Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on November 13, 2010, 09:23:09 PM

Title: Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on November 13, 2010, 09:23:09 PM
Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors
T&T Express

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Russell Latapy is trying to have his strongest available squad for the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals by inviting six additional players to join the Soca Warriors line-up.

Of those, San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen, Joe Public midfielder Hayden Tinto and ex-English-based utility player Silvio Spann have taken up the offer to join the 20 locally-based players already in training.

But LA Galaxy midfielder Chris Birchall has not yet confirmed his availability, having been invited to the national squad for the Caribbean Cup later this month, while European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Darryl Roberts are definitely unavailable.

Birchall's LA Galaxy play Dallas in the MLS semi-finals today for the right to contest the final on November 21 in Toronto.

The Warriors leave on Tuesday November 23 for the Caribbean Cup, which takes place in Martinique from November 26-December 5.

T&T will open the tournament on November 26, against either Antigua and Barbuda or Cuba. They then face hosts Martinique on November 28 and Grenada on November 30.

The four semi-finalists will qualify for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup, while the two finalists will battle on December 5 for a first prize of US$120,000.

"It appears that Chris Birchall may not  be available, but we are not yet counting him out as of now," team manager David Muhammad told Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) media officer Shaun Fuentes yesterday.

"And Khaleem and Darryl have  indicated to us that they are definitely not available as their seasons are in full swing and the tournament does not fall within the FIFA calendar.

"But we are confident in the ability of the current squad of players. We saw for ourselves that they are capable of producing the goods and delivering results as was the case in the recent three matches (against Haiti, Guyana and St Vincent and the Grenadines).

"The final 20-man T&T squad for the tournament will be announced next week prior to the team's departure for Martinique," Muhammad added.

Latapy's current squad includes the 20 players who finished unbeaten by bettering St Vincent (6-2), Guyana (2-1) and Haiti (4-0) to win the win the Digicel Cup Group F qualifying series a week ago at Manny Ramjohn Stadium in Marabella.

Trinidad and Tobago's senior team will begin their final leg of preparations with a 4 p.m. training session tomorrow at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The likes of Jovin Jones, Lester Peltier and Clyde Leon, who were carrying injuries in the latter part of Group F action, are on the road to full recovery in time for the upcoming matches in Martinique.

Today, Latapy will be monitoring closely the encounter between Antigua/Barbuda and Cuba as the result is likely to determine T&T's opponents in their opening match of the tournament on November 26.

Both Cuba and Antigua/Barbuda are locked on four points each after their two Group G games to date.
Title: Re: Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors
Post by: Cocorite on November 13, 2010, 09:33:02 PM
Latapy boosts squad: Spann, Glen back with Soca Warriors
T&T Express

"It appears that Chris Birchall may not  be available, but we are not yet counting him out as of now," team manager David Muhammad told Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) media officer Shaun Fuentes yesterday.

"And Khaleem and Darryl have  indicated to us that they are definitely not available as their seasons are in full swing and the tournament does not fall within the FIFA calendar.

Aye allyuh look. . .We as fans are being treated with some sort of explanation and communication about team selection. . .wah going on here boy. . .jess now dey go change the TTFF?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 13, 2010, 09:35:36 PM
I'm not one for a conspiracy but why is Birchall the one doubtful when Glenn's San Jose can be in the same final on the 21st should they beat Colorado?

The entire Birchall saga seems fishy... I dont think Latapy even wants him there...he's never fancied him.. he thinks he gives the ball away too much and cant knock "the brand" Latapy wants.... but Latapy you need someone to sit and keep shape and protect the defense.. and no way in hell Leon or Trent can do a better job than The Birch

Until I see Chris in a final squad training with the rest of the boys then I'll believe it.... and If he isnt selected then I hope I hear the words from Birchy's mouth itself .. not that c**t Muhammed

If the final is the 21st and our first game is the 26th why is that such a problem? The boy is fit, training at a better level and with better coaches than Trinidad national team itself... you think he will have trouble adjusting in a team ready for a f**king Caribbean Cup?

If thats the shit they coming with I will find out the truth and I will expose them on their shit

Allyuh TTFF shithongs who reading this..make sure Birchall in that team...and give him the armband while you at it...he is the Future.

CHRIS ROCKET BIRCHALL 7 LEGEND...110% WILL DIE FOR THE SHIRT...STOP TREATING MY PLAYER LIKE SHIT
Post by: andre samuel on November 13, 2010, 10:21:06 PM
SMag, u have to remember that while Birchall is an integral member of the Galaxy, Glen is a fringe player at San Jose, so that is why Glen is available for selection.
Post by: weary1969 on November 13, 2010, 10:23:04 PM
SPANNNNNNNNNNNNNN  ::)
Post by: fish on November 13, 2010, 10:23:54 PM
Glen wasn't a fringe player. Glen was startin up til he get injured. If he wasnt, he was first off the bench. Sealy not getting love either. Sealy playing wicked midfield for San Jose.
Post by: WarriorSaint on November 13, 2010, 10:33:55 PM
I'm not one for a conspiracy but why is Birchall the one doubtful when Glenn's San Jose can be in the same final on the 21st should they beat Colorado?

The entire Birchall saga seems fishy... I dont think Latapy even wants him there...he's never fancied him.. he thinks he gives the ball away too much and cant knock "the brand" Latapy wants.... but Latapy you need someone to sit and keep shape and protect the defense.. and no way in hell Leon or Trent can do a better job than The Birch

Until I see Chris in a final squad training with the rest of the boys then I'll believe it.... and If he isnt selected then I hope I hear the words from Birchy's mouth itself .. not that c**t Muhammed

If the final is the 21st and our first game is the 26th why is that such a problem? The boy is fit, training at a better level and with better coaches than Trinidad national team itself... you think he will have trouble adjusting in a team ready for a f**king Caribbean Cup?

If thats the shit they coming with I will find out the truth and I will expose them on their shit

Allyuh TTFF shithongs who reading this..make sure Birchall in that team...and give him the armband while you at it...he is the Future.

CHRIS ROCKET BIRCHALL 7 LEGEND...110% WILL DIE FOR THE SHIRT...STOP TREATING MY PLAYER LIKE SHIT

I TOTALLY AGREE!!!! It too damn suspect and I am not appreciating it. At first glance I thought "well ok, maybe he wouldnt be able to play for us given the final etc etc" but looking into it it just seems like more BS. Why Birch hadda get hate on so? Too damn fishy.

He is one of my favourite players, and not just because of the goal (thats a big part though  ;D) STOP HATING ON HIM!!!!!!!!
Post by: WarriorSaint on November 13, 2010, 10:45:06 PM
And while we are here, what about Jake Thompson? Havnt heard anything about him. Isnt he good enough to get another first team call since we are playing youngsters?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 13, 2010, 10:54:15 PM
SMag, u have to remember that while Birchall is an integral member of the Galaxy, Glen is a fringe player at San Jose, so that is why Glen is available for selection.

it still makes no sense..even If Birchy started the final on the 21st he should be in the TnT squad... they just trying the same excuses over and over again

Why were Glenn,James and Marshall in the squad when we played Jamaica but no Birchy?

I can guarantee that Chris Birchall will not be selected by Latapy and the puppet Muhammed will come out and say Birchall's participation in the final left Latapy with no choice but to choose a replacement as time was up to select a squad and he wouldnt have known the fitness nor form of Birchall in time...(shit, I giving them ideas)

when the truth would be Latapy dislikes Birchall's playing style and thinks he's not good enough

I'd rather Latapy say that than the lies we are being told over and over again .. but of course he not ballsy enough to cut the man and admit it... so I will make it the f**k out... who vex loss

Trini Ultras in the works

Post by: just cool on November 13, 2010, 10:54:32 PM
surprised to see he included darrly and hyland in his plans.
Post by: just cool on November 13, 2010, 11:03:01 PM

it still makes no sense..even If Birchy started the final on the 21st he should be in the TnT squad... they just trying the same excuses over and over again

Why were Glenn,James and Marshall in the squad when we played Jamaica but no Birchy?

I can guarantee that Chris Birchall will not be selected by Latapy and the puppet Muhammed will come out and say Birchall's participation in the final left Latapy with no choice but to choose a replacement as time was up to select a squad and he wouldnt have known the fitness nor form of Birchall in time...(shit, I giving them ideas)

when the truth would be Latapy dislikes Birchall's playing style and thinks he's not good enough

I'd rather Latapy say that than the lies we are being told over and over again .. but of course he not ballsy enough to cut the man and admit it... so I will make it the f**k out... who vex loss

No disrespect SM, but isn't latas ah friend of yuh dad, and don't he come by some time? ah guess what i'm getting @ is, if i was in such a position to sit in with the magician , i would defo ask him what was his beef with CB and why is he being overlooked constantly.

IMO, i don't think latas hate birchall, unless there's something you know that yuh don't really want to divulge, but if not, then the same could be said for roberts, hyland and collin samuel. i remember birchall get called up @ least five times under lastas while hyland roberts and samuels suffered.

Post by: fitzinho on November 13, 2010, 11:08:40 PM
Why alyuh dont ask Birchall himself. In this day and age alyuh dont know nuttin bout Twitter or wha??
Post by: Babalawo on November 13, 2010, 11:35:41 PM
Why alyuh dont ask Birchall himself. In this day and age alyuh dont know nuttin bout Twitter or wha??
na man it only have them thing in america n england. we primitive
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 14, 2010, 12:06:02 AM

No disrespect SM, but isn't latas ah friend of yuh dad, and don't he come by some time? ah guess what i'm getting @ is, if i was in such a position to sit in with the magician , i would defo ask him what was his beef with CB and why is he being overlooked constantly.

IMO, i don't think latas hate birchall, unless there's something you know that yuh don't really want to divulge, but if not, then the same could be said for roberts, hyland and collin samuel. i remember birchall get called up @ least five times under lastas while hyland roberts and samuels suffered.

I've never said he hates Birchall

He does not like what he can bring to the team in terms of ball possession and the fantasy brand Latapy thinks we can play

Since Latapy has been in total control has Birchall started a game under him?

I dont see the need to make up all these excuses over the past few months about Birchall when all he has to say is I dont think he is good enough and does not fit in my plans.... why he doubting himself as a coach to say it? because he knows deep down that he's being stubborn and even though Chris isnt the prettiest footballer he does provide the dirty work and commitment needed in Central Midfield

but every coach has his own phylosiphy... Obviously Latapy own is keep the ball, pass the ball, move off the ball, score goals, flick, dazzle , magic up the place.... but umm.. we loss the ball.. what next? plan B? Let the Back 4 deal with it?

Plan B= Plan Birchall

Post by: injunchile on November 14, 2010, 04:47:46 AM
Glen Sealy is the new boy on the block that we should be shouting about in midfield, Did you see the boy last nite on FSC.
Post by: just cool on November 14, 2010, 05:36:48 AM

He does not like what he can bring to the team in terms of ball possession and the fantasy brand Latapy thinks we can play

I dont see the need to make up all these excuses over the past few months about Birchall when all he has to say is I dont think he is good enough and does not fit in my plans.... why he doubting himself as a coach to say it? because he knows deep down that he's being stubborn and even though Chris isnt the prettiest footballer he does provide the dirty work and commitment needed in Central Midfield

but every coach has his own phylosiphy... Obviously Latapy own is keep the ball, pass the ball, move off the ball, score goals, flick, dazzle , magic up the place.... but umm.. we loss the ball.. what next? plan B? Let the Back 4 deal with it?

Plan B= Plan Birchall

Ah understand what yuh saying SM, and i was actually saying the same thing but i guess i used the wrong choice of words to convey what i meant.

i meant to say he doesn't fancy birchall's style of play, and not his person. as for the rest of the post, i must say yuh preaching to the chior, BC i defo believe that birchall is better than leon and he should be starter in his stead, and latas need ah clean up man who could actually score ah fackin goal, whereas leon and noel falls short in that department..
Post by: Ngozi on November 14, 2010, 05:48:59 AM
Not defending Latas here but the truth is he cyah call everybody else he will disrupt everything that he seemingly built here so far.
Call it a conspiracy theory but I believe Latas "beef" go back with Birchie in 2006 when ""this english boy " seemingly take the "magician" place in midfield because of what his defensive efforts and work rate  brings to the team ..... also this talk about Birchie not keeping possession  is silly that's exactly what he does he works hard for it and keeps it simple he doesn't try the extravagant pass he keeps it simple and normally gives it up to yorke and them boys to make things happen in short he plays to his strength so that is bogus.
Also in terms of Sealey this midfield situation is a recent thing he's always played striker and in times we've called him back he has been a bit inconsistent but after this run in the mls definitely deserves a call up and my main reason for it is because Sealey has something that alot of our players don't have in the midfield the fella is extremely f**king strong ... something that our midfielders seem to lack.
Getting excited about possibilities but not quite yet.
Don't want to sound like a devil's advocate but what does calling Spann into the squad bring?
Never has there been a more inconsistent player!
Post by: lefty on November 14, 2010, 05:53:17 AM

Plan B= Plan Birchall

before u get mih wrong, I not arguing against birchall, I find he should be d main CDM but, the team and I mean the whole team show real defensive hustle when they lost the ball...............against Haiti atleast..............so while Birchall should be  d main man, I ent tink Latapy taking ah lacks approach to defense..."THESE DAYS" atleast ,given d cutasses we get recently and d loud noise about d lack of defensive ability
Post by: lefty on November 14, 2010, 06:01:08 AM
Not defending Latas here but the truth is he cyah call everybody else he will disrupt everything that he seemingly built here so far.
Call it a conspiracy theory but I believe Latas "beef" go back with Birchie in 2006 when ""this english boy " seemingly take the "magician" place in midfield because of what his defensive efforts and work rate  brings to the team .....

this what I believe too, but den you hear all kinda different talk as to why he only get 20 mins..............including "he didn' want to play he wanted to coach ???" so...................
Post by: dreamer on November 14, 2010, 06:52:52 AM

Glad you realize that the persecution complex you have been harboring and pushing over and over and over as it related to Darryl Roberts was ........................................

........probably just in yuh head padnah. The truth is coming out now.
Post by: royal on November 14, 2010, 07:18:35 AM
no Sealy in midfield?no Boucaud?Jlloyd Smauel still injured? bcuz he still not playing for his club.Ah wonder if Latas should ah have a look at those conference boys in England to see where they at.
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2010, 08:00:56 AM
Ah wonder if Glen even ready to play. He jus coming of ah hamstring injury, and we all know how he injury prone ahready.
Post by: Ngozi on November 14, 2010, 08:03:23 AM
Ah wonder if Glen even ready to play. He jus coming of ah hamstring injury, and we all know how he injury prone ahready.
A  more curious question is if San Jose on a playoff run, why would they release him to the national team when he just coming off injury than keep him to help the team progress further?
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on November 14, 2010, 08:47:02 AM
well San Jose lost last night i think he should call up Sealey top play in the midfield and Galaxy game is tonight so if they lost Birchall should be available.
Post by: Fyzoman on November 14, 2010, 08:49:23 AM
if you is ah "boss" natiional player warming up on the sideline (either in Toyota Park or Nashville??) and de lil whiteboy (who help yuh get to de world cup) get sub out (for no mother c&^t apparent reason mind you) and you is de first man he walk off the field and meet (because yuh stop warming up and watching de game), would you acknowledge him?

a lil nod, a lil good game, a lil hand held out for a low 'five'?

Latas dem cyah tie me up!!

watch eh, Chris go win de MLS and cyah make de bench for de team he help take to de world cup, just watch...
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2010, 08:53:52 AM
well San Jose lost last night i think he should call up Sealey top play in the midfield and Galaxy game is tonight so if they lost Birchall should be available.

is not home and away, playoffs?
Post by: frico on November 14, 2010, 09:28:52 AM
Seems as though RL is a stubborn bloke and does not want to change his approach to his philosophy of coaching,my guess is that he feels CB does not fit into his type of game,a skillful,possession type of football.That type of Brazillian game has long gone and RL should understand that a variety of players are always a good thing,games can change very quickly and coaches should be capable of having personnel to deal with every situation and different types of opposition.RL approach to the game seems to be one tracked,I hope he is not but it appears so,there is no reason why CB was left out of all the friendlies that we played recently,RL has treated CB badly ever since he took over.TT teams over the years have always lacked steel and aggression,the one man with those qualities is being ignored by RL,the thing is TT needs a player like him in mid-field.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 14, 2010, 09:40:00 AM
is spann even fit ? >:( when last he played a game
Post by: frico on November 14, 2010, 09:58:41 AM
Good question mate but even if he was playing I feel that Chris Birchall should be called to play for TT,lets hope Latapy isn't getting carried away with 2 inflated results against a Vincy team missing some of their players and an under 23 Haiti team,we could just about deal with Guyana.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 14, 2010, 10:21:02 AM
Good question mate but even if he was playing I feel that Chris Birchall should be called to play for TT,lets hope Latapy isn't getting carried away with 2 inflated results against a Vincy team missing some of their players and an under 23 Haiti team,we could just about deal with Guyana.
he just joined connection the other day  ahh latapy
Post by: davidephraim on November 14, 2010, 11:05:30 AM
surprised indeed but it was like a breath of fresh air hearing their names. Keep em coming and I totally feel de same way B/S mag on de Birchall Issue.
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 14, 2010, 11:13:14 AM

yeah right latapy was a player...  so don't tell me he eh know that hyland and roberts would not be released ... the competition not on a fifa date  he just call them fuh so ... they not in his plans
Post by: Trinimassive on November 14, 2010, 11:17:26 AM
no Sealy in midfield?no Boucaud?Jlloyd Smauel still injured? bcuz he still not playing for his club.Ah wonder if Latas should ah have a look at those conference boys in England to see where they at.

Nope

Not unless they are going to be available way before the cup. We at least need to have a core player pool of local players to choose from who are available more often than not compared to the players playing in England.
Post by: Controversial on November 14, 2010, 11:50:28 AM
despite what allyuh say, spann is a nice edition, there is no better dead ball specialist and spann will come good, he makes an excellent utility player
Post by: fitzinho on November 14, 2010, 12:12:36 PM
na man it only have them thing in america n england. we primitive
LOL...sometimes i does wonder
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2010, 12:27:18 PM
despite what allyuh say, spann is a nice edition, there is no better dead ball specialist and spann will come good, he makes an excellent utility player

Really? On what evidence?
Post by: Controversial on November 14, 2010, 12:35:42 PM

spann has always been an excellent dead ball specialist ever since. in terms of currently, he just signed on locally so i can't judge there. but every time over the many years i have seen spann play he has always had the versatility to play many positions and did a decent job in the back last time he was with the national team.

i don't know what kind of evidence you are looking for. where is the evidence latas should even be coach of the national team? that is the kind of evidence we should be asking about.
Post by: palos on November 14, 2010, 12:42:40 PM

Yuh should perhaps ask what edition he referrin to
Post by: Tallman on November 14, 2010, 12:53:40 PM

spann has always been an excellent dead ball specialist ever since. in terms of currently, he just signed on locally so i can't judge there. but every time over the many years i have seen spann play he has always had the versatility to play many positions and did a decent job in the back last time he was with the national team.

i don't know what kind of evidence you are looking for. where is the evidence latas should even be coach of the national team? that is the kind of evidence we should be asking about.

If he's de best dead ball specialist we have, I would be hoping that
a) He has scored some goals directly from free kicks
b) He has setup goals from corners and free kicks
c) His free kicks and corners are of a consistent quality and are typically goalscoring threats and/or creates panic in the opposition's 18/6 yd box.

As a utility player (e.g. Rougier), I would expect that he can be successfully used as genuine attacker, midfielder, or defender.
Post by: Dinner Mints on November 14, 2010, 01:07:27 PM
Wha bout the other 92% of de game when de ball still alive?
Post by: Touches on November 14, 2010, 01:20:30 PM
what if birchall is still a victim of the black list.

I mean Jack bring him here and spring board the fairy tale story....only for him to go with he teammates and do the lawsuit.

All the scabs who get payoff back with the side in some capacity.

The rest retire or persona non grata.

Birchie still on that Black/Jack list......latapy doh like him is a good excuse to keep him dey.
Post by: maxg on November 14, 2010, 01:21:21 PM

Ltapy will sub on Spann, who will ultimately track it and exterminate it...Spann ? just so?
I guess a English conference side, just couldn't afford to keep a Specialist on the field or payroll..but we can, when we get a free kick we will sub him on, and play the rest of the game with 10...wta..nobody else on the National team cyah kick the 2 free kick we does get and rarely score with ? ...ah like Spann eh, buh yuh leave him out so long, look at ah bunch ah other ppl, and then at the least active & lowest point ah the man career, yuh saying he still better than all the active ppl yuh see ? the man was way better than everybody ever knew.. :D
Post by: dreamer on November 14, 2010, 02:23:33 PM
what if birchall is still a victim of the black list.

I mean Jack bring him here and spring board the fairy tale story....only for him to go with he teammates and do the lawsuit.

All the scabs who get payoff back with the side in some capacity.

The rest retire or persona non grata.

Birchie still on that Black/Jack list......latapy doh like him is a good excuse to keep him dey.

Wisdom again. Iz like a quasi-blacklist ... at least .... not officially on de version for public release.
Post by: Spursy on November 14, 2010, 02:37:40 PM
You really have to look at the MLS for housing the League where it is clashing with a Major Caribbean Competition.

Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2010, 02:52:20 PM

DAT SO EASY 2 ANSWER EVEN A CAVEMAN.... Anybody see him use 1 ah he dead ball 4 W?
Title: Senior Warriors begin final leg of DCC preparations.
Post by: FireBrand on November 14, 2010, 05:36:12 PM
Senior Warriors begin final leg of DCC preparations.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior team will begin its final leg of preparations at home on Monday before departing for Martinique on  November 23 to contest the Finals of the Digicel Caribbean Cup.

And today (Sunday) head coach Russell Latapy will be monitoring closely the Group H encounter between Antigua/Barbuda and Cuba as the result is likely to determine T&T’s opponent in their opening match of the tournament on November 26. Both Cuba and Antigua/Barbuda are locked on four points each after their two games thus far.

With training set for 4pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Latapy’s team will not play a friendly international on Wednesday which is a FIFA date. Latapy has invited three additional players to the squad which includes the twenty players who were already involved in the recent Digicel Cup Group F phase during which T&T won all three matches at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium.

The three additional players include San Jose Earthquakes striker Cornell Glen and Joe Public’s Hayden Tinto as well as ex-English-based player Silvio Spann who is now attached to W Connection in the T&T Pro League. The likes of Joevin Jones, Lester Peltier and Clyde Leon who were carrying injuries in the latter part of Group F action, are on the road to full recovery in time for the upcoming slate of matches in Martinque.

T&T will open on November 26, they then face Martinique on November 28 and Grenada on November 30. The four finalists will qualify for the 2011 Concacaf Gold Cup while the two finalists will battle on December 5 for a first prize of USD120,000.

LA Galaxy midfielder Chris Birchall has not confirmed his availability, having been invited to join the squad for the Digicel Cup Finals. The same goes for European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Darryl Roberts.

“It appears that Chris Birchall may not  be available but we are not yet counting him out as of now and Khaleem and Darryl have  indicated to us that they are definitely not available as their seasons are in full swing and the tournament does not fall within the FIFA calendar,” team manager David Muhammad told TTFF Media.

Birchall’s La Galaxy plays Dallas in the MLS Cup on Sunday for the right to contest the Final on November 21 in Toronto.

“But we are confident in the ability of the current squad of players. We saw for ourselves that they are capable of producing the goods and delivering results as was the case in the recent three matches. The final 20-man squad for the tournament will be announced next week prior to the team’s departure for Martinique,” Muhammad added.

In related news, Digicel currently have Sunderland academy coaches in Antigua and Barbuda conducting coaching clinics and taking in the Digicel Cup action. And  Sunderland Academy assistant manager Kevin Ball coach lamented the fact that Caribbean players are finding it hard to become seasoned Premier League players and as such should T&T duo Dwight Yorke and Kenwyne Jones should be emulated by regional players.

"Any player in the region could always look up to the likes of Kenwyne (Jones), who I have worked with at the club, to say to themselves that if Kenwyne can do it I can do it. We had Dwight Yorke at the club as well and he is a fantastic ambassador for football in general,’ said Ball.

Ball pointed out. "One thing that we have noticed over the days is how much they (the youngsters and coaches) want to become good footballers and become good coaches. They are prepared to listen and to learn from other persons, which is vitally important."
Post by: fish on November 14, 2010, 06:05:10 PM
San Jose now get knock out. No Sealy in d call up  ???
Post by: maxg on November 14, 2010, 07:07:40 PM
Doh need he ? just the other fella who couldn't play due to injury cause if wasn't for he injury, he woulda make the bench....mighta even get a run out and all now San Jose woulda be in.. ::)

when is the deadline again ? Stern, Dwight and Dog might be ready...2 weeks, plenty time man.....2006 reunite minus Jack & Sanch, dem dun listed ahready anyway.. :rotfl:
Post by: soccerman on November 14, 2010, 07:33:27 PM

Well let's see now....he's an excellent addition to boost the depth of our squad and he's not on any blacklist.
Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2010, 07:58:02 PM

Well let's see now....he's an excellent addition to boost the depth of our squad and he's not on any blacklist.

Because he could not make d make d grade in 2006 but he does get betta wit age.
Post by: fish on November 14, 2010, 08:06:56 PM
Doh need he ? just the other fella who couldn't play due to injury cause if wasn't for he injury, he woulda make the bench....mighta even get a run out and all now San Jose woulda be in.. ::)

when is the deadline again ? Stern, Dwight and Dog might be ready...2 weeks, plenty time man.....2006 reunite minus Jack & Sanch, dem dun listed ahready anyway.. :rotfl:

Ah sure u aint see d man sweat.
Post by: just cool on November 14, 2010, 08:13:55 PM

Glad you realize that the persecution complex you have been harboring and pushing over and over and over as it related to Darryl Roberts was ........................................

........probably just in yuh head padnah. The truth is coming out now.
What truth?? stuueeepppsssss, you like tuh fool yuh self eh, the fact iz latas ignored good players in the last campaign and paid the price for his stubbornness!

after his 2nd appointment he started the wid the same BS and continued on his losing streak, it's only when he saw that his paper was in jeopardy and the men whom he swore by was ah waste only letting him down every time he gambled on them, suddenly had an epiphany to play the players that he refused to look @, for what reason him and god knows.

now he realize the error of his ways decide to use men who will get the job done. i glad the fella came to his senses, now he only have tuh rid the team of laborer # one clyde leon, who cayr kick a shot on goal to save his life.

i doh know what you talking bout, BC even the dim of sight could see that hyland and roberts is ah huge asset to the team instead of some of the bums he insisted on! this is just plain ole common sense.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on November 14, 2010, 08:34:05 PM

:rotfl: allyuh have real bad mind sah
Post by: weary1969 on November 14, 2010, 09:25:36 PM

:rotfl: allyuh have real bad mind sah

No dey understand d game.
Post by: kiffysmooth on November 14, 2010, 09:40:09 PM
I making an assumption, but based on some past conversations I have had with Sealy, I may not be surprised if it may be for personal reasons why Latas may have left him out! I will not say more on this matter!  As for Spann; I never was really impressed with his fitball.  Never ah clean trap from him, and his confidence has been lacking for a few goos years now.  He remember him being descent on the dead balls, but this was 2 years ago.  I would like to get a recent dead ball update on him.  I am sure there is not much to pull from.  Anyways, I still wish him all the best and hopefully he might be able to bring some more ummpphh to the team.  (I would use him as a right or left back, providing we playing with 4 in d back)
Post by: Fyzoman on November 14, 2010, 09:55:12 PM
i eh even waiting for de game to finish...Galaxy out, Birchall available, leh we mother c*&t see if dey call him up.
Post by: D.H.W on November 14, 2010, 10:00:47 PM
i eh even waiting for de game to finish...Galaxy out, Birchall available, leh we mother c*&t see if dey call him up.

They say he aint contact them yet. So leh we see what happen now. If he aint get call up, i say its Bullshit
Post by: jimmel14 on November 14, 2010, 10:12:18 PM
Well since LA just lost lets see what happens.
Post by: elan on November 14, 2010, 10:22:58 PM
Heeeeeerrrrrrreeeee's Birchall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: najee on November 14, 2010, 10:38:37 PM
Galaxy just lost to Dallas so they out and Chirs should be available....let see what is Lata excused for not calling him back
Post by: maxg on November 14, 2010, 10:42:30 PM

Ah sure u aint see d man sweat.

which man, It have some men ah doh mind see take ah sweat , and it have man ah would like represent my National team, not just ah sweat but a service and duty, Spann (No- not for a long time...oh mind seeing him sweat, late for National team), Sealy(Yes-should never had been discard- could have been found out many years ago, when we had to many forwards), Glen(health wise have never been dependable for an extended campaign, doh has always given his all -take ah sweat), Dwight (late), Dog(late), Stern (late), Latapy(late)..the latter four could join me for ah carnival Saturday sweat if they wish,  which man YOU refering too..
Title: Re: Senior Warriors begin final leg of DCC preparations.
Post by: najee on November 14, 2010, 10:52:06 PM
well Chris Birchall is available now.....Lata what your excuse
Post by: mcruic on November 15, 2010, 12:01:32 AM
Apparently, these are the ticket prices in Euros for the finals in Martinique (for anybody who is going).

Group matches: Terraces: 5€ - Stands: 8€
Semi-finals in Dillon: Terraces: 6€ - Stands C,D,E: 8€ - Stands A and B: 10€ - VIP: 15€
Final in Dillon: Terraces: 6€ - Stands C,D,E: 8€ - Stands A and B: 12€ - VIP: 20€
General Public Pass: All matches in Dillon (Fort-de-France) and Camée (Rivière Pilote) in the stands: 50€
Business Pass: All matches in Dillon (Fort-de-France) and Camée (Rivière Pilote) in the stands: 30€

http://www.bondamanjak.com/martinique/28/10634.html#josc198566
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 15, 2010, 06:10:49 AM

I cant wait to hear their excuse
Post by: just cool on November 15, 2010, 06:28:47 PM

Well you got your wish. just heard on CTNT that birchall is on the team and should be in training this week.
Post by: dreamer on November 15, 2010, 06:41:19 PM
Allyuh neeed to relax and let de Magician do he ting.
Post by: palos on November 15, 2010, 06:45:42 PM

Well you got your wish. just heard on CTNT that birchall is on the team and should be in training this week.

Well with Birchall in de team....we not jes sure to win de tournament....but we might as well book de team tickets to Brazil 2014 one time too. 
Post by: D.H.W on November 15, 2010, 07:04:49 PM

well praise the lord! he finally back in the team, for now
Post by: PATRIOT on November 15, 2010, 07:11:37 PM

Well with Birchall in de team....we not jes sure to win de tournament....but we might as well book de team tickets to Brazil 2014 one time too. 
Nah...NOT until Scott Sealy get call back too!!!  :devil:
Post by: palos on November 15, 2010, 07:13:33 PM

Doh worry....de team go need a luggage carrier  :devil:
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 15, 2010, 07:14:38 PM
I ent believing nothing until I see the man in an adidas training kit next to Jorsling knocking a ball in training

Post by: PATRIOT on November 15, 2010, 07:17:48 PM

Ahh "From luggage Carrier to Brazil 2014...the Scott Sealy Story"...soon available at a bookstore near you...with foreword by Brian "PATRIOT" Springer...just wait for it  ;D
Post by: PATRIOT on November 15, 2010, 07:19:50 PM
I ent believing nothing until I see the man in an adidas training kit next to Jorsling knocking a ball in training

Nah, Latas will call him back for training at least... the question is will he make the final team, and if so, will he be playing or scrubbing bench?
Post by: dreamer on November 15, 2010, 07:25:00 PM
Patriot and Small Mag, would you both relax please ....  ;D
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 15, 2010, 07:37:22 PM

why should we?

we have enough evidence to be fully alarmed on the treatment of Birchall and others over the past 3 years

and yea evidence..which cant be revealed..on him and many other players

so until I see him wearing a f**king training top.. not even the kit then I will relax... I lie I will relax when he take the field in Martinique

Post by: weary1969 on November 15, 2010, 07:43:34 PM

Ahh "From luggage Carrier to Brazil 2014...the Scott Sealy Story"...soon available at a bookstore near you...with foreword by Brian "PATRIOT" Springer...just wait for it  ;D

Post by: PATRIOT on November 15, 2010, 08:00:28 PM
RELAX???? After the 3-1 we get from Jamaica HERE, followed by the 3-0 in Panama and the draws with Guyana and Belize??? Dreamer you really are a TRUE TRINI oui!!! Forgive me if I'm NOT doing cartwheels after we NARROWLY beat the same Guyana 2-1 at home, conceded 2 goals to youthful SVG and was able to keep a clean sheet only vs the relatively young Haiti squad... and watched some questionable picks and choices by Latas throughout... I'll relax when i see us CONSISTENTLY playing well, keeping clean sheets against minnows and giving creditable performances against higher ranked teams... not to mention sensible team selections and subs...
Post by: D.H.W on November 15, 2010, 08:02:40 PM
RELAX???? After the 3-1 we get from Jamaica HERE, followed by the 3-0 in Panama and the draws with Guyana and Belize??? Dreamer you really are a TRUE TRINI oui!!! Forgive me if I'm NOT doing cartwheels after we NARROWLY beat the same Guyana 2-1 at home, conceded 2 goals to youthful SVG and was able to keep a clean sheet only vs the relatively young Haiti squad... and watched some questionable picks and choices by Latas throughout... I'll relax when i see us CONSISTENTLY playing well, keeping clean sheets against minnows and giving creditable performances against higher ranked teams... not to mention sensible team selections and subs...

finally somebody talking sense in this place.
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 15, 2010, 08:20:39 PM

finally somebody talking sense in this place.

Ent, de drama dat is we football, cyar make dis shit up nah, betta dan young and restless.
Post by: dreamer on November 15, 2010, 08:40:58 PM
Ah lovin' de passion ah seeing in allyuh fellas. Love it. Daiz what ah want to see in all de warriors on dis site. Persecution and stabbing weself in we own back, shooting weself in we own foot has been a way of life and caused plenty sufferin' at each campaign attempt, but I am actually encouraged now (mainly because of Latas!) that for the first time since after Beenie, a coach is paying attention to players of quality and truly cares about the development of the game. His agenda has been different from Wim, Maturana, small Cornmeal who is patriotic but has some issues. There is, rightly so, jess so much anxiety over de past persecutions that there is a feeling out there that Latas himself bong to be an agent of the same ole order and bullshit. His hands are slightly tied by Jackula yes, but he is making his impact felt and Jackula himself so desperate for the self serving rewards from being on a bandwaggon that is a successful world cup qualifying campaign, that he would be glad if de same Latas could get him dey relatively on de cheap and not have to concoct a setup reason to fyah his ass.

Fellahs I have hope, daiz all ..
Keep de presshah on, Patriot and yout' Mag.
Post by: madness on November 15, 2010, 08:59:08 PM
true true but we will do well guys just have faith and lets c what happens. Remember guys, the people of trinidad and tobago needs to support the team..
Post by: andre samuel on November 16, 2010, 04:48:38 AM
I agree with most people by saying that Birchall should be on this team.  But no matter what team latas pick, somebody will still get vex. 

Latas is the coach, he knows what he wants to play and he alone would know what players would properly execute his plans. 

If the man doesnt want to pick Birchall for footballing reasons, then so be it.  He is the one in the hot seat, so he has that right!!

But if he isnt picking him due to some stupid blacklist or some petty dislike!! Then we are f**ked!!

Post by: just cool on November 16, 2010, 05:03:17 AM
I agree with most people by saying that Birchall should be on this team.  But no matter what team latas pick, somebody will still get vex. 

Latas is the coach, he knows what he wants to play and he alone would know what players would properly execute his plans. 

If the man doesnt want to pick Birchall for footballing reasons, then so be it.  He is the one in the hot seat, so he has that right!!

But if he isnt picking him due to some stupid blacklist or some petty dislike!! Then we are f**ked!!

I distinctly remember there's three players who latas never looked @, and when he pick dem, call dem, select dem  for trainin , then and only then would i get off his case, as it is , birchall has 6 call ups since latas took the reins, but sealy, roberts and whitley still waiting on ah single solitary fackin call! what's the excuse for their exclusion?
Post by: Tallman on November 16, 2010, 05:40:28 AM
I distinctly remember there's three players who latas never looked @, and when he pick dem, call dem, select dem  for trainin , then and only then would i get off his case, as it is , birchall has 6 call ups since latas took the reins, but sealy, roberts and whitley still waiting on ah single solitary fackin call! what's the excuse for their exclusion?

Birchall has only played 3 matches since Latas take over, and two of them were substitute appearances.

Other than his recent play in midfield for San Jose, me eh tink Sealy do nutten over de past year tuh warrant ah call cup.

There is no indication dat Whitley has played any meaningful football since de 2009 Pro League season. An even den he was back tuh his delinquent ways. Yuh ent see even when Fenwick give him ah chance back in April he only last 3 weeks?
Post by: andre samuel on November 16, 2010, 06:10:32 AM
Just cool.............the fact that u still talking about Whitley means that u not serious enough for me to continue dis talk!!

Nobody in their right mind would mention Whitley's name near ah Proleague Team......far less for our National Senior Team.

??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: injunchile on November 16, 2010, 06:41:44 AM
Let us see what Latapy can do with this Cup. Maybe we can learn a lesson as passionate fans from Tony Dungy- Tony won his first Super bowl in 1978 with the Steelers and went on to coaching Tampa bay and later Indianapolis where in 2007 he became the first African - American coach to win a Super Bowl Championship.
 A question was posed to him-
 ' Given your coaching style and calm demeanor, were you ever criticized for the choices you made with player selection.
 Dungy-Oh, absolutely. I did not fit the stereotype of a National Football League Coach. If you are different and you win, people say you are great. If you dont win they say those same characteristics are the reason you are losing.I was not trying to satisfy the critics . I was trying to satisfy my employers. I always tell my boss you are going to get everything that I got. But I have to do it my way..
 Sounds familiar.
Post by: Jay10 on November 16, 2010, 06:51:20 AM
Just cool.............the fact that u still talking about Whitley means that u not serious enough for me to continue dis talk!!

Nobody in their right mind would mention Whitley's name near ah Proleague Team......far less for our National Senior Team.

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

But Andre...Whitley playing on the same team as Jamal Gay...plus he had a guy from UTT(who playing in d east zone??) on the team...Now I'm not saying he should call back Aurtis, but stranger things happen already :beermug:
Post by: lefty on November 16, 2010, 08:06:37 AM

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

But Andre...Whitley playing on the same team as Jamal Gay...plus he had a guy from UTT(who playing in d east zone??) on the team...Now I'm not saying he should call back Aurtis, but stranger things happen already :beermug:

I doh really like dis kinda deal, ah mean it work put for hyland, but he could stake ah claim for exceptional player status....if barely, but I dont tink gay fall in dat category.
Post by: weary1969 on November 16, 2010, 12:07:37 PM

??? ??? ??? ??? ???

I doh really like dis kinda deal, ah mean it work put for hyland, but he could stake ah claim for exceptional player status....if barely, but I dont tink gay fall in dat category.

Unattached was a very popular club last qualifying season and it worked so well.
Post by: Marcos on November 16, 2010, 03:58:44 PM

I think he is still working back from injury. Looked a lil overweight
Post by: just cool on November 16, 2010, 04:02:45 PM
I could've sworn that whitley was with ah team. ah know he was injured during the hex and was on the road to recovery.

for some reason i thought he was playing for a club in the south, but ah guess i was wrong. anyway, what was all this big talk wid whitly when he said in an interview that he was eying a comeback, and he said something to the effect that when he came back "nuff man have tuh breaks" BC he would cement his spot on the team.

BTW, spann is another man who eh no great addition but he's there any way, i doh see why whitley cyar get ah call up in ah few months.

BTW tallman, birchall got call ups, regardless of his playing time. my point iz , if latas did not like him as a player, then why did he even bother to call him up, and five three times too boot,, costa rica in bago, mex azteca, elsalv HSC, honduras in hond, USA in HSC, and now the degicel, isn't that 6 call especially for a man who's style of play he dislikes?

PS: ah made ah couple of errors and i crossed them out to be fair to you and the other forumites, yuh know when i wrong i eh shame to admit guilt. BTW here the evidence.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%E2%80%93_CONCACAF_Fourth_Round

positive.