellas jus went through ah lil rough period and dat does happen from time to time in ah long season like the NBA. On de real, dem fellas highly scrutinized by de media, after every game is ah press conference and is not even playoffs yet. To me that's just added pressure for every game so when they lose a few games is a big thing.
Post by: weary1969 on March 20, 2011, 07:35:58 PM
Lakers C Bynum suspended 2 games for flagrant foul

LOS ANGELES (AP)—Los Angeles Lakers center Andrew Bynum(notes) has been suspended two games for his flagrant foul on Minnesota’s Michael Beasley(notes).

Bynum will miss Sunday’s game against Portland and Tuesday’s meeting with Phoenix under the suspension announced Sunday by the NBA.

Bynum was ejected Friday night during the fourth quarter of the Lakers’ 106-98 win over the Timberwolves after he turned his shoulder and sent Beasley crashing to the court in a mid-air collision when Beasley drove the lane.

Lakers coach Phil Jackson said he thought the penalty was “excessive” during his club’s pregame shootaround Sunday. Bynum will lose roughly $250,000 during his suspension without pay.

Los Angeles has won 11 of 12 since the All-Star break, and Bynum has raised his game considerably during the two-time champions’ streak toward the playoffs. The Lakers’ starting center is averaging 11.8 points, 13.0 rebounds and 2.6 blocked shots in the past 12 games, including 22 points and 15 rebounds during a win at Dallas last weekend.

Lamar Odom(notes) will start in Bynum’s place, just as he did while Bynum sat out the first 28 games of the regular season following offseason surgery on his right knee. Jackson has said the 7-foot Bynum’s looming presence in the middle is the key to Los Angeles’ defense.

Timberwolves coach Kurt Rambis said he didn’t know whether Bynum should be suspended immediately after Friday’s game. After seeing replays over the weekend, Rambis agreed with the ruling.

“He made no play on the ball,” Rambis said Sunday before the Wolves hosted Sacramento. “It’s unfortunate that things like that happen in basketball, but it was the right call. Michael is relatively lucky he didn’t get more hurt than he did.”

Rambis was an assistant coach with the Lakers during Bynum’s first four NBA seasons, playing a large role in Bynum’s development from the youngest player ever drafted by an NBA team into a talented defensive center.

Beasley limped off the court shortly after getting hurt, but X-rays on his hip and shoulder showed no damage. He’s playing in Sunday’s game against the Kings.

Post by: weary1969 on March 29, 2011, 08:59:56 PM
Cavaliers top LeBron, Heat 102-90
By TOM WITHERS, AP Sports Writer

CLEVELAND (AP)—In an unbearable season of losses, Cleveland got the win it wanted most.

The Cavaliers took down LeBron James(notes).

Despite blowing a 23-point lead, the Cavs battled back and beat the Miami Heat 102-90 on Tuesday night, getting a dose of revenge against James, who was making his second homecoming visit to Cleveland since leaving last summer.

J.J. Hickson(notes) scored 21 and Anthony Parker(notes) scored 20 for the Cavs, who were embarrassed by James and the Heat 118-90 on Dec. 2—a night when Cleveland fans unleashed their hatred on the superstar.

This time, James left the floor hanging his head. He finished with 27 points, 12 assists and 10 rebounds.

In the closing seconds, a sellout crowd of 20,562 cut loose at a victory even the most loyal Cleveland fan couldn’t have imagined. Cavs owner Dan Gilbert, who accused James of quitting in last year’s playoffs after the two-time MVP announced he was joining in a poorly conceived TV special, high-fived anyone within reach.

On the floor afterward, Parker, whose last 3-pointer with 2:47 left capped a 12-0 run and put the Heat away, addressed Cavs fans.

“You guys deserve it,” he said.

The Cavaliers were a different team—literally—from the one that laid down against the Heat here in December. Injuries and trades have reduced Cleveland’s roster to a shell of the one James played with and helped win 60 games last season.

The Heat nearly rallied from 23 down, and tied it at 83-all on Mike Bibby’s(notes) seventh 3-pointer with 7:03 left. But Miami, which wasted a chance to move into second place in the Eastern Conference standings, went scoreless for 4:24, allowed the Cavs to get their 15th win and post their most lopsided win this season.

Wade added 24 for the Heat, who had their winning streak stopped at five.

Cleveland shot 56 percent from the field, a number that Heat coach Erik Spoelstra will certainly use to motivate his team to play better defense as it gets ready for the postseason.

Baron Davis made his first start since coming to Cleveland in a trade, and the veteran scored 10 points and provided leadership. The Cavs also got a big lift from center Ryan Hollins , who had 13 points, three blocks and played physically—something none of Cleveland’s players did in December.

There wasn’t the same venom and hatred that shrouded James’ first visit four months ago. The crowd was energetic but not as outwardly angry toward James, who was booed every time he touched the ball. Security was extremely high, but there were no reported incidents.

The teams took turns going on extended runs in a wild, back-and-forth third quarter.

Cleveland scored 18 straight points and opened a 71-48 lead, sending their fans into a frenzy and putting the Heat in a deep hole. But Miami was a long way from done as Wade hit a pair of 3-pointers and scored 10 points in a 19-1 spurt that pulled the Heat within 72-67 on James’ jumper.

Christian Eyenga’s 3-pointer with 2 seconds left put the Cavs ahead 75-67. James flung a 3-pointer from a few steps beyond halfcourt to end the quarter, a shot that was initially ruled no good but changed after the officials reviewed TV replays between periods and determined there was a clock malfunction.

James arrived at the arena that was his pro basketball home for seven seasons at 5:12 p.m. Wearing headphones and a shirt with the inscription: “Long Live The King,” James went through security and waved to a few guards before ducking into the visitor’s locker room for the second time.

James wasn’t sure what he would be facing, but he was confident things would not be nearly as hostile as his previous visit.

“I expect the worst,” he said. “But worse than last time, Dec. 2? No.”

James dodged the first barrage of boos by staying in the locker room during player introductions. He entered the arena under the cover of darkness while the Cavs were being introduced.

After James’ return in December, the Cavs were criticized by their fans for the way they acted around their former teammate. Fans felt there was far too much joking around, and they thought someone needed to step up to James and deliver a hard foul.

Hollins took it upon himself to get physical, hitting with Wade with a forearm. Moments later, the two had words and were both assessed technicals.

Hickson knocked James on his rear in the lane later in the first quarter, but James made the shot as he fell to the floor and completed the three-point play. He finished the quarter with 13 points, but didn’t score in the second when the Cavs built a 16-point lead.

Miami cut it in half with an 8-0 run, but Davis knocked down a 3-pointer at the horn to give the Cavs a 53-42 halftime lead.

Heat F Mike Miller sat out with a bruised knee that Spoelstra described as “slightly sprained.” Miller will be re-evaluated when his knee “calms down,” Spoelstra said. … During a timeout in the second quarter, a fan made a 3-pointer and won $10,000.

Post by: soccerman on March 30, 2011, 06:21:49 AM
Weary yuh quick tuh de draw dey girl ;D 

Ah wonder if Lebron really had to go to de bathroom or if he was just avoiding them during the starting line-up announcements....
Post by: weary1969 on March 30, 2011, 08:58:37 AM

Ah wonder if Lebron really had to go to de bathroom or if he was just avoiding them during the starting line-up announcements....

He had to go just like Sarwan had to go.
Post by: SUPA on March 30, 2011, 12:15:38 PM

When yuh got tuh go, yuh got tuh go my yute  ;)  ;D. HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: AirMan on April 10, 2011, 04:54:30 PM
MIAMI JUST BEAT DOWN THE CELTICS>>>FINAL SCORE 100-77.... :D
Post by: AirMan on April 10, 2011, 04:55:35 PM
Weary we waiting on your reports from the previous Heat vs celtics game..where the article ?   ;D
Post by: weary1969 on April 10, 2011, 07:20:43 PM
Weary we waiting on your reports from the previous Heat vs celtics game..where the article ?   ;D

LA is my priority but 4 u I will look 4 it.
Post by: AirMan on April 10, 2011, 07:32:42 PM

LA is my priority but 4 u I will look 4 it.

Obviously not because you just posted an article earlier about Cavs topping Lebron lol
Post by: Sando prince on April 10, 2011, 07:36:20 PM

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/04/10/heat-celtics-100-77-lebron-james_n_847235.html

Heat Crush Celtics 100-77: LeBron James scores 27

LeBron James scored 27 points, Dwyane Wade added 14 and the Heat moved closer to the No. 2 seed in the East playoffs Sunday by beating the sliding Celtics 100-77.

"It was a playoff-atmosphere type of game, from the fans to both teams' approach to what the game meant," Wade said. "It had that feel."

Miami moved a game ahead of Boston, trimming its magic number to clinch the second seed to two. The teams will finish second and third in some order behind Chicago in the East, slotted to play in the conference semifinals.

"We'd like to play them, I can tell you that," Celtics coach Doc Rivers said. "And we may have to if we want to go somewhere."

Chris Bosh added 13 points and eight rebounds for Miami, which had been 0-3 against Boston this season, though Heat coach Erik Spoelstra cautioned against overstating the win's importance.

Post by: weary1969 on April 10, 2011, 09:08:58 PM
Cavs beating Miami nearly get it own thread.
Post by: AirMan on April 11, 2011, 12:06:53 AM
Weary ah hear the young Thunder boys put some licks on the lakers today lol...you forgiot to post that article ?  :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 11, 2011, 06:57:38 AM
Weary ah hear the young Thunder boys put some licks on the lakers today lol...you forgiot to post that article ?  :D

Yeah, we had a melt down in de last few mins, small ting, we guh be ready fuh de playoffs
Post by: Bitter on April 11, 2011, 10:15:04 AM
Lakers Searching for Answers

By: Alex Kennedy   
Last Updated: 4/11/11 5:27 AM ET
http://www.hoopsworld.com/Story.asp?story_id=19401

In one week, the Los Angeles Lakers went from being the hottest team in the NBA to one of the coldest. After winning seventeen of eighteen games after the All-Star break, the Lakers have now lost five straight and allowed the Dallas Mavericks to catch them in the standings.

This is the Lakers' worst losing streak since acquiring Pau Gasol in 2007 and the team is searching for answers with the playoffs right around the corner.

"The measure of success is what you've just recently accomplished," said Lakers head coach Phil Jackson. "Right now, we're back in the middle of the pack."

"I'm surprised," Jackson said of the team's struggles. "We were complacent a little bit. We got caught. I told them yesterday at practice that I didn't think we'd be able to turn it around in one game. We're only partially back to what we're trying to do."

The general consensus in the locker room is that some quality practice time will help the Lakers right the ship. Following last night's loss to the Oklahoma City Thunder, Kobe Bryant kept to himself in the training room and was steaming while talking to reporters.

"We're just playing horrible defense right now," Bryant said while shaking his head. "We're just making too many mistakes. The mistakes that we're making are correctable though and a good practice session will correct them."

"We've got to do our jobs, which we haven't been doing. We've just got to do our jobs," Bryant added.

Andrew Bynum stressed that practice will be important because the group needs to get on the same page and start producing more as a whole.

"We know we can win, we just have to practice," Bynum said. "We're not a unit right now. There's a lot of individual stuff going right for certain guys, but as a unit and collective group, we're not there."

The Lakers are currently tied with the Mavericks in the standings and the final two games will decide what the playoff picture looks like in the West. The Lakers could slide as far as the fourth seed if they lose out and the Oklahoma City Thunder win their final two games.

The Lakers will face the San Antonio Spurs and Sacramento Kings to close the season. The Mavericks will take on the Houston Rockets and New Orleans Hornets while the Thunder will play the Sacramento Kings and Milwaukee Bucks.

"We're at the point where we must bounce back," Pau Gasol said. "We must win these last two and there's no room for error. It is what it is. I don't think anybody is keeping their head down. We're positive and we understand what's going on, but I think we could be playing a lot better and winning."

"We've gotten to the point where every game will be like a playoff game for us," Gasol added. "That's how important these next two games are. They're must wins if we want to keep that second seed."

If the playoffs started today, the second seed would face a beat up Hornets team while the third and fourth seeds would draw the red hot Portland Trail Blazers and Denver Nuggets.

"Maybe it puts us in the situation where we have to win," Lamar Odom said. "We haven't been in one of those in a long time."

Throughout the season, the Lakers have stayed atop the standings despite stretches of complacency and what seemed like boredom with the regular season. Now, their five-game losing streak has put them in a must-win situation and the team must respond to avoid a freefall.
Post by: weary1969 on April 11, 2011, 07:42:02 PM

THANKS
Post by: soccerman on April 14, 2011, 10:03:47 AM
This Lakers team will give ah heart attack....the past two nights have been nerve-wracking to say the least
Post by: SUPA on April 14, 2011, 11:15:08 AM
Greetings. This is de de time where we will separate de men from de bois, de contenders from de pretenders and players with heart and not a hat. Let's go Heat and just show de world what you all held back until de playoffs. You all not scared, well trust me, u should be, cuz it is going to be a movie from Saturday. You heard?  8) 8) 8). HIGHLY BLESSED.
Post by: weary1969 on May 02, 2011, 01:00:01 PM
Joe Maloof: Kings staying in Sacramento      4Updated May 2, 2011 12:38 PM ET
Kings co-owner Joe Maloof told The Associated Press that the NBA club will remain in Sacramento for at least one more season to give Mayor Kevin Johnson a chance to follow through on his promise for a new arena.

''The mayor of Sacramento has told the NBA relocation committee that he will have a plan for a new arena within a year,'' Maloof said Monday. ''If not, the team will be relocated to another city.''

The team had been considering a move to Anaheim, Calif.

''I think it's the fair thing to do,'' Maloof said. ''We've always said we think Sacramento has the best NBA fans in the world. Their overwhelming show of support was incredible. But now they realize that we're giving them another opportunity and we're anxious to play basketball.''

Last week, Sacramento's corporate community handed NBA representatives deposits on more than $10 million in sponsorship pledges for the Kings to stay at least another year.

''We spent 13 years and millions of dollars to try to get an arena built,'' Maloof said. ''We don't have the answer. The mayor has the answers and we're willing and able to listen. He's got to have a plan. We never want to be untruthful to the fans of Sacramento. There is a sense of urgency, and that's up to mayor Johnson and his political team.''

The Maloofs explored relocation because of several failed efforts to build a new arena in Sacramento. A feasibility study for a new arena isn't scheduled to be completed until the end of May, and there has always been a divide between Kings fans and the broader public on how to finance an arena.

Maloof said he appreciated the support and encouragement from Anaheim officials.

''I am sure that Anaheim will have a team some day,'' he said.
Post by: weary1969 on May 02, 2011, 01:12:47 PM
DEERFIELD, Ill. (AP)
Tom Thibodeau waited about two decades to become an NBA head coach. It didn't take him long to be recognized as one of the best once he got the chance.

Thibodeau is the NBA's Coach of the Year after leading the Chicago Bulls to 62 wins in his first season to tie a league record set by Paul Westphal.

The Chicago Tribune first reported Thibodeau's selection, which was no surprise the way the Bulls dominated during the regular season. Now, after a tough five-game series against Indiana in the opening round, they'll open the Eastern Conference semifinals against Atlanta on Monday.

''After being here for a year, I realize how fortunate I am to be here,'' Thibodeau said. ''It's a great city, great fans, great organization, great players, and if it meant waiting 20 years to get this job, it was well worth the wait.''

Center Joakim Noah said Thibodeau was ''very well deserving'' of the award and called him ''one of the hardest workers I've ever been around.

''He stays in late,'' Noah added. ''He's the first one here. He was there for me all summer working me out. I felt like I really improved as a player because of him.''

Thibodeau received 475 points and 76 first-place votes from a media panel. Philadelphia's Doug Collins got 18 first-place votes and 210 points, and Gregg Popovich of San Antonio finished third.

An NBA assistant for about two decades, Thibodeau finally got his chance to lead a team after spending three seasons working for Doc Rivers in Boston. He is the fourth Chicago coach to win the award, joining Johnny Kerr (1967), Dick Motta (1971) and Phil Jackson (1996).

''I think I was very fortunate to have great jobs along the way, to be with great teams,'' he said. ''I always felt deep down that it would happen. I never doubted that it would happen. I knew I had to be patient. I recognized that these jobs were hard to get, and I was hopeful that I would get a chance. Then, I wanted to make the most of it.''

He replaced the fired Vinny Del Negro in June, and with a rebuilt roster to go with an emphasis on defense and rebounding, the Bulls breezed to a 62-20 mark that matched their best record since Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen completed their second championship three-peat at the end of the 1997-98 season.

They did all that even though prized acquisition Carlos Boozer and Noah missed significant time with injuries, capturing home-court advantage throughout the playoffs and giving their coach a share of the record Westphal set with Phoenix during the 1992-93 season.

Thibodeau was known as a defensive mastermind who helped Boston win a championship in 2008 and get back to the finals last season. He also had that reputation as a workaholic and still does.

''Every time I walk in, I look up there to see if his light is on, and if he's in the office, I'd get on the court and pretend like I'm working hard,'' forward Luol Deng said. ''I'm kidding. But every time I'd come in, his light is on. The video guys, the coaches, it's just been one of those years. Every time I came in, I'd get on the floor (and) someone is ready to come down.

''I don't know if he gets here at 5 or 6,'' he continued. ''He's here early and he's the last one to leave.''

Thibodeau's only other head coaching job was for one season at his alma mater, Division III Salem State, in the mid-1980s. He got that after three years as an assistant.

He then spent four seasons on the staff at Harvard before going to work under Bill Musselman with the expansion Minnesota Timberwolves in 1989. From there, Thibodeau embarked on a long path that ultimately led to this.

There were stops in San Antonio, Philadelphia, New York and Houston, and along the way, he developed a reputation as a defensive wizard and hardworking assistant, one that continued to grow in Bosto

The unknown, though, was how he would fare as the guy in charge.

''I knew in the first couple of weeks that he was here that we had hit a grand slam,'' general manager Gar Forman said.

The Bulls were looking for more after back-to-back 41-win seasons under Del Negro, and hiring Thibodeau was the next step in a massive overhaul.

They struck out trying to land LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh in free agency, but they wound up with Boozer and one of the deepest rotations in the league.

It helped that Derrick Rose took another big leap, going from Rookie of the Year to All-Star and now an MVP favorite in just his third season.

He and Thibodeau immediately clicked, and the rest of the team bought in, too. Noah immediately realized Thibodeau was the right choice during their daily summer workouts.

''That's not something that every head coach does,'' he said. ''To work out a player individually every day in the summer, to me that says a lot. At the same time, I feel like your coach is your leader.''

Not since the Jordan-Pippen era have the Bulls been this good. They lost back-to-back games only four times during the regular season and never dropped more than two in a row, despite the injuries to Boozer and Noah. On defense, they ranked among the stingiest.

No team held opponents to a lower shooting percentage or outrebounded them by a wider margin than the Bulls, who were also second to Miami in average scoring differential. That was hardly a surprise, given their coach's reputation.

Players, meanwhile, mention Thibodeau's presence, his ability to command their attention. And, of course, his work ethic, his attention to detail.

At shootarounds, the Bulls will analyze every option in their opponent's playbook, and they will often look toward the sideline when they hear a call during games because their coach knows what's coming.

About the only thing they don't understand is why it took so long for the 53-year-old Thibodeau to get hired. His name often came up when there were openings the past few years, including Chicago's in 2008, but the wait stretched on.

Now, look at him.

''Fundamentally, he has not changed,'' said forward Brian Scalabrine, who played for Thibodeau in Boston. ''His grind is just let's get this win today, let's focus on Game 1 in the Atlanta Hawks series. What are they going to do and then the adjustments we have to do. It's not about Boston, Miami or whether the Spurs lost.''