Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 14, 2011, 04:13:29 AM

Title: Pfister picks Corneal, Charles as his assistants.
Post by: Flex on April 14, 2011, 04:13:29 AM
Pfister picks Corneal, Charles
..no room for ‘Little Magician’
T&T Guardian Reports.

Newly-appointed Soca Warriors coach Otto Pfister has rejected former coach Russell Latapy as a member of his technical staff as he begins his bid to take T&T to the World Cup in Brazil 2014.

Instead, the 73-year-old German who was officially unveiled last Tuesday at a press conference, has selected former national players and youth team coaches Anton Corneal and Hutson “Baba” Charles as his two assistants.

Pfister has also included former national goalkeeper, Jefferson George, as goalkeeper coach. Following his appointment, Pfister, a former Cameroon and Ghana coach, said he intended to work closely with local coaches and was looking towards his assistants being from these shores.

Since then, the German who left for United Kingdom on Monday to meet with potential European-born players with T&T parentage and  the other national players, has since made his recommendations to the T&T Football Federation with Corneal, Charles and George, the men set to join his technical team.

T&TFF technical advisor, Keith Look Loy confirmed Pfister had interviewed some local coaches last week and had made his recommendations to the local Federation. He said the positions would be ratified by the Federation before an official announcement is made.

Asked if Latapy, who took over the position from Colombian Francisco Maturana midway through the 2010 World Cup final round, was among those interviewed, Look Loy said he was not privy to say. “All I can say is that the coaches interviewed all had experiences within the national set up be it, senior or youth team level.

The new national coach has forwarded the names of the two assistants he would like to work with along with a goalkeeper coach and that’s what he wants.”

The news come a week after the Federation’s special advisor Jack Warner confirmed Latapy was offered the chance to serve as an assistant and had agreed. Warner however, noted that no one had the birth right to be part of the staff and the final choice was up to the new coach.

Corneal has served as head coach or assistant at every level of national team football, culminating in him being an assistant to Dutchman Leo Beenhakker when the Warriors qualified for the 2006 Germany Fifa World Cup Finals.

The 47-year-old Corneal, who was recently elevated to a Fifa Instructor, was also assistant to another German, Jochen Figge, when he served as national coach in 1995.

Four years ago, Corneal was the interim head coach of the Soca Warriors after Dutchman Wim Rijsbergen was suspended. Charles recently assisted Bosnia-born Zoran Vranes with the Under-20 team during T&T’s failed bid to qualify for the Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Colombia after a first round exit at the Concacaf Under-20 Championship in Guatemala last week.

The 45-year-old Charles, who was part of the 1989 World Cup Strike Squad along with Corneal, also served as assistant at the 2007 Fifa Under-17 World Cup in Korea/Japan under Corneal.

Two years later, under Vranes he was also assistant at the Fifa Under-20 World Cup in Egypt. During his career as a midfielder, the Defence Force member who was the recipient of a Chaconia Silver Medal (1989 World Cup Squad) donned the red, white and black colours 29 times, scoring nine goals, the most famous of which came against USA in a 1-1 draw during the 1990 World Cup campaign.

George, who is now attached to newly installed T&T Pro League club, T&TEC, last year’s double-crowned Super League champions as its goalkeeper coach, also had coaching spells at a number of other Pro League clubs as well as the current national Under-23.

These include, W Connection, Joe Public and Ma Pau. Pfister is expected to have a first view of the T&T squad on  the upcoming Fifa international dates on June 1 and August 10.

Pfister has already revealed he has no intentions of using half strength teams for the purpose of experimenting. The German already has a pool of 50 players and intends to put mechanisms in place for training camps, inclusive of local and overseas-based players.

The first training session takes place on Monday and will be conducted by the technical staff in accordance with the programme prepared by Pfister who returns to T&T within the week.
Title: Re: Pfister picks Corneal, Charles as his assistants.
Post by: Tallman on April 14, 2011, 04:43:17 AM
...the 73-year-old German who was officially unveiled last Tuesday at a press conference, has selected former national players and youth team coaches Anton Corneal and Hutson “Baba” Charles as his two assistants.

What a big surprise!  ::)
Post by: Cowen on April 14, 2011, 05:01:04 AM
...the 73-year-old German who was officially unveiled last Tuesday at a press conference, has selected former national players and youth team coaches Anton Corneal and Hutson “Baba” Charles as his two assistants.

Complete and utter waste.......... >:(
Post by: Brownsugar on April 14, 2011, 05:15:17 AM
WE GOING BRAZIL!!!!!.....

:party: :party: :flamethrower: :cheers: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:
Post by: royal on April 14, 2011, 05:17:07 AM
as a true trini will say "oh gosh man,is he again?"
Post by: PATRIOT on April 14, 2011, 05:39:22 AM
Ah tired ah de same ting ovah an ovah! Or as the French would say "Plus ca change, plus ce la meme chose"
Post by: Babalawo on April 14, 2011, 05:43:13 AM

WE GOING BRAZIL!!!!!..... NOT  ::)
Post by: saga pinto on April 14, 2011, 06:14:55 AM
HA HA HA HA HA HA "We Going Brazil"
Post by: Fyzoman on April 14, 2011, 06:24:15 AM
Ah tired ah de same ting ovah an ovah! Or as the French would say "Plus ca change, plus ce la meme chose"

dais exactly what i say to mehself (but not in french though) when ah see dis headline, effing STEUPS MAN!!!

Hopefully dis backsidehole doh have Pfister's ear on selections....but yuh know what, ah still hopeful, Pfister will know ah laborer when he see one, no matter what Corneal "suggest"....God ah hope so!!
Post by: Daft Trini on April 14, 2011, 06:26:09 AM
Yes Cornmeal in.... GO USA USA USA...
Post by: PATRIOT on April 14, 2011, 06:46:36 AM

dais exactly what i say to mehself (but not in french though) when ah see dis headline, effing STEUPS MAN!!!

Hopefully dis backsidehole doh have Pfister's ear on selections....but yuh know what, ah still hopeful, Pfister will know ah laborer when he see one, no matter what Corneal "suggest"....God ah hope so!!
I think the fact that Pfister already gone outside moving like Holy B and "Scouting for talent", after he watched some of the locals during his interview visit to T&T is a pretty good indication Fyzo, and an indication that he will be MORE of a Beenie and LESS of a Mats but I too will be looking closely to see the composition of the team on June 1st
Post by: elan on April 14, 2011, 06:57:26 AM
Meh boy Jefferson is GK coach  ???  This coaching thing in T&T is rel fren thing boy. Like is ah certain group that work together. If one ah de group eh get selected then none eh getting selected.  :-\
Post by: TRUwarrior on April 14, 2011, 06:57:42 AM
I feel Anton burnin ah candle some where...he always in d friggin mix...smh
Post by: PATRIOT on April 14, 2011, 07:00:23 AM
I feel Anton burnin ah candle some where...he always in d friggin mix...smh
Yuh mean he & he pops have something over De specialth advisor :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on April 14, 2011, 07:15:45 AM
this is the shit i wake up too , stueps
Post by: NUFF on April 14, 2011, 07:38:22 AM
I come on de site looking fuh some glimmer of good news and dis is what ah have to read?  How much chance that shithong Anton Corneal going to get?  De man is a waste of time.
Post by: davidephraim on April 14, 2011, 08:08:08 AM
I come on de site looking fuh some glimmer of good news and dis is what ah have to read?  How much chance that shithong Anton Corneal going to get?  De man is a waste of time.

Is he worse than Latapy?
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on April 14, 2011, 08:50:23 AM
BM here... Anton is a good appointment.... and if allyuh cant see that then lets change the name of the website
Post by: triniairman on April 14, 2011, 09:22:48 AM
ent some of allure wanted local assistant? take that in allure prefin! Two failure coaches/assistant on the senior team. We know who going and call all the shots, and it's not Pfister. He's just another puppet like Mats
Post by: davyjenny1 on April 14, 2011, 09:24:07 AM

Im not. I agree with the appointment of Anton
Post by: spideybuff on April 14, 2011, 09:28:18 AM
How old Warner grandson is by now? The one who was on one of them youth sides? Should be time for him to get a call up to the national side now one of these days.

::)
Post by: andre samuel on April 14, 2011, 09:31:55 AM
By de way...........what is so "wrong" with Corneal's appointment?

Somebody plz tell me
Post by: royal on April 14, 2011, 09:32:20 AM
Anton appointment will show us who run things.Anton was there for both Beenie and Maturana with two different results.
Post by: Preacher on April 14, 2011, 09:38:17 AM
As long as Latas ain't dey.   
Post by: rocoply on April 14, 2011, 09:40:00 AM
I want jamaica first .....that's our best match up to see where we stand caribbean wise.....plus is the only caribbean concacaf side people will pay to see play us
Post by: Controversial on April 14, 2011, 09:43:48 AM
As long as Latas ain't dey.  
:D

i was thinking the same thing, i am no fan or corneal and i wish it wasn't him but i will say its a better appointment than latas

Post by: Jay10 on April 14, 2011, 09:57:45 AM
Anton...OK... Baba...not sure... Jefferson George....???? steuppps...at least appoint a foreign gk coach to help our keepers  >:(
Post by: soccerman on April 14, 2011, 10:00:06 AM
I am not saying I'm in favor of Corneal but when you look at our local coaches, how many of them have the credentials to serve in that capacity? When Pfister looks at certifications and experience, who are our better local options???
Post by: supporter on April 14, 2011, 10:02:09 AM
Corn meal is a damn clown with the same unsuccessful football philosophies that are so symbolic of the TTFF
Post by: g on April 14, 2011, 10:08:33 AM
The reality is simply this:

If Pfister were to line up all the local coaching resumes at the national level then Corneal would easily bubble up into the top 3. I would assume the apprenticeship under Beenie in the 2006 campaign would have worked heavily in his favour.

Pfister will go on what he will see on paper and discern based on the interview that was done.

I leaving him to do his job for now.
Post by: de_redman on April 14, 2011, 10:08:55 AM
I'm excited. It seems as though the coach made the choices and he's in charge. What more allyuh want?
Post by: Trinidad Sports Reality on April 14, 2011, 10:22:55 AM
yea as they said pfister interviewed the local coaches and thats who he came up with so lets wait and see if his choices are accurate
Post by: frico on April 14, 2011, 10:25:23 AM
I'm excited. It seems as though the coach made the choices and he's in charge. What more allyuh want?
My sentiments exactly,sometimes ah reall dont know how we can please people,I am certain that the men Pfister pick will improve under his guidance,all the same they have experience whereas Latapy didn't have.
Post by: injunchile on April 14, 2011, 10:41:24 AM
Look on the bright side with Anton as assistant- Daryl Roberts will get a call up. Anton has the gift of the gab
 and It is a Maple Mafia with lookloy . Lincoln- Vidale- Sedley and Alvin- Same ole- Same-ole.
 Let us hope Pfister is his own man a la Bennie
Post by: pardners on April 14, 2011, 10:50:35 AM
Jefferson George Jefferson George Jefferson George Jefferson.....

Well at least we moving on uppppp....we'll finally get our piece of the pie !
Post by: andre samuel on April 14, 2011, 11:06:22 AM
Jefferson George Jefferson George Jefferson George Jefferson.....

Well at least we moving on uppppp....we'll finally get our piece of the pie !

lolol
Post by: MEP on April 14, 2011, 11:09:55 AM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: cause if ah doh laff ah go cry
Post by: Tenorsaw on April 14, 2011, 11:25:11 AM
Meh boy Jefferson is GK coach  ???  This coaching thing in T&T is rel fren thing boy. Like is ah certain group that work together. If one ah de group eh get selected then none eh getting selected.  :-\

Jeff has been around the national set-up for a while.  Then, he was mysteriously replaced from the U20s, I believe.  He was the top graduate from one of the recently concluded Dutch FA courses, and was supposed to go to Holland to further his coaching studies.  I know him personallyy (we share the lineage of being P. Town goalkeepers ;D), and he is developing into a very good coach.  All the best to him.
Post by: najee on April 14, 2011, 12:06:14 PM
damn this asshole again.....people there was a guy who used to play for Dallas FC...then after his playing day's...he became assistant for that same team what about him...why cornmeal you mean to tell me their is know one around the world they could used as an assistant who is T&T born beside the two they choose
Post by: MEP on April 14, 2011, 12:18:20 PM
I jes realize why Corneal was hired...dey need ah translator for Otto
Post by: CK1 on April 14, 2011, 12:18:21 PM
damn this asshole again.....people there was a guy who used to play for Dallas FC...then after his playing day's...he became assistant for that same team what about him...why cornmeal you mean to tell me their is know one around the world they could used as an assistant who is T&T born beside the two they choose
Brian Haynes ...and a list of many others, but all of them are true professionals who not willing to sleep with the enemy just for a position!!!!
Post by: Bianconeri on April 14, 2011, 06:07:28 PM
let's give it chance n see
we have Pfister who is proven to some extent

and Corneal and Charles can learn and continue their growth as coaches.
I know of George...was a good keeper in his time
Porbably got the qualifications and i think he worked with T&TEC this yr in the super league....
if that is true...i know for a fact their GK won the OVERALL MVP of the entire league.
quite an accomplishment for a GK.

A foreign GK coach might have been a next set of $$ which might buss their pockets even further
Our local coaches need exposure and they been doing the courses, going foreign clubs etc....
so y must we run down foreign for everything???
If Pfister not impressed with them assts. or keeper coaches he might jus ask for a replacement....
give it chance ppls...
Post by: College on April 14, 2011, 06:11:07 PM
Congrats to Barber and George, dont know much about George but Barber is pure quality as a person.

Expected Anton to be in de mix.... He has his ways but who more experienced or qualified.
Post by: Trinimassive on April 14, 2011, 08:37:22 PM
Is either one or two things went on.

Jack say Latapy have the job as assistant but is not up to him is up to the coach if he want to hire him

Then the coach say he do interview for the job and what do you know...Anton in, Latapy out

Is either Pfister making he own decisions and is he own man OR Jack really didn't want Latapy and tell Pfister to hire Anton instead.

Ah have ah feeling Latapy get played
Post by: MEP on April 14, 2011, 08:56:53 PM
How many foreign coaches has Anton worked with....what has been his learning curve? has he translated anything he has supposedly learned into success??? waste ah fackin time
Post by: Deeks on April 14, 2011, 09:07:30 PM
Guys, honestly, who allyuh think made the final decision??? donald trump?
Post by: Dumplingdinho on April 14, 2011, 09:29:30 PM
Beenie handled corneal so i hope pfister can do the same.
Post by: Rastaman on April 15, 2011, 06:54:33 AM
Did anybody read this ????

Soca Warriors manager waiting.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

David Muhammad is awaiting a phone call to find out whether he is still manager of the Trinidad & Tobago senior national team.

"I have no clue," Muhammad said yesterday when asked if he was still the Soca Warriors manager.

"We thought that when the appointment of Otto Pfister as head coach took place on April 5, the technical staff would have been announced also. But that was not done. The Federation (TTFF) haven't been telling us anything. We are all still awaiting word."

Muhammad confessed to wanting to retain his position of national team manager, stating that in the past few years he had gone above and beyond what was required of him.

Among other things, the technical staff had continued to function despite being unpaid for the last 13 matches.

"We still have not been paid," Muhammad said when questioned. "We went to at least four countries without a cent to travel."

Due to communication problems within the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, Muhammad said recently he had to undertake additional responsibility of arranging friendly internationals.

"It must be the first time a manager took on the responsibility to arrange matches," Muhammad said. "After showing that kind of commitment, I would think that I would have a clear case to be retained."

Efforts to contact former T&T head coach Russell Latapy to determine his current standing with the team proved futile.

Latapy has been replaced as head coach by Pfister. But, at a recent press conference, FIFA vice-president Jack Warner admitted that the ex-Trinidad and Tobago captain was offered, and accepted, the position of assistant coach.

However, a media report yesterday states that coaches Anton Corneal and Hutson Charles have been made Pfister's assistants.

Corneal had been assistant to former T&T head coach, Dutchman Wim Rijsbergen, while Charles was assistant to national Under-20 coach, Serbian Zoran Vrazes.

Contacted yesterday, TTFF media officer Shaun Fuentes said no official position had been taken as to who Pfister's assistants would be.

However, other TTFF sources confirmed that a selection committee had recommend Corneal and Charles to be Pfister's assistant coaches and that it was a formality that the recommendations would be made official.

"I was interviewed for the assistant coach position, but I have received no official word," said Corneal yesterday.
Post by: Bianconeri on April 15, 2011, 08:15:23 AM
However, other TTFF sources confirmed that a selection committee had recommend Corneal and Charles to be Pfister's assistant coaches and that it was a formality that the recommendations would be made official.

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
 :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: Coach on April 15, 2011, 11:13:38 AM
Germans know anything about...BLIGHT...JINX...BUSHBATH NEEDED..If Anton international coaching track record is not an eye opener... at 73 you will make poor judgement as everything starts slowing down big time!! Gosh...man how many chances should one individual get!!!

Pfister should know that an assistant can be of great help to a coach but somehow Pfister choice of Anton will be the opposite!!
Post by: Trinimassive on April 15, 2011, 11:30:23 AM

David Muhammad is awaiting a phone call to find out whether he is still manager of the Trinidad & Tobago senior national team.

"I have no clue," Muhammad said yesterday when asked if he was still the Soca Warriors manager.

"We thought that when the appointment of Otto Pfister as head coach took place on April 5, the technical staff would have been announced also. But that was not done. The Federation (TTFF) haven't been telling us anything. We are all still awaiting word."

Muhammad confessed to wanting to retain his position of national team manager, stating that in the past few years he had gone above and beyond what was required of him.

Among other things, the technical staff had continued to function despite being unpaid for the last 13 matches.

"We still have not been paid," Muhammad said when questioned. "We went to at least four countries without a cent to travel."

Due to communication problems within the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation, Muhammad said recently he had to undertake additional responsibility of arranging friendly internationals.

"It must be the first time a manager took on the responsibility to arrange matches," Muhammad said. "After showing that kind of commitment, I would think that I would have a clear case to be retained."

Efforts to contact former T&T head coach Russell Latapy to determine his current standing with the team proved futile.

Latapy has been replaced as head coach by Pfister. But, at a recent press conference, FIFA vice-president Jack Warner admitted that the ex-Trinidad and Tobago captain was offered, and accepted, the position of assistant coach.

However, a media report yesterday states that coaches Anton Corneal and Hutson Charles have been made Pfister's assistants.

Corneal had been assistant to former T&T head coach, Dutchman Wim Rijsbergen, while Charles was assistant to national Under-20 coach, Serbian Zoran Vrazes.

Contacted yesterday, TTFF media officer Shaun Fuentes said no official position had been taken as to who Pfister's assistants would be.

"I was interviewed for the assistant coach position, but I have received no official word," said Corneal yesterday.

Why am I not surprised. I didn't think Pfister made those choices.

On another note why would Muhammad think all of the technical staff would be set up.  Man just get hired, he have assistants he ent know, will have a technical staff ready made for him (all whom he ent know either) and then none ah the players he know, he never coach in CONCACAF,

Real Mickey mouse show

But then again this is how we does do it and Muhammad ent need to complain about not finding out his position yet as he is the king of late information. He does want to sent plane ticket today fuh ah yesterday flight
Post by: Socapro on April 15, 2011, 12:09:43 PM

The highlighted bit of that post is why I won't allow myself to get excited about Pfister's appointment. Is the same thing that happened to both 'Mats' and 'Latas' our two previous coaches, they both weren’t fully in charge and calling all the shots and this could easily happen to Pfister if he falls for all the TTFF's suggestions about players and technical staff he should work with!
On top of all of this I am still waiting for our 2006 World Cup Soca Warriors to receive the money that was promised to them preceded by proper accounts from the 2006 World Cup campaign being produced by the TTFF!  ;)