General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 10:09:56 AM

Title: Row over PNM speakers
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 10:09:56 AM
Manning vs Marlene in House today..

Row over PNM speakers
GAIL ALEXANDER
Published: 29 Oct 2010
Who’ll get to speak first—former PNM leader Patrick Manning or PNM chief whip Marlene McDonald? That’s the question hovering over today’s House of Representatives session where the PNM’s contribution to debate on proposed bail amendment legislation will be in the spotlight. Both Manning and McDonald have signalled that they would lead off PNM’s reply on the bill after it is piloted by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan today. And House Speaker Wade Mark would have to decide who beats who to the punch and gets the nod to speak. A statement from Manning’s San Fernando East constituency followed yesterday’s exclusive Guardian story, further confirming that the former PM would be breaking his five-month long silence in the House today.
The statement described the move as Manning being “scheduled to make his contribution” to Parliament today. Manning has not spoken since the new Government was installed. He is the longest serving Member of Parliament, having served since 1971 and being Prime Minister on four separate occasions since 1991. The San Fernando East statement indicated that in today’s bail bill debate, Manning proposes “to take the Government to task for its handling of the crime situation.” The constituency statement also said Manning “will lead off the Opposition’s response to a presentation by the Attorney General on the Bail (Amendment) Bill 2010.” However yesterday, a PNM spokesman said that PNM chief whip McDonald had notified the House Speaker’s office yesterday morning that she would lead off the PNM’s reply on the bill.
The spokesman said Manning had been allocated third place in the speaking order of debate. The PNM official said McDonald, an attorney, indicated to the Speaker she would be followed by PNM MP Donna Cox, also an attorney. The spokesman said speakers on the issue were identified by PNM’s caucus on Monday. Other MPs who would speak apart from McDonald and Cox would be communicated to the Speaker today, the spokesman added. Those speakers are in order: Manning, along with PNM MPs Patricia McIntosh, Colm Imbert, Nileung Hypolite and Alicia Hospedales. The PNM official said Manning had not attended Monday’s PNM caucus and had not done so since the party’s election defeat.
“The rules of the caucus since the last caucus leader’s (Imbert) time was that if you are not present at caucus, you are not assigned to speak,” the official said.
“Recently, a couple MPs who missed caucus asked to speak on matters they had interest in. They made the request and were assigned to speak...we have procedures.” The official said Manning indicated to the chief whip three weeks ago that he wanted to speak on the upcoming anti-gang legislation (expected on November 12) and this has been officially scheduled. However, they said Manning only indicated on Tuesday—after Monday’s PNM caucus—that he wanted to speak in today’s bail bill debate. Parliament officials said yesterday that they were hoping the situation with the two PNM MPs vying to lead off, did not cause any procedural entanglement. They pointed out—a fact confirmed by the PNM also—that despite any official notification of speakers, the rule is whoever catches the Speaker’s eye will be allowed to speak in debate. The bail bill debate will take place after debate on a land acquisition Act. PNM’s speakers for the latter debate are Opposition Leader Keith Rowley and MP Imbert.
PNM sources said McDonald—who was unavailable yesterday—firmly intends speaking on the bail bill. PNM leader Keith Rowley did not reply to cellphone calls. Contacted yesterday on the possible clash of PNM speakers, a spokesman from Manning’s San Fernando East office was unable to say if Manning’s lead-off position for the debate was approved by PNM’s caucus on Monday. She said all the information in hand was that Manning would lead off. Some PNM members said yesterday that Manning should lead off the bail bill debate since he is the former chairman of the National Security Council and had much information on the crime situation. Other PNMites say McDonald and Cox are best suited to lead off and deal with the bill’s possible impact on the public’s rights, the judiciary and the Constitution.
Supporters from Manning’s San Fernando East constituency are expected to attend today’s House sitting to support their MP’s expected address, a San Fernando East official said. PNM senators who were appointed by PNM leader Rowley are also expected to attend in support of McDonald. The bail bill which curtails bail in an expanded number of situations requires a three fifth majority vote for passage—about 25 or 26 votes, People’s Partnership officials said. Government has a 29-seat majority in the House.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/2010/10/29/row-over-pnm-speakers
Title: Re: Row over PNM speakers
Post by: Brownsugar on October 29, 2010, 12:53:15 PM
Oh gorm Sammy format the thing properly nah....chups. 

On a related note, ah tell all yuh all is not well in de PNM, but all yuh tell mih doh worry, so I going wid all yuh...... :-\ :-\
Post by: truetrini on October 29, 2010, 01:49:31 PM

On a related note, ah tell all yuh all is not well in de PNM, but all yuh tell mih doh worry, so I going wid all yuh...... :-\ :-\

Nutten going on in de PNM...nutten
Post by: Brownsugar on October 29, 2010, 02:08:14 PM

Nutten going on in de PNM...nutten

OK.....
Post by: Babalawo on October 29, 2010, 02:32:09 PM
people rel does fall for the guardians schemes eh  ::)
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2010, 02:54:45 PM

ENTTTTTTTTTT

Dem alone have d inside on what goin on in d PNM. Dey real have sources boi.
Post by: Brownsugar on October 29, 2010, 03:08:04 PM

ENTTTTTTTTTT

I hearing about the "disturbances"  long before from Tony and Dale....dem have good inside sources.  Dem first break the news about Ken Ali becoming CEO of CNMG.....so said so done.....
But if True Trini say ah eh have nutten to worry about, then so be it....
Post by: Deeks on October 29, 2010, 03:26:17 PM
This headline is misleading. I swear they were arguing about  some boom box
Post by: mukumsplau on October 29, 2010, 04:46:21 PM
This headline is misleading. I swear they were arguing about  some boom box

na..yuh wud mor hear PP argue bout speakers

*hopes this one flies over everyone's heads*
Post by: Babalawo on October 29, 2010, 05:33:50 PM

ENTTTTTTTTTT

I hearing about the "disturbances"  long before from Tony and Dale....dem have good inside sources.  Dem first break the news about Ken Ali becoming CEO of CNMG.....so said so done.....
But if True Trini say ah eh have nutten to worry about, then so be it....
maybe cause he work for guardian had something to do with that?  just saying
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 07:58:03 PM
manning just talk bout condolences for the former barbados pm. Much ado about nutten for now.
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 07:58:38 PM

sorry was in a hurry to leave the office
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2010, 08:11:53 PM
manning just talk bout condolences for the former barbados pm. Much ado about nutten for now.

U hope is 4 now.
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 09:05:58 PM

U hope is 4 now.
i feel manning will take back the pnm.
Post by: Deeks on October 29, 2010, 10:24:40 PM

U hope is 4 now.

And do what with it?  f--k it more!!!!!!!!!!!! The PNM need a new leader and infastructure. They need to have a more open way of selecting or challenging  their leaders. In TT, when that is done the head of the party does hold grudge against anyone who challenges him. To me, that is hindrance in any political party in TT. Let Patos go back see if PNM call get back in power.
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 10:29:07 PM

U hope is 4 now.

And do what with it?  f--k it more!!!!!!!!!!!! The PNM need a new leader and infastructure. They need to have a more open way of selecting or challenging  their leaders. In TT, when that is done the head of the party does hold grudge against anyone who challenges him. To me, that is hindrance in any political party in TT. Let Patos go back see if PNM call get back in power.

i cant see rowley bringing voters to the pnm. Pnm ppl still love manning. He just have to come and tell them he sorry and to give him a next chance and thats it. U fell manning cyah command a majority in parliment to be leader of the opposition? who there loyal to rowley?
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 10:33:43 PM
loosing this election could've have been the best thing to happen for the pnm.
 UNC there and taking the jamming stemming for all the shit that came before them - and thats what the ppl will remember.
It come like NAR. Ppl dosent study that NAR had to make harsh decisions to save the country because the pnm did shit for x amt of years. Same thing now. The PP have to cut back and thats all ppl will see. Dey eh care the reasons.
Look at the clico group, their leader make a statement that the govt have to get the money for them and 'he doh care where they get it from'.

So when the PP cut back and hopefully stem some spending, the greedy ppl will get disgruntled and PNM will come sailing back in splashing around money and make ppl happy.

At least one or two 'black owned companies' will benefit from some contracts when they return yes.
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2010, 11:06:47 PM
loosing this election could've have been the best thing to happen for the pnm.
 UNC there and taking the jamming stemming for all the shit that came before them - and thats what the ppl will remember.
It come like NAR. Ppl dosent study that NAR had to make harsh decisions to save the country because the pnm did shit for x amt of years. Same thing now. The PP have to cut back and thats all ppl will see. Dey eh care the reasons.
Look at the clico group, their leader make a statement that the govt have to get the money for them and 'he doh care where they get it from'.

So when the PP cut back and hopefully stem some spending, the greedy ppl will get disgruntled and PNM will come sailing back in splashing around money and make ppl happy.

At least one or two 'black owned companies' will benefit from some contracts when they return yes.

Pleae do not compare NAR wit these jokers. NAR had a plan these jokers cyah spell plan. Compare d state of d economy in 86 2 now. These fellas eh stickin dey stuck.
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 11:14:38 PM
u miss the essence of what i was saying.

BTW....any bad weather by u yet?
everything normal here in san juan - 1.15 am
Post by: weary1969 on October 29, 2010, 11:23:55 PM

NUTTEN IN COUVA. I understand what u are sayin but NAR had 2 take hard decisions these fellas creating their own problems. Imagine guidance officers contract eh renew. I guess them is agent of d PNM.

In 88 when I finished A's there were no jobs and no scope of getting 1. Now u takin people wit degree and puttin dem on d breadline 4 no reason.
Post by: sammy on October 29, 2010, 11:44:24 PM

NUTTEN IN COUVA. I understand what u are sayin but NAR had 2 take hard decisions these fellas creating their own problems. Imagine guidance officers contract eh renew. I guess them is agent of d PNM.

In 88 when I finished A's there were no jobs and no scope of getting 1. Now u takin people wit degree and puttin dem on d breadline 4 no reason.

valid point
Post by: weary1969 on October 30, 2010, 12:00:08 AM

valid point

That is my problem u just not renewing contract tellin peeps 2 reapply if I doin a wuk 4 x yrs is either u renew me or eh renew meh. So what I could tell u in an interview dat my performance did not tell u b4.

Some of dem peeps vote 4 dem dey eh realize dat which is so stupid.   
Post by: Jah Gol on October 30, 2010, 01:53:15 PM
Government finally starting to get jam like a real government should and the Guardian suddenly decide to put a minor conflict(a non-story at best) about a wounded opposition party on the front page. Seriously , who cares about which opposition MP talks and when ?
Post by: Brownsugar on October 30, 2010, 04:11:37 PM
Government finally starting to get jam like a real government should and the Guardian suddenly decide to put a minor conflict(a non-story at best) about a wounded opposition party on the front page. Seriously , who cares about which opposition MP talks and when ?

Granted, is not just ANY opposition MP but ah get yuh point....I'm well aware of the Guardian's ability to practice free, fair and unbiased journalism...... ::) ::)
Post by: weary1969 on October 30, 2010, 04:15:52 PM

Granted, is not just ANY opposition MP but ah get yuh point....I'm well aware of the Guardian's ability to practice free, fair and unbiased journalism...... ::) ::)

yuh 4get free from fear.