Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on January 28, 2011, 06:01:16 AM

Title: Duane Muckette Thread
Post by: Flex on January 28, 2011, 06:01:16 AM
T&T U-17 skipper anticipates strong showing in CONCACAF qualifiers.
T&T Express Reports.

National Under-17 captain Duane Muckette says his team is ready to take on the rest of CONCACAF in two weeks' time when they attempt to qualify for the 2011 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Mexico.

Muckette, of 1st Santa Rosa FC, and his teammates are in training at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva, and will travel to face Barbados in a friendly on February 6.

Their first match in the CONCACAF Final Round is against hosts Jamaica on February 13 and Guatemala two days later in Montego Bay.

"It's a lot of hard work and dedication but we're ready for the tournament. I think everyday we are getting stronger," Muckette told Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) media officer Shaun Fuentes yesterday.

"We know Jamaica will play a physical game so we are working on being able to play them man to man and win our individual battles. And Guatemala brings a more Central American style which we are preparing for.

All the players know how serious this challenge next month is, but we are focusing on bringing our best performance on the day," he said.

Muckette added he was aware of the success of the Anton Corneal-coached team in qualifying for the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in South Korea. They got there by way of a 1-0 win over Jamaica through a goal by Kevin Molino.

"I can't remember the results but I know they did well and were able to qualify. Hopefully, we can match that by qualifying and go on to do even better.

I know it's not going to be an easy road but we're working hard everyday. We're talking everyday and the coaches have been working with us.

All I want is for all of us as players to give it our best shot and represent the country well and hopefully make it to another World Cup," Mukette concluded.

Head coach Shawn Cooper is expected to name his final squad next week after evaluating his players in training and a recent training camp in Colombia where the team participated in the "Tournament of the Americas".

Local fans will get a look at the U-17 players when they take on the T&T Under-20s in a warm-up on February 4 from 4 p.m. in the first game of a double-header which includes the TTFF FA Trophy Final at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya between DirecTV North East Stars and bmobile San Juan Jabloteh.

Jamaica have returned home from a training camp in Brazil where they played ten training matches, losing five, winning three and drawing two. And head coach Wendell Downswell seems to be pleased with their readiness.
Title: Re: Duane Mukette anticipates strong showing in qualifiers.
Post by: King Deese on January 28, 2011, 09:18:00 AM
T&T U-17 skipper anticipates strong showing in CONCACAF qualifiers.
T&T Express Reports.

National Under-17 captain Duane Mukette says his team is ready to take on the rest of CONCACAF in two weeks' time when they attempt to qualify for the 2011 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Mexico.

Less talking and more action because I've heard this before.

Mr. Say is nothing, Mr. Do is the man.
Title: Re: Duane Mukette anticipates strong showing in qualifiers.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 28, 2011, 10:35:15 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/a45ru399XQ4
Title: Duane Mukkette in TnT now
Post by: Big Magician on March 31, 2015, 07:10:07 PM
Duane Mukkette...so i noticed he played with NES in the FA Cup Final...anyone saw him play at the match ??

I really liked what i saw with the U 20 team...think he got some good ability

so..he left school in USA ??..he back home ??..

share your thoughts and info please ??
Title: Re: Duane Mukkette in TnT now
Post by: Banter Banton on March 31, 2015, 08:49:38 PM
Good player...looked promising in the U20 qualifiers for sure , hope to see him around the National senior team as we lack CM options.. Hyland Boucaud Leston Paul and 2-3 others are needed ( Muckette, Hackshaw, K.George, Dwayne James etc )
Title: Re: Duane Muckette anticipates strong showing in qualifiers.
Post by: Sam on April 01, 2015, 03:59:49 AM
Like this player.

Post by: Tallman on February 01, 2016, 05:51:49 AM
Midfielder Duane Muckette has joined Portuguese third division club, F.C. Barreirense.
Post by: Flex on February 04, 2016, 05:00:14 AM
Muckette ready for Portugal chapter.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Former T&T captain Duane Muckette became the latest player who has represented this country to join the professional ranks in Europe after signing with Portuguese third division club FC Barreirense earlier this week. Muckette is expected to be unveiled as a new member of the club today.

The former Queen’s Royal College midfielder is a past member of Santa Rosa FC and is the second player from the club to make headlines in the last few weeks following the participation of John Paul Rochford at a training stint with Manchester City FC through the Digicel Kickstart program.

Muckette said he was quite thrilled to be entering the European circuit. He joins a list of players to have played in Portugal including Russell Latapy, Leonson Lewis, Clint Marcelle, Wesley Webb, Akudo Goodridge, Sean Cooper, Aurtis Whitley and Cornell Glen among others

“I am happy to be here. I’m delighted to have signed with FC Barreirense and very excited to play and see where this move will take me. Playing professional football has always been my dream and I am grateful to be living it,” Muckette said on Tuesday. Muckette joined the club on trial in early January and will now try to break into the starting line up during their current mid-season period.

“Since I arrived for the trial in the first week of January it has been a great experience. I think I have been fitting in well in training and with the players. The only struggle is not being able to understand what they are saying but I am embracing it as part of the experience. We are in mid-season so I just want to show what I can do and really earn my place on the team by playing well.”

Muckette wants to get on the scoring chart immediately and has his eyes on a possible national senior team call up at some point.

Post by: Tallman on February 21, 2016, 09:20:52 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette opens his goalscoring account with FC Barreirense in stunning style with a shot from just inside his own half. Barreirense went on to earn a 2-0 win over SR Almancilense.

https://www.youtube.com/v/uN1YgJ58zJ0
Post by: royal on February 21, 2016, 09:25:18 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette opens his goalscoring account with FC Barreirense in stunning style with a shot from just inside his own half. Barreirense went on to earn a 2-0 win over SR Almancilense.

https://www.youtube.com/v/uN1YgJ58zJ0

just great !!!!
Post by: soccerman on February 21, 2016, 09:50:56 PM
Yes that was fantastic. Send it to ESPN, it's sports center worthy.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on February 22, 2016, 04:14:44 PM
For what it's worth UK Guardian writer Ben Lyttleton tweeted after the goal yesterday that Muckette is being scouted by bigger European clubs.
Post by: spideybuff on February 23, 2016, 12:10:22 PM
Nah man...that was a clearance man !!  :o :o  :o

So casual a man could just buss the net from beyond the half?
Post by: asylumseeker on February 23, 2016, 02:39:07 PM
Really enjoyed the acrobatic defensive header that ended up being the "assist"!    :D
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2016, 02:42:08 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette talks about the long-range goal he scored from inside his own half against SR Almancilense.

https://www.youtube.com/v/xpD-uBR208k
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on February 25, 2016, 08:58:32 AM
Love the honesty.  I am happy for this yute man
Post by: asylumseeker on April 25, 2016, 12:07:21 AM
Another 3rd division gem:

http://www.sbnation.com/lookit/2016/4/24/11498158/spanish-third-division-soccer-player-scores-ridiculous-bicycle-kick
Title: Duane Muckette compared to Renato Sanches
Post by: Tallman on May 11, 2016, 05:01:18 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette gives his thoughts on being referred to as the Renato Sanches of Barreiro (http://www.record.xl.pt/multimedia/videos/detalhe/duane-muckette-ate-os-arbitros-me-chamam-renato-sanches.html). If you don’t already know, Bayern Munich recently bought 18-year old Renato Sanches for £28m from Portugal’s Benfica. Sanches is described as one of Europe’s brightest teenaged talents.
Title: Re: Duane Muckette Thread
Post by: chelsealife on May 12, 2016, 06:26:07 AM
Good interview but drop the accent and learn Portuguese. SC Braga interested  :salute:
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on May 12, 2016, 09:19:19 AM
Really excited for this player. His passing ability in the U20 impressed me. Hopefully he gets his move during the summer.
Post by: Deeks on May 12, 2016, 12:54:33 PM
Good luck to the yute!
Post by: FF on February 18, 2017, 01:19:38 PM
Duane Muckette is currently trialling with the New York Red Bulls.

He should see some playing time in the preseason Diamond Cup in Arizona.

Stay tuned...

Link to live YouTube stream of today's game against Sporting KC at 5:30pm EST

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vf7qqnafww4

https://www.youtube.com/v/vf7qqnafww4
Post by: FF on February 18, 2017, 05:39:23 PM
Muckette on at the start of the second half.
Post by: FF on February 22, 2017, 01:31:20 PM
Duane Muckette #25 in training with NY Red Bulls II

(https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/fr/cp0/e15/q65/16819196_763525007149095_337720526622618170_o.jpg?oh=5e16c13c99f3d095a6984760e0e337da&oe=593B86B2)

(https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/fr/cp0/e15/q65/16826219_763524837149112_6815566807719618648_o.jpg?oh=5bdfa8980197562effd3eb80581374b4&oe=59313077)

Post by: FF on February 22, 2017, 01:33:37 PM
Catch Duane Muckette and Bradley Nestor in action at 4PM EST vs Houston Dynamo in the Preseason Desert Diamond Cup

Live stream on Youtube

https://youtube.com/v/DjmVrGTsmsQ
Post by: FF on February 22, 2017, 02:40:29 PM
Muckette is in the starting line up. Forumites please have a look and share your thoughts.
Post by: Tallman on February 22, 2017, 06:04:06 PM
Muckette is in the starting line up. Forumites please have a look and share your thoughts.

Didn't see the game, but I saw he got subbed in the 36th minute. Was it because of an injury?
Post by: FF on February 23, 2017, 07:42:02 AM
He did take a knock early. Didn't seem too bad.

But he didn't really distinguish himself. Thought he was much better in the first game.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 04, 2017, 07:26:31 AM
Duane Muckette at philadelphia union now
Post by: Tallman on March 04, 2017, 10:40:41 AM
Duane Muckette at philadelphia union now

You sure about dat? I see he's on trial at Bethlehem Steel FC. He played against Villanova University on Wednesday.

(https://cdn0.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/bnzlbGeDU9yUN8F1LBSNVIlWKxo=/1600x0/filters:no_upscale()/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_asset/file/8079237/IMG_5985.jpg)

(https://cdn0.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/Z6LuNYknp0NKnbKWgqlCNyZPm-c=/1600x0/filters:no_upscale()/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_asset/file/8079187/IMG_5984.jpg)
Post by: asylumseeker on March 04, 2017, 11:04:15 AM
Bethlehem Steel is the USL affiliate of the Union. If he arrived at the Union, he has been sent down to Bethlehem. Other than that, if he arrived at Bethlehem absent any input from the Union, then strictly speaking he is not at Philly.

That's the academic part. I think we know what's really occurring here.

Best of luck and success to him either way, cutting through this process is at times more subjective than objective. Keep yuh head up.
Post by: Tallman on August 01, 2018, 12:44:15 PM
WATCH: Midfielder Duane Muckette - 2018 Highlights

https://www.youtube.com/v/ejPDfCNgddM
Post by: Jefferz on August 03, 2018, 10:57:00 AM
He clearly has a high footballing IQ, and the physical means to match. I really hope that he goes far.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 03, 2018, 04:42:51 PM

He clearly has a high footballing IQ, and the physical means to match. I really hope that he goes far.

he is 23 aye time is running out
Post by: asylumseeker on October 17, 2018, 02:27:31 PM
Nah man...that was a clearance man !!  :o :o  :o

So casual a man could just buss the net from beyond the half?

Having read VB's article on Chinapoo, ah wondering what Chinapoo would have to say about Muckette's attributes.
Post by: asylumseeker on October 17, 2018, 02:29:21 PM

he is 23 aye time is running out

And as alluded to by Big Mag re: the one-off international in Thailand, present realities are NOT helping him either.
Title: Duane Muckette joins Memphis 901 FC
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2019, 12:17:38 PM
Duane Muckette joins Memphis 901 FC
memphis901fc.com

Memphis 901 FC has inked two additional players for its inaugural United Soccer League Championship season, Sporting Director Andrew Bell and head coach Tim Mulqueen announced Tuesday, with goalkeeper Scott Levene and midfielder Duane Muckette heading to The Bluff City pending league and federation approval.

The pair joins defender Louis Bennett, defender Wes Charpie, forward Heviel Cordovés, midfielder Raul Gonzalez, midfielder Ewan Grandison, defender Triston Hodge, midfielder Dan Metzger, defender Josh Morton, midfielder Leston Paul, defenderTodd Pratzner, and forward Luca Uccello on the team’s 2019 roster.

“I’m very happy to welcome Scott and Duane to Memphis as we continue to build towards the first game on March 9,” Bell said. “These are two young players with bright futures ahead of them, and I’m looking forward to seeing them develop under the guidance of Coach Mulqueen.”

“Scott and Duane are two very exciting young players that we are pleased to welcome to our squad,” Mulqueen said. “Scott is a goalkeeper who has worked extensively with myself and Tim Howard since his youth soccer days. We believe Scott possesses all the qualities of a top professional goalkeeper.

“Duane is an electric and dynamic young player. He has great energy, and his ability to stretch the defense will be very important for us. Duane possesses the work ethic that the City of Memphis will certainly recognize and appreciate.”

Levene played the 2018 season with New York Red Bulls II and appeared in four matches. He starred collegiately at the University of Connecticut, making 70-straight starts for the Huskies to end his career, including 31 clean sheets, dating back to 2014. Prior to college, the Stamford, Conn., native was a member of the U-14/15 United States National Teams.

Muckette spent 2018 with Trinidad & Tobago powerhouse Central F.C., where he was teammates with Grandison and Paul. He finished second on the team with seven goals in 18 matches, helping the club to second in the league. Muckette was college teammates with Charpie at the University of South Florida, and he was captain of the U-17 and U-20 Trinidad National Teams.

Additional signings will be announced in the coming weeks.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 08, 2019, 12:41:02 PM
No MLS teams looking at our national team players again eh :( USL championship , Usl one , central america, Vietnam and india are the popular destinations it seems...
Post by: soccerman on January 08, 2019, 02:19:31 PM
No MLS teams looking at our national team players again eh :( USL championship , Usl one , central america, Vietnam and india are the popular destinations it seems...
There's Greg Ranjitsingh but he isn't considered a NT player it seems....
Post by: Tallman on May 05, 2019, 06:42:49 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette scores his first goal for Memphis 901 FC in a 2-2 draw with Birmingham Legion FC.

https://www.youtube.com/v/J5hjmWhBLL8?start=105
Post by: Tallman on May 10, 2019, 08:30:10 PM
WATCH: Duane Muckette gets on the scoresheet again as he scores the opening goal in Memphis 901 FC's 2-1 win over Hartford Athletic.

https://www.youtube.com/v/yPAxNu8sam0?start=36
Title: Forward Duane Muckette named to USL Championship's Team of the Week
Post by: Tallman on May 14, 2019, 03:14:34 PM
Forward Duane Muckette named to USL Championship's Team of the Week
By Aldo Amato (memphis901fc.com)

Memphis 901 FC forward Duane Muckette has been named to the USL Championship’s Team of the Week for Week 10, the league announced Tuesday.

Muckette is coming off his second-straight match with a goal, helping 901 FC capture four-straight points in the process.

During Friday’s 2-1 win over Hartford Athletic, Muckette scored the opening goal, completed 33 of 38 passes and made four recoveries.

Muckette scored the week prior against Birmingham Legion FC and is now in a three-way tie with teammates Marc Burch and Elliot Collier for most goals this season.

This is the third time a 901 FC player has received league Team of the Week honors. Collier earned a spot in Week 2 while Wes Charpie earned a spot in Week 3.

Muckette and his teammates are back in action Wednesday in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup at AutoZone Park as the club takes on New York Red Bulls U-23.

Kickoff for that match is set for 7:00 p.m.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 27, 2019, 06:51:42 AM
Allyuh see that goal Rooney scored the other night from home (his half) and all the descriptive accolades regarding it?

Tallman, how many minutes Muckette sweat in the Gold Cup?
Post by: soccerman on June 27, 2019, 07:29:41 AM
Allyuh see that goal Rooney scored the other night from home (his half) and all the descriptive accolades regarding it?

Keeper outstretched and couldn't even get his fingertips on it. Golazo :notworthy:
Post by: Tallman on June 28, 2019, 01:33:23 PM

Zought
Post by: asylumseeker on July 02, 2019, 08:33:51 AM

Zought

Spectacularly unexpected. Even the player(s) who shouldn't have been on the plane got more minutes than de man.
Post by: Tallman on July 02, 2019, 12:15:03 PM

Zought

Spectacularly unexpected. Even the player(s) who shouldn't have been on the plane got more minutes than de man.

I thought he would have been a shoe-in to start one or more games, or at least get 30 mins or so a game. He's been getting rave reviews at Memphis 901 FC.
Post by: Tallman on January 18, 2021, 04:49:33 PM
WATCH: US-based midfielder Duane Muckette spoke to the press about current Senior Team preparations ahead of 2022 World Cup qualifiers

https://www.youtube.com/v/JYi2R_GO9po
Post by: Tallman on February 03, 2021, 03:16:48 PM
WATCH: Interview with Midfielder Duane Muckette as Trinidad and Tobago Men's Senior Team closes camp in Orlando

https://www.youtube.com/v/36fv3VuAAao
Post by: Deeks on February 03, 2021, 06:59:54 PM
Yes Yuteman,  the onus is on You to improve yourself. TTFA can't do that for You.
Post by: davyjenny1 on February 04, 2021, 02:44:57 AM
Excellent response lil dude. You remind me of a promising player who showed signs of greatness and turned out to be superb. Maintain and Keep up the good work.
Post by: Tallman on April 24, 2021, 04:13:18 PM
WATCH: Midfielder Duane Muckette talks about his recent experiences with the national team leading up to and including the opening two 2022 Concacaf World Cup Qualifiers against Guyana and Puerto Rico.

https://www.youtube.com/v/ukxV3YMdj2s
Post by: Tallman on June 16, 2021, 10:22:50 PM
WATCH: Midfielder Duane Muckette recaps our last two World Cup qualifiers and looks ahead to the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup campaign under new interim head coach Angus Eve.

https://www.youtube.com/v/2Tl2kFp9Gco
Post by: royal on July 03, 2021, 08:29:52 AM
Very impressed with him, should be in Europe playing somewhere....... Belgium, Austria  somewhere.   
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2021, 08:44:38 AM
Very impressed with him, should be in Europe playing somewhere....... Belgium, Austria  somewhere.   

he started in portugal ...  i think he will sign with a usl club
Post by: injunchile on July 03, 2021, 08:48:26 AM
I saw Him In the Last game- Reminds me OF THE LITTLE MAGICIAN. busy in midfield and willing to go to goal in the final third. Yesterday Hackshaw and The Captain looked good in midfield so he may have to come off the bench, if Angus is playing two in midfield.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2021, 09:07:43 AM

Let's be clear. Yuh know how far down the ladder that club was? Not particularly definitive.
Post by: Thomo on July 03, 2021, 09:37:45 AM
What I've noticed is that most of his passes are forward.
Hopefully he's picked up by a team and presses on with his career!
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 03, 2021, 11:21:58 AM

Let's be clear. Yuh know how far down the ladder that club was? Not particularly definitive.

but he  was 19 20 at the time could have worked his way up the ladder
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2021, 11:34:24 AM

but he  was 19 20 at the time could have worked his way up the ladder

Any insights on why he didn't?

Maybe if he stayed he would be in 3rd division by now? :)
Post by: Tallman on September 29, 2023, 05:57:23 AM
Warrior Profile: Duane Muckette – Aiming to put Trinidad and Tobago football back on top
By Sherdon Pierre (T&T Newsday)

Duane Muckette has a renewed ambition towards the national team as he recently featured for the Trinidad and Tobago men's football team under head coach Angus Eve for the Concacaf National League A matches against Curacao and El Salvador, which they won.

Muckette was one of the promising young midfielders coming through the national youth football ranks over the last decade. Unfortunately, he hasn’t featured as much as he would have expected for the senior team, especially in the last few years, but his faith has been revived since Eve selected him a few weeks ago.

In the two matches in September, Muckette had commendable performances and should be in action for the Soca Warriors in Nations League action again next month as T&T face Guatemala and Curaçao in the next international window. Having won their first two matches, they are currently top of Group A.

The silky-smooth maestro made his senior-team debut almost five years ago on November 17, 2018.
He recalled, “I had anticipated that for a very long time and I was really happy it happened. It was against Iran, in Iran. The stadium was filled with about 30,000 fans and I could remember how incredibly nervous I was. But I loved every moment of it.”

He also recollected scoring his first international goal against St Kitts and Nevis at the Estadio Olimpico Felix Sanchez, Dominican Republic, in 2022.

The 28-year-old is hoping to cement his position in the centre midfield and has already set his sights on personal achievements.

“I would like to do more on the field to help put the country’s football back where it needs to be. And I would like to qualify for the next World Cup.

"My best qualities are my ability to read the game, my vision combined with my range of passing and my savviness to keep the ball in difficult situations. I bring good leadership, a good teammate on and off the field. I always try to have the right attitude and mentality that my teammates can feed off,” said a confident Muckette.

Muckette is the captain of the local club Athletic Club Port of Spain, who were runners-up in the inaugural T&T Premier Football League earlier this year. They are participating in the Concacaf Caribbean Cup tournament, but will not be advancing to the knockout rounds after going winless in their first three matches.

Muckette played with Barreirense (Portugal) and Memphis 901 in the USL Championship (USA) and enjoyed every moment of his overseas stints, but his focus is solely on AC POS now and hopefully earning another contract abroad in the future.

The La Horquetta resident had to overcome several challenges in sport, and a knee injury was one of them.

“I had a grade two MCL tear while I was at the University of South Florida. It sidelined me for almost three months. Fortunately, I didn’t need any surgery and I just needed to be disciplined and focus on my treatment and rehabilitation to get back right. My knee has been fine since.
"Injuries like that are not easy to deal with, but it comes with the sport.”

Muckette is indebted to the FC Santa Rosa club of Arima, where he developed his footballing skills from the age of five.

“I played at the club for all my youth football days. The coaching school football on Saturday mornings were some of the best football days of my life.”

He attended Queen`s Royal College and in form two he was selected for the school’s Intercol team, where he scored a lot of goals and stamped his name in the footballing world.

Muckette`s vision is further than his long-range passes, it goes far beyond the football field, and his image is for a better society. He believes  footballers should be role models for the youths of the nation.

“Sport is one of the main ways to combat crime. Crime won’t be fixed overnight, but I believe it`s about creating role models for the youths that are from areas affected by crime and are faced with difficult circumstances from birth. We need realistic and positive role models.

“The youths should be able to see someone from down the street and be glorified in a positive light and dream to be like that person. We need the youths to be saying, 'I want to be like Nathaniel James or Jesse Williams when I grow up.' I lived this and I knew what I wanted to be, so I knew what I had to refrain from.”