Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on December 16, 2010, 07:32:21 AM

Title: Fenwick: It would be an honor to lead the Soca Warriors.
Post by: Flex on December 16, 2010, 07:32:21 AM
Fenwick: It would be an honor to lead the Soca Warriors.
By: Inshan Mohammed.

Former Crystal Palace and Tottenham Hotspur player Terry Fenwick says it would be a great honor to lead Trinidad and Tobago National football team if given the opportunity too.

The Seaham-born former English defender told the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) that he would change the mediocrity and failure that currently surrounds the team and instill pride and determination back into T&T football.

Read what Terry told the SWO in his latest Q&A with us.

SWO - Terry, if given the opportunity to lead T&T senior men’s team will you accept? If yes, why?
TF: - I would love to coach/manage the T&T National team. It has been a long time ambition, I have however, resigned myself to the fact that there are those that would prefer to ignore my abilities. There is no doubt I am the most experienced and most qualified coach on these beautiful Islands, and no-one has considered the advantages I bring to the table. I am one of only two coaches in the PFL that have never contributed to the National effort, while my club and my development program provide more National players at every level than any other club. Why would I take the job?  Because I would be successful, I would win ! I would also love the opporunity to help Trinidad and Tobago in anyway I can, it will also be great to work with the T&T federation.

SWO - We as fans want to see attractive, constructive and determined football. If you got the job as T&T head coach what difference would you make and what new ideas will you be bringing to the table.
TF: - I would restore National Pride in our football and qualify for all the important competitions, World Cup and Gold Cup!  My passion for the game, coaching ability and determination would come shining through in my teams. T&T are fed up with mediocrity and failure, I would change that!

SWO - Do you feel you have what it takes to make our local players better? In other words, can you bring them up to the international standard?
TF: - Flex, we are producing top quality players here in T&T, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!  Our deficiencies are in coaching and our ability to get the message across. My knowledge, coaching ability and discipline would reap rewards…… Players enjoy working in a professional environment; I would do my best to provide that for my players.

SWO - Assuming you got the job what about a supporting staff? Will we see changes?
TF: - I would find positions for most of T&T’s legendary players past and present, they all have a part to play. They should all contribute. Good players recognize good players and T&T needs a strong character at the top to harness and direct the combined efforts of these legends to ensure on-going continuity and success. I am a strong character!!!

SWO - What do you feel are some of the important things missing in our football today, both on and off the field?
TF: - Coaching awards should be made available to all and not just a selected few. T&T, lack good coaches, there is a lot of good will and effort, but technical competence is sadly amiss. I would support the PFL teams in their fight to obtain access to community facilities, supporters and social clubs, a home base and a facility to call their own.

SWO - I was very happy to see some of the things Russell Latapy did as coach of the T&T team, for example, he capped a few young talents who seemed to be future stars. If for some reason Latapy’s service as head coach was cut, would you consider offering him the opportunity to work with you at some capacity?
TF: - Absolutely!

SWO - Do you feel the administration in our football needs restructuring?
TF: - Administration and football will always clash because administrators do not know football and players are often poorly advised. Clear lines of communication should be directed through the coach/manager to ensure a fair deal for all, players must respect the coach and the coach needs to earn that respect by doing the right thing. Unfortunately, poor communication is rife within T&T football. Poor decisions have been made on several emotional occasions, WC 2006 bonus payments for example, I believe the head coach/manager should negotiate a fair and achievable bonus schedule with the players relevant to whichever competition.

SWO - The Pro League’s survival is vital to the improvement of our players? How do you feel you can contribute to improving the League on the whole?
TF: - I would lobby for government intervention, many leagues around the world are subsidized by government, they see the social benefits football brings to communities and in particular the young people on the street?  Uneducated, unwanted, unloved kids, will fall on the wrong side of life not by their own doing, but by the lack of planning and support from the authorities. We can’t turn a blind eye, we must hold a hand out to all!

SWO - What about the fans, how will you go about convincing them to come out and support your team?
TF: - Trini’s love and support success, nothing else will do. We must provide that success!  I would drive Jack Warner mad to get better quality games for the National Team. I would cease to play meaningless games, no disrespect intended, against other small Island teams that we should be beating out of sight!  I would leave that to the youth development levels of National football. Our National under 23 boys should be beating any Caribbean senior teams at the moment.

SWO - Do you feel you'll get support from the TTFF to do your job if given the hot seat?
TF: - No, there will always be opposition because of my determination and desire to improve and succeed.  I will always be striving for better and not tolerating mediocrity.  One thing is for sure, my success would ensure people sit up and listen.  I know the powers that be are frightened of the success I will bring. That is a huge mental hurdle for the decision makers…. “What if Fenwick succeeds???”  What would they do, and how would they handle it ?? In closing this, I love it here in Trinidad and I love the people and it would be great to lead T&T National team if given the opportunity too onday.

Copyrights of the Soca Warriors Online - Any press using the following article written by Inshan Mohammed are welcome to do so providing they reveal the source and writer. Furthermore, no portion of this article may be copied without proper credit as well.
Title: Re: Fenwick: It would be an honor to lead the Soca Warriors.
Post by: Flex on December 16, 2010, 07:54:46 AM
(http://www.socawarriors.net/images/stories/fenwick_in_germany.jpg)
From Left: George Fenwick sport his England shirt while his father Terry sport his Soca Warriors Shirt during the England vs Trinidad and Tobago WC game in Germany 2006. ... PHOTO: SWO.
Post by: KND2 on December 16, 2010, 08:16:44 AM
Flex alyuh miss the most important Question.

Terry are you willing to work as Russel's Assistant?

That will be the best work for him   :rotfl:

Then we will know if he really happy to work with the cause or if he just wants to fullfill his own ambition.

Fenwick is a more experience coach than latapy and has a good read on the local players so he will be a good coach for tnt.

The problem will come with his interaction with the TTFA.

So is either the TTFA will change operations or Fenwick will quit

place your bets.

my money is on keeping latapy in place.
Post by: Sando on December 16, 2010, 08:38:51 AM
I say give Fenwick a chance, not saying he is a savior, but time will tell, he have the right attitude to be a good coach, he is qualified more than any other local coaches and he's got the disipline to get the local players up to a higher level which is very important.

He is a good coach and has been good at Jabloteh over the years.

The problem is, will the TTFF support his ambitions ?

Latapy has been here for roughly 2-years, time for him to pack his back or accept being an assistant coach or under 23 team coach. He had his chance, he also forced his players to play under bad terms for a year !!! not a month or two, but a year, imagine you going to work for free and your supervisor demanding 100% from you and your kids and wife hungry at home.
Post by: weary1969 on December 16, 2010, 09:01:18 AM
An honor I will never receive and if I get it will b bets on who last longer me or Gibbs.
Post by: banton on December 16, 2010, 09:17:48 AM
i know he would of come out soon and admit he want de post
Post by: Bakes on December 16, 2010, 09:22:42 AM
I thought people say he turn down the job 3 times arready?  This was news to me... but if true then why wasn't this asked?  If true again, what spurs the change of heart now?
Post by: Jumbie on December 16, 2010, 09:41:24 AM
man can't even sport an official shirt!

Keep this fella away from the team please.

Shims.. bess keep quite or he'll slap me oui!
Post by: Sam on December 16, 2010, 10:01:23 AM

Man went Germany (many T&T fans didn't even go) and support the team and against the country he was born in and you studing official shirt. !!!!!!!!!

I hope he gets the chance. Fenwick as head coach, Latapy as his assistant, talk done.

The Olympic team should also be coached by both men as well.
Post by: triniairman on December 16, 2010, 10:04:58 AM

Where yuh think the man from? That would be like me going to Brazil sporting a USA shirt when T&T playing aswell. I live and have my life in the US, but if I had to decide which country to support, it would be T&T hands down.
Post by: lefty on December 16, 2010, 10:19:56 AM

Where yuh think the man from? That would be like me going to Brazil sporting a USA shirt when T&T playing aswell. I live and have my life in the US, but if I had to decide which country to support, it would be T&T hands down.

didn' quite dat one mihself, home will also be where yuh heart is for most
Post by: Errol on December 16, 2010, 10:22:17 AM
SWO - I was very happy to see some of the things Russell Latapy did as coach of the T&T team, for example, he capped a few young talents who seemed to be future stars. If for some reason Latapy’s service as head coach was cut, would you consider offering him the opportunity to work with you at some capacity?
TF: - Absolutely!

I wonder if Flex did asked Latas this same question what would have been his reply.

I agree Sam, Fenwick as head coach could make a difference, but support is needed and Latas as his assistant would be lovely too.
Post by: palos on December 16, 2010, 10:43:10 AM
SWO - We as fans want to see attractive, constructive and determined football. If you got the job as T&T head coach what difference would you make and what new ideas will you be bringing to the table.
TF: - I would restore National Pride in our football and qualify for all the important competitions, World Cup and Gold Cup!   My passion for the game, coaching ability and determination would come shining through in my teams. T&T are fed up with mediocrity and failure, I would change that!

Oh really!  ???
Post by: Jumbie on December 16, 2010, 11:37:02 AM

?
Post by: Jumbie on December 16, 2010, 11:39:38 AM

Man went Germany (many T&T fans didn't even go) and support the team and against the country he was born in and you studing official shirt. !!!!!!!!!

I hope he gets the chance. Fenwick as head coach, Latapy as his assistant, talk done.

The Olympic team should also be coached by both men as well.

man, keep both of them away from the team. Doh get mumuguy with Fenwick.
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2010, 11:41:45 AM
So allyuh seriously think Latas ego will let him be an assistant coach?
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2010, 11:44:00 AM
TF: - I would restore National Pride in our football and qualify for all the important competitions, World Cup and Gold Cup!   My passion for the game, coaching ability and determination would come shining through in my teams. T&T are fed up with mediocrity and failure, I would change that!

Oh really!  ???

palos at least give de man ah chance to prove yuh wrong
Post by: palos on December 16, 2010, 11:44:17 AM

well he was an assistant coach under Maturana no?
Post by: palos on December 16, 2010, 11:45:18 AM

Oh really!  ???

palos at least give de man ah chance to prove yuh wrong

I don't know of any coach that can guarantee dem kinda things.

Not even the USA or Mexico coach in CONCACAF

And dem does quaify automatically for the Gold Cup
Post by: rippin on December 16, 2010, 12:07:30 PM

TF: - I would restore National Pride in our football and qualify for all the important competitions, World Cup and Gold Cup!  My passion for the game, coaching ability and determination would come shining through in my teams. T&T are fed up with mediocrity and failure, I would change that!

Terry does not think he will get this job. No coach in their right mind knowing the situation with the TTFF would make these kinda promises with out setting conditions and a timeline. Right now the man politicking, talking with water in his mouth.  Why didn't he answer the question and state tangible differences and new ideas?

SWO - Do you feel you have what it takes to make our local players better? In other words, can you bring them up to the international standard?
TF: - Flex, we are producing top quality players here in T&T, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise!  Our deficiencies are in coaching and our ability to get the message across. My knowledge, coaching ability and discipline would reap rewards…… Players enjoy working in a professional environment; I would do my best to provide that for my players.

The follow up question should have been regarded expectations for Jabloteh in the CONCACAF Club Championship.
Post by: Sando prince on December 16, 2010, 12:21:35 PM

hmmmm
Post by: Trinimassive on December 16, 2010, 01:42:05 PM
With nothing really going on where football is concerned, no real harm in giving him the job right now. See what he could get done. He can't do any worse plus he has more experience.

I supported Latas and he didn't win the Digi or even qualify for the Gold Cup (which at a minimum he should have done).

Provided we could line up some friendlies we could be back on track. We basically will need to get as much games against the Gold Cup teams as they prepare cause can't see the team doing much more than that as far as preparation. We could see what TF will get done before World Cup qualifiers.
Post by: supporter on December 16, 2010, 01:54:44 PM
WOW, JUST WOW  :applause:

I can only dream of him taking over the reigns
Post by: theworm2345 on December 16, 2010, 02:54:33 PM
He's not short on confidence, thats for sure
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 16, 2010, 04:03:32 PM
Any coach who could install the discipline in our National Team that they would knock that ball around for at least a minute with a proper defence and at the same time deal with TTFF and they bullshit i say go brave . 
Post by: palos on December 16, 2010, 04:17:29 PM
Any coach who could install the discipline in our National Team that they would knock that ball around for at least a minute

If it have 5 teams in WORLD FOOTBALL....club or country....that could do that in serious competition....it have plenty.
Post by: MEP on December 16, 2010, 04:18:26 PM

well he was an assistant coach under Maturana no?

Let meh qualify that statement ....his ego won't allow him to accept that position after being head coach
Post by: dreamer on December 16, 2010, 05:05:20 PM
Ok let's put some constructuve comments for this very important discussion on Fenwick. Top score is 10 on any criterion. Some have more weight than others.
Concerning Fenwick:

1. Disciplinarian qualities: 9 (not 10, because of potential for being abusive and counterproductive)
2. Confidence 9:
3. Football knowledge: 8
4. Respect from football fraternity: 6
5. Respect from total T&T ballers: 6 (Potential discord in the camp)
6. Knowledge of T&T football scene: 9
7. Suitability of football style to T&T players: 3 (Predominantly a slighltly more refined boom kick style)
8. Comraderie with T&T coaches: 4
9: Intentions for developing T&T talent: 8
10: Mentoring capacity with insecure troubled youths like the Whitley type: 3
11: Ass-licking resistance with Jackula: 5
12: Polarizing tendency and selfishness and backstabbing: 3
13: Dishonesty factor, trustworthiness: 6
14: Hardworking factor: 8
15: Attractiveness of football brand: 2

Overall, I say don't do it ... :-\
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on December 16, 2010, 05:17:04 PM
Ok let's put some constructuve comments for this very important discussion on Fenwick. Top score is 10 on any criterion. Some have more weight than others.
Concerning Fenwick:

1. Disciplinarian qualities: 9 (not 10, because of potential for being abusive and counterproductive)
2. Confidence 9:
7. Suitability of football style to T&T players: 3 (Predominantly a slighltly more refined boom kick style)

My turn..

1. Disciplinarian qualities: 9
2. Confidence 9:
4. Respect from football fraternity: 4
5. Respect from total T&T ballers: 8 (He will make them respect him and the shirt)
7. Suitability of football style to T&T players: 8 (Jabloteh is no long ball team.. Terry likes good football starting from the back..structure and formation are key with discipline and determination)
10: Mentoring capacity with insecure troubled youths like the Whitley type: 6 (Whitley is a lost soul..no one can help him.. unfair to signal out Terry on that... he's done well with some trouble makers..Peltier and Guerra included)
11: Ass-licking resistance with Jackula: 8 (Terry is hiw own man and will not bend over like Latapy and Maturana)
12: Hardworking factor: 10
13: Attractiveness of football brand: 7

DO IT
Post by: Bakes on December 16, 2010, 05:36:09 PM
Concerning Fenwick:

2. Confidence 9:

Where's the proof that T&T ballers don't respect him?

Is not Trini players he working with at Jabloteh?  Is he not successful playing his style with those Trini players?  Does TnT even have a facking "style"?  Other than starting slow, ketching goal in we ass and spending 3/4 of the game playing catch-up?  Conceding sorf goal is de 'style' yuh talking about?  If so then I ready fuh ah new style.

What about his mentoring capacity with hardworking Trini youths hungry for an opportunity to shine?  Or should we only concern weself with reclamation projects like Whitley and Hardest?

How yuh go only rate him ah "5"... he should be ah 10 because he doh seem like he'll be willing to kiss anybody ass... Jack included.

Do you even know the meaning of the term "backstabbing"?  Is clear yuh letting yuh bias rule yuh thought process b/c Fenwick will quicker plant de knife between yuh eyes rather than in yuh back.  If nothing else yuh know where yuh stand with him and doh have to worry about him two-timing yuh.

Again... based on what?  Yuh might not like what he have to say but he's ah man yuh could always trust to speak his mind, and to tell you what on yuh mind.  What you basing this rating on?

The only "attractiveness" we need to concern weself with at this stage is wins in the win column.  What's the sense playing 'attractive' ball and yuh getting yuh ass wash?

You doh like the man so you giving him biased ratings.

Post by: Spursy on December 16, 2010, 05:50:29 PM
The point is he deserves a chance to be coach after helping so many players that featured in our teams for the last decade. Nuff said.
Post by: Deeks on December 16, 2010, 05:52:02 PM
Any coach who could install the discipline in our National Team that they would knock that ball around for at least a minute with a proper defence and at the same time deal with TTFF and they bullshit i say go brave . 

When allyuh talk about discipline, describe what allyuh really mean. Sometime people think that our players are rowdy and careless and don't care. That is far from the truth. Maybe some players(Dwight, Latas???), but not all the players. I think our players lack confidence and support. First of all, the teams don't get support. They play far away from their home base. Few people in the stands. Then there is the issue of salary. I honestly don't know how them does get paid. When they play for the national team is a next set of issues with the TTFF. 13 games and still not paid. They are still willing play dispite late payment and they are called undiscipline, lazy and greedy!!!!!! lay off them guys a bit. Yes their are things individual players should be doing on their own to get over the top. Proper diet and weight training are 2 things I would like the players to do on their own. Most of the clubs don't have facilities. Lay off that ill-discipline cliche a bit.
Post by: Bakes on December 16, 2010, 05:54:48 PM
When allyuh talk about discipline, describe what allyuh really mean.

Discipline= how to be a professional

-Eating right
-Training right
-How to play the game the right way, applying proper techniques, executing coaching strategy etc.
-Having the right mental approach to the profession
- ...Etc.

On the evidence our players lacking discipline.
Post by: maxg on December 16, 2010, 06:14:43 PM
"Is not Trini players he working with at Jabloteh?  Is he not successful playing his style with those Trini players?  Does TnT even have a facking "style"?  Other than starting slow, ketching goal in we ass and spending 3/4 of the game playing catch-up?  Conceding sorf goal is de 'style' yuh talking about?  If so then I ready fuh ah new style"
 :D :applause:

Post by: Deeks on December 16, 2010, 06:17:19 PM

-Eating right
-Training right
-How to play the game the right way, applying proper techniques, executing coaching strategy etc.
- ...Etc.

Bakes, OK that is fine. But, that can't start at the national team level. That has to start at he club level. I can only see that happening if the NT coach has the players for 3-4 weeks at a time. Yes, then he can instill those requirements. But if he can only get them 5 days at a time, I don't see that wukkin'.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2010, 07:18:15 PM

-Eating right
-Training right
- ...Etc.

Bakes, OK that is fine. But, that can't start at the national team level. That has to start at he club level. I can only see that happening if the NT coach has the players for 3-4 weeks at a time. Yes, then he can instill those requirements. But if he can only get them 5 days at a time, I don't see that wukkin'.

Didn't Beenie achieve this Deeks?  You are not wrong, all of the above starts not only w/clubs but with our football infrastructure, from youth level all the way up, in the absence of one a senior men's team coach can bring about the above given enough time, we have at least one data pt that says so...
Post by: Errol on December 16, 2010, 07:34:16 PM
"Is not Trini players he working with at Jabloteh?  Is he not successful playing his style with those Trini players?  Does TnT even have a facking "style"?  Other than starting slow, ketching goal in we ass and spending 3/4 of the game playing catch-up?  Conceding sorf goal is de 'style' yuh talking about?  If so then I ready fuh ah new style"
 :D :applause:

He working with what he have right now, a limited T&T bunch, as a national coach he will have more players to choose from. Not to mention most of the current T&T players are Terry/Jabloteh products.

Give the man a chance for the LEAST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: College on December 16, 2010, 08:11:36 PM
So whappen to Tigana? was he just last week's flavor. Wais the posish with that?
Post by: zuluwarrior on December 16, 2010, 09:39:45 PM
Anal Roberts say to locallize itt and Fenwick  consider himself a local so lets try him .
Post by: fitzinho on December 17, 2010, 01:42:38 AM

Terry does not think he will get this job. No coach in their right mind knowing the situation with the TTFF would make these kinda promises with out setting conditions and a timeline. Right now the man politicking, talking with water in his mouth.  Why didn't he answer the question and state tangible differences and new ideas?

The follow up question should have been regarded expectations for Jabloteh in the CONCACAF Club Championship.
:applause:
Post by: Socapro on December 17, 2010, 08:31:07 AM

Oh really!  ???

He throwing talk for Jack & the TTFF to see if they go take the bait as he knows he's on their unofficial blacklist!  ;)
Post by: Marcos on December 17, 2010, 08:33:36 AM

-Eating right
-Training right
-How to play the game the right way, applying proper techniques, executing coaching strategy etc.-Having the right mental approach to the profession
- ...Etc.

That's not discipline. You could be disciplined and not know how to aply proper technique etc. due to poor coaching
Post by: spideybuff on December 17, 2010, 09:01:53 AM
What position Jabloteh in this season again? When last he beat McComie, who point out that they only have one way to play so it easy to counteract them?

I have no issue witht  man being given a chance, just doh hail him as the messiah.
Post by: King Deese on December 17, 2010, 09:14:41 AM

SWO - Assuming you got the job what about a supporting staff? Will we see changes?
TF: - I would find positions for most of T&T’s legendary players past and present, they all have a part to play. They should all contribute. Good players recognize good players and T&T needs a strong character at the top to harness and direct the combined efforts of these legends to ensure on-going continuity and success. I am a strong character!!!

SWO - What do you feel are some of the important things missing in our football today, both on and off the field?
TF: - Coaching awards should be made available to all and not just a selected few. T&T, lack good coaches, there is a lot of good will and effort, but technical competence is sadly amiss. I would support the PFL teams in their fight to obtain access to community facilities, supporters and social clubs, a home base and a facility to call their own.

Once again, Terry Fenwick crying in the wilderness, but nobody hears him though.

How sad.
Post by: palos on December 17, 2010, 09:50:59 AM
So Terry Fenwick claims he'll bring the pride back to playing for T&T and our results will improve if he's made coach seeing that he's guaranteeing qualification to the Gold Cup and World Cup

Let's look at the evidence.

Terry Fenwick's supporters say look at how he works with T&T players and has success with them.

Well it's true that he works with T&T players.  But what is this success peeps talkin about?

He's worked with Jabloteh only, which certainly up to a couple years ago was one of 2 dominant clubs in T&T football.  Their roster comprised of 99% T&T players.

In addition, many Jabloteh players have gone on to other clubs and a significant number of National team players have played for Jabloteh under Fenwick at one time or the other.

So if one is to gauge "success" by being tops in the T&T Pro League and number of players on the National team, I guess Fenwick is "successful".

But let's examine further.

When Jabloteh comes up against foreign opposition in the CONCACAF Champions League...even in their heyday....how did they fare?  Has Jabloteh ever made it to the final rounds of that CL?  As a matter of fact, the other dominant local team over the past 5 - 10 years, W Connection, has made more strides in that arena than Jabloteh ever has.  Even relative newcomer Joe Public, with a Bajan coach, has done better than Jabloteh ever has under Fenwick in that competition.

If I'm not mistaken (and I frequently am), the best Jabloteh has ever done when playing foreign competition is when they played Chicago Fire and buss dey tail 3-1 or something in T&T with Cornell Glen running riot.  And even then, Fenwick was just an assistant to Head Coach Ricky Hill.  Of course, Jabloteh come and get dey ass wax in Chicago in de return leg.  But these things happen.

So if its accurate that Jabloteh has had little or no success outside of T&T, and Jabloteh under Fenwick at their peak was a de facto T&T national team (local based anyway), why would anyone think that T&T would have any success under Fenwick?

I not sayin Fenwick not better than Latapy, or that he's not even the right guy for the job at this time, but to me he just talks a good game.  He's yet to produce the results on it.  Unless yuh satisfied with results at the Pro League level....2 years ago when CLICO had money.
Post by: FireBrand on December 17, 2010, 09:51:28 AM
What position Jabloteh in this season again? When last he beat McComie, who point out that they only have one way to play so it easy to counteract them?

I have no issue witht  man being given a chance, just doh hail him as the messiah.

Who on this forum did that? People just highlighted how some of de man's coaching attributes could benefit the national team. And come nah man...we all know that Jabloteh experienced a mass exodus of players while they were in financial crisis. The man is rebuilding that team with the limited financial resources he has so yuh cyar expect to see them steam roll every other team in the League like they did prior to his year long absence. The man is a decent coach and could be de right fit for T&T. I would give him a chance even if it's as interim head coach. If not I think he could do well at the helm of the u-20 or Olympic team (based on his experience working with the youths).
Post by: Marcos on December 17, 2010, 10:01:27 AM
So Terry Fenwick claims he'll bring the pride back to playing for T&T and our results will improve if he's made coach seeing that he's guaranteeing qualification to the Gold Cup and World Cup

Terry Fenwick's supporters say look at how he works with T&T players and has success with them.

Well it's true that he works with T&T players.  But what is this success peeps talkin about?

He's worked with Jabloteh only, which certainly up to a couple years ago was one of 2 dominant clubs in T&T football.  Their roster comprised of 99% T&T players.

In addition, many Jabloteh players have gone on to other clubs and a significant number of National team players have played for Jabloteh under Fenwick at one time or the other.

So if one is to gauge "success" by being tops in the T&T Pro League and number of players on the National team, I guess Fenwick is "successful".

When Jabloteh comes up against foreign opposition in the CONCACAF Champions League...even in their heyday....how did they fare?  Has Jabloteh ever made it to the final rounds of that CL?  As a matter of fact, the other dominant local team over the past 5 - 10 years, W Connection, has made more strides in that arena than Jabloteh ever has.  Even relative newcomer Joe Public, with a Bajan coach, has done better than Jabloteh ever has under Fenwick in that competition.

If I'm not mistaken (and I frequently am), the best Jabloteh has ever done when playing foreign competition is when they played Chicago Fire and buss dey tail 3-1 or something in T&T with Cornell Glen running riot.  And even then, Fenwick was just an assistant to Head Coach Ricky Hill.  Of course, Jabloteh come and get dey ass wax in Chicago in de return leg.  But these things happen.

So if its accurate that Jabloteh has had little or no success outside of T&T, and Jabloteh under Fenwick at their peak was a de facto T&T national team (local based anyway), why would anyone think that T&T would have any success under Fenwick?

I not sayin Fenwick not better than Latapy, or that he's not even the right guy for the job at this time, but to me he just talks a good game.  He's yet to produce the results on it.  Unless yuh satisfied with results at the Pro League level....2 years ago when CLICO had money.

Good post
Post by: FF on December 17, 2010, 10:10:38 AM

Good post

to clarify... Fenwick was never an assistant to Ricky Hill.

Fenwick had left Jabloteh and Ricky Hill took charge for one season... it was essentially Fenwicks team that destroyed Fire 5-2 in the stadium.... however in the return leg... Ian Gray received a red card late in the first half and Fire went on to win 4-0
Post by: palos on December 17, 2010, 10:21:33 AM

Fenwick had left Jabloteh and Ricky Hill took charge for one season... it was essentially Fenwicks team that destroyed Fire 5-2 in the stadium.... however in the return leg... Ian Gray received a red card late in the first half and Fire went on to win 4-0

OK....so Ricky Hill was coach for the one time Jabloteh had "success" in that realm?

Ah guess if it was really Fenwick's team, it come like saying de Soca Warriors that qualified for the 2006 WC is really Bertille St Clair's team.
Post by: elan on December 17, 2010, 10:28:23 AM

Good post

:shameonyou:

Not that Simple.
Post by: FF on December 17, 2010, 11:00:59 AM

OK....so Ricky Hill was coach for the one time Jabloteh had "success" in that realm?

Ah guess if it was really Fenwick's team, it come like saying de Soca Warriors that qualified for the 2006 WC is really Bertille St Clair's team.

dont be an a$$hole nah.... club football and national football ent de same and yuh intelligent enough to see that

Post by: Bakes on December 17, 2010, 11:04:40 AM

-Eating right
-Training right
-How to play the game the right way, applying proper techniques, executing coaching strategy etc.-Having the right mental approach to the profession
- ...Etc.

That's not discipline. You could be disciplined and not know how to aply proper technique etc. due to poor coaching

You could take anything in isolation and argue that it's "not discipline", but if you're getting proper instruction from the coaches and you fail to heed that instruction then that is poor discipline.  If you get that instruction and you allow other distractions to prevent you from focusing on your task on the field that is poor discipline.  If others get the same instruction and can execute, yet you can, then that could be attributable to a number of reasons, poor discipline being one of them.

Your objection to this being labeled a discipline issue perhaps underscores why the problem exist, people (including the players) don't recognize the problem for what it is.
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 17, 2010, 11:08:10 AM
Ah don't want to sound like ah bandwagonist, but he is probably the best fit as national coach:  he's played at the highest levels, has coached here, knows the setup, feels a deep connection to our shores, and brings that professionalism.  Is he perfect?  No.  He has made mistakes, but isn't the first one.  He also respects our legends, and in the midst of his criticism, he has been sure not to denigrate Yorke or Latas, and you could sense that he holds deep respects for their achievements as players.  He sounds willing to bury whatever qualms he has with TTFF / Jack, and get on with the business.  Ah waiting for man to lambaste me now. ;D
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 17, 2010, 11:11:48 AM
Ah don't want to sound like ah bandwagonist, but he is probably the best fit as national coach:  he's played at the highest levels, has coached here, knows the setup, feels a deep connection to our shores, and brings that professionalism.  Is he perfect?  No.  He has made mistakes, but isn't the first one.  He also respects our legends, and in the midst of his criticism, he has been sure not to denigrate Yorke or Latas, and you could sense that he holds deep respects for their achievements as players.  He sounds willing to bury whatever qualms he has with TTFF / Jack, and get on with the business.  Ah waiting for man to lambaste me now. ;D

Good post
Post by: Tenorsaw on December 17, 2010, 11:13:41 AM

Some valid points, Palos, but I think with access to our entire player pool, he could be very effective.  Think about what he would do with the local and foreign coalition.  
Post by: Bakes on December 17, 2010, 11:13:49 AM

Not only that, but saying that Fenwick's teams never achieved much outside of the Pro League isn't necessarily a knock against Fenwick, but perhaps is an indictment of the quality of the local players.  The fact that no PFL team has been successful outside of TnT bears this out.  One off successes such as Joe Public against NE Revolution doesn't count. When his team competes on an even level (against other local players) he is successful. When his team of local players competes against foreign opposition they are in over their heads.  Good talent will often compensate for poor coaching.  Good coaching seldom is enough to overcome poor talent.  And I use "poor" here in a relative sense.

The real rubric would be to see how his teams would do when infused with the foreign-based talent that we have available to us in the national pool.  Simply put there is no metric with this as a factor, upon which he can be judged.  We know he can be successful with mediocre talent against other mediocre teams.  We know he has failed against better competition with mediocre talent.  Well let's see what he can do with better talent against better opponents instead of crying about how he never achieved anything outside of TnT.
Post by: palos on December 17, 2010, 11:36:01 AM

dont be an a$$hole nah.... club football and national football ent de same and yuh intelligent enough to see that

I am who and what I am.  I make no apologies for it and if it upset you, daz on you....not me.

As for club and netional football bein different....yuh quite correct.  Whaz Fenwick record in national football?
Post by: Controversial on December 17, 2010, 11:45:31 AM

I am who and what I am.  I make no apologies for it and if it upset you, daz on you....not me.

As for club and netional football bein different....yuh quite correct.  Whaz Fenwick record in national football?

first of all, fenwick never applied for the job, yet you have brazillians and dutchmen lining up for the position. so to even mention fenwick name in the running right now is ridiculous because it seems to me that he wants the ttff to approach him and offer it to him on a silver platter.

some of you have made good points in his regard, but i tend to agree with palos line of thinking
Post by: Bakes on December 17, 2010, 11:53:48 AM
first of all, fenwick never applied for the job, yet you have brazillians and dutchmen lining up for the position. so to even mention fenwick name in the running right now is ridiculous because it seems to me that he wants the ttff to approach him and offer it to him on a silver platter.

some of you have made good points in his regard, but i tend to agree with palos line of thinking

Really?  Name one.
Post by: Spursy on December 17, 2010, 12:09:15 PM
I want to see Fenwick get a chance. The man deserve something back for his efforts and loyalty to tnt football over the years.
Post by: Socapro on December 17, 2010, 12:13:26 PM
I want to see Fenwick get a chance. The man deserve something back for his efforts and loyalty to tnt football over the years.

We can't always get want we want in life!
I want to see Scamps go and Jackula forced to remove his fangs from our football!
Doesn't look like its going to happen anytime soon!
Post by: Fantastic on December 17, 2010, 01:19:22 PM
Marcos, yuh right. Discipline is something yuh could apply loosely to anything and at different levels. Executing coaching strategy and training right have all kinda shit involved in that. What if yuh unable to execute a game plan, lack the skill to do so, lack the understanding to process the information and analyze de action on de field and apply knowledge gained by our wonderful coaches? So yuh not disciplined if yuh trying 100% mentally and physically, but can't complete a task? Football not as easy as some people on here does describe it nah. Palos right also, what has he done to speak so confidently? Some men pointing to his club record and the work he has done as a positive and then turning around and saying club and country is two different thing. I couldn't care less if Jack give him a try....and he might end up doing ok, but he has never had success outside of Trinidad and de club football that allyuh say different to national ball. That whole developmental thing at Jabloteh was all Fenwick? Didn't the most organized, well funded club structure in de league have anything to do with that? He seems to be an organized coach and I have had de opportunity to witness 1 of his training sessions before. Why do we talk about this man as if he has top level coaching experience?
Post by: FF on December 17, 2010, 01:38:12 PM

papa me ent arguing for fenwick or with you... i just correct an inaccuracy in your post...

because errors like that especially when the facts are easily accessible is a pet peeve of mine.
Post by: MEP on December 17, 2010, 01:40:43 PM
Marcos, yuh right. Discipline is something yuh could apply loosely to anything and at different levels. Executing coaching strategy and training right have all kinda shit involved in that. What if yuh unable to execute a game plan, lack the skill to do so, lack the understanding to process the information and analyze de action on de field and apply knowledge gained by our wonderful coaches? So yuh not disciplined if yuh trying 100% mentally and physically, but can't complete a task? Football not as easy as some people on here does describe it nah. Palos right also, what has he done to speak so confidently? Some men pointing to his club record and the work he has done as a positive and then turning around and saying club and country is two different thing. I couldn't care less if Jack give him a try....and he might end up doing ok, but he has never had success outside of Trinidad and de club football that allyuh say different to national ball. That whole developmental thing at Jabloteh was all Fenwick? Didn't the most organized, well funded club structure in de league have anything to do with that? He seems to be an organized coach and I have had de opportunity to witness 1 of his training sessions before. Why do we talk about this man as if he has top level coaching experience?
Using your argument what success outside of TnT did Latas have that would render him coach. He got his chance and squandered it..why not let someone else do so?
Post by: palos on December 17, 2010, 01:54:12 PM
Using your argument what success outside of TnT did Latas have that would render him coach. He got his chance and squandered it..why not let someone else do so?

Latapy was never qualified to be the Senior Men's National team coach

Neither was Maradona for Argentina...and he have infinitely better players

Yuh doh jes wave a magic wand and become an effective coach.  Latas never coach anybody of note.  He maybe have de basic coachin certificate but daz about it.  He train Falkirk reserves....sometimes.  So now he qualify to become head coach of a national football team?  Is like sayin yuh take accounting 101 so now yuh qualify to be CFO in a multinational company.

Fenwick definitely has more coaching experience than Latapy.  But to appoint him as the senior mens National team coach is to perpetuate the insanity IMO.

It will be in BOTH Latapy's and Fenwick's best interests as well as the TTFF to start them off at the lower levels.  You want to coach a national team?  Start with U 15's.  Or U 17's.  Let's see how you do there first.  In the meantime, if we truly serious bout the senior mens national football team, hire a coach who has experience and some form of success in that arena...or AT THE VERY LEAST experience and success in the region i.e. CONCACAF. 

If however the mentality is to say....well Latas get a turn, Shabazz did get a turn, Clayton Morris did get a turn, Stuart Charles did get a turn, Anton Corneal did get a lil run, so time to give Fenwick a turn, den by all means go tru.  He jes as "qualified" as dem.

But doh expeck to have different results when yuh doin de same ting over and over.

Post by: injunchile on December 17, 2010, 03:09:09 PM
It is all about the MONEY- Give Terry a two year contract and see what he can do?  Firstly make the locals improve and then bring in the foreign base for some International Friendlies against above level teams- Venezuela = Canada= Panama- Chile- Guatemala- Guadelope- Suriname. If we can see improvements and some good results then give him the wuk.
Post by: just cool on December 17, 2010, 03:19:08 PM
Ah fella did write ah song ah few yrs back, and dat song come tuh mind when i read this thread.
" ah fedup ah de same ting, over and over, ah fedup ah de same ting , over and over."
Post by: Controversial on December 17, 2010, 05:17:02 PM
Ah fella did write ah song ah few yrs back, and dat song come tuh mind when i read this thread.
" ah fedup ah de same ting, over and over, ah fedup ah de same ting , over and over."

benjai  :D

Really?  Name one.

hey i just basing it on the excellent reporting and journalism of the tt press  :D

it still doesn't hide the fact, that the same press stated fenwick did not throw his name in the ring. note that fenwick stated in his interview with flex it would be an honor to coach the team, he never stated that he applied for the position.
Post by: Spursy on December 17, 2010, 05:50:46 PM
Just saying with access to all locals as well as foriegn based, Fenwich can groom a nice team for the future.

At this point what we got to lose, latas have our football in the drain
Post by: Brownsugar on December 17, 2010, 05:53:11 PM

But doh expeck to have different results when yuh doin de same ting over and over.

We have the same people at the helm for over 2 decades what yuh expect??  Anyway Fenwick hear what, we getting a bess coach next week (Dec 22nd) and den we ticket for Brazil booked for sure.....sorry we eh need yuh right now.....
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 17, 2010, 06:21:05 PM
fenwick should eventually be given a chance to prove himself with a U-14 /16team. judging by jabloteh's performance at that level (consistently in 1st or 2nd place) yuh have to think that he and his staff have the capability to identify ability and place players where their innate talent is of most use.

it clear that fenwick has a better track record than men like macomie, laforest and corneal, yet all dem done get a chance to shine. it follows that considerations outside merit are/have been employed to select who gets plum manager jobs.

as much as the man may have his personal issues, he is in a far better position to instill tactical and technical basics as well as that intangible that seems to be missing in so many of our senior players...heart.

we have the best crop in years coming up at giants level, better spend $$$ on them cuz even beenhakker would see hell to push this motley crew thru a hex
Post by: Socapro on December 17, 2010, 06:25:17 PM
fenwick should eventually be given a chance to prove himself with a U-14 /16team. judging by jabloteh's performance at that level (consistently in 1st or 2nd place) yuh have to think that he and his staff have the capability to identify ability and place players where their innate talent is of most use.

it clear that fenwick has a better track record than men like macomie, laforest and corneal, yet all dem done get a chance to shine. it follows that considerations outside merit are/have been employed to select who gets plum manager jobs.

as much as the man may have his personal issues, he is in a far better position to instill tactical and technical basics as well as that intangible that seems to be missing in so many of our senior players...heart.

we have the best crop in years coming up at giants level, better spend $$$ on them cuz even beenhakker would see hell to push this motley crew thru a hex

Don't think the Hex will be the final World Cup qualification format for CONCACAF anymore!!
Post by: Yogi on December 17, 2010, 06:34:31 PM
Fenwick as coach? I have mixed feelings on that, kinda like how I felt when they appointed Latas after Mats.At the time I felt anyone would be better than El Corbeau and right now the feelin is anyone better than Latas, dejavu anyone?. Fellas make some good points on both side of the fence. I notice nobody mentioned that when Jabloteh came up against MLS teams that those teams were well funded and had top players from the US and other countries in their ranks while Jabloteh was basically 100% local. Any positive result against those sides is a damn good result, however I would have liked to have seen them compete against clubs from the smaller countries eg. Honduras, Costa Rica, Guatemala etc. That would have been a good gauge for the time (when CLICO was still spendin money on them).
Post by: Spursy on December 17, 2010, 06:39:17 PM
 All I am saying without been a needy fan is if ttff want to go "local" coach get a pro league one.. Not necessarily Fen but someone that knows the player pool down there.
Post by: Fantastic on December 18, 2010, 12:21:11 AM

MEP, did u see a " Latapy deserved the job" banner anywhere in my post? My whole point is as Palos just said, what has Fenwick done to talk like that, or deserve a national team head coaching position? Latas has done nothing and has no experience neither, but yuh want to just try somebody else for the sake of trying something different? Bro, I have done coaching courses, and I was and still am a pretty decent player, but coaching ent easy. Experience counts a whole lot, especially if yuh don't have a wise old head in yuh corner to guide yuh. Latas made a big mistake by not finding someone with de experience to complement his football mind. Let a qualified, experienced coach try his luck with these supposed to be international ballers in Trinidad. Odds are against any success in de near future, but to bring in another unproven ent make no fackin sense.
Post by: Sam on February 06, 2020, 08:19:21 AM
Man get he wish.

Post by: ABTrini on December 10, 2020, 08:06:03 AM

Reward for making ah living and contributing to the development of football am
No players in TnT :bs:
Post by: ABTrini on December 24, 2020, 08:17:54 AM

Reward for making ah living and contributing to the development of football am
No players in TnT :bs:
Let's be real- if you getting ah bulling in Trinidad cause yuh know some TnT women like that accent and  feel colonially comfortable and yuh living like ah English Lord getting well paid I'm sure it would be an honour to coach ah team against youths and say look at success- this is why I deserve 20 k USA ah month!!