Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on March 07, 2011, 07:19:17 AM

Title: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game (30-Mar-11).
Post by: Flex on March 07, 2011, 07:19:17 AM
T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game in Guatemala City - 10pm.

The Concacaf tournament runs from March 28 to April 10. It will be a 12-team tournament, the preliminary round of which will involve four three-team groups to determine who advances to the quarter-finals.

The four semi-finalists will qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

T&T 18-man squad

Goalkeepers
John Thomas (Fatima College), Stefan Berkeley (University of Connecticut).

Defenders
Joevin Jones (W Connection), Akil Clarke (St Ann’s Rangers), Jerron Morris (Defence Force), Weslie John (W Connection), Dwight Ceballo (Ma Pau FC), Akeem Adams (W Connection), Sheldon Bateau (capt) (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders
Kenaz Williams (Joe Public), Jerron Quashie (University of TT), Ryan Fredericks (W Connection), Marcus Joseph (Joe Public), Shahdon Winchester (W Connection), Isaiah Ferguson (US based).

Forwards
Johan Peltier (San Juan Jabloteh), Jerrel Britto (San Juan Jabloteh), Cordell Cato (San Juan Jabloteh).
Title: TV - INTERNATIONAL CONCACAF UNDER-20 CHAMPIONSHIP
Post by: Jumbie on March 25, 2011, 06:50:19 AM
Mar 28    8:00pm    Canada vs Guadeloupe    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 28    10:00pm    Cuba vs Mexico    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 29    8:00pm    Suriname vs USA    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 29    10:00pm    Guatemala vs Jamaica    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 30    8:00pm    Guadeloupe vs Costa Rica    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 30    10:00pm    Trinidad and Tobago vs Cuba    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Mar 31    8:00pm    Panama vs Suriname    ESPN3.com USA
Mar 31    10:00pm    Honduras vs Jamaica    ESPN3.com USA
Apr 1    8:00pm    Canada vs Costa Rica    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Apr 2    6:00pm    Panama vs USA    ESPND, ESPN3.com USA
Apr 2    8:00pm    Honduras vs Guatemala    ESPND

mods .. please merge as necessary
Title: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Cuba U-20 Game (30-Mar-11).
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 28, 2011, 07:40:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/ttbo0BRsAs0
Post by: Flex on March 29, 2011, 04:30:25 AM
U-20s count down hours to Cuba clash.
By: Shuan Fuentes (TTFF).

Trinidad and Tobago’s  Under 20 footballers will have a final training session on Tuesday prior to their opening match in the Concacaf Final round of qualification against Cuba in Guatemala City on Wednesday.

The team settled in at the Futuro Hotel in Guatemala City after arriving from Honduras where they played two warm-up matches against the Honduras national under 20 team.

Head coach Zoran Vranes would have gotten a chance to see his first opponents Cuba on Monday as they opened the tournament against Mexico while Canada faced Guadeloupe. T&T faces the Cubans on Wednesday at 8pm.

Team captain Sheldon Bateau said on Monday that the members of the team were feeling some level of anxiety as the opening game approaches but said there was still a fair amount of calmness in the camp.

“We’re anxious because we are here in Guatemala now and all the weeks of preparations are now down to this. Our first game is on Wednesday and we are anxious to take the field and get an opening victory,” Bateau told TTFF Media.

“We are focused at the moment. We lost our two games in Honduras but we know what are the areas we need to pay special attention to and we know what our strengths are,” he added.

“Individually all the players are in good shape. We are in good form and just trying to stay focused on free of injury.”

Bateau was also a member of the T&T Under 20 team which participated at the 2009 FIFAU Under 20 World Cup in Egypt and he believes the team is a more experienced one this time around.

“This time around we have more experience in the team so that should be a plus and we also have a high level of fitness. We plan to use that as one of main strengths.

We need to play for 90 minutes and more in every game.. Wherever we may fall short technical wise we intend to use our physical strengths to our advantage, “ Bateau added.

United States faces Suriname and Jamaica tackles Guatemala on Tuesday. The top four teams from the tournament will advance to the FIFA Under 20 World Cup in Colombia starting July 29.

Click here for Player Profiles (http://www.facebook.com/#!/album.php?fbid=10150136347013929&id=22087728928&aid=295523)
Post by: Flex on March 29, 2011, 06:18:24 AM
Games/Results;

Monday, March 28
Guadeloupe 1:2 Canada, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
C.Houelche 26     L.Cavallini 53
                      D.Bassi 58

Mexico 3:0 Cuba, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)
R.Malblanche 36 (OG)
A.Pulido 53
U.Dávila 84

Tuesday, March 29
United States 4:0 Suriname, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
B.Wood 19
J.Gyau 29
C.Doyle 36
K.Rowe 81

Guatemala 2:0 Jamaica, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)
J.Hyde 8 (OG)
G.Lima 35

Wednesday, March 30
Costa Rica 3:0 Guadeloupe, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
J.Campbell 57
J.Campbell 62-Pen
D.Vega 74

Trinidad & Tobago 0:0 Cuba, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Thursday, March 31
Panama vs. Suriname, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Honduras vs. Jamaica, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Friday, April 1
Costa Rica vs. Canada, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)
Mexico vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Saturday, April 2
United States vs. Panama, 6 p.m. (4 p.m.)
Guatemala vs. Honduras, 8 p.m. (6 p.m.)

FIRST ROUND

Group A: Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica
Group B: United States, Panama, Suriname
Group C: Canada, Costa Rica, Guadeloupe
Group D: Mexico, Trinidad & Tobago, Cuba

QUARTERFINALS*

Tuesday, April 5
QF1: Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up, 7:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
QF2: Group D winner vs. Group C runner-up, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

Wednesday, April 6
QF3: Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up, 7:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.)
QF4: Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, 10 p.m. (8 p.m.)

SEMIFINALS*

Friday, April 8

NOTE - At Guatemala City - Times U.S. Eastern (local time in parentheses)
Post by: Sam on March 29, 2011, 10:06:09 AM
Ent Jerron Morris is Clayton Morris nephew... !!
Post by: Reggaefan on March 29, 2011, 12:24:49 PM
So you guys should be feeling very optimistic about making another world cup at the under-20 level..Cuba looks to be the wekest team in your group...so it will probably you and Mexico advancing. Assuming Mexico wins the group, it will be T&T vs Canada or Costa Rica for a world cup berth.  Guadeloupe gave Canada a hard fight last night, so i suppose from that angle, T&T can do the same.

Jamaica now. We will have to fight nail and tooth with hosts Guatemala and Honduras for a spot through. I have great respect for Honduran football, slightly less for Guatemala, but being the hosts, they have to at least be one of the favorites for at least second place in the group. But even if Jamaica does the improbable and finsh second, they will likely come up against the USA for a spot at the world cup. Doesnt look good for Jamaica. To stand a realsitic chance, Jamaica needs to win the group to face Panama (not exactly easy either, Panama football is on the up). in fact, a loss for Jamaica tonight pretty much ends the dream.

Post by: Deeks on March 29, 2011, 01:57:11 PM
So you guys should be feeling very optimistic about making another world cup at the under-20 level..Cuba looks to be the wekest team in your group...so it will probably you and Mexico advancing. Assuming Mexico wins the group, it will be T&T vs Canada or Costa Rica for a world cup berth.  Guadeloupe gave Canada a hard fight last night, so i suppose from that angle, T&T can do the same.

Jamaica now. We will have to fight nail and tooth with hosts Guatemala and Honduras for a spot through. I have great respect for Honduran football, slightly less for Guatemala, but being the hosts, they have to at least be one of the favorites for at least second place in the group. But even if Jamaica does the improbable and finsh second, they will likely come up against the USA for a spot at the world cup. Doesnt look good for Jamaica. To stand a realsitic chance, Jamaica needs to win the group to face Panama (not exactly easy either, Panama football is on the up). in fact, a loss for Jamaica tonight pretty much ends the dream.

I love meh country, but if  them boys can't beat Cuba, I honestly don't think they will go anywhere.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 29, 2011, 03:06:19 PM

I love meh country, but if  them boys can't beat Cuba, I honestly don't think they will go anywhere.

Cuba already beat them at U-17 level in T&T. But its a whole new day and a much different team. Go T&T
Post by: najee on March 29, 2011, 04:37:56 PM

Cuba already beat them at U-17 level in T&T. But its a whole new day and a much different team. Go T&T

yea...cause copper was in charge...having the boy play ta ta ...ah just hope that not the same with the U20
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 29, 2011, 05:33:42 PM

yea...cause copper was in charge...having the boy play ta ta ...ah just hope that not the same with the U20

This was at U-17 in 2009 with Anton Corneal as coach. The current U-17 tied Cuba last year in Trini under Cooper. I think they can take Cuba this time and get out of the 1st round. But doing so we likely face Costa Rica or Canada in the quarters...To be truly confident of victory we would have had to go above and beyond what we normally have as preparations. Has the federation embarked on a program to get us ready to compete with or exceed even mid-tier CONCACAF teams?

A big negative is a lack of confidence on loosing their last few games.  It will take a special effort to get us into the semis. Fortunately (IMO) these players possess the raw firepower to get there.

Post by: madness on March 29, 2011, 11:50:18 PM
I haven't seen the Under 20 team on the tv yet but based on what i have read i hope they do well.
Post by: PATRIOT on March 30, 2011, 01:07:24 PM
What will be the time IN T&T (ie in EST) when the game kicks off 8pm or 10pm???
Post by: Tallman on March 30, 2011, 01:10:21 PM

10 PM EST
Post by: PATRIOT on March 30, 2011, 01:18:10 PM

10 PM EST
THANKS... so I could go and see Paul the movie at 8 and come back home in time for the game NICE!!
Post by: kounty on March 30, 2011, 03:06:38 PM
 :applause: yeah man.  vibez it up fellaz
Post by: FireBrand on March 30, 2011, 03:44:26 PM
All the best Young Warriors!!! Make T&T proud!
Post by: andre samuel on March 30, 2011, 03:55:57 PM
:applause: yeah man.  vibez it up fellaz

Man revive ah Latas quote!

Post by: dreamer on March 30, 2011, 04:54:35 PM
Go T&T. Lash dem hard.  :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 05:45:05 PM
Hopefully, Trini complacency dont bite we in the arse. Cuba is slowly becoming less of a whipping boy in Concacaf. It seems as if their football has somewhat improved. On the other side, with Trinidad, you really dont know what team is coming out to play. I dont think we scoring more than two. And a draw with Cuba will not be to surprising. Nevertheless, good luck and dont concede anything.
Post by: najee on March 30, 2011, 05:57:11 PM
guy's anyway to see or listen to the game
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 06:07:38 PM
guy's anyway to see or listen to the game

Concacaf TV. It is free sign up and the quality is superb. Watched JA and Guata yesterday. Unfortunately JA went down by 2. We can safely say that JA is out now.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 06:10:54 PM
I seeing now. But you will have to login

http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/PostLive/0,,12907~629457,00.html
Post by: dreamer on March 30, 2011, 06:42:12 PM
The quality of the Concacaf TV stream is sick. Currently Costa Rica giving Guadeloupe a lesson on ball control and composure but score still 0-0.  10 mins lefy in first half.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 06:54:19 PM
The quality of the Concacaf TV stream is sick. Currently Costa Rica giving Guadeloupe a lesson on ball control and composure but score still 0-0.  10 mins lefy in first half.

The stream is top class. But Guada is that bad either.
Post by: D.H.W on March 30, 2011, 07:12:26 PM
yaay for live stream  ;D
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 07:55:26 PM
Final score for Guada vs CR => Guada 0 - 3 CR!
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 07:59:30 PM
Let's go T&T  :wavetowel:
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:00:24 PM
Okay T&T vs Cuba U-20 game just about to start!

Link: http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/PostLive/0,,12907~629465,00.html

But you need to register, takes about 2 mins!
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 30, 2011, 08:01:59 PM
winchester is not even a starter ....
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 08:02:51 PM
Ah hope dem boys could play better than sing  :notlistening:
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 30, 2011, 08:15:40 PM
come on fellas
Post by: chelsealife on March 30, 2011, 08:16:40 PM
is the match finished. whats d final score??
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 30, 2011, 08:17:31 PM
is the match finished. whats d final score??

it is live now nil nil
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:19:20 PM
Cuba looking much move positive on the ball than us!

We need to move the ball forward and keep possession better and hopefully the chances will come!
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 30, 2011, 08:24:58 PM
better options fellas
Post by: Arimaman on March 30, 2011, 08:26:19 PM
Can we learn to shoot for goodness sakes.....everything, high, hard, far, wide.... 
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:30:12 PM
We need to move the ball quicker into Cuba's half when we have possession and to do more accurate short passing to save giving away the ball too easily!

Live link for those who don't have it: http://www.concacaftv.premiumtv.co.uk/page/forcelogin/PostLive/0,,12907~629465,00.html
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:31:15 PM
The boys ain't playing too bad. They looking more composed than other TT teams of the past. But is only 25 mins.
Post by: Arimaman on March 30, 2011, 08:32:49 PM
The boys ain't playing too bad. They looking more composed than other TT teams of the past. But is only 25 mins.
Composed in the back in our third b/c Cuba giving we that....Once the ball cross the half line and we under pressure we continue to lose possession..  Fact is we play way to slow to compete at a high level.  We've got to play much much faster.
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:34:41 PM
Composed in the back in our third b/c Cuba giving we that....Once the ball cross the half line and we under pressure we continue to lose possession..  Fact is we play way to slow to compete at a high level.  We've got to play much much faster.

Yuh spot on!
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:36:20 PM
some acting by 18 of cuba
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:36:30 PM
whey. tha is no foul.
Post by: Socafan on March 30, 2011, 08:38:46 PM

Yuh spot on!
Dah jogging around on the field real irritating boy...JAH!... and Cuba giving them the game eh. All kinda time and space and bad pass and they not making them pay. Only thing ah like is them fellas look physically up to the task. But is the usual with Trini teams, the defenders cyar find the midfield.
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:38:53 PM
The Cubans allowing us to keep the ball in our half but once we are in their half our boys can't keep possession!
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:40:56 PM
nice offside call
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:41:29 PM
whey the card ref
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 08:41:45 PM
This is a very poor performance. Mexico will give us at least 3.
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:42:18 PM
lets end first half wid a goal TnT
Post by: Arimaman on March 30, 2011, 08:42:36 PM
This Cuba team eh no good.  We should win this game but we eh much better.  Boring.....I eh wasting no more sleep on this nonsense....  The coach should have made tactical changes already.  I like Sheldon Bateau's game though.  However, I would limit his 30 yard passes because he is not capable of doing them consistently.  Play within our ability and we'll do fine.
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:43:15 PM
damn lucky he miss the goal too high
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:43:55 PM
can you say lucky again
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 08:44:16 PM
we get away
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 08:44:54 PM
How did these guys even make it into this tournee. By far T&T has been the worst.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:45:05 PM
gk make a good save
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:45:27 PM
replay shows keeper just got his foot on it
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:48:49 PM
set play now
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 08:49:33 PM
Is it me or do these guys lack vision.
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:50:02 PM
what school boy free kick lawd
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 08:50:20 PM
We playing way too slow.
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:50:55 PM
yuh men playin like is Secondary School boy football
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:51:47 PM
Keeper ball!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:51:58 PM
bad call ref. the man never went to head the ball
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 08:52:30 PM
not impressed
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 08:54:17 PM
I hope we give a much better second have performance.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 08:54:25 PM
Honestly this is one of the better performances I have seen. I ain't saying it superb. But I find the boys a bit more composed. Yes they a bit slow. But not bad.
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 08:58:59 PM
Second half ah bet you the Cubans will come out pressing hard for a goal!

Just hope we can come out more positive, keep possession of the ball when in Cuba's half and take more on target shots at the Cuban goal to make their keeper at least buss ah sweat!

For me Cuba was the much better team in the 1st half and our keeper was way busier than theirs, not a good sign but lets hope that changes come the 2nd half!
Post by: Storeboy on March 30, 2011, 09:01:26 PM
We  have to learn to run at full speed and make right decisions when we pass the ball.  Faster play, think fast and make good decisions.  That will only come when we play good opposition frequently and stop playing the Barbados, Grenada, and St. Kitts of the football world.  We have to have more frequent internationals at the lower level against USA, Mexico, and teams above us or we will never get better.
Post by: Socafan on March 30, 2011, 09:04:05 PM
No zest, plus men reluctant to move forward with the ball on the ground. Even when is plenty space. Even the forwards thinking SHOOT! from a bazilliion yards out rather than move forward with the ball on the ground. Same old shit with the defenders left hanging by the lazy ass midfielders. Yuh could see they trying to play out from the back, but the midfielders nowhere in sight so the defenders have to resort to long ball to the front. No team movement. Ball on yuh feet and yuh waiting on man to move before yuh pass, instead of making him move with yuh pass.

Somebody need to teach them men how to play the game.  I think we need an American coach.

The worst part is Cuba eh no good.
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 09:04:17 PM
We  have to learn to run at full speed and make right decisions when we pass the ball.  Faster play, think fast and make good decisions.  That will only come when we play good opposition frequently and stop playing the Barbados, Grenada, and St. Kitts of the football world.  We have to have more frequent internationals at the lower level against USA, Mexico, and teams above us or we will never get better.

Us having a better coach will also help but I could be wrong eh?!
Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 09:06:05 PM
No zest, plus men reluctant to move forward with the ball on the ground. Even when is plenty space. Even the forwards thinking SHOOT! from a bazilliion yards out rather than move forward with the ball on the ground. Same old shit with the defenders left hanging by the lazy ass midfielders. Yuh could see they trying to play out from the back, but the midfielders nowhere in sight so the defenders have to resort to long ball to the front. No team movement. Ball on yuh feet and yuh waiting on man to move before yuh pass, instead of making him move with yuh pass.

Somebody need to teach them men how to play the game.  I think we need an American coach.

The worst part is Cuba eh no good.

If Cuba no good then what does that make us?

Fill the blank ..........................
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:06:12 PM
Allyuh really think this team making it to the WC? No way. This game will be a draw 0-0. We will qualify by virtue of cuba goals against. Then its Costa Rica or Canada who will give us 3 in we backside.
I hope the under 20 team prove me wrong.

I actually had more faith in under 20 team and coach. But after seeing this 1st half....Trini football in real shambles. Someone needs to step in and revamp our total program. We cant continue to point fingers at Jack. Trust me guys something is very very wrong with our football.  

At least track and field season starting soon!

Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 09:07:19 PM
not 1 creative player in midfield

qualify when mexico will rest abt 4 on us.
Post by: fatimarima on March 30, 2011, 09:07:28 PM

Cuba had the better scoring opportunities but for the most part the first half was even.  There are no outstanding players so far.   All of our guys are plying well...but nothing spectacular.  The free kick we got near the end of the 1st half was very disturbing! Very poor execution.  Instead of playing the ball into the box, our guy tried to pass the ball about 10 feet away to another T&T player but it was easily intercepted without any threat to the cuban goal.
Hopefully we can see something more positive in the 2nd half
Post by: dreamer on March 30, 2011, 09:07:38 PM

It's true sad to say. All about exposure.
Well let's see what happens when Shadon is brought on with 30 mins to go, hopefully with a 1-0 buffer by then to allow us to play more attacking ball. We jess cyah afford to lose against Cuba as it go get much more stink later against Mexico. T&T is always a 2nd half team. It's part of our psyche ... unfortunately.  :'(
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 09:10:42 PM
Allyuh really think this team making it to the WC? No way. This game will be a draw 0-0. We will qualify by virtue of cuba goals against. Then its Costa Rica or Canada who will give us 3 in we backside.
I hope the under 20 team prove me wrong.

I actually had more faith in under 20 team and coach. But after seeing this 1st half....Trini football in real shambles. Someone needs to step in and revamp our total program. We cant continue to point fingers at Jack. Trust me guys something is very very wrong with our football.  

At least track and field season starting soon!

Who in charge of football home??? Whoever in charge takes the blame.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:11:19 PM

Cuba had the better scoring opportunities but for the most part the first half was even.  There are no outstanding players so far.   All of our guys are plying well...but nothing spectacular.  The free kick we got near the end of the 1st half was very disturbing! Very poor execution.  Instead of playing the ball into the box, our guy tried to pass the ball about 10 feet away to another T&T player but it was easily intercepted without any threat to the cuban goal.

Playing well? Which game are you watching?
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 09:14:54 PM
terrible free kick.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 09:16:00 PM
nothing wrong with that fella.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 09:19:12 PM
cuba looking better in the 2nd half.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:22:11 PM
cuba looking better in the 2nd half.

I know. Trini complacency at its finest.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 09:23:44 PM
these cubans crying for evething
Post by: Storeboy on March 30, 2011, 09:29:42 PM
The refereeing in this game leaves a lot to be desired.  I am not sur what is his basis for yellow cards and he calling fouls on 50:50 plays. JMHO.
Post by: santacruz on March 30, 2011, 09:30:55 PM
right now i feeling sorry for the commentator. poor fella!
Post by: Socafan on March 30, 2011, 09:31:49 PM
I like the raw talent I seeing on the field boy. Its just shocking to me that somebody cyar make that group play properly with each other.
Post by: socachynee on March 30, 2011, 09:33:05 PM
as my son would say "I'm BORED!"
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 30, 2011, 09:34:12 PM
I like the raw talent I seeing on the field boy. Its just shocking to me that somebody cyar make that group play properly with each other.

Spot on! The support and use of space to create support is abysmal. Cuba just wants this more
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 09:34:53 PM
okay, sShadon on the field now!!!
Post by: Bitter on March 30, 2011, 09:35:04 PM
In terms of playing well or poorly, I'd say that T&T isn't doing too badly. The slow tempo of the game helps though. What I am seeing is a defend-first game plan that relies on the forward beating his man, rather than passing it to create an opening.

The poor shots on both sides is a result of the defenses being packed in. The long passing is because there is too much field to make up and while the setup is for counterattacking, the midfielders are too cautious, moving out slowly so as not to get caught if (when) we lose the ball. Guadeloupe had a similar problem in their games, they had the ability and skill, but were too timid going forward.
Post by: fatimarima on March 30, 2011, 09:35:39 PM

watching T&T vs Cuba.    Yes, I said all of our guys are playing "well"....not great, not spectacular, just "well".  Can you pin point any one Trini player who is playing horrible?  I can't so far.  As individuals they are playing ok, as a team we dont look like an attacking force but at the same time we not leaking goals.   Its true that we not playing great but Just watch the game and relax yuh self nuh.  
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 30, 2011, 09:37:13 PM
I now see why they always concede goals. High percentage turnover in midfield, and no creative spark. Hopefully Winchester can add some life to their game.
Post by: triniairman on March 30, 2011, 09:43:25 PM
I feel a goal coming soon, all dem fellars bun in the 75'
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:45:09 PM

watching T&T vs Cuba.    Yes, I said all of our guys are playing "well"....not great, not spectacular, just "well".  Can you pin point any one Trini player who is playing horrible?  I can't so far.  As individuals they are playing ok, as a team we dont look like an attacking force but at the same time we not leaking goals.   Its true that we not playing great but Just watch the game and relax yuh self nuh.  

We are playing below well. This team is horrible. Pathetic. If we were to have this performance against US, Can or Honduras...Then I would probably say the same.

No need to relax here. This team aint going near a WC. Unless it is on playstation.  
Post by: Quags on March 30, 2011, 09:45:35 PM
game looks like it headed for a draw if you ask me.
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 09:46:02 PM

:waiting:
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 09:46:25 PM

i like yuh positive attitude but i not seeing it especially us scoring
Post by: Quags on March 30, 2011, 09:47:27 PM
tht cban is a great actor boy,
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:47:54 PM
Game ending Cuba 1-0 T&T. Better luck in 10 years.  :rotfl:
Post by: Quags on March 30, 2011, 09:50:54 PM
unlucky not to have won this
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 09:52:49 PM
men just taking shots and hoping for de best
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 09:53:04 PM
Come on Cuba, hurry up and bury one on we goalie.
Post by: Socafan on March 30, 2011, 09:53:56 PM
2 mins to go an they finally start playing with some zest and determination. WTF
Post by: D.H.W on March 30, 2011, 09:54:01 PM
amazing we could not score on this team
Post by: MEP on March 30, 2011, 09:55:32 PM
I don't know what team fellas watch but this team isn't that bad...it's someting to build on. Unlike past teams the problems lay up front where we get rid of the ball too quickly. Set pieces are horrible. They are playing with discipline. I'd like to see the speed of play a little bit faster.
Post by: dreamer on March 30, 2011, 09:56:18 PM
Frustrating  :'(
Post by: Bitter on March 30, 2011, 09:57:59 PM
 :sleepy:
Post by: elan on March 30, 2011, 09:58:23 PM
Not bad, lacking that cutting edge, that hunger to win. Looked like we were satisfied with a draw.  :-\
Post by: che on March 30, 2011, 09:58:35 PM
Mex and T&T will draw nil nil.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 10:01:25 PM
I don't know what team fellas watch but this team isn't that bad...it's someting to build on. Unlike past teams the problems lay up front where we get rid of the ball too quickly. Set pieces are horrible. They are playing with discipline. I'd like to see the speed of play a little bit faster.

WE PLAYING CUBA. If we were playing Mexico or US I would agree. I bet you Mexico giving us at least 3.

I want this team to take real licks. Come on Mexico! Drop 5 on we arse.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on March 30, 2011, 10:02:10 PM
i expecting vranes to say: the guys played well, we were unlucky not to win.  we had a few chances to win the game but our finishing let us down.  cuba improved a lot from their first game and made it difficult for us to play our natural game.  We are still in it and i am confident we will get a good result against mexico and qualify for the 2nd round.

he should really say: we not ready for the best teams in the concacaf evident by our poor performance against one of the weaker teams in the region.
Post by: fatimarima on March 30, 2011, 10:02:18 PM

lol..something really wrong with you...relax breads.  I know its frustrating but look at the positive side..we didnt lose.

Anyway, two things we really need to work very hard on:  1. shooting technique,  2. Speed in all aspects of the game

Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 10:03:13 PM
Not good, seeing that we have to play Mex next. I find the players not bad individuals. I thought Bateau was okay. Should have help the defenders by coming to get the ball more. They were sending the ball long quite a lot. But I thought they were a more composed team than before. So let's see how they do against Mex. on Friday. Our offence ain't nothing to brag about.
Post by: elan on March 30, 2011, 10:04:18 PM
One really good thing I saw from this game is that we have a left fullback that could use he left foot really well. He can hit a good ball more than 25 yards.  :applause:
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 10:06:19 PM
i expecting vranes to say: the guys played well, we were unlucky not to win.  we had a few chances to win the game but our finishing let us down.  cuba improved a lot from their first game and made it difficult for us to play our natural game.  We are still in it and i am confident we will get a good result against mexico and qualify for the 2nd round.

he should really say: we not ready for the best teams in the concacaf evident by our poor performance against one of the weaker teams in the region.

you want jack to hire hime or what?
Post by: rippin on March 30, 2011, 10:08:20 PM
I think this team passing better than the senior team though. Had a couple spot on wing changes and passes out the back to an actual player. Ok pressure wasn't there but even in the same situation seniors wasn't making the pass. If somebody could get them to run into spaces earlier and pick up the tempo of their game (which is a lot to ask) they might have something to offer. Corners being whipped in as opposed to some of the ballooning corners we see with the seniors.  

Playing not to lose the ball and to keep shape killing the team individual creativity. Nobody want to go at the opposing players. No risk no reward. I see worst. The real gauge is Mex.
Post by: Deeks on March 30, 2011, 10:08:52 PM

lol..something really wrong with you...relax breads.  I know its frustrating but look at the positive side..we didnt lose.

Anyway, two things we really need to work very hard on:  1. shooting technique,  2. Speed in all aspects of the game

I agree they should up the tempo of their game a bit more. Come Friday let's see if the ready for prime time.
Post by: Trini-Warrior on March 30, 2011, 10:12:45 PM
Some observations from game:
1. No speed! No speed of thought, ball movement and of feet. First time I see nearly an entire team jog a whole world cup qualifier!
2. Very little creativity as hardly anybody could have dribbled past an opposing player and absolutely no ideas in midfield especially for penetrating distribution.
3. No clear plan of attack.
4. Winchester needs to start and be encouraged to hold ball a little longer and take on defenders in around opposing penalty area. I would start him in midfield though!
5. Trinidad football in a real mess because this team has a fair number of our "bright prospects".
6. How long this team training now? Seems like only for a couple months at best especially for what seems a lack of conditioning.
7. Are they actually coaching this pattern of play? Nearly all our teams seem to play the same way, no matter the coach.
Post by: gawd on pitch on March 30, 2011, 10:21:44 PM
I have watched many T&T games on all levels. But here me out fellas. This is a sign that our football is heading the wrong direction. I really cannot find any positives from this. Individual skill is well higher than Cuba's. T&T  lack creativity, pace, confidence and grit.

These guys playing as if they playing against they father.

Post by: kingman on March 30, 2011, 10:26:13 PM
Poor shooting and finishing sums up the score line.

The young warriors earn about 3 free kicks right outside the 18 yard....3 corners back to back at one point and we did not make one count? Not to mention when we shoot, 95% was off target. Everybody wants power, no finesse.

Crossing was poor, even though we only had 2-3 or them (2nd half).

Technique Technique Technique......smh.

The one game that we should have won, we gave away points.

Anyways, on the next one.

Post by: Socapro on March 30, 2011, 10:31:23 PM
Lets be fair & realistic guys! We are no better than Cuba and the result of this game was a fair reflection of that!

Mexico will be looking forward to playing us on Friday so lets hope our boys are ready to be schooled and don't get too embarassed by the final scoreline!  ::)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 30, 2011, 10:59:09 PM

this clown have my head tief..I now reach home..  game end 0-0 right?

Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 30, 2011, 11:12:03 PM

this clown have my head tief..I now reach home..  game end 0-0 right?

:devil: yes...don't study it.

Simple, the midfield is poor at retaining posession. And when they inevitably loose the ball they do not comitt to tackles and force errors. There was little creativity beside Winchester.

Cordell Cato is a very good player, not as creative as Winchester but more in the mould of a holding midfielder.  He can dribble, is very fast, tackles very well and can hold on to a ball. In Mexico 2009 he was our best player hands down IMO and running them Central Americans ragged. But Vranes insists on sticking him in the forward line. He small but I feel if he is in the middle he could play a similar role to Leston Paul.

The back line handled Cuban pressure easily but needlessly...the mids were just giving the ball under any little pressure and could not get it back until the defenders disposses the Cubans high up and gave it back to the mids and the cycle was repeated. If we survive and make it through Vranes must find a strong midfielder anchor and a creator, and force these guys to support each other with every touch of the ball.

The ability is there, but the performance near the final third is so poor that Britto and the forward line barely had a sniff of the ball.
Post by: Bakes on March 30, 2011, 11:14:55 PM
replay shows keeper just got his foot on it

Kick save... and a beauty!!

Made #9 on SportsCenter Top Ten plays of the day.
Post by: madness on March 31, 2011, 02:46:08 AM
i think they need to be more goal hungry in the last 15mins on the game. i fine, they keep the ball fine but need more creativity in the mid field. so good luck guys
Post by: Tallman on March 31, 2011, 04:55:16 AM
The back line handled Cuban pressure easily...

Ah find we right back, Weslie John, turned over the ball on too many occasions, especially in de first half. Most of de time he would bypass de midfield, and try to play a long ball to de forwards, which almost always failed.

One thing I noticed with our national U-17 and U-20 keepers is dat dey doh get much distance on dey goal-kicks. Seems to be an issue of technique.
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2011, 05:28:04 AM

Ah find we right back, Weslie John, turned over the ball on too many occasions, especially in de first half. Most of de time he would bypass de midfield, and try to play a long ball to de forwards, which almost always failed.

One thing I noticed with our national U-17 and U-20 keepers is dat dey doh get much distance on dey goal-kicks. Seems to be an issue of technique.

True dat. But the mid-fields  were hiding. So seeing that our defence are not great at bringing the ball especially from our half, they hitting it long. But John did not have a bad game though. Now at times Bateau did come back and get the ball. When he did the build up was much better until they lost it in the final 3rd. But overall they did not play that bad. I find they were more composed than I have seen other yute teams. But that performance was against Cuba. They will have to definitely step it up against Mex. I like the idea that they were taking shots from far, even though many were high and wide. Bateau at mid is not bad. He has a good size. He need to ship out. It would have been nice to have Jake Thompson on this team. His speed would have been an asset. I find our guys have pace. Good luck guys.
Post by: Tallman on March 31, 2011, 05:49:53 AM

True dat. But the mid-fields  were hiding. So seeing that our defence are not great at bringing the ball especially from our half, they hitting it long. But John did not have a bad game though. Now at times Bateau did come back and get the ball. When he did the build up was much better until they lost it in the final 3rd. But overall they did not play that bad. I find they were more composed than I have seen other yute teams. But that performance was against Cuba. They will have to definitely step it up against Mex. I like the idea that they were taking shots from far, even though many were high and wide. Bateau at mid is not bad. He has a good size. He need to ship out. It would have been nice to have Jake Thompson on this team. His speed would have been an asset. I find our guys have pace. Good luck guys.

Their first touches need to be better, otherwise when dey meet ah team dat gives dem less space, dey go be giving up possession regularly. Meet de ball instead of waiting fuh de ball. Corners were not bad, but free-kicks were wasted. I feel de team capable of much better performances.
Jake Thomson too old.
Post by: PATRIOT on March 31, 2011, 05:57:20 AM
Agree with Tallman... Cuba gave us waaay too much space which we did NOT take advantage of... Mexico won't! Hopefully with Mexico already guaranteed a place and us just needing to not lose by more than 3  goals, we mght catch a break, BUT we have to step up if we do progress. There were some positives tho, GK is decent and as someone posted we not afraid to tae shots from outside... transition play out of defence is a bit limited, can't fault the work ethic tho! Was Winchester carrying an injury into this game, if not, he should have started, looked very lively and seems to a good prospect to play just behind the main striker(s).
Post by: Deeks on March 31, 2011, 06:03:49 AM
I thought the coach could have bring on Shadon earlier. But I think our mid field need to do more in the center if Shadon is to be a threat. He can't do it alone. I need to see Bateau against Mex. to get a full assessment . He could be one for the future.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 31, 2011, 11:53:54 AM

Their first touches need to be better, otherwise when dey meet ah team dat gives dem less space, dey go be giving up possession regularly. Meet de ball instead of waiting fuh de ball. Corners were not bad, but free-kicks were wasted. I feel de team capable of much better performances.
Jake Thomson too old.

Is how much generations of T&T footballers failing to do this now? It doh have nobody that could attemp to address this from the ground up?

Despite all this seeing that Cuba beat this team (more or less) in T&T at U-16 to win the CFU championship you can argue they have improved a lot. But them fellas need to ride out of T&T REAL FAST and join A-League, League 1, Kazahkstan, wherever...the period of rapid skills development is over for them. But its real competition for places on a roster, and persevering in a foreign land that will usher in that sense of URGENCY in their play to fuel the skills they already have.

Vranes spends a lot of time looking at players, but he seriously needs to find a midfield conductor and a creator. I want to see him push Bateau and Cordell Cato into mid with Winchester unleashed in midfield. And continue to look high and low under every rock to pull in quality players back home. And perhaps one or two U-17s.
Post by: Socapro on March 31, 2011, 01:17:55 PM

Jake Thomson too old.

Is how much generations of T&T footballers failing to do this now? It doh have nobody that could attemp to address this from the ground up?

Despite all this seeing that Cuba beat this team (more or less) in T&T at U-16 to win the CFU championship you can argue they have improved a lot. But them fellas need to ride out of T&T REAL FAST and join A-League, League 1, Kazahkstan, wherever...the period of rapid skills development is over for them. But its real competition for places on a roster, and persevering in a foreign land that will usher in that sense of URGENCY in their play to fuel the skills they already have.

Vranes spends a lot of time looking at players, but he seriously needs to find a midfield conductor and a creator. I want to see him push Bateau and Cordell Cato into mid with Winchester unleashed in midfield. And continue to look high and low under every rock to pull in quality players back home. And perhaps one or two U-17s.

I think this team is limited by the skills/experience of the coach! Maybe Vranes has reached his level and can do no better with these players as there is a lot of raw talent there for him to work with?!
Post by: ZANDOLIE on March 31, 2011, 02:10:22 PM
Very possible the coach is the limiting factor. But now that you mentioned it, switch Vranes and the US/Mexico coach. How much further would they get, given the same preparation opportunities that Vranes got? Vranes has definitely improved this team from Corneal with more or less the same quality of opposition. But you can't tie a horse foot and expect him to win a horserace. So no matter who the coach he will never get the full potential from these players because of the substandard training they have recieved for the last 6-8 years relative to even mid-tier CONCACAF opposition.

Case in point...we have a very strong generation of U-14s coming up. But when you watch them play its clear their skill level is well below par of their industriousness. Them yutes running up and down like dogs after a frisbee but is pur kick and hope football they playing. At this age they should already be competing against top CFU and Central American counterparts. But in reality by the time they turn U-20 all the oportunity to develop top notch skills will have passed and we will be calling them shitongs. All that raw ability will lie unrealized in the dirt of the Aranguez savannah
Post by: Fyzoman on March 31, 2011, 02:56:50 PM

Ah find we right back, Weslie John, turned over the ball on too many occasions, especially in de first half. Most of de time he would bypass de midfield, and try to play a long ball to de forwards, which almost always failed.One thing I noticed with our national U-17 and U-20 keepers is dat dey doh get much distance on dey goal-kicks. Seems to be an issue of technique.

Hear nah dis have to be poor coaching right??? How much time over the years yuh see TnT teams doing this  consistently, i does be asking mehself if de coaches doesn't be seeing de same thing we seeing....defenders does just be giving away de ball right through, right through!!!

After all de hope i had for dis team, i feeeling bad now...we just ha to hope Mexico eh hit we more than two or three (?), but then even when we advance, what???

Imagine men STILL talking bout speed of play (ah mean de lack therof i.e.) in dis day and age...dis TnT football thing eh easy nah!!!
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 31, 2011, 07:04:11 PM

Ah find we right back, Weslie John, turned over the ball on too many occasions, especially in de first half. Most of de time he would bypass de midfield, and try to play a long ball to de forwards, which almost always failed.One thing I noticed with our national U-17 and U-20 keepers is dat dey doh get much distance on dey goal-kicks. Seems to be an issue of technique.

Hear nah dis have to be poor coaching right??? How much time over the years yuh see TnT teams doing this  consistently, i does be asking mehself if de coaches doesn't be seeing de same thing we seeing....defenders does just be giving away de ball right through, right through!!!
After all de hope i had for dis team, i feeeling bad now...we just ha to hope Mexico eh hit we more than two or three (?), but then even when we advance, what???

Imagine men STILL talking bout speed of play (ah mean de lack therof i.e.) in dis day and age...dis TnT football thing eh easy nah!!!

Pub fotballat best, this is what you see at non-competitive levels, the easiest thing you could do apart from directly handing the oppoition the ball, says alot about the level.  No showing of the midfield in open spaces, no attempt to keep possession. Yuh know how much time I quarrel with defenders on meh corp side fuh playin dis way, kick and hope football