General => General Discussion => Topic started by: frico on March 03, 2011, 04:25:58 PM

Title: Libyan Rebels.
Post by: frico on March 03, 2011, 04:25:58 PM
So the world is supporting the rebels in Libya and now they want to charge Gadafi with human atrocities,I find it strange that it took these Europeans years to get Milosovic to the Hague and his atrocities were way,way above Gadafi's.Gadafi is fighting a war against armed civilians in case people didn't notice,do they expect him to fight them with water cannons,from what I see they look like soldiers.This is the same Gadafi that Blair and the rest was hugging up just a few months ago.This seems like hypocricy to me,Mubarak carried on for 30 years and not a sound from them.
Title: Re: Libyan Rebels.
Post by: Deeks on March 03, 2011, 05:10:50 PM
The end of the rope for Moamar.
Post by: frico on March 03, 2011, 06:42:01 PM
Its more to do with oil than Moamar matey.
Post by: Deeks on March 03, 2011, 08:19:35 PM
Its more to do with oil than Moamar matey.

Are we surprised by that. Oil is always in the mix.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on March 05, 2011, 06:30:39 AM
Frico join d

I dont understand link.....
Post by: Dutty on March 18, 2011, 07:45:08 AM
WAR

susan rice wear ah impressive green suit to make she 'case' for no fly zone
colin powell wear ah nice suit to make he 'case' for WMD
ergo
black people in nice suits are warmongers
Post by: weary1969 on March 18, 2011, 08:34:25 AM
WAR

ergo

Title: Operation Odyssey Dawn has started. Libya under attack !
Post by: davyjenny1 on March 19, 2011, 09:45:59 PM
Operation Odyssey Dawn. Launches Military Strikes In Libya. This is only the first phase with several more to come in the days ahead according to CNN

http://andrewsullivan.theatlantic.com/the_daily_dish/2011/03/operation-odyssey-dawn-everyones-just-waiting-.html
Title: Re: Operation Odyssey Dawn has started. Libya under attack !
Post by: zuluwarrior on March 19, 2011, 10:31:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/aljazeeraenglish?feature=ticker

here ah ring side seat .
Post by: kaliman2006 on March 20, 2011, 09:35:13 AM
Things are going to become more volatile as the war intensifies.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/story/2011/03/19/libya-attack-world-reaction.html

This campaign is already being condemned by other influential political actors.

:-\
Post by: kounty on March 20, 2011, 01:41:53 PM

thanks for this kaliman cuz I was just losing hope in this planet. No fly over libya 24 hrs coverage on cnn.  Yes-Fly-zone over pakistan and afghanistan, fire rockets into scores of people - guilty by association.  Same ting in Gaza last year right? Flawless intelligence, execute them fellas one time. maybe a paragraph or two in the news. i mean, what is the standard really? any truth and right? any hope? any righteousness? any love? what should I tell my children? any God? anybody who believe in God?
Post by: Bakes on March 20, 2011, 07:46:56 PM

Other "influential political actors" like who... these jokers?

Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Jiang Yu said China "consistently disagrees with the use of force in international relations" and expressed "regret" over the Saturday attacks.

China only disagrees with the use of force when such use of force is disagreeable to its own interest.  It damn sure didn't disagree with the use of force against protesters in Tianamen Sq. and in "international relations" it didn't disagree with the use of force against Taiwan, in the Korean peninsula and in sending MIGs to shoot down a Korean Air Liner that happened to stray into its airspace.

or...

maybe yuh talking about Chavez... who supported FARC's use of force in Columbia.  Or maybe yuh mean Russia, who supported use of force in Afghanistan for years and three years ago invaded neighboring Georgia.

thanks for this kaliman cuz I was just losing hope in this planet. No fly over libya 24 hrs coverage on cnn.  Yes-Fly-zone over pakistan and afghanistan, fire rockets into scores of people - guilty by association.  Same ting in Gaza last year right? Flawless intelligence, execute them fellas one time. maybe a paragraph or two in the news. i mean, what is the standard really? any truth and right? any hope? any righteousness? any love? what should I tell my children? any God? anybody who believe in God?

Exactly what you complaining about?  In enforcing a no-fly zone they bombing Libyan military institutions, they not killing people indiscriminately.  What that have to do with what going on in Pakistan?  Even if yuh want to argue that Americans killing innocent Pakistanis, at least we could say these are accidental (or even fuh argument's sake... careless) deaths.  Ghadaffi DELIBERATELY killing innocent people.  You really complaining that the world should bury its head in the sand and not do anything about it?  Allyuh men can't be serious.
Post by: kounty on March 20, 2011, 09:38:26 PM
well have fun livin in that bubble eh sir.  I know is too much cognitive conflict for you to wrap yuh brain around your beloved country doing wrong. Cruise missile strikes and no civilians dead? google eh partner. I myself thought the libyan military was fighting a civil war against an armed faction in the country...maybe you have some info to the contrary.
Post by: Bakes on March 20, 2011, 09:49:05 PM
well have fun livin in that bubble eh sir.  I know is too much cognitive conflict for you to wrap yuh brain around your beloved country doing wrong. Cruise missile strikes and no civilians dead? google eh partner. I myself thought the libyan military was fighting a civil war against an armed faction in the country...maybe you have some info to the contrary.

Well yuh know what they say... thought make ah man shit all over he keyboard.  Yuh juss crawl out yuh hole or what... yuh miss de part where Ghaddafi's troops opened fire on peaceful unarmed protesters to set off de "civil war" or what?  If people can't peacefully gather to protest injustices without foreign mercenaries hired by their "beloved" leader killing them... what yuh want them to do, pull ah Tianamen Sq. and lie dong in front ah tanks?  After a while you have to pick up arms and fight back for your rights.  As the saying goes, better to die on yuh feet than to live on yuh knees. 

But doh study dat... dat might be too much "cognitive conflict" fuh your overmatched brain to contemplate.
Post by: ribbit on March 21, 2011, 09:25:37 AM

Other "influential political actors" like who... these jokers?

Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Jiang Yu said China "consistently disagrees with the use of force in international relations" and expressed "regret" over the Saturday attacks.

China only disagrees with the use of force when such use of force is disagreeable to its own interest.  It damn sure didn't disagree with the use of force against protesters in Tianamen Sq. and in "international relations" it didn't disagree with the use of force against Taiwan, in the Korean peninsula and in sending MIGs to shoot down a Korean Air Liner that happened to stray into its airspace.

yuh realize yuh answer yur own question here.

WAR

ergo

in this case, it might be WOMEN in nice suits - clinton and rice are de hawks pushing for air strikes.
Post by: kaliman2006 on March 21, 2011, 10:15:10 AM
While I respect that the American and European interests would like to see democracy prevail in Libya, I think that the decision to launch a military offensive against the Libyan state is premature and very dangerous. It would have been better for them to request direct talks with Gaddafi and to try to push emergency elections since there is a significant segment of the Libyan citizenry that is dissatisfied with Gaddafi's rule.

Invading a country, presumably to oust its ruler (I am not even sure what the military objectives of the European and American forces are), amounts to nothing more than a state-sanctioned coup d'etat.

I am not sure if this is a policy that should become the norm in the internaitonal political sphere.
Post by: Bakes on March 21, 2011, 10:44:35 AM
While I respect that the American and European interests would like to see democracy prevail in Libya, I think that the decision to launch a military offensive against the Libyan state is premature and very dangerous. It would have been better for them to request direct talks with Gaddafi and to try to push emergency elections since there is a significant segment of the Libyan citizenry that is dissatisfied with Gaddafi's rule.

Invading a country, presumably to oust its ruler (I am not even sure what the military objectives of the European and American forces are), amounts to nothing more than a state-sanctioned coup d'etat.

I am not sure if this is a policy that should become the norm in the internaitonal political sphere.

The "invasion" is to enforce the UN authorized no-fly zone.  Ghadaffi was strafing the protesters so if you negate the air abilities (which the protesters don't have) you even the playing field.  In order to do so however you have to take out the Libyan SAM capacity... hence the bombing.  There are no foreign troops on the ground (except for Ghadaffi's South African mercenaries... how come nobody talking about that?) so this is not an "invasion".
Post by: kaliman2006 on March 21, 2011, 11:00:34 AM

The "invasion" is to enforce the UN authorized no-fly zone.  Ghadaffi was strafing the protesters so if you negate the air abilities (which the protesters don't have) you even the playing field.  In order to do so however you have to take out the Libyan SAM capacity... hence the bombing.  There are no foreign troops on the ground (except for Ghadaffi's South African mercenaries... how come nobody talking about that?) so this is not an "invasion".

Fair enough
Post by: Dutty on March 21, 2011, 11:27:07 AM

I thought that mercenary myth get debunked long time

As for no foreign troops on the ground
http://greysguns.blogspot.com/2011/03/british-sas-soldiers-captured-by-libyan.html (http://greysguns.blogspot.com/2011/03/british-sas-soldiers-captured-by-libyan.html)
and if yuh think dem is the only fellahs dey..yuh dreamin

This is a really sticky situation because there is no defined conclusion...obama say get rid of de man...he military chief of staff dais not what de mission is..

if only rwanda had oil eh
Post by: E-man on March 21, 2011, 11:34:56 AM

http://greysguns.blogspot.com/2011/03/british-sas-soldiers-captured-by-libyan.html (http://greysguns.blogspot.com/2011/03/british-sas-soldiers-captured-by-libyan.html)

The comments below point out those pictures are from 2005 in Basra, Iraq and not current. It's a fake story.

Post by: Dutty on March 21, 2011, 11:46:44 AM

The comments below point out those pictures are from 2005 in Basra, Iraq and not current. It's a fake story.

:-[

http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2011/03/07/uk-special-forces-flounder-in-libya/ (http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2011/03/07/uk-special-forces-flounder-in-libya/)
Post by: Bakes on March 21, 2011, 07:18:48 PM

:-[

http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2011/03/07/uk-special-forces-flounder-in-libya/ (http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2011/03/07/uk-special-forces-flounder-in-libya/)

Amazing the lengths allyuh men does go thru yes...

William Hague, the [UK]  foreign secretary, approved the botched plan to send a team of armed diplomats and SAS [Special Air Service] soldiers into eastern Libya in an effort to build diplomatic contacts with anti-Gaddafi rebels.

If you want to make the argument that these "armed diplomats and SAS soldiers" were invading Libya be my guest.  I'm also curious to know when the mercenary "myth (http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/feb/22/gaddafi-mercenary-force-libyal)" get debunked.
Post by: Dutty on March 22, 2011, 11:10:04 AM
If you want to make the argument that these "armed diplomats and SAS soldiers" were invading Libya be my guest.  I'm also curious to know when the mercenary "myth (http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/feb/22/gaddafi-mercenary-force-libyal)" get debunked.

Lol @ armed diplomats behind lines trying to build contacts…just like dat fellah who kill de two pakistani in pakistan was listed as a "diplomat"

It's amazing, despite your lovely rose coloured glasses you continue to see things in black and white
Btw linky no worky
Post by: ribbit on March 22, 2011, 12:20:03 PM
Btw linky no worky

this look like the link:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/feb/22/gaddafi-mercenary-force-libya

mind yuh, when uncle sam pulling all dem poor-as-dirt mexicans and central americans into de military is ok.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 22, 2011, 12:41:36 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/Jwt5K4KGnkk

http://www.youtube.com/v/rw3UcJ0L-w4
Post by: Dutty on March 22, 2011, 01:19:13 PM
Btw linky no worky

this look like the link:

mind yuh, when uncle sam pulling all dem poor-as-dirt mexicans and central americans into de military is ok.

you like to chook fire eh? lawd

either way I keep  hearing conflicting reports about sub saharan africans who just dey fuh regular labour wukk gettin guns placed in they hands and news people callin them mercenaries
Plenty men from ghana get attacked some killed because of those reports....at least dais what dem poor fellahs in refugee camps sayin when interviewed
who knows they could all be bloodthirsty rambo type killers
Post by: kounty on March 22, 2011, 01:27:51 PM
 slight slip up on another front (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-12822493) or is it slip-up... my mistake.
Post by: Bakes on March 22, 2011, 02:38:46 PM
Lol @ armed diplomats behind lines trying to build contacts…just like dat fellah who kill de two pakistani in pakistan was listed as a "diplomat"

It's amazing, despite your lovely rose coloured glasses you continue to see things in black and white
Btw linky no worky

It would be silly and suicidal given the current anarchic state for anybody to go into Libya without security/protection.  Just do a search on the 4 New York Times journalist held in captivity for over a week and it should be plain as day for any rational person to understand the need to be armed.

I see you conveniently harping now on the fact that they were armed and ignoring the fact that there was only 8 of them.  Even if you want to argue that they weren't any diplomats among them, it really strains the bounds of credulity to suggest that they were part of any "invasion".  So first it was "foreign troops captured in Libya", that was proved false... yuh den do a quick google and find a next link about 8 foreigners and yuh basing yuh "invasion" argument on that.

We still waiting on yuh "mercenaries myth get debunked" info... no amount ah "glasses" talk could detract from the fact that yuh yet to substantiate the shit yuh talking.

this look like the link:

You on the other hand never make any kinda sense, so this line of reasoning is no surprise.  Foreigners serving in the US military wear uniforms and serve as part of the established chain of command, and they all speak English.  The foreigners in Libya are not part of the loyalist army, speaking french and appear to be acting autonomous, giving rise to the belief among the locals that they are hired guns.  Reasoning was never your strong suit, so this kinda jackass talk is fully to be expected.
Post by: Dutty on March 22, 2011, 03:04:34 PM
It would be silly and suicidal given the current anarchic state for anybody to go into Libya without security/protection.  Just do a search on the 4 New York Times journalist held in captivity for over a week and it should be plain as day for any rational person to understand the need to be armed.

I see you conveniently harping now on the fact that they were armed and ignoring the fact that there was only 8 of them.  Even if you want to argue that they weren't any diplomats among them, it really strains the bounds of credulity to suggest that they were part of any "invasion".  So first it was "foreign troops captured in Libya", that was proved false... yuh den do a quick google and find a next link about 8 foreigners and yuh basing yuh "invasion" argument on that.

We still waiting on yuh "mercenaries myth get debunked" info... no amount ah "glasses" talk could detract from the fact that yuh yet to substantiate the shit yuh talking.

Ok you deserve a promotion...yuh elevate yuh rank,,, ah cyah call you just...... Captain America no more..you get promoted to Major Argument.. keep yuh uniform crisp

yes, the pictures were false....but both links alluded to the same story..fact is you said there were no troops on the ground..reality is there were/are and not just them fellahs but more
nobody go send an entire battalion in the early stages...but stay tuned

second...I could google up a bag of articles saying the black mercenary stories are false.
it wouldnt prove anything other than,,nobody actually knows (well except you of course) what the truth is as the place is in chaos at this point.

the 'information' comming out of there is like the info when the iraq war first started....all kinda falsehoods reported in the mainstream press.

Post by: Bakes on March 22, 2011, 03:39:10 PM

Ok you deserve a promotion...yuh elevate yuh rank,,, ah cyah call you just...... Captain America no more..you get promoted to Major Argument.. keep yuh uniform crisp

yes, the pictures were false....but both links alluded to the same story..fact is you said there were no troops on the ground..reality is there were/are and not just them fellahs but more
nobody go send an entire battalion in the early stages...but stay tuned

second...I could google up a bag of articles saying the black mercenary stories are false.
it wouldnt prove anything other than,,nobody actually knows (well except you of course) what the truth is as the place is in chaos at this point.

the 'information' comming out of there is like the info when the iraq war first started....all kinda falsehoods reported in the mainstream press.

If the "Captain America" and "Major Argument" talk supposed to get a rise outta me yuh wasting yuh time.  Ah surprise yuh eh accuse mih of being Captain UK and Captain France too.  Is the UN authorize the military action, not the US... but nah, I'z ah rabid warmongering patriot.

You jump in the talk with yuh "links"  and "myth" talk and I refute yuh nonsense so now yuh trying to make this about me looking fuh "argument" I guess.  Fact is I said there were no troops on the ground in specific response to Kaliman saying that people invading Libya to overthrow its leader.  I guess they invading Libya 8 "troops" at a time.

You and Kounty woulda prefer that the world sit idly by and watch Ghaddafi continue to slaughter the protesters... or better yet, protesters shoulda just siddung dey and take bullet and not fight back, ent?
Post by: Daft Trini on March 22, 2011, 04:58:27 PM
Had to go to a military base today... many soldiers I spoke to are against the strike.
Post by: Dutty on March 22, 2011, 05:03:26 PM

You and Kounty woulda prefer that the world sit idly by and watch Ghaddafi continue to slaughter the protesters... or better yet, protesters shoulda just siddung dey and take bullet and not fight back, ent?

Yes Major  :salute:  that would be my preference ::)
Post by: Daft Trini on March 22, 2011, 05:31:13 PM
It is from my experience, when a Prez says he will not commit troops, they always send "contractors"

For instance in Iraq troops are being withdrawn but "civilian contractors" are still there.

Pray for Obama... Press Sec for WH and State Department were overwhelmed by the myriad of questions reporters had for them today... no one had a straight answer to the reporters questions.
Post by: Bakes on March 23, 2011, 07:17:08 AM
Yes Major  :salute:  that would be my preference ::)

A simple "I admit, I was wrong" would suffice.

Look the imperial crusader bastards send two more fellas tuh invade Libya... dai'z what 10 now?

Marines Face Questions About Rescue of Officers in Libya

By ELISABETH BUMILLER

WASHINGTON — An American pilot and a weapons officer were safely rescued in Libya on Tuesday after their warplane crashed near Benghazi, but the United States Marine Corps dropped two 500-pound bombs during the recovery and faced questions about whether Marines had fired on villagers.

In an episode that reflected the unpredictability of an air campaign designed to keep American troops off the ground, the United States military said that an equipment malfunction rather than enemy fire brought down the plane. A Marine Corps officer in the Mediterranean strongly denied that any shots were fired at civilians during the rescue, but Marine Corps officers at the Pentagon said they did not know what happened or whether any civilians were killed or injured when the bombs exploded.

United States military officials said the pilot was recovered by a Marine rescue team and was now aboard an American ship in the Mediterranean, the Kearsarge. The weapons officer was found on the ground by “the people of Libya,” said Adm. Samuel J. Locklear III, the tactical commander of the United States-led effort in the country. At a Pentagon briefing, Admiral Locklear did not describe them as rebels but made clear that they were not forces loyal to Col. Muammar el-Qaddafi.

Admiral Locklear said the people treated the weapons officer “with dignity and respect.” The officer is now in American custody, but the admiral declined to say more.

United States military officers said the plane took off from Aviano Air Base in northeastern Italy late Monday on an airstrike mission to Libya. At some point over Benghazi, the jet experienced what military officials called an “equipment malfunction,” and at about 11:30 p.m. local time on Monday (about 5:30 p.m. Eastern time on Monday), both the pilot and the weapons officer ejected.

Their parachutes opened but landed them some distance apart near Benghazi, the military said. Although details remained murky on Tuesday, the Marine Corps said a rescue team that took off from the Kearsarge quickly located the pilot.

A Marine Corps officer said that the grounded pilot, who was in contact with rescue crews in the air, asked for bombs to be dropped as a precaution before the crews landed to pick him up. “My understanding is he asked for the ordnance to be delivered between where he was located and where he saw people coming toward him,” the officer said, adding that the pilot evidently made the request “to keep what he thought was a force closing in on him from closing in on him.”

In response, two Harrier attack jets that were part of the rescue team dropped two 500-pound bombs before a Marine Osprey helicopter landed to pick up the pilot, at about 1:30 a.m. Tuesday local time. The Marine officer said he did not know if the people approaching the pilot were friendly or hostile or what damage the bombs had caused.

Channel 4 News in Britain reported that six villagers were shot by American troops in rescuing one of the two airmen. None of the villagers — who were interviewed by a reporter in a nearby hospital — were killed, although a small boy may need to have a leg amputated.

“No shots were fired,” said Capt. Richard Ulsh, a Marine spokesman aboard the Kearsarge. “The Osprey is not armed, and the Marines barely got off the aircraft. I was in the landing center the whole time, where we were monitoring what was going on, and firing was never reported.”

Neither he nor other Marine officials said specifically whether any shots were fired from the Harrier attack jets.

The military is investigating.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/23/world/africa/23plane.html
Post by: Dutty on March 23, 2011, 09:14:29 AM
A simple "I admit, I was wrong" would suffice.

Ohh..another promotion for you sir(http://www.thesmilies.com/smilies/military/drillsergeant.gif)

Major Argument(http://www.thesmilies.com/smilies/military/officer4.gif) to General Opposition(http://www.thesmilies.com/smilies/military/officer7.gif)

YOU encouraging  someone to "admit they were wrong" is so full of irony it's laughably heavy…you reallly should take that act on the road
BUT if you keep holding these grudges dey might demote yuh to PETTY officer

Nevertheless, General  :salute:..I forget,what am I wrong about again?

Western Soldiers on the ground in Libya?

Active African Mercenary death squads?

Humanitarian Hypocrisy missions?

The Saudi Justice system and its troops?

Marvin Oliver does smoke weed?

Only "spear chuckers" don’t stand for the american anthem?

An F-16 has propellers?

The definition of invasion?

A small maxi can hold 18 people comfortably?

People of nations with no oil are not worth defending?

King Gustaf of Sweden always wore gold cufflinks?

If you could just highlight the ones you want an admission of error for, or perhaps underscore all of them I would  be happy to grant your request :salute: :salute:
Post by: ribbit on March 23, 2011, 11:48:05 AM
looks like this coalition going sideways. obuma might well win gold medal when it come to reading other people words off a teleprompter but he FAIL when it come to leadership.
Post by: Bakes on March 26, 2011, 10:24:15 AM
More imperialist yankee crusader propaganda no doubt...

March 26, 2011

Libyan Woman Struggles to Tell Media of Her Rape

By DAVID D. KIRKPATRICK

TRIPOLI, Libya — A Libyan woman burst into the hotel housing the foreign press in Tripoli on Saturday morning in an attempt to tell journalists that she had been raped and beaten by members of Col. Muammar el-Qaddafi’s militia. After struggling for nearly an hour to resist removal by Colonel Qaddafi’s security forces, she was dragged away from the hotel screaming.

“They say that we are all Libyans and we are one people,” said the woman, who gave her name as Eman al-Obeidy, barging in during breakfast at the hotel dining room. “But look at what the Qaddafi men did to me.” She displayed a broad bruise on her face, a large scar on her upper thigh, several narrow and deep scratch marks lower on her leg, and marks that seemed to come from binding around her hands and feet.

She said she had been raped by 15 men. “I was tied up, and they defecated and urinated on me,” she said. “They violated my honor.”

She pleaded for friends she said were still in custody. “They are still there, they are still there,” she said. “As soon as I leave here, they are going to take me to jail.”

For the members of the foreign news media here at the invitation of the government of Colonel Qaddafi — and largely confined to the Rixos Hotel except for official outings — the episode was a reminder of the brutality of the Libyan government and the presence of its security forces even among the hotel staff. People in hotel uniforms, who just hours before had been serving coffee and clearing plates, grabbed table knives and rushed to physically restrain the woman and to hold back the journalists.

Ms. Obeidy said she was a native of the rebel stronghold of Benghazi who had been stopped by Qaddafi militia on the outskirts of Tripoli. After being held for about two days, she said, she had managed to escape. Wearing a black robe, a veil and slippers, she ran into the Rixos Hotel here, asking specifically to speak to the news service Reuters and The New York Times. “There is no media coverage outside,” she yelled at one point.

“They swore at me and they filmed me. I was alone. There was whiskey. I was tied up,” she told Michael Georgy of Reuters, the only journalist who was able to speak with her briefly. “I am not scared of anything. I will be locked up immediately after this.” She added: “Look at my face. Look at my back.” Her other comments were captured by television cameras.

A wild scuffle began (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/libya/8408506/Fight-as-woman-dragged-from-press-by-Gaddafi-forces.html) as journalists tried to interview, photograph and protect her. Several journalists were punched, kicked and knocked on the floor by the security forces , working in tandem with people who until then had appeared to be members of the hotel staff. A television camera belonging to CNN was destroyed in the struggle, and security forces seized a device that a Financial Times reporter had used to record her testimony. A plainclothes security officer pulled out a revolver.

. Two members of the hotel staff grabbed table knives to threaten both Ms. Obeidy and the journalists.

“Turn them around, turn them around,” a waiter shouted, trying to block the foreign news media from having access to Ms. Obeidy. A woman on the staff shouted: “Why are you doing this? You are a traitor!” and briefly put a coat over Ms. Obeidy’s head.

There was a prolonged standoff behind the hotel as the security officials apparently restrained themselves because of the presence of so many journalists, but Ms. Obeidy was ultimately forced into a white car and taken away.

“Leave me alone,” she shouted as one man tried to cover her mouth with his hand.

“They are taking me to jail,” she yelled, trying to resist the security guards, according to Reuters. “They are taking me to jail.”

Questioned about her treatment, Khalid Kaim, the deputy foreign minister, promised that she would be treated in accordance with the law. Musa Ibrahim, a government spokesman, said she appeared to be drunk and mentally ill. “Her safety of course is guaranteed,” he said, adding that the authorities were investigating the case, including the possibility that her reports of abuse were “fantasies.”

Charles Clover of The Financial Times, who had put himself in the way of the security forces trying to apprehend her, was put into a van and driven to the border shortly afterward. He said that the night before he had been told to leave because of what Libyan government officials said were inaccuracies in his reports.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/27/world/middleeast/27tripoli.html?_r=1&hp

Post by: Peong on March 26, 2011, 12:23:14 PM
http://video.nytimes.com/video/2011/03/26/world/africa/100000000745659/libya-woman.html?ref=middleeast
Post by: ribbit on March 26, 2011, 04:37:25 PM
ah feel de usa still using mapquest to plan dey air strikes. or dey run out of de magic bombs dat only kill evil-doers.
Post by: ribbit on March 27, 2011, 09:48:13 PM
ah hear dennis kucinich bawling how congress wasn't consulted about de military action in libya. obuma de so-called constitutional law scholar - what a joke. anyway, tomorrow de us plans for libya will be unveiled.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 27, 2011, 09:50:10 PM
Affirmative action is a revolving door that can swing right back and hit you in the ass....
Post by: ribbit on March 28, 2011, 08:47:32 AM
Affirmative action is a revolving door that can swing right back and hit you in the ass....

:thinking: :-X

ah expecting some talks from a few forumites that bound to take offense.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2011, 11:35:42 AM

:thinking: :-X

ah expecting some talks from a few forumites that bound to take offense.

Dennis Kucinich made that statement in his 2008 presidential bid in 2007... his argument was that Prez Obummer was a product of affirmative action, because this was his only grounds for him being appointed head of harvard law review. Clinton then picked up on this and argued along the same lines that a community organizer was not someone who you'd call in a crisis at 3 a.m.

I find a little humor in Dennis Kucinich Rap Sheet; second prez he wanted to impeach and recently he sued a sandwich shop on capitol hill for having a olive pit in it.... he break he teeth and said he had a loss of enjoyment of life....
Post by: elan on March 28, 2011, 12:05:16 PM
ah hear dennis kucinich bawling how congress wasn't consulted about de military action in libya. obuma de so-called constitutional law scholar - what a joke. anyway, tomorrow de us plans for libya will be unveiled.

You does get yuh sound bites from faux news or what?
Post by: Bakes on March 28, 2011, 12:15:24 PM

The Constitutional law question is clearly above your head as well as that of Dennis Kucinich... it is very telling that yuh bite so hard on de li'l piece ah hardtack Daft Trini throw in de water fuh yuh.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2011, 12:51:34 PM
All kicks aside and media talking point politics... de prez acted within the constitution, he can take military action against a foreign body for a fixed period without the approval of the house or senate.

here is where the problem lies... The US provides a substantial percentage of the forces and finances for Nato. Nato's command inherently has in the past had to adhere to US foreign diplomacy. This is not one of these situations! It was Nato and the Arab League protecting their foreign interest in Libya, since Nato command relies on the US as a means of strategic command, then it is obvious we had to lead because we have all the provisions to conduct such operations.

The problem that Congress should be asking is "why was this done during the break?" may be to avoid tea-party obstruction...??? Could be... then this would be smart on Obama's behalf...! (my opinion)

Why have we not intervened in other countries with similar situations....?

Since no appropriations bills have been passes in respect to defense... how are we going to pay for it... Do we expand the pentagon's budget for this year or do we cut...!

The prez's biggest advantage is that we are the world's reserve currency, so to pay for these additional debts we could print more money... or sing que sera sera...

I have a front row seat to the speech... will update after (don't ask how or why....)

I am no fan of POTUS BHO... but there comes a point in time we have to let go and face reality... he's prez and both parties have to meet in the middle... cut back on defense spending, adopt some fiscal conservatism, cut out the government overlaps, appropriately fund and tax individuals, give the necessary amount to the social systems and ......

It is silly and irresponsible to say he should be a one term prez, Most Prezzes doh accomplish much economically in their first term.. We had 2 years of Bush, One of BHO and if we have one for the de next that would mean 16 years of economic stagnation... Prez usually accomplish more in a second term because they are more open to bipartisanship.

We cannot always find fault in his actions... there are many things to also consider what makes him tick... On the other hand... he real drop the ball with Hillary Clinton... what a waste...!
Post by: Dutty on March 28, 2011, 01:12:38 PM
I have a front row seat to the speech... will update after (don't ask how or why....)

since de camera might ketch yuh,, try and wear yuh 'jack pay de warriors dey money' lapel pin
Post by: Bakes on March 28, 2011, 01:33:01 PM
All kicks aside and media talking point politics... de prez acted within the constitution, he can take military action against a foreign body for a fixed period without the approval of the house or senate.

here is where the problem lies... The US provides a substantial percentage of the forces and finances for Nato. Nato's command inherently has in the past had to adhere to US foreign diplomacy. This is not one of these situations! It was Nato and the Arab League protecting their foreign interest in Libya, since Nato command relies on the US as a means of strategic command, then it is obvious we had to lead because we have all the provisions to conduct such operations.

The problem that Congress should be asking is "why was this done during the break?" may be to avoid tea-party obstruction...??? Could be... then this would be smart on Obama's behalf...! (my opinion)

Why have we not intervened in other countries with similar situations....?

Since no appropriations bills have been passes in respect to defense... how are we going to pay for it... Do we expand the pentagon's budget for this year or do we cut...!

The prez's biggest advantage is that we are the world's reserve currency, so to pay for these additional debts we could print more money... or sing que sera sera...

Actually he can't.  While the President is the Comm. in Chief of the Armed Forces, he can declare war only pursuant to Congressional authorization.  Some of construed this to apply not only to "war" but to any foreign military action.  The issue here lies in the inherent conflict of the President's exclusive right to enter into Treaties and to act in conformity with those treaties.  This is where the US' obligations to the UN come in (this isn't a NATO action).  Pursuant to his treaty powers, the President can authorize limited military action in compliance with said treaties.  This is an issue that is way above Kucinich's grade... not only his pay grade, but his intellectual grade as well.

As for why this was done during the break?  Seems like you yuhself getting tie up.  If yuh say he can act without Congressional authorization, then whether he acts when Congress is in session or when they on break is a moot question, no?  He don't need their authorization (according to you self) so why he waiting on them?  More accurately, is that he is acting withing his authority (Treaty powers) and Congressional approval isn't necessary... so again, it matters not whether Congress is in session or not.

Why we didn't intervene in other countries... such as?  Yemen?  Bahrain?  Because:

1) There were no impending genocidal concerns ("door to door, alley to alley"... "no mercy" etc.) in these countries as there was in Libya.

2) The US is loathe to commit to unilateral military actions (ever since yuh boy Dumbya fack it up fuh everybody).  Here, not only is this a UN action, but it was specifically requested by the League of Arab Nations, making it less likely to generate anti-US hostility on the ground.  So, politically... it's  a much better gamble than the cowboy diplomacy espoused by yuh hero.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2011, 02:15:49 PM
Actually thanks for explaining this... ah could see why I did not do well in civics class...

I was going by the fact as a prez he was abiding by the treaties that we have with UN and Nato... and to me it was within his authority to do so... since this was not "war" and also since we have de experience in air missions in these regions, we had to lead the way.

Breds I myself would avoid the tea "take back de country" party freshmen... dem does scare me... dey want to go forward but their motions are signaling back...

I support BHO's actions based on the Chad incident with M.G. and the French, whey dey both agreed to pull their troops but instead he camouflaged his and stayed... I doh feel he will go easy...

However if there is ground operations the irony is that we are the best trained to fight in dese conditions...
Post by: Deeks on March 28, 2011, 03:18:20 PM
The irony is that if Ghaddafi had move into Bebghanzi and retake you would have heard a different story from all sides. Obama weak. They are only talk and no action. I go back all the way to Jimmy Carter and the Iran hostages. Carter lost the election because of that. The Euros and Asian said US impotent. When Reagan come and start to give them bootoo in they arse was a different story. The US is a bully.

The thing is what are the other countries doing. They full of mouth. But when time for action is uh, ah oh. The situation just rolling like gigantic snow ball. Think about, Syria having demonstarions for a week. You think that could have happen a year ago. The US can't be in every country. Right now BHO has to choose which is strategically important to the US and it allies. Libya is important because it could mess with southern Europe. Well we know about Egypt. Bahrain, because the US 6th fleet is there. That is a delicate balancing act. Yemen. It appears that the strongman might have to leave. The US eh know what they may get in Yemen. And that could have implication in Saudi.

BO could come tonight and present all his objectives and goals of this current campaign. It don't matter much if the people on the ground decide to take bulletts day after day. They will have the final say. Not BHO or the republicans or tea party.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2011, 05:00:26 PM
De Boss just arrived at Ft. McNair.... :beermug:
Post by: Brownsugar on March 28, 2011, 05:55:56 PM

Whey in de US dat is??
Post by: Bakes on March 28, 2011, 06:18:22 PM

Whey in de US dat is??

Southwest DC, on the Potomac waterfront.

Daft ah have to correct mihself on something yuh said... NATO is indeed involved (per Obama), they were providing logistic help up until the last couple days when they started assisting in "protecting civilians".  According to Obama, beginning Wednesday, NATO will also have responsibility for protecting citizens and for enforcing the no-fly zone as well.

Overall I thought it was a very good speech, he started by chronicling the situation leading up to us being where we are today.  Specifically he provide historic context by speaking of Kosovo 18 yrs ago.  He sought to contrast today's actions with those in Kosovo (took a year before the world intervened, here it took 31 days). 

He describe the US role as being limited in scope, 'protecting civilians, enforcing no-fly zone'. He emphasized that while he and other global leaders think that Ghaddafi must go, and that they believe Libya would be better off without him, he stress that the goal is not "regime change" by force.  Instead, he insisted that such regime change would be pursued via diplomatic channels.  He then spoke of the transition to NATO/UN forces, with the US providing support as necessary. 

He answered the criticism of some who asked "why Libya and not (   )", and "what next? What will the US do in future where there is government violence against civilians".  His response was that given the imminency of the threat to the protesters, and the degree of risk to them (citing the same threat made by Ghaddafi, to go "door to door, alley to alley" and to show "no mercy"), that it was necessary to intervene "in this country".  He also said that action was necessary given that Libya is situated between Tunisia and Egypt... two countries still trying to recover from recent regime changes, and that inaction in Libya would lead to a refugee crisis in both countries. 

All told he did a great job of clarifying the question of scope and duration and of assuaging fears that this commits the US to either a longterm involvement, or to future action in every similar situation.  He coulda use he hands less and pound de lectern less though... just making sure the (inevitable) nitpickers have something to start with.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 28, 2011, 06:55:20 PM
appreciate the rundown bakes since i missed the actual speech
Post by: Bakes on March 28, 2011, 07:10:13 PM
appreciate the rundown bakes since i missed the actual speech

It done reach YouTube...  just under 27 mins in total, so not too bad a watch.

http://www.youtube.com/v/hUXEiwJiKj4
Post by: Daft Trini on March 28, 2011, 09:10:48 PM
Agreed Bakes...  :beermug:

Brown, I live at Ft. McNair... (wife responsible for that)

If yuh in DC vibes meh up... we have we boat docked nearby, de memorials within walking distance, one of my restaurants right dey. All de museums just blocks away.... nice place to live in... Michelle and her husband live a little distance off and the airport right across de river... we even have Starbucks lol...

I wish TnT would play one of the qualifiers here...

(in all seriousness de Prez ears kicksy oui...)

Post by: ribbit on March 28, 2011, 09:26:32 PM
bakes, thanks for posting the clip.  :beermug:

well, this speech indicates he's backed away from his sentiment that "ghaddafi must go" (paraphrase) but for puzzling reasons. he spends the first part of the speech describing the atrocities of ghaddafi's forces then says something to the effect that de usa can't remove him because "the opposition" didn't ask for this. apparently it is enough to be in the "opposition" (i.e. an enemy of ghaddafi) to be vetted as worthy of calling the shots, forming the next libyan government, etc..

thing is gates and the national intel director figure ghaddafi will eventually win the civil war, even with the no-fly zone. so if the "opposition" comes back in a few weeks saying - you know what, take de muddersoandso out, then what? way too much authority is left in the hands of the "opposition". btw: de "opposition" eh organized at all - not even close to the level of egypt, etc..

another noteworthy point is how de prez conveniently conflates "interests" with "values". he lumps them together as if they are one and the same when they are different. in this case, there is no national interest (as gates has stated repeatedly) but there is a value to be defended. and de value that is being defended - roughly that america is not the type of country to stand by in the face of a massacre. *cough* *congo* *cough*. ah have a feeling that definition of massacre gorn change depending on who getting killed and who doing de killing.

anyway, canada get a pips while congress get blank. it seem like de UN is de new instrument of legitimacy. lets see how de funding situation go work out....
Post by: ribbit on March 29, 2011, 10:58:19 AM
this is a situation where de "better late than never" adage does not apply when it comes to de prez going to congress to ask for a declaration of war against ghaddafi.

how long can de charade of uninvolved (read: UN-involved) participant be sustained?

==

Libyan rebels retreating after Gadhafi onslaught
 (http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/af_libya;_ylt=AvEruJhODnfRSe9_giDLjous0NUE;_ylu=X3oDMTM4NWxvdjJmBGFzc2V0A2FwLzIwMTEwMzI5L2FmX2xpYnlhBGNjb2RlA21vc3Rwb3B1bGFyBGNwb3MDMQRwb3MDMgRwdANob21lX2Nva2UEc2VjA3luX3RvcF9zdG9yeQRzbGsDbGlieWFucmViZWxz)

By RYAN LUCAS, Associated Press

RAS LANOUF, Libya – Libyan government tanks and rockets pounded rebel forces into a panicked full retreat Tuesday after an hourslong, back-and-forth battle that highlighted the superior might of Moammar Gadhafi's forces, even hobbled by international airstrikes.

No such strikes were launched during the fighting in Bin Jawwad, where rebels attempting to march on Gadhafi's hometown of Sirte ended up turning around and fleeing east under overcast skies. Some fleeing rebels shouted, "Sarkozy, where are you?" — a reference to French President Nicolas Sarkozy, one of the strongest supporters of international airstrikes.

World leaders in London, meanwhile, debated how far they should go to force an end to Gadhafi's 41-year autocratic rule. U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said the world must speak with a single voice to ensure that the North African country "belongs not to a dictator, but to its people."

Rockets and tank fire sent Libya's rebels in a panicked scramble away from the front lines. The opposition was able to bring up truck-mounted rocket launchers of their own and return fire, but they went into full retreat after government shelling resumed.

The two sides traded salvos over the hamlet of Bin Jawwad, now pockmarked with shrapnel and small arms fire. Rockets and artillery shells crashed thunderously as plumes of smoke erupted in the town. The steady drum of heavy machine gun fire and the pop of small arms could be heard above the din as people less than a mile (a kilometer) outside the village scaled mounds of dirt to watch the fighting.

"This today is a loss, but hopefully we'll get it back," said Mohammed Bujildein, a 27-year-old from Darna. He was gnawing on a loaf of bread in a pickup truck with a mounted anti-aircraft, waiting to fill up from an abandoned gas tanker truck on the eastern side of Ras Lanouf.

Even in Ras Lanouf, roughly 25 miles (40 kilometers) east of Bin Jawwad, there appeared to be shelling — there were thuds in the distance and black smoke rising from buildings. Some rebels pushed farther east.

"If they keep shelling like this, we'll need airstrikes," Bujildein said. It makes it easier to go to Sirte. If there's air cover, we'll be in Sirte tomorrow evening."

Rebel forces had been on the brink of defeat by government forces before a U.N.-mandated no-fly zone and campaign of strikes by the U.S. and its allies helped them regain lost territory. It is unclear, however, if international support exists to deepen the air campaign and attack Gadhafi's heavy weaponry enough to help the rebels make further advances. Some countries, including Russia, contend the airstrikes already have gone beyond the U.N. mandate of protecting civilians from attacks by Gadhafi.

U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Susan Rice said Tuesday there are plenty of "non-military means at our disposal" to oust the Libyan leader.

France, which has been at the forefront of the international campaign, struck a more forceful tone.

"We, the French and English, we consider that we must obtain more" than the end of shooting at civilians, Defense Minister Gerard Longuet said on France-Inter radio. He also said Libyan politicians could be targeted since they gave orders to the military.

In London, Clinton, U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, the Arab League, the African Union and around 40 foreign ministers began discussing the future of Libya and how to ratchet up pressure on Gadhafi.

Italian Foreign Minister Franco Frattini said several nations planned to put forward a deal that would propose a cease-fire, exile for Gadhafi and a framework for talks between Libya's tribal leaders and opposition figures on the country's future.

In signs of emerging ties between the opposition and the international community, Clinton met with Libyan opposition envoy Mahmoud Jibril in London, and a senior Obama administration official said the U.S. would soon send an envoy to Libya to meet with rebel leaders.

The official said Chris Stevens, former U.S. envoy to Tripoli, will travel to the rebel stronghold of Benghazi in the coming days to establish better ties with groups seeking to oust the longtime Libyan leader. The official, who spoke on condition of anonymity to discuss internal planning, stressed that the move doesn't constitute formal recognition of the opposition.

In an open letter to the international community, meanwhile, Gadhafi called for a halt to the "monstrous assault" on Libya and maintained that that the rebels were supported by the al-Qaida terrorist network.

"What is happening now is providing a cover for al-Qaida through airstrikes and missiles to enable al-Qaida to control North Africa and turn it into a new Afghanistan," he said, accusing the international community of carrying out genocide against the Libyans.

Libyan state news agency JANA quoted a military official as saying that airstrikes of the "crusader imperialist assault" targeted civilian and military targets in Misrata, Tripoli, Zlitan, Mazdah and Watayah.

Prime Minister David Cameron, however, said Britain had received reports that it was Gadhafi who was pounding Misrata, the main rebel holdout in the west, and relentlessly targeting civilians.

"Gadhafi is using snipers to shoot them down and let them bleed to death in the street. He has cut off food, water and electricity to starve them into submission," Cameron said.

Rida al-Montasser, an activist in Misrata, confirmed heavy shelling on two streets in the city, but said rebels remain in control. Three people were killed in Misrata on Monday and several others were wounded.

The rebels remain woefully outgunned by Gadhafi's forces, though they do show some improvements since their seige of Ajdabiya a week ago. They have more ammunition and heavy weapons that they've captured from government forces, and they are showing better efforts at using them. But it is still unclear how they can take the stronghold of Sirte without further aggressive international air support.

The rebel advance reached Nawfaliyah, some 60 miles (100 kilometers) from Sirte, on Monday, but the next day they were driven back to the hamlet of Bin Jawwad, a few dozen miles (kilometers) to the east.

In a scene reminiscent of the rebels' rout last week, panicked volunteers jumped into their pickup trucks and attempted to speed away from the bombardment, kicking up dust clouds and choking the narrow coastal highway in a mad scramble of vehicles.

Sirte is dominated by members of the Libyan leader's Gadhadhfa tribe and was used as a second capital by Gadhafi. Its loss would be a symbolic blow and open the way to the capital, Tripoli.

"This is their last defensive line. They will do everything to protect it," explained rebel fighter Twate Monsuri, 26. "It's not Gadhafi attacking us, he's just defending himself now."

Gadhafi forces continued to besiege Misrata and Libya's third-largest city. Residents reported shelling by government tanks of residential areas, with three people killed.

The U.S. Navy reported that two of its aircraft and a guided missile destroyer attacked a number of Libyan coast guard vessels, rendering them inoperable, in the port of Misrata. It said the Libyan vessels had been "firing indiscriminately" at merchant ships.

One of Libya's top officials, meanwhile, abruptly made a "private visit" to Tunisia late Monday, according to the official news agency there.

Government spokesman Moussa Ibrahim in Tripoli insisted on Tuesday that Foreign Minister Moussa Koussa's visit was not a defection.
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2011, 11:03:20 AM

You're welcome  :beermug:

As for Obama going to Congress... the US will not declare war on Libya, you can write that down.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 29, 2011, 11:18:23 AM
Alright Bakes may be you could clear something up

Since the War Powers Clause is so open to interpretation (wording) did the Prez not act within the 60 day jurisdiction. He had to consult (this does not mean approval, but according to the clause approval is not needed) and to inform the House and Senate. Which I thought he did, he contacted the appropriate committee members and both the house and senate ranking members. So since the consultation was made according to the "war powers clause" did he not act within the Constitutional Laws...? So did the Prez act within the hegemony that is part and parcel of the responsibilities of a Commander in Chief...? For instance panama 89...?

What are your thoughts...?

Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2011, 01:53:49 PM

You're welcome  :beermug:

As for Obama going to Congress... the US will not declare war on Libya, you can write that down.

Aye Bakes,
                thanks for the posting and the legal clarifications. But what is disturbing to me is this rebel force. They are a rag-tag bunch it appears. They only advance after the Nato bomb Ghaddafi heavy weapons. But when tHey forced to  stand up and fight, they retreat. Something got to give. They eaither give them some sophisticated weapons to fight or Nato will have to land troops or they get Arab Union troops there to move the Colonel. This incursion has to finish before election campaign starts.
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2011, 03:26:47 PM
Daft, I don't think there's any such 60-day requirement, but yes I also think that he acted well within his powers.  The problem with the War Powers Clause (and indeed with most Constitutional questions) is with ambiguity.

Constitutional Ambiguity

Some textualist such as Scalia insist that we must go by the text of the Constitution... sorta like some Christians insist on a literal reading of the bible, rather than a contextual.  The problem with that is that it is clear that the framers of the Constitution deliberately left the document ambiguous in parts so as to allow for flexibility in application as time went on.  Case in point, the "right to "privacy" cannot be found anywhere in the Constitution, yet it has long been recognized as a "fundamental" right.  Textualists (also called strict constructionists) have a hard time explaining that one.

Role of Supreme Court in absence of clear Constitutional language

As a result of this ambiguity, practice, and not the text has often dictated the constitutionality of certain things... and in most cases, that "practice" has been determined by the courts.  In this particular case of the War Powers Clause however, the Supreme Court is prevented from ruling on the question on grounds of "non-justiciability".  The Court can only rule on matters that are justiciable, and this is determined by three different doctrines: 1) Mootness & Ripeness; 2) Political Questions; 3) Standing.

'Non-justiciability' explained

For the above reasons the Supreme Court has had little means of getting involved in resolving the issue.  N.B. for the matter to be non-justiciable (i.e. cannot be ruled on by the Court) the issue doesn't have to satisfy 1), 2) and 3) above; it simply has to meet one of the three.

The War Powers Clause in practice

Finally, those like Kucinich who trying to make the argument that Obama's actions are unconstitutional are conveniently forgetting the following military actions:

Korea (Truman-1950)
Vietnam (Johnson-1965)
Iran (Carter-1980)
Lebanon (1982), Grenada (1983), Libya (1986, killing one of Ghaddafi's sons) and Panama as you mentioned (1989), all by Reagan
Somalia (1992), Haiti (1994), Bosnia (1995); and Kosovo (1999), which actually was launched despite Congress specifically voting to stay out of it... all by Clinton
Haiti (Bush, Jr.-2004).

In fact I read an interesting article which points out that in the entire history of US conflicts there have been only five that were conducted with Congressional authorization.  Those really interested can read more of the arguments by going to the following links:

http://firstread.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/03/22/6323385-did-obama-violate-the-constitution-with-libya-military-action
http://www.slate.com/id/2288869/
http://www.dorfonlaw.org/2011/03/is-military-action-in-libya.html
http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/why-obamas-libya-strikes-dont-require-congressional-approval/2011/03/24/AB9nxMQB_story.html

-----------------

EDIT: Formatting tweaked to improve readability[/list]
Post by: Bakes on March 29, 2011, 03:33:54 PM
Aye Bakes,
                thanks for the posting and the legal clarifications. But what is disturbing to me is this rebel force. They are a rag-tag bunch it appears. They only advance after the Nato bomb Ghaddafi heavy weapons. But when tHey forced to  stand up and fight, they retreat. Something got to give. They eaither give them some sophisticated weapons to fight or Nato will have to land troops or they get Arab Union troops there to move the Colonel. This incursion has to finish before election campaign starts.

Deeks of course they are a rag tag bunch... these people didn't set out to fight no war, they set out to protest and peacefully force Ghaddafi from power as what happened in Tunisia and Egypt.  Once fighting broke out the vast majority pick up a gun or RPG fuh de first time.  It is perfectly understandable why the advances taking place in fits and starts... air power today is like naval power in the 18th and 19th century.  So the idea behind the no-fly zone is to even the playing field a little bit, especially with NATO also targeting artillery (tanks, SAMs) on the loyalist side.  You don't really need foreign troops because the rebels have proved themselves capable enough on the ground that if you retard the ability of Ghaddafi's forces (take out the planes and tanks) then you have enough manpower on the ground to force out Ghaddafi.
Post by: NYtriniwhiteboy.. on March 29, 2011, 03:53:19 PM
learning a lot in this thread man...thanks
plus it more interesting than studying
Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2011, 05:38:19 PM
learning a lot in this thread man...thanks

It seems that you still recuperation from Carnival.
Post by: Daft Trini on March 30, 2011, 08:38:13 AM
Thanks bakes... ah owe yuh ah Crown Bakery roti and currant roll....  :beermug:
Post by: Cantona007 on March 30, 2011, 10:00:14 AM

well, this speech indicates he's backed away from his sentiment that "ghaddafi must go" (paraphrase) but for puzzling reasons. he spends the first part of the speech describing the atrocities of ghaddafi's forces then says something to the effect that de usa can't remove him because "the opposition" didn't ask for this. apparently it is enough to be in the "opposition" (i.e. an enemy of ghaddafi) to be vetted as worthy of calling the shots, forming the next libyan government, etc..

thing is gates and the national intel director figure ghaddafi will eventually win the civil war, even with the no-fly zone. so if the "opposition" comes back in a few weeks saying - you know what, take de muddersoandso out, then what? way too much authority is left in the hands of the "opposition". btw: de "opposition" eh organized at all - not even close to the level of egypt, etc..

another noteworthy point is how de prez conveniently conflates "interests" with "values". he lumps them together as if they are one and the same when they are different. in this case, there is no national interest (as gates has stated repeatedly) but there is a value to be defended. and de value that is being defended - roughly that america is not the type of country to stand by in the face of a massacre. *cough* *congo* *cough*. ah have a feeling that definition of massacre gorn change depending on who getting killed and who doing de killing.

anyway, canada get a pips while congress get blank. it seem like de UN is de new instrument of legitimacy. lets see how de funding situation go work out....

Generally, well said...
Post by: Daft Trini on March 30, 2011, 10:13:17 AM
Well look thing I mentioned our dollar as being the world reserve note and golly now china is proposing a change.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/us_china_g20_dollar
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2011, 10:58:51 AM
Thanks bakes... ah owe yuh ah Crown Bakery roti and currant roll....  :beermug:

Hell with dat, I want ah tour ah Ft. McNair and ah ride arung Haines Point and down tuh de Wilson in dat boat yuh talking about  ;D
Post by: Dutty on March 30, 2011, 11:25:26 AM
Well look thing I mentioned our dollar as being the world reserve note and golly now china is proposing a change.

mmm mmm far east boys talkin BIG
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 30, 2011, 12:29:32 PM

The IMF has been pushing the idea of replacing the US dollar reserve with a basket of currencies and possibly some tangible assets like gold and oil for quite some time. There is strong support in China, France, Russia and few other nations. So expect the dollar to continue a long term trend of devaluation. I have heard that Utah has recently passed legislation to make gold and silver legal tender in that state.
Post by: Dutty on March 30, 2011, 01:34:42 PM

The IMF has been pushing the idea of replacing the US dollar reserve with a basket of currencies and possibly some tangible assets like gold and oil for quite some time. There is strong support in China, France, Russia and few other nations. So expect the dollar to continue a long term trend of devaluation. I have heard that Utah has recently passed legislation to make gold and silver legal tender in that state.

Oil would be a stretch as it go done in the nex few decades
Then again, no wonder why the big boys jockeyin for control of any oil patch dat watch dem bad

ah see susan rice parroting she adminstration reasons for war kinetic military action on tv this mornin,,everybody on message wit de same mantra...either way now that she shave the moustache, she even hotter....and she was wearin ah pearl necklace 8)

ah have ah weakness for PhD's that does hit the gym
Condi could get it too
Post by: Cantona007 on March 30, 2011, 02:38:48 PM

Then again, no wonder why the big boys jockeyin for control of any oil patch dat watch dem bad

ah see susan rice parroting she adminstration reasons for war kinetic military action on tv this mornin,,everybody on message wit de same mantra...either way now that she shave the moustache, she even hotter....and she was wearin ah pearl necklace 8)

Condi could get it too

Now you've gone too far...   :shameonyou:
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 30, 2011, 03:28:47 PM

Condi could get it too

You're a sick man. One setta anti-american talk and all yuh does think about is a hot sweaty neocon with a thick yankee accent bussing down yuh door and robbing the oil out yuh gas tank...So enjoy  8)

http://www.jokes-db.com/funny-pictures/celebrities/condoleezza_rice_is_hot.html
Post by: Daft Trini on March 30, 2011, 09:23:36 PM
Like I said... soon contractors will get involved... who looking for 250k per year sign up... F.B. NC.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20110330/ts_nm/us_libya_usa_order
Post by: ribbit on April 02, 2011, 03:43:35 PM
so de prez authorize secret support for de rebels ....

... meanwhile NATO airstrikes kill 13 of de rebels

two steps forward three steps back ....
Post by: pecan on April 02, 2011, 04:10:46 PM

....and she was wearin ah pearl necklace 8)

Condi could get it too

a pearl necklace?  so who gave it to her?
Post by: D.H.W on April 02, 2011, 08:18:15 PM
so de prez authorize secret support for de rebels ....

... meanwhile NATO airstrikes kill 13 of de rebels

two steps forward three steps back ....

collataral damage  8) , even the rebels say aim better next time , cool beans  8)
Post by: Bakes on April 03, 2011, 11:50:05 AM
April 2, 2011

Is It Better to Save No One?

By NICHOLAS D. KRISTOF

Critics from left and right are jumping all over President Obama for his Libyan intervention, arguing that we don’t have an exit plan, that he hasn’t articulated a grand strategy, that our objectives are fuzzy, that Islamists could gain strength. And those critics are all right.

But let’s back up a moment and recognize a larger point: Mr. Obama and other world leaders did something truly extraordinary, wonderful and rare: they ordered a humanitarian intervention that saved thousands of lives and that even Col. Muammar el-Qaddafi’s closest aides seem to think will lead to his ouster.

We were all moved by Eman al-Obeidy (http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/27/world/middleeast/27tripoli.html?_r=1), the woman who burst into the reporters’ hotel in Tripoli with her story of gang-rape and torture, only to be dragged away by security goons. If we had not intervened in Libya, Qaddafi forces would have reached Benghazi and there might have been thousands of Eman al-Obeidys.

It has been exceptionally rare for major powers to intervene militarily for predominantly humanitarian reasons. One rare example was the United States-led Kosovo campaign in 1999, and another was Britain’s dispatch of troops to Sierra Leone in 2000 to end the brutal civil war there. Both were successes, but came only after years of killings that gradually built up the political will to do something.

Critics argue that we are inconsistent, even hypocritical, in our military interventions. After all, we intervened promptly this time in a country with oil, while we have largely ignored Ivory Coast and Darfur — not to mention Yemen, Syria and Bahrain.

We may as well plead guilty. We are inconsistent. There’s no doubt that we cherry-pick our humanitarian interventions.

But just because we allowed Rwandans or Darfuris to be massacred, does it really follow that to be consistent we should allow Libyans to be massacred as well? Isn’t it better to inconsistently save some lives than to consistently save none?

If the Libya operation is successful, moreover, it may help put teeth into the emerging doctrine of the “responsibility to protect” (http://www.responsibilitytoprotect.org/) — a landmark notion in international law that countries must intervene to prevent mass atrocities. And that might help avert the next Rwanda or the next Darfur.

After the Vietnam War, many Americans were traumatized by the very idea of using military force. As a result we were too slow to react to genocides in Bosnia and Rwanda, and hundreds of thousands died as a result. Then we recovered our moxie — and unfortunately barged into Iraq. The difficulties of Iraq and Afghanistan have again made many Americans — particularly on the left — allergic to any use of military force, even to save lives in a limited operation with very few civilian casualties, like the one in Libya.

I don’t think the United States should arm Libyan rebels, partly because that would require training them to use the weaponry, and we shouldn’t have military boots on the ground, for fear of a nationalist backlash among Libyans. But we can step up the bombing of Libyan military units (arguably necessary to protect civilians), making clear to those units that unless they stand down, they will be destroyed.

Critics complain, correctly, that we don’t have a clear exit strategy. But plans made in conference rooms rarely survive the first shot anyway. The NATO bombing of Yugoslavia in 1999 lasted 11 weeks, entailed civilian casualties and faced constant sniping from critics — until it abruptly succeeded and largely put an end to the slaughter there.

Gulf countries could leak word of a $15 million reward for the arrest of Colonel Qaddafi. That might empower his aides and bodyguards to get greedy. The mounting defections of aides like Foreign Minister Moussa Koussa suggest that even some members of the inner circle believe the tide has turned. They’re opportunists, and they apparently believe Mr. Qaddafi is going down.

The International Criminal Court is investigating Colonel Qaddafi, with an indictment possible as soon as next month. It would be a fine step toward ending global impunity for atrocities if a SWAT team of Libyans and coalition forces swooped down one day and seized Colonel Qaddafi to face trial in The Hague. It’s the kind of thing that no one can predict, but it’s an ending that would leave this Libyan incursion remembered not only for the lives it saved, but also as a milestone in the history of humanitarianism.

I invite you to comment on this column on my blog, On the Ground (http://www.nytimes.com/ontheground). Please also join me on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/kristof), watch my YouTube  (http://www.youtube.com/nicholaskristof) videos and follow me on Twitter (http://twitter.com/nickkristof).

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/04/03/opinion/03kristof.html?hp

------------------------------

How yuh "invasion" argument coming along Dutty?
Post by: Dutty on April 04, 2011, 07:08:41 AM
In light of the recent revelation that yuh prez signed secret docs allowing the CIA and special forces to be on the ground "weeks ago"
ah go need yuh to keep dat question in yuh back pocket until a later date...ah good all fours player must have a trump card
Post by: ribbit on April 04, 2011, 08:10:31 AM
but hey, dis ting have a name yet? seem like every uprising have some kind of name associated with it except dis one. even de rebels are anonymous. no "muslim brotherhood" or alliance ... nothing like that. is just "anti-ghaddafi" rebels.
Post by: Bakes on April 04, 2011, 08:42:58 AM
In light of the recent revelation that yuh prez signed secret docs allowing the CIA and special forces to be on the ground "weeks ago"
ah go need yuh to keep dat question in yuh back pocket until a later date...ah good all fours player must have a trump card

"Special forces"?? Whey yuh get dat one from?

The CIA was sent to gather intelligence on the rebels... who they are and what their military capabilities are.  This is important in order to determine whether to arm them or not so as to avoid what happened in Afghanistan in the 80s.  But ah understand, yuh still holding out hope... de yanquis and dem invading ah small group ah fellas at ah time.

At least dis time yuh ent bawl that this is part ah some 'grudge' ah holding  :-\
Post by: Dutty on April 04, 2011, 12:50:10 PM
"Hope"?..me eh hopin for nuttn

Is de 'rebels' on de Hope and Change express...plus Repsol, BP and Exxon Hopin for regime Change

you good obsesses wit yuh yankee oui...i show yuh ah squad ah brits get ketch.
Leh we see how much 'intelligence gatherin' it go take for men to realize that some limers in pick up trucks wit plastic guns in dey waist go have trouble overthrowin mad man dictators
Post by: Bakes on April 04, 2011, 01:05:25 PM
"Hope"?..me eh hopin for nuttn

Is de 'rebels' on de Hope and Change express...plus Repsol, BP and Exxon Hopin for regime Change

you good obsesses wit yuh yankee oui...i show yuh ah squad ah brits get ketch.
Leh we see how much 'intelligence gatherin' it go take for men to realize that some limers in pick up trucks wit plastic guns in dey waist go have trouble overthrowin mad man dictators

Boy you really eh have no shame nah.... "ah squad"?? We back to talking about these 8 Brits as an invading force (or "ah squad" as yuh calling them now)?  Ah guess is kinda like death by a thousand cuts... de "invasion" of Libya happening one 12-seater maxi at a time.  As fuh de limers in pickup trucks overthrowing Ghaddafi, I know yuh smarter than to think that that's all the rebels are comprised of... and smarter than to think that that's the only assessment that needs to be made before deciding if to arm them.
Post by: Dutty on April 04, 2011, 01:53:11 PM
ohHH, i see whapm here...you convinced the 8 dat get ketch from mih fake photo website was de only 8 on de ground...ok padnah no scene
 to be honest I dunno what to call 8 soldiers..a gaggle? a pride? a posse?  pick yuh adjective I goin wit it

either way you convinced them fellahs from frm the hollyB scoutin for talent platoon
like ah say...keep da question in yuh back pocket when time to heng mih jack
Post by: Deeks on April 04, 2011, 04:51:14 PM
Onr of the issues I have with people crticizing the Pres. for sending CIA people to investigate the oppostion is this. It shows that Ghadaffi did not tolerate any oppostion in any form. They were crushed. Now with the sudden revolt coming in the mid-east, how did any of us know who this oppostion is? Did we know the oppostion in Tunisia? Dis we know the opposition is in Egypt? Do we know any of the oppostion in the Arab world. Vitually next to none.

Another thing is that it is the countries facing Libya on the other side of the Medit. sea who should have all that intelligence. Italy, France and to a lesser extent Spain and Portugal are the one who should have been gathering that sort of intelligence. They are the ones who will be impacting immediately by any fall out. Not the US who are a couple thousand miles away.
Post by: Conquering Lion on April 04, 2011, 05:12:05 PM
Interesting to say the least..........

http://english.aljazeera.net/programmes/rizkhan/2011/03/201132863311584728.html (http://english.aljazeera.net/programmes/rizkhan/2011/03/201132863311584728.html)
Post by: Bakes on April 04, 2011, 05:47:55 PM
Onr of the issues I have with people crticizing the Pres. for sending CIA people to investigate the oppostion is this. It shows that Ghadaffi did not tolerate any oppostion in any form. They were crushed. Now with the sudden revolt coming in the mid-east, how did any of us know who this oppostion is? Did we know the oppostion in Tunisia? Dis we know the opposition is in Egypt? Do we know any of the oppostion in the Arab world. Vitually next to none.

Another thing is that it is the countries facing Libya on the other side of the Medit. sea who should have all that intelligence. Italy, France and to a lesser extent Spain and Portugal are the one who should have been gathering that sort of intelligence. They are the ones who will be impacting immediately by any fall out. Not the US who are a couple thousand miles away.

Well Deeks dai'z de thing... we need to understand who we friendin' up with before we give them arms (IF we give them arms at all).  Nobody interested in going in and gathering intel (or at least nobody capable, only Mossad and Mi6 comparable to the CIA) so it left to the US to send intel in to 'invade'.
Post by: Daft Trini on April 08, 2011, 05:22:28 AM
Troops will be committed to the ground as soon as this political game of chicken is done....
Post by: kaliman2006 on April 08, 2011, 03:23:03 PM
In other news...

http://www.politico.com/blogs/bensmith/0411/GOP_lawyer_circulates_Obama_impeachment_articles.html

Main Content
GOP lawyer drafts Obama impeachment - Ben Smith: GOP lawyer drafts Obama impeachmentApril 06, 2011
Categories:Barack Obama.GOP lawyer drafts Obama impeachment
A prominent libertarian constitutional lawyer and civil libertarian has drafted an article of impeachment against President Obama over his attack on Libya, throwing down a legal gauntlet that could be picked up by some Congressional Republicans

Bruce Fein, a former Reagan administration official in the Department of Justice and chairman of American Freedom Agenda writes in his 15-page argument of Obama's course that "Barack Hussein Obama has mocked the rule of law, endangered the very existence of the Republic and the liberties of the people, and perpetrated an impeachable high crime and misdemeanor."

Fein is a small-government conservative who worked on the impeachment of President Bill Clinton and also called for the impeachment of President George W. Bush and Vice President Dick Cheney, and his work doesn't represent the Republican Party line. But it comes as some Republicans on the Hill, led by Senator Rand Paul, object vociferously to Obama's decision to strike targets in Libya without Congressional authorization.

"He's been more bold than any other president," said Fein, who said Obama has failed to secure congressional approval for his military action in a much more brazen way than previous administrations.

"If he can wipe out the war powers authorization, why can't he wipe out Congress's authority to spend?" asked Fein. " If we're going to be a government of laws, and not descend into empire, this is Caesar crossing the Rubicon."

Fein said a number of Congressional offices have expressed interest in his proposal.

"They actually need to defend constitutional prerogatives," said Fein. "There's definitely been interest on the Hill. There's at least two dozen who have been open to the idea that this is a serious constitutional crisis."

Fein's articles of impeachment discuss the run-up to the Libya conflict and conclude, "In all of this, President Barack Obama has acted in a manner contrary to his trust as President and subversive of constitutional government, to the great prejudice of the cause of law and justice and to the manifest injury of the people of the United States."

The article of impeachment and three subsections are after the jump.

(with Byron Tau)

ARTICLE OF IMPEACHMENT OF PRESIDENT BARACK HUSSEIN OBAMA

RESOLVED, That Barack Hussein Obama, President of the United States, is impeached for high crimes and misdemeanors, and that the following article of impeachment to be exhibited to the Senate:

ARTICLE OF IMPEACHMENT EXHIBITED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA IN THE NAME OF ITSELF AND OF ALL OF THE PEOPLE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, AGAINST BARACK HUSSEIN OBAMA, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, IN MAINTENANCE AND SUPPORT OF ITS IMPEACHMENT AGAINST HIM FOR HIGH CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS IN USURPING THE EXCLUSIVE PREROGATIVE OF CONGRESS TO COMENCE WAR UNDER ARTICLE 1, SECTION 8, CLAUSE 11 OF THE CONSTITUTION.

ARTICLE I

In his conduct of the office of President of the United States, Barack Hussein Obama, in violation of his constitutional oath faithfully to execute the office of President of the United States and, to the best of his ability, preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of the United States, and in violation of his constitutional duty to take care that the laws be faithfully executed, has usurped the exclusive power of Congress to initiate war under Article I, section 8, clause 11 of the United States Constitution by unilaterally commencing war against the Republic of Libya on March 19, 2011, declaring that Congress is powerless to constrain his conduct of the war, and claiming authority in the future to commence war unilaterally to advance whatever he ordains is in the national interest. By so doing and declaring, Barack Hussein Obama has mocked the rule of law, endangered the very existence of the Republic and the liberties of the people, and perpetrated an impeachable high crime and misdemeanor as hereinafter elaborated.

I.
THE IMPEACHMENT POWER

1. Article II, Section IV of the United States Constitution provides: “The President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.”

2. According to James Madison’s Records of the Convention, 2:550; Madison, 8 Sept., Mr. George Mason objected to an initial proposal to confine impeachable offenses to treason or bribery:

Why is the provision restrained to Treason & bribery only? Treason as defined in the Constitution will not reach many great and dangerous offences. Hastings is not guilty of Treason. Attempts to subvert the Constitution may not be Treason as above defined--As bills of attainder which have saved the British Constitution are forbidden, it is the more necessary to extend: the power of impeachments.

3. Delegates to the Federal Convention voted overwhelmingly to include “high crimes and misdemeanors” in Article II, Section IV of the United States Constitution specifically to ensure that “attempts to subvert the Constitution” would fall within the universe of impeachable offences. Id.

4. Alexander Hamilton, a delegate to the Federal Convention, characterized impeachable offenses in Federalist 65 as, “offenses which proceed from the misconduct of public men, or in other words, from the violation or abuse of some public trust. They are of a nature which with peculiar propriety may be denominated political, as they relate chiefly to injuries done to society itself.”

5. In 1974, the House Judiciary Committee voted three articles of impeachment against then President Richard M. Nixon for actions “subversive of constitutional government.”

6. Father of the Constitution, James Madison, observed that, “Of all the enemies of public liberty, war is, perhaps, the most to be dreaded, because it comprises and develops the germ of every other…. War is the true nurse of executive aggrandizement.”

7. James Madison also instructed that “no nation could preserve its freedom in the midst of continual warfare.”

8. The exclusive congressional power to commence war under Article I, section VIII, clause XI of the Constitution is the pillar of the Republic and the greatest constitutional guarantor of individual liberty, transparency, and government frugality.

II.
THE “DECLARE WAR” CLAUSE

9. Article I, Section VIII, Clause XI of the United States Constitution provides: “The Congress shall have the power … To declare War, grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal, and make Rules concerning Captures on Land and Water;”

10. Article II, Section II, Clause I of the United States Constitution provides: “The President shall be Commander in Chief of the Army and Navy of the United States, and of the Militia of the several States, when called into the actual Service of the United States.”

11. The authors of the United States Constitution manifestly intended Article I, Section VIII, Clause XI to fasten exclusive responsibility and authority on the Congress to decide whether to undertake offensive military action.

12. The authors of the United States Constitution believed that individual liberty and the Republic would be endangered by fighting too many wars, not too few.

13. The authors of the United States Constitution understood that to aggrandize power and to leave a historical legacy, the executive in all countries chronically inflates danger manifold to justify warfare.

14. John Jay, the first Chief Justice of the United States, in Federalist 4 noted:

[A]bsolute monarchs will often make war when their nations are to get nothing by it, but for the purposes and objects merely personal, such as thirst for military glory, revenge for personal affronts, ambition, or private compacts to aggrandize or support their particular families or partisans. These and a variety of other motives, which affect only the mind of the sovereign, often lead him to engage in wars not sanctified by justice or the voice and interests of his people.

15. Alexander Hamilton explained in Federalist 69 that the president's Commander-in-Chief authority

…would be nominally the same with that of the King of Great Britain, but in substance much inferior to it. It would amount to nothing more than the supreme command and direction of the military and naval forces, as first general and admiral of the confederacy; while that of the British king extends to the declaring of war, and to the raising and regulating of fleets and armies; all which by the constitution under consideration would appertain to the Legislature.

16. In a written exchange with Alexander Hamilton under the pseudonym Helvidius, James Madison wrote:

In no part of the constitution is more wisdom to be found, than in the clause which confides the question of war or peace to the legislature, and not to the executive department. Beside the objection to such a mixture to heterogeneous powers, the trust and the temptation would be too great for any one man; not such as nature may offer as the prodigy of many centuries, but such as may be expected in the ordinary successions of magistracy. War is in fact the true nurse of executive aggrandizement. In war, a physical force is to be created; and it is the executive will, which is to direct it. In war, the public treasures are to be unlocked; and it is the executive hand which is to dispense them. In war, the honours and emoluments of office are to be multiplied; and it is the executive patronage under which they are to be enjoyed. It is in war, finally, that laurels are to be gathered, and it is the executive brow they are to encircle. The strongest passions and most dangerous weaknesses of the human breast; ambition, avarice, vanity, the honourable or venial love of fame, are all in conspiracy against the desire and duty of peace.

17. James Madison also wrote as Helvidius to Alexander Hamilton:

Those who are to conduct a war cannot in the nature of things, be proper or safe judges, whether a war ought to be commenced, continued, or concluded. They are barred from the latter functions by a great principle in free government, analogous to that which separates the sword from the purse, or the power of executing from the power of enacting laws.

18. On June 29, 1787, at the Federal Convention, James Madison explained that an executive crowned with war powers invites tyranny and the reduction of citizens to vassalage:

In time of actual war, great discretionary powers are constantly given to the Executive Magistrate. Constant apprehension of War, has the same tendency to render the head too large for the body. A standing military force, with an overgrown Executive will not long be safe companions to liberty. The means of defence agst. foreign danger, have been always the instruments of tyranny at home. Among the Romans it was a standing maxim to excite a war, whenever a revolt was apprehended. Throughout all Europe, the armies kept up under the pretext of defending, have enslaved the people.

19. In a letter dated April 4, 1798, James Madison wrote to Thomas Jefferson:

The constitution supposes, what the History of all Governments demonstrates, that the Executive is the branch of power most interested in war, & most prone to it. It has accordingly with studied care, vested the question of war in the Legislature. But the Doctrines lately advanced strike at the root of all these provisions, and will deposit the peace of the Country in that Department which the Constitution distrusts as most ready without cause to renounce it. For if the opinion of the President not the facts & proofs themselves are to sway the judgment of Congress, in declaring war, and if the President in the recess of Congress create a foreign mission, appoint the minister, & negociate a War Treaty, without the possibility of a check even from the Senate, untill the measures present alternatives overruling the freedom of its judgment; if again a Treaty when made obliges the Legislature to declare war contrary to its judgment, and in pursuance of the same doctrine, a law declaring war, imposes a like moral obligation, to grant the requisite supplies until it be formally repealed with the consent of the President & Senate, it is evident that the people are cheated out of the best ingredients in their Government, the safeguards of peace which is the greatest of their blessings.

20. During the Pennsylvania Convention to ratify the Constitution, James Wilson, a future Justice of the United States Supreme Court, observed:

This system will not hurry us into war; it is calculated to guard against it. It will not be in the power of a single man, or a single body of men, to involve us in such distress; for the important power of declaring war is vested in the legislature at large: this declaration must he made with the concurrence of the House of Representatives: from this circumstance we may draw a certain conclusion that nothing but our national interest can draw us into a war.

21. In 1793, President George Washington, who presided over the Federal Convention, wrote to South Carolina Governor William Moultrie in regards to a prospective counter-offensive against the American Indian Creek Nation: "The Constitution vests the power of declaring war with Congress, therefore no offensive expedition of importance can be undertaken until after they have deliberated upon the subject, and authorized such a measure."

22. President Thomas Jefferson, who served as Secretary of State under President Washington, in a statement before Congress regarding Tripoli and the Barbary Pirates, deemed himself “unauthorized by the Constitution, without the sanction of Congress, to go beyond the line of defense." He amplified: "I communicate [to the Congress] all material information on this subject, that in the exercise of this important function confided by the Constitution to the Legislature exclusively their judgment may form itself on a knowledge and consideration of every circumstance of weight."

23. In a message to Congress in December, 1805 regarding potential military action to resolve a border dispute with Spain, President Thomas Jefferson acknowledged that "Congress alone is constitutionally invested with the power of changing our condition from peace to war, I have thought it my duty to await their authority for using force.” He requested Congressional authorization for offensive military action, even short of war, elaborating:

Formal war is not necessary—it is not probable it will follow; but the protection of our citizens, the spirit and honor of our country, require that force should be interposed to a certain degree. It will probably contribute to advance the object of peace.

But the course to be pursued will require the command of means which it belongs to Congress exclusively to yield or deny. To them I communicate every fact material for their information, and the documents necessary to enable them to judge for themselves. To their wisdom, then, I look for the course I am to pursue; and will pursue, with sincere zeal, that which they shall approve.

24. In his War Message to Congress on June 1, 1812, President James Madison reaffirmed that the shift in language from make to declare in Article I, Section VIII, Clause XI of the United States Constitution authorized at the Constitutional convention did not empower the Executive to involve the United States military in any action aside from defense against an overt attack. Although President Madison was convinced that Great Britain had undertaken acts of war against the United States, he nevertheless maintained that he could not respond with military force without congressional authorization. He proclaimed:

We behold, in fine, on the side of Great Britain, a state of war against the United States, and on the side of the United States a state of peace toward Great Britain.

Whether the United States shall continue passive under these progressive usurpations and these accumulating wrongs, or, opposing force to force in defense of their national rights, shall commit a just cause into the hands of the Almighty Disposer of Events, avoiding all connections which might entangle it in the contest or views of other powers, and preserving a constant readiness to concur in an honorable re-establishment of peace and friendship, is a solemn question which the Constitution wisely confides to the legislative department of the Government. In recommending it to their early deliberations I am happy in the assurance that the decision will be worthy the enlightened and patriotic councils of a virtuous, a free, and a powerful nation.

25. In his Records of the Convention, 2:318; Madison, 17 Aug., James Madison wrote that the power “To declare war” had been vested in the Congress in lieu of the power “To make war” to leave to the Executive “the power to repel sudden attacks.”

26. Mr. Elbridge Gerry “never expected to hear in a republic a motion to empower the Executive alone to declare war,” but still moved with Mr. Madison “to insert declare—in place of make” in Article I, Section VIII, Clause XI. Id.

27. Mr. George Mason was against “giving the power of war to the Executive, because not safely to be trusted with it; or to the Senate, because not so constructed as to be entitled to it. He was for clogging rather than facilitating war; but for facilitating peace.” Yet Mr. Mason “preferred declare to make.” Id.

28. Mr. Roger Sherman “thought [the proposal] stood very well. The Executive shd. be able to repel and not to commence war.” Id.

29. Delegates to the Federal Convention overwhelmingly approved the motion to insert “declare—in place of make,” to deny the Executive power to initiate military action, but to permit the Executive to repel sudden attacks unilaterally. Id.

30. Then Congressman Abraham Lincoln sermonized:

Allow the President to invade a neighboring nation, whenever he shall deem it necessary to repel an invasion, and you allow him to do so, whenever he may choose to say he deems it necessary for such purpose — and you allow him to make war at pleasure…. Study to see if you can fix any limit to his power in this respect, after you have given him so much as you propose. If, to-day, he should choose to say he thinks it necessary to invade Canada, to prevent the British from invading us, how could you stop him? You may say to him, "I see no probability of the British invading us" but he will say to you "be silent; I see it, if you don't."

The provision of the Constitution giving the war-making power to Congress, was dictated, as I understand it, by the following reasons. Kings had always been involving and impoverishing their people in wars, pretending generally, if not always, that the good of the people was the object. This, our Convention understood to be the most oppressive of all Kingly oppressions; and they resolved to so frame the Constitution that no one man should hold the power of bringing this oppression upon us. But your view destroys the whole matter, and places our President where kings have always stood.

31. Crowning the President with unilateral authority to commence war under the banner of anticipatory self-defense, prevention of civilian slaughters, gender discrimination, subjugation of ethnic or religious minorities, or otherwise would empower the President to initiate war without limit, threatening the very existence of the Republic. Although a benevolent Chief Executive might resist abuse of an unlimited war power, the principle, if ever accepted by Congress, would lie around like a loaded weapon ready for use by any successor craving absolute power.

32. Thomas Paine justly and rightly declared in Common Sense that "in America, the law is king. For as in absolute governments the King is law, so in free countries the law ought to be king; and there ought to be no other."

33. Article 43 Paragraph 3 of the Charter of the United Nations provides that all resolutions or agreements of the United Nations Security Counsel “shall be subject to ratification by the signatory states in accordance with their respective constitutional processes.”

34. Article 43 Paragraph 3 of Charter of the United Nations was included specifically to allay concerns that prevented the United States of America from ratifying the League of Nations Treaty in 1919.

35. That treaty risked crowning the President with the counter-constitutional authority to initiate warfare. On November 19, 1919, in Section II of his Reservations with Regard to Ratification of the Versailles Treaty, to preserve the balance of power established by the United States Constitution from executive usurpation, Senator Henry Cabot Lodge resolved as follows:

The United States assumes no obligation to preserve the territorial integrity or political independence of any other country or to interfere in controversies between nations -- whether members of the League or not -- under the provisions of Article 10, or to employ the military or naval forces of the United States under any article of the treaty for any purpose, unless in any particular case the Congress, which, under the Constitution, has the sole power to declare war or authorize the employment of the military or naval forces of the United States, shall by act or joint resolution so provide.

The rejection of Lodge’s reservations by President Woodrow Wilson and his Senate allies insured defeat of the treaty.

36. Section 2(c) of the War Powers Resolution of 1973 clarifies Presidential authority to undertake military action as follows:

The constitutional powers of the President as Commander-in-Chief to introduce United States Armed Forces into hostilities, or into situations where imminent involvement in hostilities is clearly indicated by the circumstances, are exercised only pursuant to (1) a declaration of war, (2) specific statutory authorization, or (3) a national emergency created by attack upon the United States, its territories or possessions, or its armed forces.

37. In United States v. Smith, 27 F. Cas. 1192 (1806), Supreme Court Justice William Paterson, a delegate to the Federal Convention from New Jersey, wrote on behalf of a federal circuit court:

There is a manifest distinction between our going to war with a nation at peace, and a war being made against us by an actual invasion, or a formal declaration. In the former case it is the exclusive province of Congress to change a state of peace into a state of war.

38. In Geofroy v. Riggs, 133 U.S. 258, 267 (1890), the Supreme Court of the United States held:

The treaty power, as expressed in the Constitution, is in terms unlimited except by those restraints which are found in that instrument against the action of the government or of its departments, and those arising from the nature of the government itself and of that of the States. It would not be contended that it extends so far as to authorize what the Constitution forbids, or a change in the character of the government, or in that of one of the States, or a cession of any portion of the territory of the latter, without its consent.

39. In his concurrence in Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 642-643 (1952), which rebuked President Harry Truman’s claim of unilateral war powers in the Korean War, Justice Robert Jackson elaborated:

Nothing in our Constitution is plainer than that declaration of a war is entrusted only to Congress. Of course, a state of war may in fact exist without a formal declaration. But no doctrine that the Court could promulgate would seem to me more sinister and alarming than that a President whose conduct of foreign affairs is so largely uncontrolled, and often even is unknown, can vastly enlarge his mastery over the internal affairs of the country by his own commitment of the Nation's armed forces to some foreign venture.

40. All treaties are subservient to the exclusive congressional power to commence war. In Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 18 (1957), the United States Supreme Court held:

There is nothing in [the Constitution’s text] which intimates that treaties and laws enacted pursuant to them do not have to comply with the provisions of the Constitution. Nor is there anything in the debates which accompanied the drafting and ratification of the Constitution which even suggests such a result.

41. Unconstitutional usurpations by one branch of government of powers entrusted to a coequal branch are not rendered constitutional by repetition. The United States Supreme Court held unconstitutional hundreds of laws enacted by Congress over the course of five decades that included a legislative veto of executive actions in INS v. Chada, 462 U.S. 919 (1982).

42. In their dissent in Hamdi v. Rumsfeld, 542 U.S. 507 (2004), Justices John Paul Stevens and Antonin Scalia recognized the “Founders’ general distrust of military power lodged with the President, including the authority to commence war:

No fewer than 10 issues of the Federalist were devoted in whole or part to allaying fears of oppression from the proposed Constitution’s authorization of standing armies in peacetime. Many safeguards in the Constitution reflect these concerns. Congress's authority "[t]o raise and support Armies" was hedged with the proviso that "no Appropriation of Money to that Use shall be for a longer Term than two Years." U.S. Const., Art. 1, §8, cl. 12. Except for the actual command of military forces, all authorization for their maintenance and all explicit authorization for their use is placed in the control of Congress under Article I, rather than the President under Article II. As Hamilton explained, the President's military authority would be "much inferior" to that of the British King… (Citing Federalist 69, Supra.)

43. On December 20, 2007, then Senator Hillary Clinton proclaimed: "The President has the solemn duty to defend our Nation. If the country is under truly imminent threat of attack, of course the President must take appropriate action to defend us. At the same time, the Constitution requires Congress to authorize war. I do not believe that the President can take military action — including any kind of strategic bombing — against Iran without congressional authorization."

44. Then Senator Joseph Biden stated in a speech at the Iowa City Public Library in 2007 regarding potential military action in Iran that unilateral action by the President would be an impeachable offense under the Constitution:

It is precisely because the consequences of war – intended or otherwise – can be so profound and complicated that our Founding Fathers vested in Congress, not the President, the power to initiate war, except to repel an imminent attack on the United States or its citizens.

They reasoned that requiring the President to come to Congress first would slow things down… allow for more careful decision making before sending Americans to fight and die… and ensure broader public support.

The Founding Fathers were, as in most things, profoundly right.

That’s why I want to be very clear: if the President takes us to war with Iran without Congressional approval, I will call for his impeachment.

I do not say this lightly or to be provocative. I am dead serious. I have chaired the Senate Judiciary Committee. I still teach constitutional law. I’ve consulted with some of our leading constitutional scholars. The Constitution is clear. And so am I.

I’m saying this now to put the administration on notice and hopefully to deter the President from taking unilateral action in the last year of his administration.

If war is warranted with a nation of 70 million people, it warrants coming to Congress and the American people first.

45. In a speech on the Senate Floor in 1998, then Senator Joseph Biden maintained: “...the only logical conclusion is that the framers [of the United States Constitution] intended to grant to Congress the power to initiate all hostilities, even limited wars.”

46. On December 20, 2007, then Senator Barack Obama informed the Boston Globe, based upon his extensive knowledge of the United States Constitution: "The President does not have power under the Constitution to unilaterally authorize a military attack in a situation that does not involve stopping an actual or imminent threat to the nation."

III.
USURPATION OF THE WAR POWER OVER LIBYA

47. President Barack Obama’s military attacks against Libya constitute acts of war.

48. Congressman J. Randy Forbes (VA-4) had the following exchange with Secretary of Defense Robert Gates during a March 31, 2011 House Armed Services Committee Hearing on the legality of the present military operation in Libya:

Congressman Forbes: Mr. Secretary, if tomorrow a foreign nation intentionally, for whatever reason, launched a Tomahawk missile into New York City, would that be considered an act of war against the United States?

Secretary Gates: Probably so.

Congressman Forbes: Then I would assume the same laws would apply if we launched a Tomahawk missile at another nation—is that also true?

Secretary Gates: You’re getting into constitutional law here and I am no expert on it.

Congressman Forbes: Mr. Secretary, you’re the Secretary of Defense. You ought to be an expert on what’s an act of war or not. If it’s an act of war to launch a Tomahawk missile on New York City would it not also be an act of war to launch a Tomahawk missile by us at another nation?

Secretary Gates: Presumably.

49. Since the passage of United Nations Security Council resolution 1973 on March 19, 2011, the United States has detonated over 200 tomahawk land attack cruise missiles and 455 precision-guided bombs on Libyan soil.

50. Libya posed no actual or imminent threat to the United States when President Obama unleashed Operation Odyssey Dawn.

51. On March 27, 2011, Secretary of Defense Robert Gates stated that Libya never posed an “actual or imminent threat to the United States.” He further stated that Libya has never constituted a “vital interest” to the United States.

52. United Nations Security Council resolution 1973 directs an indefinite United States military quagmire in Libya, authorizing “all necessary measures” to protect Libyan civilians, which clearly contemplates removal by force of the murderous regime of Col. Muammar Qadhafi.

53. In a Letter From the President to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate sent March 21, 2011, President Barack Obama informed Members of Congress that “U.S. forces have targeted the Qadhafi regime's air defense systems, command and control structures, and other capabilities of Qadhafi's armed forces used to attack civilians and civilian populated areas. We will seek a rapid, but responsible, transition of operations to coalition, regional, or international organizations that are postured to continue activities as may be necessary to realize the objectives of U.N. Security Council Resolutions 1970 and 1973.”

54. In his March 21, 2011 letter, President Barack Obama further informed Members of Congress that he opted to take unilateral military action “…in support of international efforts to protect civilians and prevent a humanitarian disaster.”

55. President Barack Obama has usurped congressional authority to decide on war or peace with Libya, and has declared he will persist in additional usurpations of the congressional power to commence war whenever he decrees it would advance his idea of the national interest. On March 28, 2011, he declared to Congress and the American people: “I have made it clear that I will never hesitate to use our military swiftly, decisively, and unilaterally when necessary to defend our people, our homeland, our allies, and our core interests” (emphasis added).

56. President Obama’s humanitarian justification for war in Libya establishes a threshold that would justify his initiation of warfare in scores of nations around the globe, including Iran, North Korea, Syria, Sudan, Myanmar, China, Belarus, Zimbabwe, Cuba, and Russia.

57. In Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928), Justice Louis D. Brandeis wrote on behalf of a majority of the United States Supreme Court:

Experience should teach us to be most on our guard to protect liberty when the Government's purposes are beneficent. Men born to freedom are naturally alert to repel invasion of their liberty by evil-minded rulers. The greatest dangers to liberty lurk in insidious encroachment by men of zeal, well meaning but without understanding.

58. President Barack Obama has signed an order, euphemistically named a “Presidential Finding,” authorizing covert U.S. government support for rebel forces seeking to oust Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi, further entangling the United States in the Libyan conflict, despite earlier promises of restraint. Truth is invariably the first casualty of war.

59. In response to questions by Members of Congress during a classified briefing on March 30, 2011, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton indicated that the President needs no Congressional authorization for his attack on the Libyan nation, and will ignore any Congressional attempt by resolution or otherwise to constrain or halt United States participation in the Libyan war.

60. On March 30, 2011, by persistent silence or otherwise, Secretary Clinton rebuffed congressional inquiries into President Obama’s view of the constitutionality of the War Powers Resolution of 1973. She failed to cite a single judicial decision in support of President Obama’s recent actions, relying instead on the undisclosed legal opinions of White House attorneys.

61. President Barack Obama, in flagrant violation of his constitutional oath to execute his office as President of the United States and preserve and protect the United States Constitution, has usurped the exclusive authority of Congress to authorize the initiation of war, in that on March 19, 2011 President Obama initiated an offensive military attack against the Republic of Libya without congressional authorization. In so doing, President Obama has arrested the rule of law, and saluted a vandalizing of the Constitution that will occasion ruination of the Republic, the crippling of individual liberty, and a Leviathan government unless the President is impeached by the House of Representatives and removed from office by the Senate.

In all of this, President Barack Obama has acted in a manner contrary to his trust as President and subversive of constitutional government, to the great prejudice of the cause of law and justice and to the manifest injury of the people of the United States.

Post by: ribbit on April 10, 2011, 09:10:33 PM
dis libya issue really dividing de right. de tea party against it, de old neocons for it.

some general mentioned in testimony to congress that ghadaffi forces outnumber de rebels by about 10 to 1. cyah find de link unfortunately but if it's true this rebel movement have some work to do.
Post by: Trini Madness on April 10, 2011, 10:53:16 PM
dis libya issue really dividing de right. de tea party against it, de old neocons for it.

some general mentioned in testimony to congress that ghadaffi forces outnumber de rebels by about 10 to 1. cyah find de link unfortunately but if it's true this rebel movement have some work to do.

i thought the rebels outnumbered ghaddafi?? (i remember hearing that on cnn international when the war first broke out) the only reason ghaddafi have the upper hand is because he have the weapons and aircraft. rebels have no organization whatsoever, but what can you do? the best they can do is shoot and hide.
Post by: kounty on April 15, 2011, 06:17:24 AM

Generally, well said...
reading and a lil more attentive to the congolese issue.  Post bredda!!! :beermug:
Post by: kounty on April 17, 2011, 09:16:35 AM
African viewpoint: Farce or freedom? (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-13020010)
Post by: ribbit on July 29, 2011, 07:47:13 AM
ah hear de libyan rebel military commander was killed. dis war cyah done  :-\
Post by: Dutty on July 29, 2011, 08:24:12 AM

biggest clusterf**k everrrrrrrr
Post by: Trini Madness on July 29, 2011, 06:20:13 PM

possibly by his own troops. he wasnt very well liked, from what i heard on cnn international.
Post by: Bakes on July 30, 2011, 02:09:18 AM

possibly by his own troops. he wasnt very well liked, from what i heard on cnn international.

Just reading in the Washington Post that he was Ghaddaffi's top enforcer against dissidents for years, and that he was being summoned to rebel headquarters to answer to something or the other, but the escort patrol they send was from a rival tribe and they wipe him out and gone on de run instead.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 30, 2011, 09:54:59 AM
The difficulty involved in serving two differing masters simultaneously is well-accounted. The accounting involved in serving two differing masters consecutively is difficult.
Post by: Dutty on August 02, 2011, 08:27:40 AM
The difficulty involved in serving two differing masters simultaneously is well-accounted. The accounting involved in serving two differing masters consecutively is difficult.

dayam!! ah had to read this 3 times and still had to climb up and jump to ketch it
Post by: Mr Fix-it on August 05, 2011, 01:28:18 PM

dayam!! ah had to read this 3 times and still had to climb up and jump to ketch it

LOL at yu signature
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2011, 08:03:08 PM
Gaddafi’s rule crumbling as rebels enter heart of Tripoli

By Thomas Erdbrink and Liz Sly, Updated: Sunday, August 21, 7:51 PM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/middle-east/libyan-rebels-converging-on-tripoli/2011/08/21/gIQAbF3RUJ_story.html?hpid=z1

TRIPOLI — Libyan leader Moammar Gaddafi’s four-decade-long rule over Libya was crumbling at breakneck speed Sunday as hundreds of rebel fighters swept toward the heart of Tripoli and dissidents said they had secured control of many parts of the capital.

With rebel leaders saying that Gaddafi’s compound was surrounded, that his son Saif al-Islam had been captured and that his presidential guard had surrendered, the six-month-old battle for control of Libya appeared to be hurtling toward a dramatic finale.

In an audio statement broadcast on state television late Sunday, Gaddafi made what came across as a desperate plea for support. “Go out and take your weapons,” the Libyan leader said in the brief broadcast. “All of you, there should be no fear.”

By late Sunday, rebel fighters had converged on the capital from four directions, and opposition flags were fluttering over buildings across the city. Thousands of people poured onto the streets in areas under rebel control to celebrate, stomping on posters of Gaddafi, setting off fireworks and honking horns, even in the symbolically significant Green Square in the heart of the city, previously the scene of near-daily pro-Gaddafi rallies.

With communications to the capital sporadic and some journalists confined to their hotel, reports of opposition gains within Tripoli could not be independently confirmed, and some experts cautioned that a tough urban battle may yet lie ahead between the lightly armed and untrained rebels and the elite government forces kept in reserve for the defense of the capital.

But reporters traveling with rebel forces said Gaddafi’s defenses were melting away faster than had been expected, with reports of entire units fleeing as rebels entered the capital from the south, east and west, and his supporters inside the city tearing off their uniforms, throwing down their weapons and attempting to blend into the population.

A Tripoli-based activist said the rebels had secured the seaport, where several hundred reinforcements for the opposition had arrived by boat, and were in the process of evicting Gaddafi loyalists from the Mitiga air base on the eastern edge of the city.

“The Gaddafi regime is clearly crumbling,” said a statement issued by NATO, whose five-month-old aerial bombing campaign, ostensibly launched to protect civilians, contributed enormously to the erosion of government defenses. A U.S. official in Washington who was monitoring the intelligence from Libya said that the situation in Tripoli was fluid but that Gaddafi and his hard-core loyalists did not appear likely to give up easily.

In the rebel capital, Benghazi, where huge crowds gathered to celebrate what they hoped was the imminent capture of Tripoli, Transitional National Council leader Mustafa Abdel Jalil announced that Gaddafi’s son Saif al-Islam had been captured.

There was no indication as to Gaddafi’s whereabouts, and he had issued a defiant speech earlier in the day in which he insisted he was in Tripoli and would not surrender. “We cannot go back until the last drop of our blood. We will defend the city. I am here with you,” he said in the audio statement, purportedly broadcast live. “Go on, go forward!”

But it appeared that his control had already unraveled as the rebels swept into the capital, encountering only pockets of resistance along the way.

After consolidating control of the strategic western town of Zawiyah on Thursday, the rebels pushed rapidly east throughout the day, capturing a major military base that was home to the Khamis Brigade, an elite force led by Khamis Gaddafi, one of the Libyan leader’s sons.

Exultant rebels seized weapons from the base and were seen carrying away boxes of brand-new Belgian munitions, as others raced by in trucks filled to the brim with other weaponry.

By nightfall, the rebel force had reached suburban Janzour, where witnesses said government forces had abandoned their posts earlier in the day. Residents took to the streets to cheer the rebels as they swept past in their pickups into the southern edges of the city.

At the same time, rebels advancing along the eastern coastal highway were reported to have linked up with opposition fighters in the strategically located eastern suburb of Tajura, long a stronghold of opposition to Gaddafi, effectively cutting off the capital.

In a late-night briefing for journalists confined to the Rixos hotel, government spokesman Moussa Ibrahim said that at least 1,300 people had been killed since noon, in addition to 930 the previous day, and blamed NATO for the bloodshed. The figures could not be independently confirmed, and though rebels said there had been many deaths, they did not believe the number was that high.

The lightly armed opponents, who have spent months quietly organizing for this moment, were within a mile and a half of Gaddafi’s Bab al-Aziziya compound by Sunday night. They were hoping to launch an assault on the headquarters as soon as they link up with the rebel reinforcements arriving in the city, according to a rebel organizer who goes by the name Tony.

A rebel leader who asked to be identified as Haj said the Libyan independence flag, which has been adopted as the symbol of the opposition, was flying from numerous mosques, government buildings and a shopping mall in areas they had seized. He said fighters in the streets could be heard singing the rebel national anthem, the words “Oh, my country” floating through the streets amid the near-constant crackle of automatic fire.

Haj said he was confident that rebels could hold out at least another day until the rebel army arrives. “With the efforts of our revolutionary youths and our children, we will be able to make it through tonight,” he said.

He seemed unsure whether they would be able to last longer than that, however, and it was unclear what level of control the anti-Gaddafi forces exert in the neighborhoods they claim to have seized. The rebels said they have a good supply of Kalashnikovs, smuggled into the city covertly since the initial uprising was crushed in March, as well as 9mm pistols and homemade bombs. In Tajura, the opposition forces had seized a sizable quantity of weapons from a government unit that fled, according to Tony.

In Washington, the U.S. official, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said: “The opposition is gaining ground and putting more pressure on the regime each day. When this translates into a tipping point and what the endgame will look like is hard to determine. Gaddafi isn’t sure what he’s going to do from one moment to the next.”

State Department spokeswoman Victoria Nuland said officials there are turning their attention to post-Gaddafi Libya. “Gaddafi’s days are clearly numbered,” she said. “If Gaddafi cared about the Libyan people, he would step down now.”
Post by: D.H.W on August 21, 2011, 08:07:13 PM
people on the street partying already
Post by: Bitter on August 21, 2011, 08:16:56 PM
This is the problem with henchmen and mercenaries. Them fellas ent fighting for a cause, and once the situation change, all your "loyalists" seem to have melted away.
Post by: ribbit on August 22, 2011, 06:11:13 PM

Just reading in the Washington Post that he was Ghaddaffi's top enforcer against dissidents for years, and that he was being summoned to rebel headquarters to answer to something or the other, but the escort patrol they send was from a rival tribe and they wipe him out and gone on de run instead.

like de rebels knew a thing or two. de rebels real make mas after dey snap dis guy. well, de sooner this conflict ends de better.
Post by: Bitter on August 23, 2011, 08:09:35 AM
It look like they get setup.
The same man who they say they capture, on tv giving tours to journalists.

Heavy fighting in Tripoli now. Time for McCain to say how is Obama fault.
Post by: Dutty on August 23, 2011, 08:37:56 AM
It look like they get setup.
The same man who they say they capture, on tv giving tours to journalists.

Heavy fighting in Tripoli now.

doctor I shock when I see dat yes...real misinformation commin out da place

I cyah believe playin possum is a military tactic
Hopefully that country right its ship soon
Post by: Bitter on August 23, 2011, 12:39:15 PM
Rebels Overrun Gadhafi Compound
Fierce Street Fighting in Tripoli; Leader's Whereabouts Are Unknown
By CHARLES LEVINSON in Tripoli and MARGARET COKER in Tunis
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424053111903327904576525652544535820.html?mod=googlenews_wsj#printMode

Libyans poured into streets surrounding Moammar Gadhafi's fortress-like compound in Tripoli on Tuesday, after rebels captured it following fierce street battles against forces loyal to the longtime leader.

Streets around the Bab al-Aziziya compound rang with mortars, heavy machine-guns and anti-aircraft guns throughout much of the day Tuesday as rebels took up positions around Col. Gadhafi's symbolic stronghold.

By late afternoon gunfire ceased and rebels and Tripoli residents poured onto the streets. An overpass about a half-mile from the complex, on which rebels had taken up position just an hour before, thronged with people.

The compound's green gates were blasted open and hundreds of rebels were pouring into the complex, the Associated Press reported, some driving golf carts as the area resounded with celebratory gunfire.

It wasn't immediately clear whether Col. Gadhafi or members of his immediate family were in the compound when it was breached by the rebels, but battle's ferocity led many to speculate that the longtime leader may have been inside.

The report that rebels were celebrating within the walls of Col. Gadhafi's symbolic stronghold came after two days of whipsawing reports out of the Libyan capital over what appears to be the final phase of Libyan rebels' six-month battle to oust the world's longest-tenured current ruler.

On Sunday, rebels swept into Col. Gadhafi's last stronghold city and the center of his nearly 42-year rule, and celebrated on the city's central Green Square. But battles continued Monday. Forces loyal to Col. Gadhafi conducted lightning strikes on rebels, several neighborhoods appeared to remain in the control of loyalist soldiers and residents spoke of snipers situated in several neighborhoods.

Throughout Tuesday, forces loyal to Col. Gadhafi continued to battle through Tripoli's densely populated neighborhoods, attacking and defending patches of territory across the seemingly divided capital.

Specific districts of Tripoli have become notorious for their antiregime protests during the six months of Libya's civil war, while other neighborhoods have remained forcibly allied with the leader—loyal men and families who owe their careers, tribal ties and social positions to Col. Gadhafi. These divisions have erupted in increasingly bloody street fighting that threaten a vacuum of power and a Balkanized break-up of this city of two million people.

Ibrahim Dabbashi, who represents rebel leadership as the deputy Libyan ambassador to the United Nations, confirmed rebels had taken the compound.

"Citizens are free to walk in there now," he said at a news conference at Libya's mission to the UN in New York. "We just have to take care of any explosives that may have been left in there."

He said he expected Col. Moammar Gadhafi, his family members and other high officials to be in hiding in the city's underground tunnels—built by the Libyan leader for security purposes in recent years, he said—or in private homes. He expressed confidence they would be captured "within 72 hours."

Taking Col. Gadhafi's complex, which has already been heavily damaged by North Atlantic Treaty Organization airstrikes, would mark one of the greatest symbolic victories for the rebels.

Arabic news channel Al Arabiya showed live footage of Libyans celebrating in front of the section of the compound that Col. Moammar Gadhafi used as a shrine to the 1986 U.S. bombing raid that failed to kill him.

On Tuesday afternoon, groups of young men dressed in T-shirts and jeans, climbed up the sculpture of a clenched fist holding a U.S. warplane that stands in a courtyard in front of the building. Other young men, some carrying AK-47 rifles, rampaged through the building, grabbing war souvenirs from inside.

Abdel-Aziz Shafiya, 19, walked down one of the main roads of the compound with a rocket-propelled grenade launcher in one hand and a Kalashnikov in another. The teenager, who is from the embattled city of Misrata, told the AP he felt "an explosion of joy inside."

"I lost friends and relatives and now I can walk into Gadhafi's house," he said. "Many of my friends have died and now all of that meant something."

Mahmoud Shammam, a Doha-base spokesman for the rebels' interim council, was more cautious.

"We don't know who is inside Bab al-Aziziya. We believe that there is someone there and that he is leading a fierce battle. It is a symbol. This is the final castle of Gadhafi," he told the AP.

The battle for Bab al-Azizya came hours after Col. Gadhafi's son and heir apparent dealt an embarrassing blow to rebels who had earlier claimed to have him in their custody.

Seif el-Islam appeared late Monday at a hotel where the government is housing foreign journalists in Tripoli. Speaking at an impromptu news conference, he denied rebel reports that he had been arrested over the weekend when the opposition army rushed into the capital. Both he and his father, who are wanted on charges of war crimes at the International Criminal Court, apparently remained at large Tuesday.

Gunmen loyal to the Libyan leader appeared to rally around Seif el-Islam's unexpected appearance, which marks a public relations debacle for the rebel leadership, who disseminated news of his arrest to Western allies.

In New York, Mr. Dabbashi said Seif al-Islam had been captured but was able to escape after he called members of his personal security. He said rebel fighters hadn't watched him closely enough and had been "over confident" about the security situation.

U.S. military officials said the U.S. believes the rebels control most of Tripoli but that the exact percentage under their control is unclear and is changing by the hour.

One senior U.S. military official put the share of Tripoli controlled by the rebels at 90% but said pockets of pro-Gadhafi resistance in densely populated areas made the outcome of the battle for the city "murky."

"The situation is fluid," said Col. David Lapan, the Pentagon's spokesman.

Officials said the Obama administration hopes within days to begin releasing some of the Gadhafi regime assets frozen by the U.S. since February. The frozen assets, totaling some $37 billion, are intended to be used to support Libyan government institutions and for reconstruction efforts, officials said.

In Dubai, U.S. and British diplomats huddled for another day with rebel representatives to put the finishing touches on a post-Gadhafi stability plan. Officials said the U.S. and its allies are advising the rebels on how to quickly restore basic government services and protect critical infrastructure, including oil assets.

NATO and European Union officials said Tuesday that while it was too early to declare victory in Libya, they had started talks on giving aid and unfreezing key Libyan assets in overseas banks.

"This is not over yet," Catherine Ashton, the EU's foreign policy chief, said at a press conference.

NATO is operating under a mandate from the United Nations, valid until Sept. 25, to protect Libyan civilians from the air and enforce an arms embargo. Its planes have flown some 20,000 sorties over the Northern African nation. NATO spokeswoman Oana Lungescu said Tuesday that regardless of events in Libya, "there will not be boots on the ground" and the military coalition will follow the UN.

NATO ambassadors met Tuesday afternoon in private. Leaders from the EU, UN and Arab League will meet Friday in New York, said Mrs. Ashton.

Jubilation turned to uncertain disquiet late Monday in Libya's capital, with persistent reports of random shootings in the capital, with some pockets of outright fighting. Jeff Grocott has the latest on The News Hub.

While it is unclear how many Gadhafi loyalists are left in the capital, those fighting in the streets are most likely the ideologically honed irregular forces that the leader has used to quell internal dissent and protect his regime for years.

Residents say these government militias are conducting the fighting, along with members of Col. Gadhafi's elite military units that appear to be regrouping in Tripoli. The loyalists are now squaring off with hastily trained fighters from Tripoli's far-flung districts who fled the capital earlier this year and have been recruited as part of the rebel vanguard to take the capital.

The rebels started organizing the so-called Tripoli Brigades in early June, choosing men with strong family and social ties from the city and then training them in the remote Western Mountains, located some 160 kilometers (100 miles) from the capital.

Mohammed Abu Sbeaa, a 21-year-old fighter in the Hamer Brigade, named after Tripoli's pre-revolutionary parliament building, said he went through six weeks of training after joining the unit in mid-July. On the same day he showed up at the brigade's barracks, he was issued a uniform and given a soldier identification number. They started training immediately, he said.

Each morning they woke up at 5:30 a.m., went for a 45-minute run, followed by stretching and calisthenics, he said. That was followed by daily drills in marching and formations, which Mr. Sbeaa said was intended to transform civilians with no military experience into soldiers accustomed to taking orders and working with discipline.

"It got us used to listening to our commanders and put us in a military mind-set," he said.

The regime fighters still operating in Tripoli appear to be the well-trained paramilitary forces that comprised a parallel security structure in Col. Gadhafi's Libya and that have terrorized the capital while fighting has raged in other parts of the country.

Called "revolutionary committees," these irregular units have been the bastion of Col. Gadhafi's dictatorship over the past 40 years, existing parallel to the established military and the police. Their role has been to be both political commissars for the regime and security agents in local neighborhoods and districts. The members of these militias largely come from Col. Gadhafi's own clan, giving them great motivation to stick with the leader as his regime crumbles.

Recruitment into the revolutionary committees would take personal or family connections, and the men would be put through rigorous ideological tests. Under Col. Gadhafi's leadership, the rewards for service were immense: financial windfalls for lower-level committee members from the collection of security payments among neighborhood shopkeepers, and commercial partnerships for the commanders of these units.

Since the revolt in Libya erupted this spring, these armed revolutionary council militias have been deployed in heavy force across Tripoli. Brandishing automatic rifles, they screech through districts of the capital in Toyota Tundra pickup trucks, swarming day or night like through neighborhoods known for defiance of Col. Gadhafi.

Residents say these plain-clothes gunmen are responsible for many of the mass arrests that have occurred in Tripoli over the past six months. In February and March, they were blamed for shooting unarmed protesters and raiding hospitals full of wounded demonstrators, taking them from operating wards.

Over the past few days, these same militias have been battling armed locals with mounted heavy machine guns on their trucks, according to residents. Some have also set up defensive perimeters around regime-friendly districts, they said.

Col. Gadhafi seized power in a military coup in 1969. Over the past two decades, he has consciously pulled resources away from the regular army and invested in the revolutionary committees, as a way to mitigate the possibility of a coup against him, according to diplomats and former Libyan military advisers.

In many ways, Col. Gadhafi's mistrust of his military appears to have been well placed. This week, with his capital under threat, the head of his presidential guard signed a secret deal with the rebels and didn't deploy his men to fight, according to rebel commanders.

Meanwhile, the elite military brigade commanded by Col. Gadhafi's son Khamis pulled back from its defensive perimeter around Tripoli over the weekend, allowing the rebels to advance eastward into the capital.

The swift advance was a boon for the rebel-led Tripoli Brigade, whose fighters aren't very experienced. In their Western Mountains' training facility, recruits for the brigade attended afternoon classes on how to use the various weapons in the rebel arsenal, including AK-47 and FN assault rifles, heavy-caliber antiaircraft machine guns and antitank rockets. They also learned basic tactics, how to advance and retreat, and raid a building safely.

Their instructors were Libyan expatriates who had served in the Libyan military during its war with Chad in the 1980s. They fell out with Col. Gadhafi during the war and formed what is known as the Libyan Salvation Front, one of the oldest Libyan opposition groups. Many went to the U.S. in exile, and then returned to Libya after the uprising broke out in February, said Mr. Sbeaa, the rebel fighter.

Yussuf Mohammed, a senior coordinator for another Tripoli Brigade, the Qaqaa Brigade, said about 100 of his brigade's 600 fighters received an advanced three-week course in urban warfare tactics given by Qatari special forces.

When rebels in the Western Mountains attacked nearby Gadhafi-controlled villages in late July, the Tripoli brigades' fighters were dispatched to battle to give them a taste of real-life combat.

In mid-August the Tripoli Brigades were joined together under a single division commander.

When Zawiya, the coastal city 30 miles east of Tripoli, fell earlier this month, the Tripoli Brigades were deployed forward to a town closer to the capital, where they nervously awaited the orders to attack. Those orders came on Sunday, with Tripoli's Qaqaa Brigade spearheading the assault from Zawiya. Mr. Sbeaa's brigade saw action the following morning, pushing into the capital through the southern suburb of Azzizziya to establish a bridge head for the rebel forces in central Tripoli.

But within 90 minutes of setting up that new headquarters, they came under attack and had to relocate. By Tuesday morning, violent battles were engulfing Tripoli, in what many predict will be a drawn out protracted and bloody struggle.

—Adam Entous, Christopher Rhoads, John W. Miller, Leila Hatoum and Alan Cullison contributed to this article.
Write to Charles Levinson at charles.levinson@wsj.com and Margaret Coker at margaret.coker@wsj.com
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2011, 01:40:43 PM
Incredulous? Seif al-Islam would have been searched and patted down upon capture ... are we to believe that he managed to remain in possession of a cell phone? Negative. The rebels have been performing at least perfunctory searches of passing vehicles ... it's doubtful that they would miss a cell phone. What they could miss is a GPS type device ... but the downside of that is that would open Seif al-Islam to the unwanted attentions of other monitors. Beyond that, the use of a double shouldn't be discounted?

It's interesting that Libyan domestic TV (temporarily shut down) is now running off of a Damascus, Syria based channel.

Finally, it's likely not beyond the colonel to have convinced his security forces that he's on the premises whilst he's elsewhere as they defend him zealously.
Post by: asylumseeker on August 23, 2011, 08:15:29 PM
The journalists in the Rexos hotel are a bargaining chip in case things go awry.
Post by: Dutty on August 25, 2011, 02:51:07 PM
The journalists in the Rexos hotel are a bargaining chip in case things go awry.

Looks like the red cross getting them out

What is with middle eastern dictators and their obsession with golden AK-47

Even more funny is apparently ghadddafi use to be jockin regular to pics of Condi
http://www.buzzfeed.com/fjelstud/gaddafis-book-of-condoleezza-rice-pictures (http://www.buzzfeed.com/fjelstud/gaddafis-book-of-condoleezza-rice-pictures)

ah tell allyuh she hot ;)
Post by: grimm01 on August 25, 2011, 04:16:45 PM
allyuh see the pictures of inside Ghaddafi place and the youth man deck out in one of Ghaddafi army dress uniform hat, a big gold chain and a gold scepter/fly swatter...

ain't no bling like a dictator bling oui.

find a link: http://www.theblaze.com/stories/libyan-rebel-steels-hat-gold-scepter-from-gaddafis-bedroom/
Post by: asylumseeker on February 08, 2014, 03:15:55 PM
... and after all that drama, there's NOTHING to unify like football.

http://www.youtube.com/v/_rDgPcPof_0

Imagine a country whose domestic league has been inactive for a period of time, wins this tournament. Players couldn't exit the plane for a hour due to the pandemonium.

The crowning of Libya as African Nations CHAN Champions by beating Ghana on the first occasion the country has managed to win a major trophy in the international arena, boosts Libya’s hopes in the sport, but not only, at a time when it is most needed so close to the third anniversary of the February 17, 2011 Revolution and with the country still trying to find its feet in the world.

http://www.tripolipost.com/articledetail.asp?c=3&i=10932

(The penalty kicks were comical).
Post by: Bitter on February 08, 2014, 06:02:04 PM
... and after all that drama, there's NOTHING to unify like football.
http://www.tripolipost.com/articledetail.asp?c=3&i=10932
[/quote]

Yes!
Just look at Iraq since they won the AFC Asian Cup.
Post by: Tiresais on February 09, 2014, 02:57:40 AM
Football can be quite a good political tool when capitalised on. The problem in Iraq is roughly the same in it's Eastern neighbours - it has a contentious position within hard-line Islamic scholarly thought. There's a great deal of resistance to the sport, seen to detract from prayer obligations (this has been true in some Christian countries in the past too, and sometimes sees backlash in Israel) and other activities seen more conducive to a child's growth. I think the attitude is slowly changing though, which is great for these countries.
Post by: kounty on June 11, 2014, 09:45:31 AM
With the 2 Libyan Prime Ministers and utter chaos (no security, police force etc); Crazy-men about to overrun Iraq...even looking back to scenes like the Iran contra...I am 100% convinced that it is fundamental US policy (regardless of president) to destabilize wherever possible every country in the world (with the exception of Israel, UK, Canada...a select few white nations).
Post by: Bitter on June 11, 2014, 09:52:35 AM
With the 2 Libyan Prime Ministers and utter chaos (no security, police force etc); Crazy-men about to overrun Iraq...even looking back to scenes like the Iran contra...I am 100% convinced that it is fundamental US policy (regardless of president) to destabilize wherever possible every country in the world (with the exception of Israel, UK, Canada...a select few white nations).

No!
Obama is weak.

Benghazi!
Post by: Tiresais on June 11, 2014, 10:26:44 AM

Destabilized countries are no foreign country's benefit - makes it harder to secure oil contracts for american forms a brighter future for all Libyans