Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on January 18, 2011, 06:15:36 PM

Title: Javed Mohammed selected by Colorado Rapids in MLS Supplemental Draft
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2011, 06:15:36 PM
Rapids select two in Supplemental Draft
By German Sferra (coloradorapids.com)

The Colorado Rapids today selected forward Philip Bannister from Loyola University (Maryland) with the last pick in the second round (36th overall) in the 2011 MLS Supplemental Draft. The club then selected defender Javed Mohammed from the University of South Florida with the 54th overall selection  -which was the last in the 3rd round and of the draft.

Colorado had previously traded their first round pick (18th overall) to Dallas for starting left back Anthony Wallace.

Bannister, born in England, scored 40 goals in his four year collegiate career. In his senior season, he scored 10 goals in nine games before injurying his knee and missing the remainder of the season.

Mohammed, born in Trinidad, was a second-team All Big East selection following his senior year. He has played for various Trinidad and Tobago youth national teams.

Two starters on the Rapids 2010 MLS Cup-winning side entered MLS via the supplemental draft. All-Star and U.S. National Team midfielder Jeff Larentowicz was selected by the New England Revolution with the 45th pick (4th round) of the 2005 Supplemental Draft. Larentowicz was the 93rd player selected that year after 48 were chosen in the annual SuperDraft.

Also, Colorado picked defender Kosuke Kimura with 35th pick (3rd RD) of the 2007 Supplemental Draft. He was the 87th player taken that year after 52 had been selected in the SuperDraft.

Bannister and Mohammed will join Colorado's SuperDraft picks Eddie Ababio and Colin Givens for preseason training in late January.

Colorado Rapids 2011 MLS Supplemental Draft Selections

Philip Bannister
Position: Forward
D.O.B.: October 3, 1988
Hometown: Wallsend, England
Height: 5-11
Weight: 167
College: Loyola University (MD)
Acquired: Selected by the Rapids in the second round (36th overall) of the 2011 MLS Supplemental Draft

Javed Mohammed
Position: Defender
D.O.B.: April 17, 1989
Hometown: LaRomain, Trinidad
Height: 5-8
Weight: 152
College: University of South Florida
Acquired: Selected by the Rapids in the third round (54th overall) of the 2011 MLS Supplemental Draft
Title: Re: Javed Mohammed selected by Colorado Rapids in MLS Supplemental Draft
Post by: andre samuel on January 18, 2011, 06:17:46 PM
Niceness!!
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on January 18, 2011, 06:19:45 PM
good stuff
Post by: che on January 18, 2011, 06:24:45 PM
 :applause:
Post by: Bakes on January 18, 2011, 06:56:01 PM
He's tiny for a defender... but that's not unprecedented.
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2011, 07:56:50 PM
Congrats Javed. But he may need to strengthen up a bit. Go dey, young warrior.
Post by: saint27 on January 18, 2011, 08:58:13 PM
If he adds speed and strength he could turn out to be very good and possible future soca warrior......because he reads the game very well as well is a threat going forward with a great left foot
Post by: weary1969 on January 18, 2011, 09:43:03 PM
Post by: dwn on January 18, 2011, 09:49:13 PM
does this mean that he's signed for Colorado?
Post by: Deeks on January 18, 2011, 09:58:09 PM
does this mean that he's signed for Colorado?

Not yet
Post by: theworm2345 on January 18, 2011, 10:03:07 PM
He is what is called in the NFL "Mr. Irrelevant."  Some of these guys do end up making a career in the NFL though.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 18, 2011, 10:07:10 PM
Please get signed.
Post by: Big Magician on January 19, 2011, 01:21:21 AM
dis boy could play it...its up to him
Post by: Andre on January 19, 2011, 12:26:21 PM
hope he make it, mature and shine. we could real use some quality defenders.
Post by: Controversial on January 19, 2011, 12:31:16 PM

haven't seen him in a while, last time palos said he was too slow, is this true?
Post by: Jah Gol on January 19, 2011, 12:39:01 PM

haven't seen him in a while, last time palos said he was too slow, is this true?
DEAD slow. He crosses very well and reads the game well too.
Post by: Controversial on January 19, 2011, 12:51:35 PM

compare him to another defender we have currently in terms of speed
Post by: Jayerson on January 19, 2011, 12:59:09 PM

He is not the fastest. But he anticpates the game well. Haven't seen his play for a while. Would really have to see how he has matured as a player. In the modern game, speed is important but there is speed of foot and speed of thought.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 19, 2011, 01:02:39 PM

Think about Kareem Smith speed. Don't get me wrong he's a good player just real slow.
Post by: College on January 19, 2011, 02:29:24 PM
Javed 'slow like molasses on a cold day' Mohammed ..... good player, nice left foot too!
Post by: Controversial on January 20, 2011, 12:39:36 PM
Javed 'slow like molasses on a cold day' Mohammed ..... good player, nice left foot too!

i think that has been a problem with our defenders lately, lack of speed, too bad you can't teach speed.
Post by: weary1969 on January 20, 2011, 03:30:57 PM

Think about Kareem Smith speed. Don't get me wrong he's a good player just real slow.

Just had a Bermuda flashback.
Post by: ttfootfan on January 20, 2011, 06:48:39 PM
I don't know why everyone saying Javed slow. I had a chance to see him play with his college team a few times and his strength is his speed. He is always one of the fastest on the field and is dangerous in the attack and can cross and pass. As usual we will call him up only to the sr. team only after he make the MLS team when he should have been on the team long time.
Post by: Tallman on January 20, 2011, 07:04:50 PM
Javed Mohammed talks about possible Pro career. His interview starts at about 4:40

http://www.gousfbulls.com/mediaPortal/embed.swf?catid=10509&id=745974&img=http://image.cdnl3.xosnetwork.com/pics31/640/ZC/ZCIYUYFCKPOFXAS.20100911051306.jpg&server=http://www.gousfbulls.com/XML/titanv3/&pageurl=http://www.gousfbulls.com/mediaPortal/&jtv=7700&skin=7700&gaa=UA-8528056-2&tremorprogid=49c159e76e775&nlwa=http://track1.neulion.com/jtvsp/7700/
Post by: weary1969 on January 20, 2011, 08:39:23 PM
I don't know why everyone saying Javed slow. I had a chance to see him play with his college team a few times and his strength is his speed. He is always one of the fastest on the field and is dangerous in the attack and can cross and pass. As usual we will call him up only to the sr. team only after he make the MLS team when he should have been on the team long time.

OK Javeed
Post by: Andre on January 20, 2011, 09:52:55 PM
Javed Mohammed talks about possible Pro career. His interview starts at about 4:40

good interview. sound like de youth have a plan.
Post by: Controversial on January 21, 2011, 12:36:52 AM

OK Javeed

when last have you seen him play? keep in mind we are not talking about players on caledonia
Post by: Quags on January 21, 2011, 01:12:58 AM
Holy seems like yesterday he got a scholarship to Miami .MLS now eh ,wow am really surprised ,didnt see this coming by a long shot ,didnt even know he was in the draft or on any teams radar . 
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 22, 2011, 06:38:55 PM
MOHAMMED EAGER TO TAKE MLS STAGE
By Shaun Fuentes

Former National Under 17 captain Javed Mohammed is on the verge of kickstarting his professional career with Colorado Rapids this coming week after being drafted by American MLS club Colorado Rapids last Tuesday. And he’s ready to embrace that chance from College player to Pro having completed an outstanding tenure with University of South Florida where he also earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Communications.

Like most other players, Mohammed has his sights on making the “Soca Warriors” line up in the near future.

“It’s a really good feeling to be drafted by Colorado. Hard work has definitely paid off. This selection is just a stepping stone for greater things. I now have to go into preseason and work hard to actually get my name on the roster and challenge the other players for a spot on the team,” Mohammed told TTFF Media on Saturday as he got down to packing his bags before heading over to join the rest of the Colorado team for the start of its preseason campaign on Sunday as they prepare to defend their 2010 MLS Cup title.

Mohammed is a left back and Rapids head coach Gary Smith seems to think he has made a good pick. "It’s always difficult to come by left backs and [Mohammed] looks athletic and attacking,”  Smith said.

“Hard work, dedication and faith has led to this. My journey has been very interesting growing up in La-Romaine, Trinidad then moving on to high school at Naparima, Playing Intercol at 14. Then moving unto College in the US where I had to move away from all my family, where the level of play was higher and much quicker and now to the professional level where the pace of play would be on a different level,’ Mohammed mentioned.

He credits his alma mater Naparima College for much of his development, particularly in the academics which allowed him to actually focus better on his footballing exploits.

“I got my bachelor's degree in Communication. I actually finished school a semester early. I think much credit has to be paid to my high school in Trinidad, Naparima College. There is where I learnt my work ethic and carried it on to College and now on the professional game,” he added.

He joins a list of T&T players who have appeared in the MLS from Stern John, Brian Haynes, Evans Wise, Travis Mulraine, David Nakhid, Chris Birchall, Keyeno Thomas, Scott Sealy, Collin Samuel, Mickey Trotman, Ansil Elcock,Julius James and Cornell Glen among others. Surely, Mohammed wants to use the opportunity to impress the national team coaches.

“My main intention is to come back and play for the National team. This has never gone out of sight for me. I know that being in college it was hard for the national selectors to keep an eye out for my progress but I knew once I got into the professional ranks I would eventually get a call back. With hard work one day my dream will come true to wear the national colors once more,” the 22-year-old  Mohammed concluded. The Rapids face Portland Timbers in their MLS opener on March 19. (Jan 22,2011)
Post by: AirMan on January 23, 2011, 06:42:31 AM
Hope the deal goes through...
Post by: fish on January 23, 2011, 04:34:38 PM
I have a question. If he good enough to get drafted, was he ever scouted by T&T management in college?
Post by: Eldo man on January 24, 2011, 12:26:58 AM
I watch de Indian play when they Played West Virginia Universtiy this past season. De mah look good. He did not seem slow to me. Nice left foot. He hit ah nice free kick straight on ah man head for a USF goal. Doh fight down de indian please. Wish de man all de best. Yuh doh see Indian kicking ball at this level. Them fellers does Usually be playing 20/20 cricket. Good luck feller and all de best.

De man look way better than Leston Paul who fellers on this site was calling de next latas. That play real shyt and could'nt see he way. My boy and then was getting real kicks on me when I tell them leston went U20 world cup.
Man ask me if I was getting tie up between special olympics and U20 World cup. I was really embarrassed with leston play. Maybe de feller had a bad day. Well at least ah hope so.

Post by: fish on January 24, 2011, 12:43:11 AM

De man look way better than Leston Paul who fellers on this site was calling de next latas. That play real shyt and could'nt see he way. My boy and then was getting real kicks on me when I tell them leston went U20 world cup.
Man ask me if I was getting tie up between special olympics and U20 World cup. I was really embarrassed with leston play. Maybe de feller had a bad day. Well at least ah hope so.

Post by: Tallman on January 24, 2011, 05:22:23 AM
I have a question. If he good enough to get drafted, was he ever scouted by T&T management in college?

Yuh never know wat de TTFF up to, but Javed is well known. He was captain of de U-17 team, and also played for de U-20 team. Usually fellas in college doh play for de national team because dey does get horrors tuh get time orf.
Post by: Controversial on January 24, 2011, 11:20:40 AM
I watch de Indian play when they Played West Virginia Universtiy this past season. De mah look good. He did not seem slow to me. Nice left foot. He hit ah nice free kick straight on ah man head for a USF goal. Doh fight down de indian please. Wish de man all de best. Yuh doh see Indian kicking ball at this level. Them fellers does Usually be playing 20/20 cricket. Good luck feller and all de best.

what the hell going on, one minute man saying javed slow like a snail, the next minute i hearing he have speed and better than leston paul? ???

who really know what going on, i better watch the youth myself yes and make my own judgement, as usual
Post by: Deeks on January 24, 2011, 12:45:02 PM
Javed should not be new to anybody. He is a former U-17 captain. He is not a speedy player, he uses skill more than brawn. I saw him briefly in a college game. And he was decent that night. You know how college games does be sometimes, 100 miles a min. I think he is one that TTFF should have in their pool of players, especially now that he is drafted. He don't have to deal with classes anymore.  I know he use to player mid in high school, but was shifted to the wing back. I was hoping he would develop as a mid man, but we will see. He will first have to make the final cut, then we can talk about professional life.
Post by: Star Child on January 24, 2011, 05:12:55 PM
Wait, I just realise something, this fella is Flex cousin or brother, which on ?

Both of them is Mohammed and they from La Romain.  8)
Post by: Andre on January 25, 2011, 09:20:06 AM
Naparima College Association of Past Students <ncoba@naps.edu.tt> to 8:59am

CONGRATS FROM N.A.P.S

The Naparima College Association of Past Students would like to send congratulations to the Trinidad & Tobago Cricket Team on winning the Caribbean T20 Championship, 2011. This victory has earned them the right to compete in the Airtel T20 Champions League, later this year in India.

Special mention must be given to our fellow Napsmen, Captain Daren Ganga, Sherwin Ganga, Samuel Badree and assistant coach David Williams, for their outstanding efforts.

In other great news, former Naparima student and National U-17 Football Captain graduated from the University of South Florida. He entered the Major League Soccer draft and was signed by the Colorado Rapids. Javed has also received offers from other clubs in the United Soccer Leagues.

It is with great pride and honour that N.A.P.S say thank you to Daren, Sherwin, Samuel, David and Javed for their continuous excellence and representing our Alma Mater...A Posse Ad Esse!!!
Post by: Sam on January 25, 2011, 11:24:46 AM
Javed Mohammed (http://www.socawarriors.net/component/content/article/87-mens-u17-match-reports/284-javed-mohammed-double-guides-tat-u-17s-through-to-next-stage.html)
Post by: Flex on January 27, 2011, 06:47:51 AM
Family support guides Javed to MLS.
By:Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former national under-17 captain Javed Mohammed says the ongoing support of his family has been a major influence in his success in the United States which resulted in him being drafted by Colorado Rapids last week.

Mohammed is currently in training with Rapids following an outstanding season with University of South Florida where a series of impressive performances in the left back position caught the eye of Rapids head coach Gary Smith. “My family has been my main form of inspiration.

Being away from them is very hard but I know they are behind me one 100 per cent. My parents have been really encouraging and I know whatever happens they will forever be proud,” added the La Romaine born Naparima College graduate.

Mohammed noted his style has changed. “When I played in T&T, my position was left wing. When I came to college, the coach examined my play and said he wanted me to try the left back role.

My main asset is my left foot.  “At USF, I take all free kicks and corners so this helps when it comes to getting the attention of teams.

In my position I’m versatile, running up and down the flank. The style of play has changed so left backs are now attacking more and I’m fulfilling that role now.”
Post by: Deeks on January 27, 2011, 08:43:03 AM
Good luck Javed. I remember reading about him playing in the mid and upfront in college and for the youth team. Good the have players who can play different position without any hassle.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 27, 2011, 08:57:33 AM
Well done.
Title: Javed released from Colorado camp
Post by: Tallman on February 12, 2011, 07:56:49 AM
Over the past three weeks, seven other players were observed but released before the team left for Arizona: 2nd Round SuperDraft pick Colin Givens, Supplemental Draft pick Javed Mohammed, and non-drafted players Corie Treacy, Josh Janniere, Masaki Hemmi, Joevin Jones, and Shahdon Winchester.
http://www.coloradorapids.com/news/2011/02/rapids-take-30-players-arizona-trip
Post by: Dumplingdinho on February 12, 2011, 08:50:32 AM
so wait nah, ppl on the forum does say MLS is real crap, no better that our pro league.  winchester is a future star yet few of our players get contracts in the MLS.
Post by: Tallman on February 12, 2011, 09:00:37 AM
so wait nah, ppl on the forum does say MLS is real crap, no better that our pro league.  winchester is a future star yet few of our players get contracts in the MLS.

Yuh have tuh keep in mind dat our players are fighting for international roster spots which are a limited resource.
Post by: coachman on February 12, 2011, 09:31:38 AM
Our players must be consistant Snr. team starters to have any possible chance, and then it is what the coaches are looking for compared to what they already have.Kerry Baptiste has a lot of caps?
Post by: Tallman on February 12, 2011, 09:35:22 AM
Our players must be consistant Snr. team starters to have any possible chance, and then it is what the coaches are looking for compared to what they already have.Kerry Baptiste has a lot of caps?

Fifty
Post by: Flex on June 26, 2011, 05:19:42 AM
Mohammed gets another MLS trial.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Javed Mohammed Former National Under 20 defender Javed Mohammed is getting a second shot at playing in the American MLS after joining Sporting Kansas on trial on Thursday.

Mohammed had been back in Trinidad on a short break following another stint at Tampa. Prior to that he was drafted in the third round of the MLS Supplimental Draft by Colorado Rapids but was released a month later.

He will be on trial at Kansas until July 2. The 22-year-old Mohammed captained the T&T Under 17 team and is also a graduate of Naparima College and University of South Florida where he made 80 appearances and was named Second Team All-BIG EAST Conference in 2009.
Post by: Sando on June 26, 2011, 05:29:18 AM
Good luck to Javed.
Post by: MEP on June 26, 2011, 01:09:30 PM
Allyuh have to understand what American coaches look for first is size, speed and strength. Javed is a defender if I recall correctly so he will be easily bypassed.

Food for thought, if Messi had tried out for the MLS he never would have made it.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 26, 2011, 08:14:04 PM
ah hope he get tru yes...guuuud luck mammoo :beermug:
Post by: dwn on June 26, 2011, 08:57:20 PM
Allyuh have to understand what American coaches look for first is size, speed and strength. Javed is a defender if I recall correctly so he will be easily bypassed.

Food for thought, if Messi had tried out for the MLS he never would have made it.

Speed and strength, yes. Size, not necessarily. Though it does help. And that's not just MLS, that's ALL top level football.

Messi has the first two. And incredible skill. So yes, he would have made it to the MLS. To think that he would not is absurd. Food for thought, is Keon Daniel big, strong and speedy?

Post by: Flex on September 05, 2014, 05:24:39 PM
Javed Mohammed now with Marabella Family in the SFA.