Sports => Football => Topic started by: rocoply on March 24, 2011, 01:37:27 PM

Title: Otto Pfister Appointed Coach Of Trinidad & Tobago
Post by: rocoply on March 24, 2011, 01:37:27 PM
Veteran German Otto Pfister has been appointed the new coach of Trinidad and Tobago.

De Telegraaf reports the 73-year-old has been tasked with leading the Soca Warriors to the World Cup in 2014.

The TTFF (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation) had been looking at a shortlist of candidates which included Johan Neeskens and former Portugal boss Carlos Queiroz, but, it's Pfister who has landed the job after contract details were finalised with the TTFF.

He will offer a hoard of experience having coached at two World Cups with Togo in 2006, and for Saudi Arabia in France in 1998.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1937/americas/2011/03/24/2409499/otto-pfister-appointed-coach-of-trinidad-tobago?sms_ss=facebook&at_xt=4d8b9a522e78a37b%2C0
Title: Re: Otto Pfister Appointed Coach Of Trinidad & Tobago
Post by: vb on March 24, 2011, 01:45:55 PM
He go be alive in 2014?

Post by: D.H.W on March 24, 2011, 01:50:14 PM
how they paying him?
Post by: elan on March 24, 2011, 01:56:30 PM
Like Fuentes get ban (http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=53211.0) from the internet too or what. Where the press release?
Post by: KND2 on March 24, 2011, 02:04:14 PM
Well total support to the new coach.

Let see if we can get some momentum and rally around the new journey to Brazil.

understanding how the new Concacaf brackets will play out will be key
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 24, 2011, 02:11:50 PM
Hopefully the TTFF will give him the resources and freedom to pick who he wants.

But knowing the TTFF that is like asking for Aids and Cancer to be rid of in a night and Elan and GunnerStunner to stop obsessing over United... Impossible

Good luck Otto... and hoping to hear a press release or any word verifying this from our very up to speed and professional federation  ::)
Post by: Brownsugar on March 24, 2011, 02:20:54 PM
how they paying him?

That was my first thought.....
Post by: Tallman on March 24, 2011, 02:48:03 PM
He supposedly assumes his duties on April 4th.
Post by: boss on March 24, 2011, 02:53:20 PM
If goal.com is the only source we have of this, we should lock and delete this thread  :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on March 24, 2011, 02:53:45 PM
good news but his asst coach is my main concern and the staff that will surround him
Post by: Dansteel - The Iceman on March 24, 2011, 02:57:46 PM
He go be alive in 2014?

Post by: Tallman on March 24, 2011, 02:59:44 PM
If goal.com is the only source we have of this, we should lock and delete this thread  :beermug:

It is also reported in De Telegraaf (http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/voetbal/9357984/__Pfister_trainer_Trinidad__.html?sn=telesport), and confirmed by his agent.
Post by: Arazi on March 24, 2011, 03:02:06 PM
is there any confirmation of this other than goal.com?
Post by: futbolfan on March 24, 2011, 03:06:41 PM

If Tallman co-sign on de news den it legit....
Post by: boss on March 24, 2011, 03:16:30 PM

It is also reported in De Telegraaf (http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/voetbal/9357984/__Pfister_trainer_Trinidad__.html?sn=telesport), and confirmed by his agent.

Niceness.  :beermug:
Post by: D.H.W on March 24, 2011, 03:57:56 PM
well if this true, all i can say is welcome and good luck coach!.
Post by: jr sams on March 24, 2011, 06:54:41 PM
If its true, we wish you best of luck "OP"...
Post by: najee on March 24, 2011, 06:56:36 PM
this guy is 73...ah just hope he not here for a retirement paycheck
Post by: weary1969 on March 24, 2011, 06:59:19 PM
He go be alive in 2014?

Y wukin 4 d TTFF go kill him?

Niceness.  :beermug:

Tman does cosign now.

Y else u self he take dat wuk plus d weather nice. D fella eh walkin wit no staff so u know he eh takin d job serious.
Post by: najee on March 24, 2011, 07:16:56 PM
Controversial...that was my other concern...who is Otto assistant's... conmeal and copper who did ta ta with the U17...and if ttff give Otto these two guys...he may as well drop dead right now...cause they are total shit
Post by: Sam on March 24, 2011, 07:23:11 PM
Look Keith Look Loy get a new toy to play with..
Post by: MEP on March 24, 2011, 07:59:20 PM
Whoopty f**kin doo
Post by: Bakes on March 24, 2011, 09:27:48 PM
Whoopty f**kin doo

My reaction as well.  Nutten against Otto but I want to see results before I start celebrating or acting like this even means a damn.
Post by: elan on March 24, 2011, 10:00:02 PM
When he see two guntesses bush ah dutty (not ours here) wine and see to batey jock waist to some serious tassa, he go geh ah heart attack.
Post by: Controversial on March 24, 2011, 11:16:13 PM
Controversial...that was my other concern...who is Otto assistant's... conmeal and copper who did ta ta with the U17...and if ttff give Otto these two guys...he may as well drop dead right now...cause they are total shit

:D ah waiting to hear the asst named and it better not be latas like what was being said before.
Post by: Socapro on March 25, 2011, 12:24:37 AM

If this news is true which seems to be the case (as Tallman confirm it), then yuh could stop hoping as yuh spot on!
That's exactly what he will be in T&T for, a retirement paycheck!

But I'm not even going to get optimistic about any so-called new coach & T&T football until our 2006 World Cup players have all their bonus money in their bank accounts & Oliver Camps is gone as a result!!

Then and only then I can start taking T&T football and us qualifying for any world class tournaments seriously!
Post by: davyjenny1 on March 25, 2011, 01:52:13 AM

http://www.newsday.co.tt/sport/0,137772.html

Pfister in line to coach Warriors

Friday, March 25 2011
click on pic to zoom in

GERMAN OTTO Pfister is set to be appointed as the new coach of the Trinidad and Tobago football team, according to a report on the football website Goal.com yesterday.

The report, quoting from the De Telegraaf newspaper from Germany, stated, “the 73-year-old has been tasked with leading the Soca Warriors to the World Cup in 2014.

“The TTFF (Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation) had been looking at a shortlist of candidates which included Johan Neeskens and former Portugal boss Carlos Queiroz, but, it is Pfister who has landed the job after contract details were finalised with the TTFF,” the Goal.com story continued.

“He will offer a hoard of experience having coached at two World Cups with Togo in 2006, and for Saudi Arabia in France in 1998.”

Sources close to the TTFF refused to confirm or deny the story but they revealed that Pfister is a frontrunner to replace Russell Latapy as coach of the national team, but an official announcement is set to be made on April 5.

Pfister is one of Germany’s most successful coaching exports, and was voted Africa’s Manager of the Year in 1992.

He has been to four African Cup of Nations competitions with Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso), Zaire, Cameroon and Ghana and reached the African Cup of Nations final twice, with Cameroon and Ghana. In 1991, Pfister has won the FIFA Under-17 World Cup with Ghana, and he has also won the Under-19 African Cup of Nations with Ivory Coast (1983) and led Togo in the 2006 World Cup. Pfister also guided Saudi Arabia to the 1998 FIFA World Cup.

He has won the league title in two different countries (Egypt and Lebanon), and the domestic cups in four different countries (Tunisia, Egypt, Lebanon and Sudan).
spacer
Title: TTFF to confirm Pfister appointment
Post by: Tallman on March 25, 2011, 04:39:13 AM
TTFF to confirm Pfister appointment
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) will meet on Sunday to confirm, among other things, the appointment of German Otto Pfister as the new head coach of the senior national team.

Federation officials will hold a congress in Mayaro, where a recommendation to appoint the 73-year-old German, and also his assistants, will be discussed.

However, it seems that it is already a done deal. Yesterday, German media reported that Pfister already had the job and that contract details were finalised with the TTFF.

TTFF president Oliver Camps was cagey yesterday, but hinted that the German could officially be Trinidad and Tobago's coach by Monday.

"Pfister has been recommended," Camps confirmed. "But we rather wait until Sunday when the entire executive is present to discuss the recommendation, before making a final statement. By Monday we will issue a release."

The TTFF had been looking at a short-list of five foreign candidates, including Ruud Krol, Johan Neeskens and ex-Portugal boss Carlos Queiroz to replace Russell Latapy, after the national team failed to qualify for the final of the Caribbean Cup last December and this year's CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Pfister and Dutchman Erwin Koeman came to Trinidad for personal interviews, as well as look at facilities and action in the T&T Pro League.

After a month of interviews, a committee headed by FIFA technical adviser Keith Look Loy made a final recommendation.

Pfister was among the favourites due to his willingness to work with local personnel and pass on his tremendous experience.

The German has coached at World Cups with Saudi Arabia (1998) and Togo (2006). He has also worked extensively in Africa, where the talent is raw and resources are sometimes limited.

Pfister is expected to be paid in the region of US$50,000-$60,000. However, the cash-strapped TTFF is dependent on the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs to release funds to pay the salary for the national coach.

Camps hinted that arrangements with the Ministry are close to being finalised.

"It's being worked out," he said. "We are not quite there yet, but we are working on it."
Post by: Jah Gol on March 25, 2011, 06:29:29 AM
As much as I love football there is no justification for the Ministry of Sport to  give that organisation (TTFF) $US 50,000 per month for however long he's here. It simply isn't right. Better they help another sport than encourage that shit.

Jack and Camps does blame everybody but themselves for the results and can't even report on finances that they are supposed to be held accountable for.
Post by: royal on March 25, 2011, 07:00:18 AM
dem journalist seems to be gettting dey info from this site.Both stories came out from stories here earlier yeaterday.
Post by: fitzinho on March 25, 2011, 07:37:25 AM
dem journalist seems to be gettting dey info from this site.Both stories came out from stories here earlier yeaterday.

You sound surprised at the laziness  :devil:
Title: Re: TTFF to confirm Pfister appointment
Post by: Dutty on March 25, 2011, 07:44:44 AM
Pfister is expected to be paid in the region of US$50,000-$60,000. However, the cash-strapped TTFF is dependent on the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs to release funds to pay the salary for the national coach.

"It's being worked out," he said. "We are not quite there yet, but we are working on it."

aah boy,,Spalk dolin out taxpayers money on behalf of a company that in a financial shit storm
ah wonder if any of them journalists that does read here go aks him bout the glaring hypocrisy
Title: Re: TTFF to confirm Pfister appointment
Post by: weary1969 on March 25, 2011, 08:26:13 AM

aah boy,,Spalk dolin out taxpayers money on behalf of a company that in a financial shit storm
ah wonder if any of them journalists that does read here go aks him bout the glaring hypocrisy

Nah they does just get info from here not d ability 2 have testicular fortitude.
Post by: najee on March 25, 2011, 09:22:53 AM

If this news is true which seems to be the case (as Tallman confirm it), then yuh could stop hoping as yuh spot on!
That's exactly what he will be in T&T for, a retirement paycheck!

But I'm not even going to get optimistic about any so-called new coach & T&T football until our 2006 World Cup players have all their bonus money in their bank accounts & Oliver Camps is gone as a result!!

Then and only then I can start taking T&T football and us qualifying for any world class tournaments seriously!

Socapro...you hoping a wrong hope....right now the ball in minister JW hand...and who you think is their smiling , laughing and shaking his hand minister of sport Anil.....go figure?
Post by: jai john on March 25, 2011, 10:44:38 AM
he well qualified here ....

" Pfister was selected as the head coach of Togo on February 18, 2006, after former coach Stephen Keshi was dismissed from the post despite having secured qualification for their first World Cup Finals.[3] Pfister himself resigned shortly before the team's first match in the tournament, after his players went on strike against the federation over a pay dispute,[4] but he was reappointed three days later after demands from the players.[5]"

I eh sure if we could get all our practice sessions in de cool of the night but I am hopeful ..we also have to work on getting all our games as night games ....
seems like he was last employed in May 2009 ...he should have had a good rest then ... :beermug:
Post by: soccerrama on March 25, 2011, 11:36:26 AM
Jack confirmed the appointment on 195.5 fm's 12 noon news today, he said since it was already out in the English press he may as well confirm. He also said that he would likely be here by the 5th April & will be introduced to the Public shortly thereafter.
Post by: E-man on March 25, 2011, 11:44:08 AM
Kicker magazine had the story yesterday

http://www.kicker.de/news/fussball/intligen/startseite/550262/artikel_pfister-trainiert-trinidad-26-tobago.html

quote from him in the story:

"I've taken some time off, but from April 4th I'm back on the job"

The contract is through World Cup 2014 qualifications and if T&T qualifies the contract will be extended to the end of the tournament.

Post by: big dawg on March 25, 2011, 11:51:14 AM
Good we get a coach...

all we need now is a team....
Post by: weary1969 on March 25, 2011, 12:10:07 PM
Good we get a coach...

Doh 4get a federation.
Post by: Controversial on March 25, 2011, 12:10:33 PM
Good we get a coach...

lets see who pfister pick or will latas pick the team as the asst  >:(
Post by: Football supporter on March 25, 2011, 12:28:34 PM
Hopefully the TTFF will give him the resources and freedom to pick who he wants.

But knowing the TTFF that is like asking for Aids and Cancer to be rid of in a night and Elan and GunnerStunner to stop obsessing over United... Impossible

Good luck Otto... and hoping to hear a press release or any word verifying this from our very up to speed and professional federation  ::)

Mate, are you mad? TTFF are broke and just about to become even more in debt. What shocks me is that Anil is going to pay this guys salary. I thought Peoples Partnership were going to cut off financial support to organisations being run poorly? They have just closed the National Aids Coordinating Committee without any announcement about how the T&T govt intend to tackle HIV/AIDS and the staff there have been made unemployed. Yet they can pay US$60,000 pm for a geriatric football coach? WTF is going on here?
Post by: jai john on March 25, 2011, 12:53:41 PM

Mate, are you mad? TTFF are broke and just about to become even more in debt. What shocks me is that Anil is going to pay this guys salary. I thought Peoples Partnership were going to cut off financial support to organisations being run poorly? They have just closed the National Aids Coordinating Committee without any announcement about how the T&T govt intend to tackle HIV/AIDS and the staff there have been made unemployed. Yet they can pay US$60,000 pm for a geriatric football coach? WTF is going on here?

Welcome to T&T !
Post by: MEP on March 25, 2011, 12:58:48 PM
Jack confirmed the appointment on 195.5 fm's 12 noon news today, he said since it was already out in the English press he may as well confirm. He also said that he would likely be here by the 5th April & will be introduced to the Public shortly thereafter.

Buh wait ent he is only de special advisor who wasn't involved in de process???? why is he announcing it? in what capacity is he doing so?
Post by: weary1969 on March 25, 2011, 01:00:26 PM

Buh wait ent he is only de special advisor who wasn't involved in de process???? why is he announcing it? in what capacity is he doing so?

D Min of evrything.
Post by: najee on March 25, 2011, 02:17:00 PM

cause he is Jack...that why.....and everyone else none sayer

D Min of evrything.
Post by: Controversial on March 25, 2011, 03:09:16 PM

D Min of evrything.

:D
Post by: elan on March 25, 2011, 03:22:40 PM

Yesterday was Yesterday...........
Post by: Controversial on March 25, 2011, 04:03:56 PM
after the asst is named and staff, the next controversial topic will be team selection and which players make the squad
Post by: soccerrama on March 25, 2011, 04:26:19 PM

My sentiments exactly, he went on to say "we" have already agreed on everything. When asked about the salary he said a man's salary is his business. However I hope Jack & Anil know that if it is the Govt of T&T paying this man then it is our business. So let's see how this goes!!!!
Post by: boss on March 25, 2011, 04:44:27 PM
Good we get a coach...

Doh 4get a federation.

Some fixtures would be nice too  :beermug:
Post by: Controversial on March 25, 2011, 05:10:32 PM
Good we get a coach...

Doh 4get a federation.

Some fixtures would be nice too  :beermug:

a game against germany and some african nations as well
Post by: Trinimassive on March 25, 2011, 05:44:38 PM
This appointment is a loud ass STEUPS

We seriously paying this man over US$50,000 ??? For what. Surely we coulda get better for that money. Ah guess TTFF just wanted somebody they could boss around. What kinda assistants he will have? So he not only coming to coach we team, he have to he assistants who will know nothing of his style (iff he even have one).

I don't see him being there for the entire campaign. What would be the point. Why not get someone that is good enough and will be here for continuity of a successful program (supposing we will have a successful program).

Even if we was tuh make it this is short term thinking.

Well ah go hope fuh the best.
Post by: fitzinho on March 26, 2011, 01:33:22 PM

We seriously paying this man over US$50,000 ??? For what. Surely we coulda get better for that money. Ah guess TTFF just wanted somebody they could boss around. What kinda assistants he will have? So he not only coming to coach we team, he have to he assistants who will know nothing of his style (iff he even have one).

I don't see him being there for the entire campaign. What would be the point. Why not get someone that is good enough and will be here for continuity of a successful program (supposing we will have a successful program).

What campaign? I doubt we even making the hex
Post by: E-man on March 26, 2011, 01:41:34 PM

What campaign? I doubt we even making the hex

what hex?
Post by: supporter on March 26, 2011, 04:49:27 PM
So we are all in agreement that this is a poor appointment? Someone who likes this please share your thoughts! I can use some convincing about pfister because this is depressing me.
Post by: weary1969 on March 26, 2011, 08:10:18 PM
So we are all in agreement that this is a poor appointment? Someone who likes this please share your thoughts! I can use some convincing about pfister because this is depressing me.

TNT football and WI cricket not suppose 2 depres people. Just buckle up and enjoy d ride. If u cyah enjoy d ride just buckle up.
Post by: Socapro on March 26, 2011, 10:16:12 PM

TNT football and WI cricket not suppose 2 depres people. Just buckle up and enjoy d ride. If u cyah enjoy d ride just buckle up.

Cosign!  ;)
Post by: injunchile on March 27, 2011, 03:29:10 AM
If we beat Guyana- Bermuda- Barbadod- Grenada- The new coach would have made progress.
 A win against Panama- Costa rica- He is the new hero.
 Let us enjoy the ride.
Post by: Cocorite on March 27, 2011, 05:16:34 PM

Pick a team for the new coach dey

GK  Glenroy Samuel

Carlos Edwards         Julius James      Joevin Jones      JLloyd Sam

Hayden Tinto                    Chris Birchall              Khaleem Hyland      Keon Daniel
(Jake Thompson)                                        (C. Sam)

Devon Jorsling (K. Jones)            Kerry Baptiste (J. Britto)
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on March 27, 2011, 08:48:27 PM
Phillips
JL Samuel
James
Marshall
C.Edwards
C.Samuel
Birchall
Hector
Hyland
Thompson
Jorsling

Post by: Small Change on March 27, 2011, 09:56:56 PM
2014 is lost cause. 2018 is the goal to set.

Right now, TnT CANNOT, I repeat, CANNOT beat the USA, Mexico and Costa Rica. The USA draw with Argentina yesterday with Messi and De Maria. Who de f___ TnT play? Whilst TnT playing the ass as usual, USA, Mexico and Costa Rica and playing world class opposition and improving their game and gain vast experience. How de f___ we expect to beat these teams? HOW????????????????????

TnT football, the federation and whole top down to bottom is a complete joke!! Is a papi show. Then people really and truly expect us to compete with these teams at that level. NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We DEAD!

That new coach ain't go make any difference right now. TnT too far behind!!!!!!!!
Post by: weary1969 on March 27, 2011, 10:09:17 PM
2014 is lost cause. 2018 is the goal to set.

Right now, TnT CANNOT, I repeat, CANNOT beat the USA, Mexico and Costa Rica. The USA draw with Argentina yesterday with Messi and De Maria. Who de f___ TnT play? Whilst TnT playing the ass as usual, USA, Mexico and Costa Rica and playing world class opposition and improving their game and gain vast experience. How de f___ we expect to beat these teams? HOW????????????????????

TnT football, the federation and whole top down to bottom is a complete joke!! Is a papi show. Then people really and truly expect us to compete with these teams at that level. NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We DEAD!

That new coach ain't go make any difference right now. TnT too far behind!!!!!!!!

D man gettin he pension courtesy d taxpayers of TNT. 2018 EH VIABLE NIETHER.
Post by: Brownsugar on March 28, 2011, 03:50:35 AM
So wait nah.....Pfister is not a bess coach??.....steups!!  hhhhmmmm dat mean we not going Brazil??....but ent Jack and Anil say so??........den I feel we still...

GOING BRAZIL!!!!   :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :whip: :challenge: :party:

I asked Anil on national radio that since it was apparent that monies from the 2006 campaign were diverted to who knows where, will the Min of Sport still give money to the TTFF??  Can we expect the TTFF to be asked to come clean with its books??  Now I asked him this while the case was still winding his way through the courts system last year.

He say he cyar comment cuz it will be subjudicy but that he eh know why people think he wouldn't ask for accountability from the TTFF like every other sporting administration  ::) ::).  Ah couldn't get to nail him like I wanted to cuz it so hard to get in on these talk shows some times but mih eh know how he cyar discuss it cuz it was subjudicy at the time but Mike (the players attorney) coulda speak freely on air about it.  Mike must be mad!!! ::) ::)  And well we see he eh really care too much bout accountability from the TTFF but Football Supporter I eh too sure why yuh surprised.......in this 2 x 4 banana republic anything goes!!!!
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 28, 2011, 04:48:04 AM
So wait nah.....Pfister is not a bess coach??.....steups!!  hhhhmmmm dat mean we not going Brazil??....but ent Jack and Anil say so??........den I feel we still...

GOING BRAZIL!!!!   :flamethrower: :wavetowel: :whip: :challenge: :party:

I asked Anil on national radio that since it was apparent that monies from the 2006 campaign were diverted to who knows where, will the Min of Sport still give money to the TTFF??  Can we expect the TTFF to be asked to come clean with its books??  Now I asked him this while the case was still winding his way through the courts system last year.

He say he cyar comment cuz it will be subjudicy but that he eh know why people think he wouldn't ask for accountability from the TTFF like every other sporting administration  ::) ::).  Ah couldn't get to nail him like I wanted to cuz it so hard to get in on these talk shows some times but mih eh know how he cyar discuss it cuz it was subjudicy at the time but Mike (the players attorney) coulda speak freely on air about it.  Mike must be mad!!! ::) ::)  And well we see he eh really care too much bout accountability from the TTFF but Football Supporter I eh too sure why yuh surprised.......in this 2 x 4 banana republic anything goes!!!!

No Brazil Brownsugar we do not have the caliber players to make it ...
Post by: Brownsugar on March 28, 2011, 04:56:56 AM
Boy Anil and Jack say so...so is so....
Post by: weary1969 on March 28, 2011, 08:02:52 AM
Boy Anil and Jack say so...so is so....

CO-SIGNNNNN
Post by: banton on March 31, 2011, 05:59:03 PM
good thing trinidad dont play plenty matches to have de old man to tired
Post by: najee on March 31, 2011, 06:21:14 PM
watching this guy on 7 o'clock new...i could see why he don't need assistant....by the time 2014 come around...he will need a nurse home
Post by: weary1969 on March 31, 2011, 07:48:48 PM
watching this guy on 7 o'clock new...i could see why he don't need assistant....by the time 2014 come around...he will need a nurse home

Post by: Trini _2026 on March 31, 2011, 07:54:40 PM
Boy the TTFF .. so if we qualify for 2014 he would be around 76/77 ....  would he stick around after .... ? we qulify he gone we eh qualify he gone ... we back to square one ....
Post by: weary1969 on March 31, 2011, 07:56:52 PM
Boy the TTFF .. so if we qualify for 2014 he would be around 76/77 ....  would he stick around after .... ? we qulify he gone we eh qualify he gone ... we back to square one ....

We luv square 1
Post by: che on March 31, 2011, 08:02:42 PM

We luv square 1

Yeah they had some nice songs.
Post by: 100% Barataria on March 31, 2011, 08:07:58 PM

de man like fine wine man  ;D
Post by: Socapro on March 31, 2011, 08:16:12 PM
good thing trinidad dont play plenty matches to have de old man to tired

Ah wonder if Pfister will demand that Latas gives up smoking as he'll need Latas to be in peak condition to do all his running around as well as to push him around in his wheelchair!  8)
Post by: soccerman on April 01, 2011, 07:52:08 AM

We luv square 1

Allison Hinds does conduct it....fahluma ding ding ding
Post by: Dutty on April 01, 2011, 08:07:05 AM

mus be de vampire blood.
dis is how he did look in  1860
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/0a/Palpatine_ROTJ.jpg/220px-Palpatine_ROTJ.jpg)

and in 2010
(http://jimbicentral.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/01/07/otto_pfister_b.jpg)

if allyuh know how old jack really is yuh go bawl
Post by: Socapro on April 01, 2011, 09:53:14 AM

mus be de vampire blood.
dis is how he did look in  1860
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/0a/Palpatine_ROTJ.jpg/220px-Palpatine_ROTJ.jpg)

and in 2010
(http://jimbicentral.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/01/07/otto_pfister_b.jpg)

if allyuh know how old jackula really is yuh go bawl
Post by: najee on April 01, 2011, 10:03:32 AM
I tell yuh....what are these guys thinking (ttff)......ah wonder what Lincoln TD Phillip have to say about this hiring...mute
Post by: Flex on April 04, 2011, 06:41:58 AM
The new coach is supposed to arrive tomorrow....
Post by: tempo on April 04, 2011, 06:56:15 AM
Lincoln was backing Carlos Queiroz but according to what he was saying on Andre Baptiste's show the other day, Pfister was the best candidate that was interviewed. Don't know why Queiroz was never interviewed. At least Lincoln isn't like the rest of them fellas who try to sabotage programs if they don't get their way. He'll work with the coach and try to help out. That's the way it should be, ent?
Post by: Dutty on April 04, 2011, 07:18:02 AM

Is it official that his retirement fund will be paid by the Ministry of Sport?
Post by: weary1969 on April 04, 2011, 07:49:18 AM

Is it official that his retirement fund will be paid by the Ministry of Sport?

Who else?
Post by: soccerman on April 04, 2011, 10:31:34 AM
And practice starts on Wednesday?
Post by: Mose on April 04, 2011, 01:57:52 PM
Oh gosh! At least give de man a chance to find out dat TTFF eh finish typing up he contract so he doh have no papers to sign nah!!!
Post by: soccerman on April 04, 2011, 02:41:30 PM
Oh gosh! At least give de man a chance to find out dat TTFF eh finish typing up he contract so he doh have no papers to sign nah!!!
Look at me getting carried away and jumping de gun :banginghead:
Post by: Flex on April 05, 2011, 04:14:15 AM
Warriors unveil German Pfister.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

German Otto Pfister will be unveiled as coach of the Soca Warriors at a T&T Football Federation press conference to be staged at the Calypso Room, Crowne Plaza Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain from 2 pm today.

The 74-year-old Germany got the nod of the local federation and its special advisor, Jack Warner after he topped a shortlist of candidates interviewed earlier this year.

The other nominees included former Holland international Irwin Koeman as well as fellow Dutchman, Johan Neeskens.

It was understood former Portugal and Real Madrid coach Carlos Queiroz, was in the running but he later opted out of the race prior to a scheduled trip to meet with local officials and yesterday was appointed coach of Iran.

It was stated the T&TFF technical committee headed by technical advisor Keith Look Loy favoured the appointment of Pfister while contract negotiations were the final part of the agreement to be sorted out are being finalised.

Pfister is regarded as one of Germany’s most successful coaching exports, voted Africa’s Manager of the Year in 1992.

He has been to four African Cup of Nations competitions with Burkina Faso, Zaire, Cameroon and Ghana and reached the African Cup of Nations final twice, with Cameroon and Ghana. He won the Fifa Under-17 World Cup with Ghana and also coached Togo at the 2006 World Cup Finals.

During his visit in February, Pfister who qualified Saudi Arabia for 1998 France Fifa World Cup said he had experiences similar to that of T&T as he took Togo to the World Cup in Germany.

It’s a big challenge but it is possible with a professional conception,” Pfister added. On the job at 73, and having began coaching as a player coach at age 23 in Switzerland back in 1961, Pfister says working with young players, keeps him fresh and vibrant.

Look Loy had also commented that Pfister’s coaching resume was remarkable, having enjoyed success in 15 countries on three continents.

“He is well experienced in World Cup qualifying and final tournaments, and has managed some of the international game’s established names. This knowledge could serve us well,” said Look Loy.

However, contacted for comment on the financial support for Pfister’s salary which is expected to be more than $45,000, Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs, Anil Roberts said his ministry had yet to settle on the financial support with the T&TFF.

In addition to the confirming of Pfister as senior team coach, all eyes will be focus on the support cast for the German as the local federation had previously stated it wanted a local group of assistant coaches to work alongside the experienced European.

This has led many to believe that former coach, Russell Latapy who’s contract came to end at the end of the Digicel Caribbean Cup in Martinique last December could be included as an assistant along with a few other former T&T internationals.
Post by: de_redman on April 05, 2011, 05:36:22 AM
Queiroz was appointed coach of Iran?! Wow, he must really think something was desperately wrong in T&T!
Post by: Sando on April 05, 2011, 09:03:57 AM
Even T&T finish over Togo (Under Otto Pfister) at the 2006 WC... and they had a better squad...

Team rankings

All 32 teams are ranked based on criteria which have been used by FIFA.

R Team G P W D L GF GA GD Pts.

Final

1  Italy E 7 5 2 0 12 2 +10 17
2  France G 7 4 3 0 9 3 +6 15

3rd and 4th place

3  Germany A 7 5 1 1 14 6 +8 16
4  Portugal D 7 4 1 2 7 5 +2 13

Eliminated in the quarter-finals

5  Brazil F 5 4 0 1 10 2 +8 12
6  Argentina C 5 3 2 0 11 3 +8 11
7  England B 5 3 2 0 6 2 +4 11
8  Ukraine H 5 2 1 2 5 7 −2 7

Eliminated in the round of 16

9  Spain H 4 3 0 1 9 4 +5 9
10  Switzerland G 4 2 2 0 4 0 +4 8
11  Netherlands C 4 2 1 1 3 2 +1 7
12  Ecuador A 4 2 0 2 5 4 +1 6
13  Ghana E 4 2 0 2 4 6 −2 6
14  Sweden B 4 1 2 1 3 4 −1 5
15  Mexico D 4 1 1 2 5 5 0 4
16  Australia F 4 1 1 2 5 6 −1 4

Eliminated in the group stage

17  South Korea G 3 1 1 1 3 4 -1 4
18  Paraguay B 3 1 0 2 2 2 0 3
19  Côte d'Ivoire C 3 1 0 2 5 6 -1 3
20  Czech Republic E 3 1 0 2 3 4 −1 3
21  Poland A 3 1 0 2 2 4 −2 3
22  Croatia F 3 0 2 1 2 3 -1 2
23  Angola D 3 0 2 1 1 2 −1 2
24  Tunisia H 3 0 1 2 3 6 −3 1
25  United States E 3 0 1 2 2 6 −4 1
25  Iran D 3 0 1 2 2 6 −4 1
27  Trinidad and Tobago B 3 0 1 2 0 4 −4 1
28  Japan F 3 0 1 2 2 7 −5 1
28  Saudi Arabia H 3 0 1 2 2 7 −5 1
30  Togo G 3 0 0 3 1 6 −5 0
31  Costa Rica A 3 0 0 3 3 9 −6 0
32  Serbia and Montenegro C 3 0 0 3 2 10 −8 0
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 10:10:05 AM
Queiroz was appointed coach of Iran?! Wow, he must really think something was desperately wrong in T&T!

He probably logged on to socawarriors.net in his research & realised that coming to T&T to coach our senior team right now would be a big mistake!!  :devil:

Thank God Pfister too old to understand how to use the internet & logon to socawarriors.net otherwise he would have probably considered coaching Libya right now as a better option than coaching us!  ;)
Post by: Big Magician on April 05, 2011, 10:12:05 AM
come on Pifster...put down some cones and get some bibs and leh we sweat this evening
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 10:14:11 AM
come on Pifster...put down some cones and get some bibs and leh we sweat this evening

Post by: MEP on April 05, 2011, 11:12:38 AM
so $45,000 a day month year? how much would de other coaches be paid....and would they be paid through the gov't too?
Post by: Brownsugar on April 05, 2011, 11:16:56 AM

He probably logged on to socawarriors.net in his research & realised that coming to T&T to coach our senior team right now would be a big mistake!!  :devil:

Thank God Pfister too old to understand how to use the internet & logon to socawarriors.net otherwise he would have probably considered coaching Libya right now as a better option than coaching us!  ;)

Well look ting!!  First sw.net get blamed for costing Hardest he career at the top level now T&T lorse ah coach cuz ah SW.net??  Look Flex and dem better shut down this thing yes, we losing good, good talent cuz of it..... ;D :devil:
Post by: Dutty on April 05, 2011, 11:25:42 AM
so $45,000 a day month year? how much would de other coaches be paid....and would they be paid through the gov't too?
doh matter, could be 45 grand ah hour....the taxpayers go deal wit dat, money flowin like water wit no accountability
(http://www.faucetdirect.com/mediabase/Site/FaucetDirect.com/images/PRMMap/prmmap_5553.jpg)
like mih boy daryantrim does say "Jack is ah boss"

las year he was bawlin "Bernie madoff is ah boss"
Post by: boss on April 05, 2011, 01:38:18 PM
For folks on Twitter, Pfister's agent is: @DamianDowney  :beermug:
Post by: supporter on April 05, 2011, 02:31:20 PM

LOL

...73 years old. He wont have the energy for our shit. Very poor choice for coach
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 04:03:02 PM

LOL

...73 years old. He wont have the energy for our shit. Very poor choice for coach

Doh be like dat nah man? He's old enough for a healthy pension isn't he?!  :-[

Brazil 2014 here we come! RF and them laughter will turn to tears soon, watch & see!  ;)
Post by: Dutty on April 05, 2011, 06:47:57 PM
For folks on Twitter, Pfister's agent is: @DamianDowney  :beermug:

shhh,,if atb see dat he go get vex oui
Post by: KND2 on April 05, 2011, 06:59:23 PM
The one good thing is that he has worked a lot in Africa and they have just as much comess as TnT. so at least he know what he is getting into and might be able to motivate the players to better things.

The players usually get a lift and try harder when a new foreign coach come in. and you usually find at least one or two you can lift their game

Lawrence under Porterfield

Whitley under Bennie

Daniel under Maturana

lets see who this man can give unearth.
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 05, 2011, 09:20:56 PM
Like I said before a Pifster full of dollars