General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2011, 07:32:59 AM

Title: 1990 Attempted Coup Commission of Enquiry
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2011, 07:32:59 AM
ANR: Panday wanted to bring down NAR Govt
Jennifer Johnson, Eversley to testify today
Published: Wed, 2011-01-26 01:25
Yvonne Baboolal
In this 1987 photo from Guardian’s archives, then prime minister ANR Robinson shakes hands with Basdeo Panday who was a member of his NAR Cabinet.

Former prime minister and president, Arthur NR Robinson, yesterday told the Commission of Enquiry into the July 1990 attempted coup that a Basdeo Panday-led faction sought to bring down the National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) Government. Panday, former prime minister and UNC opposition leader and a member of the NAR Government at the time (a few years before the coup d’etat) went about the country attacking him and his method of governance, Robinson said. He added: “I had information that even in my absence when I was abroad he would use the occasion to attack me in the country. “It appeared that the purpose was to bring down the Government.”

Shortly after the attempted coup, Panday and former prime minister Patrick Manning also mobilised all the support they could to frustrate the Government in all its activities, Robinson added. At the time the PNM was in Opposition having won only three seats to the NAR’s 33 in the 1986 general election. Robinson also recalled that the Government was debating the Anti-Corruption Bill at the time, part of an anti-corruption campaign to expose a train of corrupt activities of the previous PNM regime. He said the PNM had been in power a very long time and supporters had engaged continuously in corruption. He said then national security minister, Selwyn Richardson, was well known for his involvement in the campaign. He said when the Muslimeen members stormed the Red House they shouted aggressively: “Where Sello? Where Robbie?”

Robinson, who was shot by the insurrectionists, told the commission he knew Richardson would have been ill-treated, too, probably even more than he was because of his involvement in the anti-corruption campaign. Robinson, a witness in the inquiry, made the disclosures on the first day of his appearance at the Caribbean Court of Justice on Henry Street, Port-of-Spain. He was brought into the court in a wheelchair around 11 am and testified for nearly two hours. It was upon commission chairman David Simmons’ request for clarification on the political composition of the NAR that Robinson made the revelations about the Panday-led faction.

Asked by Sinanan if he had any disagreements with Panday, he replied yes. The first source of disagreement was the refusal of members of Panday’s party, the United Labour Front, a part of the coalition of parties that made up the NAR, to follow the Westminster system on which the T&T Constitution was formed, Robinson said. “Panday took the opinion that I was imposing rules,” he added. He said one aspect of the Westminster system was to have a body to review, allow or reject contracts in which the Government was to engage. Then works and transport minister John Humphrey said that was delaying his projects and proceeded to award contracts himself, Robinson said. Humphrey also wanted the Government to produce a new form of currency, the Trinity dollar, which they refused to do, Robinson said.

Humphrey went about putting the proposal to the country in speeches, he said. He added: “I had to expel him from the Cabinet. I didn’t know at the time that the Humphrey family and the Panday family were friends. “The Panday faction continued their course of disregard for Cabinet decisions. “They said they were in charge of their own ministries and no one, including the prime minister, should interfere. “They refused to accept the principles of Cabinet governance. I asked the entire Cabinet to resign.” Robinson said he offered them new appointments, thinking they would refuse, and giving them a non-controversial way of getting out. He said they accepted and continued their disruptive conduct and he had to have them expelled. He said they consulted in secret as Club 88 (formed in 1988). Asked by Sinanan if Government members had information about the 1990 insurrection, Robinson replied: “It was never brought to my notice that there was either knowledge or a fear that an insurrection would take place. Told by Sinanan that it was rumoured that members of the Government were aware of a pending insurrection, Robinson said it was not brought to his attention at the time.

Robinson may have to give evidence for two days, to be fixed, to accommodate his medical condition, Simmons said. Jennifer Johnson, a former NAR government minister, and Wendell Eversley, a member of the public gallery on July 27, 1990, who were both held hostage in the Red House during the attempted coup, will give evidence to the commission today.
Title: Re: 1990 Attempted Coup Commission of Enquiry
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 26, 2011, 07:34:23 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/01eU82GVNP0
Post by: Touches on January 26, 2011, 08:22:02 AM
Robbie: I was shot and beaten

Former PM describes hostage ordeal
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Updated: Jan 26, 2011 at 6:51 AM ECT

"The note had only three words, 'I love you'," former president, ANR Robinson, who was Prime Minister at the time of the 1990 coup attempt, recalled in a touching moment yesterday.

In testimony that could only be described as riveting, compelling and at times poignant, Robinson recalled the correspondence he received from his deceased wife, Patricia, during his time in captivity in the Red House, in which she expressed her heartfelt sentiment.

Robinson, who is wheelchair-bound, does not see well and does not hear in the left ear, appeared physically frail, but mentally alert and emotionally strong on the second day of the Commission of Enquiry into the events surrounding the 1990 coup attempt yesterday.

Counsel for the commission, Avory Sinanan, had to sit close to him on his right in order for Robinson to hear the questions. His responses, however, were sharp.

"At one stage I was handed an envelope by one of the Muslimeen who whispered to me, 'From your wife.' I was really surprised at this, because I thought these persons inhuman. But now (at that time) I felt 'well they are human after all,'" he said, laughing softly.

The room grew still, as he said: "I opened the envelope and saw a bit of paper and I read the note. Only three words: 'I love you,' (from) Patricia, who is my wife. And that strengthened me, buoyed my spirits up tremendously.

"Because I did not know what was happening to her or to my children. My son was abroad but my daughter was with my wife."

Robinson vividly remembered how he came to be shot.

"The person, whose name I subsequently found out was Bilaal Abdullah, came to me with his gun and microphone as I lay on the floor and asked whether I would do what I was instructed to do. I said 'yes.' I had just finished reading Vidia Naipaul's Among the Believers, so I had gathered from that book some impression about the character of these Muslim fanatics. That is why I said 'yes'... But I had intended to oppose nevertheless whatever they asked me to do. He then left me and I thought he had gone to consult with Abu Bakr ... He came back with the gun and microphone and holding the gun nearby, put the microphone to my mouth and said 'Will you instruct the Regiment to withdraw their guns because the Government has fallen.' I received that instruction with revulsion. I thought that it was not only impertinent, I thought I could not possibly do anything of the sort and should do just the opposite.

"So I shouted to the Regiment, 'These are murderers and torturers. Attack with full force!' Bilaal Abdullah drew back. He appeared to be in shock. But a young man who was a short distance away fired his gun. I do not know whether he intended it. I don't know whether he intended the direction in which it (the bullet) went. But it passed through my right knee, hitting me on the right side and exiting on the left side. My medical advisers told me that if the bullet had diverted about half an inch differently, I would have died in a short space of time."

Robinson said Canon Knolly Clarke came into the Parliament Chamber during his period of captivity.

"I saw him, I recognised him. He came in, walked straight by me as though he did not recognise me. And I was very saddened by this, that somebody like Canon Knolly Clarke would pass by the Prime Minister and not even recognise him. Or if he did recognise him, not even acknowledge that he had seen him. But I was sure he was in a position to see me."

Robinson said during his captivity he refused water, tea or "anything that had to go into my stomach because I was convinced I would be poisoned by these men".

Robinson said while he lay on the floor there was a young man "with what I recognised as a tall gun, it was higher than he was", who was there apparently to guard him.

"He became defensive and told me 'You all have caused this, you know. Look at what you all have done to the people' and so on. There were two of the Cabinet members who were ladies (Jennifer Johnson and Gloria Henry) laying on the floor close by, who had suffered the same kind of treatment we had suffered. So I pointed at them and said 'Is this what you all do to women?' And he shut up. He never said a word after that."

Robinson recalled being assisted by the Muslimeen "and I think Mr Humphrey" to go to the bathroom during his period of captivity.

He also recalled that when he was released from the Parliament, he was assisted out of the building by a Muslimeen member who "took me on his back".

Robinson said by then the attitude of the Muslimeen had completely changed.

"When they entered the Parliament, they were hurling abuses at me and did not recognise me at all or the position which I held. (In fact, Robinson said, one Muslimeen member had stamped his boot on Robinson's face when they entered the chamber). When they were taking me out of the Parliament, they were referring to me as 'Mr Prime Minister'.

"I attributed it (the change of attitude) to the fact that I had withstood them in such a manner ... I think they began to have respect for me," he said.

Robinson said he did not know during his time in captivity that the television station was also under siege. He also could not say whether his deputy, Winston Dookeran, whom he authorised to lead a negotiation, ever left the chamber.

"I was lying on the floor bleeding and hearing commotion around me so I was not observing Mr Dookeran," he said.
Post by: Conquering Lion on January 26, 2011, 10:07:14 AM
Wow........interesting read...especially regarding Panday's utter disregard for the law of the land (as we all now recognize)
Post by: sammy on January 26, 2011, 03:52:06 PM
allyuh should try to get the clips where Robinson gave testimony. Very heart rendering hearing it directly from his mouth.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 26, 2011, 06:04:39 PM
Heard Wendell Eversley, the fella who marching up and down the place for the past 20 years to get the commission going, broke down after about 10 mins of testimony and started to cry.  They promptly adjourned until tomorrow......

Wow.  Cyar fathom what he going thru...... :(
Post by: Touches on January 27, 2011, 06:30:23 AM
Trinidad Express (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Former_hostage_breaks__down_during_testimony-114695629.html)

Former hostage breaks down during testimony

Story Updated: Jan 27, 2011 at 12:47 AM ECT

Former hostage Wendell Eversley broke down during testimony, forcing an early adjournment to yesterday's proceedings of the Commission of Enquiry into the events surrounding the 1990 coup attempt.

"You feel you could carry on today, or you want to come back tomorrow?" Commission Chairman Sir David Simmons asked gently, as Eversley began to sob uncontrollably.

Eversley replied that he preferred to come back tomorrow (today).

"I understand this must be very traumatic for you to relive those events," Simmons said, as Eversley was given a glass of water which he drank, his hands trembling as he held the glass.

Eversley, before this, had told the commission that he was seated in the public gallery when the Jamaat-al- Muslimeen stormed the Parliament. The insurgents then allowed all other members of the public gallery to leave, except him. Why? He said he believed it was because he was dressed in jacket and tie and they thought he was someone of significance.

They made him to lie to the ground and he started to cry.

"I recalled saying that I don't think I would see my daughter again. My daughter was just about ten months old," Eversley said.

After lying on the ground for a some time, one of the insurgents told him to get up and he was taken to another room in the Parliament and told to lie there. While he was there, Muslimeen members dressed in black entered the building through the window. They then told Eversley to keep crawling and he was led, still crawling, into another room where more men jumped through a second window. Eversley was then taken to another room which had four persons under a big table. He assumed they were members of the Parliament staff. One of the persons there, a woman, was crying non-stop, her body shaking as she grabbed his hand and Eversley started to pray, he said.

One of the insurgents then told him to get up and open the window or he would kill him. With shots being fired from outside to the inside of the building, a frightened Eversley opened the window. He said four more men entered. By then, remembering it all was too much to bear and Eversley could speak no more.
Post by: Touches on January 27, 2011, 06:31:46 AM
Trinidad Guardian (http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/01/26/jennifer-tells-scary-friday-anr-richardson-tied-together)

Jennifer tells of scary Friday: ANR, Richardson tied together

‘Shoot when lights go off’

Published: Wed, 2011-01-26 21:26

August 1, 1990: Jennifer Johnson leaves the Red House at the end of the five-day seige of Parliament by members of the Jamaat al Muslimeen.

Former Sport and Youth Affairs Minister Jennifer Johnson, was the second high-ranking member of the National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) Government to give evidence to the commission of enquiry into the July 27, 1990 attempted coup. Johnson was one of two female ministers held hostage during the six-day siege at the Red House. She was questioned yesterday by lead counsel Avery Sinanan SC on day three of the inquiry taking place at the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), Port-of-Spain. Here is an extract of her testimony. It begins with her description of what was taking place in the House of Representatives after the teabreak, minutes before the Muslimeen entered. She said Minister and MP for Toco-Manzanilla Joseph Toney was contributing to the debate.

Johnson: Well there was a moment of levity because there was just some crosstalk and he (Toney) was asking somebody across the aisle (Oropouche MP Trevor Sudama) ‘Who is your leader?’ and just about that time I heard loud noises and of course there seemed to be a commotion going on and then I heard what sounded like gunshots. At that time we all stood because obviously the gunshots were now in the chamber and I began to smell gunpowder, so I realised that there was an attack of some sort and I looked around  and then when we realised it was an attack. Dr Emmanuel (Hosein, then Health Minister), who sat next to me called my name and he said ‘Jenny get down, get down!’ and I went down.

And then there was shooting. You could actually hear the bullets hitting the wall and people screaming and people running in with these guns and they were shooting. Then I heard ‘Allah Allah; and I realised it was an attack by some Muslim group. So we went down on the ground and the attackers came to where I was and I heard them say firstly ‘Where is Selby (Finance Minister)? We want the IMF man, Where is Richardson (National Security Minister)? Where is Robbie (Prime Minister)?’  And they systematically went for those three persons and while that was happening one (attacker) came to me and started to tie my hands behind my back, which was a very painful kind of experience. It was very painful. They went down the entire length of the Parliament Chamber on our side, the side of the Government, and they did that to everyone that was on my side of the Parliament.

Counsel: Were you able to observe whether any members on the other side were also tied up?

Johnson: Well what I observed was that while all the commotion was going on and people were scurrying around and screaming that representative Leo des Vignes was still standing and I was thinking why doesn’t he go down and as I looked again he was down, he was bleeding, that’s what I saw on that side. I didn’t at that time pay much attention to the other side but subsequently I looked and realised that the same things that they were doing on our side of the aisle they were doing on the other side. Mr  Richardson and Mr Robinson, they were taken down to the front and they were bound together, I saw that, they tied them together.

Counsel: At that point in time when they were moved, was any of them subjected to any violence?

Johnson: I couldn’t see. I can’t say that at that particular time.

Counsel: So you were telling us that the person ... (Bilal Abdullah) he had indicated to Mr Robinson that he must call the troops off?

Johnson: Yes

Counsel: What happened after that?

Johnson: Mr Robinson objected. He said no that you all are murderers and traitors and ‘I would do no such thing’ and ‘Attack with full force.’ And as soon as he said that I heard shots .

Counsel: Was he speaking into a microphone or some sort of telephonic device?

Johnson: I don’t know. I subsequently learned that he was given some equipment.

Counsel: What happen when Mr Robinson said this?

Johnson: After those defiant statements by Mr Robinson as I said I could remember thinking, speaking to myself. Now we are dead, I told myself. Then suddenly I heard shots. I think I heard more than one and we were all startled and then we heard Mr Robinson groaning, moaning, he was obviously hurt and Mr Dookeran at that point said, ‘We don’t want any bloodshed, let us negotiate.’

Counsel: Who was Mr Dookeran speaking to at that time?

Johnson: Well, I am not sure who he was talking to but those were his words. I think that the negotiations started from that point.

Counsel: While Mr Robinson was groaning, as you say, did the attackers do anything to stop him groaning?

Johnson: Yes, I don’t know the sequence but at some point after that they gagged him because Dr Emmanuel (Hosein) and I were whispering at that time, when we heard him moaning and Dr Emmanuel Hosein was very concerned and I think at that time he was gagged.

Counsel: Was the gag subsequently removed?

Johnson: Yes, I think that Dr Emmanuel Hosein — the doctor in him came out — and he shouted that if you do not remove that gag he is going to die and that you must remove that gag, you must allow him to breathe.
Even though we were captive still and on the ground he was very insistent that the gag be removed.

Counsel: Was it at that point you became aware or informed that Mr Robinson had been shot?

Johnson: Well, nobody came and told us that he was shot. We heard the gunshots and we heard him moaning and we realised that he was shot. Nobody told us.

Counsel: Now you expressed the view, Mrs Johnson, that you formed the impression that the rebels as you call them were well trained. You recall saying that?

Johnson: Yes, yes.

Counsel: Exactly what do you mean by that?

Johnson: Yes, because they seem to be moving with a sort of precision. They seemed to have pre-planned their operation.

Counsel: Their methodology, did it suggest to you that they were militarily trained?

Johnson: I don’t know, I can’t say that. All I can say is that their operation was planned and they knew exactly what they were going to be doing from one stage to the next.

Counsel: As far as you are aware, you did not know the full complement of the persons who were going to negotiate but you recall Mr Dookeran and Mr Toney, is that correct?

Johnson: Yes, and Mr Richardson eventually joined in.

Counsel: Perhaps you could share with the commission what the rest of that night was like?

Johnson: The rest of that night... It’s very difficult to go it over but I’ll do my best.
The rest of that night consisted of constant shelling from outside. We were afraid that somehow this shelling, the gunshots would eventually reach to us but as I said before we were down under our seats and we heard as part of the negotiations that Canon Knolly Clarke would come to assist with the negotiations. I heard that and I heard the loudest noise I have ever heard in my life at one end of the Red House. We heard that there was a fire so that was very very disconcerting and I remember thinking well if there is a fire in this building pretty soon the fire would take us all. That was a very scary time, very frightening part of the event.

We were lined up and I heard someone speaking. He was giving orders. He told the persons who he was giving the order that ‘You have this gun and these people are lined up here’ and each of the rebels had a gun and was responsible for the persons lined up. And the persons lined up were only the Government ministers and he told them (the person was Bilal Abdullah ) he said, ‘Listen we understand what is going on outside that there would be an attempt to invade the Parliament. ‘If the Parliament is invaded, I understand also that the signal would be the turning off of the lights,’ so he ordered them ‘As soon as the lights go off mark your target right now and  as soon as the lights go off shoot.’ So that was one very, very scary time.

Counsel: Did the lights ever go off?

Johnson:  No. Thank God the lights never went off.

Counsel: Did you form the impression, Mrs Johnson, that Bilal Abdullah was in communication with the security forces outside?

Johnson: Yes he was in communication with somebody outside, somebody outside.

Counsel: Around what time was that?

Johnson: That was late, that would have been in the morning, the early hours of the morning (Saturday).

Counsel: Were you and your colleagues subsequently removed?

Johnson: Yes, after a while. We remained in that position for a while, and I think perhaps they got word that whatever tactics were to be deployed would not be deployed again so we were returned to original positions and also that evening I think what brought us a little  comfort (was) the negotiator Canon Knolly Clarke came in.

Counsel: At what point did he come in, at what time, would it have been the very Friday night or would it have been the following morning?

Johnson:  I think he came in late - maybe the morning period, yes.

Counsel: So that would be Saturday morning?

Johnson: Yes.

Counsel: Can you tell us what happened after that.

Johnson: I think the negotiations stepped up because Dr Hosein realised that if the persons who are injured did not get attention, they would perhaps die. So I think Dr Hosein was the person, apart from the prime minister, who really really stepped up and was a hero in that situation. So he was concerned about the negotiations stepped up, he was concerned that Mr Des Vignes was perhaps losing blood or consciousness, so part of the negotiations was to get assistance for Mr Des Vignes and also for Mr Robinson.

Counsel: So as a result of Dr Hosein’s efforts to step up the negotiations and people needing attention and so on, did that bear fruit?

Johnson: Yes it did bear fruit because the morning we understood that they agreed to let Minister Dookeran go out and they agreed to let Mr Des Vignes go out and they agreed also to get some medication for Mr Robinson’s eyes. That was the original agreement because Mr Robinson suffers from glaucoma and Dr Hosein was quite sure that if he was not treated he would become blind. And they agreed to get the medication because very early in the morning the medication came. Because I remember them asking me to put it in his eyes. There was a curtain, they put up a piece of black cloth  to darken the area and put it in his eyes so that I know that negotiations along those lines were going on.

Counsel: Did you ever get the sense that your captors felt that these negotiations were not bearing fruit, not going as they wanted it to go and they were preparing to take some other kind of action?

Johnson: Yes, particularly in the latter stages of negotiations when Mr Richardson was negotiating how they would come out of the Parliament. You know, that took some time and there seemed to be some frustration as to that.

Counsel: And how did this frustration manifest itself?

Johnson: Well I think mostly it was the frustration with my colleagues and myself. We were a bit frustrated and we could see a bit of nervousness among the rebels. And there was one incident that at least got me a little bit alarmed. One of their rebels — a fairly young man — he just lost it, he just went berserk.

Counsel: On what day was that, do you recall?

Johnson: That would have been more like maybe late Monday when it was agreed — when the negotiations had reached a particular phase and they were negotiating the terms of surrender. And this young man just went berserk and he had a gun in his hand and his fellow rebels had to tie him up and restrain him and again Dr Hosein stepped in and said you have to get some kind of medication for him (rebel) and all that caused a bit of nervousness. Eventually he was tied up  really, really tied up in a strange way and they eventually got the medication for him and Dr Emmanuel (Hosein) went to administer the medication and he (rebel) was able to lunge at Dr Hosein and send Dr Hosein skating down the corridor and Dr Hosein got up and tried again and eventually the medication was administered. So that was a kind of nervousness and because of that we were very uneasy at that time.

Counsel: Did you have any input into the negotiations at all?

Johnson: No.
Post by: Touches on January 27, 2011, 06:36:41 AM
Trinidad Express
 (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sentry_at_HQ__did_not_stand_a_chance_-114619434.html)

Sentry at HQ 'did not stand a chance'

Story Updated: Jan 25, 2011 at 11:56 PM ECT

Solomon McCleod, the policeman on duty at the northern entrance of Police Headquarters who was the first casualty in the 1990 coup attempt, did not have "a ghost of a chance", former assistant solicitor general, Lynette Stephenson, who witnessed his murder, told the Commission of Enquiry into the events surrounding the coup 1990 attempt yesterday.

"A young black man with a brown paper bag in his hand, went to the policeman...and appeared to be asking directions. The police stepped out of the archway and raised his hand, pointing in the vicinity of Sacred Heart when the man pulled a gun out of the bag and shot him. The policeman clutched his chest with his left hand and started falling backward. The young man continued shooting, firing eight to nine shots, before firing the last one into the air," Stephenson, who saw the incident from her building, which housed the Civil Law Department of the Attorney General at 28 St Vincent Street, testified.

Stephenson, who is now Ombudsman, said, almost immediately, a green station wagon pulled up into the entrance and drove over the policeman. As Stephenson ran to her office she heard a loud explosion and gun fire. She ran back to the conference room and saw the vehicle had exploded. The policeman was on fire, she said.

"I thought it was a jail break, that prisoners had escaped from the court," she said.

As she saw men coming down Knox Street firing their guns, she realised "something was radically wrong". She then heard fire engines coming down St Vincent Street.

"I realised that the men ... started to fire shots at the fire engines."

She said the fire engines, instead of coming further down St Vincent Street, reversed up the street.

By then, Stephenson was really afraid and hid in the washroom of her office until there was a lull in the gun fire. When she left the washroom she saw men entering the Red House. She thought of calling the Solicitor General, whose office was in the Red House, to tell her about the gunfire.

"But some instinct told me 'do not use the phone,'" she said, saying she feared that the lines were being monitored.

Stephenson crept down the stairs, opened the door and headed for her car. There was no sentry on duty in her building. In fact she was the only one there. She had given the sentry permission to leave early because there was a football match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium he wanted to attend.

"That probably saved his life," she noted.

Stephenson got to her car and sought a way out, soon realising that "the only thing to do was to drive up St Vincent Street against the flow of traffic". She could see McCleod burning.

"He was on fire," she said.

It had all happened in less than half an hour, she said.
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 28, 2011, 09:14:42 AM
http://www.talkcity91fm.com/

ANR Robinson is being question right now .
Post by: Dutty on January 28, 2011, 11:45:54 AM
Any more cut n paste 'testimony' on this?
Post by: Tallman on January 28, 2011, 06:43:08 PM
Official website: http://www.1990coe.org/
Transcript of the proceedings: http://www.1990coe.org/proceedings.html
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 29, 2011, 01:59:55 AM
So guys from what robbie saying so far does any of you feel Patrick Manning or maybe the man with the beret John Humphre or Bas or Dooks  had something to do with the attempted coup in 1990 .

Post by: Tallman on January 29, 2011, 07:56:00 AM
http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_947of1j1/uiconf_id/1892491
Post by: truetrini on January 29, 2011, 01:14:23 PM
seems li Dookeran had Prime Misterial ambitions way back den and was hoping he woulda really come PM after the attempted Coup.

Seems like de UNC was complicit with the Jamaat.

Appears dat manning had some knowledge dat something was brewing.

well it seems so fro,m ANR's testimony, at least he ahd dm feelings anyway.
Post by: Bakes on January 29, 2011, 03:46:06 PM
http://www.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_947of1j1/uiconf_id/1892491

Thanks for the vid...  Robbie sounding like he had a stroke or something, voice strong in parts, frail in parts.  The country needs this open inquiry... but frankly is more like putting vaseline on a scar... just to make it disappear faster.  There's really nothing to come from this.. Abu Bakr that crimnal get off and thumbing he nose at the people of Trinidad.

Kamau/l Georges really say "re-eye-terated"?? steups.
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 31, 2011, 11:51:57 PM
I was hearing the inquire would be finishing on the 4th Feb is that true ? and what day is Abu Barkaa testifying

any body know.
Post by: Bourbon on February 01, 2011, 06:16:02 AM
 A big coup joke  (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/A_big__coup__joke-114986344.html)

Former National Alliance for Reconstruction MP Rawle Raphael was warned by a member of the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen three times before the attempted coup, that the Muslimeen were planning armed insurrection.

The Muslimeen member (whom, under questioning, Raphael later conceded was Lance Small) also told Raphael that the Muslimeen would target the Parliament and warned him against going to Parliament on the morning of July 27.

However, Raphael did not heed the warnings, thinking to himself, 'not in Trinidad'.

Raphael said the Muslimeen man was then a member of the NAR's A Team, a body established by the party which functioned like a community group. Raphael, who was the chairman of the A Team, yesterday told the Commission of Enquiry into the events surrounding the 1990 coup attempt: "But none of us took it seriously. I advised certain members (of the A Team) to go and report it to the Minister of National Security." Asked by counsel for the commission, Avory Sinanan SC, whether as chairman of the A team, a Parliamentarian, he did not think it prudent to go to the National Security Minister himself or to the police, Raphael replied: "I believed it was a big rumour and big joke. I never imagined something like that could happen (in Trinidad)."

Raphael said the A Team member (whom he later identified as Dennis Cumo) told him he had indeed reported the threat to the National Security Minister Selwyn Richardson, as well as the then Prime Minister (ANR Robinson).

Raphael, a parliamentary secretary in the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Enterprise, saw the same Muslimeen man (Small, who wanted a licence to import salt meat) at the Riverside Plaza office shortly before the coup attempt. The man again told him there was going to be an armed insurrection, but he (Raphael) thought it was inconceivable.

On the morning of July 27, 1990, when the man came to collect his licence at the ministry, he advised Raphael not to attend Parliament on that day "because there was going to be trouble down there". Raphael said he did not doubt the Muslimeen man's credibility, but again he did not take his advice seriously. He went to Parliament and found himself among the hostages.

It was the chairman of the Commission, Sir David Simmons, who asked whether the man's name was Lance Small, because Raphael at first said he could not remember the person.

"It was a Muslimeen guy from Belmont," he said.

But when asked if it was Lance Small, Raphael said, that name sounded "familiar. That seems to be the person".

Asked by Sinanan whether at any time after the storming of the Parliament and being taken hostage, he felt that he should have taken the warnings about a planned insurrection, more seriously, Raphael said: "Not at that time. I was thinking about death."

Despite all this, however, Raphael feels that he should receive compensation for his "suffering". Three million is a "reasonable figure", though "they could increase it if they so desire", he said.

However, Raphael, in recounting what happened during the days of captivity, seemed to be either highly amused by what transpired in the Red House, or to have adopted the approach of using comedy as a defence mechanism against stress.

In recalling how the hostages were tied up, he said: "They said 'this man (Emanuel Hosein) have an iron foot, they say tie him up too, (like the other hostages),'" Raphael said, chuckling heartily.

"One time they said we were getting food. So the permanent secretary, Mr Fernandes, who was there, said (to Raphael) 'take mine'. So I said (to myself) I would getting two (meals). But nothing came," Raphael said, laughing uncontrollably.

"What about Mr Robinson and Mr Richardson, did you observe anything in connection with them?" Sinanan asked, with a stoic expression. This recollection provoked even more laughter from Raphael.

"I never hear a man bawl so yet," he said, giggling as he referred to Richardson.

"They hit him 'wha-tap' with the gun. That man bawl too bad. And this man (Richardson) was such a nice man. Afterwards he say the Muslimeen guy...who hit him...is a fella from Mayaro," Raphael stated, in stitches by this time.

"We can laugh at this now, Mr Raphael, but at the time it was a serious thing that was happening," Sinanan commented,

"What happened with respect to Mr Robinson?" Sinanan inquired.

"Well, they brought Mr Robinson down next to me and ... like they pull down his pants," Raphael said, laughing again.

Raphael recalled that he had told the Muslimeen gunmen that he wanted to go home to feed his pups. He said after he was released from the Red House he was put up at the Hilton.

"I didn't want to leave (the Hilton). They had to put me out," he said.

Asked by Sinanan if the feeding of his pups was no longer a pressing issue by the time he got to the Hilton, Raphael said with a smile: "(There was) ham, lamb and jam in the (Hilton) room."

As he laughed during his testimony, his listeners, who had seen previous witnesses looking traumatised as they recounted the same event, were surprised. But Raphael's laughter was sometimes infectious. He had the room in stitches when he described how the "hungry" Muslimeen gunmen "tore up" a chicken in the fridge in the Parliament.

One of the serious moments, however, was when he said Leo Des Vignes, who was shot in his leg, was next to him. He said Des Vignes told him that he knew he was going to die and said to him: "Tell my wife and children, I love them."
Post by: Dutty on February 01, 2011, 08:38:27 AM
I guess people really do handle stress differently....but at least he stopped laughing when talking about Leo Des Vignes
Post by: Bakes on February 01, 2011, 09:38:38 AM
"They hit him 'wha-tap' with the gun. That man bawl too bad. And this man (Richardson) was such a nice man. Afterwards he say the Muslimeen guy...who hit him...is a fella from Mayaro," Raphael stated, in stitches by this time.

He thought he was in a rumshop liming or what?

Video (http://guardian.co.tt/content/mon7coump4-0)
Post by: sammy on February 01, 2011, 10:51:44 AM
I guess people really do handle stress differently....but at least he stopped laughing when talking about Leo Des Vignes

true
Post by: truetrini on February 01, 2011, 04:51:52 PM

true
sammy..is dat you?  YUH RE-EMERGE LIKE AH NINJA.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 01, 2011, 10:09:20 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl:I love this place
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 02, 2011, 07:59:00 AM
'Strange absences'
...Ex-UNC MP questions politicians missing during coup attempt: Bas, Nizam, Manning
By by Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Created: Feb 2, 2011 at 12:02 AM ECT

(Story Updated: Feb 2, 2011 at 12:02 AM ECT )

Former United National Congress MP Raymond Palackdharrysingh said yesterday he found it strange that his former leader Basdeo Panday, House Speaker Nizam Mohammed and former Opposition Leader Patrick Manning, were absent from the Red House during the 1990 coup attempt, and wondered whether these notable absences were the result of a tip-off.

Palackdharrysingh said he began to reach this conclusion when he heard that Panday had said, "Wake me up when it is all over." He said he was "disillusioned" by Panday's response, but has never discussed it with him.

"The Speaker is the one who controls the House and his (Mohammed's) absence at the time of the insurrection has to really jog your thinking," Palackdharrysingh said.

"I do not want to make a connection to say it is, because they (the Jamaat-al-Muslimeen and Mohammed) belong to the same faith. But it seems that the thought must enter the mind."

He said Panday and Manning should have been in the chamber given the significance of the debate, and particularly Manning, because the allegations in the Tesoro debate were being made against his colleagues.

"I find it very unusual that not only were the Parliamentarians, like Manning and Panday, absent, but also the Speaker of the House," he said.

He said when the Muslimeen gunmen stormed the chamber, they asked for Basdeo Panday, George Weekes and Muriel Donawa-McDavidson.

"They said, 'Find these people and give them safe passage out of there,'" he recalled.

However, Palackdharrysingh defended former MP John Humphrey, who was the one to suggest to the Muslimeen insurgents that they should get the amnesty in writing.

Palackdharrysingh recalled: "When Canon Knolly Clarke said, 'I have an amnesty,' Humphrey asked: 'Is that in writing?' The effect was that we were not allowed to leave the chamber until it was signed."

He said he did not know what motivated Humphrey to make this intervention. However, he said based on his long association with Humphrey, he (Humphrey) had an absolute passion for fairness.

"In that passion, he sometimes does not look at the consequences of what might happen. So therefore I would think that he was well-meaning and wanted a record of the agreement."

He added that Humphrey was one of the most humane persons. He conceded, however, that other MPs were "very perturbed" by Humphrey's statement because they thought it was "highly sensitive".

"For myself, I took it in good stride," Palackdharrysingh said.

He recalled earlier that it was through the "ingenuity" of Humphrey that the hostages got water. He said Humphrey crawled on his belly and went to another room, with the permission of the Muslimeen, and brought water to the chamber.

Palackdharrysingh said the two doctors in the chamber (Emmanuel Hosein and Anslem St George) advised the hostages that they could survive the no-food syndrome, but that they needed water.

The doctors therefore advised hostages to drink as much water as they could. When the hostages asked them about the problem of urination, the doctors said it was better that they urinate on themselves (than not drink water).

Post by: Dutty on February 02, 2011, 08:15:26 AM
He said when the Muslimeen gunmen stormed the chamber, they asked for Basdeo Panday, George Weekes and Muriel Donawa-McDavidson.

"They said, 'Find these people and give them safe passage out of there,'" he recalled.

??? what was that about?....especially the last two names?
Post by: weary1969 on February 04, 2011, 08:59:27 AM
Hosein testifing

He say Humphrey say Robbie 2 b leader because d country was not ready 4 ah Indian leader.
Post by: weary1969 on February 04, 2011, 09:01:47 AM
All yuh remember d TRINITY DOLLAR?
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 04, 2011, 12:30:35 PM
The first part of the hearing has been adjourned , will resume 21st March 2011 .
Post by: Conquering Lion on February 05, 2011, 06:58:28 AM
Trinidad Express
 (http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sentry_at_HQ__did_not_stand_a_chance_-114619434.html)

Sentry at HQ 'did not stand a chance'

Story Updated: Jan 25, 2011 at 11:56 PM ECT

Solomon McCleod, the policeman on duty at the northern entrance of Police Headquarters who was the first casualty in the 1990 coup attempt, did not have "a ghost of a chance", former assistant solicitor general, Lynette Stephenson, who witnessed his murder, told the Commission of Enquiry into the events surrounding the coup 1990 attempt yesterday.

"A young black man with a brown paper bag in his hand, went to the policeman...and appeared to be asking directions. The police stepped out of the archway and raised his hand, pointing in the vicinity of Sacred Heart when the man pulled a gun out of the bag and shot him. The policeman clutched his chest with his left hand and started falling backward. The young man continued shooting, firing eight to nine shots, before firing the last one into the air," Stephenson, who saw the incident from her building, which housed the Civil Law Department of the Attorney General at 28 St Vincent Street, testified.

Stephenson, who is now Ombudsman, said, almost immediately, a green station wagon pulled up into the entrance and drove over the policeman. As Stephenson ran to her office she heard a loud explosion and gun fire. She ran back to the conference room and saw the vehicle had exploded. The policeman was on fire, she said.

"I thought it was a jail break, that prisoners had escaped from the court," she said.

As she saw men coming down Knox Street firing their guns, she realised "something was radically wrong". She then heard fire engines coming down St Vincent Street.

"I realised that the men ... started to fire shots at the fire engines."

She said the fire engines, instead of coming further down St Vincent Street, reversed up the street.

By then, Stephenson was really afraid and hid in the washroom of her office until there was a lull in the gun fire. When she left the washroom she saw men entering the Red House. She thought of calling the Solicitor General, whose office was in the Red House, to tell her about the gunfire.

"But some instinct told me 'do not use the phone,'" she said, saying she feared that the lines were being monitored.

Stephenson crept down the stairs, opened the door and headed for her car. There was no sentry on duty in her building. In fact she was the only one there. She had given the sentry permission to leave early because there was a football match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium he wanted to attend.

"That probably saved his life," she noted.

Stephenson got to her car and sought a way out, soon realising that "the only thing to do was to drive up St Vincent Street against the flow of traffic". She could see McCleod burning.

"He was on fire," she said.

It had all happened in less than half an hour, she said.

While you can never know how individuals will react in such a situation, several things have come to light from the hearings:

1.   A lot of good people (including laypeople) stood by and did nothing when the nation needed them. Many others rose to the challenge (some sacrificing their lives like the police sentry) and still to this day, do not get the recognition they deserve.

2.   While Robinson had to undertake the economic measures he took to save the nation, he was obviously woefully out of touch with what was happening to the masses on the ground (which is death for any politician btw). Hence also the reaction by the police ("where we 10% and COLA").

3.   I also find it interesting we talk around it, but nobody takes Panday, Manning (and Ramesh) to task for their notable absences.  Again, when the nation needed them to stand up and lead...they were nowhere to be found. But it is clear that they somehow had foreknowledge or had a part in the proceedings (which is treason BTW).

I also hear a lot of people saying "waste of time inquiry" but the facts still need to come out. National pride in deed (and not just word) has gone out the window, and that is why T&T is where it is today. We does only talk "I iz a Trini" and sing Benjai song with ah glass in we hand......but when shot firing it is a different story.

That I think is the most obvious lesson from the inquiry that many people don't want to face
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 08, 2011, 09:36:04 AM
Comedy and shame at the commission
By Raffique Shah

Story Created: Feb 5, 2011 at 11:51 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Feb 5, 2011 at 11:51 PM ECT )

AS proceedings of the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup wax warmer from day to day, I cannot help but feel a sense of shame. I am shamed by the political manure that is unearthed, by the stench that emanates from the mouths of politicians past and present. Indeed, I sense the discomfort, the bemusement, of chairman Sir David Simmons and his commissioners, as they listen to tales of intrigue, allegations of betrayal and acts of cowardice during one of the biggest crises this country faced since independence.

For the benefit of Sir David and his colleagues who are not Trinidadians, I should declare my mala fides: I was a central figure in the mutiny of 1970, and my youngest brother was among the Muslimeen "soldiers" who stormed the Red House on July 27, 1990. I need add that even as we held Teteron Barracks in 1970, based on our demands, the Eric Williams Government appointed first a committee, and months later, a commission of enquiry into the state of the Regiment and the mutiny. Neither report has ever been made public. But most of the issues surrounding the mutiny entered the public domain through the preliminary enquiry into charges of treason and three courts martial that followed the Black Power uprising and the mutiny.

I had reservations about this enquiry mainly because I asked myself what it would yield at this time, 21 years after the attempted coup. It is early days yet, with only a handful of witnesses having appeared before the commission. We heard how Abu Bakr and his not-so-merry men pulled off their brazen assault in spite of warnings given to ministers in the Ray Robinson Government. That was startling. We learned that Bilaal Abdullah shot Robinson and Selwyn Richardson. That was not surprising. Some witnesses said the insurgents seemed well trained. Others spoke of the majority being young, unprepared for what they got themselves into.

I imagine the hearings would be even more interesting when the enquiry resumes, with testimonies coming from persons like John Humphrey, Abu Bakr, Basdeo Panday, Patrick Manning and maybe officers of the Police Service and Regiment. From what I have seen and heard thus far, I think Sir David and his fellow commissioners are very professional. They have acted judiciously and asked the witnesses pertinent and penetrating questions.

While we are getting snippets of what happened during those days of wrath, the highlights of the hearings were political bacchanalia. There are security concerns that, even in retrospect, need to be addressed. But these appear to be secondary to the near-chaotic politics of the period. The State's main intelligence unit at the time was the Special Branch of the Police Service. What intelligence on the Muslimeen did it gather before the coup? Ordinary citizens were aware that the Jamaat was a law unto itself. Did the Branch, or the then-commissioner, Jules Bernard, not know of their activities? If not, why?

It's a pity Bernard is now deceased. The commissioners would not see first-hand what a "toothless bulldog" looks like. Bernard embodied the impotence and incompetence, of the Police Service. Borrowing a sentence from Earl Lovelace's new book, Is Just a Movie, the instinctive reaction of the police to the attempted coup was to run—away from the action! That happened back in 1970. Nothing had changed in 20 years. It was only when the insurgents were contained at the two locations they had occupied that the police returned. Again, this was a repeat of 1970.

As for revelations that some policemen were hurling expletives at their superior officers and calling for Robinson's head, I can attest to that being true. I was then managing editor at the Mirror. With the Guardian and Express caught in the coup zone, we went into a daily publication to fill the breach. We monitored the police frequency through a shortwave radio to enhance our new gathering. I heard the cussing. I also saw heavily armed police officers consorting with looters. Many people would testify to these gaping holes in our national security net. The country owes a debt of gratitude to the officers and men of the Regiment who brought a disciplined, yet forceful response and resolution to the attempted coup.

The politicians, however, were woeful at the enquiry. The commissioners heard of infighting in the NAR that was pathetic. Here was a coalition of parties that dealt the PNM its worst defeat ever. The NAR rode to power on the people's disgust with the PNM, and maybe the parlous state of the economy that made George Chambers a hated man. While it's true the NAR inherited a mess, the many man-rats at the party's helm compounded its woes that came shortly after the euphoria of victory.

Robinson complained about Panday not being a team player. Did he not know beforehand that Panday must be captain or nothing else? In fact, Robinson is himself the consummate Afro-Saxon. Before he became Prime Minister in 1986, he was "Ray". On victory night he insisted on being addressed as "Sir". Rawle Raphael said he was warned about an attempted coup but he took it as a joke. John Humphrey saw a solution to the country's monetary problems in the "Trinity dollar". Emanuel Hosein stayed with Robinson after the split, he said, but with serious reservations.

Sir David must have already concluded that he is dealing with a pack of jokers. What may shock him is nothing has changed in La-La-Land, not even after two armed insurrections.

Previous article
PoS reloaded: A guerrilla story

Post by: Bitter on February 08, 2011, 10:18:33 AM
Basdeo wants to cross examine ANR
Gail Alexander
http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/02/08/basdeo-wants-cross-examine-anr

Former prime minister Basdeo Panday is willing to appear before the commission of enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup as long as he gets the opportunity to cross-examine people who have made allegations about him. Panday confirmed his position yesterday. His name was drawn into the issue early in the hearings when former prime minister and president Arthur NR Robinson made various statements about him. Yesterday, Panday said the commission into the events of 1990 had written him about appearing before the team if he wanted to.

He said: “First I’ve already said the effort is a colossal waste of money so on the face of that, I would hardly rush to testify. it would be a contradiction. “But I did let them know that if summoned I’m prepared to give evidence and I would ask them to make available to me for cross examination, persons who have made allegations against me impliedly or expressly.

“I would also suggest in this hearing that people be subjected to a polygraph test to ensure they are speaking the truth in this since a lot of people are giving personal opinion, speaking from sentiment or emotionalism without basis of fact.” Panday added: “It reminds me very much of the Scott Drug  Report proceedings. I hope this commission would not be guilty of the same thing as that was.”  Former prime minister Patrick Manning, with whom the commission also communicated before proceedings began, has indicated he would co-operate, it was confirmed in the T&T Guardian three weeks ago. (GA)
Post by: Bakes on February 08, 2011, 10:24:21 AM
I have to agreee with Raffique Shah... in following this thing I was embarrassed to learn that (at least) one of the Commissioners is a foreigner... and Rawle Rafael carrying on like Sprangalang and all this petty in-fighting coming to the fore.  What a jokey Banana Republic we are revealing ourselves to be... and unfortunately, like Shah say... nothing has changed.  Replace NAR with PP, replace Panday with Jack Warner and is the same jokey story replaying itself all over again.
Post by: Dutty on February 08, 2011, 10:29:32 AM
, and my youngest brother was among the Muslimeen "soldiers" who stormed the Red House on July 27, 1990.

really?? wha de ass kinda rebellious harden chirren ole man shah breed dey?
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 23, 2011, 07:06:18 PM
Eh guys the inquirie suppoze to have started back on  Feb 21st does anybody know if it started and if it did who is on the stand righ now ? 
Post by: Brownsugar on February 23, 2011, 07:33:02 PM
Eh guys the inquirie suppoze to have started back on  Feb 21st does anybody know if it started and if it did who is on the stand righ now ? 

Nah March 21st......yuh want dem start back during Carnival??!!  Yuh must be mad or wha??!!   
Post by: dinho on July 27, 2011, 10:11:28 AM
21 years ago today.. Let us not forget those who died.

http://www.youtube.com/v/wlLUE6qKFyM
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 27, 2011, 10:31:14 AM
21 years ago today.. Let us not forget those who died.

http://www.youtube.com/v/wlLUE6qKFyM

Thank you for the clip dinho.

At a time when the world is in the midst of such tumult and strife, a tiny island republic has had its heartache and suffering twenty-one years ago. I offer my prayers to everyone who experienced the uncertainty and horrors of that day.
Post by: Touches on May 04, 2012, 08:13:08 AM
Everyone,

I am following this with interest and I cannot help but cry, laugh and be amazed at the stupidity of those in charge on both the govt side and the insurrectionists.

The latest is the US airplane that landed in Piarco...the air traffic controller who landed the plane, who had x years of seeing plane and knowing aircraft said it was a ac-130 military plane and it was then refuted by Brown who said no it was a commercial dash 8.

I found the Commission of Enquiry has a website and all the transcripts are available for download

Everybody should bookmark this and read our history

1990 COE.org (http://1990coe.org/transcripts.html)
Post by: fishs on September 06, 2012, 07:28:10 AM
 DPP to decide how to deal with Bakr
Jamaat leader continues to defy subpoena

Story Created: Sep 5, 2012 at 10:54 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Sep 5, 2012 at 10:54 PM ECT )

THE Director of Public Prosecutions will now have to deal with Yasin Abu Bakr.
Bakr yesterday signalled his intention to continue to defy the subpoena issued by the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt mandating him to appear before it to give evidence into the coup attempt, which he led.
He is not prepared to testify until the sedition trial he is facing in another matter is over.
As a consequence, Commission chairman Sir David Simmons, acting on Section 16 of the Commission of Enquiry Act, referred the matter to the DPP “for such action as he may consider appropriate”.
If charged and convicted Bakr faces a $2,000 fine.
In a reproachful letter, dated September 4 and read to the Commission yesterday, Bakr attacked from all sides, seeking to implicate everybody as he trained his guns on Gaspard, Simmons, Commission counsel Avory Sinanan and Jagdeo Singh, former prime ministers Patrick Manning and Basdeo Panday, and former national security minister Herbert Atwell.
Bakr said he placed no faith in any undertaking given by Gaspard (or any State official).
Gaspard had given a written undertaking that nothing said by Bakr at the Enquiry would be used against him in his subsequent trial for sedition, in an effort to assist the Commission in getting Bakr to give testimony.
But Bakr said, via his letter, that he put no store on anything said by agents of the State and cited a record of broken promises made to him by Government officials, including two prime ministers, over the past 23 years.
“With that track record, do you really expect me to believe anything coming from the mouth of a State official whose purpose is to imprison me for my religious beliefs?” Bakr asked, adding: “Only a child would believe that.”
Included in those issues that the State had reneged on was the assurance given with the amnesty in 1990 that members of the Jamaat would not be prosecuted; the assurance given by two sitting prime ministers that the State would not enforce the civil judgment against him; and an assurance given by a sitting prime minister that the lands at Mucurapo would be regularised (given to the Jamaat).
Bakr said he was being prosecuted for delivering a sermon “which had support in the Holy Quran and the Haddiths...That prosecution is malicious and a shamefaced attempt to punish me for 1990 after the failed attempt to do so”.
Bakr made the “humble suggestion” that “whilst Messrs Manning and Panday are still alive, it might be helpful to ask them both how they knew to be absent (from the Parliament) on July 27, 1990 (at the time of the storming of the Parliament chamber).“And. May I also suggest that you enquire of former government minister Herbert Atwell whilst he is still alive, details of his short-lived interaction with deceased woman Police Constable Bernadette James, and to enquire of him whether he could be of any help in telling her story.”
In his letter, Bakr also upbraided the chairman, saying that he wished to place on record his “absolute horror and disgust” with the treatment given to attorney Hasine Shaikh on Monday.
“I feel it necessary to tell you that you cannot expect respect from young people if you rejoice in treating them with the kind of disrespect you have shown to both Ms Shaikh and Mr Sturge. Whether you choose to show humility and apologise to both lawyers is a matter for you and your Lord,” Bakr stated.
However, Bakr said that when the time comes for him to testify at the Enquiry (after the sedition trial is disposed of), he wants the Commission to pay for a lawyer of his choice as “I have no faith in either Mr Singh or Mr Sinanan”.
“I know nothing of Mr Sinanan and I have read enough about Mr Singh to know that I will never hire him. It would also be helpful if transcripts of the evidence taken so far be made available so that I can address all issues raised,” Bakr stated.
But while Bakr’s letter was full of opinion, questions and innuendo, he was not moved by the “summons for my attendance before your Commission and the accompanying threat of the peril that awaits me for my failure to attend”.
“I would like at the outset to reaffirm my willingness to testify... However, I wish to make the following clear: I have no intention of answering any questions at the Enquiry until I am discharged of the matters before the High Court.”.
Bakr rebuked the Commission for not staying its proceedings and for proceeding to take evidence before his (sedition) trial began, which was detrimental to him.
“If that was not bad enough, during my trial (there was evidence being taken by the Commission) with sensational publicity which could only have served to prejudice me at the time when the jurors were not sequestered. That situation makes me suspicious that you may be much more interested in pursuing your own legitimate agenda and without regard to my right to a fair trial,” he said.
The Commission’s hearings have been adjourned to October 15. Attorney Wayne Sturge told the Commission that it was unlikely that Bakr’s sedition case would be completed by January 2013. This would make it difficult for the Commission to accommodate any testimony from him in time for its proposed March 2013 deadline for hearing evidence and presenting its report.

If Bakr suggesting that Manning and Panday knew about the coup attempt before it happened and if it is true.......
Den dem 2 fellas is traitors and  indirectly resposible for a lot of innocent deaths.
The whole history around these 2 men will have to be rewitten.

It sound like Bakr saying drop the sedition charges and I will tell all.
Post by: Bourbon on January 29, 2013, 10:10:52 PM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-30/coup-prober-lists-sir-ellis-reference

A cloud now hangs over the credibility of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, whose latest hearings are set to begin this morning. Among the commissioners expected to sit at the 14th session of the enquiry at the Caribbean Court of Justice, Port-of-Spain, is Dr Hafizool Mohammed.

Last week he admitted to the Sunday Guardian he obtained his doctorate of science (DSc) in international relations from Atlantic International University (AIU), which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill. He said he knew it was not accredited by US educational institutions.

The commissioners were expected to met at the Hilton Trinidad yesterday evening to discuss the matter. Now further investigations by the T&T Guardian have unearthed more discrepancies in his curriculum vitae (CV). Mohammed claims to have a degree from a prestigious military university in the US, which has never heard of him.

Among the referees he lists on his CV are a dead president of T&T and a non-existent president of Turkey. When the T&T Guardian contacted Mohammed for comment yesterday, he hung up the phone. Mohammed, originally from Dow Village, California, now lives in the US and has US citizenship. He is staying at the Hilton Trinidad.

Who exactly is Mohammed? No one seems to know. Yet a senior member of Cabinet insisted he should be selected as a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, which began sitting two years ago. T&T’s first President Sir Ellis Clarke is among the names given as additional references on Mohammed’s CV, even though Sir Ellis died in December 2010 and is listed as deceased.

Clarke’s son, Peter, a director of Guardian Media Ltd, yesterday expressed surprise over his father’s inclusion, saying: “It is shocking someone would use a deceased person as reference.” A cloud now hangs over the credibility of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, whose latest hearings are set to begin this morning.

Among the commissioners expected to sit at the 14th session of the enquiry at the Caribbean Court of Justice, Port-of-Spain, is Dr Hafizool Mohammed. Last week he admitted to the Sunday Guardian he obtained his doctorate of science (DSc) in international relations from Atlantic International University (AIU), which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill. He said he knew it was not accredited by US educational institutions.

The commissioners were expected to met at the Hilton Trinidad yesterday evening to discuss the matter. Now further investigations by the T&T Guardian have unearthed more discrepancies in his curriculum vitae (CV). Mohammed claims to have a degree from a prestigious military university in the US, which has never heard of him. Among the referees he lists on his CV are a dead president of T&T and a non-existent president of Turkey.

When the T&T Guardian contacted Mohammed for comment yesterday, he hung up the phone. Mohammed, originally from Dow Village, California, now lives in the US and has US citizenship. He is staying at the HIlton Trinidad.
Who exactly is Mohammed? No one seems to know. Yet a senior member of Cabinet insisted he should be selected as a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, which began sitting two years ago.

Mohammed’s referees

T&T’s first President Sir Ellis Clarke is among the names given as additional references on Mohammed’s CV, even though Sir Ellis died in December 2010 and is listed as deceased. Clarke’s son, Peter, a director of Guardian Media Ltd, yesterday expressed surprise over his father’s inclusion, saying: “It is shocking someone would use a deceased person as reference.”

As for Ahmet Haluk Ozbuddun, whom Mohammed also listed as deceased and named as the president of Turkey on his CV, Ozbuddun never existed. Since 1923, following the Turkish War of Independence, there have been only 11 heads of state, and the name Ozbuddun is not among them.

Nor was anyone by that name ever the assistant secretary general of the United Nations, as  Mohammed claimed. His CV also lists as referees the chairman of the enquiry, Sir David Simmons, the former Chief Justice of Barbados, and its vice chairman, fellow Barbadian attorney Richard Cheltenham, QC.

Simmons, when contacted at the Hilton Trinidad yesterday, refused to comment on the latest developments. “You expect me to make a comment? I have no comment to make. Good morning and goodbye,” he said curtly. Cheltenham was expected to arrive in T&T from Barbados yesterday evening.

Several government ministers and officials also are listed on Mohammed’s CV. While mixing up the portfolios of the ministers, Mohammed listed as references Minister of Transport Chandresh Sharma, Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Dookeran and Minister of Public Utilities Nizam Baksh. 

In response to a text message, Sharma said: “I was not aware. In writing from me? Guess anyone can put any name as a reference.” Baksh, however, told the T&T Guardian while he had met Mohammed on two occasions he was unaware he was used as a reference.

Dookeran, T&T Guardian learned, is presently out of the country. T&T’s Ambassador to the United States Dr Neil Parsan, who is also Sharma’s nephew, is also listed along with former Chief of Defence Staff Brig Roland Maundy. Parsan could not be reached for comment yesterday. Maundy told the T&T Guardian he had not been told he was listed as a referee on Mohammed’s CV.

“I met him once in the US but I would think if you are listing someone as a reference you will call. I am glad I got this telephone call,” Maundy said. Not known here The American Military University, where Mohammed claimed in 2011 to have earned a master’s degree in national security studies as a distinguished graduate, has no record of him.

Contacted yesterday to confirm whether Mohammed graduated from the university in 2011, associate registrar Yvette Porter said: “We do not have any such student with that name in our database.” Porter said the other reasons a student’s name might not be listed in the database were changes due to marriage or divorce or misspelling on legal documents.

She added: “We do this all the time. I do about ten searches for the day. Unfortunately, students say they attended the school and they have not. “Based on the information provided, that name, that spelling — that student did not come here.” 

Asked how it was possible that Mohammed’s name was not listed as a graduate, Porter said: “The only reason it would not be in our database is if he was not a student here or he provided a different name.”

Insisting the database gives a thorough record of all past and present students enrolled at the university, Porter added: “I do not know how to say it any differently. No one with that name has ever been a student at this school. No one with the spelling of that name has been a student of this school, ever.”

Most scandalous ever

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley described the latest development as a “travesty.” He added: “The appointment is in the same vein as former director of the Strategic Services Agency Reshmi Ramnarine. “This Government is consistently appointing people unqualified and unsuitable for positions, against the public interest.

“Who selected this man and what is the connection to the Government?” Rowley asked. Former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj said a dead man could not be listed as a reference. “This appointment is going down as the most scandalous ever in the history of T&T.

In fact, it should go down in the Guinness Book of Records because it would be the first time a dead man could recommend someone. Maybe the Cabinet has a special connection in hell or heaven,” Maharaj said.

Senior Counsel Reginald Armour said the Sunday Guardian’s report on the appointment of Mohammed gave rise for concern. "I will be concerned further if the most recent information given, in connection with the information from the American Military University, suggests that his security credentials are now in question, given that I understand that to be an important consideration in his selection to be a tribunal member," Armour said.

:banginghead:
Post by: Bourbon on January 29, 2013, 10:11:51 PM
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-01-28/rowley-ramesh-agree-coup-commissioner-another-%E2%80%98reshmi%E2%80%99-scandal

A senior member of Cabinet insisted that Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed should be selected as a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt. Mohammed disclosed to the Sunday Guardian last week that he obtained his doctorate of science degree (DSc) in international relations from Atlantic International University (AIU), which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill.

The commission’s next public hearings are scheduled to start tomorrow. Engagement adviser to the Prime Minister Lisa Ghany said yesterday that at this point she could not say exactly who had been responsible for vetting Mohammed’s  curriculum vitae. “I need to speak to some members of Cabinet who were involved in the appointment before I can make a comment. I am investigating this matter,” Ghany said.

Communications Minister Jamal Mohammed could not be reached for comment  yesterday. But Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley yesterday expressed outrage, saying that time and time again the actions of Government continued to come into question. The commissioners of an enquiry are chosen by Cabinet.

Rowley said there seemed to be a trend under the People’s Partnership Government that people were being hired in various capacities because they were either the friends or family members of the government. “It is not surprising the way the government continues to operate. They are hiring family and friends to serve in top positions. ”How could a commissioner appointed to serve on an enquiry be exposed in a very embarrassing way, and still has a right to adjudicate on people?

“I have come to the conclusion that statements by government ministers are of no consequence. I do not expect them to do anything else than to defend their position,” Rowley said. Noting that a similar situation occurred with the former director of the Strategic Services Agency Reshmi Ramnarine and former T&T Electricity Commission chairman Omar Khan, Rowley said: “People are resenting the type of governance that they are getting. There are several people serving on boards with questionable qualifications.

“Imagine, someone has been appointed on a commission of  enquiry to examine the conduct of others, and no one did the proper checking. If your conduct is questionable, you cannot examine my conduct.” Telephone calls to Mohammed went unanswered yesterday.

Also commenting on the development yesterday was former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC, who said Cabinet had to take full responsibility for the “embarrassing situation.” “Cabinet has a responsibility to ensure that when someone is selected to serve on a commission of enquiry that [they are] are properly vetted, and for the Cabinet to chose someone with a fake doctorate is reckless and negligent.

“It is another incident of a Reshmi Ramnarine.” Maharaj said the situation showed the government was not doing the proper checks on people selected to serve. “This reflects badly on both the Prime Minister and the Attorney General,” Maharaj said.

Ramlogan, when contacted yesterday, said he had no comment.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2013, 05:43:03 AM
10 to 1 is murder; 12 to 0 is a cutarse. 41-0 would be self-inflicted punishment .
Post by: Bourbon on January 30, 2013, 06:48:59 AM
10 to 1 is murder; 12 to 0 is a cutarse. 41-0 would be self-inflicted punishment .

Would Never happen though.
Post by: truetrini on January 30, 2013, 07:09:39 AM
all of a sudden big mout anand have nutten to say.   dat in itself speaks volumes
Post by: weary1969 on January 30, 2013, 11:24:15 AM

But I only want them 2 win they safe seats. No marginal constituency 4 them.
Post by: Bourbon on January 30, 2013, 11:28:43 AM

Its very likely to assume...given historical results that those safe seats will remain safe in the future..because there are persons who will not let this and other ridculous things done by this government influence who they vote for. I guess their reason is much more compelling..deep seated and unaffected. What is it? Well..you're guess is as good as mine.
Post by: weary1969 on January 30, 2013, 12:21:18 PM

Its very likely to assume...given historical results that those safe seats will remain safe in the future..because there are persons who will not let this and other ridculous things done by this government influence who they vote for. I guess their reason is much more compelling..deep seated and unaffected. What is it? Well..you're guess is as good as mine.

RACE RACE RACE. They vote pure RACE.
Post by: Jah Gol on January 30, 2013, 01:35:00 PM
Nobody will take any responsibility and it will be forgotten..... unless we don't let that happen.
Post by: Bourbon on January 30, 2013, 03:16:13 PM

Not true. That does only happen in Tobago.

And along the East West Corridor.
Post by: weary1969 on January 30, 2013, 03:27:54 PM

Yea my Bad
Post by: Deeks on January 30, 2013, 07:40:44 PM

Central and South, too

Post by: weary1969 on January 30, 2013, 08:34:11 PM

Central and South, too

Not Central and South
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 31, 2013, 04:45:15 AM

Dookeran: Hafizool approached me in 2010

AG had final say

Published:

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran during an interview at his office at Tower D, International Waterfront, Port-of-Spain, yesterday. PHOTO: NICOLE DRAYTON

Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran is the man who suggested Dr Hafizool Mohammed to Cabinet as a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt. However, even as he admitted to recommending the man whose qualifications to sit as a commissioner are now being contested, the Prime Minister yesterday called on Dookeran to explain his nomination of Mohammed.​

The question of why Mohammed’s curriculum vitae (CV) was not properly vetted remained unanswered yesterday but Dookeran, in an exclusive interview with T&T Guardian at his ministry’s office at Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain, said he needed to clear the air on the controversial appointment. Dookeran claimed Mohammed had initially offered his services by e-mail.

“Mr Mohammed made contact with me a few years before the 2010 general election while he (Mohammed) was in Washington DC, and he informed me he had a long career in military in the US as a Trinidad-born citizen. He said he was about to retire shortly and was willing to serve the country,” he said.

Dookeran said he met with Mohammed some time in 2010 and he confirmed he had a career in the US military and had reached a senior position. “I had no reason to believe it was not true,” said Dookeran. “I said fine. When the matter of the commission into the coup came up, I suggested that we needed somebody with a security background.

“I was asked by the AG to submit any name, so I submitted his (Mohammed’s name).” Stressing that he only submitted Mohammed’s name for consideration, Dookeran pointed out that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan was responsible for Mohammed’s eventual selection to the commission.

“I did so on the grounds that he said he had a strong military background,” Dookeran said. “I did not make the decision,” he added. “A commission of enquiry falls under the AG. I am saying I only submitted his name and I forwarded his CV for consideration and it was agreed to. To me, it seemed plausible that a Trinidadian-born who is about to retire was willing to serve. He did not say where but indicated he was willing to serve.”

Admitting he could not recall the references listed on Mohammed’s CV, Dookeran said: “I cannot remember and I cannot find it (CV). It is not too important right now. My concern was his academic qualifications.” Ramlogan later took the recommendation to Cabinet for Mohammed to be appointed a commisioner. The recommendation was accepted some time in 2010. 

Yesterday, Dookeran admitted Mohammed did not tell him his Doctorate of Science (DSc) in international relations came from Atlantic University, which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill. “No, he did not say so at the time,” Dookeran said. He admitted he called Mohammed yesterday after reading an exclusive T&T Guardian article which raised issues about the latter’s qualifications.   

Asked if he ever attempted to verify the information on Mohammed's CV before the T&T Guardian broke the story, he said:  “What he told me then is what he told me today (yesterday). “When I spoke to him he said his last position was deputy chief of staff in Fort Meade, Maryland. He also said he worked as a consultant at the Pentagon. He confirmed that all military credentials were true.

“The Prime Minister asked if I can verify what Mohammed claimed, given that I submitted his name for consideration. He (Mohammed) told me the same thing again.” Dookeran admitted, however, that he forgot to ask yesterday how come the American Military University had no records of Mohammed in its database.

Mohammed asked for time off from the commission yesterday to deal with the issues arising out of the report, which highlighted his unaccredited DSc degree and the fact that he listed a dead president, Sir Ellis Clarke, and a non-existent president of Turkey, as well as several government ministers on his CV.

Chairman of the commission Sir David Simmons and vice chairman Barbadian attorney Richard Cheltenham also were listed as referees. Mohammed has since retained attorney Martin Anthony George to represent him. Defending his own position, Ramlogan, who is the legal adviser to Cabinet, said Mohammed was appointed because of his claim to have a military training and background.

“Because he was an officer who served in the US Army he was in fact recommended and nominated as a suitable candidate by Minister Dookeran who was the then leader of the Congress of the People.” Ramlogan said he was never made aware of any issues concerning Mohammed's military background.

“It was a critical area that motivated the consideration and no issues were made,” he said. Asked why discrepancies were not picked up when Mohammed's CV was vetted, Ramlogan replied: “Mr Mohammed provided ample and suited evidence by way of certificates from the university that he attended.

“Upon request he provide copies of the certificates that were mentioned on the CV that was supplied to us. Our primary focus was on his military experience and background so the quality of his academic qualifications were not as relevant.” Ramlogan said the chairman of the commission, which continues today with Mohammed, would no doubt discuss the matter and the necessary enquiries would be made to verify the accuracy of what was published.

He added: “When that exercise is completed, if it is that his military experience and training is not confirmed then that will present an issue that has to be addressed. “I am more concerned about the academic issues because his role and purpose was to provide the commission with the views of someone with expertise military background.” 
Post by: Jah Gol on January 31, 2013, 08:12:45 AM
He's a PP blue eyed boy who get ketch after the fact. Dooks and dem just trying to cover they backside now.
Post by: weary1969 on January 31, 2013, 08:32:22 AM
He's a PP blue eyed boy who get ketch after the fact. Dooks and dem just trying to cover they backside now.

LOLOLOLOLOL
Post by: zuluwarrior on January 31, 2013, 10:11:01 AM
One thing i like about the LAGOON party they are setting a very high standard ,PNM dont want notting with them.
Post by: weary1969 on January 31, 2013, 10:26:51 AM
One thing i like about the LAGOON party they are setting a very high standard ,PNM dont want notting with them.

Is not now is long time. I always tell peeps d old PNM u use 2 hear bout Prevatt and O'Hallaran. But after d UNC 1995-2001 was Ganga Singh, Finbar Ganga, d short pants man Carlos, Huggins, bas, Oma and the list go ons.

As for this version of the UNC. Heaven help us.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 01, 2013, 08:48:01 AM

Govt says step down but Hafizool defiant

Asked to step down as commissioner in coup enquiry...

Friday, February 1, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

Dr Hafizool Mohammed

The Government has asked Dr Hafizool Mohammed to step down as a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, in the light of revelations about his academic qualifications, but he has refused.

The T&T Guardian learned attorneys Jagdeo Singh—who is also one of the attorneys for the commission—and Minister of Justice Christlyn Moore met with Mohammed around 5 pm on Tuesday at the Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s, in an attempt to convince him to step aside.

The meeting lasted for more than five hours, but Mohammed refused to budge. The Sunday Guardian reported last week that Mohammed obtained his DSc in international relations from Atlantic International University (AIU), which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill.

Mohammed, who has asked to be excused from the commission to seek legal advice, admitted to obtaining the unaccredited degree because of his age and the flexibility it offered. He is expected to produce several certificates to prove his other qualifications at a press conference scheduled for this afternoon at the chambers of attorney Martin George in the Guardian building, Port-of-Spain.

Cabinet sources yesterday said the explanation he gave for obtaining the DSc and listing a dead T&T president, Sir Ellis Clarke, and a non-existent Turkish one on his CV did not sit well with several ministers. “Things are just not adding up and he was given the option to step down. We are awaiting the response from his lawyers at this time,” a Cabinet source disclosed.

But new information surfacing now suggests even before the revelations about Mohammed’s DSc were made public, a cabinet minister was concerned over the appointment and informed Attorney General Anand Ramlogan.

Asked on Wednesday if any issues had previously been raised about Mohammed’s background, Ramlogan replied, “I was never aware.”

To a question about why the discrepancies in Mohammed’s CV were not picked up, Ramlogan said, “You are assuming that the same CV you have is the one that was supplied to me.”

Asked if he was implying that a different CV was sent to him, Ramlogan said, “I was very careful with my words, and said what was provided on the CV to me was verified.”

Reminded that the American Military University said it had no record of Mohammed being a student there, Ramlogan replied, “I can’t comment on that. If and when that is provided in writing, I presume he will have to answer to that.”

Also causing concern were other claims in Mohammed’s CV, in which he listed a stint as chief administrator of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (Nato) in Turkey between July 1995 and December 1996.
 Nato’s online listing of key personnel from 1951 to the present does not include Mohammed in any senior administrative capacity.

Ministers also expressed concern over Mohammed’s statement that he had been chief of the human resource, plans and policies division at the US Army Special Operations Command at Fort Bragg, North Carolina. While there, he said he participated in operations in Iraq, Afghanistan, Bosnia, Somalia, Rwanda, South Korea and Haiti.

The US army asked the T&T Guardian to e-mail its request for verification of the information. A response is expected today.

Both the PM’s security adviser, Gary Griffith, and former junior Minister of National Security, Donna Cox, also said they had no knowledge of the post of senior interoperability analyst for the strategic division and international affairs division of the T&T government, another position Mohammed says he held.

What Mohammed’s CV says

Mohammed is president and CEO of Peosys (www.peosys.us), based in Virginia, in the Washington DC metropolitan area. His wife Rosemin Mohammed is its chief operating officer and vice-president.

The company’s Web site describes it as a “Small Disadvantaged Business, Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Business.”

Dr H Ali Mohammed founded Peosys LLC in 2000, says the Web site, “with the principals (sic) of providing experienced management consulting resources to US federal, state and local governments, non-governmental organisations, private agencies and international governments.”

The company offers “a laser-like full life cycle support including key performance metrics to tailor a solution.”

Among the services it offers are:
 • professional and management development training
 • educational support
 • graphic design
 • data warehousing/custom computer programming
 • computer systems design
 • child care

Mohammed’s entry in Worldwide Who’s Who (http://halimohammed.com) says:
 •“Drawing on his experience as a senior interoperability analyst for the strategic division and international affairs division of the Trinidadian government, Dr Mohammed worked for the US Pentagon...In the coming years, Dr Mohammed intends to expand his business internationally through branding, networking, and consulting.”
 •It says he is affiliated with: the Middle East Institute, the Washington Institute for Near East Policy, the Brookings Institution, Counterinsurgency Center, US Department of Homeland Security, and the VFW.
 (VFW is Veterans of Foreign Wars, an official nonprofit service organisation for US military veterans.)
 •His day-to-day responsibilities include: “Fulfilling a contract with the government of T&T as a commissioner of inquiry; researching the coup in 1990; investigating and providing his findings regarding the events that led to this coup, such as the shortcomings of government agencies.”

•The awards and honours he has received are listed as:
 Legion of Merit; Bronze Star Medal for Combat Heroism; Three-Time Recipient, Defense Meritorious Service Medal; Four-Time Recipient, Meritorious Service Medal; Two-Time Recipient, Joint Service Commendation Medal; Three-Time Recipient, Army Commendation Medal; Two-Time Recipient, Joint Service Achievement Medal; Army Achievement Medal; Good Conduct Medal; National Defense Service Medal with One Bronze Star; Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal with One Bronze Star; South West Asia Service Medal with Two Bronze Stars; Korea Service Medal; Armed Forces Service Medal; Humanitarian Service Medal; Armed Forces Reserve Medal; Military Outstanding Voluntary Service Medal; NCO Professional Development Ribbon with Numeric 3; NATO Medal; Saudi Kuwaiti Liberation Medal; Kuwaiti Liberation Medal; Overseas Service Ribbon with Numeric 5; Army Service Ribbon; Parachute Badge; Meritorious Unit Commendation; Two-Time Recipient, Army Superior Unit Award; Joint Meritorious Unit Award; Republic of Korea Army Novice Airborne Badge.

Mohammed’s seven-page CV includes the following positions and assignments, some of which he listed as secret or top secret:
 •Middle East Desk Officer/Senior Interoperability Analyst, HQ, Department of the Army International Affairs and Strategic Planning, the Pentagon (top secret) 2006-11
  —Subject Matter Expert for the MIddle East, (including Asia, Pacific, North America, and Latin America and the Caribbean) (sic)
 •Consultant, Under Secretary of Defense (Personnel & Readiness), Pentagon 2004-5
  —Co-founder for the establishment of the Military Severely Injured Joint Support Operations Center, later referred to as the Wounded Warrior Program
 However, Wikipedia says: “The Wounded Warrior Project was founded in 2002 in Roanoke, Virginia by John Melia with the assistance of family and friends...Besides John, the original founders of WWP included Jim Melia (John’s brother), John F Melia (John’s father), Al Giordano and Steven Nardizzi.”
 • Consultant, US Senate (top secret) 2002
 Drafted nuclear, biological and chemical threat assessment for the US Senate
 • UN representative, Nato, Bosnia, 1997
 —Developed programme to prevent Serbs, Croats and Bosnians from engaging in ethnic cleansing and genocide
 —Prepared federation for its first democratic elections
 • Chief administrator, Nato, Turkey 1995-96
 • Battalion commander, 18th Airborne Personnel and Administration Battalion, Desert Storm, 1991
 —Led 1,200 airborne soldiers

According to his CV, his professional experience includes:
 • “Solid adviser and consultant in the Middle East exclusively” (sic). Mohammed’s clients are listed as: the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Iraq, Egypt, Yemen, Australia, South Korea, Japan, India, Pakistan, Canada, Turkey, Latin America and the Caribbean, Nato, the UN, Dept of Defense.
 • Special adviser and consultant to UN, Nato, Ambassadors, General Officers, Parliaments and Political Leaders
 • International security consultant, United Arab Emirates June 11-present
 • Peosys was contracted with the US Dept of Labor in Info technology and management (secret) Dec 2008-June 2011. The company, according to Mohammed,
 —evaluated data sources and key performance targets using data sets, integration and consistencies with various reporting methods
 —implemented enterprise data warehouse allowing users to access and analyse program data for different programs through a single portal
 —saved hundreds of millions of dollars through efficiency
 A search at www.FedSpending.org  for the period 2000-2012 shows that contracts awarded to Peosys amounted to US$1,003,495 in 2010; US$985,000 in 2009; and US$5,700 in 2008. 

Among the referees Mohammed lists in his CV are:
 • Mustapha Ibraham, Chief Justice of T&T (sic)
 • Dr Neal (sic) Parsan, T&T ambassador to the US
 • Dr the Hon Sir Richard Cheltenham...Chief Justice of Barbados (sic)

Academic achievements:
 Mohammed’s thesis, Law and Politics in Islam, produced as part of his doctorate in international affairs at the unaccredited Atlantic International University, is 70 pages long, including a four-page bibliography and two pages of introduction. Numerous passages of the thesis are taken verbatim and uncredited from online resources that include Wikipedia, Islamopedia Online and whyislam.org
Post by: Jah Gol on February 01, 2013, 09:17:41 AM

Academic achievements:
 Mohammed’s thesis, Law and Politics in Islam, produced as part of his doctorate in international affairs at the unaccredited Atlantic International University, is 70 pages long, including a four-page bibliography and two pages of introduction. Numerous passages of the thesis are taken verbatim and uncredited from online resources that include Wikipedia, Islamopedia Online and whyislam.org

I'm doing my practicum to complete an MBA now. Any temptation to copy and paste quickly fades away when you consider the inevitable embarrassment that comes with it. What a silly person !
Post by: asylumseeker on February 01, 2013, 09:38:21 AM
Yeah, Joe Biden is a lucky bastard.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2013, 09:46:17 AM

Academic achievements:

I'm doing my practicum to complete an MBA now. Any temptation to copy and paste quickly fades away when you consider the inevitable embarrassment that comes with it. What a silly person !

cite-credit-expand, if u can't or wont, U'll pay ..............I do some outside code search for programming in my computing degree and I "comment" every block of borrowed code I used with the web address I got it from AND made damn sure that I know exactly what every line does and that they make up a small percentage of the operational requirrements for the program
Post by: Jah Gol on February 01, 2013, 10:38:39 AM

Academic achievements:

cite-credit-expand, if u can't or wont, U'll pay ..............I do some outside code search for programming in my computing degree and I "comment" every block of borrowed code I used with the web address I got it from AND made damn sure that I know exactly what every line does and that they make up a small percentage of the operational requirrements for the program
exactly
Post by: truetrini on February 01, 2013, 11:19:23 AM
I called Ft Meade..he never served there, I called Ft Bragg..he damn lie!
Post by: Jah Gol on February 01, 2013, 11:26:33 AM
He's a real bag of shit. Anand and Dooks on shit too.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2013, 11:44:06 AM

and we continue to be embarrassed locally, regionally and internationally..............when dem done nobody takin Trinidad seriously ever again

and dooks seriously disappoint with dis shit especially if he was d main man in gettin dat approved.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 01, 2013, 11:48:59 AM

and we continue to be embarrassed locally, regionally and internationally..............when dem done nobody takin Trinidad seriously ever again
The fallout started when Kamla chose to make a political scene with the SIA , then proceeded to appoint Reshmi, then proceeded to do the same thing she accused Manning of doing.

International intelligence don't want to deal with us.
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2013, 11:55:25 AM

The fallout started when Kamla chose to make a political scene with the SIA , then proceeded to appoint Reshmi, then proceeded to do the same thing she accused Manning of doing.

International intelligence don't want to deal with us.

dat it was ah was thinking of when I said that...........even the OPV cancellation contributing to it
Post by: weary1969 on February 01, 2013, 03:18:25 PM
SO what goin on wit d press conference?
Post by: mukumsplau on February 01, 2013, 04:02:02 PM
(http://sphotos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/75021_332690700168331_934676233_n.png)
Post by: lefty on February 01, 2013, 04:38:53 PM
hahahahaha ;D ;D ;D :D
Post by: Flex on February 01, 2013, 05:30:35 PM
NO CHARGE FOR BAKR
DPP washes hands of prosecuting Jamaatleader for refusing to testify at coup enquiry

The Director of Public Prosecutions Roger Gaspard has washed his hands of the matter involving the failure of coup leader Yasin Abu Bakr to give testimony before the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup.

Gaspard has taken the position that he will not lay charges against Bakr for failing to answer a summons of the commission to appear before it.

Instead, the DPP has thrown the ball back in the commission's court. He told the commission it has the legal power to direct the Commissioner of Police to "prosecute the proceedings" for breach of Section 16.

Gaspard in a letter to the commission's secretary, Larraine Lutchmedial, said it would be "inadvisable, if not punitive" for him to lay charges against Bakr under Section 16 of the Commission of Enquiry Act.

That act empowers the DPP to take action against anyone refusing to obey a summons to attend the Commission.

In a letter dated September 12, the commission indicated to Gaspard it had agreed to formally refer the matter of Bakr's non-attendance to him in order that he takes appropriate action in accordance with Section 16 of the Commission of Enquiry Act.

However, in a letter to Lutchmedial dated January 29, 2013, Gaspard said: "I am of the view that given that the refusal of the witness to attend the hearing of the commission or to offer any 'sufficient cause' for doing so, despite being granted additional time to so do, is a matter that the commission should properly deal with in the maintenance of its own authority and protection of its proceedings; the powers of the commission granted under the (Commission of Enquiry) Act being akin to that of a High Court."

The DPP argued that if he were to take action against Bakr, the coup leader would use this as a basis for a stay in his retrial for sedition and incitement to demand with menaces which is likely to be fixed for trial in 2013.

Gaspard said in that trial, issues of Bakr's involvement in the 1990 attempted coup are likely "(as in the previous trial) to form the basis of an application, by the prosecution, to admit 'bad character' evidence of the accused".

"In those circumstances, it might be considered inadvisable if not punitive were the Director to direct charges for this accused's failure to attend your Commission of Enquiry to testify as to the integral part he played in the very attempted coup," Gaspard said.

Gaspard said these occurrences must be read in the light of the fact that in the last six years since Bakr was indicted, no fewer than six applications (all unsuccessful) had been made by Bakr's attorneys for this trial to be stayed on the basis of prejudicial pretrial publicity.

"Were I as Director to direct charges to be laid for his failure to attend your particular commission, this itself would likely generate a type of publicity that would necessarily provide additional ammunition in the arsenal of the accused for any such future application, where would be bound to follow," he said.

Gaspard added that it was also probable that Bakr would use any such action on his part to seek to demonstrate prosecutorial bias against him and also to seek a stay on this basis—as he sought to do in a preliminary application in the first trial.
"In all the circumstances, therefore, I am inclined to the view and I respectfully submit that the commission would be better advised to itself direct the Commissioner of Police to 'commence and prosecute the proceedings' for breach of Section 16," Gaspard stated.
The DPP pointed out that the Section "as you are doubtless aware" provides that no proceedings for any penalty under the Act shall be commenced except by the direction of the Director of Public Prosecutions or of the Commissioners.

He said while the act does contemplate the Director initiating such proceedings, it seems to be that intervention by the Director would be more appropriate, for instance, in cases of the wilful insulting of the commissioner or secretary or the wilful interruption of the proceedings.

In such instances where direct evidence may be required of these very parties and so as to ensure there is no conflict of interest, it might be prudent for a third party such as the DPP to commence criminal proceedings.

The DPP concluded by confessing that the matter had occasioned him "much anxiety and has attracted my most careful contemplation".
Bakr had indicated last year that he could not testify at the commission, citing adverse pretrial publicity, the likelihood that others may seek to use his testimony before the commission to his detriment at the sedition trial and his poor health.

Post by: zuluwarrior on February 02, 2013, 05:37:47 AM

Hafizool Under Probe

Published:

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

The headquarters of the newly-reformed "Flying Squad" at Factory Road, Piarco. Inset: Former Flying Squad member Mervyn Cordner talks with the Guardian about the reformation of the old police service anti-crime unit. PHOTOS: NICOLE DRAYTON

The infamous Flying Squad was secretly revived in July last year, a month after Minister of National Security Jack Warner signalled his intention to bring back the unit to fight the spiralling crime problem. And the covert unit is investigating Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed, a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt whose academic qualifications have come under scrutiny.

The squad has been operating from an office on the compound of Trident Technical and Logistical Services and Donrich Security Kennels, at Factory Road, Golden Grove Road, Arouca. The squad was first formed in the 1970s but was disbanded in 1980 after charges of conspiracy to murder were slapped on former police commissioner Randolph Burroughs.

The current Flying Squad staff comprises 75 retired officers who previously worked at various state enterprises throughout the country, ranging from the police to the Immigration Division. Retired police inspector Mervyn Cordner, who was a member of the original squad, has been recalled to lead the new operation.

Warner hinted at the possibility of bringing the squad back last year, but did not  give a time frame. It was also unclear why Cordner was chosen to head the unit. The decision, however, is not sitting well in some quarters, who have argued that some aspects of his past service make him a questionable selection. But in an exclusive interview with the T&T Guardian yesterday, Cordner, who has a master’s degree in law, insisted he had nothing to hide.

“My education speaks for itself...I was asked to do a job and that is what I am doing,” he said. “Only yesterday one of my informants brought information on Dr Hafizool Mohammed, and I sent him back for something else. “The information published is just the tip of the iceberg. The country will be shocked at what is going to be revealed.”

Cordner said it was Warner who approached him to assist in fighting crime. He said a proposal was submitted and a budget of $180 million was requested to carry out the Flying Squad operations. “They asked me what I wanted to immediately start,” he said, “and I got computers, desks, chairs and eight vehicles, comprising SUVs, cars and vans.

"But up to this day I have not received one cent. I have used $15,000 of my own funds to pay workers. For almost five months, I have paid the employees from my pocket. The building we are leasing for approximately $200,00 per month, I also negotiated for us to get there.”

He claimed the squad had been instrumental in helping the police to solve six murders, but the lack of funding had put a damper on its operations. Showing the scars he received as a member of the original squad, Cordner said he was prepared to give his life to save T&T. But, he complained: “The Government is not serious.

We are working from Maracas to Cedros and we need the tools to conduct our job. Every week is just promises and more promises, but they want to decrease crime.”

Efforts to contact Warner, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams were unsuccessful yesterday. Calls to their cellphones went to voice messages and they did not respond to messages left on them. They also did not respond to text messages.

Mohammed stays mum

Mohammed was expected to clear the air on his qualifications—which were highlighted in exclusive T&T Guardian articles this week—at a press conference yesterday, but cancelled it at the last minute. The T&T Guardian understands the Government is expected to make a decision next week on his status as a commissioner in the enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt.

Post by: Bourbon on February 02, 2013, 07:47:26 PM
Wait...what?

The current Flying Squad staff comprises 75 retired officers who previously worked at various state enterprises throughout the country, ranging from the police to the Immigration Division. Retired police inspector Mervyn Cordner, who was a member of the original squad, has been recalled to lead the new operation.

Warner hinted at the possibility of bringing the squad back last year, but did not  give a time frame. It was also unclear why Cordner was chosen to head the unit. The decision, however, is not sitting well in some quarters, who have argued that some aspects of his past service make him a questionable selection. But in an exclusive interview with the T&T Guardian yesterday, Cordner, who has a master’s degree in law, insisted he had nothing to hide.

So wait...why dey disband SUATT? And if SUATT was hampered because it wasnt covered by legislation.....wha legislation covering this?
Post by: weary1969 on February 02, 2013, 07:53:28 PM
Wait...what?

So wait...why dey disband SUATT? And if SUATT was hampered because it wasnt covered by legislation.....wha legislation covering this?

We give them 29 seats so that give them d right 2 do whatever they feel.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 02, 2013, 09:00:51 PM
Wait...what?

Consider that 2012 marked a halt to the trend of decreased murders which was the case every year since 2009. While the murder rate was curbed significantly in 2011 due to the SOE we experienced an immediate increase in 2012. If January is anything to go by we are set for another increase this year. When you look at crime stats in total it also shows an overall increase in crime. So while Warner has made a career of appearing to have a good work ethic and being highly effective even a cursory examination of his performance says otherwise.

I won't go through the list of everything that was done by this government that was counter-productive to national security but if this is true it demonstrates how much of a reckless, unthinking cowboy he is.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 03, 2013, 07:16:33 AM

Ag CoP: Secret Flying Squad illegal

...I am no part of this covert operation

Published:

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

Acting Commissioner of Police (CoP) Stephen Williams

Acting Commissioner of Police (CoP) Stephen Williams has described the secretly revived Flying Squad as illegal. In an exclusive interview with the T&T Guardian on Friday, retired police inspector Mervyn Cordner claimed Minister of National Security Jack Warner approached him to head the covert unit.

But yesterday, Williams distanced himself, saying, “I can speak for myself and say that I, acting CoP Stephen Williams, am not aware of and am no part of this covert operation. “I, Stephen Williams, never met Mervyn Cordner. I am speaking for myself. “The information brought to my attention is a matter that raises great concern of whether there is an illegal group purporting to do legal things.

“I would like to give the public the assurance I am going to get to the bottom of what has been revealed. This matter will be immediately investigated. I am thankful this matter has been brought to my attention. Anything illegal, I have to investigate. I have to find out if this is a vigilante unit. I am extremely concerned.”

The Flying Squad, which was disbanded in the 1980s, was revived in July 2012 and has been working out of a building at Factory Road, Golden Grove, Arouca. In a candid interview on Friday, Cordner said a crime plan was submitted to Warner and a budget of $180 million requested to carry out operations for a period of two years.

However, Cordner said, the lack of funding has stumped the work of the unit. The Flying Squad, according to Cordner, comprises 75 retired officers who previously worked at various state enterprises that include the police, prison service, Immigration Division, Telecommunication Authority of T&T and the T&T Electricity Commission.

Reiterating his concern over the revelations, Williams said, “A Flying Squad is a law-enforcement unit set up for a particular purpose of high-activity enforcement in T&T. “I cannot speak for Cordner’s claim. What I can say is that I have never engaged Cordner and 75 other people.

“I have never been part of a meeting with Minister of National Security and Cordner. Any meeting Cordner would have had with anybody, it was not with me. You need to speak to the relevant minister and Cordner,” Williams stressed.

Covert operations and the Ministry of National Security
 Williams said the setting up of such a unit should be endorsed by the commissioner of police, but he had not given any such authorisation. He pointed out that historically, covert operations functioned under the Ministry of National Security. Among them, he said, were the Strategic Intelligence Agency, Strategic Service Agency and the Special Anti-Crime Unit of T&T (SAUTT).

“It is normal for the Ministry of National Security to have covert operations, but when you are dealing with law enforcement, those people operate under the authority of the CoP. When SAUTT operated, the officers who were assigned to SAUTT operated under the authority of the CoP,” Williams said.

SAUTT was established in 2003 and disbanded in August 2011 by the People’s Partnership Government. Williams said he learned of the Flying Squad from the story in yesterday’s T&T Guardian. “I will admit it is the first time I have heard of this covert operation headed by Mervyn Cordner.” He dismissed Cordner’s claim that the unit had been instrumental in solving six murders. “That is a stupid story,” he commented.

“Cordner is not contributing directly or indirectly to the homicide bureau of the Police Service of T&T.” Cordner had said information gathered by the unit was passed on to various police divisions to assist in the fight against crime.

Commenting on the developments yesterday, head of the Police Complaints Authority Gillian Lucky said any entity dealing with law enforcement must work within a legal framework. “Any entity that is involved in law enforcement must be structured in such a way that there is total accountability and transparency.

“One must remember that when SAUTT was established, a major complaint made by the then Opposition was that SAUTT was operating outside of a legal framework,” Lucky pointed out. She said any organisation, institution or department involved in investigating highly sensitive matters or engaged in any kind of law-enforcement activity, must work within the parameters of the law and must account to an independent entity or authority.

Lucky added that the public was entitled to know of the existence of such an entity. “I am well aware that when conducting investigations there is a need to be discreet,” Lucky added. “I am not saying the entity is acting outside the law, but there seem to be more questions than answers.”

Cordner: My informants have information on Mohammed
 Cordner also said an informant is probing Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed, a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt whose academic qualifications have come under scrutiny. Among numerous other academic credentials, Mohammed said he has a master’s degree in military science from the United States Army Command and General Staff College in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

His curriculum vitae does not state what year he graduated. His master’s thesis is not published on the college’s Web site, unlike those of fellow graduates, such as retired Major Gen Edmund Dillon, who graduated in 2001. According to the Web site, the last T&T national to graduate from the university, in 2009, at the rank of Lt Col, was Rodney Smart.

Cordner said the question must be asked who was responsible for bringing Mohammed to T&T. “Somebody brought him,” Cordner pointed out. Mohammed expressed a keen interest in assisting with national security measures in T&T and had contacted Warner to say so. He also made contact with Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran via e-mail in 2010.

The Government is expected to make a decision next week on Mohammed’s status as a commissioner in the enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt. Telephone calls to Warner went unanswered yesterday.

Post by: Jah Gol on February 03, 2013, 07:44:25 AM
No joke, we fall over the cliff.This is insane.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 03, 2013, 11:18:48 AM
41-0 material.
Post by: truetrini on February 03, 2013, 11:59:55 AM
41-0 material.

Except for the deaf, dumb and blind and of course the ass licking africans.
Post by: truetrini on February 03, 2013, 12:05:26 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ZPLZSpflHU
Post by: Brownsugar on February 04, 2013, 05:03:08 AM
So while Warner has made a career of appearing to have a good work ethic and being highly effective even a cursory examination of his performance says otherwise. I won't go through the list of everything that was done by this government that was counter-productive to national security but if this is true it demonstrates how much of a reckless, unthinking cowboy he is.

:whistling: :whistling:   :-X
Post by: weary1969 on February 04, 2013, 09:21:14 AM
Hafizool sent resume to PNM
Published: Monday, February 4, 2013Anika Gumbs-SandifordTweet

In 2009, Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed expressed an interest in assisting the People’s National Movement (PNM) government with national security measures in T&T. In an August 4 letter to then prime minister Patrick Manning, Mohammed, a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, asked for a meeting and expressed his willingness to serve. However, he was not approached to serve under the former PNM administration.

Mohammed also sent a letter to then minister of national security Martin Joseph. A copy of his curriculum vitae (CV) was also attached. Among the qualifications he listed was a doctor of science degree (DSc) in international relations that he obtained from Atlantic International University, which is described by various Web sites as a diploma mill.

As he did on his current CV, Mohammed also claimed he was the author of the US Army Strategic Vision road map. However, the Web site for that road map does not mention Mohammed in connection with his claim. In his letter to Manning, Mohammed listed impressive academic and military qualifications and claimed former head of the Special Anti-Crime Unit Brig Peter Joseph could confirm his credentials.

He wrote: “In the event you wish to confirm my credentials, please consult with Brig Joseph in whom I have the utmost respect and confidence, not to exclude the fact that he is my esteemed army colleague. “I have discussed this matter and sought his guidance prior to my letter to Minister Joseph. “I would like to provide an in-depth analysis of the current plan that is being recommended by MG Ross, either independently or as part of a working group.

“If you wish to discuss this matter with me, please so advise as to the appropriate day and time with you. My esteemed colleague and friend in Trinidad, Richard Koorn, of Donrich Security, will accompany me.” Donrich Security Kennels is located at Factory Road, Golden Grove, Arouca, on the same compound where retired police inspector Mervyn Cordner claimed the Flying Squad was secretly revived.

Acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams has launched an investigation into Cordner’s claims. When T&T Guardian contacted Manning yesterday, inquiring why Mohammed was never asked to serve in any capacity, he replied: “I am currently doing physiotherapy. I am only interested in recovering.”

Joseph said he could not verify Mohammed’s credentials. He said he met Mohammed in 1994 when a colleague died. “How could I verify his credentials? I did not go to school with him. The person who went to school with him is dead. We never attended any schools together,” he said

One year after Mohammed was blanked by the PNM administration, he approached the People’s Partnership government expressing a keen interest in assisting with national security measures. He first contacted Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran via e-mail in 2010.

An e-mail was also sent to the Minister of National Security shortly after his new appointment in which he stated: “Congratulations are in order for you appointment as the new Minister of National Security in T&T. Your achievements and man-of-action fame precede you well. I would like to say that you are not alone in the aim to provide T&T as safe and secured haven. And this is the reason for which I am sending you this e-mail.

“I have attached my CV for your information and to determine in what way I can assist you. I also have attached a photo that we took in Chaguanas in December 2011.” The e-mail further stated: “I sit on the enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup. I wear four hats: a foreigner, an international security expert, a combat veteran and a Muslim.

“I wish you luck and hope to hear from you soon. Our next enquiry session is scheduled for the last week in August and will last for two weeks. However, I am prepared to be on the next flight to meet with you regarding national security of T&T and any other matters as may be deemed appropriate.” The Government is expected to make a decision this week on Mohammed’s status as a commissioner in the enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt.
Post by: Bourbon on February 04, 2013, 01:29:00 PM
Allyuh fass people musbe gone and blow the cover of one of the most epic secret agents that ever graced the shores of this country.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 04, 2013, 02:47:45 PM

Ah listen to bout 20 Cro Cro. Speaking truth to power.
Post by: truetrini on February 04, 2013, 09:58:07 PM

the man has issues but he also deals with real issues. 
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 05, 2013, 06:13:21 AM

Hafizool graduated with only a diploma says college

Published:

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Anika Gumbs

Yet another of the academic qualifications listed on Dr Hafizool Mohammed’s curriculum vitae (CV) appears to be questionable. He listed a master of science (MSc) in military science from the US Army Staff and Command College, Fort Leavenworth, Kansas. In response to a query by T&T Guardian seeking confirmation of Mohammed’s MSc, transcript clerk Lynn Poss said yesterday Mohammed did not do such a degree at the college.

“He did not do an MSc. He just took the regular course. He pursued the command and general staff officer course. That is not an MSc. “He graduated in 1993. He only got a diploma. He did not receive an MSc. I have no other information showing otherwise,” Poss said.
 Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said last week he had verified the information provided in the copy of Mohammed’s CV that was sent to him.

In an interview with the T&T Guardian last week, Ramlogan said Mohammed, a member of the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup, was hired because of his military background. Ramlogan did not respond to text messages or phone calls yesterday. Despite not having an MSc in military science, Mohammed also said in his CV he had  lectured as an assistant professor of military science at the University of Michigan, where he also recruited 35,000 new students annually.

He also said he held an MA in national security studies from the American Military University in 2011 and was a distinguished graduate. However, associate registrar Yvette Porter said last week Mohammed’s name was not listed in the university’s database. Contacted again yesterday, Porter said: “We are having the same issue confirming the information,” before she transferred the call to her manager.

Identifying herself as Diana, the manager asked: “Did you contact Mr Mohammed for a copy of his transcript? I would think if he graduated from my university he will have a copy of his transcript that will prove what he saying. “If a student was a graduate, it will show what he did. The name given to us, we cannot find. I am telling you, like what Ms Porter told you, we go by what is in our database. Maybe he gave different initials, I do not know.”

Contacted yesterday, the US Embassy said it could not deny or confirm if investigations were ongoing into the matter. Government is expected to make a decision this week on Mohammed’s status as a commissioner.
Post by: g on February 05, 2013, 06:26:48 AM
I wonder how Hafizool feeling these days? He could be criminally charged with fraud as he was being paid based on qualifications presented. More telling is whether the state will take action against him.

This is vulgarity of the highest order.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 05, 2013, 07:08:44 AM
G you asking how Hafizool feeling I want to hear the  PM excuse for this shit .

Is shit after shit after shit with this lagoon government , is always something to have people laughing at we ,gosh alyuh give we a brake nah .
Post by: lefty on February 05, 2013, 07:16:27 AM
I wonder how Hafizool feeling these days? He could be criminally charged with fraud as he was being paid based on qualifications presented. More telling is whether the state will take action against him.

dat is fraud of d highest order dey better not let diss pass so..........censure atleast for d minister\s dat didn' do dey due diligence is in order.........dis is madness
Post by: weary1969 on February 05, 2013, 08:44:16 AM

dat is fraud of d highest order dey better not let diss pass so..........censure atleast for d minister\s dat didn' do dey due diligence is in order.........dis is madness

G you asking how Hafizool feeling I want to hear the  PM excuse for this shit .

Is shit after shit after shit with this lagoon government , is always something to have people laughing at we ,gosh alyuh give we a brake nah .

D same ting that happen to Reshmi happening 2 he.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 05, 2013, 09:02:35 AM
Hafizool's connection to the government may not be entirely disclosed however if we accept the story given at the very least there is not just fraud on his part but an obscene act neglect to practice due diligence on the part of both the Minister and the AG. Which even as given brings into question the lack of will to investigate further. Both the AG and the Minister have staff at their disposal to do this work which is actually a routine part of human resource management. It's as easy as giving an instruction and a task that could be completed in a few days as the newspaper is revealing.

I don't know what's worse, the idea that this is either a party appointment with a manufactured CV or that the government was just duped by a document from the world of fantasy. They will ask us the believe the latter.

Tangentially let me say as well there is a clear disconnect .The practice of re-interviewing employees in the public sector for them to have any prospect of keeping their jobs at the end of their contracts was supposedly meant to stop the nepotism of the former regime. Meanwhile Reshmi Ramnarine and Hafizool Ali Mohammed received lucrative appointments with false CVs. The practice has served to only increase the cost and duration of recruitment and selection while it makes way for party hacks ,family and associates of the government to feed at the trough. It is counter-intuitive organizationally and has facilitated the disease it was purported to treat.

WGE-Worst Government Ever
Post by: Bourbon on February 05, 2013, 09:14:15 AM
Steups. I ketching my tail to get a wuk after I study...I now realise I do de wrong ting.

I shoulda just make up ting and send it out!
Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2013, 09:54:47 AM

the man has issues but he also deals with real issues. 

What issues?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 05, 2013, 10:02:08 AM

Reminds me of this:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=58127.msg824526#msg824526

She is charged with falsely claiming she holds a master's degree in chemistry while testifying as an expert witness.
http://www.masslive.com/news/index.ssf/2013/02/annie_dookhan_ex-massachusetts.html
Post by: Jah Gol on February 05, 2013, 10:26:52 AM

G , Hafizool hadda watch he back. Yuh didn't hear the head of the flying squad investigating him ?  ::)
Post by: g on February 05, 2013, 12:05:49 PM
G , Hafizool hadda watch he back. Yuh didn't hear the head of the flying squad investigating him ?

Jah Gol doh start me with that flying squad yes, i wonder if i living in DeJa Vu land sometimes.
Post by: weary1969 on February 05, 2013, 12:25:16 PM
Hafizool's connection to the government may not be entirely disclosed however if we accept the story given at the very least there is not just fraud on his part but an obscene act neglect to practice due diligence on the part of both the Minister and the AG. Which even as given brings into question the lack of will to investigate further. Both the AG and the Minister have staff at their disposal to do this work which is actually a routine part of human resource management. It's as easy as giving an instruction and a task that could be completed in a few days as the newspaper is revealing.

I don't know what's worse, the idea that this is either a party appointment with a manufactured CV or that the government was just duped by a document from the world of fantasy. They will ask us the believe the latter.

Tangentially let me say as well there is a clear disconnect .The practice of re-interviewing employees in the public sector for them to have any prospect of keeping their jobs at the end of their contracts was supposedly meant to stop the nepotism of the former regime. Meanwhile Reshmi Ramnarine and Hafizool Ali Mohammed received lucrative appointments with false CVs. The practice has served to only increase the cost and duration of recruitment and selection while it makes way for party hacks ,family and associates of the government to feed at the trough. It is counter-intuitive organizationally and has facilitated the disease it was purported to treat.

WGE-Worst Government Ever

The practice of making persons reapply is just to make sure they can put in their peeps. Everybody knows which persons and positions are for political hacks and which contract jobs persons got by responding to an ad in a newspaper.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 05, 2013, 03:49:28 PM
http://i955fm.com/

listen to Mervyn Cordner x flying squad police officer and now leader of the new flying squad.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 06, 2013, 08:22:29 AM
Yet another example from Germany:

http://m.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/german-education-minister-resists-resignation-over-phd-plagiarism-claims/article8287537/?service=mobile
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 07, 2013, 05:42:37 AM

Hafizool: My CVs are not 100% accurate

Published:

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed shows a photo of himself in US militarty wear during a press conference at the Port-of-Spain office of his attorney, Martin George, yesterday. Photo: ANDY HYPOLITE

A defiant Dr Hafizool Ali Mohammed, one of the commissioners appointed to sit on the commission of enquiry into the 1990 coup attempt, has admitted his curriculum vitae (CV) is inaccurate but he is not stepping down. In fact, he is returning to the enquiry today to resume duties as a commissioner.

He made the announcement yesterday, as he described the discrepancies on his CV as “errors” at a press conference at the Port-of-Spain office of his attorney, Martin George. George said Mohammed, who called the press conference to clear the air on questions surrounding his qualifications, met with President George Maxwell Richards and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan on Monday, at which time he presented his certificates to both men. He said no objections were raised.

But the explanations given by Mohammed for the discrepancies on his CV were puzzling. Among the explanations given was that for the acronym “MS.” On Mohammed’s CV, he claimed he received an MS, military science, from the US Army Command & General Staff College, Fort Leavenworth. Many perceived this to mean he had a master of science degree in military studies, as the acronym is generally used to described such a degree.

In response to a query by T&T Guardian seeking confirmation of Mohammed’s qualification, US Army Command and General Staff College transcript clerk, Lynn Poss, on Monday said he did not pursue any degree at the college. Poss said Mohammed in fact pursued a command and general staff officer diploma course and not a full degree.

But Mohammed yesterday said the acronym did not mean a “master of science” but rather “military science.” Acronyms for an MSc are: M.Sc, MSc, MSci, MSi, MS, ScM, MSHS, MS, Mag, Mg, Mgr, SM or SM. “What the MS meant was military science. It is not a MSc that some believe it is. The college offers several courses. The course is called military science and leadership,” Mohammed told the media.

“These courses are around the MSc degree level. The MS written on my CV was meant to be military science and not a MSc degree. “I have about 40 resumes floating because I am linked to many organisations. I have had many people worked on my CVs. I can assure you that perhaps none of my CVs are 100 per cent accurate, they are at best 85 to 95 per cent. A challenge is explaining what the military terminology means.”

Asked to explain what he meant by his CV not being accurate, Mohammed said, “You have CVs sometimes in which you are asked to translate military terminology into English and sometimes you just make a mistake. Some of these mistakes are not necessarily major, but there is an issue of translation. When you have in particular a military CV, in the military world it is well understood.

“However, if the CV is seen by someone not in military they may perceive something that is different,” he said. “We try very hard to translate it into civilian language and sometimes we still do not get it right and that is the gist of it. The CVs are not meant to cheat or portray a false story, but sometimes they are not gotten right because they are not well translated and mistakes are made.”

Mohammed also claimed he contacted all the references listed on his CV. “People can say what they want, but I asked all persons before I placed them on my CV," he said. Asked how he contacted T&T’s first president Sir Ellis Clarke, who is now deceased, Mohammed replied, “That was before he died.”

Two people listed as references on Mohammed’s CV—Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma and former Chief of Defence Staff Brig Roland Maundy—told the T&T Guardian they were not aware they were listed as references on Mohammed’s CV.
 Reminded that the CV indicated that Clarke was deceased, Mohammed said, “I informed all persons.”

As for the non-existent Turkey president, Ahmet Haluk Ozbuddun, who was also listed as a reference, Mohammed said he was a “personal friend” of his. “He was not only a personal friend but I also worked with him for many years, beginning in 1974 in Turkey up until he returned to the United States,” he said.

“The only mistake I made with Ozbuddun is my recollection of 1974. I thought he said he acted as the Turkey president. I really thought he said that. It was an error on my part where his title was concerned. It was mistake, I am sure it is not the only one. It is a long time and I may have some of the titles mistaken,” Mohammed said.

PHOTO EVIDENCE

Mohammed’s academic qualifications came under question after it was discovered he obtained his doctor of science degree from Atlantic International University (AIU)—a university described by various Web sites as a diploma mill.
 Showing various photographs taken with distinguished people, including Clarke, yesterday, Mohammed said, “Not much has been said by me. It has been quite painful. I got licks each day, it was simply because I did not have the original documents.”
 Pointing to certificates stuck on the walls behind him, among them a certificate stating he received a master’s degree from the American Military University, Mohammed said he looked forward to returning to his duties as a commissioner.

Post by: Bourbon on February 07, 2013, 06:11:23 AM
Well we must be real dotish in true.
Post by: FF on February 07, 2013, 06:19:48 AM
No shame...

aye Hafizool, we in town too long
Post by: asylumseeker on February 07, 2013, 06:33:11 AM
So wham? Dem other commissioners are jokers. Refuse to be empaneled with this man. Moral authority is a joke in Trinidad & Tobago.
Post by: lefty on February 07, 2013, 06:40:28 AM
shameless fuucker, lawd have mercy, ......now I wondering what exactly d prez and d AG didn' have a problem wit, because diaz some high class crazy man shit he talk dey.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 07, 2013, 06:53:33 AM
Richards' silence is likely the product of the nature of his office. Ramlogan's silence is likely political ... at this point he would likely accept any threadbare rationale.
Post by: Jah Gol on February 07, 2013, 07:10:55 AM
It takes collusion for an appointment of this kind to occur, it wasn't one man give him a wok. The government has operated with consummate paralysis on this issue except for a bizarre investigation from an illegitimate 'flying squad'. I almost chuckled typing that. 

Music, language and politics are a reflection of the spirit of those who create it. It is a visceral view of the values of people. What we get we deserve, because we're no damn good.
Post by: zuluwarrior on February 07, 2013, 07:36:22 AM
Aye, why you guys worrying we living in carnival city where every thing  is old mas, notting 4    king work  and the people happy like pappy.
Post by: fishs on February 07, 2013, 11:00:53 AM

Smoke and mirrors to me the BIG BIG thing is that Nizam Mohammed is a damn TRAITOR
Post by: weary1969 on February 07, 2013, 11:05:44 AM
BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. My CV is not 100% accurate. Who here can say that and still have they wuk raise yuh hand?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 07, 2013, 11:32:06 AM
BIG FAT WET LOUD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. My CV is not 100% accurate. Who here can say that and still have they wuk raise yuh hand?

:applause:
Post by: asylumseeker on February 20, 2013, 08:17:29 AM
41-0 material.

15-0 in Grenada. Interesting that ppl quiver when democracy produces what they perceive as an anti-democratic outcome.
Post by: Bourbon on February 20, 2013, 12:09:17 PM
41-0 material.

15-0 in Grenada. Interesting that ppl quiver when democracy produces what they perceive as an anti-democratic outcome.

Never would happen in Trinidad. Note I said Trinidad. Not Trinidad and Tobago. Cuz you know...Tobago votes on tribalism and race and such.  ::)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 21, 2013, 10:35:05 PM
41-0 material.

In 2001 we had an 18-18 split. Tomorrow morning Bajans could wake up to discover an even or or almost even division of the 30 constituencies, 15-15. [An interesting dynamic has been a few constituencies in which both major party candidates have previously won the constituency ... something to consider!]. While I think the election will be statistically close in terms of the popular vote, I don't see 15-15 manifesting.
Post by: Flex on March 18, 2013, 05:37:07 AM
Terrorists eye TT
Thursday, May 10 2012
T&T Newsday

A REPORT into Trinidad and Tobago by the US State Department’s Bureau of Diplomatic Security has described this country as being a possible “transit point for potential terrorists or terrorist organisations.”

The 2011 Trinidad and Tobago Crime and Safety Report notes that crime remains a problem and the “relatively porous” borders of this country make it also vulnerable to the illegal drugs and weapons trade.

“Over 100 criminal gangs have been identified in Trinidad and Tobago, and these gangs, as well as other organisations, have been linked to crimes related to weapons smuggling, fraud, and other organised criminal activities,” the report, published on the internet, noted. “Radical elements are thought to occasionally make contact with individuals and groups with possible terrorist ties around the world and given the crime rate and some weak aspects of border control, there remains a continued concern that Trinidad and Tobago could be utilised as a transit point for potential terrorists or terrorist organisations.”

With a Commission of Enquiry into the events on 1990 ongoing, the report take notes of the historical backdrop of that year. “The radical Muslim organisation Jamaat-al-Muslimeen, which is locally based, was responsible for a violent, unsuccessful coup attempt in July of 1990,” it notes.

“Since the 1990 coup attempt, the Jamaat and its leaders have focussed on Islamic education and a number of business ventures, but have been linked publicly to serious crimes, including murder, and to alleged get-out-the-vote irregularities during national political campaigns. Meanwhile, the government continues to seek restitution against the Jamaat for damages associated with the 1990 coup attempt.”

However the report finds no “known indigenous terrorist group” with international ties. The report notes that crime remains high. “The crime threat in Port-of-Spain is high, and crime continues be the principal threat to visitors. Although statistics suggest crime may be decreasing overall, crime levels in certain areas of Port-of-Spain continue to be high,” it says.

“The Government of Trinidad and Tobago (GOTT) is making a sincere effort at combating crime. However, an overburdened legal system, bureaucratic resistance to change, unemployment in marginal areas, the negative influence of gangs, and a growing illegal narcotics industry, create significant barriers,” the report noted.

Of prospects for civil unrest, the report continues, “Trinidad has remained mostly peaceful since the attempted coup of 1990, with periodic demonstrations by labour unions over salary negotiations, tax structures and other issues involving public resources or government operations. Some political demonstrations do become violent, with the occasional clash with police. Immediately after September 11, 2001, Jamaat members and others protested in public venues regarding US policy on the war on terrorism. In one particular protest in Port-of-Spain during 2001, the report noted, the American flag was burned.

Post by: Flex on July 27, 2013, 04:20:00 AM
OUTRAGE
1990 ‘coup’ victims denounce Bakr march approved by top cop
Story Updated: Jul 26, 2013

The sheer brazenness of the action.

This was the prevailing sentiment among victims of the 1990 coup attempt, as they strongly condemned yesterday’s march by insurrectionist Yasin Abu Bakr.

Today is the 23rd anniversary of the coup attempt—an event which saw 114 Muslimeen storming the Parliament and other places, shooting the former prime minister and former national security minister, holding them and others hostage for six days, leaving a trail of death and destruction in the capital city.

“Unprincipled!” former minister Gloria Henry declared. “They were traitors to the country. What they did was all wrong. It was treason. It was unlawful. You can’t just allow them to celebrate and glorify it!” she stated.

In deference to the entire country, in deference to people who lost their children and children who lost their parents, in deference to people whose businesses never woke up after 1990 and all those people who suffered, the Muslimeen does not have the right to make people feel they (the Muslimeen) did something that was in any way justified, she said.

Former finance minister Selby Wilson, who was one of the targets of the Muslimeen’s brutality and who had been pistol-whipped inside the Red House, said if there was any nexus or association between the march and 1990, then “they (the authorities) have no right to condone that kind of action”.

Wilson said for years people in authority have been condoning actions of Abu Bakr “and that has empowered him. And this is just a continuation of that attitude. It is a continuing pattern of behaviour which empowers Abu Bakr and makes him feel invincible—that he can get away with anything and he can get his way when he wants. And that is what I object to”. “I think the police should not have permitted it, especially in this kind of environment where people are tending to glorify crime and corruption,” he added.

Wilson said Abu Bakr was “celebrating what he thinks is a victory” and that fact that no commission, court or any other secular autho­rity appeared to be able to stop him. “Now he picks up himself to march and tell people they don’t know that whole truth. Brazen man!” Wilson said.

Former minister Jennifer Johnson, who was also held hostage, said she was appalled. “How could you be granting permission for people who have committed such an atrocious crime against the Parliament and the people of this country, to march in honour of what?

Unbelievable!” she said. “But we have become a society where anything goes, so that’s where we are,” she said. Johnson said the Muslimeen were the protagonists in 1990, they committed the acts, they were responsible for the deaths of so many people in 1990.

“The agency responsible for gi­ving that permission should have thought again,” Johnson advised. “Look at the history, look at what the entire thing was about and ought to have reviewed it (the decision to allow the march),” she added. She said people may have forgotten.

Johnson said it was the third year the Parliament was having no commemoration. “Where else (in the world) would that happen against our Parliament, and we are not having the smallest ceremony to commemorate and remind people of what happened?” she said.

Journalist Raoul Pantin, who was one of some two dozen hostages held at gunpoint in Trinidad and Tobago Television by Abu Bakr and his men for six days, said he found it incredibly difficult to believe the authorities would give Abu Bakr permission to stage a march, “the 23rd anniversary of that criminal outrage”.

“Other than commemorating one of the vilest criminal onslaughts against democratic rule in the country’s history, what is the purpose of such a march?” he asked. “Bakr and his cohorts can certainly celebrate the fact that they have escaped the full brunt of the law for their heinous crimes, but why should the authorities collaborate in this? Have the authorities taken leave of their senses?

“Frankly, I think the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, whose soldiers put down that insurrection, should stage their own public march to commemorate their victory over the forces of evil. And they should be joined in this by all law-abiding citizens,” Pantin said.

Wendell Eversley, who was a hostage the Red House and who saw Lorraine Caballero bleed to death, said he was surprised Abu Bakr was given permission to march.

He recalled that Caballero had a six-month-old daughter at the time. Eversley lamented there was nothing being held by the Parliament to commemorate the event. He said he spoke to two Government officials about at least having the internal flame lit in time for today. He said he would be walking from the Arima Dial to the Eternal Flame, and would then be sitting in front of the Red House from about noon to 6 p.m. and laying a wreath today, together with the leader of the Congress of the People Prakash Ramadhar.

He said he wrote to the Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader and the Independent Liberal Party leader about commemorating the event. Every September 11, public officials go to the US Embassy to pay their respects to those who lost their lives, he added. “We have a by-election. What that have to do with 1990 and its commemoration? Send somebody in Government (and Opposition) to represent. It is only every five years they recognise those who lost their lives,” he said.

Major General Ralph Brown, who played a key role in the military putting down the insurrection, said he did not like the idea of Abu Bakr’s march, but once it was a peaceful march, he did not see how the police commissioner could deny permission.

“But he (Abu Bakr) is very insensitive. I don’t know what there is for him to celebrate in that (event),” Brown said.

(http://media.trinidadexpress.com/images/nw1236.jpg)
TO THE STREETS: Surrounded by followers and passers-by, Jamaat-al-Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr, centre, walks across Independence Square in Port of Spain yesterday during his march from the Red House to the Parliament at Tower D, Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre, in commemoration of today’s 23rd anniversary of the 1990 attempted coup, which he had led. —Photo: CURTIS CHASE

Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2013, 07:50:58 AM
Now allyuh see why most people on the forum don't like Shabazz as TT coach.
Post by: mal jeux on July 27, 2013, 07:54:24 AM
sickening!
Post by: kaliman2006 on July 27, 2013, 08:50:29 AM
Pappyshowing at its finest...
Post by: Brownsugar on July 27, 2013, 08:58:16 AM
 :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 10:33:24 AM
Distasteful as it may be to many, in a supposedly 'free-society' the people have a right to publicly march in protest and exercise their free speech.  We cannot and should not look to ban or prevent any group from voicing their opinions just because those opinions or the source of those opinions does not appeal to our tastes.

People do however have the right to criticize those opinions...but 'banning those opinions' as jennifer Johnson seem to suggest, is going a bit too far, especially in a CONSTITUTIONAL REPUBLIC that prides itself on Liberty.   :)

Post by: ckhan on July 27, 2013, 10:47:24 AM
Wow, well ok, then those of us affected by the coup should be awarded as well. Maybe we all should march and or have a minute silence nationwide on the exact time that insurrection took place.
Post by: Deeks on July 27, 2013, 01:13:18 PM
TT is not a real constitutional republic. On paper, yes it is. But we still need the approval of London for some crucial decisions that we appear to be afraid to make. That is my opinion.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 02:40:40 PM
TT is not a real constitutional republic. On paper, yes it is. But we still need the approval of London for some crucial decisions that we appear to be afraid to make. That is my opinion.

With much respects and humility, actually T&T is a Constitutional Republic...we became so on Sept 24th 1976.  This is why we're known as The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago', and is one of the reasons we celebrate 'Republic' Day. 

We also have a T&T Constitution which lays out the rights of the citizens as 'protection' against the government.

I maintain a copy of this Constitution and always travel with it.   Much cheers, breda!
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 02:44:09 PM

With much respects and humility, actually T&T is a Constitutional Republic...we became so on Sept 24th 1976.  This is why we're known as The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago', and is one of the reasons we celebrate 'Republic' Day. 

We also have a T&T Constitution which lays out the rights of the citizens as 'protection' against the government.

I maintain a copy of this Constitution and always travel with it.   Much cheers, breda!

And yes, I totally agree with you on the comment that some decisions we appear too afraid to make.  I don't know if I'm reading you correctly, but I TOO feel disgusted by the fact that we still maintained ties with London and need approvals on some crucial decisions (BIG STEUPPES). 

I'm not the biggest fan or supporter of that strange policy.  I feel your disgust also...lol
Post by: mal jeux on July 27, 2013, 04:32:52 PM
having a right to do something does not always make it ok. blatant disrespect for the people of trinidad and tobago and the constitutional republic it is.

outsideman your tone is very reminiscent of a prodigal son of swo
Post by: weary1969 on July 27, 2013, 04:35:38 PM
I blame Williams how could he approve this march?
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 04:42:22 PM
having a right to do something does not always make it ok. blatant disrespect for the people of trinidad and tobago and the constitutional republic it is.

mal jeux --- I hear you...but the strength of a people and the strength and test of a country's belief in the ideals of freedom and liberty, is when the extreme minority opinion can be shared and respected, regardless of the dissenting opinion from the overwhelming majority.

In other words --- if even 1 person shared the opinion that 1MILLION people disagree with, then the strength and resolve of that country is if they allow that 1 solitary person to still march on the streets to share their 'insidious' opinion that is hated and despised by the rest of the 1 MILLION population.

Our strength and our supposed belief's in the ideals of liberty means nothing if we impose restrictions on someone else's opinions just because we find those opinions blatantly disrespectful and greatly offensive to our sensibilities.

I believe we are better than that as a people.   :)   
Post by: Bakes on July 27, 2013, 06:42:06 PM
Now allyuh see why most people on the forum don't like Shabazz as TT coach.

Real distasteful... on top of never apologizing (or being incapable of apologizing enough), they rubbing it in the face of the populace.  This probably right up there with getting pissed on... but approving the permit was the right thing to do.
Post by: Bakes on July 27, 2013, 06:43:56 PM

I done make he out long time...
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 07:15:08 PM

I done make he out long time...

Bakes de truth is I done long realize that talking to some of alyuh people is like playing a game of strip poker against Rosie O'Donnell while she's on her period. 

Despite all de reasoning and logic, it's just not worth it --- it's just a no win scenario.  ;)
Post by: congo on July 27, 2013, 08:03:07 PM
OutsideMan, you are speaking to me...Some people want to hang them in the square. The time when they had the chance to do that they failed. They can't hold the men and them accountable anymore..Get over it. The frigging state barely recognizes the event. Parliament hasn't commemorate the event in almost 3 years. Imagine we still don't have a wall of remembrance or something for the victims who died.

The by-elections push this huge topic to the back burner, imagine that. Let them march, it just sum up everything about the society. A group of brazen "terrorists" have the ability to march through the capital. You are right though and I will always agree with you when you say that even 1 person has a right to have his/her voice heard. Some people just don't understand that and still beat their chest proudly and claim to be defenders of democracy.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 27, 2013, 08:38:17 PM
OutsideMan, you are speaking to me...Some people want to hang them in the square. The time when they had the chance to do that they failed. They can't hold the men and them accountable anymore..Get over it. The frigging state barely recognizes the event. Parliament hasn't commemorate the event in almost 3 years. Imagine we still don't have a wall of remembrance or something for the victims who died.

The by-elections push this huge topic to the back burner, imagine that. Let them march, it just sum up everything about the society. A group of brazen "terrorists" have the ability to march through the capital. You are right though and I will always agree with you when you say that even 1 person has a right to have his/her voice heard. Some people just don't understand that and still beat their chest proudly and claim to be defenders of democracy.

Congo, you're quite right, breds.   :beermug:

What I find amusing about this whole thing also is that the same people who boast that they were partying and wining-up during de coup in all those curfew parties, while many countrymen lay dead, maimed, and dying, are the same SAME hypocrites today who're attempting to hide their contemptuous treasonous stripes behind a false flag of fake patriotism.

To be honest, I cannot take these people seriously at all.   

Post by: congo on July 27, 2013, 10:01:55 PM
Not only that but they would continuously call them "terrorist" while at the same time, voting for and defending the very same politicians who have embraced them and elevated their standing in society. These people are frigging insane. I get that people lost their lives and suffered major losses but in the midst of all that, some citizens were partying. Which is why I refuse to put my head on a block and blindly support any side. It isn't as black and white as some people want us to believe.

Post 9-11 the popular word to use is "terrorist." So the people who watch a lil Cnn and Bbc always quick to throw that word around. Listen those guys got lucky at life. In any other serious country, they would have been either dead or jailed for life.

People keep forgetting that Dookeran was given the order from Yasin to go form a government of national unity and he went seeking to form a government of national unity. That's the kind of spineless politicians leading this country. Imagine we had an incident such as that and national security apparatus is continuously dismantled and tampered with all for political mileage.
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2013, 05:48:13 AM

Outside, I know perfectly well what is written on paper. But the very fact there is an except for such important decision as capital crime, treason, etc is why I really don't respect it. We TT, citizens should have full rights to make that decision. Did the US made any except in theirs for the Crown to decide. Did the Latin countries make that exception for Spain. I really blame that on Eric and Hugh Wooding. I honestly  don't understand why they worded the constitution that way. We might as well have stayed independent. We are no different like Australia, NZ and Canada. We is ah joke republic.
Post by: OutsideMan on July 28, 2013, 11:03:11 AM

Outside, I know perfectly well what is written on paper. But the very fact there is an except for such important decision as capital crime, treason, etc is why I really don't respect it. We TT, citizens should have full rights to make that decision. Did the US made any except in theirs for the Crown to decide. Did the Latin countries make that exception for Spain. I really blame that on Eric and Hugh Wooding. I honestly  don't understand why they worded the constitution that way. We might as well have stayed independent. We are no different like Australia, NZ and Canada. We is ah joke republic.

Deeks...the follow-up comment I made to that first response yesterday had actually agreed with you on that.  This is something that I don't agree with also (the fact that we have relinquished the important decisions to the UK). A very shameful process indeed.
Post by: Flex on July 30, 2013, 06:36:27 AM
Only $5,000 for Bakr
Judge: Your reputation was not ‘injured’ by arrest
By Jensen LaVende (Express).

AFTER being awarded a nominal $5,000 on a claim of false imprisonment yesterday, Jamaat-al-Muslimeen leader Yasin Abu Bakr said he would be appealing the judgment of High Court Judge Frank Seepersad. Speaking with reporters following the judgment, Abu Bakr, who was represented by attorneys Wayne Sturge, Lemuel Murphy and Nigel Allsop, said the judgment was  “outrageous”.

Bakr had sued the State for damages claiming false imprisonment, malicious prosecution and assault and battery, saying because of the arrest, his “character and reputation” had been “greatly injured” and was seeking some $4 million in legal fees.

The claim, which names both the Office of the Attorney General an d the Commissioner of Police as defendants, stems from  Bakr being charged along with Tahir Ali and Oluyemi Abdul Bassist with possession of a hand grenade, a rifle and 569 rounds of ammunition in November 2005.

Bakr, at the time of the alleged offence, was in police custody in relation to another criminal matter when the weapons were allegedly found.

Police said they found the items in a dormitory at the Mucurapo Road mosque on November 5, 2005. On January 20, 2006, the State conceded there was no case against Bakr and discontinued the three matters against him.

In his 23-page judgment, Seepersad said while it was clear that Bakr was maliciously prosecuted, as a result of  the events of 1990 he could not and did not suffer any injury to his fame and reputation.

“The claimant agonistically and arrogantly admitted his orchestration and involvement in the attempted coup,” he said.

Seepersad added that 20 years have elapsed and the society has yet to reconcile the events and that Bakr has remained in the public view.

He said no objective person would believe his reputation was negatively affected given his role in the attempted coup and subsequent criminal charges following the coup, some of which are still pending.

Seepersad ruled that the arresting officer PC Frith was “prompted by improper motives” and he was “preoccupied with the claimant’s history” when he charged Bakr.

On the grounds of wrongful imprisonment, Seepersad said Bakr was already in Remand Yard on charges of sedition when he was arrested and remained there after the ones laid by Frith were dismissed and therefore suffered no loss of liberty. He said Bakr could not prove either the assault or loss of property claims arising out of the charges and dismissed those matters.

Seepersad also ruled that Bakr did not suffer any anxiety by his arrest since at the time when he was informed of the offence he laughed.

“In this case the court has found that the charges did not cause affront to the claimant’s dignity, he suffered no humiliation nor was any damage done to his ‘reputation’ in the eyes of others,” Seepersad said.

The judge added that in the absence of any evidence of damages the court was of the view that Abu Bakr should receive only nominal damages for malicious prosecution of $5,000 and both the State and Abu Bakr would bear the legal costs they accumulated.

Senior Counsel Israel Khan and Larry Lalla represented the State.   

Post by: mal jeux on July 30, 2013, 11:14:38 AM
http://youtu.be/SoFL2ybqWYg

not sure if it was already posted.
Post by: fishs on July 31, 2013, 07:29:17 AM
OutsideMan, you are speaking to me...Some people want to hang them in the square. The time when they had the chance to do that they failed. They can't hold the men and them accountable anymore..Get over it. The frigging state barely recognizes the event. Parliament hasn't commemorate the event in almost 3 years. Imagine we still don't have a wall of remembrance or something for the victims who died. The by-elections push this huge topic to the back burner, imagine that. Let them march, it just sum up everything about the society. A group of brazen "terrorists" have the ability to march through the capital. You are right though and I will always agree with you when you say that even 1 person has a right to have his/her voice heard. Some people just don't understand that and still beat their chest proudly and claim to be defenders of democracy.

What I find amusing about this whole thing also is that the same people who boast that they were partying and wining-up during de coup in all those curfew parties, while many countrymen lay dead, maimed, and dying, are the same SAME hypocrites today who're attempting to hide their contemptuous treasonous stripes behind a false flag of fake patriotism.

I cant believe the shyte that does come out of allyuh mouth and into cyber space.

Congo whenever yuh have time pass in front of the red house and yuh will see a flame burning, walk up to it and try out it with yuh head.

Outsideman you have the most wishywashy attitude to seriousness always trying to come across as if yuh know telling people they wrong then saying yuh understand what they saying. Yuh like a Palestinian in a Jewish whorehouse, yuh doh know if to blow them up or have them blow you.
Post by: Dutty on July 31, 2013, 01:40:12 PM

. Yuh like a Palestinian in a Jewish whorehouse, yuh doh know if to blow them up or have them blow you.

;D beetween this and de details of the sweetbread bet...you on a roll boy
Post by: OutsideMan on August 01, 2013, 07:37:56 AM
OutsideMan, you are speaking to me...Some people want to hang them in the square. The time when they had the chance to do that they failed. They can't hold the men and them accountable anymore..Get over it. The frigging state barely recognizes the event. Parliament hasn't commemorate the event in almost 3 years. Imagine we still don't have a wall of remembrance or something for the victims who died. The by-elections push this huge topic to the back burner, imagine that. Let them march, it just sum up everything about the society. A group of brazen "terrorists" have the ability to march through the capital. You are right though and I will always agree with you when you say that even 1 person has a right to have his/her voice heard. Some people just don't understand that and still beat their chest proudly and claim to be defenders of democracy.

I cant believe the shyte that does come out of allyuh mouth and into cyber space.

Congo whenever yuh have time pass in front of the red house and yuh will see a flame burning, walk up to it and try out it with yuh head.

Outsideman you have the most wishywashy attitude to seriousness always trying to come across as if yuh know telling people they wrong then saying yuh understand what they saying. Yuh like a Palestinian in a Jewish whorehouse, yuh doh know if to blow them up or have them blow you.

fishs --- with all that being said, I haven't seen you or anyone else down there take up cutlasses and guns, and storm Bakrs compound.  The fact remains is that people like you will talk their talk, but you not willing to back it up.  If you and everyone feels as strongly about the mis-deeds of Bakr and his people for what they got away with, then why haven't you organized and taken it upon yourselves to dispense 'justice'.

You saying tht you want the government and ONLY the government to fight your battles for someone or some entity who wronged you and the people?  BIG STEUPPES...and BIG STEUPPES again.

You're joke...you're just another armchair revolutionary...no REAL patriotism.  All talk zero action. 

Just telling it like it is. 
Post by: OutsideMan on August 01, 2013, 07:52:03 AM
fishs --- I'll add this also though....the ironic is you don't even realize that the funniest thing you said in your last comment is claiming how much people like you are so 'serious' about this issue.  You're serious???  Seriously?

If you're that 'serious' about that issue as you claim, why haven't you organized militias to storm Bakrs compound and 'take them out'?  The level of seriousness you claim to have for this since 1990, have you shed one (just at least ONE) drop of blood as yet to seek vengeance against de perpetrators?  Have you ever even punched one of the perpetrators in the nose?  Or just poke them on their shoulder?  ANYTHING???

Brotha', hypocrites like you hiding behind your fake-ass false-flags of patriotism are a f#$%ing joke.  Shame is, yuh doh even realize that.
Post by: Flex on March 17, 2014, 05:03:29 AM
Coup enquiry report: Past, present govts failed to fix damage
Monday, March 17, 2014
By Kalifa Clyne (Guardian).

Governments have done nothing to fix the significant damage wrought on Port-of-Spain’s business community as a result of the 1990 coup attempt. This was noted in the report of the Commission of Enquiry into the 1990 attempted coup. The document, available to the public on the T&T Parliament’s Web site, said the Port-of-Spain business community had suffered losses of approximately $450 million. The report said “business and commerce in Port-of-Spain were clearly negatively impacted by the insurrection.”

“Arson and looting caused losses estimated by us, on the evidence provided, at approximately $450,000,000.” The report blamed the negative change in the nature and culture of the capital city’s business on the destruction which occurred in the city at that time. “Whereas, prior to 1990, Port-of-Spain was a desirable centre of shopping for Caribbean persons, after 1990, all that changed.”

“As a consequence, large numbers of shoppers from neighbouring islands have sought other destinations, while the local population has resorted to the several shopping malls which grew up as one of the consequences of the events of in 1990.” The report described the initiatives of the NAR government to assist the business community as “well intentioned but so complex as not to have been attractive.”

“We received no evidence that successive governments ever followed up those initiatives or provided any other form of financial assistance to assist the suffering business community.” President of the Downtown Owners and Merchants Association (Doma), Gregory Aboud said past and present governments had failed to make even simple policy changes that would have assisted ion the growth of business in the capital city.

In an interview yesterday, Aboud said simple policy decisions regarding parking and security would have benefited the city. “In this case we can point a very strong finger at the Salvatori site which could easily have provided much needed relief to the city’s chronic shortage of parking,” said Aboud. He said this had to be analysed from the point of view that businesses had not asked for financial grants nor requested any kind of subventions or concessions other than the use of a vacant lot.

“Not only was this denied but it was denied at the same time that police began their merciless wrecking system.” Aboud said the 1990 coup attempt resulted in a loss of trust in the overall process of governance. He noted that in addition to the city being abandoned on the night of July 27, 1990, no one was held to account for the abject lawlessness of the looting which took place nor the actual event of the coup attempt itself.