General => General Discussion => Topic started by: TriniCana on December 30, 2010, 07:18:50 PM

Title: Rest In Peace - Sir Ellis Clarke
Post by: TriniCana on December 30, 2010, 07:18:50 PM
Just heard he passed away this afternoon (Thursday 30th December 2010)
Title: Re: Rest In Peace - Sir Ellis Clarke
Post by: Organic on December 30, 2010, 07:20:06 PM
R.I.P Sir Ellis Clarke!!
Post by: Bakes on December 30, 2010, 07:37:13 PM
He was at that age I suppose, but still for many of us it's the end of an era.  One of only three Presidents in our history... and very much one of our own 'Founding Fathers" (the original drafter of our Constitution).  His legacy as a lawyer and a statesman will live on.
Post by: Sando prince on December 30, 2010, 07:43:22 PM
he made it to 93...R.I.P
Post by: Touches on December 30, 2010, 07:48:50 PM
Correction Bakes...is 4 President we had
Post by: AirMan on December 30, 2010, 08:09:05 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bm5WjhaCd2k

Good memories
Post by: Bakes on December 30, 2010, 08:19:00 PM

Oh yeah... nearly fuhget about Max dey.  Noor still alive... anybody?
Post by: AirMan on December 30, 2010, 08:22:30 PM

Noor died more about 4 years now..I was happy he made it out his Presidency alive
Post by: just cool on December 30, 2010, 09:06:44 PM
Didn't know much about this fella, his politics and so forth was ah total mystery. what i did know about him was that he loved horse racing and had ah couple of top horses back in the day, like clown prince and madness. every race day ellis and his son peter was present @ the races up in owners and trainers livin it up.

they also called him the cocktail president BC every week he was in the papers in some social event holding ah glass, he also went on like ah black aristocrat, and it was rumored that he own prime real estate in london's upscale westminister. anyway, that fella had ah great life, and lived to ah ripe old age. lucky bastard. :devil:
http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EllisClarke.html#top
Post by: weary1969 on December 30, 2010, 09:23:15 PM
Wow I learnt this here at dis hr wow. Nobody eh call meh
Post by: STEUPS!! on December 30, 2010, 09:30:20 PM

girl, yuh know news does buss here fuss sometimes

RIP
Post by: weary1969 on December 30, 2010, 09:32:59 PM

girl, yuh know news does buss here fuss sometimes

RIP

ENTTTTTTTT
Post by: Bakes on December 30, 2010, 09:35:13 PM

Noor died more about 4 years now..I was happy he made it out his Presidency alive

I seem to recall dat but wasn't sure... I guess I coulda google.
Post by: AirMan on December 30, 2010, 10:15:00 PM

Basdeo Panday and Patrick Manning response to Sir Ellis death..

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/582/tts-first-president-sir-ellis-clarke-is-dead/
Post by: Quags on December 30, 2010, 10:23:56 PM
Didn't know much about this fella, his politics and so forth was ah total mystery. what i did know about him was that he loved horse racing and had ah couple of top horses back in the day, like clown prince and madness. every race day ellis and his son peter was present @ the races up in owners and trainers livin it up.

they also called him the cocktail president BC every week he was in the papers in some social event holding ah glass, he also went on like ah black aristocrat, and it was rumored that he own prime real estate in london's upscale westminister. anyway, that fella had ah great life, and lived to ah ripe old age. lucky bastard. :devil:
http://www.nalis.gov.tt/Biography/bio_EllisClarke.html#top
Listen to what Basdeo said about him.
Post by: Brownsugar on December 31, 2010, 04:21:19 AM
Talk about leaving a legacy.....the 1st Constitution of a newly minted Independent Nation.....RIP sir.

Didn't he celebrate a birthday recently??  A could google it but ah kinda like getting the answers from mih extended family on here.... ;D
Post by: 1-868 on December 31, 2010, 04:28:27 AM
RIP Sir.
Post by: TriniCana on December 31, 2010, 05:00:58 AM
Browning he celebrated his birthday 3 days ago.
Post by: Brownsugar on December 31, 2010, 05:06:45 AM

Thanks ah thought so.....see ah eh even reach by google yet and ah get de answer.  Dis forum is de best!!!  ;D
Post by: Deeks on December 31, 2010, 07:05:53 AM
RIP Sir Ellis!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on December 31, 2010, 11:58:50 AM

Thanks ah thought so.....see ah eh even reach by google yet and ah get de answer.  Dis forum is de best!!!  ;D

Ent I does get my news right here.
Post by: AirMan on December 31, 2010, 05:03:41 PM

Selwyn Ryan, Ken Gordon and Kamalludin Mohammed speak on Sir Ellis Clarke contribution to T&T.

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/583/friends-remember-sir-ellis-clarke-on-first-up/
Post by: AirMan on January 06, 2011, 02:18:18 PM
'Clarke deserves national holiday'

Jack pays tribute to Sir Ellis

A national holiday should be named in honour of the former first President of Trinidad and Tobago, the late Sir Ellis Clarke.

Minister of Works and Transport, Jack Warner, made the suggestion after paying his respects to Sir Ellis at the rotunda of the Red House yesterday.

"I have said that there should be something in his honour, nothing of course that can be forgotten in two or three years and as such I would advocate some kind of public holiday," Warner said.

"But no additional holiday, take of the one of the existing ones and call it Sir Ellis Clarke Day," he added...Continue .. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Clarke_deserves_national_holiday_-112982989.html
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2011, 02:45:26 PM
'Clarke deserves national holiday'

Jack pays tribute to Sir Ellis

A national holiday should be named in honour of the former first President of Trinidad and Tobago, the late Sir Ellis Clarke.

Minister of Works and Transport, Jack Warner, made the suggestion after paying his respects to Sir Ellis at the rotunda of the Red House yesterday.

"I have said that there should be something in his honour, nothing of course that can be forgotten in two or three years and as such I would advocate some kind of public holiday," Warner said.

"But no additional holiday, take of the one of the existing ones and call it Sir Ellis Clarke Day," he added...Continue .. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Clarke_deserves_national_holiday_-112982989.html

U know people hear dat and say 2mor is a Public Holiday. We sweet 2 bad.
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2011, 07:25:41 PM
RIP, Sir Ellis. Even while you laid to rest this mad man want to throw your name in bachanal. A national holiday in honour of Sir Ellis????!!!!!!!  ??? ??? ??? boy oh boy!!!!

Post by: Preacher on January 06, 2011, 08:19:32 PM
Wow...As someone says..The end of an era.  Rest in peace Sir Ellis.
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2011, 10:02:42 PM
RIP, Sir Ellis. Even while you laid to rest this mad man want to throw your name in bachanal. A national holiday in honour of Sir Ellis????!!!!!!!  ??? ??? ??? boy oh boy!!!!

This from d people who remove Republic Day as a holiday.
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2011, 11:36:40 PM

As long as the Privy Council is the final court, I really don't see the need for republic day. Sorry you miss the day to stay home!!!!
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 07, 2011, 12:16:20 AM

As long as the Privy Council is the final court, I really don't see the need for republic day. Sorry you miss the day to stay home!!!!
Agreed
Post by: Bakes on January 07, 2011, 12:35:49 AM

People disagree with the role of the Privy Council because of the taint of the attendant taint of colonialism, real or imagined.  The reality though it that it serve a much greater good than people give it credit for.
Post by: socachynee on January 07, 2011, 07:48:48 AM
A moment of silence today for His Excellency
Rest In Peace
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 07, 2011, 11:52:27 AM
http://www.ctntworld.com/livestream/
Post by: Touches on January 07, 2011, 12:39:32 PM
Our Police and Military does look real jokey...no kinda timing, synchronization nuttin in they marching. It real lackadaisical

One setta fat man sweating like pot cover, walking with a saga boy swag.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 07, 2011, 12:41:00 PM
Nah man Touches....where you watching the proceedings??  Cuz they were pretty much on point up by NAPA....although ah red man in front of the fellas bearing de casket look like he was under some pressure.... ;D
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 07, 2011, 01:01:36 PM
Do they always bury people like the President in laparose cemetary i thought there was a special place  for people like him .
Post by: Dutty on January 07, 2011, 01:25:46 PM
Do they always bury people like the President in laparose cemetary i thought there was a special place  for people like him .
well at least the grave diggers wearin uniform wit gloves an ting
Post by: Jah Gol on January 07, 2011, 01:54:32 PM
R.I.P. good Sir.
Post by: Deeks on January 07, 2011, 04:30:27 PM

Not really, I think is the wishes of the individual and the family. Williams was cremated. I remember Bhadase Maraj had a state funeral and was cremated by the Caroni. So when Patos and Bas time come(God Bless their souls), is Mosquito Creek for one and Paradise Pasture for the other.
Post by: TriniCana on January 07, 2011, 06:02:20 PM

Not really, I think is the wishes of the individual and the family. Williams was cremated. I remember Bhadase Maraj had a state funeral and was cremated by the Caroni. So when Patos and Bas time come(God Bless their souls), is Mosquito Creek for one and Paradise Pasture for the other.

I seemed to remember Noor Hassanali's service was under a tent under Muslim rites. (Remembering the Mrs asking the reporters and cameramen for some respect and to give her time to do his last rites)  Media people so frigging disguising..stupes!!

Anyhoo, there was a memorial service for him at Queen's Hall or was Central Bank Auditorium?
Where are George Chambers and Sir Solomon?

Post by: AirMan on January 07, 2011, 06:24:58 PM

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/598/farewell-sir-ellis-clarke/

Farewell to Sir Ellis
Post by: Brownsugar on January 07, 2011, 08:08:54 PM
Here are some pics I took from today's proceedings...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/organize/?start_tab=sets (http://www.flickr.com/photos/organize/?start_tab=sets)

In order to view the pics in the CORRECT order.

1. Double click to open up folder "Sir Ellis Funeral"

2. Click on Your photostream link (top right hand side of screen)

3. Double click on the "Sir Ellis Funeral" folder again (on the right of the screeen)

4. Then click on slide show (top right hand side of screen)

I'm not familiar with flickr and this is my first time playing around with it.  If there's a better way to do this on flickr, help out a sistah forumites..... ;D
Post by: Deeks on January 07, 2011, 08:44:09 PM

I seemed to remember Noor Hassanali's service was under a tent under Muslim rites. (Remembering the Mrs asking the reporters and cameramen for some respect and to give her time to do his last rites)  Media people so frigging disguising..stupes!!

Anyhoo, there was a memorial service for him at Queen's Hall or was Central Bank Auditorium?
Where are George Chambers and Sir Solomon?

I can't remember the details of Sir Solomon. But I think Chambers family refused a state funeral. The had a closed service. They kept all media away.
Post by: AB.Trini on January 08, 2011, 12:29:47 AM
It is with great sadness to  finally read and to review the  state funeral of a truly great man and  one that I looked  up to while growing up. Given his age and  the stroke he suffered brought back  difficult memories for me. It was only on Dec. 9th that I gave the eulogy for my grandmother  who a mere 39 days after celebrating her 100 birthday,  also suffered a stroke and died days after.

I did recall her stories of  indentured servants coming to Trinidad and the historical changes she witnessed. Reminiscing about Sir Ellis  brings back that sense of history, that sense of nostalgia, that sense of  where we came from and what we experienced as a nation. Could you imagine these old people  saying  to their children whose names are symbolically represented as, 'Trinidad and Tobago' "Is this is how ah raise allyuh to be today" 'yuh eh see as a society of great great grand children of the elders. some ah we deserve a royal cutass for how  things are today?

I also recalled the death of another former president whose house and family was next door to us; our back yards joined. As a young boy I played in his yard  and did not realize the magnitude of this family until  now in my moments of reflection:

Noor Hassanali was a civilized and principled person and a good man. He
rose from humble beginnings in Victoria Village and advanced from stage to
stage in his life and career by sheer merit, discipline and determination, not
compromising his values, not neglecting his family and family life, never giving
up any of the varied interests that demonstrated what he learned from Victoria
Village and Naparima College. He had learnt that the uniqueness of the self is
discovered and expressed not in isolation and aloofness, but in relation to other
selves in families, communities and societies.
2.00 p.m.
Victoria Village was the beginning. Victoria Village had started as a free
African village. In his words, it was a place where Africans and Indians had a
common interest in making a living as cane farmers or workers on the sugar
estate. The young people played football and cricket together. “We used to play
on the road because there was not much traffic. Sometimes it was up-the-road
versus down-the-road;
sometimes it was Creole versus Indians. It was just a way
of picking teams, nothing more. There were close relationships between families
of different races. One man, a carpenter—he was a Demming—would come home
and tell stories, jokes; any number of stories. He would talk and talk and talk and
then we would have dinner like family. I knew nothing about racial prejudice until
after I started going to college.”
Justice Hassanali never angled for worldly eminence

I recalled  in the 60's playing up the road and down the raod cricket and football in the streets, It was guys  like  the Demmings' (two houses down from me  in London Street) relatives, Roberts encouraged me to come out and play with  the then Greyhound Dovers when I  was about 16 back then in Skinner Park.

May these who have gone on before us, find eternal rest for there enduring work and energy  in the building of our nation.
Post by: davyjenny1 on January 31, 2011, 04:23:00 AM
Some interesting information for the young trinis on this site.

http://video.ctntworld.com/view/597/first-up-online-070111/