General => Entertainment & Culture Discussion => Topic started by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 07:41:02 PM

Title: Conscious Soca Thread!!!
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 07:41:02 PM
With all the bad things happening home in T&T, I think we need to encourage more positive lyrics & messages in our music so hence I've decided to start this Conscious Soca Thread!

Please post only positive conscious soca music to this thread and note the year of release does not matter!

I'll get the ball rolling with this live Roots-soca tune from the Baron "Mother Earth Crying"!

Lets see which singers have the most number of conscious soca songs!  :mackdaddy:

Another criteria I've decided to add for the conscious soca songs being posted to this thread is that they should be appealing to the younger generation as we really want the youths to heed the messages in these songs and hopefully follow a similar musical direction if they ever decide to pursue a future career as a soca artist!  8)

http://www.youtube.com/v/XPKGnZtSBGo
Title: Re: Conscious Soca Thread!!!
Post by: Tallman on October 25, 2010, 08:04:07 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Y-jXacysH5E
Post by: Bakes on October 25, 2010, 08:37:00 PM
Not Soca but an all-time fave...

http://www.youtube.com/v/PNnNp8eeXp4

... and a soca fave, this time

http://www.youtube.com/v/FIE6V3gzNBk&feature=related

Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 09:10:09 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/QBlsfp-h4KA
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 25, 2010, 09:11:46 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/cEgg4aXpLe0?fs=1&hl=en_US

http://www.youtube.com/v/Nm_JpXvs7us?fs=1&hl=en_US

Not the best version of "my belief" but will do.
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 09:25:36 PM
One of the No.1 Roots-Soca tracks of all time!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/RFh9rFRxTp4
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 09:31:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/icx-HHFtysI
Post by: Deeks on October 25, 2010, 09:54:47 PM
Like Queen I have problem with embedding this.
Brother Valentino. Socapro if you could please do.

http://www.youtube.com/v/JDaY_o1ttnE   
Brother Valentino
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 10:12:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/DSTZf1yRmvU
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 10:20:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/A-ZH27vGntg
Post by: Deeks on October 25, 2010, 10:27:54 PM
Thanx, Socapro!
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 10:40:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/O6FH1GKOyVk
Post by: Socapro on October 25, 2010, 10:41:29 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/eto2FGW3x2E
Post by: Tallman on October 26, 2010, 04:32:08 AM
Caribbean Unity - Black Stalin
http://www.youtube.com/v/9rhlfUh7KGg
Post by: Bitter on October 26, 2010, 11:29:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/3NUhnZFKOWs
Post by: Bitter on October 26, 2010, 11:31:18 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/bMFRjOOwE08
Post by: Tallman on October 26, 2010, 12:45:21 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/I1f6EeIzUrg

http://www.youtube.com/v/2q_RTEXYyaQ
Post by: E-man on October 26, 2010, 12:47:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/lcDPwOCOyrg
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 26, 2010, 08:41:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/QBlsfp-h4KA

Bad # from Gypsy, still relevant
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 26, 2010, 08:50:17 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMsDdVgnyfc&feature=related, embed fuh meh somebody, anodder wicked one

http://www.youtube.com/v/fMsDdVgnyfc
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2010, 09:13:56 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMsDdVgnyfc&feature=related, embed fuh meh somebody, anodder wicked one

Barataria you know your music!!!!!
Post by: Deeks on October 26, 2010, 09:18:35 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Y53_wo_2CjQ
Post by: Socaman on October 26, 2010, 09:33:12 PM
Chris Tambu Herbert- Culture

http://www.youtube.com/v/yGRP0n0TjX4
Post by: 100% Barataria on October 26, 2010, 09:35:34 PM

Barataria you know your music!!!!!

See him perform dis in Queens Park durin emancipation celebrations back when Panday was PM, was sweet, doh make dem like dey used to....
Post by: Socapro on October 27, 2010, 07:07:07 AM
"Om Shanti" recorded & released in 1978 by the Father of Soca, Ras Shorty I!
Not to be confused with the 1st ever chutney-soca "Indrani" recorded & released by him in 1973!
http://www.youtube.com/v/SlDsizk5YS4

This song was plagiarized by Indian artist Kishore Kumar in 1980 & used in a bollywood movie of the same title and Ras Shorty-I was never credited or given his due royalities for use of his song!

Hopefully the Blackman family will be given their share of the royalities for the use of Shorty's song some day soon?!
Post by: Bakes on October 27, 2010, 07:49:26 AM
Chris Tambu Herbert- Culture

Big Tune!!
Post by: Tallman on October 27, 2010, 12:57:10 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/5y8Jhb92n1U

http://www.youtube.com/v/h4FlLb3IlgI

http://www.youtube.com/v/9r6mM_QgxtI

http://www.youtube.com/v/Eaz7avD6M2M
Post by: Deeks on October 27, 2010, 02:54:43 PM
I can't seem to find Live Fire by Stalin. It also have a remix with Machel which is pretty cool.
Post by: Deeks on October 27, 2010, 02:57:44 PM
Ah find it.

http://www.youtube.com/v/p4HfOZiubqw
Post by: Socapro on October 27, 2010, 05:37:54 PM
Where Is the Love - Fridge feat. Tim Starr
http://www.youtube.com/v/nR8lH0NH5lY
Post by: Socapro on October 27, 2010, 05:46:19 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/FuS81IqMcRs
Post by: Socapro on October 27, 2010, 06:10:04 PM
LIVE Performance of Stages by the late Blazer Dan!
Same riddim as "Somebody" his other hit song above and just as conscious!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RKBUin1L_3c
http://www.youtube.com/v/RKBUin1L_3c

Sorry embedding is disabled for this video, so you have to click the link & view it in YouTube!

Stages - studio version!

http://www.youtube.com/v/vN5z8l9QH-g
Post by: Deeks on October 27, 2010, 07:44:32 PM
Guys,
           This have to be Trini only or can we add foreign(Guyana to Nassau)? Because it have some good Conscious Soca by other caribbean artistes.
Post by: Tallman on October 27, 2010, 07:55:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/iUe-6zxyR0g
Post by: elan on October 27, 2010, 09:13:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/W05DLMBmv34
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2010, 09:46:52 AM
Guys,
           This have to be Trini only or can we add foreign(Guyana to Nassau)? Because it have some good Conscious Soca by other caribbean artistes.

This thread is open to songs from any soca artist from anywhere in the world once their song is of good quality musically & has a positive conscious message!  :mackdaddy:

Another criteria for the conscious soca songs being posted to this thread is that they should be appealing to the younger generation as we really want them to heed the messages and hopefully follow a similar path if they ever decide to pursue a career as a soca artist in the future!  8)
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2010, 10:07:43 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/qf4sFJDpIXM
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2010, 10:12:14 AM
Wishful Encounters by Bunji Garlin

http://www.youtube.com/v/Jx2FzExmuZ8
Post by: elan on October 28, 2010, 11:32:28 AM
Never Give Up!!!!!!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/v/zIUsWq-7jPU

Peace and Love To All!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/v/NkJKJVtiCh8&feature=related

Post by: Deeks on October 28, 2010, 02:24:18 PM
Ajamu- Grenada

http://www.youtube.com/v/s9CH8XXqFgw
Post by: Conquering Lion on October 28, 2010, 05:45:33 PM
1.   Don't have a good link for Bunji's song  "God is not far"   http://www.trinidadtunes.com/player.php?trackid=4035 (http://www.trinidadtunes.com/player.php?trackid=4035)

2. Benjai - My God my Woman and I

http://www.youtube.com/v/N2dcgxS8mFA?fs=1&hl=en_US

3. Andre Tanker - "Creation of the World"     http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1 (http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1)

4. Andre Tanker - "Show Yuh Emotion"         http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1 (http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1)

Post by: Deeks on October 28, 2010, 06:19:00 PM

1.   Don't have a good link for Bunji's song  "God is not far"   http://www.trinidadtunes.com/player.php?trackid=4035 (http://www.trinidadtunes.com/player.php?trackid=4035)

3. Andre Tanker - "Creation of the World"     http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1 (http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1)

4. Andre Tanker - "Show Yuh Emotion"         http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1 (http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/AndreTanker1)

Also add "Ah went away Ah leave and ah come back home" by Andre
Post by: Socapro on October 28, 2010, 08:56:00 PM

Good choices but note Bunji's "God Is Not Far" does not qualify as a conscious soca tune as it is a reggae tune!
Post by: Tallman on October 29, 2010, 06:54:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/gdujhQ8vSuA

http://www.youtube.com/v/ag7gUBRuiy8

http://www.youtube.com/v/FfasyVsTovQ

http://www.trinivideos.com/audio_player.swf?http_base_url=http://www.trinivideos.com/&audioid=597
Post by: Trini _2026 on October 30, 2010, 01:18:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/YZnKHe3BL1E
Post by: STEUPS!! on October 30, 2010, 01:48:17 PM
what about this one

somebody cud post it if yuh find it.

'sweet T&T, is my country
I just want you to know
that i loooovvvvee you

every creed and race, has an equal place
let us come together ...........'

singer's name is natasha i think
Post by: E-man on October 30, 2010, 02:19:05 PM
what about this one

somebody cud post it if yuh find it.

'sweet T&T, is my country
I just want you to know
that i loooovvvvee you

every creed and race, has an equal place
let us come together ...........'

singer's name is natasha i think

Natasha Wilson

http://s2.wp.com/wp-content/plugins/audio-player/player.swf?m=1236370442g&bg=0xf8f8f8&leftbg=0xeeeeee&lefticon=0x666666&rightbg=0xcccccc&rightbghover=0x999999&righticon=0x666666&righticonhover=0xffffff&text=0x666666&slider=0x666666&track=0xFFFFFF&border=0x666666&loader=0x9FFFB8&soundFile=http://idisk.mac.com%2Fsanman_ish-Public%2FAudio%2Fclassic%2FSweet%20T%20and%20T.mp3

Post by: Socapro on November 02, 2010, 11:57:45 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/MblHJsCeF00
Post by: Conquering Lion on November 02, 2010, 09:19:20 PM
Always liked the intro for this song.

1. Boogsie Sharp - I Music

http://www.youtube.com/v/tctGB0dXZUc?fs=1&hl=en_US

2. Nigel & Marvin - Take that and Cool it.

http://www.youtube.com/v/-0vmN5EaX4s?fs=1&hl=en_US

3. Ajala - Start Bucking up.........another one of my favourites. http://www.afromontreal.com/e/general/play.asp?id=1509 (http://www.afromontreal.com/e/general/play.asp?id=1509)

Ey Socapro....ah might be an amateur, but ah feel i could give you a run for yuh money wid dem selections ah pulling! And I eh dig dong deep in de archives yet......lol  :thumbsup:
Post by: Socapro on November 03, 2010, 08:06:30 AM
Always liked the intro for this song.

1. Boogsie Sharp - I Music

http://www.youtube.com/v/tctGB0dXZUc?fs=1&hl=en_US

Ey Socapro....ah might be an amateur, but ah feel i could give you a run for yuh money wid dem selections ah pulling! And I eh dig dong deep in de archives yet......lol  :thumbsup:

I will let this one slip as its one of my favourite pan songs but not sure if it really belongs here in this conscious soca thread!

It maybe better off being posted in that Panorama thread that I think Palos started whey back!

If someone can find it and update it with the above original song plus the Live Panorama version I am taking the temporay measure to post here, it will be much appreciated.

http://www.youtube.com/v/2lAPt9GWSHo
Post by: Swima on November 08, 2010, 10:06:45 AM
Stay giving praises -  Stalin and Ella Andall

http://www.youtube.com/v/htddLVsaP8A

Black Woman - Ella Andall

http://www.youtube.com/v/NBQz0Kh71-Q
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on November 14, 2010, 11:35:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/MmIqOeJrBsE

dis one here awready?
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2010, 07:15:49 PM
Bongo by Sparrow. This is Solo version.

http://www.youtube.com/v/vHD7Orl005U
Post by: Deeks on December 10, 2010, 07:21:20 PM
My first time awareness of Pan-Jazz. Earl Rodney's Friend's and Countrymen.

http://www.youtube.com/v/TioUmrldk70