Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on February 06, 2011, 07:22:57 PM

Title: Sheldon Bateau Thread
Post by: Tallman on February 06, 2011, 07:22:57 PM
Football’s Future: Sheldon Bateau.
TTFF Kickoff Newsletter.

Not many players can boast of having appeared in two FIFA World Cups then follow that up with the opportunity of a lifetime to lead their country to another Under 20 World Cup.

Sheldon Bateau, the captain of the National Under 20 Men’s team is a player on a mission, a unique on at that – To captain a T&T team at a FIFA Under 20 World Cup and to play in a senior FIFA World Cup.

Too ambitious? Not really! At age 16 Sheldon was a member of the T&T team that participated at the 2007 FIFA Under 17 World Cup in South Korea.

He appeared in T&T’s closing group encounter against Germany and two years later he was also instrumental in helping the T&T Under 20 team book its place for the 2009 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Egypt, also appearing during the Group matches for the Zoran Vranes-coached team.

This time around, he’s reunited with Vranes, who has given him the responsibility of the captaincy as the junior “Soca Warriors” go in search of a second successive appearance at the Under 20 World Cup in Colombia.

“It’s been an overwhelming feeling for me over the past few months being chosen as Under 20 captain and it’s a responsibility that I carry with great pride.” Bateau said after a rigorous work out with his teammates recently.

He’s set to travel to Kansas in late January to try out with American Major League Soccer club Sporting Kansas. That’s a far cry from where Sheldon came from but his journey is very similar to the upbringing of so many great talents that have graced the footballing world.

“I started playing football at the age of 5. My coaching school was ‘sweating’ in the St. Ann’s Hospital or “the mad house” with the older fellas in the area.

At that time I was playing for Super star Rangers, then I transferred to San Juan Jabloteh at the age of 14. I played for the youth team for two and a half years and then moved to the professional team,” he explained.

Sheldon also played for Rosary Boys RC where he was captain of the school team and also led the Belmont Secondary School at the Under 13 level before agreeing to a transfer to the more prestigious Fatima College.

He actually made his debut for the Senior Intercol team while in Form 2 and then enjoyed success the following year (2005) as Fatima went on to capture the North Zone and National Intercol titles.

He captained Fatima College between 2006 and 2008 and was selected as one of the top three players in the Second Schools League in his final season.

Sheldon is not the usual player in training. Most family members of players observe the training from the sidelines and they much prefer to sit in the stands during an actual game.

This lad though, trains at every National Team session under the watchful eyes of his father Gilbert Bateau. Gilbert is the National U-20 team trainer and also held the same position for the teams that participated at the Under 17 and Under 20 World Cups in 2007 and 2009.

“Well it’s a huge confidence booster knowing that my father is always there with the team but at the same time we both keep it professional in terms of him treating me like any other player and I treating him as the trainer and not my father.

But he is the main inspiration in my life on and off the pitch and with his experience from being around football for so many years, he always keeps me on the road to improvement,” the junior Bateau boasted.

His father’s constant drilling has kept him ahead of things especially when it comes to proper physical fitness. “On a daily basis I run around the Queen’s Park Savannah at 5 in the morning, followed by running the Lady Chancellor Hill and all that is done on my days away from club or national duties.

At times I have club training at 7 in the morning and then national training in the evening which can be quite tough at times but that is what it would take to play at the top level,” Sheldon said easily.

He went on to recall his days playing in the “mad house” up to the point of his greatest moment in the game to date.

“I remember playing football at the Mad House and I ran up and down the field without touching the ball because I was the smallest player on the field.

I remember the first time I played for T&T, it was a CFU game at the National Stadium and there were a lot of people there and I was really nervous and 5 minutes into the game I felt like 80 minutes had gone already because I was so excited and nervous at the same time. I also would never forget the day we qualified for the Under 20 World Cup.

It was an amazing feeling and it was also the highpoint of my career thus far. However the most memorable moment in my young career was the under 17 qualifying game in Jamaica with the lone goal coming from Kevin Molino to make us qualify for our first Youth World and that has been my hardest game ever to date.”

Sheldon sees himself as part of history in the making. He wants to someday play for Manchester United. With all that rich history on his side already, there must be a recipe worth the while and he hopes that other upcoming youngsters can follow his words.

“For the up and coming players…just set your goals and work hard towards them, because nothing good comes easily in this day and age. It’s easy to get caught up in the wrong crowd but to be somebody you have to make sacrifices and not because you live in the ‘GHETTO’ means you can’t achieve something in life because I have lived in the ‘GHETTO’ all my life and so have most of my teammates and we don’t let that affect us negatively.

Instead we use it as a way of working hard every day to one day help those that are not as gifted or as talented,” Sheldon said. He will lead the T&T team in qualifying action in April when they come up against the best in Concacaf for one of four places at the World Cup in Colombia which runs from July20-August 20, 2011. Good luck to Sheldon and the Boys!

Title: Re: Football’s Future: Sheldon Bateau
Post by: just cool on February 06, 2011, 09:36:25 PM
St anns is the ghetto now? ppl real ghettoising trinidad now? when i was there the only ghetto's where in sealots, the betham and behind the bridge, now st anns which i know as ah nice community become ah ghetto. they instilling ah real down beat depressive culture amongst the young ppl in T&T yes.

god help us.

BTW tallman, what position does he play? i would say right full back, but then again i could be wrong.
Post by: injunchile on February 06, 2011, 10:44:31 PM
It depends - Where in St Anns you Live?
Post by: Midknight on February 06, 2011, 10:48:41 PM
St anns is the ghetto now? ppl real ghettoising trinidad now? when i was there the only ghetto's where in sealots, the betham and behind the bridge, now st anns which i know as ah nice community become ah ghetto. they instilling ah real down beat depressive culture amongst the young ppl in T&T yes.

god help us.

long time I ent agree with something you say but this one deserve a :beermug:

ps. mih barber is a Bateau from up St. Anns too. I have to ask him if they related...
Post by: Bianconeri on February 07, 2011, 11:05:02 AM
Big up a former Fatima player!
best of luck!

who TT playing int heir group?
Title: Bateau on trial in Holland
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2012, 06:19:03 AM
Bateau on trial in Holland
ttproleague.com

Former San Juan Jabloteh defender Sheldon Bateau is currently in Amsterdam, Holland with trials set at three clubs during a two week period.

This was revealed by North East Stars head coach Angus Eve, who signed the 21 year old central defender ahead of the 2012-2013 TT Pro League season.

“We have Sheldon Bateau on a series of trials. Three teams in Holland to be exact,” said Eve. “And whichever one of the teams wants to take him, we would allow him the move because we are trying to develop players to move on.”

Bateau, who played for T&T various youth levels including the recent U23s, and at previous FIFA U17 and U20 World Cups, left Trinidad last Friday. Eve preferred not to name the clubs, but confirmed that they were all Amsterdam clubs. Eve is very familiar with Bateau having worked with the defender both at club and national levels.

Eve said that he is very hopeful Bateau would earn himself a contract.

(http://ttproleague.com/images/stories/domestic-2012/sheldon%20bateau.jpg)
Title: Re: Bateau on trial in Holland
Post by: Football supporter on August 17, 2012, 06:43:24 AM
Good luck to the youth. Its good to see clubs supporting players to achieve bigger and better!  :beermug:
Post by: Sam on August 17, 2012, 09:22:21 AM
Respect to Angus Eve for this.

Love Bateau attitude but he needs development.

Good luck youth.

Post by: ZANDOLIE on August 17, 2012, 10:43:35 AM
As far as I know the only full professional footbal team in Amsterdam is Ajax. No Eerste teams hail from Amsterdam. That leaves team playing in the Hoofdclasse, the so-called Sunday leagues, which is amateur/semi-pro. Either way good luck to Bateau. He more than deserves a chance to showcase his skill and leadership ability.

Edit: They have a new 3rd tier system in Holland and are actively recruiting for players. That is probably where he will sign
Post by: dreamer on August 17, 2012, 12:19:21 PM
Nice going Sheldon. Player with a lot to offer. A little fine tuning and he good to go as a fixture for T&T.
Post by: weary1969 on August 17, 2012, 05:52:05 PM
Nice going Sheldon. Player with a lot to offer. A little fine tuning and he good to go as a fixture for T&T.

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 21, 2012, 07:22:54 AM
Ive only seen Bateau three times (U20s, Pan American, U23) but ive never really been impressed with him. But he was playing in the midfield during two of those tournaments and as a right back in the U23s. So maybe he was just playing out of position, or maybe i just dont have an eye for scouting talent. Anyway there are multiple reports that he was be trialing with FC Twente this week.

FC Twente this week Sheldon Bateau trial. The 21-year-old central defender from Trinidad and Tobago Tuesday trained along with the initial selection of coach Steve McClaren. Bateau played the past three seasons for San Juan Jabloteh in his homeland.

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.twentefans.nl/nieuws/7735/sheldon-bateau-op-proef-bij-fc-twente.html&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsheldon%2Bbateau%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26tbs%3Dqdr:d%26prmd%3Dimvns&sa=X&ei=6ogzUPagN-fH0QHU6IDADQ&ved=0CDkQ7gEwAA

Caribbean Practice Player Twente
At FC Twente runs this week Sheldon Bateau internship. The youth international of Trinidad and Tobago is at home under contract with San Juan Jabloteh. Bateau (21) is a central defender and youth international for his country.

http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=nl&u=http://www.ad.nl/ad/nl/4562/Voetbal/article/detail/3304087/2012/08/21/TT-15-clubs-informeren-naar-Guidetti-ook-Marseille-wil-Theo-Janssen.dhtml&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dsheldon%2Bbateau%26hl%3Den%26lr%3D%26tbs%3Dqdr:d%26prmd%3Dimvns&sa=X&ei=6ogzUPagN-fH0QHU6IDADQ&ved=0CFUQ7gEwBQ
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 22, 2012, 01:55:04 PM
http://www.goal.com/nl/news/213/eredivisie/2012/08/22/3322857/boyata-en-bateau-opties-voor-opvolging-douglas?source=breakingnews

'Boyata and Bateau options for follow Douglas'
If the Brazilian Douglas FC Twente Fulham trades is Dedryck Boyata from Manchester City possible successor. Sheldon Bateau also is mentioned

Boyata is a 21-year-old Belgian central defender who is under contract at Manchester City on loan last season and played for Bolton Wanderers. He may go to the Citizens and is the intended successor of Douglas at FC Twente. For the long term, Sheldon Bateau, youth international of Trinidad & Tobago, called. Twente player already on the floor, because he is on trial in Enschede. The 1.91 meters long central defender impressed with his impressive physical and falls, like Douglas five years ago, described as a rough diamond with possibilities
Post by: Cocorite on August 22, 2012, 03:13:00 PM
 :praying: for the best a miracle for the youth and we fitball
Post by: StarKid on August 23, 2012, 02:23:59 PM
hope he get tru
Title: Dutch club sign ex-Jabloteh defender Bateau
Post by: Flex on August 31, 2012, 06:27:57 AM
Dutch club sign ex-Jabloteh defender Bateau.
T&T Express Reports.

FORMER San Juan Jabloteh right back and Trinidad and Tobago Under- 23 captain Sheldon Bateau has been signed by Dutch Eredivisie club Noad Advendo Combinatie (NAC) Breda on a two-year contract.

This was confirmed by North East Stars head coach Angus Eve, who snapped up the former Jabloteh player during the T&T Pro League 2012-2013 pre-season.

Bateau left Trinidad two weeks ago for a series of trials in Holland set up through his agent and North East Stars.

"The report is that he (Bateau) has a lot of technical strengths and his tactical ability is good. They (NAC Breda) think he can go into the first team now.

The Dutch league is very technical and tactical and we take pride at North East Stars in part of the preparation of the player to go into a league as Holland's. The Eredivisie is the top Dutch league and boast such names as AFC Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord." said Eve.

The 21-year-old Bateau has played for T&T at various youth levels, including the recent Under-23 matches, and at previous FIFA Under-17 and Under-20 World Cups.

Post by: Trini _2026 on August 31, 2012, 06:35:54 AM
Dutch club sign ex-Jabloteh defender Bateau.
T&T Express Reports.

FORMER San Juan Jabloteh right back and Trinidad and Tobago Under- 23 captain Sheldon Bateau has been signed by Dutch Eredivisie club Noad Advendo Combinatie (NAC) Breda on a two-year contract.

This was confirmed by North East Stars head coach Angus Eve, who snapped up the former Jabloteh player during the T&T Pro League 2012-2013 pre-season.

Bateau left Trinidad two weeks ago for a series of trials in Holland set up through his agent and North East Stars.

"The report is that he (Bateau) has a lot of technical strengths and his tactical ability is good. They (NAC Breda) think he can go into the first team now.

The Dutch league is very technical and tactical and we take pride at North East Stars in part of the preparation of the player to go into a league as Holland's. The Eredivisie is the top Dutch league and boast such names as AFC Ajax, PSV Eindhoven and Feyenoord." said Eve.

The 21-year-old Bateau has played for T&T at various youth levels, including the recent Under-23 matches, and at previous FIFA Under-17 and Under-20 World Cups.

great news ...... so since bateau is 21 jabloteh gets compensation .... i assume
Post by: FF on August 31, 2012, 07:31:03 AM
Great news... good luck youth
Post by: FireBrand on August 31, 2012, 07:32:01 AM
Excellent news!!! Congrats Sheldon...keep working hard and make the best of this opportunity!
Post by: Cocorite on August 31, 2012, 07:53:15 AM
Congrats Sheldon. Make the most of it. Opportunity only comes around so often.
Post by: Peong on August 31, 2012, 09:36:30 AM
Fantastic news.  Now I have to find NAC games online.
Post by: Bally on August 31, 2012, 11:20:24 AM
I like this all our good young players need to move now 
Post by: mukumsplau on August 31, 2012, 01:11:12 PM
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: FF on August 31, 2012, 01:16:06 PM

oye mukumsplau....

Bendtner?
Post by: mukumsplau on August 31, 2012, 01:34:33 PM

oye mukumsplau....

Bendtner?

ah tryin not to take it on

ill leave that up to conte to light a fire under his ass

other than that, i jus not tryin to take it on...
Title: Bateau waits on new Dutch deal
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2012, 02:47:25 PM
Bateau waits on new Dutch deal.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Former National Under 20 captain Sheldon Bateau has inched himself closer to signing a professional contract in Holland but to date remains a player with Local T&T Pro League club North East Stars.

There appears to have been a miscommunication between the parties involved as North East announced that the defender signed a two-year deal with Dutch Eredivisie club Noad Advendo Combinatie Breda.

The 21-year-old Beateau has been in Amsterdam on trials for the past few days and sought to clear the air on his current status.

“I’m in Amsterdam at the moment and I wasn’t allowed to say anything until I signed a contract. I still have not signed a contract with any club,” Bateau told TTFF Media on Friday morning.

“Things have gone well so far and there are a couple teams interested  but I am still a North East player. My agent in Holland and my manager in Trinidad have ensured that things have been properly arranged here for me.

I trained with a small team in Wormerveer just outside of  Amsterdam and then I had a personal trainer getting me into shape before I went into the actual trials. Three clubs expressed interest including Vitesse and Alkmaar Zaanstreek,” Bateau continued.

“I’m hoping for the best but I may have to be released by North East in order to be signed outside of the transfer window which closes at the end of August,” the former T&T Olympic team captain said.

Bateau’s local handler Dion Sosa confirmed that the player was yet to sign a contract in Holland, saying “Sheldon is still being looked at and we haven’t confirmed a deal as yet.

I understand North East’s eagerness to announce that he has signed a contract with a club in Holland but there is nothing to confirm at this point. But a couple of the clubs are interested and we are waiting on the outcome of the negotiations.”

Already, three Dutch  media publications have been in touch with TTFF Media over Bateau’s status and hopefully there will be good news for North East and Bateau regarding a sure move to Holland for the player in the not too distant future.

Post by: Sam on August 31, 2012, 05:03:16 PM
Them writer in de express stupid sah...

Wow.... them writing false shit..

How they get that wok boy, like they uncle recomend them.

Post by: Dynamite Warrior on August 31, 2012, 05:06:55 PM
Update at 6:30pm: North East Stars head coach Angus Eve said on Friday evening that as far as he is concerned, Sheldon Bateau completed a new move and that the player is no longer attached to North East Stars. Bateau's local handler Dion Sosa later confirmed that the player has been bought out from North East but the purchase was not made directly by Noad Advendo. According to Sosa,Bateau is now a free agent and will be allowed to sign any possible contract beyond the transfer deadline.

http://www.facebook.com/TnTSocaWarriors
Post by: Flex on August 31, 2012, 05:17:52 PM
Update at 6:30pm: North East Stars head coach Angus Eve said on Friday evening that as far as he is concerned, Sheldon Bateau completed a new move and that the player is no longer attached to North East Stars. Bateau's local handler Dion Sosa later confirmed that the player has been bought out from North East but the purchase was not made directly by Noad Advendo. According to Sosa,Bateau is now a free agent and will be allowed to sign any possible contract beyond the transfer deadline.

Good and bad...

Its nice that the player could sign outside the transfer window, but it's really sad that NE Stars or who ever the player was connected to cannot get a transfer fee for the player, even a small one....

This is really bad planning. Again, Sosa is in the mix, I know he mess up Peltier once ?

Why didn't they send players out on certain times where they do not need to depend on closed transfer windows to sign.

Follow the rules and procedures man...

Oh well.... them lost....

What do I know....

Still glad for the youth, this was a very impressive thing Angus Eve/North East Stars did for the youth...

Post by: vb on August 31, 2012, 05:37:04 PM

Good and bad...

Its nice that the player could sign outside the transfer window, but it's really sad that NE Stars or who ever the player was connected to cannot get a transfer fee for the player, even a small one....

This is really bad planning. Again, Sosa is in the mix, I know he mess up Peltier once ?

Why didn't they send players out on certain times where they do not need to depend on closed transfer windows to sign.

Follow the rules and procedures man...

Oh well.... them lost....

What do I know....

Still glad for the youth, this was a very impressive thing Angus Eve/North East Stars did for the youth...

But Flex, if he got "bought out," some money was passed.

Post by: Flex on August 31, 2012, 07:26:22 PM
Dont want to get into the details, but both Jayson Joseph and Sheldon Bateau was not signed by any club.

All I can say is Angus Eve is trying hard to impress (NE Stars) and he is making it difficult for the players.

They are both close- but nothing official...

Stay Tuned.

Post by: weary1969 on August 31, 2012, 10:39:19 PM
Dont want to get into the details, but both Jayson Joseph and Sheldon Bateau was not signed by any club.

All I can say is Angus Eve is trying hard to impress (NE Stars) and he is making it difficult for the players.

They are both close- but nothing official...

Stay Tuned.

Like I have 2 ask2 c a copy of d sign contract b4 I get excited.

Post by: andre samuel on September 01, 2012, 01:32:12 PM
So wait nah..........first we had to deal with "wrong info" concerning friendly matches for our senior squad, and now the "wrong info" disease spread to players and their transfers?

steups

Just when i thought it couldnt get any worse.
Post by: Sando on September 01, 2012, 01:51:30 PM
Angus Eve is a real fool in true.

Post by: fari on September 01, 2012, 02:41:47 PM
So what's the status of th youth?
Post by: Jack Horner on September 02, 2012, 06:31:38 AM
Flex man, the player was bought out for 9,000 or 10,000 US dollars (something so). Now the player is a free agent.

I spoke to Eve on Friday, and really, Angus Eve is really big headed, I refuse to comment further. He is trying to do what Sancho and others couldn't at North East Stars, a PNM club that is run just like their party.

He wants to come off like the hero here, but he had no choice in the matter.
Post by: Fyzoman on September 03, 2012, 04:57:42 PM
Since I see Eve coundn't 'coach' this same Bateau not to constantly boom-kick the ball away in dat U-23 tournament, I know he-Eve-is ah damn clown!!!

So I really hope Bateau really  get a Dutch contract for somebody with a clue to teach him some fundamentals for his and we own good.

The clownishness just never ends.
Post by: StarKid on September 05, 2012, 12:46:14 PM
@ Fyzoman. come on bateau was only listen to advice of Angus, to kick the ball long. As a player team first and u must listen to coach and play to coaches style of play. even if the public hates the style. the game has change coaches looking for results and will do what ever it takes even if its  a counter attacking style, which was working for them untill latter stages. So dont be vex it bateau ok.
hopes he gets the contract cause thats more important than the small talk!
Title: Sheldon Bateau: T&T in Mechelen
Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2013, 04:30:12 PM
Sheldon Bateau: T&T in Mechelen
By Sven Saerens and Bart Perdieus (supo.be)

Sheldon Bateau travelled from Trinidad & Tobago to Belgium, only to play football. He hopes to build a future here.

21 years old and leaving everything behind in Trinidad and Tobago to achieve your goal, becoming a successful professional football player. That is what Sheldon Bateau, defender of YR KV Mechelen, did. ‘Choosing for KV Mechelen was destiny’, says the youngster.

Ever since he was a young boy, Bateau dreamt of being a professional football player. In the summer of 2012 he enjoyed far-reaching interest of the Dutch high-flying teams Ajax Amsterdam, Vitesse, Roda JC and FC Twente. Bateau decided to sign a contract with the mid-table tradition football club YR KV Mechelen because he wanted to play instead of aborting on the bench. With many defenders in the injury basket, coach Harm Van Veldhoven and his club decided to give central defender Bateau a chance with a one-year contract. So far the young lad appeared in no less than twelve games. ‘I am very happy with the playing opportunities I get’, states Bateau. ‘When you are a young player, you usually sit on the bench. With the injuries we encountered, I have kept on training so the coach had no choice but to put me on the game sheet.’

To come to Europe was not self-evident. ‘I had nothing’, says Bateau. ‘My Dutch agent brought me to Europe and I had no club. I worked at my own at a small park and I conserved my fitness level at a local amateur club in Holland.’

Read More... (http://socawarriors.net/foreign-based/foreign-based-news/foreign-based-news/12099-sheldon-bateau-tat-in-mechelen.html)
Title: Re: Sheldon Bateau: T&T in Mechelen
Post by: SHOTTA on January 07, 2013, 09:49:56 PM
who is his brother?
Post by: Tallman on January 07, 2013, 10:12:18 PM
who is his brother?

I think it's Sean Bateau.
Post by: Tallman on October 05, 2014, 09:14:13 AM
WATCH Sheldon Bateau rescue a point for KV Mechelen by scoring a diving header in the 90th minute against Royal Mouscron-Péruwelz.

https://www.youtube.com/v/PAVRbBExDXc?start=81
Post by: Tiresais on October 09, 2014, 10:56:17 AM
who is his brother?

I think it's Sean Bateau.

Yup. Last I heard he was playing in Asia - Stallions? Or did he leave there recently?
Title: Bateau sees tough challenge from Panama on Friday.
Post by: Flex on March 23, 2015, 03:12:26 PM
Bateau sees tough challenge from Panama on Friday.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau is expecting Friday’s International Friendly with Panama to be a gripping contest when both teams take the Ato Boldon Stadium pitch from 7pm.

Bateau who plays in the Belgium Premier Division with KV Mechelen is one of three European-based pros selected by head coach Stephen Hart for the contest with Racing Genk midfielder Khaleem Hyland and former England youth international and Millwall defender Justin Hoyte being the other two.

Bateau who lined up with San Juan Jabloteh in the T&T Pro League before moving to Mechelen in 2012, is applauding the move by Hart to include several of the T&T home-based pros in the team for Friday’s match.

“It’s a bold step but I think it’s the right thing at this stage as it will give him (Hart) a good idea of how these players are shaping up because we need a big pool to take us through to the World Cup qualifiers,” Bateau told TTFA Media.

“There is some experience in the squad but it’s also important that a lot of the players  who are a bit younger get that opportunity early to taste international football. We don’t have the luxury of playing a lot of international games so the coach has to take the chance to see these guys in an international game before he can know for sure who can really make it at that level of the Gold Cup and playing against the likes of a Mexico, USA or Costa Rica at the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers,”  the 24-year-old defender added.

Bateau has played ten matches for T&T at the senior level since making his debut against a star-studded Peru team at the Ato Boldon Stadium in February 2013. The likes of Bayern Munich striker Claudio Pizarro was in the Peru team that night and Bateau remembers it quite clearly.

“I remember it quite well. I had now settled in Belgium and here it was I was coming into the team to play Peru and joining the national team with players like Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards and other senior players. Your senior debut is always a special experience and a very important game in your career. So for these young players coming into the team now it’s important that we help them along and create a good situation for them. They must also realize very early that this is a different level and they have to raise everything about themselves,” he added.

Bateau expects the game to be a difficult one for T&T.

“It’s going to be difficult but it’s the kind of game we want to play. Panama are a good team and this will show us where we are at now and the coach will know exactly what needs to be done between now and the Gold Cup in July and the World Cup qualifiers later this year,” he said.

Hart has included  ten uncapped home-based professionals in his final selection. Among them are National Under 20 captain Shannon Gomez and his teammates from the recent Under 20 team Neveal Hackshaw and Aikim Andrews.

Also earning their first call ups to the Senior Men’s Team are former Under 20 team defender Uriah Bentick of Central FC and W Connection’s Jomal Williams as well as Johan Peltier of San Juan Jabloteh.
 The other newcomers include Central FC’s Akeem Benjamin and Jamal Jack and  San Juan Jabloteh’s Tyone Charles and North East Stars’ Dwane James.

The two goalkeepers are regulars Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillip. Central FC forward Willis Plaza has earned a recall while his club teammate Ataullah Guerra has also been included.

Tickets for the T&T versus Panama encounter cost $100 and are available at Fan Club Movietowne (POS, Trincity Mall, Gulf City Mall), All Out Restaurant (QP Oval), Heritage Sports Tobago, Ramsingh's Sportsworld, Couva, Econo Supermart and Kenny's Sports Shops. Gates at the venue open at 4pm on Friday.

Title: Re: Bateau sees tough challenge from Panama on Friday.
Post by: Flex on April 02, 2015, 01:53:31 AM
Bateau tells players to keep raising levels.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Belgium-based defender Sheldon Bateau received plaudits from national senior football coach Stephen Hart for his work rate and efforts in this country’s 1-0 defeat to Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva on Friday.

Bateau spearheaded the T&T defence which was received a stern test from a strong Panamanian attacking force.

“He was quite good tonight (Friday). I was pleased with his work rate and the effort he put in all game,” Hart said.

Bateau is playing in the top flight of Belgium football with KV Mechelen and later encouraged his local-based teammates to put in more work if they want to maintain their stay at the senior international level.

“You’ve got to do more than you usually do on and off the field,” he said.

“When I got on to the national team, my life changed and when I got into Europe, it changed again. It’s a totally different level you have to do things differently if you want to stay here and keep improving.

Train more, listen more and focus on becoming better in each session and every game. You will have rough patches but that’s all part of it.

Now that some of the new players have gotten their chance with the national team, it’s time to raise their levels and keep on striving.”

Post by: Flex on July 16, 2015, 02:26:43 AM
Bateau honoured to be mentioned among former T&T stars.

When Sheldon Bateau scored the opening goal in the recent 2-0 victory over Cuba in Phoenix, he became the third player to score in successive matches for this country at the Concacaf Gold Cup. Not since Arnold Dwarika scored in a 4-2 victory over Guatemala and then in a 2-1 win over Costa Rica at the 2000 tournament, had any T&T player achieved that mark.

Prior to that, Jerren Nixon did it in 1998 while Dwarika also netted a double in a 3-2 loss to United States while Russell Latapy almost turned a game around on his own with a second half double in a 3-2 loss to El Salvador in the 1996 edition.

"To be mentioned with names like those guys is a true honour. They were great players in the past for us on this stage and now I'm happy to be able to play my part. I didn't go into the games looking to score goals but only to do my best for the team. Thankfully it meant scoring two important goals and getting the team off to the best start possible for us," said the 24-year-old KV Mechelen player.

"I know I asked for the people to have patience with this team heading into the tournament. The journey isn't over and we haven't achieved anything major as yet. We still have to get to the semi finals and go on from there plus we have the World Cup qualifiers coming up in November. We are showing that we can perform well and get results in tough situations.

"Hopefully now we can get consistent support and we can continue growing as a football team and a football country."

Post by: injunchile on July 16, 2015, 06:22:36 AM
Gilbert Bateau- FATHER OF THE YEAR. Thank you Dad for instilling much needed discipline in your Son. I like the running around the Savannah and the Hill run as a means to being fully conditioned outside of the regular drill.  Good role model for the upcoming youths.
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2015, 05:47:09 AM
Bateau deemed unprofessional for requesting extra time off after Gold Cup. He could be on his way out of KV Mechelen if an acceptable offer is made.
http://www.nieuwsblad.be/cnt/dmf20150727_01794252
Post by: Sando on July 28, 2015, 05:56:30 AM
Bateau deemed unprofessional for requesting extra time off after Gold Cup. He could be on his way out of KV Mechelen if an acceptable offer is made.

Them clubs doh play.

Hope Bateau apologises and beg for forgiveness.

Post by: dreamer on July 28, 2015, 06:02:36 AM
Sheldon, I know it looks scary but hold yuh head up in stoic fashion. The club trying to mannerz yuh and manipulatively put fear in yuh heart , as instead of being happy fuh yuh, dey vex dat you increased your value in the international shop window. So press on and let your agents work their magic for plan B, C, D & E.
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 28, 2015, 08:16:10 AM

Them clubs doh play.

he needs to learn to be a professional
Post by: Tallman on July 28, 2015, 08:24:18 AM

It has been brought to our attention that the previously posted article from nieuwsblad.be concerning Sheldon Bateau’s relationship with his club KV Mechelen contains a number of untruths. The club is now in contact with the newspaper.
Post by: Deeks on July 28, 2015, 08:28:23 AM

Them clubs doh play.

Maybe we should hear both sides of the story.
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 28, 2015, 09:11:06 AM

It has been brought to our attention that the previously posted article from nieuwsblad.be concerning Sheldon Bateau’s relationship with his club KV Mechelen contains a number of untruths. The club is now in contact with the newspaper.

Papers telling lies?!!  What a shocker :rotfl:
Post by: Cocorite on July 28, 2015, 11:02:38 AM

Them clubs doh play.

Maybe we should hear both sides of the story.

Always . . .As a rule of wisdom  and fairness.
Post by: Peong on July 28, 2015, 11:39:53 AM
Lionel Messi and Neymar to miss Barcelona's United States tour

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11833/9916792/lionel-messi-and-neymar-to-miss-barcelonas-united-states-tour

Lionel Messi and Neymar have been left out of Barcelona's squad for the club’s three-match tour of the United States.

Argentina international Messi and Brazil striker Neymar have both been omitted after playing for their countries in the Copa America.

Several other internationals who played in the tournament have also been excused from the US tour, including goalkeeper Claudio Bravo, midfielder Javier Mascherano and full-back Dani Alves.
Post by: Bally on July 28, 2015, 12:04:37 PM
This is not a good sign maybe because the last he left for international duty he couldn’t make it back in time because of visa issues however this was a long tournament and you could see some players need a rest period
Title: VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS of Sheldon Bateau
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2015, 03:02:44 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/_EUU_r3usNM
Post by: Tallman on August 17, 2015, 05:02:25 PM
RUMOUR: Defender Sheldon Bateau is being pursued by Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara. Samara’s coach, Franky Vercauteren, was Bateau’s former manager at KV Mechelen.
http://www.voetbalbelgie.be/nl/article.php?id=98935
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 17, 2015, 06:10:15 PM
RUMOUR: Defender Sheldon Bateau is being pursued by Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara. Samara’s coach, Franky Vercauteren, was Bateau’s former manager at KV Mechelen.
http://www.voetbalbelgie.be/nl/article.php?id=98935

he should keep away
Post by: Cocorite on August 17, 2015, 10:25:20 PM
Borse Player dat
Post by: pops on August 18, 2015, 12:39:23 AM
Right now it should be Sheldon and any 10 top player. Nice well put together video probably the best I have ever seen of a T&T player.
Post by: Tallman on August 21, 2015, 10:20:26 AM
Reports out Belgium indicate that KV Mechelen has agreed to send Sheldon Bateau on loan to Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara, for the rest of the season, with an option to buy.
http://www.nieuwsblad.be/sportwereld/cnt/dmf20150820_01826896
Post by: dreamer on August 21, 2015, 10:38:29 AM
Player in demand to get teams into the big money competitions
Go show dem Sheldon! T&T players making history and opening doors
Many countries all over Europe saw the Gold Cup.
Post by: Mose on August 21, 2015, 11:10:43 AM
Preview of what he'll have to deal with in 2022.  :beermug:
Post by: FireBrand on August 21, 2015, 11:40:00 AM
Preview of what he'll have to deal with in 2022.  :beermug:

Yuh mean 2018
Post by: Thomo on August 21, 2015, 12:31:18 PM
Be strong willed against the racism out there. While they spout vile just work hard and put yourself, your family and your country proud. Ignore them while you play the best football you can and get paid doing something you love.
Post by: Trini _2026 on August 21, 2015, 02:07:59 PM
Reports out Belgium indicate that KV Mechelen has agreed to send Sheldon Bateau on loan to Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara, for the rest of the season, with an option to buy.
http://www.nieuwsblad.be/sportwereld/cnt/dmf20150820_01826896
Go shoe dem Sheldon! T&T players making history and opening doors

we don't need dat russian door open
Post by: Dinner Mints on August 21, 2015, 02:23:59 PM
Mid-table Belgium team to perpetual Russian strugglers. Upgrade or no?
Post by: andre samuel on August 21, 2015, 06:01:42 PM

They were relegated in 2014 after 23 consecutive years in the Russian Premier League. They won the 2nd division title and hence promotion in 2015 and are back in the top division.

I would hardly call them Russian strugglers.  I think its an upgrade. 

Even their stadium capacity is almost three times the size of Mechelen's. 
Post by: Anbrat on August 21, 2015, 08:28:06 PM

Why would KV Mechelen send Sheldon Bateau on loan to Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara, for the rest of the season, with an option to buy? Player in demand???
Post by: Tiresais on August 25, 2015, 07:20:11 AM

Why would KV Mechelen send Sheldon Bateau on loan to Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara, for the rest of the season, with an option to buy? Player in demand???

Recently it's been popular to pay the club to loan a player on top of their wages 0 could be they're paying KV Mechelen for the privilege and it makes financial sense.
Post by: Controversial on August 25, 2015, 11:01:04 AM

the training in russia, both mentally and physically is at a very high standard, believe it or not... discipline is their thing.. good experience for bateau
Post by: Tallman on August 25, 2015, 02:20:08 PM

The Russian Premier League is ranked higher than the Belgian League.
Post by: Cocorite on August 25, 2015, 06:22:22 PM

Interesting! Did not know that. Good for him then.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 25, 2015, 06:34:00 PM

The Belgian league is a feeder league for many and a destination league for some. The Russian league is a destination league for many and a feeder league for some.
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2015, 05:16:38 AM
Bateau will wear the #19 jersey.

(https://scontent-atl1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtf1/v/t1.0-9/11891990_10153582311629314_8707740972023187542_n.jpg?oh=fb4633765544790027b176f7907c284d&oe=567EA79D)
Post by: Tallman on August 26, 2015, 05:20:04 AM
WATCH: Sheldon Bateau talks about his move to Russian Premier League club, FC Krylia Sovetov Samara
https://www.youtube.com/v/szbjT0ZIMF4
Post by: asylumseeker on August 26, 2015, 08:15:57 AM
 :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: soccerman on August 26, 2015, 08:47:10 AM
All the best Bateau, you conducted that interview very well. Take away as much as you can from this experience and show them what you can do on the field of play!
Post by: Controversial on August 26, 2015, 09:05:50 AM
Good luck brother... Keep focused, it have a lot of beautiful women in Russia and great parties,very easy to get distracted  ;D
Post by: trini_stallion on August 26, 2015, 12:41:31 PM
Congratulations...at first I was skeptical with the racism and Russia in general...but I see a lot of players in the Russian premier league cross into the England...good ground for gaining scouts attention...so play yuh ball Shelly!
Post by: frico on August 26, 2015, 12:48:50 PM
Good luck brother... Keep focused, it have a lot of beautiful women in Russia and great parties,very easy to get distracted  ;D
Women may also have an eye on him too because he is a handsome looking boy. ;D
Post by: dreamer on August 26, 2015, 12:56:48 PM
Good luck Sheldon. Make sure dey spell yuh name right on de juhsey.
Go number 19!
Post by: Flex on August 27, 2015, 01:58:28 AM
Bateau first to touch down in Russia.

T&T defender Sheldon Bateau is all set to begin his professional life in Russia after joining Premier League club FC Krylia Sovetov earlier this month.

And he is hopeful that his entry into Russia is just the first from the T&T squad with all sights set on qualification for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

“Who knows, maybe this is a sign of what is to come for T&T in 2018,” Bateau said. “Pretty soon we will embark on the qualification for Russia and our main focus now as a national team is getting through the qualification and getting to Russia,” he said.

The 24-year-old Bateau spent close to three years with Belgian Pro League club KV Mechelen, breaking into the T&T senior team during that time and establishing himself as a starting player for the “Soca Warriors”. His performances during the recent CONCACAF Gold Cup was proof of his progress.

Now he’s hoping to continue his rise in Russia.

“I feel optimistic about this move to Russia. It was a decision I made based on the situation at my last club concerning playing time and I did it with the World Cup qualifiers in my mind because it was difficult for me to keep in shape for the recently concluded Gold Cup after being on the bench for about three months or more and at this point in my career playing time is very important,” Bateau said on Tuesday.

“The coach of Sovetov was the coach of Mechelen the season before last but just for a few months so he knows my qualities and also he believes I have what it takes to play at a high level and I think that is always a plus to have a coach that has confidence in you.”

Post by: dreamer on August 27, 2015, 06:05:26 AM
Now daiz a man wit' a plan. Well made points.
Very happy to hear players with this kind of single-mindedness ready to sacrifice
and going outside their comfort zone to get what they want with the future in mind
Post by: asylumseeker on August 27, 2015, 06:10:57 AM
Congratulations...at first I was skeptical with the racism and Russia in general... but I see a lot of players in the Russian premier league cross into the England...good ground for gaining scouts attention...so play yuh ball Shelly!

And notably not many Russians making that voyage.
Post by: andre samuel on August 27, 2015, 06:43:08 AM
Its interesting to note that he was not a regular starter for Mechelen in the last three months.  I always thought he was a sure starter in that team.
Post by: Cocorite on August 27, 2015, 11:21:56 AM
Its interesting to note that he was not a regular starter for Mechelen in the last three months.  I always thought he was a sure starter in that team.

Yeah me too.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 31, 2015, 10:55:58 AM

The Belgian league is a feeder league for many and a destination league for some. The Russian league is a destination league for many and a feeder league for some.

Very informative discussion on the BBC regarding feeder clubs.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02yy64b

The topic is Feeder Clubs: Who's feeding Whom?
Post by: Tallman on August 31, 2015, 11:00:53 AM
WATCH: Sheldon Bateau talks about making his debut for FC Krylia Sovetov Samara against Zenit St. Petersburg
https://www.youtube.com/v/PzBEWRghYCo
Title: Bateau speaks of extra commitment from Soca Warriors
Post by: Tallman on October 29, 2015, 12:48:15 PM
Bateau speaks of extra commitment from Soca Warriors
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA)

“Sometimes we go all out and we put everything into our efforts on the field not considering the risks involved with injuries and jeopardising our personal health.”

Those were the words from national senior defender Sheldon Bateau as he spoke about the recent injury to team captain Kenwyne Jones which was sustained in the recent friendly with Nicaragua. Jones has since been sidelined for two weeks but has began running again this week at Cardiff City club.

Bateau said it was now customary for the “Soca Warriors” to be all in when it comes to playing for the country and going above and beyond the call of duty when they take the field of play.

“Most people might question why Kenwyne went into that tackle and may say he should have been smarter about it. That’s where our passion and dedication comes in because sometimes we make decisions or go into tackles that could end up jeopardising our individual health,” Bateau said.

“Injury is not something that is on a player’s mind because you want to give 100 percent and more especially if we are representing our country. We are not making excuses or trying to get pity because it’s what we signed up for as footballers.

“I’d like to say that we are fully committed to the cause and whatever it takes from us as players to get right results going forward in this World Cup qualifying bid.

“I think every player puts on the national shirt with pride every single time and it’s sweat, tears and bleeding red,white and black,” said the Russian-based professional.

Bateau will join his teammates next week for a training camp leading up to the November 13 World Cup qualifier away to Guatemala before returning home to face the United States on November 17 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain.
Title: Re: Bateau speaks of extra commitment from Soca Warriors
Post by: soccerman on October 29, 2015, 02:18:13 PM
Well said Bateau, you know if he didn't go into the challenge people will say he too lazy and don't give effort for the NT, etc.
Post by: trini_stallion on October 29, 2015, 03:59:13 PM
Spoken like a true warrior! This guy is very professional! Keep it up
Post by: weary1969 on October 30, 2015, 07:31:49 AM
Spoken like a true warrior! This guy is very professional! Keep it up

Post by: dreamer on October 30, 2015, 09:03:50 AM
All heart and soul. Former captain at U-20 level. Ent.
Post by: Flex on March 24, 2016, 02:34:50 AM
What’s in Sheldon’s Head.
TTFA MEDIA.

With the resumption of World Cup qualifying quickly approaching, We sat down with Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau to find out what his thoughts are on the qualifiers, Russia, Trinidad and Tobago in Russia and the upcoming “Warriors” talent.

TTFA Media: What’s in your head at the moment as we look ahead to the two upcoming World Cup qualifiers with St Vincent and the Grenadines?

SB: At the moment I must say that I’m pretty much excited and motivated to continue the good job with the team that we’ve done thus far in the campaign

TTFA Media: What are your feelings on coming back into the team after missing out on the Copa America playoff with Haiti in January?

SB: Missing out on game against Haiti was a bit heart wrenching, knowing that I couldn’t be there to fight with the boys and also the fact that I know if we had performed the way we could we would surely be in the Copa right now (but that’s in the past and I hope we can move on as a group and a country and continue doing well on the road to Russia.

TTFA Media: What are do you think are the key factors that have made this team into a close-knit unit?

SB: I think the main strength of the team that creates the tight bond we have is firstly the mixture we have of youth and experienced players, and also our experienced players can relate to the younger players so there’s no gap in communication which helps to keep a certain level of humbleness and maturity within the group. Secondly I think we’re all on the same page when it comes to wanting to change football in Trinidad and Tobago and take the team and country back to the level we’re suppose to be on.

TTFA Media: What are your feelings on the return of Kevin Molino and Hughtun Hector?

SB: I’m actually elated to see Kevin and Hector back on the pitch again, it’s no secret that they are both quality players and can add the finishing touch to the team.

TTFA Media: As one of the players who came out of the T&T Pro League, what are your thoughts on some of the players from the league who recently got an opportunity to play for the National Team and are now in the World Cup squad?

SB: I think this is a great opportunity for the local players and I think this is something that should be done more often like the coach wants because it’s normal in other countries to have a local squad active while the overseas players are unavailable but I urge them to embrace the opportunity and make the most of it because whether local or foreign as long as you can add something to the team you’ll be involved more often if not immediately but this is also a good chance for the coach to increase his players pool and have more options going forward.

To me it doesn’t matter the opponent nor the title of the match but it’s a matter of setting the tone and sending the message for years to come that it’s a new generation and we’re here to dominate as Trinidad and Tobago and not Trinidad and Tobago locals or foreigners for that matter. Results don’t matter in matches like that one against Grenada but what matters most is doing the things they need to do individually and collectively to get a positive result.

TTFA Media: What is the atmosphere like in Russia as it relates to the World Cup in 2018

SB: Currently there’s a lot of construction going with all the new stadiums and making things and life more attractive and presentable but I think for now this is still calm but for sure it’s going to increase by the end of this year because already some people are anticipating the first kickoff.

TTFA Media: What about that, the scenes in Russia, gives you an added buzz about your home country having a presence there, the Team and the People of T&T?

SB: I think to bring my country to play in the World Cup in Russia would be a dream come true because sometimes they ask where is Trinidad and Tobago and what’s it like there and most times I need to show some videos on YouTube (laughs) but it’s really difficult to explain because here they don’t know what ‘real vibes’ and ‘carnival atmosphere’ is like. So for me it would be a pleasure to bring it to them live and direct and probably open the door for other players to come to Russia.

0:03 / 0:29 - Goal TRI - No.4 Sheldon BATEAU - TRI 1-0 GUA #GoldCup2015 #CopaOro2015 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_nYFe1dbFA)

Title: Re: Sheldon Bateau Thread
Post by: Flex on April 06, 2016, 02:37:49 AM
Bateau: Team play was the Pivotal.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Defender Sheldon Bateau was all to happy to step in and deliver in attack in order to push Trinidad and Tobago ahead and set the pace for the 6-0 victory over St Vincent and the Grenadines on Tuesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The goal was Bateau’s first on home soil for T&T and the third of his career following his two goals at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Before his acrobatic finish. He has played 22 games for T&T.

T&T had been finding it hard to push themselves ahead with Kevin Molino, Kenwyne Jones and Khaleem Hyland going close as the visitors were contented to keeping the score deadlocked for as long as possible.

“I couldn’t ask for a better stage and platform in which to score my first international goal at home,” Bateau said. “I felt the goal came at a good time because we need to break the tie at that point because as you know in football, if you dominate but don’t take your chances, the game can change at any moment and the pressure was on us to surge ahead,” added the former San Juan Jabloteh player.

“The play that led to the goal itself was outstanding. I saw the opportunity to go at them and once I got it wide for Joevin I knew something would happen and I was all too happy to run in and finish on the rebound.

“The forwards weren’t getting it right up to that point but I wasn’t going to sit back and blame the strikers but I think it’s a responsibility that all of us on the team embrace when it comes to doing whatever it takes to get results. It shows how far I am willing to go in order to get to Russia in 2018. As a team, we go to all lengths and die for each other out there,” Bateau said.

He and his “Red Army” will need to maintain this attitude for what is expected to be a rigorous campaign up ahead starting with the next home game against Guatemala on September 2nd where T&T needs at least a point to secure its spot in the final round, T&T will close off the semi final phase against the United States in Jacksonville, Florida on September 6th.

Post by: futbolfan on April 06, 2016, 08:30:34 AM
Bateau: Team play was the Pivotal.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Defender Sheldon Bateau was all to happy to step in and deliver in attack in order to push Trinidad and Tobago ahead and set the pace for the 6-0 victory over St Vincent and the Grenadines on Tuesday night at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The goal was Bateau’s first on home soil for T&T and the third of his career following his two goals at the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Before his acrobatic finish. He has played 22 games for T&T.

T&T had been finding it hard to push themselves ahead with Kevin Molino, Kenwyne Jones and Khaleem Hyland going close as the visitors were contented to keeping the score deadlocked for as long as possible.

“I couldn’t ask for a better stage and platform in which to score my first international goal at home,” Bateau said. “I felt the goal came at a good time because we need to break the tie at that point because as you know in football, if you dominate but don’t take your chances, the game can change at any moment and the pressure was on us to surge ahead,” added the former San Juan Jabloteh player.

“The play that led to the goal itself was outstanding. I saw the opportunity to go at them and once I got it wide for Joevin I knew something would happen and I was all too happy to run in and finish on the rebound.

“The forwards weren’t getting it right up to that point but I wasn’t going to sit back and blame the strikers but I think it’s a responsibility that all of us on the team embrace when it comes to doing whatever it takes to get results. It shows how far I am willing to go in order to get to Russia in 2018. As a team, we go to all lengths and die for each other out there,” Bateau said.

He and his “Red Army” will need to maintain this attitude for what is expected to be a rigorous campaign up ahead starting with the next home game against Guatemala on September 2nd where T&T needs at least a point to secure its spot in the final round, T&T will close off the semi final phase against the United States in Jacksonville, Florida on September 6th.

************************************************************************************
He and his “Red Army” will need to maintain this attitude for what is expected to be a rigorous campaign up ahead starting with the next home game against Guatemala......

I have been seeing this name tossed around recently. Did I miss some formal announcement on rebranding of the team name? Is Soca Warriors  a thing of the past?

Post by: weary1969 on April 06, 2016, 09:03:57 AM
Is some supporters who started to say Steven Hart Red Army and I guess the players buy into it. They probably want their own brand but it will not be original as the US supporters are Uncle Sam army. FIFA has us listed as the soca warriors.
Post by: lefty on April 06, 2016, 09:06:31 AM
Not as far as I know, red army seems more like an extension of the warrior brand, to play off harts good work thus..........I think for a lot of supporters, hart and team is now packaged deal, support wise......for now at least z
Post by: weary1969 on April 06, 2016, 09:41:22 AM
Not as far as I know, red army seems more like an extension of the warrior brand, to play off harts good work thus..........I think for a lot of supporters, hart and team is now packaged deal, support wise......for now at least z

Post by: maxg on April 06, 2016, 02:18:27 PM
individual socawarriors, together make up the Red Army, I guess..or Red Tribe or whatever..long as they knock the ball properly, win or lose, they will be our Champion..Champion...Champion..Bateau is a ....oops...a lil borrow dey too   lol
Post by: Cocorite on April 06, 2016, 03:02:11 PM
Gotta love Bateau's heart & soul commitment. I think he is my next Captain.

Solid in defence. Rounded in skill. Balanced minded. Great attitude.

May his tribe increse
Post by: lefty on April 06, 2016, 04:14:40 PM
Gotta love Bateau's heart & soul commitment. I think he is my next Captain.

Solid in defence. Rounded in skill. Balanced minded. Great attitude.

May his tribe increse

good to have a genuine goal threat in defense too
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 06, 2016, 04:46:14 PM
GOP and I had temporarily hijack the Bostoc thread talking about how SB is our Pique, all the best warrior  :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on April 06, 2016, 06:33:15 PM
GOP and I had temporarily hijack the Bostoc thread talking about how SB is our Pique, all the best warrior  :beermug:

SB is probably the most consistent performer on the team. You can always count on him to do well for the team. A CB who scores goals is a huge asset to any team.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 07, 2016, 08:13:25 AM
Has been transfer listed by KV Mechelen. Has interest from a Ligue 2 team, Houston Dynamo, and Westerlo (Hyland's team).
Post by: Trini _2026 on June 07, 2016, 08:29:33 AM
keep away from the mls please !!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2016, 08:37:00 AM
keep away from the mls please !!!!!!!!!!!

Fuh real.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 07, 2016, 09:14:27 AM
Ligue 2 would be good
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2016, 10:00:04 AM
Ligue 2 would be good

Where do I sign?
Post by: Tallman on June 14, 2016, 04:25:05 PM
TRANSFER RUMOUR: Sheldon Bateau linked with Turkish First League Club, Göztepe SK (http://www.sanliurfa.com/goztepeden-cifte-hamle/1671578850/). During this off-season he has also been linked with moves to KVC Westerlo (Belgium), Houston Dynamo (USA), and an unnamed French Ligue 2 outfit.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 14, 2016, 05:21:51 PM
No PL interest!?? This guy is such a talent, he works hard and is super committed, has a great eye for the game, and I can't recal a time he has performed poorly!

I wonder why, man like him, Molino, and joevin not in the PL!? Scouts probably don't even look at MLS players? Anybody know of any MLS players that went to England? I know they retire in the MLS...but what about versa vice
Post by: Tallman on June 14, 2016, 07:27:25 PM
Anybody know of any MLS players that went to England? I know they retire in the MLS...but what about versa vice

Of course. Here are some: Tim Howard, Clint Dempsey, Kei Kamara, Landon Donovan, Tim Ream, Geoff Cameron, Roger Espinoza, Brek Shea, Juan Agudelo, DeAndre Yedlin, and Matt Miazga. You could even make a special mention of Defoe.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 14, 2016, 07:34:19 PM
No PL interest!?? This guy is such a talent, he works hard and is super committed, has a great eye for the game, and I can't recal a time he has performed poorly!

I wonder why, man like him, Molino, and joevin not in the PL!? Scouts probably don't even look at MLS players? Anybody know of any MLS players that went to England? I know they retire in the MLS...but what about versa vice

Has more to do with work permits and visas. For them to get a work permit, TT must be in top 50 FIFA ranking for two years.
Post by: palos on June 14, 2016, 10:58:39 PM

Has more to do with work permits and visas. For them to get a work permit, TT must be in top 50 FIFA ranking for two years.

Doesn't help these guys case with those leagues when we playing with local based players and collecting 3 on a regular.

But....is fuh de best so de coach could get more depth fuh WCQ....ent?
Post by: andremartinsc on June 15, 2016, 07:22:35 AM

I guess it's top 70, not 50. And T&T is 64 right now.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 15, 2016, 07:31:29 AM
Idkkkkk if it's really a ranking and visa thing...if that's what it is, ok yes let say that's what it is, but what about other top football leagues, for instance look at Levi in the erevidise league! Idkkkkk man...I think it's poor management!
Post by: Trinidogg on June 15, 2016, 08:06:10 AM
Has Sheldon been playing, and starting regularly in the Russian premier league?
Post by: andremartinsc on June 15, 2016, 08:23:55 AM
I think he's not EPL quality. Maybe I'm wrong but he fits better in a Championship team if we're talking about English soccer. He could also play in Eredivise or Scottish Football League. Same thing for Molino and all the others mentioned.

Levi Garcia and Bostock are the only ones I see true potential to become EPL quality players in the future.
Post by: FF on June 15, 2016, 08:44:47 AM
Anybody know of any MLS players that went to England? I know they retire in the MLS...but what about versa vice

Of course. Here are some: Tim Howard, Clint Dempsey, Kei Kamara, Landon Donovan, Tim Ream, Geoff Cameron, Roger Espinoza, Brek Shea, Juan Agudelo, DeAndre Yedlin, and Matt Miazga. You could even make a special mention of Defoe.

This man ent even say Stern John
Post by: Thomo on June 15, 2016, 09:07:46 AM
Stern John never went directly to EPL. He was at Nottingham Forest from Columbus Crew first, then transferred to Birmngham City who won promotion to the Premiership. Also IMO Bateau is definitely Championship but not Premiership quality just yet. Remember Oguchi Onyewu. He was in Belgium, rated by the USA and everyone in the CONCACAF region. When he got Newcastle he failed miserably. EPL is a different kettle of fish
Post by: trini supporter on June 15, 2016, 09:52:18 AM
Stern John never went directly to EPL. He was at Nottingham Forest from Columbus Crew first, then transferred to Birmngham City who won promotion to the Premiership. Also IMO Bateau is definitely Championship but not Premiership quality just yet. Remember Oguchi Onyewu. He was in Belgium, rated by the USA and everyone in the CONCACAF region. When he got Newcastle he failed miserably. EPL is a different kettle of fish

Fully agreed still a relatively young man maybe in a year or so he would be ready after playing in turkey or which  other league he ends up in and gets a regular run for club and country.
Post by: palos on June 15, 2016, 11:05:02 AM
I think he's not EPL quality. Maybe I'm wrong but he fits better in a Championship team if we're talking about English soccer. He could also play in Eredivise or Scottish Football League. Same thing for Molino and all the others mentioned.

Levi Garcia and Bostock are the only ones I see true potential to become EPL quality players in the future.

Damn!  If he eh EPL quality....then he have zero chance to play in La Liga or Bundesliga
Post by: andremartinsc on June 15, 2016, 11:12:28 AM

Damn!  If he eh EPL quality....then he have zero chance to play in La Liga or Bundesliga

Idk but maybe he could fit in a mid-table team in Bundesliga. What do you think? Bundesliga is a lot easier than EPL imo.
Post by: FF on June 15, 2016, 11:12:47 AM

The man ask MLS to England.  :-\
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 15, 2016, 12:24:15 PM
Man who benching in MLS and Belgium could walk onto a PL team just so? Allyuh ain't even saying Championship self. PL. Is PL allyuh saying. Lawd.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 15, 2016, 02:22:15 PM
Man who benching in MLS and Belgium could walk onto a PL team just so? Allyuh ain't even saying Championship self. PL. Is PL allyuh saying. Lawd.

Bateau has been one of our very consistent performers, Hart said that Joevin hasn't realized how good he is yet, and Heathe said that Molino cld romp with anybody...

The point I was trying to make is basically I was wondering if scouts from the UK scout the MLS and whatever different league. No one can say that bateau is a shit hound! He is fit, fast, technical and just overall a solid consistent player!
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 15, 2016, 02:58:49 PM
I don't think any of them are shithounds. I think they're all very good with bright futures. That alone doh get you into the Prem, though..
Post by: trini_stallion on June 15, 2016, 07:26:03 PM
I don't think any of them are shithounds. I think they're all very good with bright futures. That alone doh get you into the Prem, though..

That's what I'm alluding to...what kinda exposure these guys have to get!
Post by: Flex on September 16, 2016, 03:29:33 AM
Bateau: Real campaign starts in November.

Disappointed with having to miss out on the last qualifying match against the United States, defender Sheldon Bateau sat in the VIP box at the EverBank Field moments after wishing his teammates the best on ground level before the kick off in Jacksonville on Tuesday. And he described how tough it was to be in that situation.

“It was something as a player you never want to experience but it all happens in the game and God knows best.

“I was able to wish the guys well but of course you want to be in the uniform and you want to be walking out with the rest of the team,” Bateau said.

“The result was not the best but I really do not think they (USA) were four goals better than us on the night.

If you look at the second half and see if one of our chances had gone in and if they didn’t get a fortunate first goal, the game may have gone different but this is how football goes.

“Now there is a lot to look forward to and lot to strive for. We have a fantastic opportunity to go to the World Cup.

“The first two games will be very important, obviously starting at home against Costa Rica and looking to grab all three points and then going away to Honduras and trying to get something positive.

I think all the players will be focusing their energies on being in the best form of their lives and being mentally ready for what is ahead of us,” Bateau said. T&T will have ten home and away matches which starts in November and ends in October 2017 on the road to Russia with the closing game being at home to the United States on October 10th.

Post by: Flex on December 05, 2016, 05:43:04 AM
Bateau: Time to re-focus on Russia ambitions.
TTFA Media

T&T defender says team ready to continue mission under new head coach.

Like every follower and fan of the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s team, Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau is waiting with bated breath on the announcement of who will be the new man in charge of the Senior Men’a team ahead of upcoming international fixtures.

Bateau has been a starter in defence for T&T for seven of its eight 2018 World Cup qualifying matches, missing out only on the away loss to United States in September due to a double yellow card suspension.

And while the news of Stephen Hart’s exit as head coach has been the main topic in recent days,Bateau said the time is approaching for the team’s mission of qualification to be the main focal point again.

“It will be very important as of the next game, be it a friendly game or qualifications for Gold Cup to start thinking about our main business and about Panama and Mexico,”Bateau told TTFA Media on Saturday.

“We still have a big chance to move higher in the group and the next set of games will make it easier or harder for us to continue this campaign with that possibility of qualification.

” I’m not worried because I know what we’re capable of but I think we just need to refocus and distance ourselves from the drama and noise currently taking place because regardless of what’s going on now or what was in the past nothing matters more than the next two games.

“At the end of the day the fans want results, so for players it’s also difficult but this is what we live for and why we play the beautiful game of football.”

Bateau paid his tribute to Hart for his contribution dating back to 2013, but according to the former Jabloteh defender, the team must move on and look ahead to embracing the new man in charge and continuing the qualification quest under his guidance.

“As a professional footballer the sacking of a coach or the transfer of a player is a normal thing. Whether they’re gone for a good or bad reason the job for the remaining players remains the same and this situation is no different for me. But of course he will be missed not only by me but the entire team. He restored a great amount of belief within the the team and country to an extent and that’s something no one can take away from him. But like I said the job for the players remains the same and that’s getting to Russia,” Bateau continued.

And like his peers, the former National Under 20 captain is anxiously awaiting the announcement of the new boss.

“I have a career outside of national football so that’s where my focus is for now but of course I’m very interested in knowing who the next coach will be but it’s out of my control so I’ll leave it for the TTFA to decide and not spend too much time and energy on it. I definitely know it’s not going to be an easy decision at this stage in the campaign but myself and the team like to focus on the things we can control and from here on that will be our performances and preparations as individuals,” Bateau said.

Post by: Flex on June 02, 2017, 03:17:38 PM
Unveil X – Sheldon Bateau.
By Chester Pierre (theunveilmag).

Sheldon Bateau (born 29 January 1991) is a Trinidadian professional footballer who plays as a central defender for Krylia Sovetov Samara in the Russian Football National League. He once attended Fatima College where he played in the Secondary School Football League. He currently represents the Trinidad and Tobago National Team.

Describe your experiences playing in Russia, both good and bad.

Playing in Russia hasn’t been easy but I have grown as time went by. It was definitely a step up from the Belgium League and with that step came some challenges also, but I’ve managed to grow on and off the field. Firstly Samara is 8 hours ahead of Trinidad & Tobago so it’s not easy to keep in contact with friends and family, then the distance is further so getting to and from an international game is more challenging.The weather is also very cold in the winter and I think most players coming from my side of the world would definitely want to go elsewhere but thankfully there’s a long winter break so the extremely cold weather I’ve never got. All in all Russia has been an amazing experience thus far and taking into account that I’ve played against some world class players like Hulk, Song, Promes, Ivanovic ,Arshavin and many more.

As a kid, who or what inspired you to become a footballer?

I grew up in a family and community of footballers so it was easy for me to decide on being a footballer, but I think if it wasn’t for my father’s role in Super Star Rangers back then and my brother being a few years older than me and already kicking a ball I don’t think I would have the same passion and love for the sport.

What do you miss most about being away from home?

Being away from home is easy for me because I’ve always seen myself playing professional football abroad. I prepared myself mentally for it by not getting attached to too many people and things that can’t help me in my line of work. So I mostly miss family, close friends and some food dishes but I’ve learned to cook for myself so the food I can hold out on until I’m home, hahaha. I’ve learned to cope with the other things like parties, liming and Carnival because it’s definitely not the same on the other side of the world but those things would always be there, even when my time has come to stop playing football.

What advice do you have to the upcoming footballers?

My advice for upcoming footballers is to read and educate yourself about life and the real world and not only what happens in Trinidad and Tobago or your community because it’s not an easy life playing professional football and living away from home for most of your career, they need to be strong not only physically but mentally because if you don’t teach yourself to be that way then nobody would teach you because there will be hard times and tough days but with a good mentality and solid foundation you’ll be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel and not give up. Also, set goals; big and small so that you know you’re on the right path towards success because without goals you’d just be like a ship moving with the current and the wind and going anywhere and in the end nowhere but with goals you’ll know what you want, so it’s just to see it in your mind and believe you can achieve it.

Being a defender, who would you say was/is your most challenging attacker?

I believe a lot in myself and my abilities so I believe I can stop the best in the world! I’ve played against Lewandowski and he was no problem for me, I’ve played against Argentina with Messi, Di Maria and I had control of them for most of the game. Seeing that I’ve never played again Ronaldo I’d have to say Messi was the most challenging attacker for me thus far.

How do you indulge in the Russian culture? What do you do in your free time?

Russian culture is full of history and it’s nice to see how many people still live and appreciate the simple things in life so there’s not that much to indulge in but in my free time I go to the malls or I chill with teammates or my girlfriend if she’s there with me. In my city there’s not much to do so the perfect replacement would be to play FIFA.

Who do you think will win the champions league and why?

I think Juventus would win the Champions League because for me they have the perfect balance that any coach or player would like to be a part of and even though Real Madrid is a strong team I think it would be difficult to get past Buffon along with Chellini and Bonucci whom I admire very much!!

The most asked question, Messi or Ronaldo? And why?

This one is difficult to answer, ahhahaha because I’ve been a Ronaldo fan for many years so I know what he’s capable of and I have played against Messi and I’ve seen first hand what he can do. They are both world class players no doubt and shouldn’t be compared because their style is different but I like players that mean business and don’t joke around so I’ll have to go with Ronaldo. Over the years he has transformed into an unstoppable machine.

If you had the opportunity to be a professional in another sport, what would it be?

Honestly, I’ve been asked this question many times and I’ve never been able to answer it because I can’t imagine my life without football, it’s all I know and it’s what I live for.

How would you describe Trinidad and Tobago’s chances for World Cup 2018?

I think we still have a very good chance of qualifying but it’s not going to be easy. We need to take it one game at a time and not just hope for the best but work towards achieving our goal. We have a good group of players, a staff and country that believes in us so in the end it’s just for us to play the game the way we can and with the confidence and conviction that we have shown in the past.

Post by: Flex on June 04, 2017, 07:24:08 AM
Bateau eyes crucial qualifier for T&T.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago camp in Westminster, Colorado welcomed two more of its European-based players on Friday with defenders Aubrey David and Radanfah Abu Bakr joining the provisional squad ahead of preparations for Thursday’s 2018 World Cup Qualifier against the United States at Dick’s Sporting Good Park.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence is expected to name his final roster the qualifier on Sunday after assessing the current group and will begin his final leg of preparations on Monday.

The T&T team trained at the Colorado Rapids Training Field, near to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park on Friday and Saturday.

Bateau on the preparations

“My first session felt well. So far the two or three days have been good and it is always a pleasure to be back wit the team and just looking forward to working and getting ready for the two games,” Bateau told TTFA Media.

“I’ve been eager to be back after missing the last two games. The team won the Panama game so it was normal that most coaches would not want to change a winning team so I had to respect that for the Mexico game. But now we are here in Denver and there is a next chapter to prepare for.”

Looking ahead to Thursday’s clash, the former San Juan Jabloteh player added: “We have definitely grown as a team over the past few games as a group but most importantly it’s going to be about discipline for us. The US team waits for you to drop asleep and then pounce on you and when you are fighting to get back they can punish you. We need to have the confidence to play football the way we can play it. We can possess the ball, we can score goals, we are physically strong snd we have fast players, so it’s about us going out there and demonstrating that,” Bateau added.

The former Belgian-based player also spoke about the impact Lawrence and his staff are having on the squad as the preparations continue to the upcoming matches against the US and Costa Rica.

“Being past players, players that most of us looked at on the field. they were in these positions similar to us when they played. When we train there is always that sense of they know what they are doing. We respect them and they respect us. Overall there is a very good understanding between us and the coaches. They are not old also, so they understand how we feel and it is easier  for us to communicate. Most times you would see Stern working with the strikers, Dennis with the defenders and the midfielders,teaching us what they know and sharing their experiences… We have Stuart (Charles-Ferrier) to show us how to possess the ball.

“It is something totally different to what we had in past. Now we have personnel for the different areas. It is a really nice mixture but it then comes down to us, the players to show it and get the job done,” Bateau concluded.

Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2017, 08:22:02 AM
Defender Sheldon Bateau goes on loan to Kazakhstan Premier League club FC Kairat.

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19247771_10155486181299314_3516197688417722560_n.jpg?oh=7695003aff8cb4df9185f42d15e035b1&oe=59CD827E)

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19429971_10155486181519314_3190116035281202398_n.jpg?oh=e7358af84a038fcea7553c1d2b7b8289&oe=59D81ED9)

(https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19554123_10155486181354314_8216202595447820455_n.jpg?oh=b82920beb3fea8726c78d51611b24d9b&oe=5A0D212B)
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2017, 08:41:50 AM
WATCH: Sheldon Bateau’s first interview with his new club, FC Kairat

https://www.youtube.com/v/nndkhISeFfc
Post by: asylumseeker on June 27, 2017, 09:03:55 AM
Think about what prompted the loan.
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2017, 10:45:19 AM
Think about what prompted the loan.

Well according to Krylia Sovetov Samara, it had to do with stricter rules regarding foreign players.
Post by: Flex on June 28, 2017, 12:27:31 AM
Bateau joins Arshavan at Kazakh club.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Sheldon Bateau completed a six-month loan move to Kairat Almaty from Russian club Krylia Sovetov Samara on Tuesday.

Kairat is based in Almaty, which plays in the Kazakhstan Premier League, the highest level of Kazakh football. The club’s home ground is the Central Stadium which has a capacity of 23,804.

Bateau will play alongside Russian international and former Arsenal midfielder Arshavan.

“I’m obviously happy to make this move. Kairat is a very good team with big ambitions for Europe and I’m excited to start training and playing with the guys,” Bateau told TTFA Media on Tuesday.

“Unfortunately I can’t play in the first rounds of the European League qualifications but I have no doubt that we’ll make it to the second round so I’m patiently waiting to make my debut.

“It’s another step in my career and I’m happy to be playing alongside a player like Arshavin,” added the former San Juan Jabloteh player.

“To me this is a positive step and I will be pushing myself to be a fixture into the starting team and also keeping myself ready for the next set of qualifiers in September which hopefully I will be part of the squad for,” Bateau added.

The 26-year-old Bateau has previously played in Belgium with KV Mechelen, beginning his playing career in Europe in 2012. His consistent form resulted in Sheldon signing a two-year contract extension, on 18 January 2013, keeping him at Mechelen until the end of the 2014–15 season

Bateau has 23 senior international caps for T&t with three goals and is a former National Under 20 captain, having also appeared at two FIFA Youth World Cups, the 2007 Under 17 in South Korea and the 2009 Under 20 World Cup in Egypt.

WATCH: Sheldon Bateau’s first interview with his new club, FC Kairat (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nndkhISeFfc)

Post by: Dutty Love on June 28, 2017, 05:07:35 AM
Isnt it better to play in MLS than Kazikhstan? Very confused about this move
Post by: Thomo on June 28, 2017, 05:23:33 AM
No disrespect to fellow posters in the USA but here in Europe the MLS is generally frowned upon and viewed with so much derision you wouldn't believe by Europen players and fans alike.
Post by: Dutty Love on June 28, 2017, 08:27:28 AM
Yes but Kazikhstan is not Europe. You are talking Europe as in Serie A, La Liga, EPL, Bundesliga probably.
Post by: Deeks on June 28, 2017, 08:50:13 AM
Kazakhstan is actually considered as Europe, even though they can also play in Asia. They chose Europe. Therefore their clubs can play in the European competitions. I can't really gauge their standard of football.

While the MLs can't measure up to the top Euro. nations, the league is not bad. The standard is not super, but not bad. The MLS is not a stroll in the park football. Many of the Euros who bad talk the league, find out the hard way when they come to play
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2017, 09:21:29 AM

No. In this case, definitely no.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 28, 2017, 11:02:18 AM

And by the way ...

http://iffhs.de/strongest-national-league-world-2016-spain-since-2010/

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59
Post by: Thomo on June 28, 2017, 11:04:23 AM
Simply compared to the English Leagues, the MLS is probably on par with the bottom half of the Championship/top half of League 1. I agree with Deeks that Kazakhstan's league definitely isn't super but it's definitely not bad and overall not better than MLS but the football education that you'll get from a European team again is definitely better than the MLS. No two ways about that at all.
Post by: Thomo on June 28, 2017, 11:47:35 AM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59
What a revelation. Didn't see that coming. I actually thought MLS might have ebeen ranked higher then Kazakhstani league
Post by: Trini Madness on June 28, 2017, 01:30:39 PM
Alot of people don't really know, some of these games in Kazakhstan have a crazy atmosphere. People come out for games.
Post by: Deeks on June 29, 2017, 12:21:10 AM
I checking some bio of Kazak. They were part of the Asian Football, but they switched to Uefa in 2002. They are heavily influenced by Russia, they speak Russian. And is physically a very huge country, as big as western Euro. 9th largest in the world. So there is some distance to travel to games. Even though he playing "too far", I think is a great move for him. Life of a journeyman pro. Take it or leave it.
Post by: pops on June 29, 2017, 04:56:09 PM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

ahahahhahah what kinda piss poor list is this. I stop reading it as soon as I see Colombian league above, EPL, Serie A, Bundesliga, Portuguese and French League. Fact is MLS is for sure a stronger league than Kazakhstan league that is not even debatable to me. No player from that league you know about has any career of note. While several MLS players have gone on to play in Europe top leagues.  1/3 of the teams in Kazakstan holding numbers like 4000, 6000, 8000 at capacity while all MLS teams double that by both capacity and attendance. The exposure in MLS is also way more. The move is an interesting one but he is going to one of that country's top teams and winning games on a regular would be important for his development. But saying that league is better than MLS makes zero sense especially based off of that dustbin list lol.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2017, 08:37:53 PM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

ahahahhahah what kinda piss poor list is this. I stop reading it as soon as I see Colombian league above, EPL, Serie A, Bundesliga, Portuguese and French League. Fact is MLS is for sure a stronger league than Kazakhstan league that is not even debatable to me. No player from that league you know about has any career of note. While several MLS players have gone on to play in Europe top leagues.  1/3 of the teams in Kazakstan holding numbers like 4000, 6000, 8000 at capacity while all MLS teams double that by both capacity and attendance. The exposure in MLS is also way more. The move is an interesting one but he is going to one of that country's top teams and winning games on a regular would be important for his development. But saying that league is better than MLS makes zero sense especially based off of that dustbin list lol.

Factors you are not considering.
Post by: pops on June 30, 2017, 04:46:03 AM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

Like ?? What are these factors? Please do tell me a player to come from this league? Sheldon is not the first Trinidadian to go out there. Primus played about 4-5 years out there with another of Kazakhstan top teams and what came of that? Would you say Colombia's league is above the Premier League according to the bogus list you have posted? There is far more evidence suggesting MLS is a superior league.

NB- I am not saying this is bad move for Sheldon
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 30, 2017, 08:00:38 AM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

Would you say Colombia's league is above the Premier League according to the bogus list you have posted?
You caught up in the top 4 or 5 teams, when the rest of the league is a setta Burnleys and West Broms. Huddlesfield in dey now too. I doh follow Colombian football to know what the average quality is across the board. Even if their highs not as high.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2017, 10:08:29 AM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

Like ?? What are these factors? Please do tell me a player to come from this league? Sheldon is not the first Trinidadian to go out there. Primus played about 4-5 years out there with another of Kazakhstan top teams and what came of that? Would you say Colombia's league is above the Premier League according to the bogus list you have posted? There is far more evidence suggesting MLS is a superior league.

We agree on it's not a bad move for Bateau.

With respect to the other questions, let's start with the most relevant question.

For the 7th time in raw (sic), the Spanish LA LIGA is the Strongest League in the World for 2016. With Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, FC Sevilla and Atletico de Madrid, the Spanish clubs are on the Top in all continental competitions.

The Colombian PRIMERA A is the big surprise of the ranking with the second place (21th in 2012 and 9th in 2014). The results of Altlético Nacional (number 1 in the World) have a great contribution for this ranking, the Colombian League is so also the number 1 in South America before the Argentina PRIMERA DIVISION. The French LIGUE 1 has a big progression (7th in 2014 and 5th in 2015) with a third place before the German BUNDESLIGA.

The italian SERIE A has the worst ranking since 1991 (8th place) because of no qualification for the quarter finals of the European competitions. The English PREMIER LEAGUE wins a place (7th in 2015, 6th in 2016) and the turkish SÜPER LIG is again in the TOP 10 for the first time since 2009.

In CONCACAF zona, the Mexican LIGA MX is again number 1  before the Costa Rica’s PRIMERA DIVISION and the USA MLS.

In Africa, the tunisian LIGUE 1 is the best league since 2013 before the Egyptian PREMIER LEAGUE and the Maroc BOTOLA.

In Asia, the Republic of Korea K LEAGUE CLASSIC is the best league since 2011 before the Saudi Arabia PRO LEAGUE (second in Asia for the 4th time in raw) and the China CSL, who has a great progression (70th in 2012 , 56th in 2014).

In Oceania, after the change of Australia to AFC, the SUPER LIGUE of Nouvelle Calédonie is for the first time Number 1 before the New Zealand PREMIERSHIP.

TOP 20 : UEFA (14), CONMEBOL (4), AFC (1), CONCACAF (1)

TOP 50 : UEFA (30), CONMEBOL (9), AFC (5), CAF (5), CONCACAF (1)

Let's start there.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 30, 2017, 10:24:12 AM
Anyone disagree with the ranking within CONCACAF?

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA
Post by: Dutty Love on July 01, 2017, 08:19:16 PM

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA

Yes, MLS is more competitive than Costa Rica Primera. If you take Saprissa, Herediano, and Alajuelense they would not be more than playoffs contenders in MLS. You simply can't discount players like Giovinco who have never been seen in Costa Rica. All top CR players leave to Europe or MLS.
Post by: Dutty Love on July 01, 2017, 08:20:30 PM
I would also be inclined to say Ascenso MX is third before Costa Rica Primera.
Post by: pops on July 02, 2017, 05:32:56 AM

And by the way ...

Kazakhstan #47
USA #59

We agree on it's not a bad move for Bateau.

With respect to the other questions, let's start with the most relevant question.

For the 7th time in raw (sic), the Spanish LA LIGA is the Strongest League in the World for 2016. With Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, FC Sevilla and Atletico de Madrid, the Spanish clubs are on the Top in all continental competitions.

The Colombian PRIMERA A is the big surprise of the ranking with the second place (21th in 2012 and 9th in 2014). The results of Altlético Nacional (number 1 in the World) have a great contribution for this ranking, the Colombian League is so also the number 1 in South America before the Argentina PRIMERA DIVISION. The French LIGUE 1 has a big progression (7th in 2014 and 5th in 2015) with a third place before the German BUNDESLIGA.

The italian SERIE A has the worst ranking since 1991 (8th place) because of no qualification for the quarter finals of the European competitions. The English PREMIER LEAGUE wins a place (7th in 2015, 6th in 2016) and the turkish SÜPER LIG is again in the TOP 10 for the first time since 2009.

In CONCACAF zona, the Mexican LIGA MX is again number 1  before the Costa Rica’s PRIMERA DIVISION and the USA MLS.

In Africa, the tunisian LIGUE 1 is the best league since 2013 before the Egyptian PREMIER LEAGUE and the Maroc BOTOLA.

In Asia, the Republic of Korea K LEAGUE CLASSIC is the best league since 2011 before the Saudi Arabia PRO LEAGUE (second in Asia for the 4th time in raw) and the China CSL, who has a great progression (70th in 2012 , 56th in 2014).

In Oceania, after the change of Australia to AFC, the SUPER LIGUE of Nouvelle Calédonie is for the first time Number 1 before the New Zealand PREMIERSHIP.

TOP 20 : UEFA (14), CONMEBOL (4), AFC (1), CONCACAF (1)

TOP 50 : UEFA (30), CONMEBOL (9), AFC (5), CAF (5), CONCACAF (1)

Let's start there.

I don't know what you mean by let's start here. I read all that before, I am just saying that list is horrible. There are many other lists on the internet that would not have Colombia's league ahead of Serie A, Bundesliga or the Premier League and quite frankly its not even the best in South America, I mean a Colombian team won Copa Libertatores 2 or 3 times max. You just used this bogus list because it has Kaz league above the MLS. We don't need a list at all. Just look at the facts bruv, the majority of players in the Kaz are from Kazakhstan, Kazakhstan has never once qualified for a Euros or a World Cup they are constantly ranked in the 100s, zero of their players play in any of the top leagues and you can't tell me one player to be produced from that league. MLS has produced many a player to play in Europe top leagues and many internationals currently play there, there is no doubt MLS is a stronger league, the only thing you have in support of that is a bogus list. I don't know why you don't like the MLS and fail to give it's fair rating. 
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2017, 06:00:26 AM

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA

Yes, MLS is more competitive than Costa Rica Primera. If you take Saprissa, Herediano, and Alajuelense they would not be more than playoffs contenders in MLS. You simply can't discount players like Giovinco who have never been seen in Costa Rica. All top CR players leave to Europe or MLS.

Is that a subjective view? How does one gauge "more competitive"?
Post by: Dutty Love on July 03, 2017, 08:21:38 PM

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA

it's not subjective. half of the teams in costa rica pay $1,500-$2,000/month.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2017, 08:47:12 PM

1. Mexico
2. Costa Rica
3. USA

it's not subjective. half of the teams in costa rica pay $1,500-$2,000/month.

This exemplifies what's been going on in recent posts. We are not all on the same page. Not all using denominators in common.
Post by: Flex on December 20, 2018, 05:44:39 AM
‘We’ve reached our limit’ says Bateau.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Unpaid footballers fed up of TTFA’s false promises –

NATIONAL men’s football team defender Sheldon Bateau has called on David John-Williams, president of the TT Football Association (TTFA) to keep his promise and pay the outstanding fees to the T&T players, who have been owed match fees since the October 10, 2017 World Cup qualifier against the US.

Within that period, the men’s team, coached by Dennis Lawrence, have played eight friendly games, winning twice, drawing three and losing the other three.

The TTFA’s focus during the past year has been the much-publicised Home of Football project, at Balmain, Couva.

However, a number of people, and groups, within the football fraternity have openly complained of non-payment of salaries, absence of funding and a lack of respect by the local governing body.

Last week, the T&T futsal team earned a ruling in the High Court over the non-payment of salaries, while Stephen Hart, Carolina Morace (both ex-T&T coaches), Anton Corneal and Sheldon Walkes (present and past technical directors) also have legal matters with the TTFA.

Members of the T&T women team bemoaned the treatment they received during the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers, and national youth team coach Russell Latapy recently spoke about his inability to get his outstanding dues from the TTFA.

Bateau, who plays for Krylia Sovetov Samara in Russia, admitted in an interview yesterday that the T&T players feel that their repeated queries over the payment of their fees (US$300 per match) are falling on deaf ears.

“We (men players) know for sure that they have financial problems,” said the T&T central defender. “One of the main problems is that we’re playing friendly games and (the TTFA) is collecting monies for these games. The money is going elsewhere besides dealing with the players who are playing in these games.

“... you can’t have players playing for (US) $300 and waiting a year to get it. For me that’s wrong.”

Bateau warned that the players can go on strike if their demands are not met by the TTFA and their president John-Williams.

“We, as players, always want to find the best solution,” he said. “(We) are willing to sit and talk. But when you try to reach out to him, sometimes he’s not willing to talk, he would send a response with someone else. Once in a blue moon we’ll get him to come face-to-face and talk.

“(On Tuesday) he offered to pay for two games but, two weeks ago, you spoke to us (Bateau, Marvin Phillip and captain Khaleem Hyland) and you gave us your word. So clearly, his words don’t mean anything. And that’s the games he’s playing with us over and over.”

Bateau pointed out, “For us now, it’s a matter of either you pay or we don’t play.”

With the advent of social media, matters concerning the national team are trending rapidly across the globe.

While Bateau is worried about the image the TTFA will now have, he hopes that the administrative body will see this as an opportunity to mend fences.

“It will definitely damage the image but, for us as players, I think it’s important that the world and the public knows what we’re dealing with,” Bateau said. “At the end of the day, (after) 90 minutes, we’re still being judged as the perfect team because we hide a lot of things.”

He added, “Now we’ve reached the limit. We accepted to play for (US) $300, which the president went out and said. It’s not something we’re proud of but we’re representing the national team and our country. At the end of the day, it’s about the respect.”

Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2019, 03:57:39 PM
Defender Sheldon Bateau has joined Norwegian Eliteserien club, Sarpsborg 08

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DzZcwG6XcAI2Tej.jpg:large)
Post by: asylumseeker on February 14, 2019, 07:35:43 PM
Like Bateau brace from ah Saudi Arabia.
Post by: Thomo on February 16, 2019, 09:18:51 AM
Saudi Arabian league is to put food on the table. No way is that for improvement and attempting to play at the highest level.
Post by: Tallman on May 21, 2019, 06:35:07 PM
WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau scores his first goal for Sarpsborg 08 FF in a 2-1 loss to Brann

https://www.youtube.com/v/XfyywrXbjpI?start=535
Post by: Tallman on July 18, 2019, 11:18:54 AM
Sheldon Bateau returns to KV Mechelen on a 3-year contract (https://www.kvmechelen.be/nieuws/2019-2020/a-kern/transfer-sheldon-bateau-keert-terug-naar-kvm/).
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on July 18, 2019, 12:44:46 PM
Very good!
Post by: asylumseeker on July 18, 2019, 03:14:33 PM
:applause:
Post by: lefty on July 18, 2019, 03:33:06 PM
:applause:
+1
Post by: Flex on July 18, 2019, 10:15:02 PM
Bateau returns to Belgium on three-year deal with Mechelen.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago defender Sheldon Bateau has signed a three-year deal with Belgium top flight club KV Mechelen and will return to the club which he first joined in Europe in 2012.

Bateau missed the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup due to club commitments with current Norwegian club Sarpsborg 08 and is relieved to have secured the new deal with his former employees.

“I have one game left so I am still focused on that at the moment along with the birth of my son and the transfer, I haven’t had enough time to really take it all in but I’m happy to be back in one of the top leagues in Europe and more importantly I’m delighted to be back home in Mechelen,” Bateau told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“It was my first club in Europe and they’ve made a lot of improvements since I left including the upgrading of the stadium. I’m really looking forward to rejoining the club and playing in the Belgian league again.”

“At 28 I needed stability and I’ve found that which is really pleasing at this stage of my career.”

The former San Juan Jabloteh player also had interest from clubs in Poland, Belgium, Cyprus, Israel and Greece. “I felt like Mechelen was the best move at this time,” Bateau concluded.

Post by: soccerman on July 19, 2019, 07:35:12 AM
Congrats!
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 17, 2020, 01:15:15 PM
is he active with his club ?
Post by: Tiresais on December 17, 2020, 01:46:13 PM
Not played, only made the bench this season
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 17, 2020, 01:48:32 PM

wow a key player for us and he is not playing
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2020, 03:34:25 PM
It is competitive football. Here's a club that Man City signed their RB. Being in and around the mix counts for something. His "stability" comment might suggest that he went into this head first knowing that the opportunity to play was going to be occasional at best. At worst that would be a sensible decision.

Although the club has had several players who have tested positive for the virus from week to week, he seems to have avoided that fate. That counts for something in terms of the future based on everything that medical science is suggesting regarding impacts post-recovery.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2020, 03:39:48 PM
Saudi Arabian league is to put food on the table. No way is that for improvement and attempting to play at the highest level.

Send a memo to Molino. He might already have one from Hyland.
Post by: Tallman on December 17, 2020, 05:23:39 PM

He came on as a substitute in the 70th minute today in a 3-0 loss to Club Brugge.
Post by: Tiresais on December 19, 2020, 11:38:04 AM
Stability is important- there's more to life than football and if he's thinking of settling down or has a family/friend group he doesn't want to disrupt there are many worse things than sitting on the bench most of the time for a steady wage
Post by: asylumseeker on December 20, 2020, 01:37:16 PM
He played 90' today in a 2-1 win.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 27, 2020, 02:01:47 PM
Bottom of the table clash in progress. About 15 to 20' in. No sign of our player. Neither field nor bench.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 13, 2021, 05:32:18 AM
WATCH: Shaun Fuentes one on one with Sheldon Bateau

https://www.youtube.com/v/ahxPQ3qhHaE
Post by: asylumseeker on January 13, 2021, 06:59:52 AM
Great stuff, Shaun. On point.

There was one comment by Bateau that I wished was followed up. It was his opinion about the financial reasons for not playing. I would have liked the player to flesh that out for clarity.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2021, 07:29:50 PM
He played today on a pitch with a sprinkling of snow. Started. Was off the pitch by the 10th minute due to injury. It may be less serious than it sounds. Hopefully that's the case. 1-0 victory for the team.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 19, 2021, 11:15:41 AM
He played today on a pitch with a sprinkling of snow. Started. Was off the pitch by the 10th minute due to injury. It may be less serious than it sounds. Hopefully that's the case. 1-0 victory for the team.

He had a scan of the adductors. Indications are he will be back to action in a matter of days.
Post by: maxg on January 19, 2021, 06:32:29 PM

He had a scan of the adductors. Indications are he will be back to action in a matter of days.
He musbe did catspraddle then.
Post by: Tallman on February 14, 2021, 11:13:20 AM
Defender Sheldon Bateau has made his 100th appearance for Belgian club, KV Mechelen. Bateau achieved the milestone in a 2-1 win over K Beerschot VA. He played the full 90 minutes.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EuM-hEtXUAUe10V?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: maxg on February 14, 2021, 12:38:58 PM
 :chilling: :chilling:
Post by: Deeks on February 14, 2021, 11:23:14 PM
:chilling: :chilling:

Blessings, Yute man!
Post by: pull stones on February 15, 2021, 12:51:05 PM
Sad to say that he has not improved as a defender.  :'(
Post by: Deeks on February 15, 2021, 03:22:14 PM

pull, why You say so. Did You see play in that game?
Post by: maxg on February 15, 2021, 03:41:26 PM

Can’t be possible, otherwise he would have been out long before. That isn’t I league.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 16, 2021, 03:33:49 PM

Can’t be possible, otherwise he would have been out long before. That isn’t I league.

Definitely not I league defending.
Post by: asylumseeker on February 16, 2021, 03:37:20 PM

Not having played for a long stretch didn't help. Couldn't have helped.
Post by: pull stones on February 17, 2021, 09:26:09 AM

Not having played for a long stretch didn't help. Couldn't have helped.
you missed my point mate. I meant that he hasn’t improved from youth level to the present. I remember when marvin was at youth level he was slated to be the next shaka, the future looked bright in that regard with him and jan exceeding expectations at the youth level,

but as the years rolled by their careers we’re going no where and their development seemed arrested as they attracted no big clubs or interest from a mediocre league in europe, well at least jan did but he refused to impress, same with mikel williams, shadon, Jerrel brito, atulla, corn curls, kendal jagdeosingh, danial cyrus and jovin, in reality only two of our prospective talents really blossomed into top players, Kevin  molino and Kerron Cummings who’s career was short lived due to trinidad envy and green eye f**kery.

My point being these guys did not put in the work. they did not spend anytime at all working hard on their trade studying how to improve their game, and you saw it every time they played how they digressed little by little making silly text book errors with the poor marking, errant passes, getting caught out of position and being totally out play by their counterparts like albert ellis and josey altidore, two mediocre who ran through our defense like a knife through cake, and old man roman torres shutting dow our attackers stashing them in his hip pocket for 90 plus minutes.

which leads me to believe that these trini players only see football as a means to an end and not their first love like other top footballers do, who’s relationship with the game blossom as they continue to work on and cherish their craft over the years turning out some spectacular performances. what can I say, it has been a very disappointing decade and a half after the World Cup which has been a curse instead of a blessing in disguise.
Post by: Flex on April 16, 2021, 05:46:09 PM
T&T players to get match fees in 60 days time.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

A timeframe of between 30 and 60 days has been given for payment of match fees for T&T players, following the recent FIFA World Cup Qualifying matches against Guyana and Puerto Rico on March 25 and March 28 respectively.

T&T defender Sheldon Bateau who plays for KV Mechelen in the Belgian First Division, revealed this amidst ongoing talks between players and coaches to foster better communication within the team, as well as ensure better play on the field. Guardian Media Sports was told that a meeting of the players and coaches was held recently to forge a way forward as a unit, as differences in team philosophies and coach instructions have posed a threat to the team.

Bateau, 30, who is considered a key asset to coach Terry Fenwick's unit said yesterday: "It's not a matter of how the team is playing, but rather the instructions from the coach, because as players we always want to have clear instructions, but it's not easy with the short space of time that we have. So it's nothing major to say that players are unhappy or anything like that."

"Any dissatisfaction we have, we will speak to the staff, it's nothing to put to the public or anything like that, it's just minor things everyone would have with different experiences and different philosophies from different clubs. So it was just minor stuff between players and coach.

We basically just spoke to the coaches before and after the games, on things we can basically improve on. Even yesterday, I made contact with the team doctor to get some feedback on how things went," Bateau explained.

The over-lapping defender who found the nets in the Soca Warriors' 3-0 triumph over Guyana in the Dominican Republic, believes a lot needs to be done if the country is to qualify for the World Cup in Qatar in 2022.

After a win 3-0 and a 1-1 tie against Puerto Rico last month, regional rivals St Kitts/Nevis leads the group (F) with an unblemished record of six points from two games.

T&T are in the second position on four points while the Guyanese are in third on three points. Only the winner of the group will advance to the second round of the qualifiers. T&T will next play the Bahamas on June 5 before a crucial meeting with St Kitts/Nevis three days later on June 8, expectedly at home in T&T.

Meanwhile, despite a promise of match fees before the games (Guyana and Puerto Rico) by the chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee Robert Hadad, the players are yet to receive their payments, Bateau, a graduate of Fatima College has admitted.

The talented defender said while they do not want to put too much pressure on the normalisation committee, they are hoping for payment soon. "We ain't get that as yet, but for the USA game, the players got their monies. So we're looking at a time frame of maybe 30 to 60 days for payment, but we don't want to be too hard on them because we know they have things to sort out, and they definitely understand the cry of the players also, from what we went through in the past," Bateau said.

Post by: Tallman on May 20, 2021, 02:27:08 PM
WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau scores the equalizer in KV Mechelen's 2-2 draw with KV Oostende

https://www.youtube.com/v/9IXt8bDumNY?start=138
Post by: lefty on May 21, 2021, 01:13:14 PM
Bateau have good attacking instincts and does carry ah ball like ah champ, yet I have never noticed our coaches "actively" encouraging him to carry the ball or make those diagonal blindside runs he always score or create chances from, Between Hart and Fenwick he musbe be score about 5 goals with dem kinda runs
Post by: Tallman on June 07, 2021, 04:29:06 PM
WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau reflects on Trinidad and Tobago's early exit from 2022 World Cup qualification

https://www.youtube.com/v/a_-w-dvLHRI
Post by: Flex on June 08, 2021, 07:44:10 AM
T&T defender Bateau reflects on failed World Cup qualifying campaign: Warriors without Pride.
T&T Newsday Reports.

EXPERIENCED T&T central defender Sheldon Bateau has bemoaned the lack of pride within the men’s national football team, as they look to conclude their disastrous 2022 FIFA World Cup Concacaf Zone Group F campaign on Tuesday against group winners St Kitts/Nevis at the Felix Sanchez Stadium, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

This game will kick off at 5 pm (TT time).

The World Cup dream for the Terry Fenwick-coached T&T team ended on Saturday when they were held to a goalless draw by hosts Bahamas at Nassau. With that result, St Kitts/Nevis remained atop the five-team group with a perfect nine points from three games, followed by T&T (five points), Puerto Rico (four points), Guyana (three points) and Bahamas (one point).

Only the group winners (St Kitts/Nevis) will advance to the second round, which will comprise three respective home-and-away matches, featuring the winners of the six first round groups, on June 12 and 15.

In an interview with TT Football Association (TTFA) media officer Shaun Fuentes on Monday, in the team’s hotel in the Dominican Republic, Bateau reflected on the apparent mood within the squad after Saturday’s match.

“My feeling is that it affected the senior guys more than other guys, maybe because they have time to work towards another campaign,” said the 30-year-old. “Maybe I’m wrong in my judgement but that’s the overall feeling I have that, with the senior guys, that’s maybe our last chance.”

He continued, “Where I came from (as a rookie within the squad), we had to train in a white t-shirt and we had to earn our red t-shirt. I think part of the problem is that a lot of the players now just coming into the team and getting a red t-shirt. When it comes so easily, it’s like they don’t appreciate the fact that they’re playing for the national team.

“We’re in a World Cup campaign. So that sense of importance, it’s not really there. It’s almost as if it’s just another game. That’s not the case. With that general feeling, for some players they have more time to bounce back and, for others, it’s a really big disappointment because we’re at the end of our roads.”

Bateau, who plays for KV Mechelen in Belgium, acknowledged that the T&T players will have to accept some blame for their exit from the qualifiers.

“We had a lot of questions before the game, we have even more after the game,” he said. “As players, we need to accept some sort of responsibility for the result. Regardless of the circumstances, we are all professionals. At the end of the day, we had to do better.”

Asked if he ever envisioned seeing T&T eliminated in the first round, Bateau replied, “No way, not so early in the (qualifiers). I honestly believed we would get past Bahamas, with the quality players we have, and then we would go into the game against St Kitts with a fighting chance. It’s really disappointing. We have no excuse.

“I think, nine out of ten times, we would win against them easily,” he added. “We had quite a bit of chances in the game and we had to take those chances. We have some guys that can still continue at the rebuilding phase of the game because that’s where we need to go now. We have the Gold Cup to look forward to and it’s just about taking it one step at a time.”

He called on his teammates to show some pride, in Tuesday’s dead-rubber affair.

“We have to have some sort of pride as players,” said Bateau. “That’s basically it. We’ll go into the game against St Kitts to get three points. The result is not going to change anything and the damage is done, but we have the Gold Cup playoffs to look towards. We’re not sure what’s the solution towards preparing for the (St Kitts/Nevis) game. It’s just to get past the game (on Tuesday). The goal is to give a good showing and salvage some sort of pride.”

Asked how he would motivate himself for the St Kitts/Nevis game, Bateau responded, “To be honest, there (are) so many things against us as players, mentally, physically, financially. Playing for the national team takes a lot out of you. We sacrifice a lot. I’m still looking forward to the game (on Tuesday). It’s still about pride.

“What the future holds, I don’t know. We have a lot to fix. If these things aren’t fixed, it’s difficult to continue under these circumstances. There has to be a silver lining somewhere and we need to get to that point.”

In related news, the trio of Danish-born goalkeeper Nicklas Frenderup, Canadian-born defender Luke Singh and midfielder Jomal Williams will not join the team for Tuesday’s game, as previously announced by the TTFA.

WATCH: Defender Sheldon Bateau reflects on Trinidad and Tobago's early exit from 2022 World Cup qualification (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_-w-dvLHRI)

Watch Levi Garcia : It hurts but we have to keep going (https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=gKRWEHHJ_CE&fbclid=IwAR1hhBG6K4rC6FDKh7L1rg8Smm8I-8eAsZzSLGWFy53Nv61JFn6u6h9UOYU)

Title: Bateau: I will not play until I receive outstanding $$
Post by: Tallman on September 16, 2021, 06:42:39 AM
Bateau: I will not play until I receive outstanding $$
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

The threat of legal action and or players withholding their services, now face the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee of the T&T Football Association, after the country's senior players did not get match fees that were promised to them yesterday.

A Guardian Media Sports report on Wednesday by an anonymous player, was met with agitation as only some players received monies that represented one match only.

The players were expected to receive payment for the World Cup qualifiers against the Bahamas and St Kitts/Nevis, as well as for the CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier against French Guiana, played in Fort Lauderdale, USA in July.

But it seems that the payments registered only with some of the players' bank accounts. It is understood that some players took to social media to vent their frustration, labelling our report as fake news.

However, both goalkeeper Marvin Phillip and defender Sheldon Bateau called a hastily arranged meeting among the senior players and confirmed that only some players were paid.

According to Phillip: "This is what we're trying to understand here now because it looks like the players who are receiving salaries locally and internationally, were not paid anything, so it looks like just a handful of us was paid and for one game that is, and that's the French Guiana game.

Amiel Mohammed, the General Secretary of the TT Football Association contacted me this morning, well he sent a message stating that they're having some technical issues, but normally if you're having technical issues it wouldn't be that much. It had issues before and it was about two or three players."

According to Phillip, payment was actually made to the different banks on Friday.

Following the meeting of the players, Bateau who plays for Mechelen in Belgium said he will not play until he gets his money: "We're at a point now where you can only ask so many times. When you look at what's happening in the world today it's a job, it's a business, and the whole idea of football being a sport, it's time we move away from that. Nobody wants to have that open discussion.

That's a discussion we need to have with the local guys because the foreign guys would be in a different situation to the local guys, we could only suggest what actions they can take. I personally would not play any games without receiving the outstanding money, but everyone is in a different situation, but that's something I would suggest."

Bateau, 30, a graduate of Fatima College, is not expected to stand alone in his stance, as he said other players may take legal action. Phillip said he will continue his battle for promised payments but noted that other senior players are considering their next step.

By virtue of not playing in the Gold Cup, Bateau will not be paid for that tournament but he was expected to have been paid for the World Cup qualifiers. Payment for the World Cup qualifiers was expected to come within 60 days and for the Gold Cup, 30 days.

Guardian Media Sports reached out to Robert Hadad, chairman of the normalisation committee and Mohammed, both via a Whatsapp message but got no responses.

Meanwhile, Phillip, 37, and who made his national debut 14 years ago, explained that it is the treatment dished out to him and his players that upsets them.

"It's the disrespect and lies we cannot take, we're fed up with that now because it was a promise. Since last week Monday you promised everything will be dealt with by Wednesday, today is the following Wednesday. They even said on Friday that both games were paid to whatever bank we're with. They said it would hit the account Monday, but if the World Cup qualifiers were paid on Friday then why it's only the French Guiana payment showed up in certain accounts on Monday," Phillip concluded.
Post by: Deeks on September 16, 2021, 10:44:00 AM
 >:( ??? :cursing: :banginghead:
Post by: socalion on September 16, 2021, 03:46:32 PM
Can someone explain why is it  the People given the responsibility to take charge of our football  ( namely the normalisation committee ) continue to treat our players so disrespectfully ! Seriously it's beyond ridiculous at this stage .... I'm not sure disgust can be used to describe  the current situation ! When will the madness stop?
Post by: Tallman on September 20, 2021, 11:25:28 AM
WATCH: Sheldon Bateau's long range pass sets up KV Mechelen's second goal in their 2-0 win over OH Leuven.

https://www.youtube.com/v/Eu4akjcGqZw?start=77
Post by: Tallman on January 09, 2022, 11:55:55 AM
Defender Sheldon Bateau has signed a two and a half year contract with Turkish 1. Lig club, Samsunspor Kulübü Derneği.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIraJjnWYAwth0g?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIraKv3XIAE9jRg?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIraLvfXwAkW-WB?format=jpg&name=large)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FIraMk3XwAYR-eZ?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 10, 2022, 02:16:32 AM
Lehwe see who paying attention:

Another NT player and former Fatima College baller played at Samsunspor. Name the player.

To draw a 'VB' --- Tallman to the rescue only after (a) a couple posters have weighed in or (b) the clock has ticked sufficiently on getting a credible response.

I could have dragged out the question by providing the Fatima hint later, but there it is. Go for it. :beermug:
Post by: maxg on January 10, 2022, 11:12:13 AM

Another NT player and former Fatima College baller played at Samsunspor. Name the player.

To draw a 'VB' --- Tallman to the rescue only after (a) a couple posters have weighed in or (b) the clock has ticked sufficiently on getting a credible response.

I could have dragged out the question by providing the Fatima hint later, but there it is. Go for it. :beermug:
the DR ?
add: easy search doh   :laugh:
Post by: asylumseeker on January 10, 2022, 01:47:16 PM

the DR ?

Yuh eh call no name. Like yuh hedging.
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 10, 2022, 07:20:22 PM

Cyah really name too many of us who play in Turkey, so I'll assume Darryl Roberts without checking.
Post by: maxg on January 10, 2022, 10:33:43 PM

the DR ?

the Darryl Roberts. I guess there was another DR in the house. I didn't know myself till I checked. Another easy to find.  Don't know if he went Fatima doh.

(https://www.ttfootballhistory.com/files/images/1963-maplechampions.jpg)
1963 FA Champions
Back Row: Ronnie Woods, Dick Rodriguez, Sedley Joseph, Lincoln Phillips, Kelvin Hoford, Eddie Aleong
Front Row: Andy Aleong, Alvin Corneal, David McDeegan, Joey Donaldson, Rawle Boland.

https://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/3353
Post by: asylumseeker on January 11, 2022, 05:26:03 AM

Cyah really name too many of us who play in Turkey, so I'll assume Darryl Roberts without checking.

TM, how many names yuh have with a Turkey tour?

Dinner Mints: Correct!
Post by: asylumseeker on January 11, 2022, 05:29:36 AM

the DR ?

If a prize was on the line, yuh woulda get pipped for coasting. ::)
Post by: asylumseeker on January 11, 2022, 05:36:50 AM

the DR ?

the Darryl Roberts. I guess there was another DR in the house. I didn't know myself till I checked. Another easy to find.  Don't know if he went Fatima doh.

1963 FA Champions
Back Row: Ronnie Woods, Dick Rodriguez, Sedley Joseph, Lincoln Phillips, Kelvin Hoford, Eddie Aleong
Front Row: Andy Aleong, Alvin Corneal, David McDeegan, Joey Donaldson, Rawle Boland.

At least yuh know where he didn't go.  :devil:
Post by: maxg on January 11, 2022, 12:41:12 PM

the DR ?

1963 FA Champions

At least yuh know where he didn't go.  :devil:
So for a Historical enlightenment and a Knowledge prize of Fringe players in a team game..(we tend only to focus on the stars and not the rest of the universe). Where did Dick Rodriguez go to school ? (hard search - might have to consult a family member or past living teammate, before it's lost.)
ps: Sorry for thread Hijack, Tman will return it without ransom, i'm sure.

pss: Look this from Linc book.. Yuh know yuh old as sc**t when you play with or against more than 15 of  the players listed. I should add, all of the play i refer to, wasn't in TT. and weren't all TTians. As for Deeks , he must be over 100     :rotfl: :rotfl:   
https://books.google.ca/books?id=yFo6AwAAQBAJ&pg=PA197&lpg=PA197&dq=%22Trinidad%22%2B%22Dick+Rodriguez%22&source=bl&ots=ko__MdoaNY&sig=ACfU3U0FD5JQxmCLnZSNXw1ulowuEYootA&hl=en&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwi4zK6srar1AhXZl4kEHfeJCzIQ6AF6BAgDEAM#v=onepage&q=%22Trinidad%22%2B%22Dick%20Rodriguez%22&f=false
Post by: asylumseeker on January 16, 2022, 06:34:44 AM
Bateau included in the starting lineup for the match versus Balikesirspor. Kick-off at 9:00am T&T time.

This link may not be available outside of Turkey, but give it a shot.

https://www.trtizle.com/canli/tv/trt-spor
Post by: asylumseeker on January 23, 2022, 08:57:36 AM
Had his second consecutive start on Friday. Two clean sheets. 2-0 and 3-0 victories.
Post by: Bourbon on April 28, 2022, 07:32:23 AM
Trifactor Podcast had the privilige to sit with Sheldon Bateau recently and it was real vibes. Long too. So here's part one where we discuss his early career and his decision to go pro.

https://www.youtube.com/v/aND0ENHiLTY

Share it...Like it...Subscribe.
Post by: Bourbon on May 06, 2022, 06:59:13 AM
Part 2 of Trifactor Podcast's Interview with Sheldon Bateau. We discuss some of the challenges faced during his pro career and how HE took matters into his hands to change it.

https://www.youtube.com/v/gu-6M89CHfg
Post by: Bourbon on May 12, 2022, 06:33:39 PM
Part 3 up now:
https://www.youtube.com/v/H703CQtfQt8
Post by: Tallman on August 12, 2022, 09:44:37 AM
Defender Sheldon Bateau joins Belgian First Division B club Sportkring Beveren on loan from Samsunspor.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZ9-5dFXEAAlvXy?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: Peong on August 14, 2022, 07:22:14 AM
What kinda designation is First Division B? I had to check, it is the 2nd tier. I wish him good luck and I hope to see some highlights
Post by: Tallman on July 21, 2023, 08:25:08 AM
Sheldon Bateau joins SK Beveren on a permanent transfer
skbeveren.be

SK Beveren has reached an agreement with Sheldon Bateau (32) for an extended stay. The experienced defender will be seen at the Freethiel for the next two seasons.

Sheldon Bateau was discovered by Belgian side KV Mechelen in his home country of Trinidad and Tobago. Mechelen brought him to Europe in 2012. The defender was under contract with Mechelen for two periods. He played a total of 128 times for Malinwa . In between, he was active for Samara, Almaty, and Sarpsborg. In early 2022, the experienced defender made the move to Turkish club Samsunspor, who loaned him to SKB for one season.

In 2023-2024, Sheldon Bateau was a very important member of the Beveren defense, he made a significant contribution to goalkeeper Reus' eleven clean sheets. SKB is therefore delighted to continue relying on the defender.

Sporting Director Tom Van den Abbeele :

Our leader in defense is back in full force! Sheldon has signed a contract that binds him to SK Beveren for the next 2 seasons. We will greatly benefit from his experience and leadership in achieving our objectives. He will join the training camp immediately. Welcome back!”

CEO Antoine Gobin :

“Sheldon was one of our leaders on and off the pitch last year. He was part of the key to stability, to serenity in the backline.

The moment the season finished, we said to each other that we would do everything to get him back to Beveren to help us accomplish what we weren't able to last year.

Sheldon had once again the honor of representing his country in the Gold Cup, and after well-deserved rest with his family we're thrilled he's joined us for the core part of our preparation.

Welcome back home Sheldon!”

We wish Sheldon a lot of success with his extended stay at our club!
Post by: lefty on July 21, 2023, 01:00:29 PM
Shame that we have seen this dude score and assist from defense to attack raids and never sort to make it a consistent thing he does or move him into defensive midfield as a box to box option, we don't really have a proper ball carrier from deep otherwise
Post by: asylumseeker on July 22, 2023, 08:46:08 AM
Shame that we have seen this dude score and assist from defense to attack raids and never sort to make it a consistent thing he does or move him into defensive midfield as a box to box option, we don't really have a proper ball carrier from deep otherwise

Endangered species sighting! What's this? Ancient history?
Post by: Tallman on August 18, 2023, 07:50:20 PM
New captain Sheldon Bateau must lead SK Beveren to promotion
By Wim Houttequiet (Gazet van Antwerpen)

Sheldon Bateau (32) is the new captain of SK Beveren. The brand new captain must guide the yellow-blue ship towards promotion this year. The 32-year-old defender talks about his return to the Freethiel, his new role within the team, the slow start to the season and the ambitions of the team. “Everyone expects a lot from us”, Bateau says.

Well begun is half done goes the saying. But just like last season, Beveren has start off slowly. Last year, yellow-blue recovered after a lesser start to eventually remain in the title race for a long time. Nothing is yet decided, although it has to be much better if the club wants to take another shot at promotion this year. “It was not the start we expected”, says Sheldon Bateau, the new captain this season. “The balance in the team is not quite right yet. It is now up to us to show a positive response, especially for our own fans. Last year we only lost once in the league at home. We want to continue being strong at home this season.”

Ambitions and expectations are again high in the Waasland, even though many players left in the summer. “Expectations are indeed very high”, says Bateau, who predicts a difficult season due to last season's good performances. “Everyone expects us to be at the top of the standings and the pressure from the supporters has increased. It is very understandable after last season. But this is a new season with new players. We'll need some time to get to grips with each other. Hopefully we will pick up enough points in that period. Is there sufficient quality? You can never have enough quality in the quest to be champion. So extra quality is always welcome.”

Fresh courage
The disappointment on missing out on the title last season has now made way for fresh courage. “It still hurts. It was one of the most difficult moments of my playing career,” he recalls. “But we shouldn't hold on to past setbacks. That won't help us this season. The goal is to finish in the top three. And hopefully we can uncork the champagne at the end of the season.”

Natural leader
Bateau was installed as the new captain at the beginning of this season, a role that is made for him. “It is a responsibility that I gladly accept,” says Bateau. “I am used to motivating a group. That's something very natural to me, it's not forced. In this group I also get a lot of respect from everyone and I have a good relationship with all the players.”

After a successful loan period, Bateau signed permanently in the Waasland this summer, although his arrival was delayed. “I had an agreement with Beveren very quickly, but I still had to make a deal with Samsunspor”, Bateau clarifies his transfer from the Turkish team. “We had to find an agreement financially. I am very happy to be back in Beveren. Physically it is getting better and better every day. I am very happy here both on and off the field.”

Family
Bateau feels like a fish in water in Belgium, even though his family resides in his home country of Trinidad and Tobago. “Stability is very important to me and my family,” he explains why he chose Beveren again. “My son goes to school in Trinidad and Tobago. Because I moved around a lot, they never came over. We have been doing this for several years now and are gradually getting used to it. Although it's not always easy for my girlfriend and me. We are looking for a good solution and who knows, maybe they will come to Belgium. We have yet to look at that option.”
Post by: Tallman on October 23, 2023, 08:01:59 PM
Defender Sheldon Bateau opens his account for the season with a close-range finish off a corner to open the scoring in SK Beveren's 3-0 win over Club NXT.

https://www.youtube.com/v/C8Xhdj6ItNQ?start=45
Post by: frico on October 25, 2023, 12:03:24 PM
I hope we will have him and the others from overseas for the matches against USA,hope,hope and hope.
Post by: Tallman on November 13, 2023, 09:36:58 PM
Sheldon Bateau's header in stoppage time sparks SK Beveren's 2-2 come-from-behind draw against Lommel SK.
https://www.youtube.com/v/gmW70T3S0IA?start=301
Post by: Tallman on February 26, 2024, 03:23:36 PM
A stoppage time header by Sheldon Bateau salvaged a point for SK Beveren with a 2-2 draw against KMSK Deinze.

https://www.youtube.com/v/391TKmmO1jY?start=324