General => General Discussion => Topic started by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 08:03:20 AM

Title: FAZEER FIRED/ PP VERSION DOWNSIZED
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 08:03:20 AM
Just heard that Fazeer got his marching papers. It is after he had a gr8 interview wit Suruj aka founder of SPIC.

They say dey cuttin cost but u go get rid of d only ting that peeps does watch on d 2x4 station. 
Title: Re: FAZEER FIRED/ PP VERSION DOWNSIZED
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 08:24:54 AM
Just heard that Fazeer got his marching papers. It is after he had a gr8 interview wit Suruj aka founder of SPIC.

They say dey cuttin cost but u go get rid of d only ting that peeps does watch on d 2x4 station. 
I don't always agree with Fazeer but I must admit that he is one of the most unbiased social/political commentators in the country. He is an asset to any media house. What a shame, if this is true !
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 08:33:58 AM

I don't always agree with Fazeer but I must admit that he is one of the most unbiased social/political commentators in the country. He is an asset to any media house. What a shame, if this is true !

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNN
Post by: Bourbon on November 08, 2010, 08:57:12 AM
Wait nah. I read on a next local forum bout some muslim man who got fired.

A muslim reporter was fired today because he was questioning a minister on the new foriegn policy last week. The minister in question then asked the muslim reporter if he was against a woman in power. The reporter responded by saying " personally I am not against a woman prime minister but I am a devout muslim so I can't supporter religiously."

Today he was fired because of cost cutting.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2010, 09:25:57 AM
Wait nah. I read on a next local forum bout some muslim man who got fired.

A muslim reporter was fired today because he was questioning a minister on the new foriegn policy last week. The minister in question then asked the muslim reporter if he was against a woman in power. The reporter responded by saying " personally I am not against a woman prime minister but I am a devout muslim so I can't supporter religiously."

Today he was fired because of cost cutting.

Yep.  Same story.  CNMG would normally save the videos of their shows on the website.  Anybody seeing the video there?  I can't check from here at work and ah feel by the time ah reach home, if it dey now it might not be dey tonight...

Sammy, whey yuh boy??....
Post by: mukumsplau on November 08, 2010, 09:38:19 AM
andy johnson is d host now...well temporary i thin (an he a gov't appointee..director of GISL)
i hearin talk of hansley ajodha (lawwwwd..ah nex PP lackey)
Ken Ali is d new CEO of CNMG so he wud have overseen d firing

dey bawl dey wanna cut costs (like Faz was makin ah Yaya toure salary lol)

d video of d first up program on that day (las week thursday)...rambachan interview from after d hour mark i think cya rememba

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fvideo.ctntworld.com%2Fview%2F460%2Ffirst-up-online-041110%2F&h=46467
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2010, 10:23:17 AM
Ken Ali is the "Acting" CEO.  CNMG does not have a board.  WASA also has an "Acting" CEO in the form of Ganga Singh.  WASA also does not have a board.  These people really playing the arse.  At this point, anybody who find I nit picking or not being objective could kiss my rear end.....this government doing pure unalduterated shyte!!!

Post by: elan on November 08, 2010, 10:28:43 AM
andy johnson is d host now...well temporary i thin (an he a gov't appointee..director of GISL)
i hearin talk of hansley ajodha (lawwwwd..ah nex PP lackey)
Ken Ali is d new CEO of CNMG so he wud have overseen d firing

dey bawl dey wanna cut costs (like Faz was makin ah Yaya toure salary lol)

d video of d first up program on that day (las week thursday)...rambachan interview from after d hour mark i think cya rememba

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fvideo.ctntworld.com%2Fview%2F460%2Ffirst-up-online-041110%2F&h=46467

These people rel something else. They very combative. I thought he came across really well in explaining what the PM really meant. Then he get on he high horse an start attacking Fazeer for no reason.

The PP seems to think that they are setting some type of precedent with the manner in which they are "governing". That everything is going well and the people are benefitting from whatever they beilieve they doing. Can't see them changing how they go about doing things.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2010, 10:29:21 AM
The PP racking them up.....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/Rab_s_immortal_lesson-106863363.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/Rab_s_immortal_lesson-106863363.html)

Rab's immortal lesson
By Keith Subero

He signed his name "Rab", but Richard Austen Butler was by no means the kind of person whom Trinbagonians would associate with that name. Rab Butler (1902-1982), to me, remains one of the most memorable British politicians. In 1963, Rab sat as deputy prime minister and home secretary and he was expected at some time to assume higher office. As I was reminded, Scotland Yard began investigating a company with which Rab was associated, prior to his becoming home secretary.

Rab delivered what, to me, was one of the most defining lessons in politics ever: "lest there be the hint of suspicion", Rab resigned honourably from the Cabinet, clearing the way for a full police investigation.

The lesson that Rab left us was: politicians must be people of virtue, and—for the overall good of the body politic—their every action must be seen as working for the common good.

"Man, if he is without virtue," Aristotle wrote, "is the most unholy and savage being." Justice, then, is Man's only salvation. So in the political community, every citizen ideally should work, for the sake of justice, and the common good. And so "politics"—unfortunately we misuse the word—is never about the politician's ambition, his group, or a party's interests, but an activity in which he assists citizens to work collectively toward "the furtherance of the common good".

Centuries after Aristotle, John Stuart Mill added further that governments must be seen always as being "for the people", and "a good government promotes the virtue and intelligence of its people". These are historical heights set by the early thinkers and, as a young nation, we need at this stage to demand these noble characteristics from our politicians. We did not demand such of Patrick Manning and look what good it did us, neither did we hold up such standards to George Chambers, Arthur NR Robinson or Basdeo Panday.

When he took office in the '90s, Panday swung a guillotine, firing a number of public officials, causing Lord Kitchener to respond with "The No Work Band", on fearing for the fate of executives, who were fired by Panday's United National Congress. Persons like Port of Spain Mayor Louis Lee Sing and Henry Sealy, then executive director of the Unit Trust, and many others I am sure, still carry that pain of the '90s.

Had the Grand Master been around, today we would have expected "The No Work Band Volume II", given the growing record of dismissals under the hand of the new People's Partnership.

• Last week, two Government ministers in the Office of the Prime Minister, Collin Partap and Rodger Samuel, marched into the Caribbean News Media Group (formerly TTT), and—without a board of directors in place—presided over the exit of CNMG's general manager, Ingrid Isaac. Was that for the common good?

• James Philbert, the acting commissioner of police, with days to go on his three-times extended contract, was sent a letter from the Police Service Commission ending his 43-year career. Was that for the common good?

• Col George Robinson, head of the Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management, in the face of unusual political weather, is out of office. Was that for the common good?

• Nafeesa Mohammed, an adviser in the Office of the Attorney General, was asked to leave, but not allowed to clear her office. Was that...?

• Brig Peter Joseph, fired summarily from Special Anti-Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago (SAUTT), his commission in the Voluntary Service revoked, and now battling for his gratuity. Was that...?

• Three hundred clerical workers attached to schools across the country fired by the Ministry of Education. Was that...?

• Maxie Cuffie, working as CEO of the Government Information Service Ltd, is informed by the media that he is being replaced. Was that...?

• Keisha Ince, CEO of the Government's infrastructure company, is fired by the wave of a hand. Was that... just part of a growing list?

This is a frightening trend under the new government. It is something that the workers' representatives, Comrades Errol McLeod and David Abdulah, will very soon have to deal with, in the interest of workers, and "the common good". I fear that the People's Partnership, like the National Alliance for Reconstruction and the UNC, is squandering its public goodwill, given last May, because of its preoccupation with People's National Movement excesses, and its focus on settling old scores.

When our Prime Minister took to the "catwalk" last week, she looked more sure-footed there than in her five-month-old government, where she appears bent on earning a reputation as "Mistress of the Misstep".
Her partner on the red carpet, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, appeared ideally suited, for he appears to be the front-runner for the title of "Mister Misstep" 2010—first the 1990 coup enquiry mis-step, now the CLICO-HCU enquiry mis-step.

I believe there are lessons to be learnt from Rab, Aristotle and Mill, and of course one should always listen as Kitchener warned about "the vengeance of Moko".

Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 10:50:39 AM
When I get home I will save the video . I feel they will want to cut cost on server space too.
Post by: Bourbon on November 08, 2010, 01:12:32 PM
When I get home I will save the video . I feel they will want to cut cost on server space too.

Take care dey realize de server cost before yuh reach home.
Post by: sammy on November 08, 2010, 01:24:08 PM
Ken Ali is the "Acting" CEO.  CNMG does not have a board.  WASA also has an "Acting" CEO in the form of Ganga Singh.  WASA also does not have a board.  These people really playing the arse.  At this point, anybody who find I nit picking or not being objective could kiss my rear end.....this government doing pure unalduterated shyte!!!

Ken Ali and Suruj used to be on Sangeet 106 together, so they're partners from looong time. Suruj ignorant/arrogant bad bad.
They just put in a stooge (andy) since they couldn't get Fazeer to say what they want when they want.
Same shit when manning make that radio host get fired. I guess the more things change, the more they remain the same.

Come on Power 102, go get Fazeer to join Marcia and Sherma on mornings and allyuh good to go!
Post by: Bourbon on November 08, 2010, 01:29:39 PM

Ken Ali and Suruj used to be on Sangeet 106 together, so they're partners from looong time. Suruj ignorant/arrogant bad bad.
They just put in a stooge (andy) since they couldn't get Fazeer to say what they want when they want.
Same shit when manning make that radio host get fired. I guess the more things change, the more they remain the same.

Come on Power 102, go get Fazeer to join Marcia and Sherma on mornings and allyuh good to go!

Ahrmm.....ent dah radio host get suspended?
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 01:36:52 PM

And that action was taken by the management of a private radio station.
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 02:21:20 PM

Nah iz because Manning did storm d station.
Post by: sammy on November 08, 2010, 02:25:34 PM

remember the same thing happen with Panday too?
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 02:29:28 PM

remember the same thing happen with Panday too?

Yeah dey deport Julian Rogers
Post by: truetrini on November 08, 2010, 03:19:44 PM
someone embed this for me thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UT4fRxhnLes&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 03:23:16 PM

http://www.youtube.com/v/UT4fRxhnLes&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Bourbon on November 08, 2010, 04:09:47 PM

Nah man. I doubt. I really really really hope that wasnt the reason. De man made it clear that in terms of religion no...but not in terms of a country. And even worse....it was totally unconnected to the point that was being discussed. Ramberchan throw dat in to distract from the point at hand.

If it was due to "downsizing" as stated, then I would assume other employees got the same treatment?
And..even though I not an expert in terms of employee rights et al.....wouldnt downsizing or retrenchment need to be given due notice? Can that be effective immediately?

Oh and I noticing a trend. Every lapse this government makes......apologists jump in and say.."buh ent manning did do xyz?"

Now dem same people was cussing Manning when those same things "happened" (cause....some of the parallels real lax) over a 7 year period. Yet...the PP seem like they striving to equal it within a 7 month period.
Den again..dahs probably how people could say that this government 100% better than the last one. 7 months compared to 7 years?
Post by: mukumsplau on November 08, 2010, 04:27:36 PM

Nah man. I doubt. I really really really hope that wasnt the reason. De man made it clear that in terms of religion no...but not in terms of a country. And even worse....it was totally unconnected to the point that was being discussed. Ramberchan throw dat in to distract from the point at hand.

If it was due to "downsizing" as stated, then I would assume other employees got the same treatment?
And..even though I not an expert in terms of employee rights et al.....wouldnt downsizing or retrenchment need to be given due notice? Can that be effective immediately?

Oh and I noticing a trend. Every lapse this government makes......apologists jump in and say.."buh ent manning did do xyz?"

Now dem same people was cussing Manning when those same things "happened" (cause....some of the parallels real lax) over a 7 year period. Yet...the PP seem like they striving to equal it within a 7 month period.
Den again..dahs probably how people could say that this government 100% better than the last one. 7 months compared to 7 years?

if u see the entire interview...the way suruj jump in wit d questions it was as though he came prepared to try to pull up fazeer on that issue...suruj say since d las time he was on he left wit d impression that fazeer this and that...d way how fazeer operates he gives everybody dey licks...suruj and by extension others in the PP totin rel feelinngs wenever he takes the gov't to task on anything on air when and where necessary...so the desire to see fazeer removed was probably always there and the haste and reason y it was done to me is so blatant...and den later on he wa come roun thick n sweet jesse may ventour for reading out facebook posts..
Post by: sammy on November 08, 2010, 04:36:47 PM
Fazeer used to pong PNM when dey was in power...

but check this, is not fazeer alone get buss throat, peter taylor and Mr. Q from the evening show get fired and all over the weekend.

I doh understand that one. Peter seemed pro PP and Mr. Q was always pnm and anti PP. All in all it was a real good show with a good balance. Last week Kamla get real pong from the callers even though Peter was batting in she crease at first....... so i dunno.
Post by: Bakes on November 08, 2010, 05:15:29 PM
I don't know much about this controversy, but I will say... Fazeer is an absolute boss.  Just about two years ago I sent him an email taking exception to some article or the other that he'd written, and to my surprise I received not only a response, but a timely response at that, outlining his position.  I still didn't agree with  him, but I came to better understand his perspective, and to better appreciate him as a journalist. 

It proved to me that his positions are well-reasoned and that he isn't above criticism, willing to explain his perspective when necessary.  I don't know enough of the program to say one way or another if he's neutral in his criticism of the government, but my guess is that he's above letting personal bias affect his professional opinion, based on my interaction with him.  Doesn't strike me as a petty fella at all. 

What is petty is the way that Suruj threw in the "religion" talk when it didn't seem to have any bearing on the discussion.  Not because a man ponging the PP does that give you the right (as a Minister no less) to bring his religious beliefs into the discussion.  Your religion as a Hindu doesn't make you agree with Kamla being in a position of leadership, why then would you assume that Fazeer would let his religious views influence his political commentary or his criticism of Kamla.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2010, 05:33:16 PM
Bakes, I could count on 10 fingers the number of times I watched "First up".   But I am yet to hear one person say anything bad about Fazeer and his conduct on this show and as a journalist on a whole.....

Something about this stinks to the high heavens!!!... >:(
Post by: 1-868 on November 08, 2010, 06:19:31 PM
Well alluyh wanted change....  what ah go say.. dey change he too
Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 06:21:53 PM
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KPNRP3DA (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KPNRP3DA)

I posted the wmv file here. In case CNMG want save to on server space.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 08, 2010, 06:35:23 PM
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KPNRP3DA (http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KPNRP3DA)

I posted the wmv file here. In case CNMG want save to on server space.

I listening to the interview right now....so far the exchange going fairly decent.....they discussing Kamla's PR FAIL last week.....ah eh hear the contentious exchange yet....

Edit:
Ok it done, but ah miss something. I listen the whole thing and mih eh hear that part about religion.... :-\ :-\

Edit (again)
I must have missed it, the exchange was very early in the discourse and I wasn't listening carefully at the start.....having now seen it, is like one minute dey discussing cheese and den Suruj decide let we discuss chalk instead for a few seconds....
Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 07:39:28 PM
Bakes, I could count on 10 fingers the number of times I watched "First up".   But I am yet to hear one person say anything bad about Fazeer and his conduct on this show and as a journalist on a whole.....

Something about this stinks to the high heavens!!!... >:(

CO-SIGNNNN
Post by: truetrini on November 08, 2010, 08:28:29 PM
Media Association statement
.by Media Association of Trinidad & Tobago on Monday, November 8, 2010 at 4:39pm.The Media Association is deeply disturbed by the recent developments at CNMG.

With regard to the firing of Fazeer Mohammed, one of the hosts of the First Up programme, the Media Association would like to know why and at what level the decision was taken to terminate Mr Mohammed’s employment with the station.

Matt would also appreciate an explanation as to its timing. Mr Mohammed was fired without warning last Saturday, two days after he interviewed a government minister who appeared to be displeased by his line of questioning.

The Media Association hopes that CNMG can give a categorical assurance that there was no causal connection between those two events.

In Matt’s view, Mr Mohammed was conducting the interview in a professional manner and was raising questions and concerns shared by many members of the public, both locally and overseas.

The timing of his dismissal, however, gives the impression that he was penalised for doing his job.

Whatever the reason for the termination of Mr Mohammed’s employment, it was a very serious error of judgement to replace him with Andy Johnson, head of Government Information Services.

The Media Association has the greatest respect for Mr Johnson, who was a leading practitioner in the field for many years.

However, Mr Johnson is no longer a practising journalist, but is now clearly aligned with the government of the day.

His objectives and responsibilities as head of GISL are therefore in direct conflict with those of an independent journalist.

For Mr Johnson to be given the role of host of a news programme at CNMG, a state-owned media house, gives the impression that the government views CNMG as an extension of GISL.

In fact, however, CNMG is intended to work in the public interest to provide independent news and opinion.

Mr Johnson’s hosting of the programme, especially in the wake of Mr Mohammed’s ouster, will make it extremely difficult for CNMG to be seen as a source of unbiased information.

The Media Association therefore hopes that Mr Johnson’s stint as host of First Up will be brought to a rapid end and that he will be immediately replaced by someone who has no such conflict of interest and is currently qualified for this particular job.

Matt executive

Post by: Jah Gol on November 08, 2010, 09:10:30 PM
Changing CEOs and boards are natural , we expect that. This action against a journalist is clear abuse of power and the move to replace him with a government stooge is a communist style attack on journalistic freedom.  UNC 1 was Julian Rogers and Ken Gordon , UNC 2 is Fazeer Mohammed. I wonder who's next.

I wouldn't be surprised if dubious opinions emerge besmirching  Fazeer as a misogynistic, islamic fundamentalist incapable on unbiased commentary .

There was a term used to describe Patrick Manning and his administration. Oh yes, 'creeping dictatorship'. At this rate I think I prefer Manning's dictatorship to Kamla's democracy.

Post by: weary1969 on November 08, 2010, 10:01:13 PM
Changing CEOs and boards are natural , we expect that. This action against a journalist is clear abuse of power and the move to replace him with a government stooge is a communist style attack on journalistic freedom.  UNC 1 was Julian Rogers and Ken Gordon , UNC 2 is Fazeer Mohammed. I wonder who's next.

I wouldn't be surprised if dubious opinions emerge besmirching  Fazeer as a misogynistic, islamic fundamentalist incapable on unbiased commentary .

There was a term used to describe Patrick Manning and his administration. Oh yes, 'creeping dictatorship'. At this rate I think I prefer Manning's dictatorship to Kamla's democracy.

A dictator do not call early elections. Bigheaded and had tunnel vision. D man had a vision and he was bend on carryin it out who vex vex.
Post by: g on November 08, 2010, 10:11:25 PM
drop by drop filleth the cup
Post by: truetrini on November 08, 2010, 10:55:04 PM
Mohammed pulled from Channel Six talk show
Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Published: 9 Nov 2010
 http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/11/09/mohammed-pulled-channel-six-talk-show

Fazeer Mohammed
Rhonda Krystal Rambally
Sacked co–host of the morning talkshow — First Up — Fazeer Mohammed says the show is now open to political interference.
Comments posted on social networking site Facebook, where C News and First Up each has a page, indicated that Mohammed had been fired following an interview on last Thursday’s show with Foreign Affairs Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan over Prime Minister Kamla Persad–Bissessar’s statements about providing aid to Caribbean countries affected by Hurricane Tomas.

First Up is aired simultaneously on Channel Six and Talk City 91.1 FM by state-owned Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) and has been hosted by Mohammed and Jessie May Ventour since June 2007. Contacted yesterday, Mohammed said he hadn’t been fired but was “taken off the programme.” Mohammed, who is a long–standing journalist, said he was disappointed by the decision. He is awaiting official word from interim chief executive officer Ken Ali about his status. He said: “I was called in on Saturday to a meeting with the human resources manager Christine Johnson and was advised that the company had to undergo cost cutting measures and Andy Johnson would replace me.

“It was explained that Andy will not be of an additional cost and Government would be seconding his services from GISL.” During Thursday’s interview Mohammed had asked Rambachan whether Persad–Bissessar’s statements were diplomatic. Rambachan, however, directed a question to Mohammed and there was an exchange of comments about Mohammed’s religious views. Mohammed said his replacement had nothing to do with what occurred on the show. He said: “I have not been dismissed. I was also offered other options which were not acceptable to me. It is disappointing to be off the show.”

He said he would now explore his options since the media had opened up. Mohammed added the programme’s popularity had grown over the years because he and Ventour were seen as “direct, unbiased, straightforward and respected.” While he said he had utmost respect for Johnson who has been heading Government’s Information Unit, Mohammed said: “The show’s journalistic integrity could be compromised.” Asked if the move was political, Mohammed said if the reason for pulling him off the show was to cut cost, then the evidence would show. He said it would be wrong for him to speculate otherwise.

What was said

Mohammed: “You as the Minister of Foreign Affairs, would you consider it diplomatic to say for example that Trinidad and Tobago is not an ATM card for the region or that there must be some way that our local people can benefit? Is that diplomatic language?”

Rambachan: “You can argue that from now until eternity and you might want to delve into that point... but... I want to ask you a question. Last time I was here you seemed to have some specific problem with Mrs Bissessar’s leadership. Is that so?”

Mohammed: “No I don’t have a problem with Mrs Persad–Bissessar’s leadership.” (Rambachan interrupts)

Rambachan: Philosophically, do you subscribe to women in leadership positions?”

Mohammed: “Well in... religiously no.”

Rambachan: “Religiously no?”

Mohammed: “Yeah.”

Rambachan: “So that if you’d have a Prime Minister Kamla Persad–Bissessar as the prime minister of the country, would you subscribe to a woman being the prime minister of this country?”

Mohammed: “I have no problem with that.”

Rambachan: “But you said religiously you have a problem...

Mohammed: “Religiously no but there is a difference between religion and country... I don’t know if you’re trying to paint me into...(inaudible) as far as my religious philosophy...

Rambachan: (inaudible)

Mohammed: “But Dr Rambachan you are trying to evade the point... you are trying to draw in my religious philosophy on women in leadership with the leadership of a country which is very different and I am trying to deal with the fundamental issue of the comments in relation to the situation in those islands...”

To view full interview visit http://video.ctntworld.com/view/460/first-up-online-041110/

Post by: truetrini on November 08, 2010, 11:01:28 PM
Express...

'COST-CUTTING': Fazeer Mohammed
Tools46 CommentsEmail this articleFacebookDiggPrint this articleFIRED
On the heels of argument about Kamla, CNMG cuts journalist Fazeer Mohammed
By Aabida Allaham

Story Created: Nov 8, 2010 at 11:45 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Nov 8, 2010 at 11:45 PM ECT )

Talk show host and cricket commentator Fazeer Mohammed is questioning the timing of his dismissal from State-owned media network Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG).

The dismissal follows an argument on the morning show First Up last Thursday with a Cabinet Minister about Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar being in a leadership position.

Mohammed said he was called by the company's human resource manager Christine John on Saturday and told that his services were no longer required.

In a telephone interview with the Express yesterday, Mohammed, who worked for CNMG since June 1, 2007, said he was told by the company representative that "it was a cost-cutting measure".

However, Mohammed questioned the timing of the dismissal considering that one day before he was viewed as someone who had a problem with the Prime Minister by Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan during the televised morning radio programme.

"He prompted the line of questioning and I felt it was my right to explain myself," Mohammed said.

In fact, according to a transcript of that interview, Mohammed is recorded as asking Rambachan in his capacity as Foreign Affairs Minister if he felt that the Prime Minister's statement about Trinidad and Tobago not being an ATM card for the region or no aid unless it redounded in benefits to this country was said in a diplomatic way.

At that point Rambachan replied: "You can argue that from now until eternity...but I want to ask you a question, last time I was here, you seem to have some specific problem with Mrs Bissessar's leadership, is that so?"

Mohammed: "No, I have no problem with Kamla Persad-Bissessar's leadership".

Rambachan: "Philosophically, do you subscribe to women in leadership positions?"

Mohammed: "Well, religiously, no".

Rambachan: "Well, religiously no, so if you have Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar as the Prime Minister of the country, would you subscribe to a woman being a Prime Minister of this country?"

Mohammed: "I have no problem with that".

Rambachan: "Well you said religiously you have a problem".

Mohammed: "Religiously no, but there is a difference between religion and country. I don't know if you are trying to paint me in a corner as far as my religious philosophy but the point is".

Rambachan: "Going back to the ATM".

Mohammed: "Dr Rambachan you are trying to evade the point. You are trying to draw in religious views".

Rambachan: "She never said that".

Mohammed: "Wait, let me finish, you are trying to draw in my religious philosophy on women in leadership with the leadership of the country which is very different and I am trying to deal with the fundamental issue of the comments in relation to the situation in those islands and that's why I draw the comments of being diplomatic. I have no problem with the issue of your questioning, but I don't see the connection, if it is my religious philosophy says a woman should not be in religious leadership that it automatically presumes that I am against a woman in leadership of any country".

An on-line report of Mohammed's statement prompted a firestorm of criticism with many commentators targeting the talk show host religious beliefs. Other bloggers praised his persistence and fearless journalistic skills.

Speaking yesterday, Mohammed said he doesn't know if that line of question and answer was what prompted his sudden dismissal, but he said he was never aware of any cost cutting exercise taking place at the company.

"When I asked if there was any other way I could be incorporated, I was told to wait until interim chief executive officer, Ken Ali returns (to the country) on Thursday and to call back on Friday," he said.

When the Express contacted Ali, who was en route to the United States with the Prime Minister yesterday, he maintained that Mohammed was dismissed because the company is cutting cost.

He said it had nothing to do with the interview involving Rambachan or the insinuation that Mohammed disliked the Prime Minster because she was a woman or Mohammed's religious views which says that women should not hold "religious leadership positions".

"I have a mandate to make CNMG more cost efficient and that is what I am doing," Ali said.

A former editor at the Guardian, Ali said he was "cutting" consultants, freelancers and anything else that was not sustainable since the company has been operating at a loss for the last couple of years.

When asked who else had been sent home due to the exercise, Ali could not say.

"We are reviewing costs, we are reviewing the operations...and this only started a few days ago after I formally joined the company on October 31," he said.

Ali also pointed out that in the process of cutting cost, they were seeking to bring in professionals who could change the image of CNMG thereby increasing advertising and revenue.

"That's why I brought in Andy Johnson to the show because he has a track record. He brought his previous show (TV6 Morning Edition) to the number one show and I believe that he can do it with (First Up)," he said.

When contacted, Johnson, the chief executive officer of Government Information Services Ltd, said he "was asked" to host the show until a replacement was found.

"I got a call from someone, and they asked me to host the show until a replacement was found and I said I'd do it," he said.

SO if they getting a replacement how is dat cutting costs?

Post by: Brownsugar on November 09, 2010, 05:35:29 AM
Ali also pointed out that in the process of cutting cost, they were seeking to bring in professionals who could change the image of CNMG thereby increasing advertising and revenue.

They want to increase revenues but they take off one of their more popular talk show hosts??   What kinda business model is that??
??? ???  :-\

Post by: sammy on November 09, 2010, 06:56:34 AM

They want to increase revenues but they take off one of their more popular talk show hosts??   What kinda business model is that??

NOW Hear that Fazeer will be interviewed on Marcia and Sherma show on power 102 this morning.
Post by: Arimaman on November 09, 2010, 08:59:33 AM

Interesting discussing taking place on Power 102.....

NOW Hear that Fazeer will be interviewed on Marcia and Sherma show on power 102 this morning.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 09, 2010, 09:01:26 AM
Very interesting.....
Post by: D.H.W on November 09, 2010, 10:02:53 AM
i not watching that show anymore fazeer was the only reason i use to give it some of my morning time, now he gone, bye bye.
Post by: weary1969 on November 09, 2010, 10:23:06 AM

Jackeconomics. U destroy anyting dat wukin.
Post by: STEUPS!! on November 09, 2010, 08:21:22 PM
why politicians like to take we for fools?

cost cutting  ???

steups
Post by: Bourbon on November 09, 2010, 09:18:45 PM
(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/trinidadexpress107.jpg?ref=nf)
Post by: STEUPS!! on November 09, 2010, 10:00:27 PM

palance allyuh self nah!

serious question: was this trip even necessary?
Post by: Bourbon on November 09, 2010, 10:15:29 PM

palance allyuh self nah!

serious question: was this trip even necessary?

Yes. It was.
Post by: Bakes on November 09, 2010, 10:27:33 PM
Yes. It was.

It always is.  Wait, I losing count... how many trips to forrin' is this in de 7 mos now?

Apparently de "cost cutting" doh apply to de pappyshow foreign junkets.
Post by: Arazi on November 09, 2010, 11:10:00 PM
Here's a  take:

http://pedrotercero.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/the-fatal-error-fazeergate/
Post by: congo on November 09, 2010, 11:11:38 PM
So alluh Prime Minister now vying for awards with the likes of Fergie from the Black Eye Peas and losing at that.. Well yes we reach, No I lie we have risen..!!!

Kamla at least bring home the award nah...Gone so far to lose..Steups.
Post by: Bourbon on November 10, 2010, 06:42:39 AM
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/MUSLIMS_ANGRY_WITH_PM__SURUJ-107010638.html

THE firing of talk show host Fazeer Mohammed has angered the Muslim community, forcing them to break their silence over what they claimed were months of discrimination against them by the People's Partnership Government.

An emergency meeting was convened last night at the Islamic centre in Kelly Village, where around 50 representatives from various Islamic groups throughout the country were in attendance.

The meeting was chaired by Imtiaz Mohammed, president of the Islamic Guild of the Caribbean and South America and chairman of Trinidad and Tobago Muslim community.

Mohammed, on behalf of his Muslim peers, condemned the removal of Mohammed (F) from the programme First Up, which is broadcasted on State-owned CNMG. He added that, should their calls fall on deaf ears, the Muslim community will demonstrate later this week when Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar returns from the United States.

"I condemn the action taken by CNMG and its executive. I condemn the action of the Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr Suruj Rambachan, in the way he conducted himself in his line of questioning with Fazeer. It was irrelevant and had nothing to do with the substance of the interview," Mohammed (I) said.

Mohammed (F) was fired from CNMG on Saturday in what CEO Ken Ali has said was a cost-cutting measure. However, the dismissal followed an argument with Foreign Affairs Minister Rambachan about Prime Minister Persad-Bissessar being in a leadership position, on the First Up programme last Thursday.

Yesterday, Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister Collin Partap, Line Minister responsible for CNMG, disassociated himself from the sacking.

Fazeer Mohammed himself has also indicated that Rambachan had a vendetta against him prior to last Thursday's programme. • See Pages 4, 5 and 8

Last evening, Mohammed (I) said the Muslim community had endorsed the People's Partnership Government at a function at the Rienzi Complex before the May 24 general election, and they left that meeting with the impression members of the Muslim community would be given an equal chance to serve in the Senate as well as State boards.

He said recently the Islamic Association celebrated its 50th anniversary, but he was unsuccessful in inviting Persad-Bissessar to the event although he tried several times.

"As a Muslim, the disappointment keeps coming all the time. This issue came as the final straw that broke the camel's back," Mohammed said.

He called for an apology to be made to Mohammed (F) and for him to be reinstated in his position.

Mohammed (F), who was present at the meeting, said a decision has already been taken, but said he would first like to hear from the Government before he can make any decision.

"Clearly there is a lot of disquiet (in the Muslim community) from the comments that have been made," he said, adding that he would not want to speculate on the issue.

He said he was advised to not be the "sacrificial lamb" in a row between Muslims and Hindus. He stressed, however, that fundamental concerns were raised by his Muslim brothers that he could not ignore.

He said it would be a dereliction of duty as a Muslim and a citizen if he were to be concerned only with getting back his job.

Mahohar Ali, of Freeport, told the audience the entire episode seemed pre-planned.

"It opens up the possibility that Dr Rambachan came with an agenda," he said, adding that he believed Mohammed's firing was intentional.

Haseed Aziz added that the entire Muslim community will stand behind each other with respect to any decision that is taken.

"The whole country is upset and is rallying around whatever decision is to be taken and we will support Fazeer," he said.

Kayam Dean said he was concerned over the democracy of CNMG.

"When I see a Minister come into a State-run television station which belongs to all of us and dictates how the programme should be run, I see it as a great threat to the democracy of Trinidad and Tobago," he said.
Post by: Bourbon on November 10, 2010, 07:24:20 AM
Yes. It was.

It always is.  Wait, I losing count... how many trips to forrin' is this in de 7 mos now?

Wait nah!

According to  this  (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kamla__flies__again-106863343.html) article on November 7th.....She fly out to do this:
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar flies out to the United States today, where she is expected to hold a high-level meeting with United States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.

Finance Minister Winston Dookeran will act as Prime Minister during Persad-Bissessar's official three-day visit to the US.

While in the US, Persad-Bissessar will deliver a special lecture at Harvard University and also receive the 2010 Women of the Year award from the US-based Glamour magazine.

Buh according to  this  (http://www.google.tt/search?q=hillary+clinton&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbo=u&tbs=nws:1&source=og&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wn&cad=h) and specifically  this (http://www.smh.com.au/national/back-us-over-china-clinton-20101108-17kis.html) dated 9th November....Hilary in Australia. So when did they meet...or going to meet?

Post by: Arimaman on November 10, 2010, 07:34:06 AM
Yes. It was.

Unfair criticism.... Yuh stanting tuh sound like them republicans complaining about Obama and how the taking too many vacations and unnecessary foreign trips.  Let the PM do what she feel is best.  If at the end of the term people deem that she eh good enough vote she out but I think people nitpicking too much.
Post by: weary1969 on November 10, 2010, 08:11:24 AM
Yes. It was.

Wait nah!

According to  this  (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kamla__flies__again-106863343.html) article on November 7th.....She fly out to do this:
Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar flies out to the United States today, where she is expected to hold a high-level meeting with United States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.

Finance Minister Winston Dookeran will act as Prime Minister during Persad-Bissessar's official three-day visit to the US.

While in the US, Persad-Bissessar will deliver a special lecture at Harvard University and also receive the 2010 Women of the Year award from the US-based Glamour magazine.

Buh according to  this  (http://www.google.tt/search?q=hillary+clinton&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbo=u&tbs=nws:1&source=og&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wn&cad=h) and specifically  this (http://www.smh.com.au/national/back-us-over-china-clinton-20101108-17kis.html) dated 9th November....Hilary in Australia. So when did they meet...or going to meet?

U know how thet say it had more than 1 Fidel well d same applies to Hilary. So is in Australia and 1 meeting wit Kamla.
Post by: Bourbon on November 10, 2010, 08:20:47 AM
Yes. It was.

Wait nah!

U know how thet say it had more than 1 Fidel well d same applies to Hilary. So is in Australia and 1 meeting wit Kamla.

Hadda be dat oui! Cuz according to  this  (http://news.xinhuanet.com/english2010/world/2010-11/08/c_13597050.htm)

Hillary Clinton wraps up 7-nation Asia-Pacific tour
English.news.cn   2010-11-08 21:53:17    FeedbackPrintRSS

by Gao Li

HONG KONG, Nov. 8 (Xinhua) -- United States Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton flew out of Australia on Monday, wrapping up her seven-stop tour to the Asia-Pacific region.

The tour, built around the East Asia Summit (EAS) in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, was widely believed as an effort of the United States to engage in Asia and enhance its influence in the region. The visit underscores U.S. administration's emphasis on Asia on issues of strategic, political and economic aspects.

Australia is the final leg of Clinton's tour to the region, which also took her to Vietnam, China, Cambodia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea and New Zealand.

JOINING EAS AS CHANCE OF GREATER INFLUENCE IN ASIA-PACIFIC

Clinton traveled to Hanoi on Oct. 29 from Hawaii to start her trip to the Asia-Pacific region. She was present at the East Asia Summit as a special representative of U.S. President Barack Obama.

The EAS is a forum for dialogue on strategic, political and economic issues among the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) as well as Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.

The United States and Russia will become formal members of the EAS next year. The U.S. membership is seen as part of its strategy to reinforce its influence in the region.

On the sidelines of the summit, Clinton held talks with leaders of U.S. allies such as Japan and South Korea, as well as officials from other regional nations including ASEAN members and China.

In her meeting with Chinese Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi, she said her country would like to make joint efforts with China to boost their high-level exchanges and bilateral cooperation in various fields.

Yang said with joint efforts, the Sino-U.S. relations had kept an overall stable momentum for development. However, he reaffirmed China's sovereignty over the Diaoyu Islands and urged the United States to act cautiously regarding the highly sensitive issue, respect China's sovereignty and territorial integration.

Unless we probably have it wrong side and dey up dey waiting on Hilary to come back and then meeting with her one time.
Post by: weary1969 on November 10, 2010, 08:24:07 AM
Yes. It was.

Wait nah!

Hadda be dat oui! Cuz according to  this  (http://news.xinhuanet.com/english2010/world/2010-11/08/c_13597050.htm)

Hillary Clinton wraps up 7-nation Asia-Pacific tour
English.news.cn   2010-11-08 21:53:17    FeedbackPrintRSS

by Gao Li

HONG KONG, Nov. 8 (Xinhua) -- United States Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton flew out of Australia on Monday, wrapping up her seven-stop tour to the Asia-Pacific region.

The tour, built around the East Asia Summit (EAS) in Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, was widely believed as an effort of the United States to engage in Asia and enhance its influence in the region. The visit underscores U.S. administration's emphasis on Asia on issues of strategic, political and economic aspects.

Australia is the final leg of Clinton's tour to the region, which also took her to Vietnam, China, Cambodia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea and New Zealand.

JOINING EAS AS CHANCE OF GREATER INFLUENCE IN ASIA-PACIFIC

Clinton traveled to Hanoi on Oct. 29 from Hawaii to start her trip to the Asia-Pacific region. She was present at the East Asia Summit as a special representative of U.S. President Barack Obama.

The EAS is a forum for dialogue on strategic, political and economic issues among the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) as well as Australia, China, India, Japan, South Korea and New Zealand.

The United States and Russia will become formal members of the EAS next year. The U.S. membership is seen as part of its strategy to reinforce its influence in the region.

On the sidelines of the summit, Clinton held talks with leaders of U.S. allies such as Japan and South Korea, as well as officials from other regional nations including ASEAN members and China.

In her meeting with Chinese Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi, she said her country would like to make joint efforts with China to boost their high-level exchanges and bilateral cooperation in various fields.

Yang said with joint efforts, the Sino-U.S. relations had kept an overall stable momentum for development. However, he reaffirmed China's sovereignty over the Diaoyu Islands and urged the United States to act cautiously regarding the highly sensitive issue, respect China's sovereignty and territorial integration.

Unless we probably have it wrong side and dey up dey waiting on Hilary to come back and then meeting with her one time.

WE WILL C.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 10, 2010, 09:30:17 AM
All yuh nitpicking..... ::)
Post by: D.H.W on November 10, 2010, 09:42:07 AM
Political scientist speaks on dismissal of journalist

http://www.youtube.com/v/b-au70KMxYY&
Post by: Patterson on November 10, 2010, 09:47:51 AM

jeezanages of course is nitpicking...do proper research before criticizing....simple

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/appt/2010/11/150726.htm
Public Schedule for November 10, 2010

Washington, DC
November 10, 2010

SECRETARY OF STATE HILLARY RODHAM CLINTON
5:00 p.m.  Secretary Clinton meets with Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Kamala Persad-Bissessar, at the Department of State.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 10, 2010, 10:35:08 AM

jeezanages of course is nitpicking...do proper research before criticizing....simple

Washington, DC
November 10, 2010

5:00 p.m.  Secretary Clinton meets with Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago Kamala Persad-Bissessar, at the Department of State.

Forgive me.  But when faced with a government that offloading BS by the piles everyday, yuh tend to become a cynic....
Post by: dinho on November 10, 2010, 10:51:45 AM

Washington, DC
November 10, 2010

Forgive me.  But when faced with a government that offloading BS by the piles everyday, yuh tend to become a cynic....

So i guess you've been a cynic for what.....  like that last 10-15 years?
Post by: Brownsugar on November 10, 2010, 11:01:23 AM

Washington, DC
November 10, 2010

So i guess you've been a cynic for what.....  like that last 10-15 years?

Yep.....ah skeptical ah all dem politicians.  And dis bunch only making it worse...
Post by: Bakes on November 10, 2010, 02:33:21 PM
Unfair criticism.... Yuh stanting tuh sound like them republicans complaining about Obama and how the taking too many vacations and unnecessary foreign trips.  Let the PM do what she feel is best.  If at the end of the term people deem that she eh good enough vote she out but I think people nitpicking too much.

Wait... so is only dis new government is de victim of "unfair criticism"? 

Additionally, your comparison to the criticism of Obama is nonsensical.  Ever since Obama won the election two years ago he's been knee and elbow deep in running this country and in trying to find a solution to the economic problems plagueing it.  Even before he was sworn in... before he even won election he was part of the discussions.  With Kamla it seems (thus far) like the PM chair is just a platform to gallery sheself.  Outside of the idiotic laptop policy can you name one significant policy matter that she's weighed in on?  Just one... aside from inserting her foot in her mouth twice over aid to Caribbean neighbors.

Every time you look up she's in the US, for a host of reasons, some meritorious and other just plain wasteful... like the trip with her entourage to go to Queens and thank her "supporters".  Every time she leaves there is some other "acting PM" or the other.  Even when she IS here there is very little party discipline as the inmates are climbing all over themselves in effort to run the PP asylum.  How about she focuses on governance at home and in corralling her increasingly out of control subordinates??  Rambachan is just the latest in a line of neophytes who seem to relish the turn in the spotlight to let everybody know that they are in charge now.

I sure Manning did what HE felt was best, but that didn't stop him from being criticized at every turn.  I not here to hold no brief for Manning, he get what he look for ... but at the same time if it good for the goose, it damn well will be good for the gander.
Post by: elan on November 10, 2010, 02:52:10 PM
Is either alyuh rel hypocritical or alyuh head to far up alyuh arse.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 10, 2010, 05:39:33 PM

........or the bullshit start so early man still suffering from whiplash....not friggin me!!!....ah well pass mih mouth on Patrick when he do shit, ah could well pass mih mouth on this bunch who doing more shit!!

For example, Devant Maharaj as CHAIRMAN of PTSC!!!  Chairman??!!  Chairman??!! 

Steups!!!!....is one more bag ah shyte day in day out...and whey Madame PM??  Oh yeah she accepting an award from Glamour magazine, not TIME or Newsweek, f*(&$ng Glamour Magazine!!, she meeting Hillary Clinton   ::)
Post by: D.H.W on November 10, 2010, 07:24:26 PM

........or the bullshit start so early man still suffering from whiplash....not friggin me!!!....ah well pass mih mouth on Patrick when he do shit, ah could well pass mih mouth on this bunch who doing more shit!!

Steups!!!!....is one more bag ah shyte day in day out...and whey Madame PM??  Oh yeah she accepting an award from Glamour magazine, not TIME or Newsweek, f*(&$ng Glamour Magazine!!, she meeting Hillary Clinton   ::)

That is definitely Patrick fault.
Post by: Arimaman on November 10, 2010, 09:22:40 PM

Wait... so is only dis new government is de victim of "unfair criticism"? 

Additionally, your comparison to the criticism of Obama is nonsensical.  Ever since Obama won the election two years ago he's been knee and elbow deep in running this country and in trying to find a solution to the economic problems plagueing it.  Even before he was sworn in... before he even won election he was part of the discussions.  With Kamla it seems (thus far) like the PM chair is just a platform to gallery sheself.  Outside of the idiotic laptop policy can you name one significant policy matter that she's weighed in on?  Just one... aside from inserting her foot in her mouth twice over aid to Caribbean neighbors.

Every time you look up she's in the US, for a host of reasons, some meritorious and other just plain wasteful... like the trip with her entourage to go to Queens and thank her "supporters".  Every time she leaves there is some other "acting PM" or the other.  Even when she IS here there is very little party discipline as the inmates are climbing all over themselves in effort to run the PP asylum.  How about she focuses on governance at home and in corralling her increasingly out of control subordinates??  Rambachan is just the latest in a line of neophytes who seem to relish the turn in the spotlight to let everybody know that they are in charge now.

I sure Manning did what HE felt was best, but that didn't stop him from being criticized at every turn.  I not here to hold no brief for Manning, he get what he look for ... but at the same time if it good for the goose, it damn well will be good for the gander.
I disagree that the comparison is nonsensical.  Just b/c you say so it eh so.  I not saying she shouldn't be criticized and I understand politics.  But clearly as in the case of Obama there is bias.  Whether or not you agree doesn't really mean anything to me but that's the way I see it.  We may have to agree to disagree but the fact is the PM will make mistakes.  Shoot Bush just admitted his mistakes but people are rushing to judgement way too soon.  Give the blasted lady a chance to operate and make her mistakes.
Post by: Bakes on November 10, 2010, 11:29:24 PM
I disagree that the comparison is nonsensical.  Just b/c you say so it eh so.  I not saying she shouldn't be criticized and I understand politics.  But clearly as in the case of Obama there is bias.  Whether or not you agree doesn't really mean anything to me but that's the way I see it.  We may have to agree to disagree but the fact is the PM will make mistakes.  Shoot Bush just admitted his mistakes but people are rushing to judgement way too soon.  Give the blasted lady a chance to operate and make her mistakes.

So your suggestion is what... when yuh see something yuh disagree with say nothing?  If that is how you does operate then maybe that works fuh you but that has never been my style... yuh ent have to like it.

As for comparing the criticism of Kamla to the criticism of Obama... you really think that is valid?  I mean, seriously??
Post by: Brownsugar on November 11, 2010, 06:19:57 AM
Well hear nah, Kamla now reach back and held a press conference up in Piarco.  That good.   So of course the media question she about the hot topic, Fazeer/CNMG.

She say she still maintains her stance about freedom of the press yada, yada, yada but as far as she is concerned the whole thing is about cutting costs and had nothing to do infringing on freedom of the press.......

Mih brain still trying to come up with an appropriate response....mih first instinct was to fall down laughing, but ah have a feeling this too serious to take and make joke....
Post by: Bourbon on November 11, 2010, 07:16:15 AM

Yuh cyar vex for dat. Everybody know full well he was aligned with dem before elections. All dahs part of who people vote for.
Post by: Brownsugar on November 11, 2010, 07:31:48 AM

Yuh cyar vex for dat. Everybody know full well he was aligned with dem before elections. All dahs part of who people vote for.

Yeah, but chairman??  Ah sure each political party have they hacks they must stick somewhere to appease them, but not chairman.....
Post by: signal on November 11, 2010, 07:37:00 AM
Well hear nah, Kamla now reach back and held a press conference up in Piarco.  That good.   So of course the media question she about the hot topic, Fazeer/CNMG.

She say she still maintains her stance about freedom of the press yada, yada, yada but as far as she is concerned the whole thing is about cutting costs and had nothing to do infringing on freedom of the press.......

Mih brain still trying to come up with an appropriate response....mih first instinct was to fall down laughing, but ah have a feeling this too serious to take and make joke....

the thing is she said that with a real serious face dread...so my question is...how come the line minister colin Partap, when interviewed yesterday, ent know nothing about this cost cutting ting?
Post by: Brownsugar on November 11, 2010, 07:53:36 AM

the thing is she said that with a real serious face dread...so my question is...how come the line minister colin Partap, when interviewed yesterday, ent know nothing about this cost cutting ting?

Not only that, Dookeran say he eh know nutten bout cost cutting.  The employees of CNMG didn't know nutten bout it until Fazeer got a call on Saturday evening.  Ken Ali (ACTING CEO) apparently could implement this policy on his own because there is no board at CNMG and the Colin Partap eh know nutten bout dat.  Kamla say she was advised about the cost cutting, so who advise she??  By process of elimination is Ken Ali alone tell she dat??  ??? :-\

*sigh* I done.....
Post by: Bourbon on November 11, 2010, 08:07:34 AM

Not only that, Dookeran say he eh know nutten bout cost cutting.  The employees of CNMG didn't know nutten bout it until Fazeer got a call on Saturday evening.  Ken Ali (ACTING CEO) apparently could implement this policy on his own because there is no board at CNMG and the Colin Partap eh know nutten bout dat.  Kamla say she was advised about the cost cutting, so who advise she??  By process of elimination is Ken Ali alone tell she dat??  ??? :-\

*sigh* I done.....

Dey could be right. Dey never said financial cost. It could be political cost.

Yeah, but chairman??  Ah sure each political party have they hacks they must stick somewhere to appease them, but not chairman.....

Why not chairman? Everybody want dey piece. And all dat is wha people should study.
Post by: elan on November 11, 2010, 08:19:42 AM
I hear the Minister of Foreign Affair said that the PM visited MANY COUNTRIES in the USA.   :-[  That your tax dollars were at work.
Post by: Bakes on November 11, 2010, 10:05:22 AM
I hear the Minister of Foreign Affair said that the PM visited MANY COUNTRIES in the USA.   :-[  That your tax dollars were at work.

Aye... stop nitpicking nah, maybe de man did mean COUNTIES... yuh know, Kings, Suffolk, Westchester, Nassau... lol
Post by: Jah Gol on November 11, 2010, 10:18:14 AM
nah man yuh lying on the man.  :rotfl: You too wicked .
Post by: weary1969 on November 11, 2010, 02:14:43 PM

*sigh* I done.....

Dey could be right. Dey never said financial cost. It could be political cost.

Why not chairman? Everybody want dey piece. And all dat is wha people should study.

STUDY ALL DEY DID STUDY WAS PATRICK SO TAKE DEVANT AND D REST IN THEY TAIL.
Post by: Jah Gol on November 11, 2010, 09:40:12 PM
Sell CNMG, says ex-journalist Cuffie
Originally printed at http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sell_CNMG__says_ex-journalist_Cuffie-107113958.html (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sell_CNMG__says_ex-journalist_Cuffie-107113958.html)

By Aabida Allaham
November 10, 2009
Put the Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) up for sale.

That's the call being made by former chief executive officer of Government Information Services Ltd (GISL) Maxie Cuffie.

His proposal comes in the wake of the dismissal of First Up talk-show host Fazeer Mohammed from the company last Saturday.

Speaking with the Express via telephone yesterday, Cuffie said the sale of CNMG would be a viable move by the Government, which also owns the GISL.

"Government should sell CNMG. It has no strategic value. It has no importance," he said.

"The Government has no business owning a media house and I strongly believe that the country and the employees of CNMG will be better off if it was sold. In fact, I would prescribe it. GISL serves the purpose they need... and this has been my consistent position since before this administration took office."

The former journalist, who is also a former president of the Media Association of Trinidad and Tobago (MATT), said Mohammed was one of the best morning show presenters in the country and, with his firing, the company could lose money.

"First Up was one of the most competitive programmes among all the other morning show programmes and it was partly due to Fazeer," he said.

"I also know for a fact that other media houses have tried to procure Fazeer away from CNMG. CNMG has just begun to see some profitability because of programmes like First Up."

However, Julian Rogers, a former head of news at CNMG, said he would not say "sell" the media house, but if the "private sector is ready and wants it, then yes" because CNMG has not been successful in achieving its mandate as a "flagship media enterprise".

Rogers—who was part of the original team set up to "revolutionise" the media industry in Trinidad and Tobago with the rebranding of the Trinidad and Tobago Television Company (TTT) into CNMG—was speaking via telephone from Barbados.

He said at that time, he felt the Government had the wherewithal to establish a media industry" that "drew on technology and drew on the professionals in the industry to create something that surpassed all other media houses throughout the region".

CNMG interim CEO Ken Ali has cited cost-cutting measures as the reason for Mohammed's dismissal. But many citizens questioned the move because of its timing—it came one day after a discussion between Mohammed and Foreign Affairs Minister Surujrattan Rambachan about Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar being a woman in a leadership position.

Andy Johnson, current GISL CEO and former TV6 Morning Edition host, has been presenting the First Up morning show since Mohammed's dismissal. When asked yesterday whether or not he was being paid to host the programme, he said: "I do not want to comment on that issue."

Acting Prime Minister Winston Dookeran said he is looking into the matter because he does not have all the facts. He was not aware of any cost-cutting exercises at the State-owned company.

Yesterday, rumours also circulated that TV6 investigative reporter Sasha Mohammed was tipped for the position of head of news at CNMG.

She denied any such appointment, but confirmed that she had resigned from the Caribbean Communications Network (CCN) TV6, with effect from December 31. Mohammed said she was embarking on 35 days' vacation leave following the handing in of her resignation.

CNMG falls under the direct responsibility of the Prime Minister.

Without a functioning board in place, the line Minister—which in this case is Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar—has the sole right to decide what should and should not happen in the State-owned company.
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 12, 2010, 08:41:21 AM
MR Ken Ali is comming on  Power 102FM shortly people stay tuned for this you will hear lies and more lies .
Post by: Brownsugar on November 12, 2010, 08:57:54 AM
MR Ken Ali is comming on  Power 102FM shortly people stay tuned for this you will hear lies and more lies .

Nah.  He duck dem apparently.  The show nearly done and he eh reach yet.....
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 09:09:17 AM
Sasha Mohammed?  ???

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 09:10:53 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/f9F_HXVqmVs&
Post by: elan on November 12, 2010, 09:37:59 AM
Alyuh always lieing on the PPeople. They never ever fire the man. They putting the man in a better position. Why alyuh so. First alyuh printing thing that they never ask tuh print. Now alyuh taking press releases from them and misreading them. Just how alyuh say the Madame PM say T&t must get something from helping other people and she never say so.

Alyuh like to much bacchanal.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 12, 2010, 12:13:04 PM
Sasha Mohammed?  ???

probably gettin reward for "Hart of the matter"
Post by: D.H.W on November 12, 2010, 12:15:44 PM
Sasha Mohammed?  ???

probably gettin reward for "Hart of the matter"

aaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahha  :devil:
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 02:50:58 PM
http://guardian.co.tt/commentary/columnist/2010/11/12/hurry-cane-fazeer
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 03:51:07 PM
Like all of you who are fans of FIRST UP, I am hurting too. I understand your confusion, disbelief and shock.

Confusion: because we had a really good thing going with FIRST UP. We were fulfilling our mandate to inform and educate in a different way. We wanted to be another kind of talk show. People got a chance to join in a conversation, and their positions on an issue were respected, even when we had to get firm on contributions with the potential to be libelous or defaming. We got the newsmakers to trust us by sharing the real stories behind the headlines. We tried to ask the questions to which you, the public, needed answers... And I think we did an okay job at all that.

Disbelief: because it was so very sudden. We had no idea this was coming. We thought everything was fine, given that the show was holding its own.

Shock: because our family has been ripped apart. We spent over 3 amazing and wonderful years together, building this fantastic product from the ground up. Investing time, energy, blood, sweat and tears blood. Through thick and thin, and sometimes really terrible colds and flus, we laboured to make this the morning show people LOVED waking up to; the show that set the agenda for everyone's day -- whether you were a businessman, office clerk, newshound or student. You cannot build something like this without becoming a family, and learning to love each other as though you were really related by blood.

Working with Fazeer has been an amazing journey. I consider teaming up with him for FIRST UP to be the best period in my 20 year media career, thus far. Yes, I miss him.

I want to thank each and every one who helped make our show the success it became. All of you who tuned in day after day, week after week, month after month, and year after year. To everyone who sent in texts, posts, emails and ran up their phone bills calling the show -- THANK YOU! It was your love and whole hearted participation which made it possible for us to move from the tiny radio studio to the big, swanky television set we now occupy. We will never forget that you made us possible; you made us work; and you made us succeed. THANK YOU!

Sincerely,

Jessie-May

Post by: Brownsugar on November 12, 2010, 06:39:14 PM
True trini, where did she share this??!!  Wow!!  I heard the guy on the Morning Edition now (Felipe Nogeria I think) said he was standing by Fazeer....nice that his fellow media collegues are coming out in support.

Andy Johnson should feel like an ass in that seat....well I would if I were him, but I have a conscience.....and nobody eh watching First Up no more.....well not me anyway.....never liked CNMG to begin with......
Post by: truetrini on November 12, 2010, 11:04:06 PM
Facebook
Post by: Babalawo on November 13, 2010, 12:59:08 AM
Like all of you who are fans of FIRST UP, I am hurting too. I understand your confusion, disbelief and shock.

Confusion: because we had a really good thing going with FIRST UP. We were fulfilling our mandate to inform and educate in a different way. We wanted to be another kind of talk show. People got a chance to join in a conversation, and their positions on an issue were respected, even when we had to get firm on contributions with the potential to be libelous or defaming. We got the newsmakers to trust us by sharing the real stories behind the headlines. We tried to ask the questions to which you, the public, needed answers... And I think we did an okay job at all that.

Disbelief: because it was so very sudden. We had no idea this was coming. We thought everything was fine, given that the show was holding its own.

Shock: because our family has been ripped apart. We spent over 3 amazing and wonderful years together, building this fantastic product from the ground up. Investing time, energy, blood, sweat and tears blood. Through thick and thin, and sometimes really terrible colds and flus, we laboured to make this the morning show people LOVED waking up to; the show that set the agenda for everyone's day -- whether you were a businessman, office clerk, newshound or student. You cannot build something like this without becoming a family, and learning to love each other as though you were really related by blood.

Working with Fazeer has been an amazing journey. I consider teaming up with him for FIRST UP to be the best period in my 20 year media career, thus far. Yes, I miss him.

I want to thank each and every one who helped make our show the success it became. All of you who tuned in day after day, week after week, month after month, and year after year. To everyone who sent in texts, posts, emails and ran up their phone bills calling the show -- THANK YOU! It was your love and whole hearted participation which made it possible for us to move from the tiny radio studio to the big, swanky television set we now occupy. We will never forget that you made us possible; you made us work; and you made us succeed. THANK YOU!

Sincerely,

Jessie-May

IS we time now!  :devil:
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 08:53:37 AM
'Explanation not good enough'

Story Created: Nov 9, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 9, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

VETERAN journalist Sunity Maharaj says she does not buy CNMG's explanation that Fazeer Mohammed was a victim of cost-cutting.

"Certainly, no CEO worth his/her salt would fire a popular current affairs broadcaster who provided a competitive advantage in the crowded morning-show market," she said in a statement to the Express yesterday.

"What we are seeing is the direct consequence of the confusion that has arisen as a result of the Prime Minister's decision to pull all State-owned media resources into her portfolio."

Maharaj said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's lack of clarity on the difference between CNMG as a State enterprise operating in the broadcast media sector, and GISL as the information arm of the Government, has created a situation where CNMG and GISL, despite being separate legal entities with completely different mandates, have been effectively, if not legally, merged.

"The evidence of this is the ease with which the interim CEO of CNMG (Ken Ali) has assumed the role of government information employee in travelling with the PM to New York, while the CEO of GISL (Andy Johnson) is seconded to CNMG as a talk show host," she said.

The one positive thing about this moment, though, "is that it gives the people of Trinidad and Tobago a powerful opportunity to discuss and debate the future of the national resource that we own in CNMG, as a state-of-the-art broadcast entity", she added.

"I therefore encourage all interests, especially those in the creative sector—including independent producers, media practitioners, educators, cultural activists and entities and civil society groups—to engage this debate in determining the future of CNMG."
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 08:58:52 AM
Muslims shout discrimination

Story Created: Nov 9, 2010 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Nov 10, 2010 at 10:50 PM ECT

MEMBERS of the Muslim community have taken umbrage with the controversial firing of talk-show host Fazeer Mohammed, saying this was an act of discrimination against Islam.

In a statement to the media yesterday, foreign-used vehicle importer/ broadcaster and owner of the Islamic Broadcasting Network (IBN), Inshan Ishmael, said since May 24 he has been seeing signs of discrimination, but the "the icing on the cake came with the dismissal" of Mohammed from the Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG) early morning programme First Up after being told that the company is cutting cost.

"During the tenure of the PNM, the level of discrimination was unprecedented, we saw this especially against the Hindu community. With the lead of Sat Maharaj and others, issues reached as far as the Privy Council. Even though it is wrong one can understand why the Government opposed Sat because he supported the opposition," Ishmael said.

"What is different with our case is that the majority of Muslims are supporters of the People's Partnership and we are being discriminated against. That is frightening."

Ishmael said since May 24 he has written to the Prime Minister on four different occasions on issues of religious discrimination. The first issue, he said, had to deal with the issue of state-board appointments, where few Muslims were selected. Additionally, he said the Prime Minister refused to visit any functions during the Ramadhan period "even though an invitation was given and confirmed". He claimed too that he was told the Prime Minister did not "step out to any community event on Eid day because she was too tired".

Imam of the Nur-E-Islam Masjid in El Soccoro, Maulana Shiraz Ali, meanwhile, said Mohammed was right to say that in Islam women are not supposed to be in leadership positions, but if he was dismissed because of his views that was unfortunate.

"I totally find that the dismissal of Fazeer Mohammed was out of place and I personally find that it reeks of political interference. Fazeer should be immediately reinstated and management at CNMG should look at addressing this situation as soon as possible because that explanation was not clear," Ali said.

Ali said Mohammed, who occasionally attends the Nur-e-Islam Masjid, did explain himself during the interview last Thursday with Foreign Affairs Minister Suruj Rambachan, by saying that this was not an Islamic state and his religious views did not mean he was opposed to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar being in a position of leadership.

Ali said too, that Muslims throughout Trinidad and Tobago have fully endorsed Persad-Bissessar as Prime Minister and did so during the election campaign and afterwards. However, he said he found "it very strange that Muslims are not properly represented in the Government and in State boards".

"I know they have been doing a lot and people might need to be a bit more tolerant of the whole thing, but I find it a bit alarming that there is not a proportional representation of Muslims on the State boards. However, I know there are more boards to come so I guess we will have to wait and see," he said.

Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary, Fazal Karim, however, defended his party. He said the Government has been all-inclusive in everything it does and pointed out that he met Ishmael and many other Muslims at an Eid dinner hosted by the Prime Minister at the Diplomatic Centre in September.

"I will categorically deny that there is any discrimination taking place. I am a Muslim, are you aware of that? Nizam Baksh is a Muslim, Nela Khan is a Muslim, so how could anybody say that Muslims are not represented?" he said.

On the issue of State board appointments, Karim said there were "still boards to come", besides that "there were very many Muslims on the State boards now".

Karim also pointed out that under the leadership of Persad-Bissessar, the Government arranged for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to send two of its diplomatic officers to Trinidad and Tobago in order to issue the pilgrimage (Hajj) visas this year. —AA
Title: Breaking News...
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 06:10:16 PM
COP executive says the PP MUST re-instate Fazeer.

If not it can make void the Fyzabad Declaration on which the party's foundation was based upon!

Party bosses at COP say the move was based on political expedience....

Says the move compromises the very basis of the partnership!

Look ting!
Title: Re: Breaking News...
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 06:18:19 PM
They say the recent treatment of Mohammed as the kind of governance that the people of Trinidad and Tobago rejected in the 2010 general elections.

Further the COP executive is calling on the PP government to restate their committment and to reinstate Mohammed in a spirit of fairness.

THE COP is saying that not to do so will compromise the Fyzabad Declaration, and it is encumbent on the PP to convene a meeting to discuus its promise of good governance.

Post by: Bourbon on November 13, 2010, 06:27:11 PM
 :o
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 06:29:33 PM
Fazeer is now going to host Morning Edition...lol

The National Executive of the COP considers the recent treatment of broadcaster Fazeer Mohammed as an example of the kind of governance that the people of Trinidad and Tobago rejected in the overwhelming vict...ory of the People’s Partnership in the 2010 General Elections.

Whatever the merit or demerits of the matter, the COP recognizes that Freedom of the Press is a fundamental right which must be guarded jealously.

For this reason the conduct of employment relations with media personnel must be exercised in a manner which does not taint such action with the brush of political interference.

The unity of our multicultural society is too valuable to sacrifice at the altar of political expediency. In the circumstances, the People’s Partnership Government must not only unambiguously restate its commitment to a free press but, must also, demonstrate fairness by the re instatement of Mr. Mohammed by CNMG.

To do otherwise will be tantamount to denying the Fyzabad Declaration, which is the foundation of the People’s Partnership.

The promise of good governance now makes it incumbent upon the Leaders of the People’s Partnership to urgently convene a meeting to chart a way forward to keep this cardinal commitment to the people of Trinidad and Tobago.
Post by: Bourbon on November 13, 2010, 06:32:59 PM
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1429334261397&comments

Buh...UNC have 21 seats by themselves....so.....
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2010, 06:51:49 PM
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1429334261397&comments

Buh...UNC have 21 seats by themselves....so.....

combined dont they have ah special majority or someting, would they really want give up the chance to f**k wit d constitution. I have no doubt  it have characters in d pp who lickin dey chops to start dat process, jus like Manning not to long ago
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 13, 2010, 06:57:48 PM
If the COP was to break their ties with PP right now it would not look good the party,the country do not need that kind of shit righ now ,and if that brother get back his job then there would be a lot of back stabing going on .
Not even six facking months how can alyuh see bout people business darm .
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2010, 07:15:05 PM
Who smart idea it was to fire Fazeer, stueps. Look at the gigantic back lash that cause, stueps.
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 07:18:02 PM

Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2010, 07:43:44 PM

CNMG just lose they best Host. now TV6 must be jumping for joy
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 13, 2010, 07:46:35 PM
That is to show how nasty politricks is .
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2010, 07:50:50 PM
Who smart idea it was to fire Fazeer, stueps. Look at the gigantic back lash that cause, stueps.

is the same thin skin shit from las time rong when bas was PM, they never dealt well wit criticism back den eddar, we get so caught up wit how petty manning is, dat we forget how thin skin d last unc govt was and apparently still is :-\, dis is one straight out dey play book,  Julien Roger v2
Post by: zuluwarrior on November 13, 2010, 08:01:49 PM
The Prime Minister thought when she blind side the nation with Batman raiding I-Spy them, people would forget about Fazeer not realizing the shit was underminding now i woul like to see how they going to handle the test of time .
Post by: weary1969 on November 13, 2010, 08:36:04 PM

is the same thin skin shit from las time rong when bas was PM, they never dealt well wit criticism back den eddar, we get so caught up wit how petty manning is, dat we forget how thin skin d last unc govt was and apparently still is :-\, dis is one straight out dey play book,  Julien Roger v2

Most sense I read in a longgggggggggggggggg longggggggggggggggggg time. It was bout Manning and yeah d PNM squander money. AS BM does say it good 4 we.
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2010, 08:56:47 PM

Most sense I read in a longgggggggggggggggg longggggggggggggggggg time. It was bout Manning and yeah d PNM squander money. AS BM does say it good 4 we.
while I didn't vote for dem I didn' really want to vote for patrick eddar, but did so wit ah heavy conflicted and unwilling heart ............shit is shit is shit is shit and I call it wen I see it....................we in real trouble in dis place oui.....real trouble :'( :'(
Post by: weary1969 on November 13, 2010, 09:02:06 PM

while I didn't vote for dem I didn' really want to vote for patrick eddar, but did so wit ah heavy conflicted and unwilling heart ............shit is shit is shit is shit and I call it wen I see it....................we in real trouble in dis place oui.....real trouble :'( :'(

SINCE 1995 I have been steupsing b4/during and after and u know I could steups real LOUDDDDDDD but I voting 4 d PNM. Dis time I was a proud owner of d vex wit Manning juzzy until another NAR emerge we stuck wit d PNM.
Post by: sammy on November 13, 2010, 09:09:15 PM
Time for kamla to get rid of ken ali and suruj, and after that start to run the country she self.

1st thing, get the 100 million they promise for the sick children into the fund so that kids & their parents dont have to beg all over for money. They should've done this b4 this stupid laptop thing.
Post by: mukumsplau on November 13, 2010, 09:14:12 PM
who exactly is on the COP executive? dooks and anil name on dat paper? that'd b interesting...
Post by: lefty on November 13, 2010, 09:15:21 PM
Time for kamla to get rid of ken ali and suruj, and after that start to run the country she self.

1st thing, get the 100 million they promise for the sick children into the fund so that kids & their parents dont have to beg all over for money. They should've done this b4 this stupid laptop thing.

now that I can get behind :beermug: d res make sense too....so again :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on November 13, 2010, 09:17:29 PM

NEWSFLASH Kamla is d female Panday she doh wuk. As Min of Ed she did nutten. Dooks was doin all d wuk in d ULF days so if dat is yuh plan A find a plan B.
Post by: D.H.W on November 13, 2010, 09:31:46 PM
All this is manning fault you know :devil: alyuh feel i joking  :) If manning did behave him self, we would not be in this mess now. Wanna be dictator  :P , he cah even maco good
Post by: AirMan on November 13, 2010, 09:34:09 PM
Martin Daly wrote a good piece about "Firing Fazeer"...http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commentaries/Firing_Fazeer-107827524.html

and of course I am against him being fired.
Post by: weary1969 on November 13, 2010, 09:54:41 PM
All this is manning fault you know :devil: alyuh feel i joking  :) If manning did behave him self, we would not be in this mess now. Wanna be dictator  :P , he cah even maco good

Dictators doh call early elections pigheaded buffons do. Manning is a pigheaded buffon dat is y we in this mess. He rather take d PNM into oposition than give up d party that eh dictatorship dat is being pigheaded.

Dat being said all yuh is buffon as well because ALL YUH focus all YUH attention on buffon A and eh study the ultimate pick up side of buffons. All who vote 4 UNC/COP/TOP/WHATEVER MCLEOD CALL HIMSELF HAVE WE IN D ULTIMATE MESS.
Post by: Babalawo on November 13, 2010, 10:40:29 PM
This Fazeer issue wont go away till after his debut in December on TV6.  The spy thing will be go away after monday.
Post by: truetrini on November 13, 2010, 10:43:24 PM
This Fazeer issue wont go away till after his debut in December on TV6.  The spy thing will be go away after monday.

The spy thing is a major breach though and it really bad for the image of the PNM too
Post by: Babalawo on November 13, 2010, 11:40:48 PM

The spy thing is a major breach though and it really bad for the image of the manning's PNM too

i just waiting to see if people will actually get arrested if this is really illegal.  it will be all political talk just like no one arrested for the church in guanapo yet
Post by: sammy on November 14, 2010, 08:18:00 AM
manning not breaking no jailllllllll.

Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2010, 03:00:18 PM
manning not breaking no jailllllllll.

U MEAN MAKING
Title: Re: Johnson walks out talk-show job at CNMG
Post by: truetrini on November 16, 2010, 12:13:59 AM
Johnson walks out talk-show job at CNMG
By Aabida Allaham

Story Created: Nov 15, 2010 at 10:48 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Nov 15, 2010 at 10:48 PM ECT )

ONE week after hosting First Up at the Caribbean New Media Group (CNMG), veteran journalist and chief executive officer of the Government Information Services Ltd (GISL), Andy Johnson, has walked off the job.

"I was holding on and I decided that a week was as much as I would give," he said yesterday in a telephone interview with the Express.

Some of the other reasons he cited for leaving was that he has to maintain his integrity and "I cannot continue to get up at 3 a.m. and come host a show in the morning for three hours and then go and do my job as CEO at GISL."

When asked if he was concerned about the ramifications of his decision, he said he "was not afraid" as he believed it was in the best interest of the show.

Johnson, who has been replacing dismissed talk show host Fazeer Mohammed since November 8, was said to be the official replacement by CNMG's interim CEO, Ken Ali.

In fact, during an interview with the Express last week, Ali said, "That's why I brought in Andy Johnson to the show because he has a track record. He brought his previous show (TV6 Morning Edition) to the number one show and I believe that he can do it with (First Up)".

And upon his return from New York, where he reported on Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's receipt of the Glamour magazine 2010 Women of the Year award, Ali had said Johnson would permanently co-host the morning programme and the company had other plans for Mohammed in the area of sport and youth.

When the Express contacted Johnson after he first appeared on First Up last week, he insisted that he "was asked" to host the show until a replacement was found and it was never meant to be a permanent fixture.

At the weekend, however, promos were aired on Sweet 100 FM and Talk City 91. 9 FM indicating that Johnson was now the new co-host of First Up alongside Jesse May Ventour.

When the Express contacted Ali about Johnson not being on the show yesterday, he said, "I really have nothing more to say to the media on this matter."

Johnson's co-host, Jesse May Ventour, however, said she was never told that Johnson was not coming to work yesterday and added, "I was just as shocked as everybody else when he did not turn up."

Ventour said she did not know if she was getting a new co-host as she was never informed about Johnson's arrival or departure.

"When I left work on Friday, I was of the opinion that we would be working together for some time so I honestly can't say more than that as I don't know anything," she said.

Meanwhile, the Express was reliably informed that Hema Ramkissoon, who has hosted the show in the past, was offered up as a suggestion to co-host the show. But when contacted via telephone yesterday, Ramkissoon said she was never contacted about it.

Post by: sammy on November 16, 2010, 08:06:55 AM
ken ali digging a deep hole for himself.
Post by: weary1969 on November 16, 2010, 10:41:56 AM
ken ali digging a deep hole for himself.

DEEP DEEP HOLE BUT WE IS D LAND OF D LIMBO.
Post by: sammy on December 03, 2010, 10:06:02 AM
Well fazeer was back on tv this morning on CCN6 morning edition. He was interviewing Gally and LP.
Glad to see him back but i wonder if Joel get a promotion?