Sports => Cricket Anyone => Topic started by: che on April 01, 2011, 08:14:36 AM

Title: Semi Finals: T&T v Jamaica
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 08:14:36 AM

Live coverage: http://www.vibect105.co.tt/Vibe/

T&T won toss and will bowl.

T&T team:
Simmons
Khan
Bravo
Ganga
Pollard
Ramdin
Ganga
Emrit
Rampaul
Jaggernaut
Gabriel
Title: Re: Semi Finals: T&T v Jamaica
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 08:18:26 AM
JAM 3/1 - 2.5 Ov. Hyatt 2*, Jackson 1. Jackson OUT c S Ganga b Rampaul. Jackson not moving his legs across the ball and edges Rampaul to 3rd slip where Sherwin Ganga takes a good catch. That gets the crowd going. Marlon Samuels is the next man in.
Post by: santacruz on April 01, 2011, 09:23:23 AM
where th live link is on that site?
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 09:54:20 AM
where th live link is on that site?

Just above the facebook link.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 10:00:08 AM
DROPPED! JAM 49/1 - 13 Ov. Hyatt 37*, Samuels 5*. Close call for Hyatt as he drives airborne to Pollard at mid-off and Pollard throws himself at the dipping ball. By his standards, that should have been caught.  :frustrated:
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 10:18:07 AM
LUNCH! JAM 49/1 - 14 Ov. Hyatt 37*, Samuels 5*. Jamaica go into the break with the upperhand. T&T could/maybe should have had two wickets at lunch.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 01, 2011, 11:02:56 AM
LUNCH! JAM 49/1 - 14 Ov. Hyatt 37*, Samuels 5*. Jamaica go into the break with the upperhand. T&T could/maybe should have had two wickets at lunch.

How a score of 49/1 could be de upper hand for de battin team in 2 hrs of batting.  Dis commentator does crack me up yes
Post by: Boodsy on April 01, 2011, 11:42:13 AM
Hyatt lbw Jaggs 41

JAM 59/2 - 25 Ov. Samuels 12*, Nash 2*. Chance for a run out as Nash drive to extra cover, Daren Ganga brilliantly fields the balls, picks up and just misses at the non strikers end. Well backed up by Pollard as well.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 01:42:42 PM
JAM 127/2 - 51 Ov. Samuels 39*, Nash 40*. Another maiden for T&T. The crowds are in and groups of students are dispersed around the ground watching on. Many fans are a little disappointed with the Jamaican's scoring rate. They are scoring at 2.5 runs an over.

we need to get these two.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 02:13:07 PM
JAM 169/2 - 63 Ov. Samuels 66*, Nash 54*. Trinidad and Tobago really need a wicket here. This partnership can well take the game away from.
Post by: Quags on April 01, 2011, 02:43:59 PM
We have an enviable bowling attack and still cant get these two  ! Bodes well for WIs but we need to get these early mofos tomorrow morning . 
Post by: vb on April 01, 2011, 02:44:22 PM
Gotta earn Samuels credit, he has EARNED a recall to the WI.

He has greatness in him if he can just focus and put it all together.

Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 02:47:47 PM
JAM 189/2 - 71 Ov. Samuels 75*, Nash 69*. Trinidad and Tobago need a wicket but they also need a drinks. It drinks.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 02:57:58 PM
JAM 198/3 - 71.5 Ov. Nash 69*. The crowd finally comes alive as Samuels is caught behind by wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin for 80. Grea bowling from Rayad Emrit. Even better knock from Marlon Samuels.
Post by: Quags on April 01, 2011, 03:08:44 PM
goat mouth  ;D
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 03:18:38 PM
goat mouth  ;D

If we could get Nash before close of play, that would be real nice.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 04:35:35 PM
CHANCE! JAM 251/3 - 88 Ov. Nash 96*, Lambert 25*. Lambert plays to the man at short leg and Sherwin Ganga gets his fingers to the ball but can't hold on. Then he nearly edges to Ramdin with a lifting ball. It's going to be a tense finish, but the umpires are getting together.

The umpires decide that's enough for today. It's been very eventful but at the end of it, Jamaica has the advantage heading into Day 2 in the semi finals of the WICB Regional Four Day.

Ravi Rampaul, Rayad Emrit and Amit Jaggernauth all ended the day with a wicket. Jamaica, thanks for Marlon Samuels (80) and Brendan Nash (96*) are in the ascendancy . Trinidad and Tobago will have to come better than that if they want to make the finals.

However, it's a 4-day game, and this only 1 day down. I hope you've enjoyed the live online text commentary today. Thanks for your company and I hope you can join me tomorrow.
Post by: frico on April 01, 2011, 06:28:52 PM
It is quite possible to bowl Jamaica out for an additional 100 runs or less like we did in Jamaica.It is customary to see well placed teams batting on the first day fall for very small additions on the second day,it never fails,we can get 350 or 400.
Post by: che on April 01, 2011, 06:45:59 PM
It is quite possible to bowl Jamaica out for an additional 100 runs or less like we did in Jamaica.It is customary to see well placed teams batting on the first day fall for very small additions on the second day,it never fails,we can get 350 or 400.

Agreed.  :beermug:
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 09:18:08 AM
Day 2.

JAM 295/3 - 105 Ov. Nash 121*, Lambert 40*. Rayad Emrit is introduced into the attack directly after the water break. He concedes just one., forcing the batsmen to play. Good bowling.
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 09:26:58 AM
WICKET! JAM 302/4 - 106.5 Ov. Nash 125*. The pressure of maiden overs pay off for T&T. Lambert is hit on the pad and sent by the umpire. Wavell Hinds is the next batsman in.
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 10:04:07 AM
LUNCH! JAM 334/4 - 113 Ov. Nash 146*, Hinds 10*. Lovely cover drive from Wavell Hinds who pounces on a full and wide ball from Gabriel. That's lunch on Day 2, T&T haven't made the inroads they would have wanted to make but they will have to press this afternoon.
Post by: Quags on April 02, 2011, 11:05:40 AM
Hinds inform ,this not looking good .Jamaica proving why there the champs .
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 12:48:46 PM
JAM 458/4 - 146 Ov. Nash 202*, Hinds 74*. That's Tea on Day 2. Jamaica continue to dominate the home side. This has been a really good partnership for the Jamaicans
Post by: vb on April 02, 2011, 01:06:06 PM
JAM 458/4 - 146 Ov. Nash 202*, Hinds 74*. That's Tea on Day 2. Jamaica continue to dominate the home side. This has been a really good partnership for the Jamaicans

We go beat dem on first innings ;-)

Triple century from Simmo and centuries from Ganga and Pollard  ;D ;D
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 01:31:57 PM
WICKET! JAM 468/5 - 149 Ov. Hinds 80*. Nash caught Ramdin b Pollard. The change has worked for T&T. That's the wicket T&T wanted.
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 01:56:50 PM
WHAT A CATCH! JAM 501/6 - 156 Ov. Hinds 93*. Bernard edges Gabriel, a very quick delivery, and Ramdin is quick to react with a one handed catch to his right to send Bernard on his way for 16.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 02, 2011, 02:04:36 PM
WHAT A CATCH! JAM 501/6 - 156 Ov. Hinds 93*. Bernard edges Gabriel, a very quick delivery, and Ramdin is quick to react with a one handed catch to his right to send Bernard on his way for 16.

Nice, but dis is a mammoth total, would take some uncharacteristic batting which we have only produced once this season to take 1st innings and make it to the final
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 02:09:38 PM

Nice, but dis is a mammoth total, would take some uncharacteristic batting which we have only produced once this season to take 1st innings and make it to the final

I know this might sound chicken, but we can also bat real slow and get a no result. Which means we will advance because we are the higher seed.  ;)
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 02, 2011, 02:11:52 PM

I know this might sound chicken, but we can also bat real slow and get a no result. Which means we will advance because we are the higher seed.  ;)

Good Mourinho tactics, was unaware of this, so JA have to give themselves enough time to bowl us out as wel, let's see what happens.  W is W
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 03:37:59 PM
WICKET! JAM 564/7 - 174.2 Ov. Hinds 122*. Walton c Ramdin b Jaggernauth. Good wicket for T&T, Walton was just starting to play his shots.
Post by: che on April 02, 2011, 03:42:44 PM
Yes! It is in fact the end of the day's play, as Jamaica continued their dominance over T&T at UWI Spec. They close on 574/7. Wavell Hinds and Brendan Nash shared the spotlight today as the latter picked up his 2nd century against T&T today. Nash also completed his double century. Jamaica in full control.
Post by: weary1969 on April 02, 2011, 09:07:59 PM
Yes! It is in fact the end of the day's play, as Jamaica continued their dominance over T&T at UWI Spec. They close on 574/7. Wavell Hinds and Brendan Nash shared the spotlight today as the latter picked up his 2nd century against T&T today. Nash also completed his double century. Jamaica in full control.

OUCHHHHHHHHHHHH
Post by: Quags on April 02, 2011, 10:47:47 PM
wow ,somebody have chip on there shoulder.
Post by: sjahrain on April 03, 2011, 08:17:04 AM
That score actually killed this game
We must be prepared to bat for two days or time alotted for the rest of this game
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 08:21:01 AM
Day 3.

No sign of the Trinidad and Tobago players just yet, nor the umpires, or the batsmen but I am relatively certain we will be starting soon. If T&T bat two days as Peter has asked me, then a No Result will see T&T through as they had more points in the preliminary round of matches than Jamaica.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 03, 2011, 09:08:50 AM
Day 3.

No sign of the Trinidad and Tobago players just yet, nor the umpires, or the batsmen but I am relatively certain we will be starting soon. If T&T bat two days as Peter has asked me, then a No Result will see T&T through as they had more points in the preliminary round of matches than Jamaica.

i not following de game except the score but i asusming the wicket is for batting.  however, trinidad could prove my theory wrong and get bowl out cheap. we known for acting like west indies when we ready.  hopefully we could bat 2 days and get through.
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 09:14:04 AM
Jamaica are cruising, but their tactics are questionable. They continue to bat, but we're not sure what's going to happen next. Apparently there is  some question of interpretation of the rules regarding who will progress to the final if there is a no result. I understand the managers met to discuss it, and have consulted the WICB.

Now this is sad. Semi's being played and nobody sure what the rules are. There is confusion over who advances in the case of a No result. Is it T&T based on the points table or is it Jam on head to head.
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 09:15:52 AM
JAM 623/7 - 188 Ov. Hinds 156*, Russell 21*. OUT BUT NOT OUT! Gabriel bowls one of his trademark yorkers but it is also one of his trademark no-balls. Russell's wicket is broken apart but the delivery is illegal.
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 09:43:42 AM
Semi Final Stage

In the event of the teams in either semi final finishing on an equal number of points the right to advance to the final will be the team which gained the greater number of points when the two teams (of the teams which competed in the semi final) competed against each other in the group stage of the tournament

•If still equal the team (of the two teams that competed in the semi final) with the most outright wins in the group stage
•If still equal the team (of the two teams that competed in the semi final) with the most first innings leads in the group stage
•If still equal the team (of the two teams that competed in the semi final) with the higher net runs per wicket ratio

If the game ends with neither team getting first innings points... JAMAICA WILL GO THROUGH TO THE FINAL  :(
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 09:48:51 AM
WICKET! JAM 639/8 - 190.5 Ov. Hinds 161*. Russel b Rampaul 27. A mixed over of no-balls and short balls but in the end, Rampaul gets his man with a full ball, Russell played across the line and was bowled.

WICKET! JAM 639/9 - 191.2 Ov. Brown 0*. Gabriel gets Hinds! He plays across the line and the ball spoons up in the air to mid-off where Ganga takes the catch. He played well for 164 runs. That's a great shot.
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2011, 09:54:19 AM
so even if we bat tru the 2 days we still lose .so only way to win is make more runs.

add
nice
nice
Post by: vb on April 03, 2011, 10:25:06 AM
I hope we score one thousand fuU*&^ runs!!!!

Post by: reggae-fan on April 03, 2011, 10:37:08 AM
Thats a mammoth score by any standard. I too was questioning the wisdome of not declaring and inserting the Trinis, but it looks like it was a calculated decision all along given that a no result would work in Jamaicas favor.

Question is, can T&T score 640 runs in a day and a half? I would bet on them doing it if one Brian Lara was playing.
Post by: Boodsy on April 03, 2011, 12:02:36 PM
I hope we score one thousand fuU*&^ runs!!!!

at T&T 28/3...seems like a bit uphill, doesn't it?  :(
Post by: vb on April 03, 2011, 12:58:55 PM
Dem fokkers eh even try to play cricket just give us no time to make runs.
I woulda bounce dey sc**t whole morning today.

Post by: Bitter on April 03, 2011, 01:12:32 PM
Yeah, definitely cynical tactics. So much for Cricket being a gentleman's sport.
On the other hand, we couldn't bowl them out, is not like if they were batting against a machine.

And seeing that we're already down 3. I would say, it would not be unfair for Jamaica to advance.
Post by: reggae-fan on April 03, 2011, 03:47:17 PM
Yeah, definitely cynical tactics. So much for Cricket being a gentleman's sport.
On the other hand, we couldn't bowl them out, is not like if they were batting against a machine.

And seeing that we're already down 3. I would say, it would not be unfair for Jamaica to advance.

I would think that your first course of concern would have been the inability of the bowlers to bowl out the opposition for a reasonable total in good time. Surprised that your concern is the lack of charity from the opposing captain in not declaring their innings to allow the opposition a chnace to bat and win the game. Shocking.

Your team has a solid batting line up...the challenge for them now is to go out there and erase JAmaica total over the next day and a half. Its doable.
Post by: che on April 03, 2011, 03:57:07 PM
END OF THE DAY: T&T 198/4 - 53 Ov. Ganga 69*, Ramdin 49*. An eventful day of cricket comes to an end; Jamaica remain charge at the University of the West Indies' Spectrum in East Trinidad.

T&T still trail Jamaica's 1st inning by 466 runs meaning they'll need to score 467 runs tomorrow to beat Jamaica on 1st innings points to qualify for the finals against the CCC who beat the Windward Islands today. That is highly unlikely.
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 03, 2011, 04:43:20 PM

so wait nah, jamaica suppose to ease up on u?  not score too much? give us a chance to bat?

this is not primary school pardna, we have to take our licks like big men.
Post by: Bitter on April 03, 2011, 04:46:46 PM

I would think that your first course of concern would have been the inability of the bowlers to bowl out the opposition for a reasonable total in good time. Surprised that your concern is the lack of charity from the opposing captain in not declaring their innings to allow the opposition a chnace to bat and win the game. Shocking.

Your team has a solid batting line up...the challenge for them now is to go out there and erase JAmaica total over the next day and a half. Its doable.

I was responding to the post above mine, but as I said... you have to bowl them out.

so wait nah, jamaica suppose to ease up on u?  not score too much? give us a chance to bat?

this is not primary school pardna, we have to take our licks like big men.

Cricket has a long history of captains looking to settle matters on the field looking for an outright win or at the very least, setting the conditions for a competitive match. Seeking a no-decision, rather than even 1st innings points is cynical and goes against that tradition.

It is very much in the mold of the thread discussion we had going on about walking.
Post by: Quags on April 03, 2011, 05:04:25 PM
Ganga sent them in to bat first .He did not know the rules .
Post by: sjahrain on April 04, 2011, 03:37:57 AM
Take it like a man and learn from it
Face it now our bowlers fail in their mission
What goes around comes around,today we were taught a lesson,some day the shoe will be on the other foot,then we will see how the opposition relates to the same predicament... :devil:
Post by: reggae-fan on April 04, 2011, 04:39:04 AM
Cricket has a long history of captains looking to settle matters on the field looking for an outright win or at the very least, setting the conditions for a competitive match. Seeking a no-decision, rather than even 1st innings points is cynical and goes against that tradition.

It is very much in the mold of the thread discussion we had going on about walking.

You are forgetting that this is the knock-out phase....the objective here is not to garner points, its to secure passage to the finals. Now, having said that, and having been inserted to bat by T&T, and given the rules, Any team in Jamaica's position would have done exactly what JAmaica did....Bat for as long as possible, and force the opposition to bowl you out....Had Jamaica needed o win to advance...I am sure, you will agree with me, that the declaration would have come around 450. Again, T&T supposedly had the better bowling lineup...so credit to the Jamaican bat for taking the bolwing apart.

Too bad the T&T captain wasnt paying attention to the rules or what have you. Not a good sign for a guy who is aspiring to be WI captain.

Post by: 100% Barataria on April 04, 2011, 05:26:17 AM

You are forgetting that this is the knock-out phase....the objective here is not to garner points, its to secure passage to the finals. Now, having said that, and having been inserted to bat by T&T, and given the rules, Any team in Jamaica's position would have done exactly what JAmaica did....Bat for as long as possible, and force the opposition to bowl you out....Had Jamaica needed o win to advance...I am sure, you will agree with me, that the declaration would have come around 450. Again, T&T supposedly had the better bowling lineup...so credit to the Jamaican bat for taking the bolwing apart.

Too bad the T&T captain wasnt paying attention to the rules or what have you. Not a good sign for a guy who is aspiring to be WI captain.

He may have been very well aware, but probably fancied bowling out JA for under 300, so be de case
Post by: sammy on April 04, 2011, 06:40:40 AM

He may have been very well aware, but probably fancied bowling out JA for under 300, so be de case

apparantly no one was sure about the rules, hence the delay to the start of play. They had a big meeting to discuss what exactly the rules said would happen in a situation like this.

Apart from that, y do we play 4-day cricket instead of 5 day? maybe that contributes to the shittiness of the WI team to build and bat for a proper innings.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 07:04:39 AM
Five days have nutten to do with it. The whole world plays four day FC games.

The J'can just decided to completely kill the game in their favour.
A man like Lara or Sobers would have made it sporting.

Post by: Reggaefan on April 04, 2011, 08:03:54 AM

Actually, if you want to mention men like sobers and Lara, you should probably mention also that men like Roberts and Holding would have bowled out the opposition for under 300 thus giving their batsmen a chance at winning the game. you cant win a game if you cant bowl out a side in two and a half days in a 4 day match

Mind you, T&T is  still in with a chance. 6 wickets remaining, and a strike rate of 5.6 required is achievable.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 04, 2011, 08:13:12 AM

VB, get serious nah, real men on dis sub-forum bumpin dey gum bout TT goin it alone and all kinda madness, when it comes to test cricket, we are a joke.  Long way to go, apart from Barath and Bravo senior, dis is out best team and we struggled to get 10 wickets in a reasonable time period w/a mammoth total assembled.  Steups, real jokers yes, so an opposing captain mus say "well, lemme gih trini ah chance to win inspite of what de rules say"  Is it JA's fault we failed to gain 1st innings advtg over them head to head?  Play cricket and keep all dat nicety fuh toddlers
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 08:19:17 AM
Is there a live link to this game.

Can't see it.

Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 08:33:14 AM
Is there a live link to this game.

Can't see it.

First page, first post.
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 08:40:06 AM
WICKET! T&T 208/5 - 60.3 Ov. Ganga 74*. Ramdin top edges to Chawick Walton for 54. That was a good bouncer from Andre Russell. Ramdin was disappointed with his dismissal, he had a few words to say while he was leaving.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 08:49:40 AM
OK, I went to vibe but I not seeing no updates nor live commentary.

I clicked on something above the FB ad but nada.

Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 08:53:36 AM

www.windiescricket.com/content/trinidad-tobago-v-jamaica-semi-finals-4

Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 08:57:33 AM

Regardless of winning this game. I want us to bat right until 5:30 pm.
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 09:06:53 AM

Regardless of winning this game. I want us to bat right until 5:30 pm.

Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 09:51:39 AM
Just for the record I think that rule makes no sense.

If team A wins 5 games and only lost against team B.
And team A finish 24 points ahead of team B .
And these teams meet in a semi or a final and it ends in a no result.
Under these present rules then team B will be WINNERS. Even thou they are clearly not the better team.
These rules only make sense if two teams finish on equal points in the round robin.

That said we should have done better in this game. NO EXCUSES .
Jam hats off to you. And good luck in the final.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 10:00:34 AM

Under these present rules then team B will be WINNERS. Even thou they are clearly not the better team.
These rules only make sense if two teams finish on equal points in the round robin.

Has the match been called off?
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 10:11:18 AM

Has the match been called off?

No, match still going but it is unlikely that we will score 400 runs before close of play.
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 10:13:00 AM
LUNCH: Aafter 80 overs: T&T 263/5 (D Ganga 98*, Pollard 30*)
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 10:27:17 AM

boss my update link stop working. Keep it coming.

Post by: Bitter on April 04, 2011, 10:56:34 AM

boss my update link stop working. Keep it coming.

Yuh know the express does provide updates as well:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/TT-vs-Jamaica-Day-4-Live-119177534.html
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 10:59:42 AM
yes I know.  but it wasn't on the front page or the sports page where it usually is.
Post by: Bitter on April 04, 2011, 11:10:04 AM
yes I know.  but it wasn't on the front page or the sports page where it usually is.

yeah, they post the link late today.
Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 11:25:23 AM
293/7....Pollard and Ganga gone.

That's it ...
Post by: frico on April 04, 2011, 12:57:29 PM
I have worked with many educated Jamaicans over the years and their perception of us  is that we are,we are the most educated and sophisticated people in the Caribbean,how on earth we mis-construed the rules so badly,abloodymazing,we have ourselves to blame.I am quite sure that we were playing to take the game to a no result and go through that way.
Post by: Reggaefan on April 04, 2011, 01:53:52 PM
I have worked with many educated Jamaicans over the years and their perception of us  is that we are,we are the most educated and sophisticated people in the Caribbean,how on earth we mis-construed the rules so badly,abloodymazing,we have ourselves to blame.I am quite sure that we were playing to take the game to a no result and go through that way.

I dont know of a single Jamaican that sees Trinis as the most educated or sophisticated people in the caribbean, and believe me, i know many Jamaicans  :). If anything, as a child growing up, I saw the Guyanese people as very "bright", mainly so because back then we had a good deal of teachers of guyanese origin in our schools, a couple of them had kids in my class, and they were particularly bright kids who studied very hard. I also had a number of teachers from India too, their kids also, very bright students, again, because they seem to study harder than the average Jaaican kid.

Post by: Bitter on April 04, 2011, 01:58:46 PM
De man say educated, that is why you ent get the same results...  :devil:
 :whip:
Post by: Socapro on April 04, 2011, 02:43:45 PM

RF  :flamethrower: Bitter

Socapro  :rotfl:
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 02:47:47 PM

Post by: vb on April 04, 2011, 03:08:27 PM
402/8...Emrit 82 no.

Dem men come out after the rain yes.

Make meh wonder what coulda happen if it didn't rain.

The odds was always against us though.

Make de bitches field 'till 6 pm

Emrit just hit a 6 and a 4 off consecutive balls.
make your century boss.

Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 03:16:15 PM
vb you got your wish.

T&T 432/8 - 120 Ov. Emrit 102*, Jaggernauth 12*. Emrit goes over the man at mid-off and only just evades the fingers of Brenton Parchment. He then gets a further 2 to take him to 97 then a short ball is pulled away to take him to 101, his first 100 of the season. He's batting well. 160 Minutes, 126 Balls, 15 Fours, 1 Six.  :applause: :applause: :applause:
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 03:21:38 PM
WICKET! T&T 432/9 - 122.4 Ov. Emrit 102*. T&T's fate may have been settled there. Jaggernauth elects to sweep to ball he could have just defended. Poor shot, he went for 12.
Post by: frico on April 04, 2011, 03:39:57 PM
I feel we lost momentum when Ramdin was given out ct.behind when from all accounts he wasn't,I am not saying we would have got 664 but we may have got even closer than we are at the moment,I see Reggaefan says we are not considered the most educated in the Caribbean by his Jamaican fellowmen,thats up to him but I'll say again that is what these very educated Jamaicans told me,many who worked in TT in different fields from time to time.
Post by: che on April 04, 2011, 04:23:46 PM
CLOSE OF PLAY! T&T 448/9 - 134 Ov. Emrit 113*, Gabriel 5*. That's the end of the day's play as the light really isn't good enough for the T&T batsmen to see the ball. Thanks to Rayad Emrit and Shannon Gabriel again, T&T just cross the line, but this time to a No Result. Jamaica will go through to the final, although there is still a controversy behind that.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 04, 2011, 04:25:43 PM

I dont know of a single Jamaican that sees Trinis as the most educated or sophisticated people in the caribbean, and believe me, i know many Jamaicans  :). If anything, as a child growing up, I saw the Guyanese people as very "bright", mainly so because back then we had a good deal of teachers of guyanese origin in our schools, a couple of them had kids in my class, and they were particularly bright kids who studied very hard. I also had a number of teachers from India too, their kids also, very bright students, again, because they seem to study harder than the average Jaaican kid.

Come RF, yuh done know unu look up fi we
Post by: frico on April 04, 2011, 06:18:23 PM
I dont see Jamaica doing any damage to CCC,their so called fire power got 5 of our  batsmen today and one was a teef out and another Jaggs a tailender,I just have to wonder what score we may have made if we had elected to bat and would we have batted so slow.I think CCC will beat Jamaica and become champs for the first time.
Post by: sammy on April 04, 2011, 08:40:14 PM
CLOSE OF PLAY! T&T 448/9 - 134 Ov. Emrit 113*, Gabriel 5*. That's the end of the day's play as the light really isn't good enough for the T&T batsmen to see the ball. Thanks to Rayad Emrit and Shannon Gabriel again, T&T just cross the line, but this time to a No Result. Jamaica will go through to the final, although there is still a controversy behind that.

Not as yet. T&T looking at legal options to have the rules sorted out since they are not sure.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 04, 2011, 08:46:28 PM

How jokey is WICBC.  Something like this should be clearly stated, why all the confusion?  Jokers yes

Not as yet. T&T looking at legal options to have the rules sorted out since they are not sure.
Post by: jahkingdom on April 04, 2011, 10:43:47 PM
Trinidadians are a bunch of f*cking idiots. have you guys ever listen to your self?. chest beater and constantly get humiliated and then find excuse. so what if Jamaica lose to CCC, will that make trinidad any better?. i cant wait for you guys to go it alone.
Post by: weary1969 on April 05, 2011, 12:22:00 AM
Trinidadians are a bunch of f*cking idiots. have you guys ever listen to your self?. chest beater and constantly get humiliated and then find excuse. so what if Jamaica lose to CCC, will that make trinidad any better?. i cant wait for you guys to go it alone.

U obviously luv hearin us because yuh always on we SITE.
Post by: vb on April 05, 2011, 01:00:46 AM
Jamaicans are a bunch of f*cking idiots. have you guys ever listen to your self?. chest beater and constantly get humiliated and then find excuse. so what if Jamaica lose to CCC, will that make trinidad any better?. i cant wait for you guys to go it alone.

True.
Post by: sjahrain on April 05, 2011, 04:00:26 AM

My king is wise

If that is the case why are you here,
By your association what does that say of you...That you are a dumber idiot

Raspect
Post by: reggae-fan on April 05, 2011, 04:39:28 AM

Maybe when your sport teams can challenge Jamaica again we will show some respect. But for now, you sport teams suck against Jamaica, and as such, we see you guys as our beating sticks. Football, Netball, Track, Cricket...its been a miserable 15 years for you guys agaianst Jamaican teams.

Regarding the cricket...Darren Ganga walking away with eggs on his face in this one. He might just have called time on his ambitions to captian the west indies. In your own place, with your so called "test side", Jamaica were able to rack up a historic  650 runs....while your management team tried to figure out the rules of the game. Head to head is a common tie breaker in international sports...in fact its being used in the current under-20 world cup qualifiers in Guatemala, and was used in the under-17 champs in JAmaica recently. Simple rule to understand really.

If you guys are still thinking of disbanding from the West Indies, maybe now you should have second thoughts on doing so.
Post by: reggae-fan on April 05, 2011, 04:55:29 AM
I feel we lost momentum when Ramdin was given out ct.behind when from all accounts he wasn't,I am not saying we would have got 664 but we may have got even closer than we are at the moment,I see Reggaefan says we are not considered the most educated in the Caribbean by his Jamaican fellowmen,thats up to him but I'll say again that is what these very educated Jamaicans told me,many who worked in TT in different fields from time to time.

I know a compliment from a Jamaican means alot to you, but dont read too much into what he is saying, he propably just trying to make you feel good. Again, i personally dont know of any Jamaica who hold Trinis in high regard whatsoever. absolutely none. JAmaica sits at the top of te caribbean in more ways than one.
Post by: reggae-fan on April 05, 2011, 04:58:49 AM
I dont see Jamaica doing any damage to CCC,their so called fire power got 5 of our  batsmen today and one was a teef out and another Jaggs a tailender,I just have to wonder what score we may have made if we had elected to bat and would we have batted so slow.I think CCC will beat Jamaica and become champs for the first time.

You dont see JAmaica doing any damage to CCC? You are right, CCC might put up some more resistance than you did. that 650 was an arse whooping of epic proportions agaianst your "test" bowlers".

And what exactly makes you feel Jamaica cant beat CCC?

Post by: 100% Barataria on April 05, 2011, 05:13:49 AM

Maybe when your sport teams can challenge Jamaica again we will show some respect. But for now, you sport teams suck against Jamaica, and as such, we see you guys as our beating sticks. Football, Netball, Track, Cricket...its been a miserable 15 years for you guys agaianst Jamaican teams.

Regarding the cricket...Darren Ganga walking away with eggs on his face in this one. He might just have called time on his ambitions to captian the west indies. In your own place, with your so called "test side", Jamaica were able to rack up a historic  650 runs....while your management team tried to figure out the rules of the game. Head to head is a common tie breaker in international sports...in fact its being used in the current under-20 world cup qualifiers in Guatemala, and was used in the under-17 champs in JAmaica recently. Simple rule to understand really.

If you guys are still thinking of disbanding from the West Indies, maybe now you should have second thoughts on doing so.

I was on kix, but with your reply you really show why 11-1 = 0, kill it already, what miserable 15 years?  If I had the time to compose a list and show you where you were wrong I would, but I don't.  You love to hear yourself bray yes, well bray on.  Thank God posters like yourself don't represent the average Jamaican, pititful at best, absolute disgrace to your nation's colours, but keep at it..  This stupid petty rivalry gets you where exactly?.  We are too small for this nonesense on the world scale, we could take a leaf out of Europe's book.  But carry on
Post by: vb on April 05, 2011, 01:18:54 PM

When your compatriots went suicidal watchin TT at the 2006 WC, it wasn't so miserable. When you guys watch us in the Hex and bitch, it isn't so miserable. When we beat the J'ca U 17 team IN J'ca to qualify for the WC. how miserable was that? ;-)
Besides Track and Field J'ca is a mediocrity. You had one good innings against TT. I have no exuse for that one. It happens. Enjoy it. Obviously the highlight of your cricket season.
Post by: Reggaefan on April 05, 2011, 01:34:07 PM

When your compatriots went suicidal watchin TT at the 2006 WC, it wasn't so miserable. When you guys watch us in the Hex and bitch, it isn't so miserable. When we beat the J'ca U 17 team IN J'ca to qualify for the WC. how miserable was that? ;-)
Besides Track and Field J'ca is a mediocrity. You had one good innings against TT. I have no exuse for that one. It happens. Enjoy it. Obviously the highlight of your cricket season.

I am not going to address all your points....but needless to say on the cricket front, I believe Jamaica are 3 times defending champions of the 4 day game in the caribbean...and in two games this season has had the better of you on both occasions. so go ahead, disband and go it alone...Jamaica will follow suite one day too  :) Yes, this is no doubt the highlight of Jamaicas cricket this season...the 650 was their highest first class score in the history of regionak cricket...

Briefly on football...Things not exactly looking rosey in your corner right now...Jamaica are two time defending champions of the region, and continue to prepare in ernest for both the gold Cup and World Cup qualifiers next year. We just played Ven and El Sal, and just confirmed a game vs South Korea in the summer...our under-17s are heading to the world cup in a couple months. Our players continue to sign for overseas clubs..I'm pretty satisfied overall with things.

Jamaicans sportsmen maybe be mediocre by world standards....but in the caribbean....its quite the opposite. we beat you to a distant second. ;)
Post by: jahkingdom on April 05, 2011, 02:39:42 PM

another reason why you guys are see as f*cking fools. :rotfl: if you call track and field mediocrity, what would you call  cricket?, how many countries are even interested in the sport?. and playing in hex means accomplishment? :rotfl: :rotfl:. i would rather not playing in hex if i am not going to the world cup. and winning a u17 match nothing to jump about :rotfl:, stupid fool.
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 03:51:41 PM

another reason why you guys are see as f*cking fools. :rotfl: if you call track and field mediocrity, what would you call  cricket?, how many countries are even interested in the sport?. and playing in hex means accomplishment? :rotfl: :rotfl:. i would rather not playing in hex if i am not going to the world cup. and winning a u17 match nothing to jump about :rotfl:, stupid fool.

Not trying to back everything that VB posted but tell me who's the stupid fool that don't even understand what the sentence "Besides Track and Field J'ca is a mediocrity" means?!
Guess you must be laughing at you own lack of understanding of English and calling yourself a stupid fool and many folks like myself are happy to join in!
Post by: jahkingdom on April 05, 2011, 04:25:30 PM

Not trying to back everything that VB posted but tell me who's the stupid fool that don't even understand what the sentence "Besides Track and Field J'ca is a mediocrity" means?!
Guess you must be laughing at you own lack of understanding of English and calling yourself a stupid fool and many folks like myself are happy to join in!

i will say it again, care one shit. you guys are a bunch of fools. just look at your attitude at a little cricket game?. :rotfl: stupid ass.
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 05:04:56 PM

i will say it again, care one shit. you guys are a bunch of fools. just look at your attitude at a little cricket game?. :rotfl: stupid ass.

And if we are fools then what does that make you who can't even understand basic English?!  :D
Post by: che on April 05, 2011, 07:53:51 PM

Yes it is. But find me one sport involving a point table where head to head is used as the first tie breaker.
Normally head to head is used to separate teams on equal points which is fine but not when one team has more points than another .

this was the table.

1. Combined Campuses & Colleges 57 (4 wins, 2 draws, 1 loss)

2. Trinidad & Tobago 52 (3 wins, 3 draws, 1 loss)

3. Jamaica 51 (2 wins, 5 draws)

4. England Lions 51 (2 wins, 5 draws)

5. Windward Islands 29 (1 win, 2 draws, 3 losses)

When CCC played Windward the game was a draw. Windward earned 6 points and CCC 3.

Based on this rule if their semi ended in a No result then Windward would have been in the final because of head to head. Does this make sense. A team that finished 28 points better than another would lose because of head to head  ???
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 05, 2011, 08:50:00 PM

You are the ass gasket between our trinis' asshole and the toilet seat taking in all our stink shit....
Post by: jahkingdom on April 05, 2011, 09:56:10 PM
you guys need to grow up. you are so stupid  :rotfl:
Post by: Socapro on April 05, 2011, 10:05:53 PM
you guys need to grow up. you are so stupid  :rotfl:

And you seem to love hanging around stupid people who need to grow up so what does that make you?

Remember birds of feather ....................... (even a foolish person can fill the blank).
Post by: vb on April 05, 2011, 11:02:28 PM

You can't read so whose the fool?
Point, when you exhibit your illiteracy on a public forum not the time to call people fools.
Post by: willi on April 06, 2011, 04:50:17 AM
What the azzz.

You ALL are a bunch of idiots, tearing each other apart...Yardie and Trini alike!

Disgraceful behaviour over WHAT???

I am so ashamed of ALL of you. Completely unnecessary and uncalled for. No wonder other people cant take us seriously and our Windies cricket team is disrespected. We have no respect for ourselves.
Post by: 100% Barataria on April 06, 2011, 09:31:45 AM
What the azzz.

You ALL are a bunch of idiots, tearing each other apart...Yardie and Trini alike!

I am so ashamed of ALL of you. Completely unnecessary and uncalled for. No wonder other people cant take us seriously and our Windies cricket team is disrespected. We have no respect for ourselves.

:applause: :applause: :applause:

On another note, saw Third World last night, woinderful Caribbean vibe all the way through....
Post by: jahkingdom on April 06, 2011, 10:00:14 AM
You donkeys need need some serious lashing from a good makka stick. :rotfl:
Post by: sammy on April 06, 2011, 05:48:03 PM

Yes it is. But find me one sport involving a point table where head to head is used as the first tie breaker.
Normally head to head is used to separate teams on equal points which is fine but not when one team has more points than another .

this was the table.

1. Combined Campuses & Colleges 57 (4 wins, 2 draws, 1 loss)

2. Trinidad & Tobago 52 (3 wins, 3 draws, 1 loss)

3. Jamaica 51 (2 wins, 5 draws)

4. England Lions 51 (2 wins, 5 draws)

5. Windward Islands 29 (1 win, 2 draws, 3 losses)

When CCC played Windward the game was a draw. Windward earned 6 points and CCC 3.

Based on this rule if their semi ended in a No result then Windward would have been in the final because of head to head. Does this make sense. A team that finished 28 points better than another would lose because of head to head  ???

Them fellas cyah understand simple logic so they overlook this post.   :-\
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 06, 2011, 08:02:49 PM
What the azzz.

Call  NATO to get help
Post by: vb on April 07, 2011, 07:07:56 AM
I work for NATO.

Believe me we don't waste our time with attentions seekers.

Post by: Bitter on April 07, 2011, 09:52:02 AM
The real problem is that there is no tie-breaker procedure for the knockout phase of the competition. Reaching back into the round-robin for a tie-breaker is always has the potential for strange outcomes.

If this were a pure league, then CCC won and nobody would complain, Nobody would complain if the tie-breaker were the same, which is head-to-head.

If the round robin results were used to to qualify or seed teams in the playoffs, then again, no problems.
But once the knockout starts, that is a different phase and you would prefer the tiebreaker to be something you can decide on the field.  In most sports you would get extra time and then possibly penalties.

Since cricket doesn't allow for this, then some sort of Duckworth-Lewis type tiebreaker would be fairest.  In addition it would promote less cynical tactics like we have seen here.

A better tie-breaking system if there is a no-result:
1. D/L if there is a minimum number of overs batted by both teams
2. If you can't bowl out the other side in 4 days, then you've lost.

Simple(ish) and decided on the field.

In response to some of the replies to my post above. I don't doubt that T&T would have been just as cynical. I was just commenting that of all sports, cricket is one where fairness is part of the history, and you would have expected less cynicism. Of course, when you have teams using douchebag tactics like below, you should expect anything.

http://www.youtube.com/v/K65_spUU05s
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 08, 2011, 02:35:19 PM
I work for NATO.

Believe me we don't waste our time with attentions seekers.

That only applies only when you have a heavy audience and it seems like in this case there's none.

Post by: reggae-fan on April 10, 2011, 07:03:28 AM
Any news on the court case re Jamaica T&T No rsult game?

May be too late really...Jamaica has made it a 4peat. Congrats to the caribbean sporting Kings on winning yet another title.

Logie, good job brother, at least you were wise enough to know that you had a better chance of winning trophies with a superior team to your own country men.  ;D

"Picong" aside, better luck next year T&T. Keep the rivalry alive please. The smaller islands cant compete
Post by: Conquering Lion on April 10, 2011, 08:20:23 AM

I agree and believe in giving credit where it is due. Jamaica has done well this season and their batting has really performed. Marlon Samuel in particular has risen to the occasion and is finally talking about setting goals for himself. That is good.

However, doh forget to congratulate Gus Logie  while yuh cussing we okay?  ;D ;D
Post by: reggae-fan on April 10, 2011, 02:24:04 PM
Congrats to gus for joining an already winning team! His now assitant, Junior Bennet did a splending job coaching Jamaica in the 3 previous back to back championships...I am sure they will continue to make a good coaching team and lead Jamaica to a fifth successive championship honors next season  :applause:
Post by: pardners on April 14, 2011, 10:33:40 AM
I just so damn pissed with this TTCB for even trying to file an injunction for this piece of shit talk about misinterpretation of the rules. :cursing: