Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on November 30, 2010, 06:12:53 AM

Title: Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
Post by: Flex on November 30, 2010, 06:12:53 AM
Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
By Kern De Freitas (T&T Express).

FUTURE UNCERTAIN

Speculation has already begun over the future of Russell Latapy as Trinidad and Tobago senior coach after the national team exited the Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals on Sunday in Martinique.

Fans and pundits alike have been expressing their views, many not pleased with the team's performance and Latapy's selections for the tournament, after T&T crashed out of the competition with losses to Cuba and Grenada.

Cuba won 2-0, while Grenada edged T&T 1-0 to end their campaign at the group stage.

Trinidad and Tobago, who are yet to score in Group H, play their final match today (8.30 p.m.) against hosts Martinique looking for a consolation win.

San Juan Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick has also been reported as questioning T&T's commitment and tactics. Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Since taking up a two-year contract as T&T head coach at the beginning of March, Latapy has been under pressure following a string of average results, including a 1-1 draw away to Guyana, a 3-0 beating at the hands of Panama, and a 0-0 draw with Belize.

Before the current tournament, Minister of Sport Anil Roberts stated that Latapy should be replaced if he is unable to take T&T to the Digicel Cup final.

But TTFF technical director Lincoln "Tiger" Phillips told the Express there was no need for "knee-jerk decisions" despite T&T's second successive failure to reach the final four of the Caribbean Cup and qualify for next year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

"We need to look at the issues and not make any knee-jerk decision. We are not the only country (who has footballing issues)", Phillips said yesterday.

The former national goalkeeper felt the T&T players did not properly fulfill their roles.

"You cannot get four chances in front of goal (and not score them)," Phillips reasoned. "That shows that whatever preparation (issues) we had, that means we were good enough to win. But at the end of the day, you have to execute and if you fail to execute, you have to live with (the results)."

Phillips revealed that T&T did not play a friendly match during the last FIFA international date on November 17, like a number of other countries in the Digicel Cup did, because the TTFF could not afford it.

T&T's failure to qualify for the Gold Cup also provides them with another big problem.

"Obviously it's not good. (If) we qualify for the Gold Cup, it give you more games, more opportunities to play, to see players play against other teams and so on. When that is taken away it does not augur well for our team.

"In every situation there's a lesson to be learned. If you look hard and long enough we can see where the issues are."

Former national player Ron La Forest described T&T's results as a "great setback to the nation" and felt Latapy "needs" coaching "help".

"What I said was one of Latas' faults in the beginning," La Forest told CCN TV6 yesterday, "is that I think he needed more senior heads around him. I felt that like normally Trinidad coaches want to do it on their own.

"We have experienced coaches here. I think that's one of his mistakes when he got the job, he should have brought in senior people to help him go forward."

La Forest suggested Latapy should have had a stronger squad for the tournament, with teams like Jamaica "bringing back their full-fledged pros".

"We wanted to go forward," the former Olympic team coach said. "I think that we should have been full strength. You don't take tournaments for granted."

Still, La Forest is not quick to call for Latapy's resignation as national coach.

"I won't say for him to step down, but he needs a lot of help elsewhere."
Title: Re: Phillips: No need for knee-jerk reaction over Latapy.
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2010, 06:14:13 AM
He right when u kickin somebody 2 d curb u doh use yuh knee.
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2010, 06:23:28 AM
my knee jerking bad, hard luck
Post by: Sam on November 30, 2010, 06:32:03 AM
Somebody should spray Lincoln Phillips with a bottle of pepper spray, he eye need to open.

LATAPY NEED HELP !!!!!!

Lincoln need to go !!!!!! I fed up hear his lame stories.
Post by: Sando on November 30, 2010, 07:33:46 AM
I think Lincoln is really a nut !!

No honestly, this man like he train to say one thing, he is a typical yes man.

Not even a constructive argument does come out he mouth, its always some long boaring story that leads away from the point.

I feel if Panday or Manning was coaching T&T Lincoln mighta support them blindly too.

Jah !!!! this man cant be good for our football.
Post by: banton on November 30, 2010, 07:50:02 AM

Phillips revealed that T&T did not play a friendly match during the last FIFA international date on November 17, like a number of other countries in the Digicel Cup did, because the TTFF could not afford it.

??? ???
Post by: Socapro on November 30, 2010, 08:12:03 AM
The TTFF is really an old boys club yes!

Regardless of failure men defending each other as no one wants to get fired!

Thank you LP, ah understand now, RL & you in the same boat so yuh have to defend him!

What could be any clearer than this? >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Latapy get eliminated by another local coach from Barataria with more experience!

What does that tell you about Latapy's experience as a coach?

It says that he's not yet ready for top level international coaching on his own and at least need the help & guidance under a more experienced coach so he can learn from them and learn his trade properly!

Time for Latapy to accept that he's not ready yet to be our head coach at international level but might be okay as an assistant to someone who he respects and is not going to try to undermind but instead learn from!
Post by: saga pinto on November 30, 2010, 08:22:16 AM
This is Madness is this the twilight f**king zone or a rejected episode of one,these guys are obviously trying to save their jobs plain and simple,this is shitt, look right at this moment I willing to pump some money into whatever organisation that have the balls to stop these ungrateful money sucking rejects.

Imagine these people have the audacity to say the ttff don't have the money,what about public transparency in the past or public disclosure about where the monies are being spent but yet you want me to believe this shitttt.

I'm so tired of this BS,THE STENCH FROM THE BENCH STINKS MAKES ME SICK... 
Post by: trinipepper on November 30, 2010, 08:23:27 AM
Actually I think when they let Latas go .. they need to let Phillps go to cause Trinidad and Tobago football been going down the drain since his appointment... Latas whosoever helping you with the coaching sense need some football sense...
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on November 30, 2010, 08:23:45 AM
Lincoln have to go too.... total waste

He hates the idea of a Foreign coach ... he defended Bertille till the death and will do the same with Latapy... If he really has T&T best interests in mind then He will know that Latapy is not good enough a coach and he would have to take a look at himself as the Technical Director

Both of them could buy their tickets and get out of here.... Latapy not ready and Lincoln is not good enough either...

we need a Foreign big time coaching staff and a foreign big time technical director If we have any chance.... and they need to be like Leo and tell Jack to f**k off

and Muhammed have to go too... bring back Bruce Anansen  
Post by: frico on November 30, 2010, 08:25:33 AM
Phillips,why dont you STFU bout no"knee jerk re-action",you mussy willing to give the idiot Latapy more time,RL shudda been given the boot after all dem failures that he had.RL proves beyond any doubt that he is incapable of coaching and ah wont even trust de man with we Under 12s.
Post by: elan on November 30, 2010, 08:30:59 AM
How can this be classified as knee-jerk? Loss against Cuba ok, but knocked out by Grenada? Come on grow a pair.
Post by: FF on November 30, 2010, 08:59:53 AM
nobody cyah say nothing bout fire Latapy before Jack talk...

yuh ent see Camps bawl, "no comment"

Puppets!
Post by: jai john on November 30, 2010, 09:14:48 AM
the real issue here is what journalist worth his salt would ask Camps for a comment ? :rotfl:?
 even describing him  as " newly elected President " not as the more than 20 years President ...you tink dem fellas and dem easy ?
..but who pays the piper calls the tune ...so you just have to look for the piper and the line of hungry rats willing to do his bidding ..not far behind.
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2010, 09:20:31 AM
Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Dis man is just de absolute worst. Yet he is continually rewarded. >:(
Post by: 100% Barataria on November 30, 2010, 09:23:52 AM
Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps refused to comment on T&T's results, but did say a post-mortem of the failed campaign will be conducted soon after their return from Martinique.

Abject failures, can never understand how mediocrity (and even that is a stretch) continues to flourish.  Wish I could see some vids of folks protesting in front of TTFF office back in de day per Coops comment on another thread, at the end of the day you have to stand for something or you will follow for much less!! 
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2010, 09:26:59 AM
 :devil: add d ttff too

http://www.youtube.com/v/ZTkbYurvVlA
Title: Latapy’s days numbered?
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2010, 09:42:29 AM
Latapy’s days numbered?
By Vidia Ramphal (ctntworld.com)

A former national captain, Sedley Joseph, says Trinidad and Tobago’s exit from the Digicel Caribbean cup should end Russell Latapy's reign as national coach.

He says T&T now needs to look for a foreign coach. After losses to Cuba and Grenada put Trinidad and Tobago out of the Digicel Caribbean Cup, Sedley Joseph says this spells the end for head coach Russell Latapy.

Joseph questioned the mentality of the current team and their commitment to playing for the national team. In particular, the former maple star says Latapy is partly to blame for this.

If Latapy is dismissed, Joseph is grudgingly in support of a foreign coach.

Trinidad and Tobago plays hosts Martinique tomorrow, which in the eyes of many is Latapy's last hurrah as national coach.
Post by: D.H.W on November 30, 2010, 09:55:35 AM
(http://pages.cs.brandeis.edu/~ari/scripts/PageAxe/PageAxe.png)
Post by: tempo on November 30, 2010, 10:01:37 AM
Where in the article does LP defend Latapy? It sounds like he is saying serious thought that includes the coach AND beyond has to be put into the next move. There is nothing in his quotes that say Latapy should be retained. It would be helpful if LP releases his reports to the public so people know where he stands on the Latapy era.

Also, I reading Fenwick's analysis but he is not saying anything new that people don't already know. Where was his analysis after the Digicel games back home? Cryuff can hand out good pong because he had his teams playing the brand he was preachin'. Can anyone say Jabloteh play anything like what Terry preachin'?

There are factions in T&T football who have varying degrees of influence with JW. Each faction would do various things to see the one who has the reins of the national team fail. By not paying the players or Latapy and staff for the year nor getting the adequate funding to field games against substantive teams on FIFA dates, the real decision makers had every intention to set Latapy up for failure. No one of significance is really pounding down our door to coach us. It is those folks we should focus anger on, not the ones who are making an honest effort with little to no support.
Post by: AirMan on November 30, 2010, 10:09:21 AM
Lincoln (Just like Latas, Jack and Camps) should do the honourable thing and step down from their posts. T&T demise in recent years is at the fault of not just the coaches but also the administration (including Lincoln)
Post by: jai john on November 30, 2010, 10:56:55 AM
We need a good coach ...whether he be from local or foreign shores. I say this to distinguish between what has been passed off on us before ...any coach from foreign is a foreign coach right ? well we eh want dat ! We want to see that you have done it before as a coach ....more than once preferably ... no try out coach ting again ...put de locals to work with someone with experience ..

...and let us get away from this " foreign" ting .... not because he from foreign he must be the one ...but because he is good and happen to be from foreign ...if that is the case ...will make him the one.

Most  trinidadians kyah beat pan ...but most good panmen are trinidadians ! So if yuh bringing ah brazilian , dutch, argentinian, spanish or jew ...make sure he has demonstrated previous success ..but what I really saying this for ...is de TTFF who making decisions ???? I too serious yes !
Post by: Star Child on November 30, 2010, 11:35:32 AM
Lincoln Phillips is collecting a BIG PAY CHECK, do you think he will jeopardized that to prove something to the fans. He is sitting pretty decent, he hates foreigners (except Beenhakker) and will support you once you black in tick or tin.

My take is, we should evaluate and support a person becasue what they can do or offer and not support them because of their skin color.

Russell Latapy salary is $248,000 a month.

Lincoln Phillip salary is $75,000 monthly.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51272.msg696701#msg696701
Post by: Sam on November 30, 2010, 12:02:00 PM
Where in the article does LP defend Latapy? It sounds like he is saying serious thought that includes the coach AND beyond has to be put into the next move. There is nothing in his quotes that say Latapy should be retained. It would be helpful if LP releases his reports to the public so people know where he stands on the Latapy era.

Also, I reading Fenwick's analysis but he is not saying anything new that people don't already know. Where was his analysis after the Digicel games back home? Cryuff can hand out good pong because he had his teams playing the brand he was preachin'. Can anyone say Jabloteh play anything like what Terry preachin'?

There are factions in T&T football who have varying degrees of influence with JW. Each faction would do various things to see the one who has the reins of the national team fail. By not paying the players or Latapy and staff for the year nor getting the adequate funding to field games against substantive teams on FIFA dates, the real decision makers had every intention to set Latapy up for failure. No one of significance is really pounding down our door to coach us. It is those folks we should focus anger on, not the ones who are making an honest effort with little to no support.

Wait, the TTFF could pay...

RUSSELL LATAPY = $248,000 - a month
LINCOLN PHILLIPS = $75,000 - a month
MICHAEL MAURICE = $120,000 - a month
ROSS RUSSELL = $120,000 - a month

Plus de players pay, de physiotherapist, de trainer, de managers, de equipment manager, de team doctor ... etc etc.....

And they cant afford a friendly game  !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now that presious !!!!!
Post by: tempo on November 30, 2010, 12:22:32 PM
Sam,hosting a friendly match can cost $150,000 US. Flying one player overseas player costs, on the average, around $1200 and paying decent teams to play is not cheap. It is not an inexpensive venture.

LP is not on TTFF payroll,but Latapy and the others are and they haven't been paid. What you listed is what they are supposed to be paid. So there seems to be truth in what he is saying about there being a money issue.  There is a lot going on that has not been disclosed that would put a lot of things into perspective. If there is anyone who knows the players, you can probably get some insight. LP's role is to advise the National coach, create a coaches association, and develop and manage a national goalkeeping program. Latapy can take or not take advise given, the coaches association is about to name their board of directors and announce a series of D through A level coaching courses, and the goalkeepers continue to be the strongest part of the national programs. I think folks are focusing their anger on the wrong people, in part, because nothing can be done about JW and Camps. The hard truth is that TTFF is a private organization and they are not accountable to anyone.
Post by: Coach on November 30, 2010, 12:29:40 PM

He hates the idea of a Foreign coach ... he defended Bertille till the death and will do the same with Latapy... If he really has T&T best interests in mind then He will know that Latapy is not good enough a coach and he would have to take a look at himself as the Technical Director

Both of them could buy their tickets and get out of here.... Latapy not ready and Lincoln is not good enough either...

we need a Foreign big time coaching staff and a foreign big time technical director If we have any chance.... and they need to be like Leo and tell Jack to f**k off

THE ENTIRE TTFF ORGANIZATION SHOULD BE REMOVED!!! WE HAD ENOUGH!!! LP MAKING EXCUSES FOR LOSING TO GRENADA...GRENADA MAN...COME ON.

Nothing against Grenada but Trinidad and Tobago losing to Grenada in a tournament that we had time to prepare for is unacceptable. If what is going on with our football was happening in other parts of the world the people who are in charge would have to run and hide.
Post by: Sam on November 30, 2010, 12:43:52 PM
Sam,hosting a friendly match can cost $150,000 US. Flying one player overseas player costs, on the average, around $1200 and paying decent teams to play is not cheap. It is not an inexpensive venture.

LP is not on TTFF payroll,but Latapy and the others are and they haven't been paid. What you listed is what they are supposed to be paid. So there seems to be truth in what he is saying about there being a money issue.  There is a lot going on that has not been disclosed that would put a lot of things into perspective. If there is anyone who knows the players, you can probably get some insight. LP's role is to advise the National coach, create a coaches association, and develop and manage a national goalkeeping program. Latapy can take or not take advise given, the coaches association is about to name their board of directors and announce a series of D through A level coaching courses, and the goalkeepers continue to be the strongest part of the national programs. I think folks are focusing their anger on the wrong people, in part, because nothing can be done about JW and Camps. The hard truth is that TTFF is a private organization and they are not accountable to anyone.

I doubt anyone of the caribbean teams would have charged so much.

And I am sure we could have gotten a sweat with some club team in Martinique.

I am sure we could have played W Connection and Jabloteh if push come to shove.

Where there is a will there is a way.

Nobody forcing Latapy to take the job.

He accepted it under the DEVIL and under his terms and now he must bear the pain and stop making excuses.

If you work for Satan, then you evil to.... because he accept his terms and law.....

Latapy of all people should know how the TTFF does operate, he was an employer for over 2 decades....
Post by: tempo on November 30, 2010, 12:44:56 PM

THE ENTIRE TTFF ORGANIZATION SHOULD BE REMOVED!!! WE HAD ENOUGH!!! LP MAKING EXCUSES FOR LOSING TO GRENADA...GRENADA MAN...COME ON.

Nothing against Grenada but Trinidad and Tobago losing to Grenada in a tournament that we had time to prepare for is unacceptable. If what is going on with our football was happening in other parts of the world the people who are in charge would have to run and hide.

Sam, for a full international it does cost that much. But I agree, Latapy knew what he was getting into and where there is a will there is a way. Also, too many errors were made by him. But I ask again, what excuses LP is making? What I am seeing from the crowd is that if LP does not focus solely on Latapy's mistakes, then he is defending him? Come on. Also small mag, what you said about LP not wanting a foreign coach is not true. He just does not believe that a being European or South American automatically qualifies one as a good coach. He found and pushed for Beenhakker, supported Wim to be hired, wanted Randy Waldrum to coach the U17 women's team and Pellerud coach the senior team, and is the one who advised the federation to go the Dutch route. Hardly moves from a person who doesn't like foreigners.

The truth is that after the last World Cup cycle and because of the blacklist no so-called big time coach was willing to coach T&T. Nor could the TTFF afford such a coach. The TTFF essentially settled for Latapy. Now with the new government, this may change because money has been budgeted. I sense that JW will come back from Zurich with shiny new big name coach and somehow Anton will be back in the mix.
Post by: Socapro on November 30, 2010, 01:00:28 PM

Latapy of all people should know how the TTFF does operate, he was an employer for over 2 decades....
Correction:
He was an employee for over 2 decades! Jack is the employer & controller for over the last 2 decades!!
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 05:14:36 PM
Lincoln Phillips is collecting a BIG PAY CHECK, do you think he will jeopardized that to prove something to the fans. He is sitting pretty decent, he hates foreigners (except Beenhakker) and will support you once you black in tick or tin.

My take is, we should evaluate and support a person becasue what they can do or offer and not support them because of their skin color.

Russell Latapy salary is $248,000 a month.

Lincoln Phillip salary is $75,000 monthly.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=51272.msg696701#msg696701

I take exception to some of the things all yuh saying about Lincoln. Not that I agree with him on Latapy.  Okay disagree with him on his views about Latas. That is perfectly okay. But from what I have been told, lincoln do not work for the TTFF. He is employed thru the gov't and he renders his opinions whenever it is requested. To say that Lincoln only like local coaches is misleading. He was among others who recommended Beenie-man, after Jack's choice of Atkinson was rejected by Dwight, as we only know. Yes Bennie-man selection was probablly one of the biggest flukes in TT football.

Go and look up the list of the many foreign coaches we have hired. There are many. hiring foreign is nothing new to TT.  If you putting the WC as a barometer for success, only Beenie is a success. Then for near success you could throw in Kevin Verity(74 WC) and Gally. Other successful coaches are Conrad Braithwaithe(67 PANAM games) and Edgar Vidale(74 CAC games). Then we have the Copa caribe coaches and the WC youth coaches. Most of them have been locals as you can see.

Now this day and age most local coaches are out of their depths(sorry if I am using the wrong terminology). They probably need to take more courses etc,etc. Go abroad and get some short intership with a foreign clubs. Actually there are quite a few people in TT who has these credential. But then there is a big f---king CAVEAT.   JACK. Imagine you go abroad and get all your credential and then come back to deal with that vampire. You know wha, It easy to be on the outside looking in. I would really like to see all yuh work with Jack.
Post by: Bakes on November 30, 2010, 05:29:18 PM

How come de illustrious Minister of Sport eh give Phillips ah ultimatum too?  If he going to meddle in TTFF affairs why not start with de rotting head?
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 05:56:33 PM
Bakes,
           from what I know Lincoln do coaching courses for the schools thru the minister of Sport. I don't think Anil go mess with Lincoln. Well at least not yet.  Lincoln is not in control of anything TTFF. IF TTFF wants his services, they request it. So I can't see how Lincoln is involved with Lata's predicament. The TTFF can say they no longer want Lincoln services. Well so what. Lincoln can still do coaching under the Minister of Sport.

This is why I say Jack should remove himself from the running of TT football. He can stay with FIFA to all I care. He is caussing a lot of confusion. he is the special advisor. Everybody know full  well that the final decision goes thru him. When anything goes wrong he differs everything the the president(camps) of the ttff who always have no f---king comment.
Post by: doc on November 30, 2010, 06:02:51 PM

Aye Tempo, yuh seem to be a man in the know. I in 'Bago 4 years, and we eh see the TD here, we eh hear from the TD, we eh hear 'bout no programme for we.... so set me straight with the fact nah...
Post by: Socapro on November 30, 2010, 06:04:58 PM
Bakes,
           from what I know Lincoln do coaching courses for the schools thru the minister of Sport. I don't think Anil go mess with Lincoln. Well at least not yet.  Lincoln is not in control of anything TTFF. IF TTFF wants his services, they request it. So I can't see how Lincoln is involved with Lata's predicament. The TTFF can say they no longer want Lincoln services. Well so what. Lincoln can still do coaching under the Minister of Sport.

This is why I say Jack should remove himself from the running of TT football. He can stay with FIFA to all I care. He is caussing a lot of confusion. he is the special advisor. Everybody know full  well that the final decision goes thru him. When anything goes wrong he deffers everything the the president(camps) of the ttff who always have no f---king comment.

This sums up our problems with the TTFF entirely!

Ah just hope Camps makes ah jail if Jack decides he not putting his hands in his pockets to pay the players!
Now I am not too unhappy with Camps getting voted back in, let’s hope he has his jail clothes ready!  8)
Post by: tempo on November 30, 2010, 06:32:46 PM
Hey Doc, I really don't know too much about that. I do know that the most likely reason LP would have gone to 'bago would be to do the coaching course. But, the TTFF decided to discontinue those courses earlier this year. He hasnt been involved with player development since '06. I think one of the issues with 'bago that doomed earlier efforts has been not enough folks signing up. But, you may know more about the scene there.
Post by: Insider on November 30, 2010, 06:43:08 PM
Aye Tempo, yuh seem to be a man in the know. I in 'Bago 4 years, and we eh see the TD here, we eh hear from the TD, we eh hear 'bout no programme for we.... so set me straight with the fact nah...

Good question Doc !!

Lincoln is not the problem, he is part of it.

He is a gentle man working in a insubordinate company.

He cannot make a change because he is not supported/respected to do so. How can you be a TD and your employer does not respect you.

At the same token, he does not have the voice or determination to show willingness and just sweep everything under the mat.

PS: Sam, you are smart, I respect you, you always hit the nail on the head. Believe it or not, the TTFF did approach W Connection for a friendly on the 17th but I think the league did not want to push their FA cup game (carded for that same day) for the weekend instead.

Latapy knew about the Digicel Cup final a month in advance, why didn't he prepare, he had the majority of his team available. He is taken up with his personal life to much.

Flirting with girls, smoking cigarettes and playing golf and this is not a joke.
Post by: Bakes on November 30, 2010, 06:53:53 PM
Bakes,

This is why I say Jack should remove himself from the running of TT football. He can stay with FIFA to all I care. He is caussing a lot of confusion. he is the special advisor. Everybody know full  well that the final decision goes thru him. When anything goes wrong he differs everything the the president(camps) of the ttff who always have no f---king comment.

Deeks, ah mess up dey... ah meant to ask why he eh give Camps ah ultimatum, not Phillips.  Ah did juss finish reading de thread on LP and it still had mih fired up.

but yeah, LP knee deep in de shit too.
Post by: Yogi on November 30, 2010, 06:54:29 PM
Lincoln Phillips steups. Ah next kakahole licker who should ride out too :-[
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 07:05:14 PM
Bakes,

Deeks, ah mess up dey... ah meant to ask why he eh give Camps ah ultimatum, not Phillips.  Ah did juss finish reading de thread on LP and it still had mih fired up.

but yeah, LP knee deep in de shit too.

Bakes, and to everyone on this forum,
                                                   We are so confused as to who plays a role in the TTFF is ashamed. We know Jack is the special advisor, camps the president, Lincoln is a gov't coach and sometimes advisor the the TTFF, then there are the admin people who we don't know about. There is no clear cut transparency of who is responsible for what in that organization. And to make matters worst we have Anil in the mix.
Post by: Flex on November 30, 2010, 07:36:19 PM
LP should NOT be in the same class as Oliver Camps and company, these men have no class, LP better than that, trust me......

Why is Latapy viewed as a failure but Pellerud viewed as a success? All the money and resources that was spent on the U-17 women's program were met with a team that failed to advance to the second round and could not pass the ball.

I also heard from a reliable source that the players and staff have not been paid since the Chile game ?
Title: Latapy to discuss future with TTFF
Post by: Tallman on November 30, 2010, 07:42:32 PM
Latapy to discuss future with TTFF
ctntworld.com

T&T head coach Russell Latapy will discuss his future with the T&T Football Federation on his return from Martinique following a disappointing Digicel Caribbean Cup campaign.

The Warriors go into their final group match against the host tonight having already being eliminated from the competition, following opening defeats to Cuba and Grenada. The little magician admitted that the team was disappointed with their performances.

Latapy accepted full responsibility for the disastrous showing, but stopped short of discussing his future with the squad.

Many pundits have called for Latapy's sacking.

Meanwhile a reliable TTFF source has hinted that a former French international could replace the under fire T&T head coach.
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2010, 07:43:18 PM

Ah understand, after that marathon post on the Official Babes yuh had to shift gears!!!  :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on November 30, 2010, 07:44:30 PM
Latapy to discuss future with TTFF
ctntworld.com

T&T head coach Russell Latapy will discuss his future with the T&T Football Federation on his return from Martinique following a disappointing Digicel Caribbean Cup campaign.

The Warriors go into their final group match against the host tonight having already being eliminated from the competition, following opening defeats to Cuba and Grenada. The little magician admitted that the team was disappointed with their performances.

Latapy accepted full responsibility for the disastrous showing, but stopped short of discussing his future with the squad.

Many pundits have called for Latapy's sacking.

Meanwhile a reliable TTFF source has hinted that a former French international could replace the under fire T&T head coach.

Intriguing ... lemme guess, dey bounce him up in Martinique.
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 07:56:43 PM
And who is this former French international? Marius Tresor?
Post by: Trini _2026 on November 30, 2010, 08:19:52 PM
they wanted that french coach before they choose the Francisco Maturana
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2010, 08:35:49 PM
they wanted that french coach before they choose the Francisco Maturana

Let me guess he could speak english y he eh get d wuk?

Flirting with girls, smoking cigarettes and playing golf and this is not a joke.

Would b surprise if he was not doing d aforementioned.
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 10:10:42 PM
I know who the frenchie is? Tigana!!!
Post by: Preacher on November 30, 2010, 10:15:08 PM
:rotfl: :rotfl:  Who could stop a knee jerk anyways?
Post by: tempo on November 30, 2010, 10:17:50 PM
Tigana coaching Bordeaux. LP contacted Tigana before Latapy was named coach but Tigana wanted to stay in France.
Post by: Controversial on November 30, 2010, 10:21:34 PM
Tigana coaching Bordeaux. LP contacted Tigana before Latapy was named coach but Tigana wanted to stay in France.

tigana is a very good manager... that would be an interesting move, haven't heard about him since his turkey stint
Post by: grskywalker on November 30, 2010, 10:26:50 PM
gullit rikkjard or van basten will do just fine
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2010, 10:33:32 PM
gullit rikkjard or van basten will do just fine

Dey old coach could tell dem d ins and outs of TNT.
Post by: elan on November 30, 2010, 10:42:36 PM
How come LP is TD of TTFF, but have no say? Can't understand that  ???  How come who paying him come into what he can and cannot do? So if ah man volunteer to be on a board and is voted in as chairman or president, because he eh getting pay he cannot do anything? Is only when they want him to be involved he can be? That eh making no kinda sense to me.
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2010, 10:47:27 PM
How come LP is TD of TTFF, but have no say? Can't understand that  ???  How come who paying him come into what he can and cannot do? So if ah man volunteer to be on a board and is voted in as chairman or president, because he eh getting pay he cannot do anything? Is only when they want him to be involved he can be? That eh making no kinda sense to me.

What about of football make sense? LP is TD but SPORTT payin him for youth development. Y he eh bein paid by d TTFF. By being paid by SPORTT he sure 2 get paid.
Post by: Deeks on November 30, 2010, 11:08:02 PM

Lincoln is paid by the gov't thru SPORTT, not by the TTFF as  was explained to me. It seems that if Lincoln was being paid by the TTFF he would have been out of a job a long time ago.

Look Lincoln played international football and is a die-hard ball jumbie. Dispite all the things he knows(the same thing all of us know) about Jack, he is willing to put aside(or compromise) his differences with the special advisor to help the national team. Is the same way we feel when people(me included) say to boycott the national. It is a heavy thing on my(our) heart(s) because we love our national team. We want to support our players, especially the local ones who struggling to fulfill their dreams. I know and feel that because I had desires of playing international ball. But I was not good enough.

if Lincoln say no, TTFF could claim Lincoln drawing big gov't money and ain't willing to help the national team.
Post by: weary1969 on November 30, 2010, 11:13:58 PM

Lincoln is paid by the gov't thru SPORTT, not by the TTFF as  was explained to me. It seems that if Lincoln was being paid by the TTFF he would have been out of a job a long time ago.

Look Lincoln played international football and is a die-hard ball jumbie. Dispite all the things he knows(the same thing all of us know) about Jack, he is willing to put aside(or compromise) his differences with the special advisor to help the national team. Is the same way we feel when people(me included) say to boycott the national. It is a heavy thing on my(our) heart(s) because we love our national team. We want to support our players, especially the local ones who struggling to fulfill their dreams. I know and feel that because I had desires of playing international ball. But I was not good enough.

if Lincoln say no, TTFF could claim Lincoln drawing big gov't money and ain't willing to help the national team.

D day LP became d tool 2 get rid of Wim dat was it 4 me. So he is part of d problem not part of the solution. He may d part of d problem that u can solve as compared 2 other parts but at d end d problem eh solve.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on December 01, 2010, 05:39:04 AM
So wait nah...some ah allyuh diehards finally want tuh flickin FIRE Lincoln.....

nice tuh here....time tuh bring back Friggin Wim then....surely we woulda be further ahead by now....and maybe would have qualified for South Africa
Post by: Sando on December 01, 2010, 06:58:13 AM
Good question Doc !!

Lincoln is not the problem, he is part of it.

He is a gentle man working in a insubordinate company.

He cannot make a change because he is not supported/respected to do so. How can you be a TD and your employer does not respect you.

At the same token, he does not have the voice or determination to show willingness and just sweep everything under the mat.

PS: Sam, you are smart, I respect you, you always hit the nail on the head. Believe it or not, the TTFF did approach W Connection for a friendly on the 17th but I think the league did not want to push their FA cup game (carded for that same day) for the weekend instead.

Latapy knew about the Digicel Cup final a month in advance, why didn't he prepare, he had the majority of his team available. He is taken up with his personal life to much.

Interesting again !!! ... hhhmmm
Post by: dwolfman on December 01, 2010, 07:03:31 AM
The first part of the problem is us the people of Trinidad & Tobago. We have this belief that we don't have to earn things, that we're entitled to greatness because of some inherent talent. Whatever Latas shortcomings as a coach the real problem, that emotion is blocking us from seeing, is that our local football is not good enough. A national coach cannot be expected to make players something that they are not. Without our European pros we are significantly weaker and that should be a worrying thing. It's easy to blame Latas or Lincoln Phillips but who coaching at U-14 or U-17 level? What are they doing there? What are the skills, physical, mental or social, our players getting there? Look at our professional league, what standard are we seeing there? We are relying on the handful or so individuals who take their gifts a little beyond that of the norm and then we're surprised when the norm can't get it done.

Our football is of a very poor standard, we don't need a foreigner to come and tell us that. We might even resent the foreigner for saying it. Look at Mexico, Costa Rica or the US. Strong local leagues and strong national teams. Look at the better nations in Europe or South America. Strong local leagues, strong national teams. We can put 10 more experienced local coaches around Latas (La Forest), we can spend triple the salary on a foreigner (who can't win with a local based unit), but unless we understand and address the state of the game locally we'll continue the merry-go-round of coaches and the roller coaster of emotions inconsistency and mediocrity bring.
Post by: weary1969 on December 01, 2010, 07:20:32 AM
So wait nah...some ah allyuh diehards finally want tuh flickin FIRE Lincoln.....

nice tuh here....time tuh bring back Friggin Wim then....surely we woulda be further ahead by now....and maybe would have qualified for South Africa

U know we always a day late and a dollar short.
Post by: coachman on December 01, 2010, 11:05:05 AM
I remembered they said St.Clair needed help and they brought in Nahkid,Maturana needed help and in came Latapy,now Latapy needs help?If I WAS THE COACH OF THE TEAM,would Phillips and they be looking for help for me???Same faith for all i say.Poor results means FIRED,plain and simple.
Post by: Sando prince on December 01, 2010, 11:06:49 AM
I am in support of getting rid of Latas..but what about getting rid of Phillips and the TTFF executive..allyuh dont think they have failed the country too ?..
Post by: Spursy on December 01, 2010, 12:08:02 PM
What is all this talk about fire Latapy?? We don't have any games to play for the next year or so why waste money?

Latapy and Trinidad is a waste of time, anyone and everyone needs to find another team to support. Complete and utter rubbish. No one wants to see Latapy or his team play. GET IT.

Once Latapy and his coaching staff is removed, everyone will feel better and we can move on.

Until then Latapy is a waste of time... I feel like throwing up everytime i type his bloody name
Post by: spideybuff on December 01, 2010, 12:20:53 PM
Until then Latapy is a waste of time... I feel like throwing up everytime i type his bloody name

Allyuh men brutal on this board...
Post by: Spursy on December 01, 2010, 12:25:25 PM

Understand this, the amount of money throwing away in this effort to get a gold cup ticket could have been used to feed the poor in laventile or the beetham. The fact that Latapy took this job without proper preparations himself says alot about him as a person. If he cared about the development of the team and this country he would  get the proper certificates in order to fully prepare a team.

You can't be clueless and expect things to fall into place, this is modern football not the stone ages.
Post by: Spursy on December 01, 2010, 12:29:15 PM
 The other thing is knowing when you are not capable of acheiving certain objectives, getting help, improving yourself or atleast be man enough to step down. But knowing latapy without any moral values, without any dignity or pride only chasing money and favoritism to further embarass this country to a level where we dont want to be trinidadains anymore or have this idoit latapy represent us.

WHAT DID WE DO SO BAD THAT WE HAVE TO SUFFER THIS INDIGINITIES.
This is national tradegy.
Football keeps kids of the streets, when they dont have any heroes to look up to or a team to support guess what, they will move to drugs or track and field.
Under latapy losing is okay, losing to JA at home is okay and a test to guess some more when the times comes.
Shame us for no f**king reason.
Post by: Dutty on December 01, 2010, 12:38:23 PM

nah dais just shotta
I suspect most on this board would like the man to simply step down and wish him well

is a small cadre handful of vitriolic thread starters gettin on like de man rob dey whole family, when in fact they should be savin all dat visceral venom for the special advisor

say wha, empty pan does beat loud
Post by: Spursy on December 01, 2010, 12:38:28 PM
Leon as captain? Gay in the squad? Wolfe a defender? If i wasnt so sick to my stomach after typing his name so much this this would continue but sadly all is lost already, it doesnt make any sense anymore to do anything or make any changes now.

Let the TTFF and latapy live long and prosper. But they have lost a fan that purchased alot of tickets here in usa to watch a team that was once a part of my country. But TTFF don't need money, they don't need fans, they need latapy, Licoln etc.. Well let them keep it the same way.

We the former fans of tnt, you know what u need to do and it will be easy since we dont have any games to go watch.  USA USA USA!!!!
Post by: Spursy on December 01, 2010, 12:40:53 PM

nah dais just shotta
I suspect most on this board would like the man to simply step down and wish him well

is a small cadre handful of vitriolic thread starters gettin on like de man rob dey whole family, when in fact they should be savin all dat visceral venom for the special advisor

Why don't you find latapy tell him you are his all time hero (BIG JOKE) and ask him to sign your shirt with a striaght face. Then go home and try selling that said shirt only to find out the value of it is now worth less than the shirt itself. Then you can come back here and tell me about latapy robbing my family, YES OFC HE DID, TRINIDAD IS MY FAMILY U REHAB
Post by: AirMan on December 01, 2010, 12:50:33 PM

nah dais just shotta

Why don't you find latapy tell him you are his all time hero (BIG JOKE) and ask him to sign your shirt with a striaght face. Then go home and try selling that said shirt only to find out the value of it is now worth less than the shirt itself. Then you can come back here and tell me about latapy robbing my family, YES OFC HE DID, TRINIDAD IS MY FAMILY U REHAB

:D allyuh aint see this young fella Shotta is ah "proud proud Trini".doh get tipe up..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57smAiD_k-E
Post by: Bianconeri on December 01, 2010, 03:44:46 PM
Yesterday, newly re-elected T&T Football Federation president Oliver Camps

somehow that line struck me....... ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Sam on December 01, 2010, 05:11:56 PM
LP is no stupid man, he worked for the US national team once, so he got to know stuff, my question is, why doesn't he dont get more directly involved with T&T football and get out de office ?

I would love to read his report on the Digicel Cup. Come on Flex, whip up some questions for him, lets see if he will duck them again like de last one you sent for him after T&T lost 3-0 to USA.

Just for de record fellas, I prefer Lincoln over any of the TTFF members, I believe deep down he could do good stuff, but either he dont have the balls to do it or he just worried about he big ass pay check.

When saying so, all this money these members making and the Warrior Nation having a Christmas thing where they collecting stuff to help lil poor children, how come none of these members from the TTFF dont help ? look even North East Stars support it.

Like they don't believe in charitable work, $75,000 a month and they cant afford to donate a couple dollars to the Warrior Nation or Flex football site and we all love T&T football de same....

Not one of them TTFF members spending a bad cent to see two crapo fight.

Look Tobago United went underground and the TTFF dont even care, they neglet football in Tobago and we have two members from Tobago on de current team, Cyrus and Keon.... how we expect to discover more....

Football dead allyuh !!!!! what program de TD writing now.....